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During its 2011 regular session, the 82nd Texas Legislature
enacted 1,379 bills and adopted 11 joint resolutions after considering
more than 6,000 measures filed. It also enacted eight bills during the
first called session. This report includes many of the highlights of
the regular session and the first called session. It summarizes some
proposals that were approved and some that were not. Also included are
arguments offered for and against each measure as it was debated. The
legislation featured in this report is a sampling and not intended to be
comprehensive.

Other House Research Organization reports covering the 2011
sessions include those examining the bills vetoed by the governor and
the constitutional amendments on the November 8, 2011, ballot, as well
as an upcoming report summarizing the fiscal 2012-13 budget.
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Bills in the 82nd Legislature

Regular Session

Table

of Contents

Introduced Enacted* Percent enacted
House bills 3,865 797 20.6%
Senate bills 1,931 582 30.1%
TOTAL bills 5,796 1,379 23.8%
HJRs 154 3 1.9%
SJRs 53 8 15.1%
TOTAL joint
resolutions 207 11 5.3%

*Includes 24 vetoed bills — 17 House bills and 7 Senate bills
2009 2011 Percent change

Bills filed 7,419 5,796 -21.9%
Bills enacted 1,459 1,379 -5.5%
Bills vetoed 35 24 -31.4%
Joint resolutions filed 190 207 8.9%
Joint resolutions adopted 9 1" 22.2%
Legislation sent or transferred
to Calendars Committee 1,770 1,302 -26.4%
Legislation sent to Local and
Consent Calendars Committee 1,398 1,283 -11.4%

Source: Texas Legislative Information System, Legislative Reference Library
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Revising the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association

HB 3 by Smithee, First Called Session
Effective September 28, 2011

Table
of Contents

HB 3 revises the claims resolution process and the
administration and operation of the Texas Windstorm
Insurance Association (TWIA). TWIA is a provider of
last-resort insurance that provides basic wind and hail
coverage to property owners in 14 coastal counties and
parts of Harris County when such coverage is excluded
from homeowner and other property policies.

Claims settlement and dispute resolution. HB
3 establishes claims resolution processes for disputes
about whether damage is covered and for the amount
of covered loss, as well as for appeals of denial of
coverage. It also establishes an appraisal process for
disputes about the amount of covered loss and allows
claimants to appeal to a district court in instances
of corruption, fraud, or other undue means. The bill
establishes a binding arbitration process for certain
coverage disputes.

In disputes involving denial of coverage, TWIA may
require mediation. If the claimant is not satisfied with
the result, or if mediation takes longer than 60 days,
the claimant may submit the action to district court.

A claimant bringing an action may recover both the
covered loss and consequential damages if the claimant
shows by clear and convincing evidence that TWIA
intentionally mishandled the claim.

Payment of losses. Under HB 3, securities are
issued as necessary in a principal amount not to exceed
$1 billion per occurrence or series of occurrences in a
calendar year that resulted in insured losses. HB 3 also
sets certain limits on the amount of bonded debt TWIA
may issue.

Premium surcharge. The premium surcharge to pay
for public securities is to be applied to:

e policies that cover automobiles principally
garaged in the catastrophe area;

fire and allied lines insurance;

farm and ranch owners insurance;
residential property insurance;

private passenger automobile liability and
physical damage insurance;

e commercial passenger automobile liability and
physical damage insurance; and

e the property insurance portion of a commercial
multiple peril insurance policy.

Premium discounts on TWIA policies. HB 3
allows TWIA to issue discounts or surcharge credits
of up to 10 percent for insured structures that are
built above code or for policies that contain binding
arbitration clauses.

Interim study. The bill directs the House speaker
and the lieutenant governor to create a joint legislative
study committee to examine alternative ways to provide
insurance to the coastal areas of the state through a
quasi-governmental entity.

Sunset date. The bill changes the year for TWIA’s
Sunset review from 2013 to 2015.

Other provisions. The bill prohibits a person
insured under the association’s provisions from bringing
a private lawsuit against TWIA under ch. 541 and
ch. 542 of the Insurance Code. It also creates certain
standards of conduct for TWIA board members and
employees and creates a duty for them to report certain
fraudulent conduct.

Supporters said

HB 3 adds much-needed regulation, transparency,
and ethics reform to the windstorm insurance
association, which was created to aid and protect
insurance consumers on the Texas coast. In the
aftermath of Hurricane Ike in 2008, TWIA’s board
members, management, and staff failed to fulfill the
association’s purpose of providing last-resort wind and
hail insurance to policy holders on the coast.

Arbitration and appeals process. HB 3 would
provide a fair, efficient, and effective process for claims
disputes that arise between the association and coastal
policyholders. The claims settlement and dispute
resolution provisions created by HB 3 would allow
policyholders to appeal different types of claims by
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using processes appropriate for each issue. HB 3 would
ensure fairness in the dispute process by instituting
consumer-friendly deadlines designed both to provide
structure and to make the association more accountable
to policyholders. By setting deadlines, the bill would
streamline the review and appeal process, making it
more responsive and predictable. It also would present
opportunities to extend deadlines.

Opponents said

HB 3 would remove crucial consumer protections
available under chs. 541 and 542 of the Insurance
Code. These protections, including treble damages,
deter abusive conduct on the part of powerful insurers,
compel them to honor their contractual and statutory
obligations in a timely manner, and make it more likely
that aggrieved policy holders will be made whole. These
are protections that other insurance policy holders have,
and the association’s customers should have them as
well.

The treble damages available under current law
and other statutory attempts to deter bad actors give
consumers more leverage when negotiating claims
disputes with the association. Without these options,
coastal policyholders would be limited in negotiations
and could end up receiving even less than their policy
coverage.

Treble damages are not bankrupting the association,
nor will they in the future. Some argue that treble
damages and other protections should be eliminated to
keep the association solvent, but the association is able
to cover its obligations with its capacity to purchase
reinsurance, issue bonds, and collect and stockpile
customer payments on policies. The association also can
increase what it charges other insurance companies for
support payments.

Other opponents said

HB 3 would not improve the broken TWIA dispute
system because it fails to address the source of most
disputes — inefficient and inequitable claims adjusting.
The bill should adopt a single-adjuster claims process
that uses qualified, competent adjusters of large
companies already in the practice of adjusting these
claims. Consumers would be protected from unqualified
adjusters seeking to take advantage of a broken

system, and the association could reduce costs with a
streamlined system that is working well for other states.

The bill would be ineffective in solving windstorm
problems in Texas because it would continue the
existence of the association. The government should
not be involved as a regulator or a participant in the
insurance market. It would be more effective for the
market to set premium costs for this special type of
coverage, rather than TWIA’s regulating insurance
premium rates. Also, because the bill would not require
the association to purchase reinsurance, its current
practice of bond financing would continue to be
insufficient for its obligations.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 3 appeared in the June
15 Daily Floor Report. During the regular session,
the House and the Senate passed different versions of
HB 272 by Smithee, which would have made various
changes to TWIA administration and procedures, but the
bill died in conference committee.
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Licensing and regulation of dog and cat breeders

HB 1451 by Thompson
Effective June 17, 2011

Table
of Contents

HB 1451 requires certain persons acting as dog and
cat breeders to be licensed by the Texas Department
of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). Dog and cat
breeders are defined as those possessing 11 or more
adult intact females and engaged in breeding their
animals for direct or indirect sale or in exchange for
consideration and who sell or exchange, or offer to sell
or exchange, at least 20 animals annually. Breeders do
not have to hold a license or comply with standards
before September 1, 2012.

TDLR must adopt rules to administer HB 1451 and
set fees to cover the costs.

Licenses. A person cannot act as a dog or cat breeder
in Texas without a license issued by TDLR. HB 1451
does not apply to people breeding dogs for personal use
and using them for hunting, agricultural purposes, field
trial competitions, or hunting tests.

Inspections, fees. TDLR must inspect each facility
of a licensed breeder at least once every 18 months and
other times as necessary. Facilities must be inspected
before a license may be issued. TDLR cannot require
a prelicense inspection of facilities of applicants who
hold a federal Class A animal dealers license and who
have certified to TDLR that their facility meets the
requirements of HB 1451.

TDLR can perform an inspection without advance
notice if necessary to perform it adequately. Breeders
must assist in the inspection, if requested. Inspectors
cannot enter or access any portion of a licensed
breeder’s private residence, except as necessary to
access animals or other property relevant to the care of
the animals.

TDLR must investigate complaints alleging
violations of HB 1451 or any applicable rules.
Inspectors who notice animal cruelty or neglect
during an investigation must report it to the local law
enforcement agency within 24 hours.

TDLR can contract with state agencies, local law
enforcement agencies, or local fire departments as third-

party inspectors to enforce HB 1451. The agency must
use rules to establish training requirements, registration
procedures, and policies for third-party inspectors.

Standards. TDLR must adopt minimum
standards for the humane handling, care, housing, and
transportation of dogs and cats by breeders to ensure the
overall health, safety, and well-being of each animal.
HB 1451 details numerous requirements for standards,
including those dealing with animals’ housing, exercise,
care, and health.

Records. TDLR must adopt rules establishing the
minimum information that breeders must keep for each
animal. Breeders must keep a separate record for each
animal in their facility, documenting the care of the
animal. Breeders have to submit to TDLR an annual
accounting of all animals held at the facility in the
preceding year.

Advisory committee. TDLR is required to establish
an advisory committee to make recommendations
related to administration and enforcement of HB 1451,
including licensing fees and standards. The advisory
committee has nine members, including one animal
control officer, two licensed breeders, two veterinarians,
two representatives of animal welfare organizations with
offices in Texas, and two public members.

Supporters said

HB 1451 is intended to ensure the humane
treatment of dogs and cats by Texas breeders. Currently,
some unscrupulous animal breeders keep dogs and
cats in inhumane conditions that result in disease,
malnourishment, and mistreatment. These breeders,
some of whom operate so-called “puppy mills,” often
escape prosecution under Texas’ animal cruelty laws.
HB 1451 would address this problem by requiring
breeders who are more than just hobby breeders to
obtain a state license, be inspected, and meet some
minimum standards to ensure that animals were healthy
and treated humanely. The serious problem of animals
being treated inhumanely warrants the narrowly tailored
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and reasonable licensing standards that HB 1451 would
establish. This would represent an appropriate, limited
regulatory role for the state to protect health and safety.

Texas’ current animal cruelty laws apply only after
cruelty has taken place and animals have been harmed.
Before law enforcement can intervene, animals often are
dead or severely mistreated. Law enforcement officers
and prosecutors, who often have competing demands
for their time, may intervene in only the most extreme
cases, leaving many mistreated animals to suffer. HB
1451 is designed to prevent cases of animal cruelty
before they occur, rather than prosecute them after the
fact.

The best way to address this situation is through
licensing of breeders and uniform standards. Under the
bill, the state could enforce standards for all licensed
breeders and would have an additional tool to target bad
breeders who did not get licensed.

HB 1451 should not adversely affect responsible
breeders. The bill’s standards and regulations would
be reasonable and narrowly tailored to focus on the
care of animals and would not cause undue expense
for responsible breeders. The required paperwork
and recordkeeping would not be burdensome, and the
authority granted to TDLR, such as surprise inspections,
is often standard for a licensing agency.

The bill would not apply to true hobby breeders.
Meeting the 11-breeding-females and 20-animals-
sold threshold would signal that a breeder was more
than a hobby breeder and should be licensed and held
to certain minimum standards. Once breeders were
licensed, they could have any sized operation, as long as
the care and keeping of the animals were humane.

The use of third-party inspectors would be a
cost-effective way to administer HB 1451 without
significantly adding state employees. Third-party
inspectors would be trained, licensed, and monitored
to ensure proper enforcement. TDLR currently uses
third-party inspectors to inspect architectural barriers,
elevators, and boilers, and the system works well. The
bill would limit third-party inspectors to employees of
state agencies and local law enforcement agencies and
fire departments.

HB 1451 would not cost the state anything,
according to the fiscal note. TDLR could raise fees to
cover its costs.

Opponents said

Cruelty to animals is a serious problem that should
be addressed through better enforcement of current
laws, not by growing state government and burdening
responsible, law-abiding dog and cat breeders with
regulations and a new licensing requirement.

Texas’ animal cruelty laws are broad enough to
cover puppy mills that treat animals inhumanely. For
example, unreasonable failure to provide necessary
food, water, care, or shelter for animals can be an
offense. Local law enforcement officials, not state
employees, are best qualified to know an area and
enforce the laws protecting animals from inhumane
treatment.

HB 1451 would not adequately address current
animal cruelty by unethical and irresponsible breeders
because these operators simply would not apply for a
license and expose themselves to the state’s regulatory
structure. Instead, good breeders would be burdened,
and bad breeders would continue to operate.

The bill would set an arbitrary threshold to
determine who had to be licensed. This threshold could
be so low that it would force some true hobby breeders
to become licensed.

The regulations and standards that HB 1451 would
impose would be burdensome, costly, and too rigid,
even for responsible breeders who take good care of
their animals. HB 1451 would invest TDLR with broad,
open-ended powers. The third-party inspectors might
lack expertise or have personal agendas hostile to an
animal breeder.

The fees that HB 1451 would allow TDLR to charge
breeders are undefined by the bill and could be set so
high as to put some breeders out of business. The fiscal
note for the bill estimates that it would result in new
state employees at a time when the Legislature should
not expand state government.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 1451 appeared in the
April 26 Daily Floor Report.
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Continuing the Texas Department of Insurance

HB 1951 by L. Taylor
Effective September 1, 2011

Table
of Contents

HB 1951 continues the Texas Department of
Insurance (TDI) until September 1, 2023. It addresses
practices related to rate regulation, property insurance
in underserved areas, fire safety inspections, and health
coverage for children. It abolishes certain committees
and addresses membership of the Adjuster Advisory
Board. The bill adds standard Sunset provisions
governing conflicts of interest of the commissioner of
insurance and agency staff, maintaining information
about complaints, using technology to increase
public access, and alternative rulemaking and dispute
resolution procedures.

Rate regulation. Under HB 1951, health
maintenance organizations (HMOs) must provide
to individual enrollees written notice of increases
in charges for coverage at least 60 days before the
increase. The notice must list the charge for coverage on
the date of the notice, the charge after the increase, and
the percentage change between the two. An HMO may
not require renewal or extension of coverage before 45
days after the notice. The law does not prohibit an HMO
from responding to a request to negotiate a change in
benefits or rates after the notice. Notices must include
TDI’s contact information, instructions for filing a
complaint, contact information for the Texas Consumer
Health Assistance Program, and other consumer
protection information.

Accident and health insurers and small employer
health benefit plans will be subject to these same notice
requirements for increases in rates and premiums.

For property and casualty insurance lines, except
those provided by exempted insurers or affiliates,
insurers may use rates on or after the date they are
filed. If the rate does not comply with requirements, the
commissioner must disapprove it before its effective
date or within 30 days of the filing, whichever is earlier.
The commissioner may extend the 30-day period for
good cause. TDI must track and analyze factors leading
to rate disapproval.

The commissioner must establish a process for
TDI’s requests from insurers for supplementary rating
information, including the number and types of requests

the department may make. The department must track
and analyze its requests. TDI annually must release
general information about its rate review processes.

For insurers subject to department approval of rate
filings, the commissioner must assess periodically
whether conditions requiring prior approval still
exist. If the conditions have ceased, the commissioner
must excuse the insurer from prior approval filing.

If the commissioner requires an insurer to file rates
for approval, the commissioner must issue an order
detailing the steps the insurer should take to be
excused. The commissioner must specify by rule
financial conditions and rating practices that could
subject an insurer to prior approval filing and how the
commissioner determines the existence of a statewide
insurance emergency requiring prior approval.

To ensure uniform application of rate standards to
prior approval insurers, TDI will track patterns of rate
disapprovals.

Residential property insurance in underserved
areas. To determine whether an area is underserved,
the commissioner must consider whether access to the
full range of coverages and policy forms for residential
property insurance exists. At least once every six
years, the commissioner must designate underserved
areas and conduct a study to determine the accuracy
of designations to increase and improve access to
insurance in those areas.

In TDI’s next biennial report to the Legislature,
the commissioner must report findings from a study of
residential property insurers qualifying for exemption
from the file-and-use system under sec. 2251.252 of the
Insurance Code. The study must examine the impact
of increasing the percentage of aggregate premiums
collected by these insurers.

Advisory committees. HB 1951 abolishes
certain boards, committees, councils, and task forces
established under the Insurance Code and transfers their
powers, duties, obligations, rights, contracts, funds,
records, and property to TDI. The commissioner must
create a process for the department to periodically
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evaluate and determine the necessity of advisory
committees. TDI has the discretion to keep or develop
committees as needed.

State Fire Marshal’s Office. The state fire marshal
must follow the commissioner’s directions to inspect
state-owned and state-leased buildings on a periodic
basis, regardless of the level of fire safety risk they
pose. The commissioner must prescribe a reasonable
fee for inspections by the state fire marshal that can be
charged to property owners or occupants requesting
inspections, as appropriate. The state fire marshal may
take disciplinary and enforcement actions, and any
administrative penalties imposed for violations must be
applied according to a penalty schedule adopted by the
commissioner.

Individual health coverage for children. HB 1951
authorizes the commissioner to adopt rules to increase
health coverage availability to children younger than
19, set up an open enrollment period, and institute
qualifying events as exceptions to the open enrollment
period, including loss of coverage due to a child’s
ineligibility for the state’s child health plan.

Adjuster Advisory Board. The commissioner
must appoint nine people, including public insurance
adjusters, independent adjusters, and Texas citizens,
to serve as unpaid members of the Adjuster Advisory
Board. Citizens representing the general public may
not have connections to the insurance industry or be a
close family member of such a person, nor may they be
registered lobbyists.

The advisory board will make recommendations to
the commissioner on licensing, testing, and continuing
education of licensed adjusters, as well as claims
handling, catastrophic loss preparedness, ethics, and
matters submitted to the board by the commissioner.

Electronic transactions. If all involved parties
agree, an entity regulated by TDI may conduct business
electronically to the degree it is authorized to conduct
business otherwise. The commissioner will establish
minimum standards with which regulated entities must
comply in conducting business electronically.

Claims reporting. Personal automobile or
residential insurers and agents may not report to a
claims database on coverage inquiries by a policyholder
unless and until a claim is filed.

Supporters said

HB 1951 would improve TDI’s operations, ensuring
the efficiency of the department’s regulatory actions
and providing oversight for insurance markets. The bill
appropriately would focus on processes and procedures
within the department rather than on policy issues.

Regulation of property and casualty rates. HB
1951 would help clarify the file-and-use system, which
currently discourages insurers from filing and using
rates immediately because of fear that rates will be
disapproved after implementation and of the resulting
costs that could accumulate. If the commissioner had to
specify the financial conditions and rating practices that
could subject an insurer to prior approval, insurers could
avoid costly mistakes that could lead to contested case
hearings or being subject to prior approval rate filing.
TDI’s use of property and casualty insurance regulatory
tools would be more predictable and transparent.

Market competition would be enhanced by
continuing the file-and-use system, rather than a prior
approval regulatory system. File-and-use allows insurers
to assess risks and immediately use an actuarially
justified rate. With prior approval, the state could
interfere in an insurer’s rate implementation, which is
designed to ensure solvency by creating a reasonable
buffer against annual fluctuations in claims filings.
The file-and-use system protects the solvency of
companies by ensuring premiums are not priced so
low that insurers are unable to fulfill their obligations
to consumers. Clearer requirements would help foster
a competitive insurance market that encouraged more
insurers to do business in the state.

Consumers would be placed at greater risk if
insurers were regulated to the point of insolvency and
prevented from paying consumer claims because of
their inability to establish an adequate reserve. Reserves
generated from profits during 2006 and 2007 allowed
many insurers to stay in business despite the extreme
natural disaster-related losses paid for consumer claims
in 2008.

Claims reporting. The bill would keep coverage
inquiries by policyholders from being reported to a
claims database. Inquiries about coverage under a
policy should not affect a consumer’s rate, but reports
of inquiries could stay in the claims database for years.
Consumers are reluctant to inquire about coverage
because they do not want inquiries to be counted against
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them. Better informed consumers could consider options
in the insurance market, and competition among insurers
would increase.

Opponents said

HB 1951 would not provide enough mechanisms
to protect Texas consumers or to ensure the fairness
and competitiveness of the insurance industry for all
companies desiring to do business in the state.

Regulation of property and casualty rates. HB
1951 would not sufficiently protect consumers from
companies poised to take advantage of the deregulated
system. Because rates would not be regulated on the
front end before companies collected unfair premiums
from policyholders, a pro-industry approach to
insurance regulation would gain momentum. A prior
approval system would require TDI to approve all rates
before they were passed along to policyholders and
would place the burden on insurers to justify them.

Insurers should not be allowed to determine
whether their own rates are fair. The file-and-use
system allows insurers to file notice of a rate change
with TDI and begin to use that rate immediately.

TDI cannot disapprove a rate-in-effect, even if it is
deemed unfair or excessive, without an administrative
hearing and possible appeal to a district court. The
file-and-use system places undue pressure on TDI’s
staff and resources to review rates in a 30-day period
to ensure fairness for consumers and the marketplace.
This burdensome process is not effective or efficient,
especially given the state’s current fiscal condition.

Regulatory interventions would not influence market
participation, as claimed by file-and-use proponents.
Before 2003, insurers used affiliates as surrogates for
different rating tiers. After regulatory changes in 2003,
affiliates no longer were needed, and many affiliate
operations ceased. Although the total number of
companies seemed to decrease significantly, the actual
decline in insurer group participation was negligible.

Claims reporting. For insurers, policy coverage
inquiries serve as good ratemaking signals and as
actuarially sound indicators of future risk. If insurers
ceased to examine risk, financial crises such as that
experienced recently by the nation could cripple the
insurance industry. Because each underwriting tool
available to an insurer is important, none of them should
be taken away.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 1951 appeared in Part
One of the May 10 Daily Floor Report.
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Requiring certain retailers to collect sales taxes

HB 2403 by Otto/SB 1 by Duncan, First Called Session
Vetoed by the governor/Effective January 1, 2012
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SB 1, the state fiscal matters bill, expands the
definition of a retailer doing business in Texas for
purposes of collecting sales taxes to include one that
has a substantial ownership interest in, or is owned by,
an entity with a location in Texas where business is
conducted if:

o the retailer sells the same or a substantially
similar line of products as the person with the
Texas location and sells these products under
the same business name or one substantially
similar to the business name of the person with
the Texas location; or

e the facilities or employees of the person
with the Texas location are used to advertise,
promote, or facilitate sales by the retailer to
consumers or perform any other activity on
behalf of the retailer intended to establish or
maintain a marketplace for the retailer in Texas,
including receiving or exchanging merchandise.

The definition also includes an entity with a
substantial ownership interest in another entity that has
a distribution center, warehouse, or similar location
in Texas and delivers property sold by the retailer to
consumers.

SB 1 expands the definition of a seller or retailer to
include a person or business who, under an agreement
with another person, is:

e entrusted with possession of tangible personal
property with respect to which the other person
has title or another ownership interest; and

e authorized to sell, lease, or rent the property
without additional action by the person having
title to or another ownership interest in the

property.

“Ownership” is defined as direct, common, or
indirect ownership through a parent entity, subsidiary, or
affiliate. “Substantial” means an ownership interest of at
least 50 percent.

HB 2403 by Otto, a bill with provisions identical
to those in SB 1, was enacted during the regular session,
but vetoed by the governor.

Supporters said

SB 1 would clarify existing law requiring
businesses that are physically present in Texas to collect
sales tax on their sales to Texas customers. Currently,
some businesses that sell to Texas customers attempt to
skirt the statutory definition of doing business in Texas
through creative corporate and ownership structures,
in which certain business aspects are fulfilled by
companies present in Texas while the taxable sales are
performed by related out-of-state companies.

Texas may require only those businesses with a
physical presence in the state to collect sales taxes. In
Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298 (1992), the
U.S. Supreme Court prohibited states from requiring
sellers to collect sales tax on interstate shipments unless
the seller had a physical presence, or “nexus,” in the
state where delivery occurred. Quill stemmed from a
case concerning mail-order catalogs. However, since
1992, the number of sellers making remote sales to
customers online has grown exponentially.

SB 1 is narrowly drafted and would define retailers
as being physically present in Texas only if they had
control of more than 50 percent of a business entity
in the state where the retailer sold substantially the
same product line as the subsidiary and did so under
substantially the same business name. The bill also
would cover out-of-state retailers more than 50 percent-
controlled by a Texas business. This narrow definition of
nexus would fit within the Quil/ ruling, unlike broader
definitions of taxable nexus.

Opponents said

SB 1 would regulate Internet companies that are
regulated more appropriately by Congress. Internet
commerce provides a textbook case of the issues
entangling interstate and international commerce. The
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U.S. Constitution assigns the regulation of interstate
and international commerce to the federal government.
Piecemeal state statutes, like SB 1, complicate an
already byzantine system of sales taxes and regulations
with which retailers must comply when doing business
in multiple jurisdictions.

SB 1 inappropriately would declare that an out-
of-state business had nexus in Texas because it had
corporate ties to other businesses in Texas. In the
Quill decision, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that
businesses should not have to collect sales taxes under
the differing tax rules and rates imposed by the states,
cities, counties, and other taxing jurisdictions unless
the businesses are physically present there. Requiring
otherwise would be onerous to business and would
stifle interstate commerce. Even under SB 1’s definition
of control, the out-of-state business would not be
physically present in the state. Absent congressional
regulation, out-of-state businesses lacking physical
presence should not be required to collect sales taxes.

Other opponents said

SB 1 would use a too-narrow definition of nexus

and would not adequately tax out-of-state Internet sales.

The bill should use click-through, or affiliate, nexus in
order to capture millions more of the sales taxes that
are lost to Internet sales. This would enable the state to
collect taxes that already are due to it, and would better
level the playing field between online and brick-and-
mortar retailers.

Notes
The HRO analysis of HB 2403 appeared in the

April 26 Daily Floor Report. The HRO analysis of SB
1 appeared in the June 9 Daily Floor Report.
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Regulating payday, auto title lending industries

HB 2592 and HB 2594 by Truitt/HB 2593 by Truitt

Effective January 1, 2012/Died in the House
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HB 2592, HB 2593, and HB 2594 formed a trio
of bills seeking to regulate the payday and auto title
lending industry. HB 2592 and HB 2594 were enacted
and signed by the governor and will be effective on
January 1, 2012, but HB 2593 died in the House after
being set on the Major State Calendar.

HB 2592 provides notice and disclosure
requirements for a “credit access business” (CAB), and
HB 2594 adds subch. G to Finance Code, ch. 393 to
require licensing of CABs by the Office of Consumer
Credit Commissioner (OCCC). A CAB is defined as a
credit services organization (CSO) that obtains or helps
to obtain an extension of credit in the form of a payday
loan or auto title loan for a consumer.

HB 2592 requires a CAB to post certain disclaimers
conspicuously in its physical location and on its website,
including a schedule of fees to be charged for services,
notices regarding the intended use of payday and auto
title loans and refinancing charges, and the contact
information for the OCCC.

Before performing services, a CAB must provide
consumers with a disclosure adopted by the Finance
Commission that includes the interest, fees, and annual
percentage rates charged on a payday or auto title
loan compared to those charged on alternative forms
of consumer debt; the accumulated fees a consumer
would incur by renewing or refinancing an outstanding
payday or auto title loan for various time periods; and
information on the typical pattern of repayment of
payday and auto title loans. The OCCC may assess an
administrative penalty against a CAB that violates these
requirements.

HB 2594 authorizes various fees associated with
licensing and examination of CABs, as well as an
annual assessment paid by CABs to support a Texas
Financial Education Endowment. CABs must report
aggregate consumer transaction statistics quarterly
to the OCCC, and any contract between a CAB and
a consumer must contain certain statements and
disclosures related to prohibited CAB practices. The
OCCC must assess an administrative penalty against
a CAB that violates the requirements, and OCCC can

order the CAB to make restitution to a person injured by
a violation.

Although the Finance Commission may adopt rules
for specified purposes, neither the Finance Commission
nor the OCCC has the authority to establish limits on
the fees charged by a CAB.

HB 2593 would have established limits on the cash
value of a payday or auto title loan. The bill also would
have required a payday or auto title loan to be payable
in two-week or one-month increments or in a single
payment and would have required partial payments
of the loan principal to be accepted. The bill would
have set limits on the number of times a loan could be
renewed, refinanced, or partially paid within certain time
periods and would have allowed for the arrangement of
extended repayment plans that did not charge fees. HB
2593 also included additional provisions for auto title
loans.

Supporters said

The notice and disclosure requirements would
increase consumer knowledge of payday and auto
title loans, ensuring that customers received the
unambiguous details needed to make informed
borrowing decisions. The provisions would help
bring the rapidly growing industry under meaningful
state regulation for the first time. They would help
prevent predatory practices and provide recourse for
consumers exploited by rogue actors, while protecting
the industry’s businesses and employees and consumers’
access to these short-term loans. CABs would be kept
in ch. 393 of the Finance Code because they are loan
brokers, not lenders.

The licensing requirements would enable the
Finance Commission and OCCC to license, oversee,
and collect data on the payday and auto title lending
industry, ensure that CABs complied with consumer
protection laws, and provide recourse for consumers
exploited by predatory actors in the industry. The
reporting provisions would shed light on the volume and
nature of payday and auto title loan transactions for the
first time.
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The OCCC and the Finance Commission would be
granted only limited, specified rulemaking authority
to implement the requirements and could not cap fees
charged by CABs. Reasonable fees would be established
to fund investigations of consumer complaints, licensing
investigations, and support of much-needed financial
education in the state. Compared to the very healthy
profits reaped by CABs, these fees would be minimal.

Although CABs provide a needed loan-brokering
service and deserve to earn a profit, lack of oversight
and regulation has led to many consumer complaints.
The new regulations would create necessary, valuable
business operating standards and allow market
competition to bring CAB fees down naturally, rather
than capping them in rule or statute. The proposed
regulations result from negotiations between consumer
advocacy groups and the payday and auto title lending
industry, and they would benefit both consumers and
businesses.

Tying the principal of a loan to the consumer’s
ability to repay, capping the allowable number of loan
renewals, requiring acceptance of partial payments,
and creating extended repayment plans would help
consumers avoid the cycle of debt while encouraging
them to pay off their obligations. These provisions
would break the exploitative cycle of debt that too often
results from payday and auto title loan use.

Opponents said

The proposed regulations would grant the Finance
Commission broad and unclear new rulemaking
authority, which could have unintended consequences,
such as limiting consumer access to loans. In its efforts
to protect consumers, the Finance Commission could
end up regulating prices and harming consumers
instead.

The licensing requirements would impose multiple
fees, including an annual fee, upon businesses. These
fees would be passed through to the consumer in the
form of higher product prices, which would restrict
consumer access to the market.

The restrictive structuring of loan products would
drive CABs out of business and interfere with access
to the free market for short-term credit. Consumers
need a variety of product options to manage financial
difficulties. The forfeiture of loan principal and auto
title would harm CABs’ ability to serve Texans frozen

out of the traditional credit market by allowing these
borrowers to evade their obligations and not pay back
the principal borrowed.

Other opponents said

The consumer protection provisions should be
stronger. The proposed changes would create a licensing
structure but would not establish many needed business
operating standards that credit services organizations
(CSOs) should have to meet or that OCCC could
enforce. Many critical operating standards and loan
product requirements would be provided, but the
licensing structure alone would not be enough to address
the cycle of debt that traps families.

Instead, exploitation of the CSO loophole would be
legitimized. The proposed provisions would codify a
CSO’s freedom to charge exorbitant fees by explicitly
not granting the Finance Commission or the OCCC
the authority to cap them. Refraining from establishing
fee or interest rate caps would allow the cycle of debt
to continue. Creating the CAB designation within ch.
393 would entrench the three-party lending model that
uses a credit-repair statute as a vehicle for 500-percent
interest rate consumer loans.

Notes

The HRO analyses of HB 2592 and HB 2594
appeared in Part One of the May 11 Daily Floor Report.
The HRO analysis of HB 2593 appeared in Part One of
the May 12 Daily Floor Report.
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Continuing PUC, reviewing ERCOT

SB 661 by Nichols
Died in the House
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SB 661, as reported by the House State Affairs
Committee, would have continued both the Public
Utility Commission (PUC) and Office of Public Utility
Counsel (OPUC) until September 1, 2023, and would
have required future Sunset Advisory Commission
review of the Electric Reliability Council of Texas
(ERCOT) in conjunction with subsequent Sunset review
of PUC.

SB 661 would have granted PUC additional authority
to regulate the electricity market and to oversee the
governance of ERCOT, requiring it to approve the
ERCOT budget. Other major provisions would have
transferred regulation of water rates from the Texas
Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) to
PUC and would have required OPUC to represent the
interests of residential and small commercial consumers
regarding water rates and services. SB 661 also would
have changed the size and membership of the ERCOT
board.

PUC. SB 661 would have allowed PUC to assess
an administrative penalty for violation of a reliability
standard set by ERCOT or by the North American
Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC), the national
standards-making body, for the wholesale electricity
market. In cases of market power abuse under the
Utilities Code, PUC also would have had to order
disgorgement of all revenue exceeding what would have
been generated absent a violation.

SB 661 would have amended the Utilities Code
to require PUC to adopt rules on the procedures for
adopting a cease-and-desist order. PUC would have
been allowed to issue the order, with or without a
hearing, if it determined that an action threatened
electricity services, was fraudulent or hazardous,
immediately endangered public safety, or was expected
to injure a customer and was incapable of being rectified
by monetary compensation.

SB 661 would have required ERCOT to submit its
annual budget for review and approval by PUC, which
would have had to establish a procedure for ensuring
public notice of and participation in the budget review
process.

SB 661 would have moved responsibility for
ratemaking and other economic regulation for water
and wastewater from TCEQ to PUC, but TCEQ would
have retained jurisdiction to regulate water and sewer
utilities to ensure safe drinking water and environmental
protection.

ERCOT. SB 661 would have changed the number
and qualifications of the ERCOT board members,
removing the PUC chairman as an ex officio and
nonvoting member and the OPUC counsel as an ex
officio member and voting member representing
residential and small commercial electric consumers.
The ERCOT chief executive officer would have
remained as an ex officio and voting member.

The bill would have kept the six market participants
elected by their respective market segments for one-
year terms, but the new lineup would have included one
representative from entities serving retail customers
rather than power marketers and two, rather than one,
from organizations representing retail customers.

The municipal utilities and cooperatives would have
elected one representative for both groups, rather than
each having its own representatives on the board. Four
members would have been unaffiliated with any market
segment and have served no more than two three-year
terms.

Other provisions. SB 661 included other provisions
that would have included gasified waste as a form of
renewable energy technology and would have further
defined renewable energy as any process that did not
rely solely on energy resources derived from fossil
fuels or waste products from fossil fuels or inorganic
sources. The bill also would have restricted homeowners
associations’ (HOAs’) regulation of solar panels
(enacted in HB 362).

Supporters said

SB 661 would provide clearer guidance for
both PUC and ERCOT in overseeing the growing
competition and technological changes in wholesale
and retail electric markets. The bill would grant PUC
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more oversight in ERCOT operations and help make
the organization more responsive and accountable to the
Legislature and all electricity customers.

PUC. The bill would return PUC to its traditional
role of regulating rates and other economic aspects
of water and sewage utilities since the agency has the
expertise and experience to establish fair and responsive
policies for both utilities and customers.

SB 661 would grant PUC basic enforcement powers
to prevent dangers to the health, safety, and well-being
of utility customers and to address market abuses. The
bill would give PUC cease-and-desist authority similar
to what other regulatory agencies, such as the Texas
Department of Insurance, already possess. PUC also
should be able to order the disgorgement of revenue
improperly gained through market power abuses or
manipulation of wholesale electricity rules.

ERCOT. SB 661 would change the composition of
the ERCOT board to better represent groups advocating
on behalf of retail customers and the public. The bill
would help reduce the influence of electric market
stakeholders, which can be seen as impairing the
impartiality of the board.

Other provisions. SB 661 would properly expand
potential portfolios of renewable energy sources and
would permit the development of technologies such as
municipal solid waste gasification. It also would allow
for innovative uses of biomass fuels in conjunction with
traditional fossil-based fuels.

Opponents said

PUC. SB 661 is a solution in search of a problem.
Market manipulation historically has been limited, with
only one alleged instance in nine years of competition.
SB 661 could create an incentive for people seeking
damages and liability.

The PUC should not be authorized to issue
emergency cease-and-desist orders, which would
represent an extensive and often dangerous level
of power. Any problems should be solved by the
marketplace or the legal system.

ERCOT. While ERCOT must be responsive to Texas
electricity customers, SB 661 would not necessarily
improve the accountability and transparency of its
operations. The needs for stakeholder representation

and technical expertise on the board should be properly
balanced.

Other provisions. SB 661 potentially would
undermine current policies designed to encourage
use of renewable energy sources. The bill would
make no distinction between energy derived from the
organic matter or “sustainable biomass” components
of municipal solid waste, which plausibly may be
considered “renewable,” versus the inorganic matter,
such as plastics, waste tires, lead paint, mercury, or
waste fuel. If renewable energy were redefined to
include technologies that did not rely solely on fossil
fuels, then anything using a small amount of biomass,
even a single wood chip, with fossil fuel would be
considered “renewable.”

Notes

SB 652 by Hegar, the Sunset revision bill, extended
the Sunset date for PUC until September 1, 2013, and
exempted it from full-scale Sunset review for the 83rd
Legislature. It exempted ERCOT from additional Sunset
review for the 83rd Legislature but coupled its future
Sunset review with the PUC and extended the Sunset
date for OPUC until September 1, 2023.

The HRO analysis of SB 661 appeared in Part One
of the May 24 Daily Floor Report.
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Operation and administration of judicial branch

HB 79 by Lewis, First Called Session
Generally effective January 1, 2012
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HB 79 makes several changes to the Texas court
system.

District courts. Under HB 79, counties with two or
more district courts may transfer cases from one district
court to another and exchange benches between district
courts without formal transfers of cases from one
docket into another. This is a decrease from the current
threshold of five or more courts. The bill grants district
courts original jurisdiction in civil matters where the
amount in controversy exceeds $500.

All district judges within a county must be paid
equal amounts of supplemental compensation from the
county and are entitled to juvenile board supplements
equal to what other judges serving on the juvenile board
receive.

The bill directs the initial vacancy in a newly
created district court to be filled by gubernatorial
appointment.

Statutory county courts. HB 79 increases the
jurisdictional limit in civil matters from $100,000 to
$200,000 for all statutory county courts (SCCs). The
59 SCCs that already have jurisdiction limits above
$200,000 retain those existing limits.

HB 79 bars SCC judges from the private practice of
law. Judges currently operating under a statute allowing
them to engage in private practice part time may
continue doing so during the remainder of their terms.

The bill requires SCC judges and statutory probate
judges to be U.S. citizens. It also creates a new Webb
County Court at Law No. 3.

Justice and small claims courts. Under HB 79, on
May 1, 2013, all small claims courts will be abolished.
Their dockets will be transferred by the presiding justice
of the peace to a justice court in the county.

Small claims cases must be conducted according
to rules set by the Texas Supreme Court to ensure fair,
expeditious, and inexpensive resolution of small claims.

HB 79 requires justices of the peace yearly to take
at least 10 hours of training in substantive, procedural,
and evidentiary law in civil matters.

Associate judges. HB 79 makes several changes
concerning criminal law associate judges (known as
magistrates), civil law associate judges, and juvenile law
associate judges.

The bill repeals several statutes specific to associate
judges in individual courts and provides rules applicable
to all associate judges regarding authority and powers,
including the ability to conduct hearings, hear evidence,
make findings of fact, formulate conclusions of law, and
recommend rulings, orders, or judgments in a case.

Court administration. The bill creates the Judicial
Committee for Additional Resources, which must
provide assistance, on the request of a trial court, for
particularly massive, complex, or burdensome cases.
The state must pay the cost of this assistance, rather
than counties or parties. The Texas Supreme Court
must implement rules to determine whether a case
requires additional resources to ensure efficient judicial
management.

Trial independence period for foster children. HB
79 allows children aging out of the foster care system
to remain under a court’s jurisdiction. A court may
authorize a “trial independence period” of between six
and 12 months during which a young adult exits foster
care with the option of returning to the system. The bill
also expands reporting requirements on the young adults
to monitor their progress.

Inmate litigation. HB 79 makes the Civil Practice
and Remedies Code, ch. 14, dealing with certain inmate
litigation, apply to appellate courts, including the Texas
Supreme Court and the Court of Criminal Appeals. Civil
Practice and Remedies Code, ch. 14 deals with litigation
brought by inmates in district, county, justice of the
peace, and small claims courts in which an affidavit
stating inability to pay costs is filed by an inmate. The
chapter includes provisions on the dismissal of claims,
affidavits relating to previous filings, the grievance
system and the exhaustion of administrative remedies,
and court fees and costs.
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Grant programs. HB 79 directs the Office of
Court Administration (OCA) to develop a program
to provide grants from available funds to counties for
initiatives that enhance local court systems. The Judicial
Committee for Additional Resources must decide which
counties receive grants.

The bill directs the Permanent Judicial Commission
for Children, Youth, and Families to develop a program
to provide grants from funds raised through gifts, grants,
or donations for initiatives that improve safety and
permanency outcomes, enhance due process, or increase
the timeliness of resolution in child protection cases.

Study by OCA of the Texas Judicial System. HB
79 directs the OCA to study the district courts and the
county courts at law with overlapping jurisdiction in
civil cases where the amount in controversy exceeds
$200,000. The study must determine the feasibility
and potential cost savings of converting those statutory
county courts into district courts. The report is due by
January 1, 2013, and may be paid for with gifts, grants,
and donations.

Other provisions. HB 79 conforms certain
language in court cost provisions. For example,
references to an “application for a writ of error” are
replaced with “application for petition for review” to
bring all references to the same application under one
name.

No appropriation. HB 79 makes no appropriations.
To the extent that local governments, the courts, or
the courts’ support agencies are directed to create new
programs, they are not mandatory unless the Legislature
specifically appropriates funding for them.

Supporters said

HB 79 would bring simplicity and rationality
to the legal process by reforming the organization
and administration of the court system. Since its
establishment in 1891, the current court system has been
amended and restructured on a piecemeal and ad hoc
basis, resulting in an outdated system of irregularities,
inconsistencies, and overlapping jurisdictions. Litigants
seeking to file suit must locate the specific jurisdiction
of each statutory county court and district court in the
state to see which cases the court may hear.

HB 79 would help to streamline the jurisdictional
levels of these courts. The bill would make it easier for
local courts to exchange cases, dockets, and benches,

simplifying the processes for addressing problems in
judicial workloads such as illness, vacation, increases

in the volume and complexity of cases, and recusal.

The bill also would streamline the kinds of cases that
SCCs could take by expanding the limit on the amount
in controversy from $100,000 to $200,000. This would
ease some of the caseload burden of local district courts.

The bill would allow children aging out of the foster
care system to stay under the extended jurisdiction of
a court for a “trial independence period” or to receive
services. These changes would allow the foster care
system to qualify for additional federal funding.

HB 79 would abolish small claims courts and
replace them with a rule-based system. The rules would
be drafted by the Texas Supreme Court after extensive
hearings to gather evidence and examine best practices
and would help to streamline substantive, procedural,
and evidentiary practices for all of the state’s justice of
the peace courts.

The changes included in HB 79 were suggested by
the Judicial Council and the State Bar of Texas. Changes
to the court often are made at the suggestion of the
Texas Judicial Council after it has studied an issue and
fully vetted suggested improvements.

HB 79 would represent an investment in the court
system of Texas. As Texas’ population and economy
grow, so will its need for an efficient and rational court
system. The bill’s reforms and investments are geared
toward creating more efficient and uniform justice
across the state.

Opponents said

HB 79 would attempt to fix what is not broken. The
court system in each county is a reflection of carefully
constructed compromises among the local judiciary,
the commissioners court, and the Legislature to address
local needs for civil and criminal courts. Overall
complexity in the state should not be surprising, as
there are 254 counties of widely varying sizes and local
circumstances. The number and kinds of courts and the
jurisdiction of each reflect the individual needs of each
locality.

Streamlining these courts just for the sake of
streamlining would disrupt this local balance. Texas
is too diverse to demand rigid uniformity of its court
system, especially when uniformity of local needs for
types and kinds of courts can never exist. Any problems
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should be addressed locally, as Texas historically has
done.

HB 79 should not abolish small claims courts.
Litigants with claims of less than $10,000 rely on these
courts because their relaxed rules of evidence mean
litigants may represent themselves successfully and
because court dates are readily available. Justices of the
peace who preside over small claims courts run these
courts successfully under current law and have not
heard complaints from litigants suggesting that they be
abolished.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 79 appeared in the June
20 Daily Floor Report. During the regular session,
an almost identical bill, SB 1717 by Duncan, passed
both houses, but died when the Senate approved the
conference committee report but the House did not
consider it.
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“Loser pays” and other tort reform

HB 274 by Creighton
Effective September 1, 2011
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HB 274 makes several changes to the Texas civil
justice system, including:

allocation of litigation costs;

early dismissal of actions;

expedited civil actions;

appeal of controlling question of law; and
limits on the designation of responsible third
parties.

Litigation costs and attorney’s fees. HB 274 limits
litigation costs that can be recovered by a party offering
a settlement. Litigation costs cannot be more than the
value of the judgment. The definition of recoverable
litigation costs is expanded to include reasonable
deposition costs in settlement proceedings or in an
award of litigation costs.

Early dismissal of actions. HB 274 directs the
Texas Supreme Court to create rules for dismissal of
certain causes of action that have no basis in law or fact
on motion and without evidence. The rules must provide
that the motion to dismiss be granted or denied within
45 days of filing. These rules do not apply to actions
under the Family Code.

Trial courts must award attorney’s fees to a
prevailing party on the court’s granting or denial, in
whole or in part, of a motion to dismiss under these
rules. This provision does not apply to actions by or
against the state, other governmental entities, or public
officials.

Expedited civil actions. HB 274 directs the
Supreme Court to adopt rules to promote resolution
of civil actions in which the amount in controversy
does not exceed $100,000. The rules must address the
need for lowering discovery costs and for expeditious
movement through the civil courts.

Appeal of controlling question of law. HB 274
allows a trial court, on a party’s motion or its own
initiative, to permit an appeal from an order that is not
otherwise appealable if:

e the order to be appealed involves a controlling
question of law as to which there are grounds

for difference of opinion; and

e an immediate appeal from the order may
materially advance the ultimate termination of
the litigation.

Such an appeal does not stay the proceedings unless
the parties agree to a stay or the trial or the appeals court
orders a stay pending an appeal. The appeal is expedited
if the appellate court accepts it.

Designation of responsible third parties. HB 274
prevents a defendant from designating a person as a
responsible third party after the applicable limitations
period on the cause of action regarding the responsible
third party expired if the defendant failed to comply
with applicable timely disclosure of responsible
third-party requirements in the Texas Rules of Civil
Procedure.

Supporters said

HB 274 would implement solid, fair, and necessary
reforms to the Texas civil justice system to lower the
cost of litigation. Since the 2003 tort reforms, Texas
has made great strides in restoring balance between
plaintiffs’ access to civil lawsuits and defendants’
right to not be subject to frivolous and costly lawsuits.
However, time and experience have shown that further
refinements are necessary to improve efficiency, lower
costs, and improve access for litigants with smaller
disputes. The governor, in his January state of the state
speech, encouraged the Legislature to pass further civil
justice reforms to strengthen the economy and ratchet up
the fairness of the court system. HB 274 would provide
an ideal balance between lowering costs and improving
fairness, while still protecting access to the civil court
system.

Litigation costs and attorney’s fees. The bill
would level the playing field between plaintifts and
defendants by repealing certain limits on the recovery
of costs and allowing prevailing parties to recover
in attorney’s fees an amount up to the value of the
judgment. Under current law, if a plaintiff wins a case
after rejecting a settlement offer and the judgment
amount is substantially greater than the settlement
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offered, the plaintiff may collect the award and the
costs of litigation. However, if a defendant wins the suit
after the defendant’s settlement offer was rejected, the
defendant cannot collect litigation costs because current
law requires that those costs be awarded as an offset
against the plaintiff’s recovery from that defendant. In
other words, if the defendant owes the plaintiff nothing,
there is nothing to offset with litigation costs. The bill
would remove this inequity.

Early dismissal of actions. HB 274 would instruct
the Texas Supreme Court to create rules for motions to
dismiss frivolous lawsuits. The court could adopt rules
that fit best with Texas jurisprudence and would not
have to adopt the federal standard.

The bill would allow trial courts to award attorney’s
fees to a prevailing party on the court’s granting or
denial, in whole or in part, of a motion to dismiss. This
would help deter groundless lawsuits and inappropriate
motions to dismiss.

HB 274 would not change the forms of pleadings in
Texas. The bill would not require the Supreme Court to
make a change in specificity of pleadings. If the court
thought changes in pleadings were necessary because
of the rule change, the court would make any necessary
changes. The court would take its normal approach to
changes in the rules and would implement them only
after careful study and deliberation.

Appeal of controlling question of law. HB 274
would allow appellate courts, with permission of the
trial court, to address controlling questions of law in
appropriate cases without the need for the parties to
incur the expense of a full trial.

The bill would not cause a flood of new appeals.
It provides for a two-tiered system of gate-keeping to
prevent inappropriate appeals. The trial court would
have to agree to allow the appeal, and an appellate court
would have to agree to accept it.

Opponents said

The premise of HB 274 that the courts are clogged
with frivolous lawsuits is false. Plaintiffs’ attorneys
work on commission. They have a strong incentive
to take only cases they feel have merit in order to
maximize their chances of winning the case and
receiving their commission.

Current law contains sufficient checks on frivolous
lawsuits. These sanctions are found in the Texas Rules
of Civil Procedure, rule 13 and the Texas Civil Practice
and Remedies Code, secs. 9 and 10. The changes that
HB 274 would make are unnecessary. A 2005 Baylor
Law Review article conducted a study of Texas trial
court judges. The survey, which had a 78 percent
response rate, found 86 percent of these judges said
there was no need for additional tort law changes.

Litigation costs and loser pays awards of
attorney’s fees. Only parties with deep pockets or
the judgment-proof poor would be able to file claims
because only they could afford to risk paying both sides’
attorney’s fees if they did not prevail in a case.

Appeal of controlling question of law. These
appeals could clog the appellate court system. Under the
bill, every time a defendant lost a motion to dismiss a
case, it could be appealed to the appellate courts.

Early dismissal of actions. The Supreme Court
already is able to implement rules for an early dismissal
of baseless actions. It is not at all clear that they are
needed. If they were, the court likely already would
have acted to create them. If the Legislature feels
something must be done, it would be better to instruct
the court to conduct a study to identify a problem, if one
exists, and to suggest appropriate solutions.

HB 274 would fundamentally and inappropriately
alter the way civil trials are conducted. If a motion to
dismiss for failure to state a claim was created in Texas,
it would move away from the general pleading system
now in use. Federal law contains such a motion and,
as a result, requires that pleadings be specific in order
to survive such a motion. This is only possible after
extensive discovery. The bill would not take this into
account. The bill’s failure to address the consequences
of the proposed change reinforces the need for a study
before legislation is adopted.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 274 appeared in the May
7 Daily Floor Report.
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Dismissing SLAPP suits on free speech grounds

HB 2973 by Hunter
Effective June 17, 2011
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of Contents

HB 2973 allows a party to file a motion to dismiss
if a lawsuit is based on that party’s exercise of the right
of free speech, right to petition, or right of association.
On the filing of a motion to dismiss, all discovery is
suspended until the court rules on the motion. The
court may allow specified and limited discovery on a
motion by a party or on the court’s own motion and on a
showing of good cause.

A court must grant the motion to dismiss if the
moving party shows by a preponderance of the evidence
that the lawsuit is based on, relates to, or is in response
to the party’s exercise of the right of free speech,
petition, or association. However, a court may not grant
the motion to dismiss if the plaintiff establishes by
clear and specific evidence a prima facie case for each
essential element of the claim.

If the court grants the motion to dismiss, the court is
required to award to the moving party:

e court costs, reasonable attorney’s fees, and other
expenses incurred in defending the lawsuit, as
justice and equity may require; and

e sanctions against the plaintiff to deter similar
actions.

If the court finds the motion to dismiss is frivolous
or solely intended to delay, it may award court costs and
reasonable attorney’s fees to the responding party.

An appellate court must expedite an appeal of a
motion to dismiss.

A motion to dismiss is not available for enforcement
actions by the state or a political subdivision, a lawsuit
against a person primarily engaged in selling or leasing
goods or services when the intended audience is a
customer, or a personal injury suit.

Supporters said

HB 2973 would allow a person to file a motion
to dismiss a lawsuit that was based on that person’s
exercise of the right of free speech, petition, or
association. These “SLAPP” suits, or strategic lawsuits

against public participation, are frivolous lawsuits
aimed at silencing people. Citizen participation benefits
society, whether it involves petitioning the government,
writing a news article or blog post, or commenting on
the quality of a business.

SLAPP suits chill public debate because they
cost money to defend. In one case, a woman who
complained to the Texas State Board of Medical
Examiners and to a television station about a doctor was
later sued by the doctor. While the suit was dismissed,
the television station had to pay $100,000 in legal
expenses. These suits are particularly problematic for
independent voices that are not part of a news or media
company. SLAPP suits are becoming more common, in
part because the Internet has created a searchable record
of public participation.

Under current law, the victim of a SLAPP suit
must rely on a motion for summary judgment. While
summary judgment disposes of a controversy before
a trial, both parties still must conduct expensive
discovery. By allowing a motion to dismiss, HB 2973
would allow frivolous lawsuits to be dismissed at the
outset of the proceeding, promoting the constitutional
rights of citizens and helping to alleviate some of the
burden on the court system.

Anti-SLAPP legislation similar to HB 2973 has been
passed by 27 states and the District of Columbia.

Opponents said

HB 2973, if interpreted broadly, could be used
to intimidate legitimate plaintiffs. It could stifle suits
brought legitimately under libel or slander laws because
the plaintiff in such suits would have to overcome
motions testing the plaintift’s pleadings.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 2973 appeared in the May
2 Daily Floor Report.
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Prohibiting policies that create “sanctuary cities”

HB 12 by Solomons/SB 9 by Williams, First Called Session

Died in the Senate/Died in House committee
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HB 12 by Solomons, as passed by the House
during the regular session, would have prohibited
local government entities from adopting rules, orders,
ordinances, or policies that prohibited the enforcement
of state or federal immigration law.

The bill would have applied to cities and counties
and their employees, including sheriffs, police
departments, city and county attorneys, district
attorneys, and criminal district attorneys. It would not
have applied to schools or hospital districts, but would
have applied to commissioned peace officers employed
by them. The bill would not have applied to the release
of information in educational records, except in
conformity with the federal Family Educational Rights
and Privacy Act of 1974.

Entities to which HB 12 would have applied could
not have prohibited their employees from:

e inquiring into the immigration status of a
detained or arrested person;

e sending immigration status information about
a detainee or arrestee to U.S. Citizenship and
Immigration Services or U.S. Immigration
and Customs Enforcement or requesting or
receiving such information from those agencies;

e maintaining this information or exchanging it
with another government entity;

e assisting a federal immigration officer as
reasonable and necessary; or

e permitting a federal immigration officer to
enter and conduct federal immigration law
enforcement activities at a city or county jail.

These entities would have been prohibited from
considering race, color, language, or national origin
while enforcing the law, except as permitted by the U.S.
or Texas Constitution.

Entities that violated HB 12 would have been denied
state grant funds for a year. Citizens would have been
able to file complaints about violations with the Texas
attorney general.

Supporters said

HB 12 is necessary to give Texas law enforcement

a uniform working standard for inquiring about the
immigration status of lawfully arrested or detained
people. Some so-called “sanctuary cities” have policies
prohibiting law enforcement from asking about, or
reporting on, a person’s immigration status. HB 12
would solve this by barring local entities from adopting
polices prohibiting immigration law enforcement.

Local control. HB 12 would not weaken local
control over law enforcement. Peace officers would
not have to act as immigration agents. HB 12 would
ensure that law enforcement officers were not restricted
by local policies and would empower them to use their
judgment when upholding the law, not infringe upon
their authority.

Peace officers would not neglect their general duties
to focus on immigration issues. Officers who did so
could be sanctioned for not doing their jobs.

Local resources. HB 12 would not require any
arrests or other actions, so it would not burden local
resources, including jails. Since no entities identify
themselves as sanctuary cities, most entities should be
unaffected. Any actions of peace officers under HB 12
would be handled seamlessly with current resources.

Comparison with Arizona. HB 12 would differ
significantly from Arizona’s immigration law, which
requires law enforcement to ask about immigration
status. Instead, this bill would a/low peace officers to
inquire at their own discretion.

School districts and hospitals. HB 12 would not
violate federal law requiring schools to educate all
students, would not affect educators, and would not
require school districts to question students or act
against undocumented students.

The bill would include school district and hospital
peace officers under the same policies as all other peace
officers in Texas. Excluding them could prevent the
proper handling of serious crimes.
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Law enforcement and local communities. HB
12 would not harm law enforcement’s relationships
with communities or apply to victims, witnesses, or
bystanders. The bill would solely address inquiries of
detainees or arrestees. Concerns that HB 12 would make
communities unsafe fail to consider that law-abiding
residents would benefit from the uniform enforcement
of laws and from peace officers being able to use their
discretion in enforcing the law.

Racial profiling. Despite concerns about racial
profiling, HB 12 would not require officers to stop
people based on appearance or on suspicion of being
in the U.S. illegally. Officers could not consider race,
color, language, or national origin, except as allowed by
the U.S. or Texas constitutions. Under Texas law, all law
enforcement agencies must have policies prohibiting
officers from racial profiling, and that would not change.

Enforcement and penalties. Allowing the attorney
general to sue entities that violated HB 12 would
give the law some teeth and allow it to be enforced
consistently statewide. To avoid losing state grant
funding, entities simply would have to refrain from
adopting polices prohibiting the enforcement of
immigration laws.

Opponents said

HB 12 would undermine local control of Texas law
enforcement, tax already scarce local resources, and hurt
efforts to build safe communities through community
policing. HB 12 is not needed because Texas does not
have a problem with so-called sanctuary cities.

Immigration law already is being appropriately
addressed in Texas, and local law enforcement already
works with federal officials to handle undocumented
persons accused of crimes. County jails and state
facilities participate in the federal Secure Communities
program, under which U.S. Immigration and Customs
Enforcement can place holds on arrestees.

Local control. HB 12 would undermine local
control by restricting local policies and authorizing local
law enforcement to act in ways that could conflict with
their supervisors’ directives, thus removing authority
from local police chiefs and city officials.

Law enforcement agencies no longer could prevent
officers from asking about immigration status during
traffic stops and street encounters, regardless of

local needs or priorities. This could distract officers
from other crimes and increase response times for
emergencies. If an officer decided to make an arrest
in order to pursue an undocumented person, he or she
could be busy for hours with the arrest and booking
procedures.

Local resources. Local criminal justice resources,
including detention space, already are stretched
thin. Under HB 12, local resources could be used to
handle higher numbers of undocumented immigrants
accused of petty crimes. Many Texas jails are full or
overcrowded, and HB 12 could worsen this. Training
local law enforcement officers to avoid violating federal
immigration laws also would be expensive.

Comparison with Arizona. HB 12 could put the
state on the path to becoming like Arizona, where
overzealous immigration law enforcement has hurt
tourism and caused workers to leave the state, affecting
labor markets and industries such as agriculture.

School districts and hospitals. HB 12 should not
apply to any school district official, even peace officers.
It could violate a U.S. Supreme Court ruling requiring
public schools to educate all children, regardless of
immigration status. School districts should be allowed
to follow their own policies.

Any student who violated the law could
face questions about his or her status. Parents of
undocumented students might keep kids out of school
if they believed that school officials could make
immigration inquiries of students. School district
funding could be reduced by students being kept out of
schools or by students who dropped out of school.

Law enforcement and local communities. HB 12
could harm the trust necessary for law enforcement to
operate successfully in the community. Crime victims
and witnesses could be less likely to cooperate with
police if they feared actions could be taken against them
or their families for immigration violations.

Racial profiling. HB 12 could lead to racial
profiling by law enforcement. Local law enforcement
might need training in federal immigration law to
prevent such profiling and other civil rights violations.
This could lead to costly lawsuits if local officials tried
to enforce federal law without the proper training.

Enforcement and penalties. The penalty of losing
state grant funds for violating HB 12 would be too
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severe. Immigration law is complex, and without
the necessary expertise, local entities could struggle
to comply with the bill and be penalized for simple
mistakes.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 12 appeared in Part One
of the May 9 Daily Floor Report.

After HB 12 died during the regular session, Gov.
Perry added legislation relating to the abolishment of
sanctuary cities to the call for the first called session of
the 82nd Legislature. Rep. Solomons filed HB 9, which
was identical to HB 12 in the regular session, but HB 9
died in the House State Affairs Committee. The Senate
approved SB 9 by Williams, which included language
similar to HB 12, but it died in the House State Affairs
Committee.

The House-approved version of HB 12, regular
session, and the filed version of HB 9, first called
session, would have excluded school districts and
hospitals — but not their peace officers — while SB 9,
as approved by the Senate in the first called session,
would have excluded peace officers of school districts
and hospitals. SB 9 also would have prohibited peace
officers from taking certain actions solely to enforce
federal immigration law, including stopping vehicles or
conducting searches, and would have prohibited peace
officers from arresting someone without a warrant solely
on a suspected violation of civil immigration law, unlike
HB 12.
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Intrusive touching offense by public servant

HB 41 by Simpson, First Called Session/SB 29 by Patrick, First Called Session

Died in the House
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HB 41 would have expanded the crime of official
oppression to make it an offense (class A misdemeanor
with up to one year in jail and/or a maximum fine of
$4,000) if, without probable cause, a public servant:

e performed a search, without effective consent,
to grant access to a publicly accessible building
or form of transportation; and

e intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly touched
the anus, sexual organ, buttocks, or breast of
another person, including touching through
clothing, or caused physical contact with the
other person when the actor knew or reasonably
should have believed that the other person
would regard the contact as offensive or
provocative.

Consent would have been considered effective only
if, immediately before a search, the public servant
described the area of the other person to be searched and
the method to be used in the search and received express
consent for the search.

The current definition of public servant in Penal
Code, sec. 1.07(41), includes officers, employees, or
agents of government, and HB 41 would have expanded
it to include:

o officers, employees, or agents of the U.S. or of
a U.S. branch, department, or agency, or other
persons acting under contract with a branch,
department, or agency of the U.S. to provide
security or law enforcement service; and

e any other person acting under color of federal
law.

The public servant would have had a defense to
prosecution if he or she performed the search with an
explicit grant of federal statutory authority consistent
with the U.S. Constitution.

The House amended the bill on second reading to
state that a public servant would have committed an
offense if, without reasonable suspicion of the presence
of an unknown, unlawful, or prohibited object, he or
she:

e performed a constitutionally unreasonable

search without effective consent to grant access

to a publicly accessible building or form of
transportation; and

e intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly touched
the sexual organ, breast, buttocks, or anus of
another person, including through clothing, in
violation of the U.S. Constitution.

Supporters said

HB 41 is needed to rein in public officials, especially
those working for the federal Transportation Security
Administration (TSA), who abuse their power by
performing overly intrusive and unconstitutional pat-
down searches. The right to be free from unreasonable
search is protected under both the U.S. Constitution’s
Fourth Amendment and Art. 1, sec. 9 of the Texas
Constitution. Texas legislators have a responsibility to
uphold these individual rights.

Currently, travelers can be forced to undergo an
unreasonable and humiliating invasive search because
either they choose not to go through a high-tech scanner
or they are targeted for a random pat-down. Men and
women have reported that TSA employees have reached
inside their pants, skirts, and underwear to touch breasts,
genitals, and buttocks.

In other circumstances, this type of search can occur
only with probable cause that someone has committed a
crime or with consent. The TSA performs these searches
without such requirements, treating innocent travelers
like criminals.

HB 41 would address this issue by making it a crime
for TSA officials and other public officials to perform
invasive searches unless there was probable cause
to believe someone had committed an offense or the
person had given consent. These reasonable standards
would preserve individuals’ constitutional rights.

HB 41 would not hamper legitimate security
measures, so the federal government would have
no reason to shut down Texas airports. There is no
legitimate security reason to grope people’s private parts
or reach inside their underwear to touch their private
parts. The TSA could use other screening methods, such
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as scanners, metal detectors, explosive-sniffing dogs,
hand-held wands, or pat-downs conducted in accordance
with HB 41.

HB 41 would not conflict with or pre-empt federal
law or interfere with the TSA’s legal responsibilities
because no federal law requires inappropriate touching
of travelers’ genitals or intrusive searches without
probable cause. Federal law authorizes searches for
legitimate security reasons within the bounds of the
Constitution, and this bill would honor that. HB 41
would not prohibit thorough searches, even as described
by HB 41, with probable cause or consent. Criminal
prosecution under HB 41 could occur only if there was
inappropriate touching with no authorization under a
federal law consistent with the U.S. Constitution. HB
41 would apply not just to TSA officials in airports, but
to searches by other public servants granting access to
public buildings or transportation. No public official
should perform invasive, unconstitutional searches.

The state should not let the federal government’s
threats to cancel flights stop it from protecting travelers’
constitutional rights.

Opponents said

HB 41 could unconstitutionally interfere with
the federal responsibility to protect the public,
unintentionally jeopardize public safety, and cause the
federal cancellation of flights. TSA agents perform pat-
downs within the scope of their federal responsibilities
that require them to ensure safe travel, and their conduct
should not be criminalized.

Safety must be the primary concern with air
travel, and searches are a reasonable, necessary part
of current safety procedures. Since September 11,
2001, all Americans know that travel, although an
everyday event, can be dangerous. Terrorists reportedly
have developed well-concealed explosives made of
nonmetals. Something that may feel like a grope could
be a way to detect explosive devices, which have
gotten smaller and harder to find. The 2009 Christmas
Day plot, when a passenger tried to detonate plastic
explosives sewn into his underwear, and the attempted
destruction of an airplane with explosives hidden in a
shoe illustrate the importance of thorough searches by
federal officials.

Current airline security procedures are designed
to ensure the safety of all travelers, and Texas should
not try to micromanage or interfere with how federal

officials perform safety screening. Terrorists come in
all shapes, ages, and genders, and since some travelers
are chosen randomly to be searched, some who appear
nonthreatening will be searched. Pat-downs are a
necessary part of airline security adjusted based on
intelligence reports.

In a letter to Texas officials, the U.S. attorney for
the Western District of Texas stated that a similar bill
filed during the regular session could conflict with
federal law and would threaten TSA staft carrying
out federally required security measures with state
criminal prosecution. He also stated that under the U.S.
Constitution’s supremacy clause, Texas cannot enact
laws that conflict with federal law or regulate federal
agents or employees in the performance of their duties.

There are alternatives for expressing concerns
about the actions of TSA officials. Travelers whose
constitutional rights are violated can sue, and violations
of federal law or regulations can be prosecuted under
federal law. Proposed changes to federal laws or
regulations governing federal employees should be
brought before federal agencies or Congress.

HB 41 is so broad that it would apply to all
public servants granting access to public buildings
or transportation and could threaten security in those
venues. For example, it could cover sheriffs or others
handling courthouse security, who could be hampered in
their efforts to detect weapons or other contraband.

HB 41 could have serious consequences for Texas.
The U.S. attorney said that if the bill considered during
the regular session was enacted, the TSA would seek a
stay of the statute and unless or until one was granted,
likely would have to cancel flights. The Legislature
should take the letter seriously and not provoke
unnecessary conflict with federal officials acting within
their clear authority concerning airline security.

Notes

During the first called session of the 82nd
Legislature, HB 41 was approved by the House on
second reading. The companion bill, SB 29 by Patrick,
was then considered in lieu of HB 41 and approved
by the House on second reading, but the House failed
to suspend the three-day rule to consider the bill on
the final day of the first called session. SB 29 would
have defined the new offense similarly, but would have
removed the defense to prosecution included in HB 41.
The HRO analysis of HB 41 appeared in the June 24
Daily Floor Report.
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Creating the Texas Innocence Commission

HB 115 by McClendon
Died in the House
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HB 115 would have created the Texas Innocence
Commission. The commission would have had to
thoroughly review each case in which an innocent
person was convicted and exonerated in order to:
identify the causes of wrongful convictions; identify
errors and defects in the Texas criminal justice process
and develop solutions to correct them; and identify
procedures, programs, and educational or training
opportunities shown to eliminate or prevent wrongful
convictions and resulting executions.

The commission would have included nine members
appointed by the governor who would have served six-
year terms and elected the presiding officer.

The commission would have had to compile an
annual report of its findings and recommendations
and could have compiled interim reports. The findings
and recommendations in official commission reports
could have been used as evidence in any subsequent
civil or criminal proceeding, according to the rules that
applied for that proceeding. The commission’s working
papers would have been exempt from public disclosure
requirements.

The commission would have been able to enter
into contracts for necessary and appropriate research
and services to facilitate its work or to investigate
a post-exoneration case, including forensic testing
and autopsies, and would not have been subject to
Government Code provisions governing state agency
advisory committees.

Supporters said

HB 115 would address the state’s persistent problem
of wrongful criminal convictions. The wrongful
conviction and imprisonment of any innocent person
is a miscarriage of justice that carries with it a moral
obligation to prevent its recurrence. The bill would
continue the work of the Timothy Cole Advisory Panel,
created by the 81st Legislature to advise the state’s
Task Force on Indigent Defense in studying wrongful
convictions, which finished its assignment in August
2010.

In Texas, at least 42 men have been exonerated
after wrongful convictions, according to the Innocence
Project. Many of these inmates served decades in prison
before being exonerated through DNA evidence or on
other grounds. The commission created by HB 115
could investigate such cases, help identify what went
wrong and why, examine the criminal justice system
as a whole, and recommend changes to prevent future
wrongful convictions. This would help ensure public
safety and confidence in the criminal justice system,
since a wrongful conviction may mean that a guilty
person remains unpunished.

The commission would not blur the lines between
state entities and the courts because the bill clearly
states that it would examine cases only after an
exoneration. The commission would not work to
achieve exonerations, only to investigate those that had
occurred. The need for an innocence commission is not
eliminated because certain facets of the criminal justice
system have been reformed in recent years or because
the Legislature is considering additional changes to
front-end procedures, such as interrogations.

The Legislature needs to create a state entity
to examine exonerations and recommend systemic
changes because currently there is no adequate
mechanism for doing so. A legislatively created entity
would express the will of the Legislature that certain
issues be examined, put the authority of the state behind
its actions, be directly tied to lawmakers with power to
make changes, and make the body more accountable
to the public through legislative oversight. The
commission’s appointed members, limited mission, and
legislative oversight would help ensure that it did not
become an unwieldy bureaucracy.

The powers that HB 115 would grant the
commission would be appropriate to perform its duty
to investigate exonerations. The bill would allow the
findings in the commission’s reports to be admissible
in court, according to procedural and evidentiary rules,
to ensure that any use of the commission’s findings was
appropriate. Fears about the commission’s overreaching
its authority or eroding support for the death penalty
are unfounded because it would be clearly tasked with
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examining the causes of exonerations, not proving
exonerations. The death penalty is not a cause of
wrongful convictions, which is what the commission
would be charged with examining.

Opponents said

It is unnecessary to create an innocence commission
in Texas because the criminal justice and legislative
systems already have checks and balances that work to
achieve justice and to identify and address problems.
Other entities in the state can and do review and report
on wrongful convictions. The commission created by
HB 115 would have powers that were too broad and
open-ended and that would fall outside the state’s
traditional jurisprudence system.

The Legislature should focus on preventing errors
at the front end of the criminal justice system, such as
with eyewitness identification or interrogations. It is
unfair to use cases that may be decades old to argue
for an innocence commission. In the past two-and-a-
half decades, the state’s criminal justice system has
improved substantially, resulting in a just and fair
system that protects the public.

HB 115 would invest an innocence commission with
inappropriate authority and quasi-judicial powers. The
commission would have to investigate post-conviction
exonerations, which are undefined. The authority would
not be limited to cases involving a pardon or with other
specific criteria. The commission would be allowed to
contract for forensic testing and autopsies in individual
cases, powers that would be inappropriate for a state
entity tasked with studying convictions that already
have been identified as wrongful. With these powers, the
commission could become an entity working to prove
an exoneration, rather than one studying those that
already had occurred. The bill would allow findings and
recommendations of the commission to be admissible
in civil or criminal proceedings, which could lead to
complications in the courts.

An innocence commission could be used as a back-
door way to erode support for the death penalty in
Texas. It would emphasize the relatively few mistakes
— especially those from long ago — in a system for
which rigorous standards are enforced and extensive
opportunities for review afforded.

Post-conviction exonerations and the Texas criminal
justice process could be studied without creating a new
governmental entity and adding unnecessarily to state
bureaucracy.

Notes

The House amended the bill to change the name
of the commission to the Timothy Cole Innocence
Commission, to prohibit the commission from
reviewing the validity or constitutionality of practices
and procedures for sentencing following final
conviction, including the death penalty, and to make the
commission subject to the state’s open meetings and
open records laws.

HB 115, as amended, was approved by the House on
second reading on April 20 by 82-54. On third reading,
the bill failed on final passage by 51-91.

The HRO analysis of HB 115 appeared in the April
14 Daily Floor Report.
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Deferred adjudication for first intoxication offense

HB 189 by T. Smith
Died in Senate Committee
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HB 189, as reported by the House Criminal
Jurisprudence Committee, would have allowed a judge
to grant deferred adjudication for driving, flying,
boating, or assembling or operating an amusement ride
while intoxicated unless the defendant was a repeat
intoxication offender, held a commercial driver’s license
or permit, or caused injury to a person or damaged
property while committing the offense.

If the judge had granted deferred adjudication for
an intoxication offense, the judge would have had
to order the defendant to have an ignition interlock
device installed, regardless of whether the installation
otherwise would have been required if the defendant
had been convicted.

A person on deferred adjudication for an intoxication
offense would not have been allowed to petition the
court for nondisclosure status for the intoxication
offense record. For purposes of the intoxication
enhancement statute, a deferred adjudication would
have been considered a conviction.

Supporters said

HB 189 would allow a judge to grant deferred
adjudication for first-time driving while intoxicated
(DWI) and other intoxication offenses, which would
have numerous benefits. Instead of taking a plea and
accepting probation with the condition of treatment,
most offenders now opt for a trial because of the chance
for acquittal and serve jail time if so ordered. The
current system does not help DWI offenders get the
needed treatment that will ultimately make the streets
safer. For the defendant, the deferred adjudication
would not be considered a conviction for the purpose of
applying for college, a job, or a credit card, or enlisting
in the military.

Some county programs are granting deferred
adjudication under other pretenses, usually for a
reckless driving charge, to get people into treatment, but
under this approach a person is not held responsible for
repeat intoxication offenses. Under HB 189, deferred

adjudication would be limited to first DWI offenses,
could be used for enhancement of penalties, and would
include the added security of required ignition interlock
installation, which has been shown to reduce accidents
and recidivism. Also, a court would not be able to grant
a nondisclosure order for the offense record.

Opponents said

Judges should have the discretion to decide whether
a defendant should have the ignition interlock installed,
rather than making it mandatory. HB 189 would raise
community supervision costs for local probation
departments, which would be required to review the
ignition interlock reports for each defendant, analyze
the tests done on the ignition interlocks for their
probationers, and perform field tests.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 189 appeared in the May 7
Daily Floor Report.

HB 189 passed the House on May 13 with a number
of amendments, then died in the Senate Criminal Justice
Committee. HB 189, as passed by the House, would
have made ignition interlocks permissive rather than
mandatory and would have made several changes for
driver’s licenses and occupational licenses for DWI
offenders. One of the license provisions would have
required a four-time or more DWI offender to obtain,
after any applicable suspension, a driver’s license with a
distinctive symbol or marking on the license identifying
the person as a convicted DWI offender.

In addition, HB 189, as passed by the House, would
have added three days of mandatory jail time for
defendants on community supervision for a deferred
adjudication intoxication offense and 14 days of
mandatory jail time if deferred adjudication was
revoked. HB 189, as passed by the House, also would
have allowed a magistrate to require a defendant to use
an alcohol monitoring device as a condition of release
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on bond and would have allowed impoundment or
immobilization of a vehicle for up to seven days for a
third or subsequent DWI.

HB 1199 by Gallego, a related bill concerning
driving while intoxicated, was enacted and took effect
September 1, 2011. HB 1199, the Abdallah Khader
Act, enhances the penalty for causing serious bodily
injury while intoxicated, generally a third-degree
felony (two to 10 years in prison and an optional fine
of up to $10,000), to a second-degree felony (two to 20
years in prison and an optional fine of up to $10,000)
if the injury is a traumatic brain injury resulting in a
persistent vegetative state. HB 1199 also enhances
the penalty for driving while intoxicated, generally a
class B misdemeanor (up to 180 days in jail and/or a
maximum fine of $2,000) with a minimum jail term of
72 hours for an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more,
to a class A misdemeanor (up to one year in jail and/or a
maximum fine of $4,000) if an analysis of a specimen of
the offender’s blood, breath, or urine shows an alcohol
concentration of 0.15 or more at the time the analysis is
performed.
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Photo and live lineup identification policies

HB 215 by Gallego
Effective September 1, 2011
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HB 215 requires law enforcement agencies to adopt
a detailed written policy for photograph and live lineup
identification procedures. The written policy may be
based on one developed by the Bill Blackwood Law
Enforcement Management Institute of Texas at Sam
Houston State University or developed independently if
it conforms to certain minimum requirements.

The policy must be based on credible field,
academic, or laboratory research on eyewitness memory
and on policies and best practices designed to reduce
erroneous eyewitness identifications and enhance
reliability and objectivity. The policy must address:

e selection of photo and live lineup “filler” photos
or participants (persons that police know did
not commit the crime but were included in the
lineup);

e instructions to witnesses before a lineup;

e documentation and preservation of lineup
results, including witness statements, regardless
of the outcome;

e procedures for administering a lineup to an
illiterate person or one with limited English
proficiency;

e if practicable, procedures in a live lineup for
assigning an administrator who is unaware of
who the suspect is or alternative procedures to
prevent opportunities to influence the witness;

e for a photo lineup, procedures for assigning an
administrator capable of administering a photo
array in a blind manner or consistent with best
practices designed to prevent opportunities to
influence the witness; and

e any other research-supported procedures or
best practices designed to reduce erroneous
identifications and enhance the objectivity and
reliability of eyewitness identifications.

The Blackwood Institute must develop its model
policy and training materials in consultation with law
enforcement agencies and associations, scientific experts
in eyewitness memory research, and other appropriate
organizations no later than December 31, 2011. A period
of public comment must be provided before the institute

adopts the policy. Law enforcement agencies must adopt
a policy by September 1, 2012.

By December 31 of each odd-numbered year, the
Blackwood Institute must review the model policy
and training materials and modify them as needed. By
September 1 of each even-numbered year, each law
enforcement agency must do the same.

Evidence or expert testimony presented by the
state or the defendant on eyewitness identification is
admissible only subject to compliance with the Texas
Rules of Evidence. Evidence of compliance with the
model policy is not necessary for the admissibility of an
out-of-court eyewitness identification. Failure to comply
substantially with the policy does not bar admission of
eyewitness identification testimony in court.

Supporters said

HB 215 would produce more reliable evidence and
help prevent innocent people from being wrongfully
convicted. According to the Innocence Project of Texas,
Texas leads the nation in the number of wrongful
convictions exposed by DNA evidence, with more than
80 percent of them caused by mistaken eyewitness
identification, yet only 12 percent of law enforcement
agencies in the state have a written policy on how
to conduct eyewitness identification. Other states,
including North Carolina, New Jersey, and Wisconsin,
have enacted laws similar to HB 215.

This bill is based on recommendations from the
Timothy Cole Advisory Panel on Wrongful Convictions
and has support from law enforcement, prosecutors,
judges, the Governor’s Office, and inmates’ advocates.
As aresult of a collaborative process, the bill would
ensure that large, medium, and small law enforcement
agencies were consulted in developing the model policy
and that modifications were made every few years as
new research emerged and agencies learned what was or
was not effective.
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The photo or live lineup is critical evidence that
should be carefully collected. Blind administration
procedures, during which the suspect is unknown to
the administrator, would prevent the administrator
from influencing the witness. Alternative procedures
to prevent opportunities to influence the witness also
could be adopted when blind administration was not
practicable, such as for a very small law enforcement
agency.

A wrongful conviction is devastating to the
convicted person and his or her family. It also
jeopardizes public safety, since the real perpetrator
remains free to commit more crimes. The best practices
proposed would not be difficult to implement, nor would
they impede prosecution.

Opponents said

Improvements in the past two decades have resulted
in a just and fair criminal justice system that protects
the public. It would be better to let law enforcement
agencies develop and update their own identification
procedures, depending on their resources and individual
circumstances. If they could do this, the procedures
would be updated more frequently.

Other opponents said

HB 215 has no enforcement mechanism to ensure
compliance with best practices for photo and live
lineups. Identifications made from noncompliant
lineups should not be admissible as evidence in
court. If noncompliant identification is considered
admissible, then the jury at least should be instructed
that witness identification evidence is subject to the
limitations of human memory. The bill also should
require corroborative evidence to admit noncompliant
identification, and each witness should be required
to submit a statement of certainty about his or her
identification.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 215 appeared in the
March 30 Daily Floor Report.

The 82nd Legislature enacted another bill, SB 122
by Ellis, based on recommendations of the Timothy
Cole Advisory Panel on Wrongful Convictions. SB

122 removes certain restrictions on the post-conviction
testing of previously untested DNA evidence. The
previous law allowed motions requesting DNA testing
only if material was not previously tested because
testing was unavailable at trial or was available but not
technologically capable of proving guilt or innocence,
or because through no fault of the defendant, testing
was not performed but would be in the interest of
justice. SB 122, effective September 1, 2011, allows
motions requesting DNA testing if the material was
not previously tested and repealed the other conditions.
Current law allowing requests for re-testing if newer
techniques could provide more accurate results remains
unchanged.
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Homeland security; Secure Communities program

SB 9 by Williams
Died in House Calendars Committee
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SB 9, as passed by the Senate, would have required
the use of the federal Secure Communities program
to verify the immigration status of people in law
enforcement custody, required proof of lawful presence
to obtain a Texas driver’s license or identification
card, established a Department of Public Safety (DPS)
automatic license plate reader program, revised laws
dealing with organized crime and criminal street gangs,
expanded the duties of special rangers and special Texas
Rangers, and required Texas counties to report to the
state certain information concerning immigrants in jails.

Immigration status of detainees. Law enforcement
agencies would have been required to use the Secure
Communities program run by U.S. Immigration and
Customs Enforcement (ICE) to verify the immigration
status of people in custody.

Drivers’ licenses. DPS would have had to require
applicants for driver’s licenses and identification
certificates to prove U.S. citizenship or authorization to
be in the country. The bill also would have established
expiration dates for the licenses and certificates for
noncitizens, tying them to the expiration dates of their
lawful presence in the country. (Similar provisions were
included in SB 1 by Duncan, the omnibus fiscal matters
law enacted during the first called session and generally
effective September 28, 2011.)

Automatic license plate reader pilot program.
SB 9 would have required DPS to establish a pilot
program using automatic license plate readers that read
and recorded license plate numbers taken from digital
photographs. The system could have been used only to
record information necessary to identify a motor vehicle
and could not have been used to record an image of a
person in a vehicle.

DPS special rangers and special Texas Rangers.
The director of DPS could have called special rangers
and special Texas Rangers into service to preserve the
peace and protect life and property, conduct background
investigations, monitor sex offenders, serve as part of
two-officer units on patrol in high-threat areas, and
provide assistance to DPS during disasters.

Organized crime. The bill would have increased
penalties dealing with organized crime and revised the
crime of directing the activities of a criminal street gang.

County report on jail inmates with ICE detainer.
SB 9 would have required counties to report monthly
to the Commission on Jail Standards on the number of
prisoners for whom an immigration detainer had been
issued by ICE and to report on the total cost to the
county for the preceding month to house these prisoners.

Supporters said

SB 9 would help Texas address homeland security
issues, including threats from drug cartels and criminal
illegal aliens. The bill would make state policy more
consistent by requiring all law enforcement agencies
to use the federal Secure Communities program to
determine if people taken into custody were in the
U.S. legally. While currently used by Texas counties,
the system is not used by all local law enforcement
agencies. This allows some dangerous criminals to be
booked into local jails without undergoing a citizenship
background check and possibly to be released on
bail. SB 9 would close this loophole by ensuring the
consistent, statewide use of Secure Communities. SB 9
also would help the state obtain better information on
criminal illegal immigrants by requiring jails to report
monthly on the number of criminal aliens held and the
cost of housing them.

SB 9’s requirements to prove citizenship or legal
presence to obtain driver’s licenses would help make
the licenses more secure documents. Driver’s licenses
are used for traveling, banking, and other activities,
and, post-9/11, the state has a responsibility to make
sure these documents accurately identify people and are
issued only to people in the country legally. While the
policies in SB 9 currently are in DPS rules, SB 9 would
express the will of the Legislature that the policy be
permanent and answer questions raised about whether
DPS has authority to adopt the rules.

The bill would give DPS additional law enforcement
tools to combat drug cartels and other security threats,
including authority for an automatic license plate reader
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pilot program that would aid in criminal investigations
of drug cartels, smugglers, and border crimes. This
authority would be coupled with important safeguards,
such as prohibiting the recording of images of persons
and time limits on the retention of data. The bill also
would allow retired DPS officers and Rangers to accept
some duties, such as monitoring sex offenders and
conducting criminal background checks, to free up
active troopers for other duties.

SB 9 would help combat drug-related and other
gangs by increasing penalties for organized crime and
what is sometimes called the “gang kingpin” offense
and by giving law enforcement authorities tools to
dismantle these security threats.

Opponents said

SB 9 is unnecessary and could infringe on Texans’
civil rights. The decision of whether to use the
federal Secure Communities program to verify the
immigration status of detained persons should remain
at the discretion of local officials, especially since its
use could increase costs to local governments. The
state should not mandate the use of a program that has
been criticized for targeting those who have committed
no crimes or petty crimes, as well as legal residents
and U.S. citizens, instead of serious and dangerous
offenders.

DPS employees should not be required statutorily
to verify proof of citizenship for driver’s licenses and
identification cards. Determining immigration status
is complicated and not the responsibility of state
employees who only should verify identity when issuing
a driver’s license or identification card. SB 9 could
result in the denial of licenses to some noncitizens who
are in the U.S. legally.

The use of automatic license plate readers authorized
by SB 9 would go too far in allowing the government to
track people’s movements.

SB 9 could result in longer sentences for some
offenses related to organized crimes, which could
increase costs to the state without increasing public
safety. Current law adequately punishes crimes relating
to organized crime and street gangs.

Notes

The House committee substitute for SB 9 was
approved by the Homeland Security and Public Safety
Committee, but died in the House Calendars Committee.

The House committee substitute made numerous
changes to the Senate engrossed version of SB 9,
including adding provisions requiring the Texas
Department of Agriculture to study the impact of
illegal activity on the Texas-Mexico border on rural
landowners and the agriculture industry; codifying a
formula for distributing certain assets seized by law
enforcement authorities; authorizing DPS to establish
southbound checkpoints for guns, drugs, and money;
declaring Texas’ state sovereignty; exempting certain
state agencies from purchasing procedures if they
negatively impacted homeland security or impaired
the agency’s law enforcement functions; prohibiting
employers from hiring unauthorized foreign nationals;
and authorizing the use of the federal E-verify program
as a way for employers to verify immigration status. The
House committee substitute also removed provisions
from the Senate engrossed version, including one
authorizing driver’s license system improvement fees.

SB 1 by Duncan, the omnibus fiscal matters bill
enacted during the first called session and generally
effective September 28, 2011, contains provisions
requiring proof of legal presence for drivers’ licenses
similar to those in SB 9.
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Revising human trafficking laws

SB 24 by Van de Putte/HB 2014 by Thompson
Effective September 1, 2011
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SB 24 redefines the offense of human trafficking,
including adding specific definitions relating to
trafficking children. The bill makes numerous other
changes involving crimes and penalties related to
human trafficking, including: making life in prison
the automatic sentence for some repeat offenders who
commit certain human trafficking offenses involving
children; expanding the current offense of criminal
solicitation of a minor to include prostitution and
some trafficking offenses; increasing the penalty for
compelling prostitution involving children; and adding
human trafficking offenses involving children to the
definition of what can constitute the crime of continuous
sexual abuse of young children. The bill also allows
judges to require human traffickers to serve sentences
for multiple offenses consecutively, rather than
concurrently.

SB 24 eliminates the statute of limitations for
prosecution for some human trafficking offenses and
increases the limit for others to 10 years from the
offense or 10 years from the 18th birthday of the victim.
SB 24 expands who can file requests for protective
orders for trafficking victims.

SB 24 adds compelling prostitution and trafficking
offenses to the list of serious and violent offenses in
Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 42.12, sec. 3(g),
which are not eligible for judge-ordered probation. The
bill also makes trafficking offenses ineligible for certain
types of parole release.

SB 24 mandates lifetime registration with the state’s
sex offender registry for offenders convicted of some
trafficking offenses, including those involving children.

SB 24 also makes numerous changes to other
statutes, including: lengthening the statute of limitations
for victims of human trafficking to bring civil suits;
making human trafficking offenses subject to state laws
concerning places that are common nuisances; and
adding trafficking offenses to the statutes that deal with
child abuse and neglect and parental-child relationships.

HB 2014 amends numerous statutes to make
changes relating to human trafficking. The bill makes
changes to the criminal laws, including imposing

restrictions on bail for human trafficking offenses,
establishing mandatory restitution for child victims
of some trafficking offenses, and placing trafficking
among the offenses that can trigger a requirement that
probationers and parolees stay out of “child safety
zones.”

HB 2014 also increases penalties for some crimes
relating to human trafficking, including prostitution
if the defendant solicits a child and the offense of
employment harmful to children if the child is younger
than 14 years old. It adds human trafficking offenses to
the list of crimes that can affect the permitting process
in the Alcoholic Beverage Code.

Supporters said

SB 24, HB 2014, and other related legislation would
address comprehensively the heinous crime of human
trafficking. This crime can involve forcing victims —
sometimes children — to work in places such as hotels
and sweatshops and in the sex trade. While some
victims are forced into modern-day slavery in Texas, the
state also functions as a nationwide corridor for human
trafficking. SB 24 and HB 2014 would enact many of
the recommendations of the January 2011 report of the
Texas Human Trafficking Prevention Task Force.

These bills would tackle the trafficking problem
by aiding trafficking victims and helping identify,
prosecute, and punish traffickers. It would improve the
tools for prosecutors to combat human trafficking by
redefining crimes and increasing penalties. The bills
also would better protect and help victims by expanding
who can file protective orders for victims, lengthening
statutes of limitations for prosecuting trafficking crimes,
working trafficking offenses into the child abuse and
neglect statutes and custody statutes, putting human
trafficking offenders under the state’s sex offender
registry requirements and child safety zone prohibitions,
and requiring mandatory restitution for certain child
victims.

Human trafficking crimes are precisely the types
of serious offenses for which the state should use its
criminal justice resources.
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Opponents said

Although human trafficking is an atrocious crime,
Texans should be cautious about enhancing criminal
penalties by lengthening sentences and restricting parole
eligibility when existing punishments are adequate
and the state budget is tight. Resources in the criminal
justice system already are strained, and incarcerating
offenders for longer periods could stress the system
further and increase costs to taxpayers. In some cases,
longer sentences do not deter crimes.

Notes

SB 24 and HB 2014 were approved by the House on
the Local and Consent Calendar and not analyzed in a
Daily Floor Report.

The 82nd Legislature enacted several other bills
dealing with human trafficking.

HB 3000 by Thompson, effective September 1,
2011, creates a new criminal offense for the continuous
trafficking of persons, punishable with a life sentence or
a term of 25 to 99 years.

HB 2329 by Zedler, effective September 1, 2011,
establishes a process for victims of human trafficking to
request protective orders, requirements for the orders,
and authority for victims to chose a pseudonym for
use in public files and records concerning trafficking
offenses.

HB 1994 by Weber, effective June 17, 2011,
authorizes the creation of local first offender prostitution
prevention programs for eligible defendants.

HB 260 by Hilderbran, effective September 1, 2011,
redefines the offense of unlawful transport to mean the
smuggling of persons and increases applicable penalties.
The bill also adds smuggling of persons to the statutes
on organized crime and the definition of contraband.

HB 289 by Jackson, effective September 1, 2011,
adds four offenses to the list of activities that can
constitute maintaining a common nuisance: employing a
minor at a sexually oriented business, sexual conduct or
performance by a child, employment harmful to a child,
and trafficking of persons, a provision also included in
SB 24 by Van de Putte.

HB 1930 by Zedler, effective June 17, 2011,
requires the state’s Human Trafficking Prevention Task
Force to examine how human trafficking is associated
with sexually oriented businesses.
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Creating sexting offense, educational programs

SB 407 by Watson
Effective September 1, 2011
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Sexting promotion and possession. SB 407 creates
for minors a new offense in the Penal Code for what
is commonly known as “sexting.” It is an offense for a
minor to intentionally or knowingly:

e promote by electronic means to another minor
visual material depicting a minor engaging
in sexual conduct, if the minor promoting the
material produced it or knew that another minor
produced it; or

e possess in electronic format visual material
depicting another minor engaging in sexual
conduct, if the minor possessing the material
produced it or knew that another minor
produced it.

Penalties. For a 17-year-old minor, a promotion
offense is a class C misdemeanor (maximum fine of
$500), but is a class B misdemeanor (up to 180 days in
jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,000) if the minor:

e promoted the visual material with intent to
harass, annoy, alarm, abuse, torment, embarrass,
or offend another; or

e has been convicted once before for promotion
or possession.

Promotion is a class A misdemeanor (up to one year
in jail and/or a maximum fine of $4,000) if the minor
is convicted once or more of promotion with the intent
to harass, annoy, alarm, abuse, torment, embarrass,
or offend another or if convicted twice or more for
promotion or possession.

For a 17-year-old minor, a possession offense is a
class C misdemeanor, but is a class B misdemeanor
if the minor has been convicted once of possession or
promotion, and is a class A misdemeanor if the minor
has been convicted twice or more of possession or
promotion.

For minors under 17, SB 407 expands the definition
of “conduct in need of supervision” in the Family Code
to include possession and promotion of sexting. Courts
must waive their original jurisdiction of a misdemeanor

sexting case punishable by fine only and transfer the
case to juvenile court.

There is an affirmative defense to prosecution for
sexting between minor spouses or between minors
within two years of age of each other and dating at the
time of the offense. There is a defense to prosecution
for sexting possession if the minor did not produce or
solicit the visual material, possessed the material only
after receiving it from another minor, and destroyed
the material within a reasonable amount of time after
receiving it from another minor.

Educational programs. SB 407 requires the Texas
School Safety Center, in consultation with the Office
of the Attorney General, to develop programs for use
by school districts by January 1, 2012, that address
specific issues dealing with sexting. Each school district
must make these programs available on a yearly basis,
beginning with the 2012-13 school year, to parents
and students in a grade level the district considers
appropriate.

If a court finds that a defendant committed a sexting
offense or engaged in conduct indicating a need for
supervision on the basis of sexting, it can require the
defendant to attend and successfully complete an
educational program. The same provision applies if a
judge grants community supervision to a defendant for
sexting.

Expunction and sealing of records. The
bill establishes criteria for having certain sexting
convictions expunged from minors’ criminal records and
having certain juvenile records involving sexting sealed.

Supporters said

SB 407 would create a new legal response to sexting
that would not carry the life-altering consequences of
a felony conviction and would help prevent sexting
through education.

The act of sending a sexually explicit text message
currently can be prosecuted under adult pornography
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laws, which can lead to felony convictions and sex
offender registration for life. Expanding the definition
of conduct in need of supervision to include sexting
for a child under 17 would make sexting a noncriminal
offense within the original jurisdiction of the juvenile
court. This would allow for a proactive judicial
approach that could include parental involvement and
educational and probation requirements.

The educational requirements of SB 407 would
emphasize the criminal, emotional, and psychological
consequences associated with the crime before kids
engaged in the harmful activity. A school district
would retain maximum flexibility in conveying this
information to parents and students in grade levels the
school district deemed appropriate.

For a 17-year-old, both possession and promotion
of sexting would be capped at a class A misdemeanor.
The penalty would be a class C misdemeanor unless
the minor promoted the content with the intent to
harass, annoy, alarm, abuse, torment, embarrass, or
offend another, which would make the penalty a class
B misdemeanor. The penalties would be enhanced for
repeat offenses.

SB 407 also would ensure that sexting did not
leave a stigma preventing a young person from going
to college or finding meaningful employment. The bill
would allow people convicted of sexting to have their
criminal records expunged and would allow certain
minors under 17 to immediately seal their sexting
records.

Opponents said

Sexting reflects poor judgment, but a better response
would be education, not criminalization. Very few

minors are charged with child pornography now because

it is such a serious charge. This bill actually would
criminalize behavior that rarely is prosecuted now.

The criminal justice system is not equipped to
handle the number of sexting cases necessary to enforce
the new law fairly. According to the American Civil
Liberties Union, at least 20 percent of youth have
engaged in sexting, meaning that 1.5 million additional
Texas youth could be subjected to the justice system
under this bill. Prohibiting sexting also could raise free
speech issues.

Education would be the best tool for preventing
sexting. Parents and educators should inform teens
about the need to respect their peers, privacy, and the
potential long-term negative consequences of using
electronic media for sexting.

Other opponents said

While SB 407 is a step in the right direction, a class
C misdemeanor would be too low a punishment for a
17-year-old. Sexting can involve child pornography, so
the equivalent of a traffic ticket would be inappropriate
given the content of some images.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 407 appeared in the May
24 Daily Floor Report.
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Creating the Texas Juvenile Justice Department

SB 653 by Whitmire
Effective September 1, 2011
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SB 653 abolishes the Texas Youth Commission
(TYC) and the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission
(TJPC) on December 1, 2011, and transfers their powers
and duties to a new state agency, the Texas Juvenile
Justice Department (TJJD). The newly created Texas
Juvenile Justice Board will govern the agency, which
will be subject to the state’s Sunset Act and abolished
September 1, 2017, unless continued by the Legislature.

The goals of the new agency will include:

e developing a consistent county-based
continuum of effective services for youth and
families that reduces the need for out-of-home
placement;

e increasing reliance on alternatives to placement
and commitment to secure state facilities;

e locating facilities as geographically close as
possible to workforce and other services, while
supporting youths’ connections to their families;

e encouraging regional cooperation that enhances
county collaboration;

e enhancing the continuity of care in the juvenile
justice system; and

e using secure facilities sized to support effective
youth rehabilitation and public safety.

Transition team. SB 653 creates a seven-member
transition team to coordinate the transition of services
and facilities during the merger and prepare a transition
plan with goals for the new agency.

New governing board. A new 13-member board,
appointed by the governor with the advice and consent
of the Senate, will oversee the new TJJD and include:

a juvenile district court judge;

three county commissioners;

a juvenile court prosecutor;

three chief juvenile probation officers (one from
a county with fewer than 7,500 people younger
than 18 years old, one from a county with 7,500
to 80,000 people younger than 18 years old, and
one from a county with 80,000 or more people
younger than 18 years old);

e an adolescent mental health treatment
professional;

e an educator; and
e three public members.

The governor will designate the presiding officer,
and members will serve staggered six-year terms.

The board will employ the agency’s executive
director and will establish the mission of the
department, with the goal of creating a cost-eftective
continuum of youth services that emphasizes keeping
youths in their communities while balancing their
rehabilitative needs with public safety.

Advisory council on probation issues. SB 653
establishes a 13-member advisory council on juvenile
services to help the TJID. Its duties include determining
the needs of county juvenile boards and probation
departments; reviewing and proposing revisions to
standards for juvenile probation programs, services,
and facilities; analyzing the cost impact of proposed
standards; conducting long-range strategic planning;
and advising the TJJD board.

The council members will serve two-year terms and
will include:

the TJJD executive director;

e the TJJD director of probation services;
the Health and Human Services Commission
(HHSC) executive commissioner;

e arepresentative of the county commissioners
courts, appointed by the board;

e two juvenile court judges, appointed by the
board; and

e seven chief juvenile probation officers,
appointed by the board.

The seven juvenile probation officers will be
appointed by the TJJD board from each of the state’s
regional probation chiefs associations from a list of
nominees submitted by each regional chiefs association.

Office of Inspector General (OIG); complaints.
The OIG, currently within TYC, is re-established at the
new department under the direction of the board. The
board will select the chief inspector general. The office
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will continue its current duties, including investigating
crimes committed by department employees and at
department facilities.

Criminal complaints initially referred to the OIG
relating to juvenile probation programs, services, or
facilities must be sent to the appropriate local law
enforcement agency. Other complaints must be referred
to the appropriate division of the department. The
department must immediately notify local juvenile
probation departments of complaints relating to their
programs, services, or facilities.

Office of the Independent Ombudsman (OI0).
SB 653 continues the OIO, which currently investigates,
evaluates, and secures the rights of youth committed
to TYC. The OIO will continue to be independent of
the department and be appointed by the governor with
the advice and consent of the Senate. The office will
continue to be subject to Sunset review when the new
agency is reviewed but is not abolished under the Sunset
Act.

The OIO will review and analyze reports received
by TJJD describing complaints about juvenile programs,
services, and facilities to identify trends and report
possible standards violations by local probation
departments to TJJD.

Other provisions. Transfer of TYC facilities. SB
653 allows the TYC or TJJD to transfer closed facilities
to the county or city where they are located. Counties
and cities must use the property only for a purpose that
benefits the public interest of Texas.

Services for at-risk youths. The department must
provide prevention and intervention services for at-
risk youths ages 6 to 17 who are subject to the state’s
compulsory school attendance law or under juvenile
court jurisdiction.

Charter school. The State Board of Education
may grant a charter for a school upon the application
of a detention, correctional, or residential facility for
juvenile offenders. This charter will not count against
the state cap on charter schools. Any facility receiving
a charter must provide all the educational opportunities
and services required of school districts.

Supporters said

TYC and TJPC should be merged to create an
effective continuum of treatment and rehabilitation
for juvenile offenders in Texas. A fragmented juvenile
justice system is inefficient and ineffective in dealing
with juvenile offenders. Merging the two agencies
would produce cost savings that could be used to help
youths. Juveniles who break the law should be treated
as one population and addressed in a single system,
regardless of the frequency and severity of their
infractions.

Even after recent reforms, TYC remains a struggling
agency working to improve youth services, education,
treatment, medical care, and re-entry efforts. Due to its
declining population and rising costs, the best way to
improve the work of TYC would be with a new agency,
governing board, and outlook.

SB 653 would establish goals for the new agency
to ensure that both components of the current system
— probation and state commitment — received the
attention they deserved. Concerns that probation issues
and funding would take a back seat to the care of
youths committed to the agency are unfounded. The
department’s first goal would be to support a county-
based continuum of services. In addition, the governing
board would have a diverse membership, and a newly
created advisory committee would be devoted to
probation issues.

Violent, serious offenders would continue to be
committed to state custody. Local juvenile probation
departments would continue to handle the vast majority
of offenders locally, and the state would continue to
send grant funds to local departments.

New governing board. SB 653 would establish a
diverse governing board for the new agency with strong
representation from local juvenile justice officials.
Having three representatives of county commissioners
courts would ensure that local elected officials were
represented. Three chief probation officers also would
ensure that the board benefited from the knowledge
of probation practitioners from counties of different
sizes. These officers would be probation managers, not
front-line staff, so they would appropriately help to
oversee the new agency. The mental health professional,
educator, and public members would bring important
expertise to the board in areas impacting juvenile
offenders.
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Advisory council on probation issues. The
advisory council created by SB 653 would formalize a
way for practitioners to provide input to the agency on
probation issues. SB 653 would continue the current
advisory council’s proven effectiveness in obtaining
input from front-line, local probation officials. Judges
and representatives of county commissioners courts
would bring additional important perspectives.

Office of the Inspector General. SB 653 would
recreate an OIG in the new agency, just as one now
exists in TYC. This office, which would employ peace
officers, is crucial to guaranteeing impartial, thorough,
and professional investigations of alleged crimes in
department facilities.

Office of the Independent Ombudsman. SB
653 would continue TYC’s ombudsman’s office as an
independent office. The office was established in 2007
as an independent entity to focus on the needs of youth
and to advocate for them and their families, and the
need for this office continues.

Opponents said

TYC and TJPC should be continued as separate
agencies because they have distinct mandates
and responsibilities that are best accomplished
independently. While TJPC focuses on the front end of
the juvenile justice system by ensuring core probation
services throughout the state and by supporting the
counties’ provision of alternatives to state commitment,
TYC focuses on youths in correctional facilities and
on parole. The TYC population includes the most
serious juvenile offenders, many with significant mental
health or other issues, and can differ considerably from
juveniles who are on probation for crimes ranging from
the minor to the serious but who are being treated in the
community.

These different points in the juvenile justice system
deserve the focus of the individual agencies without
the competition for resources and attention that would
accompany unification. For example, in a unified
agency, it might be easy or become routine to channel
state funds that now support county probation services
to handle the youths committed to the department.
Agency budget cuts could fall disproportionally upon
the probation part of a unified agency, which in turn
would hurt counties that provide probation services.

Consolidation would divert the agencies’ resources
and attention, which would be better focused —
especially at TYC — on continuing to implement recent
reforms. Consolidating the two agencies would not
solve any problems but would simply move them
under a new umbrella and could harm TJPC, generally
perceived as a well-run, effective agency. TYC and
TJPC have been collaborating increasingly and
productively and should continue doing so as separate
agencies.

New governing board. Putting chief probation
officers on the new governing board would be
inappropriate and could present conflicts of interest.
These employees of local probation departments are
better suited to other functions, such as serving the new
department on the advisory council. It would be better to
beef up representation on the governing board of elected
officials responsible for providing juvenile services.

Adyvisory council on probation issues. The
advisory council on juvenile services should include
only practitioners such as probation chiefs or others
working in the juvenile justice field. SB 653 would
charge the council with specific duties relating to
juvenile probation, including reviewing standards and
analyzing their cost impact, and this type of work is best
performed by practitioners.

Notes
The HRO analysis of the companion bill, HB

1915 by Madden, appeared in the April 28 Daily Floor
Report.
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Revising the Forensic Science Commission

SB 1658 by Hinojosa
Died in the House

Table
of Contents

SB 1658 would have changed the composition
and duties of the Forensic Science Commission (FSC),
exempted certain information used in its investigations
from the Public Information Act, required an annual
report from the commission, and administratively
attached the commission to Sam Houston State
University.

Composition of the commission. SB 1658 would
have reduced the size of the commission from nine to
seven members and changed its composition. All seven
members would have been appointed by the governor,
instead of some being appointed by the lieutenant
governor and the attorney general. Five members would
have been required to have expertise in forensic science,
and one member would have been required to be a
prosecutor and one a defense attorney. The governor
would have continued to appoint the presiding officer.

Commission duties. SB 1658 would have revised
the duties of the commission. If certain conditions had
been met, the commission could have initiated, for
educational purposes, an investigation of a forensic
analysis without a reported allegation of professional
negligence or misconduct involving the forensic
analysis. This could have occurred if the commission
determined by a majority vote that an investigation
would advance the integrity and reliability of forensic
science in Texas. If the commission had investigated a
forensic analysis under this authority, it would have had
to prepare a written report.

The bill would have established different reporting
requirements for FSC investigations, depending on
the type of crime lab investigated and the type of
investigation.

For two types of reports, the commission would have
been prohibited from determining whether professional
negligence or misconduct occurred or issuing a finding
on that question. This prohibition would have applied
when the commission conducted investigations that it
initiated without a reported allegation of professional
negligence or misconduct and when it investigated
crime labs that were not accredited by the Department
of Public Safety or involved allegations of a forensic

method that was not an accredited field of forensic
science.

The commission would have been prohibited from
issuing findings related to the guilt or innocence of
parties in an underlying civil or criminal trial. The
commission’s written reports would not have been
admissible in civil or criminal cases.

Public information exemption. Information filed
as part of alleged professional misconduct or negligence
or obtained during an investigation into one of these
would not have been subject to release under the
Government Code’s public information statutes until the
commission’s investigation concluded.

Annual report. By December 1 each year, the
commission would have had to publish a report that
included several items listed in the bill, including a
description of complaints filed in the preceding year and
their disposition and status.

Affiliation with Sam Houston State University.
The commission would have been attached
administratively to Sam Houston State University, but
neither the university nor the board of regents of the
Texas State University System would have had authority
or responsibility for the duties of the commission.

Supporters said

SB 1658 is needed to clarify the scope and duties
of the Forensic Science Commission. Almost since its
creation, the commission has been bogged down with
questions about its authority and operations, especially
during its investigation into the case of Cameron Todd
Willingham, executed for capital murder after a fire that
killed his three daughters. The changes in the bill would
improve the structure of the commission and clarify its
jurisdiction so that it could move forward with its work
and increase public confidence in the Texas criminal
justice system.

SB 1658 would require the governor to make all
appointments to the FSC, which is not unusual for state
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commissions. Requiring five of the appointees to have
expertise in forensic science, one to be a prosecutor, and
one to be a defense attorney would focus the expertise
of the commission on forensic science and courtroom
knowledge.

SB 1658 would broaden the FSC’s powers so that
it could launch an investigation without first receiving
a complaint. This would give the commission more
flexibility to address issues in the use of forensic
science, leading to continued improvements. This
authority, along with the authority to investigate
nonaccredited fields of forensic science, would give the
commission the necessary discretion to investigate junk
science or other areas it deemed appropriate. The bill
would clarify the FSC’s duties by outlining the required
content of reports on different types of investigations.

Prohibiting the commission from issuing findings
about guilt or innocence and its reports from being used
as evidence in civil and criminal cases would ensure that
the commission focused its work on improving forensic
science, not on issues in specific court cases.

SB 1658 would provide only a limited and
temporary exemption to the Public Information Act so
that during an investigation, the commission could keep
its files confidential. This common-sense exception
would allow the FSC to conduct proper investigations.
Information on cases would become accessible and open
to the public after investigations were completed.

Opponents said

SB 1658 would give too much power to the governor
by allowing him to make all commission appointments.
Current law splits appointments among the governor, the
lieutenant governor, and the attorney general, ensuring
that no single official has the power to dominate the
commission. Reducing the size of the commission from
nine to seven and eliminating requirements for certain
types of expertise also would weaken the commission
by reducing its depth and diversity of knowledge.

Allowing the FSC to investigate cases without
a complaint would give the commission too much
authority. Requiring that the commission operate after
complaints, and not simply on its own, ensures that its
investigations are focused on specific uses or misuses of
forensic science. Also, prohibiting the commission from
issuing findings about guilt or innocence would be too

restrictive. The commission should have the discretion
to make these findings if deemed appropriate.

SB 1658 would thwart the goal of open and
accessible government by exempting some FSC
materials from the Public Information Act. One goal
of the commission was to improve public trust in
the criminal justice system, and denying access to
information, even during an investigation, would work
against this goal. SB 1658 would allow the commission
to hide its ongoing investigations from the public, which
could restrict public oversight.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 1658 appeared in Part
Three of the May 24 Daily Floor Report. The bill died
on the May 24 General State Calendar in the House
when no further action was taken.
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Redistricting state and Congressional districts

HB 150 by Solomons/SB 31 by Seliger/HB 600 by Solomons/SB 4 by Seliger, First Called Session

Effective August 29, 2011/SB 4 effective September 28, 2011
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HB 150, SB 31, HB 600, and SB 4 (first called
session) draw new electoral districts for Texas’ 150
House, 31 Senate, 15 State Board of Education (SBOE),
and 36 Congressional districts, respectively. HB 150
pairs 14 current House members (places two incumbent
members in the same district) and creates seven districts
with no incumbents. None of the other maps contain any
pairings. SB 4 contains four new open congressional
districts as a result of Texas’ population growth over the
past decade.

The U.S. Constitution, Art. 1, sec. 2 requires an
“actual enumeration” or census every 10 years to
apportion the number of representatives each state
will receive in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The release of population figures from the census

also triggers redistricting — or redrawing of political
boundaries — of the state’s congressional and legislative
districts and SBOE districts.

Texas Constitution, Art. 3, sec. 28 requires the
Legislature to apportion the state into House and Senate
districts “at its first regular session after the publication
of each United States decennial census,” but neither
the Texas Constitution nor Texas state statutes address
the standards or procedures for congressional or SBOE
redistricting. Release of federal census data triggers
redistricting of congressional and SBOE districts
because federal court rulings require that district
boundaries be altered to reflect population changes
under the “one person, one vote” principle. New
congressional districts also must be drawn if the state
is apportioned additional seats due to its population
growth relative to the other states. Texas gained four
seats in this round of congressional redistricting because
of its growth relative to other states after the 2010
census.

Supporters said

These redistricting bills reflect the changing
demographics of the state and are compliant with the
federal Voting Rights Act and other federal and state
laws. The bills create a fair number of minority-majority
districts that adequately reflect their percentage of the
population as a whole.

Opponents said

These redistricting plans are invalid because they
fail to account properly for surging growth in the
state’s minority population, specifically the booming
Hispanic population. The plans improperly focus on
creating or maintaining minority-majority districts
rather than minority opportunity or coalition districts,
which are the focus of the federal Voting Rights Act and
related litigation. The redistricting plans should focus
on creating these districts, which would better protect
minority voting rights.

The redistricting plans split too many cities and
counties and other communities of interest for purely
partisan purposes. The maps should focus on preserving
communities rather than maximizing potential political
gains for one particular party.

Notes
The HRO digests of the redistricting plans appeared

in the Daily Floor Report on April 27 (HB 150), May 20
(SB 31), April 14 (HB 600), and June 14 (SB 4).
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Requiring voters to present photo ID

SB 14 by Fraser
Generally effective January 1, 2012
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SB 14 requires a voter to present one form of photo
identification at the polling place. Certain disabled
voters are exempt from this requirement. The bill
enhances the penalties for illegal voting and authorizes
free election identification certificates for qualified
voters who claim to need them for voting identification
requirements. The election ID certificates will not expire
for people aged 70 or older, but will expire for younger
people on a date determined by the Department of
Public Safety (DPS).

Acceptable forms of photo ID include:

e adriver’s license, election identification
certificate, or personal identification card that is
current or not expired for more than 60 days;

e a U.S. military identification card that has a
photograph and that is current or not expired
for more than 60 days;

e a U.S. citizenship certification with a
photograph;

e a U.S. passport that is current or not expired for
more than 60 days; or

e aconcealed handgun license that is current or
not expired for more than 60 days.

A voter with the required ID may vote if his or her
name is on the precinct list of registered voters. If an
election official determines, under standards adopted
by the secretary of state, that a voter’s name on his or
her required ID is substantially similar to but does not
match a name on the precinct list, the person may vote if
the person submits an affidavit swearing to be the voter
on the list.

A voter with the required ID who is not on the list of
registered voters also may vote if he or she has a voter
registration certificate indicating current registration
in that precinct or indicating current registration in a
different precinct but in the same county if the voter
swears to being a current or former resident of the
precinct, to not deliberately providing false information
to obtain registration in the precinct, and to voting only
once in the election.

A voter lacking the required ID may cast a
provisional ballot. For the ballot to be counted, the voter
must present the required ID to the voter registrar within
six days of the election. Voters who have a consistent
religious objection to being photographed or who do not
have any photo ID as a result of certain natural disasters
also may cast a provisional ballot. The ballot will be
counted if the voter appears at the voter registrar within
six days of the election and swears to the religious
objection or natural disaster.

Illegal voting is a second-degree felony (two to 20
years in prison and an optional fine of up to $10,000)
instead of a third-degree felony. Attempted illegal voting
is a state-jail felony (180 days to two years in a state jail
and an optional fine of up to $10,000) instead of a class
A misdemeanor.

If a court finds any provision of SB 14 invalid, the
remaining provisions will be unaffected.

Supporters said

SB 14 would strengthen the election process. The
bill would deter voter fraud, keep ineligible voters from
voting, align voting with other transactions that require
photo ID, and restore and enhance public confidence
in elections, which would promote higher turnout.
Requiring most voters to show a government-issued
photo ID and increasing the criminal penalty for voter
fraud would help ensure the integrity of elections. The
bill would guarantee continued access to the polls by
providing exceptions for certain disabled voters and
by authorizing free election ID certificates for eligible
voters lacking a photo ID. In its interim report to the
82nd Legislature, the Texas House Committee on
Elections recommended the enactment of legislation
requiring voters to present photo ID at the polls.

Voter fraud drives honest citizens out of the
democratic process and breeds distrust of government.
Many everyday circumstances require citizens to
present a photo ID, including air travel and cashing a
check. Such safeguards benefit our society and enhance
our security. When deceased or other unqualified
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individuals are on the voter rolls, illegal votes may

be cast, canceling out legitimate votes. Although

real, voter impersonation is hard to prove because of
existing law. Election officials lacking the authority to
dispute a voter’s identity hesitate to accuse someone
of voting illegally. Since voters need not prove their
identities at the polls, anyone can vote with anyone
else’s voter certificate. This lax screening process makes
it impossible to know how many ineligible voters

slip through the system. Stricter requirements would
prevent people from voting with fake voter registration
certificates and from voting more than once. Even a
limited incidence of voter fraud could tip a close or
disputed election.

Stricter identification requirements would not
impose an unreasonable burden on voters, since the
bill’s requirements would be no more burdensome
than the act of voting. Concerns about the bill’s
constitutionality are unfounded because the U.S.
Supreme Court upheld Indiana’s photo ID law in
Crawford v. Marion County Election Board, 553 U.S.
181 (2008), when it ruled that requiring a photo ID
imposes only a limited burden on a voter’s rights
and is justified by the state’s interest in improving
election procedures and deterring fraud. Furthermore,
although voter ID laws in other states have been heavily
litigated, plaintiffs have been unable to produce a single
individual who either did not already have an ID or
could not easily obtain one.

Opponents said

SB 14 would unnecessarily complicate election
procedures and disenfranchise voters by creating
a substantial obstacle to the right to vote. Eligible
voters should not be needlessly hassled by the state
and discouraged or intimidated from exercising
their fundamental right to vote without legitimate
justification. There is no proof that the barriers to
voting that this bill would erect are needed at all. This
bill would be an extreme, costly solution in search
of a problem not proven to exist. According to a
2006 interim report by the Texas Senate State Affairs
Committee, almost all evidence of voter fraud involves
mail-in ballots. However, this bill would address only
voter impersonation at the polls, not mail-in balloting.

Texas already has taken steps to minimize fraud
by implementing federal requirements that each state
cull its voter registration databases and remove any
voters who are deceased or are convicted of a felony.

Prospective voters already must prove their identity
during the registration process and must swear under
penalty of perjury that they are U.S. citizens.

Since the process of obtaining a photo ID is
cumbersome and cost prohibitive for some citizens, SB
14 would suppress voting among eligible voters. The
bill would inhibit voting in rural areas, where citizens
may have to travel more than 100 miles to a DPS office.
There is no DPS office in 77 of Texas’ 254 counties. The
bill also would give election workers too much power
and pave the way for discrimination, since poll workers
might not administer identification procedures fairly or
correctly.

Although citizens must show proof of their identity
when boarding an airplane or renting movies, these
activities are not constitutional rights. This bill would
give Texas one of most restrictive voter ID laws in
the nation. Although the U.S. Supreme Court upheld
Indiana’s photo ID law, Indiana’s law is less strict. The
U.S. Justice Department or a panel of three federal
district judges in the District of Columbia are mandated
by the Voting Rights Act to examine closely any
changes to Texas’ voting laws due to the state’s history
of voter suppression and could invalidate the bill for
unjustifiably inhibiting minority voting rights.

Other opponents said

Better alternatives exist to address potential election
fraud. When executed properly, they would be less
burdensome than a photo ID requirement. Signature
comparison (comparing signatures used during voter
registration and at the polls) has been used to determine
legitimate mail-in ballots and could present a reliable
alternative.

Texas should consider taking cues from states like
Indiana, Michigan, and Georgia, whose less stringent
voter ID laws contain photo ID alternatives, such as
student IDs, expired driver’s licenses, or valid employee
ID cards with photographs.

Unlike illegal voting, low voter turnout is a proven
problem. Texas should enact laws that encourage rather
than suppress voting.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 14 appeared in the March
23 Daily Floor Report.
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Implementing federal MOVE Act for elections

SB 100 by Van de Putte
Effective September 1, 2011
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SB 100 establishes new voting procedures to
comply with the federal Military and Overseas Voter
Empowerment (MOVE) Act, which requires balloting
materials to be mailed or e-mailed to military and
overseas voters no later than 45 days before all elections
involving a federal office or vacancy in the state
legislature.

The bill moves the filing deadline for an application
to be on the general primary election ballot from
January 2 in the primary election year to the second
Monday in December of an odd-numbered year. This
year, the filing deadline will be December 12, 2011.

SB 100 also moves the runoff primary election date
from the second Tuesday in April to the fourth Tuesday
in May. The bill limits the May uniform election date
in even-numbered years to elections held by political
subdivisions other than a county. County election
officials are not required to contract with political
subdivisions to conduct elections in May of even-
numbered years.

SB 100 authorizes a political subdivision, other
than a county, to change to the November uniform
election date. To facilitate a change in the election date
or a change in the terms of office to conform to a new
election date, SB 100 authorizes:

e ahome-rule city to change the general election
date or to allow the election of all members of
the governing body at the same election;

e aschool board to change the length of terms
for trustees to staggered terms of either three or
four years;

e a general-law municipality whose governing
body serves one- or three-year or staggered
terms to change the length of term to two years
or allow for the election of all members at the
same election; and

e any political subdivision that elects it governing
members to a term with an odd number of years
to change the length of term to an even number
of years.

The secretary of state (SOS) must provide
information regarding voter registration procedures and

absentee ballot procedures, including procedures related
to the federal write-in ballot, to be used by eligible
voters under the federal Uniformed and Overseas
Citizens Absentee Voting Act. The SOS also acts as the
state coordinator between military and overseas voters
and county election officials. The SOS, in coordination
with local county officials, must implement an
electronic free-access system for someone voting early
by mail to determine if his or her application and ballot
have been received and the ballot’s status.

Supporters said

SB 100 is necessary to allow voting procedures to
conform to the federal MOVE Act, with which Texas
must comply. The bill is needed to align state election
law with the new federal requirements in time for the
2012 elections or else face possible sanctions from the
federal government. Fourteen states or jurisdictions had
federal intervention in 2010.

The current dates of the filing deadline,
presidential primary election, primary runoff election,
and nonpartisan city and school elections are too
compressed to comply with the federal law. The issue
is the amount of time needed to request, receive, and
return a ballot by mail. The current Texas election
schedule makes it almost impossible for most active
military men and women serving overseas to vote in
a timely fashion. To keep the current general primary
election date, the January 2 candidate filing deadline
has to shift to an earlier date. This would be the least
disruptive option for voters and the most cost-effective
option for the state to comply with the MOVE Act and
leave the current primary election date in place.

Voting quite often is difficult for those on active
duty. The distance of military personnel and individuals
living overseas has made it difficult to comply with the
election timeline. The goal is to ensure that military
members and their dependents are not disenfranchised
when trying to cast ballots. The federal government has
acted in response to concerns that about a quarter of
military and overseas ballots were not reaching voters in
time.
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Texas party primary elections currently are held on
the first Tuesday in March, which is late enough already.
Moving the primary election date to later in the year
would rob Texas of clout in presidential primaries. It
should remain part of Super Tuesday in March.

Having a later primary election date would
shift other election dates and create conflicts with
local elections. It would affect the nonpartisan May
election date for school districts and cities, currently
held in early May. Holding these elections so close
to the primary elections and the potential primary
runoff elections would be confusing for voters and
cumbersome for election officials. Moving the May
elections to the uniform November election date would
allow partisan presidential contests and other issues to
drown out nonpartisan issues, would be complicated
by straight-party voting, and would create excessively
long ballots. A November date would force a local
election runoff to occur during the holiday season, when
resources and manpower are scarce.

Opponents said

The state should move the primary election date
to later in the year to accommodate the federal MOVE
Act timeline for sending ballots to overseas voters.
This would give voters more time to learn about the
candidates and issues. The March election dates conflict
with Spring Break, so having a later date would lead
to higher voter participation and would reduce voter
confusion. Keeping the current January 2 filing deadline
for candidates to apply for a spot on the primary ballot
would allow local candidates to avoid running afoul of
the state’s “resign to run” law. The Texas Constitution
stipulates that a county officeholder must resign before
seeking another office if more than a year is left on
his or her term, and it would have to be amended if
the filing deadline were set too early. Officeholders
routinely file by January 2 because that leaves less than
a year on their current term.

Additionally, because of rules adopted by
the national Republican Party requiring states
holding primaries before April 1 to award delegates
proportionally, Texas will need to move its primary
election to April in order to remain a “winner-take-
all” primary state. Under Texas Republican Party
rules, candidates receiving more than 50 percent of the
presidential primary vote statewide or in a congressional
district receive all of the delegates. If Texas retains
this system for a March primary, it could risk being

penalized by the national party by losing half of its
delegates to the national party convention.

An earlier candidate filing deadline would require
candidates to declare their intentions almost a full year
in advance of the November election. This would create
an overly long and expensive campaign season, which
could limit the number of candidates.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 100 appeared in the May
24 Daily Floor Report. The House committee version
would have moved the general primary election date
and left the filing deadline unchanged.
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Continuing TCEQ, abolishing wastewater council

HB 2694 by W. Smith
Effective September 1, 2011
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HB 2694 continues the Texas Commission on
Environmental quality (TCEQ) until September 1, 2023.
The On-site Wastewater Treatment Research Council
is abolished and its authority and duties transferred to
TCEQ.

Resign to run. HB 2694 prohibits commission
members from accepting contributions for a campaign
for elected office. A member who does so will be
considered to have resigned, and the office will
immediately become vacant.

Dam safety. HB 2694 directs TCEQ to focus on
the state’s most hazardous dams. It allows the agency
to enter into agreements with dam owners required to
reevaluate the adequacy of a dam or spillway, including
a timeline to comply with TCEQ criteria. It exempts
from safety regulations certain privately owned dams
that impound less than 500 acre-feet and have a hazard
classification of low or significant.

Transfer of certain groundwater protections to
Railroad Commission (RRC). HB 2694 transfers,
on September 1, 2011, the authority for making
groundwater protection recommendations regarding oil
and gas activities from TCEQ to the RRC. It authorizes
the RRC, not TCEQ, to issue letters of determination for
geologic storage of anthropogenic carbon dioxide.

Public assistance and education. HB 2694 transfers
the charge of ensuring that TCEQ is responsive to
environmental and citizen concerns from the Office of
Public Interest Counsel (OPIC) to the TCEQ executive
director. The executive director is to provide assistance
and education to the public on environmental matters
under the agency’s jurisdiction. HB 2694 states that
OPIC’s primary duty is to represent the public interest
in matters before the commission. The bill also requires
the commission to define, by rule, factors that the public
interest counsel will consider in representing the public
interest.

Compliance history and enforcement. HB 2694
revises requirements for evaluating compliance history,
including removing the single uniform standard

currently in statute. It requires TCEQ to adopt a general
enforcement policy by rule, including deterrence to
prevent the economic benefit of noncompliance. It
increases the maximum to $25,000 for almost all
penalties and $5,000 for others, such as water rate
penalties. Local governments may apply penalty
money assessed by TCEQ toward a supplemental
environmental project needed to achieve compliance or
to remediate environmental harm.

Petroleum storage tanks (PST). HB 2694 reinstates
common carrier liability for delivering or depositing
petroleum products into underground storage tanks
that have not been issued a delivery certificate by
TCEQ. It also provides an affirmative defense under
certain circumstances for common carriers of petroleum
products. The bill also expands the use of the PST
remediation fee to remove storage tanks if certain
criteria are met and reauthorizes the remediation fee at
the current level with no expiration date.

The bill allows TCEQ to award direct contracts for
petroleum storage tank remediation projects, under
certain circumstances, to those performing related work
at the site on or before July 1, 2011.

Water use and watermasters. HB 2694 requires
water right holders to provide reports on monthly water
use to the commission upon request during times of
drought or emergency shortages or in response to a
complaint. The bill authorizes the executive director,
during a drought or other emergency shortage of
water, to suspend temporarily a water right and adjust
diversion of water between water right holders.

HB 2694 directs the executive director to evaluate

at least once every five years whether a watermaster
should be appointed in water basins for which a
watermaster is not appointed. Findings and subsequent
recommendations must be reported to the commission.

Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal
Compact Commission. HB 2694 requires that the
compact waste disposal fee include funds to support
activities of the Low Level Radioactive Waste Disposal
Compact Commission and creates a dedicated account.
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Repealing certain utility fees. The bill eliminates
water and wastewater utility application fees for
applications for rate changes, certificates of convenience
and necessity (CCNs), and the sale, transfer, or merger
of a CCN.

Abolishing the On-site Wastewater Treatment
Research Council. HB 2694 abolishes the Texas
On-site Wastewater Treatment Research Council and
transfers its duties to TCEQ on September 1, 2011.

Contested cases on permits. HB 2694 prohibits
a state agency from contesting the issuance of an
air, water, or waste permit or license. It requires the
executive director to participate as a party in contested
case hearings. For a hearing with the State Office of
Administrative Hearings using pre-filed testimony, all
discovery must be completed before the deadline for
the submission of that testimony, except for water and
sewer ratemaking hearings.

Supporters said

Transfer of certain groundwater protections
to Railroad Commission (RRC). HB 2694 would
transfer certain groundwater protections to the RRC
because TCEQ’s role in making groundwater protection
recommendations for oil and gas drilling activities
creates confusion about the RRC’s ultimate oversight
responsibility.

TCEQ provides recommendations to the RRC on
production of oil and gas and injection of oil and gas
waste, but letters on surface casing recommendations
for oil and gas drilling from TCEQ do not have the
force of law and are not enforceable by TCEQ. The
responsibility for controlling groundwater pollution
from oil and gas production and the authority to
enforce surface casing requirements on producers is
the responsibility of the RRC, not TCEQ. TCEQ’s
middleman role in surface casing recommendations is
unnecessary and should be transferred to the RRC.

Public assistance and education. HB 2694 would
focus and strengthen both the TCEQ’s public assistance
function and the duties of the Office of Public Interest
Counsel (OPIC).

Public assistance currently is divided among several
agency programs with overlapping duties and with
no specific statutory direction, contributing to a lack

of focus and prioritization. A centralized structure
for public assistance would allow TCEQ to be more
responsive to questions and proactively identify
concerns.

Revising the duties of OPIC would clarify its role
and prevent conflicts. OPIC’s role in assisting the
public dilutes its primary duty to represent the public
interest in proceedings before TCEQ and can put it in
potentially conflicting positions. Focusing OPIC’s work
on representing the public interest in TCEQ proceedings
would allow it more effectively to use its resources to
provide the public interest perspective to TCEQ.

Compliance history and enforcement. TCEQ’s
rigid, one-size-fits-all approach to measuring regulated
entities’ compliance histories results in inaccurate
measures of performance, stripping compliance history
classifications of meaning. Without a standard that
can identify good and bad actors, TCEQ cannot target
regulations effectively. HB 2694 would remove some
statutory roadblocks that have negated the practical use
of this important regulatory tool and allow TCEQ to
revamp its approach to compliance history. HB 2694
would increase 20 of TCEQ’s administrative penalty
caps to match statutory levels for civil penalties for the
individual programs. Increasing penalties to exceed
the economic benefits for violations would help deter
violations.

Water use and watermasters. HB 2694 would
clarify current law on TCEQ’s authority to curtail water
rights during a period of drought or other emergency
shortage of water. It also would require TCEQ to
evaluate the need for additional watermaster programs
at least every five years. The bill would require water
use reporting by water right holders during a drought or
other emergency shortage of water to more adequately
manage the inventory of water resources.

Current law does not expressly articulate TCEQ’s
duties to enforce the allocation of water to permit
holders in areas without a watermaster program. The
state currently has only two watermaster programs.

Current law also does not expressly state under what
circumstances TCEQ may curtail the right to divert
state water under a water right to ensure senior rights
are protected and adequate water supplies are available
for domestic and municipal needs. TCEQ’s express
statutory authority to suspend permit conditions in times
of drought or other emergency is limited to conditions

House Research Organization

Page 61



relating to instream uses or beneficial flows to bays and
estuaries.

Time is critical during a water shortage or drought
emergency, but current law does not allow for TCEQ to
efficiently address water rights issues that arise during
a water shortage in those areas where a watermaster has
not been created.

Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal
Compact Commission. HB 2694 would clarify
the funding mechanism for the Texas Low-Level
Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Commission
by allocating a portion of the compact waste disposal
fee to support its costs and operations. The compact
commission employs an executive director, and its
members are entitled to reimbursement for expenses,
but it has no separate section in the budget and no full-
time staff. It is funded by a pro rata share between Texas
and Vermont, the member states, with Texas providing
75 percent of funding. In Texas, it is funded through a
rider in the TCEQ section of the budget that provides
$100,000 for each of fiscal years 2010 and 2011. TCEQ
reimburses expenses to the compact commission under a
contract.

Abolishing the On-site Wastewater Treatment
Research Council. While the On-site Wastewater
Treatment Research Council has provided a valuable
service in volunteering time and expertise to guide the
grant process for on-site sewage research and the state
continues to benefit from this research, Texas does not
need a separate, stand-alone council to fund it. The
council, without a staff of its own, receives all of its
administrative support from TCEQ through interagency
contract. TCEQ administers similar grant programs
and has structures in place to assume this program with
appropriate stakeholder input. It would be appropriate
to abolish the council and transfer its authority to award
grants for on-site sewage research to TCEQ.

Opponents said

Transfer of certain groundwater protections
to Railroad Commission (RRC). The protection of
groundwater is a direct responsibility of TCEQ, and the
responsibility of protecting groundwater during oil and
gas activities should remain within its authority.

It is not clear or certain that the RRC, which is
underfunded and overloaded with existing duties, would

provide thorough oversight. The RRC also has had a
history of being unresponsive to interested parties and
is three or four years behind on the investigation of
some complaints filed with the agency. Transferring

the oversight of groundwater protection to the RRC
could compromise groundwater protections and make it
more difficult for interested parties to participate in the
process.

Public assistance and education. The Legislature
should ensure that the Office of Public Interest Counsel
(OPIC) within TCEQ is able to fully represent the
public interest and protect its ability to present an
independent perspective on issues that come before
TCEQ. Removing from OPIC the duty of responding
to environmental and citizens’ concerns, including
environmental quality and consumer protection, and
giving it to the executive director of TCEQ could be a
barrier to public assistance because TCEQ historically
has been unresponsive to citizens’ concerns. The
purpose of OPIC is to ensure that TCEQ promotes the
public interest, and HB 2694 would stifle this purpose.

Compliance history and enforcement. The bill’s
requirements for enforcement standards to be placed
into rule and the removal of the single uniform standard
for evaluating compliance history were all that was
needed for TCEQ to have a workable compliance
history equation. Further changes that would prohibit
TCEQ from looking at notices of violation when
escalating a penalty unless TCEQ took subsequent
action or if the person was a repeat violator could have
adverse effects. This could severely limit TCEQ’s
ability to come up with a workable equation for
compliance history and limit the available penalties.
TCEQ should have all enforcement data at its disposal
when determining compliance history and should look
at overall compliance and individual violations when
considering penalty enhancements.

Creating a minimum penalty per day for a violation
that may go undetected for many days could amount
to large sums in penalties when that money could have
been used to correct the violation.

Water use. TCEQ already has authority to curtail
water use during a drought or other emergency shortage.
Addressing the issue again would leave too many open-
ended questions. The bill could provide TCEQ authority
to curtail water usage in a way that was inconsistent
with prior appropriations doctrine.
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Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal
Compact Commission. A cap is needed on funding
for the compact commission, as well as guidance on
spending.

Abolishing the On-site Wastewater Treatment
Research Council. The On-site Wastewater Treatment
Research Council has volunteered valuable time and
expertise guiding the grant process for on-site sewage
research in Texas. There is a continuing need for a
separate, stand-alone council to fund on-site research.
The requirement for TCEQ to seek the advice of experts
would be no match for the council’s skilled, experienced
members from across the state.

TCEQ does not have the resources to hold the
important annual wastewater conference sponsored
by the council. Also, TCEQ’s oversight of the on-site
wastewater research grant award process could be
a conflict of interest, as the process has potential to
change rules and regulations enforced by TCEQ.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 2694 appeared in Part
One of the April 19 Daily Floor Report.
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Disclosing composition of hydraulic fracturing fluids

HB 3328 by Keffer
Effective September 1, 2011

Table
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HB 3328 requires well operators using hydraulic
fracturing treatments to disclose the chemicals used in
the treatments.

The Railroad Commission (RRC) must, by rule,
require an operator of a well undergoing hydraulic
fracturing treatment to complete a form posted on the
hydraulic fracturing chemical registry website of the
Ground Water Protection Council and the Interstate
Oil and Gas Compact Commission. Information on the
form must include the total volume of water used in the
treatment and each chemical ingredient that is subject
to the Material Safety Data Sheet under the federal
Occupational Health and Safety Act (OSHA).

The operator must post the completed form online
and submit it to the RRC with the well completion
report. In addition, the operator must give the RRC
a list, also to be made publicly available, of all other
chemical ingredients not listed on the completed form
that were intentionally included and used to create a
hydraulic fracturing treatment. The RRC rules must
ensure that an operator, service company, or supplier
is not responsible for disclosing ingredients that
were not purposely added to the treatment, occurred
unintentionally, or were not disclosed to the operator
by the service company or supplier. The RRC rule
may not require that the ingredients be identified based
on the additive in which they are found or that the
concentration of such ingredients be provided.

The RRC also must adopt rules to prescribe a process
for an operator or service company to withhold and
declare certain information, including the identity and
amount of the chemical ingredient used in a treatment,
as a trade secret not subject to public information.

A person wishing to challenge a claim of entitlement
to trade secret protection must file the challenge within
two years of when the well completion report is filed
with the RRC. Only the landowner on whose property
the relevant well is located, a landowner who owns
property adjacent to the well, or a state agency or
department can make such a challenge.

The rules also must prescribe a process for an
operator or service company to provide information,
including trade secret information, to a health
professional or emergency responder who needs it.

The RRC must adopt rules by July 1, 2012.
Rules regarding the additional list of ingredients
and ingredients not purposely added to the hydraulic
fracturing treatment must be adopted by July 1, 2013.
Disclosure of composition of hydraulic fracturing
fluids applies only to a hydraulic fracturing treatment
performed on a well for which an initial drilling permit
is issued on or after the RRC’s initial rules take effect.

Supporters said

Despite the obvious economic benefits and
potential to reduce dependence on foreign sources of
oil from hydraulic fracturing, its safety recently has
been questioned. There are concerns that hydraulic
fracturing threatens the Texas water supply. Despite no
documented cases of groundwater pollution attributable
to hydraulic fracturing in Texas or any other state, the
limited public understanding of the science of hydraulic
fracturing and the scant transparency required of the
industry have caused misperceptions and suspicions
regarding the practice.

Although a list of chemicals used in fracking must be
provided at each site for the benefit of employees and
emergency first responders, this list is neither inclusive
nor specific. The chemical additives used in fracturing
fluids are not fully disclosed to the public, but instead
remain proprietary trade secrets. Some of the additives
are toxic. Even a small amount of a toxic substance
would be unacceptable if leaked into a drinking water
supply. Current oversight is inadequate to protect water
sources from the effects of hydraulic fracturing. HB
3328 would be a step toward transparency by requiring
the full, public disclosure of the chemical composition
of hydraulic fracturing fluids on a well-by-well basis.

The bill would protect confidential business
information while still disclosing the information
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needed for research, regulatory investigations, and
medical treatment. HB 3328 would protect trade secrets
by allowing operators, service companies, and suppliers
to withhold the names and amounts of chemicals
considered trade secrets. However, the bill would allow
a landowner on whose property the well was located,

a landowner who owned adjacent property, or a state
department or agency to challenge a trade secret claim.

The natural gas industry currently is painted as a bad
actor by broad-brush attacks. Basic regulations, such as
disclosure, would insulate responsible companies from
the actions of those who may not have the best interests
of the broader industry or public in mind. HB 3328
would strike a balance between creating a sustainable
market for business and ensuring public health and
safety.

Opponents said

HB 3328 is unnecessary. Hydraulic fracturing
has occurred safely for more than 60 years with no
incidence of groundwater contamination directly
attributable to the process. Also, the chemicals used in
fracking make up less than 1 percent of the fracturing
fluid. The risk of groundwater contamination from
fracking is extremely remote, especially in areas like
the Barnett Shale, where more than a mile of dense
rock separates shallow freshwater aquifers from
petroleum deposits. The geology in Texas, combined
with safeguards required by the RRC in its regulation of
oil and gas exploration and production, would prevent
water used in hydraulic fracturing from migrating to a
water table.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 3328 appeared in the May
11 Daily Floor Report.
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Groundwater owned as real property

SB 332 by Fraser
Effective September 1, 2011
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SB 332 amends the Water Code by stating that
the Legislature recognizes that a landowner owns the
groundwater below the surface of his or her land as real

property.

The groundwater ownership and rights entitle the
landowner, including lessees, heirs, or assigns, to drill
for and produce the groundwater below the real property
without causing waste or malicious drainage of other
property or negligently causing subsidence, but does
not entitle a landowner to capture a specific amount
of groundwater below the land and does not affect the
existence of common law defenses or other defenses to
liability under the rule of capture.

The phrase “except as those rights may be limited or
altered by rules promulgated by a district” in relation to
the landowner’s rights is deleted from the statute, which
now asserts that nothing in the law may be construed as
granting the authority to deprive or divest a landowner
of groundwater ownership and rights.

SB 332 does not:

e prohibit a district from limiting or prohibiting
the drilling of a well by a landowner for failure
or inability to comply with minimum well
spacing or tract size requirements adopted by a
groundwater conservation district;

e affect the ability of a groundwater conservation
district to regulate groundwater production; or

e require that a rule adopted by a district allocate
to each landowner a proportionate share of
available groundwater for production from the
aquifer based on the number of acres owned by
the landowner.

Exemptions. SB 332 does not affect the ability of
the Edwards Aquifer Authority, the Harris-Galveston
Subsidence District, or the Fort Bend Subsidence
District to regulate groundwater.

Groundwater conservation district rules. SB 332
adds factors that a district must consider in adopting
rules, including:

groundwater ownership and rights;
the public interest in conservation, preservation,
protection, recharging, and prevention of
waste of groundwater, and of groundwater
reservoirs or their subdivisions, and in
controlling subsidence caused by withdrawal
of groundwater from those groundwater
reservoirs or their subdivisions, consistent with
the objectives of the Conservation Amendment
(Art. 16, sec. 59) in the Texas Constitution; and
e the goals developed as part of the district’s
management plan.

Supporters said

The Texas Water Code, sec. 36.002 does not
clearly define the ownership rights of landowners
to groundwater. Therefore, SB 332 is necessary to
reaffirm that landowners have an ownership interest in
groundwater and a right to capture groundwater. This
legislation would provide consistency in regulating this
private property right.

SB 332 simply would restate current case law
regarding the property rights of landowners and the
duties of groundwater conservation districts. The bill
would provide guidance to the courts by declaring
groundwater a real property interest. The bill also would
clarify that groundwater is a manageable state resource,
as declared by the Texas Constitution in the early 1900s.
Management of this resource should be through local
control, which is vitally important to the interests of
landowners. The bill also would clarify to what extent
local groundwater conservation districts could manage
the resource.
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Despite concerns that the unclear meaning of the
term “real property” in relation to groundwater would
lead to additional court cases and additional takings
claims, the Supreme Court has clearly stated that
groundwater is part of the owner’s land, so it is real

property.

SB 332 would not trigger a flood of regulatory
takings lawsuits from landowners and bankrupt
groundwater conservation districts, as some have
claimed. Such law in Texas is well settled, and the
standards and procedures for determining a taking of
property are well developed to protect the interests of
groundwater conservation districts and landowners.
Regulation of and limitations on property rights do
not automatically give rise to a valid takings claim.
While landowners have a right to take legal action if
they believe their rights have been unfairly restricted or
taken, the burden of proof is on them, not the district.
Landowners must meet a difficult legal standard
to prove that their property has been taken. Most
landowners are unable to meet these difficult standards
and rarely win these takings suits. In addition, if a
landowner sues a district and loses, the landowner must
pay the attorney and expert witness fees of the district.

This is not required of the district if the landowner wins.

Therefore, a landowner would need to ensure that he or
she had a good case to avoid losing money. All of these
factors would deter landowners from suing a district.

Opponents said

SB 332 would make groundwater a real property
interest, but there has never been a clear understanding
of what the term “real property,” as it relates to
groundwater, means in practice. This could lead to
additional court cases to determine the true meaning of
real property, as well as to additional takings claims.

Establishing something so definitive as real
property could increase the number of cases brought
by landowners in takings claims. Even if guidelines for
groundwater districts were established, by stating a real
property right, the landowner would have a stronger
argument that a groundwater district action was a taking
and that he or she needed to be compensated for loss
of value. Takings claims could bankrupt a district and
hinder its ability to operate.

The bill states that a district would not be prohibited
from limiting or prohibiting the drilling of a well by
a landowner for failure or inability to comply with

well spacing. This language is too limiting and should
instead say that a district’s ability to limit or prohibit
the drilling of a well under these circumstances would
not be affected. This would give greater authority to the
district to protect groundwater supplies.

Other opponents said

SB 332 is unnecessary because it would simply
restate current case law regarding the property rights of
landowners and the duties of groundwater conservation
districts.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 332 appeared in Part One
of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.
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Abolishing RRC, creating Oil and Gas Commission

SB 655 by Hegar
Died in conference committee
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SB 655 would have abolished the Railroad
Commission (RRC) and created the Texas Oil and Gas
Commission (OGC). The OGC would have continued
until September 1, 2023. The bill would have changed
the agency’s governing structure, restricted political
contributions, allowed the OGC to impose surcharges
on fees, required a formal enforcement policy, and
eliminated propane marketing promotion.

Name change. The Senate-passed version of the bill
would have abolished the RRC and created the OGC.
The House-passed version would have changed the
name of the RRC to the OGC.

Governing structure and political contributions.
The Senate version would have provided for a single
elected commissioner with a term of four years. The
House version would have retained the agency’s current
governing structure of three elected commissioners
with six-year terms. The commissioner elected in
2012 and every sixth year after would have served as
chairman, replacing the current practice of allowing the
commission elect the chair.

Both versions of the bill would have established
a limited time frame during which a commissioner
could accept political contributions and would have
prohibited a commissioner from knowingly accepting
a political contribution for another office. The House
version would have required a commissioner who
became a candidate for another office to have resigned
automatically unless the remaining term was one year
or less. It would have prohibited a commissioner from
knowingly accepting a political contribution from
someone with a contested case before the commission
until 30 days after a decision.

Commission funding and surcharges on fees.
Both bills would have replaced the Oil Field Cleanup
Fund with a new Oil and Gas Regulation and Cleanup
Fund. The new fund would have included newly
allowed surcharges on fees, plus revenue currently
deposited into the oil field cleanup fund, minus certain
penalty charges. Fee surcharges would have been
allowed to recover the costs of commission functions

but could not have been imposed on the oil field
cleanup regulatory fee on oil or gas. In determining
surcharge amounts, the OGC would have adopted rules
taking into account the time required for regulatory
work, the number of individuals or entities from which
commission costs could be recovered, the effect of the
surcharge on operators of all sizes, the balance in the
fund, and other factors deemed important.

Money in the new fund could have been used
for purposes related to regulation of oil and gas
development. The House version would have allowed
the Legislature to supplement the fund with general
revenue.

Penalties that would have been redirected from
the Oil Field Cleanup Fund to general revenue in both
bills would have included those for violations related to
safety, pollution, abandoned wells, underground storage
facilities for natural gas, saltwater disposal pits, and
hazardous liquid salt dome storage facilities.

The Senate version would have discontinued the
Oil Field Cleanup Fund Advisory Committee. The
House version would have retained it as the Oil and Gas
Regulation and Cleanup Fund Advisory Committee.

Enforcement. Both versions would have required
the commission to adopt an enforcement policy for
evaluating safety and pollution violations. It would
have included a process for classifying violations and
standards on which violations could be dismissed once
compliance was achieved. Employees would have
had to take into account the permittee’s history of
violations in determining whether to dismiss a violation.
The House version would have required commission
guidelines to take into account the economic benefit
gained through a willful violation.

The Senate version would have transferred the
agency’s contested case hearings to the State Office of
Administrative Hearings. The House version would
have retained current law allowing the commission to
conduct its own enforcement hearings.
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Propane marketing. Both bills would have
abolished the Alternative Fuels Research and Education
Division of the agency, which promotes propane.

Pooling. Both bills would have allowed the
commission, upon request of an interested party,
to hold a hearing on an application for pooling of
mineral interests at a location near the proposed unit.
The commission would have established procedures
requiring an interested owner to notify the commission
before withdrawing an application if a hearing had been
scheduled and requiring an applicant who refiled an
application withdrawn without proper notice to pay an
extra filing fee.

Pipeline safety. Both bills would have directed the
commission to adopt safety standards for the prevention
of damage to interstate and intrastate hazardous liquid
or carbon dioxide pipeline facilities, rather than only
intrastate pipelines. The House version would have
required the commission to study the odorization of
natural gas transported in gathering and transmission
lines in populated areas.

Hydraulic fracturing. The House version would
have required the commission to submit an annual
report to the Legislature on the effects of hydraulic
fracturing treatments on environmental quality.

Well spacing. The House version would have
required an applicant for an exception to a well spacing
requirement in the Barnett Shale to provide a notice in
plain language to those affected by the exception to the
rule. The notice would have explained that the person
had the right to object to the exception and that not
objecting could result in the depletion of gas from the
person’s property.

Regulation of waste. The House version would
have required the commission to adopt rules on the use
of land application for treatment and disposal of oil field
fluids or oil and gas wastes. The commission would
have issued permits for this purpose. The House version
also would have given the commission jurisdiction over
pipelines used to transport saltwater oil and gas waste.

Supporters said

Name change. The Railroad Commission of Texas
no longer regulates railroads, making its name both
outdated and misleading.

Governing structure and political contributions.
Supporters of the Senate version of the bill said that
moving to a one-commissioner structure would save
an estimated $1.2 million each year in salaries and
benefits for commissioners and their staff. The three-
commissioner structure is inefficient and often leads to
conflicting mission goals. It allows each commissioner
to champion separate priorities instead of encouraging
them to work together. The three-commissioner
structure also has led to a lack of accountability when
problems arise. The RRC is the only state agency with
three elected officials. Several others operate with one
commissioner, such as the General Land Office and the
Department of Agriculture.

The bill would encourage the commissioner to focus
on the OGC position rather than a campaign for another
office by limiting when campaign contributions could be
accepted.

Commission funding and surcharges on fees.
Supporters of the Senate version of the bill said it would
make the OGC self-supporting, saving $25 million in
general revenue, with a goal of ensuring that the agency
was fully funded and able to attract qualified employees.

Enforcement policy and hearings. Requiring the
OGC to adopt an enforcement policy in rule would lead
to more consistent enforcement and allow for public
input, which is not possible under the current informal
penalty guidelines.

Supporters of the Senate version said the State
Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) would add
independence and impartiality to the regulatory process.
Transferring hearings to SOAH would clearly separate
the OGC’s role as a party in a hearing from its role as
the hearing conductor. SOAH routinely hears complex
enforcement cases involving highly technical matters,
such as for the Texas Commission on Environmental
Quality and the Public Utility Commission.

Propane marketing. The commission’s propane
marketing expenses have exceeded revenue collected
through industry fees in recent years. The agency’s
primary responsibility is to ensure the safe handling and
distribution of propane, and involvement in promoting
propane can present a conflict of interest. The state
should avoid promoting a specific product in order not
to appear partial to one industry or product over another.
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Pooling. Pooling hearings currently are held in
Austin, which can be inconvenient for those in major
producing regions, such as the Barnett Shale. The bill
would allow for in-person and telephone hearings
in other locations and would introduce penalties for
canceling hearings.

Opponents said

Name change. Opponents of the Senate version
of the bill said that abolishing the RRC could result in
the state losing primary enforcement responsibility for
the Underground Injection Control Program, which is
subject to Environmental Protection Agency approval.
The RRC should be continued under a new name, as in
the House version, rather than abolished.

Governing structure and political contributions.
Opponents of the Senate version of the bill, which
would have required a single commissioner, said that
a three-member agency would keep the OGC as a
deliberative body while allowing public discussion
of policy issues in open meetings. The diversity
of experience and knowledge provided by three
commissioners enables better decision-making.
Three commissioners are ideal because the agency
decides contested case hearings, weighing facts
and law similarly to an appellate court’s panel of
judges. Retaining three commissioners also would
prevent major swings in Texas energy policy that
could be detrimental to the state economy. With three
commissioners, significant policy changes would not
occur without the concurrence of at least one other
commissioner.

Voters have elected the current commissioners.
Switching to a one-commissioner structure, as the
Senate version would do, would improperly remove
duly elected officials.

Opponents of the Senate version said the political
contribution provisions would not go far enough.
Prohibiting contributions from those with business
before the commission is necessary to avoid any
appearance of impropriety.

Commission funding and surcharges on fees.
Opponents of the Senate version said the Oil Field
Cleanup Fund Advisory Committee should be retained.
It has been an important part of efforts to accelerate
the plugging of orphaned wells and the remediation of
orphaned sites.

Enforcement policy and hearings. While a
standardized enforcement policy should lead to
more consistent enforcement, fine amounts should
be evaluated and adjusted as necessary to ensure
deterrence.

Opponents of the Senate version, which would have
transferred contested case hearings to SOAH, said the
OGC was best suited to conduct enforcement hearings
because SOAH lacks both technical expertise and a
comprehensive understanding of the industry, including
conflicting property rights. The Legislature moved
contested utility rate cases to SOAH in 2001, but moved
them back to the RRC in 2003 when promised savings
were not achieved. Prior experience indicates that the
OGC would be best equipped to conduct the hearings.

Notes

SB 642 by Hegar, which revises the Sunset review
of various agencies, extended the Railroad Commission
until September 1, 2013. In reviewing the Railroad
Commission again, the Sunset Advisory Commission
is not limited only to determining the appropriateness
of its report to the 82nd Legislature but may include
whatever recommendation it considers appropriate.

The HRO analysis of SB 655 appeared in Part One
of the May 2 Daily Floor Report.
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Revising the Texas Water Development Board

SB 660 by Hinojosa
Effective September 1, 2011
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SB 660 makes various changes to Texas Water
Development Board (TWDB) administration and
water management. It amends the current process
for developing desired future conditions (DFCs) for
aquifers. This includes amending the public notice
requirements for joint planning meetings in groundwater
management areas and for the adoption of DFCs of
aquifers and requiring proof of notice in submission
of DFCs to TWDB. SB 660 requires groundwater
management areas to document factors considered in
adopting DFCs and to submit that documentation in an
explanatory report to TWDB.

SB 660 requires a representative of a groundwater
conservation district in each groundwater management
area that overlaps with a regional water planning group
to serve as a member of that regional water planning
group. It requires regional water planning groups to use
the DFCs in place at the time of adoption of TWDB’s
state water plan in the next regional water planning
cycle. It requires the state water plan to include an
evaluation of the state’s progress in meeting future
water needs. The bill provides for the development
and use of a uniform methodology for calculating
water use by a municipality or water utility for water
conservation plans. It requires municipalities and water
utilities with more than 3,300 connections to implement
reporting measures established by TWDB and the
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ).
It defines TWDB’s water financial assistance bonds
status for the state debt limit so that nonself-supporting
general obligation water bonds can be removed from the
constitutional debt limit under certain circumstances.

It provides for legal action to be taken for default of
payment on TWDB’s financial assistance programs. SB
660 charges the director of the Texas Natural Resources
Information System (TNRIS) with serving as the state
geographic information officer, and it abolishes the
Texas Geographic Information Council.

The bill also adds and modifies standard Sunset
provisions governing rulemaking and dispute resolution
and complaints. TWDB will be reviewed under the
Sunset process with agencies scheduled to be abolished
in 2023.

Supporters said

As a result of the Sunset Advisory Commission’s
review of TWDB, SB 660 would make several statutory
modifications to improve the functions and duties of the
agency.

Membership on regional planning group. SB
660 would require a representative of a groundwater
conservation district in each groundwater management
area that overlapped with a regional water planning
group to serve as a member of that regional water
planning group. The management area representative
would have to represent a district located in the regional
water planning area. This would help prevent any
disconnect in developing desired future conditions
(DFCs) and planning to meet the state’s future water
needs.

Groundwater management area boundaries
currently do not align with regional water planning
boundaries. Groundwater conservation districts may
informally reach out to regional water planning groups
with overlapping jurisdictions, but nothing ensures
coordination between the entities in determining the
amount of available groundwater for planning.

Desired future conditions. SB 660 would establish
a more rigorous process for adopting DFCs. It would
promote more input into the joint planning process
during the establishment of the DFC and improve
the process for local decision-making in groundwater
matters.

It is critical that there be meaningful checks
and balances in the establishment of DFCs and in
determining what is reasonable. The bill would require
that the established DFCs provide a balance between the
highest practicable level of groundwater production and
the conservation of the resource. This was consensus
language agreed to by stakeholders in developing the
bill. Despite concerns that in the balancing test, the term
“highest practicable level” of groundwater production
was not defined and could be difficult to prove, similar
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language on “highest practicable level” currently is

in surface water law on water conservation related to
applying for an interbasin transfer. In surface water law,
however, there is nothing against which to balance the
“highest practicable level,” leaving it open-ended. SB
660 would avert this problem because conservation,
preservation, protection, recharge, and prevention of
waste of groundwater and control of subsidence in the
management area would be balanced against the highest
practicable level of groundwater production.

While some feel that the process for challenging the
reasonableness of a DFC at TWDB should be replaced
with a process to appeal an individual district’s DFC at
the State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH),
TWDB is better informed and better able to make
decisions regarding DFCs than SOAH. Requiring a
district to request a contested case hearing could lead to
more lawsuits decided by people with little knowledge
of the water issues involved.

Opponents said

While SB 660 would make some statutory
modifications to improve the functions and duties of the
agency, some of the modifications are unnecessary and
could confuse and burden existing processes.

Membership on regional planning group. SB
660 would require a representative of a groundwater
conservation district in each groundwater management
area that overlapped with a regional water planning
group to serve as a member of that regional water
planning group. This is unnecessary because the
regional planning groups already are well balanced and
well represented without adding more members. Adding
members to an already large group could confuse and
delay the process.

Desired future conditions. SB 660 would provide
a balancing test for proposed DFCs. Proposed DFCs
would have to provide a balance between the highest
practicable level of groundwater production and the
conservation, preservation, protection, recharging, and
prevention of waste of groundwater and control of
subsidence in the management area. While the balancing
test is an important tool, the term “highest practicable
level” of groundwater production would not be defined,
making it difficult to prove that the highest practicable
level of groundwater production was achieved when
adopting a DFC.

The current process for questioning the
reasonableness of DFCs at TWDB lacks standard
components of administrative processes designed to
ensure a clear, fair, and meaningful resolution. The
current process should be replaced with a process to
appeal a groundwater conservation district’s DFCs to
SOAH. This would provide a due process remedy that
currently is lacking. Appeals to district courts under
substantial evidence review require some evidence for
review, so the SOAH hearing would be important. Once
a case reached district court, a substantial evidence
review would be a simpler, faster, less expensive
process than a trial de novo.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 660 appeared in the May
19 Daily Floor Report.
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Defense to greenhouse gas nuisance lawsuit

SB 875 by Fraser
Effective June 17, 2011
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SB 875 creates an affirmative defense to a nuisance
or trespass administrative, civil, or criminal action
arising from greenhouse gas emissions if the actions
that resulted in the alleged nuisance or trespass were
authorized by a rule, permit, order, license, certificate,
registration, approval, or other form of authorization
issued by the Texas Commission on Environmental
Quality (TCEQ) or the federal government and:

e the person was in substantial compliance with
that authorization while the alleged nuisance or
trespass was occurring; or

e TCEQ or the federal government exercised
enforcement discretion in connection with the
actions that resulted in the alleged nuisance or
trespass.

These provisions do not apply to nuisance actions
based solely on a noxious odor.

Supporters said

SB 875 would protect Texas businesses from
greenhouse gas nuisance and trespass lawsuits that
stem from the EPA’s unilateral and flawed proposed
regulation of greenhouse gases. Potential damage
from greenhouse gases is complicated to assess, and a
business should not have to protect itself from charges
that it emitted an undefined and speculative harm. The
EPA has not yet issued regulations, and any regulations
will be subject to intense scrutiny and debate. SB 875
would apply only to environmental enforcement actions
initiated by state or local governments because the bill
specifically would address only administrative, civil,
and criminal actions brought under Water Code, ch. 7. It
would not impact the right of an individual to bring suit.

SB 875 would address the disturbing trend of
government entities trying to impose environmental
regulation through nuisance law, such as the attempt
by former Houston mayor Bill White to use a nuisance
ordinance to regulate air toxins that already were
regulated by the state. A company that operates in
substantial compliance with its permits should not have
to spend hundreds of thousands of dollars defending

itself from speculative greenhouse gas claims, especially
when this ultimately would result in passing legal
expenses onto consumers.

Opponents said

SB 875 would leave the public without any viable
legal avenue to protect itself from the harm caused by
greenhouse gases and would gut the age-old common
law right to protect one’s health and welfare through
nuisance and trespass lawsuits. Greenhouse gases
have been defined by the EPA as harmful pollutants,
and entities that suffer harm should be able to sue
for damages. There is disagreement as to whether
this bill would prevent individuals from prevailing
on greenhouse gas nuisance suits, but either way,
government entities should be able to protect their
constituents. The legal actions of nuisance and criminal
trespass are even more important to maintain in the
absence of any currently operative state or federal
permit requirements specifically limiting the emissions
of greenhouse gases.

SB 875 is misleading because it appears to imply
that since the government already protects the public
through the permitting process, the public does not
need the protections of nuisance and trespass actions.
In fact, the permits currently required do not address
greenhouse gases at all, so the permitting process never
considered the level of harm caused by the greenhouse
gases.

The bill also would appear to grant immunity from
nuisance or trespass suits if TCEQ or the EPA exercised
enforcement discretion related to greenhouse gas
emissions. This also would imply that the public was
already protected, but again, the enforcement discretion
could be to take no action.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 875 appeared in Part One
of the May 24 Daily Floor Report.
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Revised energy efficiency goals

SB 1125 by Carona
Effective September 1, 2011
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SB 1125 amends Utilities Code provisions
on energy efficiency goals and programs, public
information, and the participation of certain energy
markets. It requires electric utilities to submit energy
efficiency plans to the Public Utility Commission (PUC)
and requires the PUC to publish information on energy
efficiency programs on its website.

Distributed renewable generation and renewable
energy technology. Each electric utility in the Electric
Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) must make
its best effort to encourage and facilitate energy
efficiency programs and demand response programs,
including programs for demand-side renewable energy
systems that use distributed renewable generation
or reduce energy consumption by using a renewable
energy technology, a geothermal heat pump, a solar
water heater, or another natural mechanism of the
environment.

Increased energy efficiency goals to reflect PUC
rule. SB 1125 codifies recent PUC rules to increase
the existing energy efficiency goals for residential and
commercial customers, using criteria specified in the
bill.

The PUC is required to establish a procedure
for reviewing and evaluating market-transformation
program and other options. In evaluating program
options, the PUC may consider the ability of a program
option to reduce costs to customers through reduced
demand, energy savings, and relief of congestion.
Utilities may choose to implement certain program
options approved by the PUC after its evaluation in
order to satisfy energy efficiency goals.

Change of metric to a percentage of peak
demand. SB 1125 changes the metric for calculating
energy efficiency goals for electric utilities to base it on
peak demand rather than on new demand.

Cost cap. Energy efficiency measures will be
subject to cost ceilings established by the PUC.

Alternatives to the program. An electric utility
in an area outside of ERCOT can achieve its energy

efficiency goals by providing rebates or incentives to
its customers to promote the program or develop a
new program offering the same cost-effectiveness as
standard-offer programs and market-transformation
programs.

An electric utility can use energy audit programs to
achieve these goals if they do not constitute more than
3 percent of the total program costs and do not cause a
utility’s program portfolio to be no longer cost-effective.

Rural carve-out. If an electric utility operating in an
area open to competition shows the PUC that it cannot
meet the energy efficiency requirements in a rural area
through retail electric or competitive service providers,
it instead can achieve the energy efficiency goals by
providing rebates or incentive funds to customers in the
rural areas to promote or facilitate the program.

Supporters said

Energy efficiency lowers utility bills for consumers
by avoiding higher costs of electric generation.
Consumers save between $2 and $3 for every dollar
spent on energy efficiency programs. The American
Council for an Energy Efficient Economy (ACEEE)
estimates that Texas, under its current efficiency
program, will drive a net savings to customers of $3
billion over the period 2012 to 2030. A recent ACEEE
report suggests that Texas could increase those savings
to $14 billion over the same time period with increased
efficiency goals.

A recent PUC report, known as the Itron report,
stated that increased energy efficiency goals would
generate between $4.2 billion and $11.9 billion in net
benefits to citizens of Texas. This past summer, the PUC
undertook rulemaking to raise the goals from 20 percent
of growth in demand to 30 percent. Energy efficiency
also positively impacts the environment and eases stress
on the electric grid. SB 1125 would take a step toward
achieving those increased savings by changing the
metric of the energy efficiency goals from a percentage
of new demand to percentage of peak demand. The new
metric would establish a more predictable goal instead
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of one vulnerable to variables such as downturns in the
economy, which impact the growth of new demand.

Opponents said

Since 2002, Texas consumers have paid $591.1
million to support the state’s energy efficiency program.
The 2009 costs totaled $104.8 million, and the
program’s estimated cost for 2010 is $114.8 million.
The bill’s revisions to the state’s energy efficiency goals
could increase these costs.

It is unclear if Texans are getting their money’s
worth from energy efficiency programs because the
full costs of the programs are not accurately measured
and the benefits are overvalued. Given the existing data
and methodology, the returns of the program could
be negative. Government-mandated energy efficiency
programs are designed to decrease energy use generally
by increasing the cost of energy, which decreases energy
use and, subsequently, economic growth. The state’s
evaluation of the energy efficiency program should
encompass all the costs involved with energy efficiency,
including those related to the program, consumers, and
the economy. The state’s energy efficiency program
should be closely examined to ensure that it actually
reduces the cost of energy use.

Notes
The HRO analysis of HB 1629 by Anchia, the

companion bill to SB 1125, appeared in the May 3 Daily
Floor Report.
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Disposing of low-level radioactive waste

SB 1504 by Seliger
Effective September 1, 2011
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Texas is the host state for the Texas Low-Level
Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact with Vermont,
meaning Texas must develop a facility for the disposal
of low-level radioactive waste generated within the
compact’s party states. In accordance with the compact
and state law, the Texas Commission on Environmental
Quality (TCEQ) has issued a license to Waste Control
Specialists (WCS) to build and operate a facility in
Andrews County for the disposal of the compact’s low-
level radioactive waste. Construction of the disposal
facility is expected to be completed in late 2011.

SB 1504 allows WCS, as a compact waste
disposal facility holder, to accept out-of-state, low-level
radioactive waste from states not part of the compact
(nonparty waste) for disposal, with an additional
surcharge, in its facility in Andrews County. The
bill limits the amount of nonparty waste the facility
may accept and requires TCEQ to study the facility’s
available volume and radioactivity capacity for disposal
of both party-state and nonparty compact waste. TCEQ
also must review the adequacy of WCS’s financial
assurances, including its financial security and ability
to cover the state’s liabilities. The bill reopens compact

membership to other states and establishes a joining fee.

SB 1504 also sets fees on any radioactive waste
or elemental mercury stored at the compact facility for
more than one year.

Supporters said

SB 1504 would finalize an eight-year process for
the disposal of low-level radioactive waste that began
in 2005 when authorization was given by the Texas
Legislature and would create a new revenue stream for
the state of Texas.

The bill would guarantee that the disposal facility
opened upon completion of construction, ensuring the
availability of a safe, secure, remote facility to dispose
of low-level radioactive waste. Low-level radioactive
waste is temporarily stored at thousands of locations
throughout the state, mostly in heavily populated areas.
This waste is generated by hospitals, universities,

research centers, and power plants. The compact facility
would offer a safe, permanent disposal solution.

The WCS site in Andrews County was selected
due to its location atop a ridge of almost impermeable
Dockum red bed clay in a relatively remote, sparsely
inhabited area of far west Texas. The nearest residence
is about 3.5 miles to the west in New Mexico.
Significant population growth in the immediate vicinity
is unlikely because of the nature of land ownership
and the lack of any surface water and readily potable
groundwater.

The local water well drillers, oil and gas producers,
and WCS have drilled thousands of wells and spent tens
of millions of dollars to verify the subsurface properties
of western Andrews County and, as a result, have
delineated the boundaries of the Ogallala aquifer. No
groundwater has ever been found in the red bed clays
within the boundaries of the proposed disposal units.

SB 1504 would ensure that Texas had access to the
facility by reserving facility capacity for Texas waste.
Also, the bill would direct TCEQ to prepare a report
for the Texas Legislature on the facility after the first
year of operation. Completing the study before the
importation of waste, as some have suggested, would
significantly delay importation, the revenue driver for
the state due to surcharges on out-of-compact waste.

By allowing limited importation of waste from
nonparty states, this legislation would enable Texas
to fulfill its obligation to the compact by ensuring a
low-level radioactive disposal facility was open and
operating for Texas generators when needed. Despite
concerns about litigation if WCS entered into a contract
before the capacity study was completed and results
indicated it could not fulfill the contract, the contracts
for disposal would be subject to state law, and the
compact commission would not approve future waste
disposal unless it was feasible.

As part of the license application process, WCS
submitted a transportation impact assessment that
noted the characteristics of the waste sources and
transportation routes and described the radiological
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and nonradiological impacts associated with waste
transportation. The transportation of radioactive

waste was considered thoroughly in the WCS license
application. Based on the analysis in the license
application, the low transportation incident rates

for radioactive materials, and federal safeguards for
shipments of radioactive materials, the transportation of
nonparty waste is expected to have a negligible impact
on communities along transportation routes to the WCS
facility in Andrews County.

WCS has made a substantial real cash investment
but has not received a penny of return on it. It is a
general business practice to expect a return on an
investment. The proposed rate of return is reasonable,
especially compared to those for other high-risk
investments, such as technology or biotechnology start-
up ventures.

The primary benefit of importing nonparty waste
to the compact facility would be the dramatic decrease
in the cost of disposal for compact generators. The
generators then could pass the savings on to their
customers, benefiting the citizens of Texas and Vermont.

Opponents said

Among the many concerns about the importation
and disposal of low-level radioactive waste into the
facility in Andrews County are the risk of groundwater
contamination, the risk of accidents resulting in
exposure to waste during its transport from other states
into Andrews County, and the possibility that opening
the facility to out-of-state waste would cause insufficient
capacity to meet Texas’ and Vermont’s disposal needs.

Due to the proximity of the WCS dump site
in Andrews County to the Ogallala and Dockum
aquifers, groundwater could intrude into the proposed
disposal units and make contact with the waste from
the water tables near the facility. Also, a leak could
cause contamination of the aquifers. Burial most likely
would be the method of disposal, and disposal sites of
this type have leaked in the past. Further, there are no
geological barriers in the sediments to stop the waste
from infiltrating the aquifer water if a spill occurred.
Contamination of the Ogallala aquifer would devastate
the area environmentally and economically, since it is
one of the most important water sources in the Plains
Region, used for residential and industrial purposes and
agriculture, the base of the area’s economy. Texas is one

of the leading states irrigating from the aquifer, which
accounts for about 40 percent of Texas’ water use.

Another health and safety concern is the risk of
accidents during transport of the waste from all over
the country. In the U.S., low-level radioactive waste
typically is transported by truck, and this bill would
significantly increase the number of trucks carrying
radioactive waste on highways throughout the country
and in Texas. Some of the communities that occupy
the areas surrounding interstate highways are heavily
populated and could be exposed to radioactive materials
and devastated by damages from any accidents.
Although the radioactivity of the waste would be
low level, the severity and potential of transportation
accidents would be too high.

SB 1504 would direct TCEQ to prepare a capacity
report for the Legislature after the first year of operation,
but a great deal of waste is anticipated to be accepted
by the facility in that first year. The study should be
conducted before importing out-of-state waste in order
to assess the validity of WCS claims that the site has
excess capacity and to ensure adequate disposal capacity
for Texas and Vermont waste generators. WCS should
not be able to contract for importation of out-of-state
waste before the study is complete. If WCS entered into
a contract during the study and results indicated it could
not fulfill the contract, expensive litigation could result.

WCS claims that for the facility in Andrews County
to be profitable, it needs to allow nonparty, out-of-state
waste. Yet WCS has exaggerated its high capital costs in
making this claim. In addition, Texas should protect this
state and bar other states’ waste, rather than allowing it
for the sake of profit.

The Andrews County waste dump is a state-owned
facility leased to WCS. WCS would make the money,
while Texas would get stuck with the waste and the
liability. The state needs to ensure that Texas sets the
rates for imported waste and receives the lion’s share
of the profits, while allowing WCS to get a reasonable
return on investment.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 1504 appeared in the May
17 Daily Floor Report.
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Modifying custodial arrangement for the Alamo

HB 3726 by Guillen
Effective September 1, 2011
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HB 3726 places the Alamo complex in San
Antonio under the jurisdiction of the General Land
Office (GLO). The bill requires the GLO to hire staff
to preserve and maintain the Alamo complex and to
contract for professional services. The GLO must
prepare an annual budget and work plan that includes
preservation, construction, and usual maintenance for
the Alamo complex. The GLO may partner with any
qualifying nonprofit organization for fundraising or
other services and contract with the nonprofit for the
performance of any activity.

The GLO must enter into an agreement with the
Daughters of the Republic of Texas for the management,
operation, and financial support of the Alamo. The
agreement must provide for oversight by the GLO;
require submission of financial information from the
Daughters; establish management standards; address
construction, maintenance, and repair; include a dispute
resolution process; and address funding and payment for
costs. The State Preservation Board must assist the GLO
with duties relating to the Alamo complex upon the
GLO’s request.

The bill also creates the Alamo Complex Account in
the General Revenue Fund to support the preservation
and improvement of the complex. The account consists
of fees and other revenue from Alamo operations,
grants and donations designated for the Alamo, income
earned on investments of funds in the account, and
other transfers and legislative appropriations. The GLO
can accept a gift or grant for any purpose related to
preserving and maintaining the Alamo complex. The
account is exempt from state laws governing dedicated
funds.

The GLO may establish a nine-member Alamo
Preservation Advisory Board to provide advice on
promoting and supporting the Alamo complex, inspiring
virtues of honor and Texas pride, and other topics.

Supporters said

HB 3726 would provide much-needed oversight
to the current arrangement with the Daughters of

the Republic of Texas for management of the Alamo
complex in San Antonio. The bill would forge an
appropriate compromise that addresses concerns raised
by the attorney general and other parties about potential
mismanagement of the Alamo. It would present

the statutory framework necessary to increase the
accountability of the management of the Alamo while
preserving the important and historic relationship with
the Daughters.

The bill would avoid more drastic proposals that
would completely sever the role of the Daughters and
shift full responsibility for managing and operating the
Alamo to a state agency, such as the Texas Historical
Commission. Completely transferring responsibility
from the Daughters would unwisely terminate what has
been a successful stewardship for over a century and
would relinquish a network of committed volunteers and
long-standing educational programs that the Daughters
have established.

The bill would empower GLO to craft an agreement
with the Daughters that addressed legitimate concerns
without eroding the benefits of the Daughters’
management. The agreement would have to provide
for needed physical repairs to the Alamo complex and
require submission of key financial information from the
Daughters, both of which have been subjects of ongoing
controversy regarding management of the Alamo.

Opponents said

HB 3726 would add layers of bureaucracy to a
beneficial arrangement that has prevailed for over a
century. The Daughters of the Republic of Texas have
impressively maintained the Alamo in good condition
without charging admission to the more than 2.5 million
tourists who visit each year and without relying on
any funds from federal, state, or local government.
Recent concerns about management of the Alamo have
been exaggerated. The Daughters are well equipped
to preserve and maintain the Alamo without state
intervention.
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Other opponents said

HB 3726 should go further and transfer
responsibility for the management of the Alamo to a
state agency. While the Daughters of the Republic of
Texas have managed the Alamo effectively in the past,
current reports suggest mismanagement. For example,
the organization has been unable to raise the funds
necessary to preserve the physical integrity of the
structure, resulting in a leaky roof and other unresolved
physical problems. The Daughters have shown poor
decision-making by entering into a questionable contract
for marketing and have resisted providing important
information that would ensure financial transparency.

The Alamo is the cradle of Texas liberty and should
be held to the highest standards of management. Texans
deserve a clear window, as would be provided by a
state agency, into how such an important piece of Texas
history is managed.

Notes

HB 3726 passed the House on the Local, Consent,
and Resolutions Calendar on April 21 and was not
analyzed in a Daily Floor Report.

The 82nd Legislature considered numerous related
bills that would have modified custodial arrangements
of the Alamo:

SB 1841 by Van De Putte, as introduced, would
have placed the preservation and maintenance of the
Alamo under the Texas Historical Commission.

SB 1839 by Van De Putte would have required the
custodian to submit an annual report to certain state
agencies.

SB 1912 by Wentworth would have required an
annual report and would have established an advisory
board for the Alamo.
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Revising standards for eminent domain authority

SB 18 by Estes
Effective September 1, 2011
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SB 18 modifies how the taking of private property
through eminent domain authority is governed,
including evidence to be considered by special
commissioners in making decisions on awards for
damages, the rights of property owners to repurchase
taken property, the requirement of a bona fide offer to
purchase property, and a landowner’s right to access
information from an entity taking his or her property.
The bill prohibits a government or private entity
from taking land not for a public use. It also requires
government entities to pay relocation expenses for
displaced property owners and provide a relocation
advisory service.

Assessments and damages. Special commissioners,
in assessing actual damages to a property owner from
a condemnation, must take into account a material
impairment of direct access on or off the remaining
property that affected the market value of the remaining
property, but they cannot consider any circuity of travel
and diversion of traffic common to many properties.

Right of repurchase. An owner of property taken
through eminent domain may repurchase the property
from any entity at the original price paid to the owner
if the public use for which the property was taken is
canceled before the property is used for that purpose or
if, within 10 years after the taking, the property becomes
unnecessary for the public use for which it was acquired
or no “actual progress,” as defined in the bill, is made
toward the public use.

Bona fide offer. The bill requires an entity with
eminent domain authority to make a bona fide offer to
acquire property from an owner voluntarily. Under the
bill, an entity with eminent domain authority has made
a bona fide offer if its final offer is equal to or greater
than a certified appraisal and the entity meets other
requirements.

If a court hearing a suit determines that a
condemning authority did not make a bona fide offer,
the court must abate the suit, require the entity to make a
bona fide offer, and order the condemning entity to pay
costs authorized in current law and reasonable attorney’s
fees incurred by the property owner directly related to
the failure to make a bona fide offer.

Eminent domain process. SB 18 requires a
governmental entity to approve the use of eminent
domain at a public meeting by a record vote. It also
establishes procedures for voting on specific properties
and groups of properties.

The bill expands disclosure requirements to pertain
to all entities with the power of eminent domain instead
of only governments. An entity may not include a
confidentiality provision in an offer or agreement to take
property. The entity must inform a property owner of his
or her right to discuss the offer with others or to keep
the offer confidential. An offer to purchase or lease a
property must be sent via certified mail and include any
appraisal reports acquired in the preceding 10 years.

General provisions. Entities that were created
or that acquired the power of eminent domain
before December 31, 2012, must submit a letter to
the comptroller acknowledging that the entity was
authorized by the state to exercise the power of
eminent domain and identifying the legal source for
that authority. An entity that does not submit a letter by
September 1, 2013, will lose its authority to exercise
eminent domain.

A property owner whose property is taken for an
easement for a gas or oil pipeline may construct a road
that meets certain restrictions in the bill at any location
above the easement.

Supporters said

SB 18 would provide a balance between protections
for private property owners and the needs of taxpayers
generally.

Uses of eminent domain. The bill would add to
statute a requirement similar to one added to the Texas
Constitution in 2009 that land be taken only for a
public use. The public use language in the bill would
help protect property owners against abuse without
going too far and requiring that land be taken only for a
“necessary” use. Adding a requirement that all takings
be necessary could create substantial legal confusion and
force condemning authorities to defend the necessity
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of each use of eminent domain authority in court.
This would be a major cost to taxpayers, encouraging
excessive litigation and potentially tying up critical
public projects, neither of which Texans can afford.

Damages and assessments. Reasonably expanding
the range of plausible damages that could be awarded
to property owners is necessary to ensuring just
compensation for those subject to condemnation. SB 18
would do this by allowing special commissioners, who
are appointed to determine adequate awards for property
owners, to consider a “material impairment of direct
access” to a property. This would expand the current
practice of allowing only “material and substantial”
impairments to access to a property. Eliminating the
word “substantial” would require special commissioners
to award damages for impaired access to a property,
such as eliminating one entrance and exit to and from a
parking lot that had other entrances and exits.

Right of repurchase. SB 18 would provide for the
repurchase of condemned property at the price the entity
paid at the time of acquisition. This would implement
authority granted by Art. 3, sec. 52(j) of the Texas
Constitution, which was added in 2007 when voters
approved Proposition 7 (HJR 30 by Jackson). Allowing
the repurchase price to be set at the original sale value,
and not the current fair market value as required in the
Property Code, would enable property owners to reclaim
equity for appreciating property to which they were
entitled. Only property owners subject to takings that
wrongfully resulted in canceled, absent, or unnecessary
public uses would be eligible for restitution.

Bona fide offers. SB 18 would install clear
requirements for initial offers to purchase property
before an entity initiated eminent domain proceedings.
The bill would require specific processes, including
adhering to timelines and providing relevant
appraisals and other information, and it would prohibit
confidentiality agreements. If a condemning entity did
not meet the bill’s requirements, the entity would have
to pay court costs and other costs the property owner
assumed in contesting the action.

Opponents said

SB 18 would impose additional costs on Texas
taxpayers for the legitimate exercise of eminent
domain authority. Expanding damages that special
commissioners could consider when deciding on an
award to include a “material” but not “substantial”
impairment of direct access would add costs to takings

for transportation projects for the Texas Department

of Transportation, mobility authorities, and local
governments. The provision also could have unintended
consequences if courts were more permissive than
expected in allowing for damages that were “material
impairments.”

Other opponents said

SB 18 would fall short of the eminent domain
reform Texans need and deserve.

Uses of eminent domain. Not restricting property
takings to a “necessary” public use is a major
shortcoming of the bill. The Texas Constitution already
requires that property takings be made for a public use,
but it does not require that each taking be necessary to
accomplish that public use. Requiring that a taking be
necessary would force condemning entities to defend
the taking as essential to a particular project. This
would help rebalance the power relationship between
condemning entities and property owners. Current
law provides no firm legal ground to challenge the
legitimacy of an unnecessary property taking.

Right of repurchase. The bill actually could
weaken the right of repurchase in current law. Current
law triggers the right of repurchase if a government
entity cancels a public use on a parcel. The proposed bill
would leave a loophole for local governments, which
could enact resolutions to meet only one of the several
conditions necessary to satisfy “actual progress” in the
bill. Many of the conditions necessary to achieve “actual
progress” are so loosely worded that most entities could
satisfy the requirements with minimal effort.

Bona fide offers. The bill’s provisions for bona fide
offers would not adequately protect property owners.
SB 18 would provide specific conditions that, if met,
would constitute a bona fide offer. The conditions in the
bill are focused on small procedural matters and largely
reflect current practices, which have proven decidedly to
favor condemning entities over property owners. Bona
fide offer provisions in the bill likely would compel
condemning entities to minimally satisfy the provisions
on paper but would not guarantee a fairer process for
property owners.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 18 appeared in the
April 13 Daily Floor Report.
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New requirements for homeowners’ associations

SB 142 by West/other bills
Died in the House/Various effective dates
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SB 142 would have revised procedures governing
homeowners’ associations (HOAs) by limiting the types
of restrictive covenants associations could impose,
amending laws on attorney’s fees, and changing
requirements for resale certificates. The bill also
would have imposed requirements for HOA board
meetings and public information, fines and assessments,
foreclosure, notice, priority of payments, and voting
requirements. While SB 142 died in the House, many
of its provisions were included in other bills that were
enacted.

Foreclosure. Under HB 1228, an association
is prohibited from foreclosing to collect an owner’s
assessment lien without first obtaining a court order.
The Texas Supreme Court must adopt rules by January
1, 2012, establishing expedited foreclosure proceedings
for use by an association in foreclosing an assessment
lien. HB 1228 also prohibits an HOA from foreclosing
on a property unless it first complies with certain written
notice requirements. The recipient of the notice has 60
days to cure the delinquency before an association may
initiate a judicial foreclosure or post a notice to auction
the property.

A covenant granting a right of foreclosure may
be removed from or adopted into an association’s
declaration by a vote of at least 67 percent of property
owners. A vote for this purpose may be initiated by
a petition submitted by 10 percent of owners in the
association.

SB 101 strengthens current protections against
foreclosure for active military members. HB 2761
prohibits associations from foreclosing on an owner for
fines associated with records requests alone.

Payment schedule. Under HB 1228, an association
with more than 14 lots is required to adopt reasonable
guidelines to establish an alternative payment schedule
for delinquent assessments or other amounts owed
without accruing additional penalties. An association
may charge interest and reasonable costs associated with
administering the plan, which must have a term of at
least three months. An association does not have to enter
into a plan with an owner who failed to honor the terms

of a plan within the past two years. An owner has a right
to a payment plan even if an association fails to file the
required guidelines.

Priority of payments. HB 1228 also requires a
payment an association received from an owner to be
applied toward the owner’s debt in the following order
of priority:

e any delinquent assessment;
any current assessment;
attorney’s fees or third-party collection costs
incurred by the association;
fines assessed by the association; and
any other amount owed to the association.

Restrictions on HOA covenants. Under HB 1821,
a restrictive covenant has no effect until filed with the
appropriate county.

Solar energy devices. An association is prohibited
under HB 362 from adopting a restrictive covenant that
prohibits or restricts a property owner from installing a
solar energy device. An association may prohibit a solar
energy device that:

e threatens public health or safety or violates a
law;

e s located on property owned or maintained by
the association;

e s located on property owned in common by the
association’s members;

e s located anywhere on the owner’s property
other than the roof or a fenced yard or patio;

e if mounted on the roof, is higher than the
roofline or does not conform to certain other
standards;

e ifin a fenced yard or patio, is taller than the
fence;

e asinstalled, voids material warranties; or
is installed without the HOA’s approval.

An association may not withhold approval for a solar
device unless it determines that the device substantially
interferes with the use and enjoyment of land by causing
unreasonable discomfort or annoyance to persons of
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ordinary sensibilities. The written approval of adjoining
property owners is considered sufficient for making this
determination.

Roofing materials. HB 362 also prohibits an
association from adopting a covenant that prohibits or
restricts a property owner from installing shingles that
are designed to be wind and hail resistant, resemble
other shingles in the subdivision, and match the
aesthetics of surrounding property.

Procedures for amending a declaration. Under
SB 472, a restrictive covenant and other declarations
may be amended only by a vote of 67 percent of the
total votes allocated to property owners, in addition to
any required government approval. If the association’s

declaration specifies a lower percentage, then it controls.

An association bylaw may not be amended to conflict
with the declaration.

Voting requirements. Under SB 472, any vote
cast in an election by an association member must
be in writing and signed, a requirement satisfied by
an electronic ballot. Written and signed ballots are
not required for uncontested races. Any restrictive
covenant that disqualifies a property owner from voting
in an association election is considered void, as is any
restrictive covenant that restricts an owner’s right to
run for a position on an association board. The bill bars
anyone convicted of a felony or crime involving moral
turpitude from serving on a board.

Association records. Procedures governing
access to the books and records of certain associations
established since 1974 are expanded and revised
under HB 2761. If an association is unable to produce
requested records within 10 days of receiving a request,
it must give the requestor a date within 15 business days
by which the information will be available.

An association board must adopt a policy to
determine how much the association will charge for
records. Charges may not exceed costs specified for
corresponding records in the Texas Administrative
Code. An association may not charge for records
production without first recording the policy.

An association with more than 14 lots must adopt
and comply with a document retention policy. An owner
who is denied access to records may file a petition with
the appropriate justice of the peace. If the HOA prevails
in the suit, it is entitled to attorney’s fees.

Association board meetings. Under HB 2761,
board meetings must be open to property owners,
subject to the board’s right to reconvene in executive
session to consider certain actions. This does not apply
to associations subject to state open meetings laws.

Any decision made in an executive session must be
summarized orally and placed in the meeting minutes.
The association’s board must keep a record of each
meeting. Association members must be given notice of
meetings according to specific timelines and conditions.
The association board also must call an annual meeting
of all members.

Resale certificates. HOAs are required under HB
1821 to provide owners with written notice of their
right to receive resale certificates. A buyer must pay fees
for a resale certificate to the association unless the buyer
and seller agree otherwise. The association may not
process a payment for a certificate until it is available
for delivery and may not charge a fee if the certificate is
not provided within a certain timeline.

Supporters said

Revising HOA practices as proposed would
resolve many HOA-related issues that have arisen
repeatedly in personal stories, news reports, lawsuits,
legislative committee hearings, and other forums. Lack
of necessary state legislation restricting association
practices has allowed some bad actors to run roughshod
over the rights of a minority of unfortunate owners.
After many legislative sessions of attempting to adopt
meaningful reform, the need to enact legislation
implementing reforms is more pressing than ever.

The proposed legislation would present a
compromise that addressed abuses without adversely
affecting most associations. It would include meaningful
restrictions on associations’ powers of foreclosure,
establish the order for processing payments from
owners, strengthen provisions on open records and open
meetings, and prohibit an association from adopting
unreasonable restrictions on solar panels and other
devices.

Foreclosure. The proposals would bring greater
balance to the relationship between HOAs and
homeowners. In Texas, an association may execute
either judicial or nonjudicial foreclosure, depending
on its declaration. In a judicial foreclosure, the
association files a lawsuit and tries to get a judgment

House Research Organization

Page 85



against a property owner. In a nonjudicial foreclosure,
an association must provide notice to a homeowner
through certified mail, and if the homeowner does

not pay the assessments owed, the association may
auction the house for the amount of outstanding
assessments, without an order from a judge. As such,
many associations currently have powers of nonjudicial
foreclosure that are unavailable even to government
entities to collect delinquent property taxes. Removing
the ability to foreclose without a court order would help
address some of the most conspicuous abuses without
preventing legitimate foreclosures.

Payments to associations. Requiring associations to
offer payment plans and to apply payments received in a
prescribed order would address abuses of irresponsible
associations who use current loopholes to force
homeowners to pay fines first and would not interfere in
legitimate practices.

Restrictions on solar energy devices. The
proposals would help protect private homeowners’
rights by keeping HOAs from arbitrarily prohibiting
solar panels and would serve a larger public purpose
in promoting energy conservation and efficiency.
Homeowners should be encouraged to generate more
of the electricity that they use and should be able to
sell excess power back to the electricity grid. Solar
panels are part of a larger energy program to develop
new fuel mixtures and smart metering. The legislation
would create a fair and reasonable standard to allow a
homeowner to install solar energy devices or wind- and
hail-resistant shingles.

Voting practices. The proposed legislation would
address issues related to secret ballots. Secret voting
practices in some HOAs have caused problems with
forgery and other types of voting manipulation.
Disallowing secret ballots would add accountability to
each vote and allow associations to better enforce voting
practices.

The legislation would address abuses by some
associations that have adopted covenants to restrict
property owners who owe fines or assessments from
voting in elections or serving on an HOA board. Some
associations have even prevented certain property
owners from participating by fining them before an
election.

These practices would be banned by voiding any
covenant that barred a homeowner from voting or
serving on an HOA board, except a convicted felon.

Associations are abundantly equipped to collect
assessments; they can even foreclose on an owner for
outstanding assessments. Unfair sanctions, such as
barring an owner from voting, are unnecessary.

Opponents said

The proposed legislation is a troubling attempt
to modify the relationship between a property owner
and an HOA with state legislation. When an owner
purchases property within an association, he or
she enters into a voluntary contract to abide by the
association’s restrictive covenants. Defining these
covenants should be left to association boards and
bylaws, and any disputes over the covenants should
be resolved through existing processes — specifically,
through the right to file action in court. Legislative
interference, even if well intended, is likely to hinder
the great majority of associations that have amicable
relationships with property owners to target the small
minority with problems.

Foreclosure. The proposed legislation would
impose upon associations administrative burdens that
could lead to additional expenses for homeowners.
While notice requirements appear simple on paper, they
rarely are in practice. Some properties have multiple
lien holders — for instance, mechanics’ liens and liens
for home improvements — that can be challenging to
track down. The additional time required to track down
this information increases the period during which an
association is unable to collect assessments from a
delinquent homeowner.

Restrictions on solar energy devices. HOAs have
a vested interest in preserving the quality of life and
property values in their neighborhoods. While some
associations have made what appear to be arbitrary
decisions, most are willing to allow property owners to
install solar energy devices and other improvements as
long as they meet standards set in the deed restrictions.
Such choices are more properly made locally, and the
Legislature should not interfere.

Voting practices. The proposed legislation would
ban secret ballots in HOA elections, which could have
many unfortunate consequences. Secret ballots are used
in all major government elections and most private
surveys, and they are particularly important in smaller
elections, where the participants may know each other
personally. Removing anonymity could unduly influence
the vote of a person who knew his or her ballot would
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be identifiable and available for retrieval in association
records. Removing anonymity could generate fear of
retribution for a vote.

Notes

SB 142 by West was analyzed in Part One of the
May 24 Daily Floor Report.

HB 362 by Solomons was analyzed in the April 8
Daily Floor Report and was effective June 17, 2011.

HB 1228 by Dutton was analyzed in Part Two of
the May 6 Daily Floor Report and is generally effective
January 1, 2012.

HB 1821 by R. Anderson was analyzed in Part
Two of the May 4 Daily Floor Report and is effective
January 1, 2012.

HB 2761 by Garza was analyzed in Part Three of
the May 2 Daily Floor Report and is effective January
1,2012.

SB 101 by Van de Putte passed the House on the
Local and Consent Calendar on May 19 and was not
analyzed in a Daily Floor Report. It was effective
September 1, 2011.

SB 472 by West was analyzed in Part Two of
the May 24 Daily Floor Report and was effective
September 1, 2011.
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Requiring a sonogram before an abortion

HB 15 by S. Miller
Effective September 1, 2011
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HB 15 requires each abortion provider to perform
a sonogram on a woman seeking an abortion. The
sonogram must be performed at least 24 hours before
the abortion, or at least two hours beforehand if the
woman certifies that she lives at least 100 miles from
the nearest abortion facility. The physician must
provide verbal explanations of the images and the heart
auscultation, which must be made visible and audible to
the woman.

The woman may choose not to view the sonogram
images or hear the heart auscultation. She may choose
not to receive the verbal explanation of the images if she
certifies that she is a victim of rape or incest or a minor
receiving a judicial bypass for parental notification or
if the fetus has an irreversible medical condition or
abnormality.

The Texas Medical Board must take appropriate
disciplinary action against a physician who violates
these provisions, and must refuse to issue or renew a
license to any physician in violation.

Supporters said

HB 15 would help to ensure that a woman
considering abortion had access to all of the medical
information that could influence her decision. The bill
would provide women seeking abortions with the same
kind of medically accurate information applicable to
any surgical procedure, including risks and benefits. HB
15 would protect women’s health, ensuring that women
made informed decisions. A woman could choose not to
view the sonogram image if she desired.

Women should be able to change their minds
before having an abortion. Clinics often conduct only
perfunctory counseling sessions before abortions and
rush women through the process without ensuring that
they understand all of the information. Some women
say they would not have had abortions if they had
known more about the procedure and the development
of the unborn child. Informing a woman fully of her
unborn child’s gestational development could reduce
the number of abortions because it would demonstrate

more graphically the unborn child’s development and
humanity.

Sonograms and fetal heart auscultations are
educational aides that make it easier to understand
the abortion procedure. They can transcend language
barriers and potential educational and cultural
differences between a patient and physician, providing
an invaluable resource for the pregnant woman in
making a decision about abortion.

Performing a sonogram already is the standard of
care before an abortion procedure, and this bill would
only formalize that standard. It would create uniformity
so that all women could opt to view the sonogram.
Sonograms and fetal heart detection procedures are very
common diagnostic tools that have been proven safe and
effective.

HB 15 would be constitutionally sound. Under its
1992 Planned Parenthood v. Casey decision, the U.S.
Supreme Court said that because of the state’s profound
interest in potential life, it may take measures to ensure
that a woman’s choice is informed. Measures designed
to advance that interest are not invalid if their purpose is
to persuade women to choose childbirth over abortion.

Despite arguments that the bill could infringe on
the patient’s First Amendment rights, the bill would
allow the woman to leave at any time she chose, so
she would not be a “captive audience.” In instances
where a physician’s First Amendment rights could be
inhibited, deference is given to the health and safety of
the woman.

Opponents said

HB 15 is unnecessary because informed consent
already is required for all surgical procedures, including
abortion. This bill is based on the erroneous assumption
that women are making uninformed choices about this
profound medical decision. Most women already have
sonograms before abortions and can view the images.
The doctor, in consultation with the patient, should
determine whether the sonogram is necessary. The
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procedure should be based on medical need, not a state-
imposed mandate intended to discourage women from
exercising their constitutionally protected rights. The
bill could result in unnecessary or repeat sonograms.

Requiring a woman to have a sonogram before
an abortion would emotionalize a woman’s decision
inappropriately. Electing to end a pregnancy is a
difficult choice. This bill seeks to shame the woman for
her choice, not help her make an informed decision.

Requiring a woman to submit to a potentially
unwanted sonogram in order to receive another medical
procedure would create an undue burden on the exercise
of a liberty consistently affirmed by the U.S. Supreme
Court over nearly four decades as constitutionally
protected. Furthermore, the bill could violate the free
speech rights of patients and physicians by making the
patient a compelled listener and the doctor a compelled
speaker. Under the “captive audience” doctrine, the
listener cannot be forced to listen to speech in a private
setting. Physicians would become compelled speakers if
required to offer the verbal explanations.

Women could opt out of receiving the verbal
description of the sonogram images only if they
qualified for one of three exceptions. All women should
be able to opt out of the verbal description, not just
those who qualify under the limited exceptions.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 15 appeared in the March
3 Daily Floor Report.
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Banning smoking in certain public spaces

HB 670 by Crownover
Died in the House
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HB 670 would have prohibited smoking in certain
public spaces, workplaces, and outdoor events and
would have superseded any local ordinance or rule
unless the local provision was more restrictive.

The bill would have prohibited smoking in areas
such as restaurants, bars, shopping malls, and other
enclosed retail or service establishments; theaters,
convention facilities, sports arenas, and seating areas
at outdoor events; enclosed places of employment;
government buildings; public transportation facilities,
including ticketing and boarding areas; health care
facilities and licensed child and adult care providers;
and other common areas, including public restrooms,
lobbies, hallways, elevators, and reception areas.

Exemptions from the smoking ban would have
included: a private residence, except when used as
a child care, adult day care, or health care facility; a
nursing home or long-term care facility; a patio or
outdoor seating area of a bar or restaurant; a tobacco
shop or bar; a tobacco convention; a tobacco-related
business where the product was subject to manufacturer
testing; a private club that had no employees, was not
used for public functions, and was not established to
avoid compliance; and certain hotel or motel rooms
designated as smoking rooms.

Owners, operators, and managers would have had to
post conspicuous “no smoking” signs. The Department
of State Health Services (DSHS) would have had to
provide a continuing education program to explain
the smoking ban to employers, owners, operators, and
managers.

The bill would have required DSHS to enforce
the ban and would have authorized the department
or any other state agency or political subdivision to
inspect an establishment for compliance. A person
who violated the smoking ban would have committed
a class C misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum
$50 fine. An owner, manager, operator, or employer in
violation would have committed a class C misdemeanor
punishable by a maximum $100 fine or a maximum
$200 fine for a repeat offense within the past year.

Supporters said

HB 670 would improve public health and lower
health care costs in Texas. Tobacco use is the leading
cause of preventable deaths in the state, killing up to
25,000 Texans each year.

The bill would protect nonsmoking Texans from
the dangers of secondhand smoke. Secondhand smoke
kills about 53,000 nonsmoking Americans every year,
illustrating that smokers are not the only people affected
by tobacco use. All exposed individuals are more
likely to develop cancer and heart and lung disease.
People who work in bars and restaurants are exposed
to secondhand smoke at even higher levels than those
who work in offices. Individuals working at restaurants
where smoking is permitted are more likely than other
workers to die of lung cancer. Every Texan has a right
to be protected from toxic hazards at work, and HB
670 would help to ensure that workers in this state had
access to safe working conditions.

Most Texans working in bars and restaurants are
uninsured and receive lower wages, which makes it
difficult for them to access health care. They often wait
until the illness becomes more advanced and then seek
care in more expensive settings, such as emergency
rooms or hospitals, which shifts the costs to taxpayers or
to the insured through higher premiums. HB 670 would
save the state millions of dollars in health care costs by
preventing exposure to secondhand smoke.

HB 670 also could help businesses achieve
significant cost savings. Independent studies have
shown that the hospitality industry in cities with
comprehensive smoking bans has not been negatively
impacted. Studies conducted in Houston and El Paso
determined that the smoking ban had no adverse impact
on bars, restaurants, or tourism. Businesses also could
experience reduced health care costs and cleaning costs.

HB 670 would not infringe upon the liberty of
others because it would not prohibit individuals from
smoking. It simply would ask them to step outside to
avoid harming the health of others.
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Opponents said

HB 670 would expand government excessively
and set a dangerous precedent for banning legal activity
in public. Tobacco is a legal product that millions of
Americans choose to enjoy. The bill would violate the
rights of individuals and business property owners.

The bill would harm small businesses, particularly
restaurant and bar owners. Some businesses have noted
significant drops in business after smoking ordinances
were implemented. This economic burden also impacts
the staff of restaurants and bars, who rely heavily on
tips. In addition, many bars and restaurants have spent
large amounts of money to install air filtration systems
as a response to restrictive smoking ordinances. These
systems are expensive, and their costs cannot be
recovered.

HB 670 also would reduce the charitable revenue
generated through bingo parlors. Surveys conducted in

bingo halls have revealed that most players are smokers.

The implementation of local smoking ordinances in
Dallas closed several bingo parlors, and the charitable
organizations never recovered.

Notes

HB 670 was placed on the General State Calendar
for May 10, but died in the House when no action
was taken. The smoking ban was added on the House
floor as an amendment by Rep. Crownover to SB 1811
by Duncan, which passed the House on May 21. The
conference committee report for SB 1811, which the
House adopted on May 29 but which died in the Senate
when no vote was taken, did not include the Crownover
amendment.

The HRO analysis of HB 670 appeared in the May
10 Daily Floor Report.
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Medicaid managed care, other health care changes

SB 7 by Nelson, First Called Session
Effective September 28, 2011
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SB 7 makes numerous changes to laws governing
the administration of health care in Texas. The bill
contains measures designed to expand the managed
care model for Medicaid and establishes a statutory

framework for health care collaboratives. It implements

vaccine immunization policies for certain workers,
specifies a structure for distributing state family
planning funding, limits provider participation in the
Women’s Health Program, abolishes the State Kids
Insurance Program (SKIP), and establishes a grant
program for emergency and trauma care education.

Medicaid managed care and cost containment.
SB 7 repeals a prohibition against health maintenance
organizations (HMOs) providing Medicaid services
in certain South Texas counties. It also outlines
requirements for contracts between managed care
organizations and the Health and Human Services
Commission (HHSC) and for contractual agreements
involving pharmacy benefit managers.

The bill directs HHSC to adopt Medicaid
copayments to encourage personal accountability,
provide incentives to physicians to reduce Medicaid
recipients’ use of hospital emergency rooms for
nonurgent conditions if it is determined to be cost
effective, use technology to suppress Medicaid fraud,
and develop a process for objectively assessing
Medicaid recipients’ needs for acute nursing services.
SB 7 also creates the Medicaid and CHIP Quality-
Based Payment Advisory Committee to make
recommendations to HHSC about cost-savings
initiatives, including quality-based payment systems.

HHSC must seek a waiver from the federal
government to implement changes to the state’s
administration of Medicaid. For an analysis of the
Medicaid reform waiver, see page 101.

Restrictions for immigrants. SB 7 allows hospitals

to recover health care costs from the sponsors of legal
permanent residents and requires HHSC to verify the
immigration status of applicants for public benefits
programs. HHSC may seek reimbursement from the
applicants’ sponsors to the extent allowed by federal
law, if it is cost effective.

Family planning funding. SB 7 establishes a
tiered structure for distributing state funding to family
planning providers, so that providers offering solely
family planning services without comprehensive
primary care services are last in line to receive funding.
Money spent for the Women’s Health Program also
may not be used to contract with entities or affiliates of
entities that perform abortions. The bill eliminates state
funding for hospital districts that use tax revenue for
abortions. For an analysis of family planning funding
issues during the 82nd Legislature, see page 99.

Health care collaboratives; quality and efficiency
measures. SB 7 creates the Texas Institute of Health
Care Quality and Efficiency to make recommendations
to the Legislature on how to improve health care quality
and data reporting and to support collaborative payment
and delivery systems.

The bill establishes rules to govern health care
collaboratives, which it defines as organizations of
physicians and other health care providers legally
structured to receive and distribute payments to
participating providers. Health care collaboratives,
which must be certified by the Texas Department of
Insurance (TDI), may contract with insurers. Each
collaborative has all the powers of a partnership,
association, corporation, or limited liability company.

Immunization policies for health care facilities.
SB 7 requires health care facilities to enact mandatory
immunization policies for workers with exposure
to patients. Each policy must require certain health
care workers to receive vaccines for certain diseases
but may grant exemptions for religious reasons.
Exemptions for certain medical conditions identified as
contraindications must be allowed.

New grant program. The bill establishes the Texas
Emergency and Trauma Care Education Partnership
Program to provide grants to partnerships between
hospitals and graduate nursing or medical education
programs seeking to increase training opportunities
in emergency and trauma care. The Texas Higher
Education Coordinating Board will administer the
program.
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Interstate Health Care Compact. SB 7 directs
Texas to join the Interstate Health Care Compact, which
would become operational only after achieving a two-
state membership and approval from the U.S. Congress.
For an analysis of the compact, see page 97.

Other provisions. The bill prohibits health insurers
from denying payment for chiropractic services if
the services are covered by the insurance policy
and within the scope of the chiropractor’s license. It
also requires the HHSC executive commissioner to
establish eligibility criteria for creating and operating
an autologous adult stem cell bank if it is deemed cost
effective.

Supporters said

SB 7 would significantly cut Medicaid costs by
expanding the managed care model. The fee-for-service
model is costlier than managed care, but its health
outcomes are not always better. Managed care has been
proven to increase quality efficiently by coordinating
care through HMOs and providing patients with access
to contracted provider networks. The bill would require
managed care organizations to demonstrate network
adequacy, thereby guaranteeing access to providers and
continued fulfillment of patients’ health care needs.
HHSC estimates that expanding the areas covered by
managed care would save millions in general revenue
for fiscal 2012-13.

The bill also would provide incentives to providers
to discourage clients from going to the emergency
room for nonurgent visits, which is considerably
more expensive. SB 7 would further permit HHSC
to experiment with cost-saving pilot programs that
improve health outcomes.

By allowing HHSC to recoup the costs of care
from the sponsors of legal permanent residents, the bill
would enforce the sponsor agreement. Agreeing to act
as a sponsor implies a willingness to assume financial
responsibility for the legal resident. While some
legal permanent residents may meet the low income
eligibility criteria for public benefit programs, their
sponsors may have the income and resources to pay for
care.

The bill’s provisions related to health care
collaboratives would improve health outcomes and
reduce costs. Currently, physicians and hospitals cannot

receive payment as a group without fear of violating
state and federal antitrust regulations. SB 7 would allow
health care providers to organize within a certified
collaborative and thereby accept alternative payments.
The bill also would establish a state action doctrine to
allow Texas to overcome federal antitrust barriers. There
is bipartisan consensus among state leaders that the bill
contains sufficient safeguards to prevent anticompetitive
behavior. The bill would give providers flexibility to
work together to improve health care outcomes and
reduce costs. It would not mandate any particular model
of health care.

In requiring health care facilities to adopt vaccine
policies, the bill would mandate exemptions for workers
with contraindications and would allow exemptions
for religious beliefs. Facilities could create their own
policies, rather than having specific restrictions imposed
on them by the state.

Opponents said

This bill would require more Medicaid recipients to
be placed at the mercy of managed care organizations
(MCOs), which restrict access to providers and limit
patients’ ability to choose providers that meet their
individual health needs. The bill could harm provider
participation by allowing MCOs to set provider rates.
Low Medicaid provider rates already have reduced the
number of physicians serving Medicaid clients. Forcing
physicians into MCOs could jeopardize low-income
individuals’ access to care, contribute to poor health
outcomes for this population, and increase costs to the
state.

The bill’s immigrant-related provisions would
reduce the enrollment of people who genuinely qualified
for public benefit programs because they would be
intimidated and confused by the process while dealing
with their own ill health. This would discourage people
from seeking care early, forcing them to wait until a
medical condition became critical and to seek care in
more expensive settings, such as emergency rooms, with
the costs passed on to the local community.

SB 7 would unnecessarily expand government
and not necessarily reduce costs. In fact, it could raise
costs if, despite government oversight, health care
collaboratives fostered higher payments for health
care providers. The bill could deprive consumers
of the benefits of competition by immunizing these
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collaboratives from antitrust laws. The bill should
include more prescriptive provisions on the antitrust
oversight authority of TDI and the attorney general.

SB 7 would force certain health care workers into
taking invasive vaccines, potentially against their will.
Workers would have to choose between their jobs
and these injections. By allowing, but not requiring,
exemptions for religious reasons, the bill would not go
far enough. Individuals should not be forced out of their
jobs because of their religious beliefs. Finally, the list
of contraindications warranting exemption is limited
and could force a vaccine on someone despite health
concerns.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 7 appeared in the June 8
Daily Floor Report.
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Adopting the Interstate Health Care Compact

SB 7 by Nelson, First Called Session/HB 5 by Kolkhorst, First Called Session

Effective September 28, 2011
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SB 7, the omnibus health care act, adopts the
Interstate Health Care Compact and directs Texas to
join the compact with other states to secure from the
federal government primary responsibility to regulate
health care and improve health care policy. The compact
becomes effective when joined by at least two states and
approved by the U.S. Congress.

Texas, as a member state, will be able to suspend
by legislation the operation of all federal laws, rules,
and regulations that are inconsistent with the state’s
health care laws and regulations under the compact.
Federal laws and regulations will remain in effect unless
suspended, and Texas will have to fund any federal
health care law or rule remaining in effect. Texas will
have the right to federal money up to an amount equal
to its federally funded mandatory health care spending
in fiscal 2010 and adjusted to account for changes in
population and inflation.

The Interstate Advisory Health Care Commission
will collect information to assist member states in
health care regulation and to share with the member
states’ legislatures. Its membership will be determined
by each member state and funded as agreed to by the
member states. As a member state, Texas will be unable
to appoint more than two members. The state will be
allowed to withdraw membership at any time.

Member states by unanimous agreement will be
able to amend the compact. The withdrawal of any state
will not take effect until six months after the governor
of the state has informed the other member states.

Supporters said

Federal health care requirements are driving
unsustainable state expenditures that are “breaking the
bank” of Texas and other states. Medicaid spending has
grown by more than 170 percent over the last decade.
State spending will grow exponentially when federal
health care reform takes effect and another 2.1 million
Texans become eligible for Medicaid by 2019. Medical
inflation is outpacing population growth. Texas must
wrest control of health care spending and chart its own

course to better respond to its unique demographic,
geographic, and economic characteristics. A health care
compact between Texas and at least one other state
would allow this.

The U.S. Constitution authorizes interstate
compacts, and more than 200 now help states address
issues such as transportation, supervision of former
prisoners, and low-level radioactive waste disposal.
Although Congress would have to enact a law to
consent to the compact, no other legislation would
be needed. Approval of the Washington Metropolitan
Area Transit Authority compact shows precedent for
approving a compact that allows suspension of certain
federal laws.

An interstate compact would preserve federalism
by allowing each member state to create a health care
system aligned with its needs, and Texas could withdraw
from the compact at any time. Federal Medicaid
requirements are a “one-size-fits-all” approach with
little room for innovation. Texas could choose which
federal programs to suspend and could keep popular
programs, such as Medicare, if it were warranted. While
seniors have paid into Medicare through payroll taxes,
it also is funded by other tax revenue, and the compact
would allow Texas to ensure that all Medicare spending
was appropriate and in Texans’ best interests. Options
would include contracting with the federal agency that
now administers Medicare to assure program continuity.

The bill would ensure adequate federal funding
to meet changing capacity and service needs because
the compact would calibrate Texas’ share of federal
funding to account for population growth and inflation.
With 2010 as a baseline year, federal funding would
be pegged to the year when Texas enjoyed its highest
federal matching rate for Medicaid due to federal
stimulus funding.

Congress is too distant and gridlocked to regulate
issues as personal as health care. These issues should
be handled by Texans, for Texans. The continually
soaring U.S. deficit calls into question the reliability of
any future federal funding and the wisdom of relying
on the federal government for health care spending or
solutions.
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Fears that the compact would reduce access to safe,
quality health care in Texas compared to other states are
unwarranted. Member states would pledge to improve
health care policy within their jurisdictions. The bill also
would require states’ federal funding to be audited by
the U.S. Government Accountability Office.

Congress would have trouble saying no to a
compact enacted by several states. Legislatures in many
more states are considering participation in the compact.
Georgia, Oklahoma, and Missouri already have adopted
it. At the very least, enactment of this bill by Texas and
other states would require Congress to better address
states’ demands for more control. State demands were
critical in reforming welfare programs in the 1990s.

Opponents said

Rising state health care expenditures are largely
related to population growth, health status, aging, and
emerging new technologies and therapies. Increased
health spending is nothing new and typically has
outpaced economic growth since the 1960s. The
interstate compact would not slow these trends. Texas
has continually implemented reforms to contain
Medicaid costs, so participation in the compact simply
would kick low-income people out of much-needed,
federally supported health care programs.

The bill would not require Texas to build capacity
to meet population needs and would not guarantee that
Texas had a better health care system or maintained
eligibility standards. Medicaid eligibility in Texas is
among the lowest in the country, and at least 6 million
Texans lack health insurance.

Under the compact’s funding scheme, Texas would
lack the financial resources to improve services or keep
eligibility levels. It would lock Texas’ federal funds at
a 2010 level, adjusting only for growth and inflation,
so any increased capacity would be financed solely
by state dollars. Texas’ current Medicaid expenditures
fall far below the national average, so it would receive
less initial funding relative to other states. The funding
formula would cause Texas to lose about $120 billion in
new federal funds related to health care reform.

This bill also could jeopardize Medicare, a crucial
health care support for seniors of all income levels.
Texas should not tamper with Medicare coverage,
which people earn during their working years. Keeping
Medicare a federally run program will help seniors

maintain a similar quality of care regardless of where
they move within the country.

The governor of Arizona wisely vetoed that state’s
compact bill, citing a likelihood that the state’s citizens,
especially seniors, would suffer as a result of it. The
governor of Montana vetoed a bill seeking to adopt
the compact, stating that it was “a frivolous measure
that does nothing at best, and at worst puts seniors,
Montanans with disabilities, and children at risk.”

Interstate compacts do not replace or nullify federal
law, but are designed to facilitate states’ interactions in
common regulatory activities. An interstate compact
has never been used for health care. It is unclear
whether Congress could consent to this compact without
passing legislation authorizing states to suspend federal
law and whether Texas could withdraw unilaterally
from a congressionally approved compact without
congressional approval.

Suspending federal health care laws could endanger
public health and lower health care standards in Texas
compared to other states. Federal regulations provide
equal access to health care for all U.S. citizens and
often are needed to check lapses in state regulation or
enforcement.

This bill is more a political and symbolic exercise
against recent federal actions than a realistic way of
addressing our health care expenditures. Congress is
unlikely to approve a compact that would require it to
give money to states without directing its spending.
The Legislature directs all spending of state tax dollars
because it is the prudent and fiscally responsible way
to manage money, and Congress should be expected
to act similarly. There is no reason to believe that state
lawmakers would be more fiscally responsible than
members of the U.S. House or Senate.

Notes

The health care compact was introduced as HB 5
by Kolkhorst, which passed the House during the 82nd
Legislature’s first called session but died in the Senate.
Provisions establishing the compact were added as an
amendment by Rep. Kolkhorst to SB 7 on the House
floor and included in the final version. During the
regular session, the House also approved the compact by
passing HB 5 by Kolkhorst, which died in the Senate.

The HRO analysis of HB 5 appeared in the June 15
Daily Floor Report.
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Family planning funding; Women’s Health Program

SB 7 by Nelson, First Called Session/HB 1 by Pitts/SB 1854 by Deuell
Effective September 28, 2011/Effective September 1, 2011/Died in the Senate
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The appropriate use of state funding for family
planning services formed the basis for numerous bills
and amendments to bills during the regular and first
called sessions. The 82nd Legislature continued the
Women’s Health Program (WHP), which provides
state funding for family planning, and kept intact
the prohibition against using WHP funds for entities
or affiliates of entities that perform abortions. The
Legislature also prescribed a method of distribution for
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) family
planning funding that places providers who focus solely
on family planning last in line for any appropriation.
State funding for hospital districts that use tax revenue
to finance abortions also was prohibited.

SB 1854 would have continued the WHP, which
was scheduled to expire on September 1, 2011.
The WHP provides physical examinations, health
screenings, and contraceptives and family planning
services to women whose income and family size places
them at 185 percent of federal poverty guidelines (the
level at which they would be eligible for Medicaid if
they were pregnant).

The bill would have continued the WHP
until September 1, 2016, with the same eligibility
requirements and services. It would have retained
prohibitions against WHP funds being used to perform
abortions and against the Health and Human Services
Commission (HHSC) contracting under the program
with entities or affiliates of entities that performed
abortions. HHSC would have had to stop operating
the program if a court struck down the program’s
restrictions on the use of funds for abortion providers.
The bill would have prohibited a state employee from
refusing to comply with abortion-related restrictions if
the employee believed they were unconstitutional.

HB 1, the general appropriations act, includes rider
62 in the HHSC section, which requires the commission
to continue providing services under the WHP,
effectively continuing the program.

SB 7, the omnibus health care act, requires HHSC
to ensure that state money spent for the WHP or a
successor program not be used to contract with entities

that perform or promote abortions or with affiliates of
entities that do so, as under current law.

SB 7 requires money appropriated to DSHS for
family planning services to be awarded in order of
priority first to public entities that provide family
planning services, including community clinics and
federally qualified health centers. Funding must
be awarded second to nonpublic entities providing
comprehensive primary and preventive care services
along with family planning services, and last to
nonpublic entities providing family planning services
without comprehensive primary and preventive care
services. DSHS must ensure that family planning
funding is distributed in a way that does not severely
impair access to services in any region. Like the WHP,
DSHS programs provide low-income people with
basic health screenings, prescription contraception, and
treatment for sexually transmitted diseases. The primary
difference between the WHP and the DSHS family
planning programs is that WHP requires recipients to be
U.S. citizens, while the DSHS programs do not.

SB 7 also prohibits state funding for hospital
districts that use tax revenue to finance abortions. An
exception is permitted for medical emergencies. The
board of Central Health in Travis County, the only
hospital district in Texas that used tax revenue to finance
abortions, has since voted to discontinue this practice.
Central Health used a small portion of its budget to
provide abortions for low-income women.

Supporters said

SB 1854 would deliver critical health services to
women within parameters appropriate for the state.
The WHP would continue to provide health screenings
and family planning services to improve the overall
health of low-income women by preventing unwanted
pregnancies, halting the spread of sexually transmitted
diseases, and providing early detection of breast and
cervical cancers.

The program would save taxpayer money because
the federal government would provide a nine-to-one
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funding match for the program, ensuring that Texas
did not leave any “money on the table.” Allowing the
program to expire would raise costs for the state because
the low-income women losing access to its family
planning services would experience more unplanned
pregnancies that would be eligible for Medicaid
coverage. Medicaid already pays for about half of

the pregnancies in the state. At the same time, the bill
would enforce and strengthen current requirements
that prohibit taxpayer money from supporting abortion
providers or their affiliates.

The tiered funding structure for family planning
services prescribed by SB 7 would ensure that state
funds were distributed most fairly to the most qualified
providers. The bill would keep the funding structure
consistent with the one prescribed by the general
appropriations act and would ensure that clients received
access to the most comprehensive care possible.

SB 7 would ensure that any funds for the WHP
or a similar program could not be used to support
entities that affiliated with abortion providers, as under
current law. The bill would further sever any remaining
relationship between public funds and abortion by
halting state funding to hospital districts that use tax
revenue for abortions.

Opponents said

The WHP is vitally important to the health and
well-being of low-income women and their children.
However, continuing the abortion-related restrictions
would limit the number of providers under the program
and thereby limit access and enrollment. This would
effectively increase the rate of unwanted pregnancies
and abortions. Keeping these restrictions would ensure
that otherwise qualified family planning providers who
happened to affiliate with abortion providers could not
participate in this valuable program.

The tiered funding structure for family planning
services would make it more difficult for nonpublic
entities that primarily performed family planning
services, such as Planned Parenthood, to obtain state
funding and continue to serve family planning clients.
Patients who depend on such services through certain
providers could lose access to needed services. The
tiered structure would base funding not on capacity to
serve clients, but on type of provider, which would only
ensure that fewer clients received services.

The ban on state funding for hospital districts that
perform abortions would deny the legally protected
right to choose abortion to low-income women in Travis
County. Each district should be able to exercise local
control and decide how best to spend its tax revenue.

Notes

SB 1854 was reported favorably, as substituted,
by the Senate Health and Human Services Committee,
but died in the Senate after being placed on the Intent
Calendar for May 19.

The HRO analysis of HB 1 appeared in
State Finance Report 82-4, CSHB 1: The House
Appropriations Committee s Proposed Budget for Fiscal
2012-13, March 31, 2011. The HRO analysis of SB 7
appeared in the June 8 Daily Floor Report.
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Obtaining a Medicaid reform waiver

SB 7 by Nelson, First Called Session/HB 13 by Kolkhorst, First Called Session

Effective September 28, 2011
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SB 7, the omnibus health care bill, requires the
Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
to seek a waiver from federal Medicaid requirements
and modifications in the federal funding formula. The
objectives of the waiver are to:

e provide flexibility in income eligibility and
benefit design;

e encourage the use of private versus public
health benefits;

e create a culture of shared financial responsibility
by establishing copayments for eligible people
and by promoting health savings accounts and
vouchers;

e consolidate related federal funding streams,
including funds from the disproportionate
share hospitals and the upper payment limit
supplemental payment programs;

e allow flexibility in using state funds to draw
federal matching funds;

e empower uninsured people to purchase health
coverage by promoting cost-effective models
using a sliding scale and fees for service; and

e allow the redesign of long-term care services
and supports to increase access to patient-
centered care.

In pursuing federal funding modifications, HHSC
must work with the Texas delegation to the U.S.
Congress and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS) and other federal agencies to achieve
a federal match formula accounting for population size
and growth and the percentage of people below the
federal poverty level. HHSC also must try to obtain
additional federal Medicaid funding for services for
illegal immigrants.

An eight-member Medicaid Reform Waiver
Legislative Oversight Committee will facilitate the
waiver design and the transition from the current system
to a new one. The committee must submit a report to
the lieutenant governor and the speaker by November
15, 2012, identifying issues related to the transition and
the effectiveness and impact of recommended Medicaid
changes.

The committee and the requirements to seek federal
funding modifications will be abolished on September 1,
2013.

Supporters said

SB 7 would help maintain health care coverage
for needy Texans by requiring the state to request a
federal waiver to allow Medicaid funds to be used
more efficiently and comprehensively. Medicaid is
the fastest-growing item in the state budget. If it is not
fixed, the state will have to impose a significant tax hike
or make deeper cuts to provider rates to compensate for
escalating costs. Many states, including Rhode Island,
Vermont, and Washington state, have requested waivers
to deliver care in ways that best fit their states’ needs.
SB 7 would allow Texas to join their ranks.

The bill would direct HHSC to apply for a federal
waiver giving the state five years to demonstrate a
successful transition to a block grant system that
allowed more flexibility in the Texas Medicaid program.
The waiver would give the state more control over
program design and encourage the uninsured to seek
coverage in the private market through subsidies.

It would improve Medicaid and prevent waste by
introducing copayments and creating a culture of
personal responsibility and accountability.

SB 7 would encourage greater provider participation
for low-income Texans because more people would
be served in the private health insurance market. The
state currently lacks enough doctors willing to accept
patients under Medicaid because the reimbursement
rate for providers is too low. Reimbursement rates
would be higher in the private market, and this should
increase the number of participating physicians.
Many Texans are enrolled in Medicaid because of
low income, not because of chronic illness, and they
could be better served in the private market. By
transitioning individuals to a private health insurance
model, recipients would have greater access to care and
experience better health outcomes.
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The language of the bill is deliberately broad to give
the state congressional delegation greater negotiating
power with the federal government and ensure that
Texas receives the best deal possible. Fears that the state
could deny coverage or reduce the income threshold are
baseless because the federal guidelines for eligibility
and maintenance of effort still would apply to any
waiver negotiated.

Opponents said

SB 7 contains overly general language that would
not guarantee the level of care provided to low-income
and chronically ill Texans. If the Texas Medicaid
program received the necessary federal waiver, the state
would receive a fixed amount of funding for five years
that would not increase based on inflation or population
growth. Texas would not be assured additional funds to
cover increased caseloads if an economic downturn or
natural disaster occurred.

The Medicaid waiver in SB 7 could dramatically
reduce the populations covered under Texas Medicaid.
Because the federal government does not currently
require a waiver for Texas to change the eligibility
criteria to increase coverage for the state’s more than 6
million uninsured people, it can only be assumed that
any waiver would seek to lower the income threshold
and deny coverage to Texans for some programs and
services.

SB 7 would burden poor families and the
chronically ill with additional health care expenses,
delay treatment, and increase costs. Medicaid and the
Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) serve
children and very low-income people who often have
other medical conditions, including pregnant women,
the elderly, and the disabled. The federal government
established guidelines to prevent denial of coverage
or imposition of copayments for enrollees below the
poverty threshold ($22,350 per year for a family of
four). This ensures access to care to prevent major
illnesses and high health care expenditures. The bill
could discourage these recipients from seeking care
until it was urgently needed.

SB 7 would place chronically ill and very low-
income Texans at the mercy of the unregulated
individual insurance market. The costs of health
coverage and treatment are escalating faster in the
private market than in Medicaid. Premiums for
individual insurance plans typically are costlier than
employer-based coverage, and customers commonly

experience sharp rate hikes each year. Pushing
Medicaid recipients into a voucher system would not
guarantee purchase of the coverage or the ability of the
private insurance plan to meet their health care needs.
Given that most Texas Medicaid recipients receive
care through a managed care organization, which

is effectively a private health insurance model, this
provision seems unnecessary and redundant.

Notes

Requirements to seek a waiver from federal
Medicaid requirements and modifications in the federal
funding formula also were included in HB 13 by
Kolkhorst during the 82nd Legislature’s first called
session. HB 13 passed the House on June 14 but died in
the Senate. The provisions of HB 13 were added as an
amendment to SB 7 on the House floor.

The HRO analysis of HB 13 appeared in the June 9
Daily Floor Report.
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Performance-based funding for higher education

HB 9 by Branch
Effective June 17, 2011
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HB 9 requires the Texas Higher Education
Coordinating Board, in devising and establishing
base formula funding recommendations for public
institutions of higher education, to incorporate the goals
identified in the long-range statewide plan into the
agency’s funding recommendations to the Legislature.
The coordinating board must evaluate certain student
success measures, such as degree completion rates,
and align student outcomes with the state’s educational
goals.

For general academic teaching institutions other
than a public state college, the success measures may
include the number of bachelor’s degrees awarded in
general and in critical fields, the number of bachelor’s
degrees awarded to at-risk students, and the six-year
graduation rate of undergraduate students who initially
enrolled in the fall semester immediately following
high school graduation as compared to the six-year
graduation rate predicted for those students based on the
composition of the institution’s student body.

For junior colleges, state colleges, and technical
institutes, the success measures may include such
academic progress measures as the successful
completion of developmental mathematics and English
courses, the number of associate’s and bachelor’s
degrees awarded, and the number of certificates awarded
for various programs.

No more than 10 percent of the total general
revenue appropriations of base funds to general
academic teaching institutions for undergraduate
education may be based on the success measures. The
coordinating board must make recommendations for
incorporating the success measures into the distribution
of performance incentive funds to general academic
teaching institutions. The coordinating board also must
compare the effects on funding of applying the success
measures within the base funding formula to applying
the measures as a separate formula.

The coordinating board must submit to the Joint
Oversight Committee on Higher Education Governance,
Excellence, and Transparency a report that reviews
best practices on improving student success outcomes

and other higher education administrative issues by
September 30, 2011, and subsequently by July 1, 2012.

Supporters said

HB 9 would use state fiscal policy to promote
college completion. With state resources limited, it is
more important than ever to demand more value from
tax dollars invested in higher education. It makes sense
to distribute formula funding in ways that recognize
gains in both outcomes and enrollment. Higher
education funding formulas essentially have rewarded
colleges and universities for credit-hour enrollment,
with little accountability for results. The current funding
model for public higher education is not aligned with
state needs and goals. The state has increased annual
degree production since 2000, but too many students are
falling through the cracks at too high a cost.

According to the coordinating board, two-thirds of
enrollees in post-secondary education in 2003 failed to
graduate in 2009. Texas ranks third in state resources
spent on first-year dropouts — $470.5 million over a
five-year period. The latest progress report says that
Texas must produce about 46,000 more degrees each
year to reach the 2015 goal for success. The state needs
to make the most progress among at-risk students and to
graduate more students in critical fields, such as science,
technology, engineering, and math.

Because two-year institutions have different
challenges, the bill would contemplate a separate set
of metrics, commonly called “momentum points,” to
measure successful outcomes. Instead of focusing only
on graduations, academic progress measures also would
be recognized. Other states are moving toward this
model, including Washington, Indiana, and Ohio.

Claims that outcomes-based funding would create
an incentive to close college doors to certain students
who might be an academic gamble are unfounded. HB 9
would provide institutions an additional opportunity to
gain funding by introducing student success measures
into the formula. One metric specifically would
require the coordinating board to include in its formula
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recommendations the graduation of at-risk students.
This would incentivize schools to accept and graduate
students who had great barriers to achieving their
educational goals.

Opponents said

While the state should promote student success,
now is not the time to incorporate outcomes-based
funding as part of higher education funding, when
institutions already are experiencing shrinking state
support. Any portion of funding dedicated to outcomes-
based funding should be in addition to base-level
funding and not carved out of existing funding levels.
Dedicating a portion of an already decreased level of
state appropriations to outcomes-based funding could
cause institutions to lose state support. Institutions
could not sustain any hold-back of state appropriations
for the use of performance-based funding. This would
be especially true for the state’s community colleges.
Other states, like Washington, use a similar approach to
funding community colleges, but the funding model is
used as incentive funding over and above base formula
funding and does not supplant state funding.

Outcomes-based funding could produce unintended
consequences, such as an institution’s closing the doors
to certain students who could be an academic gamble,
which would reduce access, or giving grades to students
they had not earned because of the financial pressure to
meet the benchmarks.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 9 appears in the May 12
Daily Floor Report.
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Academic standards priority for TEXAS grants

SB 28 by Zaffirini
Effective September 1, 2011
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SB 28 cstablishes new standards for awarding
TEXAS grants to first-time entering students and
requires institutions to give first-priority consideration
to students who meet some combination of the new
requirements. Beginning with the 2013-14 academic
year, in determining who should receive an initial
award, general academic teaching institutions must
give highest priority to students who have the lowest
expected family contribution and meet the new criteria.
Institutions with funds remaining after the priority
awards must give TEXAS grants to other students who
meet the minimum requirements, including having the
greatest financial need.

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
must ensure that an institution’s share of funds for
TEXAS grants does not change due to the new priority
criteria. The bill prohibits the board from setting an
estimated family contribution cap for initial eligibility
higher than 60 percent of the average statewide tuition
and fees at general academic teaching institutions.

To receive highest priority in the selection of initial
award recipients, a student graduating on or after May
1, 2013, will be eligible if he or she completes the
recommended high school program or its equivalent
and accomplishes at least any two of the following four
criteria:

e graduates under the advanced high school
program or its equivalent, successfully
completes course requirements of the
international baccalaureate diploma program,
or earns at least 12 college credits;

e meets the Texas Success Initiative (TSI)
college-readiness thresholds or qualifies for a
TSI exemption;

e graduates in the top one-third of the student’s
graduating class or with at least a 3.0 GPA on a
four-point scale; or

e completes a high school advanced math course
beyond Algebra II or at least one advanced
career and technical course.

Students who do not meet any two of the above four
criteria must have an associate’s degree or, if sufficient
funding is available, meet the minimum initial eligibility

requirements of graduating high school with the
recommended high school program. All TEXAS grant
recipients must have financial need.

Eligible students entering military service may
retain TEXAS grant eligibility for the year after their
honorable discharge if they enroll for at least a three-
fourths course load. The bill establishes ongoing
eligibility for students whose initial year of eligibility
coincides with a year when the Legislature funds less
than 10 percent of initial TEXAS grants. These students
will retain eligibility for an initial award through
attainment of their undergraduate degree.

The coordinating board must provide the TEXAS
Grant Legislative Oversight Committee with annual
reports with program statistics on awards allocated,
including by race and ethnicity and expected family
contribution; students meeting eligibility criteria; and
graduation rates of grant recipients.

Supporters said

SB 28 would prioritize TEXAS grant awards to
students who have proven readiness to handle college-
level work. TEXAS grants would continue to reach the
state’s neediest students, and institutions’ TEXAS grant
allocations would be unaffected. SB 28 would change
only how universities disburse the grant funds. The bill
would apply to general academic teaching institutions,
leaving disbursement of awards to community and
technical colleges unchanged.

Implementing the TEXAS grant priority model
would be a powerful incentive to prepare students for
college. It would increase minority graduation rates and
the productivity of degree completion without spending
extra funds. The current six-year graduation rate for
TEXAS grant recipients is about 47 percent. With
the targeting of better-prepared students, graduation
outcomes would increase significantly.

Ideally, the TEXAS grant program would be
fully funded for all eligible students. But state budget
constraints mandate efficiency with limited state dollars
and allocation of the grants to the financially needy
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high school students whose academic preparation has
prepared them well to complete their college degrees.

The current allocation model is based mostly on
financial need and provides no preference for students
who have earned academic distinction in high school,
aside from graduating under the recommended high
school program and not having a felony or drug
conviction. The grants are awarded on a first-come,
first-served basis.

The bill’s provisions would not hurt low-income or
minority students. TEXAS grants still would be focused
on the most financially needy students, namely those
with an expected family contribution of $4,000 or less,
which is a family income of about $45,000 a year.

Claims that adding a college-readiness component
to eligibility requirements would negatively impact
minority students are unfounded. The college-readiness
criteria would be available statewide. State law requires
all school districts to offer students an opportunity to
earn at least 12 hours of college credit. The most recent
data from the Texas Education Agency for the 2009-

10 academic year indicate that at least 85 percent of
Texas high schools surveyed offered the opportunity for
earning college credit. All students attending a Texas
high school have the ability to earn a B average or be

in the top one-third of their class. Additionally, students
who do not meet the metric for the SAT or ACT can take
other exams that test college readiness.

All students attending state public high schools have
had to comply with the TSI since 2003 in order to enroll
in higher education. And more than 70 percent of fall
2009 first-time college students who were TEXAS grant
eligible and enrolled in Texas universities were deemed
college ready per the TSI.

Opponents said

If SB 28 were implemented, the pool of TEXAS
grant recipients would be less diverse. The number of
low-income students eligible for priority consideration
for a grant would be seriously impacted. Moving from
a financial-need model to a more merit-based one could
divert funds from students who have performed well
in high school and are equally deserving of financial
assistance but simply have lacked the advantages that
other students enjoy.

Students who are not high achievers because of
work demands or certain family situations, but who

otherwise are good students, would be overlooked by
the priority model. These are the students that the state
needs to push into the pipeline in order to close the gaps
in higher education.

It is unknown how SB 28 would affect various
communities around the state, especially ones with high
concentrations of low-income and minority students.
Not all public high schools in Texas are on a level
playing field because not all of the metrics that the bill
would require are offered at every high school. Only
about 85 percent offer opportunities to earn college-
level courses through dual credit and other similar
programs, so students in some parts of the state would
not have this opportunity.

The bill should require students to meet only one
of the four pathways for priority consideration instead
of two. If a student was missing the TSI evaluations for
college readiness, he or she might be excluded despite
meeting the GPA requirements.

Notes
The HRO analysis of the House companion bill,

HB 10 by Branch appeared in the April 6 Daily Floor
Report.
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Allowing guns on college campuses with license

SB 354 by Wentworth
Died in the Senate
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SB 354 would have amended Penal Code, sec.
46.03 to create an exception to the prohibition against
carrying a weapon at a public or private university or
college if the person held a concealed handgun license
1ssued under Government Code, ch. 411.

The bill would have amended Government Code,
ch. 411 to allow a concealed handgun license holder to
carry a gun while on the campus of a higher education
institution. The bill also would have prohibited a
college or university from adopting rules to prohibit
concealed handgun license holders from carrying their
guns, except to regulate the storage of handguns in
dormitories.

The bill would not have permitted a concealed
handgun license holder to carry a gun on the premises
of a hospital maintained or operated by a college or
university.

The bill also would have granted immunity to
state colleges and universities and their officers and
employees for the actions of a concealed handgun
license holder.

Supporters said

SB 354 would end an arbitrary line drawn around
college buildings prohibiting law-abiding concealed
handgun license holders from carrying weapons for
personal safety purposes. Despite its controversy, this
measure would make only a limited change to allow
weapons within campus buildings.

The change would not encourage heroic responses
to incidents such as the 2007 Virginia Tech massacre.
The provision would help provide security and a sense
of well-being in less dramatic situations than campus
shootings. Concealed handgun license holders might
want their weapons for personal protection when leaving
campus at night or traveling home. College campuses
should not be treated any differently than other public
places, such as office buildings, movie theaters, grocery
stores, shopping malls, and restaurants, where concealed

handguns can be carried legally. Violent criminals are
not deterred by these restrictions. Simply removing a
geographic barrier would not cause concealed handgun
license holders to act less responsibly or become less
law abiding.

This change would affect only adult students,
faculty, staff, and parent visitors and would not arm
large numbers of undergraduates. Concealed handgun
license holders must be at least 21, pass background
checks, and complete appropriate training. According
to Department of Public Safety (DPS) records, only
a small percentage of the concealed handgun licenses
issued in 2010 were granted to those 25 years of age or
younger. DPS also is authorized to take prompt action
to deny, suspend, or revoke concealed handgun licenses
and usually does so for administrative reasons unrelated
to safety violations or criminal activities.

SB 354 would not interfere with the ability of
colleges and universities to establish reasonable
restrictions on storing handguns in dormitories and other
residential housing owned by the schools. The bill also
would grant immunity to colleges and universities for
acts by concealed handgun license holders.

Prevention of violence and preparedness are not
mutually exclusive. In a perfect system, the two
safety approaches complement each other. Preventive
measures could include teaching students and faculty
to watch for the warning signs of mental illness and
providing counseling to disturbed students.

Opponents said

This bill would not make college campuses any safer
and actually could increase the risk of more violence.
The bill would solve a phantom problem. Statistically,
campuses are much safer than their surrounding cities.
According to a U.S. Department of Justice study, 93
percent of crimes committed against college students
from 1995 to 2002 occurred off campus. In fact, there
may be a counterintuitive relationship between personal
safety and carrying a weapon. A Harvard School of
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Public Health study on guns and gun threats at college
concluded that owning a gun for protection was a
predictor for being threatened with a gun.

While those under 25 years of age constitute only
a small percentage of people with concealed handgun
licenses, they represent a disproportionate number of
those who have their licenses denied, suspended, or
revoked.

Allowing concealed weapons on campus could
inhibit the free exchange of ideas and undermine the
basic educational mission of universities and colleges.
Unfortunately, conflicts can arise in classes, and
professors could be afraid to challenge students or grade
them poorly if they feared that students were armed.
Angry words in dormitories or student centers could
escalate into deadly encounters.

Current restrictions would not necessarily keep
potential campus killers from obtaining firearms or
even qualifying for concealed handgun licenses. Both
Seung-Hui Cho, the Virginia Tech shooter, and Charles
Whitman, the University of Texas tower gunman, were
older than 21 years and bought their weapons legally.

Other opponents said

Measures such as SB 354 would provide only
a symbolic response to a real problem on college
campuses caused by cutbacks in student mental health
services. Both Seung-Hui Cho, the Virginia Tech
shooter, and Jared Lee Loughner, accused of shooting
U.S. Rep. Gabrielle Giffords, had mental health issues
that caught the attention of higher education institution
mental health service providers. However, they slipped
through the cracks and failed to receive adequate
treatment before the incidents occurred. The Legislature
should focus on adequately funding mental health
services to address this problem.

Notes

SB 354 died when the Senate did not suspend the
regular order to consider the bill by the necessary two-
thirds vote. The Senate added an amendment with
language substantially similar to SB 354 to SB 5 by
Zaffirini, a bill to revise higher education administration
procedures, but the amendment was removed after
further consideration of SB 5 was postponed.

The Senate added a similar amendment to allow
concealed handgun license holders to carry their
weapons on college campuses to SB 1581 by Ogden,
the education fiscal matters bill. When the House
considered SB 1581, the speaker sustained a point of
order against the amendment on the grounds that it
caused the bill to violate the constitutional rule requiring
each bill to pertain to only one subject. The bill was sent
back to the Senate, where the campus gun amendment
was removed.

The HRO analysis of SB 1581, including the guns
on campus amendment, appeared in the May 18 Daily
Floor Report.
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Allowing parents to prohibit corporal punishment

HB 359 by Allen
Effective September 1, 2011

Table
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HB 359 allows parents to prohibit a school district
from using corporal punishment on their children.
Corporal punishment is defined as the deliberate
infliction of physical pain by hitting, paddling,
spanking, slapping, or any other physical force used
as a means of discipline. It does not include physical
pain caused by physical activity associated with athletic
training, competition, or physical education or the use of
restraint as permitted by current law. To prohibit the use
of corporal punishment on their children, parents must
provide written notice to the school each school year.
Parents may revoke this statement and opt back into the
use of corporal punishment by providing written notice
any time during the school year.

School districts must report electronically to the
Texas Education Agency information involving peace
officers who use restraint on students on school property
or during school-related activities.

HB 359 also exempts students in the sixth grade
and below from being prosecuted for the class C
misdemeanor offenses of intentionally disrupting
classes, school activities, or student transportation.
Students in the sixth grade and below are further exempt
from being prosecuted for certain disorderly conduct
constituting a class C misdemeanor if the conduct
occurred at a public school during regular school hours.

The bill applies beginning with the 2011-12 school
year.

Supporters said

HB 359 would preserve local control, protect
parental rights, and codify a definition of corporal
punishment. The bill no longer would permit a school
district’s code of conduct to supersede a parent’s right
to disallow the use of corporal punishment on his or her
child. Parental rights always should trump the rights and
decisions of a school district, especially when it relates
to corporal punishment.

The bill would preserve local control by permitting
a school district to include corporal punishment as a
means of discipline. School districts that permit corporal

punishment choose the disciplinary measure as a last
resort.

A codified definition of corporal punishment,
as defined in HB 359, would afford a uniform
understanding of what the disciplinary measure could
include and what would constitute “going too far.”

Opponents said

HB 359 would require parents to indicate each year
if they disapprove of corporal punishment, which is
unnecessary and impractical. The parent’s statement
should not have to be verified annually. A school
district should retain the discretion to require the annual
statement or not.

HB 359 includes too many prescriptive mandates
for school districts. State law should not require the
school district to submit reports pertaining to corporal
punishment.

Other opponents said

HB 359 should ban the use of corporal punishment
by school districts. Hitting is not punishment; it is
abuse. Allowing corporal punishment violates Title 9
of the Penal Code, which prohibits disorderly conduct,
public indecency, and harassment. Corporal punishment
is used disproportionally on minorities and has
negative effects on a student’s psyche, such as spurring
aggressive behavior or the desire to drop out of school.

Notes

The House committee version would have allowed
schools to use corporal punishment only on students
whose parents had provided written consent. The bill
was amended on the House floor to require parents
who wished to disallow the practice to submit written
statements of disapproval.

The HRO analysis of HB 359 appeared in Part
Three of the May 6 Daily Floor Report.
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End-of-course exams, graduation requirements

HB 500 by Eissler
Died in Senate Committee

Table
of Contents

HB 500 would have phased in new requirements for
earning a high school diploma according to a specified
transition plan. The bill would have reduced the number
of end-of-course exams that students had to pass.

Minimum graduation plan requirements. In order
to graduate under the minimum high school graduation
plan, a student would have had to meet or exceed the
score determined by the commissioner of education
on the end-of-course exams for English III; Algebra I;
biology, chemistry, or physics; and world geography,
world history, or U.S. history.

Recommended graduation plan requirements. In
order to graduate under the recommended high school
graduation plan, a student would have had to meet or
exceed the score determined by the commissioner on the
end-of-course exams for English III; Algebra II; biology,
chemistry, or physics; and world geography, world
history, or U.S. history.

Advanced graduation plan requirements. In
order to graduate under the advanced high school
graduation plan, a student would have had to meet or
exceed college readiness standards as defined by the
commissioner on the end-of-course exams for English
IIT and Algebra 11, and the score determined by the
commissioner on end-of-course exams for biology,
chemistry, or physics and world geography, world
history, or U.S. history.

Inclusion in the final grade for the course. The bill
would have removed the requirement that a high school
student’s grade on an end-of-course exam comprise 15
percent of his or her final course grade. School districts
would have had to adopt a policy addressing whether
or not a student’s end-of-course exam score would be
used to determine the student’s final course grade and,
if so, how it would do so. Policies developed by school
districts would have applied beginning with the 2011-12
school year.

The bill would have exempted a student in the fifth
or eighth grade from a grade-specific state assessment if
he or she was enrolled in a high school course for which
an end-of-course assessment would be given in the same

subject. A student’s promotion to the next grade level
could not have been denied based on failure to perform
satisfactorily on the end-of-course assessment.

Retesting requirements. The bill would have
eliminated the requirement that a student retake an end-
of-course exam for which he or she did not meet the
minimum score, instead making it optional. A student
who failed to perform satisfactorily under the college
readiness performance standard in Algebra II or English
III could have retaken the exam, but a student no longer
would have been allowed to retake an end-of-course
exam for any reason.

Reduced Assessment Requirements Pilot
Program. The bill would have established a pilot
program to reduce the assessment requirements for
students in grades three through eight on at least 20
campuses during the 2012-13 and 2013-14 school years.
The commissioner would have had to provide a report
evaluating the program’s success to the Legislature by
September 1, 2014.

Supporters said

HB 500 would reduce from 12 to four the number
of end-of-course exams a student had to pass to earn
a high school diploma. This would reduce the number
of high-stakes tests taken by students and decrease the
financial burden that state assessments place on school
districts. The bill instead would focus testing on English
IIT and Algebra 11, which are the only two courses that
consistently correlate with college readiness.

School district accountability. Since school
districts are held accountable for student performance,
they would continue to have an incentive not to allow
students to ignore the importance of end-of-course
exams.

Inclusion in the final course grade. The bill would
allow local school districts to use their discretion to
determine whether or not a student’s end-of-course
exam score would be included in the student’s final
course grade. Rather than imposing a rigid one-size-fits-
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all system, HB 500 would give districts the flexibility to
adapt their local policies to local needs in determining
how to count the end-of-course exam toward a student’s
final course grade. The transition period included in the
bill would give school districts the opportunity to gather
data to align their curricula with the end-of-course
exams.

Opponents said

HB 500 would abdicate the state’s commitment to
ensuring that all students graduate college or career
ready. By reducing the state’s expectations of public
school students, the changes in end-of-course exams
made by this bill would decrease the quality and value
of their education.

Students need the incentive that end-of-course exams
provide. It is rational to expect that all lessons will
culminate in comprehensive tests. The expectations of
foreign countries far exceed Texas’ expectations for its
students. Texas students deserve to be held to a standard
that will allow them to be competitive internationally.

School district accountability. The state has
only just begun to implement the provisions of HB 3
by Eissler, enacted by the 81st Legislature in 2009,
which is considered a national model regarding high
expectations for student performance and school district
accountability. Current law already provides enough
transition and flexibility. The state should wait at least
four years to implement the provisions of HB 3 and
examine how well it works before considering major
revisions.

Inclusion in the final course grade. The bill would
not ensure that all high school grade point averages
were comparable. Unless each school district excluded
the end-of-course exam scores in final course grades,
then overall grade point averages would be impossible
to compare. If all grade point averages were not
comparable, the fairness of the state’s top 10 percent law
— allowing students who graduate in the top 10 percent
of their high school class to be admitted automatically
to any public higher education institution in Texas —
would be called into question.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 500 appeared in the April
6 Daily Floor Report.
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Requiring bullying policies in public schools

HB 1942 by Patrick/HB 1386 by Coleman
Effective June 17, 2011
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HB 1942 requires school districts to develop
policies on bullying. It adds preventing, identifying,
responding to, and reporting incidents of bullying to the
list of possible topics at staff development trainings.

Bullying is defined as engaging in activity on school
property, at a school-related activity, or in a district-
operated vehicle that physically harms the student,
damages the student’s property, or places the student
in reasonable fear of such personal harm or damage.
Behavior is bullying if it is severe, persistent, and
pervasive enough to create an intimidating, threatening,
or abusive educational environment for the student,
exploit an imbalance of power between the perpetrator
and the victim, and interfere with a student’s education
or substantially disrupt the operation of a school.

Each school board must adopt a policy that prohibits
bullying and that:

e prohibits retaliation against anyone who
provides information on an incident of bullying,
including a victim or witness;

e cstablishes a procedure to notify a parent of the
victim and the bully within a reasonable time
after the incident;

e establishes how a student can obtain assistance
in response to bullying;

e sets out the available counseling options for a
student who experiences or witnesses bullying
or who engages in bullying;

e establishes procedures for reporting an incident
of bullying, investigating an incident, and
determining whether the incident occurred;

e prohibits the discipline of students who use
reasonable self-defense to respond to bullying;
and

e requires that discipline for bullying of a
disabled student complies with applicable
federal requirements.

Under certain conditions, a school board may
transfer a student engaging in bullying to another
classroom or campus. The essential knowledge and

skills for the health curriculum also must include
evidence-based practices that effectively address
awareness, prevention, identification, and resolution of
and intervention in bullying and harassment cases.

HB 1386 establishes certain early intervention
mental health and suicide prevention programs in public
schools. The Department of State Health Services
(DSHS) and the Texas Education Agency (TEA) must
provide and update annually a list of recommended best
practice-based programs. Each school district may select
programs from the list for implementation.

The programs on the list must include components
on training counselors, teachers, nurses, administrators,
law enforcement officers, and social workers who
interact regularly with students to:

e recognize students at risk of committing
suicide;

e recognize victims and perpetrators of
bullying;

e recognize students displaying early warning
signs of mental health issues; and

e intervene effectively with the student or
provide notice to parents.

Each school board may adopt a policy that:

e cstablishes a procedure to provide notice to
parents;

e cstablishes that the district may develop
a reporting mechanism and designate a
district liaison for identifying troubled
students; and

e describes for parents the optional
counseling alternatives available for the
child.

The policy must prohibit any medical screening of
a student without prior parental consent. The policies
and procedures must be included in the annual student
handbook and submitted to the TEA.
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Supporters said

Bullying negatively impacts the environment in
which students learn and prevents them from developing
healthy behaviors and self-esteem. The state should
be involved in crafting the approach taken by public
schools to bullying and suicide prevention because of
the seriousness of the issues.

HB 1942 would take an effective, preventive
approach to combating bullying. Research shows that
most bullying behavior is learned from the student’s
environment. The bill would include the key elements
found in effective bullying policies, such as methods to
improve peer relations, provide meaningful intervention,
develop clear rules to stop bullying, and support and
protect victims.

This approach ensures that students engaging in
bullying receive the counseling necessary to improve
their well-being and become productive and engaged
adults. The preventive approach would help decrease
the number of students entering the criminal justice
system because it would reduce the number of students
who learn and embark upon criminal behavior.

HB 1942 would afford a reasonable amount of local
discretion, while specifying the state’s expectations
for student behavior. To prevent bullying, state policy
must encourage an antibullying culture in Texas public
schools.

HB 1942 need not prescribe a specific time frame for
parents to be notified of bullying, since such a provision
would be inflexible and difficult to enforce. The bill’s
requirement of a “reasonable amount of time” would
allow each local school district to determine the best
procedures for that district.

HB 1942 would provide guidance to local school
districts to include antibullying topics in staff
development training. However, mandating specific
antibullying training for teachers and other school
personnel would impose a costly unfunded mandate on
school districts.

School districts should not and cannot be responsible
for student activity that occurs off or near campus.
The line between on- and off-campus is blurred in the
case of text messages or electronic communications
sent from or received by a device owned by the school
district, whether or not the device was located on the

district’s physical property at the time. HB 1942 would
afford a school district the discretion to classify these
incidents within or outside of the school district’s
jurisdiction.

The premise behind a preventive approach is that
school culture drives student actions. By teaching
students about bullying, including its characteristics and
appropriate responses, students become empowered to
self-correct and to correct their peers.

The short- and long-term effects of bullying on
both the bully and the victim are well documented.
The most serious effect is the increasing rate of youth
suicide, caused by the intense devaluation of self. HB
1386 would help protect the emotional well-being of
all students by assisting in the identification of early
indicators of mental illness and suicidal thoughts.

Opponents said

Because of the short- and long-term effects of
bullying on the educational environment and students,
and to prevent youth suicide, HB 1942 and HB 1386
should have included accountability measures to ensure
enforcement of the law.

The focus on early indicators of mental illness
could steer more kids toward medication. Students do
not necessarily need to be medicated. Antidepressants
can cause homicidal and suicidal thoughts in young
children, even some adults.

HB 1942 should include a specific time frame for
parental notification because the bill’s requirement that a
parent be notified within a “reasonable amount of time”
is vague and would not ensure parental notification.

HB 1942 should mandate staff development training
on bullying. A policy for handling and preventing
bullying will be wholly ineffective if school personnel
do not understand and feel comfortable with the policy
and with how to intervene when they recognize bullying
behavior.

HB 1942 should have included off-campus activity
in the jurisdiction of a school district. School districts
should be responsible for and aware of student
activity that occurs near campus or directly affects the
educational environment.
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Other opponents said

Despite problems with bullying, mental illness, and
suicide in schools, decisions regarding how to handle
these problems should remain at the local level. The
state should not determine a school district’s approach
to bullying behavior and suicide prevention.

School districts determine the expectations for
student behavior through the district’s code of conduct,
which could include specific antibullying policies.
Through its code of conduct, the district can choose to
include a preventative approach to bullying behavior
and influence the educational culture. School boards
should be held accountable by local voters if they fail
to uphold and enforce existing antibullying laws and
policies.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 1942 appeared in Part
Two of the May 2 Daily Floor Report. The HRO
analysis of HB 1386 appeared in Part Two of the May
11 Daily Floor Report.
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Revising financing of public schools

SB 1 by Duncan, First Called Session
Generally effective September 28, 2011
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The public school finance articles of SB 1 alter the
formulas used to determine the funding to which each
school district and charter school is entitled. The bill
also changes the method for proration of Foundation
School Program (FSP) payments, changes the
calculation of the minimum monthly salary for teachers,
and requires a joint committee to study public school
finance, among other provisions.

State aid for tax relief. SB 1 reduces the amount of
additional state aid for school district property tax relief
intended to hold school districts harmless at a “target
revenue” amount. The amount is reduced in the 2012-13
school year to 92.35 percent of its previous guaranteed
amount. For subsequent school years, the Legislature by
appropriation must establish the applicable percentage
reduction.

On September 1, 2017, target revenue hold-
harmless funding will be eliminated. At that point,
if the state compression percentage, which reduces a
district’s 2006 property tax rate, is not established by
the Legislature in the appropriations act for a school
year, the education commissioner must determine the
percentage.

SB 1 also states the intent of the Legislature that
target revenue continue to be reduced between fiscal
2014 and fiscal 2018 and that the basic allotment be
increased.

School finance formula changes. From the 2011-
12 school year until September 1, 2015, each school
district’s and open enrollment charter school’s regular
program allotment (RPA) will be differentiated from
the basic allotment. The RPA will be calculated by
multiplying the number of students in average daily
attendance (ADA), excluding time spent in special
education programs, by the district’s adjusted basic
allotment (AA) and a regular program adjustment factor
(RPAF). The RPAF is 0.9239 for the 2011-12 school
year and 0.98 for 2012-13. For 2013-14 and 2014-15,
the RPAF is between 0.98 and 1.0, as established by the
Legislature in the appropriations act.

RPA = ADA x AA x RPAF

For a school district that does not receive target
revenue hold-harmless funding for 2011-12, the
commissioner may set the RPAF at 0.95195 for 2011-
12 and 2012-13 if the district demonstrates that funding
cuts resulting from SB 1’s adjustments to the RPA will
cause hardship for the district in 2011-12. In these cases,
the commissioner must ensure that the total amount of
state and local revenue in the combined 2011-12 and
2012-13 school years does not differ from the amount
the district would have received if its RPAF had not
been adjusted. The commissioner’s determination is
final and cannot be appealed.

According to the Legislative Budget Board, the
changes to the FSP formulas will mean about $4 billion
less in state aid sent to school districts during fiscal
2012-13, a $2 billion reduction in each fiscal year. In
fiscal 2012, the $2 billion reduction will be achieved
through the RPAF. For the $2 billion reduction in fiscal
2013, 25 percent will be achieved through the RPAF and
75 percent through the reduction to target revenue (an
overall target revenue reduction of 7.65 percent).

The RPAF will be repealed on September 1, 2015,
and so will not apply starting in fiscal 2016 and beyond.
Beginning September 1, 2015, the formula reverts to
former law, wherein a school district is entitled to a
basic allotment per student in ADA of the lesser of:

e $4,765; or

e $4,765 multiplied by the district’s compressed
tax rate divided by the state maximum
compressed tax rate ($4,765 X DCR/MCR).

Wealth per student. A school district that had a
2010 maintenance and operations tax at the maximum
allowable rate may not have a wealth per student that
exceeds $339,500 for its maintenance and operations
tax effort beyond the first 6 cents above the district’s
compression rate. This provision expires September 1,
2012, when the maximum allowable wealth per student
returns to $319,500.

Guaranteed yield. For a school district whose
2010 maintenance and operations tax rate was at the
maximum allowable rate, the guaranteed level of state
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and local funds per weighted student per cent of tax
effort is $33.95. This provision expires September 1,
2012, when the guaranteed yield returns to $31.95.

Indirect cost allotments. Beginning with the 2011-
12 school year, the State Board of Education (SBOE)
must increase allotments for indirect costs for special
education, career and technology courses, bilingual
education, and the juvenile justice and disciplinary
alternative education programs in proportion to the
average percentage reduction in total state and local
maintenance and operations revenue provided to public
schools for the 2011-12 school year.

Proration. The bill changes the method by which
the commissioner prorates Foundation School Program
(FSP) payments to school districts and open-enrollment
charter schools if the amount appropriated to the FSP
for the second year of a fiscal biennium is less than the
amount to which they otherwise are entitled for that
year. The commissioner must adjust the total amount
for each district and charter school to comply with
wealth-per-student provisions by the same percentage to
achieve the necessary overall adjustment.

Minimum salary schedule. SB 1 changes the
calculation of the minimum monthly salary for each
classroom teacher, full-time librarian, full-time
counselor, and full-time nurse, decreasing the factor
that represents years of experience in the formula.

The minimum monthly salary is the product of the
applicable salary factor and the amount determined by
the commissioner based on the basic allotment for a
school district with a maintenance and operations tax
rate at least equal to the state maximum compressed

tax rate. Each employee must receive the amount
determined by the minimum monthly salary formula or
by the specified monthly amount listed on the minimum
salary schedule corresponding to an employee’s years of
service, whichever is greater.

The bill suspends the requirement that if the
minimum monthly salary for a particular level of
experience is less than that of the preceding year, it must
equal the minimum salary for the previous year, and it
reinstates this provision on September 1, 2017. (Note:
SB 8 by Shapiro, enacted during the 82nd Legislature’s
first called session, repealed the requirement that an
employee’s minimum salary be at least equal to the
employee’s 2010-11 school year salary.)

The commissioner must submit a report evaluating
and making recommendations on the salary schedule to

the governor, the lieutenant governor, the speaker, and
appropriate legislative standing committees by January
1,2013.

Over-allocation to school districts. The Texas
Education Agency (TEA) may recover an over-
allocation of state funds for a period up to the five
subsequent school years if the commissioner determines
that the over-allocation resulted from exceptional
circumstances reasonably caused by statutory changes.

District retention of certain FSP payments. The
bill restores language removed by HB 3646, enacted
by the 81st Legislature in 2009, that if a school district
adopts a maintenance and operations tax rate below that
equal to the state compression percentage multiplied by
the district’s 2005 maintenance and operations tax rate,
the commissioner must reduce the district’s entitlement
to additional state aid for tax relief proportionally. The
provision applies beginning with maintenance and
operations tax rates adopted for the 2009 tax year.

School districts that received state aid for 2009-10
and 2010-11 based on the target revenue hold-harmless
amount to which they were entitled in January 2009
will not have their aid reduced if their maintenance and
operations tax rate is below their 2005 tax rate. This
exemption expires September 1, 2013.

Notice on interest and sinking tax rates. [fa
school district’s interest and sinking tax rate decreases
after the publication of a required meeting notice, the
president of the board of trustees is not required to
publish another notice or call another meeting to discuss
and adopt the budget and the proposed lower tax rate.

School districts receiving federal impact aid. The
commissioner may ensure that certain school districts
receiving federal impact aid due to a military installation
or high concentration of military students do not
receive more than an 8 percent reduction if the federal
government reduces appropriations.

Transportation funding. SB 1 permits a school
district to charge a fee for the transportation of a student
to and from school if it does not receive funds through
the transportation allotment or the county transportation
system allotment.

Interim committee. The speaker and the lieutenant
governor must establish a joint legislative interim
committee to study the public school finance system
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in Texas and make recommendations to the 83rd
Legislature by January 15, 2013.

Tax increment financing payments. SB 1 ensures
that school districts required to pay taxes into a tax
increment fund for a reinvestment zone, which aims to
make land more attractive to economic development,
receive additional state aid to meet their obligations.

In addition, the commissioner must decrease
by one-half the reductions in entitlement amounts
computed to account for taxes deposited into a tax
increment fund for certain school districts. This applies
only to a school district notified by the commissioner
before May 1, 2011, of a reduction in state funding for
school years 2004-05 through 2008-09 based on its
reported payments into a tax increment fund. These
provisions expire September 1, 2013.

Supporters said

SB 1 would make statutory changes in the school
finance formulas to account for the need to reduce state
formula funding by $4 billion in fiscal 2012-13 due to
the reduction in state revenue caused by the economic
recession. The changes to the public school finance
system made by SB 1 would distribute the impact of
the state budget crisis across public schools. During
the first year, the regular program adjustment factor
(RPAF) would reduce regular Foundation School
Program funding under the formulas. In the second
year, one quarter of the state aid reduction would be
made through the formulas and three-quarters through a
reduction in target revenue, with the goal of phasing out
target revenue by 2017. Those benefiting the most from
target revenue funding would lose more, while those in
the formula funding system would lose less. As the state
made the transition back to a formula-driven system
for distributing state aid to school districts, the system
would become more equitable.

While some say these changes would not allow
for increased funding due to enrollment growth, that
criticism assumes that the cost to educate new and
existing students is the same. It actually costs less to
educate an existing student. When assessing the total
shortfall in public education spending, student costs
should be viewed in terms of starting a business. The
initial investment may be more expensive, but the costs
eventually decrease.

District retention of certain FSP payments. The
bill would correct a problem caused by an inadvertent
repeal of a provision in 2009 that resulted in a school
district that adopted a maintenance and operations tax
rate lower than its compressed rate not receiving state
aid. TEA, based on letters from lawmakers stating that
it was not the Legislature’s intent to make that change,
has not enforced the provision, allowing several school
districts to receive state aid despite a maintenance and
operations tax rate lower than their compressed tax rate.
If the Legislature did not enact the bill’s provisions and
if these school districts were unable to adopt a higher
tax rate, the districts would not receive state funding.
The bill would reinstate the previous statutory language
and allow the affected districts to retain funding that the
state has paid to them in anticipation of this correction.

Tax increment financing payments. The bill
would ensure that 34 school districts could fulfill their
tax obligations for the benefit of land zoned to enhance
the areas’ attractiveness to new businesses. When the
Legislature compressed local property tax rates in
2006, these school districts lacked funds to pay their
obligations. The bill would require districts to receive
state aid for this purpose.

Opponents said

The statutory changes to the school finance
formulas made by SB 1 would implement a $4 billion
reduction in state aid to public education. For the
first time since the Foundation School Program was
established in 1949, these formula changes would mean
a permanent reduction in state aid to the public schools.
School districts no longer could count on increased
funding for enrollment growth because funding would
be driven not by statutory formula guarantees but by
the whim of the Legislature during the appropriations
process. These changes allowing reduced state funding
could cripple public schools.

The declining value per student within the formula
would be particularly damaging, with school districts
facing decreased funding in the context of rising
standards and increasing educational challenges. The
bill would decrease public school funding to the point
where the system was unable to fulfill its constitutional
obligations. The bill fails to produce a set of funding
formulas based on cost estimates of legislative
expectations for educational outcomes.
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State funding to school districts for public
education is and should remain an entitlement
according to the Texas Constitution and current law.
The proposed changes would codify the sentiment that
public education funding no longer was an entitlement,
but should be based only on available revenue, not
the school finance formulas on which school districts
depend.

Target revenue hold-harmless. The budget crisis
and the school finance system would be best served
by eliminating target revenue entirely, rather than
merely phasing it out. The target revenue hold-harmless
provision is unrelated to the cost of education. It is
arbitrary, inefficient, and inequitable and should be
eliminated before decreasing funding to school districts
that receive their funding through the formulas.

Regular program allotment. The bill states the
Legislature’s intent to raise the basic allotment between
2014 and 2018, but intent is not a guarantee. If the
Legislature chose to increase the regular program
allotment (RPA) without raising the basic allotment,
then every weight and adjustment that accounts for the
cost of educating different types of students would be
frozen and useless. As the RPA increases, the formula-
based percentage of total revenue to districts would
decrease, and the state would continue to fail to fund the
high cost of educating certain students.

Structural deficit. It is unacceptable to decrease
funding to school districts to compensate for the
Legislature’s inability to fulfill its promise to buy down
property taxes. Any legislation to fix the school finance
system is futile if the structural deficit created by
chronically insufficient business tax revenue, intended
to replace local revenue reduced by compressed
property tax rates, is unaddressed. Until additional
revenue is created to support the compression of local
property tax rates, there will be a gap between state
revenue and the state’s obligation to fund the school
finance system adequately.

Proration. The existing proration procedure should
not be changed. The current proration procedure is
driven by wealth, which ensures that each school district
experiences the same decrease in wealth per penny.
Since school districts set their budgets in July, the bill’s
proration terms would leave school districts high and
dry without a method to cope with the lost funding.

The proposed language does not specify whether
the percentage decrease would be taken from a school

district’s state revenue or total net revenue. If the
intention is to apply the percentage to a district’s state
revenue, proration would affect poorer school districts
disproportionately.

The proposals would return the proration statutes
to the problematic system of the 1980s and would take
financial predictability and security away from school
districts. In the 1980s, school districts were forced to
guess their net revenue for each school year, which
caused them to increase tax rates in anticipation of
possible proration. The method proposed could cut
money from school districts after it already has been
committed or spent.

Tax increment financing payments. The decision
to enter into a tax increment program is a local one
made by a school board to entice businesses to that
community. The state should not use public education
dollars to fund this local decision because it does not
benefit public education.

Other opponents said

The school finance cuts should include a cap on the
percentage of state aid reduction a school district could
face. The Rainy Day Fund was created to prevent public
education cuts during tough economic times. The fund
should be used as intended to provide the remaining
money necessary to fund public education adequately.

The bill would remove the most recent hold-

harmless provision but not other similar provisions in
current law, which should be removed as well.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 1 appeared in the June 9
Daily Floor Report.
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Adopting and funding instructional materials

SB 6 by Shapiro, First Called Session
Effective July 19, 2011

Table
of Contents

SB 6 repeals the Technology Allotment and the
system by which textbooks and instructional materials
had been purchased for school districts and establishes
the Instructional Materials Allotment. The bill also
replaces references to “textbook” with “instructional
material” throughout the Education Code and expands
the definition of that term.

The bill moves the economics course requirement
to the foundation curriculum from the enrichment
curriculum to allow it to fulfill the social studies
component of the high school graduation requirements.

Instructional materials allotment. The
commissioner of education must maintain an
instructional materials account for each school district
and transfer an allotment annually to each school
district’s account from the State Instructional Materials
Fund, which is funded from the annual distribution from
the Permanent School Fund to the Available School
Fund. The commissioner must determine the per-student
allotment based on the amount of money in the State
Instructional Materials Fund.

Open-enrollment charter schools are entitled to an
annual allotment in the same manner as school districts.
A juvenile justice alternative education program is
entitled to an amount determined by the commissioner,
which is final.

Permanent School Fund distribution. The State
Board of Education (SBOE) must set aside 50 percent
of the annual distribution from the Permanent School
Fund to the Available School Fund to fund the
Instructional Materials Allotment and expenses related
to instructional materials, as well as the School for the
Blind and Visually Impaired, the School for the Deaf,
and the Texas Youth Commission.

For fiscal 2012-13, the SBOE annually must set
aside 40 percent of the annual distribution from the
Permanent School Fund to the Available School Fund
for the State Instructional Materials Fund.

Per-student allotment amount. A school district’s
annual allotment entitlement is determined by the

number of enrolled students during the preceding school
year and the per-student allotment amount determined
by the commissioner, who can adjust the district’s
number of students for accuracy. The school district can
request an adjustment by May 31 of each school year if
its enrollment is expected to change. The commissioner
must establish a procedure for identifying high-
enrollment-growth districts and adjust their allotments
accordingly.

Use of the allotment. The allotment can be used
to buy technological equipment, materials on the
commissioner’s list, and instructional (including open-
source), bilingual, consumable (such as workbooks),
and supplemental materials. The allotment may be used
to train certain personnel and employ support staft for
technological equipment directly involved in student
learning.

At the end of each year, the school district must
certify to the commissioner that its allotment was used
for permitted expenses. A school district with an unused
account balance may carry over those funds and must
certify annually to the SBOE and the commissioner
that it provided each student with sufficient materials to
cover every essential knowledge and skills element.

The bill transfers responsibility for buying bilingual
materials from the SBOE to the district and authority
for purchasing special instructional materials for the
blind and visually impaired from the SBOE to the
commissioner.

Online requisition. The commissioner must maintain
an online purchase request system for school districts to
request materials to be purchased with the allotment.

Instructional materials adoption. The SBOE
no longer will set a maximum price for instructional
materials and is not required to review and adopt
instructional materials for all grade levels in a single
year. The SBOE must prioritize materials for foundation
curriculum subjects for which the essential knowledge
and skills have been substantially revised above those
for enrichment curricula.
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The time between review of materials for foundation
curriculum subjects is extended to eight years. No more
than one-fourth of foundation curriculum instructional
materials may be reviewed each biennium. The bill
reduces the number of months before the school year
that the SBOE must notify the public about a new
review and adoption cycle from 24 to 12.

Instructional materials list. Instead of assigning
material to conforming or nonconforming lists, the
SBOE must adopt one list of instructional materials.
The SBOE must identify the percentage of essential
knowledge and skills of the subject and grade level
covered by each instructional material submitted, and
the material must cover at least half of the essential
knowledge and skills for the subject and relevant grade
level.

Within 90 days after the submission of open-source
instructional material, the SBOE may review it. The
SBOE must post, as a part of the instructional materials
list, all comments made by the board.

Commissioner s list. The commissioner must adopt
a list of electronic instructional materials, science
materials for kindergarten through grade five, and
personal financial literacy materials for kindergarten
through grade eight. The SBOE must be given the
chance to comment on the listed material and may
require the commissioner to remove it.

Instructional material ownership. Instructional
materials bought by a school district or charter school
are considered the property of that district or school,
which must determine how to dispose of discontinued
instructional materials and notify the commissioner
when choosing to do so. Material may be sold upon
discontinuation, but proceeds must be used to buy
instructional materials.

The bill repealed the requirement that copies of
discontinued nonelectronic textbooks be available for
use in libraries, Texas Department of Criminal Justice
facilities, or state agencies.

Technology Lending Pilot Program. The
commissioner may use up to $10 million from the State
Instructional Materials Fund to award grants to school
districts and charter schools to loan students equipment
necessary to access electronic instructional materials.
Applicants must be considered based on the availability
of existing equipment and other funding available to the
applicant. The pilot program expires on September 1,
2015.

The bill also repealed the computer lending pilot
program, which provided computers to participating
public schools for use by students and parents.

Supporters said

SB 6 would change the role of the state from
distributing textbooks and technological equipment to
distributing money to school districts to purchase these
items. The SBOE would retain its authority to review
and adopt instructional materials. The state should
move away from conforming and nonconforming lists
and instead rely on a list of materials reviewed by the
SBOE, with identification of the percentage of essential
knowledge and skills covered in each.

Maintaining control of content. It is appropriate
for the state to maintain control over the content used
in classrooms. Technology already is being used in
classrooms, either by students with “smart phones” or
by school districts that can afford the equipment. SB 6
would allow the state to regulate the content of these
materials to ensure they met the rigor and curriculum
standards adopted by the SBOE.

Flexibility to school districts. Districts would have
maximum flexibility to buy the instructional materials
that suited each class. Requiring the SBOE to identify
the percentage of essential knowledge and skills covered
in the instructional materials would ensure that materials
chosen by a school district or charter school covered
each of the essential knowledge and skills elements.

The new allotment would allow school districts to
level the playing field across student populations by
providing access to current technology and information
for low-income students who might otherwise lack
access to the material.

Increased relevance. The bill would increase the
relevance of instructional materials’ content because
online and open-source materials can be updated more
quickly and frequently, at lower cost, than printed
materials. The current system has resulted in too many
schools using out-of-date materials, which hinders
students’ ability to learn.

Teachers work hard to provide relevant lessons but,
because of the way the state funds technology, they
often lack the right resources. Great teachers use various
instructional resources, and SB 6 would increase the
resources available. The bill would allow the allotment
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to be spent to train educators to use this technology for
students’ benefit.

Providing students with the ability to use technology
would better prepare them for higher learning and
the workforce. It also would allow teachers to teach
students how to discern the appropriateness of
information sources on the Internet.

Opponents said

While the bill would increase flexibility for school
districts, it could hold school districts to the same per-
student allotment for many years without adjustments
for inflation. Other allotments for school districts, such
as the transportation allotment, have not been increased
on a per-student basis since their inception. School
districts could experience a decrease in instructional
materials funding long term.

Other opponents said

SB 6 should require the implementation of the
technology lending pilot program, which would provide
a mechanism for low property-wealth school districts
to buy technological devices that other districts already
have in order to increase equity.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 6 appeared in the June 16
Daily Floor Report.
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Public school employee contracts, management

SB 8 by Shapiro, First Called Session
Effective September 28, 2011

Table
of Contents

SB 8 revises various provisions governing school
district employee contracts and salaries, including
making changes to the minimum salary schedule and
to requirements for giving notice when a contract will
not be renewed. It allows school districts to make
declarations of financial exigency and to implement
furlough programs under certain circumstances.

Minimum salary schedule. SB 8 removes the
requirement that the salary of each classroom teacher,
full-time librarian, full-time counselor, and full-time
nurse be at least equal to the salary the employee
received for the 2010-11 school year.

Nonrenewal or termination of certain school
district employee contracts. The bill changes the
deadline for a school district to notify classroom
teachers and full-time librarians, counselors, and school
nurses employed under a probationary contract or whose
contract is about to expire that a contract will not be
renewed. The deadline for notice is 10 days, rather than
45 days, before the last day of instruction.

This notice must be hand delivered to the teacher on
campus. If the teacher is not present for a hand delivery,
then the notice must be mailed by prepaid certified
mail or delivered by express delivery to the teacher and
postmarked on or before the 10th day before the last day
of instruction. To determine the 15-day period in which
an employee may request a hearing, the 15th day is the
15th day after the teacher received the notice by hand
delivery or by mail.

A school district no longer must terminate teachers
on continuing contracts according to the reverse order
of seniority. Reductions must be based primarily on
teacher appraisals in specific teaching fields and other
criteria determined by the State Board for Educator
Certification.

Financial exigency. The board of trustees of a
school district may declare financial exigency for the
district if financial conditions set by the commissioner
are met. The declaration expires at the end of the fiscal
year unless the board continues it by resolution before
that time. The school board is not limited in the number

of times it may continue financial exigency and may
terminate it whenever it considers it appropriate. It
must notify the commissioner each time a resolution is
adopted.

For a school year in which a school district reduces
teacher salaries based on district financial conditions,
rather than teacher performance, the district must reduce
the annual salary paid to each district administrator or
other professional employee by a percent or fraction
of a percent equal to the average reduction of teacher
salaries.

When financial exigency requires a reduction in
personnel, the board of trustees may amend the terms of
a superintendent’s term contract. A superintendent, by
providing reasonable notice, may resign without penalty
and may continue employment during the notice period
under the prior contract.

Hearings. If an employee protests a personnel
reduction based on financial exigency, the employee is
entitled to a hearing before the board or before a hearing
examiner, as determined by the board. A school district
with an enrollment of at least 5,000 students may
designate an attorney to hold the hearing on behalf of
the school board, create a hearing record for the board’s
consideration and action, and recommend an action
to the board. The attorney may not be employed by a
school district and may not represent a school district, a
teacher in a dispute between a teacher and a district, or
an organization of school employees, administrators, or
boards of trustees.

Within 15 days after the hearing, the board’s
designee must provide to the board a record of the
hearing and recommend either contract renewal or
nonrenewal. The board must consider the record of the
hearing and the recommendation at the next possible
board meeting. At the meeting, the board must hear
oral arguments from each party. It may place time
limits on oral arguments, but must give equal time to
each party. The board may obtain external legal advice
before accepting, rejecting, or modifying the designee’s
recommendation. The board must notify the teacher in
writing of its decision by 15 days after the meeting.
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A determination by the hearing examiner on good
cause for the suspension of a teacher without pay or
the termination of a probationary, continuing, or term
contract is a conclusion of law and may be adopted,
rejected, or changed by the board of trustees or its
subcommittee as provided by law.

Employee furloughs. If the commissioner certifies
that the school district will be provided with less state
and local funding for a certain year than was provided to
the district for the 2010-11 school year, then the board
of trustees of a school district may implement a furlough
program according to district policy and may reduce
by no more than six the number of days of service
otherwise required during a school year. A decision by
the board of trustees of a school district to implement
a furlough program will be final, not subject to appeal,
and not create a cause of action or require collective
bargaining. If a school board of trustees adopts a
furlough program after the date on which a teacher
must give notice of resignation, the teacher may resign
without consequence.

To develop a furlough or other salary reduction
program, the board of trustees of a school district must
include the district professional staff in the development
process and hold a public meeting during which district
employees and the public may express opinions.

At the public meeting, the board and school district
administrators are to present information about program
options and the proposed program.

The school district must subject all contract
personnel to the same number of furlough days. An
educator may not be furloughed on an instruction day,
and a furlough may not result in an increased number
of required educator workdays. An educator may not
use personal, sick, or any other paid leave while on
furlough. A furlough imposed by the school district will
not constitute a break in service for the purposes of the
Teacher Retirement System of Texas and will not count
as a day of service.

The school district may reduce the salary of a
furloughed employee in proportion to the number of
days the employee is furloughed. Any reduction in
the salary of a furloughed employee must be equally
distributed over the course of the employee’s current
contract with the school district.

Supporters said

SB 8 would provide increased local control and
necessary relief from mandates for school districts,
whose elected boards of trustees and administrators are
best equipped to make decisions to benefit their students.
It would help school districts save teacher jobs, help
districts balance their budgets efficiently, and mitigate
the impact of budget cuts.

Employee compensation. Current law does not
allow a salary decrease from 2010-11 school year levels.
Under current law, instead of reducing everyone’s
salaries a small amount, the district’s only option
is to eliminate positions, which could lead to larger
class sizes in secondary grades or reduced services to
students. Certain school districts report that the ability
to reduce employee salaries by 1 percent would preserve
100 teaching positions.

Notice of nonrenewal. By changing requirements
for notifying teachers about contract renewals, the
bill would increase the time a school district had to
develop its budget, which could save jobs. The current
requirement to notify employees about contract renewals
45 days before the end of the school year forces school
districts to determine their budgets before knowing the
state appropriation for the upcoming school year, which
does not equip the district to adapt to changing fiscal
climates. During tough economic times, employees
may be laid off before it is necessary. Under the bill,
school districts no longer would be forced to rush their
decision-making process.

Extending the time before notification is required
would allow teachers to remain focused and engaged
for the entire school year. Current notifications can
cause teachers to use paid time off to remain out of the
classroom for the remaining 45 days in the school year.
State assessments occur near the end of the year, and it
is detrimental not to have the teacher present for these
preparations.

Teacher evaluations are not complete until about
15 days before the end of the year. SB 8 would allow
districts to more accurately assess teachers, students,
and projected student enrollment when making decisions
about teacher contracts.
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Financial exigency. A school district should have
explicit authority to declare financial exigency so that
it can act to prevent a financial disaster, such as by
reducing the number of certain employees, changing
food contracts, or amending existing contracts. Current
law only implies authority for a school district to declare
financial exigency in relation to terminating term-
contract employees for a necessary personnel reduction.

The bill would not violate the legal terms of
continuing contracts because such contract terms do not
continue in effect once the employee leaves voluntarily,
is terminated for good cause, or is released as part of a
necessary reduction in personnel justified by a financial
exigency.

Opponents said

SB 8 would undermine state salary and contract
safeguards for teachers and could lead to increased
class sizes. It would invite the Legislature to pass on
responsibility for dealing with severe budget reductions
to school districts by claiming that the districts had
tools, such as furloughs, that gave them more flexibility
to make cuts. Districts already have laid off teachers,
and the bill would not take into account reductions
that already have been made. While some claim the
bill would save teacher jobs, there is no guarantee its
provisions would be used to accomplish this.

The bill would not save school districts money
or help them mitigate the effects of the budget crisis.
Any possible savings would not be realized until the
next biennium at the earliest because teacher contracts
already have been executed for the next school year
and cannot be materially changed. A school district that
sought to use the bill’s provisions to save money during
the current school year would end up in costly litigation.

Seniority. Removing the requirement for
termination in reverse order of seniority would leave
veteran teachers vulnerable when a school district
sought to alleviate budget constraints because veteran
teachers have the highest salaries. Eliminating this
requirement would make a material change to the
terms of an existing contract, violating precedent set by
Central Education Agency v. George West 1.S.D., 783
S.W.2d 200 (Tex. 1989), which held that material terms
of a contract cannot be abrogated during the term of
the contract. These employees have the protections of
the existing continuing contract provisions because the

district has determined that their performance warrants
being placed on a continuing contract.

Notice of nonrenewal. Receiving notice on the 10th
day before the last day of school that an employee’s
contract will not be renewed would not provide proper
notice to the employee. The current 45-day rule allows
teachers an opportunity to search for a new job. Job
fairs occur in the spring semester, and teachers need to
know at that time whether they should be looking for
a job. The bill would result in more teachers choosing
to contest a proposed nonrenewal since they would not
have any other viable employment options. The bill
likely would cause a nonrenewal hearing to take place
over the summer and conclude well after other districts
already had completed their hiring for the following
school year. Current law provides the proper balance
between the teachers’ and the districts’ interests.

The contention that teachers choose to take
vacation days or slack off from work upon notice of a
nonrenewal is untrue and offensive. Teachers care about
their students and want them to succeed, and they have
a vested interested in excelling on the job to facilitate
being hired by another district.

Financial exigency. SB 8 would make it easier for
school districts to lay off employees during the term
of their contracts by declaring financial exigency. The
bill would encourage a school district to make these
decisions mid-year instead of in the spring. School
districts have demonstrated poor planning by claiming
a need to reduce staff and terminate teachers mid-year,
and state law should not make it easier for the school
districts to do this.

Hearings. The bill would allow the school district
or its designee, rather than an independent party, to
judge the school district’s action, which would be a
clear conflict of interest. Hearings to protest personnel
reductions should occur in front of an independent
hearing examiner to preserve fairness in determining if a
school district has appropriately followed protocol.

Other opponents said
The drastic changes proposed in SB 8 should be
temporary during the budget crisis and examined more

closely in more prosperous times.

Financial exigency. The bill’s provisions permitting
school districts to declare financial exigency are
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unnecessary, as they already may do this under current
law.

Hearings. If school districts are granted the leeway
provided by SB 8, then teachers should be able to
terminate their contracts mid-contract to pursue higher-
paying job offers. Under current law, a teacher can lose
a teaching certificate for abrogating a contract. SB 8
would represent an imbalance of power between school
districts and teachers.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 8 appeared in the June 16
Daily Floor Report. Similar provisions were included
in HB 17 by Callegari, HB 19 by Aycock, HB 20 by
Huberty, and HB 21 by Shelton, all in the first called
session. The HRO analyses for HB 17 and HB 19
appeared in the June 16 Daily Floor Report, and the
analyses for HB 20 and HB 21 appeared in the June 9
Daily Floor Report.
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Parent, school board input on school sanctions

SB 738 by Shapiro
Effective June 17, 2011
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SB 738 enables the parents of students and the
school board of a public school campus for which
repurposing, alternative management, or closure is
required under state accountability standards to provide
input on which of the three actions the education
commissioner orders. If the parents of a majority of a
campus’s students petition the commissioner to order
a specific action, the commissioner must order that
action. If the district board of trustees requests the
commissioner to order a different action and provides an
explanation of the request, the commissioner may order
the action requested by the board of trustees instead.

Supporters said

SB 738 would give parents a voice in the required
sanctioning of a failing school by allowing them to
petition the commissioner for the sanction they believed
should be ordered. By requiring a majority of the
students’ parents to sign on to a written petition for a
particular choice, the new law would encourage parents
to communicate, collaborate, and reach agreement on
the future of their children’s education. Under current
law, the choices of ordering repurposing, alternative
management, or closure are left entirely up to the
education commissioner. SB 738 would give parents
a seat at the table, enabling them to provide local,
informed input on a decision that critically affects the
lives of their children.

SB 738 also would enable the school district’s
board of trustees to give the education commissioner
formal input on the choice of sanction. This would
ensure that the commissioner could order a sanction
other than one selected by the parents if the board and
the commissioner both believed a particular alternative
sanction was more prudent for reasons provided in
a written explanation from the school board, such as
undue influence by charter schools on the parents’
request. Keeping the voices of the parents and the
school board distinct would allow all perspectives on
the school sanctioning to be heard.

Opponents said

SB 738 would create a mechanism for well financed
charter schools to try to gain control of traditional
public schools by campaigning for worried parents to
petition for alternative management. While the new
law commendably would give parents a voice in an
important decision on the future of their children’s
education, the bill would make that voice so powerful
and potentially final that parents could become the
targets of manipulation. The bill instead should
encourage parents to collaborate with their school
boards to provide a unified request to the commissioner,
rather than potentially dividing the community and
pitting the voices of parents against that of the school
board.

Other opponents said

While SB 738 would take a step in the right
direction of giving parents more control over their
schools and their children’s educations, the bill as
filed contained a stronger and wider range of tools
for parents to use. The original bill would have given
districts and campuses opportunities to choose to
convert into home-rule charter districts and in-district
charter schools, which enjoy increased local control and
greater freedom from bureaucratic red tape. Conversion
into an in-district charter school should be included
as a fourth campus sanction option for parents, school
boards, and the education commissioner to consider.
In-district charter schools are an innovative option
for school restructuring in which the parents, campus
staff, and district officials work together to arrange a
charter contract. This kind of restructuring preserves
neighborhood schools, which are vital to the fabric of
communities.

Notes

The HRO analysis of SB 738 appeared in the May
21 Daily Floor Report.
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Banning texting while driving

HB 242 by Craddick
Vetoed by the governor
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HB 242 would have prohibited a driver from
reading, writing, or sending a text-based communication
while operating a vehicle unless the vehicle was
stopped. Text-based communication would have
included a text message, instant message, or e-mail.
Exemptions would have applied to drivers dialing a
phone number, using a hands-free or global positioning
system device, or relaying information as part of their
jobs.

Supporters said

Texting may not be the only distraction while
driving, but it is one of the most dangerous, and
this common-sense safety bill would help deter this
dangerous behavior. A growing body of research
resoundingly concludes that texting while driving
distracts drivers and increases response times to sudden
traffic incidents. Like drunk driving, driving while
texting has injured and killed drivers, passengers, and
innocent bystanders.

Simply adding texting while driving to offenses
punishable with a maximum $200 fine would help deter
the activity. This bill is like other sensible safety laws,
such as mandatory seat belts, and would help educate
Texans about the dangers of texting while driving.

To address the dangers of texting while driving,
many municipalities have adopted ordinances
prohibiting this behavior. While commendable, different
local approaches to the problem can create confusion
because the local ordinances may not be well-publicized
and may vary among cities. A uniform statewide
prohibition would create consistent, well-publicized
standards barring texting while driving statewide.

In addition to saving lives and preventing car
accidents, the bill would ease traffic congestion on
Texas roads by eliminating a major distraction for
drivers.

Opponents said

While well-intentioned, this bill actually would
detrimentally affect public safety. Drivers trying to hide
their wireless devices while texting to avoid notice by
a public safety officer could become more distracted
and cause an even greater hazard. Texans should be
trusted to monitor their own behavior in the privacy of
their vehicles. Reading a text message, like looking at
the radio, can take a driver milliseconds and may not
distract them from watching the road.

HB 242 is a government effort to micromanage the
behavior of adults. While current law already prohibits
drivers under the age of 18 from texting or using a cell
phone while driving, there is a distinction between the
overreach of this bill and the government’s legitimate
role in establishing laws for teenage drivers who are
more easily distracted and laws providing further pro-
tection to children in school zones.

The keys to dissuading drivers of all ages from
texting while driving are information and education,
including driving safety and driver’s education courses
and public service ads and announcements. Instead of
implementing an ineffective government ban on texting,
a more successful initiative would involve encouraging
insurance companies to prevent drivers from texting
while driving by instituting harsher penalties for
policyholders who were texting during an accident or
traffic violation.

Other opponents said

HB 242 would single out texting among the
numerous distractions that can cause dangerous driving.
Drivers are distracted by radios, various electronic
controls, passengers, and many other activities that
decrease awareness and distract from safe driving.

This bill would not address other distracting uses of a
wireless device, including using the Internet or manually
dialing a phone number.
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Banning texting would not address the core issue of
distracted driving. The state should focus on improving
driver education and ensuring that driver education
courses fully cover the topic of distracted driving,
including possible consequences.

Since it would be difficult to determine if an
individual was texting, enforcing this bill would be
very difficult. HB 243 essentially would give police the
ability to pull over any driver with a cell phone in his or
her hand, which would be especially problematic in a
state with a well-documented history of racial profiling.
The bill should be revised to make texting while
driving a secondary offense that could be enforced only
while pursuing a driver for a primary offense, such as
speeding or reckless driving.

Notes

The bill’s ban on texting while driving was
added as a Senate floor amendment to HB 242. The
amendment contained language similar to HB 243 by
Craddick, which passed the House but was left pending
in the Senate Transportation and Homeland Security
Committee. Gov. Perry vetoed HB 242 on June 17,
citing the texting-while-driving prohibition.

HB 242 also would have allowed certain retired
peace officers to be eligible for concealed handgun
licenses and would have outlined certain services that
the special rangers and Texas Rangers could perform.

The HRO analysis of HB 243 appeared in the April
7 Daily Floor Report.

The HRO analysis of HB 242 appeared in the May
7 Daily Floor Report. For further discussion of HB 242,
see House Research Organization Focus Report No.
82-5, Vetoes of Legislation: 82nd Legislature, June 30,
2011.
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Raising statewide speed limits

HB 1353 by Elkins/HB 1201 by Kolkhorst

Effective September 1, 2011/Effective June 17, 2011
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HB 1353 allows the Texas Transportation
Commission to set a speed limit of 75 mph on sections
of highways upon determining that doing so is
reasonable and safe.

The bill also eliminates the speed limit distinction
between day and night and between cars and trucks.
Outside of urban districts, the speed limit will be 70
mph on a numbered highway and 60 mph on a non-
numbered highway. As soon as practicable, the Texas
Department of Transportation (TxDOT) must conceal
or remove any old speed limit signs and install updated
ones.

HB 1201 allows the commission to establish speed
limits up to 85 mph on a part of the state highway
system designed to accommodate travel at that speed
if, after an engineering and traffic investigation, it
determines that the speed limit is reasonable and safe.

Supporters said

HB 1353 would update speed limit laws in Texas and
improve mobility without compromising safety. The bill
also would eliminate the outdated distinction between
day and night driving. Texas is the only state that has
retained a nighttime speed reduction. Reducing night
speed limits by 5 mph once served an important purpose
when headlights were not suited to higher speeds.
Updated headlight technology on modern cars and
trucks, however, makes 70 or 75 mph a suitable and safe
nighttime travel speed. Safe driving at night requires
keen focus at any speed. Similarly, the currently reduced
speed for trucks does not improve safety on the state’s
roads.

The most dangerous traffic situations are not those
involving the highest speeds but those with greater
speed differentials. Under HB 1353, TxDOT would
specifically identify highways that could support a
75-mph speed limit after the commission studied
engineering and traffic conditions.

Under HB 1201, only in specific circumstances, and
after extensive consideration, would the commission

opt to authorize an 85-mph speed limit on a highway.
A highway that could support an 85-mph speed limit
would have to be specifically designed to minimize
other traffic hazards.

Opponents said

HB 1353 could make Texas highways more
dangerous for motorists. HB 1201 would go too far by
authorizing the nation’s highest posted speed of 85 mph.

Allowing the Texas Transportation Commission to
increase the speed limit to 75 mph on state highways
could lead to dangerous driving situations. While the
commission would study the issue before increasing the
speed of a section of highway, it is not always possible
to predict the impact of higher speeds on safety. Many
vehicles travel 5 or 10 mph over the speed limit. While
the rate of collisions may not necessarily increase at
higher average speeds, the average severity of accidents
certainly does.

Eliminating the reduced night driving speed also
could lead to more dangerous driving conditions.
Drivers are more likely to override their headlights
at higher speeds at night, creating potential hazards.
Higher speeds amplify dangers associated with tired
driving, which is more common at night, as drivers have
less time to respond to unexpected incidents on the road.

HB 1353 would create further risks by eliminating
the reduced speed for trucks. Only Utah currently allows
trucks to travel at 80 mph. Not enough data from actual
road observations exist to be confident that trucks can
safely travel in real traffic conditions at these speeds.

The authority in HB 1201 to allow an 85-mph
speed limit could be a boon for a private toll road in
central Texas — SH 130, the only highway in Texas
currently engineered to support a speed of 85 mph.

SH 130 segments 5 and 6 near Lockhart are privately
operated tollways developed by Cintra. A provision in
the concessions agreement between TxDOT and Cintra
to develop portions of SH 130 states that if TxDOT
authorizes an 85-mph speed limit within a certain
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timeframe, the agency will be entitled to an additional
payment or a greater share of toll revenue.

Notes

The HRO analysis of HB 1353 appeared in the April
15 Duaily Floor Report. The HRO analysis of HB 1201
appeared in the April 6 Daily Floor Report.
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Continuing the Texas Department of Transportation

SB 1420 by Hinojosa
Generally effective September 1, 2011
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SB 1420 extends the Sunset date for the Texas
Department of Transportation (TxDOT) by four
years, to September 1, 2015. It revises provisions
governing TxDOT administration, transfers permitting
for oversize and overweight vehicles from TxDOT to
the Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV), revises
environmental review for highways, authorizes TxDOT
to enter into comprehensive agreements for certain
projects, establishes requirements for a statewide
transportation plan, adds reporting requirements,
allows design-build contracts, adds a compliance office
to TxDOT, restricts lobbying of the Legislature, and
adopts standard Sunset recommendations, among other
changes.

TxDOT administration. SB 1420 prohibits a
member of the Texas Transportation Commission
from accepting a campaign contribution for elected
office. Doing so would be tantamount to resigning,
and the office immediately would become vacant. One
commissioner must be a registered voter of a county
with a population of less than 150,000.

The commission must establish a compliance office
responsible for detecting and preventing breaches of
departmental policy, fraud, waste, and abuse of office
and for investigating and overseeing certain functions
specified in the bill.

Oversize and overweight vehicles. SB 1420
transfers responsibilities for regulating oversize and
overweight vehicles under Transportation Code,
chs. 621, 622, and 623 to TxDMV from TxDOT no
later than January 1, 2012. The agencies may adopt
a memorandum of understanding to implement the
transition. TxXDMV will determine routes for the
vehicles based on information from TxDOT. Documents
issued by TxDOT before the transfer remain in effect.

Environmental review process. The commission
must establish standards, based on certain criteria, for
processing an environmental review document for a
highway project. The standards must increase efficiency,
minimize delays, and encourage collaboration between
TxDOT and local governments.

TxDOT, a county, a regional tollway authority, or a
regional mobility authority may enter into an agreement
to provide funds to a state or federal agency to expedite
an environmental review for a transportation project,
including a project a metropolitan planning organization
designates in its long-range transportation plan.

Comprehensive development agreements. The bill
extends TxDOT’s authority to enter into comprehensive
development agreements (CDAs) for 11 specific
projects from August 2011 to August 2015. It establishes
requirements and timetables for the authorized CDAs. A
committee consisting of representatives of certain public
entities must determine the distribution of risk, method
of financing, and tolling methodology for projects
receiving certain forms of public assistance.

Transportation plan. The bill requires TxDOT to
develop a statewide transportation plan extending 24
years, to be updated at least every four years. The plan
must include measurable targets for long-term goals,
identify priority projects or areas, and include a plan
for obtaining formal input from government entities
and the public. The department must coordinate with
metropolitan planning organizations (MPOs) to develop
assumptions for long-range federal and state funding
forecasts to guide the plan.

Project development and fund allocation. The bill
places in statute requirements that TxDOT’s existing
Unified Transportation Program (UTP) identify target
funding levels yearly and list all projects that TxDOT
intends to develop or begin during the required 10-year
program period. The commission must adopt rules
specifying criteria for selecting the projects for the
program and defining funding categories and each phase
of a major project.

Each TxDOT district must develop a work program
based on the UTP that contains all projects the district
proposes for a period of four years. The program must
contain information on the progress of major projects
and a summary of others. TxXDOT must use the program
to monitor district performance and evaluate district
employees. It must make the work program available
online.
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For each funding category, the commission must
specify formulas for allocating funds to districts and
MPOs for certain types of projects. Funds TxDOT
receives for highways must be allocated through the
adopted formulas to department districts.

Reporting requirements. TxDOT must establish a
transportation project information reporting system and
an expenditure reporting system on its website. It must
publish an annual report on the status of transportation
goals that includes information about progress toward
meeting long-term goals, the status of major projects,

a summary of implementation benchmarks, and
information about the accuracy of previous financial
forecasts.

Design-build contracts. TxDOT may enter into a
design-build contract for a highway project with a cost
estimate greater than $50 million, but until August 2015
may enter into only three such contracts per year. The
bill defines a design-build contract as an agreement
with a single entity for the design and construction of a
highway project. The contract may not allow a private
entity to operate or retain revenue from the operation
of a toll road. The bill establishes procedures for
evaluating and awarding design-build contracts.

Outdoor advertising. The bill establishes licensing
and bonding requirements for displaying outdoor
advertising on rural roads and adopts procedures for
suspending licenses. It transfers highway beautification
fees from the Highway Beautification Fund Account to
the State Highway Fund (Fund 6). Money from fees and
penalties for outdoor advertising on rural roads also will
go to Fund 6.

The bill allows the commission to impose an
administrative penalty for a violation of an outdoor
advertising provision in lieu of a suit to collect a civil
penalty. The commission must adopt rules for accepting
and resolving written complaints related to outdoor
advertising along rural roads.

Executive and employee conduct. The bill
prohibits TxDOT from spending money to hire a person
required to register as a lobbyist unless allowed to do so
by another law. A commissioner or TXDOT employee
may not use department funds to engage in activity to
influence legislation, and doing so would be grounds for
dismissal. A commissioner or employee may use state
resources to provide public information or communicate
with federal employees in the pursuit of federal
appropriations.

The bill requires the commission or TxDOT, as
appropriate, to consider whether an employee with
unsatisfactory performance at the level of district
engineer or higher should be terminated. Evaluations
must include the extent to which the employee is
professional, diligent, and responsive to directives and
requests from the commission and the Legislature.

General provisions. The bill deletes a current
requirement that notice of bids for a transportation
project be published in a newspaper in the county in
which the project is proposed. The commission must
determine the most effective method for providing
required notice of bids.

The bill requires TxDOT to manage a system
of changeable message signs to provide current
information to the traveling public, including
information about traffic incidents, weather conditions,
road construction, and alternative routes.

Supporters said

SB 1420, the TxDOT Sunset bill, would implement
Sunset recommendations to promote transparency,
accountability, and efficiency of operations. It would
extend the agency four years, until 2015, so that the
Sunset Advisory Commission had another chance in the
near future to review how adopted changes were being
implemented and to make further recommendations as
appropriate.

Texas Transportation Commission. The bill
would retain the current structure of the five-member
commission appointed by the governor with Senate
confirmation. Making major structural changes to
the commission would not address core issues with
transportation management in the state — the need to
make organizational, leadership, and cultural changes
within TxDOT. Trying to resolve issues with the agency
by extensive restructuring would be ineffective and
could have unanticipated consequences.

While some restructuring proposals may have
merit, many have associated weaknesses that eclipse
their promise. A single appointed transportation
commissioner or single elected commissioner, for
instance, might be more directly accountable, but could
leave large areas of the state with no representation
on the commission. Further, adding elected officials
to the commission could politicize the selection of
transportation projects in the state and result in decisions
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made for political expediency and not the state’s best
interests.

Comprehensive development agreements. The
bill would extend the state’s ability to enter into CDAs
with private entities to develop and operate specific
toll roads. Private financiers, in some cases, can
bring abundant resources to toll projects that may be
unavailable to the public sector. Many private toll road
developers have international asset and capital bases
they may leverage to finance the initial acquisition
and construction of toll facilities. Private toll road
development agreements may bring the state more
initial income in the form of concession agreements,
give the state a portion of ongoing revenue collections,
and relieve the state from the responsibility of building
or maintaining the road.

By leasing the rights to develop and operate toll
projects to private entities for the specific projects in the
bill, the state would shield itself from the unavoidable
risks associated with those projects. Leasing toll projects
to private developers eliminates such risks for the state
and provides revenue in the form of concession fees and
other contractually specified returns.

Bids and contracts. The bill would implement
a Sunset recommendation to authorize design-build
contracts for nontolled transportation projects.
Design-build contracts can be highly efficient in select
circumstances because they allow for the integration
of engineering and construction aspects of a contract.
Authorizing a narrow universe of these contracts would
minimize potential error and misuse, while allowing
TxDOT to tap into the efficiency and savings these
contracts can offer.

Oversize and overweight vehicles. SB 1420 would
improve efficiency by consolidating the permitting
of oversize and overweight vehicles within TxDMV.
That department, which was established in 2009 to
oversee vehicle titling and registration and other related
functions, has been structured as an effective customer
service agency. The focus on customer service, as
opposed to transportation system design, construction,
and maintenance, has allowed TxXDMYV to increase
efficiency in the regulation of motor vehicles.

Opponents said

SB 1420 would miss an important opportunity to
restructure TxDOT in ways that promoted the long-term
interests of the state.

Texas Transportation Commission. SB 1420
should change the structure of the commission. The
Sunset Advisory Commission found a pervasive
atmosphere of distrust surrounding TxDOT and
recommended decisive action. The Sunset Commission
argued that a single commissioner would help restore
accountability, trust, and responsiveness to the
department. Retaining the five-member commission
would not adequately reflect current discontent with
TxDOT operations. The state needs significant change
in the way transportation projects are planned and
implemented that the bill would not realize.

The commission should be restructured to include a
single appointed or elected transportation commissioner
or multiple, elected commissioners. A change of this
magnitude would send a strong message to TxDOT
and fundamentally alter the commission, making its
policymaking functions responsive to the public and its
representatives.

Comprehensive development agreements. The
bill would continue the flawed practice of turning over
valued public assets to the private sector. The value of
the transportation assets the state loses by leasing out
development rights for toll roads usually exceeds any
benefits it might enjoy as a result of ceding such rights.
The capacity of private financing to minimize the risks
inherent in developing a toll road is overstated. Private
developers are not likely to gamble with toll roads that
they do not expect to yield significant net profits over
their lifetime, and it is unlikely that the state could deny
credibly financial or contractual assistance to a private
interest operating a failing tollway. Successful public
toll roads become future engines of transportation
funding, while privately funded toll roads export
revenue to shareholders internationally.

Bids and contracts. The bill would apply a very
specific method of project delivery, design-build
contracts, to standard contracts that should be procured
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with standard processes. Expanding the use of design-
build contracting would not make sense because only a
fraction of highway projects are suited for procurement
through specialized forms of contract. This expansion
would have few benefits and could present a number of
risks based on how these contracts were structured.

Oversize and overweight vehicles. Moving
permitting of oversize and overweight vehicles to
TxDMV from TxDOT could reduce the efficiency of
permit processing. Under the bill, TxDOT still would
be responsible for determining routes for oversize and
overweight vehicles, which is a necessary part of the
permitting process. Moving these functions could forfeit
an economy of location by requiring TxDMV to await a
response from TxDOT in order to process a permit.

Notes

The HRO analysis of the House companion bill,
HB 2675 by Harper-Brown, appeared in the April 29
Daily Floor Report.
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