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Part One 

 

 

Sixty bills are on the daily calendar for second-reading consideration today. The bills on 

the Major State and General State calendars analyzed or digested in Part One of today’s Daily 

Floor Report are listed on the following page. 

 

Today is the last day for the House to consider Senate bills and joint resolutions, other than 

local and consent, on second reading on a daily or supplemental calendar.
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SB 220 by Birdwell Sunset review of Office of Fire Fighters' Pension Commissioner 1 

SB 14 by Williams Enhanced financial reporting for local public entities 7 

SB 1718 by West Establishing the Texas Achievement School District 17 

SB 141 by Huffman Requirements to practice orthotics and prosthetics 23 

SB 1771 by Campbell Revising the boundaries of the Cibolo Creek Municipal Authority 25 

SB 1079 by Duncan Regulating registered radiologist assistants, establishing penalties 26 

SB 1812 by Duncan State retirement contributions for certain junior-college employees 32 

SB 460 by Deuell Requiring mental disorder detection instruction for education certificates 35 

SB 11 by Nelson Drug testing of certain persons seeking financial assistance benefits 37 

SB 1178 by Deuell Requiring training for educators on mental health illness and suicide risk 41 

SB 547 by Hancock Applicability of certain laws to open-enrollment charter schools 43 

SB 1082 by Rodríguez Changing examination requirements for a license to practice medicine 46 

SB 1555 by Lucio Relating to requirements for state educator certification examinations 49 

SB 1560 by Taylor Easements used for dune maintenance projects in certain counties 51 

SB 835 by Lucio Property tax limits on homes constructed with disaster relief funding 53 

SB 876 by Patrick Discharge of a surety's liability on a bail bond in a criminal case 55 

SB 977 by West Procedure for requesting, issuing nondisclosure orders of criminal records 57 

SB 108 by West Allowing adverse possession of property by a cotenant heir in 15 years 60 

SB 10 by Van de Putte Employment, higher education, and state contracts for veterans 63 

SB 187 by Huffman Life in prison for capital felony by those 17 years old at time of offense 68 

SB 407 by Carona Regulating the sale and installation of integrated home technology 71 

SB 1403 by Patrick Educator preparation programs and teacher evaluations 73 

SB 505 by Deuell Licensing requirements for persons measuring or fitting orthoses 77 

SB 442 by Birdwell Relating to leave for certain veterans returning to state employment 80 

SB 522 by Estes Contested cases conducted under the Administrative Procedure Act 82 
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COMMITTEE: Pensions — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 5 ayes —  Callegari, Alonzo, Branch, Frullo, Stephenson 

 

0 nays  

 

2 absent —  Gutierrez, P. King  

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 3148:) 

For — (Registered, but did not testify: Scott Kerwood, Texas Fire Chiefs 

Association) 

 

Against — Heidle Baskin, Irving Firemen's Relief & Retirement Fund; 

Kenneth Gold, Denton Firemen's Relief & Retirement Fund; Rodney 

Goodman, Abilene Firemen's Relief and Retirement Fund; Javier 

Gutierrez and Manuel Vargas, McAllen's Relief and Retirement Fund; 

Alva Littlejohn, Lubbock Fire Pension Fund; David Stacy, Midland 

Firemen's Relief and Retirement Fund; (Registered, but did not testify: 

Danny Benson and Michael Tucker, Denton Firefighters Association; 

Baker Bryant and Eddie Chrane, Abilene Firemen's Relief and Retirement 

Fund; David Crow, Arlington Professional Fire Fighter's Association; 

Mike Higgins, Texas State Association of Fire Fighters; Quentin Huser 

and Jerry Sutton, TLFFRA; Juan Loya; Roberto Martinez; Derek Oswald, 

Denton Firemen's Relief & Retirement Fund; Baldomero Ozuna; Tim 

Rabroker, Killeen Firefighters Relief & Retirement) 

 

On — Mark Fenlaw and Maxie Patterson, TESRS Board of Trustees; 

Christopher Hanson, Pension Review Board; Sean Shurtleff, Sunset 

Advisory Commission; Ana Tinsley and Sherri Walker, Fire Fighters' 

Pension Commissioner; (Registered, but did not testify: Scott Kerwood, 

Texas Fire Chiefs Association; Joe Walraven, Sunset Advisory 

Commission) 

 

 

SUBJECT:  Sunset review of Office of Fire Fighters’ Pension Commissioner   

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, May 14 — 29-2 (Hinojosa, Whitmire) 
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BACKGROUND: Created in 1937, the Office of Fire Fighters’ Pension Commissioner 

performs two basic activities: monitoring and assisting 122 individual 

local pension plans organized under the Texas Local Fire Fighters’ 

Retirement Act (TLFFRA) and administering a separate statewide system 

for more than 200 volunteer departments, known as the Texas Emergency 

Services Retirement System (TESRS).   

 

The office monitors systems operating under TLFFRA in the following 

ways: 

 

 requires annual reporting from local fire department pension 

systems and reviews pension benefits; 

 decides pension member appeals of benefit decisions by local 

pension boards; 

 provides technical assistance and legal interpretations of statute and 

other aspects of systems; and 

 conducts training for local board trustees through its annual 

TLFFRA educational conference and peer review workshop. 

 

The office also administers TESRS, created in 1977 to provide retirement 

as well as death and disability benefits to volunteer firefighters and 

emergency services personnel.  

 

The commissioner is appointed by the governor with the consent of the 

Senate for a four-year term. The commissioner sets policy and manages 

the office's efforts to assist certain paid and volunteer fire departments 

under TLFFRA. The commissioner also serves as the administrator of 

TESRS, while a separate governor-appointed board of trustees sets policy 

for the system and manages the fund’s assets.  

 

The office employs nine staff, with four working on TLFFRA and five on  

administration of TESRS. The office operated on a budget in fiscal 2011 

of about $683,000, with about $486,000 spent on TESRS and about 

$197,000 for TLFFRA assistance.  

   

The office is subject to the Sunset Act and will be abolished September 1, 

2013, unless continued by the Legislature.   

 

DIGEST: SB 220 would abolish the Office of Fire Fighters’ Pension Commissioner 

and require the State Pension Review Board (PRB) to provide assistance 

to local TLFFRA plans. It would make changes to the process for hearing 
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appeals from members of both plans and would require TESRS to conduct 

actuarial audits to better guide decisions about the state's contribution to 

the fund. 

 

TLFFRA plans. The PRB would be required to provide technical 

assistance, training, and information to trustees of local TLFFRA plans, 

and if possible, to designate a person to perform these duties, targeting the 

needs of small-to-medium-sized plans. 

 

It would require appeals under TLFFRA to go through the PRB before 

being referred to the State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) to 

decide the case. 

 

TESRS system. The bill would continue the nine-member governing 

board and would set aside one of five positions held by pension system 

members for a retiree. 

 

The bill would require the TESRS board to hire an executive director to 

oversee benefits distribution and collect revenue from the governing 

bodies of participating departments. Appeals under TESRS would be 

submitted to SOAH, with the TESRS board making the final decision, and 

allowing for judicial review. 

 

The TESRS board, instead of the commissioner, would be responsible for 

recovering any fraudulently acquired benefits. Biennial certification of the 

fund's actuarial soundness would have to include analysis of the number of 

years to amortize the unfunded liability, assuming no state contribution 

and assuming the maximum state contribution. An audit would be required 

every five years.  

 

The bill would require the board to notify the Legislature and PRB if there 

were a significant change to the actuarial valuation of the pension system's 

assets or liabilities or any change to members’ contributions and benefits. 

 

SB 220 would require the TESRS board to adopt a clear policy on contract 

management and oversight. It would apply standard, across-the-board 

Sunset recommendations regarding complaints, conflicts of interest, public 

participation, and board member training. 

 

The TESRS board would be subject to Sunset review every 12 years.   
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This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house.  Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 220 would implement recommendations of the Sunset Commission 

review, which found that the special treatment the office provides to local 

TLFFRA plans is outdated and that needed oversight and assistance can be 

provided without having a separate office. 

 

The review also found that the state continues to need the statewide 

TESRS system but a separate governor-appointed commissioner was not 

needed to administer that system. 

 

The office's role in TLFFRA has diminished over time due to legislative 

changes and the growing independence of these systems. When the state 

stopped providing financial assistance to these systems in 1988, it 

removed the primary reason for commissioner oversight. The TLFFRA 

statute provides a framework for these systems that offers safeguards for 

their long-term operation. 

 

Understandably, many TLFFRA systems want to keep the commissioner's 

office because of the assistance provided. However, the systems could 

receive similar assistance through a dedicated staff person at the PRB. 

 

The commissioner's role in TLFFRA appeals is not necessary to settle 

local pension disputes. SOAH already hears these cases and could 

continue to do so without the involvement of the commissioner. 

 

Since 2002, the state has paid $12.8 million in TESRS contributions and 

administrative costs, mostly to cover investment losses. SB 220 would 

provide greater oversight, verification, and reporting on the fund to ensure 

the Legislature had accurate and timely information needed to make 

funding decisions. 

 

The bill would save $173,838 in fiscal 2014-15 by eliminating some 

positions, according to the Legislative Budget Board.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

For the past 75 years, the Fire Fighter's Pension Commissioner has 

protected firefighters, cities, and the state regarding local firefighter 

pension systems. SB 220 would unravel this protection and create 

substantial problems for small volunteer firefighter plans. 
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The stakes are high for these plans, the cities that sponsor them, and 

ultimately the state. A poorly run plan could bankrupt a small city and 

possibly require the state to step in. The independent appointment of the 

commissioner is a healthy check and balance for the state regarding the 

operation of both the systems in TLFFRA and TESRS, all of which are 

managed locally by firefighters. 

 

Representatives of several pension funds testified about the valuable 

assistance and attention they receive from the commissioner. Without the 

office, they could have to hire lawyers and financial experts to answer 

their questions. The firefighters expressed concern that they would not get 

the same attention at PRB, where they would be the "little fish in a big 

pond."  

 

PRB has never administered a pension plan. The commissioner daily 

administers TESRS and uses that expertise to advise TLFFRA. It is 

managerially efficient and fiscally responsible to keep firefighter pension 

services together under one agency. 

 

The bill would require PRB to dedicate one employee to assisting 

TLFFRA plans, if funds are available. The commissioner now has four 

employees assisting these plans. 

 

For appeals regarding TLFFRA benefit issues, the bill would make PRB 

merely a conduit to have the case sent to SOAH. Currently, SOAH 

decisions are reviewed by the commissioner. At least one of the SOAH 

decisions was found to be in error and the commissioner was able to step 

in and have the error corrected.  

  

NOTES: SB 220 would result in savings of about $173,000 in general revenue and 

a reduction of 3.5 FTE positions in each year of fiscal 2014-15, according 

to the Legislative Budget Board. Total savings would be offset by the 

estimated cost of the PRB designating a staff person to provide training 

and technical assistance to local firefighter plans.  

 

The bill would continue the duties and responsibilities of TESRS for the 

cost of about $500,000 and five FTE positions per year. It would require 

additional actuarial services, including an actuarial audit every five years 

at an estimated cost to the pension fund of about $100,000 over the next 

five years. 
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The House companion bill, HB 3148 by Anchia, was reported favorably as 

substituted by the House Pensions Committee on April 22. 

 

 



 
HOUSE SB 14  

RESEARCH Williams, et al.  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Pitts, et al.) 

- 7 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Appropriations — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 22 ayes —  Pitts, Sylvester Turner, Ashby, Bell, G. Bonnen, Carter, 

Crownover, Darby, S. Davis, Giddings, Gonzales, Howard, Hughes, 

Longoria, McClendon, Otto, Patrick, Perry, Price, Raney, Ratliff, Zerwas 

 

0 nays 

 

5 absent —  Dukes, S. King, Márquez, Muñoz, Orr 

 

 

WITNESSES: (On introduced version of House companion bill, HB 14) 
For — Alan Hugley, City of Red Oak; James Quintero, Texas Public 

Policy Foundation; Oscar Rodriguez, Texas Assn of Broadcasters; Peggy 

Venable, Americans for Prosperity; Duke Burge, Midlothian ISD; Scott 

Niven, Red Oak ISD; and four others; (Registered, but did not testify: 

Kathy Barber, NFIB/Texas; Konni Burton, Tea Party Caucus Advisory 

Committee; Brent Connett, Texas Conservative Coalition; Dr Rosemary 

Edwards, Travis County Republican Party; John Horton, Young 

Conservatives of Texas; Dustin Matocha, Texans for Fiscal 

Responsibility; Naomi Narvaiz, San Marcos Area Republican Texans 

Group; Charley Wilkison, Combined Law Enforcement Associations of 

Texas, and four individuals 

 

Against — Jim Allison, County Judges and Commissioners Association of 

Texas; Mark Burroughs, City of Denton; Clayton Chandler, City of 

Mansfield; Lisa Clark, Texas Association of Builders; Howard Cohen, 

Schwartz, Page & Harding L.L.P.; James Hernandez, Harris County and 

Harris County Toll Road Authority; Brad Lancaster, Fast Growth School 

Coalition and Lake Travis ISD; Donald Lee, Texas Conference of Urban 

Counties; Bill Longley, Texas Municipal League; David Maxwell, Assoc 

of Water Board Directors; Peter Phillis, City of Mansfield, Texas; Micki 

Rundell, City of Georgetown; Danny Scarth, City of Fort Worth; Terry 

Simpson, San Patricio County; Joy Streater, County District Clerks Assn.; 

Byron Underwood, Texas Assoc. of Counties; Ed Van Eenoo, City of 

SUBJECT:  Enhanced financial reporting for local public entities  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, May 9 — 29-1 (Zaffirini) 
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Austin; James Wilcox, Texas Association of School Boards, Texas 

Association of School Administrators, and Texas School Alliance, and 1 

other; (Registered, but did not testify: David D Anderson, Arlington ISD 

Board of Trustees; Steve Bresnen, North Harris County Regional Water 

Authority; Snapper Carr, Andrews County; Mindy Ellmer, Tarrant 

Regional Water District; Wayne Halbert, Texas Irrigation Council; Angela 

Hale, City of McKinney; Roger Hord, West Houston Association; Mark 

Israelson, City of Plano; Jerry James, City of Victoria; Kassandra Kell, 

City of Irving; Jennifer May, City of Sugar Land; Ken McCraw, Texas 

Association of Community Schools; Mark Mendez, Tarrant County 

Commissioners Court; Seth Mitchell, Bexar County Commissioners 

Court; Terrell Palmer, First Southwest Company; TJ Patterson, City of 

Fort Worth; Dean Robbins, Texas Water Conservation Association; Karen 

Rue, Fast Growth School Coalition; Susie Shields, San Antonio Mobility 

Coalition; Jim Short, Fort Bend County; Jim Short, Houston Real Estate 

Council; Michelle Smith, Fast Growth School Coalition; Bob Stout, 

Newland Communities Texas, The Woodlands Development Co.; Frank 

Sturzl, City of Abilene; Paul Sugg, Texas Association of Counties; Tom 

Tagliabue, City of Corpus Christi) 

 

On — Susan Combs, Tom Currah and Chance Sampson, Comptroller of 

Public Accounts; Donnis Baggett, Texas Press Association; Susan Combs, 

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts; Deece Eckstein, Travis County 

Commissioners Court; Shane Fitzgerald, Freedom of Information 

Foundation of Texas; Robert Kline, Bond Review Board; Stephanie Leibe, 

Office of the Attorney General; Maureen Milligan, Teaching Hospitals of 

Texas; Heather Rosas, Texas Bond Review Board; (Registered, but did not 

testify: Lita Gonzalez and Beth Hallmark, Comptroller of Public Accounts; 

Charles Bailey, Texas Hospital Association; Keith Ingram, Texas 

Secretary of State, Elections Division; Gary Johnstone, Texas Higher 

Education Coordinating Board; David Lancaster, Texas Society of 

Architects; Rob Latsha, Bond Review Board) 

 

DIGEST: CSHB 14 would require most public entities — including counties, 

municipalities, school and junior college districts, higher education 

institutions, and other special districts — to post financial, voter, public 

hearing, and other information in a publicly accessible electronic format.  

 

Website requirement. A political subdivision with at least 250 registered 

voters would have to maintain a website to comply with the bill's 

requirements. For counties or municipalities with a population less than 
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2,000 that did not maintain a website as of January 1, 2013, notice could 

be posted on a website where the entity controlled the content of the 

posting, such as a social media site, provided the information easily could 

be found by an online search. The bill would provide alternative means of 

compliance with the website requirements for certain special districts and 

small counties and municipalities. 

 

Special districts.  After September 1, 2014, a political subdivision that had 

at least 250 registered voters and was classified as a district under Water 

Code, sec. 49.001(1), could electronically submit required information to 

the executive director of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 

to be posted on the commission's website on a web page dedicated to the 

political subdivision, so long as the site was: 

 

 easily located by searching the name of the district; or 

 linked or automatically opened from a web address maintained by 

the district that could be easily located by searching the district's 

name. 

 

The web address would not be considered a website for the purpose of 

other law. 

 

Small counties and municipalities. Counties with a population of 10,200 

or less (86 counties) and municipalities with a population of 5,000 or less 

could electronically submit required information to the comptroller to be 

posted on the comptroller's Internet website, so long as the site was: 

 

 easily located by searching the name of the county or municipality; 

or 

 linked or automatically opened from a web address maintained by 

the county or municipality and that could be easily located by 

searching the name of the county or municipality. 

 

The web address would not be considered a website for the purpose of 

other law. 

 

Higher education. An institution of higher education would have to 

maintain a website to comply with the bill's annual financial reporting 

requirement. Each junior college district would have to maintain a website 

to comply with construction cost reporting requirements.  
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Annual financial report. A political subdivision — except a special 

district as defined by Water Code, sec. 49.001(1) — would prepare an 

annual financial report that included specific financial and debt 

information. An annual financial report would have to be available for 

inspection by any person, and a political subdivision with more than 250 

registered voters would post the financial report on the subdivision's 

website, subject to the limitations on this requirement in the bill. 

Alternatively, a subdivision could provide the required information to the 

comptroller, who would post it on the comptroller's website. The political 

subdivision would post a link to the location of the report on the 

comptroller's website. 

 

An institution of higher education would have to ensure that its most 

recent financial report was posted on its website no later than November 

30th of each year. The report would have to show the aggregate 

outstanding debt of a university system and the outstanding debt for each 

education institution. 

 

Public hearing. A political subdivision would have to conduct a public 

hearing prior to holding an election to authorize the issuance of bonds. 

Between 15 and 30 days before a hearing, a local government would take 

action to ensure that the notice was provided by: 

 

 publication in at least one newspaper of general circulation;  

 included in a newsletter mailed or delivered to each registered 

voter; or  

 mailed to each registered voter in the political subdivision.  

 

In addition, the notice would have to be posted on the political 

subdivision's website subject to the limitations on this requirement in the 

bill. The bill would impose requirements for a public hearing and 

associated documentation.  

 

Voter information. A voter information document would have to be 

prepared for each bond proposition under consideration. The document 

would contain specific information about the political subdivision's debt 

status, the cost of the proposed debt, the entity's property tax debt rate, the 

property tax debt levy per residence with a taxable value of $100,000, and 

other specific information listed in the bill. A good faith estimate in a 

voter information document would not be a breach of contract with voters 

if the estimate was later found to be incorrect.  
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A political subdivision would have to post a sample of the ballot printed 

for a bond election on its website, subject to the limitations on this 

requirement in the bill. The secretary of state would determine the form of 

a voter information document. 

 

Certificates of obligation. A governing body could not authorize a 

certificate of obligation for payment of a contractual obligation if a bond 

proposition for the same purpose was submitted within the last three years 

and failed to gain approval. A governing body could authorize a certificate 

otherwise prohibited in a case of public calamity, to protect public health, 

for unforeseen damages to property, or to comply with a state or federal 

law for which the entity had been officially notified of noncompliance.  

 

A notice of a plan to issue a certificate of obligation would have to be 

posted continuously on the issuer's website for at least 30 days, the same 

requirement for prior publication that is in current law, before the date 

tentatively set to hear an ordinance authorizing the issuance. A county or 

municipality with a population of less than 2,000 could post the plan on a 

site in which the entity controlled the content of the posting, such as a 

social media site, provided the information easily could be found by an 

online search.  

 

The bill would expand the content of notice requirements for certificates 

of obligation. 

 

Comprehensive self-evaluation. Special districts would be required to 

conduct a comprehensive review at least every six years. Any special 

district issuing debt after September 1, 2013, would have to conduct a 

comprehensive review within three years of issuing debt.  

 

Self-evaluation reports would have to include specific elements regarding 

the district's authority, assessments it imposes, revenue collected, and 

outstanding debt. The self-evaluation report would be posted on the 

district's website, subject to the limitations on this requirement in the bill 

for special districts. The special district would have to make the report 

available for requests for public information and would have to conduct a 

public hearing to hear from persons interested in the self-evaluation report. 

 

State responsibilities. The comptroller would publish the sales and use 

tax rate for every political subdivision that imposed such a tax and the tax 
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rate information reported by counties.  

 

Under the bill, the attorney general, who currently must certify that a 

public security was issued in accordance with the law, would have to send 

information collected on local securities to the Bond Review Board. The 

bond finance office and the attorney general would maintain a 

noncompliance list of issuers that did not provide the information as 

required. The attorney general could not approve a local security 

submitted by an issuer that was included on the noncompliance list. 

 

The Bond Review Board would enter into one or more contracts to 

procure services to collect and maintain information related to public 

indebtedness. 

 

School facilities data. To provide information to the public on facilities 

and taxpayer value, a school district or open-enrollment charter school 

would have to: 

 

 report data elements specified by rule to Texas Education Agency 

through an approved data management system; and  

 provide a direct link on the district or schools website to the Texas 

Student Data System through which the facilities information 

relevant to the specific district or school could be readily accessed.  

 

The education commissioner would adopt rules necessary to implement 

the reporting system and ensure that the system contained the appropriate 

data elements.  Open-enrollment charter schools would have to ensure that 

an annual financial report was posted on their website online.  

 

The rules would be based on the recommendations of the taxpayer and 

school facilities usage advisory committee, which the bill would establish. 

The committee would consist of nine members, including the comptroller 

and education commissioner, who would jointly appoint the other 

members from lists of persons recommended by the lieutenant governor 

and speaker of the House. The committee would submit a report not later 

than December 31, 2014, with recommendations on the data that should be 

considered in evaluating a school’s usage and taxpayer value with regard 

to school facility construction and renovation. 

 

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board would require each 

junior college district to report building construction costs and related 
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information for determining the average cost per square foot for the region 

of the state and the average cost per full-time student for each junior 

college district. The report would have to be posted on each entity’s 

website. 

 

Effective date. The bill would take effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 14 would take strides toward improving fiscal transparency among 

public bodies in the state. While the state has a low share of tax-supported 

debt, Texas has the second-highest local debt per capita ratio among the 10 

most populous states. According to the Bond Review Board, about 83 

percent of the state’s total debt is local debt. Last decade, local entities 

more than doubled their debt load to $7,500 per capita.  

 

While much of this debt is well justified and necessary, it is incumbent on 

the Legislature to ensure that Texans are able to make informed choices 

about how much debt governmental entities assume and for what 

purposes. SB 14 is primarily a response to citizen concerns about debt in 

the state and the availability of accessible information on that debt. 

 

The current version of SB 14 is the result of an impressive effort among 

the bill's supporters to work with stakeholders to preserve the intent of 

increased transparency while making the requirements on local entities 

reasonable. As a result of the hard work that supporters invested in the 

bill, stakeholders’ concerns have largely been allayed and many who 

opposed HB 14, the House companion bill that died on the House floor 

due to a point of order, have withdrawn their opposition to SB 14. 

 

Reporting. SB 14 would require all local governments to post online each 

year revenue and expenditure information, including key information on 

the bodies’ long-term obligations. This would allow Texans to easily find 

and review financial information for their school district, county, 

municipality, etc. Currently, some of this information is available and 

some is not; all of it is scattered in various places that make it difficult for 

the lay person to locate, assemble, and understand.  

 

Significant changes were made to the bill in the Senate to ensure that small 

public entities would not be unduly burdened by the reporting and web 

posting requirement. In recognition that some smaller entities may not 

have existing web pages — though many do — SB 14 would exempt 

political subdivisions with fewer than 250 registered voters from website 



SB 14 

House Research Organization 

page 8 

 

- 14 - 

posting requirements and would carve a path for special districts and small 

counties and municipalities to easily comply with the requirements.  

 

To address concerns about smaller entities, the bill would provide an 

option to send documents electronically to TCEQ or the comptroller, as 

applicable, purchase a domain (available for a modest fee from a variety of 

distributors) and then set up the domain to automatically redirect to the 

documents on the state site. This would be feasible with minimal cost for 

the entity and would give the public an option for finding the materials 

with a simple web search. 

 

Voter information. SB 14 would require local entities to make available 

key information on the entity’s debt status and the cost of the proposed 

debt prior to an election for a new bond issuance. This would ensure that 

local entities provide the information necessary for voters to make 

informed decisions. 

 

Voters are routinely asked to approve large bond packages that commit 

public entities, and hence taxpayers and ratepayers, to paying debt service 

for decades. Yet the voters who are so often asked to pledge their taxes to 

the payment of debt service are seldom provided the information 

necessary to make informed decisions about their money. Relatively small 

bond issuances, completed with frequency, can amount to an 

unsupportable debt burden. This is hard for voters to keep in check, since, 

all too often, they have no real way of knowing an entity’s current debt 

status and the financial implications of the proposal on the table. The 

requirements of SB 14 would provide this necessary context. 

 

Arguments that the information could be misleading underestimate voters’ 

ability to look at comparative information and draw their own conclusions. 

If there is a reason that a particular local entity has a higher debt load than 

similar entities, then that reason naturally becomes part of the discussion 

on whether additional bond revenue is necessary. Voters are perfectly 

capable of taking into account unique circumstances when making 

judgments. The data required would provide a starting point for a more 

salient discussion. 

 

Certificates of obligation. SB 14 would limit the issuance of debt 

commonly completed through certificates of obligation (COs) without 

voter approval. COs now account for 16.6 percent of all debt issued by 

entities with this authority. SB 14 would put an end to some evasive 
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practices by prohibiting local entities from issuing a CO to pay for capital 

projects that voters recently rejected. The bill would improve taxpayers' 

ability to act as an effective check on spending by arming them with the 

resources necessary to make informed decisions.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

While changes in the Senate to SB 14 made significant improvements over 

previous iterations, the bill would persist in imposing additional 

requirements upon local entities without providing them with any 

additional resources to comply with the expanded requirements. The bill 

would create additional administrative burdens for local entities without 

necessarily adding value for taxpayers. 

 

Reporting. SB 14 would place additional requirements on thousands of 

local entities to comply with reporting and posting requirements. The bill 

also would impose time-intensive annual financial reporting that would 

have to be done on a yearly basis as well as costly self-evaluation reports 

for special districts every six years. Many local entities would be hard 

pressed to take on additional reporting with existing limited staff 

resources. In addition, many cities with minimal or nonexistent debt loads 

would be tasked to complete the report without a clear advantage to 

taxpayers. 

 

Overall, the reporting requirements in the bill would provide a solution for 

a non-existent problem. There is no documentation of a lack of 

transparency in fiscal matters on a local level. The extra reporting would 

create additional costs and yet would provide little added value.  

 

Voter information. In addition to the administrative burden, it is not clear 

that the information requirements would increase the public’s ability to 

make informed judgments. Bonds and finances are a very complicated 

subject and each capital project is subject to a unique set of factors. A 

simple apples-to-apples comparison of construction costs, for example, is 

dangerous, as it does not account for those unique factors. 

 

Providing voter information prior to a bond election could put local 

entities in a difficult position, as they are not allowed to take a position on 

any propositions in front of voters.   

 

OTHER 
OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

Website maintenance requirements for local entities that issue COs differ 

from those for other requirements in the bill. The bill would not provide a 

separate path to link a domain to a public site for small counties and 
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municipalities that propose the issuance of certificates of obligation.   

 

NOTES: Amendment. The author plans to offer some amendments, one of which 

would conform web maintenance requirements for local entities that 

issued a certificate of obligation to make them equivalent to other 

requirements in the bill. 

 

Fiscal note. The Legislative Budget Board estimates SB 14 would have a 

negative impact on general revenue of $915,314 for fiscal 2014-15, and 

$790,740 in fiscal 2016-17. The cost would stem from a Bond Review 

Board increase of four full-time-equivalent employees and other expenses 

necessary to meet requirements in the bill. 

 

Companion bill. The House companion bill, HB 14 by Pitts, died on the 

House floor due to a sustained point of order on May 3. 
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COMMITTEE: Public Education — committee substitute recommended  

 

VOTE: 8 ayes —  Aycock, J. Davis, Deshotel, Dutton, Farney, Huberty, K. King, 

Ratliff 

 

2 nays —  Allen, J. Rodriguez  

 

1 absent —  Villarreal  

 

 

WITNESSES: No public hearing  

  

DIGEST: CSSB 1718 would add a new subchapter to Education Code, ch. 11 to 

create the Texas Achievement School District (ASD) to educate students 

attending certain low-performing campuses. The program would be 

limited to school districts with at least 20,000 students enrolled. The ASD 

would be limited to five campuses during fiscal 2014-15 and five during 

fiscal 2016-17. It would be “sunsetted” on September 1, 2025. 

 

Criteria. After a campus has been identified as unacceptable for two 

consecutive school years, the education commissioner would determine 

whether a school district has instituted meaningful change, including 

reconstituting the staff or leadership. If there has been progress, the 

commissioner could wait another school year and reevaluate the campus. 

 

If there has not been meaningful change, the commissioner could: 

 

 order the reconstitution of the campus; 

 order the removal of the campus to the ASD; 

 approve a plan by the school board to operate the campus as an 

open-enrollment charter school for up to two school years, after 

which the campus would be transferred to the ASD if it was still 

rated as unacceptable; or  

 require the district to contract for appropriate technical assistance. 

SUBJECT:  Establishing the Texas Achievement School District     

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, May 1 — 26-5 (Deuell, Garcia, Nichols, Rodriguez, 

Seliger) 
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The commissioner would be required to give considerable weight to 

recommendations from parents of the students enrolled at the failing 

school. 

 

The affected students could choose to attend another school within the 

district. Students attending other schools in the district could choose to 

attend the campus transferred to the ASD if it could enroll more students. 

 

A campus could change its name only on agreement of the prior system 

and the ASD. A diploma issued would be required to bear the name of the 

prior system. 

 

The bill would allow campuses to be returned to the prior system on 

recommendation of the ASD superintendent and commissioner after the 

campus achieved an acceptable level of performance. The commission 

would have to include provisions for continuing programs that helped 

boost student academic achievement and for the employment status of all 

persons who were not previously employed by the prior system.  

 

If a school operated by the ASD had failed to achieve acceptable 

performance, the commissioner would be required to return it to the prior 

system or close the school. 

 

The bill would include a temporary provision that would expire September 

1, 2016, allowing the commissioner to refrain from taking action against a 

campus based on performance for the 2014-15 school year and preceding 

school years.  

 

Operations. The commissioner would select the superintendent of the 

ASD and employ central administrative staff, who could be employees of 

the Texas Education Agency. The district would not have taxing authority 

but could seek and expend federal and grant funding. 

 

The ASD could operate each campus or contract with a charter school 

operator that: 

 

 had been rated exemplary or recognized for three of the preceding 

five years; 

 had documented success in school interventions; and 

 had demonstrated success in educating similar student populations 



SB 1718 

House Research Organization 

page 3 

 

- 19 - 

to the population enrolled at the transferred campus. 

 

The performance of a campus under the ASD could not be used to 

determine the prior school district's rating under the state accountability 

system. 

 

Open meetings and records laws that apply to districts would apply to the 

ASD.  

 

Funding. The ASD would be entitled to receive funding under the 

Foundation School Program equal to the amount per student in weighted 

average daily attendance without a tier one local share. Funding formula 

adjustments would be based on the adjustments for the prior system. The 

ASD would be entitled to receive enrichment funding under the 

guaranteed yield program based on the actual amount for the prior system. 

 

The bill would add a temporary provision, set to expire September 1, 

2015, to require the commissioner to apply the same adjustment factor to 

calculate the ASD's regular program allotment as for the prior system. 

 

The ASD would report its student attendance and receive funding in the 

same manner as any other district. The prior district could not count the 

attendance of those students who were transferred to the ASD. 

 

CSSB 1718 would entitle the ASD to use any school buildings and 

facilities used by the campus before it was placed in the ASD. The ASD 

would be responsible for routine maintenance and repairs. 

 

The ASD could require the prior system to provide student transportation, 

food service, or student assessment for special education eligibility, 

although the ASD would be required to reimburse the prior system.      

 

Teachers. Unlike rules governing most charter schools, a teacher 

employed by the ASD would need to be certified in the subject the teacher 

teaches. 

 

The ASD superintendent would decide which teachers to retain, but would 

have to give priority consideration to certified teachers who held 

comparable positions in the prior system. A teacher could choose to 

remain with the prior system, which would retain and reassign the teacher 

consistent with contractual obligations.  
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For the purpose of determining any benefit or right requiring continuous 

service, the prior system would be required to grant a leave of absence to a  

person who was employed when the campus was removed. The prior 

system is not required to provide benefits during such leave. 

 

The bill’s provisions would apply beginning with the 2014-15 school year. 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house.  Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSSB 1718 would give the education commissioner another option to deal 

with failing schools so those students could have an opportunity to get a 

quality education. It would create a statewide Achievement School District 

that could operate up to 10 campuses or assign the operation to a proven 

charter school provider. 

 

Many low-performing schools are located in predominantly minority and 

economically distressed neighborhoods. It is not a coincidence that for 

African American and Hispanic students, the dropout rate is more than 

one-third. 

 

Recovery school districts have shown the promise of improvement in 

states such as Tennessee and Louisiana and they should be tried in Texas. 

 

Although parents could no longer take their concerns to the local school 

board, the campus would have a principal. Parents also could contact the 

legislators for the district where the school is located and the education 

commissioner. 

 

The bill would provide choice for students in failing schools that would 

not involve the use of vouchers. All Texas students deserve a public 

school system that prepares them for postsecondary studies and careers. 

 

The bill would affect 58 districts with enrollment of more than 20,000 

students to avoid transferring control of a small district's only high school, 

for example. Currently, 20 campuses would be eligible for transfer to the 

ASD, due to two or more years of academically unacceptable ratings. 

 

Students and their parents would have the option to attend the campus 

under the ASD or choose to attend another school within the regular 
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district. 

 

State money would follow the student, but the prior district would keep 

local tax dollars. Students still would have available transportation 

services, food services, and student assessments for special education as 

required under the prior system.   

 

The bill would protect teachers by allowing them to remain employed by 

the prior system or be given priority consideration for employment in a 

comparable position by the superintendent of ASD. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

CSSB 1718 would authorize the education commissioner to take over 

neighborhood schools rated low-performing for two consecutive years and 

turn them over to Austin bureaucrats and private charter school operators. 

The state takeover of local schools would require no inquiry into the 

reasons for the schools low ratings or whether it had received adequate 

funding and support needed to succeed academically. 

 

In the process, students, teachers, and parents could lose safeguards of 

educational quality and fair treatment that they now have under the 

Education Code. Parents would not be able to go to their local elected 

school board with concerns. 

 

The idea was borrowed from New Orleans where the school system was 

devastated after Hurricane Katrina. Despite inflated claims of success for 

the Louisiana model, the charter-dominated recovery district ranks dead 

last in educational quality among that state's 70 school districts. 

 

The notion that neighborhood schools would be improved by eliminating 

state standards such as class-size limits, teacher contract rights, and 

policies against grade inflation is wrong. Rather than lower state quality 

standards, legislators should provide funding for smaller class sizes and 

other resources to help students succeed. 

 

The bill would appear to depart from existing state funding formulas by 

flowing funding to ASD campuses based on student characteristics in the 

district left behind rather than on the characteristics of students who 

actually choose to attend the ASD. 

  

NOTES: Compared to the engrossed version, the House committee substitute 

would: 
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 limit ASD provisions to districts with enrollment of  20,000 

students; 

 limit ASD transfers to 10 campuses; 

 apply Sunset review provisions; and 

 allow other options for districts to address low-performing schools. 
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COMMITTEE: Public Health — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 10 ayes — Kolkhorst, Naishtat, Collier, Cortez, S. Davis, Guerra, S. King, 

Laubenberg, J.D. Sheffield, Zedler 

 

0 nays   

 

1 absent — Coleman 

 

 

WITNESSES: For — (Registered, but did not testify: Snapper Carr, Texas Association of 

Orthotists and Prothetists; Dan Finch, Texas Medical Association; Jared 

Howell, Baylor College of Medicine) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: David Olvera, Texas Board of 

Orthotics and Prosthetics) 

 

BACKGROUND: Occupations Code, sec. 605.002, defines an orthosis as a custom-

fabricated or custom-fitted medical device designed to provide for the 

support, alignment, prevention, or correction of a neuromuscular or 

musculoskeletal disease, injury, or deformity. Orthotics is the science and 

practice of measuring, designing, fitting, or servicing an orthosis. 

 

The Occupations Code defines a prosthesis as a custom-fabricated or 

custom-fitted medical device used to replace a missing limb, appendage, 

or other external human body part that is not surgically implanted.  The 

term includes an artificial limb, hand, or foot, but not an artificial eye, ear, 

finger, toe, dental appliance, or any cosmetic device. Prosthetics is the 

science and practice of measuring, designing, fitting, or servicing a 

prosthesis. 

 

DIGEST: SB 141 would amend the requirements to receive a license to practice 

orthotics and prosthetics from the Texas Board of Orthotics and 

SUBJECT:  Requirements to practice orthotics and prosthetics  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 13 — 31-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 
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Prosthetics (TBOP).  

 

The bill would add the holding of a graduate degree in orthotics and 

prosthetics from an accredited education or practitioner program to the 

current requirement that a licensed orthotist or prosthetist hold either a 

bachelor’s degree in orthotics and prosthetics or, if a separate subject, a 

certificate from an accredited practitioner education program. 

 

SB 141 would amend the clinical residency requirement for a license by 

replacing the provision that an applicant complete at least 1,900 hours of 

professional clinical residency with a requirement that the applicant 

complete a professional clinical residency that met TBOP’s standards, 

which at minimum would have to meet the standards set by the National 

Commission on Orthotic and Prosthetic Education. 

 

The bill would add the completion of a graduate degree in orthotics and 

prosthetics from an accredited education or practitioner program to the 

current requirement that an individual working toward fulfilling the 

requirements for a license be issued a student registration certificate if the 

person held either a bachelor’s degree in orthotics and prosthetics or, if a 

separate subject, a certificate from an accredited practitioner education 

program. 

 

TBOP also could issue a student registration certificate to a student 

currently enrolled in an accredited Texas graduate program in orthotics 

and prosthetics that incorporates a professional clinical residency and who 

submitted to TBOP a written certification from their graduate program that 

they had completed the academic prerequisites to enter a professional 

clinical residency.  

 

The bill would direct TBOP to adopt rules to implement the bill’s changes 

by December 1, 2013. 

 

SB 141 would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013, and would apply only to applications for a 

license or student registration certificate submitted to TBOP on or after 

January 1, 2014. 
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COMMITTEE: Urban Affairs — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 6 ayes —  Dutton, Alvarado, Elkins, Leach, J. Rodriguez, Sanford 

 

0 nays 

 

1 absent — Anchia   

 

 

WITNESSES: (On companion bill, HB 2617) 

For — Clint Ellis, Cibolo Creek Municipal Authority 

 

Against — None 

 

BACKGROUND: The Cibolo Creek Municipal Authority (CCMA) was created in 1971 to 

provide regional wastewater services for the area northeast of San 

Antonio, including the communities of Schertz, Cibolo, Selma, Randolph 

Air Force Base, and portions of Live Oak, San Antonio, and Universal 

City. 

 

DIGEST: SB 1771 would expand the boundaries of the CCMA service area within 

the cities of Schertz and Cibolo and in the Green Valley Special Utility 

District. The bill also would remove some land currently in the City of 

Schertz and the San Antonio Water Systems service area. The bill would 

include a statement that the legal notice of the intention to change the 

boundaries had been published publicly and furnished to all required 

entities.  

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUBJECT:  Revising the boundaries of the Cibolo Creek Municipal Authority  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 25 — 30–0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 
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RESEARCH Duncan  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Zerwas) 
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COMMITTEE: Public Health — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 7 ayes — Kolkhorst, Naishtat, Collier, Cortez, S. Davis, Guerra, 

Laubenberg 

 

3 nays — S. King, J.D. Sheffield, Zedler  

 

1 absent — Coleman 

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Ray Kirk, Texas Radiological Society and American College of 

Radiology; Victoria Sanders, American Society of Radiologic 

Technologist, Texas Society of Radiologic Technologists, Society of 

Radiology Physicians; (Registered, but did not testify: Marisa Finely, Scott 

& White Healthcare; Kristin Lemery, West Houston Radiology 

Associates; Bhwana Oberoi, Texas Society of Radiology Practitioner 

Assistants; Alexander Sardina, Advanced Diagnostics; Rajiv Thakur, 

Advanced Diagnostics; Ted Wen, Texas Radiology Associated; Darren 

Whitehurst, Texas Medical Association; and seven individuals)  

 

Against — None 

 

On — Mari Robinson, Texas Medical Board 

 

BACKGROUND: Occupations Code, ch. 601, governs medical radiologic technicians, but 

does not currently include registered radiologist assistants.  

 

DIGEST: CSSB 1079 would establish a regulatory framework for the registration 

and oversight of advanced-level medical radiologic technologists 

(registered radiologist assistants).    

 

Definitions. The bill would define “registered radiologist assistant” as a 

person who performs patient care, patient management, clinical imaging, 

and interventional procedures under the supervision of a radiologist.  

 

SUBJECT:  Regulating registered radiologist assistants, establishing penalties     

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 25 — 30-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 
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Board powers and duties. The bill would require the Texas Medical 

Board to establish qualifications, examination requirements, and minimum 

education standards, among other things, for registered radiologist 

assistants. The bill would authorize the board to accept fees, gifts, grants, 

or donations under the bill’s provisions.  

 

Advisory committee. The president of the board would appoint the five 

members of the radiologist assistant advisory committee. The bill would 

specify the composition of the committee and would contain a temporary 

provision expiring December 31, 2018, specifying certain eligibility 

requirements for members. 

 

Public participation and information. The board would have to develop 

and implement policies that provide the public with opportunities to 

appear before the board and speak on issues relating to registered 

radiologist assistants. The executive director of the board would have to 

establish a plan to allow non-English speakers to access these programs 

and services. The board would have to develop and make available to the 

public and state agencies information about the board’s functions and 

complaint procedures related to registered radiologist assistants. 

 

Complaints and investigations. The board by rule would have to establish 

methods by which consumers could report complaints about registered 

radiologist assistants and the board would have to maintain a file on each 

written complaint. The bill also would detail when the board would have 

to provide individuals with information about written complaints, 

complaint investigation and resolution procedures, and the status of 

investigations.   

 

The board would have to provide a registration holder who was the subject 

of a formal complaint with all information that would be offered as 

evidence at the contested hearing. The bill would also specify a timeframe, 

exceptions to the rule, and that providing the information would not 

constitute a waiver of privilege or confidentiality. SB 1079 would provide 

procedures for giving health-care entities information about complaints 

and investigations.  

 

Confidentiality and disclosure. Certain information would be privileged, 

confidential, and not subject to discovery, subpoena, or other means of 

legal compulsion for release to anyone other than certain board members, 

employees, or agents. This information would include complaints, adverse 
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reports, and investigation files, among other things.  

 

In some situations, investigative information could be disclosed to certain 

licensing authorities or peer review committees. Information indicating a 

possible crime would have to be reported to the proper law enforcement 

agency. The bill would provide additional procedures related to disclosing 

information to law enforcement agencies.  

 

Immunity and reporting requirements. Certain committees and individuals 

would have to report a registered radiologist assistant to the board if it was 

believed that the assistant posed a continuing threat to the public welfare 

by practicing as a registered radiologist assistant. Mandated reporters 

would include medical peer review committees and physicians, among 

others. This duty to report could not be nullified in a contract. A person 

who, without malice, assisted the board in this way would be immune 

from civil liability. Certain reporting and confidentiaty requirements 

would apply to medical peer review committees regarding a registered 

radiologist assistant. 

 

Registration and renewal. The bill would provide registration and 

renewal procedures for registered radiologist assistants.  

 

Registration. On September 1, 2014, a person would need to be registered 

in order practice as a registered radiologist assistant in Texas. Without 

proper registration, a person could not use a title or designation indicating 

or implying that they were a registered radiologist assistant. The bill 

would specify eligibility and application requirements, including 

eligibility requirements and license expiration dates for out-of-state 

applicants. There would be a temporary provision expiring September 1, 

2020, which would provide procedures, eligibility requirements, and 

renewal provisions for transitional registration. The board would have to 

set and collect reasonable and necessary fees to cover the costs of 

enforcing and administering the bill without using any other board funds. 

The bill would specify fee collection procedures. 

 

Renewal. The board would have to issue a registered radiologist assistant 

registration to anyone who met the bill’s requirements. The board by rule 

would have to provide for the annual renewal of a registration and could 

adopt a system under which registrations expired on various dates during 

the year. SB 1079 would provide renewal fee procedures, notice of 

renewal requirements, and a registration renewal process. The renewal 
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process would include ways to renew an expired license, but would 

prohibit a registration from being renewed if it had been expired for a year 

or longer. 

 

Information. The registration holder would have to provide the board with 

certain information, such as a mailing address, and update the information 

within the specified timeframe, if needed.  

 

Scope of practice. The board would be required to adopt rules to 

determine the scope of practice of registered radiologist assistants, and 

they would have to consider guidelines adopted by the American College 

of Radiology, the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, and the 

American Registry of Radiologic Technologists. A registered radiologist 

assistant could practice in any place authorized by a delegating radiologist, 

including a clinic, hospital, or health care center, among others.  

 

Functions and standards. A registered radiologist assistant and the 

assistant’s delegating radiologist would have to meet certain requirements 

related to the assistant’s scope of duty. This would include identifying 

their scope of function, delegating appropriate medical tasks, defining the 

nature of delegation, and establishing evaluation procedures. 

 

Supervision. The board by rule would have to establish guidelines for 

“general supervision,” “direct supervision,” and “personal supervision” as 

those terms were defined by the bill. A supervising radiologist would have 

to determine what level of supervision to provide a registered radiologist 

assistant based the assistant’s technical ability, the procedure, and the 

patient’s history and clinical presentation, among other things. A 

registered radiologist assistant could not interpret an image, make a 

diagnosis, or prescribe a medication or therapy.  

 

Disciplinary actions. If the board determined that an applicant or 

registration holder committed a prohibited act, the board could take certain 

disciplinary actions. This would include denying or revoking a person’s 

registration, requiring participation in an education or counseling program, 

probation, and public reprimand, among other things. The board could 

temporarily stop enforcement to place a person on probation, but would 

retain the right to enforce the original order. The board could also restore 

or reissue a registration, or remove any disciplinary or corrective 

measures.  
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A three-member board disciplinary panel could decide to temporarily 

suspend a registration if it determined that the registered radiologist 

assistant’s continued practice would threaten the public welfare. The bill 

would include situations in which a registration could be temporarily 

suspended without notice to the license holder and provide procedures for 

telephonic meetings.   

 

Prohibited conduct. The bill would establish certain acts that would 

constitute fraud or misrepresentation and authorize the board to take action 

against the applicant or registration holder who committed those acts. The 

board could take action against an applicant or registration holder for 

certain violations of law, such as a felony conviction, and for conduct 

indicating a lack of fitness. Conduct indicating a lack of fitness would 

include being adjudicated mentally incompetent, acts indicating 

professional incompetence or unprofessional conduct, and sexual abuse or 

exploitation, among other things.  

 

The bill would specify that certain documents would be considered 

conclusive evidence of some actions and that certain acts would not 

constitute state action. The board would have to suspend the registration of 

a registered radiologist assistant who was serving a prison term in state or 

federal penitentiary during their period of incarceration.   

 

Subpoenas. The executive director of the board, the director’s designee, or 

the secretary-treasurer of the board could issue a subpoena or a subpoena 

duces tecum (subpoena for production of evidence) to conduct an 

investigation or a contested case hearing for certain acts of misconduct, 

violations of law, or the provision of health care. A subpoena or a 

subpoena duces tecum could also be issued for the purposes of 

determining whether to issue, deny, suspend, restrict, or revoke a 

registration. If a person failed to timely comply with a subpoena (or 

subpoena duces tecum), it would be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board or a regulatory agency with jurisdiction over the person, and denial 

of a registration application.  

 

Proceedings. In disciplinary investigations or proceedings, the board 

would have to protect the identity of each patient whose medical records 

were examined and used in public proceedings unless the patient testified 

or submitted a written release for their identity or records. The rules for 

proceedings adopted by the board from the Government Code could not 

conflict with rules adopted by the State Office of Administrative Hearings. 



SB 1079 

House Research Organization 

page 6 

 

- 31 - 

Administrative penalty. The board by order could impose an 

administrative penalty against a registered radiologist assistant who 

violated the bill’s laws, rules, or orders. The penalty could not exceed 

$5,000. Each day a violation continued to occur would be considered a 

separate violation. The board would have to consider a number of factors 

when determining the penalty amount. These factors would include the 

severity of patient harm, concealment of the conduct, any intentional 

misconduct, and the person’s failure to implement remedial measures, 

among other things. The board by rule would have to prescribe the 

procedures by which it could impose an administrative penalty and the bill 

would provide procedures for giving notice of these penalties.  

 

Rules. The executive commissioner of the Health and Human Services 

Commission by rule would have to identify procedures that could only be 

performed by a practitioner, medical radiologic technologist, or a 

registered radiologist assistant. When developing the rules, the executive 

commissioner could consider whether a radiologic procedure would be 

performed by registered nurse, a licensed physician, or a registered 

radiologist assistant. By January 1, 2014 the Texas Medical Board would 

have to adopt rules and procedures to implement the bill.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013.  

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 1079 would alleviate health-care workforce shortages. Currently, 

Texas trains many radiologist assistants who leave for out-of-state jobs 

due to the lack of state registration and regulation. By establishing a 

regulatory framework that would enable the state to register and regulate 

this profession, the bill would encourage these highly skilled health-care 

professionals to practice in Texas.  

 

The bill would not establish overly burdensome regulations. By 

establishing eligibility criteria, registration requirements, and disciplinary 

procedures, the bill would adequately protect patients and ensure that 

radiologist assistants were high-quality professionals.   

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 1079 would establish a burdensome and unnecessary regulatory 

scheme. Texas places onerous occupational licensing and registration 

requirements on its workforce, a practice that can inhibit economic growth 

and restrict employment. By requiring that radiologist assistants meet 

certain requirements in order to obtain state registration, the bill could 

prevent the employment of an otherwise qualified individual. 
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COMMITTEE: Pensions — Favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 6 ayes — Callegari, Alonzo, Branch, Frullo, P. King, Stephenson 

 

0 nays 

 

1 absent — Gutierrez 

 

 

WITNESSES: No public hearing  

 

DIGEST: SB 1812 would implement a formula to determine the state’s share of the 

benefits and retirement contributions in the Teachers Retirement System, 

Optional Retirement Program, and Employees Retirement System for 

certain employees of public junior college employees.  

 

The state’s share of these payments would be determined by the number of 

employees in each of three different classes: 

 

 The state would pay half of the employer’s share of retirement 

contributions for employees who otherwise were eligible for 

membership in these programs and were instructional or 

administrative employees whose salaries may be fully paid from 

funds appropriated under the General Appropriations Act, 

regardless of whether such salaries actually were paid from 

appropriated funds. 

 

 The state would pay none of the employer’s share of retirement 

contributions for employees who were not instructional or 

administrative employees but otherwise were eligible for 

membership in in these programs. 

  

 The state would pay none of the employer’s share of the 

contributions for employees who were not otherwise eligible.  

 

SUBJECT:  State retirement contributions for certain junior-college employees 

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, May 1 — 31-0 
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The number of qualified employees for whom the state would cover have 

of the employer contribution would not be adjusted in a proportion greater 

than the change in student enrollment at each college. A college would be 

allowed to petition the Legislative Budget Board to maintain the number 

of eligible employees up to 98 percent of the level of the previous 

biennium. 

 

The bill would impose certain conforming reporting requirements on the 

two-year institutions. 

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 1812 would place in statute an agreement between state appropriators 

and community colleges regarding the appropriate level of state funding 

toward the benefits of certain employees at two-year institutions of higher 

education. SB 1812 would require the state to cover half of the costs of 

health insurance and retirement benefits for instructional and 

administrative employees at public community and junior colleges.  

 

The bill would save the state money. According to the Legislative Budget 

Board's fiscal note, SB 1812 would mean a positive impact of $69.1 

million to general revenue in fiscal 2014-15 because it would lower 

substantially the state’s required contributions from their historical levels. 

SB 1812 would resolve an ongoing funding dispute.  

 

The bill would protect the state from sharp increases in these funding costs 

by limiting the number of eligible employees for whom the state would 

fund coverage. The growth limit would be the percentage increase in 

student contact hours. In addition, the bill would allow for an appeal by 

colleges that experience losses in contact hours and thus a loss of 

coverage. The bill would allow those colleges to appeal to the Legislative 

Budget Board to maintain the number of eligible employees up to 98 

percent of the level of the prior biennium.  

 

Junior colleges have local sources of revenue and they make their own 

workforce policies, including how generous their benefits will be. It is 

appropriate that the state limit its contributions and set the formula in 

statute. 
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OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

By setting the state’s share of benefits and retirement premiums at 50 

percent or in some cases none of the employer’s share, SB 1812 would 

pass costs down to local entities and require them to fund the difference. 

Making these important recruitment tools more expensive for community 

colleges would mean they must raise either tuition or local property taxes, 

cut funding to other programs, or raise employee premiums. If employee 

premiums are raised or if there is uncertainty at the local level as to how 

they would pay for benefits and retirement, retention and recruitment 

could be hurt. 
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RESEARCH Deuell, et al.  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Coleman) 

- 35 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Public Education — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 11 ayes —  Aycock, Allen, J. Davis, Deshotel, Dutton, Farney, Huberty, 

K. King, Ratliff, J. Rodriguez, Villarreal 

 

0 nays 

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Linda De Sosa; Andrea Usanga, Mental Health America of Greater 

Houston; (Registered, but did not testify: Greg Hansch, National Alliance 

on Mental Illness - Texas; Dwight Harris, Texas AFT; Josette Saxton, 

Texans Care for Children; Gyl Switzer, Mental Health America of Texas) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Lelia Culpepper; Lauren 

DeWitt and Lee Spiller, Citizens Commission on Human Rights; 

MerryLynn Gerstenschlager, Texas Eagle Forum; Christy Peterson; Anna 

Poulin; Judy Powell, Parent Guidance Center; Michelle Watts; George 

Wier) 

 

On — Belinda Carlton, Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities; 

(Registered, but did not testify: David Anderson, Texas Education 

Agency) 

 

BACKGROUND: Education Code, sec. 21.044 requires the State Board for Educator 

Certification to establish training requirements a person must accomplish 

to obtain an education certificate. 

 

DIGEST: SB 460 would require instruction in the detection of students with mental 

or emotional disorders as a part of the training for any education certificate 

that required a person to possess a bachelor's degree. This instruction 

would have to be developed by a panel of experts appointed by the Board 

of Educator Certification and include information on the characteristics 

and identification of mental and emotional disorders, strategies for 

intervention, and appropriate ways to notify a child's parent or guardian. 

 

SUBJECT:  Requiring mental disorder detection instruction for education certificates  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, May 2 — 31-0 
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This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house.  Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 460 would train educators to appropriately respond to students with 

mental or emotional issues, which would help the students and improve 

classroom management and behavioral and academic outcomes. Mental 

and emotional illnesses can hinder a student's home and school activities, 

leading to school problems, disciplinary placements, and, in extreme 

cases, suicide. Without training in how to recognize and respond to 

students with these illnesses, educators may inadvertently reinforce or 

escalate the illness. Equipping school personnel with these basic skills and 

tools would help educators identify disorders, properly intervene, and help 

link students with the needed services. This requirement would not be an 

attempt to turn teachers into mental health professionals, just as taking a 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) course would not attempt to make 

someone a doctor. SB 460 would be a simple way to help teachers reduce 

potentially dangerous, degrading, and unhealthy situations, benefiting 

students and improving educational outcomes. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

Texas teachers should remain focused on teaching and not on identifying 

and intervening with students’ mental and emotional health disorders. 

Schools are already struggling with tight budgets and high expectations. 

Schools represent the state government, and it is not the government's role 

or responsibility to identify and intervene with personal matters that 

should be left to the family and a physician. Additionally, requiring this 

training could make teachers overly sensitive to possible illnesses in 

students, which could lead to over-diagnosing and over-prescribing 

medications for students.  
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RESEARCH Nelson, et al.  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Price) 
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COMMITTEE: Human Services — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 5 ayes — Raymond, Klick, Sanford, Scott Turner, Zerwas 

 

3 nays — N. Gonzalez, Naishtat, Rose  

 

1 absent — Fallon  

 

 

WITNESSES: No public hearing 

 

BACKGROUND: The Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program provides 

financial help for children and their parents or relatives who are living 

with them. The Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 

determines the amount of the TANF payment depending on family size 

and income.  

 

Families approved for TANF receive payments for six months and receive 

a renewal application from HHSC before the end of the six months. The 

total amount of time a parent or relative can receive TANF ranges from 12 

to 36 months. There are no time limits for children.  

 

If a child’s parent or relative is also approved for TANF, the parent or 

relative must agree not to abuse alcohol or drugs. Federal rules permit 

drug testing as part of the TANF block grant.  

 

DIGEST: SB 11 would require adult applicants, including those who were applying 

solely on behalf of a child, and minor parents who were head of 

household, to submit to a marijuana and controlled substance use 

screening assessment when first applying for financial assistance benefits 

and on an application for continuation of those benefits.   

 

Drug testing. Under the bill, if the screening assessment indicated good 

cause to suspect the person had used marijuana or a controlled substance, 

the person would have to submit to a drug test. The first time a person’s 

SUBJECT:  Drug testing of certain persons seeking financial assistance benefits    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 10 —31-0 
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drug test came back positive for drugs not prescribed by a health care 

practitioner, the person would be ineligible for financial assistance 

benefits for six months. The second time, the person would be ineligible 

for 12 months and could reapply six months after the date the person’s 

period of eligibility began if the person completed or enrolled in a 

substance abuse treatment program. The third time, the person would be 

permanently ineligible.  

 

The commission would have to pay the cost of the screening assessments 

and drug tests using funds from the federal TANF block grant. The bill 

would require the commission to use the most efficient and cost-effective 

marijuana and controlled substance use screening assessment tool, based 

on validated tools. 

 

Before denying a person eligibility for financial assistance benefits, the 

commission would have to:  

 

 notify the person who took the drug test of the test results and the 

commission’s proposed determination of ineligibility; and  

 confirm the results of the drug test through a second drug test or 

other appropriate method.  

 

A person who was denied financial assistance benefits due to a positive 

drug test would have to submit to a drug test, without first submitting to a 

marijuana and controlled substance use screening assessment, when 

reapplying for those benefits. 

 

Exceptions. The Health and Human Services Commission would have to 

adopt rules exempting a person from drug testing if there was no one in 

the person’s county that could administer the drug test and if submitting to 

a drug test outside the person’s county would impose an unreasonable 

hardship.  

 

The denial of eligibility for financial assistance benefits to a person would 

not affect the eligibility of the person’s family for those benefits. If a 

parent or caretaker relative of a dependent child became ineligible for 

benefits because of the results of a drug test, the bill would require the 

commission to designate a protective payee to receive financial assistance 

benefits on behalf of the child. The protective payee would also have to 

submit to a controlled substance use screening assessment and drug test if 

appropriate. The protective payee would be ineligible to serve in that role 
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if the drug test came back positive for controlled substances not prescribed 

to the person.   

 

Drug test reporting to DFPS. The commission would have to report 

positive drug test results to the Department of Family and Protective 

Services (DFPS) to use in investigations of child abuse and neglect.  

 

Effective dates. If a state agency determined that a federal waiver or 

authorization was necessary to implement a provision of the bill, the 

agency could delay implementing that provision until the waiver or 

authorization was granted.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013, and would apply to initial 

applications for financial assistance benefits and to applications for 

continuation of those benefits made on or after that date. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 11 would ensure that the TANF program used public funds responsibly 

and would put recipients on a path toward self-sufficiency. Drug use tears 

apart families, hurts children, and prevents individuals from living healthy, 

productive lives. The state has a responsibility to ensure that individuals 

are on a true path to self-sufficiency and drug-free in keeping with the 

mission of the program.   

 

The bill would ensure that children received the assistance they needed by 

allowing children to continue to receive benefits through a protective 

payee if their parent or caretaker was disqualified for TANF benefits upon 

a second or third positive drug test. SB 11 also would encourage parents 

whose drug tests came back positive a second time to enter treatment by 

requiring them to enroll in a substance abuse treatment program before 

they could reapply for benefits.  

 

Texas statute currently requires TANF recipients to sign a personal 

responsibility agreement not to use, possess, or sell marijuana or a 

controlled substance, but there are few safeguards within the program to 

ensure that the money is spent on its intended purposes, such as food, 

clothing, housing, transportation, laundry, and other basic needs. SB 11 

would create a sensible path between complete non-enforcement of the 

personal responsibility agreement and testing for all recipients.  

 

In implementing the bill, HHSC would adopt rules to improve access to 

drug testing facilities and local, state, and nonprofit substance abuse 
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treatment programs.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 11 would stigmatize TANF recipients by promoting the erroneous 

perception that TANF recipients are drug users, when data is lacking to 

suggest people in need of government assistance are more likely than 

those in other socioeconomic groups to use drugs. 

 

Struggling parents should not be treated like criminals for reaching out for 

help in desperate times. By requiring drug screening for all recipients, SB 

11 would set a precedent of requiring innocent Texans to prove they did 

not commit a crime. 

 

According to the Legislative Budget Board, the requirements of SB 11 

would cost about $1.2 million in general revenue related funds in fiscal 

2014-15. It is likely the state would spend more money on drug testing and 

screening than it would have lost to the very small percentage of TANF 

recipients that were violating the personal responsibility agreement.  

 

Texas has an extreme shortage of substance abuse treatment beds. By not 

providing funding for treatment, SB 11 could permanently suspend a 

parent’s eligibility for TANF benefits while they waited to enroll in a 

program. People with drug problems who receive TANF benefits typically 

do not have the money to gain access to private treatment programs. 

 

NOTES: SB 11 would have a negative fiscal impact of $1,237,789 in general 

revenue related funds through fiscal 2014-15, according to the fiscal note. 

HHSC indicates that it would implement a no-cost drug screening 

assessment and estimates about 2.5 percent of those screened would be 

subject to drug testing. HHSC anticipates that 5 percent of those subject to 

drug testing would refuse to be tested.  

 

The fiscal note also estimates costs for additional DFPS staff, hardware 

and software for each FTE, and modifications to HHSC technology 

systems. There could be additional costs related to HHSC designating a 

protective payee, but the LBB could not estimate those costs at this time.  
 



 
HOUSE SB 1178  

RESEARCH Deuell  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Coleman) 
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COMMITTEE: Public Education — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 11 ayes —  Aycock, Allen, J. Davis, Deshotel, Dutton, Farney, Huberty, 

K. King, Ratliff, J. Rodriguez, Villarreal 

 

0 nays 

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Linda De Sosa; Jeff Miller, Disability Rights Texas; Josette 

Saxton, Texans Care for Children; Andrea Usanga, Mental Health 

America of Greater Houston; (Registered, but did not testify: Greg 

Hansch, National Alliance on Mental Illness - Texas; Gyl Switzer, Mental 

Health America of Texas) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Lelia Culpepper; Lauren 

DeWitt, Citizens Commission on Human Rights; MerryLynn 

Gerstenschlager, Texas Eagle Forum; Anna Poulin; Judy Powell, Parent 

Guidance Center; Michelle Watts) 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: David Anderson, Texas Education 

Agency) 

 

BACKGROUND: Health and Safety Code, ch. 161, subch. O-1 governs early mental health 

and prevention of youth suicide. Sec. 161.325 requires the Department of 

State Health Services to coordinate with the Texas Education Agency to 

develop a list of recommended best-practice-based programs in early 

mental health intervention and suicide prevention for implementation in 

public K-12 schools. Each school district may select appropriate programs 

from the list for implementation. 

 

DIGEST: SB 1178 would require each school district to provide training in the areas 

of early mental health intervention and suicide prevention programs for 

teachers, counselors, principals, and all other appropriate personnel. Each 

of these employees would be required to participate in the training at least 

one time and the school district would be required to keep a record of each 

SUBJECT:  Requiring training for educators on mental health illness and suicide risk    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 11 — 31-0 
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employee who participated in the training. Training at an elementary 

school would only be required to the extent that sufficient funding and 

programs were available. 

 

The bill would establish that the subchapter describing the early mental 

health intervention and suicide prevention programs and training would 

not waive any immunity from liability for the district or employees, 

including for emergency care, or create any liability for a cause of action 

against the district or employees. 

 

This bill would take effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 1178 would provide educators with quick and easily available training 

to help appropriately respond to students with mental illnesses. This would 

help the students and improve classroom management and behavioral and 

academic outcomes. Mental illnesses can hinder a student's academic 

development, leading to school problems, disciplinary placements, and, in 

extreme cases, suicide. Without proper training, educators may 

inadvertently reinforce or escalate illnesses.  

 

This bill would equip school personnel with the basic skills and tools to 

help identify disorders, properly intervene, and help link students with the 

needed services, while protecting the educators from liability by granting 

immunity from prosecution when performing their duties. This 

requirement is not an attempt to turn teachers into mental health 

professionals, just as taking a CPR course would not attempt to make 

someone a doctor. SB 1178 would be a simple way to help teachers reduce 

potentially dangerous, degrading, and unhealthy situations, benefiting 

students and improving educational outcomes. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

Texas teachers should remain focused on teaching, not on identifying and 

intervening in students’ mental and emotional health disorders. SB 1178 

would be an unfunded mandate requiring most school personnel to be 

trained on an issue outside the scope of the school’s primary purpose. It is 

not the government’s role or responsibility to identify and intervene with 

personal matters that should be left to the family and a physician. In 

addition, requiring this training could make teachers overly sensitive to 

students’ potential illnesses, which could lead to over-diagnosing and 

over-prescribing medications to students. Parents might not be informed 

about what the training included or what actions a teacher would take 

because of the training. 
 

 
 



 
HOUSE SB 547  

RESEARCH Hancock  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Farney) 
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COMMITTEE: Public Education — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 11 ayes —  Aycock, Allen, J. Davis, Deshotel, Dutton, Farney, Huberty, 

K. King, Ratliff, J. Rodriguez, Villarreal 

 

0 nays  

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Tommy Fuller, Universal Academy; Lindsey Jones, Texas Charter 

Schools Association; (Registered, but did not testify: Andrew Erben, 

Texas Institute for Education Reform; Lee Parsley, Texans for Lawsuit 

Reform) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Monty Exter, The Association 

of Texas Professional Educators) 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: David Anderson, Texas Education 

Agency) 

 

BACKGROUND: Education Code, sec. 12.1056 states that open-enrollment charter schools 

possess the same immunity from liability as school districts. Such 

immunity applies to employees and volunteers, as well as members of the 

governing bodies of charter schools. 

 

Civil Practice and Remedies Code, ch. 101 states what tort liability 

government units, including school districts, may face. Ch. 101 also places 

limits on the liability local government units can incur in terms of 

maximum money damages amounts. The tort liability provisions of this 

chapter only apply to school districts in the case of an injury resulting 

from the use of a motor-driven vehicle. Civil Practice and Remedies Code, 

ch. 102 states when a local government entity may pay actual damages on 

a tort claim and the limits on these actual damages payments. 

 

Local Government Code, ch. 271, Subch. I provides for limits on the 

amount of liability to which local government entities, including school 

SUBJECT:  Applicability of certain laws to open-enrollment charter schools   

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 9 — 31-0 
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districts, may be subject in breach of contract cases. 

 

Labor Code, ch. 504 states that a political subdivision, which includes a 

school district, is required to extend workers' compensation benefits to its 

employees. Workers' compensation benefits may be provided through self-

insurance, an insurance policy, or an interlocal agreement for self-

insurance with other political subdivisions. Labor Code, Title 5, subtitle A 

ensures that employers who carry workers’ compensation insurance get 

protection from unlimited legal liability for employees’ on-the-job 

injuries, and workers receive timely compensation without having to sue 

their employers. 

 

DIGEST: SB 547 would amend Education Code, sec. 12.1056 to establish what tort 

and contract liability charter schools could incur. Charter schools would be 

considered a government unit for the purposes of Civil Practice and 

Remedies Code, ch. 101 and would be subject to the same tort liability as 

school districts. For purposes of Civil Practice and Remedies Code, ch. 

102, with its limits on tort claims payments, a charter school would be 

considered a local government. 

 

Charter schools would be treated in the same way as school districts for 

the purposes of contract disputes under Local Government Code, ch. 271, 

Subch. I. 

 

A charter school could provide workers’ compensation benefits to its 

employees through any of the available methods under Labor Code, ch. 

504. In doing so, a charter school would be considered a political 

subdivision under this chapter. If a charter school chose to self-insure 

individually or through an interlocal agreement, that charter school would 

be considered an insurance carrier with limited liability protections under 

Labor Code, Title 5, subtitle A. 

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 547 would extend the same opportunities for liability protections to 

charter schools as are currently given to traditional public schools. 

Because charters receive per pupil funding but cannot levy taxes nor 

receive facilities funding, it is important to protect each and every dollar. 

Under current law, charter schools do not have a safeguard from 
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protracted litigation. Money that is put toward expensive litigation would 

be money that could have been spent on salaries, improved technology, 

curriculum expansion, and other classroom items. 

 

Charter schools such as Universal Academy, which operates schools in 

North Texas, have faced protracted litigation. If this bill were enacted, the 

limited liability of charter schools would be clarified. Charter schools still 

would be held accountable for any breaches of contract. However, the bill 

would ensure any breach of contract claim met the same requirements 

applied to traditional school districts under the Local Government Code, 

such as the contract having to be in writing in order for a lawsuit to move 

forward. 

 

The bill also would contain provisions that rightly allow charter schools to 

be treated in the same respects as the traditional school districts and as  

local government political subdivisions by allowing them to plan, manage 

risk associated with civil liability, and offer employee benefits and 

workers’ compensation. Charter schools also would be afforded the tools 

to save costs on insurance by either self-insuring or participating in 

intergovernmental risk pools. 

 

In granting charter schools the same immunities granted to traditional 

school districts, the bill would allow judges the same discretion to 

determine if a lawsuit was frivolous sooner rather than later in the legal 

process. Again, this would save charter schools money. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

The bill's immunity provisions are unnecessary. The existing immunity 

from liability provision ensures that a charter school is protected from 

having to pay damages amounts to the same extent as a traditional public 

school. While the bill might enable charter schools to get lawsuits 

dismissed at an earlier stage, charter schools are currently guaranteed to 

win against certain awards of damages at the court stage. 
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RESEARCH Rodríguez (Zerwas)  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (CSSB 1082 by Guerra) 
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COMMITTEE: Public Health — committee substitute recommended   

 

VOTE: 8 ayes —  Kolkhorst, Naishtat, Cortez, Guerra, S. King, Laubenberg, J.D. 

Sheffield, Zedler 

 

2 nays —  Collier, S. Davis   

 

1 absent — Coleman 

 

 

WITNESSES: For — (Registered, but did not testify: Snapper Carr, Permian Regional 

Medical Center; Corey Davison, Tenet Healthcare; Dan Finch, Texas 

Medical Association; Chuck Girard, Hospital Corporation of America; 

Stacy Wilson, Texas Hospital Association) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — Mari Robinson, Texas Medical Board 

 

BACKGROUND: Texas requires physician applicants to pass the U.S. medical licensing 

examination (USMLE) within a certain number of attempts and within a 

certain time frame. Occupations Code, sec. 155.056 requires a physician to 

pass each part of the examination within three attempts. Sec. 155.051 

requires a physician applicant to pass each part of the licensing 

examination within seven years, with some exceptions. This limitation 

does not apply to certain applicants who are licensed in another state and 

who have passed all but one part of the examination approved by the board 

within three attempts, if other requirements are met. Additionally, the 

Texas Medical Board is required to maintain a profile for every physician 

licensed to practice medicine in Texas. 

 

DIGEST: CSSB 1082 would require a physician applicant to pass each individual 

part of the licensing examination within five attempts and all parts of the 

examination within nine attempts. The bill would require a physician’s 

profile maintained by Texas Medical Board to include the number of 

SUBJECT:  Changing examination requirements for a license to practice medicine  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 8 — 31-0 
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attempts taken to pass each part of the licensing examination. 

 

The time frame to pass each part of the physician licensing examination 

and the limitation on the number of attempts would not apply to an 

applicant who:  

 

 was licensed and in good standing as a physician in another state;  

 had been licensed for at least five years; 

 did not have a medical license that had or ever had any restrictions, 

disciplinary orders, or probations; and  

 would practice in a medically underserved or a health manpower-

shortage area.  

 

The board by rule could establish a process to verify that these physicians 

only practice in medically underserved or health manpower-shortage 

areas. 

 

The bill would repeal provisions providing additional eligibility 

requirements for certain aliens and provisions establishing examination 

attempt limits for those who held a physician-in-training license on 

September 1, 2005. The bill would apply physician license applications 

filed on or after the bill’s effective date.  

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house.  Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSSB 1082 would help alleviate health care workforce shortages, 

especially in rural and border areas of Texas that are chronically 

underserved. Texas requires physicians to pass the national licensing exam 

within a small number of attempts. This is difficult to achieve, even for 

qualified physicians. As a result, many physicians cannot practice in Texas 

due to the restrictive licensing requirements.  

 

By increasing the number of examination attempts, the bill would allow 

more physicians to practice medicine in Texas. It would also create an 

exemption by which qualified out-of-state physicians could serve 

underserved areas of Texas, even if they did not pass the national licensing 

exam within the requisite number of attempts. 

 

This bill would not lower the quality of physicians practicing in Texas. All 
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physicians must pass a national licensing exam, and states often allow 

physicians a greater number of attempts to pass this exam than is allowed 

in Texas. Moreover, many states have no limit on the number of attempts. 

This bill would promote uniformity by aligning Texas with other states, 

while still maintaining a very high standard for physicians.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

CSSB 1082 would lower the quality of physicians who practice in Texas, 

and the impact would disproportionately affect rural and border areas that 

are medically underserved. To ensure high-quality health care for all 

Texans, the state should maintain its rigorous standards for the licensing 

exam.  

 



 
HOUSE SB 1555  

RESEARCH Lucio  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Villarreal) 
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COMMITTEE: Public Education — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 11 ayes —  Aycock, Allen, J. Davis, Deshotel, Dutton, Farney, Huberty, 

K. King, Ratliff, J. Rodriguez, Villarreal 

 

0 nays  

 

 

WITNESSES: For — (Registered, but did not testify: Melva Cardenas, Texas Association 

of School Personnel Administrators; Monty Exter, Association of Texas 

Professional Educators; Lindsay Gustafson, Texas Classroom Teachers 

Association; Ben Maddox, Kids First; Mike Moses; Jim Nelson; Sandra 

West, Science Teachers of Texas) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — David Anderson, Texas Education Agency 

 

BACKGROUND: Under Education Code, ch. 21, to be a certified elementary or secondary 

teacher in Texas, a person must, among other requirements, pass 

certification exams required by the State Board of Educator Certification 

(SBEC). 

 

The exam for a generalist teaching certificate for early childhood through 

the sixth-grade and a generalist teaching certificate for grades 4-8 consist 

of subsections that focus on core subjects such as English, math, social 

studies, and science. There is no requirement that a person pass each of the 

exam's subsections because only the exam’s cumulative score is reported 

to certifying agencies and employers.  

 

DIGEST: SB 1555 would amend Education Code, sec. 21.048, to require the State 

Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) to determine by January 1, 2014 

the satisfactory level of performance required for each teacher certification 

test. 

 

SUBJECT:  Relating to requirements for state educator certification examinations    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, May 3 — 30-0  
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For the issuance of a generalist certificate, the SBEC would have to 

require a teacher to achieve a satisfactory level test performance in each 

core subject. 

 

The bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 

 



 
HOUSE SB 1560  

RESEARCH Taylor  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Eiland) 

- 51 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Land and Resource Management — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 6 ayes — Deshotel, Frank, Goldman, Herrero, Parker, Springer 

 

3 nays — Walle, Paddie, Simpson   

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Marie Robb, City of Galveston; (Registered, but did not testify: 

Ben Raimer) 

 

Against — Jamie Mitchell, Surfrider Foundation; Jerry Patterson, General 

Land Office 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: David Land, General Land Office) 

 

BACKGROUND: The Texas Open Beaches Act, Natural Resources Code, ch. 61, grants the 

public free and unrestricted right to access state-owned beaches and a right 

to use any public beach or larger area extending from the line of mean low 

tide to the line of vegetation bordering the Gulf of Mexico.  

 

The Texas Supreme Court rulings in Severance vs. Patterson, 2009, 

determined that in certain circumstances land that was once generally 

considered public beach is in fact private property. State and local funds 

cannot be spent on dune construction and maintenance projects on private 

property unless the public has legal access to that property.  

 

DIGEST: SB 1560 would provide the mechanism for a property owner to grant a 

static easement to the state or a local government for the purpose of 

performing a dune project in a county that contained a barrier island and a 

peninsula, had a population of more than 50,000 and less than 350,000, 

and bordered a county with more than 4 million people (Galveston 

County). A dune project would be defined as a project to construct and 

maintain a vegetated stabilized dune on a beach for the protection against 

avulsive (dramatic changes in landscape often resulting from storms or 

floods) or meteorological events. 

SUBJECT:  Easements used for dune maintenance projects in certain counties   

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, May 15 — 31-0 
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A person who owned property that bordered state-owned beaches could 

grant an easement on the property or a portion of the property to the state 

or a local government for purpose of allowing the governmental entity to 

construct and maintain a dune project on the easement. The bill would 

require the public entity to maintain the dune project or the easement 

would terminate. 

 

The bill would require the person granting the easement to perform 

surveys and grant recreational easements to ensure public access to the 

beach. The easement could not decrease the size of the public beach. 

 

A person who granted a recreational easement would be provided certain 

liability protections but would not be protected from being grossly 

negligent or  to have acted with malicious intent or in bad faith. 

 

An easement granted before the effective date of the bill would be 

governed by the law that was in effect on the date the easement was 

granted, and the former law would be continued in effect for that purpose. 

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 1560 would authorize landowners to offer static easements to 

government on private property for the construction of dunes to maintain 

beaches. It is time to start rebuilding dunes and renourishing beaches on 

West Galveston Island to protect private property from storm surges. Sand 

dunes feed the public beaches with sand, and many coastal states nourish 

beaches from a static line.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 1560 is unnecessary because static easements are already allowed by 

law. In addition, there is no local consensus for the bill.  

 

Static easements reduce the size of the public beach once storm events 

occur because they define a permanent line and the beach erodes in front 

of the easement. Static easements, after storm events and with naturally 

occurring erosion, limit public access to beaches. Also, dunes constructed 

on static easements are expensive to maintain because they are not allowed 

to migrate, as dunes do naturally on barrier islands. Rolling easements are 

the more appropriate form of easements for West Galveston Island.  
 



 
HOUSE SB 835  

RESEARCH Lucio, et al.  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Eiland) 

- 53 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Ways and Means — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 7 ayes —  Hilderbran, Otto, Bohac, Button, Eiland, N. Gonzalez,  

Martinez Fischer 

 

0 nays 

 

2 absent —  Ritter, Strama   

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion, HB 835) 

For — Shelly Batten; Mary C. Colunga; Emily Rickers, Alliance for 

Texas Families; (Registered, but did not testify: Daniel Gonzalez and 

Chelsey Thomas, Texas Association of Realtors; Donald Lee, Texas 

Conference of Urban Counties; Scott Norman, Texas Association of 

Builders) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Katy Sellers, General Land Office) 

 

BACKGROUND: The General Land Office reports that the federal community development 

block grants disaster recovery (CDBG-DR) program has assisted about 

3,000 families and will assist about 5,000 more with rebuilding their 

homes in the 63 counties affected by hurricanes Ike and Dolly, and the 

Bastrop County wildfires. To qualify for assistance, a family of four must  

have an income of about $50,000 or less. 

 

Homes rebuilt under the federal programs must be rebuilt to federal, state, 

and local housing standards, and may also be required to meet additional 

construction standards related to windstorms and elevations.  

 

DIGEST: SB 835 would amend Tax Code, sec. 23.23 to provide that only to the 

extent necessary to satisfy a disaster recovery program defined by certain 

federal laws, a replacement structure would not be considered to be a new 

SUBJECT:  Property tax limits on homes constructed with disaster relief funding  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 25 — 28-0 



SB 835 

House Research Organization 

page 2 

 

- 54 - 

improvement if to satisfy the requirement of the disaster recovery program 

it was necessary that: 

 

 square footage was added to the replacement structure; or 

 the exterior of the replacement structure is of higher quality 

construction and composition than that of the replaced structure. 

 

The bill would apply only to property tax appraisals of a residence 

homestead beginning on or after January 1, 2014. 

 

The bill would take effect on January 1, 2014. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 835 would provide property tax relief to individuals and families of 

low to modest income who had their house destroyed by hurricanes Ike or 

Dolly, or the Bastrop County wildfires. Due to modern building standards, 

and federal, state and local construction codes, many of the homes have 

had to be built or repaired to a higher construction standard or to a larger 

size.  

 

Under existing law, the appraised value of a homestead may not increase 

by more than 10 percent of the previous year’s appraised value, plus the 

market value of any new improvements. However, homeowners do not 

benefit from this cap if the new structure increases in size or the new 

exterior of the house is of higher quality than the old exterior.  

 

This has the unintended consequences for some homeowners who cannot 

rebuild their homes as to identical pre-disaster conditions once because of 

disaster recovery program requirements or local building codes. Taxpayers 

whose homes are improved only to meet minimum disaster recovery or 

building code requirements should benefit from the 10 percent cap. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 835 could open the doors for a substantial loss of tax revenue that 

would otherwise benefit public schools and local governments.  

 

NOTES: The Legislative Budget Board’s fiscal note states that the bill “would 

create a cost to local governments and the state through the operation of 

the school funding formula because such structures would be subject to 

the 10 percent limitation on homestead appraised valued increases while 

under current law they are not.”  

 

 



 
HOUSE SB 876  

RESEARCH Patrick  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Fletcher) 

- 55 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Corrections — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 4 ayes —  Parker, White, Riddle, J.D. Sheffield 

 

0 nays  

 

3 absent —  Allen, Rose, Toth  

 

 

WITNESSES: No public hearing  

 

DIGEST: SB 876 would require a judge or magistrate in whose court a criminal 

action was pending to discharge a surety’s liability on a bond if the surety 

filed with the judge or magistrate a motion for discharge supported by an 

affidavit stating that: 

 

 more than five years had elapsed since the date on which the surety 

posted the bond; 

 either the defendant had never been required to appear in court in 

the criminal action or, during the three-year period preceding the 

date of the motion for discharge, there was no apparent activity in 

the criminal action and the prosecutor did not file a written request 

to set a date for the action; 

 the bond was not forfeited before or on the date of the motion for 

discharge; 

 the surety no longer wished to be a surety on the bond; 

 the surety had served the defendant’s attorney, if the defendant was 

represented by an attorney, with a copy of the motion for discharge 

in the manner provided by the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure; and 

 the surety had provided a copy of the motion for discharge to the 

prosecuting attorney. 

 

If the judge or magistrate discharged a surety’s liability under the bill 

and the indictment, information, or complaint remained pending 

against the defendant, the judge or magistrate could issue: 

SUBJECT:  Discharge of a surety's liability on a bail bond in a criminal case  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 18 — 30-0 
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 a capias, or arrest warrant, for the arrest of the defendant; or 

 a summons for the defendant to appear before the judge or 

magistrate for the purpose of giving another bond. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013 and would apply only to a 

bail bond executed on or after that date. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 876 would fix a flaw in the bail bond process, allowing resolution of 

bonds that would otherwise be left in effect indefinitely. Currently in 

Texas a bail bond that is written to obtain the release of a defendant from 

custody is valid for an indefinite amount of time. If the defendant fails to 

appear, the bond is forfeited and the state has four years to prosecute the 

forfeiture. However, if the underlying criminal case is never set for a 

hearing, the bond remains in effect forever. Courts have begun a practice 

of setting hearings in old cases just to forfeit the bond and collect the bond 

revenue. This bill would allow for discharge of those bonds instead, 

allowing these bonds to be resolved and protecting the private bail bond 

industry from improper government overreach. 

 

The bill would provide sufficient opportunity for a prosecuting attorney to 

object. By requiring the surety to provide notice to a prosecutor, the bill 

would ensure that any objections or concerns about the discharge of a 

bond could be raised. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 876 should include a provision to ensure that the prosecuting attorney 

in the underlying criminal case had no objections to the surety’s discharge. 

The prosecuting attorney in a case should have a chance to prevent the 

discharge of a surety’s liability on a bond if there are reasonable 

objections to the discharge. 

 

 



 
HOUSE SB 977  

RESEARCH West  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (S. Thompson) 

- 57 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 7 ayes —  Herrero, Carter, Burnam, Canales, Leach, Moody, Schaefer 

 

1 nay — Toth  

 

1 absent — Hughes  

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Marc Levin, Texas Public Policy Foundation Center for Effective 

Justice; Jorge Renaud, Texas Criminal Justice Coalition; (Registered, but 

did not testify: Yannis Banks, Texas NAACP; Kandice Sanaie, Texas 

Association of Business) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Michael Schneider, Texas 

Association of Broadcasters) 

 

BACKGROUND: Under Government Code, sec. 411.081(d), persons receiving a discharge 

and dismissal from deferred adjudication who also meet certain conditions 

may ask the court for an order of nondisclosure of their criminal records. 

These conditions include not being convicted of or placed on deferred 

adjudication for certain offenses while on deferred adjudication and not 

having previous convictions for certain violent, sex, or family violence 

offenses. 

 

If a court issues an order of nondisclosure, criminal justice agencies are 

prohibited from disclosing to the public criminal history records subject to 

the order. This makes criminal history records unavailable to the public 

but allows criminal justice agencies access to them and allows access by 

certain other listed entities listed in sec. 411.081(i). 

 

When a request for an order of nondisclosure is made, subject to certain 

deadlines and criteria, courts must hold a hearing on the request, after 

notifying  the prosecutor. After a hearing on whether the person is entitled 

to file the petition and whether the issuance of the order is in the best 

SUBJECT:  Procedure for requesting, issuing nondisclosure orders of criminal records  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, May 2 — 31-0 
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interest of justice, courts must issue the nondisclosure order.  

 

DIGEST: SB 977 would allow petitions for nondisclosure of criminal records to be 

filed with a court in person, electronically, or by mail. The Office of Court 

Administration (OCA) would be required to develop a form for filing an 

electronic or mail request. The form would have to allow the petition to be 

accompanied by the required fee and supporting material that OCA 

determined was necessary.  

 

The electronic and printable application would have to be available on 

OCA’s website. County and district clerks offices that maintain websites 

would have to include on their website a link to the forms.  

 

Upon receipt of a petition of nondisclosure, courts would have to give 

notice to the prosecutor and an opportunity for a hearing on whether the 

person was entitled to file the request and whether the issuance of the 

order would be in the best interest of justice.  

 

Courts would not have to hold hearings if the prosecutor did not request 

one within 45 days after receiving notice and the court determined that the 

defendant was entitled to nondisclosure and that the change was in the best 

interest of justice. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013, and would apply to petitions 

made on or after that date, regardless of when the person was placed on 

deferred adjudication. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 977 is needed to increase access to orders of nondisclosure by those 

who currently are authorized to ask for them. SB 977 would not change 

who is eligible for an order of nondisclosure, only the process involved in 

requesting and granting.  

 

Current law does not explicitly authorize electronic submission of these 

requests. Allowing electronic submission along with traditional methods 

of filing in person and the mail would improve efficiency and make this 

tool more easily accessible. This should allow more people who meet the 

criteria to reap the benefits of nondisclosure. When criminal records are 

publically available persons can have difficulties with access to housing, 

jobs, school, and more. 

 

The bill would eliminate the need to hold a hearing in all these cases so 
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that they could proceed more quickly and efficiently when the prosecutor 

was not challenging the request or wanting to weigh in on the court 

decision.  Courts would continue to have to consider whether the order 

was in the best interest of justice, providing a check in the process to 

ensure that the orders were issued only in appropriate cases.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

Allowing some orders of non-disclosure to be granted without a hearing 

would remove a check and balance in the current process that helps ensure 

the orders are issued in appropriate cases and that a public record of the 

consideration of the request is made.  

 

 



 
HOUSE SB 108  

RESEARCH West  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Lewis) 

- 60 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 6 ayes —  Lewis, Farrar, Farney, Gooden, Hunter, K. King 

 

2 nays — Raymond, S. Thompson 

 

1 absent — Hernandez Luna 

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Roland Love, Texas Land Title Association; Joe Maley 

 

Against — None 

BACKGROUND: Under the Civil Practice and Remedies Code, the doctrine of adverse 

possession cannot be asserted against a cotenant heir. If there is no deed or 

title, a person can acquire rights to real property after adversely possessing 

the property for 10 years, if all requirements are met.  

 

DIGEST: SB 108 would allow a cotenant heir to adversely possess real property 

against another cotenant heir after 15 years.  

 

Definition. The bill would define cotenant heir as a person who 

simultaneously acquired an identical, undivided ownership interest in, and 

the right to possession of, the same real property as one or more 

individuals. Cotenant heirs could occur through Texas’ intestate (no valid 

will) succession laws or if a cotenant heir had a successor in interest.   

 

Requirements. One or more cotenant heirs of real property could acquire 

the interests of another cotenant heir through the doctrine of adverse 

possession. The possessing cotenant heir would have to meet several 

requirements to acquire the rights of another cotenant heir. The person 

would have to: 

 

 continuously possess the property for 10 years; 

SUBJECT:  Allowing adverse possession of property by a cotenant heir in 15 years 

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 27 — 30-0, on the Local and Uncontested 

Calendar 
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 peaceably and exclusively have possession of the property; 

 cultivate, use, or enjoy the property; and  

 pay all property taxes on the property within two years of the taxes 

being due. 

 

Disqualifying actions. The possessing cotenant heir would not be able to 

assert adverse possession of the property if another cotenant had:  

 

 contributed to the property’s taxes or maintenance; 

 challenged a possessing cotenant heir’s exclusive possession of the 

property; 

 asserted any other claim against a possessing cotenant heir in 

connection with the property, such as the right rental payments; 

 acted to preserve their own interest in the property by filing notice 

of interest in the applicable county’s deed records; 

 entered into certain written agreements that did not forfeit their 

ownership rights.  

 

Claim of adverse possession. To make a claim of adverse possession, the 

possessing cotenant heir would have to file the appropriate affidavit in the 

deed records of the county where the property was located. For a month 

after the affidavit was filed, the person would have to publish a notice in a 

newspaper that was generally circulated in the county and would have to 

send a written notice by certified mail to the last known addresses of all 

other cotenant heirs.  

 

Affidavits. The required affidavits could be filed separately or combined 

into a single document. The affidavits would have to include a legal 

description of property, attestations that all requirements for adverse 

possession were met, and an attestation that there had been no 

disqualifying actions by other cotenant heirs. 

 

Converting affidavits. In order to interrupt a claim of adverse possession 

by the possessing cotenant heir, another cotenant heir would have to file a 

controverting affidavit within five years of that filed by the possessing 

cotenant heir.  

 

Rights acquired. The possessing cotenant heir would acquire the title and 

rights to the property, which would prevent all claims by other cotenant 

heirs, if:   
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 no cotenant heir filed a notice of interest in the deed records during 

the ten years when the adverse possession period was accruing; and 

 no controverting affidavit or judgment was filed within five years 

of the possessing cotenant heir’s affidavit.  

 

A bona fide lender for value (e.g., a bank offering a mortgage) could rely 

on the possessing cotenant heir’s affidavit if it had been filed for five years 

and no controverting affidavit or judgment had been filed.   

 

Acreage. Without a title document, the possessing cotenant heir would 

only be able to adversely possess 160 acres. If the acreage were enclosed, 

the possessing tenant could adversely possess all enclosed acreage, even if 

it exceeded 160 acres. If there were a registered deed that fixed the 

boundaries of the property, the possessing cotenant’s claim could extend 

to the boundaries specified in the deed.   

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013.  

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 108 would allow owners to gain clarity about their title and rights to a 

piece of land. Large tracts of land are often passed down from generation 

to generation without clear title, especially among siblings and their heirs. 

Specifically, this is a challenge for landowners in rural areas in Texas who 

want to know if other individuals – perhaps distant relatives – can assert a 

claim to pieces of land. This bill would provide landowners with a 

mechanism to identify potentially interested parties or else attain full and 

clear title to land.  

 

This bill would be especially helpful in the current economy. Property 

without clear title often cannot be sold, rented, or used as collateral to 

secure a loan. By allowing landowners to acquire full ownership through 

adverse possession, this bill would promote clarity, encourage the use and 

cultivation of resources, and allow the market transfer of land. 

 

This bill would protect against the unintentional loss of property rights. 

The requirements for adverse possession are difficult to meet, and this bill 

is narrowly tailored to prevent it from being over-applied in inappropriate 

circumstances.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

While SB 108 could grant clarity of title to some individuals, it could 

cause others unintentionally to lose their rights to a piece of land.  

 



 
HOUSE SB 10  

RESEARCH Van de Putte, et al.  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Menéndez) 

- 63 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Defense and Veterans’ Affairs — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 5 ayes —  Menéndez, R. Sheffield, Collier, R. Miller, Moody 

 

2 nays —  Frank, Schaefer 

 

2 absent —  Farias, Zedler       

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion, HB 3545) 

For — None 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Brent Connett, Texas 

Conservative Coalition) 

 

On — Thomas Palladino, Texas Veterans Commission 

 

BACKGROUND: Government Code, ch. 657 establishes employment preferences for 

competent, honorably discharged veterans who have served at least 90 

consecutive days during a national emergency or who were honorably 

discharged because of a recognized service-connected disability.  

 

The preference also extends to the orphan or the surviving spouse who has 

not remarried of a veteran who was killed during active duty and had 

served at least 90 consecutive days during a national emergency. 

 

Under sec. 657.003, if someone eligible for the veteran’s employment 

preference seeks work or appointment to a public work or public entity — 

a department, commission, board, or agency — the person is entitled to 

preference in employment over other applicants who are not more 

qualified for the position.  

 

Under sec. 657.004, the person in charge of hiring for a public entity or 

public work is required to give preference in hiring to those eligible for the 

veteran’s employment preference so that at least 40 percent of the 

SUBJECT:  Employment, higher education, and state contracts for veterans  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 18 — 30-0 
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employees are those eligible for the preference. 

 

The Texas Council on Purchasing from People with Disabilities oversees a 

set-aside purchasing program under which state agencies must buy goods 

and services made by people with disabilities, as long as the items meet 

agency specifications and have a fair market price. Its purpose is to 

promote personal growth and independence for the disabled while 

providing state government with reasonably priced goods and services. 

 

The 82nd Legislature in 2011 enacted SB 1736 by Van de Putte to form 

the College Credit for Heroes program, which offers veterans credit from 

higher education institutions for their skills and experience. 

 

DIGEST: SB 10 would make changes to the state’s veteran’s employment 

preference and hiring policies. 

 

Veteran’s employment preference. The bill would amend Government 

Code, sec. 657.002 to make eligible for the state’s veteran’s employment 

preference any honorably discharged veteran of the U.S. or state military.  

 

A surviving spouse who had not remarried or the orphan of a veteran 

killed while on active duty also would qualify for the employment 

preference. 

 

State agency hiring requirements. SB 10 would replace “public entity or 

public work” with the term “state agency” and would give a qualifying 

veteran, spouse, or orphan preference for state agency employment over 

other applicants. 

 

Unless an insufficient number of persons entitled to a veteran’s 

employment preference applied for an open agency position, a state 

agency that had not already selected at least 40 percent of its workforce 

from persons who qualified for the preference would be required to 

interview the greater of:  

 

 one person entitled to the preference; or  

 a number of persons entitled to the preference equal to 20 percent 

of the total number of people interviewed for the position. 

 

A state agency would be able to designate an open position as a veterans 

position and accept applications only from people who qualified for the 
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employment preference. 

 

Immediate hiring. A state agency that had not selected at least 40 percent 

of its workforce from persons who qualified for the preference could hire 

for an open position a person entitled to the preference without 

announcing or advertising the position if the agency determined the person 

met the job qualifications and used the commission’s employment website 

to identify a person who qualified for the preference. 

 

Veterans’ liaison. The bill would require a state agency with more than 

500 full-time-equivalent positions to designate a person as its veterans’ 

liaison. 

 

Council on Purchasing program participation. SB 10 would add a 

service-disabled veteran-owned business to the list of entities that 

qualified as a community rehabilitation program under the state’s Council 

on Purchasing From People With Disabilities. 

 

College Credit for Heroes program. The bill would make permanent the 

College Credit for Heroes program and require the Texas Workforce 

Commission to report annually by November 1 to the Legislature and the 

governor on: 

 

 the results of any program grants awarded; 

 the best practices for veterans and military service-members to 

achieve maximum academic or workforce education credit at 

higher education institutions for experience, education, and training 

obtained during military service; 

 measures needed to facilitate the award of academic or workforce 

education credit by higher education institutions for experience, 

education, and training obtained during military service; and 

 other measures to help the entry of trained, qualified veterans and 

military service-members into the workforce. 

 

The bill would repeal sections of Government Code, ch. 657 that currently 

place conditions on the state’s veteran’s employment preference under 

certain circumstances. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013, and would apply to an open 

position with a state agency for which applications were accepted on or 

after that date. 
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SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 10 would help U.S. military veterans connect to jobs, improve their 

opportunities, and use their skills to achieve higher education credits 

through a set of provisions that honor those who served their country in 

the military.  

 

Although Texas offers employment and educational help to its veterans, 

there is a great need to do more. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics 

reported an unemployment rate of 9.9 percent in March 2013 for veterans 

who had served on active duty at any time since September 2001. The 

national jobless rate for the same period was 7.7 percent. In 2012, the 

comptroller reported that veterans made up just 5 percent of all state 

employees.  

 

The bill would help Texas reduce this disparity by allowing state agencies 

to hire veterans directly through the Texas Workforce Commission’s 

system. It also would promote a greater awareness of the skills veterans 

bring with them by requiring state agencies to ensure that veterans made 

up at least 20 percent of their interview pools. In addition, the state’s 

larger agencies would include a liaison who specialized in outreach to 

veterans, which is critical given that two recent wars have yielded a new 

wave of service-members looking to transition to civilian employment. 

 

The bill also would increase the ability of disabled veteran-owned 

businesses to compete for state contracts by making them eligible for the 

state’s Council on Purchasing From People with Disabilities. Allowing 

these veterans into the procurement program would increase their ability 

to grow as entrepreneurs and to hire additional staff. This kind of 

economic development is key for communities and would generate 

revenues that benefit the state. 

 

Making permanent the College Credit for Heroes program would help 

veterans receive educational credit for the skills and knowledge they 

developed in the military. The bill would help to prepare veterans for 

academic and professional success. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 10 would provide an unfair advantage to veterans with regard to others 

seeking employment at state agencies, including candidates who might 

have stronger job qualifications. This is not necessary given the state’s 

variety of programs targeted to helping former members of the military 

obtain employment and receive financial aid for higher education. The 
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Texas Veterans Commission already has a robust set of employment 

programs to help those who served in the military, and the Hazlewood Act 

benefit already provides qualifying veterans and their children an 

exemption on tuition and related fees at higher education institutions, 

which helps them parlay their skill sets into college degrees. 

 



 
HOUSE SB 187  

RESEARCH Huffman  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (Kolkhorst, et al.) 

- 68 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment  

 

VOTE: 9 ayes —  Herrero, Carter, Burnam, Canales, Hughes, Leach, Moody, 

Schaefer, Toth 

 

0 nays   

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion, HB 901) 

For — Justin Wood, Harris County District Attorney’s Office; Tuck 

Mclain, (Registered, but did not testify:  Brian Eppes, Tarrant County 

District Attorney’s Office) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Lauren Rose, Texans Care For 

Children) 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Shannon Edmonds, Texas District 

and County Attorneys Association) 

 

BACKGROUND: Under Family Code, sec. 54.02, juvenile courts may transfer certain 

juveniles to adult court for prosecution. In the case of capital murder, this 

applies to juveniles who are 14, 15, and 16 years old. Those who are 17 

years old are considered adults and tried in the adult system.  

 

Those 14, 15, and 16 years old who have their cases transferred to adult 

court can receive only a sentence of life in prison, which carries with it the 

possibility of parole. They must serve 40 calendar years in prison, without 

consideration of good conduct time, before being eligible to be considered 

for parole.  

 

Those 17 years old and older fall under the punishments available for all 

other capital murders: death or life without parole. However, the U.S. 

Supreme Court has held that the Eighth and Fourteenth amendments to the 

U.S. Constitution forbid the death penalty for offenders who were younger 

than 18 years old when their crimes were committed and that the Eighth 

SUBJECT:  Life in prison for capital felony by those 17 years old at time of offense  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 27 — 30-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 
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Amendment forbids a sentencing scheme that mandates life in prison 

without possibility of parole for juvenile homicide offenders. 

 

DIGEST: SB 187 would require sentences of life in prison for all those convicted of 

a capital felony who were younger than 18 years old when the crime was 

committed. 

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. It would apply to cases pending, on appeal, or 

begun on or after the bill’s effective date.   

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 187 would bring Texas into compliance with a U.S. Supreme Court 

ruling that forbids mandatory life without parole for capital murder 

offenders who are younger than 18.  

 

Under Texas statutes, 17-year-olds convicted of capital murder fall under 

the adult criminal justice system, which makes them eligible either for the 

death penalty or life without parole. However, the death penalty was 

eliminated as an option when the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in 2005 in 

Roper v. Simmons that the Eighth and Fourteenth amendments forbid the 

imposition of the death penalty for offenders who were younger than 18 

years old when their crimes were committed. This left life without parole 

as the only punishment option for 17-year-olds who commit capital 

murder in Texas.   

 

In 2012, the U.S. Supreme Court made another decision affecting the 

Texas sentencing structure under which life without parole is the only 

option for 17-year-olds. The court ruled in Miller v. Alabama that the 

Eighth Amendment forbids a sentencing scheme that mandates life in 

prison without possibility of parole for juvenile homicide offenders. The 

U.S. Supreme Court defines juveniles as younger than 18 years old, which 

means that the 17-year-olds in Texas are included in that prohibition. 

 

This has resulted in there being no punishment available for 17-year-olds 

convicted of capital murder. Cases have been put on hold, and courts are 

waiting for legislative direction. In some cases, prosecutors are charging 

these juveniles with lesser offenses, such as murder or aggravated robbery. 

This sets up an inequitable situation in which these 17-year-old offenders 

would become eligible for parole much sooner than younger teens 

convicted of capital murder who must serve 40 years before being eligible 
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for parole.  

 

SB 187 would address this situation by instituting a sentence of life in 

prison for these 17-year-olds. This would be the same sentence available 

for defendants ranging from 14 to 16 years of age who had their cases 

transferred to adult courts. The bill would meet the requirements of the 

U.S. Supreme Court rulings and allow these cases in Texas to move 

forward. Adult defendants, including those at least 18 years old, could 

continue to be sentenced to death or life without parole upon conviction of 

capital murder.  

 

SB 187 should not be used to institute a unique punishment scheme only 

for 17-year-olds convicted of capital murder, nor should it be used to 

revise the entire punishment structure for 14, 15, and 16 year olds who 

commit capital murder and are punished in the adult system. This 

narrowly drawn bill would be designed only to address the gap in Texas 

law resulting from the Supreme Court decision. It would meet the court’s 

prohibition on mandatory life without parole by working within the 

current sentencing structure to implement a life sentence for those who 

were 17 years old and committed capital murder offender.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

The state should not respond to the 2012 U.S. Supreme Court decision by  

instituting a mandatory life sentence for 17-year-olds convicted of capital 

murder. Replacing one mandatory sentence with another mandatory 

sentence would not meet requirements for individualized sentencing. 

Instead, the state should develop individualized sentencing for all those 

younger than 18 who commit capital murder. This would allow courts to 

take into account the unique characteristics of a young offender and to 

institute more judicial discretion in sentencing all those convicted of 

capital murder who are younger than18 years old.  
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COMMITTEE: Licensing and Administrative Procedures — favorable, without 

amendment  

 

VOTE: 8 ayes — Smith, Kuempel, Geren, Guillen, Gutierrez, Miles, Price,  

S. Thompson 

 

0 nays 

 

1 absent — Gooden  

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Michael Creamer; Albert D’Andrea; Matt Freund; Hank Hodes; 

Todd McAlister, Texas Air Conditioning Contractors Association; 

Stephen Pape; Vikrant Reddy, Texas Public Policy Foundation; 

(Registered, but did not testify: Randel Beal; Alfred Bingham Jr. and Jeff 

Bright, Texas Burglar and Fire Alarm Association; Charles Davidson, 

Chris Dees, Brandon Foster, and Brent Lewis, Standard Supply; KeeAnn 

DeVora, Air Conditioning Contractors Association San Antonio; Phillip 

Doll; Shannon Noble and Victoria Schaefer, Texas Air Conditioning 

Contractors Association; Dan Shelley, Plumbing Heating Cooling 

Contractors; K. C. Walters, QLS Services, Inc.; Marvin White) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: William Kuntz, Texas Department 

of Licensing and Regulation) 

 

BACKGROUND: Occupations Code, ch. 1702, otherwise known as the Private Security Act, 

regulates private security firms. The chapter includes licenses for 

investigations firms, security services contractors, and electronic access 

control device companies.  

 

Insurance Code, ch. 6002 governs the certification and licensing of 

individuals and organizations engaged in the planning, designing, 

installation, and maintenance of fire alarm devices and systems. 

SUBJECT:  Regulating the sale and installation of integrated home technology  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 4 — 31-0 



SB 407 

House Research Organization 

page 2 

 

- 72 - 

 

Occupations Code, ch. 1302 regulates the licensing of air conditioning and 

refrigeration contractors.  

 

DIGEST: SB 407 would exempt from the air conditioning and refrigeration licensing 

requirements of Occupations Code, ch. 1302, license holders under 

Occupations Code, ch. 1702 and Insurance Code, ch. 6002 who sold, 

designed, or offered to sell or design a product or technology that was 

integrated with an air conditioning or refrigeration system if the sale, 

design, or offer did not include the installation of any part of an air 

conditioning or refrigeration system by that person.  

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 
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RESEARCH Patrick, et al.  
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COMMITTEE: Public Education — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 11 ayes — Aycock, Allen, J. Davis, Deshotel, Dutton, Farney, Huberty,  

K. King, Ratliff, J. Rodriguez, Villarreal 

 

0 nays    

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Sandra West, Science Teachers Association of Texas; (Registered, 

but did not testify: Patricia V. Hayes, Stand for Children Texas; Ben 

Maddox, Kids First; Mike Moses; Jim Nelson; Justin Yancy, Texas 

Business Leadership Council) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Harley Eckhart, Texas 

Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association) 

 

On — Priscilla Aquino-Garza, Educate Texas; (Registered, but did not 

testify: David Anderson, Texas Education Agency; Melva V. Cardenas, 

Texas Association of School Personnel Administrators) 

 

BACKGROUND: The 82nd Legislature in 2011 passed SB 866, which included 

requirements for educator preparation related to detecting and educating 

students with dyslexia. The 82nd Legislature also passed SB 1620, which 

included requirements to obtain a certificate to teach an applied STEM (or 

science, technology, engineering or mathematics) course. 

 

DIGEST: SB 1403 would reenact SB 866 and 1620 from the 82nd session and make 

other changes to educator preparation programs and teacher evaluations in 

Education Code, sec. 21.044. It also would require surveys of teacher pay 

and working conditions. 

 

Teacher certification. Each educator preparation program would be 

required to provide information regarding: 

 

 the skills and responsibilities of educators and the high 

SUBJECT:  Educator preparation programs and teacher evaluations   

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 25 — 28-0 
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expectations for students; 

 the effect of supply and demand on the educator workforce; 

 the performance over time of the educator preparation program; 

 the importance of building strong classroom management skills; 

and 

 the framework for teacher and principal evaluation. 

 

The bill would require 15 credit hours for certification in grades 7-12 for 

math and science and 12 hours for teachers not teaching those subject 

areas. 

 

It would require the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) not to 

exceed a requirement for an overall grade point average of at least 2.75 or 

the equivalent for the last 60 semester credit hours. An exception to the 

minimum GPA requirement could be granted only in extraordinary 

circumstances and could not be used by a program to admit more than 10 

percent of candidates. 

 

SBEC would determine the satisfactory level of performance required for 

each certification examination and would allow 45 days to pass before a 

person could retake the exam. 

 

Teacher evaluations and mentoring. School districts would be required 

to conduct more frequent classroom observations and walk-throughs to 

ensure that teachers received adequate evaluation and guidance. This 

would be done more frequently for inexperienced teachers. Feedback 

would be provided promptly so that the appraisal could be used as a 

development tool. 

 

Teacher surveys. The Texas Education Agency (TEA) would be required 

to consult with the Teacher Retirement System of Texas to determine 

median salaries of teachers by grade level and subject, post the median 

salaries on the agency website, and report to the Legislature. 

 

The bill would allow funding for teacher mentoring to be used for 

scheduled release time for mentors to meet with the teachers they were 

assigned to mentor. The commissioner would report annually to the 

Legislature on the effectiveness of district mentoring programs. 

 

TEA also would be required to annually analyze the cost of living in each 

region of the state to determine if teacher salaries were comparable to 
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salaries paid to persons engaged in comparable professions. 

 

The bill also would require TEA to conduct a statewide survey of working 

conditions, including demands on a teacher's time, campus and district 

leadership, support for new teachers, professional development 

opportunities, and other matters. The survey would be designed to prevent 

disclosure of participants, and teachers could decline to participate. The 

initial survey would be completed by September 1, 2014, and aggregate 

results would be released to the public. 

 

TEA would periodically conduct an audit of professional development 

requirements and work to eliminate conflicting requirements. 

 

TEA could only use available funds and resources from public or private 

sources to conduct the surveys. 

 

The bill also would require a new advisory committee to evaluate the 

implementation of changes made by SB 1403 and a joint review by public 

and higher education agencies of existing standards for educator 

preparation programs.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 1403 would increase entry requirements for educator-preparation 

programs to improve the quality of candidates seeking to teach Texas 

students. It would add credit hours for math and science to ensure the best-

trained teachers were delivering those subjects. 

 

Requiring a satisfactory level of performance on each core subject covered 

by the generalist exam would be a step forward. 

 

Teachers would receive timely feedback of their appraisal results and 

could use that information to immediately improve their performance. 

 

The salary data review and comparison to other professionals on a regional 

basis would provide relevant information for state and local decisions on 

teacher pay. 

 

The bill’s provisions on annual surveys of teacher working conditions and 

periodic audits of professional development requirements and mentoring 

also would provide valuable information to improve the teaching 
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profession. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 1403 could result in decreased enrollment in educator preparation 

programs at a time of growing student populations and a great need for 

teachers as many teachers are retiring or otherwise leaving the profession. 

 

The bill would cost $1.1 million for fiscal 2014-15 for annual cost-of-

living analyses and surveys of working conditions required by the bill, 

according to the Legislative Budget Board. 

 

OTHER 
OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 1403 would not go far enough in raising entry requirements for teacher 

preparation programs. The bill also could have done more to overhaul the 

teacher evaluation system, including taking into account student test 

scores as Dallas and Houston ISDs are doing. 

 

NOTES: The fiscal note states that the bill would cost TEA an estimated $800,000 

in fiscal 2014 and $300,000 in subsequent years for an annual cost-of-

living analysis. TEA also estimates a $300,000 cost in fiscal 2014 to 

contract for the statewide survey of working conditions for public school 

teachers. 

 

 

 

 



 
HOUSE SB 505  

RESEARCH Deuell  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (S. Davis) 

- 77 - 

 

COMMITTEE: Public Health — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 7 ayes — Kolkhorst, Naishtat, Collier, Cortez, S. Davis, Guerra, 

J.D. Sheffield 

 

3 nays — S. King, Laubenberg, Zedler  

 

1 absent — Coleman 

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 1161) 

For — Edward Correia, Orthotic Coalition for Patient and Physician 

Choice; Bobby Hillert, Texas Orthopaedic Association; (Registered, but 

did not testify: Jennifer Banda, Texas Hospital Association; Jaime Capelo, 

Texas Academy of Physician Assistants; Patricia Conradt; Dan Finch, 

Texas Medical Association; J. Pete Laney, Orthotic Coalition for Patient 

and Physician Choice; David Williams, Texas Nurse Practitioners; Eric 

Woomer, Federation of Texas Psychiatry) 

 

Against — Mike Allen; Katie Brinkley; Snapper Carr, Texas Association 

of Orthotists and Prosthetists; Scott Jameson, American Academy of 

Orthotists and Prosthetists, Texas Chapter; Mark Kirchner; Amy Mehary, 

Texas Association of Orthotists and Prosthetists; Robb Walker; 

(Registered, but did not testify: Sheron Archie, Hanger Clinic; Frieda 

Borth, Hanger Clinic; Michael Brown; Gary Crowe; Ninfa Gonzales, 

Hanger Clinic, ABC; Amanda Ischy, Hanger Clinic; Jennifer Marchel, 

Hanger Clinic, ABC; Allison Neil, Hanger Clinic, ABC; Shawn 

Schroeder, Hanger Clinic; Mark Scott, Hanger Clinic; Rose Scott, Hanger 

Clinic) 

 

On — Mari Robinson, Texas Medical Board; (Registered, but did not 

testify: David Olvera, Texas Board of Orthotics and Prosthetics) 

 

BACKGROUND: Chapter 605 of the Occupations Code governs the licensing and regulation 

of orthotists, persons licensed to practice orthotics, which is the science 

SUBJECT:  Licensing requirements for persons measuring or fitting orthoses  

  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 8 — 30-1 (Seliger) 
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and practice of measuring, designing, fitting, or servicing an orthosis. An 

orthosis is a custom-fabricated or custom-fitted medical device designed to 

provide for the support, alignment, prevention, or correction of a 

neuromuscular or musculoskeletal disease, injury, or deformity.  

 

DIGEST: SB 505 would exempt from the licensing and regulatory requirements in 

ch. 605, Occupations Code, persons measuring or fitting an orthosis under 

the supervision of a physician licensed to practice in Texas. This 

exemption would not apply to the measuring and fitting of a custom-

fabricated device if its measuring and fitting required substantial clinical 

judgment as determined by the treating physician. 

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 505 would improve patient access to orthotic health care devices and 

services by allowing supervised employees to measure and fit orthoses 

without requiring they be licensed orthotists. Many orthotics are simple, 

standardized, and safe. Requiring special degrees or licenses to provide 

access to these devices reduces the number who would otherwise assist 

clients in obtaining them.  

 

The bill would save money for individuals and the health care system. 

Currently, those available to fit and measure orthoses are limited by 

burdensome licensing restrictions, which raises the cost of orthotic devices 

and service. Increasing the number of orthotic assistants would remove 

this source of health care inflation and allow the free market to more 

accurately determine the costs of orthotics. 

 

SB 505 would protect consumers' health by requiring a licensed physician 

oversee any measuring or fitting of clients that required substantial clinical 

judgment.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 505 would put patient health at risk. The Texas Board of Orthotics and 

Prosthetics' current licensing requirements are reasonable and ensure a 

safe experience for patients. Although the bill would require a non-

licensed employee be supervised by a physician, it would not specify the 

degree or frequency of this supervision. In a lax environment where 

physicians and licensed orthotists provided only background oversight 

over non-specialized employees, there would be a higher risk that 
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situations requiring substantial clinical judgment would go undetected.  
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RESEARCH Birdwell, et al. (Farias)  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/21/2013 (CSSB 442 by Farias) 

- 80 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Defense and Veterans’ Affairs — committee substitute recommended 

 

VOTE: 5 ayes — Menéndez, Farias, R. Miller, Moody, Zedler 

 

2 nays — Frank, Schaefer  

 

2 absent — R. Sheffield, Collier 

 

 

WITNESSES: No public hearing   

 

DIGEST: CSSB 442 would amend Government Code, ch. 661, to revise military 

leave provisions for state employees.  

 

A state employee would be entitled to leave if the person was a member of 

a reserve unit of U.S. military, including the National Guard, that was 

ordered to federal active duty for at least 180 days during a war or conflict 

or to support a stability operation that followed a war or conflict. 

 

The bill also would ensure that such a member of the military who was re-

employed by a state agency would be granted leave without a deduction in 

salary or loss of vacation time, sick leave, earned overtime, or state 

compensatory time to tend to a matter related to their military service or 

reintegration into civilian life, which would include obtaining medical or 

mental health care and receiving counseling. This leave could not exceed 

15 days and would have to be used before the first anniversary of the day 

the reservist or guardsperson was re-employed by the state agency. 

 

The administrative head of a state agency could grant additional days of 

leave to the state employee.   

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSSB 442 would ensure that military reservists and members of the 

National Guard who returned to their state agency jobs had available leave 

SUBJECT:  Relating to leave for certain veterans returning to state employment    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 4 — 31-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 
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time to tend to the matters that often crop up when transitioning back to 

civilian life. 

 

Allowing these citizen soldiers, marines, sailors, and airmen up to 15 days 

of leave following their active-duty service would minimize any financial 

hardship military service might cause them. The effects of fighting in a 

war can cause reservists and guardsmen to continue to seek health care 

well after they have been released and returned to their employers. CSSB 

442 would ensure that an appointment at a Veterans Affairs clinic or any 

other reintegration matter would not cost a state employee to lose out in 

salary, vacation time, or sick leave. 

 

Additionally, the bill would ensure that only those who fought in a conflict 

were allowed this leave, and it would require an agency’s director to grant 

any additional time off from work if these 15 days of leave were exhausted 

within a year of the service member’s return to employment. This 

provision would ensure that such leave was used sparingly but it also 

would give discretion to an agency’s administrator to allow for a necessary 

absence. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

CSSB 442 is unnecessary because the military does not simply release a 

service member who has a serious disability that requires medical care. 

Although Texas should make a priority of honoring state employees who 

serve in our military, it should not expend important resources to do so. 
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RESEARCH Estes  
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COMMITTEE: Special Purpose Districts — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 7 ayes —  D. Bonnen, Alvarado, Clardy, Goldman, Krause, Stickland,  

E. Thompson 

 

0 nays    

 

2 absent —  D. Miller, Lucio        

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Bruce Bennett; (Registered, but did not testify: Kathy Barber, 

NFIB/Texas; George Christian, Texas Civil Justice League;  

Kandice Sanaie, Texas Association of Business; Jeffery Hart) 

 

Against — None 

 

DIGEST: SB 522 would amend the Government Code relating to contested cases 

conducted under the Administrative Procedure Act, which governs 

procedures in contested case hearings before state agencies. 

 

Detailed statement of the facts.  A state agency or other party would be 

required to include a short, plain statement of factual matters in detail at 

the time notice of a contested case hearing was served. In a proceeding in 

which the state agency had the burden of proof, a state agency that 

intended to rely on a section of a statute or rule not previously referenced 

in the notice of hearing would have to amend the notice within seven days, 

rather than three days, of the hearing.  

 

This would not prohibit the state agency from filing an amendment during 

the hearing of a contested case provided the opposing party was granted a 

continuance of at least seven days to prepare its case on request of the 

opposing party. 

 

In a suit for judicial review of a final decision or order of a state agency in 

a contested case, the state agency’s failure to include in the notice for a 

SUBJECT:  Contested cases conducted under the Administrative Procedure Act    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 25 — 24-4 (Campbell, Huffman, Nelson, Williams) 
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contested case hearing a reference to the particular sections of the statutes 

and rules involved or a detailed statement of the facts would constitute 

prejudice to the substantial rights of the appellant under sec. 2001.174(2), 

making it reversible error, unless the court found that the failure did not 

unfairly surprise and prejudice the appellant. 

 

License suspension. Licensees would be required to be given notice and 

an opportunity to show compliance before their licenses were suspended. 

If a state agency that already had the power to suspend a license under 

another statute determined that an imminent threat to the public health, 

safety, or welfare required emergency action and incorporated a factual 

and legal basis establishing that threat in an order, the agency could issue 

an order to suspend the license pending proceedings for revocation or 

other action.   

 

The agency would be required to initiate the proceedings for revocation or 

other action within 30 days of the summary suspension order being signed.  

The proceedings would have to be promptly determined, and if the 

proceedings were not initiated within 30 days of the order being signed, 

the license holder could appeal the summary suspension order to a Travis 

County district court.   

 

This would not grant any state agency the power to suspend a license 

without notice or a hearing. 

 

Notice and show of compliance before license suspension. In a suit for 

judicial review of a final decision or order of a state agency brought by a 

license holder, the agency’s failure to give notice and give the license 

holder an opportunity to show compliance before a license is suspended 

would constitute prejudice to the substantial rights of the license holder, 

making it a reversible error, unless the court determined that the failure did 

not unfairly surprise and prejudice the license holder. 

 

Notification of decisions and orders. SB 522 would revise the provision 

requiring that a party in a contested case hearing be notified of decisions 

and orders personally or by first-class mail, to instead require a state 

agency to make such notification to each party personally, by e-mail, fax,  

or by first-class, certified, or registered mail.  

 

Motion for rehearing. A motion for rehearing in a contested case would 

have to identify the errors made in the contested case and be filed by a 
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party within 20 days of the date the decision or order that was the subject 

of the motion was signed, unless the time for filing the motion for 

rehearing had been extended by an agreement or by a written state agency 

order. On filing of the motion for rehearing, copies of the motion would be 

sent to all other parties using the appropriate notification procedures. The 

bill would provide a deadline for replying to a motion for rehearing, but it 

would not be required. 

 

The bill would establish when and how the time for filing a motion for 

rehearing and a reply to a motion for rehearing could be extended. 

 

If a party did not receive notice of the date the decision or order was 

signed within 15 days, the deadline for filing a motion for rehearing would 

begin to run either on the date that the party finally received the notice or 

on the date the party actually acquired knowledge that a decision or order 

had been signed, whichever happened first. The deadline would begin to 

run no earlier than the 15th day following the signing of the decision or 

order, and could not begin later than the 90th day.  

 

SB 522 would place the burden of showing that proper notice of the 

decision or order was not received within 15 days on the adversely 

affected party by filing a sworn motion. If the state agency wished to 

contest the party’s claim that it did not receive notice, it would have to 

deny the sworn motion at its next meeting or, if it did not hold meetings, 

no later than 10 days after the date it received the motion. If the state 

agency failed to respond, the motion would be granted.  

 

Final decisions or orders. SB 522 would require a decision or order that 

could become final in a contested case to be signed, rather than rendered, 

within 60 days of the hearing being finally closed. In a contested case 

heard by other than a majority of the officials of a state agency, the person 

who conducted the contested case hearing could extend the period in 

which the decision or order could be signed, in lieu of the agency. 

 

SB 522 would provide that a decision or order in a contested case would 

be final on the date it was signed, rather than rendered.  

 

Prematurely filed petitions. In a contested case in which a motion for 

rehearing was a prerequisite for seeking judicial review, a prematurely 

filed petition would be effective to initiate judicial review and would be 

considered to be filed on the date the last timely motion for rehearing was 
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overruled and after the motion was overruled. 

 

Effective date. This bill would take effect September 1, 2013.  

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 522 would address procedures and the rights of parties in contested 

case hearings involving state agencies. Differences between the 

Administrative Procedure Act, which governs procedures in contested case 

hearings before state agencies, and the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, 

which govern procedures in traditional courts, can be confusing and 

difficult with respect to when an agency decision can be appealed. These 

procedures can be difficult for even experienced administrative lawyers to 

apply, especially with regard to motions for rehearing and suits for judicial 

review.   

 

Detailed statement of the facts.  SB 522 would achieve effective 

enforcement of the Administrative Procedure Act’s notice of hearing 

requirement in contested case proceedings. State agencies are required to 

give notice to the licensees regarding the statutes and rules involved in a 

contested case before it goes to trial. However, agencies often fail to give 

adequate notice of the grounds for contested cases, either by failing to 

comply with statutory requirements or by justifying decisions based on 

statutes and rules that were never disclosed before the hearing. As a result, 

many businesses, professionals, and other entities have been disciplined 

for violating statutes or rules that were never disclosed before the hearing 

and against which they had no opportunity to defend. Such disciplinary 

actions are contrary to the due process of law.   

 

A licensee that goes before a state agency to defend his or her license 

should be provided all information as required by law. If the licensee does 

not receive the appropriate notifications, his or her license should not be 

jeopardized simply because a state agency failed to do its job. Small 

business owners are at a disadvantage in this process simply because 

retaining a lawyer is most likely not within their financial resources. They 

must rely on the state for relevant information and when they do not 

receive it, they cannot vigorously defend their licenses. 

 

Notice and show of compliance before license suspension. The courts 

are currently not strictly enforcing the requirements of notice and an 

opportunity to show compliance before a license is suspended due to a 

desire to give agencies flexibility to suspend licenses in emergencies. 

Consequently, licensees are being denied the statutory right to show 
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compliance. This bill would allow agencies to suspend licenses in 

emergencies, while strictly enforcing the requirements of notice and an 

opportunity to show compliance before a license was suspended. The bill 

would make failure by a state agency to provide the statutes and rules 

involved in the contested case a reversible error. This would provide 

incentive to state agencies to make available necessary information as 

required by law. 

 

Motion for rehearing. Under the current process, the deadline for seeking 

relief from an agency decision is dependent on the date a party to the 

proceeding receives actual or presumed notice of the decision. Starting the 

clock on the date each party received actual or presumed notice of an 

agency decision results in multiple deadlines for filing motions for 

rehearing or petitions for judicial review in multi-party cases. The 

multiple, different deadlines and the resulting uncertainty cause regulated 

businesses, professionals, and other licensees to lose their appellate rights– 

even when they are represented by capable, experienced attorneys. 

 

SB 522 would establish a similar structure contained in the Texas Rules of 

Civil and Appellate Procedure by providing that the deadlines for a motion 

for rehearing would begin on the date the agency decision was signed. 

This structure has worked well for many years without major problems. 

Tying the beginning date for seeking relief from an agency decision to the 

date the decision was signed would cause fewer deadlines to be missed 

because one controlling date would be established.   

 

Prematurely filed petitions. SB 522 includes a provision that would 

overrule judicial decisions in which the courts had ruled that a prematurely 

filed petition for judicial review was ineffective in contested cases in 

which a motion for rehearing was a prerequisite for seeking judicial 

review. This would allow a prematurely filed petition for judicial review 

to become effective immediately after the last timely motion for rehearing 

was overruled by the agency and the agency decision became final. This 

would prevent appellate rights from being lost because of premature 

action. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 522 would allow agencies to suspend licenses in emergencies without 

a hearing. While this provision of the bill would be limited to agencies that 

already have this authority under another statute, a suspension of a license 

could be extremely damaging financially and would be a clear case of 

regulatory overreach that would have a chilling effect on the marketplace. 
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Many licensed professionals depend on their licenses for their livelihoods. 

It could create regulatory uncertainty and reduce the willingness of 

businesses to invest in Texas.  
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