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	 During its 2015 regular session, the 84th Texas Legislature enacted 
1,323 bills and adopted seven joint resolutions after considering 6,476 
measures filed. This report includes many of the highlights of the 
regular session. It summarizes some proposals that were approved and 
some that were not. Also included are arguments offered for and against 
each measure as it was debated. The legislation featured in this report is 
a sampling and not intended to be comprehensive.

	 Other House Research Organization reports covering the 2015 
session include those examining the bills vetoed by the governor and the 
constitutional amendments on the November 3, 2015, ballot, as well as 
an upcoming report summarizing the fiscal 2016-17 budget.
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Legislative Statistics, 84th Legislature

Source: Texas Legislative Information System, Legislative Reference Library

*Includes 41 vetoed bills — 34 House bills and 9 Senate bills

House bills	 4,207 819 19.5%

Senate bills	 2,069 504 24.4%

TOTAL bills	 6,276 1,323 21.1%

HJRs	 133 2 1.5%  

SJRs	 67 5 7.5%

TOTAL joint
resolutions	 200 7 3.5%

Introduced	 Enacted*	 Percent enacted

2013	 2015	 Percent change

Bills filed	 5,868 6,276 7.0%

Bills enacted	 1,437 1,323 -7.9%

Bills vetoed	 26 41 57.7%

Joint resolutions filed	 193 200 3.6%

Joint resolutions adopted	 10 7 -30.0%

Legislation sent or transferred
to Calendars Committee	 1,325 1,504 13.5%

Legislation sent to Local and
Consent Calendars Committee	 1,320 1,144 -13.3%
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HB 26 by Button
Effective September 1, 2015

Economic incentive reform, university research initiative

	 HB 26 creates the Governor’s University Research 
Initiative to help recruit distinguished researchers to 
Texas universities. Institutions may apply for matching 
grants through a fund established under the program 
to recruit Nobel laureates or members of a national 
academy, with an emphasis on researchers in the fields 
of science, technology, engineering, mathematics, 
and medicine. The initiative is administered by the 
Economic Development and Tourism Office in the 
governor’s office.

	 The bill dissolves the Emerging Technology Fund. 
The Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Company 
must wind up the fund’s portfolio in a manner that, to 
the extent feasible, maximizes return on investment. 
Unencumbered funds remaining after the fund has 
been wound up may be appropriated only to the Texas 
Research Incentive Program, Texas Research University 
Fund, Governor’s University Research Initiative, Texas 
Enterprise Fund, or the comptroller for purposes of 
managing the state’s investments made through the 
Emerging Technology Fund.

	 HB 26 creates the Economic Incentive Oversight 
Board, which is tasked with examining the effectiveness 
and efficiency of incentive programs and funds 
administered by the governor’s office, the comptroller’s 
office, and the Department of Agriculture. The board 
will periodically review each incentive program and 
provide a report on its findings to lawmakers prior to 
each regular session of the Legislature. 

	 The bill reduces from 91 days to 31 days the time the 
lieutenant governor and House speaker have to approve 
a proposal to award money appropriated from the Texas 
Enterprise Fund before the grant award is considered 
disapproved. It also changes the name of the Major 
Events Trust Fund to the Major Events Reimbursement 
Program.

Supporters said 

	 HB 26 would help balance the state’s need to 
compete for economic growth with a commitment to 
transparency and accountability. Texas already has 

some of the most prestigious research universities in 
the world. Creating a grant matching program through 
the Governor’s University Research Initiative would 
help these universities attract prestigious faculty in the 
sciences and boost Texas’ ability to lead the nation with 
technological innovation.

	 By eliminating the Emerging Technology Fund, 
the bill would help ensure that taxpayer money was 
not used for something as unpredictable and volatile 
as venture capital. Instead of early-stage funding 
investment, the bill would encourage the state to look 
at the best way to invest in long-term economic growth. 
The Economic Incentive Oversight Board created by the 
bill would direct the state to actively and consciously 
consider which economic development programs work, 
which do not, and which may be needed in the future.

Opponents said 

	 HB 26’s elimination of the Emerging Technology 
Fund would hinder the state’s economic development 
and research generation in the long term. Texas’s startup 
and venture capital industry is dwarfed by those in 
California and New York. Both those states have made 
significant commitments to early-stage funding. Without 
a similar willingness to commit to early-stage funding, 
Texas might be unable to compete with these states in 
the long term.

	 While the bill could help attract distinguished 
researchers to Texas universities, it might not be the 
most efficient use of money. Honors issued by the 
Nobel Foundation and national academies are widely 
recognized and highly respected, but those awards 
recognize research that has already been done. The state 
would be better served by using matching grants to 
recruit up-and-coming researchers. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 26 appeared in Part One of 
the April 30 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 311 by Canales; HB 2063, HB 2066, and HB 2067 by Oliveira
Effective September 1, 2015/HB 2067 effective June 17, 2015

Real property transactions and foreclosures

	 HB 311 creates liability for sellers who fail to 
comply with existing requirements to record executory 
contracts for the sale of real property within 30 days of 
executing the contract. The damages are capped at $500 
for each calendar year of non-compliance. A recorded 
executory contract has the same effect as a deed with a 
vendor’s lien in the amount of the unpaid contract price, 
less any lawful deductions. The lien may be enforced by 
foreclosure sale or judicial foreclosure.

	 The bill prohibits the remedies of rescission or 
forfeiture and acceleration for a seller after an executory 
contract is recorded. If a purchaser defaults after an 
executory contract has been recorded, the seller may 
conduct a foreclosure sale to sell the purchaser’s interest 
in the property.

	 HB 2063 requires certain documents related to a 
foreclosure sale to be recorded when they are received 
by a county clerk and are attached as an exhibit to 
another document, such as a deed conveying title. 
The documents required to be recorded include an 
instrument appointing a trustee to exercise a power 
of sale in a security instrument or a notice of sale 
conducted under a power of sale. The documents serve 
as notice of the information contained in them. 

	 HB 2066 creates a process to rescind a nonjudicial 
foreclosure sale of property within 15 days of the sale in 
certain cases, such as when the statutory requirements 
for the sale were not satisfied, the default leading to the 
sale was cured before the sale, or a court-ordered or 
automatic stay of the sale in a bankruptcy case filed by a 
person with an interest in the property was imposed on 
the property at the time of the sale. 

	 Notice of the rescission must be served on the 
purchaser and any debtor obligated to pay the debt. The 
notice also must be recorded in the real property records 
of the county where the property is located. 

	 The bid amount paid by a subsequent purchaser at 
the sale must be returned by the mortgagee within five 
days of the rescission. Proof of the returned bid must be 
recorded along with the notice of rescission in the real 
property records. 

	 If notice of the rescission was not properly filed or 
acknowledged by a creditor or subsequent purchaser 
who paid valuable consideration, the rescission is 
void, but it is binding on the debtor, debtor’s heirs, 
and a subsequent purchaser who did not pay valuable 
consideration. The rescission restores mortgagees and 
debtors to their respective title, rights, and obligations 
under an instrument related to the foreclosure property 
that existed immediately prior to the sale.    
	
	 Any lawsuit challenging the rescission must be filed 
within 30 days after the notice of rescission is recorded. 
If the sale was rescinded because a stay was imposed 
in a bankruptcy case, the court could award as damages 
to the purchaser only the amount paid for the property 
that has not been refunded. If the rescission was for any 
other reason, the court could award as damages only the 
amount paid for the property that has not been refunded, 
plus interest of 10 percent per year. 

	 HB 2067 specifies that when the maturity date 
of an obligation is accelerated and the acceleration is 
later rescinded or waived, the effect is as though an 
acceleration never occurred. A lienholder’s right to 
accelerate the maturity date in the future is not affected, 
and past defaults are not waived by this bill.

Supporters said 

	 HB 311 would protect purchasers involved in 
executory contracts who might not understand their 
rights under the law. A purchaser’s equity and title in 
the property would be protected by establishing liability 
if the seller failed to record the contract, as required 
by law. This bill would also limit the use of rescission 
or forfeiture and acceleration as remedies when a 
purchaser defaults, which can cause purchasers to lose 
their homes and the money they already have paid under 
the contract. 

	 Businesses still could use executory contracts, but 
the bill would encourage sellers to record them and 
would change the remedies used after a default to be 
more similar to traditional remedies under a mortgage 
contract, such as a foreclosure sale.
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	 HB 2066 would create a “reset button” for 
foreclosure sales that never should have taken place. 
Currently, these situations must be resolved through 
costly litigation or an agreement by the parties involved. 
During that time the parties are in limbo because it is 
not clear who the owner is. 
	
	 Some sales need to be rescinded because there 
may be facts that are not known by all of the parties 
involved, such as the debtor filing for bankruptcy on 
the morning of the sale, which can make it difficult or 
impossible to deliver clear title on the property.
	
	 The 15-day window for rescission would limit 
negative effects on the bidding process, and subsequent 
purchasers would be protected if they did not have 
knowledge of the rescission.

Opponents said 

	 HB 311 would discourage the use of executory 
contracts, which are an important tool to convey real 
property for many people who cannot obtain financing 
through conventional mortgages. Under current 
executory contract law, title remains with the seller 
until the purchaser makes the final payment under 
the contract. The bill would change the effect of an 
executory contract to be the same as a deed with a 
vendor’s lien, essentially giving title to the purchaser at 
the time of the contract execution. 

	 HB 311 also would limit the remedies available 
for sellers to protect their interests when purchasers 
defaulted under a contract. The bill would favor 
one form of transaction over another by making an 
executory contract more like a conventional mortgage.

	 HB 2066 would discourage third-party purchasers 
from bidding on foreclosure properties because of the 
uncertainty created by the possibility of rescission. 
Without third-party purchasers, properties would be sold 
for much less than they are worth because there would 
not be as much competition in the bidding process. 
Fifteen days is too long for a third-party purchaser to be 
in limbo after purchasing a property. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 311 appeared in Part One 
of the April 22 Daily Floor Report. The HRO analysis 
of HB 2066 appeared in Part Two of the April 21 Daily 
Floor Report; the HRO analysis of HB 2067 appeared 
in Part Five of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.  HB 2063 
passed on the Local, Consent, and Resolutions Calendar 
and was not analyzed in a Daily Floor Report. 

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0311.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2066.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2067.PDF
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HB 2717 by Goldman/HB 3325 by Gutierrez/HB 4069 by Smith
Effective June 10, 2015/Died in the House/Died in Senate committee

Amending certain cosmetological regulations 

	 The 84th Legislature considered various bills related 
to the regulation of cosmetology. HB 2717, which 
took effect June 10, eliminates licenses and certificates 
for hair braiding. HB 3325, which died in the House, 
would have revised requirements for barber and private 
beauty culture schools, while HB 4069, which died in 
Senate committee, would have addressed re-enrollment 
in barber schools and the provision of services at 
unlicensed facilities.

	 HB 2717 eliminates licenses and certificates related 
to hair braiding, refunds fees associated with those 
licenses, and exempts a person who performs certain 
hair braiding activities from barbering and cosmetology 
licensing requirements. 

	 HB 3325, as reported by the House Committee 
on Licensing and Administrative Procedures, would 
have amended certain requirements pertaining to barber 
schools and private beauty culture schools. The Texas 
Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) 
could have approved an application for a permit for 
a barber school offering instruction to those seeking 
a certificate, license, or permit other than a class A 
barber certificate — or for a private beauty culture 
school offering instruction to those seeking a certificate, 
license, or permit other than a cosmetology operator 
license — if the school had adequate space, equipment, 
and instructional material to provide quality training. 
In addition, the bill would have required beauty culture 
schools to have access to permanent restrooms and 
drinking fountain facilities, and to be divided into one 
area for theory instruction and one area for clinic work.

	 HB 3325 would have allowed the Texas 
Commission of Licensing and Regulation to set 
additional requirements for barber schools and private 
beauty culture schools applying for permits to offer the 
instruction described above. A person receiving such 
instruction could not apply it toward either a class A 
certificate or an operator license.

	 HB 4069, as passed by the House, would have 
amended provisions relating to tuition and coursework 
at a permitted barber school and changed the 
applicability of certain licensing requirements.

	 Currently, students who withdraw or are terminated 
from a barber or private beauty culture school course 
may reenroll in the course within four years without 
paying additional tuition. The bill would have decreased 
that time from four years to two years.

	 The bill would have allowed people holding 
a license, certificate, or permit for barbering or 
cosmetology to provide services at an unlicensed 
facility if it was for a special event, such as a wedding 
or quinceañera. It also would have placed the service of 
eyebrow threading, a process to remove eyebrow hair 
with a piece of thread, outside the practices of barbering 
or cosmetology. 

	 HB 4069 would have increased from nine to 11 the 
number of members appointed to the advisory board 
on cosmetology. One would have been a licensed 
manicurist and another would have been an additional 
member of the public.

Supporters said 

	 Revising cosmetological regulations would lower 
the barrier to entry for schools and practitioners across 
the state. Recent court cases have held that certain 
regulations in Texas do not advance any legitimate 
government interest and fail to pass constitutional 
muster. These bills would refocus regulations on 
reducing actual risks to the customer’s health and 
safety. Eyebrow threading and hair braiding, for 
example, are low-risk practices, and the state should not 
regulate them in the same way as other, more complex 
cosmetological services. 

	 While eliminating certain licenses could have an 
initial negative fiscal impact on general revenue, this 
effect would be cushioned through savings gained from 
removing the state’s inspection and regulatory duties.

	 HB 3325 would make exceptions to the expensive 
and demanding requirements otherwise placed on barber 
and private beauty culture schools, such as maintaining 
a building containing minimum square-footage, certain 
equipment, and classroom space. These requirements 

Table 
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would lower barriers for schools to enter the market 
and create more affordable educational opportunities. 
The Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) 
could set additional requirements to ensure high-quality 
training.

	 HB 4069 would update regulations covering 
barbering and cosmetology to keep up with modern 
demands. The bill would decrease by two years the 
amount of time a school was required to accept a 
former student who withdrew or was terminated, which 
would reduce the likelihood that returning students had 
forgotten instructional material while their studies had 
lapsed. This would be beneficial for both re-enrolled 
students and schools because time in the classroom 
could be used more efficiently.

Opponents said

	 HB 2717 would decrease state revenue by 
eliminating the hair braiding licenses and associated 
fees. The bill also would cost Texas money because 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation would 
have to issue refunds to the people who currently hold 
one of those licenses.

	 HB 3325 would not be specific enough to ensure 
that the schools offering licenses or certificates other 
than class A barber certificates and cosmetology 
operator licenses were equipped with sufficient space, 
equipment, or materials needed to provide adequate 
training and education. Current regulations exist for this 
purpose and should be preserved.

	 HB 4069 would maintain the unreasonable 
requirement that barber and private beauty culture 
schools accept students who had previously withdrawn 
from or been terminated by the school. While the 
timeframe would be limited to two years instead of four, 
this requirement still would be unreasonable by creating 
a financial burden and requiring schools to accept 
many returning students whose education was likely 
terminated for cause.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2717 appeared in Part 
Two of the April 22 Daily Floor Report. The HRO 
analysis of HB 3325 appeared in Part Two of the May 
4 Daily Floor Report. The HRO analysis of HB 4069 
appeared in Part Two of the May 7 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2717.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB3325.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB4069.PDF
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SB 633 by Fraser
Effective September 1, 2015

Expanding and moving the Major Events Trust Fund

	 SB 633  moves administration of the Major Events 
Trust Fund from the Comptroller of Public Accounts to 
the Economic Development and Tourism Division in 
the Office of the Governor. The bill adds 10 events and 
their respective site selection organizations to the list of 
eligible events and organizations that may receive funds 
from the Major Events Trust Fund. In addition, the 
bill allows a local government corporation authorized 
to collect a municipal hotel occupancy tax in Harris 
County to act as an endorsing municipality or county 
for the purposes of the Major Events Trust Fund. It also 
eliminates the Special Events Trust Fund.

Supporters said 

	 SB 633 would improve accountability and 
transparency by placing the Major Events Trust Fund 
within the governor’s office, which is more visible to the 
public than the comptroller’s office. 

	 Expanding the Major Events Trust Fund would 
ensure that the state continued to reap the benefits that 
come from hosting large events. Large events bring 
in substantial tax revenue for cities and counties in 
Texas, as well as significant economic benefit to area 
businesses. Other states have begun to establish their 
own incentive packages, so it is important that Texas 
add to the list of events eligible for reimbursement. 
Changes made to the program in recent legislative 
sessions, including establishing clawback measures and 
having the program reimburse events rather than pay 
them in advance, have largely addressed past concerns 
associated with the fund. 

	 Eliminating the Special Events Trust Fund would 
help emphasize the Major Events Trust Fund as the 
primary economic development program for large 
events in Texas.

Opponents said 

	 Economic development efforts in Texas have been 
plagued with transparency and accountability issues in 
the past. Providing incentives to some companies and 
not others is a dubious use of government resources and 
distorts the free market. More work should be done to 
ensure that the Major Events Trust Fund is accountable 
to taxpayers before it is expanded.

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of SB 633 appeared in Part Two 
of the May 25 Daily Floor Report. 

	 The 84th Legislature enacted two other bills 
concerning the Major Events Trust Fund. SB 293 by 
Nelson, effective April 8, 2015, amends the Major 
Events Trust Fund to include three site selection 
organizations to the list of those eligible to receive 
funds. Among its many provisions, HB 26 by Button, 
effective September 1, 2015, changes the name of 
the Major Events Trust Fund to the Major Events 
Reimbursement Program.

	 On March 26, the House considered SB 293 in lieu 
of a similar companion bill, HB 900 by Isaac. The HRO 
analysis of HB 900 appeared in the March 24 Daily 
Floor Report. The HRO major issues analysis of HB 26 
appears on page 8 of this report.

Table 
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http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0633.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0900.PDF
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SB 900 by L. Taylor
Effective September 1, 2015

Changes to the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association

	 SB 900 reorganizes the funding structure of the 
Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA), 
changes the composition of its board of directors, and 
creates a depopulation program to encourage transfer of 
TWIA policies to insurers.

	 Funding structure. TWIA will pay insured losses 
in a catastrophe area along the coast from funds in the 
following priority order:

•	 TWIA premiums, other revenue, and the 
Catastrophe Reserve Trust Fund (CRTF);

•	 proceeds of class 1 public securities issued on 
or before June 1, 2015, or before the date of the 
occurrence (together with other class 1 public 
securities proceeds not to exceed $500 million);

•	 proceeds of class 1 public securities issued after 
the date of the occurrence;

•	 class 1 member assessments not to exceed $500 
million per year;

•	 proceeds of class 2 public securities not to 
exceed $250 million per year issued on or after 
the date of the occurrence;

•	 class 2 member assessments not to exceed $250 
million per year;

•	 proceeds of class 3 public securities not to 
exceed $250 million per year issued on or after 
the date of the occurrence;

•	 class 3 member assessments not to exceed $250 
million per year; and

•	 reinsurance and alternative risk financing 
mechanisms.

	 The amount of a member’s assessment is determined 
by the same method used to determine a member’s 
share of insured losses and operating expenses under 
Insurance Code, sec. 2210.052, based on the amount 
of premiums collected by each member during the 
previous year. Members cannot recoup an assessment 
through a premium surcharge or tax credit.

	 TWIA’s board of directors must determine a 
sufficient balance for the CRTF to meet cash flow 
requirements for paying insured losses. The comptroller 
must invest the portion of the CRTF balance exceeding 
that amount.

	 Public security obligations. TWIA must repay 
public security obligations first from net premiums 
and other revenue, and if that is insufficient, then from 
a catastrophe area premium surcharge. The surcharge 
will be assessed to each TWIA policyholder. Failure of 
a policyholder to pay the surcharge has the same effect 
as failing to pay a premium for policy cancellation 
purposes.

	 The commissioner of insurance may determine 
that class 2 and 3 public securities cannot be issued or 
are financially unreasonable for TWIA and may order 
payment of the securities by a premium surcharge 
assessed on certain policyholders. The assessed policies 
must cover insured property located in a catastrophe 
area, including automobiles, and must be in effect on or 
after the 180th day after the commissioner’s order.

	 Board of directors. TWIA’s board of directors 
includes:

•	 three members from the insurance industry who 
actively write and renew windstorm and hail 
insurance in certain coastal counties;

•	 three members residing in those counties; and
•	 three members residing in an area of the state 

located more than 100 miles from the coastline.

	 One-in-100-year storm. TWIA must maintain 
total available loss funding in an amount to cover the 
probable maximum loss for a catastrophe year with 
a  probability of one in 100. To do this, TWIA may 
purchase reinsurance or alternative risk financing 
mechanisms in addition to or in concert with funds 
from the CRTF, public securities, and assessments. 
Reinsurance may not be used to cover insured losses 
until the other sources of funding have been depleted.

	 Depopulation program. TWIA must administer 
a depopulation program to encourage the transfer of 
TWIA policies to insurers. Any insurer engaged in 
property and casualty insurance in Texas may participate 
in the program.

Table 
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	 If an insurer elects to reinsure a policy, the insurer 
must offer a renewal for three additional years and must 
offer the policy through the insurance agent of record. 
The policyholder must have an opportunity to opt out of 
the reinsurance. An insurer may not offer a policy unless 
it contains coverage and premiums that are generally 
comparable to the TWIA policy. The premiums cannot 
exceed 115 percent of the TWIA premiums.

Supporters said 

	 SB 900 would provide a reliable funding structure 
for the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association 
(TWIA) to pay losses due to a catastrophe. The member 
assessments TWIA could assess would be less expensive 
than bonds or public securities because there would not 
be associated fees and interest. TWIA’s funding would 
have to be sufficient to cover losses for a one-in-100-
year storm. Ensuring sufficient funding for the coast in 
the event of a disaster would benefit the entire state.

	 TWIA’s reliance on bonds would decrease 
because public securities could be repaid through 
catastrophe area premium surcharges if other funds 
were insufficient. This would ensure that coastal 
policyholders, rather than inland residents, bore most of 
the risk.

	 The board of directors would include more members 
from outside the coastal area and the insurance industry 
to offer balanced representation of the different interests 
within the state. 

	 The depopulation program would increase voluntary 
participation in the windstorm and hail insurance 
industry on the coast and would reduce state reliance on 
TWIA, helping to make it truly an insurer of last resort.

Opponents said 

	 SB 900 would increase costs for inland policyholders 
because member assessments would increase. Members 
would build those costs into the rates and premiums 
charged to their policyholders. Statewide funding should 
not be used to pay for property damage in areas with 
known inherent risks. 

	 If TWIA charged market premiums, it would not 
need to use bonds or member assessments to cover 
losses due to a catastrophe, and other insurers could 
enter the market and compete with TWIA because the 
rates would be reasonable.

	 The composition of the new board of directors would 
weigh heavily in favor of coastal residents, with six of 
the nine members either residing or working in coastal 
counties. This would allow the coastal majority to run 
the board and make decisions favorable to them, such as 
not allowing rate increases.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 900 appeared in Part One 
of the May 24 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0900.PDF
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HB 39 by Smithee
Effective September 1, 2015

Alternatives to guardianship for incapacitated persons
Table 

of Contents

	 HB 39 changes certain requirements related to the 
appointment of a guardian for an incapacitated person.

	 Substitutes for guardianship. A court must find, 
by clear and convincing evidence, that alternatives have 
been considered and determined not feasible before 
appointing a guardian. The bill defines “alternatives 
to guardianship” to include various forms of decision-
making for individuals with disabilities, including use 
of medical power of attorney, durable power of attorney, 
joint bank accounts, management trusts, and special 
needs trusts.  

	 A court must consider aspects of the ward’s capacity 
both with and without supports and services before 
reaching certain decisions or taking certain actions.

	 Evaluation by physicians. Under the bill, a 
physician’s letter or certificate required for a court to 
grant an application to create a guardianship must state 
certain information, such as whether improvement 
in the proposed ward’s physical condition or mental 
functioning is possible and, if so, the period after which 
the proposed ward should be reevaluated to determine 
if a guardianship continues to be necessary. If the letter 
or certificate states that improvement is possible and 
specifies a period of less than a year after which the 
ward should be reevaluated to determine continued 
necessity for guardianship, then an order appointing a 
guardian must include the date by which an updated 
letter or certificate must be submitted. 

	 Decisions regarding residence. HB 39 prohibits a 
guardian, except in cases of emergency, from moving 
the ward to a more restrictive care facility unless the 
guardian files an application with the court, provides 
notice to any persons who request it, and obtains a court 
order if the ward or another person objects. The bill also 
requires consideration of whether the ward can make 
personal decisions about residence at certain stages of 
the guardianship proceedings. 

	 Attorneys and court appointees. The bill requires 
that any attorney for an applicant for guardianship 
complete the same course of study and certification by 
the State Bar of Texas that is required of court-appointed 

attorneys in guardianship proceedings. The bill increases 
the number of hours required for certification from 
three hours to four, one hour of which must involve 
instruction on alternatives to guardianship and supports 
and services. 

	 Attorneys ad litem must discuss with a proposed 
ward whether alternatives to guardianship meet the 
ward’s needs and avoid the need for appointment 
of a guardian. Attorneys ad litem also must discuss 
with proposed wards their opinions on whether a 
guardianship is necessary and, if so, the specific powers 
or duties of the guardian that should be limited if the 
proposed ward receives certain supports and services. 

	 The guardian ad litem must investigate whether a 
guardianship is necessary for the proposed ward and 
evaluate alternatives and supports and services available 
that avoid the need for appointment of a guardian. The 
information gathered by the guardian ad litem is subject 
to examination by the court.

	 Supported decision-making agreements. The bill 
allows adults with disabilities to enter into supported 
decision-making agreements and specifies the form a 
valid agreement substantially should take. Under such 
an agreement, a supporter may provide assistance to 
an adult in making and communicating certain life 
decisions without making decisions on behalf of the 
adult. 

Supporters said 

	 HB 39 would help ensure that guardianship was 
used only as a last resort and would provide guidance 
to attorneys, judges, and individuals involved in 
guardianship proceedings. Applications for guardianship 
have increased dramatically in recent years, and there 
are currently about 50,000 active guardianships in the 
state. This increase is expected to accelerate as a result 
of the “silver tsunami” Texas will experience as the 
“baby boomer” generation ages. Although guardianship 
is a useful tool for those who need it, it can be a costly 
and excessive restriction on those who do not. 
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	 This bill would improve the guardianship process by 
promoting substitutes for guardianship and ensuring that 
physicians helped determine whether it was necessary 
and whether courts implemented the least restrictive 
guardianship provisions possible. It also would 
promote training and provide guidance to attorneys and 
individuals involved in guardianship proceedings. 

	 Substitutes for guardianship. HB 39 would 
present applicants with substitutes for guardianship — 
including alternatives to guardianship and available 
supports and services — that could better suit the needs 
of the wards. This early consideration would help ensure 
that individuals who did not require overly restrictive 
guardianships received needed assistance without 
having their freedom curtailed. 

	 Evaluation by physicians. The bill would help 
prevent the improper use of guardianship provisions 
by ensuring that a physician weighed in on the need 
for assistance and whether alternatives to guardianship 
or supports and services sufficiently met the proposed 
ward’s needs or if a partial or complete guardianship 
was needed.

	 HB 39 also would ensure that if a ward’s condition 
improved, he or she would not remain trapped under 
burdensome conditions. Instead, the ward would be 
reevaluated at regular intervals to ensure that the 
ward’s autonomy was not hampered by unnecessary 
restrictions. 

	 Under the bill, physicians’ opinions on the capacity 
of wards and their guardianship needs would be made 
available to the courts in hearings to terminate or 
modify guardianships. In some cases, this could provide 
evidence that would help wards move to less restrictive 
guardianships. 

	 Decisions regarding residence. Guardianship 
frequently is used to move wards into assisted living 
facilities, even when this is not in the ward’s best 
interest. HB 39 would place consideration of the ward’s 
capacity to make decisions about where to live at every 
stage of guardianship proceedings. 

	 Attorneys and court appointees. The bill 
would ensure that those involved with guardianship 
proceedings received the proper training and guidance 
to fulfill their roles and protect the interests of the 
wards. Requiring attorneys representing applicants for 
guardianships to be properly certified would ensure 

that these attorneys were trained on how to consider 
the needs and autonomy of wards at the application 
stage. Increasing the number of hours necessary for 
certification and requiring training on alternatives to 
guardianship and supports and services further would 
promote the use of substitutes for guardianship, thus 
helping to ensure that wards’ needs were addressed. 

	 HB 39 also would provide guidance on the role of 
attorneys and guardians ad litem. Although the current 
actions of attorneys ad litem and guardians ad litem are 
usually in line with the guidance provided in this bill, 
explicitly requiring that they consider alternatives to 
guardianship and supports and services would create 
uniformity in the way the needs of wards were protected 
across the state. 

	 Supported decision-making agreements. 
Supported decision-making agreements would 
provide an informal alternative to guardianship that 
would arrange for support in various life decisions 
without the formality, expense, restrictiveness, and 
court involvement of guardianships. It would allow 
individuals with disabilities to maintain autonomy over 
their lives while still receiving the support they need. 
The agreements could delay or negate the need for 
guardianship.

Opponents said 

	 Substitutes for guardianship. HB 39 unnecessarily 
would burden the guardianship process. Although 
there are times when alternatives to guardianship and 
supports and services are appropriate, taking time to 
consider them in every case would be unnecessary. This 
bill would add costly, unnecessary steps in cases where 
guardianship clearly was necessary. 

	 Attorneys and court appointees. This bill 
could create a monopoly for attorneys who practice 
guardianship law. It would impose a costly barrier to 
entrance to practice in guardianship proceedings that 
would make it difficult, especially in small counties, 
for concerned individuals to find attorneys to assist 
with guardianship applications. Attorneys with large 
guardianship practices would not hesitate to seek 
certification, but attorneys in rural areas who did not 
regularly practice guardianship law likely would choose 
not to pay for the courses. This would limit severely the 
availability of guardianship attorneys in these areas.
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Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 39 appeared in the April 
20 Daily Floor Report.

	 The 84th Texas Legislature enacted other bills 
related to guardianship, including HB 2665 by Moody, 
which allows relatives of wards under guardianships 
to seek access to them. SB 1876 by Zaffirini requires 
courts to maintain lists of persons who can serve as 
attorneys or guardians ad litem and to appoint attorneys 
and guardians ad litem from those lists using a rotation 
system. 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2665 appeared in Part One 
of the May 7 Daily Floor Report. The HRO analysis 
of SB 1876 appeared in Part Two of the May 25 Daily 
Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0039.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2665.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB1876.PDF
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SB 455 by Creighton
Effective September 1, 2015

Three-judge panels for certain statewide suits

	 SB 455 allows the attorney general to petition the 
chief justice of the Texas Supreme Court to convene a 
special three-judge district court in suits against the state 
involving:

•	 challenges to school finance or operations; or
•	 redistricting for the Texas House or Senate, the 

State Board of Education, the U.S. Congress, or 
state judicial districts.

	 Such a petition stays all proceedings in the district 
court where the original case was filed until the chief 
justice acts. Within a reasonable time, the chief justice 
must grant the petition and transfer the case to a special 
three-judge panel. The panel appointed by the chief 
justice must include:

•	 the district judge of the district where the 
original case was assigned;

•	 a district judge of another judicial district in a 
county other than where the original case was 
filed; and

•	 a justice of a court of appeals from an appeals 
district that does not cover the districts of the 
other two judges.

	 Judges or justices appointed to the three-judge court 
from other districts must have been elected to office and 
may not be serving an appointed term.

	 The three-judge district court must conduct all 
hearings in the district court to which the original case 
was assigned. Travel expenses and other incidental costs 
related to convening a special three-judge district court 
would be paid by the Office of Court Administration.

	 A three-judge district court must, on motion of 
any party, consolidate any related case pending in any 
district court or other court in the state with the case the 
panel is hearing.

	 The Supreme Court may adopt rules for the 
operation and procedures of a special three-judge panel. 
Otherwise, the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and all 
other statutes and rules applicable to civil litigation in a 
district court would apply.

	 By unanimous consent, the three-judge district court 
may allow one judge or justice to independently conduct 
pretrial proceedings and enter interlocutory orders 
before trial. A judge or justice may not independently 
enter a temporary restraining order, temporary 
injunction, or any order that finally disposes of a claim. 
Any independent action may be reviewed by the entire 
court at any time before final judgment.

	 An appeal from interlocutory orders or final 
judgment will go directly to the Supreme Court, which 
may adopt rules for such appeals.

Supporters said 

	 SB 455 would help ensure that voters across the 
state had a say in the judges who heard major civil cases 
involving school finance and redistricting in which the 
state was a defendant. Such litigation affects the state as 
a whole, but under current law, these cases are heard in 
a single district court, which gives the voters and judges 
of one county more power over statewide policy than 
the voters and judges of all other counties. A decision by 
a panel consisting of elected jurists from different areas 
of the state is more likely to be perceived by citizens 
across the state as a legitimate outcome rather than one 
judge’s or one county’s policy preferences.

	 The bill is patterned after the three-judge federal 
courts that currently are used to decide redistricting 
cases at the federal level. The special three-judge courts 
established by the bill would work similarly and would 
be even more responsive to the people because state 
district and appellate justices are elected by Texas 
voters.

Opponents said 

	 SB 455 would give too much authority to the 
attorney general, who represents the state in school 
finance and redistricting cases. The bill would allow 
the attorney general to use a petition for a three-judge 
district court as a tactic to adversely impact opposing 
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parties. Under the bill, the attorney general could 
file a petition at any time to stay the pretrial or trial 
proceedings for no other reason than as a delaying 
tactic.

	 Under the current system, appeals from a single 
judge’s ruling in a school finance or redistricting 
case are decided by the Texas Supreme Court, whose 
justices are elected statewide. This provides sufficient 
opportunity for voters from around the state to have a 
say in the jurists who review these significant cases.

Notes

	 SB 455 was laid out in the House on May 13 in lieu 
of its companion bill, HB 1091 by Schofield. The HRO 
analysis of HB 1091 appeared in Part One of the May 
11 Daily Floor Report. 

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1091.PDF
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SB 735 by Fraser
Effective September 1, 2015

Discovery of net worth for exemplary damage claims

	 SB 735 establishes requirements for the discovery 
of evidence relating to a defendant’s net worth in civil 
court cases where exemplary (or punitive) damages are 
claimed. Specifically, before a trial court may authorize 
discovery of net worth evidence, a claimant must 
demonstrate a substantial likelihood of success on the 
merits for a claim for exemplary damages. A court may 
authorize only the least burdensome method available to 
obtain the net worth evidence.

	 An appellate court reviewing an order for discovery 
of net worth evidence may consider only the evidence 
submitted by the parties to the trial court in support of 
or in opposition to the motion for discovery of net worth 
evidence.

	 If a party requests net worth discovery under these 
provisions, a trial court must assume that the requesting 
party has had adequate time for discovery of facts 
on exemplary damages to allow a party from whom 
net worth discovery is sought to move for summary 
judgment on the claim for exemplary damages.

Supporters said 

	 SB 735 would reduce frivolous claims for 
exemplary damages and requests to discover a 
defendant’s net worth by requiring the claimant to 
demonstrate a substantial likelihood that the exemplary 
damages claim would be successful before discovering 
information related to a defendant’s net worth. 
Currently, plaintiffs may file frivolous claims for 
exemplary damages and motions to compel discovery 
of a defendant’s net worth. This can force defendants to 
settle to keep their net worth information private, to bear 
the cost of fighting the motion to compel discovery, or 
to expend resources compiling net worth information.

	 In Lunsford v. Morris, the Texas Supreme Court 
ruled in 1988 that a defendant’s net worth is relevant 
to the issue of exemplary damages and is therefore 
discoverable under the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. 
The reasons for allowing discovery of this information 
under this ruling, however, have been largely nullified 

by caps to punitive damages. Because these caps are 
relatively low, it is unlikely that a defendant’s net 
worth would have a significant impact on an exemplary 
damages determination.

	 The bill would not place an overly restrictive burden 
on discovery of a defendant’s net worth. The standard of 
“substantial likelihood” is a relatively low legal standard 
compared to the “clear and convincing evidence” or 
“preponderance of the evidence” standards.

Opponents said 

	 SB 735 is unnecessary because claimants already 
must meet a high bar in claims for exemplary damages. 
They are required to plead with specificity facts that, if 
true, would give rise to an award of exemplary damages. 
This requirement is sufficient to eliminate the most 
frivolous exemplary damages claims. 

	 This bill would burden plaintiffs in cases where a 
defendant’s net worth could be critical to determining 
exemplary damages. Exemplary damages are 
intended to be punitive, but monetary penalties vary 
in effectiveness depending on the net worth of the 
defendant. Net worth discovery is necessary to ensure 
any exemplary damages awarded are not too weak or 
too burdensome.
 
	 The burden placed on claimants would be 
significant. Plaintiffs would be required to show a 
substantial likelihood that a jury would unanimously 
find, by clear and convincing evidence, that exemplary 
damages were warranted. That would be a high obstacle 
to overcome, and it is unlikely that any judge would find 
that a claimant had met that standard.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 735 appeared in the May 
21 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 11 by D. Bonnen
Effective September 1, 2015

Border security, human smuggling, DPS policy changes

	 HB 11 enhances certain penalties for the smuggling 
of persons, creates a new offense of continuous 
smuggling of persons, extends the use of wiretapping 
to certain crimes, changes certain policies and duties of 
the Department of Public Safety, implements technology 
and crime reporting strategies, and reauthorizes an anti-
gang grant program. 

	 Smuggling of persons. The bill makes “intent to 
obtain a pecuniary benefit” a required element of all 
offenses of smuggling of persons. Under the bill, it is 
an offense to encourage or induce an individual to enter 
or remain in the United States in violation of federal 
law by concealing, harboring, or shielding that person 
from detection. The bill increases the penalty for certain 
smuggling of persons offenses and creates certain 
exemptions to the affirmative defense to prosecution 
when an actor is related to the smuggled individual. The 
affirmative defense is no longer available in cases in 
which the offense creates a substantial likelihood that 
the smuggled individual will suffer serious bodily injury 
or death or when it directly results in the smuggled 
individual becoming a victim of sexual assault or 
aggravated sexual assault. 

	 Continuous smuggling of persons. HB 11 
also creates the offense of continuous smuggling 
of persons, which occurs when a person engages 
in smuggling conduct two or more times during a 
period of 10 or more days. Continuous smuggling 
of persons is a second-degree felony, except under 
certain circumstances when the smuggled individual 
experiences a substantial likelihood of serious bodily 
injury or death or becomes a victim of a sexual assault. 
In these circumstances, the penalty is a first-degree 
felony, punishable in sexual assault cases by a term of 
25 years to life. The bill also enhances any penalties 
for continuous smuggling of persons by one degree 
if the offense is linked to organized criminal activity. 
In a jury trial for continuous smuggling, jurors are no 
longer required to agree unanimously on which specific 
conduct constituted a smuggling offense, or the exact 
date on which it occurred.

	 Wiretapping. The bill adds aggravated promotion 
of prostitution and compelling of prostitution to the 
list of crimes for which judges may authorize the 
interception of wire, oral, or electronic communications 
if the prosecutor applying for the authorization shows 
probable cause to believe the communications will show 
evidence of those crimes. 

	 Transnational and organized crime division. The 
bill requires the attorney general’s office to create a 
transnational and organized crime division by 
December 1, 2015. The division will address matters 
related to border security and organized crime through 
a prosecution unit and a trafficking of persons unit 
that will assist prosecutors and local law enforcement 
agencies in investigating and prosecuting trafficking 
offenses, while also assisting victims of trafficking. The 
division will encourage state assistance, support and 
coordination among state and local law enforcement 
agencies and prosecutors. 

	 Policies and duties of the Department of Public 
Safety. The Department of Public Safety (DPS) may 
credit up to four years of experience as a peace office in 
Texas as years of service when calculating the salaries 
of newly commissioned officers. The bill allows DPS 
to accept a qualified person who has served four or 
more years in the United States armed forces and 
received an honorable discharge into its trooper trainee 
academy. It also allows DPS to implement a 10-hour 
workday and a 50-hour workweek for commissioned 
officers. The Public Safety Commission may establish a 
reserve officer corps consisting of former DPS troopers 
who retired or resigned in good standing. The public 
safety director may call the reserve officer corps into 
service if DPS needs assistance conducting background 
investigations, sex offender compliance checks, or other 
duties.

	 The bill requires DPS to implement a strategy for 
assisting federal authorities in preventing the illegal 
transfer of contraband and other unlawful activity at 
international border checkpoints. DPS may share costs 
for these purposes with the federal government. DPS, 
working with the Texas Facilities Commission, will 
build and operate a multiuse training facility available 

Table 
of Contents



House Research Organization Page 27

for use by department personnel, as well as other 
military and law enforcement agencies. The department 
also must periodically review and make any necessary 
improvements to its information technology.

	 Technology and crime statistics. The bill 
establishes a goal for each local law enforcement 
agency in Texas to implement by September 1, 2019, 
an incident-based reporting system that meets the 
requirements of the FBI’s National Incident-Based 
Reporting System. By January 1, 2017, DPS will submit 
a report to the Legislature identifying the number of 
agencies that have implemented the system.

	 HB 11 requires the Hidalgo County Sheriff’s 
Department, in conjunction with the McAllen Police 
Department and DPS, to establish and operate the Texas 
Transnational Intelligence Center (TTIC). TTIC will 
serve as a central repository of real-time information 
relating to criminal activity in the counties along 
the Texas-Mexico border. The Alcoholic Beverage 
Commission and the Parks and Wildlife Department, 
along with each law enforcement agency in a border 
county, will report information regarding criminal 
activity in their jurisdictions to TTIC. 

	 Texas Anti-Gang Grant Program. The bill 
reenacts Government Code, sec. 772.007, providing 
for the administration of a competitive grant program 
to support regional, multidisciplinary approaches to 
combat gang violence. 

	 Joint interim committee. HB 11 requires the 
lieutenant governor and speaker of the House to create 
a joint interim committee, which will study border 
security and submit a full report, including findings and 
recommendations, to the 85th Legislature. 

Supporters said 

	 HB 11 is needed to protect people from smuggling 
activity and to adequately punish individuals engaged 
in smuggling for monetary gain. The bill would 
accomplish these goals by enhancing the penalties 
for those convicted of smuggling, creating a new 
offense for continuous smuggling, and strengthening 
law enforcement agencies’ ability to combat these 
crimes. The bill would help Texas build a steady law 
enforcement presence along the border instead of 
relying on temporary Texas State Guard deployment 
surges. 

	 Smuggling of persons. To ensure that all forms 
of human smuggling were covered by law, the bill 
would add to the definition of smuggling encouraging 
or inducing someone to illegally enter or remain in 
the country by harboring, concealing, or shielding 
that person. Language making “intent to obtain a 
pecuniary benefit” a requirement of smuggling offenses 
would ensure that the law targeted only the intended 
criminal element, not the activities of churches and 
charitable organizations. Enhanced penalties for certain 
smuggling offenses would ensure that the worst forms 
of smuggling were prosecuted in proportion to their 
severity. The bill would leave in place a reasonable 
affirmative defense for when an actor was related to 
the transported individual, except in certain cases. 
This defense would allow people to transport family 
members without fear of prosecution, as long as they do 
so in a safe manner. 

	 Continuous smuggling of persons. HB 11 would 
address inadequate punishment for repeat offenders 
by creating a continuous smuggling offense. Allowing 
several smuggling incidents to be part of one offense 
would recognize the serious, repetitive nature of these 
crimes, and the enhanced penalties could help deter 
other potential offenders. Adding continuous smuggling 
of persons to offenses under the organized criminal 
activity statute would provide greater penalties for those 
offenders involved in gang and cartel activity along the 
border and throughout the state. 

	 Wiretapping. Currently, wiretapping and electronic 
intercepts are allowed, upon judicial determination of 
probable cause, for some of the most egregious crimes 
in the criminal justice system. Adding aggravated 
promotion of prostitution and compelling of prostitution 
to that list of crimes would be appropriate and would 
give law enforcement agencies a mechanism to help 
them protect some of society’s most vulnerable 
individuals.

	 Transnational and organized crime division. 
The transnational and organized crime division 
would strengthen the state’s commitment to combat 
organized criminal organizations by providing critical 
state assistance to local prosecutors and local law 
enforcement agencies in investigating and prosecuting 
human trafficking and related crimes. 

	 Policies and duties of DPS. The bill would 
allow licensed peace officers hired by DPS to receive 
salaries commensurate with their experience, which 
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would help the department recruit the officers it needs 
to meet the department’s increasing responsibilities 
along the border. The reserve officer corps created by 
the bill would give DPS an inexpensive tool to lighten 
the troopers’ load of paperwork and administrative 
duties. Providing assistance to federal authorities at 
international border checkpoints would help reduce the 
flow of guns and money across the border and into the 
hands of the cartels.

	 Technology and crime statistics. Creating the 
Texas Transnational Intelligence Center (TTIC) would 
help law enforcement agencies along the border identify 
patterns that could reveal large, organized criminal 
operations. The incident-based reporting system under 
the bill would help to quickly establish links between 
multiple crimes, which would assist prosecutors in 
seeking stronger penalties for repeat offenders. By 
giving the department until 2019 to implement the 
reporting system, the bill would not pose a great burden.

Opponents said 

	 HB 11 would create an unnecessary new offense 
for continuous smuggling of persons and could enhance 
punishment to a degree that might not be appropriate 
in specific circumstances. It also would impose unfair 
hiring and cost burdens on local law enforcement 
agencies. 

	 Smuggling of persons. Creating an offense for an 
actor who “encourages or induces a person to enter or 
remain in this country in violation of federal law by 
concealing, harboring, or shielding that person from 
detection” could criminalize unintentionally behavior 
that did not constitute smuggling. State judges and 
peace officers would be responsible for the complicated 
task of interpreting whether a transported person was 
in violation of federal immigration law, which could 
lead to racial profiling. The bill’s provisions enhancing 
penalties for offenses that create a substantial likelihood 
of bodily injury or death are worded broadly and could 
enhance penalties for offenses that did not merit it. 

	 Continuous smuggling of persons. Current law 
already harshly punishes smuggling of persons. The 
enhancements in this bill could lead to overly severe 
prosecution for crimes that are not as egregious as 
the ones this bill aims to combat. Eliminating the 
requirement for jury unanimity when deciding on the 
specific conduct that constitutes an offense and the exact 
date it occurred could be unfair to defendants. 

	 Wiretapping. Wiretapping, by its nature, allows 
government intrusion on personal privacy. Expanding 
its use, even in the investigation of serious crimes, could 
result in violations of individual rights. 

	 Policies and duties of DPS. Although local law 
enforcement agencies are accustomed to officers 
transitioning to other agencies, the number of officers 
that DPS would need to establish a permanent 
presence along the border could pose a threat to local 
law enforcement, especially in smaller counties. 
Additionally, the state and DPS should take care to 
ensure that their involvement at border checkpoints 
did not harm legitimate businesses working across the 
international border. 

	 Technology and crime statistics. Implementing 
the reporting requirements of the incident-based 
reporting system could come at a significant cost to law 
enforcement agencies, most of which currently do not 
use the system. This mandate should not be imposed on 
agencies unless the transition is properly funded. 

Other opponents  said 

	 HB 11 would impose an unnecessary burden on 
prosecutors to prove that an offense was committed 
for a pecuniary interest. Proving a pecuniary interest 
is often difficult, even when such an interest exists, 
because smuggled persons often are deported before 
trial and unavailable to give testimony. This burden is 
unnecessary because intent to conceal an individual 
from a peace officer or to flee from a peace officer is a 
required element of the current smuggling of persons 
offense, and it is unlikely that activities of churches and 
charitable organizations would meet those requirements. 

	 The added offense for an actor who “encourages 
or induces a person to enter or remain in this country 
in violation of federal law” could be unworkable for 
prosecutors. Evidentiary rules would make it difficult to 
present evidence, such as testimony by a federal agent, 
that the person who was encouraged or induced was in 
violation of federal law. 

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 11 appeared in the March 
18 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0011.PDF
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HB 48 by McClendon
Effective June 1, 2015

Creating an exoneration review commission

	 HB 48 creates the Timothy Cole Exoneration 
Review Commission. The commission has 11 members, 
including four legislators, a member appointed by the 
governor, and representatives of the Texas Judicial 
Council, the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, 
Texas Indigent Defense Commission, Texas Forensic 
Science Commission, Texas Criminal Defense 
Lawyers Association, and the Texas District and 
County Attorneys Association. The commission may 
act only on the concurrence of six or more members. 
Representatives of innocence projects and centers at the 
state’s law schools serve as advisory members to the 
commission. 

	 The commission is authorized to review and 
examine all cases in which an innocent defendant was 
convicted and then, on or after January 1, 2010, was 
exonerated. The reviews will be to:

•	 identify the causes of wrongful convictions 
and suggest ways to prevent future wrongful 
convictions and improve the reliability and 
fairness of the criminal justice system; 

•	 ascertain errors and defects in the laws, 
evidence, and procedures in the cases; 

•	 consider suggestions to correct the identified 
errors and defects; 

•	 identify procedures, programs, and educational 
or training opportunities designed to eliminate 
or minimize causes of wrongful convictions; 

•	 collect and evaluate data and information from 
an actual innocence exoneration reported to 
the commission by a state-funded innocence 
project; 

•	 identify patterns in errors or defects in the 
criminal justice system that impact the pretrial, 
trial, appellate, or habeas review process; or 

•	 consider and suggest legislative, training, or 
procedural changes to correct the patterns, 
errors, and defects in the criminal justice system 
that are identified through the work of the 
commission.

	 The commission is required to consider potential 
implementation plans, costs, savings, and the impact 
on the criminal justice system for the potential 

solutions it identifies and to review and update the 
recommendations of the Timothy Cole Advisory Panel 
on Wrongful Convictions. The commission must 
conduct one public hearing. 

	 The commission must issue a detailed report 
of its findings and recommendations, including 
those for implementing procedures and programs to 
prevent the causes and occurrences of future wrongful 
convictions. The report may be issued only upon the 
concurrence of seven members and may not include any 
recommendations about the use of the death penalty 
or related procedures. The report must be submitted to 
the governor, the Legislature, and the Texas Judicial 
Council by December 1, 2016. 

	 The commission is administratively attached to 
the Office of Court Administration and is dissolved on 
either the date it submits its report or December 1, 2016, 
whichever is earlier.

Supporters said 

	 HB 48 would help prevent the wrongful convictions 
of innocent people. The wrongful conviction and 
imprisonment of any innocent person is a miscarriage of 
justice that carries with it a moral obligation to prevent 
additional miscarriages of justice. The bill would be the 
next step after the Timothy Cole advisory panel, which 
was created by the 81st Legislature to advise the state’s 
Task Force on Indigent Defense in studying wrongful 
convictions. The panel finished its assignment in 2010, 
and while the Legislature has enacted many of its 
recommendations, more needs to be done.

	 In Texas, there have been at least 200 exonerations 
after wrongful convictions, according to the National 
Registry of Exonerations. Many of these inmates served 
decades in prison before being exonerated through DNA 
evidence or on other grounds. A wrongful conviction 
imposes irreparable harm on those who lose their 
freedom and may mean that a guilty person remains 
unpunished and possibly free in society, endangering 
the public and eroding confidence in the criminal justice 
system.
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	 The bill would address the issue of wrongful 
convictions by establishing a body to examine certain 
cases and identify the causes of wrongful convictions 
and suggest ways to prevent future cases. The 
Legislature needs to create a state entity dedicated 
to examining exonerations and recommending 
systemic changes because currently there is no 
adequate mechanism or effort to do so. The need for 
an exoneration commission is not eliminated because 
certain facets of the criminal justice system have been 
reformed in recent years or because the Legislature 
is considering additional changes this session. These 
efforts can be piecemeal or reactions to one case and 
do not necessarily identify patterns or systemic failures 
leading to wrongful convictions. 

	 The commission would not have overly broad or 
inappropriate authority because the bill clearly outlines 
the commission’s limited powers and duties. The 
commission would not seek exonerations or re-open 
cases but only would review certain cases that had 
reached their conclusion. The commission would have 
no enforcement powers or disciplinary authority.

	 Fears that an innocence commission would erode 
support for the death penalty are unfounded. The death 
penalty itself is not a cause of wrongful convictions, 
which is what the commission would be charged with 
examining. 

	 The commission’s limited mission and dissolution 
date would help ensure that it did not become an 
unwieldy, permanent bureaucracy. 

	 The cost of the bill is small compared to the costs 
of wrongful convictions. The state has paid about $68.9 
million in compensation for wrongful convictions 
in addition to funds used on the prosecution and 
incarceration of innocent people.

Opponents said 

	 It is unnecessary to create a commission to review 
wrongful convictions in Texas because the state’s 
criminal justice and legislative systems have checks 
and balances that work to achieve justice and to identify 
address and problems.

	 It is unfair to use cases that may be decades 
old to argue for an exoneration commission. In the 
past few decades, the state’s criminal justice system 
has improved substantially, resulting in a just and 
fair system with rigorous standards and extensive 
opportunities for review. In addition, the state has 
adopted almost all of the recommendations made in the 
2010 Timothy Cole advisory panel.

	 The bill would invest an innocence commission 
with inappropriate, broad authority. With authority 
to ascertain errors in evidence and procedures, the 
commission could become an entity working to prove 
an exoneration, rather than just studying those that have 
occurred.

	 An exoneration commission could be used as a 
backdoor way to erode support for the death penalty 
in Texas by focusing on certain cases handled before 
recent reforms without the benefit of the adversarial 
process central to the criminal justice system.

	 Post-conviction exonerations and the state criminal 
justice process could be studied without creating a new 
government entity. The bill would add unnecessarily 
to state bureaucracy and cost about $340,000 for the 
biennium, according to the bill’s fiscal note.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 48 appeared in Part Two 
of the April 30 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0048.PDF
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HB 910 by Phillips 
Effective January 1, 2016

Open carry for concealed handgun license holders

	 HB 910 allows concealed handgun license holders 
to openly carry a handgun in a public place if the 
handgun is carried in a shoulder or belt holster. Weapons 
also may be carried openly by license holders in a motor 
vehicle or watercraft they operate if the handgun is 
carried in a shoulder or belt holster. Personal protection 
officers who are not wearing a security officer uniform 
must conceal firearms, regardless of whether they are 
authorized to openly carry it under any other law. 

	 Trespass by license holder. The bill establishes 
a class C misdemeanor offense (a maximum fine of 
$200) for trespassing with a concealed or openly 
carried handgun if a license holder entered another’s 
property without effective consent and had received 
notice that the entry was forbidden. The offense is a 
class A misdemeanor (up to one year in jail and/or a 
maximum fine of $4,000) if the license holder failed to 
leave a property after entering and receiving oral notice 
that remaining on the property was forbidden. The bill 
defines what is considered proper notice under this 
provision.

	 Unlawful carrying by a license holder. The bill 
creates a class A misdemeanor offense for a license 
holder to openly carry a handgun on the premises of 
an institution of higher education. It is a defense to 
prosecution if the actor brought the handgun in plain 
view under circumstances in which the actor would 
have been justified in the use of force or deadly force.

	 License holders still are prohibited under this bill 
from carrying their handguns in certain places where 
concealed carry is prohibited. The bill creates several 
exceptions and defenses to prosecution for license 
holders carrying a concealed handgun or a holstered 
handgun in situations where carrying a gun is otherwise 
prohibited.

	 License instruction. Handgun license instructors 
are required to include instruction on the use of restraint 
holsters and methods of securely carrying a handgun 
openly in the handgun proficiency course.

Supporters said 

	 HB 910 would protect law-abiding Texans’ Second 
Amendment rights under the U.S. Constitution by 
allowing them to openly carry handguns. The bill would 
not remove a licensed individual’s right to carry a 
concealed handgun nor allow a larger number of people 
to carry guns. It simply would give the license holder 
the option to conceal or carry openly by extending 
existing concealed carry requirements to the open 
carrying of handguns.

	 Forty-four states already allow open carry of 
handguns, and this bill would bring Texas in line with 
the majority of the country. Many of the same safety 
concerns brought forward about open carry also were 
raised about concealed carry before it was enacted 
in Texas in 1995, and those worries have proved 
unfounded, as have concerns about open carry in other 
states.

	 The background check and licensing process 
to obtain a concealed handgun license is extremely 
thorough and prevents people who have committed 
serious crimes from acquiring licenses, so there would 
be no increased danger to the community. In fact, crime 
rates have dropped significantly since the establishment 
of the concealed handgun licensing system in Texas, and 
other states also have seen a drop in crime after enacting 
similar licensing laws. 

	 While police officers might receive some emergency 
calls involving people openly carrying handguns, other 
states with open carry have not found the number of 
these calls to be overly burdensome on law enforcement. 
In practice, most licensed handgun owners in other 
states have preferred to keep their weapons concealed. 
However, the presence of well-trained civilians visibly 
carrying handguns on their person could provide a 
valuable deterrent to would-be criminals.

	 The bill would not infringe on personal property 
rights because individuals and businesses still would 
have the right to prohibit handguns on their property by 
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posting the proper notice. Those from other states who 
openly carried in Texas under reciprocity agreements 
that recognize licenses issued in other states would 
be qualified to do so. As currently occurs, the Texas 
attorney general and governor would continue to 
evaluate other state’s laws before entering into the 
agreements. 

Opponents said 

	 The changes proposed in HB 910 are unnecessary 
because the current concealed handgun system in Texas 
is working, and the bill would not address any real 
safety concerns. There is no evidence that the open 
carrying of handguns would deter crime or reduce 
violence, and it could create an environment of fear, 
intimidation, and unnecessary provocation.

	 Although a number of states have open carry laws, 
many of them have more stringent requirements than 
would be enacted through this bill. Further, there is no 
evidence that open carry has reduced crime rates in 
other states. In fact, individuals who openly carry their 
weapons could be at greater risk of being harmed by 
their own guns if someone attempted to steal them. 

	 The bill would place additional burdens on police 
officers. When officers respond to an emergency call 
involving handguns, the presence of many people 
carrying openly could cause confusion and divert police 
attention away from the criminals. Police officers 
also may have to spend valuable time and manpower 
checking the licenses of people openly carrying 
handguns. 

	 Private property owners should have the right to 
make the decision to allow open carrying of handguns 
on their property without being burdened by additional 
onerous notice requirements. 

	 HB 910 would not include enough requirements for 
new training and education for handgun license holders. 
The bill could result in individuals from other states 
openly carrying handguns in Texas under reciprocity 
agreements, even though the individuals may not be 
required by their home states to undergo the same strict 
licensng requirements as Texans.  
 

	 At the very least, the bill should be amended to 
restrict open carry to rural areas because in highly 
populated urban areas, it could cause unnecessary alarm 
and confusion in chaotic situations.

Other opponents said 

	 HB 910 inappropriately would require a license 
and a proficiency course for a person to openly carry 
a handgun. An individual should not have to obtain a 
license to exercise his or her Second Amendment rights.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 910 appeared in the April 
17 Daily Floor Report.

	 The 84th Legislature also considered other measures 
related to licensing and carrying handguns.

	 SB 273 by Campbell, effective September 1, 2015, 
creates civil penalties for a state agency or political 
subdivision that posts a notice forbidding a concealed 
handgun license holder from carrying a handgun on the 
premises of a governmental entity unless the license 
holder is prohibited from carrying a weapon on the 
premises under the Penal Code. The HRO analysis of 
SB 273 appeared in Part Two of the May 22 Daily Floor 
Report.

	 HB 554 by Springer, effective September 1, 2015, 
creates a defense to prosecution for the offense of 
unlawfully carrying a prohibited weapon in or into a 
security checkpoint area of an airport if the individual 
was licensed and immediately exited the area when 
notified that the individual was carrying a handgun. The 
HRO analysis of HB 554 appeared in Part Two of the 
May 6 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 179 by Perry, which died in the House, would 
have lowered from .32 or above to .22 or above the 
caliber of a handgun that could be used to demonstrate 
proficiency for purposes of obtaining a concealed 
handgun license. The HRO analysis of SB 179 appeared 
in Part Three of the May 26 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0910.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0273.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0554.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0179.PDF


House Research Organization Page 33

	 SB 342 by Huffines, which died in Senate 
committee, would have created the Texas Constitutional 
Carry Act of 2015 to allow for concealed and open carry 
of handguns without a handgun license. 

	 HB 353 by K. King, which died in Senate 
committee, would have specified that a governmental 
unit was not liable in a civil action for the discharge of 
a handgun by volunteer emergency services personnel 
licensed to carry a concealed handgun. It also would 
have created defenses to prosecution for certain offenses 
for volunteer emergency services personnel with a 
concealed handgun license. The HRO analysis of 
HB 353 appeared in Part Two of the May 6 Daily Floor 
Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0353.PDF
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HB 1036 by Johnson
Effective September 1, 2015

Requiring reports on officer-involved shootings 

	 HB 1036 requires law enforcement agencies to 
report to the attorney general on incidents in which a 
peace officer discharged a firearm causing injury or 
death to another and on incidents in which a person who 
was not a peace officer discharged a firearm and caused 
injury or death to a peace officer performing official 
duties. The bill requires a separate report on each type 
of incident. 

	 Both reports must be made within 30 days after 
an incident and must be on written or electronic forms 
created by the attorney general. If the law enforcement 
agency maintains a website, a copy of the report must be 
posted on it. 

	 By February 1 of each year, the attorney general’s 
office must submit a report on both types of incidents 
to the governor and the legislative committees with 
primary jurisdiction over criminal justice matters. The 
annual report must include the total number of incidents, 
a copy of each report submitted to the office by law 
enforcement agencies, and a summary of those reports.

	 Law enforcement agency reports on incidents 
during which a peace officer discharged a firearm 
causing injury or death to another must include: 

•	 the date and location of the incident; 
•	 the age, gender, and race or ethnicity of each 

peace officer involved in the incident; 
•	 if known, the age, gender, and race or ethnicity 

of each injured or deceased person involved;  
•	 whether the person was injured or died as a 

result of the incident;
•	 whether injured or deceased persons used, 

exhibited, or carried a deadly weapon; 
•	 whether the peace officer was on duty; 
•	 whether the peace officer was responding to an 

emergency call or request for assistance; and 
•	 whether the incident was related to the 

execution of a warrant or a hostage, barricade, 
or other emergency situation.

	 The office of the attorney general must post the 
reports on its website within five days after receiving 
them.

	 Agency reports on incidents in which a person who 
was not a peace officer discharged a firearm and caused 
injury or death to an officer performing an official duty 
must include: 

•	 the date and location of the incident; 
•	 the age, gender, and race or ethnicity of each 

injured or deceased peace officer involved in the 
incident; 

•	 if known, the age, gender, and race or ethnicity 
of each person who discharged a firearm and 
caused injury or death to a peace officer during 
the incident; and 

•	 whether the officer or anyone else was injured 
or died as a result of the incident.

Supporters said 

	 HB 1036 would help the state gather a full and 
accurate picture of statewide peace officer-involved 
shootings, including incidents during which officers 
were harmed or killed by another person who 
discharged a weapon. Currently, there is no compilation 
of statewide data on these incidents involving deadly 
force. While such incidents may be reported to the state 
in individual crime reports, the data are not reported in 
the way required by the bill.

	 By requiring one statewide entity to collect and 
report uniform data on individual incidents, HB 1036 
would provide valuable information to policymakers 
and researchers. These data could be used to craft 
solutions to problems and develop public policies. 
They also could help the state and others develop a 
full picture of such incidents, which would increase 
transparency and could further public trust between 
officers and communities. 

	 The bill’s reporting requirements would not be 
burdensome on law enforcement agencies because the 
required information should be easily accessible and 
could be reported electronically. The narrow scope 
of the data collected should allow law enforcement 
personnel who were not officers to file the reports 
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quickly, so compliance should not depend on the 
availability of officers. None of the information reported 
would identify an officer or individual, nor would it 
have an impact on investigations. 

Opponents said 

	 HB 1036 could place a burden on local law 
enforcement agencies to report information that already 
appears in crime reports sent to the Department of 
Public Safety. Duplicating these efforts could be 
challenging for agencies, many of which already are 
stretched thin. Timelines for reporting could be difficult 
to meet, especially if an officer was injured or an 
investigation was ongoing. 

	 The data requested in HB 1036 might not 
necessarily give a full, fair picture of officer-involved 
shootings. Additional information, such as whether the 
officer was serving a warrant or on patrol, could more 
accurately portray these incidents and be more useful in 
crafting policy responses.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1036 appeared in Part One 
of the May 6 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1036.PDF
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HB 1205 by Dutton
Died in the House

Raising the age for adult criminal responsibility 

	 HB 1205 would have raised the age of adult 
criminal responsibility in Texas from 17 to 18 years 
old. The bill would have made conforming changes 
to reflect this, including amending juvenile court 
procedures, changing offenses in which the age of a 
person committing the offense is a factor, and altering 
certain criminal procedures. The Texas Juvenile Justice 
Board would have been required to appoint an advisory 
committee to monitor and evaluate implementation of 
HB 1205.

Supporters said 

	 HB 1205 would amend Texas law to better conform 
with national trends in juvenile justice, scientific 
knowledge about juveniles, federal law, and the overall 
goals of the juvenile justice system.

	 Texas is one of a shrinking number of states 
that automatically prosecutes all 17-year-olds in the 
adult system. Federal law and recent Supreme Court 
rulings indicate that laws and policies should reflect 
recognized differences between children and adults. 
Studies on brain development have shown that 17-year-
olds are still maturing, making them more susceptible 
to poor decision-making but also more amenable to 
rehabilitation. Keeping 17-year-olds in the juvenile 
justice system holds youth accountable but does so in 
a setting different from that used for fully developed 
adults. Current law allows juveniles to receive services 
and support not available in the adult system.

	 HB 1205 would resolve some inconsistencies in 
how the state treats 17-year-olds. While these youth 
are not able to vote, join the military without parental 
permission, or buy a lottery ticket, state law holds them 
accountable for their criminal actions as if they were 
adults. Charging 17-year-olds as adults subjects them to 
adult courts, adult punishment, and adult detention. It 
leaves youth with an adult criminal record that can have 
long-lasting consequences. Housing 17-year-olds in 
adult correctional facilities has been shown to increase 
their risk of abuse or suicide and the likelihood of re-
offending.

	 The costs of not making this change could be 
greater than the cost of serving 17-year-olds in the 
juvenile system. For example, compliance with the 
federal Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA), which 
requires 17-year-olds to be separated from older 
prisoners, has led to extreme and costly measures for 
some adult facilities. Facilities in noncompliance also 
could face potential loss of federal funding for failing to 
comply with PREA.

	 The January 2017 effective date for HB 1205 
would allow gradual implementation of the bill. 
Juvenile correctional population projections indicate 
that resources would be available to serve incoming 
juveniles. In other states, concerns about cost increases 
have not come to pass. Up-front costs would be offset 
by preventing youth from becoming adult offenders and 
instead helping them become contributing taxpayers.

	 The bill would not change a court’s ability to certify 
17-year-olds as adults when transfer to adult court was 
warranted. It would not lead to a surge in certification, 
because juvenile courts transferring youth to adult court 
still would require certain specific findings. The Texas 
Juvenile Justice Department and most county detention 
facilities already must separate youth by age. The 
addition of 17-year-olds to the juvenile system would 
not mean 13- and 14-year-olds would be detained in the 
same areas as 17-year-olds.

Opponents said 

	 HB 1205 would be a major policy change that could 
have a significant negative impact on the juvenile justice 
system. The bill would initiate the flow of thousands of 
17-year-olds into the already struggling juvenile system, 
which has seen a number of upheavals and incidents 
over the past few years. Seventeen-year-olds are old 
enough to appreciate their actions, and the current 
system handles them appropriately.

	 The bill could have unintended consequences, such 
as an increased number of juveniles being certified as 
adults to the criminal system or an increased number in 

Table 
of Contents



House Research Organization Page 37

determinate (fixed) sentences. A 17-year-old in an adult 
detention setting, as current law requires, would have 
access to the better oversight and protection of such a 
facility, while 13- or 14-year-olds in juvenile settings, 
which are more informal, could be endangered by the 
introduction of older youth.

	 Adding 17-year-olds to the population of youth 
served locally could place a strain on juvenile courts, 
juvenile probation, and local juvenile programs and 
facilities. Serving individuals in the juvenile justice 
system instead of the adult corrections system also 
would be expensive. Because of its January 1, 2017, 
implementation date, HB 1205 would cost only about $6 
million through fiscal 2016-17, according to Legislative 
Budget Board estimates. However, the costs would 
increase beginning in fiscal 2018-19, the first budget 
period during which the bill would be in effect for the 
entire biennium.

Notes

	 HB 1205 was placed on the House’s May 12 
General State Calendar but not considered. The HRO 
analysis of HB 1205 appeared in Part Three of the May 
12 Daily Floor Report.

	 A provision that would have raised the age of 
criminal responsibility to 18 years old was added by the 
House to SB 1630 by Whitmire, which revised how the 
Texas Juvenile Justice Department uses state facilities. 
However, the provision raising the age was not included 
in the enrolled version, which took effect September 1, 
2015. The HRO analysis of SB 1630 appeared in Part 
One of the May 25 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1205.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB1630.PDF
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HB 2053 by Farney
Generally effective September 1, 2015

State responses to children missing during investigations

	 HB 2053 revises how the Department of Family 
and Protective Services (DFPS) and the Department of 
Public Safety (DPS) respond when children who are 
the subject of child abuse and neglect investigations go 
missing. The bill also expands the type of information 
included in the state’s child safety check alert list, 
establishes a training program on the alert list, and 
requires an annual progress report to the Legislature on 
the use of the alert list. 

	 DPS notification of certain missing children. 
In abuse or neglect investigation cases that have been 
assigned the highest priority, DFPS must notify DPS if 
at any time DFPS is unable to locate the child or family. 
If DPS locates the child and the child’s family, DPS 
must notify DFPS of their location.

	 If DFPS has been unable to locate a child or 
a child’s family after not more than 20 days, the 
department must notify DPS, which in turn must notify 
the Texas Crime Information Center (TCIC) to put the 
child and the child’s family on the child safety check 
alert list. The bill eliminates a process under which 
DFPS, after exhausting all available means, could 
initiate a process to have a court issue an order to place 
the child’s family members on the alert list. 

	 The purposes of the child safety check alert list are 
expanded from being used to investigate a report of 
child abuse or neglect to include providing protective 
services to a family receiving family-based support 
services and providing protective services to the family 
of a child in the managing conservatorship of the 
department.

	 Information in child safety check alert list. HB 
2053 expands the information, if available, that must 
be included in the TCIC child safety check alert list to 
include: 

•	 personal descriptions and identifying numbers 
of the child and of the family member alleged to 
have abused or neglected the child; 

•	 physical descriptions and other information 
relating to the child’s parent, managing 
conservator, or guardian; and 

•	 a description of the motor vehicle suspected of 
transporting the child.

	 Law enforcement response to child safety check 
alert. HB 2053 revises the process that occurs when 
law enforcement officers locate a child or someone 
else on the child safety check alert list. Under these 
new procedures, law enforcement officers must contact 
DFPS immediately and request information from 
the department about the case. Similar to a previous 
requirement, they also must request information from 
the child and other person about the child’s safety, well-
being, and current residence. The bill gives officers 
authority to temporarily detain the child or other person 
to ensure the child’s safety and well-being. Similar to 
previously existing procedures, if officers determine 
that certain circumstances outlined in the Family Code 
exist, officers may take temporary possession of the 
child without a court order. If the officer does not take 
temporary possession of the child, the officer must 
obtain the child’s current address and other information 
and report it to DFPS. 

	 Alert list training, report. The Texas Commission 
on Law Enforcement must establish an education and 
training program on the child safety check alert list and 
make the program available to DFPS child protective 
services workers. Beginning January 1, 2016, a peace 
officers must complete the program before obtaining an 
intermediate or advanced proficiency certificate from 
the commission.

	 HB 2053 requires DPS to submit to legislative 
committees by February 1 of each year a report on the 
use of the child safety check alert list. The first report is 
due in 2017.

Supporters said 

	 HB 2053 would help prevent tragedies that can 
occur when children and their families cannot be located 
during Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS) investigations of abuse and neglect. The bill 
would be called “Colton’s Law,” in honor of a young 
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Texas boy who died while he and his family were under 
investigation by DFPS.

	 Requiring DFPS to directly notify the Department 
of Public Safety (DPS) if at any time the location of 
a child or family was unknown in the highest priority 
cases would quickly make law enforcement officers 
statewide aware that a child had gone missing. Having 
DPS report back to DFPS if it located such children 
would facilitate information sharing between the 
agencies.

	 The bill also would expedite the process of 
putting missing children involved in abuse and 
neglect investigations on the state’s child safety alert 
list. Removing the need to go through a court and 
eliminating a requirement that DFPS exhaust all means 
available before starting the process could reduce the 
months that it currently can take to place a child on the 
alert list. Allowing DPS to directly place these children 
on the list would remove jurisdictional questions about 
who can perform this function while more quickly 
getting this information to all law enforcement officers. 
The gravity of these cases and the need to find families 
quickly would outweigh concerns about eliminating the 
requirement for a court order to place individuals on the 
list. 

	 The bill would require additional information to be 
included on the child safety check alert list to help law 
enforcement more easily recognize missing children, 
families, and their vehicles. This information would be 
used only for investigations.  

	 HB 2053 would allow officers to detain the child 
or other person temporarily, limiting these detentions 
to cases in which the officer was ensuring the child’s 
safety and well-being. It would be best to give law 
enforcement officers the discretion for temporary 
detentions. Officers would continue to have authority to 
take temporary custody of a child without a court order 
under certain circumstances. 

	 The bill would improve awareness and use of the 
alert list by establishing a training program about the 
list and making it available to child protective services 
workers and peace officers. An annual report to the 
Legislature on the use of the alert list in finding missing 
children would aid future legislative decision making.

Opponents said 

	 Current law has processes and systems that, if 
followed, could have protected a child in Colton’s 
situation, and people should be educated and trained on 
those existing policies. 

	 Court approval required in current law to place 
children and their families into the alert system should 
continue. This practice provides the oversight and due 
process needed before placing children and families on 
the alert list. Judges handling child abuse and neglect 
cases are used to handling emergency situations and 
understand the need to issue an order quickly to place a 
child on the alert list. 

	 Current law also respects limits on detentions by 
authorizing law enforcement officers to take possession 
of a child if specific grounds for immediate removal are 
met, while in other cases requiring officers to obtain 
contact information, report it to DFPS, and then release 
children and their families. HB 2053 would go beyond 
these reasonable limits by authorizing temporary 
detentions under certain circumstances. 

	 Including certain detailed information in the child- 
alert list, such as the description of a car in which a 
child might be transported, could raise privacy concerns.  

Other opponents said 

	 While HB 2053 would make some strides in 
improving the process used to look for children who go 
missing during child abuse and neglect investigations, 
it would not go far enough. To recognize that missing 
children who are part of cases assigned the highest 
priority by DFPS might be in immediate danger, the bill 
should require DPS to conduct investigations to locate 
them. To best protect children, law enforcement officers 
who locate such children should be required to detain 
them until DFPS can respond.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2053 appeared in Part 
Two of the April 27 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2053.PDF


Page 40 House Research OrganizationPage 40

HB  2150 by Alvarado
Effective September 1, 2015

Revising the selection of grand juries

	 HB 2150 revises the state’s system for selecting 
grand jurors. The bill eliminates the previous process 
that required jury selection by jury commissioners. 
District judges are no longer required to appoint three to 
five jury commissioners who then select persons to be 
summoned to serve on grand juries. District judges now 
must follow what used to be an optional system and 
direct that 20 to 125 prospective grand jurors be selected 
and summoned in the same way as panels for civil trials 
in district courts.

	 The bill requires courts to identify at least 16 
qualified jurors and to select 12 individuals to serve as 
grand jurors with the rest as alternates. The jurors must 
be randomly selected from a fair cross section of the 
population of the area served by the court.

	 HB 2150 adds to the questions that must be asked 
of jurors when examining their qualifications to include 
a query about whether the individual has ever been 
convicted of misdemeanor theft or is under indictment 
for misdemeanor theft. It also establishes eight new 
causes that can be used to challenge particular jurors 
and establishes circumstances under which jurors must 
recuse themselves from grand jury service. The bill 
allows chosen grand jurors to be considered unavailable 
to serve for any reason that the court determines 
constitutes good cause for dismissing the juror.

Supporters said 

	 HB 2150 would repeal the outdated grand jury 
commissioner jury selection method — also known as 
the “key man” system — currently used in Texas and 
would require a random jury pool call and selection 
method that about half of the state courts in Texas 
already use. Almost every other state and the federal 
court system have moved from using a key man system 
to the random selection method. The system in Texas 
should be standardized under the random selection 
method that would be implemented by this bill.

	 The bill would lead to more diversity on grand 
juries by requiring that grand jurors and alternates 
be randomly selected from a fair cross section of the 
population served by the court. Grand juries should be 
more reflective of the diverse communities they serve. 
Allowing jury commissioners under the key man system 
to select their acquaintances to serve on the jury can 
lead to a jury that is not representative of a county’s 
population.

	 Amending the grand jury selection system would 
place more community confidence in grand juries. 
The current system allows for the grand jury to be 
stacked with individuals who have close ties to the 
legal and criminal justice system. This is not fair, can 
be discriminatory, and does not ensure a cross section 
of the community on grand juries. Using the random 
selection method also would reduce repetitive service by 
the same jurors.

Opponents said 

	 HB 2150 would remove discretion from judges, 
who should retain the option of continuing to use the 
jury-commissioner selection system to pick a grand jury 
if appropriate for their counties.

	 HB 2150 could make impaneling grand juries 
in smaller or rural counties more difficult and could 
decrease the diversity of juries in these counties. 
Because small and rural counties have fewer residents, 
random selection can produce a jury that is not as 
diverse as the key man system that some judges favor. 
A smaller population also makes it more difficult to 
find enough individuals who can make the time and 
other commitments to sit on a grand jury. The current 
key man system can speed up the process of selecting a 
grand jury because it allows for a panel of individuals to 
be selected who already meet some of the qualifications.
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Notes

	 HB 2150 was digested in Part 3 of the May 11 Daily 
Floor Report. 

	 The House approved another bill, SB 135 by 
Whitmire, which would have revised the system of 
selecting grand juries and eliminated selection by jury 
commissioners. SB 135 died in the Senate after it was 
amended and passed by the House. The HRO analysis of 
SB 135 appeared in Part Two of the May 23 Daily Floor 
Report. 

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2150.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0135.PDF
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SB 158 by West 
Effective September 1, 2015

Grant program, policies for police body cameras  

	 SB 158 establishes a grant program through the 
governor’s office for local law enforcement agencies 
to help defray the cost of body-worn cameras for law 
enforcement officers and establishes requirements for 
body camera policies.

	 The bill authorizes municipal police departments, 
sheriffs, and the Department of Public Safety to apply 
to the governor’s office for a grant to equip peace 
officers with body-worn cameras and to defray the 
cost of implementing SB 158. The governor’s office 
must create and implement a matching grant program 
using federal, state, local, and other funding. Local law 
enforcement agencies must match 25 percent of the 
grant money. Law enforcement agencies must report 
annually to the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement 
(TCOLE) about the costs of body camera programs, 
and the commission must compile the information and 
report it to the governor and Legislature.

	 Local policies. Law enforcement agencies that 
receive a grant for body cameras or that operate a 
program with the cameras must adopt a policy on their 
use. The policy must ensure that a camera is activated 
only for law enforcement purposes, and it cannot require 
that the cameras be activated for the entire period of an 
officer’s shift. Local policies must include provisions 
and guidelines on activating recordings, data retention, 
and public access to certain recordings.

	 The bill requires the training of officers and other 
personnel who work with the cameras and their data. 
TCOLE, in consultation with other entities, must 
develop or approve a training curriculum by January 1, 
2016.

	 SB 158 authorizes law enforcement agencies to 
enter into interagency or interlocal contracts to receive 
body-worn camera services and have certain operations 
performed through a Department of Information 
Resources program.

	 Handling of certain interactions with public, 
certain recordings. Officers may choose not to record 
any non-confrontational encounter, including witness 
and victim interviews.

	 The bill establishes guidelines for the handling 
of recordings of incidents involving the use of deadly 
force or those related to administrative or criminal 
investigations of officers.

	 The bill restricts the use of personally owned 
cameras for agencies receiving grants under the bill 
and establishes requirements for other agencies that 
authorize their use.

	 Release of recordings. Information recorded by a 
body camera is not subject to disclosure under Public 
Information Act requirements in Government Code, 
sec. 552.021, except for information that was or could 
be used as evidence in a criminal prosecution. Agencies 
may assert any existing exception to disclosure and can 
release information in redacted form. SB 158 expands 
the deadlines in current law for responses to requests 
for open records relating to body camera recordings. 
Recordings are confidential if they were not required to 
be made and do not relate to law enforcement purposes. 

	 The bill prohibits the release of certain types of 
recordings, including those made in private spaces and 
those involving fine-only misdemeanors that do not 
result in an arrest. SB 158 establishes guidelines for law 
enforcement agencies in handling voluminous public 
information requests. 

	 It is a class A misdemeanor (up to one year in jail 
and/or a maximum fine of $4,000) for a peace officer 
or other law enforcement agency employee to release a 
recording from a camera without the permission of the 
law enforcement agency.

Supporters said 

	 SB 158 would help ensure that law enforcement 
agencies that elected to use body cameras developed 
policies within the same broad framework and would 
allow the state to offer support to those agencies through 
a grant program. The bill would not mandate the use of 
cameras, allowing that decision to continue to be made 
on the local level.
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	 The use of recording devices worn by peace officers 
can help both the public and the police by documenting 
encounters. The equipment has been part of a recent 
national debate over law enforcement interactions with 
the public and can contribute to reductions in the use of 
force, complaints against police officers, and lawsuits 
filed against police.

	 By establishing a grant program, SB 158 would 
support agencies that wished to use the cameras. The 
grants could be used to help the agencies with the cost 
of equipping officers and to defray costs associated with 
a program, including data storage.

	 SB 158 would recognize that as the use of cameras 
grows, there is a need for a statewide framework for 
local policies. Some uniformity across the state is 
necessary to ensure that local policies address common 
issues and that the policies properly balance concerns 
about the use of cameras. The bill would meet this need 
by broadly outlining what would have to be addressed 
in local policies but allowing details to be established at 
the local level.

	 The bill would address privacy concerns of both 
officers and the public by allowing cameras to be 
deactivated for nonconfrontational encounters with 
witnesses and victims and prohibiting the release of 
recordings made in private spaces and those involving 
fine-only misdemeanors that did not result in arrests.

	 The bill would address concerns about agencies’ 
ability to meet open records requests by lengthening 
deadlines for responses to the requests and establishing 
guidelines for handling voluminous requests. Within the 
guidelines in the bill, agencies could set parameters on 
what was recorded so that they were not overwhelmed 
by data.

	 The bill would not create a long-term funding 
obligation for the state. In 2017, the Legislature could 
evaluate the use of state funds under the bill and make a 
decision about continued funding.

Opponents said 

	 SB 158 is unnecessary and could infringe on 
local policies designed to meet local needs. Given the 
emerging nature of the use of body cameras and the 
many unresolved issues with their use, it would be 
premature to establish a statewide framework on how 
the equipment and data should be handled. For example, 
there are unanswered questions related to privacy and 
the handling of large amounts of data that could be 
produced by the cameras. Local agencies are in the best 
position to craft such policies, and they should continue 
to be able to develop standards and practices tailored to 
meet their needs without being required to meet certain 
guidelines.

	 The state should not set up a situation in which 
it could have an ongoing obligation to local law 
enforcement agencies for their body camera programs 
or in which it imposed costs on those programs. The 
cost of outfitting officers with cameras, storing the 
data, responding to requests for the recordings, and 
maintaining the equipment would be high, and local 
agencies could look to the state as the resource for these 
expenses if the state required certain policies.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 158 appeared in Part One 
of the May 24 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0158.PDF
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SB 344 by Huffman
Effective September 1, 2015

Intent to commit online solicitation of a minor

	 SB 344 revises the offense of online solicitation of a 
minor. The bill changes the definition of “minor” under 
the crime so that it means those who are younger than 
17 years old and no longer includes those who merely 
represented themselves to be younger than 17. 

	 The bill changes the intent requirement for the 
offense when it involves communicating with a minor 
in a sexually explicit manner or distributing sexually 
explicit material to a minor. The requirement that 
actions be taken with the intent to arouse or gratify 
the sexual desire of any person is eliminated. Instead, 
actions must be taken with the intent to commit specific 
sexual offenses or human trafficking offenses. The bill 
also revises the defenses to prosecution for the crime.

Supporters said 

	 SB 344 would revise the state’s law prohibiting the 
online solicitation of a minor to address a portion of the 
law found unconstitutional. In 2013, the Texas Court of 
Criminal Appeals found in Ex parte Lo that Penal Code, 
sec. 33.021(b) was unconstitutionally overbroad because 
it prohibited constitutionally protected speech and was 
not narrowly drawn to achieve only the objective of 
protecting children from sexual abuse. SB 344 would 
amend the law to address the court’s concerns and allow 
Texas to continue to protect children from online sexual 
predators.

	 The bill would rectify problems the Court of 
Criminal Appeals identified with the part of the offense 
involving communications with a minor. It would 
address the court’s concern with the intent required to 
commit the offense by replacing current language with 
a requirement that a person have the intent to induce 
a minor to commit specified sex or human trafficking 
crimes. This change would ensure that conduct that was 
not targeted by the law or that was protected by the First 
Amendment did not fall under the law’s provisions. The 
offenses would be limited and listed in the statute so that 
the law was narrowly tailored, as required by the court.

	 The bill also would revise the situations that are 
not permitted to be used as defenses to prosecution. 
This change would apply the law to those actually 
soliciting minors for meetings, not on those engaged 
in fantasies or fictional scenarios. Other changes to the 
defenses to prosecution would be made to remove some 
redundancies and potential conflicts with other parts of 
the Penal Code.

	 SB 344 would change the definition of a minor to 
focus the law on those who are actually younger than 
17 years old. The change in the bill would prevent the 
law from being too broad and potentially affecting two 
adults pretending to be children.

Opponents said 

	 SB 344 could be unnecessary. It would amend 
the current definition of a minor even though the 
Texas Court of Criminal Appeals’ 2013 decision did 
not suggest any changes were needed. Current law 
defining a minor would not lead to the prosecution 
of two adults pretending to be children. Under the 
bill, there would have to be intent to commit a sexual 
offense, and two adults pretending to be children 
would be communicating about a consensual act, not a 
crime involving a minor. Law enforcement authorities 
currently would not pursue such cases.

Notes

	 SB 344 was laid out on May 4 in lieu of its 
companion bill, HB 861 by Dale. The HRO analysis of 
HB 861 appeared in the April 23 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 1135 by Garcia
Effective September 1, 2015

Offense, liability for disclosure of intimate visual material

	 SB 1135 creates criminal offenses and allows 
civil lawsuits related to the disclosure or promotion of 
intimate visual material.

	 Criminal offenses. The bill creates a new criminal 
offense for the unlawful disclosure or promotion of 
intimate visual material. A person commits an offense if:

•	 without consent, an individual intentionally 
disclosed visual material depicting another 
person with the person’s intimate parts exposed 
or engaged in sexual conduct; 

•	 the visual material was obtained or created 
under circumstances in which the depicted 
person had a reasonable expectation that the 
material would remain private; 

•	 the disclosure of the material caused harm to the 
depicted person; and 

•	 the disclosure revealed the identity of 
the depicted person, including through 
accompanying or subsequent information or 
material or information or material provided by 
a third party in response to the disclosure.

	 It is an offense to intentionally threaten to disclose, 
without consent, visual material depicting another with 
the other person’s intimate parts exposed or engaged in 
sexual conduct to obtain a benefit in return either for not 
making the disclosure or in connection with disclosure.

	 It also is an offense to promote such material. A 
person commits an offense if, knowing the character and 
content of the visual material, the person promotes the 
material on a website or other forum that is owned or 
operated by the person.

	 It is not a defense to prosecution that the depicted 
person created or consented to the creation of the 
material or voluntarily transmitted the material to the 
one disclosing it. The bill creates several affirmative 
defenses to prosecution to the disclosure or promotion 
of material, including ones for:

•	 disclosure or promotion made in the course 
of lawful and common practices of law 
enforcement or medical treatment, reporting 
unlawful activity, or a legal proceeding;

•	 disclosure or promotion consisting of visual 
material depicting in a public or commercial 
setting only a voluntary exposure of a person’s 
intimate parts or the person engaging in sexual 
conduct; or

•	 an interactive computer service, as defined 
under federal law, if the disclosure or promotion 
consisted of visual material provided by another 
person.

	 These offenses are class A misdemeanors (up to one 
year in jail and/or a maximum fine of $4,000).

	 Civil liability. The bill makes defendants liable to 
persons depicted in intimate visual material for damages 
from the disclosure if:

•	 the defendant disclosed the material without the 
effective consent of the depicted person;

•	 the material was obtained or created under 
circumstances in which the depicted person had 
a reasonable expectation that it would remain 
private;

•	 the disclosure caused harm to the depicted 
person; and

•	 the disclosure of the material revealed the 
identity of the depicted person in any manner, 
including through accompanying or subsequent 
information or material or material provided by 
a third party in response to the disclosure of the 
intimate visual material.

	 Defendants are liable for damages arising from the 
promotion of the intimate visual material if, knowing 
the character and content of the material, the defendant 
promotes the material on an Internet website or other 
forum owned or operated by the defendant.

	 A claimant who prevails must be awarded actual 
damages, including for mental anguish, and may recover 
exemplary damages.
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	 Courts have personal jurisdiction over defendants in 
a suit brought under the bill if the defendant resided in 
Texas, the claimant resided in Texas, the material was 
stored on a server in Texas, or the material was available 
to view in Texas.

Supporters said 

	 SB 1135 would address the problem of the 
electronic distribution of sexually explicit images of 
someone without the subject’s permission. The images, 
sometimes taken without consent, may be posted on 
websites or emailed to employers, schools, family 
members, and others. Sometimes contact or identifying 
information is included.

	 Current laws provide inadequate deterrence and 
punishment for these actions. Explicit images can be 
uploaded to websites where thousands can see them and 
they can be shared with other sites. Victims can suffer 
threats, harassment, stalking, and sexual exploitation 
as well as embarrassment and shame that intrude into 
their work, school, or personal lives. Harm is difficult to 
remedy because removing images from a website rarely 
prevents continued distribution. Both civil and criminal 
avenues are important in combating these actions.

	 The bill would address this problem with new 
offenses carefully crafted not to be overly broad and 
to meet all legal and constitutional standards. The bill 
would not be a constitutionally prohibited content-
based restriction on speech but would relate to sexual 
defamation and would enact permissible provisions. 
The bill contains several thresholds an action would 
have to meet to fall under the offense so that common 
actions were not included. The offense would address 
situations in which a threat of disclosure had been used 
to blackmail others.

	 The bill would include civil penalties as another 
tool to address the economic incentive related to these 
actions. Current causes of action can be inadequate 
in some of these cases, so the bill would establish 
liability for certain specific actions. Civil penalties could 
allow those who profit from the disclosure to be held 
accountable, along with those who make the disclosure. 
The bill would include injunctive relief and damages 
related to it to give the court the power to enforce 
temporary restraining orders or temporary or permanent 
injunctions.

Opponents said 

	 SB 1135 would be a content-based restriction on 
speech, which would be presumptively unconstitutional.

	 The state should be cautious about creating new 
crimes for nonviolent behaviors. Making such offenses 
potentially carry jail time could be too punitive given 
the nonviolent nature of these actions. In some cases, 
current statutes, including those for harassment 
and impersonating another, already criminalize 
some activities that occur in these situations. While 
distributing these images may be reprehensible, these 
cases generally could be handled outside the criminal 
justice system, where victims could seek damages 
through civil courts.

	 Instead of making individuals civilly liable for the 
specific actions described in SB 1135, in some cases 
civil suits could be brought under existing laws by 
raising issues such as privacy, emotional distress, or 
defamation.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1135 appeared in Part 2 of 
the May 25 Daily Floor Report.

	 Another bill, HB 603 by S. Davis, dealt with 
the unlawful dissemination of certain types of visual 
material and was approved by the House but died in the 
Senate. The House-approved version of HB 603 would 
have created an offense if:

•	 a person intentionally disseminated visual 
material depicting another person engaging 
in sexual conduct or with the other person’s 
exposed intimate parts;

•	 the person obtained the visual material under 
circumstances in which a reasonable person 
should have known or understood that the visual 
material was to remain private;

•	 the person knew or should have known that 
the depicted person did not consent to the 
dissemination;

•	 the depicted person was identifiable from 
the visual material or from other information 
displayed in connection with the material; and

•	 the material was disseminated with the intent 
to harass, abuse, or torment the depicted person 
or to obtain a benefit in connection with the 
dissemination.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB1135.PDF
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SB 1317 by Menéndez
Effective June 18, 2015

Revising improper photography law

	 SB 1317 revises the criminal offense of improper 
photography and renames it “invasive visual recording.”

	 The bill eliminates intent requirements for 
committing the crime that differed depending on 
whether photographs were taken in a bathroom or 
private dressing room or whether they were taken 
elsewhere. The requirement that photographs be taken 
with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire 
of anyone is eliminated. Under the bill, the offense 
is committed if images were taken without the other 
person’s consent and with intent to invade the other’s 
privacy. All photographs taken in a bathroom or 
changing room that meet this requirement are offenses. 

	 For other photographs and images, the bill creates an 
additional requirement that the images be of the intimate 
area of another person if the other had a reasonable 
expectation that the intimate area was not subject to 
public view. The bill also establishes a definition of 
“intimate area.”

	 SB 1317 creates procedures in these cases for 
handling evidence consisting of images of children. 
The procedures include requiring that during criminal 
hearings or proceedings, courts seal and keep from the 
public images of children younger than 14 years old.

Supporters said 

	 SB 1317 would revise Texas law on improper 
photography to address problems with the statute 
identified in a Texas Court of Criminal Appeals 2013 
opinion that found part of the law unconstitutional. 
The bill would update the law to address the use of 
cell phones and other electronic devices used to take 
inappropriate photographs and videos without consent. 
Taking invasive and improper photographs of others 
without their consent is harmful conduct appropriately 
addressed by the Penal Code. Concerns that current law 
is broadly written would be addressed in a constitutional 
way by eliminating intent requirements based on the 
sexual desire of any person and basing the offense on 
the violation of privacy.

Opponents said 

	 The state should move cautiously to ensure that it 
does not enact a content-based restriction on speech, 
which would be unconstitutional. The bill could broadly 
prohibit certain types of images and circumstances in 
which individuals might not have a privacy expectation, 
which could lead to unfair convictions. 

Notes

	 SB 1317 passed on the House Local, Consent, and 
Resolutions Calendar and was not analyzed in a Daily 
Floor Report. HB 3196 by D. Miller also dealt with the 
offense of improper photography and was analyzed in 
Part One of the May 12 Daily Floor Report. HB 3196 
was placed on the General State Calendar for May 12 
but was not considered. 
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SB 1630 by Whitmire
Effective September 1, 2015

Regionalization plan for juvenile justice facilities

	 SB 1630 requires the Texas Juvenile Justice 
Department (TJJD) to develop a regionalization plan 
for keeping children closer to home rather than having 
them committed to state facilities. It also amends court 
procedures used when certain youths are sent to TJJD 
facilities, changes some of the department’s funding 
procedures, and expands oversight of the Office of the 
Independent Ombudsman.

	 Regionalization plan. SB 1630 requires TJJD to 
adopt a regionalization plan for keeping children closer 
to home in lieu of commitment to the department’s 
secure facilities. The plan must define regions to 
be served by local juvenile probation departments, 
counties, halfway houses, or private operators. TJJD is 
required to ensure that each region has research-based 
programs for its target population. 

	 The regionalization plan must meet several 
requirements, such as including sufficient mechanisms 
to divert at least 30 juveniles from TJJD secure facilities 
in fiscal 2015 and 150 youths in 2016. For fiscal 2018 
and each subsequent year, the plan must include savings 
generated by the decrease in juveniles sent to TJJD 
facilities. The regionalization plan must be finalized 
by August 31, 2016, and the plan must create a new 
division in TJJD to administer and monitor it. 

	 TJJD must develop specialized programs for 
children committed to its facilities. The programs 
must ensure safety and security for youths and have 
developmentally appropriate program strategies. The 
department must identify children in its facilities 
who could be safely and appropriately transferred to 
alternative local placements or halfway houses, placed 
on parole, or discharged from the department. 

	 Court commitment procedures. SB 1630 changes 
court procedures for committing to the TJJD a juvenile 
who is found to have engaged in delinquent conduct that 
constitutes a felony but is not given a determinate (pre-
determined number of years) sentence. In such cases, 
courts must make a special commitment finding that the 
child has behavioral health or other needs that cannot be 
met with community resources.

	 Funding local probation, regionalization plan. 
SB 1630 requires TJJD to use a basic probation 
funding formula, among other current factors, when 
allocating funding to local juvenile departments. The 
basic probation formula must clearly define what basic 
probation entails and what services are provided. 

	 The bill requires, instead of allows, the TJJD to 
set aside a portion of its funds for discretionary grants, 
including for projects dedicated to specific populations 
based on risk and needs and with established recidivism 
reduction goals. The grants must be based on 
documented, data-driven and research-based practices. 

	 The Legislature is authorized to appropriate funds 
to initiate and support the regionalization plan so that 
savings are generated by decreases in the population 
of state facilities. TJJD must reimburse counties for 
the placement of children in the regional specialized 
program at a rate that saves the state money over the 
average cost of keeping a child in a state facility. TJJD 
may not adversely impact state aid for a local juvenile 
department that does not serve youths from other 
counties or does not act as a regional facility. 

	 Role of ombudsman. SB 1630 gives the office 
of independent ombudsman authority over post-
adjudication facilities for juvenile offenders and other 
residential facilities in which a court places a child. The 
bill also gives the ombudsman authority to investigate 
complaints alleging that the rights of youth committed 
to these facility were violated. 

	 Sunset date. The bill changes the Sunset date for 
TJJD, abolishing the department and the TJJD board on 
September 1, 2021, instead of 2017.

Supporters said 

	 SB 1630 would continue the successful reforms 
Texas has undertaken in its juvenile justice system 
during the past several years by ensuring that juveniles 
received effective treatment to prevent recidivism, were 
sent to the appropriate programs, and were kept safe.
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	 Keeping certain low- and medium-risk youth 
closer to home under a regionalization plan, rather than 
sending them to large, far-away state facilities, could 
decrease recidivism and have other significant positive 
outcomes. SB 1630 would help address the needs of 
youths and allow for regional collaboration. The bill 
also would improve the treatment and rehabilitation of 
youth with specialized needs who could not be served in 
the community. State facilities still would be an option 
for the most serious youth offenders. The bill would 
result in overall savings to the state because state-run 
facilities have been shown to be more expensive to 
operate than local programs. 

	 The increased authority that the bill would give to 
the office of the independent ombudsman would ensure 
that youth served in regional facilities received the same 
degree of oversight as youth in state facilities while the 
state works to continue improving outcomes by keeping 
more children close to home. 

Opponents said 

	 SB 1630 could burden juvenile probation 
departments across the state by extending the powers 
of the office of the independent ombudsman into some 
of their operations. Juvenile probation offices already 
are subject to TJJD oversight, and creating additional 
reporting requirements could be duplicative and 
problematic.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1630 appeared in Part One 
of the May 25 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB1630.PDF
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HB 9 by Flynn
Effective September 1, 2015

Increasing member contributions to Texas ERS fund

	 HB 9 increases the member contribution rate to the 
Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS). The 
rate will increase from 7.2 percent of an employee’s 
annual salary in fiscal 2016 and from 7.5 percent in 
fiscal 2017 to 9.5 percent in fiscal 2016 and subsequent 
years. The 9.5 percent contribution rate will remain in 
effect after September 1, 2017, although it would be 
reduced by one-tenth of one percent for each one-tenth 
of one percent that the state contribution rate dropped 
below the rate established for fiscal 2017. The bill also 
will increase the contribution rate for members of the 
Legislature from 8 percent to 9.5 percent beginning in 
fiscal 2016.

	 The bill eliminates a 90-day waiting period for 
membership in the retirement system. Membership will 
begin on the first day a person is employed or holds 
office and on the first day a person is reemployed or 
again holds office.

Supporters said 

	 HB 9 would address one aspect of the state’s 
underfunded pension system by increasing state 
employee contribution rates. The bill, in combination 
with an increased state contribution rate of 10 percent, 
is projected to reduce from an infinite period to less than 
35 years the period of time required to pay off the fund’s 
unfunded liability of about $8 billion. 

	 The bill would send a message to bond rating 
agencies that the Legislature is committed to addressing 
the ERS shortfall. Moody’s Investors Service warned 
Texas in January to take care of its pension funds to 
avoid a future negative impact on the state’s economy.

	 The increase in employee contribution rates is 
expected to be largely offset by a 2.5 percent state 
employee pay raise. Therefore, the state would address 
funding while not cutting benefits. Eliminating the 90-
day waiting period for member participation would help 
the fund by providing a larger contribution base.

	 The bill also could pave the way for a future increase 
in retiree pay. Government Code, sec. 814.604 requires 

ERS to pay a cost-of-living adjustment to certain long-
time retirees when the pension fund amortization period 
is less than 31 years. 

	 The state’s retirement program is an essential tool in 
both recruitment and retention of the Texas workforce. 
HB 9 would preserve ERS as a valuable part of a state 
employee’s compensation package. Those who argue 
for benefit cuts often fail to recognize that state salaries 
generally are lower than those of comparable jobs in the 
private sector.

Opponents said 

	 HB 9 would not be the best option for addressing 
the unfunded liability in the state’s pension fund. The 
ERS shortfall largely is a result of lawmakers failing to 
appropriate adequate funds for 19 of the past 20 years. 
Increased state appropriations would be a more efficient 
funding method than increasing employee contributions 
because employees can cash out their ERS contributions 
when they leave state employment. According to 
the fiscal note, significant increases in member 
contributions could result in more members electing to 
take a refund of their contributions than historically has 
happened.

	 Making the fund solvent should not come at the 
expense of a real pay raise for state employees, who 
have seen only modest increases in pay during the past 
seven years. Failure over the next fiscal biennium to 
provide a pay raise without requiring a corresponding 
increase in ERS contributions could lead to higher 
turnover of employees who do critical work serving 
Texans.

Other opponents said 

	 The Legislature should not raise employee pay 
in the state budget to cover the increased member 
contributions in HB 9. Employees and the state both 
need to make financial sacrifices to stabilize ERS. In 
addition, benefit changes should be part of any proposal 
to shore up the pension fund. ERS administrators have 
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provided several options for benefit changes that could 
make the plan sound, including some that would impact 
current employees. Even with benefit changes, state 
employees still would enjoy a defined benefit pension 
system at a time when many private sector employers 
have shifted to 401(k) or other defined contribution 
plans.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 9 appeared in the April 13 
Daily Floor Report.

	 According to the Legislative Budget Board’s 
fiscal analysis, HB 9 in concert with increased state 
contribution rates is expected to reduce the funding 
period to 32 years, which would not meet the statutory 
definition of actual soundness of 31 years.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0009.PDF
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HB 903 by Capriglione
Effective May 23, 2015

Changing how a portion of the ESF is invested

	 HB 903 requires the comptroller to change how 
the Economic Stabilization Fund (ESF), also known as 
the “rainy day fund,” is invested. The bill applies to the 
portion of the fund that exceeds the “sufficient balance,” 
an amount determined by a legislative committee to 
ensure an appropriate amount of revenue in the account.  

	 Under HB 903, the comptroller is required to invest 
a percentage of the ESF balance that exceeds the fund’s 
sufficient balance in accordance with the investment 
standard specified in Government Code, sec. 404.024(j). 
Under that standard, the funds must be invested 
under the restrictions and procedures for making 
the investments that people of “ordinary prudence, 
discretion, and intelligence, exercising the judging and 
care under the prevailing circumstances, would follow 
in the management of their own affairs [. . .].”

	 The comptroller is required to adjust the ESF’s 
investment portfolio periodically to ensure that the 
balance is sufficient to meet the fund’s cash flow 
requirements. The bill also requires the comptroller to 
include the fair market value of the ESF’s investment 
portfolio when calculating the cap on the fund and 
determining allocations from general revenue to the ESF 
and the State Highway Fund. 

	 HB 903’s provisions requiring investment of part of 
the ESF expire when the Government Code’s provisions 
establishing the procedures to determine the ESF’s 
sufficient balance expire, currently set for December 31, 
2024.

Supporters said 

	 HB 903 would modify the Economic Stabilization 
Fund (ESF) investment strategy to ensure that the state 
was a responsible steward of taxpayer funds. The bill 
would balance the state’s need to have an adequate 
amount of money readily available in the ESF and the 
need to invest the fund prudently. 

	 Currently, the ESF is in highly liquid, low-yield 
assets that in financial terms are described as cash 

equivalents. Its recent earnings have been less than 
inflation, meaning that the ESF is losing purchasing 
power.

	 While it is prudent for the state to maintain a 
certain amount of liquidity so that the ESF is readily 
accessible in the event of an emergency or other need, it 
is unnecessary to subject the entire fund to this standard. 
With the fund’s balance estimated to reach $11.1 billion 
by the end of fiscal 2016-17, absent any appropriations, 
there is more than enough in the fund to maintain an 
appropriate threshold of liquidity while investing a 
portion of the amount above the sufficient balance in a 
stable, safe class of assets with a slightly higher return.

	 The bill would protect the ESF by requiring the 
comptroller to use the prudent investor standard 
specified in the Government Code to invest a portion 
of the fund that is above the sufficient balance. 
This standard is well defined and considered a best 
practice by the institutional investment managers. The 
investments envisioned under HB 903 could be targeted 
to earn inflation or inflation plus a set percentage. Under 
some estimates, for every $1 billion invested under HB 
903, the state could earn $15 million annually. 

	 HB 903 would affect only a portion of the ESF. 
The bill would allow the comptroller to determine what 
portion of the fund was invested under the bill, but any 
amount set as the ESF’s sufficient balance — currently 
$7 billion — would remain in the current class of assets. 
The comptroller should have the flexibility to determine 
what portion of the amount above the sufficient balance 
would be invested, rather than designate that amount in 
law, so that the investing could ramp up slowly and be 
changed when appropriate and necessary.

	 Investing part of the ESF would not make the state 
vulnerable during an emergency or pose problems when 
the Legislature needed to access the fund quickly. The 
fund’s sufficient balance would remain readily available. 
Funds invested under the bill would be liquid enough to 
be made available quickly if necessary — the majority 
within days and the rest soon thereafter. 
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	 The comptroller is the entity best suited to invest 
ESF funds. The comptroller currently handles the ESF, 
and keeping the funds under one entity would make 
management easier. The Texas Treasury Safekeeping 
Trust Company, which manages the fund for the 
comptroller, would continue in its role. While other 
entities may do a good job of investing state funds, the 
Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Company has the 
most experience with a large pool of assets that must 
be kept relatively liquid compared to other types of 
investments, such as endowments.

Opponents said 

	 HB 903 could subject the state’s emergency cash 
reserves to unnecessary risk. The ESF was set up for the 
purpose its name suggests — to stabilize state finances 
in a time of need caused by recession, depression, or 
other economic disruption. Investing a portion of the 
funds in a more aggressive portfolio could expose Texas 
to the risk of losing the very funds on which it would 
rely in an emergency.

Other opponents said 

	 HB 903 should not limit the potential investment 
entities for the ESF to the comptroller. Other entities 
such as UTIMCO, which oversees investments for the 
University of Texas and Texas A&M systems, could be 
a better fit to manage the funds. The state could solicit 
potential investment plans from a number of entities and 
then retain legislative oversight of the investment of the 
fund by having the elected members of the Legislative 
Budget Board decide which plan to follow.

	 Another way to retain appropriate legislative 
oversight of the investment of the fund would be 
to establish a legislative committee to evaluate the 
investments or to set in statute a percentage of the ESF 
above the sufficient balance to be invested, instead 
of allowing the comptroller to determine the portion 
invested.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 903 appeared in the April 
13 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0903.PDF
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HB 966 by Crownover
Effective September 1, 2015

Creating health-plan option for state employees

	 HB 966 establishes a state consumer-directed health 
plan option for state employees and their eligible 
dependents. The board of trustees of the Employees 
Retirement System of Texas (ERS) is directed to 
establish health savings accounts and finance a self-
funded high deductible health plan, with coverage 
beginning on September 1, 2016.

	 State and employee contributions. The state will 
contribute to a high deductible health plan the amount 
necessary to pay the cost of coverage, not to exceed the 
amount the state would contribute annually for a full-
time or part-time employee for basic coverage under the 
existing Group Benefits Program.
 
	 For dependents, the state will contribute to a high 
deductible health plan the same percentage of the costs 
of coverage it would contribute annually for basic 
coverage of the dependent. Any remaining required 
contributions for dependent coverage will be paid by 
the employee. Amounts contributed by a plan enrollee 
for dependent coverage may be used to pay the cost of 
coverage not paid by the state or allocated by the ERS 
board to an enrollee’s health savings account.

	 Before each plan year, the ERS board may determine 
the amount of allocation of the state’s contribution, 
if any, to an enrollee’s health savings account that 
remained after payment for coverage. A plan enrollee 
may contribute any amount allowed under federal law to 
the enrollee’s health savings account.

	 ERS requirements. The ERS board must ensure 
that the plan includes preventive health care and 
must provide information about the plan to eligible 
employees.

	 The board is given exclusive authority to determine 
whether a plan enrollee is eligible to participate in a 
flexible spending account program. A plan enrollee may 
not participate in any flexible spending account that 
would disqualify the enrollee’s health savings account 
from favorable tax treatment under federal law.

	 The board may not divide the self-funded risk pool 
of the group benefits program or create a separate self-
funded risk pool for that program. The bill also requires 
ERS to study implementation of the consumer-directed 
health plan to determine actuarial impact, premium cost 
fluctuations, health care utilization rates, the status of 
the risk pool, and the ages of those who opt into the 
system. The report is due by January 1, 2020, to the 
governor and Legislature.

Supporters said

	 HB 966 would give state employees the option 
of controlling their health care expenses through 
participation in a high-deductible health plan with a 
health savings account. Health savings accounts are 
tax-protected accounts that can be spent only on health 
care expenses. In order to qualify for a health savings 
account, an individual would have to enroll in a high 
deductible health plan. 

	 The bill would give employees the freedom to 
choose a plan that best fits their needs. Employees 
could build up their health savings account year to year 
through their own contributions, along with any state 
contributions, and take the account with them if they 
changed jobs. 

	 Adding this option would not weaken the existing 
employee health plan through “adverse selection” as 
some have claimed because the bill prohibits the board 
from dividing the self-funded risk pool from the group 
benefits program. The overall cost of state employee 
health coverage would be shared by all participants, no 
matter which health plan they chose.

	 This type of plan could encourage participants to 
actively participate in their health care as consumers, 
not just as patients. Employees who chose a high 
deductible health plan with a health savings account 
could become more involved in the health care process 
and more conscious of health care costs, which could 
lead to lower expenditures.  
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Opponents said

	 HB 966 could pose unnecessary risks to the health 
of state employees and the long-term stability of the 
state’s group insurance program. With deductibles of 
at least $1,300 for individuals and $2,600 for families, 
high deductible plans are most likely to be chosen by 
younger, higher-paid employees. This could leave older 
and perhaps less healthy workers in the traditional 
plan and cause costs to increase. This type of “adverse 
selection” could undermine the concept of insurance as 
spreading risk over the broadest possible pool to keep 
costs under control.

	 Studies have found that average contributions by 
employers to employees’ health savings accounts did 
not cover the deductibles in a high deductible plan. 
Some lower-wage workers could experience financial 
hardships covering the gap between their health savings 
and the cost of care. Others could avoid or delay care 
because of costs. 

	 Health savings accounts would not slow the overall 
growth of health care costs. Once an individual met the 
plan’s out-of-pocket maximum, the plan would cover 
expenses in full, similar to a traditional plan. Individuals 
with chronic disease and high claims still would drive 
the bulk of health benefit costs, regardless of the type of 
plan.

	 Participants in a consumer-directed health plan 
are expected to shop for health insurance plans, but 
comparing plans can be difficult, as can managing the 
health savings account. The onus of making prudent 
health care decisions should not rest solely on state 
employees.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 966 appeared in Part Two 
of the May 4 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0966.PDF


Page 58 House Research Organization

HB 1690 by P. King
Effective September 1, 2015

Procedures for public integrity prosecutions

	 HB 1690 establishes procedures for investigating 
and prosecuting offenses against public administration. 

	 The following are considered offenses against 
public administration:

•	 offenses listed in Title 8 of the Penal Code, 
including bribery and coercion, when 
committed by a state officer or state employee 
in connection with the powers and duties of the 
state office or employment;

•	 conduct that violates Government Code 
requirements relating to the Legislature and 
House speaker;

•	 conduct that violates Government Code 
requirements for campaign finance and personal 
financial disclosure and for registration for 
representation before state agencies when 
committed by a state officer or state employee 
in connection with their state powers and duties 
or by a candidate for state office;

•	 violations of nepotism laws committed by state 
officers in conjunction with their powers and 
duties of the state office; and

•	 violations of Election Code regulations of 
political funds and campaigns committed in 
connection with a campaign for or the holding 
of state office or an election on a proposed 
constitutional amendment.

	 Investigation. The Texas Rangers are required to 
establish a public integrity unit, which may perform 
an initial investigation into whether a person has 
committed an offense against public administration. The 
Rangers have authority to investigate such offenses, 
any lesser included offenses, and any other offenses 
arising from conduct that constitutes an offense against 
public administration. The public integrity unit may 
issue subpoenas to compel the production of relevant 
evidence that is in Texas. If a person fails to comply 
with a subpoena, the unit may file suit to enforce the 
subpoena.

	 Prosecutions. Investigations that demonstrate a 
reasonable suspicion that an offense occurred must 
be referred to the prosecutor in the county where 

the defendant resided at the time the offense was 
committed. A person resides in the county where the 
person:

•	 claims a residence homestead under Property 
Code, ch. 41 if the person is a member of the 
Legislature, the Texas Supreme Court, or the 
Court of Criminal Appeals;

•	 claimed to be a resident before being subject to 
executive branch residency requirements under 
Tex. Const., Art. 4; or

•	 otherwise claims residence if none of the above 
provisions applies.

	 A prosecutor may request to be recused from a case 
for good cause and is disqualified upon submitting the 
notice of recusal to the court with jurisdiction over the 
complaint. Following a recusal, the presiding judges 
of the state’s administrative judicial regions would by 
majority vote appoint a prosecutor from another county 
in the administrative judicial region where the case was 
filed. The alternate prosecutor may pursue a waiver to 
extend the statute of limitations for up to two years.  

	 The bill requires the comptroller to pay from 
specified appropriations reasonable amounts incurred by 
a prosecutor for extraordinary costs of prosecuting an 
offense against public administration.  

	 Cooperation, confidentiality. The bill requires 
state agencies and local law enforcement agencies 
to cooperate with public integrity investigations and 
exempts disclosed information from state public 
information laws. 

Supporters said

	 HB 1690 would establish a fairer process than the 
current system for investigating and prosecuting elected 
officials for public corruption crimes. Complaints would 
be investigated by the Texas Rangers and prosecuted 
in the home county of the state officer or employee. 
This process would disperse power now held by a 
single district attorney’s office in the state capital to 
prosecutors around the state. This spreading of authority 
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could help alleviate concerns that politics has played a 
role in certain high-profile prosecutions of state officials 
in Travis County.

	 The Texas Rangers are an elite law enforcement 
agency with the training and expertise to conduct public 
integrity investigations. The bill would use a neutral 
venue for prosecutions and would allow defendants to 
be tried by a jury of their peers. Contrary to opponents’ 
suggestions that the hometown venue would favor a 
defendant, the criminal prosecution likely would be 
more accessible to local voters and covered by local 
media. If a local prosecutor had a conflict of interest, 
the bill would create a process for that prosecutor to 
ask to be recused and for an alternate prosecutor to 
be appointed. The bill would not rely too much on a 
prosecutor’s willingness to be recused because public 
pressure likely would force the hand of a prosecutor 
who should step aside.

	 The bill would not disturb Travis County’s 
jurisdiction over offenses involving insurance fraud and 
motor fuels tax collections. The Travis County District 
Attorney’s  Public Integrity Unit would continue to 
prosecute fraud and financial crimes targeting various 
state programs and certain crimes committed by state 
employees. These cases make up the majority of the 
unit’s caseload. 

	 Concern about the information provided in 
connection with public integrity prosecutions being 
made confidential is overstated. Current law contains 
exceptions from public information laws for records 
and information if the release of the information would 
interfere with a criminal investigation or prosecution, 
and the exception in HB 1690 is in line with current 
exceptions.

Opponents said

	 HB 1690 could result in less accountability in 
public corruption cases against state officers and state 
employees by giving those defendants a “home-field 
advantage” during a prosecution. The bill would make a 
significant change from the usual prosecution of crimes 
in the county where the offense occurred. This could 
lead to troubling situations, such as a public servant 
accused of official oppression for actions taken while on 
assignment in one part of the state being tried far from 
the county where the acts occurred.

	 The bill is based on incorrect perceptions that 
the Travis County district attorney has made partisan 
decisions in public corruption prosecutions. Since its 
inception, the unit has prosecuted elected officials from 
both political parties. 

	 Placing venue in an official’s home county could 
set the stage for crony politics if, for example, the local 
prosecutor overseeing the case were friends or political 
acquaintances with the official being prosecuted. 
The bill lacks specific requirements for recusal of a 
prosecutor, leaving it up to a prosecutor to self-report 
and ask for a recusal.

	 There could be conflicts of interest involving the 
Texas Rangers, which is a division of DPS. The DPS 
director is hired by the Public Safety Commission, 
whose five members are appointed by the governor. 
Many other high-ranking state executives also are 
appointed by the governor. 

	 HB 1690 would exempt from state public 
information laws information from state agencies and 
local law enforcement provided in connection with 
public integrity prosecutions. This blanket exemption 
could result in information that normally would be 
available to the public through open records laws 
becoming off limits when a local prosecutor takes over 
one of these cases.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1690 appeared in the April 
20 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1690.PDF
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HJR 8 by Otto
Died in the Senate

Dedicating excess ESF money to retiring state debt early

	 HJR 8 would have proposed an amendment to 
the Texas Constitution to dedicate funds in excess of 
the Economic Stabilization Fund (ESF) cap to retiring 
state debt early. Under Texas Constitution, Art. 3, sec. 
49-g(g) the ESF, also known as the “rainy day fund,” 
cannot exceed an amount equal to 10 percent of the total 
amount deposited into general revenue the previous 
biennium, minus investment income, interest income, 
and amounts borrowed from special funds. 

	 If approved by voters, HJR 8 would have amended 
the Constitution to require that money withheld from the 
ESF by the comptroller to avoid exceeding the cap be 
deposited in a new general revenue account, from which 
it could have been appropriated only to retire state debt 
early. This would have replaced current law that leaves 
any money exceeding the cap in the general revenue 
fund.

Supporters said 

	 HJR 8 would establish a fiscally responsible use for 
money that exceeded the cap on the ESF. The ESF never 
has been close to reaching its cap so the issue of what to 
do with excess funds generally has not been considered. 

	 Although the Legislature could appropriate 
spillover funds to early debt reduction without HJR 8, 
the amendment is needed to ensure fiscal discipline on 
this issue. Texas should not use money saved during 
good economic times to grow state government or to 
temporarily fund ongoing expenses, and HJR 8 would 
remove the temptation to use excess ESF funds for these 
purposes. Allowing funds that spill over from the ESF 
cap to remain in general revenue could create problems 
if the funds were appropriated for ongoing, general state 
spending because the source of the funds would not be 
dependable from one biennium to the next.

	 Retiring debt early would be the best use of these 
funds because reducing the state’s debt burden increases 
options for spending current revenue and for borrowing 
in the future. According to the Bond Review Board, 

Texas had $44.3 billion in total debt outstanding at 
the end of fiscal 2014, and HJR 8 would apply only 
to retiring that debt early, not to paying regularly 
scheduled debt service. Decreasing debt would improve 
the state’s credit position.

	 The Legislature would retain full control over the 
spending of funds deposited in the new account under 
HJR 8. The Bond Review Board, the Texas Public 
Finance Authority, and other entities could identify debt 
that might be advantageous for the state to retire early, 
but the Legislature would decide when and if debt was 
retired early. 

	 Because HJR 8 would constitutionally dedicate 
funds to early debt retirement, appropriations of the 
funds would not count toward the state’s constitutional 
spending limit, which constrains the use of certain 
tax revenue not dedicated by the Constitution. This 
arrangement would be appropriate because retiring debt 
early is a long-term fiscal strategy that would save the 
state money, and the spending cap is designed to limit 
general purpose spending.

	 HJR 8 would neither reduce the ESF nor divert 
any money currently earmarked for the fund. The 
amendment would apply only to funds above the 
ESF cap that would be slated to remain in the general 
revenue fund under current law. If HJR 8 were approved 
in conjunction with HB 8 by Otto, a significant amount 
of money could be available for early debt reduction 
beginning in fiscal 2018-19 because HB 8 would reduce 
the ESF cap.

Opponents said 

	 By dedicating funds in excess of the ESF cap for 
one purpose, HJR 8 would reduce the flexibility of 
lawmakers to direct state appropriations. Current law 
balances the needs of the state both to save money for 
the future and to meet other spending priorities. Once 
enough money has been saved in the ESF to reach 
the cap, funds should continue to be available for any 
purpose, rather than being reserved for just one. 
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	 HJR 8 would result in funds being locked away for 
early debt retirement, even if it were not advantageous 
to the state to do so. Debt might be unavailable to retire 
early, interest on the debt could be so low that other uses 
of the money might be more beneficial to the state, or 
consistently retiring debt early could factor unfavorably 
into the way lenders structure the state’s debt. 

	 Texas could consider other worthy causes if it 
wanted to dedicate funds in excess of the ESF cap. 
Using excess funds to make contributions to the 
Employees Retirement System, the Teacher Retirement 
System, or the Texas Tomorrow Fund would pay down 
future liabilities of the state. Public education, higher 
education, or taxpayer relief also could be appropriate 
uses for excess ESF funds.

	 The spending limit is designed as a check on state 
spending, and HJR 8 would work counter to this policy 
by constitutionally dedicating funds and removing them 
from the spending limit calculation. The Texas budget 
should be as transparent as possible and should count 
the spending of general revenue that spills over the cap 
toward the spending limit. The proposed amendment 
also would not be in line with responsible budgeting if 
funds made available by retiring debt early were used to 
expand government.

Notes

	 The House also approved HB 8 by Otto, which 
would have prohibited the comptroller from depositing 
federal money received by the state into the general 
revenue fund, thus changing the basis for calculating 
the ESF cap. HB 8 died in the Senate. If it had been 
enacted, the ESF cap would have decreased from an 
estimated $16.7 billion to $11.8 billion in fiscal 2018-
19, according to the bill’s fiscal note. Under the lowered 
cap, a projected $538 million would have exceeded the 
cap in fiscal 2018, making that amount available for 
debt reduction had HJR 8 been approved by the voters.

	 The HRO analyses of HJR 8 and HB 8 appeared in 
the April 7 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HJR0008.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0008.PDF


Page 62 House Research OrganizationPage 62

HJR 111 by Darby
Died in the Senate

Restricting uses of dedicated revenues

	 HJR 111 would have amended the Texas 
Constitution to prohibit the use of revenue, other money, 
and account or fund balances that were dedicated to a 
particular purpose from being used to certify spending 
and to estimate available revenue in the biennial revenue 
estimate.

	 Use of dedicated revenue to certify spending. 
The comptroller would have been prohibited from 
considering any dedicated revenue or money or account 
or fund balances as being available to certify that there 
were available funds for an appropriation for which 
the money was not dedicated. The Legislature would 
have been prohibited from enacting laws making an 
unappropriated balance of dedicated accounts or funds 
available for general government purposes or for 
certifying spending except by repealing a dedication.

	 Use of dedicated revenue for biennial revenue 
estimate. When making the biennial revenue estimate 
before each legislative session, the comptroller could 
not have considered any portion of any dedicated 
revenue, other money, or account or fund balance as 
being available for an appropriation that was not for a 
purpose or entity to which the money was dedicated.

	 Restriction on spending dedicated revenue. 
Dedicated revenue or other money received by the 
state from a particular source or held or deposited in 
an identified account or fund inside or outside of the 
treasury could not have been appropriated or expended 
for any purpose or to any entity other than that to which 
it was dedicated, unless the Legislature repealed the 
dedication.

Supporters said 

	 HJR 111 would increase transparency and 
accountability in the state’s budgeting process. The 
proposed amendment would move Texas closer to 
these principles by ensuring that money collected for 
dedicated purposes was not counted as being available 
for general purpose spending and that funds collected 
by the state were used only for the purposes for which 

they were collected. While reducing reliance on general 
revenue dedicated account fund balances could continue 
without a constitutional amendment, the practice is so 
ingrained that an amendment is necessary to guarantee 
the reductions continue and that the practice is not 
revived.

	 Revenues dedicated for a specific purpose should 
not be counted as available for general purpose 
spending, something the state has been doing since 
1991. This is a smoke-and-mirrors technique that 
artificially increases the amount of general revenue 
available for certification, even though the balances in 
dedicated accounts do not reflect truly available funds. 
The practice distorts the financial picture of the state 
and has resulted in Texas holding large balances in some 
accounts instead of spending the money on the purposes 
for which it was collected.

	 While the Legislature recently began to address 
this issue by reducing the amount of dedicated account 
balances used to certify the budget, HJR 111 would 
ensure that the reductions continue. For fiscal 2014-15, 
about $4.2 billion in dedicated account balances were 
counted as available for certification, a decrease of 
$778 million from the previous biennium, according to 
the Legislative Budget Board. While the fiscal 2016-
17 budget is on track to reduce reliance on dedicated 
account balances to about $3 billion, this is still too 
high.

	 The proposed resolution would support truth in 
budgeting by limiting the process for repurposing 
dedicated funds or accounts. Putting these requirements 
into the Constitution would solidify the state’s 
policy and ensure that any changes to it were done 
transparently and publicly.

Opponents said 

	 While reducing the state’s reliance on using 
dedicated fund balances to certify the budget might be 
a good idea with broad support, using the Constitution 
to prohibit the practice is unnecessary and could be too 
restrictive on state budgeting practices.
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	 Just like other budgeting tools, such as delaying a 
school funding payment until the next fiscal year, using 
dedicated account balances to certify appropriations or 
to make the biennial revenue estimate might sometimes 
be necessary. For example, in a severe economic 
downturn, this practice might be used to help temper 
deep cuts to essential state programs and services or 
tax increases. Constitutionally prohibiting this practice 
could limit lawmakers’ flexibility in crafting state 
budgets.

	 The Legislature is committed to continuing to 
reduce its reliance on using dedicated account balances, 
and a constitutional amendment would not be necessary 
to continue this practice. The amount in dedicated 
revenues used for budget certification was reduced 
significantly from fiscal 2012-13 to fiscal 2014-15 and 
is being reduced again for fiscal 2016-17. It would be 
best to let this process continue without a constitutional 
deadline and a prohibition that would be difficult to lift 
if needed.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HJR 111 appeared in Part One 
of the April 27 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HJR0111.PDF
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SB 9 by Hancock
Died in conference committee

Proposed statutory limit on growth rate of appropriations 

	 SB 9, as passed by the House, would have 
established new proposed limits on certain 
appropriations. 

	 Proposed limit on rate of growth of 
appropriations. The Legislative Budget Board (LBB) 
would have been required to establish a proposed limit 
on the rate of growth of appropriations, other than 
federal funds, for six categories of state spending. The 
limits would have been calculated for: 

•	 transportation; 
•	 public primary and secondary education; 
•	 higher education; 
•	 health care; 
•	 public safety and corrections; and 
•	 other general government.

	 Calculation and application of the proposed 
limits. The proposed limits would have been based on 
the rate of growth of population and inflation related 
to the spending categories. After developing the rates, 
the LBB would have been required to apply them to 
proposed non-federal appropriations. If the rate for 
any category was a negative number, the LBB would 
have had to recommend that appropriations from all 
non-federal sources for that category available for the 
next biennium be the same as the amount in the current 
biennium.

	 If the Legislature exempted an appropriation for 
the next biennium from the proposed spending limits, 
the LBB would have had to exclude the then-current 
or previous appropriations that were similar to the 
exempted one.

	 Budget recommendations. The LBB would have 
been required to include in its budget recommendations 
the proposed limit of appropriations for each spending 
category. By December 1 of even-numbered years the 
LBB would have had to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed method for the calculations and by January 1 
of each odd-numbered year, the LBB would have been 
required to issue a report containing the limits.

Supporters said 

	 SB 9 would establish additional proposed spending 
limits to help in developing the state budget. While 
overall state spending currently is limited by a provision 
in the Constitution, that limit is only one measure 
that should be used to craft the state’s budget. SB 
9 would supplement the current spending limit by 
providing additional information about appropriations 
in individual budget categories using inflation and 
population growth.

	 Under the current constitutional spending cap, 
appropriations not constitutionally dedicated to 
particular purposes cannot increase from one biennium 
to the next beyond the growth rate in statewide personal 
income adopted by the LBB unless the cap is waived 
by a majority vote of both houses of the Legislature. 
However, this cap does not indicate what limits should 
be used for individual budget categories and because of 
how it is calculated, might not set appropriate spending 
limits.

	 The current cap limits only appropriations of state 
tax revenue that is not dedicated by the Constitution, 
leaving a significant portion of the budget not subject 
to the limit. The bill would address this by proposing 
additional caps based on all non-federal spending. 

	 The bill also would apply proposed spending 
limits to six categories of appropriations to be more 
transparent in how the state spends money and to 
establish limits that better reflect the changing needs 
of the state. In some categories, such as those serving 
children and the elderly, the need to fund state services 
may grow faster than in other categories. For some 
categories of spending, such as health care and 
transportation, inflation could be higher than in others.

	 Although the current overall cap is based on income 
growth, it would be helpful for lawmakers to have 
proposed supplemental caps based on other measures. 
The bill would provide this information by basing 
proposed spending caps on population growth and 
inflation for goods and services in specific categories.
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	 The current spending cap works well to set 
parameters on spending and should be supplemented 
by the proposed limits in the bill, but not replaced. For 
example, replacing the current cap with an overall cap 
tied broadly to population plus inflation could rely too 
heavily on the consumer price index. The consumer 
price index uses a basket of goods and services 
purchased by consumers, such as groceries and apparel, 
which does not necessarily reflect the purchases or 
needs of the state.

	 If the information provided by SB 9 proved 
valuable, the next Legislature could consider making 
the proposed limits mandatory. The Legislature 
should understand the interaction of the restrictions 
on spending by seeing examples of the limits before 
making them binding. Making the proposed limits 
mandatory would reduce flexibility in budgeting and 
could make the state less able to respond to changing 
conditions, to meet a need for a service, or to make large 
investments in one area of the budget.

Opponents said 

	 SB 9 should make the spending limits calculated 
under the bill mandatory, rather than proposed. Making 
the limits mandatory would ensure fiscal discipline was 
used in writing the state budget. If mandatory, the limits 
could guide budgeting in each spending category to 
ensure population and inflation specific to each category 
were taken into account.

Other opponents said 

	 Instead of adding additional proposed limits to state 
spending, the current constitutional spending limit based 
on growth in personal income should be replaced by an 
overall measure centering on population and inflation. 
Such a limit would be a more accurate measure of the 
fiscal position of the state and would work better to limit 
spending to an appropriate level.

	 If the Legislature wants to apply a new restriction 
on state spending, it should be done through a 
constitutional amendment, just as the current cap was 
established in 1978.

	 The Legislature should calculate and apply spending 
limits for all spending, including federal funds. This 
would ensure full budget transparency

Notes

	 SB 9 was amended on the House floor to change 
the spending limits calculated under the bill from 
mandatory to proposed limits on each category of 
spending. 

	 As approved by the Senate, SB 9 would have 
limited the growth in “consolidated general revenue” 
appropriations to the estimated growth rate of the 
economy. Consolidated general revenue would have 
been defined as the general revenue fund, dedicated 
accounts in the general revenue fund, and general 
revenue-related funds.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 9 appeared in Part One of 
the May 26 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0009.PDF
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SB 19 by V. Taylor
Died in conference committee

Revising ethics reporting requirements

	 SB 19, as passed by the House, would have created 
new contribution reporting requirements for certain 
politically active persons or groups, expanded and 
required the online posting of information included 
in personal financial statements, established an ethics 
counselor to advise legislators on conflicts of interest, 
and prohibited certain oral recordings in the Capitol.

	 Disclosure of political contributions and 
expenses. The bill would have created political 
contribution report requirements for a person or group 
that:

•	 did not meet the definition of a political 
committee;

•	 accepted contributions in connection with 
campaign activity from a person that in the 
aggregate exceeded $2,000 during a reporting 
period; and

•	 made one or more political expenditures, 
with certain exceptions, that in the aggregate 
exceeded $25,000 during a calendar year.

	 Disclosure of contributions would have been 
required only if the contribution was made in connection 
with campaign activity and the aggregate amount from a 
person exceeded $2,000 during the reporting period. 

	 A report would not have had to include:

•	 contributions not connected with campaign 
activity;

•	 the total amount of un-itemized political 
contributions or expenditures;

•	 the total amount of political contributions 
maintained by the person or groups;

•	 expenditures that were not political 
expenditures; or

•	 the principal amount of outstanding loans.

	 Personal financial statements. The bill would 
have required that the personal financial statements that 
certain state officers are required to file be submitted 
electronically through the Texas Ethics Commission 
website and made available in a searchable format to the 

public soon after it was filed. The commission would 
have been required to redact the home address of a filer 
before posting the statement on its website.

	 An individual filing a personal financial statement 
would have been required to include information about 
certain referral fees, contracts with government entities, 
and government contract consulting services, except 
legal services. Filers would have been required to 
identify interests of more than 5 percent in a corporation 
or other business entity that the individual held, 
acquired, or sold.

	 The bill also would have required filers to identify 
any other source of earned or unearned income not 
reported elsewhere on the form, including federal or 
state governmental disability payments, other public 
benefits, or a pension, individual retirement account, or 
other retirement plan, and the category of the amount 
of income derived from each source. A “public benefit” 
would have included the value of an exemption from 
taxation of the total appraised value of a residence 
homestead. In addition, filers would have been required 
to report certain balances on revolving charge accounts 
carried for 90 or more days. Filers also would have been 
required to affirm they had paid all federal income and 
property taxes owed.

	 Pre-appointment statement of political 
contributions. Before being appointed as an appointed 
officer by the governor, lieutenant governor, or House 
speaker, an individual would have been required to file 
with the Ethics Commission a statement that disclosed 
any political contributions made by the nominee or the 
nominee’s spouse during the two years preceding the 
nomination to:

•	 the appointing officer as a candidate or 
officeholder; or

•	 a specific-purpose political committee for 
supporting the appointing officer, opposing the 
appointing officer’s opponent, or assisting the 
appointed officer as an officeholder.
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	 Conflicts of interest. Lobbyist reporting. The 
bill would have restricted a lobbyist from knowingly 
making a political contribution or expenditure from 
contributions accepted by the person as a candidate or 
officeholder for two years after the person left office. A 
violation would have been a class A misdemeanor (up to 
one year in jail and/or a maximum fine of $4,000). The 
detailed reporting threshold for lobbyists’ expenditures 
on transportation, lodging, food, beverages, or 
entertainment for a member of the legislative or 
executive branch would have been set by the Ethics 
Commission at an amount between $50 and 60 percent 
of legislative per diem. The threshold for reporting 
also would have applied to lobbyist expenditures for 
the immediate family of a member of the legislative or 
executive branch.

	 Governor’s staff. The bill would have limited the 
ability of former members of the governor’s senior 
staff who had ceased employment with the governor 
to communicate with the governor or a member of 
the governor’s senior staff if the former staff member 
received a benefit and intended to influence action. The 
communication would have been banned until the end 
of the governor’s term, or if a staff member ceased work 
during the final 12 months of the governor’s term, until 
the end of that term and any succeeding term.

	 Legislators. Legislators would have been prohibited 
from voting on a measure or bill if the member or the 
member’s spouse would receive a direct and substantial 
pecuniary benefit because of the vote. “Pecuniary 
benefit” would have included the avoidance of a 
pecuniary detriment. A member would not have been 
prohibited from casting a vote if the benefit accrued 
to the member or the member’s spouse as part of a 
profession, occupation, or industry to no greater an 
extent than to the rest of the class.

	 Ethics counselor. The Texas Legislative Council 
would have designated a licensed attorney as an ethics 
counselor, who would have provided oral and written 
opinions on potential conflicts of interest on request of 
a legislator. A legislator who reasonably relied on an 
ethics analysis or opinion would not have been subject 
to a criminal penalty or other sanction for violating 
the prohibition on voting on a measure for which the 
member or member’s spouse would receive a direct and 
substantial pecuniary benefit.

	 Felony conviction. The governor, legislators, or 
state elected officials convicted of a felony would have 
been required to vacate the person’s office on the date a 
felony conviction became final. The bill also would have 
made members of the Legislature or statewide elected 
officials convicted of certain felony crimes ineligible for 
their retirement annuity.

	 Capitol recordings. SB 19 also contained 
provisions on recorded oral communications made in 
the state Capitol building. The bill would have provided 
that a person had a justified expectation that oral 
communication while in the Capitol was not subject to 
interception. A party to a protected oral communication 
would have had a civil cause of action against a person 
who:

•	 intercepted, attempted to intercept, or employed 
another to intercept the communication or used 
or divulged information that the person knew or 
reasonably should have known was obtained by 
interception of the communication; and

•	 did not disclose or falsely disclosed on request 
that the person was intercepting a protected oral 
communication.

	 The bill also would have established when 
communications involving legislators and legislative 
staff about legislative business was confidential and 
subject to legislative privilege.

	 Journalist privilege. Under the bill, the qualified 
testimonial privilege in Civil Practice and Remedies 
Code, ch. 22 for journalists would not have applied to a 
person who:

•	 was required to report a direct campaign 
expenditure under Election Code, sec. 254.261;

•	 controlled a political committee;
•	 served as the campaign treasurer of a candidate 

or political committee; 
•	 made a corporate political expenditure to 

finance the establishment or administration of a 
general purpose committee;

•	 was required to be disclosed on an IRS Form 
990 in one of the above-listed categories; or

•	 was an employee or contractor or acted on 
behalf of anyone described above.
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Supporters said 

	 SB 19 proposes reforms that significantly would 
improve ethics laws and ensure a more responsible 
government for Texans. The governor declared 
legislation on ethics an emergency matter for the 84th 
Legislature. The bill would include provisions to meet 
the governor’s call for strengthening ethics laws related 
to disclosure of state contracts with elected officials, 
prohibiting lawmakers from voting on legislation from 
which they could profit, and increasing disclosure of 
campaign finance information.

	 The bill would close a loophole in existing political 
contribution reporting requirements and ensure that 
all entities spending money to influence elections 
were treated the same. Certain nonprofit 501(c)(4) 
organizations have become increasingly active in Texas 
elections and should be subject to the same reporting 
requirements as other political organizations. Persons 
who were in compliance with campaign finance laws 
should have no reason to stop contributing to 501(c)
(4) organizations because they would be required to 
disclose their political donations.

	 The bill would reduce opportunities for elected 
officials to use their official positions for personal gain 
by requiring more disclosure of referral fees, contractual 
relationships with state and local governments, and 
other sources of income. It would place financial 
statements online in a searchable format, echoing a 
successful practice in other states, while redacting a 
filer’s address.

	 SB 19’s prohibition on secret recording of 
conversations in the Capitol would help address 
concerns that have arisen this session. A person has a 
justified expectation that his or her oral communication 
with others while in the Capitol is not subject to 
recording unless the communication is public testimony 
at a legislative hearing.

Opponents said 

	 SB 19 would go beyond reforming ethics laws to 
infringing on protected constitutional rights to free 
speech and political association. In trying to increase 
transparency of the activities of 501(c)(4) organizations, 
the bill could have a detrimental effect on anonymous 
political speech while implicating the First Amendment 
rights of corporations as associations of individuals. It 

could discourage political giving by requiring reporting 
of certain donations greater than $2,000, which could 
potentially subject donors to being scrutinized or 
harassed based on their political views.

	 The bill also would infringe on the First Amendment 
by prohibiting the recording of certain conversations 
that occur in the Capitol and creating a civil cause of 
action against a person who made or divulged such a 
recording. This could expose citizens to liability for 
trying to find out what their elected representatives are 
doing in the Capitol.

	 Placing detailed personal financial information 
online could allow some who would misuse the 
information to target elected officials or their families.

Other opponents said 

	 The bill would require a “cooling off” period before 
former senior staff members of the governor’s office 
could try to influence legislation but would not require 
the same of former legislators. Texas should join 33 
states that have enacted a cooling off period before 
former legislators are allowed to return to the Capitol as 
lobbyists. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 19 appeared in Part One of 
the May 26 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0019.PDF
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SB 20 by Nelson
Effective September 1, 2015

Management and oversight of state contracts 

	 SB 20 adds new requirements for contracting and 
purchasing by state agencies and institutions of higher 
education. The bill:

• requires governing boards or governing officers
to approve contracts valued at more than $1
million;

• requires agencies to post certain contracting
information on their websites;

• prohibits conflicts of interest between agency
officers and vendors;

• requires a two-year waiting period before
certain state employees may switch jobs
between agencies and vendors; and

• requires the state auditor to focus on Health and
Human Services Commission (HHSC) contracts
exceeding $100 million in annual value.

	 Contracting requirements and oversight. 
Agencies may enter into contracts for the purchase 
of goods or services valued at more than $1 million 
only if approved by the agency’s governing body 
and signed by the presiding officer. For agencies not 
governed by a multi-member governing body, the 
officer who governs the agency must sign the contract. 
The signature requirement does not apply to certain 
highway construction or maintenance contracts awarded 
by the Texas Department of Transportation. The bill also 
requires agencies to develop and implement contract 
reporting requirements for contracts valued at more than 
$1 million. 

	 For contracts valued at more than $5 million, the 
agency contract management office or procurement 
director must verify in writing that the solicitation and 
purchasing methods and contractor selection process 
comply with state law and agency policy and must 
submit to the governing body or governing official 
information on any potential issue that may arise in the 
contracting process.

	 The bill also creates new requirements for agencies 
entering into contracts for information technology (IT) 
products and services awarded under the Department 
of Information Resources (DIR) cooperative contracts 

program. An agency may award a contract valued 
at $50,000 or less directly to a vendor on the DIR 
approved list for purchases, but it must obtain three 
bids for purchases valued at more than $50,000 up to 
$150,000 and six bids for purchases valued at more than 
$150,000 up to $1 million. An agency cannot purchase 
under the cooperative contracts program if the value of 
the contract exceeds $1 million.

	 An agency must consult with DIR before 
developing and initiating a statement of work for certain 
IT services contracts valued at more than $50,000. 
Money may not be paid to a vendor unless DIR signs 
the statement of work, and an agency must post each 
statement of work it enters on its website. 

	 Vendor reporting and reviews. Agencies must post 
on their websites information about contracts, including 
the request for proposals for competitively bid contracts, 
all executed contracts, and the statutory or other 
authority for contracts that were not competitively bid.

	 After a contract is completed, each agency must 
review the vendor’s performance and report the results 
to the comptroller. Open enrollment contracts at HHSC 
and certain contracts of the Employees Retirement 
System of Texas and the Teacher Retirement System of 
Texas are exempt from reporting. The comptroller may 
bar a vendor from participating in state contracts if more 
than two contracts between the vendor and the state 
have been terminated by the state for unsatisfactory 
performance in the preceding three years. Agencies must 
retain records of contracts and solicitation documents 
for seven years after the contract expires. 

	 SB 20 requires the comptroller to consider certain 
items when determining the contracting information that 
state agencies must report, including: 

• a brief summary of each contract that is quickly
and easily searchable;

• contract planning and solicitation documents;
• criteria used to determine the selected vendor;
• criteria used to determine best value, if

applicable;
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•	 any conflict of interest documents; and
•	 criteria for monitoring vendor performance. 

	 The comptroller must establish rules for its vendor 
performance tracking system to rate vendors on an A 
through F scale. State agencies must use the tracking 
system to determine whether to award a contract to a 
reviewed vendor. The system must be accessible to the 
public on the comptroller’s website.

	 Conflicts of interest. The bill requires a two-
year waiting period before a former state officer or 
employee who participated in a procurement or contract 
negotiation involving an entity could work for that 
entity.

	 Agency procurement or contract management 
employees or officials must disclose to their agency 
any potential conflict of interest specified by state law 
or agency policy with respect to any private vendor 
contract or bid. An agency may not enter into a contract 
if there is a financial interest with a private vendor 
by a member of the agency’s governing body, the 
governing official, executive director, general counsel, 
chief procurement officer, or procurement director 
of the agency, or a family member related within the 
second degree by affinity or consanguinity to any of the 
above employees or officials. The bill defines financial 
interest as a situation where the employee or official 
has an ownership interest of at least 1 percent or could 
reasonably foresee that a contract with the vendor could 
result in a financial benefit.

	 Purchasing study. The comptroller, in cooperation 
with the governor’s budget and policy staff, must 
conduct a study examining the feasibility and 
practicality of consolidating state purchasing functions 
into fewer state agencies or one agency. The study must 
be posted on the comptroller’s website by December 31, 
2016. 

	 Higher education contracts. Colleges and 
universities may not enter into contracts valued at 
more than $1 million or amend or renew a contract that 
increases the value to more than $1 million without 
approval from the institution’s board of regents. The 
board must approve any amendment, extension, or 
renewal that exceeds 25 percent of the original contract 
value.

	 An institution’s board must establish a code of 
ethics for officers and employees related to contracting, 
as well as policies for internal investigation of suspected 
fiscal irregularities, a contract management handbook, 
and ethics training.

	 Colleges and universities must establish contract 
review procedures and standards for internal audits 
related to risk management of contracting. The state 
auditor must report noncompliance to the Legislature 
and comptroller. Institutions that fail to comply with a 
remediation plan will have their purchasing authority 
suspended.

	 Higher education institutions also must disclose 
conspicuously the identity of each sponsor of research 
in public communications about the research.

Supporters said 

	 SB 20 would address recent reports of abuse 
in certain state government contracting processes 
by requiring increased management, oversight, and 
reporting of contracts. Over the past few decades, state 
government has shifted from directly delivering services 
to contracting for the delivery of many of those services. 
This shift has resulted in an increasing percentage of the 
state’s budget being spent through contracts, including 
some contracts involving millions of dollars. 

	 Increasing oversight of contracts exceeding $1 
million could help avoid contracting malfeasance. State 
agencies would be required to post contracts on their 
websites, including the authority for no-bid contracts. 
The bill also would establish a publicly available system 
to track vendor performance, including an evaluation by 
the comptroller’s office. 

	 SB 20 contains strong conflict-of-interest 
provisions, including disclosure requirements. An 
agency could not enter into a contract with a private 
vendor in which any of the agency’s leadership or their 
families had a financial interest. In addition, it would 
end the “revolving door” that sometimes occurs between 
agency employees and vendor employees by requiring 
a two-year period before a former agency employee 
who participated in a contract negotiation with a vendor 
could accept employment from that entity.
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Opponents said 

	 SB 20 could curtail the ability of state agencies to 
choose contracting vehicles that best meet their needs 
for specific goods and services. Allowing agencies 
greater latitude in choosing contractors leads to 
increased competition and better value for the state.

	 The requirement that DIR sign off on agency 
IT contracts involving statements of work would be 
cumbersome and could lead to delays in approving and 
administering contracts. The state agency performance 
reviews of vendors should include feedback from 
all individuals involved in the administration and 
supervision of a contracted project.

	 The bill contains an overly broad “revolving 
door” prohibition that could harm the employment 
opportunities of lower-level state agency workers. 
A state agency employee who merely worked for a 
division or agency and who had no role in deciding 
whether a contract was awarded to a vendor should 
not necessarily be barred for two years from future 
employment with that vendor.

Notes

	 SB 20 was laid out in the House on May 13 in lieu 
of its companion bill, HB 3241 by Price. The HRO 
analysis of HB 3241 appeared in Part Two of the May 4 
Daily Floor Report.

	 The 84th Legislature considered other state 
contracting oversight legislation, including HB 15 
by Otto. The bill, which failed to receive Senate 
approval of a conference committee report that was 
approved by the House, would have abolished the 
Contract Advisory Team at the comptroller’s office 
and established a Contract Management and Oversight 
Team at the Legislative Budget Board (LBB). The LBB 
team would have been required to review and make 
recommendations regarding certain high-risk contracts, 
defined as contracts with a value of at least $10 million 
or contracts with a value of less than $10 million that 
met other criteria set out in the bill. The HRO analysis 
of HB 15 appeared in Part One of the April 27 Daily 
Floor Report.

	 The Legislature also revised provisions on conflicts 
of interest reporting in local government contracting. 
HB 23 by S. Davis, effective September 1, 2015, makes 
changes to disclosure statements for local government 
officer conflicts of interest and vendor conflict-of-
interest questionnaires that are filed with the records 
administrator of the local governmental entity. The bill 
extends disclosure requirements to certain employees 
involved in the procurement process and requires 
disclosure of familial relationships between vendors and 
government officers.

	 HB 23 makes changes to the definition of “local 
government officer” to include an agent of a local 
government entity who exercises discretion in the 
planning, recommending, selecting, or contracting 
of a vendor. The bill also adds water districts to the 
definition of local governmental entity. The bill lowers 
the monetary threshold for reporting gifts from a vendor 
from $250 to $100 in aggregate value in the preceding 
12-month period.

	 The bill makes it an offense for a local government 
officer to knowingly fail to file a required conflicts 
disclosure statement by a specified time. A vendor 
commits an offense for knowingly failing to file the 
required questionnaire by a specified time. An offense 
is a class C, class B, or class A misdemeanor, depending 
on the value of the contract.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 23 appeared in Part One 
of the April 27 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB3241.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0015.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0023.PDF
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SB 795 by Perry 
Effective September 1, 2015

Interstate voter registration crosscheck program 

	 SB 795 requires the secretary of state to cooperate 
with other states and jurisdictions to develop systems 
to compare voters, voter history, and voter registration 
lists to identify voters whose addresses have changed. 
The bill specifies that this requirement is to maintain 
the statewide voter registration list and to prevent 
duplication of registration in more than one state or 
jurisdiction. 

	 Any system developed must comply with the 
National Voter Registration Act.

Supporters said 

	 SB 795 would help ensure that the state maintains 
accurate voter rolls by requiring Texas to participate 
in an interstate voter registration crosscheck program. 
Texas does not have a system in place to prevent 
duplicate registration in another state, and this lack of 
oversight can lead to voter fraud if it allows the same 
person to vote in a single election multiple times. 
Participation in an interstate database comparison 
program would help identify duplicate registrations. 
The state could use these data to clean up its voter 
registration lists and prevent voter fraud.

	 The bill would not dictate which interstate database 
crosscheck program should be used to compare voters. 
The Office of the Secretary of State would have the 
flexibility to select a program that would best serve the 
interests of the state, to change programs, or to select 
both programs, as several other states have done.

	 SB 795 would not remove eligible voters from the 
voter rolls. Any interstate database comparison program 
implemented by the secretary of state would serve only 
to identify potential duplicate registrations. The process 
for removing a registered voter from a list of eligible 
voters still would be governed by the National Voter 
Registration Act and state laws related to removal. 
These safeguards would ensure that voters were not 
erroneously removed from the lists.

Opponents said 

	 While it is important for the state to maintain 
accurate voter rolls, SB 795 could disenfranchise 
registered voters in good standing by embarking on a 
program that might remove them in error. Although 
some say the provisions of the National Voter 
Registration Act would protect eligible voters from 
such a mistake, individulas still could be removed 
erroneously. While registered voters could rectify the 
problem by responding to a notice sent to them by the 
state, they might not respond to all mail they receive 
and should not have to go through that process if they 
receive a notice in error.

	 Because no funds would be appropriated to 
implement SB 795, it is likely that the secretary of 
state would choose the Interstate Voter Registration 
Crosscheck (IVRC) program, which is free, over the 
Electronic Registration Information Center (ERIC) 
system, which employs a more rigorous method for 
identifying potential duplicate voters but requires 
the payment of an initial fee and annual dues. While 
participating in the ERIC system would cost the state 
money, it might lead to fewer errors.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 795 appeared in the May 
20 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 65 by McClendon
Died in Senate committee

Authorizing a needle-exchange pilot program 

	 HB 65 would have allowed certain counties and 
hospital districts to authorize a disease control pilot 
program, including a hypodermic needle-exchange 
program, under the guidance of the Health and Human 
Services Commission.

	 A county or hospital district could have authorized 
an organization to establish a pilot program designed to 
prevent the spread of HIV, hepatitis B, hepatitis C, and 
other communicable diseases. The program could have 
included disease control outreach programs that:

•	 provided for the anonymous exchange of 
used hypodermic needles and syringes for an 
equal number of new hypodermic needles and 
syringes; 

•	 offered education on the transmission and 
prevention of communicable diseases; and 

•	 helped participants obtain health care and 
related services, including mental health and 
substance abuse treatment services and blood-
borne disease testing. 

	 The county or hospital district could have 
authorized an organization operating the pilot program 
to register with the county or district and pay a 
reasonable fee to distribute hypodermic needles and 
syringes under the pilot program. The organization 
could have charged a fee to a program participant for 
each needle or syringe used in the program. Distribution 
of the hypodermic needles in the program would have 
been conducted by a licensed wholesale drug or device 
distributor.

	 The bill would have required safe and proper 
storage and disposal of needles and syringes, and 
access to them would have been restricted to authorized 
employees or volunteers of the disease control program. 

	 The bill would have provided exceptions to 
prosecution for certain offenses related to drug 
paraphernalia under the Texas Controlled Substances 
Act for a person involved with the disease control pilot 
program who: 

•	 dispensed or delivered a hypodermic needle 
and syringe for a medical purpose, including a 
needle-exchange program; 

•	 manufactured hypodermic needles and syringes 
for delivery to the program; or 

•	 was an employee, volunteer, authorized agent, 
or participant and used, possessed, or delivered 
a hypodermic needle and syringe as a part of the 
program. 

	 An organization operating the disease control pilot 
program would have been required annually to provide 
to the Department of State Health Services and the 
authorizing county or hospital district information on 
the effectiveness and impact of the program in reducing 
the spread of communicable diseases and injected drug 
use.

	 The organization could have solicited and accepted 
gifts, grants, or donations to fund the program. Statutory 
authorization for the pilot programs would have expired 
September 1, 2025. 

Supporters said

	 HB 65 would allow the creation of a needle-
exchange program for certain counties and hospital 
districts. Needle-exchange programs limit certain 
drug users’ exposure to used syringes, reducing the 
transmission of HIV and other blood-borne diseases. 
Rates of HIV and hepatitis C increase significantly when 
intravenous drug users share needles. Texas has one of 
the highest HIV/AIDS rates in the country, and treating 
HIV/AIDS can be costly. As a result of the state’s 
high rate of uninsured residents, this cost frequently 
falls on county hospitals and taxpayers. Prevention of 
HIV through a needle-exchange program would be 
significantly less expensive and could save the county 
and taxpayers thousands of dollars. 

	 This bill would give certain counties and hospital 
districts an effective way to provide counseling and 
health services to populations that often do not seek 
these services for fear of prosecution. Studies have 
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shown that drug use decreases with the introduction of 
needle-exchange programs into communities. These 
programs offer more than clean needles — participants 
gain access to other mental and physical health care 
services, including substance abuse treatment. While 
there is no guarantee a participant would enter a 
substance abuse program, needle-exchange programs in 
other cities have seen many participants enter treatment 
after the program was established.

 
Opponents said

	 HB 65 could send a message that the Legislature 
condones risky and illegal activity by providing a tool 
for illegal drug use and allowing counties to use local 
tax dollars to enable drug abusers. The state should not 
support or encourage this activity, let alone contribute 
to the supply of equipment involved in substance abuse. 
Instead, the state should focus its efforts on supporting 
programs that help people recover from addiction and 
abstain from drug use altogether. 

	 While needle-exchange programs may include 
services designed to help addicts recover, there is no 
guarantee that drug users actually would take advantage 
of them. An individual might participate only to receive 
a syringe package and not to benefit from any of the 
other services provided by the program. This bill could 
be a vehicle for individuals with substance abuse issues 
to receive a steady supply of drug paraphernalia, further 
enabling their addiction. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 65 appeared in Part One 
of the May 11 Daily Floor Report. 

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0065.PDF
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HB 1514 by Sheffield
Effective September 1, 2015

Qualified health plan designation for insurance ID cards

	 HB 1514 requires a health insurance identification 
card or other similar document issued to an enrollee of 
a qualified health plan purchased through an Affordable 
Care Act exchange to display the initialism “QHP” on 
the card or document in a location of the issuer’s choice. 

	 The bill directs the insurance commissioner to 
monitor federal law governing definitions of terms 
in HB 1514 related to the Affordable Care Act and to 
report to the Legislature if the commissioner determines 
it is in the best interest of the state to adopt an amended 
definition of the terms in the bill. The commissioner 
must consider the effects an amendment might have on 
those receiving medical and health care services in the 
state and on health care providers and physicians.

Supporters said 

	 HB 1514 would provide a consistent, easily 
identifiable way for providers to distinguish which 
patients were covered by a qualified health plan 
(QHP). Including the “QHP” designation would allow 
a provider to educate the patient about the importance 
of paying premiums, especially if the patient was not 
familiar with using health insurance. Simply having 
this designation on a card would not lead to providers 
rejecting patients.
 
	 The bill would allow providers to identify patients 
enrolled in a QHP who might need more information 
about the importance of paying premiums on time to 
ensure that their insurance paid for services provided. 
By allowing providers to identify these patients, HB 
1514 would address a gap in federal law that could 
make providers liable for the cost of services provided 
to a patient who failed to pay a QHP insurance premium 
during a 90-day grace period. If a patient failed to 
pay a past-due premium, the patient’s plan could be 
retroactively canceled, and the provider would have to 
pay back the insurer for any paid claims. The provider 
would pass those costs on to patients, creating a 
financial burden for both providers and patients. 

	 HB 1514 would not open the door to discrimination 
against patients. Insurance cards already include other 
information about the type of plan held by a patient, 
including whether the plan is an HMO or a PPO and the 
name of the plan or insurance carrier. This information 
helps a provider to determine the plan’s benefits, 
whether a referral was needed for service, network 
restrictions, and other information necessary for the 
patient’s visit. 

	 The solution proposed in HB 1514 would be more 
effective than requiring insurance companies to notify 
providers that patients enrolled in QHPs had not paid 
their insurance premiums because it would lower the 
administrative burden for providers.

Opponents said 

	 HB 1514 could open the door to discrimination 
against patients who were insured under a QHP. 
Requiring health insurance identification cards to 
show whether a person purchased their insurance in 
an Affordable Care Act exchange would amount to a 
“scarlet letter” and an invasion of a patient’s privacy 
because buying a plan through an exchange may 
indicate that a patient is low-income and received a 
federal subsidy. 

	 The concern with the premium payment grace period 
applies to a small number of patients who do not pay 
their premiums. Requiring all patients enrolled in a 
qualified health plan to have the “QHP” designation on 
their cards would not provide useful information to a 
health care provider because the grace period issue does 
not apply to patients who did not receive a subsidy. 

	 HB 1514 would target only QHPs for payment 
liability issues, when these issues can exist with any 
health insurance plan. Providers risk being held liable 
for the cost of a provided service whenever a patient 
provides a new insurance card because providers cannot 
identify whether a patient’s insurance plan is active 
simply from looking at the patient’s card.
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Other opponents said 

	 Providers have a valid concern that they may be 
held responsible for the cost of providing a service to 
a patient whose QHP coverage was canceled after the 
date of service. However, this issue should be addressed 
by requiring insurers to inform providers if a patient 
has not paid his or her premiums when providers call to 
verify a patient’s coverage.  

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1514 appeared in Part One 
of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1514.PDF
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HB 2463 by Raymond/SB 208 by Campbell   
Generally effective September 1, 2015

Abolishing DARS and transferring its functions

	 Two bills enacted by the 84th Legislature 
together serve to transfer Department of Assistive and 
Rehabilitative Services (DARS) programs and functions 
to the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
and the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC). HB 
2463 is the Sunset bill for DARS. It abolishes DARS 
as an agency and transfers some of its programs to 
HHSC. SB 208, the Sunset bill for the Texas Workforce 
Commission (TWC), transfers the rest of DARS’ 
programs to TWC. Both bills address specifics of 
the transition and require the creation of a legislative 
oversight committee to facilitate the transfer.	
 
	 Program transitions. On September 1, 2016, 
HB 2463 abolishes DARS and transfers the following 
programs from the department to HHSC: 

•	 children’s autism;
•	 blind children’s vocational discovery and 

development;
•	 blindness education, screening, and treatment;
•	 independent living program for individuals who 

are blind or have visual impairments;
•	 independent living program for individuals with 

significant disabilities;
•	 comprehensive rehabilitation services;
•	 deaf and hard of hearing services;
•	 early childhood intervention; and
•	 disability determination services. 

	 On the same date, SB 208 transfers the following 
programs and institutions from DARS to TWC: 

•	 vocational rehabilitation programs;
•	 independent living services program for older 

individuals who are blind;
•	 the Criss Cole Rehabilitation Center; and
•	 the Business Enterprises Program of Texas.

	 Data and evaluation. HB 2463 requires the 
department to establish guidelines for caseworker 
decisions in all of the department’s direct services 
programs. The department must create a single, 
consistent case review system for direct services 
programs that includes risk assessment tools. It 

must use the case review system to evaluate direct 
services programs and prioritize review of certain 
cases, focusing on areas of highest risk. HB 2463 also 
requires a caseworker’s supervisor to use reviews of a 
caseworker’s cases in performance evaluations. 

	 Independent living services. HB 2463 requires 
all state independent living services that used to be 
performed by the department to now be performed 
by nonprofit centers for independent living (CILs) by 
August 31, 2016. In areas of the state with limited 
services, the bill allows a CIL to subcontract with other 
nonprofits and organizations to provide independent 
living services. The department may contract directly 
with other entities to provide services if a CIL cannot 
subcontract. While services are provided by the CILs, 
the department must provide necessary staff training, 
technical assistance, and funding for CIL services. The 
department also must monitor the performance of CILs, 
including how the centers monitor the performance of 
subcontractors.

	 As part of the consolidation of independent living 
services, HB 2463 requires the department to combine 
into a single program the Independent Living Services 
Program for individuals who are blind or have visual 
impairments and the Independent Living Services 
Program for individuals with significant disabilities. 
HB 2463 also establishes both the Comprehensive 
Rehabilitation Services Program and the Children’s 
Autism Program in statute.

Supporters said 

	 HB 2463 would increase access to independent 
living services for those who need it, reduce 
unnecessary duplication of services, improve case and 
program oversight, and recognize in statute that autism 
services and comprehensive rehabilitation services are 
vital programs. 

	 Transferring provision of all direct independent 
living services from the department to centers for 
independent living (CILs) would increase access to 
independent living services across the state. DARS 
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currently has heavy caseloads and waiting lists for its 
independent living services, which supplement services 
provided by CILs. As a result, the agency struggles to 
provide services statewide. By contrast, CILs have an 
extensive statewide network, have specialized staff, 
and already provide many of the same services as the 
agency, including home visits. 

	 The short transition period in HB 2463 would 
minimize disruption of services to individuals with 
disabilities while providing enough time for CILs to 
expand their array of services, including those services 
previously delivered by the division of blind services at 
DARS.

	 Establishing the department’s role as monitoring the 
funding and performance of the services would ensure 
that services had better oversight and that consumers 
were better able to access services at the local level. 
Savings from the bill would help to expand the current 
array of services offered by CILs to meet the needs 
of all Texans with disabilities. HB 2463 also would 
direct the department to provide technical assistance, 
additional resources, and training to CILs’ staff to 
ensure that CILs offered the same robust services as the 
department.

	 HB 2463 would reduce duplication of services by 
combining two independent living programs into one. 
Many of the services delivered by each program are 
similar and instead could be provided directly by CILs, 
as the bill would stipulate. Furthermore, the bill would 
require department caseworkers to refer people seeking 
independent living services to CILs, which would 
ensure that individuals seeking services could find them. 

	 SB 208 would respond to stakeholder concerns 
that blind services need to be provided within a 
workforce-readiness framework by moving vocational 
rehabilitation services for blind individuals from the 
department to TWC. The bill also would address 
stakeholder concerns about the importance of keeping 
blind services together by transferring independent 
living services for older blind individuals and the Criss 
Cole Rehabilitation Center from the department to the 
Texas Workforce Commission (TWC).

	 Amending the Texas State Plan for Independent 
Living does not require legislative action and is 
therefore not included in HB 2463.

	 HB 2463 would increase case oversight of its 
direct services program to control spending and 
ensure effective delivery of services. By creating 
clear guidelines for case management, the bill would 
help caseworkers make good decisions that lead to 
successful, cost-effective outcomes. Moreover, HB 
2463 would improve the agency’s ability to monitor 
direct services programs by requiring the department to 
analyze performance data and case review data for all of 
the direct services programs.

Opponents said 

	 HB 2463 would reduce access to independent living 
services, unnecessarily split up services for individuals 
who are blind or visually impaired, and make it harder 
for individuals with disabilities to find information 
about services provided by the state. Services for the 
blind and visually impaired should not be combined 
with other independent living services and should 
remain at the department. 

	 Combining the two independent living programs 
and outsourcing them to CILs would not provide the 
same level of exceptional services that are available at 
the department. HB 2463 also would not ensure that 
existing department caseworkers would transfer to the 
CILs. CILs currently do not have the same specialized 
staff as DARS, particularly for individuals who are 
blind or visually impaired. Services for individuals who 
are blind or deaf are very different from services for 
individuals with an intellectual disability and require a 
specialized approach. 

	 Traveling to a new center can be difficult and 
frightening for older people who are blind or visually 
impaired, and HB 2463 would not mandate that CILs 
provide services directly in an individual’s home, as 
DARS currently does. Separating services among the 
department, CILs, and other agencies would make it 
difficult for individuals who are blind, deaf, or have 
both disabilities to learn about and access services at 
each agency. 

	 The Texas State Plan for Independent Living also 
would need to be amended to reflect the transfer of all 
direct independent living services to CILs and the future 
transfer of duties from DARS to other agencies.

	 The savings resulting from these bills would be very 
low compared to how much they would disrupt services 
for individuals who are blind or visually impaired.
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Other opponents said 

	 HB 2463 and SB 208 should move all blind services 
to the same agency if the goal of the Sunset Advisory 
Commission is consolidation. Keeping services 
together would facilitate collaboration, which is key 
to successful service provision. All services for blind 
individuals should transfer entirely to TWC because 
blind services are meant to provide workforce-readiness 
skills. Transferring services to one agency also would 
ensure that families with young children and seniors 
easily could find information about available services.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2463 appeared in Part One 
of the April 8 Daily Floor Report. The analysis of 
SB 208 appeared in Part One of the May 25 Daily Floor 
Report. 

	 Another bill enacted by the 84th Legislature, SB 
200 by Nelson, consolidates functions of health and 
human services agencies and provides for the transfer of 
DARS functions to the HHSC. The HRO major issues 
analysis of SB 200 appears on page 90 of this report.
	

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2463.PDF
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0208.PDF
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HB 2813 by K. King
Effective September 1, 2015

Insurance coverage for ovarian cancer screening

	 HB 2813 requires Texas health insurance plans 
that cover diagnostic medical procedures to include 
coverage for an annual CA 125 blood test for the early 
detection of ovarian cancer. The test is in addition to the 
cervical cancer screening required as part of a woman’s 
annual diagnostic medical examination. The coverage 
is required for applicable health insurance plans that 
cover women 18 and older. The bill exempts certain 
supplemental and limited benefit policies from the 
requirement. 

Supporters said 

	 HB 2813 would make headway in the prevention 
and early detection of ovarian cancer by ensuring that 
certain health insurance plans provided coverage for a 
simple blood test for ovarian cancer as part of annual 
well-woman exams. Ovarian cancer has a high mortality 
rate, largely because the disease has vague symptoms 
that are not unique to ovarian cancer and that patients do 
not recognize until the disease is too advanced. Unlike 
breast or testicular cancer, women cannot detect ovarian 
cancer by self-examination, and doctors usually do not 
offer women a blood test unless they are aware of the 
disease in their family history. 

	 The CA 125 test is inexpensive and could save the 
lives of thousands of women through early detection. 
The increase in costs from requiring coverage of an 
annual ovarian cancer screening would be nominal, 
and it is easier for health insurance plans to administer 
a mandate than an optional benefit, which some have 
suggested be offered instead. Requiring this test would 
be a step in the right direction.

	 The CA 125 blood test can result in a false positive, 
but it would be better to investigate a false positive than 
to miss the opportunity to find out about this serious 
cancer. Pap smears for cervical cancer also can result 
in false positives, but that test still is mandated for all 
women. When the initial test is positive, any subsequent 
testing can be considered diagnostic testing rather than 
screening and is usually covered by major medical 
health plans.

Opponents said 

	 By requiring certain health insurance plans to 
cover ovarian cancer screening in an annual exam, HB 
2813 would add a new, expensive mandate that could 
increase the costs of health insurance for businesses 
and employers and incentivize consumers not to carry 
insurance.  

	 The bill also would not explicitly require health 
insurance plans to cover multiple ovarian cancer blood 
tests in one year, which could be needed to confirm the 
accuracy of the first test. The CA 125 test can be an 
unreliable indicator of whether a woman has ovarian 
cancer. For example, the test can return a high number 
of false positives. If health insurance plans were not 
required to cover subsequent tests to ensure the first 
one’s accuracy, patients could have to pay out of pocket 
for them and a false result could cause patients to 
receive unnecessary aggressive treatment. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2813 appeared in the April 
15 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 3074 by Springer
Effective September 1, 2015

Providing artificially administered nutrition and hydration

	 HB 3074 specifies that existing law requiring 
a patient to be given life-sustaining treatment does 
not authorize the withdrawal or withholding of pain 
management medication, medical procedures necessary 
to provide comfort, or any other health care provided 
to alleviate a patient’s pain. Life-sustaining treatment 
includes artificially administered nutrition and 
hydration.

	 Under existing law, if an attending physician refuses 
to honor a patient’s advance directive or a health care 
or treatment decision made by or on behalf of a patient, 
the physician’s refusal must be reviewed by an ethics 
or medical committee. The patient must receive life-
sustaining treatment during the review, including for 
up to 10 days from the time the patient or surrogate 
received the committee’s written decision that life-
sustaining treatment is not appropriate. The patient also 
must receive life-sustaining treatment pending transfer 
to a facility willing to comply with the directive.

	 Under HB 3074, the 10-day period during which a 
patient must receive life-sustaining treatment begins 
after both the committee’s written decision and the 
patient’s medical record are provided to the patient 
or the patient’s surrogate. The bill requires that after 
the 10-day period the patient receive artificially 
administered nutrition and hydration unless providing it 
would:

•	 hasten the patient’s death;
•	 be medically contraindicated such that the 

provision of the treatment seriously exacerbated 
life-threatening medical problems not 
outweighed by the benefit of the treatment;

•	 result in substantial irremediable physical pain 
not outweighed by the benefit of the provision 
of the treatment;

•	 be medically ineffective in prolonging life; or
•	 be contrary to the patient’s or surrogate’s clearly 

documented desires. 
 
	 HB 3074 allows a patient or the patient’s surrogate 
to ask a district or county court to extend the 10-day 
pending transfer period if the court finds that there is a 

reasonable expectation that a physician or health care 
facility willing to provide the life-sustaining treatment 
may be found if the extension is granted. The patient or 
the patient’s surrogate is entitled to receive a copy of a 
portion of the patient’s medical record as well as a copy 
of the patient’s reasonably available diagnostic results 
and reports.

	 The bill adds new language to the explanatory form 
that a patient must receive under current law when a 
physician does not honor the patient’s advance directive 
or health care or treatment decision. The new language 
specifies that the physician and the ethics committee 
must conclude that providing life-sustaining treatment 
under such circumstances would not be “medically” 
appropriate. Together with the form, HB 3074 requires 
that patients receive a list of licensed physician and 
health care facilities in addition to health care providers 
and referral groups that would consider accepting the 
patient’s transfer.

Supporters said 

	 HB 3074 represents a negotiated compromise 
that requires artificial nutrition and hydration to be 
provided to a patient in the natural process of death. 
It includes clear criteria that would have to be met 
to address situations when providing food and water 
actually could be harmful to the patient. No federal laws 
prohibit withholding of nutrition and hydration when 
medically appropriate, and current law does not provide 
clear criteria for when and how a decision to remove 
artificially administered nutrition and hydration may be 
made. The bill would clarify that nutrition and hydration 
provided to a patient is not actually artificial but, rather, 
“artificially administered.”

	 The bill would further protect patients by ensuring 
that the time period for transfer of a patient from one 
physician or facility to another did not start until the 
patient or surrogate received a copy of the relevant 
portion of the patient’s medical records. 
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	 Medical professionals need discretion when trying 
to heal patients. There are cases when providing food 
and water can exacerbate a patient’s condition and 
hasten his or her death. HB 3074 would specify that 
providing a patient with life-sustaining treatment 
does not authorize withholding or withdrawing pain 
management medication, procedures necessary for the 
patient’s comfort, or any other care provided to alleviate 
a patient’s pain. The bill also carefully defines the 
exceptions to providing nutrition and hydration. Doctors 
have the medical training and expertise to make these 
decisions, and the bill would allow doctors to use their 
discretion in these cases only when necessary.
 
	 HB 3074 is not designed to be an omnibus advance 
directives bill. It would focus specifically on artificially 
provided nutrition and hydration to address stakeholder 
concerns on this particular issue.

Opponents said 

	 By specifying certain circumstances under which 
hospitals could withhold nutrition and hydration from a 
patient, HB 3074 inappropriately would allow a hospital 
to remove food and water from a patient. The bill also 
would allow a physician to make decisions about the 
patient’s care based on what was medically appropriate 
without defining what the term would mean. 

	 One physician’s opinion may differ from another’s, 
and the bill would not provide enough guidance to 
protect a patient’s wishes concerning end-of-life 
decisions.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3074 appeared in Part 
Three of the May 11 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB3074.PDF
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HB 3994 by Morrison
Effective January 1, 2016

Revising judicial bypass for minors seeking an abortion

	 HB 3994 revises the process of judicial bypass 
which is used when used when a pregnant minor who 
is not emancipated wishes to have an abortion without 
notifying one of her parents, her managing conservator, 
or her guardian.
 
	 Identification. The bill requires a physician to use 
due diligence to determine that a woman seeking an 
abortion is not a minor or is an emancipated minor. Due 
diligence includes requesting certain types of proof of 
identity and age listed in the Family Code or a copy of 
a court order removing the disabilities of minority. It 
remains a defense to prosecution for physicians that the 
minor falsely represented the minor’s age or identity to 
the physician by displaying apparently valid documents. 

	 Court decision and appearance in court. The 
bill requires a court to use a standard of clear and 
convincing evidence, rather than a preponderance of 
the evidence, to make determinations on whether the 
minor is mature and sufficiently well informed to make 
the decision to have an abortion without notification 
or consent or whether the notification and attempt to 
obtain consent would not be in the minor’s best interest. 
The bill includes factors for the court to consider when 
making these determinations. The court may consider 
all relevant factors, including considering whether the 
minor is informed about state-published informational 
materials on abortion, and may require the minor to be 
evaluated by a licensed mental health counselor within 
three days. HB 3994 also allows courts to make certain 
inquiries, including the minor’s reasons for seeking an 
abortion.

	 The bill requires the court proceedings to be 
conducted in a manner that protects the confidentiality 
of the minor’s identity, rather than the minor’s 
anonymity.

	 HB 3994 removes a previous requirement that 
the court enter judgment on a minor’s application 
for a judicial bypass immediately after a hearing is 
concluded. The bill extends from two to five business 
days the time a court has to rule on an application 
and issue written findings on a minor’s application. 

If the court fails to rule and issue written findings 
within five business days, the minor’s application is 
considered not approved, replacing previous provisions 
which considered applications granted if not done by 
the two-day deadline. The bill prohibits the use of 
videoconferencing, teleconferencing, or other remote 
electronic means for a minor to appear in court.

	 Medical emergencies. The bill adds requirements 
for notifying an unemancipated minor’s parent, 
managing conservator, or guardian if an abortion is 
performed because of a medical emergency and there 
is insufficient time to provide required notice or to 
obtain consent.  A physician must make a reasonable 
effort, within 24 hours of performing an abortion 
during a medical emergency, to inform, in person or 
by telephone, the parent, managing conservator, or 
guardian of the unemancipated minor. Within 48 hours, 
the physician also must send written notice to the parent, 
managing conservator, or guardian that a medical 
emergency occurred. 

	 The bill uses the definition of “medical emergency” 
in Health and Safety Code, sec. 171.002, which deals 
with abortion. The bill eliminates provisions authorizing 
such an abortion based on a physician’s good faith 
clinical judgment that certain conditions exist. 

	 Filing requirements. A minor’s application for 
a court order authorizing the minor to consent to an 
abortion under judicial bypass must be filed in a county 
court, court having probate jurisdiction, or district 
court, including a family district court, in the minor’s 
county of residence. The ability to file an application in 
a court in any county is eliminated. The bill specifies 
the circumstances under which a minor may file in 
a court in a contiguous county or a court in a county 
where the minor intends to obtain the abortion. These 
circumstances include when the minor’s county of 
residence has a population of less than 10,000, when the 
minor’s parent, managing conservator, or guardian is a 
presiding judge in the county of residence, or when the 
minor is not a Texas resident. A minor must include in 
her application a statement about her current residence, 
including the physical address, mailing address, and 
telephone number. 

Table 
of Contents



House Research Organization Page 85

	 The bill adds requirements for when a minor may 
or may not withdraw an application or initiate a new 
proceeding. HB 3994 requires attorneys retained by 
a minor to fully inform themselves of the minor’s 
prior application history. If an attorney assists the 
minor in the application process in any way, with or 
without payment, the attorney must attest to the truth 
of the minor’s claims regarding the venue and prior 
applications in a sworn statement. 

	 Guardian ad litem. HB 3994 specifies that the 
minor’s court-appointed guardian ad litem must 
represent the best interest of the minor. The bill 
prohibits the guardian ad litem from also serving as the 
minor’s attorney ad litem. 

	 Reporting. HB 3994 requires courts to submit 
reports to the Office of Court Administration with 
information on judicial bypass cases. The Office of 
Court Administration must publish certain aggregated 
report data each year on the cases. The report must 
protect the confidentiality of the identity of all minors 
and judges who are the subject of the report and certain 
information that could identify individual cases. 

	 Appeals. HB 3994 extends the number of business 
days the court of appeals has to rule on an appeal to five 
days from two business days after the date the notice of 
appeal is filed with the court that denied the application. 
The bill removes a previous provision under which 
an appeal was considered to be granted if the court of 
appeals failed to rule on the appeal during the time limit. 

	 Claims of physical or sexual abuse. HB 3994 
expands on the previous duty of physicians to report 
suspected abuse. If a minor claims to have been 
physically or sexually abused or if a physician or 
physician’s agent has reason to believe that a minor has 
been abused, the physician or physician’s agent must 
immediately report the suspected abuse to local law 
enforcement, in addition to DFPS, and still is required to 
refer the minor to DFPS. If a judge or justice, as a result 
of court proceedings, has reason to believe that a minor 
has been or may be physically or sexually abused, the 
judge or justice must immediately report the suspected 
abuse and name of the abuser to DFPS and local law 
enforcement and refer the minor to DFPS.

	 HB 3994 requires the local law enforcement agency 
and DFPS to investigate reports of suspected abuse. The 
local law enforcement agency must respond and write 

a report within 24 hours of being notified of the alleged 
abuse. To protect the health and safety of the minor, 
a law enforcement officer or a DFPS agent may take 
emergency possession of the minor who is the subject 
of a report of physical or sexual abuse without a court 
order. 

	 Penalty. Those who intentionally, knowingly, 
recklessly, or with gross negligence violate the 
provisions of Family Code, ch. 33, which covers minors 
and notice, consent, and judicial bypass, are liable for a 
civil penalty of $2,500 to $10,000. The attorney general 
must enforce chapter 33 and bring an action to collect 
the civil penalty. A civil penalty may not be assessed 
against a minor who has an abortion or attempted 
abortion or a judge or justice hearing a court proceeding 
related to consent for a minor’s abortion. It is not a 
defense to prosecution that the minor gave informed and 
voluntary consent. 

	 Severability. HB 3994 specifies that any provision 
in the bill — and any application of its provisions — 
can be severed from one another. The bill specifies 
that it is the Legislature’s intent and priority that 
the constitutionally valid applications of the bill’s 
provisions be allowed to stand alone if other provisions 
in the bill are found by a court to be invalid.

Supporters said 

	 HB 3994 would improve the protection of a minor 
girl who wished to have an abortion, while ensuring the 
protection of parental rights. The language in the bill 
was developed through consultation with stakeholders 
and represents a balance between interests.

	 Extending the period a court would have to make 
a determination would allow the court enough time to 
make a considered decision about whether a minor was 
mature and sufficiently well informed or whether an 
abortion was in a minor girl’s best interest. The bill also 
would apply a more appropriate standard by requiring 
the minor to provide to the court clear and convincing 
evidence rather than a preponderance of evidence 
when requesting a judicial bypass. The bill would bring 
judicial bypass applications into line with other judicial 
decisions by considering a judicial bypass petition to 
have been denied, not automatically granted, if a judge 
did not rule within a certain number of days.
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	 The due diligence requirement for physicians to 
check a patient’s identity is an important, common-
sense requirement that would ensure that a physician 
did not perform an abortion on a minor girl without 
the appropriate consent from her parent, managing 
conservator, or guardian or from a court order. HB 3994 
would not impose an unreasonable requirement, as the 
bill would allow numerous ways to establish proof of 
identity and age. 

	 The bill would provide guidance to courts and 
protection for minor girls who might be in danger 
because it would give judges lists of things that could be 
considered and asked of the minor, including whether 
parental notification or the attempt to obtain consent 
could lead to physical or sexual abuse. By allowing 
judges to ask more substantial, relevant, and considerate 
questions of the minor, the bill would give courts 
the tools to find the relevant facts before reaching an 
important decision about whether the minor was mature 
and well informed or whether forgoing parental notice 
and consent was not in the best interest of the minor.

	 Limiting the venue for judicial bypasses to the 
minor’s county of residence, a nearby county, or 
the county where the abortion would be performed 
would improve the accountability of judges and 
ensure judges gave appropriate consideration to 
the minors’ applications. The bill would protect a 
minor’s confidentiality by allowing the minor to file 
in a different county under certain circumstances. 
Teleconferencing is used rarely and is not necessary 
when the bill provides other court venue options.

	 The bill would strengthen the definition of when 
an abortion was a “medical emergency” by referring 
to a single, strong definition in Health and Safety 
Code provisions governing abortion, which was added 
by the enactment of HB 2 by Laubenberg during the 
83rd Legislature’s second called session. Using one 
definition would reduce confusion among health care 
providers and patients. The definition is broad enough to 
include conditions that are life-threatening but may not 
cause immediate death. The bill also would strengthen 
parental rights by requiring a physician to notify a 
minor’s parents in the case of a medical emergency that 
necessitated an abortion.

	 The bill would better protect minors by requiring 
judges who had reason to believe a minor had been or 
was being abused to notify DFPS and law enforcement. 

It also would expand the requirement for physicians to 
report potential abuse to include circumstances in which 
a minor claims to have been abused. 

	 HB 3994 would improve the state’s information 
about judicial bypass by requiring courts to report on 
cases to the Office of Court Administration. The bill 
protects the confidentiality of the minors’ and judges’ 
identities in state reports on judicial bypasses.

	 The bill would separate the roles of the attorney ad 
litem and the guardian ad litem to reduce conflict of 
interest and to ensure that the guardian ad litem could 
properly provide an unbiased view of what was in the 
best interest of the minor.

	 The penalties provided by the bill are important 
for its enforcement and are appropriate, and the bill 
specifies that certain actors are exempt from the civil 
penalty.

Opponents said 

	 HB 3994 could put women and minors at risk 
by increasing the time it took to petition a court for 
permission to have an abortion and by requiring 
certain types of identification for all women seeking an 
abortion. Many minors seek judicial bypass because 
they might be at risk or endangered if they were 
required to have parental consent. Making the infrequent 
procedure of judicial bypass harder for minor girls to 
access could cause a minor’s pregnancy to become more 
noticeable following a long wait, which could increase 
the chance of domestic abuse against the minor. The 
language in the current law was worked out through 
compromise with many stakeholders and balances 
protection for a minor with parental rights. It should not 
be changed.

	 The bill’s requirement for courts to make 
determinations for judicial bypass by clear and 
convincing evidence would place an unreasonable and 
unnecessary burden on minors to meet the new standard 
within the time constraints of accessing a safe, legal 
abortion. 

	 Requiring all women to provide identification to 
a physician to prove they were not a minor before 
accessing an abortion would be an unreasonable 
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restriction, as some women do not have the required 
identification because they cannot afford it or because 
they are undocumented.

	 The requirement, in most cases, for minors to file 
bypass petitions only in their own county of residence 
or, under certain circumstances, in a neighboring 
county or the county in which they intended to have the 
abortion could compromise the confidentiality of the 
proceedings, as people working at the court or attending 
to other matters there might know the minor. 

	 Disallowing teleconferencing would remove the 
discretion of well-trained district judges who are careful 
about the welfare of those children who may have an 
abusive family that prevents them from going to court. 
Judges should have discretion to allow a minor to 
appear in court through teleconferencing if the judge 
decides it is necessary.

	 The definition of a “medical emergency” used in 
the bill could provide a disincentive for a physician to 
perform an abortion even if it were medically necessary 
or when forgoing the abortion could be harmful or lead 
to death.

	 The civil penalties established by the bill would 
be too severe and could increase the incentive for 
physicians not to provide legal abortions.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3994 appeared in the May 
13 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB3994.PDF
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SB 97 by Hinojosa 
Effective October 1, 2015

Banning the sale of e-cigarettes to minors

	 SB 97 prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to minors 
and applies certain existing tobacco regulations to the 
devices. The term “e-cigarette” means an electronic 
cigarette or any other device that simulates smoking 
by using a mechanical heating element, battery, or 
electronic circuit to allow users to inhale nicotine 
or other substances. The term does not include a 
prescription medical device unrelated to the cessation of 
smoking.

	 Offenses. The bill makes it a class C misdemeanor 
(maximum fine of $500) for a person, with criminal 
negligence, to sell, give, or cause an e-cigarette to be 
sold or given to someone younger than 18 years old. A 
person also may not sell, give, or cause an e-cigarette to 
be sold or given to someone younger than 27 years old 
without an apparently valid proof of identification.

	 It is an offense punishable by a fine of up to $250 
for individuals younger than 18 years old to: 

•	 possess, purchase, consume, or accept an 
e-cigarette; or 

•	 falsely represent themselves to be 18 years old by 
displaying false proof of age to obtain possession 
of, purchase, or receive an e-cigarette. 

	 Child-resistant cartridges. The bill prohibits a 
person from selling or causing to be sold a container that 
contains liquid with nicotine and that is an accessory for 
an e-cigarette unless: 

•	 the container satisfies federal child-resistant 
effectiveness standards; or 

•	 the container is a prefilled cartridge sealed by the 
manufacturer that is not intended to be opened by a 
consumer.

 
	 E-cigarettes on school property. The bill applies to 
e-cigarettes certain state law that prohibits the use and 
possession of tobacco on school property.

	 Signs. In an extension of current law governing 
information that must be displayed at locations where 
tobacco is sold, a person who sells e-cigarettes must 
post a sign at a retail or vending machine location 

stating that the sale of e-cigarettes to minors is 
prohibited by law. The comptroller on request must 
provide the sign without charge to any person who sells 
e-cigarettes and to distributors. 

	 Direct access to e-cigarettes. A retailer or other 
person may not permit a customer direct access to 
e-cigarettes and may not install or maintain a vending 
machine for e-cigarettes. As under current law 
governing direct access to tobacco products, this does 
not apply to certain businesses that are off limits to 
minors, including cigar stores and package liquor stores. 
Also, a retailer may not redeem or distribute to a person 
younger than 18 years old an e-cigarette coupon, free 
sample, or discount.

	 Delivery sales. SB 97 also regulates the delivery 
sale of e-cigarettes to minors. A person may not mail 
or ship e-cigarettes in connection with a delivery sale 
order unless the person verifies through a commercially 
available database that the prospective purchaser is at 
least 18 years old. 

	 Block grants and inspections. The comptroller 
may make available block grants to counties and 
municipalities for local law enforcement agencies 
to reduce the sale of e-cigarettes to minors. The bill 
requires random, unannounced inspections to be 
conducted at various locations where e-cigarettes are 
sold or distributed, including by delivery sale, to ensure 
compliance with the provisions of the bill. 
 
	 Report. SB 97 requires the Department of State 
Health Services to report to the governor, lieutenant 
governor, and speaker of the House by January 5 of each 
odd-numbered year on the status of e-cigarette use in the 
state.

Supporters said 

	 SB 97 would provide necessary regulation for 
e-cigarettes and ensure controls were in place to prevent 
minors from accessing or buying the devices either at 
brick-and-mortar stores or online. Many minors and 
older individuals who have never smoked traditional 
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cigarettes have used e-cigarettes, which can still contain 
dangerous chemicals, including known carcinogens. 
SB 97 would prevent the lack of regulation in the 
e-cigarette industry from possibly jeopardizing the 
progress the state has made in reducing the risks to 
health from smoking. 

	 The long-term effects of these products are 
unknown, yet many of them contain flavoring, as well 
as nicotine, which can be highly addictive. E-cigarette 
liquid that does not contain nicotine still may include 
ingredients such as propylene glycol, which is safe 
to ingest but not proven safe to inhale. Moreover, 
e-cigarette liquid, including liquid that contains 
nicotine, comes in flavors that are attractive to children 
and could serve as a gateway to traditional cigarettes 
by introducing them to the idea of smoking. Some 
users also load e-cigarette cartridges with other drugs. 
Prohibiting the sale of all e-cigarettes to minors would 
help to alleviate concerns about the potential risks these 
devices pose to the state’s youth.

Opponents said 

	 While the sale of e-cigarettes to minors should 
be prohibited, SB 97 inappropriately would group 
e-cigarette vapor products that do not contain tobacco 
with tobacco products. E-cigarettes do not have the 
same potential for harm as tobacco products, such as the 
dangers posed by exposure to tar or carbon monoxide. 
Furthermore, vapor products are not necessarily a 
gateway to tobacco smoking. Rather, people tend to 
switch from smoking to vaping, not from vaping to 
smoking. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 170 by Alvarado, a 
companion to SB 97, appeared in Part Five of the May 8 
Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0170.pdf
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SB 200 by Nelson  
Effective September 1, 2015

Continuing the Health and Human Services Commission  

	 SB 200 continues the Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC) until September 1, 2027, and 
consolidates aspects of the state’s health and human 
services system by transferring certain functions to 
HHSC from other agencies. It also continues the 
Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) 
and the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) 
with a Sunset date of September 1, 2023. 

	 Consolidation. The bill consolidates functions of 
the state’s health and human services agencies in phases. 
Phase One transfers occur on or after the date the HHSC 
executive commissioner submits a transition plan, due 
March 1, 2016, and not later than September 1, 2016. 
Phase Two transfers occur between September 1, 2016, 
and September 1, 2017. The bill requires administrative 
support services to consolidate and transfer to HHSC 
not later than September 1, 2017. 

	 Phase One. In the first phase of consolidation, the 
bill transfers to HHSC all functions, including any 
remaining administrative support services, of: 

• the Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative
Services (DARS);

• the Health and Human Services Council;
• the Aging and Disability Services Council;
• the Assistive and Rehabilitative Services

Council;
• the Family and Protective Services Council;
• the State Health Services Council; and
• the Texas Council on Autism and Pervasive

Developmental Disorders.

	 SB 200 abolishes these agencies after all their 
functions have transferred to HHSC. 

	 Under Phase One, client services of the health and 
human services system transfer to HHSC, including 
those of the Department of Aging and Disability 
Services (DADS), DFPS, and DSHS. Prevention and 
early intervention services transfer to DFPS, including 
the Nurse-Family Partnership Competitive Grant 
Program. 

	 Phase Two. In the second phase of consolidation, all 
remaining functions of DADS transfer to HHSC, along 
with the regulatory functions of DFPS and DSHS and 
functions related to DSHS’ state-operated institutions. 
The bill abolishes DADS after its functions have 
transferred. 

	 The bill maintains DFPS as a separate agency and 
specifies the functions that will continue at the agency. 
The bill also maintains DSHS as a separate state agency 
with control over its public health functions, including 
health care data collection and maintenance of the Texas 
Health Care Information Collection program.

	 Agency oversight. The bill establishes the Health 
and Human Services Transition Legislative Oversight 
Committee to facilitate the transfer of agency functions 
and administrative support services functions to 
HHSC with minimal negative effect on the delivery 
of services. The HHSC executive commissioner must 
establish an executive-level office to coordinate policy 
and performance efforts across the health and human 
services system by October 1, 2015. The bill establishes 
an HHSC Executive Council to receive public input 
and advise the HHSC executive commissioner on the 
operation of the consolidated agency.

	 Divisions within HHSC. The HHSC executive 
commissioner must establish new divisions within 
HHSC along functional lines, with separate directors. 

	 Internal audit. The bill requires HHSC to operate a 
consolidated internal audit program. 

	 Websites. HHSC must establish a process to ensure 
system websites across the health and human services 
system are developed and maintained according to 
standard criteria for uniformity, efficiency, and technical 
capabilities. 

	 NorthSTAR and behavioral health. SB 200 
removes references in statute to the NorthSTAR 
behavioral health demonstration project. The bill 
requires HHSC to ensure that Medicaid managed care 
organizations fully integrate recipients’ behavioral 
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health services into their primary care coordination and 
specifies that “behavioral health services” do not include 
NorthSTAR.

	 Medicaid. The bill requires HHSC to develop 
and implement a statewide effort to assist Medicaid 
managed care recipients with maintaining their 
eligibility for Medicaid and avoiding lapses in coverage. 
The agency must collect Medicaid quality care data 
and must develop a dashboard by March 1, 2016, to 
compare the performance of Medicaid managed care 
organizations using certain indicators. HHSC must 
create a centralized Internet portal through which 
providers may enroll in the program and may use the 
portal to create a single, consolidated Medicaid provider 
enrollment and credentialing process. 

	 HHSC also must develop a pilot program to increase 
the use and effectiveness of incentive-based provider 
payments by Medicaid managed care organizations. 
When HHSC pursues the renewal of the sec. 1115 
Medicaid waiver from the federal government, it must 
seek to include only projects most critical to improving 
the quality of health care and that are consistent with 
HHSC’s operational plan. 

	 Office of Inspector General. The HHSC executive 
commissioner, after consulting with the Office of 
Inspector General (OIG), must define by rule the 
commission’s and the office’s respective roles in 
and jurisdiction over managed care audits. OIG may 
not conduct criminal history checks for health care 
providers who are confirmed to be licensed and in good 
standing. 

	 Hotlines and call centers. HHSC must conduct an 
inventory and assessment of health and human services 
system hotlines and call centers and periodically 
consolidate them along functional lines. 

	 Ombudsman. The executive commissioner must 
establish the office of the ombudsman with authority 
and responsibility for the state’s health and human 
services system. The office will provide dispute 
resolution services, perform consumer advocacy 
functions, and collect inquiry and complaint data. The 
office of the ombudsman does not have the authority to 
provide a separate process for resolving complaints or 
appeals. 

	 Advisory committees. SB 200 removes certain 
advisory committees from statute, including those 
with Sunset dates, and requires the HHSC executive 
commissioner to re-establish advisory committees 
for major areas of the agency. The bill also requires 
HHSC to create an advisory committee to advise on the 
consolidation of women’s health programs. 

	 HHSC must post an advisory committee meeting 
master calendar online and stream advisory committee 
meetings on the agency’s website.

	 In addition, SB 200 includes provisions that: 

•	 require a Texas-licensed dentist to be the dental 
director for Medicaid;

•	 remove the permanent food stamps 
disqualification for certain drug-related felony 
convictions, with certain exceptions for parole 
violators and repeat offenders;

•	 direct state agencies to conduct a study on the 
transfer of the Austin State Hospital to another 
location; 

•	 require notarized identity verification for 
certified copies of vital records orders and 
mandate fingerprint-based background checks 
for anyone with access to vital records;

•	 require all local registrars to submit an annual 
self-assessment report to the state registrar; and 

•	 instruct HHSC and DSHS to establish strategic 
plans for certain chronic diseases and HPV-
related cancer. 

Supporters said 

	 SB 200 would address problems of accountability, 
inefficiency, and policy inconsistency among the state’s 
health and human services agencies by consolidating 
the agencies under the Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC). The bill would promote 
government efficiency and reform within the HHSC 
system. 

	 Both the Sunset Advisory Commission report and 
the governor’s HHSC Strike Force report concluded 
that the state’s health and human services system is 
not working and needs to be realigned. SB 200 would 
incorporate many of the strike force’s recommendations, 
including taking a more graduated approach to 
reorganization. The bill would help ensure significant 
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legislative oversight through every step of the transition 
to see that the restructuring was working. The aim of 
the bill is less to create a “mega-agency” and more to 
improve services for clients. 

	 The bill also would address stakeholder concerns 
by retaining the Department of State Health Services 
and the Department of Family and Protective Services 
as separate agencies within the HHSC system. Keeping 
these agencies separate but still under the consolidated 
system would ensure that they could continue to 
effectively fulfill their missions of improving Texans’ 
public health and protecting children and seniors. 

	 SB 200’s phase-in plan would provide enough 
time to allow for a thoughtful transition to take place, 
even if HHSC decided to apply for a renewed sec. 1115 
Medicaid waiver. A longer timeline might create more 
problems with implementation and could lead to an 
incomplete or failed consolidation. 

	 Discontinuing NorthSTAR and moving to a new 
model would result in significant savings to the state. 
NorthSTAR represents an outdated model for delivery 
of behavioral health services and prevents the Dallas 
area from taking advantage of new federal funding 
opportunities. The bill would help ensure continuity 
of care for clients as they moved from NorthSTAR to 
behavioral health as part of managed care. 

	 The transition plan process would require the 
Transition Legislative Oversight Committee to consider 
input from appropriate stakeholders and to hold public 
hearings throughout the state to help ensure that input 
from all affected parties was considered. 

	 The bill would require advisory committee meetings 
to be public and streamed online, which would increase 
access to this important venue for detailed policy 
discussions and meaningful stakeholder input. 

	 By consolidating hotlines and requiring HHSC to 
develop criteria for assessing the need for all existing 
hotlines and call centers, the bill would help ensure 
that the agency’s call centers could fully resolve client 
complaints and that constituents had a quick point of 
contact with the agency.

	 The bill also would clarify the role and authority of 
the HHSC ombudsman’s office to resolve complaints 
throughout the system and to collect standard complaint 

information. Consolidating the ombudsman offices at 
HHSC, except for those that are federally required, 
would provide a centralized office through which 
individuals could address their concerns. 

	 In addition, the bill would reduce gaps in Medicaid 
recipients’ eligibility status by requiring the state 
to assist with maintenance of Medicaid eligibility 
statewide and to help ensure continuity of Medicaid 
eligibility for individuals with Social Security income.

Opponents said 

	 SB 200’s reorganization and consolidation of the 
state’s health and human services agencies might not 
be a cure-all for poor coordination or performance. The 
governor’s HHSC Strike Force report found that many 
of the commission’s current problems resulted from 
the execution of the state’s attempt at consolidation in 
2003. The creation of a mega-agency through the bill 
could make it harder for HHSC to attract and retain well 
qualified directors of its newly created divisions.

	 The phase-in plan for the bill would be relatively 
short in duration and might not leave enough time for 
HHSC to manage oversight of Medicaid managed care 
for nursing home residents and those who are dually 
eligible for Medicaid and Medicare, as well as the 
renewal of the sec. 1115 Medicaid waiver. 

	 SB 200 would eliminate a successful behavioral 
health pilot program by dismantling NorthSTAR. This 
change could increase waiting lists for needed mental 
health care and would reduce access to mental health 
providers. Clients in the NorthSTAR program report 
shorter wait times for appointments with mental health 
providers, which represents a cost savings to the state in 
the form of avoided emergency room visits for untreated 
mental health issues. 

	 There is a lack of clarity in the bill about how the 
consolidated health and human services enterprise 
would engage robust and geographically diverse citizen 
and stakeholder input. The creation of a single council 
for issues related to HHSC, the Department of Aging 
and Disability Services, and the Department of Assistive 
and Rehabilitative Services also might dilute the specific 
expertise necessary to guide the combined functions of 
these three agencies. 
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	 Provisions specifying that the ombudsman’s office 
at HHSC would have no authority to provide a separate 
process for resolving complaints or appeals should be 
clarified.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 200 appeared in Part One 
of the May 24 Daily Floor Report.	

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0200.pdf
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SB 202 by Nelson
Effective September 1, 2015

	 SB 202 transfers certain occupational licensing 
programs from the Department of State Health Services 
(DSHS) to the Texas Department of Licensing and 
Regulation (TDLR) and others to the Texas Medical 
Board. 

	 The bill deregulates state licensure, certification, 
and registration for bottled and vended water, contact 
lens dispensers, opticians, personal emergency response 
systems, bedding, indoor air quality in state buildings, 
rendering, and tanning bed facilities effective September 
1, 2015. The bill transfers 13 occupational licensing 
programs from DSHS to TDLR by the end of fiscal 
2019. The bill requires four occupational licensing 
programs to transfer to the Texas Medical Board 
according to the dates specified in a transition plan 
adopted by DSHS and the board. 

	 SB 202 specifies that any independent boards related 
to the transferred licensing programs will become 
advisory boards. Any related advisory committees will 
continue as advisory committees at TDLR. The bill 
specifies that advisory committees will provide advice 
and make recommendations to TDLR.

Supporters said 

	 SB 202 would eliminate unnecessary regulation and 
would reduce the role of the Department of State Health 
Services (DSHS) in occupational licensing, allowing 
the agency to focus on its core function: improving the 
health and well-being of Texans. By moving certain 
programs to the Texas Department of Licensing and 
Regulation or to the Texas Medical Board, the bill 
would maintain necessary licensing and regulation for 
certain professions. SB 202 represents a compromise 
among stakeholders and professionals that would be 
affected by the change in regulation.

	 The bill is narrowly focused on licensing and is not 
a DSHS Sunset bill. Sunset provisions related to DSHS 
as well as other Sunset recommendations for the agency 
would be addressed in other bills pending before the 
Legislature, including SB 200 by Nelson, the Health 

and Human Services Commission Sunset bill. Other 
recommendations, such as developing a public health 
system inventory and conducting a strategic review of 
behavioral health services, are reflected in the proposed 
state budget for fiscal 2016-17.

Opponents said 

	 SB 202 does not contain a Sunset provision for 
DSHS and leaves uncertainty as to whether the 
agency would be continued after its expiration date of 
September 1, 2015. 

Other opponents said

	 SB 202 should include Sunset recommendations 
that require DSHS to develop a public health system 
inventory and to conduct a strategic review of 
behavioral health services. These recommendations 
would provide needed coordination of health services 
across the state.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 202 appeared in Part One 
of the May 24 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 200 by Nelson, the Health and Human 
Services Commission Sunset bill, continues DSHS 
until September 1, 2023, and generally takes effect 
September 1, 2015. The HRO major issues analysis of 
SB 200 appears on page 90 of this report. 

	 Other Sunset recommendations for DSHS are 
included in SB 1507 by Garcia, effective May 28, 
2015; SB 277 by Schwertner, generally effective 
September 1, 2015; SB 1899 by Campbell, effective 
June 19, 2015; and the fiscal 2016-17 general 
appropriations act. SB 1507 includes provisions 
related to the regional allocation of mental health beds 
and integrating behavioral health services. SB 277 
abolishes certain health-related advisory committees and 
makes changes to others. SB 1899 imposes additional 

Transferring occupational licensing programs from DSHS
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requirements on emergency services providers, 
including that they have a permanent physical location 
in order to obtain a license from DSHS. Riders in the 
fiscal 2016-17 state budget include provisions for 
behavioral health services review and development of a 
public health system inventory and action plan. 
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SB 204 by Hinojosa   
Died in conference committee

Considering closure of state-supported living centers

	 SB 204, as reported by the House Committee on 
Human Services, was the Department of Aging and 
Disability Services (DADS) Sunset bill, which died 
in conference committee. The bill would have closed 
the Austin State Supported Living Center (SSLC) and 
would have required that other SSLCs in the state be 
considered for closure. 

	 The House committee substitute of SB 204 would 
have established a restructuring commission whose 
purpose would have been to evaluate each SSLC to 
determine if closure was recommended to maintain 
only the number of centers necessary to meet the 
needs of the state. The commission would have been 
required to submit proposed closures to the Legislature 
for consideration. If an SSLC had been approved for 
closure by the Legislature, it would have been required 
to close on or before August 31, 2025. The bill would 
have required the department to establish a plan for the 
Austin SSLC that provided for a closure date not later 
than August 31, 2017. 

	 SB 204 would have discontinued DADS as an 
independent agency and transferred its functions to the 
Health and Human Services Commission. It also would 
have implemented various other recommendations of 
the Sunset Advisory Commission.

Supporters said 

	 SB 204 appropriately would close the state 
supported living center (SSLC) in Austin while 
authorizing a commission to recommend whether other 
centers should be closed. Maintaining this large system 
of state-run facilities is too expensive. It would be more 
cost effective to place individuals in these centers in 
comparable living situations in the community. 

	 The bill would improve services for those at the 
remaining SSLCs. The shift to a smaller system would 
allow the agency to focus on providing higher quality 
care to people with intellectual and developmental 
disabilities who have the greatest needs. Currently, 
there is no waiting list for the SSLCs, but there is a 

waiting list for community living options for those with 
disabilities. 

	 The bill also would be a step toward aligning Texas’ 
practices with those of other states. Most states operate 
with three institutions on average, and large states 
operate about seven. Texas currently has 13 SSLCs. 

	 SB 204 would not lead to the closure of every 
SSLC. Certain centers would remain open to serve 
those who truly cannot function within the community. 
It would create an SSLC restructuring commission to 
make recommendations to the Legislature, but decisions 
on closures would be made by elected officials.

Opponents said 

	 SB 204 inappropriately would remove certain 
residents from SSLCs, some of whom simply could 
not survive outside of these centers. SSLCs are the 
only publicly funded, comprehensive medical and 
psychological care facilities for some of the most 
vulnerable Texans, and these centers have served the 
severely disabled well for decades. 

	 The bill would cause the closure of the Austin 
SSLC, which would involve moving many Austin 
residents away from their families to other SSLCs, 
making family visitation difficult for some. This closure 
also would remove some individuals from a home they 
have known most of their lives.  	

	 Furthermore, the bill should not involve formation 
of an SSLC restructuring commission. Closure 
proposals and decisions should be made by elected 
legislators, not appointed citizen commissions.  

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 204 appeared in Part One 
of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.
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	 The House adopted a number of amendments to 
the bill during floor debate, including one that removed 
the bill’s provisions closing the Austin SSLC and 
establishing an SSLC restructuring commission.

	 SB 200 by Nelson, the Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC) Sunset bill, which took effect 
September 1, 2015, transfers the functions of DADS to 
the HHSC through a two-phase process that concludes 
with the abolition of the department no later than 
September 1, 2017. The HRO major issues analysis of 
SB 200 appears on page 90 of this report. 	
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SB 206 by Schwertner 
Effective September 1, 2015

Continuing Dept of Family and Protective Services

	 SB 206 continues the Department of Family and 
Protective Services (DFPS) until September 1, 2027. It 
changes certain notification  and reporting requirements 
for the department, the type of information shared with 
prospective adoptive parents, department planning 
requirements, and the child care licensing program 
administered by DFPS.

	 Notifications. SB 206 amends the notification 
procedures for parents and others concerned with the 
care of a child in the managing conservatorship of 
DFPS. The department must:

•	 make a reasonable effort to notify the child’s 
parent within 24 hours if there is a significant 
change in the medical condition of the child, if 
the child is enrolled or participating in a drug 
research program, or if the child receives an 
initial prescription of psychotropic medication;

•	 notify the child’s parent and other concerned 
parties at least 48 hours before a change to the 
child’s residential child-care facility; and

•	 notify the child’s parent and other concerned 
parties as soon as possible but not later than 10 
days after the department becomes aware of 
other significant events affecting the child, as 
specified in the bill.

	 Information for prospective adoptive parents. 
SB 206 provides for changes to the type of information 
shared with prospective adoptive parents and the 
manner in which the information may be shared. It 
allows the department to modify the form and contents 
of the health, social, educational, and genetic history 
report for a child based on factors specified by the bill. 
In addition, it authorizes DFPS to allow prospective 
adoptive parents, after reviewing the health, social, 
educational, and genetic history report for a child and 
indicating they want to proceed with the adoption, to 
examine the records and other information relating to 
the history of the child. The department must provide 
a child’s case record upon the request of prospective 
adoptive parents who have reviewed the history report 
and indicated a desire to proceed with the adoption.

	 The bill requires DFPS to conduct a study on 
whether authorization agreements should be expanded 
to include agreements between a parent of a child and 
a person unrelated to the child. Under current law, 
authorization agreements, which can allow another adult 
to make medical, educational, and other decisions for a 
child, must be with a grandparent, an adult sibling, an 
adult aunt or uncle, or a person with whom the child is 
placed under a parental child safety agreement. 

	 Reporting requirements. SB 206 specifies certain 
reporting requirements for the department. It requires an 
annual report of statistics by county on key performance 
measures for child protection. The report must be 
provided to the Legislature and made electronically 
available to the public. It must include certain 
information, such as the number of child abuse and 
neglect reports, the number of child deaths from abuse 
and neglect in the state, and the number of children 
in managing state conservatorship at the time of their 
death. The report also must include statistics related to 
pregnant and parenting children in foster care, as well 
as children who go missing or are victims of trafficking 
while in care. To the extent feasible, the department 
must report information about the funding for child 
abuse and neglect prevention services by county and 
the rate of child abuse and neglect per 1,000 children by 
county.

	 The department must annually seek and evaluate 
public input on the usefulness of reporting requirements 
and any proposed changes.

	 Planning requirements. SB 206 requires DFPS to 
address its planning in three major areas.

	 Child protective services plan. DFPS must 
develop and implement an annual business plan for 
the child protective services program. The plan must 
include long-term and short-term performance goals, 
identification of priority projects, a statement of staff 
expectations that identifies responsible persons or 
teams, expected tasks and deliverables, resources 
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needed, a time frame for the completion of each project, 
and expected outcomes. Each year by October 1, the 
department must submit the annual business plan to the 
governor, lieutenant governor, speaker of the House, and 
chairs of relevant House and Senate committees. 

	 Prevention and early intervention services plan. 
The bill requires that DFPS develop and implement 
a five-year strategic plan for its prevention and early 
intervention services program and issue a new plan 
by September 1 of the last fiscal year in each five-year 
period. The plan must identify methods to leverage 
other sources of funding or provide support for existing 
community-based prevention efforts and include a needs 
assessment that identifies programs to best target the 
needs of the highest-risk populations and geographic 
areas. It also must identify the goals and priorities for 
the department’s overall prevention efforts, methods 
to collaborate with other state agencies on prevention 
efforts, and specific strategies to implement the plan 
and to develop measures for reporting on the overall 
progress toward the plan’s goals. DFPS must update the 
plan annually and post it on the department’s website.

	 Foster care redesign plan. DFPS must develop and 
maintain a plan for implementing its foster care redesign 
initiative. The plan must include:

•	 a description of the department’s expectations, 
goals, and approach to implementing foster care 
redesign;

•	 a timeline for implementing foster care redesign 
throughout the state, any limitations related to 
the implementation, and a contingency plan 
to provide continuity of foster care service 
delivery if a contract with a single source 
continuum contractor ends prematurely;

•	 delineation and definition of case management 
roles and responsibilities of the department and 
its contractors, as well as duties, employees, and 
related funding that will be transferred to the 
contractor by the department;

•	 identification of training needs and plans;
•	 a plan for evaluating costs and tasks associated 

with each contract procurement, including 
initial and ongoing contract costs for the 
department and contractor;

•	 the department’s contract monitoring approach 
and a plan for evaluating the performance of 
each contractor and the foster care redesign 

system as a whole, including an independent 
evaluation of processes and outcomes; and

•	 a report on transition issues resulting from 
implementation of the foster care redesign.

	 DFPS must update the implementation plan and 
post the updated plan on its website annually.

	 Child care licensing. SB 206 directs the executive 
commissioner of HHSC to develop, adopt, and 
publicize an enforcement policy for regulation of 
child care facilities. The policy must include a method 
for determining appropriate disciplinary action for 
child care licensing violations. The bill also removes 
from statute specific fee amounts associated with 
child care licensing and requires the HHSC executive 
commissioner to set fees by rule. It also provides for 
the adoption of rules regarding a certification and 
registration renewal process.

	 Other provisions. SB 206 also makes various 
changes to the Education Code, including revisons that 
allow children to attend a certain school regardless of 
certain other changes in the child’s conservatorship 
status and that permit a child in foster care to be home-
schooled, with certain exceptions. Other provisions 
relate to permanency hearing procedures and home 
studies for child placement and adoption.

Supporters said 

	 SB 206 would make essential changes to the 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS) to protect the safety and well-being of 
children while also considering needs of the agency 
and the rights of parents. In its recent reports, the 
Sunset Advisory Commission characterized DFPS 
as an agency frequently responding to crisis and 
highlighted a high turnover rate among child protective 
services caseworkers as a key issue needing to be 
addressed. Stakeholders have worked extensively on 
SB 206 to ensure that it reflects the relevant Sunset 
recommendations. In addition, an operational review, 
input from DFPS, and the recommendations of a 
workgroup also were considered in formulating the bill. 

	 As one example of the type of balance achieved 
by the bill, SB 206 would allow DFPS to retain some 
discretion about which information to release to 
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prospective adoptive parents, including the ability to 
modify the form they are required to use. At the same 
time, the bill would require the agency to provide the 
child’s case record if prospective adoptive parents 
requested it after indicating a desire to proceed with the 
adoption and receiving other information.

Opponents said 

	 While SB 206 reflects effort and progress in 
improving the quality of services for children in 
foster care or who are otherwise affected by the work 
of DFPS, some specific issues important to certain 
stakeholders would not be addressed.

	 For instance, under the bill, DFPS would have too 
much discretion about which information to release to 
prospective adoptive parents. This could be a problem 
for prospective adoptive parents who need access to 
timely and complete information concerning the child 
they are considering adopting. Certain information 
about the child’s medical or behavioral history might be 
critical in their decision to go forward with an adoption, 
and withholding such information until late in the 
process could cause disruption or even a reversal of the 
process.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 206 appeared in Part One 
of the May 26  Daily Floor Report. 

	 SB 200 by Nelson, effective September 1, 2015, 
consolidates functions of health and human services 
agencies and provides for the continuation of DFPS 
until 2023. The HRO major issues analysis of SB 200 
appears on page 90 of this report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0206.PDF
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SB 207 by Hinojosa
Effective September 1, 2015

HHSC inspector general Sunset recommendations

	 SB 207 is the Sunset bill for the Office of Inspector 
General (OIG) under the Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC). The office is charged with 
preventing, detecting, and investigating fraud, waste, 
and abuse throughout the state’s health and human 
services system. Under the bill, OIG must undergo 
a special-purpose Sunset review during the 2020-21 
review cycle but will not be abolished. 

	 Coordination with HHSC. SB 207 requires OIG 
to coordinate closely with staff of health and human 
services programs in preventing fraud, waste, and abuse 
and enforcing state law related to certain programs. 
The HHSC executive commissioner must work in 
consultation with the OIG regarding the adoption of 
rules necessary to implement a power or duty related to 
OIG operations.  

	 HHSC’s internal audit division must regularly audit 
the OIG and include OIG in its risk assessments. OIG 
is required to conduct its investigations independently 
from HHSC but must coordinate with HHSC programs 
to ensure that OIG staff thoroughly understand the 
state’s health and human services system. The HHSC 
executive commissioner is responsible for performing 
all administrative support services necessary to operate 
the office. 

	 Definition of fraud. The bill changes the definition 
of “fraud” in statute to specify that the term does 
not include unintentional technical, clerical, or 
administrative errors.

	 Investigations. OIG must complete a preliminary 
investigation of a health care provider for Medicaid 
fraud and abuse within 45 days of receiving a complaint 
or of having reason to believe that the fraud or abuse 
occurred. Full investigations must be completed within 
180 days. If OIG determines that more than 180 days is 
needed to complete an investigation, it must notify the 
provider who is the subject of the investigation.

	 The HHSC executive commissioner must adopt 
rules for opening and prioritizing cases and must work 
with OIG to adopt rules for the office’s investigation 
procedures and for enforcement and punitive actions. 

OIG must review its investigative process, including 
its use of sampling and extrapolation to audit provider 
records. Based on the review and practices of other 
offices of inspector general, OIG and the HHSC 
executive commissioner must by rule adopt sampling 
and extrapolation standards. 

	 Payment holds. The bill specifies that a payment 
hold is a serious enforcement tool that the office 
imposes to mitigate ongoing financial risk to the state. 
The OIG must notify a provider affected by a payment 
hold within five days of imposing the hold. The bill also 
specifies the circumstances under which the OIG may or 
may not impose a payment hold. 

	 Administrative hearings. If a provider wishes to 
contest a payment hold, SB 207 requires a provider to 
request an expedited administrative hearing within 10 
days of receiving notice of a payment hold from OIG. 
The State Office of Administrative Hearings must hold 
the expedited hearing within 45 days of receiving the 
request. 

	 During the expedited hearing, OIG must show 
probable cause that the credible allegation of fraud 
related to the payment hold has indications of reliability 
and that continuing to pay the provider poses an ongoing 
financial risk to the state and a threat to the integrity of 
the Medicaid program. The bill also establishes other 
requirements for administrative hearings, including 
making OIG responsible for the costs of the hearing.  

	 Informal resolution. SB 207 allows OIG to decide 
whether to grant a provider’s request for an informal 
resolution meeting. The bill specifies that informal 
resolution meetings are confidential and provides other 
requirements for the informal resolution process.

	 Medicaid and managed care. OIG must decide 
within 10 days after receiving an application whether 
a health care professional may participate in Medicaid. 
The bill also requires OIG, in consultation with HHSC, 
to investigate fraud, waste, and abuse by managed care 
organizations and to establish requirements for training 
of special investigative units.
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Supporters said 

	 SB 207 would help address management and due 
process concerns found during the Sunset review of the 
Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC). The 
bill also would provide needed structure, guidelines, and 
performance measures for the investigative processes 
of the Office of Inspector General (OIG) to reduce 
overzealous investigation of Medicaid providers and to 
help ensure consistent and fair results. 

	 Given the lack of data to fully evaluate OIG’s 
performance, especially related to investigations, the bill 
would require the office to undergo special review by 
the Sunset Advisory Commission in six years. Within 
that period, OIG should have a case management system 
and the ability to track data to better illustrate its overall 
performance.

	 Under the bill, the governor would continue 
to appoint the inspector general, maintaining an 
arm’s length relationship with the HHSC executive 
commissioner that would promote accountability and 
independence in the inspector general position while 
still allowing HHSC to have input in rulemaking at 
OIG. The HHSC executive commissioner would be 
responsible for performing all administrative support 
services necessary to operate the office, which would 
help hold the executive commissioner accountable for 
OIG’s performance. 

	 By specifying that the definition of “fraud” 
does not include unintentional technical, clerical, 
or administrative errors, the bill would focus OIG’s 
investigations on those actually committing fraud and 
would help prevent resources from being wasted on 
providers who commit clerical errors. 

	 The bill would streamline the payment hold process 
to more quickly mitigate state financial risks and reduce 
any undue burden on providers. It also would clarify 
the intended serious nature of payment holds and 
would specify that payment holds should be reserved 
for significant events, such as in cases of fraud and to 
compel the production of records. 

	 Making informal resolution meetings before a 
payment hold hearing an option rather than a statutory 
right would help make the hearing process more 
efficient. A provider still would have a right to two 
informal resolution meetings before a hearing.

Opponents said 

	 SB 207 could do more to foster accountability of the 
OIG. The bill also inappropriately would change certain 
aspects of current law. 

	 Given the important work done by OIG and concerns 
uncovered in the Sunset review, it would be more 
appropriate for OIG to undergo special review in three 
years rather than six. This would permit enough time for 
changes to be made without allowing any problems to 
get out of hand.

	 Current law requiring the governor to appoint the 
inspector general fosters confusion about whether the 
inspector general answers to the governor or the HHSC 
executive commissioner. There are problems with this 
structure and its lack of clear accountability. 

	 The Medicaid program has had significant problems 
in the past with providers who actually were committing 
fraud, waste, or abuse and endangering the health of 
children. Limiting the definition of fraud might impair 
OIG’s ability to investigate providers and find those 
who had legitimately committed fraud. 

	 The timeline proposed in the bill for how soon a 
provider would have to respond to notice of a payment 
hold to request an expedited administrative hearing 
is too short. Providers need more than 10 days to get 
billing sheets from the billing company in order to 
respond. 

	 SB 207 should not allow OIG to determine whether 
a provider should be granted an informal resolution 
meeting and should not remove timelines that were just 
recently added to code. These changes would make the 
informal resolution process less transparent and slower.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 207 appeared in Part One 
of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0207.pdf
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SB 304 by Schwertner
Generally effective June 19, 2015

Revoking nursing home licenses for certain violations

	 SB 304 requires the executive commissioner of 
the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
to revoke the license of a convalescent or nursing home 
or related institution if the Department of Aging and 
Disability Services (DADS) determines that:

•	 the license holder has committed three 
violations that represented an immediate threat 
to health and safety related to the abuse or 
neglect of a resident within a 24-month period; 
and

•	 each violation was reported in connection with 
a separate survey, inspection, or investigation 
visit that occurred on separate entrance and exit 
dates.

	 An “immediate threat to health and safety” is 
defined as a situation in which immediate corrective 
action is necessary because a facility’s noncompliance 
with one or more requirements has caused or is likely 
to cause serious injury, harm, impairment, or death to a 
resident.

	 However, the executive commissioner may not 
revoke a facility’s license if:

•	 the violation and determination of immediate 
threat to health and safety are not included on 
the written list of violations left with the facility 
at the initial exit conference for a survey, 
inspection, or investigation;

•	 the violation is not included on the final 
statement of violations; or

•	 the violation has been reviewed under an 
informal dispute resolution process and a 
determination was made that the violation 
should be removed from the license holder’s 
record or that the violation is reduced in 
severity so that it no longer is considered an 
immediate threat to health and safety.

	 If a license is revoked, the department may request 
the appointment of a trustee to operate the institution, 
assist with obtaining a new operator for the institution, 
or assist with the relocation of residents to another 
institution.

	 The executive commissioner may choose to stop or 
“stay” a license revocation if it is determined that this 
decision will not jeopardize the health and safety of 
residents or place them at risk of abuse or neglect. 

	 Other provisions address monitoring visits, rapid 
response team visits, and an informal dispute resolution 
process. For example, under the dispute resolution 
process, the bill requires HHSC to contract with 
an appropriate disinterested nonprofit organization 
to adjudicate disputes between a facility and the 
department concerning statements of violations that are 
prepared by the department in connection with a survey.

Supporters said

	 SB 304 would implement a “three-strikes” policy to 
address concerns that relatively few sanctions are issued 
for serious and repeated nursing home violations.
When the Department of Aging and Disability Services 
(DADS) underwent Sunset review during the 2014-15 
review cycle, the Sunset Advisory Commission found 
that few long-term care providers faced enforcement 
action for violations. SB 304 would help protect 
vulnerable Texans from potential abuse or neglect by 
creating a strong state response to facilities with serious, 
repeated health and safety violations that would include 
revoking their licenses to operate, if warranted. 

	 At the same time, the bill would be fair to facilities 
because it generally would allow them an opportunity 
to fix problems identified by the state before facing 
license revocation. SB 304 also would ensure that the 
executive commissioner of the Health and Human 
Services Commission retained some discretion to stay a 
license revocation when doing so would not jeopardize 
the health or safety of residents. The informal dispute 
resolution provision, including a component to ensure 
the independence of the adjudicator, would provide a 
way for facilities to dispute unfair claims of violations. 
These and other provisions of the bill would help ensure 
that only bad actors were affected and would place 
reasonable parameters around the revocation process.
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	 SB 304 also would help facilities that want to 
improve. Provisions in the bill would strengthen the 
department’s quality monitoring program, which could 
improve quality of care through means other than 
enforcement action. 

Opponents said 

	 While intending to help nursing home residents, SB 
304 could lead to the closure of nursing homes or other 
long-term care facilities, which would be difficult for 
many residents and their families. Rather than shutting 
down facilities, the state’s goal should be to improve 
quality and maintain access to care. This course of 
action could be particularly problematic in rural parts of 
the state that do not have many nursing homes or other 
long-term care facilities. In some areas, these facilities 
are important employers. Shutting down a facility could 
punish residents, family members, and staff, when most 
of them have done no wrong.

	 Evaluation teams that conduct surveys of nursing 
homes and other long-term care facilities are not always 
consistent in applying standards. In particular, violations 
of “immediate jeopardy to health and safety” can be 
subjective. Survey team members may not always 
have appropriate clinical knowledge and experience to 
properly evaluate a nursing home. The bill would not 
necessarily ensure that standards were applied fairly and 
consistently, even though a facility’s license could be at 
stake.

	 The state already has the ability to revoke a license 
if warranted. SB 304 could push more facilities in that 
direction, rather than helping them improve. Instead of 
implementing additional punitive measures, the state 
should provide more funding to help struggling facilities 
restricted by low Medicaid reimbursement rates to 
attract and retain high-quality staff.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 304 appeared in Part One 
of the May 22 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0304.pdf
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SB 339 by Eltife
Effective June 1, 2015

Low-THC cannabis for medical use by epilepsy patients 

	 SB 339 creates the Texas Compassionate Use 
Act, which requires the Department of Public Safety 
(DPS) to license organizations that dispense low-THC 
cannabis to certain patients with intractable epilepsy. 
The bill also requires DPS to establish and maintain a 
secure, online compassionate-use registry, which must 
contain information about the prescribing physician, the 
dosage of low-THC cannabis that was prescribed, and 
patient information. The registry is accessible to law 
enforcement agencies and dispensing organizations. 

	 The bill defines “low-THC cannabis” to mean the 
plant Cannabis sativa L. and any part of that plant or 
any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, 
preparation, resin, or oil of that plant that contained 
up to 0.5 percent by weight of tetrahydrocannabinols 
(THC) and at least 10 percent by weight of cannabidiol. 

	 Prescribing physicians. The bill sets requirements 
and conditions under which physicians may prescribe 
low-THC cannabis for the treatment of epilepsy, 
including that the drug be administered by means other 
than smoking. It also requires that patients prescribed 
the drug be permanent Texas residents. 

	 Dispensing organizations. The bill requires an 
organization that cultivates, processes, or dispenses 
low-THC cannabis to have a license and sets eligibility 
requirements for obtaining the license. A license is valid 
for two years from the date of issue or renewal. 

	 DPS may issue or renew a license to operate a 
dispensing organization if the organization meets certain 
requirements and if issuing the license is necessary to 
ensure reasonable statewide access to and availability 
of low-THC cannabis for patients in the compassionate-
use registry. A dispensing organization may not transfer 
its license to another person before the prospective 
applicant and the applicant’s directors, managers, and 
employees provide fingerprints and pass a background 
check. A dispensing organization is required to verify 
the validity of a person’s prescription before dispensing 
low-THC cannabis.

	 DPS may suspend or revoke a license if the 
licensee does not maintain eligibility requirements or 
fails to comply with duties imposed by the act. After 
suspending or revoking a license, the director of DPS 
may seize or place under seal all low-THC cannabis 
and drug paraphernalia owned or possessed by the 
dispensing organization. The seized items may not 
be disposed of until the time for an organization to 
administratively appeal the order has elapsed or until all 
appeals have ended. When a revocation order becomes 
final, all low-THC cannabis and drug paraphernalia may 
be forfeited to the state.

	 Exceptions to current laws. The bill prohibits a 
municipality, county, or other political subdivision from 
enacting, adopting, or enforcing any type of regulation 
that would prohibit the cultivation, production, 
dispensing, or possession of low-THC cannabis, as 
authorized by SB 339. The bill exempts a person who 
engaged in the acquisition, possession, production, 
cultivation, delivery, or disposal of a raw material used 
in or by-product created by the production or cultivation 
of low-THC cannabis from certain marijuana offenses if 
the person: 

•	 is a patient or the legal guardian of a patient 
for whom low-THC cannabis is prescribed 
and the person has a valid prescription from a 
dispensing organization; or 

•	 is a director, manager, or employee of a 
dispensing organization and the person solely 
acquired, possessed, produced, cultivated, 
dispensed, or disposed of low-THC cannabis, 
raw materials, or related drug paraphernalia 
as part of the person’s regular duties at the 
organization. 

	 The bill also exempts a dispensing organization 
that possesses low-THC cannabis and is licensed 
under the provisions of SB 339 from registering with 
DPS under the Texas Controlled Substances Act. The 
Texas Pharmacy Act does not apply to dispensing 
organizations.
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Supporters said

	 SB 339 would provide an effective, compassionate-
use option for people with intractable epilepsy, 
including children, for whom other treatments
have not controlled their seizures. It is not a recreational 
marijuana or broad medical marijuana bill; SB 339 is 
narrowly drafted to give people with epilepsy another 
tool where others have failed. 

	 The bill would apply only to low-THC cannabis, a 
form that has a low propensity for abuse and no street 
value on the black market. The bill limits THC in the 
treatment to 0.5 percent, which is not enough to produce 
a euphoric effect. SB 339 also would help prevent drug 
abuse because low-THC cannabis for medical use could 
not be smoked and users would be registered in a state 
registry. 

	 Only patients who are Texas residents with 
intractable epilepsy could receive a prescription for low-
THC cannabis under SB 339. The bill includes sufficient 
regulation of physicians to protect patients. Dispensers 
also would have to be registered and licensed through 
DPS, which could seize the treatment and drug 
paraphernalia if a dispensing organization’s license were 
revoked.

	 Drugs approved by the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) that are currently prescribed for 
epilepsy in children are stronger than low-THC cannabis 
and can have more severe side effects, such as risk of 
liver failure, kidney stones, or pneumonia. Patients 
who have used low-THC cannabis report nothing more 
serious than sleepiness among its side effects. Low-THC 
cannabis allowed under the bill could be used to treat 
certain syndromes for which there are no treatments 
currently approved by the FDA.

	 Concerns about the effect of low-THC cannabis on 
a child’s brain are not sufficient to reject an effective 
treatment. The same concerns could apply to FDA-
approved anti-epileptic drugs because many of them 
were not clinically tested for use with children, but only 
for adults. Many FDA-approved anti-epileptic drugs 
also have value on the black market. 

	 Other states have legalized this treatment, and Texas 
families who wish to legally obtain low-THC cannabis 
to treat their child’s epilepsy sometimes must move to 
another state. This is an unreasonable burden for Texas 
families, who should be able to receive this effective 
medical treatment under controlled conditions in this 
state.
 

Opponents said

	 SB 339 would run the risk of causing harm by 
allowing patients to use a treatment that has not yet 
been approved by the FDA. Children’s brains are still 
developing and could be harmed by using a drug that 
has not been proven to be safe and effective. 

	 Patients wishing to use low-THC cannabis should 
wait for this treatment to be fully tested because its side 
effects are relatively unknown. Low-THC cannabis has 
been designated an “orphan drug” by the FDA, which 
means that the trial process is likely to move quickly for 
this treatment. 

	 The bill also could create the opportunity for other 
children, such as those in the same household who 
were not prescribed the treatment, to use low-THC 
cannabis if they were not properly supervised. While 
the treatment would be low-THC, it would not be free 
of this psychoactive substance and still could be sold on 
the black market. 

	 SB 339 also would not provide adequate regulation 
for the sale of low-THC cannabis. The fact that other 
states have enacted similar legislation is not a reason for 
Texas to follow suit. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 339 appeared in the May 
18 Daily Floor Report. 

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0339.pdf
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HB 100 by Zerwas
Effective September 1, 2015

Authorizing tuition revenue bonds to finance facilities

	 HB 100 authorizes the issuance of $3.1 billion in 
tuition revenue bonds (TRBs) for institutions of higher 
education to finance construction and renovation of 
infrastructure and facilities.

	 The bonds are payable from pledged revenue and 
tuition, and if a board of regents does not have sufficient 
funds to meet its obligations, funds may be transferred 
among institutions, branches, and entities within 
each system. The bill authorizes TRBs for individual 
institutions and projects for the following universities 
and university systems:

• Texas A&M University System ($800.8
million);

• University of Texas System ($922.6 million);
• University of Houston System ($362.5 million);
• Texas State University System ($256.4 million);
• University of North Texas System ($269

million);
• Texas Tech University System ($247.1 million);
• Texas Woman’s University ($38 million);
• Midwestern State University ($58.4 million);
• Stephen F. Austin University ($46.4 million);
• Texas Southern University ($60 million); and
• Texas State Technical College System ($41.7

million).

	 HB 100 does not affect any authority or restriction 
on the activities an institution of higher education may 
conduct in connection with facilities financed by the 
TRBs.

	 The bill also repeals provisions added by the 81st 
Legislature requiring approval by the Legislative Budget 
Board (LBB) before transferring state appropriations 
to reimburse the board of regents of the University of 
Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (UTMB) for the 
debt service on certain TRBs. Under the provisions, 
LBB was required to consider certain factors in 
determining whether to approve the transfer of state 
funds. 

Supporters said 

	 HB 100 would authorize tuition revenue bonds 
(TRBs) that would be essential for the state’s higher 
education institutions to build and maintain facilities, 
provide for enrollment growth, and remain competitive. 
Since their inception, TRBs successfully have funded 
capital construction projects at institutions of higher 
education. 

	 These bonds are a cost-effective way to fund 
projects, such as new labs and classrooms, that 
are not likely to be funded by other means. Other 
funding mechanisms are limited in their ability to help 
institutions fund needed capital growth and facilities 
upgrades. TRBs are the best option for funding capital 
construction projects at the state’s higher education 
institutions without exceeding the constitutional 
spending cap. 

	 Authorizing TRBs for new facilities also would 
accommodate enrollment growth, allowing more Texans 
to pursue higher education. Although online learning 
has grown, there is no consensus on whether it should 
replace classroom learning. The investment in a building 
that could last several years and serve many students 
also may yield a better value than technology that must 
be upgraded every few years and that requires students 
to buy new computers and software.

	 The TRBs provided in this bill would be a good 
investment for the state because they offer a high return. 
New labs that facilitate research and development 
benefit all taxpayers, not just students. Moreover, 
investment in state-of-the-art facilities would help 
attract renowned faculty members and researchers to the 
state’s universities, which is one of Gov. Abbott’s top 
priorities. 

	 The costs that TRBs present to the state are no 
different from other investments made in legislative 
priorities. Financing for any state program is the 
responsibility of future lawmakers, and all state-funded 
programs and entities face uncertainty about whether the 
Legislature will approve their funding. The Legislature 
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typically appropriates general revenue funds to 
reimburse institutions for the tuition spent toward debt 
service on TRBs to demonstrate that higher education is 
a state priority. 

	 HB 100 would demonstrate necessary fiscal 
discipline by not fully funding all of the TRB requests 
made this session. TRB authorizations for larger 
universities in the bill reflect that these schools serve 
larger student populations, but smaller schools, 
particularly newer campuses, also would receive needed 
support in the bill. 

	 The last major statewide authorization for TRBs 
was in 2006. Institutions have put off needed repairs 
and construction since then. Now is an opportune 
time to fund TRB requests because interest rates and 
construction costs are relatively low and the state has 
enough money to fulfill many of the institutions’ capital 
construction needs.

Opponents said 

	 HB 100 would result in a massive sum of debt 
from TRBs that would be risky both for taxpayers and 
institutions of higher education. TRBs promised by one 
Legislature cover only a portion of the cost of projects, 
and the remaining debt becomes the responsibility of 
future legislatures and taxpayers. 

	 TRBs are unreliable for long-term project planning 
because institutions cannot predict whether their TRB 
requests will be authorized. Additionally, any amount 
of TRB debt that an institution incurs that cannot be 
covered by tuition increases would be shifted to another 
institution within that system. Alternatively, TRB debt 
service reimbursed by the Legislature in general revenue 
places the cost of these projects on the taxpayers, 
instead of the institutions and students who benefit 
from them. The state should use a more reliable and 
transparent mechanism for funding capital construction 
projects at universities.

	 Texas has many demands that compete for limited 
resources, and higher education institutions and 
lawmakers should consider alternative methods for 
funding capital construction projects. Formula funding 
for state universities, if used carefully, is enough to 
cover the needs of higher education institutions. Other 
options include creating a direct appropriation from 
the state’s budget or the rainy day fund, establishing 

public-private partnerships, or authorizing general 
obligation bonds. Paying for these projects with a direct 
appropriation, for example, would save taxpayers a 
substantial amount in interest payments resulting from 
TRBs. The state and universities also could invest more 
in online education, which does not rely heavily on 
capital construction funding. 

Other opponents  said 

	 Although HB 100 would issue TRBs for many 
needed projects, the $3.1 billion is not enough to 
address institutions’ full request of $5.6 billion for fiscal 
2016-17. 

	 In addition, HB 100 would authorize TRBs for 
several labs and research facilities, but STEM is not 
the only area that needs focus and development. Other 
degree programs can lead to high wages and steady 
employment, and the state should invest in these other 
disciplines through TRB projects. 

	 Larger institutions, including Texas A&M and the 
University of Texas, always receive a large share of 
higher education funding, but TRBs and other funding 
mechanisms should address needs at smaller campuses 
that also play an important role by educating many first-
generation college students and adult learners. 

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 100 appeared in Part One 
of the April 8 Daily Floor Report. 

	 The 84th Legislature considered other bills related 
to the funding of campus construction projects, 
including SB 1191 by Seliger, which generally took 
effect August 31, 2015. SB 1191 increases by 50 
percent the annual Higher Education Fund (HEF) 
allocation — the amount of an annual constitutional 
appropriation to certain public institutions of higher 
education — beginning in fiscal 2016. This allocation 
was last increased by the 79th Legislature in 2005. The 
bill also provides adjustments for HEF appropriations to 
specific institutions, which can be used for construction, 
renovation, or certain other types of projects specified 
by Tex. Const., Art. 7, sec. 17(a). The HRO analysis of 
HB 2848 by Crownover, the companion to SB 1191, 
appeared in the April 16 Daily Floor Report.  

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0100.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2848.pdf
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HB 700 by Giddings
Effective September 1, 2015

Abolishing the Texas B-On-time student loan program 

	 HB 700 abolishes the Texas B-On-time loan 
program, which is a no-interest college loan program 
administered by the Texas Higher Education 
Coordinating Board. B-On-time loans are forgiven if a 
student graduates within four or five years, depending 
on the program, and maintains a 3.0 grade point 
average. 

	 The bill directs the coordinating board to stop 
making new B-On-time loan awards beginning with 
the fall semester of 2015. Renewal of awards received 
before September 1, 2015, is allowed for eligible 
students until the fall semester of 2020, as long as those 
students continue to meet eligibility requirements. On 
September 1, 2020, the Texas B-On-time account from 
which the loans are made will be abolished.

	 The bill eliminates the 5 percent tuition set-aside 
required of institutions specifically for the B-On-time 
program. It also reduces from 20 percent to 15 percent 
the amount of tuition in excess of $46 per semester 
credit hour that institutions must set aside for overall 
student financial assistance.

	 Following termination of the program, any balance 
left in the Texas B-On-time account will be distributed 
to eligible institutions by the coordinating board. The 
board must develop a formula to fairly allocate these 
remaining funds to institutions at which the B-On-time 
program was underutilized. The loan program would be 
considered underutilized if the institution’s percentage 
of the total tuition set-aside for the program across all 
institutions was greater than the percentage of students 
at that institution who received a B-On-time loan for the 
same period.

Supporters said

	 HB 700 would abolish a financial aid program that 
has been underutilized, inequitable, and ineffective. 
Since the program’s inception in 2003, millions of 
dollars in general revenue and tuition set-asides have 
sat unused in a general revenue account. The Sunset 
Advisory Commission’s review of the Texas Higher 
Education Coordinating Board for the 83rd Legislature 

revealed that few schools that contributed set-aside 
funds to the B-On-time program recaptured much or 
any of the money paid into the account. In view of this, 
the bill would eliminate the 5 percent set-aside for the 
B-On-time program and reduce the overall tuition set-
aside requirements. 

	 Abolishing the B-On-time program would allow the 
Legislature to focus on financial aid programs that serve 
more students more effectively, such as the TEXAS 
Grant program, which benefits a larger and higher-need 
student population.

	 B-On-time requirements can be difficult for 
students to understand and meet. Many students change 
majors, are commuters, take time off, or work part-time 
while in school and may not complete their degrees 
under the time and grade point average constraints 
required to have their loans forgiven. Students who 
receive loans have not succeeded at the rate desired, 
and when students do not succeed, these loans have 
a higher default rate than other loans. Those students 
who do complete the program risk being stuck paying 
substantial taxes for the forgiven debt just as they leave 
school to pursue a career. Due to federal regulations, 
schools must follow several burdensome requirements 
to be able to advertise or promote B-On-time loans. 
Therefore, many students do not know about the 
program.

	 The bill would ensure that schools that had been 
paying into the loan program without receiving much 
benefit received a fair allocation of leftover funds 
when the account was closed in 2020. The allocation 
to institutions that underutilized the program funding 
would reflect the reality that the program has not served 
certain institutions’ students well and that the burden 
of promoting the program outweighed the utility of 
students knowing about it.

Opponents said

	 HB 700 would eliminate a financial aid program 
that has never been given a real chance to succeed. 
Concerns about the program could be remedied easily 
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and are not an indication of whether the concept itself is 
good. For instance, the Legislature could empower the 
coordinating board to distribute funds differently, or the 
program could serve a more targeted population. Efforts 
are underway at the federal level to change restrictions 
on promoting loan programs like B-On-time.

	 The B-On-time program has received inconsistent 
funding over its short existence, hindering its ability to 
serve large numbers of students and making its future 
uncertain for many would-be recipients. The outcomes 
the program has seen, even without reaching full 
potential, have been positive, with higher graduation 
rates reported for students using the loan. Further, 
these loans are issued by the state interest-free, so even 
when students do not complete the program for loan 
forgiveness, they receive a great benefit. 

	 The bill would remove an innovative financial aid 
program at a time when financial aid has not kept pace 
with the cost of a college education. B-On-time provides 
access to higher education to middle-income families 
that often do not qualify for need-based aid programs. 

Other opponents said

	 The allocation of B-On-time funds remaining in the 
general revenue account as outlined in HB 700 would 
not be effective or equitable. The bill’s wind-up method 
includes a definition for “underutilized” that would 
seem to reward institutions that had not worked hard 
the past decade to promote and improve the B-On-time 
program.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 700 appeared in Part One 
of the April 22 Daily Floor Report. 

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0700.pdf
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SB 11 by Birdwell
Generally effective August 1, 2016

Carrying concealed handguns on college campuses 

	 SB 11 allows concealed handgun license holders to 
carry concealed handguns onto the campuses of public 
higher education institutions or private or independent 
higher education institutions.

	 After consulting with students, staff, and faculty, 
private or independent institutions may prohibit 
handguns on campus, including any grounds or building 
on which an activity sponsored by the institution is 
being conducted, or a passenger transportation vehicle 
owned by the institution. 

	 Campus-specific regulations. Higher education 
institutions may establish rules for licensees carrying 
concealed handguns on campus after such consultations, 
but these regulations may not generally prohibit or 
have the effect of generally prohibiting license holders 
from carrying concealed handguns on campus. These 
provisions may be amended as necessary for campus 
safety and are required to give effective notice of any 
premises where license holders may not carry handguns. 
Institutions also may establish rules concerning storage 
of handguns in campus dormitories or other residential 
facilities that are owned or leased and operated by the 
institution. 

	 The regulations must be reviewed by the board 
of regents or other governing board of the institution, 
which may amend them. The final regulations must 
be widely distributed to all students, staff, and faculty, 
including by posting them on the institution’s website. 
Institutions must submit a biennial report to the 
Legislature that describes and explains the institution’s 
regulations for carrying concealed handguns on campus.

	 Immunity. The bill prohibits courts from holding 
any of the following liable for damages caused by an 
applicant or a concealed handgun license holder or 
by an action or failure to perform a duty imposed by 
applicable concealed handgun license statutes:

• an institution of higher education;
• a private or independent institution of higher

education that had not opted out of allowing
handguns on campus; or

• an officer or employee of either.

	 A cause of action may not be brought against 
any of the above institutions or individuals based on 
any damage caused by the actions of an applicant or 
license holder. These protections do not apply if the 
act or failure to act was capricious or arbitrary or if the 
conduct of any of these covered officers or employees 
with regard to their possession of the handgun on 
campus was the basis of a claim for personal injury or 
property damage.

	 Penalties. The bill creates a class A misdemeanor 
offense (up to one year in jail and/or a maximum fine 
of $4,000) for a license holder who intentionally or 
knowingly openly carries a handgun, regardless of 
whether the handgun was holstered:

• on the premises of a public, private or
independent institution of higher education or

• on any public or private driveway, street,
sidewalk or parking area of an institution of
higher education.

	 The bill creates a class A misdemeanor offense for a 
license holder who carries a handgun on the campus of 
a private or independent institution that has opted out of 
the campus carry law or on a portion of campus where 
an institution has prohibited the carrying of guns by 
regulations, whether or not the handgun is concealed, as 
long as the institution gives effective notice.

	 The bill also creates defenses to prosecution 
and exemptions from these penalties and establishes 
deadlines by which public institutions of higher 
education, private or independent institutions, and 
public junior colleges are required to take action to 
adopt rules under the bill.

Supporters said

	 SB 11 appropriately would protect the right of a 
concealed handgun license holder to carry a handgun on 
the public property of an institution of higher education 
funded with taxpayer dollars. License holders on college 
campuses should be able to exercise the right to self-
defense, which is currently restricted by the status of 
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campuses as “weapon-free zones” in which criminals 
and campus shooters can operate with little fear of 
meeting armed, well-trained resistance.

	 The bill gives universities flexibility to create their 
own rules for concealed handgun license holders on 
their campuses. Further, allowing private colleges and 
universities to opt out of allowing handguns on campus 
would treat them the same as private businesses in this 
respect.

	 Law enforcement officers responding to a shooting 
on campus would have no more difficulty distinguishing 
between criminals and licensed handgun holders 
defending themselves than they would off-campus, 
where concealed carrying of handguns is allowed. 

	 The state’s background check and process for 
obtaining a handgun license is extremely thorough and 
prevents people who have committed serious crimes 
from acquiring licenses. Moreover, concealed handgun 
license holders are much less likely than unlicensed 
civilians to commit a crime. This bill would not apply 
to most undergraduates because an individual must be 
21 years or older in order to obtain a concealed handgun 
license.

Opponents said

	 SB 11 could contribute to a more dangerous 
environment and a culture of fear at Texas’ colleges 
and universities by allowing the concealed carry of 
handguns on campus. An increase of lethal weapons on 
campus would detract from an environment intended to 
foster learning and academic debate. College students 
and professors should have the freedom to discuss ideas 
without the potential intimidation factor of handguns in 
the classroom.

	 Officers responding to a shooting could have 
difficulty differentiating between shooters if one or 
more concealed handgun license holders were trying 
to stop an aggressor. Even with the required training 
and education that comes with a license, shooting 
calmly and with precision is extremely difficult and can 
contribute to casualties from crossfire.

	 The bill could increase the risk of handguns not 
being secured properly in a campus residence or on 
a person, which could result in guns falling into the 
wrong hands. Colleges and university mental health 

officials also worry about the correlation between guns 
and suicide, which is a leading cause of death among 
university students that can be greatly facilitated by 
access to guns.

	 SB 11 could make Texas universities less 
competitive for recruiting and retaining top faculty. 
Published reports of campus surveys suggest that a large 
majority of faculty oppose the presence of concealed 
handguns on campus. The bill also may increase costs 
for universities incurred for lockers, training, and 
personnel, which would require either increases in state 
appropriations or tuition collected, or eliminating other 
student services or activities.

Other opponents said

	 SB 11 should not allow private or independent 
institutions to opt out of, nor public institutions to 
regulate, the carrying of handguns on campus. The right 
to self-defense for students should not be infringed by 
university regulations.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 11 appeared in Part One of 
the May 26 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 386 by V. Taylor, effective September 1, 2015, 
authorizes public junior colleges to appoint one or 
more employees as school marshals who are authorized 
to carry a concealed handgun on the premises of a 
public junior college under regulations adopted by the 
governing board. 

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0011.pdf
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SB 18 by Nelson/SB 295 by Schwertner
Effective September 1, 2015

Graduate medical education expansion and study

	 SB 18 amends certain strategies, such as grant 
programs, aimed at expanding and supporting the 
state’s graduate medical education (GME) offerings. It 
also requires the Texas Higher Education Coordinating 
Board to prioritize the funding of programs in medical 
specialties that are at critical shortage levels in the state. 
To determine specialties with critical shortage levels, 
the board will use several sources, including research 
conducted by the Health Professions Resource Center at 
the Department of State Health Services. 

	 SB 18 establishes a permanent fund within the state 
treasury, outside the general revenue fund, to support 
graduate medical education. The Texas Department of 
Insurance, after an actuarial study, will transfer certain 
excess funds from the Texas Medical Liability Joint 
Underwriting Association to the permanent fund. 

	 The bill also abolishes the Resident Physician 
Expansion Grant Program.

	 SB 295 requires the Texas Higher Education 
Coordinating Board to establish and maintain a data 
system to track initial residency program choices made 
by Texas medical school graduates and the initial 
practice choices of those completing residency programs 
in the state.

	 The system established by the bill will track data 
available to the coordinating board, including data from 
medical schools or residency programs in Texas. The 
tracking system will collect certain relevant information 
on doctors for the two-year period following completion 
of their residency programs, including:  

• whether and for how long these doctors work
in primary care in Texas and which medical
specialties they report as their primary medical
practice; and

• the locations of the practices established by
these doctors.

	 The coordinating board will establish the tracking 
system by January 1, 2016. 

Supporters said 

	 SB 18 would make several necessary changes to the 
state’s approach to training and educating its medical 
residents. Texas has too few available residency spots to 
accommodate its medical school graduates. Moreover, 
several new medical schools are slated to open within 
the next few years, accelerating a “brain drain” of 
Texas-educated medical students to other states. SB 18 
would help ensure that there were enough residency 
positions available for Texas medical school graduates 
and to potentially attract graduates from other states.

	 By setting up the permanent GME fund, the bill 
would ensure that the state expanded medical education 
and sustained the expansion to serve future medical 
school graduates. The bill also would streamline GME 
programs by eliminating duplicative programs, such as 
the Resident Physician Expansion Grant Program.

	 The bill would make effective use of excess funds 
held at the Texas Medical Liability Joint Underwriting 
Association, which currently does not cover a large 
number of medical professionals and institutions. The 
state could make better use of the funds by supporting 
future physicians, which is a recommendation of the 
Legislative Budget Board. The state should prevail in 
the event of any potential lawsuit filed by policyholders.

	 SB 295 would improve the state’s ability to invest 
effectively in medical education and training. While 
medical schools and residency programs track their own 
data on residency and job placement outcomes, the state 
currently lacks such a system. 

	 Supporters of both bills said that efforts to study 
resident and doctor distribution across practice and 
geographic areas in Texas would help provide a vehicle 
for channeling needed funding to address a shortage of 
doctors in rural areas and in certain areas of medical 
practice and would ensure that the state had access to 
the necessary research to develop plans to meet the 
state’s medical specialty and geographic needs.
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Opponents said 

	 SB 18 significantly would affect the Medical 
Liability Joint Underwriting Association, which offers 
a necessary service to many medical professionals and 
institutions. In addition, the association’s funds are in 
large part composed of investment income or money 
paid in by policyholders, so appropriating these funds 
for a state purpose might expose the state to a lawsuit. 
The bill should provide the association and its agents 
some immunity from liability or implement a hold 
harmless policy, as afforded to other state employees, to 
protect agents from any potential litigation as a result of 
complying with the bill’s requirements.

	 SB 295 should track outcomes for five years, rather 
than two, after a doctor completed residency. This 
would give a more accurate picture of medical and 
geographic practice areas because national data indicate 
that many initial job placements after residency are 
temporary. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 18 appeared in the May 
20 Daily Floor Report. The HRO analysis of SB 295 
appeared in Part Two of the May 22 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0018.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0295.pdf
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HB 7 by Darby/HB 1101 by Sylvester Turner
Effective September 1, 2015/Effective June 17, 2015

Eliminating the System Benefit Fund

	 HB 7, among other changes to provisions governing 
general revenue dedicated funds, removes the 15 percent 
cap on the discount rate for low-income electricity 
customers offered under the System Benefit Fund. The 
bill gives the Public Utility Commission discretion 
to set the rate at a level necessary to spend the fund’s 
unexpended balance by its expiration date at the end 
of fiscal 2016. HB 7 also allows the reduced rate to be 
provided year-round during fiscal 2016, rather than only 
during the summer months. 

	 HB 1101, like HB 7, removes the 15 percent cap on 
the discount rate for low-income customers, gives the 
PUC discretion to set the rate for low-income customers  
at a level sufficient to exhaust the fund, and allows 
the reduced rate to be provided year-round. HB 1101 
differs from HB 7 by extending the expiration date of 
the fund through fiscal 2017 in the event that any money 
remained in the fund to continue providing discounts to 
low-income customers after the end of fiscal 2016.

Supporters said 

	 Removing the 15 percent cap on the discount rate 
for low-income utility customers for 2016 and allowing 
the discount rate to be available year-round would 
allow the money to be used for the purpose for which 
it was intended and would allow the program to end as 
scheduled at the end of fiscal 2016.

	 The System Benefit Fund is administered by the 
Public Utility Commission to fund the operation of 
the agency, pay for customer education programs, and 
provide a utility rate discount to eligible low-income 
utility customers during the warm-weather months of 
May through September. The SBF receives its revenue 
through a per-megawatt-hour fee collected from 
electricity ratepayers in areas open to competition. 
In recent years, revenue collected for the SBF has 
exceeded appropriations, and the fund ended fiscal 2013 
with a balance of $811.3 million.

	 The 83rd Legislature eliminated the fee deposited 
to the System Benefit Fund beginning in fiscal 2014 
and set the fund’s expiration date for end of fiscal 2016. 

However, due to lower-than-expected enrollment in the 
discount program, combined with a mild summer, the 
Public Utility Commission estimates that the fund will 
have an unexpended balance of $227 million at the end 
of fiscal 2016.

Opponents said 

	 Instead of directing the Public Utility Commission 
to exhaust the entire System Benefit Fund balance 
through the low-income electricity customer program, 
the Legislature should appropriate some of the funds 
for critical-need medical customers, for whom an 
interruption of electricity service for overdue payments 
could be life-threatening. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 7 appeared in Part One of 
the April 27 Daily Floor Report. The HRO digest of HB 
1101 appeared in Part Two of the May 7 Daily Floor 
Report.

Table 
of Contents

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0007.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1101.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1101.pdf


House Research Organization Page 119

HB 14 by Morrison
Died in conference committee

Extending and updating emissions reduction plan

	 HB 14, as passed by the House, would have 
extended the expiration date of the Texas Emissions 
Reduction Plan (TERP) from August 31, 2019, to 
August 31, 2023. Under TERP, the Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) and the comptroller 
provide grants and other funds for upgrading or 
replacing older vehicles and equipment in order to 
reduce emission of pollutants. The bill would have 
expanded a list of counties specified in statute as eligible 
to apply for TERP grants and would have made changes 
to several incentive programs funded by TERP. 

	 Expiration dates. The bill would have moved the 
expiration dates of TERP and several of its programs 
to 2023. For example, the Light-Duty Motor Vehicle 
Purchase or Lease Incentive Program, scheduled to 
expire August 31, 2015, would have been extended until 
August 31, 2023. TERP programs set to expire between 
2017 and 2019 that would have been extended to 2023 
include the Texas Clean Fleet Program, the Natural 
Gas Vehicle Grant Program, the Alternative Fueling 
Facilities Program, the Clean School Bus Program, and 
the New Technology Implementation Grant Program. 

	 Affected counties. Bell, McLennan, and Webb 
counties would have been added to a statutory list of 
“affected counties” eligible to apply for certain TERP 
funds. 

	 Oil field flaring and releases. The bill would have 
made additional projects eligible for funding under 
the New Technology Implementation Grant Program. 
Among those eligible for grants would have been 
new technology projects that reduce emissions from 
certain oil and gas activities, including the replacement, 
repower, or retrofit of stationary compressor engines 
or the installation of systems to reduce or eliminate the 
loss of gas, flaring of gas, or burning of gas using other 
combustion control devices. 

	 Program changes. HB 14 also would have made 
changes to certain administrative and other aspects of 
several TERP programs.  

	 Clean Transportation Triangle. The bill would have 
repealed provisions in statute establishing the Clean 

Transportation Triangle Program and transferred some 
provisions to the Alternative Fueling Facilities Program 
to allow for the combination of these two programs. 
Areas eligible for incentives under the Alternative 
Fueling Facilities Program would have been expanded 
to include counties in the Clean Transportation Triangle. 

	 Vehicle purchase and lease program. Hydrogen fuel 
cells would have been added to the fuel systems eligible 
for the Light-Duty Motor Vehicle Purchase or Lease 
Incentive Program. New light-duty vehicles powered 
by compressed natural gas or liquefied petroleum gas 
would have been eligible for a $5,000 incentive, an 
increase from $2,500. The bill would have limited this 
incentive to 1,000 vehicles each fiscal biennium, a 
decrease from 2,000 in fiscal 2014-15.

	 Natural gas vehicle grants. The bill would have 
amended certain definitions and eligibility provisions 
for the replacement or repower of a vehicle under the 
Natural Gas Vehicle Grant Program. It also would have 
removed a provision directing TCEQ to provide for 
contracts with “participating dealers,” who are required 
to assist applicants in submitting forms under the 
program, and would have removed other references and 
requirements related to these entities in statute. 

	 Clean fleet program. The bill would have removed 
a provision allowing TCEQ to require an applicant to 
submit a photograph or other vehicle documentation 
only after the commission had decided to fund a project. 

	 Diesel emissions reduction program. TCEQ would 
have been authorized to streamline the application 
process for the Diesel Emissions Reduction Incentive 
Program by developing a system to accept applications 
electronically through its website.

Supporters said 

	 HB 14 would extend and make several 
improvements to the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan 
(TERP), a program that already has proved effective at 
supporting the reduction and control of air pollution. 
In particular, the bill would allow TERP to continue 

Table 
of Contents



Page 120 House Research Organization

helping to reduce nitrogen oxide emissions from mobile 
sources. The bill also would improve the efficiency and 
streamline the requirements of certain TERP programs.  

	 Moving the expiration date of TERP and its 
programs to 2023 would allow TCEQ to continue 
using the plan’s funding to help decrease emissions 
of nitrogen oxide gases, which are primary precursors 
to ozone formation. If the Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) finalizes a proposal to lower federal 
ground-level ozone standards, the deadline for certain 
areas of the state to meet the new requirements is 
expected to be between 2020 and 2023. Extending 
TERP would help counties reach attainment under 
the stricter standards. The bill also would continue 
incentives for Texans to buy eligible electric or natural 
gas-powered vehicles by extending the deadline of the 
Light-Duty Motor Vehicle Incentive Program by eight 
years. 

	 Adding three more counties to those eligible for 
TERP grants would provide economic and health 
benefits to businesses and communities in those areas 
by helping individuals and fleet owners replace older, 
heavily polluting vehicles with newer, cleaner-running 
ones. In addition, further reducing ozone-forming 
pollutants in these counties would help them remain 
in attainment of federal standards if the EPA finalizes 
stricter requirements. 

	 The bill would introduce promising new elements 
into TERP. Among these are projects eligible for TERP 
funding that would reduce emissions from oil and gas 
production, storage, and transmission activities, such 
as the installation of systems to reduce flaring or the 
burning of gas using other combustion control devices. 

	 HB 14 also would improve funding and program 
mechanics under TERP. The Clean Transportation 
Triangle Program and the Alternative Fueling Facilities 
Program fund similar projects, so combining them 
would make their administration more efficient while 
reducing confusion for applicants. In addition, removing 
cumbersome requirements related to “participating 
dealers” in statute would simplify processes for those 
taking part in the Natural Gas Vehicle Grant Program, 
and eliminating the requirement that TCEQ may request 
certain documentation under the Clean Fleet Program 
only after grant selections are made would reduce delays 
and uncertainty for applicants. 

	 While some might argue that the bill could do more, 
HB 14 would improve an already successful program 
and expand its geographic reach. Moreover, TERP is a 
market-based tool that helps Texas preserve clean air 
and promote public health while improving the state’s 
economic strength.

Opponents said 

	 HB 14 could exacerbate problematic issues with 
a costly program. It is inappropriate for the state 
government to use taxpayer funds to subsidize natural 
gas and renewable energy schemes in response to 
overreaching federal regulations.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 14 appeared in Part Two 
of the May 6 Daily Floor Report. 

	 HB 14 died in conference committee. It was 
amended in the Senate to include provisions from two 
other bills relating to TERP programs, SB 12 by Uresti 
and SB 911 by Zaffirini.  

	 SB 12, which died in the House Calendars 
Committee, would have established the state’s intent, 
subject to available funds, that state agency fleets of 
more than 15 vehicles be converted into or replaced 
with vehicles that use compressed or liquefied natural 
gas, petroleum gas, hydrogen fuel cells, or electricity. 
It also would have required that TCEQ create a 
grant program with TERP funds to help eligible state 
agencies, counties, or municipalities buy or lease 
vehicles that operate primarily on an alternative fuel. 

	 SB 911, which died in the House, would have 
included in the Clean Transportation Triangle program 
counties contained in the triangular area between San 
Antonio, Corpus Christi, and Laredo. 

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0014.pdf
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HB 40 by Darby
Effective May 18, 2015

Expressly preempting local oil and gas regulations

	 HB 40 expressly preempts ordinances and 
regulations enacted by a political subdivision of the 
state that ban, limit, or otherwise regulate an oil and gas 
operation unless the regulation: 

•	 regulates only above-ground activity; 
•	 is commercially reasonable; 
•	 does not effectively prohibit an oil and gas 

operation conducted by a reasonably prudent 
operator; and 

•	 is not otherwise preempted by state or federal 
law. 

	 “Commercially reasonable” regulations are defined 
as those that allow a reasonably prudent operator to 
fully and economically exploit oil and gas resources. An 
ordinance is considered commercially reasonable if has 
been in effect for at least five years and has allowed the 
oil and gas operations at issue to continue during that 
period.

	 The bill specifically includes hydraulic fracturing 
operations in the definition of oil and gas operations. 
Also included are other activities associated with the 
exploration, development, production, processing, and 
transportation of oil and gas.

Supporters said 

	 HB 40 would affirm the preemptive nature of 
state regulations on oil and gas production over local 
ordinances, ensuring consistent, fair application of rules 
across the state.

	 Oil and gas regulation should take place at the state 
level. State agencies are the most experienced regulatory 
bodies and have highly specialized subdivisions 
equipped to handle issues that local governments 
cannot. The bill would provide local governments an 
incentive to work with operators because municipalities 
no longer would be able to regulate without considering 
the property rights of mineral owners. This would create 
a better balance between property rights and reasonable 
restrictions on oil and gas operations. 

	 HB 40 would create regulatory certainty by 
removing the patchwork of municipal regulations, 
which can vary significantly. Furthermore, most local 
regulations are duplicative with state law, so Texas 
would not see a decrease in environmental quality or 
public health as a result of the bill. 

	 The bill would protect the property rights of mineral 
owners in Texas. Current protections against regulatory 
takings are not sufficient because local ordinances 
effectively can ban the exploitation of minerals in a 
given area, and the outcome of current litigation is 
uncertain.

Opponents said 

	 By stripping local governments of their authority 
to respond to citizen concerns, HB 40 could result 
in significant damage to environmental quality and 
public health. Local ordinances are necessitated by the 
failure of the state to adequately regulate and enforce 
regulations on oil and gas production. The effects of oil 
and gas operations are necessarily localized, and state 
agencies frequently are beyond the reach of the average 
citizen. 

	 Differences in regulatory schemes between 
municipalities are not bad and merely reflect differences 
in operating environments. Urban areas should have 
different standards from rural areas. This bill would 
make uniform some regulations that should vary based 
on the specific needs of different communities.

	 This bill could have an expansive effect, preempting 
even basic public safety ordinances, such as parts of the 
fire code or traffic ordinances. Several terms in this bill 
are not well defined and are cross-applied from different 
parts of law in ways that might not be appropriate.

	 HB 40 is unnecessary because current protections 
against regulatory takings are adequate. Regulatory 
takings would likely be ruled inverse condemnations 
under current law, in which case mineral owners would 
be compensated.
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Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 40 appeared in the April 
17 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0040.pdf
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HB 200 by Keffer
Effective September 1, 2015

Appealing desired future conditions of groundwater

	 HB 200 revises the process used to appeal the 
approval by groundwater conservation districts of 
“desired future conditions” for groundwater resources 
in management areas under their jurisdiction. Desired 
future conditions are a description of what aquifer  
resources should be at specified future times.

	 Administrative appeal of desired future 
conditions. The bill eliminates the current petition 
process through the Texas Water Development Board 
(TWDB) that is used to appeal the reasonableness of 
desired future conditions approved by a groundwater 
conservation district. The bill instead allows an 
affected person to file a petition with a district 
requiring the district to contract with the State Office 
of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) to conduct a 
hearing appealing the reasonableness of a desired future 
condition. The bill places the final decision on adopting 
the desired future condition with the district and 
provides a process for district court appeal.

	 Dispute resolution. The district may seek the 
assistance of the Center for Public Policy Dispute 
Resolution, TWDB, or other dispute resolution systems 
to mediate the issues raised in the petition. If the issues 
cannot be resolved, SOAH will proceed with the 
hearing.

	 Hearing location and notice. A hearing must be held 
in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act 
and SOAH rules at the district office or regular meeting 
location of the district board. The bill establishes 
requirements for providing notice of the hearing.

	 Prehearing conference. SOAH must hold a 
prehearing conference to determine preliminary matters, 
including who could participate as an affected person or 
party to the hearing.

	 Hearing costs. The petitioner must pay the costs of 
the contract for the hearing. After the hearing, SOAH 
may assess costs to other parties and refund any excess 
to the petitioner.

	 Final order. On receipt of the administrative law 
judge’s findings of fact and conclusions of law in a 

proposal for decision, including a dismissal of a petition, 
the district will have to issue a final order stating the 
district’s decision on the contested matter and the 
district’s findings of fact and conclusions of law. Under 
certain circumstances, the district may change a finding 
of fact or conclusion of law made by the administrative 
law judge or may vacate or modify an order. If the 
district vacates or modifies the administrative law 
judge’s proposal for decision, the district must report, 
in detail, the reasons for disagreement, including the 
policy, scientific, and technical justifications for the 
district’s decision.

	 Finding of unreasonable desired future condition. 
If the district finds that a desired future condition is 
unreasonable, the other districts in the management 
area will have to reconvene within 60 days in a joint 
planning meeting to revise it. A district’s final order 
finding that a desired future condition is unreasonable 
will not invalidate it for a district that did not participate 
as a party in the hearing.

	 Appeal of desired future conditions to a district 
court. A final district order may be appealed to a 
district court and will be decided under the substantial 
evidence standard of review. The venue for appeal will 
be a district court with jurisdiction over any part of the 
territory of the district that issued the order.

	 Finding of unreasonable desired future condition. 
If the court finds that a desired future condition 
is unreasonable, the court must strike the desired 
future condition and order the districts in the same 
management area as the district that received the 
petition to reconvene in a joint planning meeting within 
60 days of the court’s decision to revise the desired 
future condition.

Supporters said

	 HB 200 would protect private property rights 
and maintain local control by creating a meaningful 
appeals process for property owners to challenge the 
establishment of  desired future conditions of aquifers 
that could result in unreasonable restrictions on an 
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owner’s right to produce groundwater. Setting the 
desired future conditions is the first step in groundwater 
management, making it important that landowners and 
other groundwater users have a fair way to dispute the 
desired future condition.

	 The current method for questioning the 
reasonableness of a desired future condition at the 
Texas Water Development Board (TWDB) lacks the 
necessary administrative procedures to ensure a clear, 
fair resolution. For this reason, the State Office of 
Administrative Hearings (SOAH) would be the best 
venue for these hearings. The bill would provide due 
process and a system of checks and balances and 
would place the proper emphasis on the role of science, 
while allowing groundwater conservation districts to 
achieve their primary purpose of properly managing the 
groundwater resources.

	 While the bill would remove TWDB’s petition 
process for desired future conditions, it would maintain 
the board’s important role through an administrative 
review of the desired future condition and a scientific 
and technical analysis. TWDB’s administrative and 
technical review would provide a record for an entity to 
challenge the adoption of the desired future condition in 
district court.

	 Concerns that the bill would result in lawsuits 
being decided by people without knowledge of the 
water issues involved are unfounded because SOAH’s 
specialized teams and administrative law judges have 
the expertise to handle these kinds of contested case 
hearings. The final decision on adopting the desired 
future condition would be with the district and there 
would be a process for judicial appeal.

Opponents said

	 Replacing the process for challenging the 
reasonableness of a desired future condition at TWDB 
with an appeals process involving a contested case 
hearing at SOAH and potential court appeals could 
lead to more lawsuits that would be decided by people 
without knowledge of the water issues involved. TWDB 
is better informed and better able to make decisions 
regarding desired future conditions than is SOAH.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 200 appeared in Part One 
the May 5 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0200.pdf
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HB 655 by Larson
Effective June 16, 2015

Permitting, regulating aquifer storage and recovery

	 HB 655 repeals the current regulations for surface 
water aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) projects, 
including the requirement for developers to conduct 
pilot projects before filing a permit application for 
an ASR project. The bill instead provides the same 
regulatory framework for all ASR projects, whether the 
injected water was surface water or groundwater.

	 Jurisdiction over ASR projects. The bill gives the 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) 
exclusive jurisdiction over the regulation and permitting 
of ASR injection wells.

	 In issuing permits for ASR projects, TCEQ may act 
by rule, general permit, or individual permit and must 
consider:

•	 whether the injection well will comply with the 
Safe Drinking Water Act;

•	 the extent to which the amount of water injected 
could be recovered successfully and the effects 
of any commingling with native groundwater;

•	 the effect of the project on existing wells; and
•	 the potential for native groundwater quality 

degradation.

	 Additional authorization is not needed for the holder 
of a surface water right to store appropriated surface 
water in an ASR project before beneficial use, as long 
as the water right holder complies with the terms of the 
water right.

	 ASR wells located in a groundwater conservation 
district. If located in a groundwater conservation 
district, ASR injection and recovery wells will have 
to be registered with the district and will be subject to 
regular well registration fees.

	 TCEQ is required to limit the amount of water that 
a project can recover to the total amount that is injected.  
It also must further limit that amount to account for loss 
of native groundwater due to displacement from the 
injection.

	 If the project produces more water than the amount 
authorized for withdrawal by TCEQ, the project 
operator must report the excess volume to the district. A 
district’s spacing, production, and permitting rules and 
fees apply only to withdrawals that exceed the amount 
authorized.

	 Groundwater conservation districts may consider 
ASR-related hydrogeologic conditions when planning 
and monitoring for the achievement of the desired future 
condition of the aquifer.

	 Reporting and other requirements. All wells 
that make up a single ASR project must be located on 
a continuous parcel of land or two or more adjacent 
parcels under common ownership or contract. The ASR 
project developer must meter all wells and report total 
injected and recovered amounts monthly to TCEQ and 
the district, if applicable, as well as results of annual 
water quality testing of injected and recovered water.

	 Exempt districts. The Edwards Aquifer Authority, 
the Harris-Galveston Subsidence District, the Fort 
Bend Subsidence District, the Barton Springs-Edwards 
Aquifer Conservation District, and the Corpus Christi 
Aquifer Storage and Recovery Conservation District are 
not affected by HB 655.

	 TCEQ rules. TCEQ is required to adopt rules, 
including rules related to well construction, completion, 
metering, and reporting requirements for ASR projects, 
by May 1, 2016. The commission may not adopt or 
enforce groundwater quality protection standards that 
are more stringent than federal standards.

Supporters said 

	 HB 665 would encourage the development of 
aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) projects, which 
could provide a significant portion of the storage 
needed to meet future demand for water. ASR projects 
are resistant to many of the problems associated 
with storing water above ground in surface water 
reservoirs, such as adverse environmental impacts, land 
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requirements, high costs, and significant water losses 
due to evaporation. ASR facilities yield 100 percent of 
their stored water, which could help Texas communities 
endure times of drought. 

	 While more than 80 ASR projects are operating 
in the United States, only three are in Texas. This 
number is so low largely because current regulations 
and statutes, both statewide and local, do not readily 
facilitate the most beneficial use of either groundwater 
or surface water for ASR projects. The bill would 
remove regulatory roadblocks to ASR projects, 
specifically the current dual regulatory scheme that 
gives TCEQ jurisdiction over the injection of water into 
the aquifer while groundwater conservation districts 
have jurisdiction over the recovery of that stored 
water. Under HB 655, the permitting process would go 
through TCEQ, with monthly and annual reports being 
submitted to both TCEQ and the local district. 

	 District pumping limits would be applied only when 
a project had pumped more water from the aquifer 
than was injected. This would ensure that operators 
could access the water they injected without regulatory 
interference, while allowing districts to manage and 
protect native groundwater.

Opponents said

	 While further consideration and development of 
ASR projects is warranted, there are some provisions of 
the bill that could be problematic.

	 Groundwater conservation districts should play 
a vital role in the evaluation and oversight of ASR 
projects, and HB 655 would go too far in limiting 
that role. The transfer of the ASR regulatory authority 
from the districts to TCEQ would eliminate a district’s 
opportunity to evaluate and address the impacts of 
proposed ASR projects. Districts need to have a 
regulatory and permitting role, particularly for the 
recovery process. Without this, groundwater districts 
no longer would have the ability to manage the aquifer. 
The bill would allow district oversight only if a project 
pumped more water from the aquifer than was injected. 
A better approach would be to allow groundwater 
districts to adopt ASR rules for approval by TCEQ.

	 Further, the bill would prescribe an overly 
simplified approach to determining the amount of 
water that could be produced from an ASR project 
based solely on the volume of water injected into an 
aquifer. This approach could subject ASR projects 
to controversy that could be avoided with a more 
technical and scientifically established approach based 
on monitoring water quality characteristics. Monitoring 
would help ensure that water produced by ASR recovery 
activities was actually injected water. 

	 Water quality in bodies of water can vary greatly. 
Water quality testing of both the injected and recovered 
water should be done more than once a year as the bill 
would require, especially if injecting treated wastewater.

	 The bill should provide an option for TCEQ to deny 
a permit based on a determination that water loss as a 
result of the project would be so high that the injection 
was wasteful or not consistent with public welfare. 
Instead, TCEQ merely would restrict the amount of 
water that could be recovered to account for the loss.

	 HB 655 would prohibit TCEQ from setting 
groundwater quality protection standards more 
stringent than applicable federal standards even when 
circumstances might require higher standards to protect 
an aquifer. TCEQ should have the authority go beyond 
federal requirements in appropriate circumstances.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 655 appeared in Part One 
the April 21 Daily Floor Report. 

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0655.pdf
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HB 942 by Kacal
Generally effective September 1, 2015

Ammonium nitrate, tier 2 hazardous chemical reporting

	 HB 942 transfers tier 2 hazardous chemicals 
reporting requirements and enforcement authority 
from the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) 
to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
(TCEQ) on September 1, 2015. The transfer includes all 
resources used for reporting. The bill allows a state fire 
marshal to enter ammonium nitrate facilities in order 
to complete an inspection for hazardous conditions 
and grants the facility owner up to 10 days to correct 
the hazard. Local fire departments may perform pre-
fire planning assessments of the facilities. The bill also 
adjusts various timelines for reporting requirements for 
ammonium nitrate storage facilities.

	 Fire prevention. The owner or operator of an 
ammonium nitrate storage facility must, on request and 
at a reasonable time, allow a fire marshal to enter the 
facility to make a thorough examination and allow the 
local fire department access to the facility to perform a 
pre-fire planning assessment.

	 A fire marshal who determines the presence of 
certain hazardous conditions that endanger the safety 
of a structure or its occupants by promoting or causing 
fire or combustion must notify the facility’s owner or 
operator of the need to correct the condition.

	 On request by a fire marshal or the Texas Feed 
and Fertilizer Control Service, the owner or operator 
of the facility must provide evidence of compliance 
with tier 2 reporting requirements and U.S. Department 
of Homeland Security registration requirements. A 
fire marshal who identifies a hazardous condition or 
a violation must notify the Texas Feed and Fertilizer 
Control Service. If directed by the service to correct a 
hazardous condition or a violation, an owner or operator 
must remedy the condition or violation within 10 
days. If the Texas Feed and Fertilizer Control Service 
determines that the condition or violation has not been 
remedied, it must take appropriate enforcement action.

	 The bill requires that ammonium nitrate or 
ammonium nitrate material be stored in a fertilizer 
storage compartment or bin constructed of wood, metal, 
or concrete protected against impregnation by the 
ammonium nitrate or ammonium nitrate material and 

separately from any non-fertilizer materials. Ammonium 
nitrate or ammonium nitrate material also must be 
separated from combustible or flammable material by 
at least 30 feet. Warning placards must be placed on the 
outside of the storage area.

	 Reporting requirements. The operator of a facility 
storing ammonium nitrate used in fertilizer must file a 
tier 2 form with TCEQ within 72 hours, instead of 90 
days, of beginning operations or having a reportable 
addition of ammonium nitrate. The operator also will 
have to file an updated tier 2 form within 72 hours of 
a change in the chemical weight range of previously 
reported ammonium nitrate.

	 Within 72 hours of receiving a tier 2 form, TCEQ 
must provide a copy to the state fire marshal and the 
Texas Division of Emergency Management. The state 
fire marshal is required to provide a copy to the chief 
of the fire department with jurisdiction over the facility. 
The Texas Division of Emergency Management must  
provide a copy to the appropriate local emergency 
planning committee.

	 Fees. The bill provides that up to 20 percent of 
fees collected for the tier 2 program could continue to 
be used to provide grants to local emergency planning 
committees to assist them in fulfilling responsibilities 
related to chemical storage. TCEQ is authorized to use 
up to 15 percent of fees collected for the tier 2 program 
for DSHS administrative costs under Health and Safety 
Code, ch. 502.

	 Violations and penalties. The bill prohibits a 
facility operator from violating the community right-
to-know laws and transfers the existing administrative, 
civil, and criminal penalty structure.
	

Supporters said

	 HB 942 would improve public safety by clarifying 
the oversight and regulation of ammonium nitrate 
storage facilities. Ammonium nitrate is a commonly 
used fertilizer due to its high nitrogen content. It is also 
a hazardous chemical with strict guidelines for handling 
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and storage. On April 17, 2013, an explosion at an 
ammonium nitrate facility in the community of West, 
Texas, killed 15 individuals, injured multiple others, and 
leveled parts of the town. This bill was developed as a 
result of interim Homeland Security and Public Safety 
Committee hearings as well as investigations that took 
place following the disaster in West. 

	 This bill is a product of significant stakeholder 
input, and would strike a careful balance between public 
safety regulations and the agriculture industry that is so 
crucial to Texas.

	 Currently, fire marshals do not have the legal 
authority to enter a property to conduct an inspection. 
Had the appropriate emergency authorities been aware 
of the contents of the West facility before the fire 
occurred, the tragedy might have been avoided. There 
are currently 83 ammonium nitrate facilities operating 
in Texas, 45 of which are fertilizer companies similar to 
the facility in West. The bill would take common-sense 
steps to reduce the likelihood of another disaster while 
avoiding cost-prohibitive provisions that would burden 
industry compliance.

	 While there is an existing tier 2 reporting 
requirement that should keep state and local emergency 
entities aware of hazardous chemicals such as 
ammonium nitrate, reporting is not consistent, and some 
smaller facilities were not even aware of the reporting 
requirement. The annual tier 2 report now requires an 
update within 90 days of a reportable change, which 
means any reportable quantity of fertilizer could be sold 
by the time it would have to be reported. The bill would 
adjust this reporting timeline for ammonium nitrate 
storage facilities to hasten the notice to state and local 
emergency entities.

	 The bill would allow the state fire marshal to 
enter ammonium nitrate facilities in order to complete 
inspections and would allow local fire departments 
to do pre-fire planning assessments of the facilities. 
While there are concerns that this bill could place an 
additional regulatory burden on private facilities, many 
of the requirements of the bill, including the storage 
requirements, already are enforceable by the Texas state 
chemist’s office. This bill simply would codify existing 
rule. The bill would not change the existing penalty 
structure.

Opponents said

	 HB 942 would impose additional regulations on 
private facilities that could hinder business. While 
intended in the interest of safety, the expedited reporting 
requirements as well as some of the corrective actions 
the facilities might be required to make could be cost-
prohibitive and burdensome to smaller businesses.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 942 appeared in Part Two 
the May 1 Daily Floor Report.
 

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0942.pdf
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HB 2031 by Lucio
Effective June 17, 2015

Desalination of seawater

	 HB 2031 creates Water Code, ch. 18, which 
allows the diversion and use of state marine seawater 
for beneficial purposes and establishes permitting 
requirements for the diversion of marine seawater, the 
conveyance of treated seawater, and the discharge of 
desalination waste. The bill also requires a joint study 
between the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
(TPWD) and the General Land Office (GLO) to 
identify diversion and discharge zones and to provide 
recommendations on where intake and discharge 
structures could be permitted by the Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality (TCEQ). 

	 Diversion and use of marine seawater. Under 
Water Code, ch. 18, a person may divert and use state 
marine seawater for any beneficial purpose as long 
as the seawater is treated according to TCEQ rules 
governing its ultimate use.

	 Marine seawater may not be diverted from a bay 
or estuary. A permit is required if the point of diversion 
is within three miles of the coast or if the seawater 
contains a total dissolved solids concentration of less 
than 20,000 milligrams per liter. An entity seeking to 
build a facility to divert marine seawater may not begin 
without a permit until it provides data to TCEQ on the 
total dissolved solids concentration at the water source.

	 TCEQ, by rule, must adopt an expedited permit 
process providing for notice, an opportunity to submit 
written comments, and an opportunity for a contested 
case hearing. Permits must address the points from 
which, and the rate at which, a facility may divert 
marine seawater.

	 Discharge of treated seawater or resulting waste. 
A person must obtain a permit to discharge treated 
marine seawater into a natural stream, lake, or other 
impoundment and to discharge desalination waste into 
the Gulf of Mexico. Desalination waste may not be 
discharged into a bay or estuary.

	 Marine seawater must be treated to at least the same 
water quality standards as those adopted by TCEQ for 
the receiving stream or impoundment before it may be 

discharged. A person must comply with state and federal 
requirements when discharging desalination waste into 
the Gulf of Mexico.

	 TCEQ, by rule, must adopt an expedited permit 
process for both the discharge of treated marine 
seawater into a surface water source and the discharge 
of desalination waste into the sea three miles or less 
from the coast. The rules must provide for notice, an 
opportunity to submit written comment, an opportunity 
to request a public meeting, and an opportunity for a 
contested case hearing.

	 TCEQ rules for discharge of desalination waste 
further than three miles out to sea must provide for 
notice and an opportunity to submit written comment.

	 Conveyance of treated marine seawater. With 
prior authorization by the TCEQ, as well as a discharge 
permit, a person may use the bed and banks of any 
flowing natural stream or a lake, reservoir, or other 
impoundment to convey marine seawater that has 
been treated to meet water quality standards at least as 
stringent as those adopted by TCEQ for the receiving 
body of water.

	 TCEQ must provide notice and take written 
comment on commission actions for an authorization 
to use the bed and banks of a flowing natural stream, a 
lake, reservoir, or other impoundment to convey treated 
marine seawater. An opportunity for a contested case 
hearing will be provided only when a lake, reservoir, or 
other impoundment is involved to convey treated marine 
seawater but not when a natural stream is used for this 
purpose.
 
	 Diversion and discharge zones. HB 2031 
requires TPWD and GLO to conduct joint studies to 
identify zones in the Gulf of Mexico appropriate for 
the diversion of marine seawater or the discharge of 
desalination waste, taking into account the protection 
of marine organisms, and to recommend zones for 
designation by TCEQ by September 1, 2018. The 
commission must adopt rules designating appropriate 
diversion and discharge zones by September 1, 2020.
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	 A desalination facility need not operate in a 
diversion or discharge zone until TCEQ has adopted 
applicable rules, but it must in the meantime consult 
with TPWD and GLO on locations for diverting state 
marine seawater or discharging desalination waste into 
the Gulf of Mexico
 
	 Desalination of seawater for drinking water. 
TCEQ must adopt rules allowing marine seawater 
treated by a desalination facility to be used as public 
drinking water and ensure that the water meets 
the Health and Safety Code public drinking water 
requirements. Construction of a facility that will 
desalinate marine seawater for drinking water purposes 
cannot begin construction unless approved by TCEQ. 

	 Regional water planning. The bill requires the 
regional water plans to identify opportunities for and the 
benefits of developing large-scale desalination facilities 
for marine seawater that would serve local or regional 
entities.

Supporters said

	 HB 2031 would streamline the regulatory 
process and reduce the time required for and cost of 
marine seawater desalination. Marine seawater is a 
promising new source for drinking water, and seawater 
desalination could allow for this and other beneficial 
uses.

	 The bill is the product of much stakeholder input 
designed to establish a workable permitting process to 
exploit the vast quantities of seawater from the Gulf 
of Mexico while also protecting the state’s bays and 
estuaries. Seawater desalination facilities should be 
developed in a timely and cost-effective way to help the 
state meet its current and future water needs.

	 HB 2031 would provide an expedited and 
streamlined authorization for marine seawater 
desalination facilities consistent with appropriate 
environmental and water rights protections. The process 
described in the bill would avoid unnecessary costs 
and delays while providing the regulatory certainty to 
encourage significant investment in such facilities.

	 Although there are concerns that limiting the 
permitted area to three miles from the coast would not 
sufficiently protect the state’s bays and estuaries, any 
farther from the coastline could be cost-prohibitive 

for industry due to the expense of pipelines and other 
equipment. Three miles from the coastline is well 
outside any area that would be sensitive to a disruption 
of the salinity levels, so the bill would not have a 
negative impact on the marine ecosystem.

	 While it is possible that limiting regulations during 
the period before TCEQ adopted rules could result in 
a race to start construction, HB 2031 would contain 
a safeguard requiring facilities to consult with the 
Parks and Wildlife Department and the General Land 
Office regarding locations for diverting state marine 
seawater or discharging desalination waste into the gulf. 
The bill would allow the time needed for stakeholder 
involvement to ensure that the rulemaking process was 
adequately vetted and thorough.

Opponents said 

	 By requiring a permit for seawater diversion and the 
discharge of desalination waste only within three miles 
of the coast, HB 2031 might not adequately protect 
the state’s bays and estuaries. Extending the permitted 
area six miles out to sea would be more appropriate 
because some areas of transition closer to shore might 
be impacted by reduced stream flow due to drought 
conditions.

	 The bill could spark a race to begin the construction 
of facilities by limiting regulations during the period 
before TCEQ adopted rules for the designation of 
diversion and discharge zones. These activities should 
not begin before the commission has adopted standards 
necessary to protect water supplies and the environment.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2031 appeared in Part One 
of the April 30 Daily Floor Report. 

	 Two related bills were enacted by the 84th 
Legislature. HB 4097 by Hunter, effective June 17, 
2015, requires the Public Utility Commission to conduct 
studies related to seawater desalination, including 
those on the adequacy of electric infrastructure to serve 
a desalination project and the potential for a project 
to participate in demand response opportunities in 
the state’s power grid. The bill also allows TCEQ to 
issue permits related to seawater desalination and its 
associated waste for industrial purposes.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2031.pdf
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	 HB 30 by Larson, effective June 19, 2015, requires 
each regional water planning group to include in its 
regional water plan to the Water Development Board 
opportunities for and the benefits of developing large-
scale desalination facilities for seawater or brackish 
groundwater that serve local or regional brackish 
groundwater production zones. 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 4097 appeared in Part 
Two of the May 8 Daily Floor Report. The HRO 
analysis of HB 30 appeared in Part Two of the May 7 
Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB4097.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0030.pdf
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HB 3298 by Larson
Died in Senate committee

Studying the development of a water market

	 HB 3298, as passed by the House, would have 
required the Texas Water Development Board (TWDB) 
to conduct a study to evaluate improvements to the 
transfer of water entitlements and the functioning of 
statewide and regional water markets. TWDB also 
would have been required to study opportunities for and 
barriers to the potential establishment of a statewide 
or regional water grid, including an integrated network 
of natural and constructed works, such as pipelines, 
pumping stations, and reservoirs, for the conveyance of 
water between and within river basins, water sources, 
and areas of water use in the state.

	 TWDB would have had to consult with the Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, the Public 
Utility Commission, the Railroad Commission, and 
the General Land Office as part of the study and 
offer the public an opportunity to submit written 
comments. By September 1, 2016, TWDB would 
have been required to submit to the Legislature a final 
written report containing the findings of the study and 
recommendations for any legislation or other action 
necessary to implement the program.

Supporters said 

	 HB 3298 would charge the Texas Water 
Development Board (TWDB) with taking the first step 
in creating a master plan for an efficient conveyance of 
water throughout the state by means of water markets 
and a water grid.

	 Water markets have been widely recognized as 
valuable tools to alleviate scarcity. The existence of 
a water market outside the current regulatory scheme 
would allow municipal utilities to seek willing sellers of 
water, rather than the state having to enforce the water 
rights priority system or force cutbacks in agricultural 
water deliveries. The development of such a market 
along with a water grid would facilitate the conveyance 
of water from water right holders with excess supplies 
— or areas of relative abundance — to areas of 
relative shortage. Shifting supplies of water in this 

fashion would improve water security and help prevent 
shortages that could be devastating to the economy and 
environment.

	 While some say the focus of the study should be on 
conservation strategies instead of a market and network 
for water, conservation, while a key strategy, is not 
enough. To meet an ever-growing need, it is imperative 
that the state begin working toward ways to transport 
water from areas with abundant resources to water-
insecure communities. HB 3298 would help break away 
from the practice of hoarding water within arbitrary 
political boundaries by working toward a blueprint 
for a hydrovascular network that would enable the 
mutually beneficial sharing of water supplies between 
communities.

	 While there were concerns that the bill would not 
protect property rights or give sufficient consideration 
to the areas from which water could be transported, HB 
3298 would only create a study and would not change 
the current regulatory environment or impact existing 
water rights.

Opponents said 

	 HB 3298 would require a study on constructing 
a water grid — essentially pipelines — that could be 
costly, energy intensive, environmentally harmful and 
politically challenging, with the potential to pit some 
areas of the state against others. Developing a water grid 
could create management challenges if the wet areas of 
the state faced an extended drought and communities 
relying on imported water were left high and dry.

	 While HB 3298 would make a good-faith effort to 
meet the state’s water challenges, an expensive and 
elaborate water grid could harm the already stressed 
rivers and aquifers and risk the economic viability 
of rural areas from which water would be exported. 
Any discussion of water transfers should include 
consideration of long-term effects on the areas from 
which water would be transferred, including any impact 
on property rights.

Table 
of Contents



House Research Organization Page 133

	 Using state and agency resources on a statewide 
grid could undermine efforts to build a consensus on 
statewide water policy that balances rural and urban 
interests. The study instead should focus on maximizing 
conservation and efficiency in Texas agriculture, 
industry, and cities. Maximizing water efficiency would 
minimize the financial, environmental, and social costs 
of pumping and transporting more water supplies.

	 As the state grows, it would be more appropriate to 
develop voluntary regional water markets, bound by 
clear conditions to protect rivers, aquifers, and rural 
communities. Texas also should continue to focus on 
local and regional projects, such as aquifer storage and 
recovery and wastewater reuse, to help communities 
meet reasonable water demands without subsidizing 
growth with water from other parts of the state.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3298 appeared in Part One 
of the May 7 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB3298.pdf
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SB 523 by Birdwell
Effective June 19, 2015

Limited Sunset review process for river authorities

	 SB 523 establishes a limited Sunset review process 
for river authorities on governance, management, 
operating structure, and compliance with legislative 
requirements.

	 Limited Sunset review schedule. The river 
authorities are subject to a review as if they were 
state agencies but cannot be abolished. The following 
authorities are slated for limited Sunset review 
according to the following schedule, based on the date 
each would be abolished if it were a state agency:  
	
	 September 1, 2017, and every 12th year after:

•	 Central Colorado River Authority; 
•	 Palo Duro River Authority of Texas; 
•	 Sulphur River Basin Authority; and
•	 Upper Colorado River Authority.

September 1, 2019, and every 12th year after:

•	 Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority;
•	 Lower Colorado River Authority (not 

including the management of the generation 
or transmission of the authority’s wholesale 
electricity operation and the authority’s 
affiliated nonprofit corporations, unless 
recommended by the state auditor following the 
results of an audit conducted before December 
1, 2016); 

•	 Nueces River Authority; and
•	 Red River Authority of Texas.

September 1, 2021, and every 12th year after:

•	 Brazos River Authority;
•	 Lower Neches Valley Authority;
•	 Sabine River Authority of Texas;
•	 San Jacinto River Authority; and
•	 Upper Guadalupe River Authority.

September 1, 2023, and every 12th year after:

•	 Angelina and Neches River Authority;
•	 Bandera County River Authority and 

Groundwater District;

•	 Lavaca-Navidad River Authority;
•	 San Antonio River Authority; and
•	 Trinity River Authority of Texas.

	
	 The bill repeals a former provision in state law that 
made the Sulphur River Basin Authority subject to 
Sunset review every 12 years as if it were a state agency, 
with an abolition date of September 1, 2017.

	 River authorities are required to pay the cost 
incurred by the Sunset Advisory Commission in 
performing the review and will not be required to 
conduct a management audit as required by Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality rule.

Supporters said 

	 SB 523 would provide direct oversight of river 
authority operations by establishing a consistent, 
uniform Sunset review process. River authorities are 
entrusted with broad powers and the ability to manage 
the state’s water, yet the Legislature has no direct 
oversight or review of their actions. 

	 A Sunset review would ensure that river authorities 
were meeting their core functions. This is especially 
important given the prolonged drought that the state 
has experienced in recent years. Also, a Sunset review 
would provide an opportunity to examine more efficient 
ways to manage the authorities and issue bonds.

	 A river authority could not be abolished as a result 
of the limited review authorized by SB 523. The Sunset 
Advisory Commission would conduct these reviews 
for the purposes of open government, accountability, 
and transparent operations of river authorities. The bill 
would protect the bonding authority of river authorities 
by permitting only limited Sunset review to guard 
against concerns that the possibility of abolishment 
under a regular Sunset review could increase these 
entities’ borrowing costs on the bonding market.

	 While an audit by the State Auditor’s Office could 
be beneficial, it would be limited to the financial 
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transactions of the authorities and should be used in 
addition to, rather than in place of, a Sunset review.

Opponents said 

	 SB 523 is unnecessary and would be costly because 
river authorities already have multiple layers of 
oversight. While the bill would no longer require river 
authorities to have an independent management audit 
performed every five years, these entities are subject to 
review by the Legislative Budget Board and the State 
Auditor’s Office, as well as the continued supervision 
by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. 
Furthermore, the Legislature already has the ability to 
place a river authority under Sunset review as it deems 
necessary. 

	 According to the Sunset Advisory Commission, 
the estimated cost per review could exceed $60,000, 
depending on the river authority and travel time of 
Sunset Advisory Commission staff. The larger river 
authorities, such as the Lower Colorado River Authority 
and Brazos River Authority, would incur higher costs. 
River authorities also could experience additional 
internal costs. A Sunset review could be a significant 
financial burden because many of the authorities operate 
on modest budgets with five or fewer employees. The 
authorities with the earlier Sunset dates might be further 
burdened by not having adequate time to prepare.

	 While the bill was designed in an attempt to avoid 
any negative impact to an authority’s bond rating by 
not allowing for an authority to be abolished, a Sunset 
review still could create uncertainty and negatively 
affect an authority’s bond rating, thereby increasing its 
borrowing costs. Other options to increase transparency 
would be less damaging, such as an audit by the State 
Auditor’s Office. 

Other opponents said 

	 SB 523 would affect any river authority, whether or 
not it met criteria to warrant a Sunset review. Some river 
authorities do not own or manage any surface water 
rights. It would be more appropriate to put all governor-
appointed boards that own, market, and manage the 
state’s surface water under Sunset review, whether those 
entities were river authorities or water districts.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 523 appeared in Part One 
the May 22 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0523.pdf
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SB 709 by Fraser
Effective September 1, 2015

Revising process for contested environmental permits 

	 SB 709 makes various changes to the process for 
individuals or groups to contest environmental permits 
before they are issued as final by the Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality (TCEQ).

	 List of disputed issues. For a request to reconsider 
the executive director’s decision on a permit or to hold 
a contested case hearing, SB 709 requires that each of 
the disputed issues provided to the administrative law 
judge for consideration have been raised by an affected 
person in a comment that was timely submitted. The list 
of issues also must be detailed and complete and include 
either only factual questions or mixed questions of fact 
and law.

	 Time frame. Administrative law judges must 
complete a contested case proceeding and provide a 
proposal for decision to TCEQ no later than 180 days 
after the preliminary hearing or the date specified 
by the commission. This deadline may be extended 
by agreement of the parties with approval by the 
administrative law judge or if the judge determines that 
failure to grant the extension would deprive a party of 
due process or another constitutional right.

	 If the applicant or the executive director requests 
that the application be referred directly to a contested 
case hearing immediately after the executive director 
issues a preliminary decision, the administrative law 
judge may not hold a preliminary hearing until the 
executive director of TCEQ has issued a response to 
public comment.

	 Applicant’s draft permit and rebuttal. SB 
709 establishes that the draft permit as prepared and 
preliminarily approved by the TCEQ, along with other 
supporting documentation submitted in the application 
process, serves as a prima facie demonstration that the 
permit application meets necessary legal and technical 
requirements and that it would protect human health 
and safety, the environment, and property. A party may 
rebut this demonstration by presenting certain evidence. 
The bill allows the applicant and the TCEQ executive 
director to respond by presenting additional evidence 
supporting the draft permit.

	 Persons affected. SB 709 establishes factors the 
commission may consider in determining whether a 
person or association is a person affected by the draft 
permit for purposes of the contested case hearing 
process. These include:

•	 the merits of the underlying application, 
including whether it meets the requirements for 
permit issuance;

•	 the likely impact of the permitted activity on 
the hearing requestor’s health, safety, and use of 
property;

•	 the administrative record, including the permit 
application and other documentation;

•	 the analysis and the opinions of the TCEQ 
executive director; and

•	 other relevant information.

	 TCEQ may not find that a group or association was 
an affected person unless the group or association timely 
identifies by name and address a member who would be 
a person affected in the person’s own right. It also may 
not find that a hearing requestor is an affected person 
unless the requestor timely submitted comments on the 
permit application.

	 Notice of draft permit. Under SB 709, notice 
of draft permits must be provided to certain state 
lawmakers when an applicant or the executive director 
requests that an application be referred directly to a 
contested case hearing or when a person requests that 
the commission reconsider the executive director’s 
decision or hold a contested case hearing. In these 
instances, the executive director must provide written 
notice to the state senator and state representative of the 
area in which the facility subject to the permit is located 
at least 30 days before the commission issues the draft 
permit.

Supporters said

	 By shortening the time during which a contested 
case hearing could occur, SB 709 would provide more 
certainty for companies seeking environmental permits 
as part of building or expanding their facilities or 
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operations. The current process is not predictable and 
can last much longer than six months. This can have 
an adverse impact on economic growth and can deter 
companies from locating in Texas. Other states have 
different processes that may allow them to issue permits 
within a more predictable time frame.

	 The bill would create other limitations on the 
contested case process that would make it more fair 
and balanced. For example, the bill would clarify that 
if the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
(TCEQ) had already issued a preliminary decision on 
an applicant’s permit application and met other related 
requirements, this served as adequate evidence that the 
permit was adequate to protect health, safety, property, 
and the environment for purposes of the contested case 
hearing. Previously, applicants whose permits were 
being contested typically presented information to the 
judge to show that they had met these requirements 
even if their applications already had received a level of 
approval by TCEQ.

	 SB 709 also would ensure that those contesting the 
permit application were personally affected and had 
been participating in the process before contesting a 
specific case. In the past, associations or groups could 
be considered affected even if no individual person 
could be identified that was affected in his or her own 
right early in the process. In this way, the bill would 
discourage groups from inappropriately contesting cases 
to further a broad agenda or for frivolous reasons.
TCEQ already performs a thorough review of permit 
applications, and applicants must spend time and 
resources to satisfy and participate in that process. The 
bill would shorten the contested case process when 
it did occur and would create greater efficiency for 
everyone involved by ensuring that concerns surfaced 
early in the process for legitimate and specific reasons 
and that all parties knew who was raising concerns.

Opponents said

	 SB 709 further would limit public participation in 
a process in which concerned people have few tools 
to oppose the building or expansion of a facility that 
they believe could harm the environment, their health, 
or their property. Shortening the duration of cases 
and placing additional restrictions on who could be 
considered an affected party — as well as which types 
of issues could be raised — would increase the risk that 
problems with a permit were not identified, possibly 
resulting in harm to the environment and public health.

	 The bill would shift the burden of proof onto those 
protesting a permit and away from those applying for 
the permit in a contested case, even though companies 
trying to obtain permits have more time and resources 
to make their case than does the average citizen. This 
is of special concern to individuals who live in rural, 
unincorporated areas because counties have limited 
power to prohibit incompatible land uses. As a result, 
citizens who might not be schooled in law or have the 
resources to hire an attorney must rely on the contested 
case process to protect their rights and property. Placing 
the burden on the party contesting the permit to disprove 
the applicant’s evidence, rather than requiring the 
applicant to prove that the proposed project was not 
harmful, would change the nature of the process.

	 SB 709 would reduce the number of people who 
could contest a case, either because the person did not 
participate in the process early enough or because the 
person did not articulate the issues in the right way 
at the right time, even if the person would indeed be 
affected. 

	 The imposition of a 180-day time limit represents 
a “one-size-fits-all” approach that would not be 
appropriate in all cases and might not allow enough 
time for meaningful discovery, presentation of evidence, 
and adequate analysis of all the information presented 
in a complex case. By some estimates, contested cases 
in Texas last about 245 days on average. Shortening 
that process would reduce its effectiveness in allowing 
environmental concerns to surface.

	 The contested case process often results in 
improvements to, rather than denial of, the permit. By 
introducing a more restrictive process and a limit of 
180 days for contested cases, the bill would increase the 
chance that permits were approved or issued based on 
bad information or faulty analysis, which could erode 
the protections offered through the process.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of the House companion bill, 
HB 1865 by Morrison, appeared in Part Two of the 
April 30 Daily Floor Report. 

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1865.pdf
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SB 854 by Zaffirini
Effective September 1, 2015

Automatic renewal of certain groundwater permits

	 SB 854 requires groundwater conservation districts 
to renew groundwater production permits automatically 
without a hearing as long as renewal application fees are 
paid in a timely manner and the permit holder does not 
request any change requiring a permit amendment.

	 A groundwater conservation district is not required 
to renew a permit automatically if the permit holder:

•	 is delinquent in paying fees to the district;
•	 is subject to a pending district enforcement 

action for substantive violation of the permit, 
order, or rule that has not been finalized; or

•	 has not paid a penalty or complied with a final 
non-appealable decision that the permit holder 
violated a permit, order, or rule.

	 If a permit holder is subject to a pending 
enforcement action, the permit remains in effect until 
the conclusion of the action.

	 If a permit holder requests an amendment at the 
time of permit renewal, the existing permit remains in 
effect until the later of:

•	 the conclusion of the permit amendment process 
or permit renewal process, as applicable; or

•	 a final settlement or adjudication of a legal 
proceeding on the issue.

	 If the groundwater conservation district denies 
a permit amendment request, the permit holder must 
receive the opportunity to renew the permit as it existed 
before the permit amendment process.

	 A district may initiate an amendment to an operating 
permit, through the renewal of a permit or otherwise, in 
accordance with district rules. If a district initiates an 
amendment, the existing permit remains in effect until 
the conclusion of the permit amendment or renewal 
process.

Supporters said 

	 SB 854 would provide more certainty in the 
permitting process by requiring groundwater 
conservation districts to renew groundwater production 
permits automatically under certain circumstances. 
Reasonable certainty and predictability in the regulatory 
environment are important, especially when financing 
large-scale water projects that could require the issuance 
of long-term bonds. A typical groundwater production 
permit is valid for five years, which makes long-term 
planning difficult. Knowing that in as few as five years 
a district might not renew a permit or that the permit 
renewal could be subject to a contested case hearing can 
create an unstable environment for utilities, ratepayers, 
and investors. 

	 The bill would strike a balance in groundwater 
permitting by providing regulatory certainty for water 
providers while protecting the district’s ability to 
manage the aquifer. Safeguards would include allowing 
the district to initiate a permit amendment at any time 
in accordance with its rules and allowing it to deny an 
automatic renewal if the permit holder were not in good 
standing.

	 SB 854 would not limit public participation in 
the management of an aquifer. The opportunity for 
contesting a case hearing existed when the permit was 
initiated. Under the bill, permits could be automatically 
renewed only if the permit holder did not request a 
change related to the renewal that would require an 
amendment to the initial permit. Further, existing law 
relating to permit amendments and the bill’s provision 
allowing the district to initiate a permit amendment 
would require district rulemaking and the opportunity 
for public participation. Any rule change implementing 
this bill would be accompanied by public notice and 
comment.
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Opponents said 

	 Requiring groundwater conservation districts 
to automatically renew groundwater production 
permits under certain conditions would eliminate 
the opportunity for members of the community to 
participate in a contested case hearing. It can take years 
for the full effect of a groundwater production permit to 
be recognized because districts have limited information 
when approving the initial permit. While the bill would 
allow districts to initiate amendments to permits at any 
time, the public should have the opportunity to weigh 
in as well, especially if the amendment was proposed in 
response to changes in the aquifer’s condition.

Notes

	 SB 854 passed the House on the Local, Consent, 
and Resolutions Calendar.

	 A similar bill, HB 1248 by Lucio, passed the House 
on April 30 and was referred to the Senate Committee 
on Agriculture, Water, and Rural Affairs, where no 
further action was taken. The HRO analysis of HB 1248 
appeared in Part Two the April 29 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1248.pdf
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SB 1366 by Kolkhorst
Effective September 1, 2015

Changing the allocation of sales tax revenue for parks 

	 SB 1366 eliminates the statutory allocation 
percentages to each Texas Parks and Wildlife 
Department fund receiving sporting goods sales tax 
(SGST) receipts. The bill instead limits the revenue 
transferred among the accounts to a total amount not to 
exceed total SGST revenue available, plus the cost of 
state contributions for benefits of department employees 
whose salaries are paid from those accounts.

Supporters said

	 SB 1366 would give the Legislature discretion in 
how best to spend funds for state and local parks by 
removing the statutory allocation percentages to each 
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) fund 
receiving sporting goods sales tax (SGST) receipts. 
Funding state parks is a major priority this budget cycle, 
and available SGST receipts should be allocated to state 
and local parks. 

	 The TPWD allocation percentages in statute 
limit the Legislature’s flexibility to appropriate SGST 
receipts where they are needed most. For example, 
entering fiscal 2016-17, the local parks accounts have 
a balance of about $47.7 million, which far exceeds 
the department’s budget request for this purpose. By 
removing the statutory allocation percentages, SB 1366 
would allow budget writers to use that balance to fully 
fund local parks, with money left over to meet the needs 
of the state park system, including much-needed funds 
for deferred maintenance projects. 

Opponents said

	 Giving the Legislature discretion on how to spend 
SGST revenues on state and local parks could make 
funding for this purpose subject to the whim of any 
future legislature. A more prescriptive approach would 
be more appropriate. For example, other legislation 
proposed this session would reapportion the statutory 
allocation percentages to give more funding to state 
parks to pay for deferred maintenance, while still 
dedicating money to address the needs of local parks.

Notes

	 SB 1366 was laid out on May 8 in lieu of its 
companion bill, HB 300 by Gonzales. The HRO 
analysis of HB 300 appeared in Part One of the May 4 
Daily Floor Report.  
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HB 4 by Huberty
Effective May 28, 2015

Creating and funding a high-quality pre-K program

	 HB 4 creates a new high-quality prekindergarten 
(pre-K) grant program, beginning with the 2015-16 
school year. In addition to existing half-day funding 
under the Foundation School Program for eligible 
students, the bill directs the commissioner of education 
to make awards to school districts and charter schools 
that meet all high-quality prekindergarten standards. 
The grant funding may not exceed $1,500 per qualifying 
student, and the total amount of funding distributed to 
districts may not exceed $130 million for fiscal 2016-17.

	 A student qualifies for the grant funding if the 
student is 4 years old on September 1 of the year the 
student begins the program and if the student meets 
certain eligibility requirements, including being 
from a low-income family, being unable to speak or 
comprehend English, being homeless or in foster care, 
or having parents on active military duty.

	 Requirements for a high-quality program include:

•	 implementing a curriculum that includes 
prekindergarten guidelines established by the 
Texas Education Agency (TEA);

•	 measuring the progress of students in meeting 
the recommended learning outcomes;

•	 having a teacher who is certified and meets 
additional early childhood certification or 
experience requirements;

•	 attempting to maintain an average ratio of not 
less than one certified teacher or teacher’s aide 
for each 11 students; 

•	 not using national curriculum standards 
developed by the Common Core Standards 
Initiative; and

•	 implementing a family engagement plan to 
achieve and maintain high levels of family 
involvement and positive family attitudes 
toward education. 

	 A district may administer diagnostic assessments to 
evaluate student progress but may not administer a state 
standardized exam to students in a program class. 

	 The commissioner must evaluate the use and 
effectiveness of grant funding and identify effective 

instruction strategies. Beginning in 2018, the results will 
be reported to the Legislature by December 1 of each 
even-numbered year through 2024.

	 Districts may contract with eligible private 
providers for services or equipment. Private providers 
must be licensed by and in good standing with the 
Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS). 
Private providers also must be accredited by a research-
based, nationally recognized, and universally accessible 
accreditation system approved by the commissioner or 
meet other requirements.

	 The bill requires TEA to produce and publish on the 
agency’s website annual district and campus reports on 
early education. The reports must contain:

•	 class size and ratio of instructional staff to 
students;

•	 a description and results of each type of 
assessment instrument used;

•	 curricula used;
•	 the number of students in grades K-2 whose 

scores from a diagnostic reading instrument 
indicate reading proficiency; and

•	 the number of kindergarten students who were 
enrolled in a pre-K program in the previous 
school year in the same district or school.

	 TEA and DFPS must conduct a joint study to 
develop recommendations on optimal class sizes and 
student-to-teacher ratios for prekindergarten classes and 
submit a report to the Legislature by September 1, 2016.

Supporters said 

	 HB 4 would give districts the flexibility and 
incentives to boost the quality of their prekindergarten 
programs. These programs serve students most at risk 
of not succeeding in kindergarten through third grade, 
including English language learners and students from 
low-income households. Districts and charter schools 
that adopt the voluntary standards could use the extra 
funding to hire new teachers, extend their programs 
from half-day to full-day, or otherwise improve the 
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quality of their prekindergarten offerings. This opt-in 
approach would be preferable to mandating full-day 
prekindergarten because it would give districts the 
opportunity to expand or enhance existing half-day 
programs.

	 The ability to partner with private providers would 
be a financially equitable way for districts to meet the 
high-quality prekindergarten standards. This option 
could be particularly helpful for fast-growing districts 
that did not have space in their elementary schools 
for new classrooms. High-performing private day 
care providers and preschools could benefit from the 
partnerships instead of being forced to compete with 
local public school programs.

Opponents said 

	 HB 4 would create an expensive new 
prekindergarten program that might not achieve the 
improvements in early school success that supporters 
claim. Although the new program would be limited to 
certain students, the bill could create a slippery slope 
toward universal full-day prekindergarten for every 
4-year-old in Texas. For most 4-year-olds, the best 
learning environment is at home with a parent. 

	 By attaching funding to the new prekindergarten 
standards, the bill could provide a financial incentive 
for public schools to crowd out some private pre-K 
providers. Without revenue from classrooms serving 
4-year-olds, some licensed day care centers could not 
afford to provide more costly infant care. Nonprofits 
such as churches and local community organizations 
also could be affected as parents chose free public 
school programs.

Other opponents said 

	 HB 4 would be a good start to focus resources on 
prekindergarten but would not go far enough. It would 
not expand eligibility to all 4-year-olds nor require 
full-day prekindergarten. A quality full-day program 
would deliver the best, most sustainable results for 
educationally disadvantaged children and would be 
most helpful to working parents who find it difficult to 
pick up students from school in the middle of the day.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 4 appeared in Part One of 
the April 8 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0004.pdf
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HB 18 by Aycock
Effective June 19, 2015

Dual credit and postsecondary planning initiatives

	 HB 18 requires that all students in grade 7 or 8 
receive instruction in developing their high school 
graduation plans and preparing for college or career. 
It establishes postsecondary and career counseling 
academies for middle and high school counselors and 
advisors. The bill also allows high school students to 
enroll in an unlimited number of dual credit courses. It 
increases the number of districts and charter schools that 
can participate in the Texas High Performance Schools 
Consortium.

	 High school and postsecondary planning. The 
bill requires the Texas Education Agency to develop 
uniform public outreach materials that explain changes 
to the high school curriculum made in HB 5 by Aycock, 
enacted by the 83rd Legislature in 2013. The materials 
must be made available to school districts in a form 
that would allow them to be mailed to students and 
parents and must be published in English, Spanish, and 
Vietnamese. The materials must include an explanation 
of high school endorsements, curriculum requirements 
for automatic college admission under the Top 10 
Percent law, and information about state student 
financial aid programs. 

	 School districts must provide instruction to students 
in grade 7 or 8 on creating a high school personal 
graduation plan, available endorsements, college 
readiness standards, and potential career choices. A 
district may establish a new elective course for this 
instruction or provide the instruction as part of an 
existing course in the required curriculum or an existing 
career and technology course.

	 HB 18 also requires institutions of higher education 
that administer the Texas Success Initiative assessment, 
which measures college readiness, to provide districts 
with information on the performance of their graduates.

	 Counseling academies. The Center for Teaching 
and Learning at The University of Texas at Austin 
is required to develop postsecondary education and 
career counseling academies for middle and high 
school counselors and other postsecondary advisors. A 

counselor who attends the academy is entitled to receive 
a stipend in the amount determined by the center. 

	 An academy must provide counselors with 
knowledge and skills on high school and postsecondary 
planning, including:

•	 requirements for earning endorsements;
•	 ways for a student to earn credit for a course 

not offered at the student’s school, including 
through online courses; 

•	 college admission requirements; 
•	 regional workforce needs; and 
•	 participation in mentorships and business 

partnerships. 
	
	 The center must develop an online instructional 
program that districts may use in providing instruction 
on high school and postsecondary planning.

	 Dual credit access. The bill prohibits the Texas 
Higher Education Coordinating Board from adopting 
a rule limiting the number of dual credit courses or 
semester credit hours in which a high school student 
may enroll. It also requires that dual credit courses be 
taught by a qualified instructor approved or selected by 
the public junior college who meets specified degree 
requirements. In addition, the bill allows money from 
the Skills Development Fund administered by the 
Texas Workforce Commission to be awarded to school 
districts, in addition to lower-division institutions of 
higher education, to support dual credit courses that lead 
to an industry-recognized credential.

	 High Performance Schools Consortium. The bill 
increases the number of districts and charter schools 
that may participate in the Texas High Performance 
Schools Consortium from 20 to 30 and the percentage 
of students from 5 percent to 10 percent of total public 
school enrollment. The bill adds the State Board of 
Education (SBOE) to entities that must be informed 
about methods for improving student learning through 
the consortium and requires the consortium to report 
to the Legislature, SBOE, and the commissioner by 
December 1 of each even-numbered year.

Table 
of Contents



House Research Organization Page 145

Supporters said 

	 HB 18 would strengthen high school and 
postsecondary readiness by providing additional training 
for high school counselors and removing the current 
limit on the number of dual credit courses in which high 
school students may enroll. 

	 The bill would build on high school curriculum 
reforms in HB 5 by Aycock, enacted by the 83rd 
Legislature, which allows students who take additional 
or specific courses to earn endorsements in one of 
five areas of study. HB 18 would provide training to 
better prepare counselors to advise students about their 
personal graduation plans and the benefits of pursuing 
an endorsement. It also would provide public outreach 
materials and instruction to middle schoolers to help 
students and their families make informed choices 
about high school. Schools would have several options 
for providing that instruction to avoid interfering with 
middle-school students’ electives. 

	 Removing limits on dual credit courses would 
enable more students to simultaneously earn credit 
toward a high school diploma and a college degree or 
industry certificate. This could allow students to earn 
a postsecondary degree or credential in less time and 
save on tuition costs. Students already must demonstrate 
college readiness to enroll in dual credit courses, which 
would prevent them from overloading their schedules 
with difficult college courses. 

	 Allowing districts that have a memorandum of 
understanding with an area community college to access 
job training funding could help with costs related to 
industry-related dual credit programs and encourage 
more districts to partner with higher education 
institutions to offer such courses.

Opponents said 

	 HB 18 would not address the need for additional 
counselors to meet the increased workload required 
by the enactment of HB 5 in 2013. It also would not 
address the extent to which non-counseling duties 
related to testing and other issues are reducing the time 
school counselors have available for career planning 
with students and their parents. Instead, the bill would 
direct millions of dollars to one university to create 
counseling academies even though there are other 
institutions that already deliver this curriculum.

	 The bill also would not provide funding to cover 
costs that districts could incur in preparing outreach 
materials and developing and staffing new career 
planning courses for middle-school students.

	 Allowing districts to deliver instruction about high 
school and career planning through a new elective 
course could impact the ability of middle-school 
students to take other electives, such as music or art. 
Fine arts instruction can help keep students engaged in 
school and should not be crowded out by a new career 
planning course.

	 Prohibiting any limit on dual credit courses 
could lead to students overloading their schedules 
with rigorous college courses and could result in 
unanticipated costs and consequences for students 
and their families. For example, while tuition might 
be waived for the courses, students still could incur 
costs for textbooks and commuting to area community 
colleges. In addition, students might be unaware that 
some dual credit courses count toward the calculation of 
the student’s college grade point average. Districts that 
pay tuition and fees for students to attend dual credit 
courses could experience increased costs.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 18 appeared in Part Three 
of the May 8 Daily Floor Report. 

	 HB 505 by E. Rodriguez, effective May 23, 2015, 
contains similar language prohibiting the coordinating 
board from adopting a rule limiting the number of 
dual credit courses in which a high school student may 
enroll. The HRO analysis of HB 505 appeared in Part 
Two of the April 8 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0018.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0505.pdf
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HB 743 by Huberty
Effective June 19, 2015

STAAR test design and curriculum standards study

	 HB 743 adds new requirements for the design of 
State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness 
(STAAR) exams for grades 3-8. The bill requires the 
Texas Education Agency (TEA) to conduct a study on 
the STAAR exams and the required state curriculum, 
known as the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills 
(TEKS). The bill also requires TEA to audit and monitor 
performance by testing contractors.

	 Test design. Beginning with the 2015-16 school 
year, all STAAR exams administered in grades 3-8 
must, on the basis of empirical evidence, be determined 
valid and reliable by an entity independent of TEA 
and any other entity that developed the assessment 
instrument.

	 An assessment instrument must be designed so that 
85 percent of students in grades 3-5 can finish within 
two hours and 85 percent of students in grades 6-8 can 
finish within three hours. The amount of time allowed 
for test administration may not exceed eight hours, and 
a test must be administered within one day.

	 TEKS study. TEA must conduct a study to evaluate 
the number and scope of the TEKS standards identified 
as readiness or supporting standards and whether the 
number or scope should be limited. The study also 
must evaluate the number and subjects of standardized 
exams that are required to be administered to students in 
grades 3-8, how those exams assess standards essential 
for student success, and whether the exams also should 
assess supporting standards, including analysis of:

•	 the portion of the TEKS that can be accurately 
assessed;

•	 the appropriate skills that can be assessed within 
the testing parameters under current law; and

•	 how current standards compare to those 
parameters.

	 TEA’s report on the study must be submitted to 
the State Board of Education by March 1, 2016. The 
board must by May 1, 2016, submit to the governor 
and Legislature the agency’s report and board 
recommendations regarding each issue evaluated.

	 Testing contract. TEA is required to develop 
a comprehensive methodology for auditing and 
monitoring performance under contracts to develop 
or administer tests in order to verify compliance. All 
new and renewed contracts must include a provision 
allowing TEA or a designee to conduct periodic contract 
compliance reviews, without advance notice, to monitor 
vendor performance.

Supporters said 

	 HB 743 would place restrictions on the length 
of time students spend on STAAR tests and would 
redesign the exams to align with grade-level standards. 
This redesign could result in tests with fewer questions, 
reducing the time spent preparing for and taking exams. 
This could reduce testing stress on students, teachers, 
and parents.

	 The requirement for the Texas Education Agency 
(TEA) to conduct a study on whether the Texas 
Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) should be 
limited could help determine whether critics are 
correct in saying that the state curriculum covers too 
much material in too little depth. The bill would retain 
the State Board of Education’s authority over the 
curriculum by requiring the board to review TEA’s 
report and make recommendations to the governor and 
Legislature. 

	 TEA’s management of the state’s multi-million 
dollar testing contract was criticized in a 2013 state 
audit. The October 2014 Sunset report on TEA 
recommended that the agency provide more centralized 
contract oversight and develop monitoring plans for 
all major contracts. HB 743 would require TEA to 
develop a process for auditing and monitoring testing 
contractors.

Opponents said 

	 HB 743 could weaken the rigorous curriculum 
standards that serve as building blocks to help students 
succeed in their education. To the extent that changes 
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to state curriculum and assessment processes were 
not approved by the U.S. Department of Education, 
the bill could result in the loss of federal funds. For 
instance, shorter reading and math assessments for 
grades 3-5 might not measure the entirety of the TEKS 
for those grades and subjects, which could remove the 
assessments from compliance with federal law.

	 Students must be prepared to compete in a global 
economy, and Texas should not back away from a 
testing and accountability system that measures whether 
students are being prepared for their next grade or 
higher-level course. The required TEA evaluation of 
the number and subjects of exams could lead to further 
reductions in testing, including the possible elimination 
of the grade 8 social studies exam. If students are not 
tested in social studies, there could be less emphasis on 
teaching young Texans about America’s unique role in 
the world and how to participate in the political process.

	 The current STAAR exams are fully aligned to 
the TEKS and meet established reliability and validity 
guidelines established by national organizations such 
as the American Educational Research Association, the 
American Psychological Association, and the National 
Council on Measurement in Education. There is no 
need for the state to spend money for an independent 
validation of exams that have already met established 
guidelines.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 743 appeared in Part Two 
of the May 1 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0743.pdf
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HB 1759 by Aycock
Died in the House

Revising school finance formulas

	 HB 1759 would have revised formulas used 
to determine school district and charter school 
entitlement funding under the Foundation School 
Program. It would have repealed certain school funding 
provisions, including cost-of-education adjustments, the 
transportation allotment, the high school allotment, and 
additional state aid for staff salaries.

	 Adjustments and allotments. The bill would 
have removed a requirement that the basic allotment 
per student include a cost-of-education adjustment that 
reflects variations in education costs beyond the control 
of districts. It also would have repealed:

•	 districts’ allotment for providing transportation 
to students who reside two or more miles from 
their regular campus;

•	 districts’ entitlement to an annual allotment 
of $275 for each student in average daily 
attendance in grades 9-12; and

•	 additional state aid for staff salary increases, 
which entitles districts to $500 multiplied by the 
number of full-time non-professional employees 
and $250 multiplied by the number of part-time 
district employees, other than administrators.

	 Adjustments for small and mid-size districts would 
have been revised. The level of application of the mid-
size district adjustment would have been reduced to 75 
percent of the value of the adjusted basic allotment for 
the 2015-16 school year, and would have decreased by 
5 percent in each subsequent school year until it was 
phased out. The small district adjustment would have 
been increased slightly.

	 Equalized wealth. The bill would have repealed 
provisions that result in a higher equalized wealth level 
for certain districts based on the district’s 1992-93 
revenue per student plus the indexed change between 
the current equalized wealth level and the level 
established in 1993.

	 Transitional funding. Districts would have been 
entitled to receive transitional funding for any amount 
of maintenance and operations revenue lost as a result 

of the bill’s enactment. The total amount of transitional 
funding could not have exceeded $75.7 million for the 
2015-16 school year and $81.2 million for the 2016-17 
school year.

Supporters said 

	 HB 1759 would help improve the overall funding 
and equity of the school finance system. The bill, in 
conjunction with the House-passed version of the 
general appropriations act, could provide an additional 
$3 billion for public schools while ending an ongoing 
lawsuit.

	 The bill would simplify school funding laws by 
eliminating outdated adjustments, such as the cost-of-
education index (CEI), which has not been updated 
in 25 years. Money saved by ending the CEI and 
allotments for transportation, high school, and school 
support staff could increase the basic allotment from 
$5,040 to $5,888 per student and improve equity, 
according to models developed by the Legislative 
Budget Board (LBB). 

	 The bill also could ease the impact of property tax 
revenue recapture for some districts, according to the 
LBB. This could benefit large urban districts such as 
Houston and Austin that are property wealthy but also 
have large populations of economically disadvantaged 
students who are more expensive to educate. Under 
the current system, it is difficult for these districts to 
ask voters for tax increases when a large portion of the 
revenue collected would be distributed to property-poor 
districts across the state.

Opponents said 

	 HB 1759 would increase the funding gap between 
the highest-wealth and lowest-wealth districts. It 
would not address funding weights for economically 
disadvantaged students and English language learners, 
which was one of the primary concerns of the district 
court in its 2014 ruling. 

Table 
of Contents



House Research Organization Page 149

	 HB 1759 by itself would not increase the basic 
allotment, which instead would be done through the 
general appropriations act. The bill would repeal aspects 
of the funding system without guaranteeing that the 
savings were rolled into the basic allotment. With no 
corresponding statutory change to the basic allotment, 
any increase could be temporary.

	 Instead of doing away with the cost-of-education 
index (CEI), the state should update it to reflect current 
values. Eliminating the index would undermine the 
ability of certain urban districts to compete with 
suburban districts for the best teachers. The adjustment 
for mid-size districts should not be phased out because 
fixed and uncontrollable costs are higher for those 
districts on a per-student basis.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1759 appeared in the May 
14 Daily Floor Report.

	 Certain provisions in HB 1759 were enacted as 
part of HB 7 by Darby, which took effect September 
1, 2015. Under HB 7, those provisions provide a 
mechanism to enable districts with compressed tax 
rates that are below $1.00 per $100 valuation to receive 
funding equal to districts with compressed tax rates that 
are at $1.00. The affected districts may convert certain 
additional tax effort — known as “copper pennies” 
— into Tier 1 basic entitlement pennies, which would 
generate a higher yield as a result of being tied to the 
basic allotment. Districts will be limited to converting 
the number of pennies needed to achieve a compressed 
tax rate of $1.00. Rate conversion will be optional for 
districts in fiscal 2016 and 2017 and will be automatic 
beginning in fiscal 2018.

	 The Legislative Budget Board estimates that, based 
on the current tax rates of the affected school districts, 
the total amount of additional state aid to those districts 
would be $94.3 million in fiscal 2016 and $98 million in 
fiscal 2017.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1759.pdf
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HB 1842 by Aycock
Effective June 19, 2015

Interventions for low-performing schools

	 HB 1842 changes the interventions and 
sanctions for campuses that have been identified as 
academically unacceptable for two consecutive years. 
Changes include requiring such campuses to prepare 
a turnaround plan. The bill allows districts with 
academically acceptable ratings to be designated as 
innovation districts and to be exempt from certain state 
requirements. 

	 Campus turnaround plan. After a campus has 
been identified as unacceptable for two consecutive 
years, the commissioner of education must order the 
district to prepare and submit a campus turnaround 
plan. The district board of trustees must consult with 
the campus intervention team to provide notice to and 
request assistance from parents, the community, and 
stakeholders. The plan must include details on the 
method for restructuring, reforming, or reconstituting 
the campus and could involve granting a district charter 
or partnering with a higher education institution.

	 The bill removes statutory requirements that a 
campus intervention team decide which educators at the 
underperforming school should be retained and that the 
principal be removed unless certain conditions are met.

	 The commissioner may approve a campus 
turnaround plan only after determining that it would 
satisfy all student performance standards under the 
state accountability system not later than two years 
after its implementation. A turnaround plan must be 
implemented following the third consecutive school 
year that the campus has been rated academically 
unacceptable. 

	 If a campus for which a turnaround plan has been 
ordered receives an academically acceptable rating for 
the school year following the order, the district board 
may implement, modify, or withdraw the plan. A district 
required to implement a plan may modify it if the 
campus receives an academically acceptable rating for 
two consecutive years following implementation of the 
plan.

	 Board of managers. If a turnaround plan is not 
approved, the commissioner must: 

•	 appoint a board of managers to govern the 
district; 

•	 order alternative management of the campus; or 
•	 close the campus. 

	 If a campus has an unacceptable rating for three 
consecutive years after the campus is ordered to submit 
a turnaround plan, the commissioner must appoint a 
board of managers or close the school.

	 A board of managers must take appropriate actions 
to resolve the conditions that caused a campus to be low 
performing, including amending the district’s budget, 
reassigning staff, or relocating academic programs. A 
board may be removed only after the campus receives 
an academically acceptable rating for two consecutive 
years. If a campus receives an unacceptable rating 
for two additional consecutive years following the 
appointment of a board of managers, the commissioner 
may name a new board.

	 Alternative management. If the commissioner 
orders alternative management, the district must execute 
a contract with a managing entity for a term of up to 
five years. The commissioner may require a district to 
extend the contract if the commissioner determines an 
extension is in the best interest of students. If a campus 
is academically unacceptable for two consecutive years 
after the managing entity assumes management, the 
commissioner must cancel the contract.

	 Closure. Under an order of closure, a campus may 
be repurposed only if the commissioner finds that a 
repurposed campus would offer a distinctly different 
academic program and would serve a majority of grade 
levels not served at the original campus. Any student 
assigned to a campus that has been closed must be 
allowed to transfer to any other campus in the district 
and receive transportation on request.

	 Charter schools. HB 1842 allows charter holders 
to establish new campuses if they meet all requirements 
and if the commissioner has not provided a written 
notice to the charter holder that the commissioner has 
determined the charter holder has not satisfied the 
accountability and other statutory requirements for 
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campus expansion. It also requires the commissioner 
to adopt an informal procedure for certain decisions 
regarding charter non-renewals, revocations, or 
governance reconstitutions. The procedure must allow 
representatives of the charter holder to meet with the 
commissioner and submit additional information, 
to which the commissioner must provide a written 
response in a final decision.

	 Innovation districts. A school district with an 
acceptable performance rating can seek designation as 
a district of innovation by a resolution adopted by the 
board of trustees or a petition signed by a majority of 
the district-level committee established to review district 
and campus improvement plans. The board must hold 
a public hearing and may decline to pursue designation 
as an innovation district or may appoint a committee 
to develop a local innovation plan. Such a plan must 
provide for a comprehensive education program for the 
district, which may include:

•	 innovative curriculum and instructional 
methods;

•	 modifications to the school day or year;
•	 provisions regarding budget and program 

funding;
•	 accountability and assessment measures that 

exceed state and federal requirements; and
•	 the identification of certain Education Code 

requirements from which the district should be 
exempted.

	 Two-thirds of trustees must vote to adopt a local 
innovation plan, which cannot exceed five years. The 
commissioner may terminate a district’s designation if 
the district receives unacceptable academic or financial 
ratings for two consecutive school years. Instead of 
termination, the commissioner may permit the district 
to amend the innovation plan to address concerns. The 
commissioner must terminate a district’s designation if 
the district receives unacceptable academic or financial 
ratings for three consecutive school years.

	 Monitoring reviews. The bill allows the Texas 
Education Agency (TEA) to conduct monitoring 
reviews to ensure district compliance with academic or 
financial standards. A monitoring review may include 
desk reviews and on-site visits. TEA also must adopt 
written procedures for conducting special accreditation 
investigations, including procedures that allow the 

agency to obtain information from district employees in 
a way that prevents a district or campus from screening 
that information.

Supporters said 

	 HB 1842 would address chronically low-performing 
schools by streamlining the sanctions and intervention 
process and providing finality for the community. 
Districts and local school boards no longer could allow 
low-performing campuses to continue operating for 
years. The knowledge that the state would intervene 
would force a school board to either fix the campus or 
give students a better option.

	 Districts would have flexibility to craft a campus 
turnaround plan that met local needs and included 
input from parents and teachers. Instead of punishing 
educators for working in a troubled school by requiring 
their replacement, the bill would allow them to play a 
crucial role in turning the campus around.

	 The requirement for alternative management 
contracts to be revoked after two years if a school 
did not improve would prevent a campus from being 
allowed to remain unacceptable for longer than that 
just because such a contract was in effect. HB 1842 
would require closure or the naming of a board of 
managers after a school had five consecutive years of 
academically unacceptable performance. These are 
drastic but appropriate options for schools with long 
records of consistently low performance.

	 The bill would allow academically acceptable 
districts the same flexibility to innovate that charter 
schools enjoy by allowing a supermajority of the school 
board to claim district-level exemption from most laws 
from which charters are exempt. It would free school 
boards to experiment with scheduling, staffing, and 
other restrictions that are locally determined to impede 
student progress.

Opponents said

	 HB 1842 would spend $1.6 million on staff at 
the state level instead of funding programs directly to 
help students at failing schools succeed. Money for 
tutoring, technology, and counseling could do more to 
improve student performance than yet another series of 
bureaucratic interventions and sanctions.
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	 HB 1842 would not provide sufficient time for 
alternate management arrangements to work. Some 
entities that specialize in school interventions have 
said they would need a minimum of five years to turn a 
failing school around. 

	 The bill would allow districts to eliminate certified 
employee contract rights and other benefits that 
teachers have worked hard to obtain. Districts also 
could eliminate classroom size limits and certain legal 
protections for students. These laws are the minimum 
standards that the state decided should be in place for 
public schools, and it is unlikely that districts would 
get better results from hiring uncertified teachers and 
placing them in larger classrooms. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1842 appeared in Part One 
of the May 11 Daily Floor Report.

	 The 84th Legislature considered other bills related 
to school interventions and district governance. HB 
1798 by Deshotel would have replaced provisions 
in Chapter 12 of the Education Code, which governs 
home-rule school districts, with a petition process for a 
school district to become a local control school district 
and be exempted from certain laws. HB 1798 did not 
pass to engrossment in the House. The HRO analysis of 
HB 1798 appeared in the May 13 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 14 by L. Taylor would have allowed parents to 
petition the education commissioner for interventions 
and sanctions related to a campus rated unacceptable 
after three consecutive school years. After passing the 
Senate on April 15, the bill was left pending in the 
House Public Education Committee.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1842.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1798.pdf
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HB 2398 by J. White
Effective September 1, 2015

Amending penalties and procedures for truant conduct

	 HB 2398 amends requirements for school responses 
to truancy as well as court penalties and procedures 
for truancy cases. The bill requires truancy cases to be 
handled as civil judicial matters rather than as class 
C misdemeanor crimes (maximum fine of $500) or as 
conduct indicating a need for supervision under the 
Family Code. 

	 Truancy prevention measures. HB 2398 requires 
school districts to adopt truancy prevention measures 
designed to intervene before a student engages in 
truant conduct. The bill would define truant conduct as 
students failing to attend school on 10 or more days or 
parts of days within a six-month period during the same 
school year. Missing three or more days or parts of days 
without an excuse within a four-week period no longer 
would be considered truant behavior that indicates a 
need for supervision; instead, the bill requires schools 
to initiate truancy prevention measures when this level 
of absenteeism occurs. The bill raises the compulsory 
school attendance age from 18 to 19 years old, and 
establishes procedures for handling students voluntarily 
in school after their 19th birthday who have unexcused 
absences.

	 Truancy prevention measures may include 
behavior plans, school-based community service, or a 
referral to services such as counseling or mentoring. 
Services could involve a student’s parent or guardian 
if necessary. School districts must employ truancy 
prevention facilitators or juvenile case managers or 
designate an existing employee to implement truancy 
measures. The Texas Education Agency by rule must 
develop minimum standards for truancy prevention 
measures for school districts, establish best practices for 
these measures, and adopt sanctions for noncompliant 
school districts. 

	 Court procedures and penalties for truancy. 
Referrals to truancy courts. Under HB 2398, once a 
student has failed to attend school on 10 or more days 
within a six-month period during a school year, the 
student’s school district is required to refer the case to 
a truancy court, except under certain circumstances.  A 
school district may delay or decline to make a referral 
if the school is applying truancy prevention measures 

and determines that these measures are succeeding 
and that it is in the student’s best interest to delay 
or not make a referral to truancy court. If a school 
district determines that a student has engaged in truant 
conduct because of pregnancy, being in the state foster 
program, homelessness, or being the principal earner 
for the family, the school district must offer additional 
counseling to the student and may not refer the student 
to truancy court.  

	 The bill designates truancy courts as certain 
constitutional county, municipal, and justice courts, 
which are given exclusive jurisdiction over truancy 
allegations. 

	 Court procedures. HB 2398 requires truant conduct 
to be prosecuted only as civil cases in truancy courts. 
Prosecutors will be appointed to screen truancy referrals 
and decide whether or not to file a petition with the 
truancy court for truant conduct. The bill contains 
provisions establishing several procedures, standards, 
and rights for students related to truancy cases. 

	 Court orders. If courts find that a child has engaged 
in truant conduct, the courts must order children or their 
parents to pay a $50 court cost if they are financially 
able to do so. Courts also may make a range of remedial 
orders, including requiring school attendance or 
completion of relevant programs, such as an alcohol 
and drug abuse program. The bill prohibits courts 
from making certain orders in truancy cases, including 
ordering a child to attend a juvenile justice alternative 
education program or a boot camp or to perform more 
than 16 hours of community service per week. Truancy 
courts may order the Department of Public Safety to 
suspend or deny issuance of a student’s  driver’s license 
if a child is found to have engaged in truancy conduct. 
Truancy court orders may be appealed to a juvenile 
court. 

	 Parents contributing to nonattendance. It remains a 
misdemeanor criminal offense for a parent to contribute 
to a student’s nonattendance. HB 2398 establishes 
graduated fines of $100 for a first offense to $500 for 
fifth and subsequent offenses. 
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	 Enforcing truancy orders. The bill provides 
enforcement mechanisms for orders issued by truancy 
courts and for when a child is in contempt of a 
truancy court. Courts may asses a $100 fine or order 
the Department of Public Safety to suspend or deny 
issuance of a driver’s license or permit, or both. Failure 
by a child under 17 years old to comply with a truancy 
court order or certain cases of contempt of a truancy 
court may result in a referral of the child to the juvenile 
probation department and may lead to a juvenile court 
hearing under certain circumstances. 

	 In the case of repeated juvenile court referrals, a 
juvenile prosecutor could pursue delinquency charges 
against the child or order a detention hearing. Courts 
may not order the confinement of children who fail to 
comply with a remedial order of a truancy court. If a 
child has been found to have engaged in truancy, courts 
may issue orders to parents or others to take certain 
actions, such as attending a class for students at risk of 
dropping out of school. 

	 Sealing, expunction of records. Youth who have 
been found truant may apply when they turn 18 years 
old to seal records relating to their case that are held 
by a court, a prosecutor, or a school district. Courts can 
order the records destroyed on or after the child turns 21 
years old if the child had not been convicted of a felony. 
The bill also requires courts to order the expunction of 
criminal truancy convictions or complaints and related 
records of youth under the former truancy laws.

Supporters said 

	 HB 2398 would help to move the state away from 
relying on the criminal justice system to handle truancy. 
While the state and school districts should take truancy 
seriously, it is not a criminal act and is best handled in 
other ways. 

	 Many jurisdictions use the current option of filing 
criminal truancy complaints in justice or municipal 
courts, which can result in overly harsh consequences, 
including criminal records. These consequences can 
have long-lasting effects, including making it difficult 
to obtain a job and higher education. Students currently 
may be assessed $500 fines and court costs, which 
can be difficult for some to pay, resulting in additional 
consequences. Judges also may order students to attend 
certain truancy boot camps or programs, which may be 
costly to attend or inappropriate. Some students appear 

before the courts without an informed legal advocate to 
help them understand the consequences of a conviction. 

	 Handling these cases as criminal matters can be 
especially unfair because some truant students have 
underlying problems or reasons outside of their control 
that keep them from school. For example, family, health, 
economic, and transportation issues can lead to multiple 
absences. 

	 HB 2398 would address these issues by eliminating 
the criminal offense of truancy and handling cases more 
appropriately as civil actions. It would encourage school 
districts to initiate truancy prevention measures before 
involving the courts, and it could eliminate inflexible 
attendance policies that force cases to be filed in local 
courts. These interventions would not be burdensome 
to districts, as many existing interventions in school 
districts already may meet requirements. 

	 By maintaining the offense of contributing to school 
nonattendance and allowing the court to increase fines 
for subsequent offenses, the state can continue to hold 
parents accountable. 

	 Allowing record sealing and requiring record 
expunction for those with existing criminal truancy 
convictions would ensure that students were not 
burdened with a court record for truancy or a criminal 
record after truancy was decriminalized.

	 A uniform statewide approach is needed to reduce 
inconsistent treatment of truancy and to keep all truants 
out of the criminal justice system. The bill would make 
Texas law consistent with that of almost every other 
state by handling truancy as a civil matter.
 

Opponents said 

	 HB 2398, by eliminating the class C misdemeanor 
for truancy, would reduce the tools available to school 
districts and courts to handle students who accumulate 
excessive unexcused absences. Truancy’s classification 
as a class C misdemeanor is appropriate as it is 
analogous to a traffic citation.

	 Currently, by the time a case is filed in a justice or 
municipal court, students have been given multiple 
chances to meet attendance requirements, and the threat 
of criminal consequences may be necessary to deter 
truant behavior. 
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	 The state should not mandate that districts adopt 
specific types of intervention programs. Many already 
have successful truancy programs that might have to 
be altered to fit the provisions of the bill. Requiring all 
school districts to adopt and use truancy intervention 
programs could burden schools and impose added costs 
on some. It could be difficult to offer the services and 
intervention required by the bill with existing staff and 
resources

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2398 appeared in Part Five 
of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.

	 The 84th Legislature considered other truancy 
reform bills this session. HB 1490 by Huberty, 
as passed by the House, would have authorized a 
progressive truancy intervention system with at 
least three tiers at the school level and would have 
decriminalized truancy offenses by making them a civil 
action with a fine of up to $100. The HRO analysis 
of HB 1490, which died in conference committee, 
appeared in Part Two of the May 5 Daily Floor Report. 

	 HB 2632 by Dutton, as passed by the House, also 
would have decriminalized truancy and authorized a 
civil penalty of up to $100. The HRO analysis of HB 
2632, which died in Senate committee, appeared in Part 
Two of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2398.pdf 
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB1490.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2632.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2632.pdf
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HB 2804 by Aycock
Generally effective June 19, 2015

Revising the public school accountability system

	 HB 2804 adopts a new system for evaluating 
school districts and campuses that includes additional 
performance indicators unrelated to state standardized 
testing. The bill also requires the Texas Education 
Agency (TEA) to assign each campus a performance 
rating corresponding to the letters A-F. The new 
accountability system and ratings will begin in the 
2017-18 school year.

	 Performance indicators. TEA will evaluate 
districts and campuses in three domains related to 
student achievement on State of Texas Assessments 
of Academic Readiness (STAAR), with some results 
aggregated across grade levels by subject area. The first 
domain includes STAAR results for students in grades 
3-8 and high school end-of-course exams, as well as the 
results of tests for certain students of limited English 
proficiency and those in special education programs. 
The second domain includes the percentage of students 
who met standards for annual improvement on STAAR. 
The third domain includes differences in STAAR annual 
improvement among students from different racial and 
ethnic groups and socioeconomic backgrounds.

	 Districts and campuses also will be evaluated in 
two more domains unrelated to STAAR. In the fourth 
domain, measures for high schools include graduation 
and dropout rates, military enlistment, advanced 
placement enrollment, endorsements and distinguished 
achievement, postsecondary credit, and industry 
certification. For elementary schools, it includes student 
attendance. For middle and junior high schools, fourth 
domain measures include attendance, dropout rates, and 
the percentage of students in grades 7 and 8 who receive 
instruction in preparing for high school, college, and 
career. 

	 The fifth domain includes three locally selected 
and evaluated programs or categories related to 
community and student engagement. Districts and 
campuses will select three programs or categories from 
an existing statutory list that includes fine arts, wellness 
and physical education, community and parental 
involvement, workforce development, second language 
acquisition, digital learning, dropout prevention, and 
gifted and talented programs.

	 In assigning an overall district or campus rating, the 
commissioner will attribute 55 percent of the evaluation 
to the achievement indicators for the first, second, and 
third domains; 35 percent to applicable achievement 
indicators for the fourth domain; and 10 percent to the 
locally selected indicators for the fifth domain.

	 A-F ratings. TEA will assign each campus a 
performance rating of A, B, C, D, or F. Ratings will 
be publicly released not later than August 15 of each 
year. In addition to the overall performance rating, 
district and campuses will receive a letter grade for each 
domain. The letter grades will correspond to existing 
ratings in the following manner:

•	 an A reflects exemplary performance;
•	 a B reflects recognized performance;
•	 a C reflects acceptable performance; and
•	 a D or F reflects unacceptable performance.

	 A district may not receive either an overall or 
domain rating of A if the district includes any campus 
with a corresponding overall or domain rating of D or 
F. The commissioner must adopt procedures to ensure 
that a repeated rating of D or F in one domain is not 
compensated for by a higher rating in another domain.

	 By January 1, 2017, the commissioner must 
submit a report to standing education committees of 
the Legislature providing a preliminary evaluation of 
districts and campuses under the new rating system, 
with data disaggregated by race, ethnicity, and 
socioeconomic status. The report must include the rating 
each district and campus would have received for the 
first through fourth domains if those indicators had 
been in place for the 2015-16 school year. It also must 
include the correlation between each designated letter 
rating and the percentage of students at each district and 
campus who qualify for free or reduced-price breakfast 
and are of limited English proficiency. 

	 Accountability system study. The bill establishes 
a commission to develop and make recommendations 
for new systems of student assessment and school 
accountability. The Texas Commission on Next 
Generation Assessments and Accountability has 15 
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members, including the chairs of House and Senate 
public and higher education committees, a member 
of the State Board of Education, parents, educators, 
business and civic community members, and leaders in 
student assessment development. The commission must 
deliver its recommendations to the governor and the 
Legislature in a report due September 1, 2016.

Supporters said 

	 HB 2804 would redesign the school accountability 
system to reduce the weight of STAAR scores on district 
and campus ratings and to give parents and the public a 
clearer picture of school performance.

	 Performance indicators. Educators and parents 
have consistently expressed concerns about the 
emphasis on STAAR results in evaluating schools and 
districts. The state and local communities need to know 
how students are performing on state assessments, and 
tests would account for more than half of a district and 
campus rating. At the same time, the bill recognizes 
that student academic achievement involves more 
than test scores, and would require the consideration 
of valuable measures other than STAAR results, such 
as high school endorsements, postsecondary credit, 
industry certification, and military enlistment. In 
addition, a portion of performance ratings would be 
under local control and independent from the state. This 
would allow schools and districts to design their own 
measurements of student and community engagement to 
self-assess how well they are doing.

	 A-F ratings. The introduction of letter grades to 
rate campuses under the new accountability system 
would portray school performance in a more relatable 
manner to the public. Similar to a report card brought 
home by students, parents would be able to see how a 
school was “graded” on each domain. Parents might 
not know what an “acceptable” designation means for 
their campus or district, but most would understand 
that a C rating connotes satisfactory, but unexceptional, 
performance. This information could empower parents 
to demand changes when improvement was needed.

Opponents said 

	 HB 2804 would not sufficiently move the school 
accountability system away from its reliance on a 
questionable testing program. The use of A-F grades to 
label campuses could unnecessarily stigmatize schools 
and neighborhoods.

	 Performance indicators. Results from STAAR 
exams would continue to dominate the system and 
should account for no more than half of the rating 
received by a campus or district. In addition, some 
of the new non-testing measures could place smaller 
districts at a disadvantage. For instance, students in 
some rural schools might not have access to college 
courses that could allow them to earn postsecondary 
credit, which is one possible measure of student 
attainment. The new system should include a measure 
of teacher quality to help hold districts accountable for 
staffing decisions that could strongly impact student 
achievement.

	 A-F ratings. The bill would adopt letter grades 
to rate campuses under a system that remains largely 
reliant on high-stakes testing. Labeling a campus as D 
or F could negatively impact not only the school but 
the surrounding neighborhood, which in many cases 
would be a high-poverty community. This could make it 
more difficult for those schools to attract and keep good 
teachers. The bill would change the way Texas schools 
are rated under the guise of reform instead of helping 
low-performing schools access resources needed to 
boost student achievement. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2804 appeared in Part 
Five of the May 11 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB2804.pdf
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SB 149 by Seliger
Effective May 11, 2015

Alternate methods to satisfy graduation requirements

	 SB 149 establishes an alternative method to satisfy 
state graduation requirements for high school seniors 
who have failed to pass up to two end-of-course (EOC) 
exams. For each of those students, school districts and 
open-enrollment charter schools would be required 
to establish an individual graduation committee to 
determine whether the student may qualify to graduate. 
The alternative method applies to students graduating in 
2015, 2016, and 2017. The alternative method expires 
September 1, 2017. 

	 The committee includes:

•	 the principal or principal’s designee;
•	 the teachers of the corresponding courses for the 

failed EOC exams;
•	 the department chair or lead teacher supervising 

the student’s teacher; and
•	 the student’s parent or person standing in 

parental relation, a designated advocate, or the 
student if the student is at least 18 years old or 
is an emancipated minor.

	 To be eligible for this process, a student must 
successfully have completed the required high 
school curriculum. A student’s individual graduation 
committee is required to recommend additional 
requirements for a student to complete. This includes 
additional remediation and completion of a project or 
portfolio that demonstrates proficiency in the subject 
area of the corresponding course. A student could 
submit coursework previously completed to satisfy a 
recommended additional requirement. 

	 In determining whether a student is qualified 
to graduate, the committee must consider the 
recommendation of the course teacher, the student’s 
course grade, EOC exam scores, performance on 
any additional requirements recommended by the 
committee, overall preparedness for postsecondary 
success, and school attendance rate. 

	 In addition, the committee must consider other 
indicators of a student’s academic performance, 
including hours spent on remediation; scores on 
college readiness and other proficiency tests; successful 
completion of certain high school pre-AP, AP, or 
international baccalaureate courses; completion of 
career and technical courses required to attain an 
industry-recognized credential or certification; and any 
other academic information designated by the local 
school board.

	 After considering the required criteria, the 
committee may determine that the student was qualified 
to graduate and receive a high school diploma. The 
committee decision, which must be unanimous, is final 
and applies only if the student successfully completes 
the additional requirements set by the committee.

Supporters said 

	 SB 149 would provide an alternative graduation 
method for seniors who did not pass one or two of their 
end-of-course (EOC) exams. The class of 2015 was 
the first required to pass State of Texas Assessments of 
Academic Readiness (STAAR) EOC exams in order 
to graduate. These students have been subjected to 
the phase-in of a more difficult testing system as well 
as legislatively mandated midstream changes to the 
number and design of the exams. Seventeen of the 20 
states that require graduation tests provide an alternative 
option similar to the one contained in the bill. 

	 The STAAR EOC exams are just one way of 
measuring student success and should not be the 
ultimate determination of a student’s future. A 
committee could consider other legitimate measures of 
student achievement such as college placement exams 
or military vocational aptitude tests. The lack of a high 
school diploma could prevent students who lacked 
a satisfactory score on one or two EOC exams from 
entering college or a trade school program or joining the 
military.
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Opponents said 

	 SB 149 would mark the first time in nearly three 
decades that the state eased its high school graduation 
test requirements. The bill effectively would create 
social promotion for high school seniors and make 
it easier for public schools to pass along unprepared 
students. By doing so, it could introduce incentives for 
students to neglect their EOC exams and devalue the 
diplomas of the 90 percent of students who persevered 
and passed all their testing requirements.

	 Allowing students to bypass testing requirements 
would not help students succeed in college and the 
workplace. The STAAR testing system is designed 
to measure students’ ability to think critically, which 
is essential to their ability to embark upon rewarding 
careers.

	 The bill further would weaken the state’s public 
school accountability system, which already lists 
90 percent of campuses as meeting or exceeding 
expectations. The slow phase-in of STAAR tests has 
created a system where students must answer fewer than 
half of questions correctly on some exams in order to 
pass. Texas must have a clear, accurate picture of how 
students are truly faring in order to determine education 
policies.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 149 appeared in Part Two 
of the April 21 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0149.pdf
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SB 313 by Seliger
Vetoed by the governor

Revising curriculum, limiting textbook adoptions

	 SB 313 would have required the State Board of 
Education (SBOE) to narrow the content and scope 
of the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) 
at each grade level for the foundation curriculum. 
The SBOE would have considered the time required 
for a teacher to provide comprehensive instruction 
on a particular standard or skill and the time a typical 
student would need to master it. The board also would 
have had to determine whether each standard could 
be comprehensively taught within the required 180-
day school year, excluding testing days, and whether 
inclusion of college and career readiness standards was 
possible.

	 The bill would have required the SBOE to consider 
whether state-required assessments adequately measured 
a particular standard or skill. After the administration of 
each such assessment in grades 3-8, the Texas Education 
Agency would have provided to the student, the 
student’s parent or guardian, and the student’s teachers 
a detailed report on the student’s performance on each 
standard or skill and whether the student had mastered 
it.

	 SB 313 also would have limited the projected cost 
of new instructional materials proclamations 
to 75 percent of the total amount available for the 
instructional materials allotment during that biennium. 
Districts would have been entitled to a biennial, instead 
of an annual, allotment from the state instructional 
materials fund and would have received funding in the 
first year of each biennium.

Supporters said 

	 SB 313 would require the State Board of Education 
(SBOE) to narrow the scope of the required curriculum 
for each subject and grade level, which could result in 
Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) that were 
more aligned to in-depth learning and more reasonable 
for teachers to cover in a school year. Many educators 
have said they would like to have more classroom time 
for students to develop a deeper understanding of a topic 
through discussions and projects. By requiring the board 
to consider whether state assessments are measuring 

a particular standard or skill, the bill could lead to the 
development of more manageable and appropriately 
limited state-required exams.

	 The curriculum review would not be a way for 
national Common Core standards to be integrated into 
the TEKS curriculum because Texas law prohibits the 
implementation of Common Core in Texas. 

	 The bill would give districts flexibility to use their 
instructional materials allotment (IMA) to purchase 
technology by limiting the costs of textbooks adopted 
by the SBOE. Although the Legislature intended the 
IMA to be a dual-purpose fund, technology expenditures 
have plummeted as the SBOE has issued proclamations, 
or “calls,” for expensive new textbooks for social 
studies and science. SB 313 also would help districts 
to better manage their purchases of textbooks and 
technology by giving them their entire instructional 
materials allotment at the start of each fiscal biennium. 
This could encourage districts to order materials early, 
allowing teachers to have textbooks ready for the first 
day of class.

Opponents said 

	 SB 313 could have a negative effect on the quality 
and quantity of instructional materials by limiting the 
SBOE’s ability to call for new textbooks when needed. 
The board has a process in place to replace textbooks 
that become outdated or that are physically falling 
apart. At times, new materials are needed because 
the Legislature has focused on a particular subject 
or adopted a new testing regimen. The board needs 
to retain its ability to respond to districts’ needs for 
new textbooks. Shifting to more technology-based 
instructional materials could disadvantage students who 
did not have computers and Internet access at home.

	 The curriculum review and modifications required 
by SB 313 could lead to the implementation of national 
Common Core standards into the TEKS. Common Core 
has been controversial in many states where it has been 
adopted, and Texas should take care to retain its own 
curriculum.
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Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 313 appeared in Part 
One of the May 25 Daily Floor Report. An analysis of 
the bill also appeared in HRO Focus Report No. 84-5, 
Vetoes of Legislation: 84th Legislature, July 16, 2015.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0313.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/focus/veto84.pdf
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SB 925 by Kolkhorst
Effective May 21, 2015

Literacy achievement academies for certain teachers

	 SB 925 requires the commissioner of education 
to develop literacy achievement academies to aid the 
professional development of teachers who provide 
reading instruction to students in any grade from 
kindergarten through grade 3. These academies must 
include training in effective and systematic instructional 
practices in reading and in the use of empirically 
validated instructional methods appropriate for 
struggling readers. They also may provide training for 
effective instructional practices in writing.

	 The commissioner must identify certain criteria 
for teachers to attend a literacy achievement academy, 
granting priority to teachers at a campus where half 
or more of students are educationally disadvantaged. 
The commissioner must provide a process for teachers 
without priority to attend the literacy achievement 
academies if space is available and the teacher’s school 
district pays for the teacher’s attendance.

	 A teacher who attends the academy may receive a 
stipend in an amount determined by the commissioner. 
This stipend cannot be considered in determining 
whether a school district is paying the teacher the 
minimum monthly salary under Education Code, sec. 
21.402.

	 At the request of the commissioner, regional 
education service centers must help with training and 
activities related to the literacy achievement academies. 
Literacy achievement academies are scheduled to be 
dissolved September 1, 2027.

Supporters said 

	 SB 925 would allow Texas teachers to receive 
professional development in literacy skills to help 
improve outcomes for students, particularly those who 
are educationally disadvantaged. Teachers would be 
trained in new instructional materials and methods that 
they could apply to the classroom immediately. English 
language learners are a fast-growing group that now 
makes up nearly 18 percent of the student population 
in Texas. Literacy achievement academies could help 
ensure consistent instruction for these students.

Opponents said

	 SB 925, which the Legislative Budget Board 
estimates would cost $17.8 million in fiscal 2016-
17, would not be a good use of state funds because 
certified teachers already should have mastered the 
information and training provided by the proposed 
academies. Teachers who receive their certification from 
universities should be well prepared to teach students to 
read, and any additional literacy achievement training 
should be provided through continuing education 
courses. If teachers are not receiving adequate training 
for literacy improvement, then certification course 
requirements in universities should be adjusted to ensure 
this occurs.

Notes

	 SB 925 was laid out in the House on May 6 in lieu 
of its companion bill, HB 1843 by Aycock. The HRO 
analysis of HB 1843 appeared in the April 28 Daily 
Floor Report. 

	 Two related bills by Sen. Kolkhorst were enacted 
by the 84th Legislature: SB 972 and SB 935. Both 
analyses appeared in Part One of the May 22 Daily 
Floor Report. SB 972 requires the commissioner to 
develop reading-to-learn academies for teachers who 
provide reading instruction in grades 4 or 5. The bill 
provides professional development through in-person 
and Internet training. Selection criteria and stipends for 
teachers are similar to those in SB 925.

	 SB 935 requires the commissioner of education to 
establish a pilot program for reading excellence teams 
to provide professional development and assistance to 
teachers at eligible school districts. Eligibility is based 
on low student performance, as determined by the 
commissioner, on certain assessments administered in 
kindergarten through grade 3.
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HB 31 by D. Bonnen
Died in Senate committee

Decreasing the state sales tax rate

	 HB 31 would have reduced the state sales tax 
rate from 6.25 percent to the lower of 5.95 percent or 
a certain rate determined by the comptroller. A rate 
adopted by the comptroller would have decreased in 
proportion to any increase from one biennium to the 
next in the unencumbered positive balance of general 
revenue not transferred to the rainy day fund.

	 The comptroller would have been required to 
provide the Legislature with a report detailing the 
effect of this bill on the sales tax rate and what further 
reductions could be made based on a review of existing 
sales tax exemptions.

Supporters said 

	 HB 31 would provide broad tax relief to all Texans, 
stimulating job growth and consumption statewide. 
Cutting the sales tax would create thousands of new 
jobs and make a good business climate even better, 
generating billions of dollars in additional economic 
output by 2020.

	 Economic analysis by the Legislative Budget Board 
concludes that the bill would have a more positive 
economic impact in almost every category than an 
equivalent franchise tax cut or homestead exemption 
increase. HB 31 would be preferable to a cut in the 
property tax because the property tax is not controlled 
by the state, and property tax relief could be offset 
by rate increases or rising appraisal values. Reducing 
the sales tax rate also would be more beneficial 
than cutting the franchise tax because the sales tax 
disproportionately burdens small businesses, most of 
which already are exempted from the franchise tax. 

	 A sales tax cut would be appropriate at this time 
because the fiscal 2016-17 budget is expected to include 
more money to properly fund a variety of critical state 
services. As it addresses these priorities, the Legislature 
also should provide sales tax relief that will create jobs 
and stimulate economic activity in Texas.

	 Even following a sales tax cut, Texas should have 
sufficient revenue to meet its obligations in future 
biennia. The revenue stream from the ongoing shale oil 
boom in recent years should be reliable despite a recent 
drop in oil prices that is likely to be temporary. The state 
also has billions of untapped dollars in the rainy day 
fund that could compensate for any unforeseen loss of 
revenue.

Opponents said

	 HB 31 would not have a significant impact on the 
average Texan, and the state would lose the opportunity 
to make investments with potentially better returns 
in areas of critical needs, such as transportation or 
education. The state has a good business climate and 
does not need to reduce taxes to attract businesses to the 
state.

	 Any tax cuts are likely to be unsustainable over the 
long term. A substantial amount of the current surplus 
comes from money left over from last session and 
increased severance tax revenue from oil and gas sales. 
The Legislature has no guarantee that either of those 
sources will persist into future fiscal biennia, while 
tax cuts, once granted, are effectively permanent. This 
could unnecessarily create a difficult fiscal situation that 
might lead to cuts in vital state services, as was the case 
following the 82nd legislative session.

Other opponents said

	 Texans need tax relief, but lowering other taxes 
would be more beneficial than a sales tax cut. Texas 
could cut property taxes by increasing the homestead 
exemption and deliver the entirety of tax relief directly 
to individuals. Alternatively, the state could reduce 
franchise taxes, which would directly drive job creation.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 31 appeared in the April 
28 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 32 by D. Bonnen
Effective January 1, 2016

Decreasing the franchise tax rate

	 HB 32 reduces the franchise tax rate from 1 percent 
to 0.75 percent of the entity’s taxable margin. The 
franchise tax on retailers is reduced from 0.5 percent to 
0.375 percent of the taxable margin. The franchise tax 
rate on businesses using the E-Z computation is reduced 
from 0.575 to 0.331 percent of the entity’s apportioned 
total revenue.

	 The bill allows taxable entities with less than 
$20 million in total revenue to file using the E-Z 
computation, rather than only those with less than $10 
million in total revenue.

	 The comptroller must conduct a comprehensive 
study to identify the effects of economic growth on 
future state revenue. The report should identify revenue 
growth allocation options in meeting the state’s revenue 
needs if the franchise tax were repealed, including 
revenues designed to provide property tax relief. The 
comptroller must conduct the study by September 30, 
2016, and report the results to the governor and the 
Legislative Budget Board.

Supporters said 

	 HB 32 would create thousands of new jobs and 
make a good business climate even better, generating 
billions of dollars in additional economic output 
by 2020. Allowing more businesses to use the E-Z 
computation would reduce compliance costs for 
businesses that are impacted the most.

	 This bill is preferable to a property tax cut because 
the property tax is not controlled by the state, and 
relief could be offset by increases in the tax rates or 
rising appraisal values. Similarly, cuts to the franchise 
tax are preferable to spending increases because the 
state already has fulfilled its obligations and increased 
funding in many areas with critical needs. 

	 Even following a franchise tax cut, Texas should 
have sufficient revenue to meet its obligations in future 
biennia. The revenue stream from the ongoing shale oil 
boom in recent years should be reliable despite a recent 
drop in oil prices that is likely to be temporary. The state 

also has billions of untapped dollars in the rainy day 
fund that could compensate for any unforeseen loss of 
revenue.

Opponents said 

	 HB 32 would not provide tax relief directly to 
individuals. Also, the state would lose the opportunity to 
make investments with better returns in areas of critical 
need, such as transportation or education. Texas already 
has a good business climate with no personal income tax 
and does not need to reduce taxes to attract businesses 
to the state.

	 According to analysis by the Legislative Budget 
Board, a significant portion of the benefits from HB 32 
could go to consumers and businesses that operate in 
Texas while being based in other states. This means that 
the Texas economy might not see substantial economic 
benefit from franchise tax cuts.

	 Tax cuts are likely to be unsustainable. A substantial 
amount of the current surplus is due to money left over 
from last session and increased severance tax revenue 
from oil and gas sales. The Legislature has no guarantee 
that either of those sources will persist into future 
biennia, even though tax cuts are effectively permanent. 
This could unnecessarily create a difficult fiscal 
situation that might lead to cuts in vital state services, as 
was the case following the 82nd legislative session.

Other opponents said 

	 Texans need tax relief, but lowering other taxes 
would be more beneficial than a franchise tax cut. 
Specifically, the state instead could cut property 
taxes by increasing the homestead exemption and 
deliver the entirety of tax relief directly to individuals. 
Alternatively, the state could reduce the sales tax rate. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 32 appeared in the April 
28 Daily Floor Report.
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SJR 1 by Nelson/SB 1 by Nelson
Generally effective upon voter approval of SJR 1

Increasing the homestead property tax exemption

	 SJR 1 would amend the Texas Constitution to 
increase the mandatory homestead exemption from 
$15,000 to $25,000, if approved by the voters at the 
November 3, 2015 election. The taxable value of 
homesteads owned by the elderly or by people who are 
disabled also would be correspondingly reduced. 

	 The proposed amendment would prohibit the 
enactment of a real estate transfer tax and would allow 
the Legislature to prohibit the reduction or elimination 
of optional homestead exemptions established by non-
school district taxing districts.

	 SB 1 is the enabling legislation for SJR 1. Upon 
voter approval of SJR 1, the bill would entitle a school 
district to certain additional state aid through the 
Foundation School Fund to make up for maintenance 
and operations tax revenue and tax revenue used to 
service eligible debt that would be lost as a result of 
increasing the homestead exemption. The bill also 
would prohibit the reduction or elimination of an 
optional homestead exemption by a school district, 
municipality, or county through 2019.

	 The bill requires school district tax assessors to 
prepare tax bills as though SB 1 and SJR 1 have taken 
effect. SB 1 then requires the assessor of a school 
district to calculate and publish on a provisional tax 
bill a statement of the amount saved from the pending 
increase in the homestead exemption. That provisional 
tax bill must assume the higher homestead exemption. 

	 If SJR 1 is not approved by the voters, the bill 
requires the assessor for each school district to prepare 
and mail a supplemental tax bill accounting for the 
difference. Assessors are not be liable for civil damages 
nor subject to criminal prosecution for complying with 
these provisions. 

	 SB 1 has various transitional provisions for the 2015 
tax year. It requires a school district’s effective tax rate 
and rollback tax rate, wealth per student, local share of 
program cost, enrichment tax rate, local revenue, bond 
tax rate, existing debt rate, and taxable value of property 
for the 2015-16 school year to be calculated assuming a 
$25,000 homestead exemption. 

	 Certain school districts may request approval from 
the commissioner of education to delay an election 
on possible actions that would allow the district to 
achieve the equalized wealth level for the 2015 tax 
year. Such a district also may adopt a tax rate before its 
equalized wealth level is certified by the commissioner 
of education. A district that fails to hold the election or 
does not receive voter approval at the election will be 
subject to detachment and annexation of property as 
necessary to achieve the equalized wealth level as soon 
as practicable after the canvass of the votes on SJR 1.

Supporters said 

	 By increasing the homestead exemption, SJR 1 
would provide broad-based, crucial tax relief to Texans 
and drive economic growth. 

	 Economic impact. Because the property tax is 
imposed on living spaces, virtually everyone in the state 
pays it in some manner. Homeowners pay directly, and 
renters pay it through higher rents as landlords factor 
in the cost. Although an increase in the homestead 
exemption would not directly benefit renters, it would 
drive down the cost of owning a home, which could 
lower rents by reducing demand for rental property. 

	 The property tax is not related to income or 
consumption so it can negatively impact those with 
fixed incomes who have not had the dollar amount 
of their property tax bills “frozen” under Tex. Const., 
Art. 8, sec. 1-b(d), which limits the total amount of 
property tax levied on the homestead of a person or the 
spouse of a person who is 65 or older or disabled. When 
appraisal values rise significantly and tax rates are not 
adjusted downward, such people may find themselves 
priced out of their homes. Data from the comptroller’s 
Tax Exemptions and Tax Incidence report indicates that 
homestead exemptions particularly benefit low-income 
individuals because a dollar-value homestead exemption 
exempts a higher percentage of the total value of a less 
expensive home. In this way, SJR 1 would provide 
meaningful relief to Texas homeowners even in the face 
of rising appraisals. 
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	 Local control. State law places limitations on school 
districts’ ability to set property tax rates, and partially 
as a result of this, it is impractical for many districts to 
decrease rates even when appraisals increase.

	 Taxpayers continually request property tax relief 
from the state, so it is appropriate to address this issue 
through a constitutional amendment at the state level, 
rather than to rely on local governments to take action. 

	 Revenue stability. Texas should have sufficient 
revenue to meet its obligations in future biennia, 
including SB 1’s requirement that the state hold public 
schools harmless for a reduction in local property 
tax revenue resulting from the increased homestead 
exemption. The revenue stream from the ongoing shale 
oil boom in recent years should be reliable despite a 
recent drop in oil prices that is likely to be temporary. 
The state also has billions of untapped dollars in 
the rainy day fund that could compensate for any 
unforeseen loss of revenue. 

	 Spending alternatives. The fiscal 2016-17 budget 
passed by the 84th Legislature includes more money 
for a variety of critical state services, ensuring that they 
are well funded. Because these priorities have been 
addressed, the state should provide tax relief that will 
create jobs and stimulate economic activity. 

	 Tax cut alternatives. The property tax should be cut 
because it is an onerous and noticeable tax for a large 
number of Texans. It is a tax upon the ownership of 
property, one of the most fundamental rights that people 
have. While taxpayers frequently ask for property tax 
cuts, they rarely report being overly burdened by the 
sales tax and see only the secondary effects of the 
franchise tax.

Opponents said 

	 Increasing the homestead exemption as proposed 
in SJR 1 would not have a significant impact on the 
average Texan, and the state would lose the opportunity 
to make better investments in areas with critical needs, 
such as public or higher education. 

	 Economic impact. Increasing the homestead 
exemption would not provide meaningful relief for the 
millions of Texans who rent or who otherwise do not 

own homes. Other tax cut alternatives, such as a sales 
tax cut, would provide broader and more equitable tax 
relief.

	 State law already provides relief for some of those 
who are most likely to be on fixed incomes. Tex. Const., 
Art. 8, sec. 1-b(d) freezes the amount of tax that may 
be levied on homesteads owned by certain individuals, 
including those who are at least 65 years old or disabled. 

	 Local control. Property taxes are fundamentally 
local, and the state should not take ownership of rising 
local tax burdens. SJR 1 and SB 1 are motivated 
by growing tax burdens caused by rising appraisals 
and static tax rates. When appraisals rise, total tax 
collections also rise without an increase in the tax rate. 
If, however, the cost to facilitate local services paid for 
by the property taxes is the same, then rising appraisals 
should be addressed by reducing the tax rate. Instead 
of accepting increases in tax revenue due to rising 
appraisals, local governments should reduce tax rates 
and keep the total tax collected the same. Local taxing 
districts should be held accountable by the voters, rather 
than the state taking responsibility for tax rates. 

	 Revenue stability. Any tax cuts are likely to be 
unsustainable over the long term. The Legislative 
Budget Board’s fiscal note on the enabling legislation 
to SJR 1 estimates a cost of about $1.2 billion per 
fiscal biennium to keep school funding constant while 
increasing the homestead exemption by $10,000. A 
substantial amount of the current surplus that would 
be used for this purpose comes from money left over 
from last session and increased severance tax revenue 
from oil and gas sales. The Legislature has no guarantee 
that either of those sources will persist into future fiscal 
biennia, while tax cuts created by SJR 1 effectively 
would be permanent. This could unnecessarily create a 
difficult fiscal situation that might lead to cuts in vital 
state services, as was the case following the regular 
session of the 82nd Legislature. 

	 Spending alternatives. The money required to 
reimburse school districts for lost property tax revenue 
due to the increased homestead exemption can and 
should be spent elsewhere. The state has an obligation to 
adequately fund basic services that help protect Texas’ 
economic future, and the state needs further investment 
in other critical areas
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	 Tax cut alternatives. Because an increase in the 
homestead exemption would provide tax relief only 
to homeowners, the state instead should pursue tax 
cuts in other areas. A reduction in the sales tax would 
provide tax relief across the board, while further cutting 
franchise taxes would directly drive job creation. 
Analysis by the Legislative Budget Board predicts that 
either of these options would have a greater positive 
economic impact than an increase in the homestead 
exemption.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SJR 1 and SB 1 appeared in 
Part One of the May 24 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SJR0001.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/SB0001.pdf
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HB 20 by Simmons
Effective June 3, 2015

Creating metrics and criteria for transportation projects

	 HB 20 provides for the development of metrics 
and criteria for use in transportation planning and in 
prioritizing and selecting projects. The bill requires 
the Texas Transportation Commission to establish 
performance metrics for use in reviewing the statewide 
transportation plan, rural transportation plans, and 
the unified transportation program, as well as project-
specific funding decisions.

	 The commission also must adopt and periodically 
report on metrics that:

•	 assess the performance of the transportation 
system relative to the requirements in federal  
law;

•	 provide stakeholders with understandable 
information; 

•	 assess the effectiveness and efficiency of 
projects and service; and

•	 demonstrate transparency and accountability.  

	 The commission must establish a scoring system 
for prioritizing projects and determining which should 
receive funding. The bill also requires each metropolitan 
planning organization (or Department of Transportation 
districts in an area not contained within a planning 
organization) to develop a 10-year transportation plan 
for the use of funding allocated to its jurisdiction. 

	 Each planning organization or department district 
must develop recommendation criteria to be applied 
to each project, including considerations of available 
funding and a project’s effect on: 

•	 congestion and safety;
•	 economic development opportunities;
•	 the environment, including air quality; and
•	 minority or low-income neighborhoods. 

	 HB 20 provides for the creation of House and 
Senate select committees on Transportation Planning, 
which will study revenue projections, funding 
categories, project selection criteria and performance 
metrics, and all department- or commission-proposed 
rules or policies of statewide significance, among other 
topics.

	 The bill also establishes requirements and 
limitations on the use of design-build contracts by the 
Department of Transportation and eliminates a provision 
that allowed monies from the state highway fund to be 
used by the Department of Public Safety to administer 
and enforce traffic and safety laws on public roads.

Supporters said 

	 HB 20 would increase effectiveness and 
transparency in the transportation project selection 
process in Texas and ensure the state received the 
greatest possible return on investment. Transportation 
is a core state responsibility that is critical to Texas’ 
growing economy, and the state should make certain 
that appropriations are used wisely and transparently. 
Any increased administrative costs would be more than 
worth it for the improved transparency and additional 
information made available to policymakers.

	 Objective criteria are needed for making 
transportation funding decisions. The bill would remove 
the bureaucratic discretion that allows political influence 
into the process, increasing the efficiency with which 
the state spends its tax dollars.  

	 The Legislature should not be overly specific in 
establishing guidelines for project selection criteria 
because local entities better understand the needs of 
their jurisdictions and are better equipped to respond if 
changes to the criteria are necessary. If the bill were too 
specific in setting guidelines, the planning organizations 
would have to wait until the next legislative session to 
reconstruct criteria.

Opponents said 

	 HB 20 would impose a significant burden on 
TxDOT and could deny funding to valuable projects. 
Under the bill, the commission would have to create 
periodic reports for each of the performance metrics 
created. This would duplicate existing efforts used to 
report on budgetary performance measures and divert 
staff from other valuable projects.
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	 It is not clear that quantitative metrics would 
capture the real transportation needs of Texans. 
TxDOT should have more room to make discretionary 
decisions. The scoring system, depending on how it was 
developed, could further codify a bias toward highway 
construction at TxDOT, making it more difficult to get 
funding for other types of transportation projects. The 
metrics developed by the agency might not adequately 
reflect the value of other types of projects, such as mass 
transit.

Other opponents said 

	 The Legislature should be more specific when 
establishing points of consideration for the development 
of project selection criteria because planning 
organizations could adopt criteria that unintentionally 
reduced the chances of certain types of projects to 
receive funding. The bill also should require planning 
organizations to consider a life-cycle cost analysis of the 
project to ensure that all costs were taken into account 
when selecting projects. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 20 appeared in Part One 
of the April 30 Daily Floor Report.

	 Some provisions added in the committee substitute 
to HB 20 in the Senate Transportation Committee, 
including those requiring planning organizations to 
establish project recommendation criteria and develop 
10-year transportation plans, were included in HB 13 
by Pickett, which was not enacted. HB 13 was analyzed 
in Part One of the April 30 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0020.pdf
http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0013.pdf
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HB 80 by Craddick
Died in the Senate

Banning texting while driving

	 HB 80, as reported by the Senate Committee 
on State Affairs, would have made it a misdemeanor 
offense for a motorist to read, write, or send a text-based 
communication with a portable wireless communication 
device, such as a mobile phone, while operating a motor 
vehicle, except when the vehicle was stopped. 

	 A “text-based communication” would have been 
defined as data, other than a telephone number or GPS 
data, that was read from or manually entered into a 
wireless communication device to communicate with a 
person, such as an SMS text, e-mail, or instant message. 
The bill would have expanded the definition of “hands-
free device” to include a function allowing the use of a 
wireless communication device without the operator’s 
hands, except to turn on or off a function of the device.  

	 The first offense would have been punishable by 
a fine between $25 and $99, and a subsequent offense 
by a fine between $100 and $200. The Department 
of Public Safety would not have assigned points to a 
person’s license as part of the Driver Responsibility 
Program for texting while driving.

	 The bill would have created a defense to 
prosecution for a driver who used a portable wireless 
communication device under certain circumstances, 
such as in conjunction with voice-operated technology, 
a push-to-talk function, or a hands-free device, or to 
report illegal activity or summon emergency help. The 
offense would not have applied to drivers licensed by 
the Federal Communications Commission who were 
operating a radio frequency device other than a portable 
wireless communication device.

	 Law enforcement personnel who stopped motorists 
could not have taken or inspected a device to see if the 
motorist had been texting, except as already authorized 
by current law.

	 The Texas Department of Transportation would 
have been required to post signs at highways entering 
the state indicating that texting while driving was an 
offense that carried a fine.

	 The bill would have preempted all local ordinances, 
rules, or regulations that related to texting while driving. 

	 HB 80 would have made it a misdemeanor for a 
driver under the age of 18 to use a handheld or hands-
free wireless communication device while operating a 
vehicle and for a driver younger than age 17 to use a 
handheld or hands-free wireless communication device 
while driving a motorcycle or moped. The offense 
would have been punishable by a fine between $25 and 
$99 for the first conviction and between $100 and $200 
for subsequent convictions. 

	 An applicant taking a driver’s license exam would 
have been tested on his or her knowledge of the effect 
on safe driving of using a wireless communication 
device or engaging in other actions that could distract a 
driver.

Supporters said 

	 HB 80 is a common-sense measure that would 
improve the safety of the state’s roadways and send a 
clear message to motorists that texting while driving is 
dangerous. 

	 Distracted driving is responsible for many vehicle 
crashes in the state, and the safety hazards of texting 
while driving are comparable to those that accompany 
drinking and driving. In the same way that seat belt laws 
made seat belt use habitual, HB 80 would start a cultural 
shift away from texting while driving.

	 The bill would create a uniform state law that 
would provide Texas drivers with more predictability 
by prohibiting texting while driving across the state 
instead of allowing a patchwork of laws that vary by 
jurisdiction. It also would bring Texas law in line with 
texting-while-driving prohibitions adopted in most other 
states. 

	 Despite concerns to the contrary, the bill would be 
enforceable. State law already prohibits texting while 
driving in certain circumstances, and law enforcement 
has had no difficulty enforcing these laws. 
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	 Traffic safety measures such as HB 80 do not 
infringe on individual liberties. Roads are public 
resources, and motorists using them must observe 
various restrictions related to behavior and equipment 
and must operate vehicles in a safe and consistent way 
to ensure public safety. 

	 Texting while driving behaviors cannot be reached 
with reckless driving laws because those laws require 
wanton and wilful conduct, which a jury is unlikely to 
find in the case of texting while driving. 

	 A state law is needed because variations in local 
laws make it difficult for drivers to know what the law is 
when driving across Texas.

Opponents said 

	 HB 80, while well intentioned, would not be the 
best way to address the dangers of texting while driving 
in Texas. The bill would single out one potentially 
dangerous distraction, texting, while ignoring other 
distractions, such as eating and grooming, that can pose 
hazards. Better data about the effects of texting and 
driving should be collected before banning it outright. 

	 The number of exceptions to the prohibition on 
texting while driving could create challenges for law 
enforcement in distinguishing between drivers who 
were texting and those who were using the phone for 
legal purposes, making the law difficult to enforce. 

	 Prohibiting and penalizing texting while driving 
would infringe on the liberties of Texans by attempting 
to micromanage motorists’ behavior. 

	 Dangerous driving caused by texting while driving 
should be addressed with existing laws, such as those 
for reckless driving, rather than by creating new laws to 
curb that behavior.

Other opponents said 

	 By preempting local ordinances, HB 80 would treat 
texting while driving as a state issue when it would be 
better handled at the local level. Municipalities are in 
the best position to tailor these laws to address their 
unique circumstances.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 80 appeared in the March 
25 Daily Floor Report.

http://www.hro.house.state.tx.us/pdf/ba84R/HB0080.pdf
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HB 122 by Pickett
Effective June 10, 2015

Eliminating the Texas Mobility Fund’s borrowing ability

	 HB 122 ends the ability of the Texas Mobility Fund 
to issue new bond debt and places conditions on the 
future use of money within the fund. 

	 The Texas Transportation Commission may use 
money in the fund not committed to servicing existing 
debt for any purposes authorized by Transportation 
Code, ch. 201, subch. M, including state highways 
and public transportation but excluding toll roads. 
The commission also may refinance existing debt 
obligations.

Supporters said 

	 HB 122 would bring common sense to highway 
funding by eliminating the issuance of bonds from 
the Texas Mobility Fund. Borrowing to finance road 
construction and maintenance was necessary 15 years 
ago when money was tight and the state had no other 
way to build needed roads. Now that cash is available 
to pay for roads directly, it is time to begin the process 
of paying down existing bond debt and return to the 
traditional “pay-as-you-go” method of funding roads. 

	 Voter approval of Proposition 1 in November 2014 
amended the Texas Constitution to allocate to the 
State Highway Fund (Fund 6) one-half of the general 
revenue derived from oil and gas production taxes that 
formerly was transferred to the rainy day fund. Now 
that this revenue is available for roads, there is less 
need to finance road construction and maintenance with 
debt, which costs the state much more in the long run. 
In fiscal 2014, the state spent more than $359 million 
from the fund on debt service, which is nearly half of 
the $730 million it spent from the fund on transportation 
projects and maintenance.

	 Debt service has become a significant cost to TxDOT 
as the Texas Mobility Fund continues to accumulate 
debt. Already, more than three quarters of money in the 
fund goes to debt service, and this proportion will only 
increase in the future. This has negative implications 
for state’s ability to build and maintain roads necessary 
to accommodate population and economic growth in 
Texas.

Opponents said 

	 HB 122 would tie the hands of the Texas 
Transportation Commission and could impede the 
completion of future transportation projects. Although it 
may make sense in today’s favorable economic climate 
to pay for Texas roads with cash rather than borrowed 
money, eliminating the authority to issue bonds through 
the Texas Mobility Fund could interfere with TxDOT’s 
ability to build roads in the future when oil and gas 
revenues might not be sufficient to fill the Fund 6 
coffers.

	 Texas voters acknowledged the need for some 
borrowing ability to finance road construction and 
maintenance when they voted to create the Texas 
Mobility Fund in 2001. Although the state now has 
cash on hand to build roads on a pay-as-you-go basis, 
a growing population of Texans will need more roads 
in the future, and TxDOT could need to borrow money 
for this purpose in leaner times. Eliminating the ability 
to borrow money through the Texas Mobility Fund 
would remove an important tool from the road funding 
toolbox. 

	 Because the conditions for using money from the 
Texas Mobility Fund are more flexible than those for 
using money from the Texas Highway Fund, mass 
transit agencies sometimes request mobility funds for 
system expansions and upgrades. These funds also 
help Texas draw down federal dollars for mass transit 
because they are included in the local contribution under 
federal funding formulas. By reducing the amount of 
money available to support mass transit projects, the bill 
could impede the ability of state and local authorities to 
address the transportation needs of a growing population 
that increasingly may need to rely on mass transit. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 122 appeared in Part Two 
of the April 8 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 2671 by S. Thompson
Died in the House

Amending penalties under Driver Responsibility Program

	 HB 2671, as reported by the House Committee on 
Transportation, would have made changes to penalties 
associated with the Driver Responsibility Program 
(DRP), which requires the Department of Public 
Safety (DPS) to assess an annual surcharge on the 
driver’s license of a person who has been convicted of 
certain traffic-related offenses for three years after that 
conviction. 

	 The bill would have modified these surcharges by 
assessing them one time after each conviction, rather 
than each year for three years. Surcharges would range 
from $300 to $6,000 depending on the nature of the 
offense, any prior convictions, and the extent to which 
someone convicted of driving under the influence 
was intoxicated. The bill also would have extended 
the minimum duration of an installment plan from 36 
months to 48 months for surcharges of $500 or more. 

	 HB 2671 would have prohibited DPS from 
extending a license suspension as a penalty for a 
conviction of driving with a suspended or revoked 
license if:

•	 the license was originally suspended for non-
payment of DRP surcharges; and

•	 the person had not been convicted of driving 
with an invalid license in the previous 36 
months.

	 A judge could have dismissed a charge of operating 
a motor vehicle without a driver’s license if the 
defendant obtained a license within 60 working days of 
the offense. A judge also could have dismissed a charge 
of driving without insurance if the motorist obtained 
insurance within 20 working days of the offense. A 
defendant whose charges had been dismissed under 
these circumstances would have been required to pay an 
administrative fee of up to $50. 

	 Driver education and driver safety courses would 
have been required to include information about DRP 
surcharges.

Supporters said 

	 HB 2671 would make the penalties assessed 
under the Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) more 
manageable for offenders trying to get back on their 
feet after paying their debts to society. The DRP often 
creates a cycle of license suspensions for working 
Texans, and surcharges can create a double-bind in 
which motorists with suspended licenses must drive 
to work to have sufficient income to afford to pay the 
fine. HB 2671 would help address this conundrum by 
ending the extension of license suspensions for driving 
with an invalid license and increasing the duration of the 
installment plan for certain surcharges.

Opponents said

	 About 50 percent of the proceeds from the DRP are 
directed to hospitals for uncompensated trauma care 
services. The state should avoid modifications to the 
DRP that could reduce funding for these life-saving 
services.

Other opponents said

	 HB 2671 would make penalties more manageable 
for most drivers, but it would be of limited help for 
low-income motorists. The DRP needs more significant 
reform to allow low-income drivers to legally get to 
work. Texans should not lose their licenses because they 
cannot afford to pay a debt.

Notes

	 HB 2671 was placed on the May 12 General State 
Calendar but was not considered. It was not analyzed in 
a Daily Floor Report. 
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