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	 In November 2005, the Texas Supreme Court upheld a ruling by state 
District Judge John Dietz of Austin that school districts lacked “meaningful 
discretion” in setting local maintenance and operation (M&O) tax rates, 
effectively resulting in an unconstitutional state property tax. The court ordered 
the Legislature to remedy the constitutional infirmity in the school tax system by 
June 1, 2006, or else the court would enjoin the state from distributing funding 
for the public school system.  

	 Gov. Rick Perry called the Legislature into special session on April 17, 2006, 
to address the Supreme Court’s decision. He asked the Legislature to reduce 
school property tax rates and to consider new sources of state revenue dedicated 
to replacing local revenue from the school property tax reduction.  

	 In November 2005, the governor appointed the Texas Tax Reform 
Commission, chaired by former Comptroller John Sharp, to devise a new 
business taxation system to replace the corporate franchise tax. The commission 
proposed a new business tax based on the “margin” between gross receipts 
and either personnel costs or the cost of goods sold, with all corporations and 
limited liability partnerships subject to the tax, subject to certain limitations and 
exemptions depending on the type of business and its business volume. The 
commission also proposed establishing a standard presumptive value of motor 
vehicles for determining sales taxes and an increase in the tax on cigarettes 
and other tobacco products. The commission recommended that the additional 
revenue from these new taxes, plus general revenue from the state budget 
surplus, be dedicated to reducing school M&O property taxes by at least one 
third. 
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	 In its third called session (April 16-May 15, 2006), 
the 79th Legislature essentially adopted the commission’s 
recommendations, enacting a revised business franchise tax 
(HB 3 by J. Keffer), a motor vehicle standard presumptive 
value for sales tax purposes (HB 4 by Swinford), and an 
increase in the tax rate for cigarettes and other tobacco 
products (HB 5 by Hamric), with all of the additional 
revenue generated by these new or revised taxes dedicated 
to reducing school property tax rates (HB 2 by Pitts). 
According to Legislative Budget Board (LBB) estimates, 
the new taxes will not generate enough revenue to cover 
the full cost of reducing school property taxes mandated 
in HB 1 by Chisum, requiring an additional spending 
commitment to make up the difference. 

	 In HB 1, the Legislature mandated a one-third reduction 
in school district M&O taxes by tax year 2007. For districts 
now taxing at the maximum of $1.50 per $100 valuation, 
the base tax rate will drop by 11.3 percent, to $1.33 in the 
2006 tax year, and by one third, to $1.00 in the 2007 tax 
year. School districts would have the discretion to levy up to 
4 cents per $100 beyond the base tax rate in “enrichment” 
taxes without voter approval. Additional enrichment taxes 
would have to be approved by district voters in an election.

Property-wealthy districts will not have to return revenue 
raised by the first 4 cents (the first 6 cents, starting in 2009) 
of their enrichment tax under the “Robin Hood” recapture 
system, and other districts will receive additional state aid 
to equalize the yield from their enrichment tax. State aid to 
equalize the yield from all M&O taxes also will increase.  

	 Teachers, librarians, counselors, and nurses will receive 
a $2,000 per year pay increase, and their $500 health 
insurance supplement will be converted to salary. New 
performance pay incentive programs will reward teachers 
and other educators for improved student performance and 
for teaching at high-performing schools with disadvantaged 
students. A new allotment of $275 per student in grades 9-12 
will be used to reduce dropout rates, prepare students for 
college, and increase state support for high school programs. 
High school students will have to take four years of math 
and science to graduate. The school year in all districts must 
begin on the fourth Monday in August. More school district 
financial information must be made accessible to the public.

	 This report summarizes the legislation enacted during 
the 79th Legislature’s third called session. 
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	 HB 1 by Chisum provides state aid to school districts to 
reduce maintenance and operation (M&O) property taxes by 
11.3 percent in tax year 2006 and one third (33.3 percent) in 
tax year 2007 and beyond. For districts taxing at the current 
$1.50 M&O cap, the M&O rate will be $1.33 per $100 
valuation in tax year 2006 and $1.00 per $100 in tax year 
2007. The state may provide additional funding for further 
property tax relief in the future based on the availability of 
revenues from the new state taxes enacted during the special 
session and legislative appropriations.    

	 The bill allows school districts to raise additional 
revenue beyond the compressed M&O tax rate by adding 
“enrichment” taxes. Districts generally can raise their 
enrichment tax by 4 cents per $100 valuation, with voter 
approval in an election required for tax rates above that 
level. The current $1.50 per $100 cap on school M&O 
property tax rates is repealed and replaced with a new cap 
of $1.17 beginning with tax year 2007, with the cap lowered 
proportionately if the state further reduces school property 
taxes.  

	 Local enrichment funds up to 4 cents (6 cents starting in 
2009) will be “equalized” with state aid to ensure that each 
district, at the same tax effort, can raise the same amount 
as the Austin Independent School District (currently about 
$41.22 per penny per student). These enrichment funds also 
will not be subject to “recapture” – the process by which the 
state redistributes local property tax revenues from property-
wealthy districts so that students in less wealthy districts 
receive roughly equal funding. Additional enrichment 
pennies beyond 4 cents (6 cents in 2009) will be subject to 
recapture and the same level  of equalization as other M&O 
revenue.

	 In 2007, HB 1 increases from $27.14 to $31.95 the 
amount per student per penny that each district, regardless 
of property wealth, is guaranteed to raise at the same level 
of tax effort. (This “guaranteed yield” accounts for the extra 
costs involved in educating certain students, including those 
in bilingual and special education programs.) In addition to 
increasing the basic level of funding per weighted student 
from $2,537 to $2,748, the bill provides to districts $275 per 
student in grades 9-12 for dropout prevention and college 
readiness programs, with the same amount per student going 
to districts regardless of property wealth or special needs. 

HB 1 – School Property Tax Reduction and Public Education Revisions

	 School districts and charter schools will receive state 
funding to provide $2,000 annual pay raises for teachers 
and full-time nurses, counselors, and librarians. The health 
insurance supplement that employees formerly received 
– $500 for full-time staff and $250 for part-time staff – is 
converted to salary. In addition, HB 1 creates an “Educator 
Excellence Fund” that, beginning September 1, 2008, will 
provide up to $100 million in annual incentive payments 
to classroom teachers who effectively improve student 
achievement. A second program provides up to $100 million 
in state funds for the 2006-07 school year to reward teachers 
who improve student achievement in schools with a high 
percentage of educationally disadvantaged students. 

	 HB 1 establishes new accreditation standards for school 
districts and creates new sanctions for low-performing 
campuses and charter schools. Possible sanctions include 
interventions by expert teams, changes in school staff and 
management and, ultimately, the closure of failing schools. 

	 Among its numerous other changes, HB 1:

requires schools to start the fourth Monday in 
August unless the district operates a year-round 
system;
requires high school students to complete four 
years of math and science, beginning with students 
entering 9th grade in the 2007-08 school year;
requires districts to hold school board elections on 
the same dates as city-wide or general elections;
halts the issuance of future textbook proclamations 
so that the Legislature can consider reforms to the 
system of procuring and purchasing textbooks; and
requires school districts to make summaries of 
proposed annual budgets available on the Web.

School district taxes and school 
finance

	 HB 1 provides state funding for school districts 
to reduce property taxes for M&O based on a “state 
compression percentage.” Districts will have to reduce their 
tax year 2005 M&O taxes by 11.3 percent for tax year 2006 
and 33.3 percent for tax year 2007, with a higher percentage 
reduction in future years if the new taxes enacted during the 
special session raise additional revenue or the Legislature 

•

•

•

•

•



Page � House Research Organization

provides additional funding. In 2006, districts will be able 
to impose up to 4 cents in additional M&O “enrichment” 
taxes beyond the compressed rate, but enrichment taxes at a 
higher rate will require voter approval in an election. Similar 
limits will apply to future enrichment tax increases. The 
current statutory $1.50 cap on M&O taxes is repealed, with 
the new cap being the state M&O tax reduction percentage 
times $1.50, which in tax year 2007 would be $1.00, plus 17 
cents, for a total of $1.17.

	 The revenue generated by the first 4 cents of enrichment 
taxes (the first 6 cents starting in 2009) will be “equalized” 
with state funds to ensure that every district has access to 
the same level of property wealth as the Austin Independent 
School District and will not be subject to recapture. Any 
additional enrichment tax revenue will be subject to 
recapture and equalized to ensure that districts have access 
to the same revenue as a district in the 88th percentile of 
school district property wealth in the state, as will revenue 
generated by M&O taxes below the enrichment rate.

	 Tax reduction. HB 1 provides state aid to school 
districts to reduce local property taxes. Districts will 
calculate their reduced M&O tax rates according to a “state 
compression percentage” of 88.67 percent of their 2005 
tax rate in fiscal 2007 and 66.67 percent of the 2005 tax 
rate in fiscal 2008. For a district taxing at $1.50 per $100 of 
valuation in 2005, the compressed rate will be $1.33 in the 
2006 tax year and $1.00 in 2007. Beginning in fiscal 2009, 
the Texas Education Agency (TEA) will determine the state 
compression percentage based on appropriations from the 
property tax relief fund established by HB 2 by Pitts or other 
funding for this purpose. 

	 Subject to constitutional authorization, HB 1 also 
would reduce proportionately the school taxes owed by 
individuals whose property tax bills are frozen because 
they are disabled or reached 65 years of age. HJR 26 by 
Berman, which would have proposed a constitutional 
amendment authorizing a reduction in the tax freeze amount 
proportionate to the reduction in school M&O taxes, passed 
the House but died in the Senate during the third called 
session.

	 To offset the school tax reduction, districts will receive 
$2,500 in “hold harmless” funding for each classroom 
teacher and full-time nurse, librarian, and counselor, $275 
for each student in average daily attendance (ADA) for 
grades 9-12, and the greatest of: 

the amount of state and local revenue per 
“weighted” student in average daily attendance 
(WADA) available to the district for the 2005-06 
school year; 
the amount of state and local revenue per weighted 
student to which the district would have been 
entitled under current law, using 2005-06 funding 
formulas, based on the district’s 2005 M&O tax 
rate; or 
the amount of state and local revenue per weighted 
student to which the district would have been 
entitled under current law, using 2005-06 funding 
formulas, based on the district’s 2006 rollback tax 
rate. 

	 The bill also includes “hold harmless” provisions for the 
Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired, the Texas 
School for the Deaf, juvenile justice alternative education 
programs, and groups of school districts formed to provide 
technology services to member districts.

	 State tax reduction funds may not be used to fund 
facilities or provided to school districts for a purpose 
other than reduction of the district’s M&O rate. HB 1 also 
specifies that TEA may not consider state funds appropriated 
to school districts for property tax reduction to be excess 
funds as part of adjustments the agency makes in its 
payments to school districts for the cost of education or 
rapid decline in local property values. 

	 The LBB estimates that the cost of replacing local tax 
revenue with state funds will be about $2.1 billion in fiscal 
2007 and approximately $13.5 billion in fiscal 2008-09. 
In total, the state’s share of funding for public education is 
expected to rise from less than 40 percent to approximately 
50 percent. 

	 Equalization. Under current law, school district M&O 
funding is divided into two tiers. Tier 1 ensures a basic 
level of funding of $2,537 for each student in ADA for the 
first 86 cents of local tax effort, with adjustments made for 
various student and district characteristics. Tier 2 guarantees 
districts that they will earn a “guaranteed yield” of $27.14 
per WADA per penny of local tax effort between 87 cents 
and $1.50. (Districts receive additional funding per student 
based on specific “weights” that account for factors such 
as bilingual or special education costs.) If a district’s local 
tax effort does not generate $27.14 per WADA, state funds 
make up the difference.
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	 HB 1 increases state funding formulas by basing them 
on the amount of tax revenue available to a district with 
property tax wealth per WADA in the 88th percentile of 
all school districts in the state. For fiscal 2007, the basic 
allotment will increase from $2,537 under current law to 
$2,748 per WADA, the “guaranteed yield” will increase 
from $27.14 to $31.95, and the “equalized wealth level” will 
rise from $305,000 to $319,500.

	 Enrichment tier. HB 1 establishes a third 
“enrichment” tier for M&O that allows school districts 
additional local property tax revenue beyond the compressed 
tax rates. Generally, school districts will be able to increase 
local school property taxes by up to 4 cents per $100 of 
valuation above the new compressed rates without voter 
approval. Any additional local school property tax increase 
will require the approval of a majority of voters in an 
election. 

	 Rollback rate for voter approval. Besides setting 
its actual M&O tax rate, a school district also must calculate 
its effective tax rate, which generally is the rate that would 
raise the same amount of money using the current year’s 
taxable property wealth base as the past year’s actual tax rate 
generated using the past year’s property wealth base. For 
example, if the value of the district’s property wealth base 
increased, then its effective tax rate would be lower than its 
actual tax rate. 

	 If a school district adopts a tax rate that exceeds the 
district’s “rollback” rate, voters must approve the new rate 
by majority vote in an election. Under previous law, the 
“rollback rate” generally was a district’s effective M&O tax 
rate, plus 6 cents, plus the tax rate required to pay for any 
district debt.

	 Under HB 1, the rollback rate – the rate beyond which 
districts must obtain voter approval – for the 2006 tax 
year will be the sum of the rate that is 88.67 percent of the 
district’s 2005 M&O tax rate, plus 4 cents, plus the district’s 
current debt rate. If required, a rollback election to approve 
the district’s adopted tax rate for the 2006 tax year must be 
ordered by August 31, 2006, and held on September 30, 
2006.

	 For 2007 and subsequent tax years, the rollback rate will 
be the lesser of:

the state compression percentage times $1.50, plus 
4 cents, plus the difference between the tax rate 
adopted by an election in 2006 and each subsequent 
tax year minus the rollback rate, plus the district’s 
current debt rate; or 
the effective M&O tax rate, the state compression 
percentage times 6 cents (which at the 2007 
percentage would be 4 cents), plus the district’s 
current debt rate.

	 Using an example issued by the Governor’s Office, a 
school district taxing at the $1.50 per $100 M&O cap in tax 
year 2005 will have its M&O rate reduced by 11.33 percent 
for tax year 2006, to a base rate of $1.33. If the district 
decides for tax year 2006 to levy an enrichment tax of an 
additional 4 cents (the maximum allowed without voter 
approval in an election), the district’s 2006 M&O rate will 
total $1.37. For tax year 2007, the district’s original $1.50 
M&O tax will be reduced one-third, to a new base rate 
of $1.00. With the extra 4 cents enrichment tax added the 
previous year, the 2007 M&O tax will be $1.04.  

	 Under this example, for the district to determine if 
it could increase its enrichment tax in 2007 without an 
election, it would calculate the rollback rate in two different 
ways, with the lower rate applying. The state compression 
percentage (66.67 percent) times $1.50 is $1.00, plus 4 
cents, equals $1.04. If the district’s property value base 
increased from the previous year, the effective M&O tax 
rate would be a lower rate that would raise the same amount 
of revenue on a higher value tax base. If that rate were 99 
cents, then it would be added to the product of the state 
compression percentage – (66.67 percent) times 6 cents, 
which is 4 cents – for a total of $1.03, which would be the 
lower rate. If the district wanted to increase its M&O tax rate 
beyond $1.03 by adding an enrichment tax, it would have to 
gain voter approval in an election.               

	 HB 1 also repeals the $1.50 cap on M&O tax rates in 
current law but specifies that M&O tax rates may not exceed 
the sum of 17 cents and the product of the state compression 
percentage times $1.50. For districts now taxing at $1.50 per 
$100 of valuation, this would establish a new M&O tax cap 
of $1.17 beginning with the 2007 tax year − the compressed 
rate of $1.00, plus 17 cents. Since the cap is based on 
the state compression percentage, it would be lowered 
proportionately if the state further reduced school property 
taxes. Districts not currently taxing at the $1.50 M&O tax 
cap would have more leeway to levy enrichment taxes up to 
the new cap.

•

•
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	 The general purpose of the formulas and calculations 
in HB 1 is to use state funds to replace a portion of school 
M&O property tax revenue and reduce base M&O taxes, 
give school districts the meaningful discretion required by 
the Supreme Court to set their own tax rates by allowing 
them to add another 4 cents in enrichment M&O taxes 
beyond the compressed base rate, and require voter approval 
for enrichment taxes beyond the 4 cents, but with a cap 
on enrichment taxes of 17 cents or more depending on a 
district’s 2005 M&O rate.

	 The rollback rate reduction and enrichment cap 
calculations also would apply to a few Harris County 
districts now allowed by law to exceed the $1.50 M&O cap 
by substituting their 2005 M&O tax rate for $1.50.

	 Equalization and recapture of enrichment 
tax revenue. The first 4 cents of revenue (the first 6 
cents starting in 2009) generated by school district M&O 
enrichment taxes will be “equalized” to ensure that every 
school district can access enrichment funding at the same 
level as the Austin Independent School District (currently 
approximately $41.22 per penny per WADA). If a district’s 
local tax effort does not generate this level of income, state 
funds will be used to make up the difference. For fiscal 
2007, LBB estimates that the cost to the state of equalization 
in the enrichment tier will be about $478 million. 

	 Under the current “recapture” system, school districts 
are prohibited from having property tax wealth per student 
of more than $305,000. Districts with property tax income 
above this “equalized wealth level” must give up the 
additional revenue. Most districts do so by either purchasing 
attendance credits from the state or entering into contracts 
with low-wealth school districts. Since they are in the upper 
percentiles of district wealth statewide, “recapture” districts 
do not receive equalization funding.

	 The first 4 cents of local enrichment revenue (the first 
6 cents starting in 2009) will not be subject to recapture, 
provided that the state provides equalization funding for 
districts not subject to recapture at the level of wealth for 
the Austin Independent School District. If the level of state 
equalization falls, recapture would increase accordingly.

	 Enrichment pennies after the first 4 cents (the first 
6 cents starting in 2009) will be subject to the same 
equalization funding formula levels in Tier 2, with the 

guaranteed yield of $31.95 (based on the 88th percentile 
of wealth in fiscal 2007) and an “equalized wealth level” 
(above which districts are subject to recapture) at $319,500. 

	 High school allotment. The funding formulas for 
distributing state aid to school districts include special 
“allotments” for certain types of students, such as those 
identified as gifted and talented or students who qualify for 
bilingual education. HB 1 provides school districts with 
$275 for each student in grades 9-12 in ADA. Districts must 
use this “high school allotment” for dropout prevention 
and college readiness programs. TEA will have to develop 
standards for evaluating the success and cost effectiveness of 
high school completion and success programs and provide 
guidance to districts for improving these programs.

	 Districts also may use the high school allotment to 
meet the bill’s new requirement of four years of high school 
science and mathematics. The allotment can be used for 
any instructional program for grades 6-12 if a district meets 
a new indicator of  “exceptional” and meets or exceeds 
high school completion rate requirements under the state’s 
academic accountability system. 

	 Spending shift repeal. To produce a one-time 
general revenue spending reduction in the fiscal 2004-05 
budget, the Legislature delayed the last payment for the 
school year to school districts, which had been scheduled for 
August 25, into the following fiscal biennium, which begins 
on September 1. Beginning in 2009, the final Foundation 
School Program (FSP) payment to school districts, which 
currently is distributed between September 5 and 10, will 
have to be made on or before August 25. According to the 
LBB, moving the final FSP payment into the 2009 fiscal 
year and restoring the previous payment schedule will incur 
a one-time state cost of $800 million in fiscal 2009.

Educator pay and training

	 Teacher pay raise. School districts and charter 
schools will receive state funding to provide $2,000 annual 
pay raises for each employee subject to the state minimum 
salary schedule (teachers and full-time nurses, counselors, 
and librarians). The $2,000 will be in addition to wages the 
district might otherwise pay the employee during the school 
year.
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	 In 2001, as part of a state-administered health insurance 
program for teachers and other public school employees, 
the 77th Legislature created a health insurance supplement 
or “passthrough” of $1,000 per employee per year that 
could be used to purchase additional coverage, pay 
premiums for dependent coverage, deposit into a health 
care reimbursement account, or be taken as cash. In 2003, 
the 78th Legislature reduced the amount of the supplement 
to $500 for full-time employees and $250 for part-time 
employees and eliminated it entirely for administrators.
	
	 HB 1 eliminates the health insurance supplement, or 
passthrough, and converts it to salary by providing  salary 
increases of $500 for full-time employees (excluding 
administrators) and $250 for part-time employees. 
Employees also may elect to have up to $1,000 per month 
in pre-tax salary withheld for health insurance and other 
allowable expenses. 

	 Incentive programs. HB 1 establishes two new state 
grant programs to provide incentive payments for classroom 
teachers and other school employees. School districts will 
have to include in employee contracts the condition that any 
incentive payment distributed will be considered a payment 
for performance, such as a bonus, and not an entitlement as 
part of an employee’s salary. However, the income would be 
considered salary for retirement and benefit purposes under 
the Teacher Retirement System.

	 TEA or an outside contractor will conduct a 
comprehensive evaluation of both state educator incentive 
programs. The evaluation must include descriptions of 
awards granted to campuses, detailed information regarding 
the distribution of incentive awards to classroom teachers, 
and a comprehensive and quantitative analysis of the impact 
of the awards programs. By December 1, 2008, TEA must 
deliver a report to the Legislature describing the interim 
results of this evaluation.

	 Rewards for improved student performance. 
An “Educator Excellence Fund” in the state’s general 
revenue fund will be used to finance award incentive 
payments to classroom teachers. The program will be 
funded through annual deposits into the fund by TEA of 
$840 for each classroom teacher in the state in 2007 and 
$1,000 per classroom teacher in 2008 and beyond. Each 
fiscal year, beginning September 1, 2008, TEA must use up 
to $100 million to provide grant awards to school districts 

to reward teachers for student achievement. Any remaining 
funds can be divided among qualified districts based on 
average daily attendance.

	 For this grant program, a district-level committee must 
design local incentive plans that meet minimum criteria and 
are approved by TEA. The plans may include all campuses 
in a district or only certain campuses selected by the district-
level committee. A majority of classroom teachers on a 
selected campus must approve participation in the program. 

	 A school district that receives an incentive award must 
use at least 60 percent of grant funds to directly reward 
classroom teachers who effectively improve student 
achievement as determined by meaningful, objective 
measures. The remaining funds can be used only to provide 
stipends for certain purposes, such as mentoring or teaching 
in a shortage area, providing awards for principals and other 
employees, or implementing the components of a Teacher 
Advancement Program, which is designed to attract and 
retain teachers in the profession. 

	 Rewards for teachers at high-performing 
campuses with disadvantaged students. A second 
grant program provides up to $100 million in state funds for 
the 2006-07 school year for a program to reward teachers 
who demonstrate a positive impact on student achievement 
in schools with a high percentage of educationally 
disadvantaged students. To qualify for an award under this 
program, a campus must be ranked exemplary or recognized 
under the state accountability system or ranked in the top 
quartile of campuses in comparable improvement in math 
and reading. School districts will submit grant proposals 
developed by a campus-level committee on behalf of an 
eligible campus but must demonstrate the involvement of 
classroom teachers in the development of the proposal. 
Grant proposals also must demonstrate evidence that the 
campus plan has been made available to the public.

	 A campus that receives a grant under this program must 
use 75 percent of its award to provide incentive payments 
of between $3,000 and $10,000 for each classroom teacher 
who qualifies for an award. Incentive payments may be 
distributed only to teachers who demonstrate success in 
improving student achievement using objective, quantifiable 
measures – e.g., local benchmarking systems, portfolio 
assessments, end-of-course assessments, and value-added 
assessments – and who successfully collaborate with other 
faculty and staff members in a manner that contributes to 
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improving overall student achievement. Campuses also can 
consider whether a teacher is assigned to a shortage area or 
demonstrates initiative, commitment, professionalism, and 
involvement in an activity that directly results in improved 
student achievement. 

	 The other 25 percent of the campus award can be used 
for other specific purposes, including incentive payments to 
other campus employees who have contributed to student 
achievement, professional development for classroom 
teachers who did not receive an incentive award, signing 
bonuses for new teachers, and activities that support teacher 
improvement. Incentive awards may not be issued to 
employees whose primary responsibility is supervision of an 
athletic activity.

	 Mentor program. School districts may assign 
experienced teachers to mentor colleagues who have fewer 
than two years of experience and, ideally, teach the same 
subject or grade level at the same school as the mentor. TEA 
may provide funds for this program and must adopt rules for 
its administration, including rules governing the duties and 
qualifications of teachers.

	 School leadership pilot program for principals. 
TEA will establish a school leadership pilot program for 
principals in cooperation with a nonprofit corporation that 
has substantial experience in developing best practices to 
improve leadership skills, student achievement, student 
graduation rates, and teacher retention. Principals of 
campuses rated academically unacceptable will be required 
to participate in the program. 

	 TEA can use up to $3.6 million in funds appropriated to 
the agency in fiscal 2007 to finance the program. During the 
first semester of the 2008-09 school year, TEA will evaluate 
the effectiveness of the program and, by January 1, 2009, 
report the results to the Legislature.

Financial transparency

	 School district budgets. Along with a notice of 
a public meeting to discuss and adopt a budget, school 
districts must post a summary of the proposed budget on the 
district’s Web site or in its central administrative office. The 
budget summary must include information on per student 
and aggregate spending on instruction, instructional support, 
central administration, district operations, debt service, and 

any other category designated by the commissioner. The 
summary also must include a comparison to the previous 
year’s budget. 

	 TEA annually must establish and publish proposed 
expenditure targets for each school district, including 
expenditures for instruction, central administration, and 
district operations. If the school board intends to exceed this 
target, it must publish and adopt a resolution that includes an 
explanation justifying its actions.

	 TEA must contract with a qualified third-party 
to conduct a comprehensive review of school district 
accounting systems and provide recommendations for 
improvements in the transparency of district spending 
behavior, more thorough information relating to campus 
spending, and facility program evaluations. TEA must 
submit the results of this review to the Legislature by 
January 1, 2007. TEA also must submit a report to the 
Legislature by January 1, 2007, evaluating the benefits of 
providing school districts with standardized accounting 
software.

	 The state’s financial accountability system must 
distinguish among school districts based on levels of 
financial performance and include additional procedures to 
provide transparency to public school finance and enable 
the commissioner and school district to provide meaningful 
financial oversight and improvement.

	 Internal auditors hired by school districts must be hired 
directly by and report directly to the school board.

	 Public access to PEIMS data. TEA must develop 
a request for proposal for a third party contractor to develop 
and implement procedures to make available, through the 
TEA Web site, all financial and academic performance 
data submitted through the Public Education Information 
Management System (PEIMS) for school districts and 
campuses. This information must be easily accessible to the 
public and must provide the ability to view and download 
state, district and campus-level information. An advisory 
panel made up of educators, interested stakeholders, 
business leaders and other interested members of the public 
will provide input on developing a system that is easily 
accessible by the general public and contains information 
of primary relevance to the public. By August 1, 2007, 
TEA must implement procedures for making financial and 
academic performance information for school districts and 
campuses available through the agency Web site.
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implications of this status. A school district that is not 
accredited may not receive state funds or hold itself out as a 
public school district. 

	 TEA must adopt rules to provide a process for a school 
district or charter school to challenge a TEA decision 
regarding an academic or financial accountability rating 
that affects the district or school. Under these rules, 
the commissioner must appoint a committee to make 
recommendations to TEA on a challenge of an academic 
or financial accountability rating. Agency employees may 
not serve on the committee. The commissioner can limit a 
challenge to a written submission of any issue identified by 
the district or school challenging the agency decision. After 
considering the recommendation of the committee, TEA 
must make a final decision, which cannot be appealed.

	 Sanctions for low-performing campuses. The 
following sanctions will apply to public and charter school 
campuses. TEA will adopt rules requiring that a charter be 
automatically revoked if a low-performing charter school 
is ordered closed or modified if an individual campus is 
ordered closed. 

	 Technical assistance. If a campus rated 
academically acceptable for the current school year would 
be rated unacceptable at the same level of academic 
performance under the following year’s standards, TEA 
must select and assign a technical assistance team to help the 
campus develop a school improvement plan and any other 
strategies TEA considers appropriate. 

	 Campus intervention teams. If a campus is 
identified as academically unacceptable, TEA must assign 
a campus intervention team. A campus intervention team 
must conduct a comprehensive on-site evaluation of the 
campus, recommend actions for improvement, assist in the 
development of a school-improvement plan, and assist TEA 
in monitoring the campus’s progress in implementing the 
school improvement plan.

	 In conducting a comprehensive needs assessment, 
the campus intervention team must follow guidelines 
and procedures to assess such areas as staff certification 
and training, compliance with class-size rules, quality of 
materials, parental involvement, the extent and quality of 
mentoring programs and professional development for 
staff, disciplinary incidents and school safety, financial and 
accounting practices, appropriateness of curriculum and 

	 Shared service agreements among districts. 
By December 1, 2006, TEA must evaluate the feasibility 
of including in its financial accountability rating system an 
indicator that measures effective administrative management 
through the use of cooperative shared service agreements.  
It must include the indicator in the rating system if 
determined to be feasible. Each regional education service 
center must notify each school district it serves regarding 
opportunities for shared service agreements and evaluate 
the need for these agreements. Each service center will 
assist school boards in entering into agreements with other 
school districts, governmental entities, or higher education 
institutions to provide administrative services, including 
transportation, food service, purchasing, and payroll 
functions. Under certain circumstances, TEA can require a 
school district or charter school to enter into a shared service 
agreement for administrative services. 

Accountability

	 Accreditation system for school districts. HB 1 
establishes new accreditation standards for school districts 
that take into account a district’s fiscal as well as academic 
performance. TEA will establish procedures and adopt 
rules for assigning districts an annual accreditation status 
of accredited, accredited-warned, or accredited-probation. 
In determining a district’s accreditation status, TEA must 
take into account the district’s performance under the 
state’s academic and financial accountability system. The 
agency also may consider the district’s compliance with 
TEA and State Board of Education (SBOE) rules relating 
to data reporting through PEIMS, high school graduation 
requirements, school district waivers, the effectiveness 
of the district’s programs for special populations, and 
the effectiveness of the district’s career and technology 
programs.

	 If a school district’s accreditation status is “accredited-
warned” or “accredited-probation” for two consecutive 
years, including the current school year, if the district 
has been rated academically unacceptable under the state 
accountability system, or if the district has failed to satisfy 
TEA financial accountability standards, TEA can revoke the 
district’s accreditation and order it closed. 

	 TEA must notify school districts that received a status 
other than “accredited” that the district’s performance was 
below TEA standards. The district must notify parents 
and property owners of its accreditation status and the 
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	 To qualify for consideration as a managing entity, 
the entity must submit a proposal containing information 
relating to the entity’s management and leadership team 
that will participate in the management of the campus. 
TEA must select a management entity that meets standards 
specified in the bill and has had demonstrated success in 
educating students from similar demographic groups with 
similar educational needs as the campus to be operated by 
the management entity. The school district can negotiate 
the term of the management contract for not more than five 
years, with an option to renew. The contract must delineate 
the district’s responsibilities in supporting the operation of 
the contract. It also must include provisions demonstrating 
improvement in campus performance, including negotiated 
performance measures. TEA must conduct a performance 
evaluation in each of the first two years, and the district 
may terminate the contract and solicit new proposals if the 
evaluations fail to show improvement as negotiated under 
the contract.

	 Funding for a campus operated by a management 
entity would be equivalent to per-student funding for other 
campuses in the district. Each campus would be subject to 
the same regulations governing other schools in the district. 

	 School districts or charter schools that wish to challenge 
a decision to turn over to alternative management or 
close a district, district campus, or charter school must do 
so through the State Office of Administrative Hearings 
(SOAH). The decision of the SOAH administrative law 
judge is final and cannot be appealed.

	 Academic measurement system. Beginning 
with the 2007-08 school year, TEA will adopt a method for 
measuring the change in a student’s performance from one 
year to the next on required assessments, such as the TAKS 
test. Using each student’s previous year’s performance data, 
TEA will determine the student’s expected and actual levels 
of annual improvement. TEA also will determine and report 
each year to the district the annual improvement required for 
a student to be prepared to pass the exit-level TAKS. 

	 Each year, TEA will provide each student’s school 
district with a report of whether the student fell below, met, 
or exceeded improvement targets. School districts must 
provide this information to the student’s teachers that taught 
each of the subjects on the TAKS test and provide a written 
notice to the student’s parents. 

teaching strategies, and any other research-based data. On 
the basis of this information, the campus intervention team 
must recommend specific actions.

	 TEA may determine when the services of a technical 
assistance or campus intervention team no longer are 
necessary.

	 Reconstitution of low-performing campuses. If 
a campus has been identified as academically unacceptable 
for two consecutive years, including the current school 
year, TEA may order the reconstitution of the campus and 
assign a campus intervention team to assist in developing a 
school improvement plan. TEA must approve the plan and 
its execution. The campus intervention team must decide 
which educators may be retained at that campus. A principal 
who has been at the campus during the full two-year period 
in which the campus was rated academically unacceptable 
cannot be retained at that campus. Teachers of subjects 
on the TAKS test may be retained only if the campus 
intervention team determines that students of a particular 
teacher have shown significant academic improvement. 

	 Alternative management or closure of campus. If 
TEA determines that a campus subject to reconstitution is 
not fully implementing the school improvement plan or if a 
campus is considered academically unacceptable one year 
after reconstitution, TEA can pursue alternative management 
of the campus or order its closure. If a campus continues 
to be considered academically unacceptable for two years 
after its reconstitution, TEA must order the campus closed or 
pursue alternative management. 

	 If TEA has ordered alternative management of a 
campus, the agency must solicit proposals from qualified 
nonprofit entities to assume management of the campus or 
may appoint a school district other than the one in which 
the campus is located but that is within the boundaries 
of the same regional education service center to assume 
management of the campus. 

	 If TEA determines that the low rating stemmed from 
a specific condition that might be remedied with targeted 
technical assistance, the proposal process could be 
postponed for one year, and the district must contract for the 
appropriate technical assistance. 
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College readiness

	 Fourth year of high school science and 
math. Under current law, in order to graduate, students 
entering high school in the 2005-06 school year or later 
must complete the recommended or advanced high school 
curriculum, which includes four years of English, three and 
one-half years of social studies, one semester of economics, 
and three years of science and math. 

	 HB 1 directs the SBOE to adopt rules requiring that 
high school students complete four years of English, math, 
science and social studies as part of the recommended and 
advanced high school curriculum. One or more courses 
must include a research writing component. The rules 
must be adopted by January 1, 2007, and must require the 
new standards to apply to students entering the 9th grade 
beginning with the 2007-08 school year.

	 End-of-course assessments. To the extent 
practicable, TEA must ensure that any high school end-
of-course assessment it produces be developed in such a 
manner that it may be used to determine the appropriate 
placement of a student in a course of the same subject matter 
at an institution of higher education.

	 P-16 college readiness strategic plan. HB 1 
requires the P-16 Council, which is responsible for creating 
stronger links between preschool, public education, and 
higher education programs, to develop a college readiness 
and success strategic action plan. The goal of the plan is 
to increase student success and decrease the number of 
students enrolling in developmental course work at higher 
education institutions. 

	 The plan will have to include standards and expectations 
for college readiness, describe the components of an 
individualized graduation plan sufficient for college success, 
describe how TEA will provide model curricula for use as 
a reference tool by school district employees, and include 
recommendations for improvement in teacher training to 
prepare students for higher education. By December 1 
of each odd-numbered year, TEA and the Texas Higher 
Education Coordinating Board (THECB) will submit a 
report to the governor, the lieutenant governor, the speaker 
of the House, members of the LBB, and members of the 
Senate and House education committees describing progress 
in implementing the strategic plan.

	 Programs to enhance student success. To 
implement the P-16 Council’s strategic plan and to enhance 
the success of students in higher education, THECB will 
adopt rules to develop summer higher education bridge 
programs in mathematics, science, and English-language 
arts, incentive programs for higher education institutions 
to implement research-based, innovative developmental 
education initiatives, financial assistance programs for 
educationally disadvantaged students who take college 
entrance and college readiness exams, professional 
development programs for college faculty, and other 
programs that support college participation and success.

	 Course redesign project. To improve student 
learning and reduce the cost of course delivery, THECB 
must implement a project under which selected higher 
education institutions will review and revise entry-level 
lower division academic courses. The project must be 
initiated by September 1, 2006, and participating institutions 
must begin offering these courses by September 1, 2007. 
By September 1, 2009, participating institutions must report 
the results of the project at that institution to THECB. By 
January 1, 2011, THECB must submit a summary report to 
the Legislature.

Other provisions

	 Uniform school start date. Under Education 
Code, sec. 25.0811, the school year currently cannot start 
before the week in which August 21 falls, unless a school 
district demonstrates community input about an earlier start 
date and receives a waiver from TEA. Beginning with the 
2007-08 school year, HB 1 requires all schools to start the 
fourth Monday in August, unless the district operates a year-
round system. School districts cannot obtain exemptions or 
waivers from the required start date.

	 Joint elections. School board elections must be 
held on the same date as the election for members of the 
governing body of a municipality located in the school 
district or the general election for city and county officers. 
The elections must be held as a joint election served by 
common polling places.

	 Textbooks. HB 1 directs the SBOE to forgo the 
issuance of textbook proclamations after the effective date 
of the bill, which states that the Legislature will implement 
reforms to the system of procuring and purchasing 
textbooks.
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	 Electronic student records system. HB 1 
requires public and charter schools and higher education 
institutions to participate in an electronic student records 
system approved by the education and higher education 
commissioners. The system must permit an authorized 
state or district official or an authorized representative of 
a higher education institution to electronically transfer 
information to and from an educational institution in which 
the student was enrolled and retrieve student transcripts, 
including information concerning a student’s course or 
grade completion, teachers of record, assessment instrument 
results, receipt of special education services, and personal 
graduation plan. The education commissioner may solicit 
and accept grant funds to maintain the student tracking 
system and to make the system available to school districts. 
The records system must be in place by the beginning of the 
2007-08 school year.

	 Technology Immersion Pilot Project. In 2003, 
the 78th Legislature established a three-year Technology 
Immersion Pilot Project to study the use of technology 
in participating schools and districts. HB 1 extends the 
project, which currently is scheduled to end in the 2006-07 
school year, to the 2010-11 school year. The bill removes 
a prohibition against the use of general revenue funds for 
the project and a provision prohibiting TEA from spending 
more than $1 million on the project and authorizes TEA to 
use undedicated and unobligated general revenue funds for 
the project.

	 Best practices clearinghouse. TEA, in 
coordination with the LBB, will establish an online 
clearinghouse of information relating to best practices of 
school districts regarding instruction, public school finance, 
resource allocation, and business practices. The information 
must be accessible to school districts and the public. TEA 
must hire one or more third-party contractors to develop, 
implement, and maintain a system of collecting and 
evaluating the best practices of campuses.

	 Optional flexible school day program. HB 
1 allows school districts to operate flexible school day 
programs for students in grades 9 through 12 who have 
dropped out of school or are at risk of dropping out. A 
school district can provide flexibility in the number of hours 
and days a student attends and allow students to take less 
than full course loads. A course offered in a flexible program 
must provide for at least the same number of instructional 
hours required for a regular school program.

	 Tax notices. School tax bills must state in a distinct 
row or on separate lines proposed M&O tax rates, under 
the heading “Maintenance Tax” and taxes to pay for school 
district bonds, under the heading “School Debt Service 
Tax Approved by Local Voters.”  In addition to stating the 
total tax rate, a school tax bill or separate statement must 
separately state the M&O tax rate, bond debt rates, and total 
tax rates for the preceding year.

	 Texas governor’s schools. A public senior college 
or university selected by TEA may administer a program 
and adopt rules governing summer residential programs, 
called Texas governor’s schools, for high-achieving high 
school students. These programs may include curricula 
in mathematics and science, the humanities, or leadership 
and public policy. TEA must give preference to a college 
or university that applied in cooperation with a nonprofit 
association and would have to give additional preference if 
the nonprofit association received private foundation funds 
to finance the program. TEA can provide grants of up to 
$750,000 per year to cover the costs of administering the 
program.

	 Education research centers. TEA and THECB 
may establish up to three centers for education research 
as part of TEA, THECB, or a college, junior college, or 
university. In conducting research, the centers will be 
authorized to use confidential data on student performance 
and must comply with confidentiality rules established by 
TEA and THECB.

	 Repeal of Rider 97. A provision in HB 1 repeals 
Rider 97 of TEA’s fiscal 2006-07 appropriation, added 
during the first called session of the 79th Legislature, which 
had earmarked $1.8 billion in general revenue for education-
related purposes and school property-tax reduction, 
contingent on legislation authorizing such spending. 
By repealing the rider, that general revenue no longer is 
designated for a specific purpose.

	 TEA Sunset. HB 1 extends the date for TEA Sunset 
review from September 1, 2007, to September 1, 2012.

	 Effective date. HB 1 will take effect beginning with 
the 2006-07 school year, unless otherwise specified in the 
bill.
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	 Under the current franchise tax, as it exists until 
the implementation of HB 3 in 2008, the franchise tax 
applies only to for-profit corporations and, since 1991, to 
limited liability companies (LLCs) chartered or organized 
in Texas, as well as to foreign corporations and LLCs 
based or doing business in the state. Franchise taxpayers 
include professional corporations, banks, savings-and-
loan associations, state-limited banking associations, 
and professional LLCs, but not limited partnerships, sole 
proprietorships, or non-corporate associations. 

	 A dual-calculation method determines the amount of 
tax liability. Taxpayers pay the greater of a 0.25 percent 
tax on taxable capital (assets’ net worth) or a 4.5 percent 
tax on earned surplus (modified net income). The income 
component generates the most revenue and is paid by about 
75 percent of franchise taxpayers.

	 In recent years, several large Texas-based firms have 
reorganized as partnerships under state law to avoid paying 
the franchise tax. Firms accomplish this by forming wholly 
owned out-of-state subsidiaries in tax-friendly states such as 
Delaware, which has led to the nickname “Delaware sub” 
for the resulting entity. Typically, the subsidiaries enter into 
limited partnerships wherein the general corporate partner 
owns 0.1 percent of the operating assets in Texas and the 
limited partners own 99.9 percent. Under the comptroller’s 
administrative rules, foreign corporations acting as limited 
partners are not considered to be doing business in Texas for 
tax purposes and thus are not subject to the franchise tax. 
The franchise tax liability of the general partner corporation 
typically is zero because its 0.1 percent interest fails to 
generate total receipts greater than the $150,000 income 
threshold for tax liability. 

	 A second accounting method used by some large firms 
is termed the “Geoffrey” loophole, named after the Toys 
R Us Inc. giraffe mascot. Under this method, corporations 
establish a subsidiary in another state that charges the Texas 
operations for the use of certain intangible assets, such as 
corporate trademarks. This method diverts money out of the 
Texas operations, and the franchise tax is applied only to 
what remains.

	 On November 4, 2005, Gov. Rick Perry appointed 
former Comptroller John Sharp to chair the Texas Tax 
Reform Commission comprising 24 business leaders, 

HB 3 - Revised Business Franchise Tax

academics, and other experts. The commission held 
hearings across the state throughout the winter and spring 
and released its report on March 29, 2006. Among its 
recommendations, the commission proposed a revised 
franchise tax designed to avoid the issues of avoidance 
and to minimize certain economic effects of the existing 
franchise tax. The commission’s report served as a basis for 
HB 3, which the governor signed on May 19.
	
	 Overview. HB 3 by J. Keffer establishes a new 
mechanism for calculating the business franchise tax and 
revises the base of the entities subject to the tax. The revised 
tax takes effect January 1, 2008.

	 Under HB 3, the base of taxable entities subject to the 
revised franchise tax will include businesses in Texas that 
enjoy state liability protection, including corporations and 
limited liability partnerships. The revised tax excludes sole 
proprietorships, general partnerships that are owned directly 
by individual persons, certain unincorporated passive 
entities that only receive a limited amount of income from 
active business, and entities such as non-profit organizations 
that were exempt from the previous franchise tax. 
Businesses with no more than $300,000 in total revenue, 
indexed for inflation, will be exempt from the tax, as will 
businesses that owe less than $1,000 under the tax. 

	 The revised tax will be computed by determining a 
taxable entity’s total revenue. From this amount the entity 
can choose to deduct either its cost of goods sold or total 
compensation, up to $300,000 per employee, indexed to 
inflation, plus benefits. If the entity’s margin after making 
its deduction is greater than 70 percent of its total revenue, 
the business will be taxed on only 70 percent of its total 
revenue. The business will then apportion to the state the 
amount of revenue from business done in Texas and subtract 
any other allowable deductions to determine the entity’s 
taxable margin.

	 Once the business’s taxable margin is determined, a rate 
of 1 percent will be applied to that margin for all taxable 
entities that are not engaged in retail or wholesale trade. 
For a taxable entity that is engaged primarily in retail or 
wholesale trade, a rate of 0.5 percent will be applied to the 
entity’s taxable margin.
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	 Taxable entities. HB 3 defines “taxable entity” as a 
partnership, corporation, banking corporation, savings and 
loan corporation, limited liability company, business trust, 
professional association, business association, joint venture, 
joint stock company, holding company, or other legal entity. 
The definition of taxable entity does not include:

a sole proprietorship;
•	 a non-corporate general partnership (i.e., a 

partnership directly owned by one or more 
individuals); or

•	 a passive entity.

	 An entity that could file its federal taxes as a sole 
proprietorship will not be considered a sole proprietorship if 
the entity enjoys liability protection from Texas or another 
state.

	 The definition of taxable entity also excludes an entity 
that was exempt from the previous franchise tax. This 
includes insurance companies required to pay insurance 
premium taxes, non-profit corporations, cooperatives, 
and credit unions. In addition, the definition of taxable 
entity excludes an entity that is not a corporation but that 
would have qualified for exemption under the previous 
franchise tax if it were a corporation, such as a nonprofit 
organization. An insurance company that otherwise would 
be exempt from the tax is subject to the tax if the insurance 
commissioner finds the company to have charged an 
excessive or discriminatory rate for automobile or residential 
property insurance.

	 Taxable entity also will not include a grantor trust, a 
natural person's estate, an escrow, a real estate investment 
trust, a real estate mortgage investment conduit, certain 
family limited partnerships, certain passive investment 
partnerships, and certain trusts that are passive entities.

	 A taxable entity is not required to pay the new tax if it 
owes less than $1,000 under the tax or if the entity’s total 
revenue is less than or equal to $300,000. On January 1 of 
each odd-numbered year beginning in 2009, this $300,000 
threshold will be recalculated based on the percent change 
in the consumer price index during the preceding fiscal 
biennium, and the resulting amount will be rounded to the 
nearest $10,000.

	 Exemption for passive entities. Passive entities 
are exempt from the new business tax. The bill would 
define “passive entity” as an entity that is a general or 

•

limited partnership or trust, other than a business trust, at 
least 90 percent of whose income comes from investments, 
excluding rent or income received from mineral properties 
that are under a joint operating agreement in which a 
member of the group is the operator under that agreement. 
No more than 10 percent of the passive entity’s federal gross 
income may come from active business. A royalty interest 
or non-operating working interest in a mineral right is not 
considered “active business.” Compensation payments to 
individuals for financial and legal services that are necessary 
for the entity’s operation also do not constitute active 
business.

	 The bill establishes a test to determine whether an entity 
is conducting active business. Under the test, a business 
is considered to have conducted active business if the 
entity’s activities include operations that earn income and 
if the entity performs active management and operational 
functions. Activities performed for the entity by an 
individual such as an independent contractor are considered 
activities performed by the entity if the individual performed 
services that constitute some part of the entity’s business. 
If an entity uses its assets in the business of a related entity, 
that activity is considered active business.

	 Definition of total revenue. A taxable entity’s tax 
liability under HB 3 is determined by computing the entity’s 
“taxable margin.”  An entity’s “total revenue” is the base 
from which the entity’s taxable margin is calculated. Upon 
determining an entity’s total revenue, the entity deducts 
either cost of goods sold or compensation to determine its 
taxable margin.

	 For a corporation, partnership, or other taxable entity, 
total revenue is the sum of gross receipts and other income 
such as dividends, interest, rents, royalties, and capital gain 
income. From this amount, the entity subtracts items such 
as bad debt, foreign royalties and dividends, deductions 
allowed by the Internal Revenue Service, distributive 
income from partnerships, limited liability corporations, and 
“S” corporations, and certain other amounts.

	 If a taxable entity has an interest in a passive entity, that 
taxable entity includes its share of income from the passive 
entity, but only to the extent that the passive entity’s net 
income is not generated by a separate taxable entity.

	 A management company will exclude reimbursements 
of costs incurred in its conduct of the business of the entity 
that it manages, including wages and cash compensation.
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	 Total revenue exclusions. The bill enumerates 
several expenses and “flow-through funds,” or funds passed 
through a taxable entity to another entity, that are excluded 
from the total revenue of a taxable entity. This includes 
specific exclusions relevant to legal services entities and 
staff leasing entities. A taxable entity belonging to an 
affiliated group can not exclude such payments if they are 
made to another member of that group.

	 An amount excluded from total revenue may not be 
deducted as cost of goods sold or compensation in a taxable 
entity’s determination of its taxable margin. Dividends from 
federal obligations and bonds may be excluded from total 
revenue. In addition, a taxable entity may exclude revenue 
from operations at a federally owned facility that houses 
members of the armed forces. This amount could not also 
be deducted under the cost of goods sold or compensation 
deduction.

	 On dates during which the monthly average closing 
price of West Texas Intermediate crude oil is below $40 per 
barrel, an entity may exclude total revenue from a well that 
produces less than 10 barrels a day over a 90-day period. 
On dates during which the monthly average closing price of 
natural gas is below $5 per million British Thermal Units, 
an entity may exclude total revenue from gas produced from 
a well that yields less than 250 thousand cubic feet per day 
over a 90-day period.

	 Health care deduction. Health care providers may 
exclude some payments from total revenue for the purposes 
of calculating their business tax obligation. Providers may 
exempt the total amount of payments from Medicaid, 
Medicare, indigent health care, the Children’s Health 
Insurance Program (CHIP), workers’ compensation, and the 
TRICARE military health system. In addition, the cost of 
uncompensated services, at rates set by the comptroller, may 
be excluded from total revenue as long as audit requirements 
are met. Health care institutions, including hospitals, assisted 
living facilities, and others, may exempt 50 percent of those 
amounts.

	 Legal services deduction. Attorneys may deduct 
from total revenue up to $500 in out-of-pocket expenses 
for each case of pro-bono legal service provided by an 
individual.

	 Determination of taxable margin. A taxable 
entity’s margin is determined by deducting either cost of 
goods sold or compensation from the entity’s total revenue. 

Once a year, an entity will make an election on its annual 
report to subtract either cost of goods sold or compensation. 
In addition to either of these deductions, the company may 
deduct compensation paid to an active duty member of the 
armed forces as well as the cost of training the employee’s 
replacement.

	 If the difference after deduction is less than 70 percent 
of the entity’s total revenue, that amount is the entity’s 
margin. If the difference is greater or equal to 70 percent of 
the entity’s total revenue, the entity’s margin is 70 percent of 
its total revenue.

	 Upon determining its margin, an entity determines 
its “apportioned margin” by apportioning to Texas the 
proportion of business performed in this state, according to 
the bill’s apportionment rules. From this amount, the entity 
subtracts any other allowable deductions. The result is the 
entity’s “taxable margin.”

	 An entity may change its choice of deduction by filing 
an amended annual report.

	 Cost of goods sold. If an entity chooses the cost of 
goods sold deduction in determining its taxable margin, the 
bill authorizes deductions of all direct costs associated with 
the acquisition or production of goods. These include costs 
for such direct expenses as labor, materials, handling costs, 
storage costs, equipment leasing, depreciation associated 
with production of the goods, research, design, equipment 
maintenance, geological exploration costs, taxes stemming 
from the cost of production, and electricity costs.

	 The bill also allows for deduction of a contribution 
to a partnership partially owned by a taxable entity for 
activities that otherwise would be eligible for deduction 
as cost of goods sold. This provision applies only if those 
costs are related to goods obtained, rather than sold, by 
the taxable entity. Various other costs also are deductible, 
including deterioration and obsolescence of goods, certain 
preproduction costs, insurance costs related to the goods, 
utility costs used in production of the goods, quality control 
costs, and licensing costs. The bill specifies several costs that 
may not be included in cost of goods sold, including officer 
compensation.

	 Indirect and administrative overhead costs may be 
subtracted if the costs are allocated to the production of the 
goods. Such deductions can not exceed 4 percent of the 
entity’s total indirect and administrative overhead costs. A 
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lending institution may deduct interest expenses as cost of 
goods sold.

	 A motor vehicle leasing company, heavy construction 
equipment leasing company, or railcar rolling stock 
company may deduct as a cost of goods sold costs related 
to property that the entity leases in its ordinary course of 
business.

	 Compensation deduction. If an entity chooses 
the compensation deduction in determining its taxable 
margin, the bill authorizes the deduction of wages and cash 
compensation and benefits for each employee of an entity.

	 Wages and cash compensation includes the amount 
entered in the Medicare wages and tips box on an 
employees’ W-2 tax form, as well as net distributive income 
accruing to a natural person from partnerships, trusts, 
limited liability corporations, and “S” corporations. Stock 
awards and options also qualify for deduction as wages and 
cash compensation. An entity may deduct no more than 
$300,000 in wages and cash compensation per employee. 
On January 1 of each odd-numbered year beginning in 2009, 
the $300,000 cap on the wages and cash compensation 
deduction will be adjusted based on the percent change 
in the consumer price index during the preceding fiscal 
biennium, and the resulting amount will be rounded to the 
nearest $10,000.

	 In addition to the wages and cash compensation 
deduction, an entity may deduct all benefits provided to its 
employees, including workers’ compensation, health care, 
retirement benefits, and employer health savings account 
contributions. The benefits deduction is not subject to the 
$300,000 cap.

	 A management company may not include in its 
deduction of wages or cash compensation any amounts 
reimbursed by an entity it manages. A managed entity may 
deduct as wages or cash compensation reimbursements 
made to a management company as if those amounts had 
been made to its own employees.

	 Undocumented worker exclusion. Compensation 
paid to an undocumented worker for the production of 
goods may not be deducted as either compensation or cost 
of goods sold.

	 Calculation of tax. Under the bill, the revised 
franchise tax is computed by applying one of two rates to 

a taxable entity’s taxable margin, depending on the type of 
business activity in which the taxable entity primarily is 
engaged. If a taxable entity primarily is engaged in retail 
or wholesale trade, a rate of 0.5 percent is applied to the 
entity’s taxable margin. If the entity is not engaged primarily 
in retail or wholesale trade, a rate of 1 percent is applied to 
the entity’s taxable margin.

	 An entity primarily is engaged in retail or wholesale 
trade if:

•	 the total revenue from its retail and wholesale trade 
activities is greater than its total revenue from other 
activities;

•	 less than 50 percent of its total revenue in retail or 
wholesale trade comes from the sale of products 
it produces (excluding eating and drinking 
establishments); and

•	 the entity does not provide utilities, including 
telecommunications, electricity, or gas.

	 Any increase in the rate of the revised business tax 
must be approved by a majority of voters in a statewide 
referendum. If the rate is decreased, any subsequent 
increase from the new rate must be approved by voters. 
Changes to the administration, enforcement, applicability, or 
computation of the tax do not require voter approval.

	 Combined reporting. Under HB 3, a group of 
two or more taxable entities must report as a single entity 
if the entities are part of an affiliated group as defined by 
a common ownership test and are engaged in a unitary 
business. The combined group will determine its total 
revenue and elect to deduct either cost of goods sold or 
compensation to establish the group’s taxable margin.

	 Tiered partnership arrangements. The bill allows 
a taxable entity that is a lower tier entity to pay the tax of 
a higher tier partnership if the partnership reports to the 
comptroller the amount of taxable margin that each lower 
tier entity should include in the taxable margin of each lower 
tier entity, as determined by the profits interest of the lower 
tier entity. 

	 Apportionment. A taxable entity’s proportion of 
business performed in Texas will be apportioned to the state 
to determine the entity’s tax liability. The taxable entity’s 
margin is apportioned to Texas by multiplying the entity’s 
margin by the quotient of:
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•	 the taxable entity’s gross receipts from business 
done in Texas; divided by

•	 the taxable entity’s gross receipts from its entire 
business.

	 A combined group must include in its gross receipts 
from business done in Texas the gross receipts of each 
taxable entity that is a member of the combined group that 
has nexus (business connection) in Texas. In determining 
a combined group’s total gross receipts, the combined 
group must include the gross receipts of each entity that is a 
member of the group, whether or not the member has nexus 
in Texas.

	 In apportioning margin, exclusions taken by an entity 
when determining the entity’s total revenue cannot be 
included in the entity’s receipts in Texas or receipts from the 
entity’s entire business. Receipts from the sale of property 
between one member of a combined group with nexus in 
Texas and another member of the combined group with 
nexus outside Texas will be included in the receipts of 
business done in Texas by the taxable entity, provided that 
the member that does not have nexus in Texas resells the 
property to a purchaser in Texas.

	 Penalties. The comptroller is authorized to forfeit 
the right of a taxable entity to transact business in the 
state in the same manner that the comptroller could forfeit 
a corporation’s corporate privileges under the previous 
franchise tax.

	 Texas Economic Development Act. HB 3 
extends the Texas Economic Development Act, a program 
that allows a school district to offer tax abatements to 
companies investing in the district. The program, due to 
expire December 31, 2007, is extended until December 31, 
2011. The program will apply to an entity to which the new 
business tax applies. Under the program, impact evaluations 
will be conducted by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) 
rather than by a third party. TEA’s analysis will be binding 
on the school district and the applicant.

	 Other provisions. The bill contains provisions for 
the transition of existing franchise taxpayers to the new 
franchise tax established under the bill. Franchise tax credits 
existing under current law are repealed. A taxable entity 
receiving credit on net taxable earned surplus under the 
previous franchise tax will be able to notify the comptroller 
of its intent to preserve credits on tax due on its taxable 
margin.

	 A taxable entity that owes the franchise tax under 
the bill must file an initial informational report with the 
comptroller and an annual report containing information 
necessary to compute the tax on the taxable entity.

	 The bill requires an informational report from each of 
the 1,000 entities that paid the most franchise tax in calendar 
year 2005 under the existing franchise tax, the 1,000 entities 
that had the greatest gross receipts in 2005, and the 1,000 
entities with the most employees in the state in 2005. This 
information will be used by the comptroller to report to the 
governor, the lieutenant governor, and the Legislature the 
amount of revenue that would be generated from the entities 
if the new franchise tax were in effect on January 1, 2006. 
This report must be delivered by April 1, 2007.

	 A taxable entity with more than 100,000 employees in 
the state annually must report the number of its employees 
in the state receiving assistance under Medicaid or CHIP.

	 The bill specifies that the franchise tax as amended 
by HB 3 is not an income tax and federal law concerning 
state taxation of income from interstate commerce does not 
apply. Any lawsuit contending that the new franchise tax 
established under HB 3 is unconstitutional would be heard 
in the Texas Supreme Court.

	 Revenue from the tax imposed under the bill will go 
into the state’s general revenue fund. The bill appropriates 
$2 million in general revenue to the comptroller for fiscal 
2006-07 for audit and enforcement activities.

	 The tax imposed under the bill takes effect January 1, 
2008, and applies to reports due on or after that date. The 
bill takes effect September 1, 2006.

	 According to the LBB, HB 3 will result in revenue gains 
of $3.4 billion in fiscal 2008 and $3.5 billion in fiscal 2009. 
These figures are in addition to the amounts the state would 
have collected in these years if the previous franchise tax 
had remained in effect.
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	 HB 4 by Swinford addresses the problem of under-
reporting of sales prices of motor vehicles in calculating the 
6.25 percent motor vehicle sales-and-use tax.

	 The bill requires the Texas Department of 
Transportation to determine for vehicle sales tax purposes 
the “standard presumptive value” – or private-party 
transaction value – of a motor vehicle based on a regional 
guidebook of a national industry reporting service or other 
appropriate publication. The department must maintain the 
standard presumptive values of vehicles in its registration 
and title system, update the data at least quarterly, and 
publish the updated information. These data must be made 
available to county tax assessor-collectors.

	 Effective October 1, 2006, a county tax assessor-
collector must use the amount paid for a motor vehicle 
to assess the state’s 6.25 percent sales-and-use tax on the 
purchase if the amount paid is at least 80 percent of the 
vehicle’s standard presumptive value. If the amount paid 
for the motor vehicle is less than 80 percent of the standard 
presumptive value, the county tax assessor-collector must 
assess the tax on 80 percent of the vehicle’s value. The 
county tax assessor-collector may assess the sales-and-
use tax on an amount less than 80 percent of the standard 
presumptive value only if the retail value is shown on:

a receipt or invoice provided by a motor vehicle 
dealer;
a certified appraisal performed by a motor vehicle 
dealer; or

•

•

a certified appraisal performed by a licensed 
adjuster.

	 If the individual provides such information, the tax will 
be levied on the retail value shown on the receipt, invoice, 
or appraisal. If the seller chooses to present a certified 
appraisal, that appraisal must be presented by the purchaser 
to the tax assessor-collector within 20 working days after the 
vehicle is delivered to the purchaser.

	 The bill requires a motor vehicle dealer to provide a 
certified appraisal of the retail value of a motor vehicle, for 
which the dealer may charge a fee to be determined by the 
comptroller.

	 These requirements do not apply to transactions 
involving an even exchange of vehicles or to a gift. The 
bill also does not apply to abandoned or disposed motor 
vehicles.

	 The standard presumptive value provision in HB 4 takes 
effect October 1, 2006.  The remainder of HB 4 takes effect 
August 14, 2006.

	 According to the LBB, HB 4 will result in gains to the 
state of $30.6 million in fiscal 2007, $42.3 million in fiscal 
2008, and $42.8 million in fiscal 2009. These figures are in 
addition to vehicle sales tax revenue the state would have 
collected in these years if the standard presumptive value 
provision had not taken effect.

•

HB 4 – Determining Motor Vehicle Value for Sales Tax Purposes

HB 5 – Increased Tax on Cigarettes and Other Tobacco Products

	 Beginning January 1, 2007, HB 5 by Hamric increases 
tax rates for cigarettes and other tobacco products, excluding 
cigars. The bill increases the cigarette tax rate by $1.00, 
from 41 cents to $1.41 per pack. The other tobacco products 
tax rate will rise from 35.21 percent to 40 percent of the 
manufacturer’s list price.

	 As of January 1, 2006, cigarette tax rates per pack 
in states bordering Texas were 91 cents in New Mexico, 

$1.03 in Oklahoma, 59 cents in Arkansas (plus a dealer 
enforcement/administration fee), and 36 cents in Louisiana. 

	 According to the LBB, HB 5 will result in gains to the 
state of $431.7 million in fiscal 2007, $690.9 million in 
fiscal 2008, and $731.3 million in fiscal 2009. These figures 
are in addition to the amounts the state would have collected 
in these years if the previous tobacco taxes had remained in 
effect.
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	 HB 2 by Pitts creates a property tax relief fund outside 
of general revenue for the collection of revenue generated by 
the new taxes authorized by the 79th Legislature during the 
third called session. Beginning in fiscal 2008, the revenue 
in this fund must be appropriated to reduce school district 
maintenance and operations (M&O) tax rates to at least 
$1.00 per $100 valuation. Any money remaining after M&O 
taxes reach $1.00 must be spent two-thirds for additional 
M&O tax reduction and one-third to increase the level of 
equalization of school districts’ enrichment tax effort.

	 Revenue deposited to this fund may be appropriated 
only to reduce M&O school tax rates to rates below those 
in effect January 1, 2006, until they reach an average of 
$1.00 per $100 of taxable value. In a tax year when average 
school M&O tax rates are $1.00 or below, two-thirds of 
the money in the property tax relief fund remaining after 
a sufficient amount is appropriated to maintain the $1.00 
per $100 M&O rate may be appropriated for additional tax 
rate reduction, and one-third may be appropriated only to 
increase the equalization in the school tax enrichment tier 
established in HB 1 by Chisum. Monies from the property 

HB 2 – Dedicating New Tax Revenue to School Property Tax Reduction

tax relief fund must be distributed in a way that does not 
increase disparities in revenue yield by districts of varying 
property wealth per weighted student.
	
	 The revenue earmarked for the new fund includes the 
amount of revenue from any new business tax (HB 3 by 
J. Keffer) collected by the state in excess of the amount 
that the comptroller estimates the current franchise tax 
would have generated. The revenue generated from the 
computation of the tax on the standard presumptive value 
of motor vehicles (HB 4 by Swinford) and from cigarette 
and tobacco taxes (HB 5 by Hamric) higher than the current 
rates also must be deposited in this fund.

	 The property tax relief fund will be exempt from 
Government Code, sec. 403.095, which “sweeps” into 
general revenue money in state funds left unappropriated at 
the end of the fiscal biennium for purposes of certifying the 
state budget. Interest and income derived from the fund will 
be allocated monthly to the fund.

	 HB 2 takes effect September 1, 2006.

	 During the third called session, the 79th Legislature 
appropriated approximately $4 billion for fiscal 2006-07. 
 
	 HB 1 by Chisum appropriates a total of $3.9 
billion from the foundation school fund and general revenue 
to TEA for fiscal 2007 to provide additional funding over 
current appropriated levels. This will cover the cost of the 
property tax cut and hold harmless provisions, equalization 
in existing school funding formulas and in the new 
enrichment tier, a $2,000 teacher pay raise, a new high 
school allotment of $275 per student, and a variety of new 
programs and initiatives authorized by the bill. 
 
	 HB 63 by Pitts appropriates $34 million from general 
revenue to Lamar University in fiscal 2007 for payments 
of costs to repair damage from hurricanes Katrina or Rita. 
The first $34 million in federal funds received for the 

Appropriations in the Third Called Session

same purpose will be allocated to state general revenue. 
Any additional federal funds will be allocated to Lamar 
University and could be used to cover hurricane-related 
losses, including damages and costs related to disruption of 
activities. 
 
	 HB 153 by Morrison appropriates $5.3 million from 
general revenue for fiscal 2006-07 to the University of 
Texas System to reimburse debt service paid on long-term 
obligations used for the construction of a natural science and 
engineering research building at the University of Texas at 
Dallas.
 
	 HB 3 by J. Keffer appropriates $2 million from 
general revenue in fiscal 2007 to the Comptroller’s Office 
for implementation of the business tax bill and for audit and 
enforcement activities. 
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	 According to the LBB, the additional state spending 
authorized during the third called session does not exceed 
the constitutional limit on the growth in state spending. 
Texas Constitution, Art. 8, sec. 22, caps growth in spending 
of undedicated state tax revenue. It may not exceed 
the LBB’s official estimate of the growth rate of the 

state’s economy. The LBB estimates that total budgeted 
spending for fiscal 2006-07, including the additional funds 
appropriated by the Legislature during the third called 
session, is within $100 million of the constitutional spending 
cap.

HB 63 – Hurricane damage	 34	 –	 –	
HB 153 – TRB debt service payments	 5	 166	 167
HB 3 – Comptroller audit and enforcement	 2	 4	 4

Total	 $3,963	 $8,865	 $10,302	

HB 1	
	 Property tax cut	 $2,100	 $6,600	 $6,900	
	 Hold harmless	 65	 –	 –
	 Pay increase	 802	 817	 831	
	 High school allotment	 319	 325	 332	
	 Equalization	 478	 629	 940
	 Educator Excellence Awards	 100	 261	 317
	 Spending shift repeal	 –	 –	 800	
	 Other	 58	 63	 11
	 Total HB 1	3 ,922	8 ,695	 10,131

Fig. 1: Total appropriations from legislation enacted in the third called session
(all figures in millions)

Fig. 2: Total revenues from legislation enacted in the third called session
(all figures in millions)

HB 3 – Revised business franchise tax	 –	 $3,387	 $3,454	
HB 4 – Vehicle value for sales tax purposes	 31	 42	 43	
HB 5 – Cigarette and other tobacco taxes	 432	 691	 731

Total 	 $463	 $4,120	 $4,228

Source: Legislative Budget Board

	projected fiscal	 projected	 projected
 	 2006-07	 fiscal ‘08	 fiscal ‘09

	 fiscal	 projected	 projected
	 2006-07	 fiscal ‘08	 fiscal ‘09
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Other Legislation Enacted in the Third Called Session

	 Background. Tuition revenue bonds (TRBs) are 
issued by institutions of higher education for which future 
revenue (tuition and fees) is pledged for repayment of the 
bonds. The Legislature must authorize bond issuance, and 
bond proceeds generally are used to finance institutional 
construction, renovation projects, equipment, and 
infrastructure. The authorization and issuance of the bonds is 
not contingent on an appropriation for related debt service, 
but the Legislature historically has appropriated general 
revenue to reimburse institutions for the tuition used to pay 
for the debt service — principal and interest. However, the 
78th Legislature in 2003 appropriated funds to pay only for 
interest on TRBs issued after March 31, 2003. 

	 In 2005, the 79th Legislature in SB 1 by Ogden, the 
general appropriations act for fiscal 2006-07, appropriated 
$374.9 million for principal and interest for existing TRBs 
issued through the end of fiscal 2005. That same session, 
HB 2329 by Morrison, which would have authorized a 
total of $2.2 billion in new TRBs for higher education 
institutions, died when neither house adopted the conference 
committee report. Sec. 14.61 of Article 9 of SB 1 included 
$108 million for TRB debt service, contingent on passage of 
HB 2329 or similar legislation. Gov. Perry line-item vetoed 
this provision because HB 2329 was not enacted. 

	 During the first and second called sessions of the 79th 
Legislature, the House passed HB 6 by Morrison, which 
would have authorized $2.7 billion and $2.75 billion 
respectively in TRBs. In each session, the bill died in the 
Senate. 

	 HB 153 by Morrison. HB 153 authorizes the issuance 
of $1.8 billion in TRBs for institutions of higher education 
to finance construction and improvement of infrastructure 
and related facilities. It does not make an appropriation for 
debt service for the bonds. The bonds will be payable from 
pledged revenue plus tuition and, if a board of regents did 
not have sufficient funds to meet its obligations, funds could 
be transferred among institutions, branches, and entities 
within each system or university.

	 The bill includes TRB authorization for individual 
institutions and projects in the following university systems:

HB 153 – Tuition revenue bonds for higher education institutions

University of Texas System ($846 million);
Texas A&M University System ($465 million);
University of Houston System ($131 million);
University of North Texas System ($117 million);
Texas Tech University System ($90 million);
Texas State University System ($97 million);
Texas Southern University ($46.5  million);
Stephen F. Austin University ($30.2 million);
Texas Woman’s University ($21.7 million);
Midwestern State University ($10.4 million); and 
Texas State Technical College System ($3 million).

	 HB 153 prohibits the issuance of bonds for facilities at 
Texas A&M University’s Central Texas and San Antonio 
campuses and at the University of North Texas’ Dallas 
campus until enrollment at each campus reaches 1,500 
full-time students for one semester. If enrollment fails to 
reach this level by January 1, 2010, the university system’s 
authority to issue bonds for improvements at the campus 
expires. Likewise, the bill prohibits Texas Southern 
University from issuing bonds for a branch campus multi-
purpose academic center until the Texas Higher Education 
Coordinating Board approves the operation of a branch 
campus. If the board does not grant approval by January 1, 
2010, the university’s authority to issue bonds expires. 

	 The bill also appropriates $5.3 million to the University 
of Texas System for the remainder of fiscal 2006-07 to 
reimburse debt paid on long-term obligations for the 
construction of a natural science and engineering research 
building at the University of Texas at Dallas. In addition, 
from fiscal 2008 through fiscal 2017, the bill sets a yearly 
limit of $6.5 million for any future appropriations for this 
project. Annual appropriations will begin to phase out in 
fiscal 2018, and the bill caps the yearly appropriation at 
$654,060 in fiscal 2027. 

	 HB 153 also adds junior college districts with a total 
headcount enrollment of 40,000 or more to the statutory list 
of entities eligible to issue obligation bonds.  

	 The LBB estimates that debt service costs on the TRBs 
will be about $160 million in fiscal 2008.

•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
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costs for the pharmacy college, but the governor’s proposal 
expired when the Legislative Budget Board took no action 
on it. In March 2006, the Texas A&M Health Science 
Center agreed to contribute $6 million to open the school for 
classes starting this fall. The Texas A&M Board of Regents 
subsequently transferred management of the Rangel School 
from Texas A&M-Kingsville to the Health Science Center.

	 HB 154 by Luna. HB 154 transfers the administration 
of the Irma Rangel School of Pharmacy from Texas A&M 
University - Kingsville to the Texas A&M University 
System Health Science Center. It allows the Texas A&M 
University System Board to maintain the school in Kleberg 
County as a component of the Texas A&M University 
Health Science Center and repeals the authorization of 
the Texas A&M University System Board to maintain the 
school as part of the Texas A&M University - Kingsville. 
The bill authorizes the facility to offer courses and degrees 
that are comparable with other colleges of pharmacy.

	 Background. In an effort to address the shortage 
of pharmacists and meet the health needs of Texans, 
particularly residents of South Texas, the 77th Legislature 
in 2001 enacted HB 1640 by Rangel, which established a 
college of pharmacy at Texas A&M University - Kingsville. 
The Legislature also authorized $14.5 million in tuition 
revenue bonds to finance construction of the building. 
The 78th Legislature in 2003 appropriated $306,250 for 
curriculum development for the school of pharmacy and 
named it for the late Rep. Irma Rangel. The university 
borrowed approximately $3 million in funds from the Texas 
A&M University System to hire faculty, begin curriculum 
development, and meet accreditation requirements. The 
pharmacy school was completed in June 2005 but the fall 
2005 opening was delayed until the fall of this year due to a 
lack of operational funding.

	 In August 2005, Gov. Perry through budget execution 
authority proposed spending $10 million for operational 

HB 154 – Transfer of Irma Rangel Pharmacy School administration

	 HB 149 by Chisum aligns Texas law with standards 
put forward in the U.S. Department of Energy’s FutureGen 
program request for proposals. FutureGen is a federal 
initiative of the U.S. Department of Energy to build a 
coal-based integrated sequestration and hydrogen project 
and eventually create a zero-emissions fossil fuel – or 
“clean coal” – plant. The prototype plant would attempt to 
establish the technical and economic feasibility of producing 
electricity and hydrogen from coal while capturing and 
sequestering the carbon dioxide produced in the process. 
Texas has submitted two FutureGen host site proposals to 
the Department of Energy and the FutureGen Industrial 
Alliance, one in Odessa in West Texas and one in Jewett in 
East Texas.

	 Under the bill, the Texas Railroad Commission (TRC) 
will acquire title to carbon dioxide produced by a clean 
coal project. The transfer of this title will be made without 
cost, other than the administrative and legal costs. TRC will 
administer the interest conferred under the bill in the name 

HB 149 - State title to carbon dioxide from FutureGen clean coal project

of the state of Texas. This transfer does not relieve the owner 
or operator of a clean coal project of liability for an act 
performed before the carbon dioxide is captured.

	 The bill also allows TRC to sell carbon dioxide that is 
captured by a clean coal project and not injected for storage 
in a geologic formation. This carbon dioxide may be sold for 
enhanced oil recovery or another beneficial use. Proceeds 
for the sale would go to the general revenue fund.

	 The bill also allows the University of Texas (UT) 
System and Permanent University Fund (PUF) to enter into 
a lease to allow the use of UT System or PUF lands for 
permanent storage of carbon dioxide captured by a clean 
coal project. Such a lease will have to indemnify the UT 
System and PUF against liability incurred as a result of 
carbon dioxide that escaped after it had been injected.

	 HB 149 takes effect September 1, 2006.
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	 HB 163 by P. King authorizes Entergy Corp., an 
electric provider in Southeast Texas outside the Electric 
Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT), to use securitization 
financing to recover reconstruction costs associated with the 
restoration of service stemming from power outages caused 
by Hurricane Rita in September 2005. 

	 Securitization financing is a debt management method 
that allows a utility to sell its debt to a third party. The utility 
receives from investors a lump-sum payment equaling the 
amount of debt sold. The investors then issue securities. 
Utility customers pay the principal and interest payment 
on the securitized debt instead of paying the cost on their 
electric bills over time. This mechanism allows debt to be 
refinanced at potentially lower rates, cutting the total cost of 
debt.

	 Entergy may petition the Public Utility Commission 
(PUC) to issue an order determining the amount of hurricane 
reconstruction costs that are eligible for recovery and 
securitization. After receiving the PUC order on eligible 

HB 163 – Authorizing securitization financing for Entergy to recover hurricane 
reconstruction costs

hurricane reconstruction costs, Entergy may apply for a 
financing order detailing the costs to be recovered and 
approving the issuance of bonds.

	 “Hurricane reconstructions costs” include costs incurred 
in connection with the restoration of service following 
power outages caused by Hurricane Rita, including the 
repair and reconstruction of generation, transmission, 
distribution, or general plant facilities. Any insurance 
proceeds, governmental grants, or other compensation 
funding the utility’s reconstruction costs will reduce the 
amount of the utility’s costs that were recoverable from 
customers.

	 Hurricane reconstruction costs will be allocated to 
customers in the utility’s base rates. If the PUC determines 
that securitization is not beneficial to the utility’s 
ratepayers, the utility is authorized to recover its hurricane 
reconstruction costs through a customer surcharge. Entergy 
is authorized in its next rate proceeding to recover hurricane 
reconstruction and other costs that it had not yet incurred at 
the time of its application to the PUC.

HB 97 – Banning disruptive protests at funerals

	 HB 97 by McCall bans disruptions within 500 feet of a 
cemetery or facility hosting a funeral during the service as 
well as during the hour preceding and following the event. 
The offense is a class B misdemeanor (up to 180 days in jail 
and/or a maximum fine of $2,000). Violators protesting in 
a nonviolent manner would have a defense to prosecution 
if prior to arrest they were not ordered to move, an order to 
move was manifestly unreasonable, or the order to move 
was promptly obeyed.

	 Prompted by the actions of a religious congregation 
from Kansas that has protested military funerals across the 
nation, Texas becomes the fifteenth state to enact such limits 
on funeral disruptions.

	 HB 97 took effect May 19. On May 24, Congress 
approved legislation (H.R. 5037) governing military funerals 
at the 122 national cemeteries, including six in Texas, that 
would bar protests within 300 feet of the entrance and 150 
feet of any road leading to a cemetery from an hour before 
the service to an hour after it. Violators could be punished 
with a fine of up to $100,000 and one year in prison.
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