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	 During its 2009 regular session, the 81st Texas Legislature enacted 
1,459 bills and adopted nine joint resolutions after considering 7,609 
measures filed. This report is an overview of many of the highlights 
of the regular session and of the first called session, held July 1-2, 
2009, during which two bills were enacted. It summarizes some 
proposals that were approved and some that were not. Also included are 
arguments offered for and against each measure as it was debated. The 
legislation featured in this report is a sampling and not intended to be 
comprehensive.

	 Other House Research Organization reports covering the 2009 
sessions include: State Finance Report Number 81-4, Texas Budget 
Highlights, Fiscal 2010-11, which summarizes SB 1 by Ogden, the 
general appropriations act, and HB 4586 by Pitts, the supplemental 
appropriations act; Focus Report Number 81-7, Vetoes of Legislation, 
81st Legislature, which includes the governor’s veto messages and 
responses from the authors and the sponsors of the 35 vetoed bills and 
three vetoed concurrent resolutions; and Focus Report Number 81-8, 
Constitutional Amendments Proposed for the November 2009 Ballot, 
which analyzes the 11 propositions to be submitted to the voters at the 
November 3, 2009, election.
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LEGISLATIVE STATISTICS
81st Legislature, Regular Session

Source: Texas Legislative Information System

*Includes 35 vetoed bills — 20 House bills and 15 Senate bills

House bills	 4,836	 867	 17.9%

Senate bills	 2,583	 592	 22.9%

TOTAL bills	 7,419	 1,459	 19.7%

HJRs	 140	 9	 6.4% 

SJRs	 50	 0	 0.0% 

TOTAL joint
resolutions	 190	 9	 4.7%

Introduced	 Enacted*	 Percent enacted

2007	 2009	 Percent change

Bills filed	 6,190	 7,419	 19.9%

Bills enacted	 1,481	 1,459	 -1.5%

Bills vetoed	 51	 35	 -31.4%

Joint resolutions filed	 151	 190	 25.8%

Joint resolutions adopted	 17	 9	 -47.1%

Legislation sent or transferred
to Calendars Committee	 1,692	 1,726	 2.0%

Legislation sent to Local and
Consent Calendars Committee	 1,056	 1,398	 32.4%
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HB 873 by Dukes
Effective April 23, 2009

State incentives for media productions

	 HB 873 changes the requirements to qualify for 
a moving image project incentive grant, increases 
the incentive for filming in certain geographic areas, 
expands the geographic areas that qualify a project 
for additional incentives, and includes educational 
or instructional videos in the incentive program by 
amending the definition of “moving image project.”

	 HB 873 makes the following changes in the 
requirements to qualify for a moving image project 
incentive grant:

lowers the minimum amount of in-state •	
spending required for a film or television 
program from $1 million to $250,000;
adds educational and instructional videos and •	
digital interactive media productions to the list 
of qualifying productions with a $100,000 in-
state spending minimum;
allows the Music, Film, Television, and •	
Multimedia Office to make an exception to the 
requirement that 70 percent of the workforce on 
a project be Texas residents if they determine 
that there is not a sufficient number of Texas 
residents to fill the necessary positions; and
lowers the percentage of the project that must be •	
filmed in Texas from 80 percent to 60 percent.

	 The bill also removes the cap on grant amounts and 
requires the Music, Film, Television, and Multimedia 
Office to establish, by rule, how grant amounts will be 
calculated. The rules will have to consider the impact 
of a project on employment, tourism, and economic 
activity and the amount of a production company’s in-
state spending for a project. 

	 HB 873 changed the term “underused area” to 
“underutilized and economically distressed area,” 
increased the incentive for filming in these areas to 2.25 
percent, and expanded the definition of those areas to 
include any area that the Music, Film, Television and 
Multimedia Office determines received less than 15 
percent of the total film and television production in 
this state during a fiscal year or had a median household 
income that was not more than 75 percent of the median 
state income.

Supporters said

	 Texas is losing millions of dollars in film, television, 
commercials, and video game projects to other states, 
primarily Louisiana, New Mexico, Georgia, and 
Michigan. As a result, the state is losing high-paying 
jobs, economic activity, and tax dollars. The Texas Film 
Commission estimates the state has lost more than $500 
million in direct spending and more than 7,000 jobs to 
other states since 2003. Although Texas has created a 
film incentive program and made some adjustments, 
the program has proven too modest for investors and 
production companies to find competitive.

	 HB 873 would provide a more flexible program by 
decreasing some previous requirements and allowing 
the Music, Film, Television, and Multimedia Office 
discretion when awarding grants, rather than strict 
guidelines that have kept some worthwhile projects 
from qualifying and resulted in projects going to other 
states to film. Decreasing spending requirements for 
film/television projects from $1 million to $250,000 
would entice producers to keep work in-state and 
would qualify independent filmmakers and those in 
the straight-to-video market. By eliminating the cap on 
grants, Texas better would be able to attract high-budget 
productions and would eliminate the disadvantage 
Texas has in competing with states without caps. The 
requirement that 70 percent of the crew, actors, and 
extras on a project be Texas residents is too rigid and 
sometimes impossible to meet with current workforce 
levels, so the bill would allow flexibility if a sufficient 
percentage of Texas residents were not available when 
filming began. Also, decreasing the percentage of a 
project that must be filmed in Texas from 80 percent 
to 60 percent would entice more projects to do partial 
production in Texas, which would boost employment 
and spending in the state.

	 There would be no risk to the state because 
payments would be made only after a project was 
completed in Texas. The enhancements provided by HB 
873 are needed because although the incentive program 
has been used heavily by producers of television 
commercials and video games, it has not been effective 
in stopping the flow of feature films and television 
programs to states offering more generous incentives.

Table 
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Opponents said

	 While increasing media production in Texas is 
important, the state cannot afford to increase support for 
what amounts to using taxpayer dollars for a corporate 
subsidy. The state of Texas is not in the business of 
moving image production. The industry is made up of 
private businesses and is mainly concentrated in the 
Dallas and Austin areas. Rather than offer still more 
grant money to attract the industry to other parts of the 
state, municipalities could develop more robust local 
incentive packages to attract projects to their areas.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of the bill appeared in the 
March 25 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 2295 by McClendon
Died in Senate committee

Continuing the Texas Residential Construction Commission

	 HB 2295, as passed by the House, would 
have continued the Texas Residential Construction 
Commission (TRCC) until September 1, 2015, and 
would have made several changes in the structure of the 
agency, including provisions that would have:

required licensing of homebuilders and •	
provided penalties for operating without a 
license;
established mediation as an alternative to using •	
the state inspection program to address alleged 
construction defects;
required TRCC to adopt standard home •	
construction contract forms;
created a homeowners recovery fund; •	
adopted additional disclosure requirements; and •	
made other administrative changes, such as •	
allowing TRCC to issue emergency orders, 
creating an ombudsman’s office, and adding two 
members to the governing board. 

	 Since HB 2295 was not enacted and the Sunset date 
for TRCC was not extended, the agency was abolished 
as of September 1, 2009, under the Sunset Act, and after 
a one-year wind-down period will cease to exist as of 
September 1, 2010.

	 Licensing. HB 2295 would have required a 
homebuilder to have a TRCC license to conduct 
business in Texas. A new license applicant would 
have been required to meet the current requirements 
for TRCC registration, pay a licensing fee, provide a 
$25,000 bond, complete an eight-hour course that would 
have included one hour of ethics and two hours covering 
various building codes, standards, regulations, and laws, 
and pass a qualifying examination. The bill would have 
increased continuing education requirements from five 
hours every five years to 16 hours every two years. 

	 Conducting business as a builder without TRCC 
licensure would have been a class B misdemeanor (up 
to 180 days in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,000). 
The bill also would have allowed TRCC to take 
disciplinary action against a builder for not meeting 
reporting requirements established for builders involved 
in the state inspection process or mediation; for failure 
to complete obligations of a construction contract; for 
not complying with TRCC rules related to third-party 

inspectors; or for not using TRCC-adopted or TRCC-
approved building contract forms. 

	 Opt-out provisions. The bill would have allowed 
homeowners to elect mediation as an alternative to 
the state inspection program. If the homeowner had 
requested mediation, the builder would have been 
required to participate in good faith. If an agreement had 
not been reached by the end of the 90-day mediation 
period, the homeowner would have been allowed to 
initiate an action to recover damages for a construction 
defect. 
 
	 HB 2295 would have required TRCC to assign a 
third-party inspector within 10 days, rather than the 
current 30 days, of the date it received a homeowner’s 
complaint about construction defects, but would have 
permitted the TRCC executive director to assign a 
TRCC inspector or other state employee to conduct an 
emergency inspection. Recommendations by a third-
party inspector would have had to be issued within 45 
days, rather than the current 60 days, of the inspector’s 
assignment. A homeowner would have been allowed to 
initiate an action to recover damages on or after the 76th 
day after initiating the state inspection process for issues 
related to workmanship or materials and on or after the 
91st day for structural issues.

	 HB 2295 would have prohibited TRCC from 
charging homeowners certain fees, including fees to 
cover the cost of a third-party inspection. 

	 Standardized construction contract. HB 2295 
would have required TRCC to adopt standardized 
contract forms for the sale or construction of a new 
home. However, a builder would not have been 
precluded from using the builder’s own contract form, 
if approved by TRCC, or a contract prepared by the 
purchaser or the purchaser’s attorney. 

	 Disclosures. A binding arbitration agreement 
related to a home construction contract would have 
been required to include a statement, initialed by each 
party, that the homeowner was waiving voluntarily and 
knowingly the right to a jury trial to settle any future 
disputes. The bill would have required homebuilders 
to disclose whether a home had been repurchased from 
another purchaser by the builder because of a dispute 
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over construction defects and the nature and remediation 
of the defects. Other provisions would have required 
that TRCC post on its website the number of complaints 
against individual builders, final reports on inspections, 
and whether the builder had resolved disputes with 
homeowners. 

	 Homeowner recovery fund. HB 2295 would 
have established a homeowner recovery fund to serve 
as a last resort for homeowners who were unable to 
recover damages from a builder related to a violation 
of the Texas Residential Construction Act or to get a 
confirmed construction defect repaired. The fund would 
have received 10 percent of all administrative penalties 
collected by TRCC and could have provided up to 
$175,000 in compensation for a homeowner unable to 
collect from a bankrupt or otherwise judgment-proof 
homebuilder.

	 Other provisions. The bill would have established 
the office of ombudsman, which would have submitted 
comments to TRCC about rule and policy changes and 
would have helped builders and homeowners in locating 
mediation services or with the post-inspection process. 
The bill also would have added two members to the 
nine-member TRCC board, including an additional 
public member; established in statute the TRCC mission 
and purpose; and required publication of a homeowner 
information pamphlet. 

 
Supporters said

	 HB 2295 would strike a good balance between 
the economics of the homebuilding industry, which 
contributes more than $35 billion and 500,000 jobs 
to the state economy, and the concerns of millions of 
homeowners. TRCC survived the acid test of a very 
closely watched and sometimes contentious Sunset 
review, including a favorable vote to continue the 
agency by the legislators most involved in the process. 
This legislation would provide the agency the tools it 
needed to conduct its work more quickly and efficiently 
to help builders and homeowners resolve their disputes. 
Many amendments added during the House debate 
would make the bill even more consumer-friendly.

	 TRCC has made great strides since the Legislature 
gave it additional resources and enforcement powers in 
2007. Its staff has increased significantly the resolution 
of complaints about construction defects. In addition, 
TRCC has taken major enforcement actions, including 

a lifetime ban for one builder and a fine of $260,000 
against another.

	 Licensing. HB 2295 would have Texas join 28 
other states that license those operating in residential 
construction. Requiring licensing, rather than 
registration, would increase the level of professionalism 
among homebuilders. Exempting from new licensing 
requirements those who already hold one credential is 
a common practice when a regulatory agency changes 
regulatory standards. Requiring all existing registered 
builders to take a qualifying examination would be 
costly and burdensome for the industry and the state.

	 HB 2295 would provide real teeth behind TRCC 
enforcement efforts, including criminal penalties for 
unlicensed persons claiming to be builders and the 
ability to take disciplinary action against a builder that 
failed to complete all contract obligations. 

	 Opt-out provisions. HB 2295 would allow 
homeowners to elect mediation, rather than the state 
inspection program, to resolve disputes in a fair and 
expedient manner. TRCC could take disciplinary 
action if a builder failed to make repairs agreed to in 
mediation.

	 For homeowners who chose the state inspection 
program, the process would be streamlined, and 
homeowners would not pay a fee to receive an 
inspection. Stricter deadlines would ensure that 
homeowners more quickly could pursue further action 
to recover damages if they were not satisfied with the 
outcome of mediation or the inspection process.

	 Standardized contracts and disclosure. Adopting 
standardized contract forms would help homeowners 
learn more about their rights. One provision would raise 
awareness by new homebuyers about the consequences 
associated with arbitration, including waiving the right 
to a trial by jury. Informed and prepared homebuyers 
would provide stability and integrity to neighborhoods 
and communities. Also, the TRCC website would 
provide additional information about complaints against 
builders and resolution of those disputes, which would 
help homebuyers make better choices.

	 Homeowner recovery fund and other provisions. 
HB 2295 would provide a mechanism for compensation 
of up to $175,000 for homeowners who were unable 
to recover from a builder not able to pay a full court 
judgment or who was bankrupt. Other provisions, such 
as the ombudsman office and expanded membership on 
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the board, would help make TRCC more responsive to 
consumers and the building industry.

Opponents said

	 TRCC should be abolished. This bill would not 
make the policy or statutory changes necessary to create 
a regulatory agency with a clear mission to protect the 
public. Having a poor regulatory program, especially 
one that functions as a creature of the industry it is 
designed to oversee, is worse than having no regulatory 
program at all. TRCC has had the dubious distinction 
of having two different state reports, the Strayhorn 
report in 2006 and the Sunset staff report, recommend 
its elimination. This would be the third time this decade 
that the Legislature has reviewed this agency, and after 
three strikes, TRCC should be gone. 

	 Licensing. Texas regulates doctors, attorneys, 
accountants, psychologists, and land surveyors, but 
those regulatory agencies do not deny access to justice 
at the courthouse for those harmed by the wrongdoing 
of their members. TRCC procedures effectively shield 
home builders from the consequences of their actions, 
and HB 2295 would do little to redress that imbalance.

	 HB 2295 would provide for licensing in name 
only and would do nothing to ensure the competence 
and financial responsibility of builders in the state, nor 
would it prevent unqualified individuals from entering 
the field. Of more than 28,000 applications, only 385 
have been rejected. A vast majority of those registered 
builders would be grandfathered under the new license 
requirements. This bill would not weed out bad builders. 

	 The bill’s proposed continuing education 
requirements would not improve the quality of builders. 
They would have to complete, but not necessarily pass, 
an eight-hour course. One hour devoted to ethics and 30 
more minutes assigned on four complex topics would 
not be useful either for the builders or homeowners. 
	
	 Opt-out provisions. TRCC believes that its mission 
is to “reconcile differences” between builders and 
homeowners. A leaking roof or cracked foundation 
should not be a “difference.” Texans do not need a state 
agency to make homeowners wait to begin a process 
that finally could force builders to repair problems with 
their homes. 

	 Homebuyers would be asked to waive some rights 
without adding any meaningful protections. While the 

bill seems to offer voluntary mediation, the wording 
could be construed such that mediation could be 
requested by a homeowner only in the unlikely event 
that the builder asked for the state inspection. 

	 Homeowner recovery fund and other provisions. 
Providing up to $175,000 in compensation would be an 
improvement to the homeowner recovery fund, but it 
still could be significantly less than the amount needed 
to compensate a homeowner for a construction defect. 
The other provisions, such as an ombudsman, additional 
board members, changes in the mission statement, and a 
homeowner informational pamphlet, would be window 
dressing rather than substantial improvements.

Other opponents said

	 The Legislature should have adopted the approach 
offered by HB 2243 by Leibowitz that would have 
required stricter licensing of builders through the Texas 
Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) 
rather than TRCC. This approach would have given 
Texas homeowners oversight of the homebuilding 
industry through an agency with more than a century of 
experience in regulation and provided direct access to 
administrative and legal remedies. 

Notes

	 HB 1959 by Isett, the bill extending Sunset dates 
for agencies whose Sunset bills failed to pass, would 
have eliminated TRCC’s authority to regulate or 
take enforcement action against builders, third-party 
warranty companies, or arbitrators as of September 1, 
2009, which, in effect, would have accelerated the one-
year wind-down period before the agency ceases to exist 
September 1, 2010. HB 1959 died when the House did 
not vote on the conference committee report on the bill. 

	 SB 1 by Ogden, the general appropriations act for 
fiscal 2010-11, includes a Sunset contingency rider that 
eliminates TRCC funding for fiscal 2011 and allows 
only sufficient funds to close the agency during fiscal 
2010.

	 HB 2243 by Leibowitz, which would have licensed 
builders through TDLR, died in the House Business and 
Industry Committee.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2295 appeared in Part 
One of the May 6 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 4409 by Taylor/ SB 14 by Fraser
TWIA provisions effective June 19, 2009/ Died in the House

Restructuring the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA)

	 HB 4409 revises operation, oversight, and 
funding provisions of the Texas Windstorm Insurance 
Association (TWIA) Act, including funding coverage 
for catastrophic events, in part, through issuance of 
public securities. It revises the purpose of TWIA, stating 
that it is intended to provide an adequate market for 
windstorm and hail insurance in the seacoast territory. 
For these coverages, TWIA is the residual insurer of last 
resort. 

	 Payment of losses. HB 4409 revises the method 
by which TWIA will pay losses, including establishing 
three classes of public securities that may be used to pay 
TWIA losses. These securities must be repaid within 
10 years of issuance and generally must be issued after 
the catastrophic event has occurred for which additional 
revenue is needed. The public securities are exempt 
from taxation, payable through various mechanisms 
within TWIA, and will not be debt of the state. 

	 If insured losses and operating expenses exceed 
premium and other revenue of TWIA, the losses 
will be paid from available association reserves and 
available amounts in the Catastrophe Reserve Trust 
Fund. If losses remain unpaid after these resources are 
exhausted, payments will be made from the following 
funding mechanisms in the order listed, subject to the 
noted maximum per occurrence amounts:

$1 billion from class 1 public securities, payable •	
from premium and other revenue, including 
revenue the association obtains through 
financing arrangements with any market source;
$1 billion from class 2 public securities, payable •	
from a combination of member assessments (30 
percent) and nonrefundable premium surcharges 
on property and casualty policies issued for 
property located in a catastrophe area (70 
percent); and
$500 million from class 3 public securities, •	
payable from members’ assessments for which 
a member may pay directly or use reinsurance 
coverage the member elected to obtain.

	 Member assessments made for Class 2 and 3 public 
securities will be made in proportion to the member’s 
share of premiums collected during the preceding 

calendar year. These assessments may not be recouped 
through a premium surcharge or tax credit. TWIA may 
purchase reinsurance that operates in addition to or 
in concert with the other mechanisms authorized for 
payment of TWIA losses.  

	 Eligibility. TWIA will provide initial or renewal 
coverage to applicants in the catastrophe area whose 
property is insurable but who were unable to obtain 
property insurance through the voluntary market, as 
evidenced by one declination from an insurer that writes 
windstorm and hail coverage in the first-tier coastal 
counties. 

	 All construction, alteration, remodeling, 
enlargement, and repair of structures in catastrophe 
areas that was begun on or after June 19, 2009, must 
comply with building code standards in the plan of 
operation to be eligible for TWIA coverage.

	 Structures constructed, altered, remodeled, or 
enlarged on or after September 1, 2009, that are 
located in a zone with an additional hazard associated 
with storm waves may not receive initial or renewal 
TWIA coverage unless evidence of flood insurance 
is submitted with the application, if National Flood 
Insurance Program flood insurance is available for that 
property.

	 Inspections. The Texas Department of Insurance 
(TDI) must charge reasonable fees for inspection. 
Structures may not be certified for insurability 
unless inspection fees are paid and documentation of 
compliance with the plan of operation is provided within 
six months of application. 

	 The bill specifies the inspection requirements 
for structures that have been altered, remodeled, or 
enlarged. Structures modified on or after January 1, 
1988, are subject to inspection by TDI to be considered 
insurable. 

	 Residential structures insured by TWIA as of 
September 1, 2009, that have been inspected for 
compliance with the plan of operation and found 
noncompliant may continue coverage through TWIA, 
but the policy will be subject to a separate, non-
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refundable annual premium surcharge of 15 percent. 
The surcharge will be deposited in the Catastrophe 
Reserve Trust Fund. 

	 Rate regulation. Recognized catastrophe models 
may be considered in adopting TWIA rates. TWIA may 
use a rate filed without prior commissioner approval, 
if the filing is made at least 30 days before use, does 
not exceed 105 percent of the rate in effect on the 
filing date, and does not increase rates by more than 
10 percent for an individual rating class. TWIA may 
establish rating territories, but rates within a county may 
not vary more than 5 percent in 2009, with the allowable 
variance increasing by 1 percent annually so that rates 
may not vary more than 8 percent in 2012.  

	 Board of directors. HB 4409 revises the 
composition and duties of the TWIA board of directors. 
All members must have demonstrated experience in 
insurance, general business, or actuarial principles. 
The members of the board, all appointed by the 
commissioner, must include:

	 four members representing the insurance industry, •	
selected from a slate of people nominated by the 
industry;

	 four members who reside in the first-tier coastal •	
counties, including at least one person who is a 
property and casualty agent;

	 one member who represents an area of the state •	
not located in the seacoast territory; and

	 one non-voting member who is a licensed •	
engineer residing in a first-tier coastal county. 

	 The primary objectives of the board are to ensure 
that the association operates in accordance with 
applicable law and commissioner rules, complies with 
sound insurance principles, and meets all standards 
imposed by the TWIA Act. The TWIA board must issue 
biennial reports about operations of the association.

	 Additional oversight and review. HB 4409 
establishes a Windstorm Insurance Legislative 
Oversight Board to monitor Texas windstorm insurance 
and review recommendations for legislation proposed 
by TDI and TWIA. TWIA must undergo Sunset review, 
paid for by the association, during the period in which 
state agencies abolished in 2015 are reviewed, but 
TWIA will not be subject to abolishment. 

	 SB 14 would have established many revisions to 
the TWIA Act that were substantially similar to those of 
HB 4409, such as those regarding the TWIA purpose, 

board composition and duties, eligibility requirements, 
and rate regulation. SB 14 would have differed most 
substantially from HB 4409 in the method by which 
losses would have been paid. SB 14 also would have 
transferred direct responsibilities related to building 
inspections and appointment of inspectors from TDI to 
TWIA and would have repealed provisions regarding 
the authority of TDI to discipline inspectors and collect 
fines.

	 Payment of losses. SB 14 would have established 
two classes of public securities that could have been 
used to pay TWIA losses. Class 1 public securities 
would have been authorized for issuance before 
the occurrence of a catastrophic event, if the board 
determined premiums and other revenue might not 
be sufficient to pay insured losses. These securities 
could not have been used to pay for catastrophic events 
occurring before their issuance. Class 2 public securities 
could have been authorized to be issued on or after the 
occurrence. 

	 Public security obligations that TWIA could not 
have paid with available revenue would have been 
paid with nonrefundable surcharges collected on 
property insurance policies that applied to property in 
a catastrophe area, first-tier coastal county, and the part 
of the second-tier coastal counties included in TWIA. 
These surcharges would not have been subject to 
premium taxes or commissions.

	 If insured losses and operating expenses had 
exceeded premium and other revenue of TWIA, the 
losses would have been paid from available association 
reserves and available amounts in the Catastrophe 
Reserve Trust Fund. If losses had remained unpaid 
after these resources had been exhausted, SB 14 would 
have authorized payments from the following funding 
mechanisms in the order listed, subject to the noted 
maximum per occurrence amounts:

$300 million from class 1 public securities;•	
$300 million from class 2 public securities;•	
$300 million from member assessments that •	
could not have been recouped from a premium 
surcharge or tax credit and would have been 
made in proportion to the member’s share 
of premiums collected during the preceding 
calendar year;
$100 million from member assessments that •	
would have been repaid by nonrefundable 
premium surcharges charged to policyholders in 
a catastrophe area;
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up to $1 billion from reinsurance that had been •	
purchased by TWIA from premiums and other 
revenue; and
$750 million from member assessments that •	
could have been credited against the insurer’s 
premium tax at a rate of up to 20 percent per 
year for five or more successive years.

	 If the board of directors had determined that the 
sale of public securities or the purchase of reinsurance 
were not possible or that other financing mechanisms 
were more fiscally appropriate or economically 
beneficial to Texas, the board, with the approval of the 
commissioner, could have used any combination of 
financing arrangements allowed by the TWIA Act to pay 
the excess losses.

Supporters said

	 HB 4409 would establish a fair funding and 
governance approach for the Texas Windstorm 
Insurance Association (TWIA), giving TWIA the tools it 
needs to cover losses in the event of another catastrophic 
storm along the Texas coast. The bill would represent 
the healthiest balance between interests. Premiums 
would remain affordable for coastal consumers, which 
would protect the coastal economy, and costs would not 
be shifted to insurers.

	 Losses associated with hurricanes Dolly and Ike 
in 2008 exposed the weaknesses in the current TWIA 
funding mechanism. In 2008, hurricanes Dolly and 
Ike required TWIA to use all existing premiums, 
reinsurance, and the full balance of the Catastrophe 
Reserve Trust Fund, which was about $470 million. 
In addition, $530 million in assessments were made to 
Texas property insurers, of which $230 million will be 
subject to premium tax credits. Large assessments such 
as these not only drive up Texas property insurance 
rates statewide because the costs are spread to all Texas 
property insurers, but the $230 million subject to tax 
credits represents a long-term revenue loss to the state in 
premium taxes that will not be able to be collected. 

	 Through the use of public securities, HB 4409 
would spread the cost of a major storm over as long 
as ten years. Coastal residents would not face any 
surcharges, nor would TWIA members face any 
assessments, until losses exceeded $1 billion. Because 
the bill caps the exposure of member insurers to at most 

$800 million, insurers could better calculate their risks 
of participating in the Texas market. When insurers face 
an unlimited assessment for excess storm losses, such 
as they can under the current funding structure, they are 
more likely to either exit the market or raise rates more 
aggressively because they cannot adequately predict 
their future costs.

	 Coastal residents would bear 70 percent of the 
costs between $1 billion and $2 billion, but given the 
opportunity to spread premium surcharges over 10 
years, a property owner would not have to pay more 
than an approximately 3-percent increase for any major 
storm. This approach would acknowledge the fairness of 
TWIA policy holders paying more for their losses than 
the rest of the state, yet would prevent coastal property 
owners from being overburdened by insurance costs 
to the point they could not maintain their homes or 
businesses or subjected to total loss because they chose 
to risk dropping coverage.

	 All Texans benefit by ensuring that reasonably 
priced insurance is available along the coast. The 
coastal area is host to a substantial portion of the oil 
and gas industry, and coastal ports are the gateway for 
a vast number of imports and exports that distribute 
Texas-produced goods abroad or that supply Texas 
manufacturers with the goods they need for production. 
By maintaining the affordability of TWIA coverage, HB 
4409 would avoid disruptions to coastal business that 
would impact every aspect of the state economy.
	
	 Texas faced an extraordinary year in 2008 with the 
largest losses by far in TWIA’s 37 years of existence, yet 
the claims for hurricanes Ike and Dolly still fell below 
the $2.5 billion of losses that HB 4409 could fund. 
Even still, the bill would authorize TWIA to purchase 
reinsurance for use in addition to the other funding 
mechanisms. For every year that TWIA premiums 
generated excess revenue, these funds would be building 
the balance of the Catastrophe Reserve Trust Fund, 
which would be tapped before any of the other funding 
mechanisms in this bill.

	 The bill also would establish more stringent building 
code requirements that would encourage construction 
of buildings that could better tolerate storm conditions. 
Changes to the composition of the board would give 
property owners more voice in a governing body 
that currently is dominated by insurance industry 
representatives.
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Opponents said

	 HB 4409 would leave unfinished the critical task of 
revising TWIA’s funding structure to reflect realistically 
the risk the Texas coast faces from damaging and costly 
storms. TWIA’s total exposure exceeds $60 billion, and 
estimates of TWIA losses if a category 4 or 5 hurricane 
directly hit Galveston are as high as $10 billion. Even 
though such a storm would be rare, Texas should be 
prepared for a worst-case scenario to avoid the chance 
that a major storm could leave state budget-writers 
grappling with billions of dollars in unexpected storm 
costs. Weather is unpredictable, and Texas cannot afford 
to gamble that $2.5 billion will be sufficient to cover 
storm losses in future storm seasons.

	 Instead of the HB 4409 proposal, the state should 
address the fundamental issue with TWIA coverage 
— the artificially low rates charged to coastal property 
owners. Current TWIA rates fall far short of addressing 
the risk associated with coastal properties, and the rest 
of the state should not continue to subsidize coastal 
premiums. If TWIA premiums were increased to be 
more reflective of actual risk, these revenues could 
build a larger balance in the Catastrophe Reserve Trust 
Fund so fewer additional funding mechanisms would be 
needed to address significant TWIA losses.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 14 by Fraser appeared in 
the May 24 Daily Floor Report.
 
	 The HRO analysis of HB 4409 by Taylor appeared 
in Part Two of the May 4 Daily Floor Report. HB 
4409 was amended in the Senate to include revisions 
to TWIA. Other provisions of HB 4409 allow certain 
agencies to enter into pre-event contracts to receive 
various services in the event of a weather-related 
disaster, extend protection from liability to certain 
persons assisting with disaster-related issues, and allow 
critical governmental facilities to be equipped with a 
combined heating and power system if it would result in 
savings over a 20-year period.
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HB 3676 by Heflin
Generally effective June 19, 2009

Extending school district property-value limitation agreements

	 HB 3676 extends to 2014 the expiration date for 
value-limitation agreements under Tax Code, ch. 313, 
which authorizes school districts to agree to limit the 
appraised value of certain property in the district for 
economic development purposes.
 
	 Sunset date. HB 3676 extends the sunset date of ch. 
313 value-limitation agreements from December 31, 
2011, to December 31, 2014.

	 Leaseholder’s eligibility for value-limitation 
agreements. HB 3676 allows the owner or lessee of, or 
the holder of another possessory interest in, qualified 
property to apply to the governing body of a school 
district for a value-limitation agreement.

	 Comptroller’s evaluation of the application for 
an agreement. HB 3676 requires the comptroller’s 
economic impact evaluation of an application for a 
value-limitation agreement to include, among other 
existing requirements:

the number of qualifying jobs to be created by •	
the applicant;
the impact the project would have on the state •	
and individual local units of government, 
including tax and other revenue gains, and 
the economic effects of the project on local 
communities;
the proposed limitation on appraised value for •	
the qualified property of the applicant;
the projected dollar amount of the taxes that •	
would be imposed on the qualified property for 
each year of the agreement, if the property does 
or does not receive a limitation on the appraised 
value;
the projected effect on the Foundation School •	
Program of payments to the district for each 
year of the agreement;
the projected future tax credits if the applicant •	
also applies for school tax credits; and 
the total amount of taxes projected to be lost •	
or gained by the district over the life of the 
agreement.

	 After receiving a copy of the application and other 
pertinent information, the comptroller must determine 

whether the property meets the eligibility requirements 
for a limitation on appraised value. The applicant 
will have an opportunity for a hearing before a final 
determination.

	 A school district may approve an application the 
comptroller does not recommend only if the governing 
body holds a public hearing to consider the application 
and the comptroller’s decision, and at a subsequent 
meeting at least two-thirds of the members of the 
governing body vote to approve the application. 

	 A school district is not required to consider an 
application for a limitation on appraised value.

	 Disclosure of public information. HB 3676 
requires disclosure of appraised value limitations. The 
comptroller must post on the Comptroller’s Office 
website each document or item of information the 
comptroller designates as substantive. Each document 
or item of information must be posted until the 
appraised value limitation expires. HB 3676 makes 
certain business information confidential by segregating 
confidential information from other information in the 
application. 

	 Agreement provisions. HB 3676 allows a value-
limitation agreement to provide that the property 
owner will protect the school district in the event the 
district incurs extraordinary education-related expenses 
related to the project that are not directly funded in 
state aid formulas, including expenses for the purchase 
of portable classrooms and the hiring of additional 
personnel to accommodate a temporary increase in 
student enrollment attributable to the project.

	 Limits on PILOTs. A school district may not enter 
into agreements under which the person agrees to 
provide payments in lieu of taxes (PILOTs) to a school 
district in an amount that exceeds $100 per student per 
year in average daily attendance or for certain periods of 
time.

	 Recapture provisions. HB 3676 allows for the 
recapture of lost property-tax revenue. A person with 
whom a school district enters into an agreement is 
required to make the minimum amount of qualified 
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investment during the qualifying time period and is 
required to create the minimum number of qualifying 
jobs during each year of the agreement. 

	 If in any tax year a property owner fails to comply 
with the minimum investment and job creation 
requirements, the property owner is liable to the state for 
a penalty equal to the amount computed by subtracting 
from the market value of the property for that tax year 
the value of the property as limited by the agreement 
and multiplying the difference by the maintenance and 
operations tax rate of the school district for that tax year. 
Such a penalty would become delinquent if not paid on 
or before February 1 of the following tax year. 

	 Eligibility of school districts. An eligible school 
district has territory in an area that qualified as a 
strategic investment area. The requirement that the 
school district not have territory in a metropolitan 
statistical area has been removed.

Supporters said 

	 HB 3676 would make several changes to Tax Code, 
ch. 313 to increase the effectiveness and transparency 
of value-limitation agreements between school districts 
and new businesses to promote economic development 
and local job creation. Ch. 313 agreements are one of 
the single most effective economic development tools 
in Texas. Ch. 313 agreements allow school districts 
to provide a temporary limitation on the taxable value 
of new property investments that are subject to the 
property tax. No existing facility’s value may be abated 
under ch. 313, and they must meet stringent guidelines 
to be eligible. These limitations generally expire after 
eight years, after which time the property is taxed at its 
full value. These agreements ultimately add substantial 
value to local tax rolls. 

	 The program has been very successful in bringing 
new investments and jobs to Texas, many of which 
would not have located here if not for these tax 
abatements. Through the beginning of 2009, 90 projects 
involving over $40 billion of new investment and 
an estimated 5,600 high-wage jobs, have qualified 
for ch. 313 agreements. These new facilities include 
semi-conductor manufacturing, chemical plants, auto 
manufacturing, research and development facilities, 
renewable energy, and nuclear energy.

	 HB 3676 would extend the sunset date from 2011 to 
2014 to reassure projects with a long planning horizon 

that the state is committed to the ch. 313 program, while 
permitting the Legislature to review the effectiveness of 
the program and the changes made by HB 3676 again 
after a reasonable period.

	 The bill would:

provide greater transparency by requiring •	
school districts and the comptroller to have 
published all relevant information associated 
with the agreements, which would ensure 
that all the information associated with an 
application for value-limitation agreement was 
made public; 
provide greater oversight by requiring the •	
comptroller to determine whether or not a 
project met all statutory requirements before 
allowing the agreement; and
provide a more thorough and balanced •	
economic evaluation of applications by 
requiring the comptroller to conduct an 
economic study to evaluate both the value of 
the limitation agreement and the associated 
economic and financial benefits to the state and 
local communities.

	 The bill would make important changes to the way 
ch. 313 affects school finance. HB 3676 would limit 
the amount of revenue a school district could receive 
from payments in lieu of taxes, or PILOTs, to $100 per 
student per year. Had this provision existed previously, 
it could have limited average PILOTs in existing 
projects to 20 percent of their current levels. While these 
payments currently are legal, HB 3676 would cap them 
to ensure that no district received excessive payments 
outside of the school-finance system.

	 HB 3676 would create important protections for state 
funds by creating recapture provisions. If, in any year, 
a person in a value-limitation agreement with a school 
district failed to meet minimum investment or job 
creation obligations, that property owner’s investment 
would be taxed at full value for that year. This would 
ensure that the investment and job-creation goals would 
be met, or that the state would receive its investment 
back if the developer failed to honor the developer’s 
minimum obligations.

	 The bill would expand the kinds of industries that 
would be eligible for ch. 313 agreements, create jobs 
and investment in Texas, and bring projects to the state 
that would not be otherwise economically feasible.
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Opponents said 

	 Texas cannot afford four more years of ch. 313 
agreements. The main problem with these agreements 
is that local school boards grant these subsidies, but 
the state absorbs the cost of foregone property-tax 
revenue through the school finance system. While the 
comptroller could recommend whether an application 
for a ch. 313 agreement should be granted, that 
recommendation would not be binding on the school 
district. Several districts have signed agreements for 
these tax breaks even with a lack of recommendation by 
the comptroller. The state should have more control over 
how its funds are spent.

	 Extending the expiration date would cost the state 
billions of dollars in business subsidies. Under ch. 313, 
the state must make payments to local school districts 
through the school finance system to reimburse them 
for the funds they would have received had the value-
limitation agreement not been made. According to 
the comptroller, the cost to the state over the lifetime 
of projects already in existence and those likely to be 
signed by the current expiration date of December 31, 
2011, is $5.7 billion. This would be $900 million out of 
the total fiscal 2014-2015 budget alone.

	 Some companies make side-payments to school 
districts for signing these agreements. These companies 
give school districts a share of their tax savings as a 
reward for signing an agreement. These payments in 
lieu of taxes, or PILOTs, can come to many thousands 
of dollars per student for each year of the ten-year life of 
an agreement. One Texas school district receives almost 
$9,700 per student per year through PILOTs. These 
payments are not included in school-finance calculations 

and can enrich select districts with per-student revenue 
that is two or three times the target revenues most 
districts receive. These payments, no matter how small, 
should be included in school-finance calculations.

	 HB 3676 would not offer meaningful protections for 
state investments. While the bill would create claw-back 
provisions that would apply when a developer failed to 
make the required investments or create the required 
number of jobs, the required minimums would be so 
low, especially in rural areas, that the provisions rarely 
would apply. 

	 HB 3676 would be a move away from the original 
intent of ch. 313, which was to attract manufacturing 
jobs to Texas. Wind energy developments, which have 
especially benefited from these agreements, do not 
produce nearly as many long-term jobs. Besides, wind 
developers would come to Texas regardless of tax 
subsidies because some of the world’s most constant 
wind is located in Texas. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3676 appeared in the 
May 14 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 3896 by Oliveira
Effective June 19, 2009

Revising and extending local tax abatement agreement authority

	 HB 3896 allows a county to enter into an abatement 
agreement with an owner of personal property located 
on real property, or an individual with a leasehold 
interest in or owner of personal property located on tax-
exempt real property, even if that individual did not own 
the real property. HB 3896 also allows a city or county 
to defer an abatement period. HB 3896 also extends the 
expiration date of the Property Redevelopment and Tax 
Abatement Act to September 1, 2019.

Supporters said

	 HB 3896 would allow cities and counties to defer 
the start date of a tax abatement period for any project 
with a long start-up time. This would enable cities and 
counties to give advance abatement approval on those 
projects, reducing uncertainty regarding the future 
profitability of projects that may have a later start date. 
The 80th Legislature enacted a similar provision in 
2007 in HB 2994 by Bonnen, which allowed the start 
of the abatement period on nuclear plants to be deferred 
because of long regulatory approval and construction 
processes.

	 HB 3896 also would resolve a technical issue that 
was raised by an attorney general’s opinion by clarifying 
that a county could enter into a tax abatement agreement 
with an owner of property even if the owner of the 
abated property did not own the underlying land.

Opponents said

	 Allowing projects with long start-up times to defer 
the abatement period could create more property tax 
abatement agreements, resulting in a loss of revenue to 
cities and counties. It would encourage greater use of 
business tax subsidies, which require other taxpayers to 
make up the revenue lost during the abatement period.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3896 appeared in Part 
One of the May 11 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 4525 by Parker
Died in the Senate

Establishing qualified manufacturing project zones

	 HB 4525, as passed by the House, would have 
created standards for the establishment of qualified 
manufacturing project zones.

	 State project zone benefits. The owner of a 
qualified manufacturing zone project would have been 
eligible for a refund of state sales taxes of 50 percent of 
the total amount of sales taxes collected on all taxable 
items purchased within a designated project zone minus 
the sales tax base for the preceding fiscal year. The total 
refund amount that a project could have received as a 
designated project zone would have been either $50 
million or five percent of the project’s investments in the 
zone, whichever was less. The refund could have been 
used to pay for or to refund eligible expenses incurred 
before or after the project had received its designation 
as a project zone. These expenses would have included 
recruiting or training present, prospective, or potential 
employees for available jobs or those expected to be 
available for the planning, designing, construction, 
fabrication, or operation of a project. Expenditures also 
would have included salaries, wages, and benefits of 
employees through the first two years that the project 
was commercially operating. 

	 Qualified manufacturing project. To be eligible, 
manufacturing projects would have had to have:

invested at least $200 million or at least $100 •	
million if the facility was related to renewable 
energy, energy storage technology, or waste 
recycling;
been forecast to create at least 300 FTEs;•	
been in competition with at least one alternative •	
site for the facility that was not located in Texas 
or competing against similar projects located 
outside Texas for federal funds or financial 
support, including loan guarantees, that would 
benefit the project; 
not produced carbon-dioxide emissions, within •	
certain parameters; and
not been part of a Tax Code, ch. 312 or 313 tax •	
limitation agreement.

	 Initial and annual certification. The owner of 
a qualified manufacturing project would have been 
required to conduct an economic impact study of the 
county in which the project would be located and to 

submit the study to the comptroller. The comptroller 
would have had to certify the study if it had estimated 
accurately certain required economic information. The 
projects would have to have been reauthorized yearly 
to ensure compliance with investment and job creation 
goals. A zone could not have existed for more than ten 
years.

	 Clawback provisions. The owner of a project who 
failed to submit proper certification of investment and 
job creation goals would forfeit the right to receive 
future state benefits under this program and repayment 
of the entire amount of all refunds previously received 
under the program.

Supporters said

	 HB 4525 is necessary to shore up a declining 
manufacturing sector. These investments in the 
manufacturing sector are necessary if Texas is to 
continue to enjoy the strong economic development 
benefits that manufacturing jobs bring to the state. The 
incentives provided by HB 4525 would help tip the 
scales in favor of Texas when manufacturers are making 
business decisions on relocation or expansion and would 
not benefit needlessly projects already in planning 
or construction stages. The bill would help bring 
manufacturing jobs to the state that otherwise would not 
locate here and would encourage retention of existing 
businesses.

	 The bill would help underemployed and unemployed 
workers to make the transition into new manufacturing 
jobs by providing workforce development money for 
manufacturers that create at least 300 full-time jobs. 
This is crucial, as over 80 percent of manufacturers 
have difficulty finding qualified employees because 
entry-level jobs in manufacturing increasingly 
require additional skills and education as a result of 
technological advances.

	 The bill would provide several safeguards to ensure 
that only projects that would provide a significant 
positive impact to the state’s economy would be 
awarded. As the criteria for eligible manufacturing 
projects would be purposely restrictive, granting 
designations would be selectively used for projects that 
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would have a large “bang for the buck.” Additionally, 
the bill would contain “clawback” provisions that 
would apply if the designated project failed to reach the 
required job or investment thresholds. Any agreement 
between a local government body and a designated 
project would be strictly optional. Also, the comptroller 
would have clear authority to reject an economic impact 
study if it did not accurately estimate projected job 
creation or investments.

	 The fiscal note ignores that the related sales and 
local taxes would not have been otherwise realized 
by the state and local governments had an eligible 
manufacturer not expanded or relocated. As such, 
returning a portion of these sales and local taxes would 
be fiscally reasonable, especially given the related 
benefits of manufacturing investment.

Opponents said

	 HB 4525 would be a costly and unnecessary 
business subsidy that would divert precious tax revenue 
from the public sector and direct it to businesses that 
likely would locate in Texas or expand here even 
without these subsidies. While Texas is known as a 
business-friendly state, it should not forgo roughly $135 
million in general revenue over the next five years, 
especially to promote a declining industrial sector.

	 According to the methodology for the fiscal note, 
several nuclear power projects that are well into the 
planning stages of development, and one close to 
the construction phase, would meet the eligibility 
requirements for a qualified manufacturing project zone. 
These include the two additional units for the South 
Texas Nuclear Project in Matagorda County, expected 
to begin construction after the bill’s effective date, and 
could possibly include two other nuclear projects, one in 
Somervell County and one in Victoria County. As these 
projects are either in motion or planned, they need not 
be incentivized by state funds.

	 The bill would require the comptroller to accept 
automatically an economic impact study from a project 
owner requesting designation as a project zone if the 
study was conducted by an independent third party 
using generally accepted economic impact forecasting 
methods. Unlike the field of accounting, which has 
generally accepted accounting practices, economic 
forecasts often are based on a number of assumptions 
about a given project. Should those assumptions not 
be reasonable, the entire forecast could be called into 

question. At the very least, the comptroller should have 
the authority either to reject or question the forecasting 
methods used by an applicant, especially given the 
amount of taxpayer money involved.

	 The bill would allow tax rebates to be used for 
workforce development for manufacturing jobs and also 
to cover the salaries, wages, and benefits of employees 
over the first two years of operation. While job creation 
is a laudable goal, the state and its local governments 
should not give up tax revenue that otherwise would go 
to public services to cover an expense that firms would 
rightfully incur as part of normal operations.

	 HB 4525 would provide up to $50 million in sales 
tax rebates in addition to local tax incentives to a 
designated project in a qualified manufacturing zone. 
This incentive could be accessed for up to three years 
before the project had even begun to operate, based 
solely on forecasting the required number of jobs to 
be created. A more reasonable provision would be to 
deny benefits to the firm until it created actual positions. 
Additionally, while the bill includes a $50 million cap 
on state sales tax rebates, there would be no such limit 
on local taxes that could be rebated or refunded.

Notes

	 HB 4525 passed the House and was reported 
favorably, as substituted, by the Senate Economic 
Development Committee, but was not considered by the 
Senate.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 4525 appeared in Part 
One of the May 6 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1007 by Hegar
Died in the House

Continuation and operation of Texas Department of Insurance

	 SB 2 by Hegar, enacted during the first called 
session, continued the Texas Department of Insurance 
(TDI) until September 1, 2011. 

	 SB 1007, as reported by the House Insurance 
Committee, would have continued TDI until September 
1, 2021. The bill would have added standard 
Sunset provisions governing conflicts of interest 
of the commissioner of insurance and agency staff, 
maintaining information about complaints, use of 
technology to increase public access, and alternative 
rulemaking and dispute resolution procedures.

	 SB 1007 would have made it a duty of TDI to 
protect and ensure the fair treatment of consumers and 
ensure fair competition in the insurance industry in 
order to foster a competitive market.

	 Rate regulation for property and casualty 
insurance. SB 1007 would have revised rate regulation 
for property and casualty insurance lines, except those 
provided by certain exempted insurers or insurer’s 
affiliates. The bill would have allowed an insurer to use 
a rate on or after the date the rate was filed. TDI could 
have requested additional information related to rate 
filings, including those made by an insurer subject to 
prior approval. 

	 The commissioner would have had to disapprove 
rates that did not comply with statutory requirements 
before they took effect or within 30 days of the day 
the rate was filed. With certain exceptions, if the 
commissioner had not disapproved a rate prior to these 
deadlines, the commissioner could have disapproved the 
rate only after a hearing. 

	 TDI would have had to make available to the public 
information concerning the department’s process and 
methodology for rate review, including disapproval of 
rates. TDI would have tracked, compiled, and analyzed 
the factors that contributed to the disapproval of rates 
and the volume and content of requests for additional 
information. 

	 The bill would have required the commissioner to 
establish the financial conditions and rating practices 
that could subject an insurer to prior approval and 
to provide insurers under prior approval with an 

explanation of steps the insurer would have to take to 
be excused from the order. TDI would have tracked 
precedents related to disapprovals of rates filed by 
insurers subject to prior approval.

	 Regulation of independent preferred provider 
organizations. The bill would have established 
requirements for certain preferred provider 
organizations (PPOs) to hold a certificate of authority to 
organize or operate as a PPO in Texas. The bill would 
have established the application process to receive a 
certificate of authority, including payment of a filing 
fee up to $1,000, and the circumstances under which 
the commissioner of insurance would have approved 
an application. The denial, suspension, or revocation 
of authority to act as a PPO would have been subject 
to laws regarding professional conduct, disciplinary 
actions, and sanctions for license holders subject to the 
jurisdiction of TDI. The department would have tracked 
and analyzed complaints about PPOs.

	 Examination of title insurance agents. The 
bill would have established requirements for TDI 
to examine each title insurance agent and direct 
operation licensed in Texas. The Texas Title Insurance 
Guaranty Association would have paid fees and 
reasonable expenses that TDI incurred in conducting 
the examinations. A title agent or direct operation could 
have been subject to disciplinary action for failure to 
comply with an examination request. At least every five 
years, the commissioner would have evaluated if TDI 
needed additional information examined to promulgate 
title insurance rates. 

	 Engineers for windstorm inspections. TDI would 
have been required to contract with, rather than appoint, 
engineers who conducted windstorm inspections. 
The bill would have required TDI to compile a list of 
qualified, contracted inspectors and report possible 
licensing violations by an inspector to the Board of 
Professional Engineers. 

	 Advisory committees. The bill would have 
abolished all advisory committees established by the 
Insurance Code that did not have an expiration date 
and would have transferred all their powers, duties, 
obligations, rights, contracts, funds, records, and 
property to TDI. The department could have retained or 
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developed committees as appropriate to meet changing 
needs. The commissioner of insurance would have 
adopted rules regarding the purpose, structure, and use 
of advisory committees by the commissioner, the state 
fire marshal, or TDI staff.

	 State Fire Marshal’s Office. The bill would have 
required the commissioner by rule to delegate to the 
state fire marshal the authority to take disciplinary 
and enforcement action, including the imposition of 
administrative penalties, against pyrotechnic operators 
and certain people licensed to provide fire-protection-
related services. The bill would have specified the 
manner in which administrative penalties could be 
imposed and how a person could dispute the imposition 
of an administrative penalty. 

	 The state fire marshal would have been required to 
inspect more state-owned and state-leased buildings. 
The inspection schedule would have been based on 
guidelines developed for assigning fire safety risk 
and would have required inspection of each of these 
buildings, regardless of a building’s fire safety risk. 

	 Data collection for personal auto or residential 
property insurance. Personal automobile and 
residential property insurers would have been required 
to file certain aggregate claims information for a filing 
period. TDI would have posted aggregate data on its 
website in a manner that did not reveal proprietary or 
trade secret information. 

	 Electronic transactions. The bill would have 
authorized entities regulated by TDI to conduct business 
electronically if each party to the business agreed to do 
so. 

Supporters said

	 SB 1007 would implement revisions, including a 
number of recommendations of the Sunset Advisory 
Commission, that would improve the operations of 
the Texas Department of Insurance. The bill would 
clarify the regulation of property and casualty rates 
under the file-and-use system, providing insurers 
more certainty about the acceptance of rate filings 
and the conditions under which rates could be denied. 
Unnecessary advisory committees would be abolished, 
and the commissioner of insurance would be granted the 
flexibility to establish advisory committees as needed by 
rule.

	 By requiring PPOs to obtain a certificate of authority 
to operate in Texas, TDI would have more information 
about the operation of these entities and could take 
enforcement action against them as necessary. About 4.5 
million Texans are insured through PPO plans, and TDI 
needs a mechanism to protect these consumers against 
financial and medical harm. 

	 The bill would provide the commissioner of 
insurance with more data with which to promulgate title 
insurance rates, and examinations of title agents would 
assess their financial solvency. 
 
	 Regulation of property and casualty rates. The 
bill would bring clarity to the file-and-use system, in 
which insurers rarely file and use rates immediately for 
fear of the legal and administrative costs they could 
incur if rates later were disapproved. Contested case 
hearings are costly, and insurers must justify their rates 
against the findings of actuaries from both TDI and 
the Office of Public Insurance Counsel. Costs increase 
further if an insurer must appeal a rate ruling to a 
district court. In 2008, only 12.6 percent of homeowners 
insurers actually filed and began to use new rates on the 
same day. 

	 The bill would strengthen the existing prior 
approval processes by giving TDI rulemaking authority 
to establish the processes and standards by which 
an insurer could be placed under prior approval. In 
2007, about 45 percent of homeowners insurers were 
subject to prior approval. SB 1007 would require the 
commissioner to establish the financial conditions and 
rating practices that could subject an insurer to prior 
approval and to disclose to insurers how they could be 
freed from prior approval. 

	 The file-and-use system proposed in SB 1007 
would be better for consumers than a full prior approval 
regulatory system because it would enhance market 
competition. A healthy, competitive insurance market 
with many participating insurers is the best way to 
ensure that companies will strive for efficiencies to 
keep costs down and to keep rates low enough to 
attract a large consumer base. File-and-use allows 
insurers to assess risks and immediately begin use of an 
actuarially justified rate. Prior approval systems allow 
the state regulatory agency to interfere in an insurer’s 
implementation of rates that an insurer has deemed will 
keep the insurer solvent with a reasonable buffer to 
guard against annual fluctuations in claims filings. 
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	 The insurance industry is based on assessment of 
risk, and insurers must assess a variety of consumer, 
environmental, and regulatory standards, as well as the 
performance of the financial markets when setting rates. 
A prior approval system would introduce yet another 
risk to an insurer because the insurer would not know 
if insurance regulators would approve the rates it filed. 
Worse outcomes could result for consumers because 
insurers would set higher rates to account for the higher 
risk and also could decide to exit the market or reduce 
the number of policies they wrote to avoid losses. 
The regulatory history of the Texas insurance market 
demonstrates the trend of significant declines in insurer 
participation when regulation is increased. Reduced 
competition leads to higher rates for consumers. While 
efforts to increase regulation may be well intended, they 
lead to worse consumer outcomes. 

	 Consumers face the biggest risk when excessive 
rate regulation prevents insurers from establishing an 
adequate reserve and fully paying consumer claims 
following a catastrophe. Although insurer profits were 
high in 2006 and 2007, the reserves generated from 
business during those years allowed many insurers to 
stay in business despite the extreme natural-disaster-
related claims they had to pay in 2008. 

	 Commissioner of insurance. The insurance 
commissioner should be an impartial regulator, not 
an elected official. The best way for an insurance 
commissioner candidate to appeal to citizens would be 
to run on the premise of lowering insurance rates, yet 
the market does not always safely allow this goal. An 
insurance commissioner elected with the mandate to 
lower rates could implement policies that jeopardized 
insurer solvency. 

	 Regulation of forms. SB 1007 appropriately 
would not require standardized forms for homeowners 
policies. By allowing insurers to file different forms, 
market competition is enhanced not only through 
pricing differences but also through product offerings. 
Uniformity in forms can lead to property owners paying 
for coverage they did not need, rather than selecting a 
plan at the price and coverage level they desired.

	 Credit-scoring. Those who seek to abolish the 
use of credit rating in establishing premiums make the 
incorrect assumption that the industry is indicating 
that a low credit score increases the likelihood of poor 
driving. However, credit scoring has proved an accurate 
way to measure risk because studies consistently have 
demonstrated that people with low credit ratings have 

a greater likelihood of making a claim when other 
consumers may have chosen not to. Whatever the factor 
that drives the risk association between credit and claim 
rates, insurers should be able to measure this indicator 
of risk.

Opponents said

	 SB 1007 would not take advantage of the 
opportunity to revise processes at TDI in the interest of 
consumer protection. 

	 Regulation of property and casualty rates. 
This bill would continue the file-and-use system that 
allows insurers to file notice of a rate change with 
TDI and begin to use that rate immediately. TDI could 
not disapprove a rate-in-effect, even if deemed unfair 
or excessive, without an administrative hearing and 
possible appeal to a district court. Insurers should 
not be allowed to determine whether their own rates 
were fair. The file-and-use system was supposed to 
decrease Texas’ insurance rates, which are the highest 
in the nation, yet this system has not lived up to this 
expectation. 

	 Implementing a prior approval system would allow 
TDI to review and approve all rates before they were 
passed along to policyholders. Insurers could not enact 
steep rate increases and engage in price gouging to 
recoup losses too rapidly. Prior approval would place 
the burden of proof on the insurer to justify that rate 
filings were necessary and justified. 

	 The insurance market is not a standard competitive 
marketplace because consumers in some instances are 
mandated to obtain coverage or may greatly need the 
benefits of coverage. This environment necessitates 
rate review so that insurers do not take advantage of 
consumer vulnerability. 

	 Regulatory interventions do not influence the 
amount of market participation to the extent that some 
file-and-use proponents claim. Before 2003, when there 
were benchmark rates, insurers were not allowed to have 
different rating tiers. Because of this, insurers spun off 
affiliates so that each affiliate could act as a surrogate 
for a rating tier. These affiliates no longer were needed 
when regulatory changes were made in 2003, and many 
affiliate operations ceased. The actual decline in insurer 
group participation was negligible, even if the total 
number of companies seemed to decrease significantly. 
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	 Commissioner of insurance. While the 
commissioner directs policy that influences 
homeowners, patients, and other consumers, the 
commissioner is accountable only to the governor. 
Many more Texans are affected by the actions of 
the insurance commissioner than by the actions of 
the elected agriculture and railroad commissioners, 
yet Texas voters do not have a say in choosing their 
insurance commissioner. Eleven other states allow their 
citizens to have a say in who would best govern a fair 
insurance market through election of their insurance 
commissioners, and Texans should have this ability also. 

	 Regulation of forms. This bill should have required 
homeowners policies to offer standard coverage. When 
consumers are offered the same policies by different 
insurers, they easily may shop the market by comparing 
the prices offered by different insurers. Today, it is 
difficult if not impossible for consumers to interpret 
and compare complex and differentiated policies to 
determine appropriate, cost-effective coverage. Today’s 
homeowners policies provide much less coverage than 
they provided under standard forms, but rates have 
not dropped correspondingly to reflect the decreased 
coverage.

	 Credit-scoring. Texas should not allow the use of 
credit scores in setting insurance rates. Credit scores 
are determined based on a person’s payment history, 
amounts owed, length of credit history, new credit, 
and types of credit. None of these criteria reflects the 
measure of risk associated with a consumer’s driving 
behavior. Many consumers unfairly have faced rate 
increases solely based on their credit score when they 
never have filed a claim.

Notes

	 SB 1007 passed the Senate, but died on the May 
23 Major State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken. The HRO analysis of SB 1007 
appeared in Part One of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.
 
	 During the 81st Legislature, first called session, the 
House considered SB 2 by Hegar, the Senate companion 
bill, in lieu of HB 2 by Isett, the House version of 
the bill, which had been set on the July 2 Major State 
Calendar. SB 2 extended the Sunset date for TDI 
and other agencies to September 1, 2011. The HRO 
analysis of HB 2 appeared in the July 2 Daily Floor 
Report, with additional background on SB 1007 in the 
July 1 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 1569 by Eltife
Died in the House

Revising eligibility for unemployment compensation

	 SB 1569 would have revised the way eligibility for 
benefits is determined under the Texas Unemployment 
Compensation Act and would have established a task 
force on unemployment compensation reform. 

	 Federal Recovery Act modifications. SB 1569 
would have amended the Texas Unemployment 
Compensation Act to make the state eligible to receive 
federal funds appropriated in the federal Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act of 2009. The bill would have created 
an “alternate base period” for determining benefit 
eligibility. An alternate base period would have been 
defined as the four most recently completed calendar 
quarters before an individual applied for benefits. It 
would have applied to those claimants who otherwise 
would not qualify under the standard base period.

	 The bill would have eliminated requirements for a 
lag in benefits of six to 25 weeks for a person who lost a 
job due to the relocation of a spouse. A spouse could not 
have been disqualified from receiving benefits if a move 
made it impractical for the spouse to commute. 

	 Under the bill, an individual would have qualified 
for benefits even if the individual was seeking 
and available only for part-time work, defined as 
employment of at least 20 hours per week. 

	 The bill would have revised eligibility for a 
person who left work due to the illness of a child or a 
terminally ill spouse or for reasons of family violence. 
Existing documentary requirements establishing a 
person’s eligibility for reasons of family violence would 
have been replaced by “reasonable documentation,” 
which could have included a statement from a qualified 
professional. Exceptions for illness of a child or a 
terminally ill spouse would have been extended to an 
illness of an immediate family member.

	 Redefining “last work.” SB 1569 would have 
revised the definition of “last work” used to determine 
the eligibility of an initial claim. Under the bill, the “last 
work” of a person applying for benefits would have 
been the last person for whom the claimant worked at 
least 30 hours a week or the last person for whom the 
claimant worked who met the definition of an employer 
in the Texas Unemployment Compensation Act. 

	 Task Force on Unemployment Compensation 
Reform. On January 1, 2010, or later, the governor 
would have had to appoint a task force to study the 
administration, financing, and benefit eligibility of 
unemployment compensation in the state. The task force 
would have been composed of nine members meeting 
specific descriptions contained in the bill. 

	 The members of the task force would have been 
advised by employees of certain agencies and chambers. 
The task force would have been charged with specific 
duties relating to unemployment compensation and 
would have had to make recommendations to the Texas 
Workforce Commission (TWC) by January 1, 2012. At 
that time, the TWC would have determined whether any 
of the unemployment compensation revisions required 
under the federal Recovery Act warranted continuation. 

Supporters said 

	 SB 1569 would secure eligibility for the state 
of $555 million in federal funds for unemployment 
compensation available under the federal Recovery Act 
while providing necessary modifications to the state’s 
outdated unemployment compensation system. The 
state’s current unemployment insurance (UI) system is 
in need of additional funding and reform. Texas ranks at 
the bottom nationally in the percentage of unemployed 
workers receiving jobless benefits. According to TWC, 
state unemployment insurance claims have grown about 
140 percent over the past year, and initial claims are up 
more than 100 percent during this time. A recent TWC 
estimate projected the unemployment compensation 
fund balance to fall to $18.8 million by October 1, 2009, 
which would be $839 million below the statutory floor 
of 1 percent of all taxable wages. When the amount of 
money in the fund falls below the floor, a “deficit tax” is 
imposed on businesses that pay unemployment taxes to 
bring the fund balance above the statutory floor.

	 Making the changes required to be eligible for 
federal stimulus funds could forestall some of the 
inevitable business tax increases triggered by the 
fund’s diminished balance. Making changes now could 
reduce employer deficit taxes by as much as 70 percent 
in the short term. SB 1569 is necessary to establish 
eligibility and to offset costs for borrowing funds to 
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resolve imminent deficits. The additional revenue made 
available through the fund would be sufficient to cover 
any additional costs for expanded eligibility in the 
short term. The Legislative Budget Board (LBB) has 
estimated that costs associated with the unemployment 
modernization could total about $369 million over the 
course of five years, well below the funds that would be 
made available through the Recovery Act. Further, every 
$1 of the federal UI money accepted for the additional 
benefits could generate $2.15 of economic activity, 
stimulating the state’s economy during a deepening 
statewide and national recession.

	 The bill would save an estimated additional $82.6 
million for the unemployment insurance trust fund by 
ending a deceptive practice some claimants use to avoid 
disqualification under existing state laws. Under current 
law, an employee who is fired can maintain eligibility 
by assuming an informal, temporary job for a short 
time and then applying for benefits upon the natural 
termination of that employment. SB 1569 would add a 
provision defining “last work” as employment in excess 
of 30 hours per week or through an employer that is part 
of the unemployment insurance system in the state. This 
measure effectively would end this deceptive practice 
by removing this eligibility loophole.

	 A recent policy statement from the U.S. Department 
of Labor indicated that states would have the option of 
subsequently repealing legislation enacted to establish 
eligibility for the UI funds under the Recovery Act. The 
state could accept the funds now, when they are needed 
to address economic woes, while reserving the right 
to minimize its long-term obligations. The task force 
established in the bill would provide an opportunity to 
study the changes made after the funds have been fully 
received and distributed. After reviewing the findings, 
the TWC could determine if the provisions should be 
retained or rolled back. 

Opponents said 

	 SB 1569 would constitute an unfunded federal 
mandate by requiring a permanent increase in state 
costs in exchange for temporary federal assistance. 
Current estimates of the probable cost of accepting the 
funds, about $369 million over the next five years, are 
misleading. Such projections assume that the state’s 
economy would not be affected by accepting the 
Recovery Act funds. In fact, accepting the Recovery 
Act funds is likely to result in a negative impact on 
the state’s economy that would increase the burden on 
unemployment compensation resources, cancelling any 

positive five-year gain to the trust fund. The costs of 
accepting unemployment compensation funds would 
amount to a long-term drain on the private sector that 
could reduce growth in real net business output and 
ultimately result in significant job losses in the state.

	 Expanding the eligibility for unemployment 
insurance ultimately would force businesses to pay 
higher taxes into the unemployment trust fund. This 
would amount to a tax increase on businesses, with 
negative long-term implications for those businesses 
and the state economy. Texas thus far has fared better 
than many states in the recession, largely due to 
regulatory and tax and spending policies favorable to a 
healthy business climate. Increasing taxes on businesses 
could erode the state’s reputation as an attractive place 
to conduct business and result in a loss of business.

	 While the state theoretically could repeal the 
expanded eligibility requirements in the future, there 
is no guarantee this would happen. The unemployment 
compensation task force established in the bill would 
have no authority to make any official changes in 
the expanded eligibility provisions and therefore 
would have little added value other than as an interim 
committee assigned to study the topic. In addition, the 
findings of the task force would come too late. The 
state is in a serious recession and can scarcely afford to 
threaten private businesses at this volatile time. The task 
force findings, which would be reported to the TWC as 
late as 2012, would be largely an afterthought. 

	 There are much more productive solutions to 
address funding shortfalls in the unemployment 
insurance trust fund. One way to increase the amount 
of money available in the trust fund would be to be 
more vigilant about fraud and overpayments. A federal 
Department of Labor study from 2000 found that 13.8 
percent of Texas unemployment trust fund payouts came 
from fraud and overpayments. The state should pursue 
policies to reduce these illegitimate payments from the 
trust fund before it considers measures that could result 
in additional obligations on employers.

Notes 

	 SB 1569 passed the Senate, but died in the House 
when a point of order was sustained against further 
consideration of the bill beyond the deadline for 
consideration of Senate bills on second reading.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1569 appeared in the 
May 20 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 498 by McClendon
Effective September 1, 2009

State study on wrongful convictions

	 HB 498 requires the state’s Task Force on Indigent 
Defense (TFID) to study the causes and means of 
prevention of wrongful criminal convictions and creates 
an advisory panel to assist the task force in the study. 
The panel is named the Timothy Cole Advisory Panel 
on Wrongful Convictions. The task force and panel are 
required to study the causes of wrongful convictions, 
procedures and programs to prevent wrongful 
convictions, the effect of state law on wrongful 
convictions, and whether creating an innocence 
commission to investigate wrongful convictions would 
be appropriate. By January 1, 2011, the TFID must 
report on its study to the governor and the Legislature.

	 The advisory panel is composed of 10 members: 
the director of the TFID, the four legislators who 
chair the Senate Criminal Justice and Jurisprudence 
committees and the House Criminal Jurisprudence and 
Corrections committees, and representatives of defense 
lawyers, prosecutors, judges, public law schools, and the 
governor. 

Supporters said

	 HB 498 would help address the state’s problem 
of wrongful criminal convictions. The wrongful 
conviction and imprisonment of any innocent person 
is a miscarriage of justice that carries with it a moral 
obligation to prevent additional mistakes. According to 
The Innocence Project, at least 38 men in Texas have 
been exonerated after wrongful convictions. HB 498 
would help the state address this problem by initiating a 
formal, state-sponsored study of the issue. The advisory 
panel would be named in honor of Timothy Cole, a 
Texas Tech student who was wrongfully convicted of 
rape and died in prison after serving 13 years of a 25-
year sentence. 

	 The study required by HB 498 would help identify 
what went wrong in cases of wrongful convictions 
as well as why, examine the criminal justice system, 
and recommend changes to prevent wrongful 
convictions in the future. The Legislature needs a 
formal, state-sponsored study of wrongful convictions 
and recommendations for systemic changes because 
currently no adequate mechanism exists for doing 
so. Even though some individuals are exonerated 

through the judicial or clemency systems, this does 
not necessarily result in a comprehensive study of the 
causes of wrongful convictions, a close examination of 
statewide issues, or recommendations on how to prevent 
wrongful convictions. 

	 Fears that HB 498 would erode support for the death 
penalty are unfounded. The bill would require only a 
study, and the advisory panel that would help with the 
study would include representatives from all parts of the 
criminal justice system. 

Opponents said

	 It is unnecessary and a waste of state resources to 
charge a state entity with a formal study of wrongful 
convictions. The criminal justice and legislative systems 
in the state have checks and balances that work to 
achieve justice and to identify and address problems. 
In the past two-and-a-half decades, the state’s criminal 
justice system has had many substantial improvements, 
resulting in a just and fair system that protects the 
public. The state should continue to let the judicial and 
clemency systems handle individual cases of alleged 
innocence.

	 In many cases, the causes of wrongful convictions 
already have been identified, and the state should 
address them rather than study them further. The state 
should focus on preventing errors at the front end of 
the criminal justice system, such as with eyewitness 
identification or recording interrogations.

	 If the state must study wrongful convictions in 
Texas, it would be more appropriately done by an 
existing entity, such as the Criminal Justice Legislative 
Oversight Committee, the Texas Criminal Justice 
Integrity Unit, which was established in June 2008 by 
Judge Barbara Hervey of the Court of Criminal Appeals, 
innocence projects at one of the state’s law schools, 
or local entities such as the Conviction Integrity Unit 
established by the Dallas County district attorney. 
Requiring the Task Force on Indigent Defense to study 
wrongful convictions would move the task force too 
far from its mission of aiding and monitoring the 
counties’ delivery of indigent defense services into an 
inappropriate role in developing state policy.
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	 A study on wrongful convictions could be used as a 
back-door way to erode support for the death penalty in 
Texas.

Other opponents said 

	 HB 498 should create a state innocence commission 
charged with investigating thoroughly all post-
conviction exonerations rather than a body to study 
whether the state needs an innocence commission. 

Notes

	 The House-passed version of the bill would have 
created the Timothy Cole Innocence Commission to 
investigate thoroughly and report on post-conviction 
exonerations to:

ascertain errors and defects in the criminal •	
procedure used to prosecute a case; 
identify errors and defects in the criminal justice •	
process in Texas; 
develop solutions and methods to correct the •	
identified errors and defects; and 
identify procedures and programs to prevent •	
future wrongful convictions.

	 The commission would have been composed of nine 
members, including appointees by the governor, the 
attorney general, legislative leaders, the chief justice 
of the Texas Supreme Court, the chancellor of the 
Texas Tech University System, and the Texas Criminal 
Defense Lawyers Association.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 498 appeared in the May 
14 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 1711 by S. Turner
Effective June 19, 2009

Comprehensive offender re-entry plan after prison release

	 HB 1711 requires the Texas Department of 
Criminal Justice (TDCJ) to develop a comprehensive 
plan to reduce recidivism and ensure the successful 
reentry and reintegration of offenders into the 
community after release from a correctional facility. 
The plan must be implemented by January 1, 2010. 

	 The reentry and reintegration plan must include the 
following: 

an assessment of offenders to determine which •	
skills they need to be successful upon release; 
programs that address offenders’ needs; •	
a comprehensive network of transition programs •	
to address the needs of released offenders; 
identification of providers of local programs •	
and transitional services with whom TDCJ 
could contract to implement the reentry and 
reintegration plan; and 
the sharing of information between local •	
coordinators, contractors, and other service 
providers to assess and address each offender’s 
needs.

	 Programs for offenders and the transition programs 
must be implemented by highly skilled, experienced 
staff and must provide offenders individualized case 
management and a full continuum of care, life skills and 
employment training, education, treatment programs, 
and parenting and relationship building classes. 

	 TDCJ may contract and coordinate with private 
vendors, local governments, and other entities to 
implement the comprehensive reentry and reintegration 
plan.

	 TDCJ must coordinate the work of a reentry task 
force that includes several state agencies and others. 
The task force may identify gaps in services for released 
offenders and coordinate with providers of existing local 
reentry and reintegration programs on recommendations 
for those services.

	 TDCJ must implement policies encouraging 
family unity while an offender is confined and family 
participation in offenders’ transition to the community. 

It is required to study whether HB 1711 has reduced 
recidivism rates. TDCJ must report the results of the 
recidivism study to the Legislature by September of 
each even-numbered year.

Supporters said

	 HB 1711 would ensure that the approximately 
70,000 prison inmates who are released each year 
receive the assistance they need to reintegrate 
successfully into Texas communities. Currently, 
released offenders are faced with a lack of services and 
programs to assist their reintegration and often have 
a lack of knowledge of programs and services in the 
community. Successful reintegration is vital to reducing 
the recidivism of offenders, which would help safeguard 
the public, rebuild families and communities, and in the 
long run, save Texas money. 

	 While TDCJ assesses inmates upon their entry into 
the state’s prisons, the assessments focus on determining 
the medical, educational, or other situation of the 
offender but do not look long-range at what the offender 
may need when released. While in prison offenders may 
receive education services, substance abuse treatment, 
or life skills or job skills training, these services are not 
necessarily offered with an eye to community reentry. 
When offenders are released, they do not receive the 
type of comprehensive, individualized plan that would 
be required by HB 1711. 

	 HB 1711 would address these problems by 
requiring TDCJ to develop a comprehensive plan to 
reduce recidivism and ensure the successful reentry 
and reintegration of released offenders. The specific, 
clear mandate in the bill would focus state resources, 
including existing programs and services within prisons, 
on this important task and would ensure they were 
tailored to offenders’ needs.

	 Focusing existing resources on reentry, and 
committing funds for these efforts, would save the state 
money in the long run while increasing public safety 
and rebuilding the lives of offenders and their families.
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Opponents said

	 Meeting all the requirements in HB 1711 would 
lead to an increased demand on state resources. The 
Legislature should be cautious about committing to new 
programs during a time of economic uncertainty.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1711 appeared in Part 
Two of the April 24 Daily Floor Report. 

	 HB 1711 takes effect only if there is a specific 
appropriation for its implementation in a general 
appropriations act of the 81st Legislature. SB 1, 
the general appropriations act for fiscal 2010-11, 
appropriates to TDCJ $5.2 million to fund 64 new 
positions called reentry transitional coordinators to 
assist offenders in their transition to the community after 
leaving prison. 
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HB 1736 by Anchia
Effective September 1, 2009

Revising compensation for the wrongfully convicted (Tim Cole Act)

	 HB 1736, the Tim Cole Act, revises the law that 
entitles certain persons who have been wrongfully 
imprisoned to compensation from the state. It applies to 
persons who have been wrongfully imprisoned and have 
received a full pardon based on innocence or have been 
granted relief on the basis of actual innocence. 

	 Under HB 1736, those persons are entitled to lump-
sum payments of $80,000 per year spent in prison, 
regardless of whether a person was on death row, rather 
than $100,000 per year spent in prison if on death row 
and $50,000 per year spent in prison for others. The bill 
also entitles persons who qualify for compensation and 
were on parole or required to register as a sex offender 
to $25,000 per year on parole or on the registry. 

	 HB 1736 authorizes annuity payments for the 
wrongfully imprisoned. The payments are based on 
the amount to which a person was entitled for the 
time imprisoned and time spent on parole or on the 
sex offender registry. Annuity payments are payable 
in equal monthly installments for life and based on a 
5 percent annual interest rate. Persons no longer have 
the option of filing a lawsuit against the state to receive 
compensation.
	
	 Upon request within seven years of receiving a 
pardon or other relief, the state must pay up to 120 hours 
of tuition and fees at an institution of higher education 
or a career center for a person who had been wrongfully 
imprisoned. 

	 The bill requires the Texas Department of Criminal 
Justice (TDCJ) to develop a comprehensive plan to 
ensure the successful reentry and reintegration into the 
community of wrongfully imprisoned persons after 
being released from prison. The plan must include 
life skills and job skills, the provision of necessary 
documents such as a state identification card, and up to 
$10,000 in financial assistance to cover living expenses. 
The financial assistance will be deducted from any 
lump-sum payment. 

	 The Texas Correctional Office on Offenders with 
Medical or Mental Impairments (TCOOMMI) must 
assist wrongfully imprisoned persons released from 
TDCJ with accessing medical care, obtaining mental 
health treatment, and obtaining support services. 

Supporters said

	 HB 1736 would recognize that wrongfully 
convicted persons deserve more compensation than 
the state currently provides. Exonerated persons need 
clothing, housing, transportation, and medical care, and 
unlike parolees, exonerated persons receive little to no 
help from the state. When the state’s judicial system 
has failed and effectively taken years of a person’s life, 
the state should bear the responsibility of compensating 
them. The bill would address these issues by adjusting 
the level of compensation wrongfully imprisoned 
persons can receive so that all persons, whether on death 
row or not, would be entitled to $80,000 per year of 
wrongful incarceration.

	 The bill would authorize annuity payments so that 
the wrongfully imprisoned would be ensured a lifetime 
income, in addition to a lump sum that could be spent 
quickly. Exonerated persons with little or no money-
management experience might be unable to make a 
lump sum last. By allowing the heirs of posthumously 
exonerated persons to receive lump sum payments, HB 
1736 would recognize, and compensate for, the impact 
wrongful convictions have on families.

	 HB 1736 would provide additional help to 
exonerees by requiring TDCJ to develop reentry and 
reintegration services to help ease their transition from 
prison. The TCOOMMI office would be charged with 
assisting exonerees with medical care and mental health 
care, which otherwise can be difficult for them to obtain. 
The bill also would require the state to pay tuition and 
fees so exonerees could pursue a higher education. 

Opponents said

	 Increasing compensation would cost the state 
more money than is fiscally responsible. Texas already 
offers a high level of compensation to those wrongfully 
imprisoned. The state should be cautious about 
increasing expenditures in the current economic climate.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1736 appeared in Part 
One of the April 24 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 2003 by McCall
Effective September 1, 2009

Making cyber-harrassment a crime

	 HB 2003 creates criminal offenses for harassment 
online of another person. The bill makes it a third-
degree felony (two to 10 years in prison and an optional 
fine of up to $10,000) to create a webpage or post a 
message on a social networking site in someone else’s 
name, without their consent, and with the intent to 
harm, defraud, intimidate, or threaten someone. It is 
a class A misdemeanor (up to one year in jail and/or 
a maximum fine of $4,000) to send an e-mail, instant 
or text message, or similar communication using 
another person’s identity, without consent, with the 
intent that the recipient of the communication believe 
that the other person sent the message and with intent 
to harm or defraud someone. The offense is a third-
degree felony if done with intent to solicit a response 
from emergency personnel. The bill gives a defense to 
prosecution to employees of social networking sites, 
Internet service providers, interactive computer services, 
telecommunication providers, and video and cable 
service providers.

Supporters said

	 HB 2003 would establish appropriate punishments 
for a new wave of serious crimes that have come about 
with the advent of social networking sites and text 
messaging. Current law does not address instances 
of malicious social networking impersonation or text 
messaging harassment or bullying. The state should take 
these actions seriously.
	
	 HB 2003 is narrowly focused to regulate unlawful 
conduct, not infringe on free speech rights. Harming 
others is not protected under the free speech rights 
in the U.S. Constitution. The bill would fill a gap in 
current law by making impersonation that is done to 
harm, defraud, intimidate, or threaten a crime. To be 
prosecuted for an offense, an individual would have to 
assume someone else’s identity and use it maliciously. 
Law enforcement officials and prosecutors would 
be able to exercise discretion in determining which 
circumstances warranted harsher penalties.

Opponents said

	 HB 2003 could compromise the First Amendment 
right to freedom of speech. The term “harm” in the bill 
could be interpreted broadly, including something as 
simple as harming a person’s reputation. HB 2003 could 
criminalize a juvenile prank that could be considered 
“harmful” to someone. The bill could make behavior 
that may have been just annoying into a felony. The bill 
should limit severe punishment to actions that threaten 
bodily injury. 

	 The bill could overlap with the current offense 
of harassment. Instances of cyber-harassment and 
impersonation are being prosecuted effectively under 
current law. Stealing someone’s identity online is 
prosecuted as identity theft, and there already are laws 
against stalking.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2003 appeared in Part 
Three of the May 8 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 2066 by Gallego
Effective September 1, 2009

Second- and third-degree felony for domestic violence strangulation

	 HB 2066 makes assault a third-degree felony if 
committed by strangulation or suffocation against 
a person with whom the defendant has a dating 
relationship or who is in the defendant’s family or 
household. Specifically, the offense must be committed 
by intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly impeding the 
normal breathing or blood circulation of a person by 
applying pressure to the person’s throat or neck or by 
blocking the person’s nose or mouth. 

	 The same offense is a second-degree felony if the 
defendant previously was convicted of certain offenses 
against a family or household member or a person with 
whom the defendant had been in a dating relationship.

Supporters said

	 HB 2066 is necessary because cases of strangulation 
and suffocation in domestic violence situations are not 
taken seriously enough nor punished harshly enough. 
Strangulation in these cases often is an indicator of 
serious, life-threatening violence, the result of escalating 
domestic violence, and a sign of prolonged abuse. 
By defining clearly the offense and making increased 
penalties available, HB 2066 would give prosecutors 
more tools to combat domestic violence, better protect 
victims, and punish offenders more appropriately. 

	 Despite the seriousness of strangulation, in 
domestic violence cases it often is charged as a class A 
misdemeanor form of assault, which does not require 
any minimum jail time. While it is possible under 
current law that some cases could be prosecuted and 
punished more harshly, this rarely is done, for several 
reasons. It can be difficult to prove bodily injury or 
serious bodily injury because strangulation may leave 
no marks and victims may appear to have no injuries. In 
some cases, obtaining higher penalties can be done only 
if there was a previous offense. Some prosecutors may 
be hesitant to try to prove that a defendant’s hands were 
used as a deadly weapon.

	 HB 2066 would solve these problems by stating 
clearly that strangulation and suffocation in domestic 
violence situations constituted assault and by applying 
appropriate penalties to first and subsequent offenses. 
The definitions in HB 2066 would allow prosecutors, 

judges, and juries to identify the offense, and the 
increased penalties would reflect more accurately the 
physical harm that can be caused by strangulation. The 
increased penalty could keep offenders incarcerated 
longer, giving victims more time to take steps to protect 
themselves. 

	 Charges of strangulation would have to be proved 
beyond a reasonable doubt, so that law enforcement 
could ensure that charges were not based on false or 
frivolous accusations. Requiring signs of physical abuse 
or the testimony of another witness could make victims 
reluctant to come forward in strangulation cases, which 
could place them in danger of escalating violence. 

Opponents said 

	 Current law is adequate to prosecute and to 
punish cases of strangulation in domestic violence 
situations. Prosecutors, judges, and juries increasingly 
take domestic violence seriously and respond with 
appropriate charges and penalties. 

	 If strangulation in domestic violence causes bodily 
injury or serious bodily injury, it can be punished 
severely under the assault or aggravated assault statutes. 
Many strangulation and suffocation cases have been 
tried successfully as aggravated assault, a second-
degree felony. Those causing bodily injury in a domestic 
violence situation who have previous convictions for 
other violent offenses already can be punished for a 
third-degree felony. If serious bodily injury is caused 
and a deadly weapon used, the offense can be a first-
degree felony. Texas courts have recognized hands as a 
deadly weapon, including in strangulation. 

	 The penalties for assault should not be enhanced 
unless a victim shows some sign of physical abuse or 
injury or there is corroborating testimony from another 
witness to the crime. HB 2066 could result in only the 
word of an alleged victim being used to prosecute a 
person for a crime that carries an enhanced penalty. 

Notes 
	 The HRO analysis of HB 2066 appeared in the 
April 23 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 2086 by Moody
Effective September 1, 2009 

Prosecution and punishment for gang activities

	 HB 2086 creates new criminal offenses related to 
gang activity, increases penalties for certain offenses if 
they involve gang activity, increases the restrictions that 
can be imposed on probationers and parolees involved 
in certain gang or organized crime offenses, expands the 
criteria for inclusion in gang databases, allows certain 
nuisance laws to be applied to actions by street gangs or 
their members, authorizes cities and counties to require 
graffiti removal, changes the requirements for what must 
be in some applications to intercept communications, 
and establishes a DPS Public Corruption Unit.  

	 A related bill, SB 379 by Carona, effective June 
19, 2009, requires the gang section of the Texas Fusion 
Center annually to submit to the governor and the 
Legislature a report assessing the statewide threat posed 
by criminal street gangs.

	 Criminal offenses relating to gangs. HB 2086 
creates a new criminal offense for directing the activities 
of certain types of street gangs. It is a first-degree 
felony (life in prison or a sentence of five to 99 years 
and an optional fine of up to $10,000) to knowingly 
initiate, organize, finance, direct, manage, or supervise 
a criminal street gang or its members with the intent 
to benefit or to promote the interests of the gang or to 
increase the person’s standing in the gang. 

	 HB 2086 makes the punishment for criminal 
solicitation of a minor the same category as the solicited 
offense if the defendant is at least 17 years old at the 
time of the offense and a member of a criminal street 
gang and commits the offense with the intent to further 
the criminal activities of the gang or to avoid detection 
as a member of a gang.

	 HB 2086 adds the following four offenses to the 
list of those subject to an enhanced penalty when 
undertaken as part of organized criminal activity:	

escape from custody; 	•	
permitting or facilitating escape; •	
providing implements for an escape from •	
custody; and	
providing prohibited substances or items in •	
adult and juvenile correctional or detention 
facilities.

	 HB 2086 increases the punishment for certain 
offenses that can constitute organized criminal activity 
to the next highest category, unless the offense was a 
first-degree felony, if the defendant was at least 17 years 
old and the location of the offense was:	

in, on, or within 1,000 feet of school or higher •	
education institution property, any premises of a 
youth center, or a playground; or	
in, on, or within 300 feet of the premises of a •	
shopping mall, movie theater, public swimming 
pool, or video arcade; or 
on a school bus.•	

	 HB 2086 adds crimes committed by adults as part of 
criminal street gang activities to the list of offenses for 
which certain multiple sentences arising out of the same 
criminal episode can run concurrently or consecutively.

	 Juveniles who are adjudicated for committing crimes 
that are gang-related conduct, as defined by the bill, 
must be ordered to participate in a criminal street gang 
intervention program.

	 Probation, parole restrictions for gang activity. 
HB 2086 authorizes courts to require certain members 
of criminal street gangs who are repeat offenders and 
are convicted of felonies and placed on probation to 
submit to electronic monitoring. The bill also expands 
the authority of judges to require probationers to avoid 
persons or places of disreputable or harmful character 
to include avoiding any persons, other than family 
members, who are active members of criminal street 
gangs.

	 Parole panels can require electronic monitoring 
of parolees who are identified as criminal street gang 
members and are repeat offenders. Courts are authorized 
to place restrictions on operating a motor vehicle by 
persons who are placed on probation after a conviction 
for an organized crime offense. 

	 Contraband. HB 2086 adds property used in the 
commission of organized crime offenses to the list of 
what is considered contraband and can be subject to 
seizure and forfeiture. 
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	 Criminal street gang intelligence databases. 
HB 2086 adds two criteria to the list of items that can 
make a person’s information eligible for inclusion in a 
criminal justice intelligence database:	

evidence that the person had visited a known •	
gang member, other than a member of the 
person’s family, while the gang member was in 
prison; and 
evidence of the person’s use of technology to •	
recruit new gang members.

	 The bill makes evidence that a person visited a 
gang member in a penal institution or frequented a 
documented area of a street gang and associated with 
known gang members insufficient to include a person’s 
information in an intelligence database, unless it is 
combined with other information.

	 HB 2086 increases from three years to five years 
the amount of time that information about criminal 
street gangs can remain in databases before it must be 
removed.

	 Civil suits against gangs for public nuisances. 
HB 2086 makes criminal street gangs or their members 
liable to the state or other governmental entity for 
violations of injunctive orders issued under the civil 
statutes governing public nuisances.

	 The state or a governmental entity may recover 
actual damages, a civil penalty of up to $20,000 for 
each violation, and court costs and attorney’s fees. The 
gang or a gang member’s property may be seized for 
a judgment, with exceptions for property owned by 
persons who were not members of the gang and did not 
violate the injunctive order and those whose property 
was stolen or used without consent. Damages and 
civil penalties may be used only for the benefit of the 
community or neighborhood harmed by the violation of 
the injunctive order. 

	 Graffiti. Counties and cities, under some 
circumstances, may require property owners to remove 
graffiti from the owner’s property on receipt of notice 
from the county or municipality. Counties and cities 
may take this action only if they had offered to remove 
the graffiti free of charge and the property owner 
refused. 

	 The order from the city or county must require 
property owners to remove the graffiti within 15 days of 

the notice. If the owner does not meet this deadline, the 
city or county may remove the graffiti and charge the 
property owner for the removal expenses. The expenses 
could be assessed against the property on which the 
removal work was performed.

	 A political subdivision or a state agency may enact 
an ordinance or rule requiring aerosol paint be made 
accessible only with the assistance of personnel of a 
business.

	 Applications to intercept communications. HB 
2086 establishes exceptions to the requirement that 
applications for authorization to intercept oral, wire, 
or electronic communications include a particular type 
of description of the location from which or the place 
where the communication will be intercepted. 

	 DPS Public Corruption Unit. The Department 
of Public Safety (DPS) is required to create a Public 
Corruption Unit by December 1, 2010. The unit will 
investigate allegations of participation in organized 
criminal activity by peace officers and federal law 
enforcement officers working in Texas. It will have 
authority to assist local prosecutors, law enforcement 
agencies, and federal entities in these investigations 
and, under certain conditions, to initiate allegations 
of participation in organized criminal activity by law 
enforcement officers.

	 Governor’s grant program. The governor’s 
Criminal Justice Division is required to administer a 
grant program for regional, multidisciplinary approaches 
to combating gang violence. The grant program must 
be directed toward regions with high levels of gang 
violence. 

Supporters said

	 HB 2086 would provide a comprehensive approach 
to the problem of gang involvement and gang violence. 
By increasing the penalties and costs associated with 
criminal gang activity, HB 2086 would help deter 
involvement in gangs and stem the growing threats 
posed by gang activity and membership. The presence 
of gangs in Texas has increased in recent years, and 
transnational gangs have established a foothold in the 
border area. These gangs are the primary channel for 
human and drug trafficking into the United States, 
weapons trafficking into Mexico and Central America, 
and the violence associated with these activities. 
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	 The multi-faceted approach of HB 2086 would 
include tougher penalties for certain gang-related 
crimes, additional tools for law enforcement authorities 
to go after gang members, and more options for 
courts to punish those involved in gang activity. Other 
provisions would allow better monitoring of these 
offenders when they are on probation or parole. HB 
2086 also would aid law enforcement authorities in 
their gathering intelligence essential to investigating and 
prosecuting criminal gang activity through provisions 
such as expanding the criteria that allow inclusion in a 
gang database and creating some exceptions for certain 
applications to intercept communications. 

	 By requiring juveniles involved with gangs to 
participate in a gang intervention program, the bill 
would help prevent children from engaging in further 
gang activity.

	 The bill would address gang activity on additional 
fronts by allowing nuisance laws to be used to target 
the financial assets of gangs and gang members and by 
authorizing cities and counties to issue orders to remove 
graffiti, which often is gang-related.

Opponents said 

	 HB 2086 would give law enforcement authorities 
invasive new tools that would not necessarily improve 
public safety. New criminal offenses and enhanced 
punishments should not be imposed when existing 
offenses can cover these activities and existing 
punishments are adequate.

	 Enhanced penalties for gang activities would not 
be an effective deterrent. A comprehensive approach 
to gang activity, with a focus on intervention, would 
have a greater chance of preventing gang violence 
than increased punishments. The most effective time 
for intervention occurs prior to a juvenile’s gang 
involvement or after the juvenile’s first brush with the 
law. Over-criminalization of minor gang activity would 
minimize this window of opportunity. 

	 Resources in the criminal justice system already are 
strained, and enhanced punishments for gang activities 
would lead to incarcerating more offenders for longer 
periods rather than working to divert offenders from 
incarceration. This could stress the system further and 
could divert resources from other important efforts. For 
example, the expanded use of electronic monitoring 

for certain probationers without a finding that the 
offender presented a unique danger to the community 
would not be a cost-effective law enforcement tool. 
Electronic monitoring already is allowed for certain 
high-risk offenders. Expanding the list of criteria 
allowing inclusion in gang databases would increase the 
likelihood that non-gang members would be included 
in them. This could diminish their effectiveness as an 
investigative tool and waste law enforcement resources 
by encouraging the investigation of innocent people 
without make the public safer. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2086 appeared in the 
April 23 Daily Floor Report. The House-passed version 
of HB 2086 included only the provision adding offenses 
to the list of those subject to an enhanced penalty when 
undertaken as part of organized criminal activity. Many 
of the provisions in the enrolled version of HB 2086 
were originally in SB 11 by Carona, which passed the 
Senate, but died on the May 22 General State Calendar 
in the House when no further action was taken. The 
HRO analysis of SB 11 appeared in Part Two of the 
May 22 Daily Floor Report. 

	 SB 371 by Carona included the provision in HB 
2086 that adds property used in organized crime 
offenses to the list of what is contraband and can be 
subject to seizure and forfeiture. SB 371 passed the 
Senate, but died on the May 22 General State Calendar 
in the House when no further action was taken. The 
HRO digest of SB 371 appeared in Part Two of the 
May 22 Daily Floor Report. 

	 SB 369 by Carona included the provisions in HB 
2086 dealing with criminal street gang intelligence 
databases. SB 369 passed the Senate, but died on the 
May 22 General State Calendar in the House when no 
further action was taken. The HRO analysis of SB 369 
appeared in Part Two of the May 22 Daily Floor Report. 

	 SB 423 by Carona included the provision in HB 
2086 that expands the authority of judges to place 
conditions on probationers to include a requirement that 
probationers avoid persons, other than family members, 
who are active members of criminal street gangs. SB 
423 passed the Senate, but died on the May 22 General 
State Calendar in the House when no further action was 
taken. The HRO digest of SB 423 appeared in Part 
Two of the May 22 Daily Floor Report.
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	 HB 2086 includes a provision, which also was in 
SB 366 by Carona, adding crimes committed as part of 
criminal street gang activities to the list of offenses for 
which certain multiple sentences arising out of the same 
criminal episode can run concurrently or consecutively. 
SB 366 passed the Senate, but died on the May 23 
General State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken. The HRO analysis of SB 366 
appeared in Part Two of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 2267 by Hodge
Died in the Senate

No death penalty for certain accomplices, separate trials for capital 
murder

	 HB 2267 would have prohibited a death sentence 
for defendants found guilty in capital felony cases only 
as a party under the conspirator liability section of the 
state’s law of parties found in Penal Code sec. 7.02(b). 
Under this section, if persons conspire to commit a 
serious crime and, in the process of committing the 
crime, one of them commits another crime that should 
have been anticipated, all parties can be guilty of the 
crime actually committed, even though they did not 
intend to commit it. Prosecutors would have been 
prohibited from seeking the death penalty in cases in 
which a defendant’s liability was based solely on that 
section. 

	 HB 2267 also would have prohibited courts from 
trying defendants jointly if either defendant was to be 
tried for a capital felony. Courts would have had to 
order a severance for any two or more defendants jointly 
charged with a capital felony. 

Supporters said

	 HB 2267 would address the most troubling aspects 
of the state’s law of parties by prohibiting a death 
sentence for an accomplice who was a party to a murder 
under the conspirator liability part of the law. Current 
law allows accomplices to be found guilty of capital 
murder and to be eligible for a death sentence if they 
should have anticipated the murder. This standard 
should not be used to make a person eligible for a death 
sentence. HB 2267 would leave other parts of the law of 
parties intact.

	 The cases of Kenneth Foster and Jeffery Wood have 
called attention to deficiencies in Texas’ law of parties. 
The conspirator liability provisions of the law of parties 
have been used to obtain death sentences in these and 
other cases in which accomplices, such as lookouts 
or getaway drivers, were not directly involved in the 
capital murder and did not kill or intend to kill, but a 
prosecutor argued that they should have anticipated the 
murder. It is too difficult for a jury to determine what 
a person should have anticipated, and such conjecture 
about what went on in a defendant’s mind should not 
be used to make someone eligible for a death sentence. 
Even though juries use the standard of whether the 

accomplice actually anticipated the murder when 
imposing punishment, it still is too difficult to determine 
and inappropriate for life-and-death decisions.

	 The conspirator portion of the law of parties 
violates the concept that punishment for a crime should 
be in proportion to a person’s actions and culpability. 
The death penalty should be reserved for the worst 
of the worst, and allowing accomplices, who did not 
themselves kill, to be put to death violates this principle. 
Under HB 2267, accomplices who fell under the 
conspirator liability portion of the law still would be 
punished harshly with life in prison without parole. 

	 All capital murder defendants would get fairer trials 
if they were tried separately, as HB 2267 would require. 
Under current law, courts do not always sever trials 
when they should. This creates a problem, because joint 
trials too easily allow one defendant to be tainted by 
evidence or information about another defendant, which 
can prejudice jurors, especially against accomplices. 
Severing capital murder trials would not be a financial 
burden on courts trying these cases because the state 
has a program to help reimburse counties for the 
investigation and prosecution of capital murders.

Opponents said

	 Texas has decided that the death penalty is an 
appropriate penalty for those who intimately are 
involved in committing capital murder, and the law 
should not be changed to eliminate this punishment 
option for one type of accomplice to such crimes. Death 
sentences are used for punishment, deterrence, and 
retribution, all of which are appropriate reasons to retain 
the death penalty option for accomplices to capital 
felonies who fall under the conspirator liability portion 
of the law. Current law holds accomplices to capital 
murder responsible for their own actions, not the actions 
of others.

	 Current law sets appropriate standards for imposing 
a death sentence when an accomplice is convicted 
under the conspirator liability portion of the law of 
parties. The law requires that to be found guilty, an 
accomplice should have anticipated the victim’s death, 
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but the standard for receiving a death sentence — found 
in the questions asked of jurors deciding punishment 
— is whether the person actually anticipated the 
victim’s death. Jurors must decide unanimously, 
beyond a reasonable doubt, that an accomplice actually 
anticipated the death, before the jury may impose a 
death sentence. In addition, all other requirements 
for imposing a death sentence must be met, including 
findings about future dangerousness and any mitigating 
evidence. 

	 The law of parties should remain intact, as it has 
been used to obtain death sentences for accomplices 
to some horrific crimes, including the killers of James 
Byrd, Jr., who in 1998 was dragged to death in Jasper, 
Texas, and some of the inmates who escaped from a 
Texas prison in 2000 and went on a crime spree that 
included killing a police officer.

	 Checks and balances and safeguards help ensure 
that a death penalty is appropriate and legally justified. 
As with all death penalty cases, prosecutors decide 
carefully when to seek the death penalty and reserve 
it for only the worst crimes in which the role of an 
accomplice meets the constitutional requirements for 
a death sentence. Juries consider the circumstances of 
each case, and before imposing a death sentence, must 
unanimously answer questions about a defendant’s 
future dangerousness, the accomplice’s role in the 
capital murder, and mitigating circumstances that would 
warrant a sentence of life without parole rather than 
death. If even one juror does not agree to impose a death 
sentence, the accused accomplice cannot be sentenced 
to death. The appeals process for death sentences 
through the state and federal courts is extensive and 
thorough. Texas’ sentencing laws for accomplices are 
constitutional based on decisions made by the U.S. 
Supreme Court.

	 Requiring the severing of capital murder trials 
is unnecessary because current law sets appropriate 
standards for severing trials, and judges act in good 
faith, severing trials when appropriate. Joint trials can 
be a cost-effective use of court resources.

Other opponents said

	 It is unclear how HB 2267 would be implemented 
because accomplices are charged with the crime 
committed, not with a violation of a specific part of 
the law of parties. The charge given to the jury during 
the guilt-or-innocence phase of the trial includes 

instructions about the law of parties. However, jurors 
are not required under the law to agree on or record 
whether they considered a defendant guilty as the 
primary murderer or as an accomplice under the law of 
parties, or which, if any, section of the law of parties the 
jury applies to an offender. Developing a new procedure 
to identify accomplices found guilty under one section 
of the law could hold up capital trials and possibly shut 
down the death penalty in Texas while any changes to 
Texas’ well established capital punishment system were 
litigated.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2267 appeared in the 
May 9 Daily Floor Report.

	 The Senate Criminal Justice Committee amended 
HB 2267 by removing provisions dealing with the law 
of parties and leaving only provisions that would have 
prohibited courts from jointly trying defendants if either 
defendant was to be tried for a capital felony for which 
the state was seeking a death penalty. Courts would have 
had to order a severance for any two or more defendants 
jointly charged with a capital felony if the state was 
seeking the death penalty for any defendant. The full 
Senate did not consider HB 2267. 

	 HB 111 by Peña, which also would have prohibited 
joint capital felony trials if the state was seeking 
the death penalty, died on the May 13 General State 
Calendar in the House when no further action was taken. 

	 For more information on the law of parties, see 
House Research Organization Interim News Number 
80-7, October 9, 2008, Should Accomplices to Capital 
Murder be Eligible for the Death Penalty.
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HB 3228 by Madden
Effective September 1, 2009

Detecting contraband, monitoring cell phones in correctional facilities

	 HB 3228 expands the law dealing with contraband 
in correctional facilities so that it covers specific actions 
dealing with cell phones and wireless devices, expands 
some offenses concerning contraband in correctional 
facilities so they apply to local jails, reorganizes the 
current statute dealing with contraband, and gives the 
Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) and the 
Texas Youth Commission (TYC) expanded authority 
for dealing with nonconsensual interception devices for 
wire, oral, or electronic communications.

	 HB 3228 expands the current criminal offense 
involving providing and possessing prohibited 
substances and items in correctional facilities to include 
taking certain actions that would facilitate the use of 
a prohibited cell phone or wireless device by a person 
confined in a correctional facility. The following actions, 
if committed with intent to provide or make available 
a cell phone, wireless communications device, or a 
component to a person in a correctional facility, would 
be a criminal offense:	

acquiring a cell phone, wireless device, or •	
component to be delivered to an inmate or 
person in custody; 
providing a cell phone, wireless device, or •	
component to another person for delivery to an 
inmate or person in custody; or 
making a payment to a communications •	
common carrier or to any communication 
service that provided wire or electronic 
communications. 

	 HB 3228 expands the offense for providing 
certain prohibited substances and items to persons 
in correctional facilities to include possessing the 
substances or items with the intent to provide them to 
someone in a correctional facility.

	 HB 3228 expands the offense of possessing a cell 
phone in state prisons and secure juvenile facilities to 
include possessing a cell phone in a municipal or county 
jail. It also applies to local jails the offense of taking 
controlled substances or dangerous drugs onto the 
property of certain facilities.

	 TDCJ and TYC are authorized to own certain 
nonconsensual interception devices for wire, oral, or 

electronic communications for authorized uses. The 
inspectors general of the two agencies may possess, 
install, operate, and monitor the devices. The bill details 
the circumstances, all centering on detecting the use 
of cell phones in correctional facilities, under which 
the inspector general of TDCJ may use the devices 
without a warrant and the procedure that must be 
followed after using an interception device. The bill 
allows the prevention of transmissions, if authorized by 
federal law. The bill also adds the offense of providing 
certain prohibited substances and items to persons in 
correctional facilities to the list of specified felony 
crimes for which judges are authorized to order the 
interception of communications upon showing of 
probable cause. 

Supporters say

	 HB 3228 would give the state additional tools to 
combat cell phones and other contraband in correctional 
facilities. There has been heightened concern about 
the problem of contraband cell phones in prisons since 
October 2008, when a death row inmate was caught 
with a cell phone. Cell phones in prison are a serious 
threat to public safety and prison security and have been 
used to plan crimes and threaten witnesses and others.

	 The bill would ensure that certain actions that 
enable an inmate to get and use a cell phone were illegal 
and would expand the current offense for providing 
certain kinds of contraband to inmates to include 
intending to provide the items. This change would give 
authorities another tool to stop contraband before it 
got into prisons. These changes would make it easier 
to prosecute someone possessing the contraband and 
intending to provide it to an offender even if the person 
had not yet actually given it to the offender. 

	 HB 3228 would close a loophole in state law by 
extending the current offense of possessing a cell 
phone so that it applied to persons in local jails and 
would reorganize, without making substantive changes, 
statutes dealing with providing and possessing certain 
items in correctional facilities to make them easier to 
understand and to use.
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	 HB 3228 would give TDCJ and TYC necessary 
tools to combat cell phone use in correctional 
facilities by expanding their authority concerning 
nonconsensual interception devices for wire, oral, or 
electronic communications. The current process for 
using interception devices involves going through 
the Department of Public Safety, following detailed 
procedures, and, for certain actions, obtaining court 
approval. This process can be cumbersome and time 
consuming and may not always permit the inspectors 
general to move quickly enough. Many prison 
investigations into cell phones are time sensitive and 
must happen rapidly upon learning about the contraband 
because the phones can be easily concealed, passed 
around, and thrown away.
	
	 With the authority to possess, under strict 
guidelines, detection equipment for investigations of 
offenses involving contraband, TDCJ and TYC would 
be ready to move quickly to combat contraband when 
necessary. TDCJ’s inspector general would be able to 
use the equipment to detect the presence or use of cell 
phones and wireless devices and to monitor, detect, 
or prevent transmission of communications through 
these devices so evidence could be gathered. This 
authority would be strictly limited to communications 
in correctional facilities. Although frequency jamming 
of cell phone signals is illegal under federal law, there 
are discussions about changing that law, and HB 3228 
would authorize the inspector general to prevent these 
transmissions if federal law changed. 

	 Safeguards in the bill would ensure that the 
equipment was used only under strict guidelines and that 
the authority was not abused. The unlawful interception 
of wire, oral, or electronic communications would 
remain a crime.

Opponents say

	 HB 3228 could give too much power to the 
inspectors general of TDCJ and TYC. Allowing 
the inspector general of TDCJ to use detection and 
interception equipment without a warrant could stray 
too far from current requirements for these devices, 
which generally regulate their use so that there is a 
statewide policy with uniform standards. TDCJ should 
be able to address contraband problems using current 
procedures for interception devices.

	 Applying certain contraband laws to local jails 
would result in the punishment for those crimes being 
enhanced to a higher level. Any penalty enhancement 
has the potential to lead to increased incarceration, 
something the state should be cautious about, given the 
strain it puts on state resources.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3228 appeared in Part 
Two of the May 2 Daily Floor Report. 

	 Many of the provisions in the final version of HB 
3228 also were in HB 1481 by Madden, which was 
analyzed in Part Six of the May 8 Daily Floor Report. 
HB 1481 was placed on the May 8 General State 
Calendar, but no further action was taken. 
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HB 3689 by McClendon
Effective June 19, 2009

Continuing Texas Youth Commission and Texas Juvenile Probation 
Commission

	 HB 3689 continues the Texas Youth Commission 
(TYC) and the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission 
(TJPC) as separate agencies. They are continued until 
2011, and the Sunset Advisory Commission’s review of 
the agencies for the 82nd Legislature will be limited to: 

the agencies’ compliance with SB 103 by •	
Hinojosa, enacted in 2007, that made numerous 
revisions to the juvenile justice system; 
requirements enacted by the 80th Legislature in •	
2007, including programs to divert youths from 
TYC; and 
the agencies’ initiatives to improve integration •	
of TYC, TJPC, and county juvenile justice 
functions.

	 The bill also continues TYC’s Office of the 
Independent Ombudsman and requires that it undergo 
Sunset review whenever TYC is reviewed.

	 HB 3689 creates a strategic planning committee 
to develop the joint strategic plan that has been 
required of the agencies since 1995. TYC’s director 
and TJPC’s executive director are co-presiding 
officers of the strategic planning committee, and they 
must appoint its members following guidelines in 
the bill. HB 3689 requires that new components be 
included in the coordinated plan, including procedures 
for communication between the agencies and for 
determining ways to coordinate practices.

	 The bill also requires TYC, TJPC, other state 
agencies, and local juvenile probation departments to 
adopt a memorandum of understanding establishing 
their responsibilities for providing a continuity of care 
for juveniles with mental impairments in the juvenile 
justice system. The Texas Office on Offenders with 
Medical and Mental Impairments will coordinate and 
monitor the memorandum.

Texas Youth Commission

	 Governance. HB 3689 allows a scheduled change 
in the agency’s governance to occur on September 1, 
2009, when it will shift from an executive commissioner 
appointed by the governor to a seven-member board 

appointed by the governor with the advice and consent 
of the Senate.

	 Reentry and reintegration plan. TYC must 
develop a plan to reduce recidivism and ensure 
successful reentry and reintegration into the community 
of juveniles released from the agency. Each child’s plan 
must have certain components, including an assessment 
of the skills the child needs to develop to be successful 
in the community and a network of transition programs 
to address the child’s needs. TYC must report to the 
Legislature on whether the plan reduced recidivism 
rates. 

	 If requested, TYC must provide courts with 
periodic updates on a child’s progress while committed 
to the agency. 

	 Reading and behavior plans. TYC must 
implement a comprehensive plan to improve the 
reading skills and behavior of juveniles committed to 
the agency. The bill also requires the agency to adopt a 
system-wide classroom and individual positive behavior 
support system. The bill makes youths’ release on 
parole contingent on participation in the programs, if 
required, and requires TYC to report to the Legislature 
by December 1, 2010, on the effectiveness and 
implementation of these plans.

	 Office of the Independent Ombudsman 
(OIO). HB 3689 also continues TYC’s Office of the 
Independent Ombudsman. It removes the separate 
Sunset review date for the OIO and requires that it be 
reviewed when TYC is reviewed. The bill requires 
the OIO to accept comments from TYC on certain 
reports and requires the two entities to adopt a 
memorandum of understanding concerning the sharing 
of information and procedures for handling overlapping 
responsibilities.

Texas Juvenile Probation Commission 

	 Governing board. HB 3689 changes the 
composition of TJPC’s governing board by reducing 
the number of public members from five to one and 
adding as members a chief juvenile probation officer, 

Table 
of Contents



Page 46 House Research Organization

a mental health professional, an educator, and a person 
representing an organization that advocates for juvenile 
offenders or victims of crime.

	 Distributing state funding. TJPC is required 
by September 1, 2010, to establish by rule funding 
formulas for money sent to local juvenile boards for 
basic probation services and community corrections. 
TJPC is required to consider past performance of a 
juvenile board when contracting for services other than 
basic probation services, and contracts must include 
performance targets. 

	 Nonsecure correctional facilities. Governments 
and private entities operating nonsecure correctional 
facilities for juveniles on probation must register the 
facilities with TJPC and adhere to certain minimum 
standards. Juvenile court judges and juvenile 
boards must inspect annually all nonsecure juvenile 
correctional facilities in their jurisdiction and certify to 
local authorities and TJPC whether they are suitable to 
confine children. TJPC is required to inspect annually 
and report on these public and private nonsecure 
facilities and to adopt certification standards for persons 
who work in them. 

	 Other provisions. HB 3689’s other provisions 
include: 

requiring TJPC to collect data concerning •	
the outcomes of local probation programs 
throughout the state; 
requiring TJPC to report quarterly on abuse, •	
neglect, and exploitation in juvenile justice 
programs and facilities; 
authorizing TJPC to contract with a local mental •	
health and mental retardation authority for a 
residential treatment facility for juveniles with 
mental illness or emotional injury; and
allowing TJPC to place suspended officers •	
on probation and allowing TJPC to revoke 
or suspend probation or detention officers’ 
certification if it determines that the continued 
certification threatens juveniles in the juvenile 
justice system.

Supporters said

	 TYC and TJPC should be continued as separate 
agencies because they have distinct mandates and 
responsibilities that can best be accomplished as 

independent entities. While TJPC focuses on the front 
end of the juvenile justice system by ensuring core 
probation services are available throughout the state 
and providing alternatives to state commitment, TYC 
focuses on youths in correctional facilities and on 
parole. These different points in the juvenile justice 
system deserve the undivided attention of individual 
agencies without the competition for resources and 
attention that would come with consolidation.

	 Consolidating the two agencies would not solve 
current problems, especially those identified by the 
Sunset Advisory Commission at TYC. TYC should be 
allowed to continue to implement the reforms enacted 
by the Legislature in 2007 before any wholesale changes 
are made in the agency’s structure. 

	 HB 3689 would address the Sunset Advisory 
Commission’s concerns about coordination between the 
agencies by establishing a strategic planning committee 
to develop the coordinated strategic plan required of 
the two agencies. TYC and TJPC have been working 
together and increasingly collaborating in a productive 
manner, and this would continue under HB 3689.

Texas Youth Commission 

	 Reentry and reintegration plan. Requiring TYC 
to develop a reentry plan for youths leaving the agency 
would help ensure that they received the assistance and 
support they needed to reintegrate successfully into the 
community and to reduce recidivism. 

	 Office of the Independent Ombudsman. The 
OIO would continue its role as an independent entity 
focused on and advocating for the youth in TYC. HB 
3689 would improve communication between the OIO 
and TYC by establishing formal procedures for the 
agency to review and comment on the OIO’s report. The 
current process in which TYC informally comments on 
the OIO’s reports does not ensure timely, predictable 
input by TYC. 

Texas Juvenile Probation Commission 

	 Governing board. HB 3689 would give TJPC 
the formal input that it currently lacks from a chief 
juvenile probation officer, a mental health professional, 
an educator, and a representative of an organization that 
advocates for juvenile offenders or victims of crime. 
One public member would remain on the board, enough 
to provide adequate representation. 
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	 Distributing state funding. HB 3689 would 
more effectively target state funding for juvenile 
probation services and make them more accountable. 
Problems with the current funding system include 
poor accountability measures for state grants, too 
many restrictions on the grants, and insufficient formal 
input on funding formulas. HB 3689 would address 
these problems by requiring TJPC to consider past 
performance and performance targets when awarding 
certain grants. Requiring TJPC to establish basic 
funding formulas by rule would allow for public 
comment to be made on the formulas while giving the 
agency the flexibility to make changes when necessary.

	 Nonsecure facilities. HB 3689 would bring state 
and local oversight to the small number of nonsecure 
facilities that are used exclusively for youths on 
probation. These facilities and their employees should 
be subject to the same oversight given to other juvenile 
facilities.

Opponents said 

	 TYC and TJPC should be merged into one agency, 
as recommended by the Sunset Advisory Commission, 
to address the lack of an effective continuum of 
treatment and rehabilitation for juvenile offenders in 
Texas. Even after repeated attempts to force better 
collaboration, the agencies continue to operate with 
almost no coordinated strategic planning for the 
integration of state and local services, ineffective 
sharing of critical information, and limited means of 
evaluating outcomes or targeting resources. 
Merging the two agencies would result in increased 
cooperation and collaboration between state and local 
services and a more consistent approach to handling 
juvenile offenders. 

Other opponents said 

	 TYC and TJPC should be maintained as separate 
agencies, but placed under a single governing board. 
This would allow the agencies to continue to perform 
their distinct roles in the juvenile justice system while 
ensuring collaboration through unified governance.

	 Another option would be to establish a new 
entity, such as a coordinating council, to provide 
continuing coordination and evaluation of the two 
agencies’ activities. The entity could develop and 
adopt a five-year juvenile justice improvement plan 

and make recommendations about improving services 
and programs for juveniles on probation and in TYC. 
Such a plan could be updated annually and would be a 
benchmark that could be used to evaluate the progress 
of the agencies.

	 The TJPC governing board should include 
representation from chief juvenile probation officers 
from small, medium, and large juvenile departments, 
not just the one chief probation officer required by 
HB 3689. Different sized departments have unique 
perspectives that should be represented on the board. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3689 appeared in Part 
One of the May 21 Daily Floor Report. 

	 The House-passed version of HB 3689 would have 
required TJPC, in coordination with TYC, to establish 
guidelines for community corrections pilot programs for 
juvenile courts to use to divert certain youths from TYC. 
This provision was not included in the final version, but 
SB 1 by Pitts, the general appropriations act for fiscal 
2010-11, appropriates $45.7 million to TJPC for local 
programs to divert youths from TYC. The programs 
can include residential, community-based, family, and 
aftercare programs. If admissions to TYC exceed 1,783 
in fiscal 2010, $51,100 will be transferred from TJPC to 
TYC for each commitment over that cap for fiscal 2011, 
upon LBB approval.
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SB 117 by Ellis
Died in the House

Photograph, live lineup identification procedures in criminal cases

	 SB 117 would have required law enforcement 
agencies in Texas to adopt and implement a detailed 
written policy for the administration of photograph and 
live lineup identification procedures.

	 Law enforcement agencies could have adopted 
a model policy that would have been developed by 
the Bill Blackwood Law Enforcement Management 
Institute of Texas at Sam Houston State University or 
their own policy that conformed to the requirements 
of the Institute’s model policy. The model policy 
would have had to be based on scientific research 
on eyewitness memory and on relevant policies and 
guidelines developed by the federal government, other 
states, other law enforcement organizations, and other 
relevant information and would have had to address the 
following: 

the selection of photo and live lineup filler •	
photos or participants; 
instructions given to a witness before a photo or •	
live lineup was conducted; 
the documentation and preservation of results •	
of a photo or live lineup, including the 
documentation of witness statements, regardless 
of the outcome; 
procedures for administering a photo or live •	
lineup to an illiterate person or person with 
limited English proficiency; 
procedures for assigning an administrator who •	
was unaware of which member of the live 
lineup was the suspect in the case and was 
capable of administering a photo array in a blind 
manner, or alternative procedures to prevent 
opportunities to influence the witness; and 
any other procedures or best practices supported •	
by credible research or commonly accepted 
as a means to reduce erroneous identifications 
and enhance the objectivity and reliability of 
eyewitness identifications.

	 Evidence of compliance or noncompliance with the 
model policy would have been relevant and admissible 
in a criminal case, but would not have been necessary 
for an out-of-court eyewitness identification to be 
admissible. A failure to comply substantially with the 
model policy would not have barred the admission of 
eyewitness identification testimony in court.

Supporters said 
	 SB 117 would be a significant step toward 
addressing the role of misidentification in wrongful 
convictions in Texas. About 80 percent of DNA 
exonerations in Texas have involved faulty eyewitness 
identifications, according to the Innocence Project of 
Texas. These cases include that of Timothy Cole, a 
Texas Tech student who was wrongfully convicted of 
rape and died in prison after serving 13 years of a 25-
year sentence.

	 The photo or live lineup is a critical step in 
building a criminal case and should be governed by 
best practices. Poor procedures can taint the evidence, 
undermine its validity, and in the worst cases, lead to 
misidentified persons being wrongfully convicted. A 
wrongful conviction is detrimental to public safety 
because it allows the real perpetrator of a crime to 
remain free to commit more crimes.

	 Currently, only a small percentage of Texas law 
enforcement agencies have written procedures for 
photo or live lineups, and many of those are vague or 
incomplete or do not use best practices. The bill would 
address these problems by requiring law enforcement 
agencies to adopt written polices for identification 
procedures and setting minimum requirements for 
those procedures. By requiring the implementation 
of identification procedures based on best practices, 
SB 117 would produce more reliable evidence and 
help prevent innocent people from being wrongfully 
convicted. 

	 The requirement to develop a policy according 
to the guidelines in SB 117 would not burden law 
enforcement agencies nor infringe on their authority. 
SB 117 would require only that the agencies develop a 
policy based on the guidelines in the bill, but would not 
require a specific policy or procedures.

	 Best practices would not be difficult to implement 
nor would they impede prosecution. Identifications 
resulting from noncompliant lineups still would be 
allowed into evidence at trial. An officer could be cross-
examined regarding a noncompliant procedure and 
would have the chance to explain the reason for using a 
different procedure.
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Opponents said 

	 The Legislature should not mandate law 
enforcement’s use of a specific type of identification 
procedure. It is unfair to use cases that may be 
decades old to argue for placing such a mandate on 
law enforcement agencies. In the past two-and-a-
half decades, the state’s criminal justice system has 
undergone numerous and substantial improvements, 
resulting in a just and fair system that protects the 
public. Placing requirements for eyewitness procedures 
in statute could make change difficult if the policies 
proved ineffective.

	 Allowing an identification to be attacked based 
on noncompliance with statutory standards could hurt 
the prosecution of cases or result in the loss of the use 
of evidence because of honest mistakes or technical 
violations. It would be better to establish training or 
education for law enforcement officers on identification 
issues and let individual agencies develop policies as 
they see fit. 

Other opponents said

	 SB 117 would have no significant enforcement 
mechanism to ensure compliance with policies adopted 
under the bill. Because identifications made from 
noncompliant lineups still would be admissible in 
court, law enforcement agencies would have inadequate 
incentive to comply with the model policy. 

Notes

	 SB 117 passed the Senate on the Local and 
Uncontested Calendar and was placed on the May 21 
General State Calendar in the House, but no further 
action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the 
May 21 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 839 by Hinojosa
Effective September 1, 2009

Life in prison for juveniles convicted of capital murder

	 SB 839 requires that juveniles certified to stand trial 
as adults and found guilty of capital murder be given life 
sentences. These defendants are not eligible for release 
on parole until their actual calendar time served, without 
the consideration of good conduct time, equals 40 years. 
Jurors in these capital felony trials must be informed 
that a life sentence is mandatory upon conviction.

Supporters said 

	 SB 839 would allow juveniles who had been certified 
to stand trial as adults and convicted of capital murder 
to be treated more justly. Currently, these juveniles can 
be sentenced only to life without parole, a punishment 
that does not take into account the unique characteristics 
of juvenile offenders or their diminished culpability. 
The bill would address this flaw in the state’s capital 
murder punishment scheme by requiring that juveniles 
convicted of capital murder be given life sentences, 
which would require that they serve at least 40 calendar 
years in prison. 

	 SB 839 would be a rational approach for the very 
small set of juvenile offenders who are tried as adults. 
Holding out the possibility of parole would give these 
youthful offenders more incentive to behave in prison 
and would recognize the fact that juvenile offenders 
show the most potential for rehabilitation. The bill 
would return the punishment for juvenile capital 
murders to what it was before the state instituted life 
without parole in 2005. 

	 SB 839 would not mean that juveniles convicted of 
capital murder would be released after 40 years. The 
bill only would establish eligibility for parole, which 
could occur only after 40 calendar years in prison, with 
no consideration of good conduct time. The Board of 
Pardons and Paroles would evaluate each case after 40 
years and decide whether parole was appropriate. Even 
if released on parole, these offenders would be under the 
supervision of the parole division for the remainder of 
their life sentences. 

	 The criminal justice system is designed to treat 
juveniles differently than adults, and so it would be 

appropriate to punish juveniles who commit capital 
murder differently than adults. The U.S. Supreme 
Court decision banning the death penalty for those who 
were juveniles when a crime was committed details 
the reasons juveniles cannot reliably be classified as 
among the worst offenders, including their immaturity, 
vulnerability, and lack of irretrievable depravity.

Opponents said 

	 Texas should retain life without parole as a 
punishment for juveniles who commit capital murder 
as a deterrent to others. Life without parole remains 
an appropriate punishment if a juvenile commits a 
capital murder — designated as the worst of the worst 
crimes. In these cases, a juvenile has been identified 
by a prosecutor and trial court as committing capital 
murder, and the case has been upheld on appeal. The 
punishment of life without parole can be applied only to 
those juveniles whom courts have evaluated and have 
determined should be tried as adults, so it is appropriate 
that they receive the same punishment as adults.

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of SB 839 appeared in the May 
19 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1529 by Whitmire
Died in the House

Use, auditing of assets seized and forfeited to law enforcement

	 SB 1529 would have imposed new restrictions on 
the use of contraband proceeds and property seized 
by law enforcement authorities, authorized the state 
auditor to conduct audits and investigations relating to 
seized assets, and authorized the attorney general to take 
certain actions to enforce the law.

	 Prohibiting waivers. Peace officers would have 
been prohibited from requesting, requiring, or inducing 
persons to sign a document waiving their interest in 
seized property. Prosecutors could not, at any time 
before they filed a notice of a forfeiture proceeding for 
seized property, have requested, required, or induced 
someone to sign a document waiving their rights to 
seized property. 

	 Restrictions on the use of contraband proceeds 
and property. Law enforcement agencies and 
prosecutors would have been prohibited from using 
contraband proceeds or property to: 

contribute to a political campaign; •	
make a donation to any entity, except those •	
specified in the bill; 
pay expenses for judicial training or education; •	
pay travel expenses for training or education •	
seminars, if the expenses violated generally 
applicable restrictions established by a county 
or city; 	
purchase alcoholic beverages; or •	
make any expenditure not approved by the •	
governing body of a county or city, if the head 
of a law enforcement agency or prosecutor 
held elective office and was not running for 
reelection or if these elected officials were 
finishing a term in office for which they had not 
won reelection.

	 Audits, investigations and enforcement. The 
currently required annual audit of contraband funds 
would have had to include a detailed report and 
explanation of all expenditures. At any time, the 
state auditor would have been authorized to perform 
an audit or conduct an investigation related to the 
seizure, forfeiture, receipt, and specific expenditure 
of contraband proceeds and property. If an audit or 
investigation indicated that a law enforcement agency or 

a prosecutor had knowingly violated the law, the auditor 
would have had to notify promptly the attorney general 
so that enforcement proceedings could begin.

	 The attorney general would have been authorized 
to file lawsuits for injunctive relief and to recover 
civil penalties if audit results indicated that a law 
enforcement agency or prosecutor had violated or 
knowingly was violating a statute relating to the 
disposition of contraband proceeds or property. Civil 
penalties collected by the state would have had to be 
used to fund drug court programs. 

Supporters said 

	 SB 1529 would bring more oversight, transparency, 
and accountability to the state’s asset forfeiture laws. 
State law places only broad restrictions on the use of 
these seized funds by local law enforcement agencies 
and prosecutors, requires only minimal reporting, and 
has no mechanism to enforce the law. This has led to 
problems, including the use of the assets for purposes 
unrelated to law enforcement and law enforcement 
authorities abusing the law by coercing motorists into 
giving up their rights to their property in exchange for 
freedom or a promise that no criminal charges will be 
filed. 

	 Current law has been stretched and sometimes 
ignored by law enforcement agencies that have 
used seized asset funds for parties, liquor, campaign 
contributions, and extravagant trips. The bill would 
address such misuses by prohibiting specifically certain 
expenditures. The bill would result in more transparency 
in the use of asset forfeiture funds by requiring 
agencies to report in detail how they were used. The bill 
would not infringe on local control, but would clarify 
the current restrictions and list some unacceptable 
expenditures. 

	 In other cases of abuses, the law has been used 
to seize the property of persons who were never 
charged with, much less convicted of, a crime. In some 
situations, peace officers have claimed they were not 
violating current law, which prohibits waivers at the 
time of a seizure, because they obtained waivers a few 
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hours after seizing the property. SB 1529 would address 
these abuses by prohibiting peace officers from using 
asset waivers. To ensure that persons were given due 
process before any assets were forfeited, prosecutors 
would be restricted from using waivers until after they 
had begun forfeiture proceedings in court. 

Opponents said

	 If specific agencies are abusing the asset forfeiture 
law, those abuses should be addressed without making 
changes that could make asset seizures and forfeitures 
more difficult for those who are abiding by the law. For 
example, restricting the use of waivers could impose 
unnecessary hurdles for law enforcement agencies in 
some cases. The practices of some law enforcement 
agencies described in media accounts could violate not 
just the seizure and forfeiture statutes but perhaps other 
existing laws or the standards of the State Bar or a law 
enforcement oversight entity. The forfeiture of assets 
is an essential law enforcement tool that takes some of 
the profit out of crime, and it should not be made more 
difficult to use. 

	 Some provisions of SB 1529, such as statutory 
restrictions on the use of the asset proceeds, could 
remove local control over the funds from counties and 
cities, where it should remain.

Other opponents said 

	 SB 1529 would not go far enough. Allowing 
peace officers to see a direct financial benefit from 
their work distorts criminal justice. The Legislature 
should eliminate any direct financial incentive in asset 
forfeitures to ensure that law enforcement agencies 
focus on crimes, not assets.

Notes

	 SB 1529 passed the Senate on April 23 but died on 
the May 21 Major State Calendar in the House when no 
further action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1529 appeared in Part 
One of the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 2511 by T. Smith
Died in Senate committee

Revising political contribution and expenditure restrictions

	 HB 2511 would have amended existing campaign 
finance provisions, including those relating to 
administrative expenses and electioneering practices. 
The bill would have defined routine administrative 
expenses, electioneering communication, express 
advocacy, separate segregated funds, and in-kind 
contributions. Direct campaign expenditure would 
have been redefined to include expenditures for 
communications that were express advocacy or 
electioneering communication. 

	 Electioneering communication would have been 
communication that if taken as a whole and with limited 
reference to external events, such as the proximity to 
the election, could only be interpreted by a reasonable 
person as an appeal to vote for or against one or more 
clearly identified candidates or ballot measures. Express 
advocacy would have been defined as a communication 
that was not susceptible to any reasonable interpretation 
other than as an appeal to vote for or against a 
candidate. Voter guides would not have been considered 
electioneering communication. 

	 The bill would not have restricted corporations, 
unions, and membership organizations from spending 
money to communicate with their shareholders, 
members, or families, including communications 
containing express advocacy or electioneering 
communications. It would have authorized a political 
party to accept a corporate or union contribution, but 
the money could have been used only for its own 
administrative expenses or to help pay for a party 
primary or convention. It would have raised the 
threshold for reporting campaign contributions made by 
individuals from $100 to $500. The bill would not have 
applied to any ongoing civil or criminal case. 

	 The bill would have amended provisions on electing 
the speaker of the Texas House of Representatives and 
would have required the Texas Ethics Commission 
to post certain reports on the agency website. The 
bill would have increased disclosure and reporting 
requirements and provided penalties for violations in 
a speaker election. It would have required the election 
of the speaker to be governed by the rules of the House 
of Representatives. It also would have authorized 
candidates or officeholders to loan funds to their 

campaigns and the reimbursement of those personal 
funds from political contributions. 

Supporters said

	 HB 2511 would clarify Texas campaign finance laws 
to ensure the state maintained its long-standing tradition 
of full disclosure and a prohibition against corporate 
and union funding for direct campaign expenditures 
or electioneering. Texas law has been unclear and 
has been abused by those who have produced sham 
issue ads. The bill would incorporate a U.S. Supreme 
Court decision prohibiting the use of corporate or 
union funds to support or campaign against a political 
candidate through campaign advertising. Current 
law prohibits corporate and union funds from being 
used for political contributions or expenditures unless 
expressly authorized, but the practice nonetheless is not 
uncommon. 

	 Current law is not clear on what constitutes 
administrative expenses. Defining administrative 
expenses, electioneering communication, and direct 
expenditures would spell out the practices in which 
corporations and unions would and would not be 
allowed to participate. It would permit a political party 
to accept a corporate or union contribution, but the 
money could be used only for its own administrative 
expenses or to help pay for a party primary or 
convention. The bill would close a loophole that some 
use to fund sham issue ads against their rivals that 
stop short of urging a “vote for” or “vote against” the 
candidate. It would ensure that Texas kept corporate 
and union money out of election campaigns and that the 
public knew the individual donors who were funding 
campaign ads. 

	 The definition of electioneering communications 
in the bill would adopt the current constitutional 
standard for electioneering set by the opinion of U.S. 
Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts in the 2007 
case Wisconsin Right to Life v. FEC, 551 U.S. 409. 
According to Chief Justice Roberts, the communication 
had to be the functional equivalent of express advocacy. 
Roberts said that an equivalent electioneering 
communication was one for which there was no 
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reasonable interpretation other than that it advocates the 
election or defeat of a specific candidate. 

Opponents said

	 HB 2511 would create an entirely new definition 
for the term electioneering communication, an issue 
that remains the subject of litigation before the U.S. 
Supreme Court, so it is not clear exactly what definition 
the state would be adopting. The bill likely would 
subject issue-advocacy organizations to lawsuits 
based on materials they may send out in the course 
of their regular activities, such as newsletters, email 
updates, legislative vote score cards, and candidate 
questionnaires. First Amendment free speech rights 
would be restricted because advocacy groups, 
charitable non-profit organizations, and churches could 
run afoul of the law for electioneering. Almost any 
communication material that featured an incumbent 
member of the legislative or executive branch would be 
subject to question. 

Other opponents said

	 The electioneering standard set forth in HB 
2511 already is the law today in Texas, so the bill is 
unnecessary. Chief Justice Roberts in Wisconsin Right 
to Life v. FEC in 2007 defined the constitutional test for 
electioneering. Roberts’ standard has applied for the past 
two years, pursuant to the Texas Ethics Commission’s 
opinions and Texas case law. 

Notes

	 HB 2511 passed the House, but died in the Senate 
State Affairs Committee when no action was taken on 
the bill.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2511 appeared in the 
May 14 Daily Floor Report.	
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SB 315 by Wentworth
Died in the Senate

Creating the Texas Congressional Redistricting Commission

	 SB 315 would have established a nine-member 
commission that would have been responsible for 
drafting decennial plans for reapportionment of U.S. 
congressional districts in Texas. 

	 Composition of the commission. Members would 
have included:

two members elected by members of the largest •	
party in the Senate;
two members elected by members of the next •	
largest party in the Senate;
two members elected by members of the largest •	
party in the House;
two members elected by members of the next •	
largest party in the House; and
one non-voting presiding officer elected by the •	
above eight commission members.

	 At least one member appointed by senators and 
at least one member appointed by House members 
would have had be residents of rural areas of the state 
outside of a metropolitan statistical area. All members 
would have been required to be Texas citizens. Elected 
officials, candidates for office, political party officials, 
and registered lobbyists would not have been eligible to 
serve as commission members.

	 The members would have served two-year 
appointments beginning on February 1 of a year ending 
in one and expiring on January 31 of the next year 
ending in three. 

	 Adoption of a redistricting plan. The commission 
would have convened on the first business day after 
January 31 of each year ending in one and would have 
had until June 15 of that year to adopt a redistricting 
plan. If the commission did not adopt a plan within 
that time, the chief justice of the Texas Supreme Court 
would have appointed an additional voting member 
of the commission. The commission then would have 
had an additional 45 days after the initial deadline to 
adopt a plan. Failing that, the commission’s authority to 
adopt a plan would have been suspended, and the Texas 
Supreme Court would have adopted a plan not later 
than 45 days after the lapse of the prior deadline. If the 
Supreme Court failed to adopt a plan, the commission 
would have been allowed to reconvene. The commission 

also would have been allowed to reconvene to modify 
a plan that had been challenged in a court proceeding 
or that had become unenforceable by order of a court or 
other appropriate authority. 

	 Plan requirements. In a redistricting plan or a 
modification of a plan:

each district would have been composed of •	
contiguous territory;
each district would have contained a population •	
as nearly equal as practicable to the population 
of any other district in the plan; and
to the extent reasonable, each district would •	
have been compact and convenient and 
separated from adjoining districts by natural 
geographic barriers, artificial barriers, or 
political subdivision boundaries .

	 The commission would have had to produce a 
report for submission to the governor, the secretary 
of state, and the Legislature regarding each plan or 
modification that detailed:

the total population of each district and the •	
percentage deviation from the average district 
population;
an explanation of the criteria used in developing •	
the plan, with a justification of any population 
deviation in a district from the average district 
population;
a map or maps of all the districts; and•	
the estimated cost to be incurred by the •	
counties for changes in county election precinct 
boundaries required to conform to the districts 
adopted by the commission. 

	 The Texas Supreme Court would have had 
original jurisdiction to hear challenges to any plan or 
modification. 

Supporters said 

	 SB 315 would result in less acrimony and more 
representative redistricting maps because it would 
make the redistricting process less toxically partisan. 
Historically, the process of redistricting after a census 
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has resulted in the dominant party steamrolling the 
minority party through attempts to maximize its own 
seats, disregarding all other considerations. This results 
in acrimony, destroys bipartisanship, and fuels needless 
and costly litigation. 

	 SB 315 would create a bipartisan congressional 
redistricting commission similar to those in a dozen 
other states. These states report a faster redistricting 
process, less litigation, and strong voter satisfaction. 
These commissions prevent deadlock because the 
two parties are forced to work together and negotiate 
reasonable compromises and have a proven record 
of doing so. SB 315 would help these negotiations 
by providing clear guidelines for the formation of 
districts. By requiring that the districts be compact 
and convenient and separated from adjoining districts 
by natural geographic barriers, artificial barriers, 
or political subdivision boundaries, SB 315 would 
provide superseding rules that would replace the pure 
partisanship that produces “salamander,” “barbell,” and 
other oddly shaped districts that do not represent actual 
communities and break up others.

Opponents said 

	 SB 315 would decrease accountability. Currently, 
the Legislature is the body with primary responsibility 
for redistricting. Legislators are directly responsible 
to voters for their votes, and this can act as a check on 
partisan overreaching. However, SB 315 would not 
result in a decrease of partisanship because redistricting 
is, by its very nature, a partisan exercise. Because SB 
315 would create a commission split evenly between 
Republicans and Democrats, deadlock would be 
inevitable, as neither party would find the other’s plans 
or suggestions palatable.

	 While SB 315 does contain a provision requiring 
rural representation on the redistricting commission, it 
would not ensure representation on the commission by 
other minority groups. This could lead to the law being 
held unenforceable under the federal Voting Rights Act.

Notes

	 SB 315 was reported favorably by the Senate State 
Affairs Committee, but the Senate failed to suspend its 
regular order to consider the bill.
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SB 362 by Fraser
Died in the House

Revising voter identification requirements

	 SB 362, as passed by the Senate, would have 
required a voter to present to an election officer at a 
polling place one form of photo identification or two 
different forms of non-photo identification in order to 
vote. The bill would have modified the list of acceptable 
proof of identification, specifying six acceptable forms 
of photo ID and 11 acceptable forms of non-photo ID. 
A voter registration certificate would have been an 
acceptable form of non-photo ID. 

	 A voter whose identity was verified by presenting 
the required documentation would have been accepted 
for voting if the voter’s name was on the precinct list of 
registered voters. A voter whose identity was verified by 
presenting the documentation could have proceeded to 
vote if the voter:

had presented a correct voter registration •	
certificate but the voter’s name had not appeared 
on the precinct list; or
had presented the required documentation •	
showing registration in a different precinct 
and the voter’s name had not appeared on the 
precinct list, if the voter had sworn that the 
voter was a resident of the precinct, was not 
deliberately providing false information, and 
would vote only once in the election.

	 A voter who had not presented proof sufficient to 
meet the identification requirements would have been 
allowed to cast a provisional ballot.

	 The bill would have required notice of the 
identification requirements in voter registration 
certificates and renewal certificates, statewide voter 
education on identification requirements, and enhanced 
training for election judges and clerks. The presiding 
election judge would have had to post in a prominent 
location outside of each polling place a list of the 
acceptable forms of photographic and non-photographic 
identification. The bill would have authorized free-
of-charge Department of Public Safety personal ID 
certificates for eligible voters who stated that it was 
being obtained for the sole purpose of proof of identity 
for voting. 

Supporters said

	 SB 362 would protect and strengthen the electoral 
system by requiring voters to present identification at 
the polls. The bill would reduce fraud by establishing 
a uniform standard for voting, bring voting in line with 
other transactions that require proper identification, 
and raise the bar in restoring confidence in elections. 
The U.S. Supreme Court recently upheld the 
constitutionality of Indiana’s law requiring unexpired 
government-issued photo identification for voters at the 
polls, and SB 362 would more than meet the standards 
outlined in that decision.

	 Stricter identification requirements would not 
impose an unreasonable burden on voters. The bill 
would allow many ways to fulfill the identification 
requirements, while not forcing anyone to bear great 
cost, because DPS identification cards for voting would 
be free of charge and other readily available forms of 
identification could be used.

	 SB 362 would protect the rights of citizens and 
serve as a reasonable precaution to prevent ineligible 
people from voting. Proper identification is necessary 
to ensure that voters are who they say they are, that 
voters cast only one ballot each, and that ineligible 
voters — including undocumented persons, felons, and 
people using the names of deceased voters — are not 
allowed to vote. Strict ID requirements for voters do not 
suppress voter turnout but instead bolster the public’s 
faith in the integrity of elections and lead to better 
turnout. 

	 Voter fraud drives honest citizens out of the 
democratic process and breeds distrust of government. 
Many circumstances in everyday life require a photo 
ID, including air travel and cashing checks. Society 
has adapted to these requirements and benefited from 
the safeguards they provide. When non-citizens or 
otherwise unqualified individuals are on the voter rolls, 
illegal votes could be cast, which dilutes legitimate 
votes. Even a small amount of voting fraud could 
tip a close or disputed election, and the perception 
of possible fraud contributes to low confidence in 
the system. Guaranteeing the integrity of elections 
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requires implementing security measures, and requiring 
identification from voters at the polls would be more 
than justified as a security measure.  

Opponents said

	 The voter identification requirements in SB 
362 would create substantial obstacles to voting for 
otherwise eligible voters, inhibit voter participation, and 
affect certain groups disproportionately, including the 
elderly, minorities, low-income voters, women whose 
name has changed, and disabled persons. The bill would 
place an extra burden on voters and lead to needless 
disenfranchisement of many voters. 

	 Claims that voter fraud makes it necessary to 
demand ID at the polls are not supported by evidence. 
In fact, the effect of stricter ID requirements would not 
be a reduction of voter fraud but the suppression of 
legitimate votes. While almost all voter fraud involves 
mail-in ballots, the bill would do nothing to make mail-
in balloting more secure. Instead, it would attempt to 
address the nonexistent problem of voter impersonation 
at the polls. The type of polling-place fraud that the 
bill seeks to remedy rarely occurs. It would be difficult 
to perpetrate the kind of fraud to the extent necessary 
to tip an election. There is no evidence of organized, 
widespread voter fraud at the polls, and cases of voter 
impersonation are anecdotal at best. Evidence does 
show, however, that voter error and administrative and 
clerical errors often explain allegations of fraud. 

	 Texas already has taken steps to lessen the threat 
of fraud, including implementing requirements of the 
federal Help America Vote Act. Current registration 
requirements are sufficient because prospective Texas 
voters must establish their identity either during the 
registration process or when they show up at the polls 
to vote. Registrants also must swear that they are U.S. 
citizens under penalty of perjury. Falsely claiming 
citizenship and voting fraud are federal offenses. 

	 The bill would not offer any solution for those who 
simply do not have the required identification. Better 
alternatives that impose less of a burden on eligible 
Texas voters exist to address allegations targeted by 
voter ID requirements. In those instances, signature 
comparison could be used. Voters must offer a signature 
when registering to vote, and this signature is copied for 
use at the polls. When the voter appears to cast a ballot, 
he or she must sign the poll book. If the signatures 

matched, the voter could vote with a regular ballot. 
Signature comparison has been used to determine 
legitimate mail-in ballots, and there is no reason why it 
would be any less reliable at the polls. 

	 Similar legislation approved in several other states 
has been invalidated by the courts or is being challenged 
as an unjustified or illegal obstacle to voting. Texas 
should attempt to curb real voter fraud, investigate 
vigorously allegations of election fraud, and utilize the 
law to the fullest extent to prosecute violations, rather 
than enacting a law, aimed at solving a nonexistent 
problem, that would do more harm than good and is 
designed to give one party an unfair advantage over the 
other. 

Other opponents said

	 The bill should require unexpired, government-
issued photo identification from voters at the polls 
modeled after Indiana’s polling requirements. The U.S. 
Supreme Court has affirmed the constitutionality of 
Indiana’s photo identification requirements. Allowing 
two forms of non-photo identification to suffice would 
be inadequate to prevent or deter voter fraud.

Notes

	 SB 362 passed the Senate by 19-12 on March 18. 
It was reported favorably, without amendment, by the 
House Elections Committee on May 11 and was placed 
on the May 23 Major State Calendar in the House, but 
no further action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 362 appeared in Part 
One of the May 23 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 395 by Hartnett
Died in the House

Repealing the state’s goal for generating capacity from natural gas

	 HB 395 would have repealed Utilities Code, sec. 
39.9044, which establishes a state goal that 50 percent 
of the megawatts of generating capacity installed in this 
state after January 1, 2000, use natural gas.

Supporters said

	 HB 395 would have repealed a provision in 
the Utilities Code that encourages natural gas to 
be the preferential fuel source. The Governor’s 
Competitiveness Council in its 2008 Texas State 
Energy Plan recommended that the Legislature repeal 
this provision in order to ensure that a diverse mix 
of energy resources is developed in Texas. An influx 
of natural gas capacity has led to a fuel mix in Texas 
that, when measured on the basis of both installed 
generation capacity and energy produced from that 
capacity, illustrates an excessive reliance on natural 
gas. Because of this heavy reliance on natural gas, the 
price of electricity in the wholesale market within the 
Electric Reliability Council of Texas has become closely 
correlated with natural gas prices. Last year, the price 
of natural gas sky-rocketed and with it the price of 
electricity, and that trend is likely to repeat itself. The 
state should not dictate which fuel is used to generate 
electricity. It should be up to the generators and the 
market to choose the most economical source for fuel. 

	 Texas is trying to diversify its energy sources, 
not only to minimize the effects of price volatility, 
but to decrease the vulnerability created by too much 
dependence on one fuel source. The provision outlined 
in PURA is an arbitrary goal that no longer is necessary 
to have in statute. Natural gas may be an abundant, 
clean source of energy that creates jobs in this state, 
but there are other fuel sources, such as solar and other 
renewables, that offer the same benefits.

Opponents said

	 Natural gas is a good, clean fuel that is produced 
abundantly in Texas. This was recognized by the 
Legislature in 1999, and goals were placed in statute 
to encourage the use of Texas natural gas as the 
preferential fuel. That was a good policy then and it is 

a good policy now. The provision in PURA is simply 
a goal, not a mandate. There is no reason to repeal this 
provision. 

	 Because natural gas is an abundant, home-grown 
fuel source, there are many benefits to its use beyond 
the positive environmental impacts. For example, 
natural gas production in Texas means jobs and revenue 
in the state. About 189,000 Texans currently work in 
the oil and gas industry, and for every job created, an 
additional nine satellite jobs are created. Also, natural 
gas production is a huge tax base for school districts. 
Natural gas is an important component of the state’s fuel 
mix, and promoting its use is good for the whole state.

Notes

	 HB 395 was reported favorably, without amendment, 
by the House State Affairs Committee on May 6 and 
was placed on the May 11 General State Calendar, but 
no further action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 395 appeared in the May 
11 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 469 by P. King/ HB 1796 by Chisum/ SB 1387 by Seliger
Effective September 1, 2009

Carbon dioxide capture and storage

	 HB 469 authorizes the Railroad Commission 
(RRC) to certify three carbon-fueled electric generation 
projects as clean energy projects. These projects will be 
issued franchise tax credits by the comptroller. 

	 HB 469 makes the RRC responsible for certifying 
whether a project meets the requirements to be a clean 
energy project. A clean energy project will be a project 
to construct a coal-fueled or petroleum coke-fueled 
electric generating facility in which the fuel is gasified 
before combustion that will: 

have a capacity of at least 200 megawatts; •	
meet the emissions profile for an advanced •	
clean energy project under the Health and 
Safety Code; 
capture at least 70 percent of the carbon dioxide •	
(CO2) resulting from or associated with the 
generation of electricity by the facility; 
be capable of permanently sequestering CO2 in •	
a geologic formation; and 
be capable of supplying the capture of CO2 for •	
an enhanced oil recovery (EOR) project. 

	 On verification that a project meets the 
requirements, the RRC must issue a certificate of 
compliance and provide a copy of the certificate to the 
comptroller for issuance of a franchise tax credit. The 
comptroller, by rule, will issue a franchise tax credit 
to a clean energy project after the RRC has provided 
certification, construction has been completed, the 
facility is fully operational, the Bureau of Economic 
Geology (BEG) at the University of Texas at Austin 
verifies that the facility is sequestering at least 70 
percent of its CO2 emissions, and the owner or operator 
of the project has entered into an interconnection 
agreement with the Electric Reliability Council of 
Texas. The total amount of the franchise tax credit will 
be equal to 10 percent of the capital cost of the project, 
excluding financing costs, or $100 million, whichever is 
less. The BEG will design and supervise the monitoring, 
measurement, and verification protocols for sequestering 
CO2 and provide an evaluation to the RRC. 

	 HB 469 also amends Tax Code, subch. H, ch. 151, 
by providing that components of tangible personal 
property used in connection with sequestration of 

CO2 will be exempt from sales tax if the components 
are used to capture, transport, or inject man-made 
CO2 and if the CO2 is sequestered in Texas as part 
of an enhanced oil recovery project that qualifies for 
a severance tax rate reduction or is sequestered in a 
manner that creates an expectation that at least 99 
percent of the CO2 will remain sequestered for at least 
1,000 years.

Supporters of HB 469 said

	 HB 469 would provide incentives in the form of 
tax credits of up to $100 million for the first three 
coal-fired power plants that could produce at least 200 
megawatts of power and sequester at least 70 percent of 
CO2 emissions. Providing these incentives would help 
overcome the “prototype penalty” of being the first to 
invest money in this type of project. 

	 This bill, dubbed by some as “NowGen,” would 
give Texas an opportunity to become the first state in the 
United States with fully operational, large-scale clean-
coal power plants. Each of the three plants incentivized 
would bring 2,000 construction jobs for the building of 
the plant, and 120 to 150 well-paying permanent jobs to 
Texas. 

	 Texas is well-suited to become a major repository 
for CO2 capture. The captured CO2 could be used 
for valuable enhanced oil recovery (EOR) projects, 
which would create an additional economic benefit to 
the state. For the past 30 years, Texas oil producers 
in the Permian Basin have been piping in CO2 from 
naturally occurring underground domes in New Mexico 
and Colorado. When the CO2 is injected into depleted 
wells, it causes an additional 15 percent or more of an 
oilfield’s original crude oil volume to rise to the surface. 
The state of Texas, led by efforts of the Bureau of 
Economic Geology, has estimated that as much as 4 to 5 
billion barrels of additional Texas oil is available across 
the state to be recovered using CO2 for EOR. The bill 
would help incentivize the use of CO2 produced in 
Texas rather than piping it in from other states. 

	 The capture of 70 percent of the CO2 would meet 
the California and Washington emission standard of 
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1,100 pounds of CO2 per megawatt hour of net power 
produced. This is roughly the amount of CO2 produced 
by the newest, state-of-the-art natural gas plant. 

	 A project could not receive a franchise tax credit 
until both the BEG and RRC had verified that CO2 
actually was being sequestered. Enforcement would be 
non-payment of the tax credit. 

	 Concerns that this bill is not technology neutral 
are unfounded. Of all of the technologies available, 
integrated gasification combined cycle is seen as the 
cleanest, most acceptable way of using carbon-based 
fuel for electricity.

Opponents of HB 469 said

	 HB 469 would set the percentage of CO2 to be 
sequestered too low. Some companies are boasting 
that they could design plants that would capture as 
much as 90 percent of their CO2 emissions. If this is 
possible, then making 70 percent the standard might be 
a disincentive for innovation. Incentives should be given 
for going beyond the standards. Also, this bill would not 
provide any enforcement provisions to ensure that CO2 
actually would be sequestered. 

	 It is not good state policy to subsidize the coal 
industry when there are cheaper and cleaner energy 
sources available, such as renewables and energy 
efficiency. 

	 It is important to look at the full life-cycle of a 
coal plant before determining whether these coal plants 
actually would be clean. Mining for coal has significant 
negative environmental effects, and transporting coal 
requires a lot of energy. Also, coal plants require a large 
amount of water, a resource not plentiful in West Texas, 
where these projects would be located. 

	 This bill would be directed specifically at integrated 
gasification combined cycle or other pre-combustion 
technology. By not being technology-neutral, the state 
would run the risk of picking winners and losers rather 
than letting the market decide.

	 HB 1796 permits the General Land Office (GLO), 
in conjunction with the Bureau of Economic Geology 
(BEG) at the University of Texas at Austin, to build and 
operate a carbon dioxide (CO2) repository on state-

owned offshore submerged land. The bill requires that 
Texas rules be updated to comply with federal standards 
if the federal Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
were to issue standards on offshore geologic storage of 
CO2. 

	 The land commissioner must contract with the BEG 
to conduct a study to determine the best location for 
the repository. The School Land Board ultimately will 
decide where the repository will be located. The School 
Land Board will lease land from the Permanent School 
Fund for construction of the offshore repository.

	 After building the repository, the board will begin 
accepting CO2 for storage in exchange for a fee. If 
Texas were to participate in a carbon credit program, the 
fee could be assessed in units of carbon credits. 

	 The board would be the owner of any CO2 
stored in the repository upon determination that that 
permanent storage has been verified by the BEG and 
that the storage location has met all state and federal 
requirements. The stored CO2 will be considered 
property of the Permanent School Fund. CO2 producers 
will not be liable for CO2 after it is transferred to the 
Permanent School Fund. 

	 The bill also requires the land commissioner to 
post annually a report to GLO’s website that includes 
the volume of CO2 stored, the total volume of CO2 
received for storage, and the volume of CO2 received 
from each CO2 producer. 

Supporters of HB 1796 said

	 HB 1796 would place Texas on the path to become 
the world’s leader in long-term storage of CO2. Texas is 
fortunate to have vast deep brine aquifers offshore with 
the capacity to store tremendous amounts of CO2. This 
land currently is the property of the Permanent School 
Fund, but could be leased for the purpose of storing 
CO2. HB 1796 would lay the groundwork for Texas to 
construct an offshore CO2 storage repository. 

	 HB 1796 would prepare Texas to compete in the 
market for carbon credits if the federal government 
were to institute a compulsorily cap-and-trade system. 
Recently, the EPA ruled that CO2 and other greenhouse 
gases are a danger to public health. This ruling was the 
first step along the path to regulation of CO2 emissions. 
The offshore CO2 repository created by the bill could 
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allow Texas to gain valuable carbon credits by accepting 
greenhouse gases from all over nation. The Bureau of 
Economic Geology at the University of Texas at Austin 
is a world-class research institution, with the scientific 
expertise to advise policymakers on decisions about 
offshore carbon storage. Scientists at the school of 
economic geology are international leaders in the field 
of carbon capture and storage (CCS) technology. HB 
1796 would allow policy makers to work with experts to 
develop CCS technology.

Opponents of HB 1796 said

	 CCS technologies have not been proven and do 
not represent the most environmentally friendly option 
for combating global warming. CCS still is in its 
technological infancy and needs much more research 
to advance to viability. Texas should focus on proven 
renewable energy sources, like solar and wind, rather 
than search for ways to continue to burn coal. Fossil 
fuels should be phased out entirely over time because 
their net impact on the environment always will be 
negative.

	 Implementing HB 1796 could be prohibitively 
costly. The fiscal note estimates an annual cost to 
general revenue of more than $1.3 million, which 
accounts only for two FTEs and the study commissioned 
in the bill. Infrastructure, including pipelines and a 
repository, likely would cost the state many millions 
more. Researchers project that CCS will need $15-$30 
billion dollars more in investments for it to begin to 
affect climate change.

	 SB 1387 grants jurisdiction to the Railroad 
Commission (RRC) over injection of CO2 into a 
reservoir that was initially or could be productive of oil, 
gas, or geothermal resources or for storage into a saline 
formation directly above or below that reservoir. The 
RRC also has jurisdiction over the extraction of CO2 
stored in a geologic storage facility and will develop 
rules to govern the extraction. The RRC must adopt 
rules and procedures for collection and administration 
of fees and penalties, enforcement, and requirements 
pertaining to the injection and geologic storage of CO2, 
including geologic site characterization, area of review 
and corrective action, well construction, operation, 
mechanical integrity testing, monitoring, well plugging, 
post-injection site care, site closure, and long-term 
stewardship. These rules must be consistent with any 
federal rules or regulations. The state is authorized to 
seek primary enforcement authority. 

	 A permit will be required from the RRC before 
drilling or operation of a CO2 injection well for 
geologic storage or before construction or operation 
of a geologic storage facility can begin. The RRC 
may impose fees to cover the cost of permitting, 
monitoring, and inspecting the injection wells and 
facilities and for enforcing and implementing the rules 
adopted by the RRC. These fees will be deposited in 
an anthropogenic CO2 storage trust fund to be used for 
training, technology transfer, inspection, investigation, 
remediation, and enforcement. A permit application 
must include a letter from the executive director of the 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) 
stating that drilling and operating a CO2 injection well 
or operating a geologic storage facility will not injure 
any freshwater strata in the area or that the stratum to be 
used for the geologic storage facility is not freshwater 
sand. The RRC may issue a permit if there is a finding 
of non-endangerment of oil, gas, or other mineral 
formations, as well as of human health and safety and 
both groundwater and fresh water. It also will have to 
find that the reservoir into which the CO2 would be 
injected was suitable to protect against escape and that 
the applicant meets all other statutory and regulatory 
requirements. 

	 A permittee will be required to demonstrate 
evidence of financial responsibility annually to ensure 
that the injection well is properly plugged and that 
funds are available for plugging, post-injection care, and 
closure. 

	 CO2 stored in a geologic storage facility will be 
considered property of the storage operator unless 
willfully abandoned, administratively transferred, or 
transferred or conveyed by operation of some other law 
or legal document. The owner will have the authority to 
recover the stored CO2 at some point in the future. 

Supporters of SB 1387 said 

	 SB 1387 would provide a regulatory framework 
for the storage and sequestration of CO2 in Texas so 
that entities wanting to capture and sequester CO2 for 
long-term storage would have clear legal guidelines by 
which to operate. Texas is approaching a crossroads 
of a growing demand for energy and the need for 
sound environmental policy. The adoption of federal 
mandates to regulate greenhouse gases is more likely 
today than ever before. Carbon capture and storage 
(CCS) technology is one of the most promising 
new developments to address these issues. Under 
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the guidance of the RRC, the enhanced oil recovery 
industry has been injecting CO2 underground safely 
since 1972. Texas leads the world in the use of CCS 
technology with more than 480 million tons of CO2 
captured, transported, injected, and stored in connection 
with enhanced oil recovery in Texas. SB 1387 also 
would have a positive environmental impact on global 
warming. The provisions of this bill are agreed to not 
only by the industry, but also environmental groups.

Opponents of SB 1387 said

	 No apparent opposition.

Notes

	 The HRO analyses of HB 469 and HB 1796 
appeared in the May 4 Daily Floor Report. The HRO 
analysis of HB 2669, the companion to SB 1387, 
appeared in the May 8 Daily Floor Report.

	 HB 1796 also contains air quality provisions from 
SB 16 by Averitt, which died in the House and is 
discussed starting on page 72.



House Research Organization Page 67

HB 836 by S. Miller
Died in Senate Committee

Hunting feral hogs by helicopter

	 HB 836 would have barred the Texas Parks and 
Wildlife Commission from prohibiting a person or 
a person’s agent or lessee who holds a landowner’s 
authorization and permit from using a helicopter to take 
depredating feral hogs.

Supporters said

	 The estimated two million feral hogs in Texas 
devastate agriculture by trampling crops, tearing down 
fences, spreading diseases to livestock, and eating seeds 
and livestock feed. Direct damage from feral hogs is 
estimated conservatively at $400 million annually. 
For each dollar spent on feral hog control, over $7.50 
is saved in agricultural products. Feral hogs are also 
significant predators of lambs, kid goats, newborn 
fawns, ground nesting birds, and sea turtles.
 
	 Feral hogs are a prolific species that may have two 
litters per year, with four to eight, and possibly as many 
as 13, piglets in a litter. The problem of feral hogs is no 
longer just a rural issue because they now are affecting 
suburban areas and highways. 

	 The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department already 
issues permits for aerial hunting of feral hogs and has 
several existing rules in place that address concerns 
such as staying within property boundaries and limiting 
proximity to neighborhoods as well as other safety 
issues. Any additional concerns could be addressed in 
further rulemaking.

Opponents said

	 Shooting guns from helicopters during aerial 
hunting of feral hogs could pose serious safety risks. 
Along with being dangerous, hunting feral hogs from 
a helicopter would be a nuisance to nearby residential 
areas due to noise from helicopters and gunfire. 

	 Hunting feral hogs from helicopters also could 
raise issues with carcass removal. Some of the hogs 
weigh hundreds of pounds, making it difficult to 
dispose properly of the carcass. Also, there is not much 
incentive to retrieve the carcass because the meat cannot 
be used. If the carcasses are not handled properly, health 

and safety issues could arise, particularly if a carcass 
was left to decompose near a water source, causing 
contamination. Because the hunting typically is done on 
private property, there are not clear regulations. 

	 Feral hogs do present a large problem, but hunting 
from helicopters is an inhumane solution.

Other opponents said 

	 Aerial hunting of feral hogs is a necessary tool 
for controlling the population of this nuisance animal. 
However, the language of this bill is unclear and 
may not accomplish the goal of helping landowners 
recoup their costs for the permit. It also may have the 
unintended consequence of preventing the Texas Parks 
and Wildlife Commission from prohibiting a person 
with a previous conviction from participating in a flight 
related to the management of wildlife from an aircraft. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 836 appeared in the 
May 8 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1243 by Gallego/ HB 1866 by Solomons
Died in the House/ Died in Senate Committee

Sales of distributed renewable energy generation

	 HB 1243 would have required electric utilities, 
electric cooperatives, or retail electric providers (REPs) 
to contract with owners of distributed renewable 
generation (DRG) so that surplus electricity produced 
by DRG would be available for sale to the transmission 
and distribution system at fair market value, credited to 
the DRG owner. The bill would have: 

provided pricing guidelines for surplus •	
electricity; 
directed the Public Utility Commission (PUC) •	
to provide a methodology for determining fair 
market value; 
provided qualifications to receive compensation; •	
provided instructions for municipally owned •	
utilities (MOUs) for handling DRG; 
required certain information be provided on the •	
Internet; and 
revised the definition of a DRG owner and •	
provided that DRGs are not to be defined as 
electric utilities. 

	 A DRG owner would not have been considered 
a power generation company if, at the time DRG was 
installed on a retail electric customer’s side of the meter, 
the estimated annual amount of energy produced was 
less than or equal to the estimated annual amount of 
energy consumed. 

Supporters of HB 1243 said 

	 Consumer-owned alternative energy sources such 
as solar panels or wind energy generators, known as 
distributed renewable generation (DRG), reduces the 
need for new conventional generation, transmission, and 
distribution systems and reduces reliance on existing 
generation that is damaging to the environment. There 
is a great deal of interest in DRG, but there are barriers 
that are inhibiting its growth. For example, a DRG 
owner currently is subject to the same registration 
requirements as a big generation company. Also, not all 
electric providers are allowing interconnection access 
or offering to buy surplus electricity generated from 
DRG. HB 1243 would remove some of these barriers 
by guaranteeing that a DRG owner would receive 
compensation for surplus electricity at a fair payment 

rate. Also, the bill would relieve the DRG owner of the 
requirements of a larger electricity generation company. 

	 Requiring electric providers to buy back surplus 
electricity ultimately could be a net benefit to them by 
reducing their own peak demand. It would offset any 
initial burden that may be placed on them in order to 
comply with the requirements of this bill. 

Opponents of HB 1243 said 

	 HB 1243 could place a burden on electric providers 
by requiring them to put systems in place to buy back 
surplus electricity produced from DRG.

Other opponents of HB 1243 said

	 The goals of HB 1243 are good, but the bill would 
not go far enough. DRG systems could allow for 
reduced need for transmission and distribution systems 
and could have a positive environmental impact. The 
price for surplus electricity should be adjusted to 
account for these benefits. 

	 Under the bill, only the DRG systems that have 
generating capacities of 10 kilowatts or less would 
be able to qualify for the fair market value price. The 
threshold of 10 kilowatts may be a good average for a 
residential solar system, but would not be large enough 
to handle a school or church. Also, other renewables 
such as biogas or wind could need much greater 
generating capacity than 10 kilowatts. By limiting the 
generation capacity to 10 kilowatts, HB 1243 effectively 
would be a solar-only bill.

	 HB 1866 would have amended the customer 
protection chapter of the Utilities Code to entitle all 
buyers of retail electric service the opportunity to 
interconnect distributed renewable generation according 
to Public Utility Commission (PUC) rule. The PUC, 
by rule, would have been required to establish safety, 
technical, and performance standards for DRG that 
could be interconnected. 
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	 The bill also would have placed electric 
cooperatives under the PUC rules for standards 
governing the interconnection of distributed renewable 
generation (DRG). The PUC would have had 
jurisdiction to establish conditions for co-op customers 
to interconnect DRG. The PUC, rather than the co-
op board of directors, would have had exclusive 
jurisdiction to set all terms of access, conditions, and 
rates concerning interconnection of DRG, and a co-op 
would have been deemed a service provider for the 
purposes of enforcement of the DRG interconnection 
requirements. 

	 HB 1866 would have provided a definition of 
an electric utility that would have excluded a DRG 
owner or a person with whom a retail electric customer 
contracted to install or maintain DRG on the customer’s 
side of the meter.

Supporters of HB 1866 said
 
	 Technology is now available to allow consumers 
to generate their own electric power for personal use 
with distributed renewable generation, such as solar 
panels and small wind energy generation systems. If 
a consumer generates more power than needed, the 
consumer can sell the excess power to the electric 
company. However, some providers do not allow 
consumers to sell the power back to the grid without a 
penalty. 

	 HB 1866 would entitle all buyers of retail 
electric service, including electric co-op customers, 
to interconnect their distributed renewable generation 
systems. HB 1866 would apply interconnection 
standards for distributed renewable generation on 
a system-wide basis by allowing the PUC to adopt 
rules and have oversight over the process. This 
would eliminate some longstanding barriers that have 
prevented small generators from interconnecting to the 
grid. The PUC would have the discretion to establish 
regulations and technical standards to ensure the safety 
and integrity of the electric grid.

Opponents of HB 1866 said

	 While interconnection of distributed renewable 
generation of electric power by electric customers 
should be encouraged, the bill should specify the 
standards for interconnection in order to ensure the 
technical integrity of the electric grid.

Notes

	 HB 1243 passed both houses, but died in the House 
when a point of order was sustained that the deadline for 
considering Senate amendments to the bill had expired. 
HB 1866 passed the House, but died in the Senate 
Business and Commerce Committee.  

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1243 appeared in the 
May 8 Daily Floor Report. The HRO analysis of HB 
1866 appeared in the April 23 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1182 by S. Turner
Died in the Senate

Moving oversight of System Benefit Fund from Legislature to PUC

	 HB 1182 would have made the System Benefit 
Fund (SBF), which uses assessments on electric 
ratepayers to provide a 10 percent discount to 
eligible ratepayers in areas affected by electric retail 
competition, a trust fund held outside the state treasury. 
It would have allowed the Public Utility Commission 
(PUC) to spend the funds on eligible activities without 
further legislative approval or appropriation. 

	 The bill would have required the PUC to adopt 
rules by January 1, 2012, to ensure that low-income 
utility programs provided a 10-to-20 percent discount to 
eligible ratepayers and would have eliminated the one-
time limit on assistance to seriously ill or disabled low-
income electric customers facing disconnection due to 
nonpayment. Also, the PUC would have been required 
to give priority first to weatherization programs, next to 
customer education programs on selecting retail electric 
providers, and finally, to administrative expenses. 

	 Funds collected for the SBF before September 1, 
2011, the date the bill would have become effective, 
would have remained on deposit in the General Revenue 
Fund, and collections of the electric bill assessments 
made after that date would have been held in the PUC-
managed trust fund. 

Supporters said

	 HB 1182 would ensure that all of the SBF would 
be used as it was intended — to help low-income 
Texans to pay their utility bills — and would remove the 
possibility of using the money for budget certification. A 
separate trust fund under control of the PUC and outside 
of the appropriations process would help the state live 
up to commitments made when electric restructuring 
was authorized in 1999. The bill would allow the 
Legislature to manage an estimated $688.6 million SBF 
balance remaining at the end of fiscal 2011 and would 
ensure that the fund be used for its intended purposes 
from fiscal 2012 forward.

	 HB 1182 would address the ongoing need to help 
low-income Texas electricity customers. Currently, 
the caseload for SBF assistance grows at 1.5 percent 
each month, and more Texas utility customers would 
qualify for the discount should food stamp or Medicaid 

programs expand through federal stimulus funding. 
The PUC projects that 548,000 will qualify for SBF 
assistance in 2010 and 655,000 in 2011.

	 The PUC would make allocations for SBF programs 
based on the priorities that would be established in HB 
1182. The PUC already has well-established procedures 
for public review and comments in its decision-making 
process. During several summers, the PUC considered 
and adopted emergency rules on disconnection policies 
for nonpayment of bills, so commissioners already are 
familiar with crafting policies that affect directly low-
income electric customers.

Opponents said

	 Moving the System Benefit Fund outside the 
appropriations process — which was tried in 2001 — 
would not necessarily mean that all funds would be 
used. The appointed Public Utility Commission could 
be less responsive to needs of low-income electricity 
customers than the elected members of the Legislature 
have been in the past. In its recommendations for this 
budget cycle, the PUC requested a level of assistance 
that still would leave significant unallocated balances 
remaining in the SBF. Moving the SBF off of the budget 
still could mean that the funds would not help fully low-
income Texas electric customers and could accumulate 
without being used.

	 The PUC, an unelected regulatory agency, would 
not be the appropriate entity to set spending priorities 
among programs providing assistance for low-income 
discounts, disconnection policies, and weatherization.

Other opponents said

	 The Legislature should end the System Benefit 
Fund program — much like it did last session with the 
Telecommunications Infrastructure Fund — and allocate 
the remaining SBF balances. Assessing a fee on electric 
bills to run essentially a social service that redistributes 
wealth among utility customers is questionable public 
policy. Besides, utility bills should not be used as tax 
collection vehicles. Monthly electric statements list line 
after line of special taxes and fees, and while this money 
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may go to worthwhile goals, these extra charges become 
burdensome to consumers.

Notes 

	 HB 1182 passed the House on May 12 and was 
reported favorably, as substituted, by the Senate 
Business and Commerce Committee on May 23, but 
died when no further action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1182 appeared in the 
May 11 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1796 by Chisum/ SB 16 by Averitt 
Effective September 1, 2009/ Died in the House

Revising state air pollution emissions-reduction programs

	 The following provisions from SB 16 were added 
as amendments to HB 1796 and became effective 
September 1, 2009.

Texas Emissions Reductions Program (TERP)

	 HB 1796 expands TERP objectives to include 
advancing new technologies that reduce nitrogen oxide 
(NOx) emissions from stationary sources. The bill 
extends TERP until August 31, 2019. HB 1796 also 
extends the clean school bus program and the following 
TERP surcharges until August 31, 2019: 

heavy-duty diesel equipment;•	
on-road diesel vehicles weighing more than •	
14,000 lbs; 
vehicle title fees;•	
truck-tractors; and•	
commercial motor vehicles.•	

	 New Technology Implementation Grant 
Program. HB 1796 establishes the New Technology 
Implementation Grant Program as a new TERP 
program. The program provides grants aimed at 
reducing emissions from point sources by offsetting the 
incremental costs of emissions reductions. 

	 Projects. The projects eligible for new technology 
grants include: 

advanced clean energy projects;•	
new technologies costing more than $500 •	
million that reduce pollution from point sources; 
and 
renewable energy electricity storage projects.•	

	 Applications. The Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality (TCEQ) is required to evaluate 
each new grant application for emissions-reduction 
potential, cost-effectiveness, contributions to air-quality 
goals, and the strength of the implementation plan. 
TCEQ is required to calculate projected emissions 
reductions and project their cost-effectiveness. TCEQ 
also is required to ensure that the projects funded result 
in emissions reductions not otherwise required by state 
or federal law. Preference will be given to cost-effective 
projects that use Texas’ natural resources, contain 

an energy efficacy component, or include use of a 
renewable energy source such as solar or wind.

	 Grants. Grant amounts may not exceed the 
incremental cost of a proposed project. Financial 
incentives, like tax breaks, that reduce the cost of 
a project, are subtracted from the project cost to 
determine the incremental cost. Applicants are required 
to pay 50 percent of the costs associated with project 
implementation. The comptroller reviews the use of 
grant money. Grant money is restricted to incremental 
costs and cannot be used to pay costs of operating and 
maintaining emissions-reducing equipment.

	 New Technology Research and Development 
Program. HB 1796 allows TCEQ to contract with 
nonprofits and institutions of higher education in 
administering the New Technology Research and 
Development Program. 

	 Air quality research. The bill adds an air quality 
research component to the program. TCEQ may contract 
with a nonprofit or institution of higher education to 
carry out an air quality research program. The program 
has a board of directors consisting of two individuals 
with relevant scientific expertise, not more than four 
county judges from the Houston-Galveston-Brazoria 
and Dallas-Fort Worth non-attainment areas, and not 
more than 11 members total. The board oversees the 
allocation of new technology research and development 
grants. The air quality research program must receive 
at least 20 percent of the 9 percent of the TERP fund 
dedicated to the New Technology Research and 
Development Program. 

	 The renewable energy development contract 
between TCEQ and the Energy Systems Laboratory at 
the Texas Engineering Experiment Station will focus on 
statewide emissions reduction goals, rather than only on 
the Houston-Galveston-Brazoria and Dallas-Fort Worth 
non-attainment areas.

	 Other TERP revisions. The amount of the TERP 
fund dedicated to the New Technology Research and 
Development Program will be reduced from 9.5 percent 
to 9 percent, and the amount for TCEQ administrative 
costs will be increased from 1.5 percent to 2 percent. 
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The bill requires natural gas recovery projects to operate 
in non-attainment areas or affected counties in order to 
qualify for the diesel emissions reduction program. 

Advanced clean energy projects

	 Projects and baseline requirements. HB 1796 
specifies that projects using coal, biomass, solid waste, 
or other such fuels qualify as advanced clean energy 
projects, whether implemented in connection with a 
new facility or with upgrades to an existing facility, 
and that such projects could involve a portion of a 
facility’s emissions. TCEQ is required to adopt baseline 
emissions reduction requirements, and projects must 
document compliance with these requirements. 

	 Carbon capture and storage. Advanced clean 
energy projects include carbon capture and sequestration 
projects that capture and store at least 50 percent of a 
facility’s emissions. Geologically stored carbon dioxide 
can be used for enhanced oil recovery. Carbon capture 
and storage pilot studies are not required to capture at 
least 50 percent of a facility’s emissions as long as the 
following conditions are met: 

the study’s purpose is to test the technology’s •	
effectiveness;
the study is conducted for no more than two •	
years; 
the applicant submitted documentation proving •	
how the technology is expected to reduce 
overall harmful emissions; and
a report is produced at the end of the study and •	
made available to the public.

Other clean air provisions

	 LIRAP. The bill increases from five to 10 days the 
amount of time counties have to provide a dealer with 
vehicle repair or replacement funds. Counties receiving 
Low Income Vehicle Repair Assistance Program 
(LIRAP) funding for local clean air projects receive an 
incentive for implementing new technologies to combat 
the use of counterfeit state inspection stickers.

	 Federal greenhouse gas reporting rule. HB 
1796 directs TCEQ to partner with the RRC, the Texas 
Department of Agriculture (TDA), and the PUC to 
work with the federal government in the process of 
developing greenhouse gas reporting and registry 
requirements. 

SB 16 provisions not enacted

	 Idling of motor vehicles. SB 16 would have 
allowed vehicles weighing more than 8,500 pounds to 
idle at any time provided the vehicle was equipped with 
a 2008 or later heavy-duty diesel engine certified by the 
EPA or another agency to emit no more than 30 grams 
of NOx per hour. This idling provision would have 
expired on November 1, 2010.

	 The bill also would have increased the maximum 
vehicle weight limit by an amount necessary to 
compensate for the additional weight of an idle 
reduction system not to exceed 400 pounds. It also 
would have required a driver to provide proof to a law 
enforcement officer or agency official that the idle 
reduction technology was fully functional and that the 
weight increase was used only for the idle reduction 
system.

	 Building energy codes. SB 16 would have adopted 
the May 1, 2009, energy efficiency provisions of the 
International Residential Code for single family home 
construction in Texas beginning on January 1, 2012. 
Also, beginning on January 1, 2012, International 
Energy Conservation Code energy efficiency standards 
from May 1, 2009, would have applied to all other 
residential, commercial and industrial buildings. 

	 Housing partnership rebates. The bill would 
have required the State Energy Conservation Office to 
use rebates to promote energy efficiency in residential 
housing. The bill also would have also allowed SECO to 
contract with other state agencies.

	 Point sources. The bill would have established a 
searchable online database of emissions from TCEQ-
permitted point sources. The bill would have added a 
federally required fee on stationary sources in severe 
non-attainment areas to the list of Clean Air Act fees. 

	 Mercury monitoring. If the federal government 
imposed regulations on mercury emissions from coal-
fired plants, power plant operators would have had 18 
months to install a monitor to track mercury emissions. 
In this instance, the operator would have had to report 
quarterly to TCEQ mercury emissions and to make the 
information available publicly.
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Supporters said

	 TERP. The bill would expand TERP to include 
incentives for reducing emissions from point sources. 
TERP long has been criticized for offering incentives 
for emissions reductions only from mobile sources, such 
as cars and trucks, and overlooking point sources such 
as power plants. Coal-fired power plants are notorious 
for emitting massive amounts of nitrogen oxides (NOx), 
which pollute the air and endanger public health. The 
new technology implementation grant program set up 
by the bill would give matching grants to eligible power 
plants that took steps to reduce NOx emissions. 

	 The bill would enhance TERP and other state 
programs designed to improve air quality in areas 
of Texas that do not meet federal standards. Three 
metropolitan areas in Texas have air pollution levels that 
exceed the EPA eight-hour ozone standard: Houston-
Galveston-Brazoria; Dallas-Fort Worth; and Beaumont-
Port Arthur. Several other areas have rising pollution 
levels that are nearing non-attainment status. In order 
not to jeopardize federal highway funding, the state 
must implement more aggressive measures to reduce 
NOx emissions.

	 Through the reduction of NOx emissions, TERP 
protects the environment and health of Texas residents. 
Besides smog creation, NOx emissions can contribute 
to acid rain and oxygen depletion in bodies of water. 
Also, NOx emissions result in health problems, such as 
asthma and emphysema, while also aggravating heart 
disease and damaging lung tissue. By bolstering TERP, 
the bill would help reduce future costs to the state in 
public health and environmental remediation. 

	 Advanced clean energy projects. The bill would 
expand eligibility requirements for qualifying a project 
as an advanced clean energy project. TCEQ has yet 
to receive an application for the program since it was 
established in 2007. Relaxing the program criteria to 
allow for projects that involve a reduction in a portion 
of the emission from an existing facility would open the 
program to more applicants.

	 As the demand for electric power grows and 
the externalities of carbon-based fuels become more 
apparent, Texans increasingly have called for more 
environmentally clean technologies. The bill would 
allow more clean coal plants to qualify as advanced 
clean energy projects and receive the streamlined 
permitting and tax breaks associated with the program. 

Encouraging advanced clean energy projects would 
ensure that Texas would be positioned to attract the 
cleanest carbon-fueled power plants in the nation. 
Advanced clean energy has the potential to lessen 
the impact of federal carbon regulation by advancing 
technology to enable Texas to use the lowest cost and 
most reliable fuel available.

	 Federal greenhouse gas rule. The bill would 
bring Texas to the table in federal discussions on the 
regulation of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse 
gases. The recent EPA designation of carbon dioxide 
as a threat to public health represents the first step 
in the federal emissions regulating process. The bill 
would direct TCEQ to work with other state agencies in 
deliberations with the EPA to ensure that Texas receives 
credit for actions that already have been taken to reduce 
greenhouse gas emissions.

	 Vehicle idling. SB 16 would allow trucks with 
new clean diesel engine technology to idle beginning 
on November 1, 2010. Trucks equipped with an EPA-
certified “clean idle” engine contribute no more than 30 
grams of dangerous nitrogen oxide emissions per hour 
when idling. Even California, a state known for strict 
air quality standards, allows these clean engine trucks to 
idle at any time. SB 16 would give the trucking industry 
more than a year to upgrade trucks to cleaner engine 
technology. 

	 SB 16 would promote the use of Auxiliary Power 
Units in the trucking industry, which present a viable 
and eco-friendly alternative to idling. Auxiliary Power 
Units are small generators that allow trucks to operate 
heat and air conditioning systems without running the 
primary engine. These units use much less fuel and 
therefore emit much less pollution than standard truck 
engines. SB 16 would prevent the weight of Auxiliary 
Power Units from being applied to the maximum 
vehicle weight allowable for trucks.

Opponents said

	 The bill would set too low the percentage of carbon 
dioxide to be sequestered. Some companies are boasting 
that they could design plants that would capture as much 
as 90 percent of their carbon dioxide emissions. If this 
is possible, then making 50 percent the standard might 
be a disincentive for innovation. Incentives should be 
given for going beyond what already can be achieved. 
Standards should be strengthened every few years in 
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order to continue to improve emission standards as new 
technology became available.

	 Vehicle idling. SB 16 would apply to too broad of 
a range of trucks, including farm trucks, recreational 
vehicles, and ranch trucks, all of which can weigh more 
than 8,500 pounds. The goal of idling legislation should 
be to target large commercial trucks that emit the largest 
amount of harmful particulate matter.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 16 appeared in Part 
One of the May 23 Daily Floor Report, and the HRO 
analysis of HB 1796 appeared in Part Three of the 
May 4 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 16 contained a number of air quality 
improvement provisions that were deleted in the House 
committee substitute version of the bill, including:

the plug-in hybrid motor vehicle purchase credit •	
program;
the energy-efficient appliance purchase •	
incentive program;
appliance efficiency standards; and•	
consideration of cumulative effects of a •	
facility’s emissions in TCEQ’s power plant 
permitting process.

	 SB 16 passed the Senate on April 14, but died on 
the May 23 Major State Calendar in the House when no 
further action was taken. Significant provisions of SB 16 
concerning air quality were added to HB 1796.
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HB 2259 by Crownover
Effective September 1, 2009

Extending deadlines to plug inactive oil or gas wells

	 HB 2259 requires the Railroad Commission (RRC) 
to implement requirements for extending the deadline 
for plugging inactive oil and gas wells and adds 
requirements for surface cleanup.

	 For every year an operator applies for an extension 
of a deadline for plugging an inactive well, the operator 
must provide one of the seven financial assurance 
requirements outlined in the bill as well as affirmation 
by the operator that electric service has been terminated. 
If the well has been inactive for five to less than 10 
years, the equipment must be purged of production 
fluid. If the well has been inactive for at least 10 years, 
the surface equipment must be removed according to 
RRC rule. The operator of an inactive well must leave a 
clearly visible marker at the wellhead.

	 An operator is eligible for a temporary extension 
of the deadline for plugging an inactive well or 
a temporary exemption from the surface cleanup 
requirements if there are safety concerns or required 
maintenance of the well. 

	 An operator is eligible for an extension of the 
deadline for plugging an inactive well without removing 
the surface equipment if the well and the equipment are 
part of an enhanced oil recovery project. The RRC may 
revoke an extension if it determines, after notice and 
opportunity for hearing, that the applicant was ineligible 
under RRC rules. 

	 Electrical power lines serving a well site or other 
surface facility must be constructed, operated, and 
maintained in accordance with the National Electrical 
Code. 

Supporters said

	 Under current law, it is too easy to maintain a well as 
inactive. The oil field cleanup fund has been successful, 
but there still is a problem. The intent of HB 2259 is to 
bring in bad actors who are not plugging their wells. It 
would force operators to make business decisions on the 
future viability of their wells. HB 2259 is an industry-
driven solution that would place more requirements on 

operators who leave their wells inactive year after year. 
Today’s inactive wells become tomorrow’s abandoned 
wells. 

	 The bill also would require the eventual cleanup of 
unusable surface equipment. This program would be 
supplemental to the existing requirements for financial 
assurance and effectively would supplant the RRC’s 
existing program requirements for inactive wells, which 
have been in place for years and no longer are effective 
in handling the problem as it exists today. The bill 
initially may require some administrative changes by the 
RRC, but any added cost to the agency would be offset 
by potential fees to be deposited in the oil field cleanup 
account.

Opponents said

	 The bill would create an administrative burden at the 
RRC due to the need to amend rules and forms, perform 
fairly substantial computer programming, and add 
personnel to handle the review of the documentation for 
all of the options, to verify compliance, and to handle 
hearings resulting from denial of extensions. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2259 appeared in the 
April 28 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 3245 by Solomons
Died in the House

Providing consumer protections in restructured electric market

	 HB 3245 would have amended the Utilities Code to 
add various consumer protection provisions, including 
guidelines for electric service disconnection in the 
summer months, deferred payment options to prevent 
disconnection, a retail market monitor to detect and 
prevent market manipulations, mitigation options for 
market abuse, and provisions regarding the cost for 
nodal implementation and the publication of natural gas 
and electric prices.

Supporters said

	 Since the deregulation of the electric market in 
Texas, concerns have been raised about the benefits to 
consumers and whether there are adequate market and 
consumer protections in place. This legislation would 
provide necessary guardrails so that consumers could 
benefit from the current market structure. Many poor 
and elderly Texans face disconnection of electric service 
over the summer, when extreme temperatures result 
in sky-high electric bills. This poses an unnecessary 
and extreme health hazard to children and the elderly. 
HB 3245 would provide regulatory certainty that these 
customers would be able to avoid disconnection of 
electricity when they needed it the most. 

	 The bill was the product of an extensive stakeholder 
process with input from consumer advocacy groups, the 
environmental community, and the electric industry.

Opponents said

	 HB 3245 would place a moratorium on electric 
disconnections for a large class of consumers during 
the summer months. Historically, moratoria have 
resulted in retail electric providers (REPs) being left 
with millions of dollars of bad debt. The bill would 
expand the pool of people who would be able to defer 
payments and would expand the amount of time the 
payments could be deferred. REPs would be forced to 
deliver a product without payment for several months. 
By the time the deferral period was over, the amount of 
money the consumer owed would be so large that many 
consumers likely would never catch up and ultimately 
would be disconnected, leaving the REP with a bad 

debt that would raise the rates of all of their electric 
consumers. REPs should not be forced to float a large 
class of customers for several months when there are 
other avenues of bill pay assistance available through 
the System Benefit Fund and the Texas Department of 
Housing and Community Affairs.

	 HB 3245 would provide less protection for 
customers with prepaid service and would create two 
classes of residential customers — those who have 
options available for keeping their electricity service 
on during the summer and those who do not. The 
Legislature should ensure that consumers who could 
lose essential service because of an inability to pay and 
lack of credit are prohibited from taking prepaid service. 

Other opponents said

	 HB 3245 would make good progress in addressing 
consumer and market protections, but the language in 
the bill regarding the retail market monitor is broad 
enough to include the wholesale market. This could 
blur the distinction between the existing independent 
wholesale market monitor and a retail market monitor. 
The language should be tailored to fit the specific needs 
of the retail market.

Notes

	 HB 3245 was considered by the House on May 14, 
but died when a point of order was sustained against its 
further consideration.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3245 appeared in the 
May 13 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 1937 by Villarreal
Effective September 1, 2009

Property assessments by cities for energy-efficient improvements

	 HB 1937 allows the governing body of a 
municipality to designate an area in which municipal 
officials and property owners may enter into contracts 
to assess properties for energy-efficient public 
improvements and to finance the installation of 
distributed generation renewable energy resources 
or energy-efficient improvements that would be 
permanently affixed to real property. Any assessment 
imposed would be considered a lien against a lot on 
which it was imposed until the assessment and any 
related interest or penalty was paid. 

	 To designate an area for assessment, the governing 
body of a municipality must adopt a resolution of intent 
including a description of the boundaries of the area in 
which contracts for assessments may be entered into and 
the proposed arrangements for financing the program, 
information regarding the types of energy-efficient 
improvements or public improvements or distributed 
generation renewable energy resources that may be 
financed, and the time and place for a public hearing 
at which interested persons could object to or inquire 
about the proposal. The resolution of intent also must 
direct an appropriate municipal official to consult with 
the appropriate appraisal district or districts regarding 
collecting the assessments, and to prepare a report 
regarding the assessment. 

	 Property owners who wish to enter into an 
assessment contract may purchase directly installation 
equipment and materials or contract for the installation 
of the improvements and renewable energy sources by 
obtaining the written consent of an authorized municipal 
official.

Supporters said

	 HB 1937 would give cities the option of setting up 
a municipal finance system to help homeowners make 
their homes more energy efficient or install renewable 
energy devices, such as solar panels. This legislation has 
been modeled after municipal financing programs that 
have been successful in other cities around the country. 

	 Municipal financing could eliminate the largest 
disincentive to installing solar panels — the often 

prohibitive initial cost. Solar panel systems could be 
financed like gas lines or water lines, covered by a 
loan from the city, and secured by property taxes. The 
advantage of this system over private borrowing is 
that any local homeowner would be eligible and the 
obligation to pay the loan would attach to the house and 
pass to any future buyer, eliminating the concern that the 
homeowner may not stay in the house long enough to 
recoup the investment. The bill also would aim to give 
the option to finance other renewable energy devices, or 
upgrades aimed at improving energy efficiency.

Opponents said

	 HB 1937 inappropriately would expand the scope 
of municipal authority by allowing city governments 
to create financial districts to lend money to private 
individuals for energy-efficiency and renewable 
energy projects. Allowing cities to use public funds to 
make loans to private individuals would give them a 
competitive advantage over private lenders in financing 
such loans. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1937 appeared in the 
May 8 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 184 by Watson
Effective September 1, 2009

Studying strategies for reducing greenhouse gas emissions

	 SB 184 requires the comptroller of public accounts 
to prepare a report by December 1, 2010, listing 
strategies for reducing greenhouse gas emissions in 
Texas. The comptroller is directed to consider strategies 
for reducing emissions from other states and countries. 
The study must take into account strategies that can 
be achieved without financial cost or that will result 
in savings for consumers or businesses over the life of 
the strategy, as well as help Texas businesses maintain 
global competitiveness. The report also must include 
the initial and short-term capital costs and lifetime costs 
and savings for each identified strategy.

	 The comptroller must appoint advisory committees, 
consisting of representatives from certain state agencies, 
to assist in identifying and evaluating greenhouse gas 
emission reduction strategies. The comptroller may 
enter into an interagency agreement with the Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality or other state 
agency for technical advice or assistance. 

Supporters said 

	 SB 184 would direct the comptroller to evaluate 
and identify economically beneficial policies to 
minimize the production of greenhouse gases, a leading 
cause of global climate change. Such a study would help 
transform Texas from a leading contributor of carbon 
dioxide to a true global leader in the fight against global 
warming. Greenhouse gas emissions, such as carbon 
dioxide and nitrous oxide, have been established as 
primary causes of global warming, a phenomenon with 
potentially severe consequences for our way of life. 
Without innovative, technology-driven solutions to 
curtail dramatically pollution caused by human activity, 
the pattern of rising temperatures likely will worsen. 

	 SB 184 would initiate a study to identify 
economically neutral or beneficial strategies to address 
the problem of global warming. Such solutions are 
key to safeguarding the health of Texas citizens and 
preserving the environment while minimizing negative 
economic consequences. The longer that Texas, the 
United States, and other industrialized nations wait 
to mitigate carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas 
emissions, the more costly such policy changes will 
become.

Opponents said 

	 SB 184 would open the door to extensive and 
potentially economically disruptive environmental 
regulation. With a growing population and an expanding 
economy, Texas has distinct energy needs that will be 
challenging to accommodate even without the burden 
of untested restrictions on greenhouse gases. The 
vague strictures in the study required under SB 184 
unfairly could place on private business the burden 
of compliance with recommended strategies, with 
potentially negative consequences for employment and 
economic performance in the state. 

	 Regulation of air pollution typically has been 
addressed through federal guidelines such as the Clean 
Air Act, and Texas environmental policy appropriately 
has been focused on attaining federal standards. SB 
184 could send Texas down a road of regulation that 
could put the state at a competitive disadvantage with 
neighboring states or in conflict with federal greenhouse 
gas legislation that Congress is likely to consider in the 
future.

Notes

	 SB 184 passed the House on the Local, Consent, 
and Resolutions Calendar and was not analyzed in a 
Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 541 by Watson
Died in the House

Expanding renewable portfolio standard (RPS) for non-wind resources

	 SB 541 would have amended the Utilities Code 
by establishing definitions of tier 1 and tier 2 renewable 
energy, creating new goals for renewable energy 
generation capacity, and providing for a credit-trading 
program. Tier 1 renewable energy would have been 
solar, wind, geothermal, hydroelectric, tidal energy 
(wave), and biomass, including landfill gas. Tier 2 
would have been tier 1 renewable energy technology, 
excluding energy derived from wind, with a capacity of 
more than 150 kilowatts.

	 SB 541 would have removed the existing target 
of 500 megawatts of non-wind renewable capacity and 
replaced it with a goal of 1,500 megawatts of tier 2 
renewable energy to be installed by January 1, 2020. In 
certain instances, the PUC would have been allowed to 
suspend requirements to meet the goals.

	 The PUC would have been required to set up a tier 
1 and tier 2 renewable energy credit (REC) program as 
well as alternative compliance payments so that entities 
with a renewable energy purchase requirement could 
have elected to pay the alternative compliance payment 
instead of applying RECs toward the satisfaction of 
the entity’s obligation. The PUC also would have been 
required to adopt rules necessary to provide a “Made in 
Texas” incentive for tier 1 and tier 2 RECs generated 
by equipment that had been wholly produced or 
substantially transformed by a Texas workforce.

Supporters said

	 SB 541 would provide a 1,500 megawatt non-wind 
renewable portfolio standard (RPS) goal, to be achieved 
by 2020. This would continue Texas’ leadership in 
installing clean, renewable energy in a market-based 
manner that would drive creation of manufacturing 
jobs and provide price protections for businesses and 
consumers. 

	 The RPS model has been proven to work well and 
effectively in Texas and is the most market-driven of 
incentive programs. The bill would be the right mix for 
the state’s economy and its environment. While Texas 
has installed more renewable energy than any other state 
thanks to large-scale wind energy development in West 
Texas, the state has fallen behind in the development 

of emerging renewable energy technologies such as 
solar, geothermal, and biomass power. A second-tier 
renewable portfolio standard would help jumpstart these 
industries in Texas and prepare the state for the expected 
federal Renewable Electricity Standard and carbon 
cap and trade legislation currently being debated in 
Congress. The bill also would help create Texas jobs by 
providing an incentive for renewable energy equipment 
manufacturing to locate in Texas. 

	 Concerns that an RPS leads to higher electricity 
rates are unfounded, because renewable energy has 
been proven to lower the wholesale market price of 
electricity and would drive those prices even lower 
due infrastructure investment where wind and solar 
resources are most abundant. The RPS allows Texas to 
hedge against the risk of future skyrocketing electric 
rates and insulates ratepayers from the volatility of 
natural gas prices. By expanding the RPS for non-wind 
sources, SB 541 would lead to lower electricity prices 
and provide for more energy diversity. 

	 SB 541 also would provide important protections 
for ratepayers by keeping the cost of the program and 
REC prices low through a gradual, staged increase of 
megawatt targets. In the initial years, the requirements 
would be relatively small, which would keep the cost 
of the program low. The bill also would provide price 
certainty for ratepayers by providing price caps for tier 2 
renewable energy, and the program could be suspended 
if an undue burden was placed on ratepayers.

Opponents said

	 All electricity generation should be based on 
the market. Renewable energy is more expensive and 
therefore is not currently a cost-effective way to produce 
energy. Although this program would not be financed by 
surcharges or non-bypassable fees, generators that did 
not meet the standards would have to buy RECs to meet 
their obligations. This essentially would be a cap-and-
trade system, for which the costs ultimately would be 
passed on to customers. Requiring utilities to use more 
expensive energy sources would increase electric rates 
for customers. Manufacturers, schools, and other large 
customers anticipate paying millions more per year on 
electricity.
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	 Solar plants and other renewable sources cannot 
produce the same amount of energy as more traditional 
generating plants. Many of the renewable energy 
generating facilities, such as solar, require a source of 
backup energy from a traditional source. This duplicates 
generation and further increases costs.

Notes

	 SB 541 passed the Senate, but died on the May 
26 Major State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 541 appeared in the 
May 26 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 545 by Fraser
Died in the House

Goals and incentives for solar energy generation

	 SB 545 would have required the PUC, by rule, 
to establish and oversee implementation of a solar 
generation incentive program to be implemented 
by electric utilities for residential and commercial 
customers. The PUC also would have had to establish 
procedures to achieve the goal of installing at least 
3,000 megawatts of solar generation capacity in Texas 
by 2020, at least 1,000 megawatts of which would 
have been distributed renewable generation. Electric 
utilities would have recovered their costs through a non-
bypassable fee of $0.000650 per kilowatt hour for each 
residential or commercial customer meter, and $40 per 
month for each industrial customer meter.

	 The PUC would have set rebate amounts for the 
installation of solar generation, with up to a 20 percent 
higher rebate amount for solar generation manufactured 
in Texas. For the first two years of the program, 25 
percent of the rebates would have been reserved 
for use by public school districts. The State Energy 
Conservation Office (SECO) in the Comptroller’s Office 
would have been required to establish a revolving loan 
program to provide loans to pay the costs of installing 
photovoltaic solar panels on public school buildings 
and buildings owned by religious organizations. The 
revolving loan program would have been patterned 
after the Texas LoanSTAR (Loans to Save Taxes And 
Resources) revolving loan program, which is a building 
energy-efficiency loan program administered by SECO. 

	 SB 545 also would have prohibited a property 
owners’ association from restricting a property owner 
from installing a solar energy device, except in certain 
instances. Also, a builder who entered into a contract 
for construction of a new home in a subdivision that 
contained more than 50 lots would have been required 
to offer a homebuyer at least one plan in the subdivision 
on which the homebuyer could purchase an option to 
install a solar energy device on the home for heating or 
cooling or for the production of power.

Supporters said

	 SB 545 would establish a solar generation incentive 
program that would make it easier and cheaper for 
Texans to bring solar energy into homes and businesses. 
It also would allow Texas to become more energy 

independent and meet renewable energy goals. The 
bill would move Texas to the forefront of solar energy 
generation in the United States. Texas already has led 
the nation in wind power generation, and the bill would 
allow Texas to lead the way in solar power generation as 
well. 

	 The incentive program would be funded by a 
nominal flat fee on customers’ electricity bills, making 
administering this program more predictable. Everyone 
would benefit from a cleaner environment from solar 
energy generation. The loan program allowing schools 
to switch to solar power would reduce their electric bills 
and generate income in the summer months.

	 Concerns that it could be risky for Texas to be an 
early leader in the solar industry should not delay these 
efforts. If everyone hesitated to promote use of solar 
energy and other renewables, the industry would never 
develop. The early leaders have the opportunity to 
become the manufacturing clusters that create jobs. SB 
545 would send a signal that Texas was the place to do 
business, especially with the “Made in Texas” provision 
to encourage the installation of solar generation 
manufactured in Texas.

	 Also, the bill contains a five-year check point that 
would help avoid unintended consequences and would 
provide an opportunity to make adjustments as the 
industry evolves.

Opponents said

	 Electricity customers would pay for this program 
through a surcharge on electricity bills. The money 
from the surcharge could be as much as $100 million 
a year for five years. Adding a cost to the consumer, 
particularly business consumers, would mean less 
money for them to spend to do the things they need 
to do to grow their businesses. Everyone would have 
to pay the surcharge, but only the customers that 
participated in the program would receive any benefit.

	 Solar energy is only now becoming a viable 
option for energy generation. It could be risky for 
Texas to be the early leader in an industry that is not 
fully developed. This bill would encourage school 
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districts and Texas citizens to be the early adopters of a 
technology that still is in its infancy, which could result 
in unknown and intended consequences. Texas jumped 
in head first with ethanol subsidies, which caused a 
number of problems for the state. 

	 Creating a solar energy incentive program would 
jump-start that industry, and it is questionable public 
policy for the government to make decisions that would 
affect a market in that manner, essentially picking 
winners and losers.

Notes

	 SB 545 passed the Senate, but died on the Major 
State Calendar in the House when no further action was 
taken. The provisions of SB 545 were added as a Senate 
amendment to HB 1243 by Gallego, but HB 1243 died 
in the House when the end-of-session deadline passed 
for consideration of Senate amendments.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 545 appeared in the 
May 25 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 546 by Fraser
Died in Conference Committee

Increasing energy efficiency goals and demand reduction targets

	 SB 546 would have increased the state’s energy 
efficiency goals and changed the standard to a 
percentage of peak demand rather than a percentage 
of load growth. SB 546 would have established annual 
efficiency goals of: 

30 percent of annual growth in demand by •	
January 1, 2012, rather than 10 percent by 
December 31, 2007; 
0.5 percent of peak demand by January 1, 2013, •	
rather than 15 percent of annual growth in 
demand by December 31, 2008; 
1 percent of peak demand by January 1, 2016, •	
rather than 20 percent of annual growth in 
demand by December 31, 2009. 

	 SB 546 would have required each electric utility to 
administer an energy efficiency program designed to 
meet an energy savings goal calculated from its demand 
savings goal, using a capacity factor of 25 percent. 

	 The PUC could have established, and each utility 
could have implemented, market-transformation 
incentive programs that encouraged the use of new 
building technologies and construction practices. A 
market transformation program that was launched as a 
pilot program would have been allowed to be extended 
for more than three years if the PUC determined that the 
pilot program was an appropriate means of addressing 
special market barriers that prevented or inhibited the 
behavior addressed by the pilot program.

	 SB 546 would have created an Office of 
Energy Efficiency Deployment in the State Energy 
Conservation Office (SECO) to design and implement a 
statewide campaign to educate customers, utilities, and 
public entities about energy efficiency. 

	 SB 546 also would have required various studies 
addressing certain energy efficiency issues.

Supporters said 

	 SB 546 would build on the foundation created by 
HB 3693 by Straus, enacted by the 80th Legislature 
in 2007, by setting far-reaching goals for energy 
efficiency programs that would reduce peak electricity 

demand by 1 percent by 2016 and would implement 
recommendations set out by the PUC’s 2009 energy 
efficiency report.

	 In a report that studied the feasibility of 
further increasing the energy efficiency goals, 
the PUC estimated that the implementation of its 
recommendations would result in a minimum of $4.3 
billion in net savings to Texas electric customers 
through the next decade. Also, the report found that a 
dramatic ramp-up in Texas’ energy efficiency goals is 
achievable — up to one percent of peak demand by 
2015. For every dollar spent on energy efficiency, the 
customer potentially saves $2.70. Energy efficiency is 
one of the few tools available that both saves money and 
reduces air pollution. SB 546 simply would be about 
being smart about the way energy is used in Texas. 
Now is a critical time to act because Texas needs to 
be prepared to receive federal stimulus dollars and put 
them to maximum good use. These types of innovative 
energy efficiency measures are exactly the kind of 
one-time stimulus expenditures that lead to long-term 
savings, create jobs, and position Texas to be the 
nation’s leader in creating the new, green economy.

Opponents said 

	 SB 546 would place an enormous administrative 
burden on the PUC with increased oversight and 
rulemaking responsibilities. An estimated 2,500 
PUC staff hours would be needed to conduct a major 
rulemaking to change the energy-efficiency rules and 
the demand-response programs operated by ERCOT. 
The PUC also would be involved in increased oversight 
activities to assess whether goals were met and to 
oversee program implementation.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of the companion bill, HB 280 
by Anchia, appeared in the May 8 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 769 by Williams
Effective April 16, 2009

Recovering weather-related electric system restoration costs

	 SB 769 enables an electric utility to recover system 
restoration costs of $100 million or more without a base 
rate proceeding with the Public Utilities Commission 
(PUC) and to use securitization financing to recover 
those costs, if approved by the PUC. System restoration 
costs are defined as the reasonable and necessary 
costs incurred by an electric utility for the restoration 
of service and infrastructure resulting from electric 
power outages due to weather-related events or natural 
disasters that took place in 2008, as well as for future 
events. System restoration costs include reasonable 
estimates of costs subject to true-up and reconciliation 
after the actual costs were known.

	 The PUC was granted authority over the amount 
of system restoration costs that a utility is eligible 
to recover through securitization and the issuance of 
a financing order authorizing the request, including 
timelines, safeguards to ensure the most cost-effective 
method of recovery, and restrictions on bypassability.

	 SB 769 also provides standards and definitions 
relating to system restoration costs, instructions on 
appeal procedures for PUC decisions, and instructions 
on how system restoration costs are to be allocated to 
customers with consideration to rate freezes and federal 
tax offsets.

Supporters said

	 SB 769 would expedite the recovery of costs and 
provide a more cost-effective means of recovery for 
utilities hit with system restoration costs due to natural 
disasters. The conventional method of recovering storm 
costs is for a utility to go through a base-rate proceeding 
at the PUC, which takes 185 days to complete and often 
is costly due to litigation. Base rate proceedings cause 
significant delays in the recovery of storm costs and 
place additional costs — including both the cost of the 
proceeding and high interest and finance charges — on 
the affected utilities, which pass them on to customers.

	 Utilities previously have had to receive approval 
from the Legislature through specific legislation in 
order to recover system restoration costs through 
securitization. For example, HB 163 by P. King, enacted 

by 79th Legislature during its 2006 third called session, 
allowed Entergy to use securitization to recover costs 
resulting from Hurricane Rita in 2005. This bill would 
authorize the PUC to approve the use of securitization 
without the utilities having to wait for a legislative 
session to do so. Securitization allows for very low 
interest rates on bonds that are issued to cover system 
restoration costs. It is a form of low-cost refinancing 
similar to refinancing a home mortgage. A utility 
issues bonds and pays off existing debt or reinvests the 
proceeds in its infrastructure. The securitized bonds 
that are issued are then paid off by the provider’s retail 
customers. Securitization financing costs customers 
less money because the financing order provides terms 
and conditions that result in highly rated bonds with 
relatively low interest rates.

	 Securitization is a proven financial technique that 
has minimized the rate impact on Texas consumers by 
saving million of dollars in financing costs. Entergy 
used securitization to recover costs from the devastation 
caused by Hurricane Rita in 2005, resulting in an 
estimated savings of $300 million to consumers. With 
respect to recovering costs from the 2008 hurricane 
season, securitization is anticipated to reduce the 
monthly system restoration charges to a typical 
residential customer by approximately 20 percent as 
compared to conventional rate-setting methods.

	 SB 769 would put into place protections to ensure 
that securitization would provide a better benefit to the 
utility and consumers than the conventional method 
of recovery. The PUC would have to find tangible and 
verifiable benefits before securitization was approved, 
and a trigger mechanism would set a threshold amount 
of recovery costs before securitization could become an 
option.

Opponents said

	 SB 769 would speed up the cost-recovery process 
for electric utilities hit by natural disasters and could 
put the PUC under pressure to move more quickly 
than would be prudent. Time and consideration should 
remain a high priority when decisions are made to pass 
costs onto consumers.
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	 This bill would put a cost-recovery mechanism into 
place for storms that have yet to occur and for recovery 
of damages that currently are unknown. Securitization 
always has been an extraordinary means to recover 
extraordinary costs. This bill would open up the use of 
securitization to any storm or natural disaster before it 
could be known how best to proceed.

	 Securitization could be a disincentive for utilities 
and industry to engage in mitigation efforts, such as grid 
hardening, if they know they will recover all of their 
costs.

	 Also, this bill would allow a utility to base 
securitization on only estimated costs. Estimates are 
unreliable and should not be the basis of securitization 
or surcharges. There at least should be mandatory rate 
cases every three years to capture any over-recovery.

	 If the PUC determined that a utility did not qualify 
for securitization, the utility would not have to go back 
to a standard base rate proceeding. This would allow a 
utility to bypass the traditional ratemaking process.

	 SB 769 would allow a utility essentially to earn 
a double return on investment — for building and 
maintaining the electric system and for recovering costs 
to repair damages. Without a base rate proceeding, there 
would not be an opportunity to reconcile those amounts.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of the House companion bill, 
HB 1378 by Thompson, appeared in the April 6 Daily 
Floor Report.
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SB 921 by Fraser
Died in the House

Allowing access to electric cooperative meetings and certain records

	 SB 921 would have outlined guidelines to 
be followed by electric cooperatives, including 
requirements that director elections be conducted in a 
manner that was fair and open to all members of the 
electric cooperative. Rules would have differed for 
electric cooperatives with more than 170,000 members 
(currently, only the Pedernales Electric Cooperative) 
and electric cooperatives with 170,000 members or less. 
Also, SB 921 would have required that members be 
given notice of and access to electric cooperative board 
meetings, as well as access to nonproprietary books and 
records of the cooperative. SB 921 would have provided 
a procedure for a member to file a complaint against a 
board and would have required electric cooperatives to 
adopt certain policies, have an independent financial 
audit performed annually, and provide notice to 
members of certain investments. Electric cooperatives 
with more than 170,000 members would have been 
prohibited from acquiring equipment capable of 
generating electricity for sale, other than equipment that 
used an alternative energy resource, unless approved by 
the Public Utility Commission.

Supporters said

	 Issues have been raised related specifically to the 
Pedernales Electric Cooperative (PEC), including lack 
of access to board meetings and public information, 
misappropriation of funds, and irregularities in director 
elections. SB 921 would bring more transparency 
and accountability not only to PEC, but also to all 
63 electric cooperatives around the state. The laws 
governing electric cooperatives now establish only a 
rough framework for organization and operation. The 
bylaws adopted by a board have the biggest impact on 
the election of board members and on how an electric 
cooperative functions. SB 921 would provide statutory 
guidelines to ensure open meetings, records, and 
director elections while maintaining local control. 

	 SB 921 would address issues that were an 
isolated problem at the PEC without over-regulating 
other electric cooperatives. The bill is the product 
of a stakeholder process with input from electric 
cooperatives. The provisions of the bill mirror the best 
management practices currently utilized at other electric 
cooperatives. 

Opponents said

	 SB 921 would impose requirements that already are 
the best management practices at electric cooperatives, 
including at the PEC under its current board. The 
problems with electric cooperatives were isolated to the 
PEC under a board that no longer is in control. Also, SB 
921 contains provisions that are bracketed specifically 
to apply only to the PEC, and it is questionable public 
policy for legislation to target only one entity.

Notes

	 SB 921 passed the Senate and was placed on the 
May 21 Major State Calendar in the House, but no 
further action was taken. The Senate added provisions 
of SB 921 as an amendment to HB 1243 by Gallego, 
which died in the House on a point of order when the 
deadline expired for House consideration of Senate 
amendments.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 921 appeared in the May 
21 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 2081 by Isett/ SB 1013 by Hinojosa
Died in the House

Continuing the Texas Racing Commission

	 SB 2 by Hegar, enacted during the first special 
session, extended the Texas Racing Commission until 
September 1, 2011. The agency’s sunset bills, HB 2081 
by Isett and SB 1013 by Hinojosa, were not enacted 
during the regular session. 

	 The House committee version of HB 2081 
would have continued the Texas Racing Commission 
(TRC) until September 1, 2015. The bill would have 
repealed the current provision that racetrack licenses 
are perpetual and would have required the commission 
to develop a process for reviewing and renewing 
the licenses. It also would have reduced the types of 
workers that the commission was required to license, 
revised the method of financing the commission, revised 
the law on unlawful betting, and abolished the Equine 
Research Advisory Committee and transferred authority 
to spend the funds in the equine research account to the 
executive director of Texas AgriLife Research at Texas 
A&M University.

	 As passed by the Senate, SB 1013 contained many 
of the same or similar provisions as HB 2081, including 
continuing the commission until September 1, 2015, and 
repealing the provision making track licenses perpetual. 
SB 1013 also contained a provision not in HB 2081 
that would have required license fees for inactive tracks 
to be greater than for active tracks and to be increased 
based on the time a license had been inactive. While 
both bills would have revised the method of financing 
for the commission by eliminating uncashed winning 
tickets as a source of funding for the agency, SB 1013 
would have made additional changes to the way the 
commission receives and repays general revenue funds 
when necessary. 

Supporters said

	 The Texas Racing Commission should be continued 
because there is a need for oversight of the pari-mutuel 
racing industry, and the commission is the only agency 
with the infrastructure and expertise to do so. Because 
the racing industry has been in decline, HB 2081/SB 
1013 would require review of the commission after six 
years, instead of the standard 12 years. 

	 HB 2081/SB1013 would clarify TRC’s authority 
so that it could provide adequate, ongoing oversight of 
racetrack licensees. The Racing Act currently states that 
licenses are perpetual, and questions have been raised 
about whether that provision, combined with unclear 
statutory language on the commission’s revocation 
authority, give the commission statutory authority to 
revoke a track license. These questions have resulted in 
the commission taking no action against the two inactive 
track licensees that have held licenses since 1989 but 
have yet to build a track. To address this problem, 
HB 2081 would repeal the provision that grants track 
licenses in perpetuity and would require the commission 
to establish a process for racetrack license review and 
renewal. 

	 Licenses that were renewed periodically would 
not harm tracks’ ability to gain financing. The lending 
industry is familiar with licensed industries that 
commonly carry a license renewal period, and nothing 
in the bill would be inconsistent with other lending 
situations involving licensed industries. 

	 HB 2081/SB 1013 would change the current 
requirement that the commission license all people 
involved in racing because it results in the licensing of 
too many people with little or no chance to affect pari-
mutuel racing, which serves no clear public interest. 
The bill would address this problem by requiring 
licensing only of those who can affect pari-mutuel 
racing. The commission still would have authority over 
those who were not licensed through their employers, 
and the racetracks still would be responsible for their 
employees’ compliance with the Racing Act and 
commission rules. 

	 The bill would update and clarify Texas’ policy 
that prohibits betting on pari-mutuel wagering outside 
of Texas tracks by stating that persons without a pari-
mutuel track license were prohibited from taking bets 
from Texas residents no matter how the bet was placed 
— including by telephone or over the Internet. Even 
though enforcement could be difficult, the language in 
HB 2081 should bring some bettors and on-line sites 
into compliance. 
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	 HB 2081 would eliminate the Equine Research 
Account Advisory Committee because its benefits 
are not clear and its duties could be more efficiently 
performed directly by Texas AgriLife Research. The 
state does not need a separate committee to review and 
recommend equine research grants. There are other 
ways for Texas AgriLife to obtain input and opinions 
from the racing industry without a statutory advisory 
committee. 

Opponents said

	 Removing the current provision making track 
licenses perpetual and instituting a review and renewal 
process is unnecessary and would be burdensome for the 
tracks. It also could make obtaining financing to build 
a track or to make additional investment in a licensed 
track more difficult and costly. The commission has 
adequate power to address any problems with licensees, 
including inactive tracks. It would be better to use this 
power to target specifically inactive tracks that do not 
build facilities or ask for race dates than to place a new 
regulatory burden on active tracks. 

	 The commission should continue to license all those 
involved with racing. No matter what a worker’s job, it 
would be best to license them due to their presence at 
the track. 

	 Rather than further an unenforceable policy that 
tries to prohibit Internet wagering, the state should move 
in a different direction and authorize advance deposit 
wagering, which allows bettors to use the Internet to 
place wagers on races using funds already placed in 
their accounts. In other states this type of wagering is 
done with an agreement that allows a portion of betting 
revenue to go to the tracks, horse owners, and the state.

	 Abolishing the Equine Research Account Advisory 
Committee would be detrimental to equine research 
in the state because it would eliminate from the grant 
awarding process the formal input of broad and diverse 
groups in both industry and academia. 

Notes

	 During the regular session, HB 2081 by Isett and 
its companion bill, SB 1013 by Hinojosa, would have 
continued the Racing Commission, but both bills died in 
the House. HB 2081 was set on the May 12 Major State 

Calendar, but was postponed and never taken up. SB 
1013 passed the Senate, but died in the House Licensing 
and Administrative Procedures Committee. 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2081 appeared in Part 
One of the May 13 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 2 by Hegar, enacted during the first called 
session, extended the Sunset date for the Texas Racing 
Commission and certain other agencies to September 
1, 2011, and limits Sunset Advisory Commission 
review of these agencies to the appropriateness of the 
recommendations made to the 81st Legislature. SB 2 
was considered by the House in lieu of its companion 
bill, HB 2 by Isett. The HRO analysis of HB 2 
appeared in the July 2 Daily Floor Report. 

	 The governor called a special session to enact SB 
2 because HB 1959 by Isett, a Sunset revision bill that 
would have extended to September 1, 2011, the Sunset 
date for TRC and certain other agencies due to be 
abolished on September 1, 2009, died when the House 
did not act on the conference committee report on the 
bill. The House on June 1 adopted HCR 291 by Pitts, a 
corrective resolution for HB 4583, that also included an 
extension of the TRC Sunset date to September 1, 2011, 
but the Senate did not act on the concurrent resolution. 
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HJR 137 by Kuempel
Died in the House

Authorizing local-option casino gambling

	 HJR 137 would have amended the Texas 
Constitution to authorize the Legislature to enact laws 
allowing and regulating gaming that involved wagering. 
The Legislature could have made the laws contingent 
on voter approval in a statewide referendum. Before 
gaming could have occurred in a county, it would have 
had to be approved by local voters in a county-option 
election.

	 The Legislature could have limited the locations of 
casinos to: 

coastal barrier islands at least 25 miles long that •	
are accessible by bridges; 
dredge spoil islands at least 18 miles long •	
located in coastal counties; and 
populous metropolitan areas. •	

	 The Legislature would have been authorized 
to dedicate a portion of gaming revenue to higher 
education, transportation, or the children’s health 
insurance program.

	 Texas’ three federally recognized Native American 
tribes would have been authorized to conduct casino 
gaming, but with some restrictions. Gaming by the 
tribes would have been regulated by the tribe and the 
secretary of state. The Tigua tribe, with lands near El 
Paso, and the Alabama-Coushatta tribe, with lands in 
Polk County in East Texas, would have been authorized 
to conduct gaming on their tribal lands. The Kickapoo 
tribe would have been authorized to conduct gaming, 
subject to certain location restrictions, if any gaming 
was permitted within 200 miles of any part of their 
reservation near Eagle Pass. 

Supporters said 

	 Casinos would diversify and expand the Texas 
economy by creating jobs, increasing tourism, boosting 
the entertainment industry, and producing much needed 
tax revenue. Casinos could increase state and local tax 
revenue $3 billion to $4.5 billion annually, with a total 
annual economic impact of $51 billion. HJR 137 would 
allow the Legislature, through enabling legislation, the 
flexibility to decide where casino gambling could take 
place, including at pari-mutuel racetracks, and would 

allow the state’s Native American tribes to participate in 
gaming. The amendment’s requirement for local-voter 
approval would ensure that any casino had community 
support.

	 Casinos would draw tourists to Texas and keep 
many Texans, and their entertainment dollars, from 
traveling to other states to gamble. New Mexico, 
Oklahoma, Louisiana, and Mexico offer easy access 
for Texans to gamble, and HJR 137 would keep some 
of this economic activity at home. This would result in 
the development of hotels, restaurants, and retail stores, 
and existing businesses would be helped through new 
tourism, jobs, and increased consumer spending. 

	 Gambling is an increasingly popular form of 
entertainment. It would not compete with the lottery, 
pari-mutuel wagering, or charity gaming, because those 
games attract a different clientele. 

	 Because playing casino games is a purely voluntary 
form of entertainment, the money collected by the state 
should not be compared to a mandatory tax. Casino 
gambling offers a taxable, regulated, aboveboard 
alternative to illegal gambling and could help combat 
illegal gaming machines in Texas. 

	 Casino gambling would be strictly voluntary and 
victimize no one. Social problems in communities with 
casinos are no different than those in other communities, 
and communities with casinos are as safe as those 
without casinos. Strict government regulation of casinos 
ensures that they operate honestly and that there are 
no ties to organized crime. Problem gambling is rare, 
and the prevalence rate of pathological gambling has 
been relatively unchanged even as legal gambling has 
expanded.

	 HJR 137 could help address some of the state’s 
long-term needs by authorizing the Legislature 
to dedicate a portion of gaming revenue to higher 
education, transportation, or the children’s health 
insurance program.

	 The Legislature should allow voters to decide 
whether Texas should permit casino gambling. Polls 
show support for casinos, and Texans should be given a 
chance to vote on the issue.
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Opponents said

	 The social, moral, and economic costs of casino 
gambling would far outweigh any purported public 
benefits. Estimates of the economic benefits of casinos 
are inflated and misleading and ignore the negative 
economic impact of casinos. Instead of creating new 
economic demand, casinos merely redistribute money 
and can hurt local businesses, reduce government sales 
tax revenue, and divert money from the lottery and 
pari-mutuel wagering. Casinos can bring new dollars 
into a local economy only if they attract tourists who 
otherwise would not come. With numerous casinos 
being proposed for Texas and competition from casinos 
in other states, Texas casinos would have a hard time 
attracting new tourists.

	 Gambling will not solve Texas’ fiscal problems, as 
the lottery and pari-mutuel racing have shown. The state 
should not finance essential state services with gambling 
revenues and should not encourage gambling. Gambling 
revenues fluctuate, and casino taxes get failing marks 
when examined using standard tax analysis, especially 
in regard to equity. 

	 Unlike most other forms of entertainment, casinos 
impose high social costs, such as increased street and 
white collar crime and compulsive gambling. 

	 Voters elect state legislators to evaluate proposals 
and reject those with superficial appeal and potentially 
dangerous consequences. The Legislature should 
exercise responsible judgment by not legalizing casino 
gambling and not should pass the buck to voters. 

Notes

	 HJR 137 was reported favorably by the House 
Licensing and Administrative Procedure Committee, but 
died in the House Calendars Committee. 

	 HB 222 by Menendez, which would have legalized 
and regulated poker gaming in Texas, was placed on the 
May 8 General State Calendar in the House, but was 
postponed and not subsequently considered. The HRO 
analysis of HB 222 appeared in Part Four of the May 
8 Daily Floor Report. 



Page 94 House Research Organization



House Research Organization Page 95

Governm
ent A

ffairs

* HB 1831	 Corte	 Emergency management, disaster preparedness, and school safety................... 96
   HB 1976	 Solomons	 Procedures for operating property owners’ associations.................................... 99
* HB 2559	 Truitt	 Employees Retirement System benefit and retirement eligibility.................... 103
* HJR 14	 Corte	 Revising purposes for which property may be taken....................................... 105
   HJR 29	 Elkins	 Allowing Legislature to override veto after sine die adjournment................... 107
* SB 2 (1st)	 Hegar	 Extending and revising state agency Sunset dates........................................... 109
   SB 18	 Estes	 Standards for use of eminent domain authority.................................................111
   SB 1002	 Deuell	 Abolishing the Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation.......................... 114
* SB 1003	 Deuell	 Continuing state-federal office and attaching it to Governor’s Office............. 115
   SB 2567	 Duncan	 Establishing a state investment review board................................................... 117

Table 
of Contents



Page 96 House Research Organization

HB 1831 by Corte
Generally effective September 1, 2009

Emergency management, disaster preparedness, and school safety

	 HB 1831 modifies provisions related to emergency 
management and disaster mitigation and response.

	 Mandatory evacuation and liability. A county 
judge or mayor who orders the evacuation of an area 
stricken or threatened by a disaster also may order 
the compelled removal of people who remain in the 
evacuated area. Government officials or employees 
who order an evacuation or carry out an evacuation 
order are immune from civil liability. Persons who 
remain in an area ordered evacuated are civilly liable 
to a governmental entity or nonprofit agency acting on 
its behalf for the costs of rescuing such persons if they 
knowingly ignored an evacuation order and acted or 
failed to act unreasonably and placed another person 
in danger. The Governor’s Division of Emergency 
Management (GDEM) must develop a phased reentry 
plan to govern who can enter previously evacuated areas 
and a reentry credentialing process.

	 Emergency management plan. GDEM, the 
Department of State Health Services (DSHS), and the 
Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) each must 
develop an annex to the state emergency management 
plan. GDEM’s annex must address planning for 
providing services and supplies during the first five 
days immediately after a disaster. The DSHS annex 
must include the requirements of individuals in various 
medical special needs categories and the establishment 
of minimum health-related standards for the operations 
of state-funded shelters. TDA’s annex must include 
recovery and relief information, training and assistance 
requirements, and other information related to 
agriculture emergency response.

	 Emergency Management Council. 
Representatives of state agencies, boards, commissions, 
and organized volunteer groups may serve on the 
governor’s Emergency Management Council, not just 
the heads of those groups. The council is responsible for 
identifying, mobilizing, and deploying state resources in 
response to disasters and other emergencies.

	 Emergency management training and education. 
Elected law enforcement officers and county judges 
who supervise or manage others and whose job duties 
include emergency management or who play a role 
in emergency preparedness, response, or recovery 

must receive emergency management training. DSHS 
must establish an education program on disaster and 
emergency preparedness, response, and recovery.

	 Reservists and volunteers. The GDEM may 
organize and train disaster reservists to augment its staff 
temporarily and must encourage public participation 
in volunteer emergency response teams, integrate 
volunteer and faith-based groups into emergency 
management plans, and establish a volunteer liability 
awareness program. Councils of government and 
regional planning agencies must develop plans for 
handling disaster-related personnel increases and 
lodging and meals for relief workers and volunteers.

	 Disaster funding. The disaster emergency funding 
board is abolished. State agencies may request disaster 
contingency fund money to buy property damage 
insurance.

	 Communications coordination. The GDEM must 
create a communications coordination group to facilitate 
interagency coordination and provide communications 
support during a disaster. It must include representatives 
from local, state, and federal government, the state 
military, utility companies, and emergency services 
groups.

	 Authority granted to state officials. An 
emergency management director exercising a power 
granted to the governor by declaration of a state of 
disaster is prohibited from seizing or otherwise using 
state or federal resources without authorization from the 
governor or the state or federal agency responsible for 
the resources.

	 Definition of a first responder. HB 1831 revises 
the state’s definition of a first responder to include 
public health, public safety, and emergency medical 
personnel, commissioned law enforcement personnel, 
paid and volunteer firefighters, members of the Texas 
State and National Guards, and related personnel that 
support disaster prevention, response, or recovery.

	 Personnel compensation and reimbursement. 
A state employee who is a firefighter, police officer, 
emergency medical technician, emergency management 
personnel, or other emergency services personnel, and 
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who is not an employee of the Legislature or subject 
to federal overtime compensation laws, is allowed to 
take compensatory time off within 18 months of when 
it was accrued. The employee may be paid overtime 
compensation at the regular hourly salary rate for all or 
part of the time accrued, with the compensatory time 
balance reduced proportionally. 

	 Disaster unemployment compensation. The 
governor may waive the unemployment benefit waiting 
period for individuals who are unemployed as a direct 
result of a federally declared disaster but otherwise 
eligible for unemployment compensation and who are 
not receiving disaster unemployment benefits during 
that period.

	 Judicial preparedness. The Texas Supreme Court 
is allowed to temporarily modify or suspend procedures 
for the conduct of a court proceeding affected by a 
disaster. HB 1831 establishes a process by which other 
courts or individuals may act if the disaster prevents the 
Supreme Court from doing so.

	 Electric utilities. Each electric utility must submit 
an annual report to the Public Utility Commission 
(PUC) regarding the identification of areas susceptible 
to severe weather damage, vegetation management, the 
inspection of distribution poles, and a summary of the 
utility’s emergency preparedness activities.

	 The PUC may require one electricity provider to 
sell electricity to another in order to meet customer 
demand in a disaster. If the PUC does not require a 
provider to sell electricity during a declared disaster, 
it must submit a report to the Legislature on why it 
did not. The PUC must complete a study by June 1, 
2010, to determine areas of the state most likely to 
experience a natural disaster or other emergency, the 
ability of electricity providers in those areas to provide 
electricity during an emergency, and any steps needed 
to strengthen the reliability of electric service during a 
disaster or emergency.

	 School safety and emergency operations 
planning. Public junior college districts and general 
academic teaching institutions must join school districts 
in implementing multihazard emergency operations 
plans. Both school and public junior college districts 
must conduct a facility safety and security audit every 
three years. Each school district is required to establish a 
safety and security committee to develop and implement 
emergency plans and provide information for a safety 
and security audit.

	 The Texas School Safety Center must develop a 
model safety and security audit procedure for public 
junior college districts, establish a registry of individuals 
who provide school safety or security consulting 
services in the state, encourage school districts to enter 
mutual aid agreements for safety and security issues, 
and research best practices for public junior college 
emergency preparedness. The center must issue a 
biennial school safety and security report.

	 University of Houston Hurricane Center for 
Innovative Technology. HB 1831 establishes a 
Hurricane Center for Innovative Technology at the 
University of Houston to promote interdisciplinary 
research, education, and training on wind and structural 
damage mitigation and disaster recovery.

	 Temporary insurance signage. Licensed insurance 
agents may display temporary claims service signage 
that is not more than five feet tall and 40 square feet in 
total size in a county within or adjacent to a declared 
disaster area, regardless of a municipality’s on-premise 
outdoor signage regulations. The signage may not be 
displayed in the right of way and must be removed 
after the earlier of 30 days or the end of the disaster 
declaration.

	 2-1-1. State-licensed nursing, convalescent, and 
assisted-living facilities must register with the 2-1-1 
Texas Information and Referral Network, help the state 
identify people who would need assistance during an 
evacuation, and notify each resident’s next of kin or 
guardian about how to register for evacuation assistance 
with the 2-1-1 service.

	 Post-disaster evaluation. The GDEM may request 
that an agency or political subdivision evaluate its 
response to a disaster and, within 90 days, submit a 
report identifying areas for improvement. 

	 Other issues. HB 1831 includes circumstances 
of extreme heat in the definition of a disaster for the 
purposes of emergency management. The GDEM must 
create and publicize uniform guidelines for acceptable 
home repairs following disasters and report on the 
implementation of medical special needs plans during 
Hurricane Ike.

	 A person who holds a license, certificate, permit, 
or other documented evidence of qualification and 
who acts at the request of a state agency during an 
emergency is considered to be licensed, certified, 
permitted, or otherwise qualified to act in the city or 
county in which the service is provided.
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	 Hospitals providing outpatient dialysis services 
due to a federal- or state-declared disaster are exempt 
from state end-stage renal disease facility licensing 
requirements.

	 Law enforcement vehicles leased by a federal 
government entity are considered authorized emergency 
vehicles. Private vehicles owned or leased by police 
officers and approved for law enforcement uses and 
vehicles used by peace officers that are owned or leased 
by certain other entities are considered police vehicles. 
A police officer’s vehicle must bear a law enforcement 
agency’s insignia regardless of whether the vehicle 
displays an emergency light.

	 When building or renovating certain government 
facilities, the state or local government entity owning 
the facility must evaluate whether a combined heating 
and power system would result in energy savings that 
exceed the cost of the system over a 20-year period and, 
if so, may equip the facility with such a system.

	 HB 1831 establishes a two-year public health 
extension service pilot program in a group of South 
Texas counties to support local health and medical 
infrastructure and promote disease control and medical 
preparedness.

	 Prepaid wireless telecommunications retailers must 
charge a 2 percent prepaid wireless 9-1-1 emergency 
services fee and remit the collected fees to the state 
comptroller.

Supporters said
	 HB 1831 would help ensure that the state was 
better prepared for future disasters by updating poorly 
worded or outdated provisions of the state’s emergency 
management statutes and providing a comprehensive 
approach to state emergency management. The bill 
would address many subjects where improvement was 
needed following Hurricane Ike and would help ensure 
a more effective distribution of resources among areas 
in critical need.

Opponents said
	 This bill would duplicate current efforts in 
many areas. The GDEM already does a good job of 
coordinating among hospitals and housing entities, 
and the PUC already requires reporting by the utilities 
it oversees. There also are national guidelines for 
vegetation management by utilities, assessment of the 

susceptibility of utility infrastructure, and infrastructure 
improvement processes.

Notes
	 The HRO analysis of HB 1831 appeared in the 
April 23 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 12 by Carona, with many of the same provisions 
as HB 1831, passed the Senate, but died in the House.

	 HB 1861 by Eiland, continuing the operation of the 
judiciary during a disaster, was enacted and took effect 
June 19, 2009.

	 HB 4068 by Gonzales, continuing the operation of 
the judiciary during a declared disaster, was enacted, but 
vetoed by the governor.

The following bills contained provisions that are 
included in HB 1831:

	 HB 1695 by S. Turner, requiring electric utilities to 
create hurricane damage mitigation plans, passed the 
House, but died in the Senate.

	 SB 936 by Carona, establishing a communications 
coordination group for emergencies, passed the Senate, 
but died in the House.

	 SB 111 by Carona, allowing the governor to suspend 
the unemployment compensation waiting period during 
a federally declared disaster, passed the Senate, but died 
in the House.

	 HB 1948 by Rios Ybarra, establishing a public 
health extension service pilot program, died in the 
House.

	 SB 1587 by Van de Putte and HB 3359 by 
McClendon, requiring collection of a prepaid wireless 
9-1-1 emergency services fee, each died in the House.

	 SB 2323 by Carona, requiring the establishment of 
school safety and security committees and requiring 
institutions of higher education to develop multihazard 
emergency operations plans, passed the Senate, but died 
in the House.

	 HB 708 by Rose, establishing the University of 
Houston Hurricane Center for Innovative Technology, 
passed the House, but died in the Senate.
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HB 1976 by Solomons
Died in Senate

Procedures for operating property owners’ associations

	 HB 1976, as passed by the House, would have 
amended several sections of the Property Code, 
particularly Property Code, ch. 209 (Texas Residential 
Property Owners Protection Act) to:

allow property owners to bring suit against •	
a property owners’ association (POA) for 
violation of any of its rules;
change procedures on assessing fines and allow •	
alternative payment schedules;
require a hearing before a judge before any POA •	
foreclosure of a property owner’s homestead;
require public notice of POA board meetings •	
and require that the sessions be open to all 
property owners;
grant a right of all property owners to have •	
access to POA records, including restrictions, 
bylaws, rules, and regulations, and to obtain a 
resale certificate;
change voting procedures and requirements;•	
impose deadlines on POAs to respond to record •	
inspection requests by property owners;
require a detailed list for closings of fees •	
associated with transfer of ownership of the 
property, including a requirement that a fee for a 
resale certificate could not be required until the 
certificate was available for delivery;
limit a POA’s ability to enter onto a •	
homeowner’s property to inspect or remedy an 
alleged violation of deed restrictions; and
void various restrictions on parking personal •	
vehicles, solar energy devices, and ownership of 
multiple properties within the association.

	 Legal action against property owners’ 
associations. HB 1976 would have allowed a property 
owner to bring a lawsuit alleging that a POA had 
violated, was violating, or was threatening to violate 
Property Code provisions on operations of POAs. The 
property owner in the association would have been 
allowed to seek:

injunctive relief;•	
the greater amount of either actual damages or •	
$1,500; or
both injunctive relief and damages.•	

	 HB 1976 would have set limits on legal action by 
prohibiting any lawsuit against a POA officer or board 
member individually and would have allowed a court to 
award damages to a POA of the greater of three times 
actual damages or $4,500 for actions the court had 
determined to be frivolous or groundless.

	 Assessing fines and alternative payment 
schedules. HB 1976 would have required changes in the 
process for notification of alleged violations and would 
have required a reasonable period of at least 30 days to 
cure any violation. A POA could have filed a lawsuit in 
a justice of the peace or small claims court if the POA 
and a property owner failed to resolve a dispute. If the 
POA had not filed suit by a 180-day deadline, its claim 
to collect the fine would have been considered to be 
waived.

	 Other provisions would have required that a fine 
be reasonable in relation to the nature and frequency 
of a violation and that the POA establish a reasonable 
maximum fine for a continuing violation. A POA could 
have assessed a fine against a non-owner occupant of 
a property, but it could not have assessed a fine against 
both the owner and non-owner occupant. The bill also 
would have allowed mixed-use master associations that 
existed before January 1, 1974, that lacked authority 
to assess fines to seek civil damages in courts for up to 
$200 per day of a violation.

	 HB 1976 also would have:

allowed for a payment plan to pay special •	
assessments or other charges;
created a priority for payments received by a •	
POA that would have prevented diversion of 
assessment payments to satisfy outstanding 
fines and penalties; and 
established a 10-year statute of limitations for •	
a POA to file suit or otherwise begin collection 
actions authorized by the dedicatory instrument 
or other law. 

	 HB 1976 also would have allowed a court to order 
payment of attorneys’ fees to the prevailing party in a 
lawsuit alleging a breach of a restrictive covenant or a 
statute pertaining to those restrictive covenants.
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	 Judicial review. A POA would have had to obtain 
a court order under an expedited foreclosure process 
before foreclosing on a lien against a property owner, 
unless the property owner waived the expedited 
foreclosure process. The Texas Supreme Court would 
have been required to adopt the rules of civil procedure 
for the expedited foreclosure procedure by January 1, 
2010.

	 Open meetings and open records requirements. 
HB 1976 would have defined what constituted “board 
meetings,” provided requirements on notice and the 
ability of property owners to attend the sessions, and 
provided exemptions to open meetings requirements. 
The bill also would have required access to a POA’s 
books and records, including financial records and 
invoices. The bill would have required a POA to 
respond to open record requests within 10 days and 
would have allowed civil penalties of up to $1,500 and 
court costs and attorneys’ fees for denial of access to 
POA records. 

	 Voting requirements. HB 1976 would have 
required a POA to provide notice of at least 30 days of 
any election or vote held by it. A POA would have had 
to contract with a third party such as a county judge, 
county elections administrator, justice of the peace, or 
county voter registrar to count votes, if a petition signed 
by 10 percent of the voting interests in a POA was 
submitted at least 15 days before the date voting began. 
Other provisions would have governed recount requests 
and procedures. 

	 The bill would have required that any vote cast 
would have had to be in writing and signed. Other 
provisions would have prohibited any dedicatory 
instruments that disqualified a property owner from 
voting and would have prohibited proxy voting. The bill 
would have added provisions for the removal of a board 
member upon conviction of certain crimes and would 
have allowed an owner to cast a vote at a meeting in 
person, by absentee ballot, or by electronic ballot.

	 The bill would have allowed for removal of a 
provision in a dedicatory document granting the right 
to foreclose on a lien by a vote of 51 percent of the 
votes allocated to property owners. A positive vote of 
67 percent would have been required to make capital 
improvements.

	 Resale certificates. HB 1976 would have required 
a seller of a property in a POA to deliver promptly a 
current resale certificate to a purchaser upon demand. 

The POA could not have processed payment for a resale 
certificate until it was available for delivery.

Supporters said
	
	 HB 1976 represents a balanced compromise that 
would provide transparency and accountability for 
the operations of POAs without affecting unduly their 
ability to perform the managerial functions needed to 
protect the property values of their members. Increasing 
numbers of Texans live in POA neighborhoods. Many 
of these entities are larger than small- and medium-
sized municipalities and have the power to foreclose on 
residential homestead property. However, the state lacks 
the level of oversight for POAs that it has over general 
law cities. The bill would culminate debate that has 
lasted for eight legislative sessions and would provide 
comprehensive reform.

	 Legal actions against property owners 
associations. HB 1976 would provide another level 
of accountability for POAs by allowing lawsuits by 
property owners should an association violate the 
deed restrictions or ignore the provisions of state law, 
including the other consumer protection provisions that 
would be added by the bill. The property owner would 
be able to seek legal redress in a justice of the peace 
court, which would not necessarily require hiring an 
attorney, and could collect monetary penalties from the 
association.

	 Assessing fines and alternative payment 
schedules. HB 1976 would provide a fair compromise 
and resolution of the concerns that POAs might act too 
quickly to foreclose to collect on liens for relatively 
small amounts. The extension of the statute of 
limitations to 10 years would allow POAs, particularly 
those with healthy cash flows, to be patient in collecting 
delinquent assessments and fines and to wait to receive 
the money if the house in question was sold. 

	 HB 1976 would provide protection for homeowners 
by defining a priority of payment to ensure that money 
paid for dues would be credited properly. Current law 
prohibits POAs from foreclosing on a home for failure 
to pay fines or attorneys’ fees, but many associations 
will redirect a homeowner’s association dues to pay 
other outstanding fees and fines, leaving their dues in 
arrears. The use of this kind of bookkeeping trick allows 
POAs to foreclose on homeowners who have made 
good-faith efforts to stay current with their obligations. 



House Research Organization Page 101

	 Judicial review of foreclosures. HB 1976 would 
address a major complaint — that POAs possess the 
ability to foreclose without a judicial process. The bill 
would require all such actions to be decided through 
the court system, where due process protections are 
afforded to both the property owner and the POA.

	 Open meetings, open records, and voting 
requirements. HB 1976 would help end the situation 
where the unique design of property owners’ 
associations have made some associations, but 
not others, subject to provisions in Texas law that 
allow property owner access to open records, open 
meetings, and association election voting. Operational 
transparency is a necessary part of federal, state, and 
local government, and no POA should be exempted 
from it. While some POAs currently are structured 
in such a way as to make their records and meetings 
available to all members, other associations structure 
themselves in a way that intentionally avoids this 
transparency. These differences should be eliminated.

	 Resale certificates. HB 1976 would help ensure 
prompt delivery of a resale certificate, as a POA only 
could collect payment on delivery.

Opponents said

	 HB 1976 would not address the fundamental 
flaw of POAs — the concept of a private government. 
Without the checks and balances of a true 
government and without a separation of powers, 
POAs enable unregulated third party vendors, such 
as management companies and attorneys, to profit by 
asserting violations and collecting fines in a private 
judicial system. 

	 Legal actions against property owners 
associations. Requiring a 30-day notice prior to filing 
suit potentially could raise the legal fees charged by a 
POA to review and respond to a possible legal action. 
A POA should not be allowed to impose its attorneys’ 
fees upon the homeowner, but should bear the cost of its 
own attorneys’ fees, as do the homeowners. Also, in the 
event that the property management company complied 
with the request without the lawsuit, there should be 
some provision for payment of the homeowner for the 
cost of providing notice and other incidental expenses.
 
	 The bill should allow for recovery against the 
members of the POA’s board or officers of the 
management company if they failed to perform 

their fiduciary duties. These entities should be held 
accountable and not exempted from all culpability if 
they failed to perform their duties.

	 Assessing fines and alternative payment 
schedules. Enactment of HB 1976 explicitly would 
delegate fining authority to private organizations and 
would legitimize a source of much abuse by POAs. 
Texas should follow the example of Rhode Island 
and Virginia, which have declared fines by POAs 
unconstitutional.

	 Not only would HB 1976 make the statute of 
limitations for purported POA debt longer than the 
statute of limitations for any other type of debt, but it 
also would make it the equivalent of some criminal 
offenses as well. Additionally, this provision would 
require homeowners to maintain payment records for 
at least 10 years, which is longer than what is required 
by the IRS and longer than the period HB 1976 would 
require a POA to keep its financial records.

	 Judicial review of foreclosures. HB 1976 would 
provide some safeguards, but it would not address the 
basic flaw of allowing a private entity to foreclose on 
residential homesteads. If the objective is to mandate 
payment of assessments, there are alternatives that 
would be less expensive and would not require a 
homeowner to forfeit an asset worth hundreds of 
thousands of dollars for an original debt of only a 
few hundred dollars. 

	 Open meetings, open records, and voting 
requirements. Compliance with open meetings and 
open records standards could be costly and burdensome 
for POAs, especially those run by volunteers rather than 
by management companies. Even a smaller association 
holds dozens of committee meetings each month, and it 
would be unwieldy to provide notice and keep records 
for all these meetings. Complying with the requirements 
on open meetings and open records could expose board 
members to possible criminal and civil penalties. All 
associations would be forced to retain attorneys at 
meetings to help comply with the standards, and those 
costs would have to be absorbed by property owners 
through assessments. 

	 Resale certificates. The Legislature should mandate 
a strict deadline on producing resale certificates. Delays 
in providing these documents could cause problems in 
closing real estate sales. Most of the information would 
be readily available. The Legislature should establish 
a clearer dollar limit for providing these documents 
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other than just a “reasonable fee.” The bill also should 
expressly prohibit POAs from charging “transfer fees” 
based on percentage of the sales price. 

Notes 

	 HB 1976 passed the House on May 15 and was 
reported favorably, as substituted, by the Senate 
Intergovernmental Relations Committee on May 23, but 
no further action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1976 appeared in 
Part Five of the May 9 Daily Floor Report. The HRO 
analysis of HJR 76 by Solomons, a constitutional 
amendment that would have allowed POAs to assess 
liens, and HB 1977 by Solomons, the enabling 
legislation, appeared in Part One and Part Four, 
respectively, of the May 11 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 2559 by Truitt
Effective September 1, 2009

Employees Retirement System benefit and retirement eligibility

	 HB 2559 makes various revisions to the Employees 
Retirement System (ERS), including increasing the 
contribution rate for state employees, establishing 
different retirement procedures and benefit calculations 
for non-members of ERS hired on or after September 
1, 2009, and restricting those employees who retire and 
subsequently return to state employment.

	 Higher employee contribution. The bill increases 
the member contribution rate to a maximum of 6.5 
percent of compensation if the member is not a member 
of the Legislature, an increase from 6 percent. If the 
state contribution rate is less than 6.5 percent, the 
member contribution rate will match that of the state’s, 
but the state’s rate may not be less than 6 percent. An 
additional 0.5 percent will be deducted from a law 
enforcement or custodial officer’s payroll for deposit in 
a supplemental retirement fund, with a lower percentage 
deducted if the state’s contribution rate is lower.  

	 New employee retirement and benefit limitations.  
HB 2559 establishes different retirement procedures 
and benefit calculations for persons who are not ERS 
members when they are hired by the state on or after 
September 1, 2009. These new employees may use 
sick and annual leave credits only for the calculation 
of the member’s or beneficiary’s annuity, not to satisfy 
service requirements for retirement, which is restricted 
to individuals who were ERS members on or before 
August 31, 2009. The same restriction will be applied to 
death benefit beneficiaries, who may use the deceased 
member’s sick leave credit to qualify for making a death 
benefit plan selection. 

	 New employees also will have different retirement 
eligibility criteria than those who were members before 
September 1, 2009. Those employees will be eligible to 
retire when the member is at least 65 years old (instead 
of 60) and has at least 10 years (instead of five) of 
service credit in the employee class or meets the current 
rule of 80 (service credit plus age equals 80 or more). 

	 New employees will have a different computation 
for their standard service retirement annuity than 
current employees. Those employees’ annuities will 
be calculated using the member’s average monthly 
compensation for service in that class for the 48 highest 
months of compensation (rather than the highest 36 

months). The annuity will be reduced by 5 percent for 
each year the member retires before reaching age 60, 
with a maximum possible reduction of 25 percent. 

	 A law enforcement or custodial officer hired on 
or after September 1, 2009, who has at least 20 years 
of service credit will be eligible to retire and receive 
a retirement annuity in an amount computed using 
the member’s average monthly compensation for 
the 48 highest months of compensation. The annuity 
will be based on retirement at either the age of 55 or 
the rule of 80. The annuity of a law enforcement or 
custodial officer who retires before reaching age 55 
will be reduced by 5 percent for each year the member 
retires before the member reaches age 55, with a 
maximum possible reduction of 25 percent. The annuity 
payable for at least 20 years of service credit as a law 
enforcement or custodial officer may not exceed 100 
percent of the average compensation. Law enforcement 
and custodial officers retiring before the age of 60 will 
no longer have their retirement annuity recalculated 
when they reach the age 60.

	 Return to work after retirement limitations. An 
ERS member who retires on or after May 31, 2009, may 
not return to work for the state before a 90-day waiting 
period. For an ERS retiree who retires on or after 
September 1, 2009, and is rehired by the state, the hiring 
entity must pay into ERS the state contribution that the 
entity would pay for an ERS active member. 

	 Other provisions. After four years, unclaimed 
death beneficiary benefits will be deposited in the state 
accumulation account for ERS. Unclaimed contributions 
made by former members of ERS will be deposited 
into the system fund if the retirement system has not 
received a request for a refund before the seventh 
anniversary of the member’s last day of service and if 
the member or the member’s heirs cannot be found. 

	 The bill adds the option that after a retiree’s 
death, three-fourths of the reduced annuity is payable 
throughout the lifetime of the beneficiary. At the time a 
service or death benefit becomes payable, the retirement 
system will refund any contributions, interest, or 
membership fees used to establish service credit that is 
not used in the computation of the annuity.

Table 
of Contents



Page 104 House Research Organization

	 A member otherwise eligible to receive a disability 
retirement annuity may not receive the annuity if 
the member is still earning a salary or wage from 
the employment for which the member is claiming 
disability or is on leave from that employment. A 
member is incapacitated for the further performance of 
duty if the member has demonstrably sought and been 
denied workplace accommodation of the disability and 
is physically or mentally unable to hold the position 
occupied or another position offering comparable pay. 

	 In awarding contracts to private professional 
investment managers or otherwise acquiring private 
financial services, the ERS board of trustees must make 
a good faith effort to award contracts to or acquire 
services from qualified emerging fund managers. 
Emerging fund manager means a private professional 
investment manager that manages assets of not more 
than $2 billion. ERS will report the methods and results 
of the system’s efforts to hire emerging fund managers, 
including data disaggregated by race, ethnicity, gender, 
and fund size.
	
	 For members of the Judicial Retirement System 
Plan II, the bill repeals the cap on maximum retirement 
benefits of 80 percent of salary, allowing a maximum 
benefit of 90 percent.

	 HB 2559 also allows surviving spouses and 
dependents to enroll in group health plans upon the 
death of a member, clarifies ERS subpoena power, 
mandates all court proceedings involving ERS to take 
place in Travis County, and places a two-year statute 
of limitations on any claims against ERS or a trustee, 
officer, or employee of the system. The bill exempts 
ERS records from public disclosure, except to a survivor 
or survivor designee, and indemnifies ERS against any 
unauthorized access to information after its release 
to the a survivor or survivor designee. Counterclaims 
cannot be filed against ERS related to any interpleader 
action taken by the system.

Supporters said

	 HB 2559 would help put the ERS retirement 
fund back on track toward actuarial soundness. The 
change in the contribution rate along with some benefit 
adjustments for new hires would address a persistent 
gap between the combined contributions and the annual 
cost of the benefits being paid. Similar changes were 
made in 2005 to the Teacher Retirement System of 
Texas that improved the fiscal condition of the fund, 
enabling it to pay a 13th check to retirees last year. 

	 While the bill would change the benefits for future 
employees, these changes would protect the benefits of 
current members and retirees. Without such changes, the 
actuarial condition of the ERS fund would continue to 
deteriorate, and there would be little chance that current 
or future retirees ever would be able to receive any type 
of post-retirement benefit enhancement.

	 The employee contribution rate for ERS would be 
tied to the state contribution rate. Employees currently 
contribute 6 percent, and the state has been contributing 
6.45 percent since 2005. Employees would contribute 
more than 6 percent only if the state contributed at a 
higher rate, up to 6.5 percent. 

	 The bill also would address a number of ERS issues 
within the Government and Insurance codes to promote 
delivery of high-quality benefits at the lowest practical 
cost and would clean up redundant or outdated law.

Opponents said

	 HB 2559 would amount to a pay cut for employees 
since employee contributions would increase and most 
employees do not receive pay raises in the fiscal 2010-
11 budget. The state has long contributed too little to 
ERS while asking more of employees. Reduced state 
ERS contributions in the 1990s largely are responsible 
for the fund’s current state. The burden of taking steps to 
improve the fund’s actuarial soundness has been borne 
disproportionately by state employees and retirees. 

	 It is not good policy to make ERS a two-tiered 
retirement system, with newer employees receiving 
lower benefits and being penalized for retiring before 
age 60. State government jobs do not pay private sector 
wages, but the pension system and health care benefits 
provide offsetting incentives to work for the state. 
Reducing the quality and changing eligibility standards 
for benefits would compromise the incentive, which 
could reduce the number and quality of people seeking 
state employment. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2559 appeared in Part 
One of the May 8 Daily Floor Report. The provisions 
concerning employee contributions, return to work 
restrictions, and differing retirement procedures and 
benefit calculations for newer employees were added 
when the House concurred with Senate amendments. 
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HJR 14 by Corte
On November 3, 2009, ballot

Revising purposes for which property may be taken

	 HJR 14, if approved by the voters, would amend 
Texas Constitution, Art. 1, sec. 17 to restrict the taking 
of property to instances in which the taking, damage, 
or destruction was primarily for ownership, use, and 
enjoyment by the state or the public at large or by an 
entity given the authority of eminent domain under the 
law. Authorized uses of eminent domain would include 
the elimination of urban blight on a particular parcel. 
Public use would not include the taking of property for 
transfer to a private entity for the primary purpose of 
economic development or enhancement of tax revenues.

	 On or after January 1, 2010, the Legislature could 
enact a general, local, or special law granting the power 
of eminent domain to an entity only by a two-thirds vote 
of all the members elected to each house.

Supporters said

	 HJR 14 would add key protections against abuses 
of the power of eminent domain by defining in the 
Constitution the legitimate purposes for which property 
may be taken. Current language in the Constitution 
governing eminent domain is very broad, stating that 
no person’s property should be taken for a public use 
without adequate compensation. The existing language 
does not specify what constitutes a legitimate “public 
use.” 

	 In enacting SB 7 in 2005, the Legislature took an 
important step in reforming eminent domain law and 
practices in the state by prohibiting the taking of private 
property primarily for economic development purposes 
or to confer a private benefit on a private entity. SB 7 
was enacted in response to the U.S. Supreme Court’s 
2005 decision in Kelo v. City of New London, 545 U.S. 
469, which broadly allowed use of eminent domain for 
economic development purposes, but also permitted 
states to restrict that authority. However, SB 7 left 
open a number of issues, including establishing a new 
constitutional framework to restrict the use of eminent 
domain to clearly public purposes. 

	 A constitutional amendment would have both 
practical and symbolic value in protecting private 
property — practical value in placing clear restrictions 
on the use of eminent domain and symbolic value in 

sending a strong message from the Legislature and 
voters that eminent domain must be used for very 
limited purposes only when absolutely necessary. A 
further restriction would require the Legislature to 
approve any new grant of eminent domain authority by 
a two-thirds vote of the membership of each chamber.

	 The requirement that any taking of private property 
be solely for “ownership, use, and enjoyment” of the 
state or local government or the public as a whole 
would convey a common concept found in federal and 
other laws. The language would require a condemning 
authority to keep the property in its ownership, occupy 
the property, and use the property for some productive 
purpose. It would prohibit a public entity from taking 
property and then, in effect, transferring the rights to 
that property to a private entity by allowing it to own, 
occupy, and profit from the property. Further, it would 
prohibit acquiring property through eminent domain 
with no clear plans to put the property to a pressing use. 

	 No private property should be taken without 
a compelling reason and plan for its use. HJR 14 
would place this intent in the Constitution in general 
terms that would prevent many abuses, but would not 
affect legitimate takings. According to the Legislative 
Budget Board, this constitutional change would not 
have a significant fiscal impact on the state or on 
local governments. HJR 14 also would apply to the 
wide range of parties authorized by law to exercise 
eminent domain authority and subject them to the same 
requirements as public entities. Secondary uses of taken 
property, such as leasing space in an airport or hospital, 
would be allowed. 

	 HJR 14 would protect property owners from 
such misuses of eminent domain authority as taking 
a property on the ground that it is blighted, then 
transferring the property to another private interest 
in the name of economic redevelopment. The 
amendment would resolve a problem with eminent 
domain power not addressed by existing law, which 
allows municipalities to condemn and clear whole 
neighborhoods at a time as long as 50 percent of the 
affected properties are determined to be blighted. This 
allows municipalities to take the properties of honest, 
hardworking residents and business people merely due 
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to hazards that may exist in part of their neighborhood, 
which subverts individual property rights for an ill-
defined notion of a common good. 

	 Under HJR 14, property owners no longer would be 
subjected to condemnation due to overall neighborhood 
conditions because each parcel would have to be 
reviewed independently and determined to be blighted. 
Protecting property rights of established owners who 
have been able to maintain their properties in distressed 
areas would allow those owners actively to partake in 
the revitalization of their own communities.

Opponents said

	 HJR 14 could have unintended consequences by 
introducing language into the Constitution that courts 
ruling on eminent domain cases could interpret in 
varying ways. The proposed constitutional amendment 
could create a grey area around the legitimate uses of 
eminent domain and be an invitation for future litigation 
that would be costly for the state and local governments. 
If a court found that the new language prohibited 
certain uses of eminent domain that previously had been 
considered legitimate, the new interpretation would be 
difficult to change. For instance, the amendment would 
not apply to “incidental uses” nor allow the “transfer” of 
property to a private entity for the “primary purpose of 
economic development.” The lack of definition for these 
key terms would allow courts to assume a significant 
role in determining how the amendment would apply in 
practice. 

	 The Constitution is not the proper forum for testing 
new legal terms and provisions concerning eminent 
domain that may have uncertain implications. If the 
courts interpret these constitutional changes in an 
unforeseen manner, they would be very difficult to 
change or clarify. It would be more appropriate to test 
these new laws in statutory form first before locking 
them into the Constitution.

	 HJR 14 would erode a municipality’s ability to 
designate a blighted area and use its eminent domain 
authority to promote urban renewal, which is important 
for long-term urban vitality. Municipal governments 
use their power of eminent domain to clear blighted 
areas for urban renewal as an absolute last resort. Such 
actions require expensive and long-term relocations, 
court proceedings, demolitions, and planning efforts. 
Municipalities seldom try to use their eminent domain 
authority under the blight provisions unless they are 

left with no other options to correct rampant health and 
safety concerns that affect the quality of life of everyone 
living in the neighborhood. 

	 Under HJR 14, municipalities would have to make 
a blight determination on each property individually. 
Blighted areas often are poorly platted and un-surveyed 
and contain unconventionally shaped lots that lack 
proper documentation. Property owners in blighted 
areas can be difficult to locate, and no allowance would 
be made for owners who had vacated, abandoned, or 
otherwise neglected property for long periods. This 
would limit a municipality’s ability to address structural 
safety hazards, inadequate infrastructure, and limited 
commercial opportunities. Removing an important and 
longstanding tool available to cities would diminish 
their ability to improve the quality of life of residents 
who need the most assistance. 

Other opponents said

	 HJR 14 could increase the number of entities that 
could be granted authority to use eminent domain, 
contrary to the general intent of the amendment to 
limit use of this authority. A provision that would allow 
the Legislature to enact a law granting the power of 
eminent domain to an “entity” by a two-thirds vote of 
each house could provide the necessary legal basis for 
expanding the types of entities given this power. The 
amendment does not specify the types of “entities” that 
could be granted eminent domain authority, which could 
range from local governments to private corporations or 
utilities. This broad language could allow a wide range 
of entities to seek the power of eminent domain from 
the Legislature. The two-thirds vote requirement is not 
sufficient to prevent future misuse of any expanded 
eminent domain power. 

Notes 

	 HJR 14 was amended late in the regular session 
to add another proposed constitutional amendment 
that would convert the corpus of the permanent 
Higher Education Fund into a new National Research 
University Fund. That provision is discussed under HB 
51 by Branch starting on page 158. 

	 The HRO analysis of HJR 14 appeared in Part 
One of the May 11 Daily Floor Report. 
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HJR 29 by Elkins
Died in Senate

Allowing the Legislature to override a veto after sine die adjournment

	 HJR 29 would have amended the Texas 
Constitution to require the lieutenant governor and 
the speaker of the House to convene the Legislature 
after the 20-day post-session deadline for the governor 
to file veto proclamations if a majority of either 
house requested a session to reconsider vetoed bills. 
The requests would have had to have been filed by 
House members with the chief clerk or by senators 
with the secretary of the Senate within five days of 
the governor’s deadline for vetoes. The period for 
reconsidering vetoed bills would have begun at 10 
a.m. on the second Tuesday after the veto deadline and 
could not have lasted more than three days. Unless 
the Legislature had been called into special session by 
the governor, it could not have considered any subject 
except vetoes of bills or appropriations line items that 
the governor had returned within three days before or 
any time after sine die adjournment of a session. 

Supporters said

	 HJR 29 would give the Legislature an opportunity 
to decide whether it should exercise its authority under 
the Constitution to reconsider legislation vetoed by the 
governor following sine die adjournment of the session 
in which the legislation was enacted. It would provide 
a usable trigger mechanism for deciding whether 
members want to return to Austin to try to override a 
veto. Rather than require a meeting of the Legislature 
on the Tuesday after the veto deadline, the proposal 
would allow a majority of members of either chamber 
to request the session. Currently, the Texas Constitution 
requires the governor to sign or forward a veto with 
objections to the house that originated the bill within 10 
days while the Legislature is in session. For bills sent 
to the governor during the final 10 days, not counting 
Sundays, the governor has 20 days after adjournment to 
veto a bill or a line appropriation in the appropriations 
bill, leaving the Legislature with no opportunity to 
override the veto. 

	 Texas is one of 17 states that allow only the 
governor to call a special session, while the remaining 
33 states permit either the governor or the legislature 
to call a special or extraordinary session, which may 
include review of vetoed items. As such, the governor 

can kill measures approved by both chambers secure 
in the knowledge that the Legislature is powerless to 
challenge this decision. Providing this option to the 
Legislature would restore the authority to enact laws 
to the people’s representatives, where it belongs, and 
would reinforce constitutional checks and balances. 
It makes little sense for the Legislature to have 
the authority to override vetoes if it rarely has the 
opportunity to exercise that authority. 
 
	 Rather than addressing contemporary debates 
between the governor and the Legislature, the proposed 
constitutional amendment would deal with general 
issues of accountability and balance of power. Existing 
constitutional requirements would remain unchanged, 
and overriding a veto still would be extremely difficult. 
The governor would retain the power to veto legislation, 
and the vote necessary to override a veto would remain 
a two-thirds majority in both chambers. The call for 
the brief session would be limited to overriding vetoes, 
unless the governor also had called a special session.

	 The Legislature must consider a large volume of 
complex legislation each session, and it often is difficult 
to reach agreement until the very end of the session. As 
a result, much of the legislation is enacted so late in the 
session that the governor can wait nearly three weeks 
after the session ends before deciding to veto legislation, 
too late for the Legislature to attempt to override 
the veto. HJR 29 effectively would give lawmakers 
additional time to complete that challenging task. Just as 
legislators could reach compromises and build alliances 
to override vetoes, the governor also would have the 
opportunity to convince legislators not to override a 
veto. Bills that survive the winnowing of the legislative 
process — only to be vetoed — should not have to 
wait until the next regular session for consideration. 
The same members who passed the original legislation 
should have the opportunity to address the veto.

Opponents said

	 HJR 29 would weaken further the Office of the 
Governor of Texas, who constitutionally has limited 
authority. The ability to veto legislation after sine die 
adjournment and call special sessions are among the few 
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strong powers of the office. Quarrels between legislators 
and governors can be resolved without amending the 
Constitution. 

	 The Legislature could recapture its ability to 
respond to vetoes if it did not send almost all bills to the 
governor in the final 10 days of the session. The 81st 
Legislature sent 1,176 of 1,457 bills (80.7 percent) to 
the governor in the final 10 days (excluding Sundays) 
of the 2009 regular session. It sent 335 bills on June 
3 alone, two days after sine die, compared with 281 
forwarded to the governor during the session before 
May 20. If the Legislature believes that a bill may be 
vetoed and a sufficient majority wants the opportunity to 
override, then it should enact the bill early enough in the 
session to allow that vote to be taken.

Notes

	 HJR 29 was approved by the House by 131-16 on 
April 1 and was reported favorably, as substituted, by 
the Senate State Affairs Committee on May 14, but the 
Senate took no further action.

	 The HRO analysis of HJR 29 appeared in the 
April 1 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 2 by Hegar, First Called Session
Effective July 10, 2009

Extending and revising state agency Sunset dates

	 SB 2 extends until 2011 the following five agencies, 
which were set to be abolished in 2009: the Texas 
Department of Transportation (TxDOT); the Texas 
Department of Insurance (TDI); the Office of Public 
Insurance Counsel (OPIC); the Texas State Affordable 
Housing Corporation (TSAHC); and the Texas Racing 
Commission (TRC). The bill also extends from 2009 
to 2011 the Equine Research Account Advisory 
Committee, which was reviewed as part of the Racing 
Commission. SB 2 limits the Sunset review of these 
agencies to the appropriateness of recommendations 
made by the Sunset Advisory Commission to the 81st 
Legislature. 

	 SB 2 also revises the Sunset review schedule by 
changing the abolition date for several agencies. 

	 Agencies and reviews moved to 2011. SB 2 
moves forward from 2013 to 2011 the Sunset dates for 
following agencies: 

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality; •	
Texas Water Development Board; •	
State Soil and Water Conservation Board; •	
Railroad Commission; •	
Coastal Coordination Council; •	
On-site Wastewater Treatment Research •	
Council; 
State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language •	
Pathology and Audiology; and 
State Committee of Examiners in the Fitting and •	
Dispensing of Hearing Instruments. 

	 The Texas Forest Service was placed under the 
Sunset Act and given a Sunset date of September 1, 
2011.

	 SB 2 requires the Sunset Advisory Commission 
to conduct a special purpose review of the Electric 
Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) as part of its 
review of the Public Utility Commission (PUC) for the 
82nd Legislature. 

	 Agencies and reviews moved to 2013. SB 2 extends 
the Sunset date for the Texas Education Agency from 
2012 to 2013. 

	 The bill moves the Sunset dates for the following 
agencies from 2011 to 2013: 

Health and Human Services Commission; •	
Texas Health Services Authority; •	
Department of State Health Services; •	
Department of Family and Protective Services; •	
Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities; •	
Governor’s Committee on People with •	
Disabilities; 
Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative •	
Services; 
Department of Aging and Disability Services; •	
Texas Board of Criminal Justice and Texas •	
Department of Criminal Justice; 
Texas Lottery Commission;•	
Office of Firefighters’ Pension Commissioner; •	
and 
Texas Emancipation Juneteenth Cultural and •	
Historical Commission.

	 The bill moves the review date for the Texas Council 
on Purchasing from People with Disabilities from 2015 
to 2013.
	
	 The Sunset Advisory Commission’s scheduled 
evaluation of the tax division of the State Office of 
Administrative Hearings and of the transfer of state 
purchasing powers and duties to the comptroller was 
changed so that the commission will report on the two 
entities to the 83rd Legislature instead of the 82nd 
Legislature. A scheduled transfer of the purchasing 
powers and duties from the comptroller to the Texas 
Facilities Commission was moved from 2011 to 2013.

Supporters said

	 SB 2 would continue the five state agencies and one 
advisory committee that otherwise would have to begin 
winding down their operations on September 1, 2009. 
During the regular session, the bills reauthorizing these 
agencies were not enacted, and other attempts to extend 
the life of these agencies in other pieces of legislation 
also were unsuccessful, even though there was no 
intention to kill the agencies. 
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	 SB 2 would address this problem by continuing 
these vital agencies, but only for two years. SB 2 would 
ensure, by requiring only a limited-scope review of 
these agencies, that resources were not wasted nor 
efforts duplicated. It would be best for the Legislature 
to wait until 2011 to vet fully the agencies, rather than 
to try to consider full-fledged Sunset bills in a special 
session in which the call was limited to extending the 
agencies’ existence and did not include consideration of 
Sunset bills themselves.

	 A two-year extension for the Texas State Affordable 
Housing Corporation would be in line with the Sunset 
Advisory Commission’s recommendation that it be 
continued for a two-year probationary period and then 
re-evaluated in conjunction with the Sunset review 
of the Texas Department of Housing and Community 
Affairs in 2011. 

	 Each session, the Legislature traditionally alters 
the Sunset review schedule to bring similar agencies 
under review at the same time, to address special 
problems or concerns, or to adjust the Sunset Advisory 
Commission’s workload. SB 2 also would make these 
kinds of adjustments. 

Opponents said

	 Rather than just extending the current statutes for 
TxDOT, TDI, OPIC, TSAHC, and TRC for two years, 
the Legislature should consider individual Sunset 
bills for these agencies. Putting off revisions to these 
agencies would mean they will operate for another two 
years without the meaningful reform that some of them 
need. 

	 For example, during the regular session, at least one 
agency that would be extended by SB 2, the Texas State 
Affordable Housing Corporation, was being considered 
seriously for elimination. SB 2 would give TSAHC 
another two years to operate when it might be best to 
reform or abolish it now.

Notes

	 SB 2 was considered by the House in lieu of its 
companion bill, HB 2 by Isett. The HRO analysis of 
HB 2 appeared in the July 2 Daily Floor Report. 

	 During the regular session, the 81st Legislature 
considered, but did not adopt, a bill similar to HB 2. The 
conference committee report on HB 1959 by Isett would 
have extended the 2009 Sunset date for TxDOT to 2013, 
and the 2009 Sunset dates for TDI, OPIC, TSAHC, and 
TRC to 2011. HB 1959 died when the House did not 
vote on the conference committee report, which had 
been approved by the Senate. The conference committee 
report on HB 1959 also would have revised the Sunset 
review schedule by changing the abolition date for 
several agencies.  

	 HCR 291 by Pitts, a concurrent resolution making 
corrections to HB 4583 by Pitts, which eliminated 
certain dedicated funds, would have extended from 
2009 to 2011 the Sunset dates for TxDOT, TDI, OPIC, 
TSAHC, and TRC. HCR 291 was adopted by the 
House on June 1, the final day of the regular session, 
but died when the Senate did not act on the concurrent 
resolution.
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SB 18 by Estes
Died in the House

Standards for use of eminent domain authority

	 SB 18 would have modified processes and 
requirements governing eminent domain, standards 
of evidence considered by special commissioners 
in making decisions on damages, obligations of 
condemning entities, and the rights of previous owners 
to repurchase taken property.

	 The bill would have prohibited a government 
or private entity from taking land that was not for 
a public use. It would have prohibited a taking for 
economic development, unless it resulted in community 
development activities to eliminate blighted areas. A 
governmental entity would have had to authorize the 
initiation of condemnation proceedings at a public 
meeting by a record vote. The bill also would have 
established procedures for voting on specific properties 
and groups of properties. 

	 Bona fide offer. An entity with eminent domain 
authority that wished to acquire real property for a 
public use would have had to make a bona fide offer 
to acquire the property from the owner voluntarily. 
An entity with eminent domain authority would have 
made a bona fide offer if it conformed with specific 
requirements in the bill. If a court had determined that 
a condemning authority had not made a bona fide offer, 
the court would have had to order the condemning entity 
to pay costs authorized in law and reasonable attorney’s 
fees incurred by the property owner directly related to 
the failure to make a bona fide offer. 

	 Right of repurchase. An owner of property 
acquired through eminent domain could have 
repurchased the property if the public use for which 
the property had been acquired was canceled before 
the property was used for that purpose, if no “actual 
progress” had been made toward the public use by 10 
years after the taking, or if the property had become 
unnecessary for the public use for which it had been 
acquired. “Actual progress” would have been defined 
as meeting two or more of several conditions specified 
in the bill. Suits over the right of repurchase could have 
been settled in a district court. The repurchase price 
would have been the lower of the price paid to the 
owner by the entity at the time the entity acquired the 
property or the fair market value of the property at the 
time the public use was canceled.

	 Assessments and damages. In assessing damages 
to a property owner from condemnation, special 
commissioners would have had to admit evidence on 
whether the condemnation required relocation of a 
homestead or farm to another property that allowed the 
property owner, without incurring debt higher than the 
owner was subject to before the condemnation, to have 
a comparable standard of living or, if the land included a 
farm, to operate a comparable farm.  

	 Special commissioners, in assessing actual damages 
to a property owner from a condemnation, would have 
had to take into account a material impairment of direct 
access on or off the remaining property that affected 
its market value but could not have considered the 
directness of travel or diversion of traffic in common 
with the general community. Determinations of fair 
value of the state’s interest in access to a highway right-
of-way would have been the same as standards used 
by the Texas Transportation Commission in acquiring 
access rights under provisions on the acquisition of 
property and in payment of damages for impairment 
of access. Special commissioners hearing an eminent 
domain case could not have set a hearing to assess 
damages until 20 days after they had been appointed. 

	 Slum and blight revisions. SB 18 would have 
stricken references to “slums” from Local Government 
Code, chs. 373 and 374. For an area to be considered 
blighted, properties would have had to meet four of the 
conditions listed in the bill for at least one year after the 
date on which a municipality provided initial notice to 
the owner. 

	 A municipality could not have exercised powers 
granted under the Texas Urban Renewal Law unless 
its governing body had determined that each unit of 
property in an area met the definition of blight and 
the municipality provided a statement to this end 
as necessary. Before designating a blighted area, a 
municipality would have had to give written notice to 
the property owner at the property owner’s last known 
address, as well as the property’s address, and would 
have had to post notice on the property if the owner’s 
address were unavailable. A property could have been 
designated as blighted only if the owner had taken no 
reasonable measures to remedy the conditions and if the 
determination had not been solely for aesthetic reasons. 
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	 A blight designation would have been valid for two 
years and would have had to be re-designated at the end 
of that period. Contiguous properties owned by the same 
person could have been jointly designated. The bill also 
would have repealed sections authorizing a municipality 
to acquire and clear all buildings, structures, and 
other improvements for redevelopment and reuse in 
accordance with its urban renewal plan.

Supporters said 

	 SB 18 would make critical revisions to existing 
statutes regulating eminent domain to ensure that 
individual property rights were appropriately balanced 
against legitimate public needs. The bill would 
add fairness to state statutes governing the right of 
repurchase, restrict use of eminent domain on the basis 
of slum and blight conditions, and expand the range of 
damages that could be considered in eminent domain 
proceedings to ensure just compensation to property 
owners subject to condemnation.

	 Right of repurchase. SB 18 would provide for the 
repurchase of condemned property for the price paid 
by the acquiring entity. Permitting the repurchase price 
to be set at the original sale value, and not the current 
fair market value as now required in the Property 
Code, would enable property owners to reclaim equity 
for appreciating property to which they were entitled. 
The bill would not confer any special advantage on an 
individual because it would permit only the redress of a 
taking that was not justly executed. 

	 The bill would create a strong disincentive 
against the speculative exercise of eminent domain 
authority, including by schools, municipal and county 
governments, state agencies, pipelines, and utilities. 
Condemning authorities would be strongly discouraged 
from acquiring land through eminent domain for which 
there were no immediate plans. 

	 Slum and blight provisions. SB 18 would address 
a vulnerability created by eminent domain power that 
was left unaddressed by SB 7, the eminent domain 
reform bill enacted in 2005 — exceptions for areas 
designated as blighted or as slums. Existing statutory 
definitions of slum and blight are vague at best, leaving 
it to the judgment of municipal officials to decipher 
what constitutes hazardous conditions, greater welfare, 
and social and economic liabilities. The current statutory 
definition of blight would allow a taking in cases where 
a property’s defect was minor, such as deteriorating 

improvements, or was not caused by the property owner, 
such as inadequate infrastructure. A lack of safeguards 
for property owners in potentially blighted areas has 
given rise to a number of abusive and reckless eminent 
domain practices. 

	 SB 18 would balance legitimate municipal interests 
in using eminent domain to mitigate public safety 
hazards with the rights of property owners who live in 
areas with characteristics of blight. The bill would not 
prohibit a municipality from declaring a blighted area, 
exercising the power of eminent domain on properties 
within it, or taking other steps to adopt and support 
an urban renewal plan. Protecting property rights of 
established owners who have been able to maintain their 
properties in distressed areas would allow those owners 
to actively partake in the revitalization of their own 
communities. 

	 Damages and assessments. The bill would include 
relocation costs sufficient to return a property owner to 
a standard of living or operation comparable to what the 
owner had before condemnation and would allow for 
consideration of a material impairment of direct access 
to a property. Expanding the range of plausible damages 
is critical to ensuring just compensation for property 
owners subject to condemnation. 

	 Expanding the range of damages would help restore 
current imbalances in favor of condemning entities by 
both leading to more reasonable judgments in court and 
sending a message to condemning entities to consider 
the expanded range of damages in crafting their initial 
offers. Expanding legitimate damages would encourage 
condemning authorities to make fair offers upfront to 
avoid the possibility of paying a higher sum on appeal 
of the initial offer. 

Opponents said 

	 SB 18 would introduce more problems into eminent 
domain proceedings than it would resolve. The bill 
would significantly curtail municipalities’ ability to 
operate under the Texas Urban Renewal Law, introduce 
standards of admission for evidence that could be costly 
and indefinite, and create unfair methods for calculating 
the resale of land to condemned property owners. 

	 Right of repurchase. SB 18 would allow 
“double-recovery” for property owners who had 
undergone eminent domain proceedings and were 
eligible to repurchase their property. It would confer a 
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windfall upon property owners who already had been 
compensated justly for the original taking. An owner 
who was eligible to repurchase at the price originally 
paid could accrue all the equity from appreciation 
without having to pay property taxes, maintenance 
expenses, and other costs normally incurred as part of 
property ownership. 

	 The U.S. Constitution’s “takings clause” requires 
property owners to be justly compensated for any 
property transferred through eminent domain. Once this 
compensation is granted, the owner relinquishes any 
right to equity and other investments associated with the 
property. Allowing an individual to repurchase at the 
original price effectively could result in putting the state 
in a position of being used as an instrument of financial 
gain for that individual.

	 Slum and blight provisions. Urban renewal is 
a long-accepted government function and critical to 
the long-term health of municipalities. Municipal 
governments use their powers of eminent domain to 
clear blighted areas for urban renewal as an absolute last 
resort.  

	 SB 18 effectively would eliminate a municipality’s 
ability to designate a blighted area and use its eminent 
domain authority to promote urban renewal. The bill 
would increase the time and resources required to 
achieve designation as a blighted area to such an extent 
as to render such a task near impossible. The bill would 
curtail a municipality’s ability to address structural 
safety hazards, inadequate infrastructure, and limited 
commercial opportunities. 

	 Damages and assessments. SB 18 could impose 
unreasonable relocation costs on condemning authorities 
exercising eminent domain. The bill includes vague 
language about considering evidence on restoring a 
property owner to a standard of living comparable to 
that before the condemnation took place. It would be 
extremely difficult to determine what constitutes a 
comparable standard of living. A condemning entity 
would have limited means of bringing evidence to prove 
or disprove a claim regarding a comparable standard of 
living. Allowing an undefined variety of evidence could 
create greater inconsistencies in the hearing process and 
reduce the overall equitability of damage claims across 
the state. 

Other opponents said

	 SB 18 contains provisions on bona fide offers that 
would not provide adequate protections to property 
owners. Language in HB 2006, enacted by the 80th 
Legislature in 2007 and vetoed by the governor, would 
have broadly required a condemning authority to make a 
good faith offer. Language from that bill was permissive 
to allow the matter to be defined through court 
proceedings. SB 18 would provide specific conditions 
that, if met, would constitute a bona fide offer. The 
conditions in the bill are focused on small procedural 
matters and in large measure reflect current practices, 
which have proven decidedly to favor condemning 
entities over property owners. Bona fide offer provisions 
in the bill likely would compel condemning entities to 
minimally satisfy the provisions on paper but would 
not guarantee a more fair process for property owners. 
This bill also would provide meager penalties for 
condemning authorities found to have violated bona fide 
offer requirements. 

Notes 

	 SB 18 passed the Senate, but died on the May 22 
Major State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken.	

	 The HRO analysis of SB 18 appeared in Part One 
of the May 22 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 1002 by Deuell
Died in the House

Abolishing the Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation

	 SB 2 by Hegar, enacted during the first called 
session, continued the Texas State Affordable Housing 
Corporation (TSAHC) until September 1, 2011.

	 SB 1002 would have abolished TSAHC on 
January 1, 2010, and transferred its powers, duties, 
and assets to the Texas Department of Housing and 
Community Affairs (TDHCA). All TSAHC policies and 
procedures would have been continued as policies and 
procedures of TDHCA. TDHCA would have been able 
to adopt any rules it felt would improve the efficiency 
or effectiveness of any program. All TSAHC-owned 
property, bond revenue, loan records, and pending 
applications also would have been transferred to 
TDHCA. Any contract or acquisition made, proceeding 
begun, grant or loan awarded, or obligation incurred by 
TSAHC would have remained in effect.

Supporters said

	 SB 1002 would help improve the administration of 
the state’s low-income single- and multi-family housing 
programs and increase state government efficiency. The 
Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation has not 
fulfilled its unique role as a non-profit housing entity 
in a meaningful way. The corporation’s tax-exempt 
status allows it to raise private funds and market its 
programs, but the corporation did not begin active 
fundraising efforts until 2006 and has raised just 
$45,000 in private donations. Since 2002, TSAHC has 
issued only eight loans to housing developers leveraged 
from funds awarded by financial institutions. Many 
of TSAHC’s programs are duplicated by the Texas 
Department of Housing and Community Affairs, such 
as issuing low-income housing bonds and performing 
compliance site visits, and SB 1002 would consolidate 
the administration of those programs.

	 SB 1002 also would provide for a reasonable 
transition period, requiring TDHCA to adopt a plan by 
October 1, 2009, that would include a timetable with 
specific steps to fully complete the transfer by January 
1, 2010. Because TSAHC has been under Sunset 
Commission review, failure to pass the bill would result 
in the corporation and its programs being abolished on 
September 1, 2010, after a one-year phase-out period. 
While TSAHC has not been the best steward of these 

programs, the programs should be allowed to continue 
under the auspices of TDHCA.

Opponents said

	 TSAHC has a unique role to play in making low-
income housing more available to state residents and 
should be continued on a limited trial basis. Both the 
Professional Educators program, which targets low- 
and moderate-income teachers and school staff, and 
the Homes for Texas Heroes program, which targets 
low- and moderate-income peace and corrections 
officers, paid firefighters, and other emergency and 
security personnel, have had successful track records. 
The corporation also has done a good job seeking 
and receiving bond financing. TSAHC has recently 
implemented a new fundraising strategy and created 
a new local grant program, and both of those efforts 
should be given more time to succeed.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1002 appeared in the 
May 26 Daily Floor Report.
	
	 SB 2 by Hegar, enacted during the first called 
session, extended the Sunset date for TSAHC and 
certain other agencies to September 1, 2011, and limits 
Sunset Advisory Commission review of TSAHC to the 
appropriateness of the recommendations made to the 
81st Legislature. SB 2 was considered by the House 
in lieu of its companion bill, HB 2 by Isett. The HRO 
analysis of HB 2 appeared in the July 2 Daily Floor 
Report. 

	 The governor called a special session to enact SB 
2 because HB 1959 by Isett, a Sunset revision bill that 
would have extended to September 1, 2011, the Sunset 
date for TSAHC and certain other agencies due to be 
abolished on September 1, 2009, died when the House 
did not act on the conference committee report on the 
bill. The House on June 1 adopted HCR 291 by Pitts, 
a corrective resolution for HB 4583, that also included 
an extension of the TSAHC Sunset date to September 
1, 2011, but the Senate did not act on the concurrent 
resolution. 
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SB 1003 by Deuell
Effective September 1, 2009

Continuing state-federal office and attaching it to Governor’s Office

	 SB 1003 continues Office of State-Federal 
Relations (OSFR) through September 1, 2015, 
and administratively attaches it to the Office of the 
Governor. The Governor’s Office will provide human 
resources, administrative support, and funding to OSFR.

	 The bill requires OSFR to consult with the 
legislative leadership in Austin through frequent 
conference calls and responses to inquiries from the 
Legislature. OSFR must report to House and Senate 
committees with jurisdiction over intergovernmental 
affairs and coordinate with the Legislative Budget 
Board on the effects of federal funding on the state 
budget. OSFR must include a performance evaluation in 
its annual report.

	 The bill also requires OSFR to establish written 
procedures for contracts with federal lobbyists. 
The procedures must include contract management 
guidelines, a competitive selection process, a way 
to determine the value of lobbyist services, a way to 
determine how effective a lobbyist is at influencing 
Congress on behalf of Texas, and a conflict of interest 
provision. Contracts between OSFR and federal 
lobbyists must be signed by all three members of the 
advisory policy board — the governor, the lieutenant 
governor, and the speaker of the House — and 
include an agreement on the goals of service, targeted 
performance measures, a termination clause, and a 
provision allowing the contractor’s performance to be 
audited by OSFR or the State Auditor’s Office. 

	 SB 1003 requires state agencies and political 
subdivisions to report all contracting and subcontracting 
with federal-level lobbyists to OSFR. Agencies must 
submit a report within 30 days of both the start and 
the termination of a contract with a federal lobbyist. If 
lobbyists report contracts with political subdivisions 
under another law, they do not have to submit an 
additional report to OSFR. The bill repeals provisions 
on the administrative functioning of the agency, 
including staffing, complaint procedures, interagency 
contracts, handicapped accessibility, and state agency 
funding guidelines.

Supporters said

	 SB 1003 appropriately would continue OSFR 
by administratively attaching it to the Office of the 
Governor. The Sunset Advisory Commission found that 
the agency plays a vital role in securing federal dollars 
for Texas and in serving as an information resource to 
Texas lawmakers and to federal officials in Washington. 
The bill would place new restrictions on the OSFR to 
prevent it from becoming entangled in partisan politics. 

	 Allowing OSFR to contract with federal lobbyists 
under strict conditions would help the state secure 
federal funding and achieve policy goals. Some 
lobbyists have knowledge or networks unmatched by 
OSFR employees. OSFR credits lobbyists with securing 
more highway funding and with gaining federal 
approval for maintenance dredging in the Matagorda 
Ship Channel. The Governor’s Office estimates 
subcontracting work to lobbyists saved the state about 
15 percent of what it would have paid to perform the 
same functions itself. 

	 During the 2003 budget shortfall, the Legislature 
cut OSFR’s staff from 17 to seven, prompting the 
agency to subcontract some of its lobbying work, 
which ended up costing the state $1.2 million. In early 
2006, two of the contracts made headlines when it 
was revealed that the state had hired two lobbyists 
with ties to former U.S. Majority Leader Tom Delay 
and convicted lobbyist Jack Abramoff. Critics were 
concerned about potential partisanship of contracted 
state government workers, whose records showed they 
met mostly with Republican members of Congress. SB 
1003 would remedy this problem by requiring the office 
to develop strict procedures for contracting with federal 
lobbyists. 

	 SB 1003 would make OSFR a clearinghouse 
through which all state and local entities reported 
federal lobbying contracts. This would ensure that the 
state and its federal legislators were on the same page 
with all government entities. It also would allow the 
OSFR to craft a consistent message from all levels of 
state and local government. Compiling information on 
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all state agency relationships with lobbyists in a central 
location would provide a clearer picture of the nature of 
federal lobbying in Texas.

Opponents said

	 The duties of OSFR are redundant and the 
office should be abolished entirely. Texas sends a 
congressional delegation of 34 members to represent the 
state’s interests at the federal level. The responsibilities 
of OSFR are handled by the Texas congressional 
delegation, which can unite across party lines on issues 
of statewide significance. 

	 The state should not continue to spend money 
to lobby the federal government when that money 
could be used on more urgent local needs. Continuing 
the office for another six years would cost Texas a 
minimum of $675,000 each year in FTE salaries alone, 
not to mention the costs of hiring outside lobbyists. It 
is not the role of the government to create an office of 
lobbyists, or even worse, to fund additional lobbyists 
to champion state interests in Washington. It is difficult 
to defend using state tax dollars to chase federal tax 
dollars and to explain why this is not an inherently 
wasteful process, especially when significant amounts of 
federal money are dedicated through guaranteed funding 
formulas.

Other opponents said

	 The Legislature should follow the recommendations 
of the Sunset Advisory Commission to abolish the 
advisory policy board and place OSFR under the 
exclusive authority of the governor. Instead, this bill 
would require the governor to agree with the lieutenant 
governor and the speaker of the House on the policy 
priorities of OSFR. In the past, this has led to delays 
in the production of major policy documents. This 
complex system of checks and balances is more 
burdensome than necessary, especially considering that 
elections already hold the governor accountable to the 
people of Texas every four years.

Notes

 	 The HRO analysis of SB 1003 appeared in the 
May 18 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 2567 by Duncan
Died in the House

Establishing a state investment review board

	 SB 2567 would have addressed state fiscal matters, 
including expanding the oversight authority of the 
Pension Review Board to include investment strategies 
of public retirement systems, the Permanent University 
Fund (PUF), and the Permanent School Fund (PSF). 
It also would have authorized the University of Texas 
System Board of Regents to issue tuition revenue bonds 
for the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston 
and established a fund for federal stimulus money, 
provisions that were enacted in other bills.

	 Oversight by the Pension Review Board. SB 
2567 would have renamed the Pension Review Board 
as the Pension and Investment Review Board (PIRB) 
and expanded its oversight authority. It would have 
added the following duties to the PIRB regarding public 
retirement systems, public funds of the comptroller, and 
the nonprofit corporations managing the PUF and PSF: 

conducting a continuing review of their •	
investment practices; 
conducting studies of potential or existing •	
problems that threatened or inhibited their 
financial condition or actuarial soundness; and 
reviewing and documenting whether the PIRB •	
believed that the entities were investing funds in 
compliance with the entity’s investment strategy 
and applicable law.

	 The PIRB would have had oversight of the 
investment strategies of the PUF, the PSF, the public 
funds of the comptroller, the Employees Retirement 
System of Texas, the Teacher Retirement System of 
Texas, the Texas Municipal Retirement System, the 
Texas County and District Retirement System, and the 
Texas Emergency Services Retirement System.

	 The PIRB could have required larger retirement 
systems to conduct an actuarial experience study every 
five years. A contract with an investment manager or 
other person to provide services to an entity relating 
to the management and investment of public funds for 
or on behalf of the entity would have been subject to 
review by the PIRB for fees and the services rendered.

	 Reporting requirements. An entity subject to these 
provisions would have had to file a report with the PIRB 
and post required information on its website, unless 

the information was confidential under law. An entity 
subject to these provisions would have had to develop 
and adopt a written investment strategy, and file a copy 
of the strategy or change in the strategy with PIRB 
within 90 days of adopting the strategy or change. 

	 A presiding officer consistently not submitting a 
required report in timely manner would have been 
subject to removal from office by the appointing officer. 

	 A person covered by these provisions would have 
been required to disclose immediately in writing to the 
entity a relationship that a reasonable person would 
consider a conflict of interest. Intentionally not doing 
so would have been grounds for removal. Those with 
a potential conflict of interest would have had to file 
a statement with the entity each year stating that they 
were aware that they were required to disclose material 
conflicts of interest.

	 Revising the PIRB board of directors. The bill 
would have reduced the current number of Pension 
Review Board members from nine to seven and revised 
the board’s composition. The bill would have reduced 
the number of governor appointees to the PIRB from 
seven to five and revised the appointees of the speaker 
of the House and the lieutenant governor.

	 Prohibitions and penalties for PIRB-related 
entities. Members of boards of covered entities or high-
level employees could not have accepted items totaling 
more than $250 in a year, including food, entertainment, 
and gifts, from another person seeking to do business 
with the entities. Former members of covered entities’ 
governing bodies could not have been hired for 
investment or management work for the entities for two 
years after leaving the entities. 

	 A person who committed fraud, theft, embezzlement, 
fraudulent conversion, unlawful appropriation, or 
misapplication of property in relation to service 
provided to a covered entity would have been liable for 
a civil penalty of up to $250,000 for each offense. The 
PIRB or the attorney general could have investigated 
suspected wrongdoing and conflicts of interest and 
could have referred the case to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency for prosecution.
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	 UTIMCO board of directors. SB 2567 would have 
changed the composition of the Board Of Directors 
of the nonprofit University of Texas Investment 
Management Company (UTIMCO), which has 
delegated authority to invest funds under the control and 
management of the University of Texas System Board 
of Regents, including the Permanent University Fund.

	 It would have required that three UT board members 
— rather than at least three plus the chancellor, as under 
current law — be appointed to the UTIMCO board. This 
would have been in addition to four other directors not 
employed or contracted by UTIMCO, the University of 
Texas System or the Texas A&M University System, 
or a component institution in the UT or A&M systems. 
The UT board would have appointed two members to 
the UTIMCO board from a list submitted by the board 
of regents of the Texas A&M University System, rather 
than the UT board selecting one or more from the list of 
candidates submitted by the Texas A&M System.

	 UTIMCO would have had to provide to the 
Legislative Budget Board (LBB) and the governor 
written notice of the terms of any payment to or 
agreement to pay a director, officer, or employee of 
UTIMCO a bonus, reward, or other incentive payment 
based on performance, including the performance of 
an investment made or recommended by the director, 
officer, or employee. 

Supporters said

	 The attorney general since June 2007 has called 
for greater oversight of state and local pension funds. 
According to the attorney general, 80 of the largest 
funds had $20 billion in unfunded liabilities. There is 
currently no coherent state strategy and little effective 
state oversight of Texas public pension and endowment 
funds. These funds belong to the people of Texas to 
provide needed financial support to public educational 
institutions and to secure the financial futures of 
individuals who dedicate their careers to public service. 
They demand a more disciplined approach to oversight. 

	 SB 2567 would provide that rigorous oversight by 
requiring the PIRB to provide guidance on actuarial 
standards, monitor investment strategies of public 
pension funds and endowments, and review contracts 
providing fees charged by investment managers. 
In addition, the bill would increase transparency of 
the management of these investments by providing 
measures that would reduce conflicts of interest and 
reduce the influence of persons seeking to do business 

with an entity who managed public funds. Especially in 
light of the recent diminished value of public pension 
funds and endowments, the oversight measures included 
in SB 2567 would enhance the state’s ability to manage 
and protect these critical financial assets.

Opponents said

	 The methods that SB 2567 would employ to 
achieve greater accountability over investment and 
management of state endowments and pensions funds 
are unnecessary and, with respect to the Permanent 
University Fund, potentially unconstitutional. 

	 Texas Constitution, Art. 7, sec. 11(b) grants the 
University of Texas Board of Regents exclusive 
authority to manage the Permanent University Fund 
(PUF). The Legislature has no authority to infringe of 
the board’s sole and exclusive right to manage the PUF 
and, as such, the PUF should not be included in the bill. 
Under constitutional provisions for the state retirement 
system outlined in Texas Constitution, Art. 16, sec. 67, 
ERS and TRS cannot claim this exclusive right. 

	 While heightened standards in the bill would be 
helpful, individual pension funds could easily make 
these changes on their own. The Pension Review 
Board was established to monitor state pensions, not 
investments. It has no expertise in this area and, even 
in hiring additional new staff at a cost of $1.6 million 
in the next biennium, it is questionable whether they 
would do a better job of overseeing investment and 
management of state endowments than those that have 
fiduciary responsibility to do so. It is not clear why the 
Texas County and District Retirement System and Texas 
Municipal Retirement System should be included under 
state oversight, as they receive no state funding.

Notes

	 SB 2567 passed the Senate, but died on the May 
24 Major State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken. A provision in SB 2567 authorizing 
tuition revenue bonds for UTMB was enacted in HB 51 
by Branch and a provision establishing a separate fund 
and oversight for federal stimulus funds was enacted 
in HB 4583 by Pitts. The HRO analysis of SB 2567 
appeared in Part One of the May 24 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 5 by Crownover/ SB 544 by Ellis
Died in the House/ Died in the Senate

Banning smoking in certain public and work places

	 HB 5, as reported by the House State Affairs 
Committee, and SB 544, as reported by the Senate 
Health and Human Services Committee, would have 
prohibited a person from smoking:

in a public place or place of employment;•	
in restaurants and certain bars;•	
within 10 feet of the entrance of an enclosed •	
area in which smoking was prohibited;
in the seating area at an outdoor arena, stadium, •	
or amphitheater; or 
in bleachers or grandstands for spectators at a •	
sporting or other public event.

	 HB 5/SB 544 would not have applied to: 

a private residence, except when used as a •	
child-care, adult-care, or health care facility;
a nursing home or long-term care facility;•	
a hotel or motel room designated as a smoking •	
room rented to a guest, if a maximum of 20 
percent of the rooms rented to guests were 
designated as smoking rooms, all smoking 
rooms in the hotel or motel on the same floor 
were contiguous, smoke did not enter a no 
smoking area, and the non-smoking rooms were 
not converted to smoking rooms;
a tobacco shop whose business primarily was •	
devoted to the sale of tobacco products and that 
did not hold an alcoholic beverage permit or 
license;
a cigar bar whose business made at least 15 •	
percent of gross sales in tobacco products and 
held an alcoholic beverage permit or license;
a private club that was not established for the •	
sole purpose of avoiding compliance with this 
bill and did not employ anyone, unless the club 
was being used for a public function; or
the outdoor porch or patio of a bar or restaurant •	
that was for employee use only.

	 HB 5/SB 544 would have defined “public place” 
as an enclosed indoor area that the public was invited 
or permitted to enter. Examples would have included 
restaurants, theaters, shopping malls, convention 
facilities, buses, restrooms, specific bars, and facilities 
of a state or local government, regardless of whether 

the public was invited or permitted to enter, and other 
common-use areas the public was invited or permitted 
to enter. 

	 HB 5/SB 544 would have set specific requirements 
for a person in control of a public place or a place of 
employment, including clearly and conspicuously 
posting a “No Smoking” sign at each entrance and 
removing all ashtrays from any area where smoking was 
prohibited.

	 The Department of State Health Services (DSHS) 
would have enforced the provisions of the bills. 
A person could have filed a complaint with DSHS 
concerning a violation. The bills would have allowed 
DSHS, another state agency, or political subdivision 
to inspect a public place or a place of employment. In 
addition to other provided remedies, the attorney general 
could have brought an action for injunctive relief to 
enforce these requirements. DSHS would have been 
required to engage in a continuing program to explain, 
guide, and clarify the purpose and requirements of the 
smoking restrictions to employers, owners, operators, 
and managers. 

	 A person smoking in a prohibited place would have 
committed a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine 
of no more than $50. A person with authority failing to 
post appropriate signs and remove ashtrays from places 
where smoking was prohibited in a public place or a 
place of employment would have been guilty of a Class 
C misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $100. 
If it was shown at trial that the person in control of the 
public place or the place of employment had a previous 
conviction for the same offense within one year, the fine 
would have been $200 or less, and for a third offense, 
the maximum fine would have been $500. 

	 HB 5/SB 544 would have repealed Penal Code, sec. 
48.01, which penalizes smoking in certain public places. 
HB 5/SB 544 could not have been construed to permit 
smoking where it was restricted by other laws. 

	 HB 5/SB 544 would have preempted or superseded 
a local ordinance, rule, or regulation that prohibited or 
restricted smoking to a lesser degree than the bill. HB 5 
would have preempted or superseded a local ordinance, 
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rule, or regulation relating to smoking adopted after 
May 15, 2009, by a political subdivision of this state 
that prohibited or restricted smoking to a greater degree 
than the bill, while SB 544 specifically would not have.

	 HB 5, unlike SB 544, would have excluded from 
the bill counties with populations of fewer than 115,000 
people, which would have excluded 226 of 254 Texas 
counties. 

	 HB 5, unlike SB 544, would have exempted 
fraternal or veterans organizations and bars located 
in areas not subject to local ordinances, rules, or 
regulations restricting or prohibiting smoking and whose 
gross sales were at least 75 percent from the sale of 
alcoholic beverages. A person who owned a bar meeting 
these requirements could have designated the property 
as exempt from the smoking restrictions by posting 
conspicuously on the property a statement that smoking 
was permitted.  

Supporters said

	 HB 5/SB 544 would help ensure that people had 
access to clean air in public places and places of work, 
including restaurants and certain bars. Smoke-free 
policies are the most economical and effective way to 
protect individuals from the unnecessary health risk of 
second-hand smoke. Second-hand smoke kills 53,000 
nonsmoking Americans every year and is a known cause 
of lung cancer, heart disease, low birth weight, and 
chronic lung ailments. Employees should not be forced 
to choose between their health and their paycheck. 
Twenty-five states have enacted similar anti-smoking 
laws, and Texas should follow suit. 

Opponents said 

	 HB 5/SB 544 would infringe on the rights of 
individuals and business property owners. It is a 
constitutional and personal property issue, and 
taxpaying citizens should not be told what to do with 
their personal property. A person who wants to smoke a 
legal product should have the right to do so as long as 
the owner of the property allows it. 

	 Imposing a statewide smoking ban would harm 
businesses. Individual businesses or local governments 
should set and control their own smoking restrictions 
because they know what best benefits the local 
economy. 

Other opponents said 

	 HB 5 provides a too-lenient level of smoking 
restrictions that would do little to streamline the state’s 
patchwork of smoking laws into one clear smoking ban. 
If one business is required to abide by a smoking ban, 
then all business should be required to do so.

	 HB 5 should not exclude more sparsely populated 
counties because the people in these rural areas have 
fewer employment options and are less able to leave a 
place of work where they are exposed to second-hand 
smoke.

Notes

	 HB 5 was reported favorably as substituted by the 
House State Affairs Committee on May 8. SB 544 was 
reported favorably as substituted by the Senate Health 
and Human Services Committee on May 13 and placed 
on the Intent Calendar. No further action was taken on 
either bill.
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HB 1310 by Solomons
Generally effective January 1, 2010

Restricting use of indoor tanning facility devices by minors

	 HB 1310 prohibits a child under 16-and-one-
half years old from using a tanning device that emits 
ultraviolet radiation. 

	 Persons under 18 years old but not younger than 
16-and-one-half years old may use a tanning device 
only if the person’s parent or legal guardian provides 
written consent for the child to use the tanning device. 
The parent or guardian must provide the written consent 
in person at the facility and may revoke consent at any 
time.

	 The minor also must provide the tanning facility 
operator a written informed consent statement signed 
by both the minor and a parent or legal guardian that 
they have read and understood an advisory statement, 
developed by the Texas Medical Board, warning of 
the dangers of indoor and outdoor tanning and its 
association with various health risks and agree that the 
minor will wear protective eyewear at all times.

	 The date on which the new age requirements take 
effect as well as when the new rules and statements 
must be established is January 1, 2010, although the bill 
technically is effective September 1, 2009.

Supporters said

	 HB 1310 would prohibit children under 16-and-one-
half years of age from using indoor tanning devices. 
There is no adequate medical justification for full-body 
indoor tanning, and younger children are at the highest 
risk of developing skin cancer. By 16-and-one-half years 
of age, the state deems teens responsible enough to 
have their driver’s license, so they also are old enough 
to understand the dangers of tanning and responsible 
enough to tan with parental consent. 

	 The bill would provide adequate information for 
parents and teens to understand the health consequences 
of indoor and outdoor tanning and would provide 
parents with final discretion over protecting the 
health and well-being of their minor child. The U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services considers 
UV radiation to be a carcinogen. Long-term exposure 
can increase the risk of melanoma — the form of skin 

cancer with the highest mortality rate. UV radiation 
also can cause eye damage, age skin, and suppress the 
immune system. It is considered addictive because it 
causes the body to release endorphins. Minors cannot 
buy cigarettes, another well-known carcinogen, and 
Texas should limit minors’ indoor tanning as well. 

	 Any skin condition for which a doctor recommends 
light treatment should be addressed in a controlled and 
localized way through medical instruments in a doctor’s 
office. HB 1310 would not adversely impact the 
business of small tanning salon owners, because minors 
still could use alternative tanning products offered by 
tanning facilities, such as spray tans. 

	 HB 1310 would acknowledge that a parent and a 
minor over 16-and-one-half years old would have the 
knowledge, given the advisory statement that must be 
signed, of the risks of indoor tanning without the need 
for a doctor’s participation in this decision. The consent 
form would have to be signed in person at the facility to 
ensure that the parent truly had signed the consent form 
and that the minor had not forged this consent.

Opponents said

	 HB 1310 should not impose further restrictions 
on tanning by minors, because the tanning industry 
already has adequate oversight by the state and federal 
governments and the bill would not improve public 
health. It is rare that very young children use tanning 
facilities, and those under 13 cannot tan without a 
doctor’s prescription. Children 13 and over who tan 
already are required to have parental consent, and 
children ages 13 to 15 must have a parent at the facility 
at all times while the child tans. 

	 There are some skin conditions, including psoriasis 
or eczema, for which a doctor would prescribe light 
treatment. While such a procedure often would be 
performed in a dermatologist’s office, HB 1310 should 
not prevent children in rural areas that may not have 
convenient access to treatment in a doctor’s office from 
tanning for medical conditions under the supervision of 
their parents.
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	 Ultimately, well-informed parents should have the 
final say on whether their children tan, and HB 1310 
would take away parents’ rights to decide what is an 
acceptable health risk for a child who is 13 to 15 years 
old. This bill would take away business unnecessarily 
from the many small-business owners who operate 
tanning facilities.

Other opponents said

	 HB 1310 would be beneficial in disallowing younger 
children from tanning, but it would cause unnecessary 
confusion by setting the age at which a child could 
tan at 16-and-one-half years old. Teens could make 
informed decisions about tanning at exactly 16. Using 
this age rather than 16-and-one-half years old would 
avoid business owners and tanning clients needing to 
calculate the date on which a person had achieved the 
legal age to tan. 

	 The bill also should require persons under age 18 but 
age 16 or older to obtain a doctor’s prescription to tan. 
As a medical professional, a doctor is the best resource 
to explain the health risks of tanning and would be able 
to answer questions posed by the minor or parent about 
tanning. Feedback on specific medical questions would 
not be afforded by a simple medical advisory statement.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1310 appeared in the 
April 21 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 1358 by Keffer
Effective June 19, 2009

Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas

	 HB 1358 revises the composition and duties 
of certain Cancer Prevention and Research Institute 
committees, the grant-making process, and the powers 
granted to the institute’s executive director. 

	 The Oversight Committee will adopt the rules 
governing the institute and its duties, including 
the procedures for awarding grants. The Oversight 
Committee will create an ad hoc committee on 
childhood cancers and other ad hoc advisory committees 
as necessary. A University Advisory Committee, 
composed of at least nine members appointed by 
certain university presidents and university system 
chancellors, will advise the Oversight Committee 
about the role of higher education institutions in cancer 
research. Committee members, except for the Oversight 
Committee, must disclose to the executive director any 
interest they hold in a matter before their committee 
and must recuse themselves from decisions on any such 
matter. 

	 The bill establishes a new grant-making process 
in which Scientific Research and Prevention Programs 
committees, composed of cancer prevention and 
research experts appointed by the executive director 
with majority approval of the Oversight Committee, 
review grant applications and make recommendations 
about the order in which the applications should be 
funded. The executive director will submit to the 
Oversight Committee a list, substantially based on 
the recommendation of the Scientific Research and 
Prevention Programs Committee, of grant applications 
to fund. The Oversight Committee will fund the 
grant applications in the order recommended by the 
executive director, unless the committee overrides the 
recommendations by a two-thirds vote. 

	 Grant recipients must undergo regular inspection 
and progress reviews. The executive director 
may terminate grants that do not meet contractual 
obligations. Not more than 5 percent of money 
awarded during any year may be used for facility 
purchase, construction, remodel, or renovation. Any 
money awarded for these purposes must benefit cancer 
prevention and research. 
 

Supporters said

	 HB 1358 would revise the structure of the Cancer 
Prevention and Research Institute of Texas by providing 
greater flexibility for input from diverse expert 
resources and minimizing the potential for conflicts 
of interest. The Oversight Committee, which would 
cast the final vote on what grants would be awarded, 
would be able to form expert ad hoc committees to 
advise them on whatever matter they deemed necessary. 
The executive director also could appoint Scientific 
Research and Prevention Programs committees with 
diverse expertise to make recommendations about what 
grants should be funded. The revised structure the bill 
would create would be similar to the flexible committee 
structure of the National Cancer Institute. 

	 The bill would eliminate the role that 
representatives of institutions of higher education could 
play in influencing the decisions made concerning grant 
awards because these representatives unavoidably have 
conflicts of interest when their institutions could be 
the recipients of a grant. Conflicts of interest further 
would be prevented by the requirement that committee 
members disclose the interests they held in matters 
before their committee and recuse themselves from 
decisions regarding matters in which they held an 
interest.

	 HB 1358 would not vest too much authority in the 
institute’s executive director. The executive director 
would be chosen by the Oversight Committee through 
an elaborate vetting process that ensured only the most 
highly qualified and professional candidate was chosen. 
The executive director’s funding recommendations 
would be based on the recommendations of a committee 
of experts. The Oversight Committee could vote to 
disregard the executive director’s recommendations if 
they were not in the best interest of the institute and 
the state. The executive director only could terminate 
a grant if it was determined that a recipient was not 
meeting contractual obligations, and the rule-making 
authority of the Oversight Board would ensure 
procedures could be established, if necessary, to review 
the grounds on which the executive director decided to 
terminate a grant.
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Opponents said

	 HB 1358 would vest too much authority 
in the institute’s executive director. Under this 
bill, the executive director would make the final 
recommendations for grant funding to the Oversight 
Committee, rather than a diverse, expert Scientific 
Research and Prevention Programs committee. 
Further, these recommendations would be based on the 
suggestions of a Scientific Research and Prevention 
Programs committee that the executive director had 
appointed, rather than the current structure under which 
the committee would be appointed by various officials 
to represent the geographic and cultural diversity of the 
state. Finally, the bill would not provide any check on 
the authority that it would grant to the executive director 
to terminate any grant that did not meet contractual 
obligations. Under these provisions, the executive 
director singularly would wield too much decision-
making power in the use of up to $300 million per year 
of funding that voters had approved with the expectation 
that these funds would be governed in a different way.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1358 appeared in Part 
One of the May 6 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1541 by S. Turner
Died in House Calendars Committee

Extending Medicaid continuous eligibility

	 HB 1541 would have required that, subject to 
certain conditions, a child under age 19 who qualified 
for Children’s Medicaid remain eligible until the 
earlier of the first anniversary of the date the child was 
determined eligible or the child’s 19th birthday. The 
extension from the current six months of continuous 
eligibility to 12 months of continuous eligibility for the 
Children’s Medicaid Program would have occurred only 
during the fiscal 2010-11 biennium and only if:

Texas had qualified, based on the state’s •	
unemployment rate, for a certain increase to the 
Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) 
authorized in the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act of 2009; and
federal funds received from the FMAP increase •	
made available general revenue funds otherwise 
appropriated to the Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC) that could be used for the 
eligibility extension. 

Supporters said

	 By extending the period of continuous eligibility 
for Children’s Medicaid from six months to 12 months, 
HB 1541 would ensure more children in need received 
higher-quality, uninterrupted health care. Twelve-month 
continuous eligibility already exists in Texas’ Children’s 
Health Insurance Program and Medicaid newborn 
and maternity coverage. Eighteen other states have 
12-month continuous eligibility for their full Children’s 
Medicaid programs. 

	 Many children disenrolled from Children’s 
Medicaid at six months have been dropped due to 
application processing errors or have experienced brief 
periods of ineligibility and re-enroll a short time later. 
If these children instead remained eligible for Medicaid 
for 12 months, they likely would have better health 
outcomes. Studies indicate that children with continuous 
health coverage are more likely to receive preventative 
care and less likely to experience delays in receiving 
necessary health care. Shorter eligibility periods not 
only may reduce child health outcomes but also may 
increase health care costs because children’s conditions 
may worsen, leading to avoidable hospitalizations or 
other more costly treatments. 

	 Extending Children’s Medicaid eligibility to 
12 months would cut the application processing 
workload in half for the state’s eligibility determination 
system, which has been particularly troubled due to 
staffing shortages and issues with the new eligibility 
determination system. According to federal law, 95 
percent of all applications for the Medicaid program 
should be processed within 45 days of application. 
However, in July 2009, only 78 percent of Medicaid 
applications were processed on time. Many children 
also are denied eligibility improperly. With a decreased 
workload, eligibility staff could process more 
applications on time and more accurately. 

	 Implementation of 12 months of continuous 
eligibility would reduce significantly the number of 
uninsured children in Texas, estimated to be 1.5 million 
in 2007. Estimates of the increase to the number of 
children who would be enrolled in Children’s Medicaid 
in 2011 range from about 260,000 to 380,000. This 
dramatic increase in the number of insured children 
would be well worth the costs. 

	 Direct estimates of the cost of implementing 
continuous eligibility fail to account for the many 
ways this change would save the state money. HHSC 
has reported that only a quarter of children leaving 
Medicaid had other insurance coverage. The charity 
healthcare that children disenrolled from Medicaid 
might seek in their communities would not be paid 
for with the significant federal Medicaid match. Some 
who required care for which they could not pay would 
create uncompensated care costs that had to be absorbed 
by local taxpayers. The state Medicaid program 
pays more for many children who are dropped from 
Medicaid coverage after six months and later re-enroll 
because they often must be treated for costly conditions 
that could have been avoided with uninterrupted, 
preventative care. 

	 Also, state application processing and other 
costs would be reduced significantly when verifying 
eligibility only once a year. Costs for the administration 
of Medicaid managed care health plans would decline 
due to reduced disenrollment and reenrollment of 
eligible children.
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	 Finally, billions of dollars of general revenue 
funds would be made available specifically by the 
FMAP enhancement in the federal Recovery Act. HB 
1541 would allow these funds to be “reinvested” in 
the Medicaid program during fiscal 2010-11 when 
most of the “freed” general revenue funds would be 
appropriated to unrelated programs and services. 

Opponents said

	 HB 1541 would cost nearly $300 million in general 
revenue funds during fiscal 2010-11, according to the 
Legislative Budget Board. Texas should not be making 
this investment when it could mean taxpayers with their 
own unsubsidized health care expenses would pay for 
the health coverage of many children who no longer 
were eligible for Medicaid. 

	 A family’s financial circumstances can change 
drastically over the course of a year. Every state dollar 
spent by a government assistance program on a person 
who is not eligible forfeits the opportunity to spend 
that money on someone more in need. The current six-
month eligibility period ensures the best stewardship 
of taxpayer funds because it provides a reasonable 
eligibility period that minimizes administrative costs 
yet ensures that only those who remain eligible after six 
months continue receiving coverage. 

	 Given the value of Children’s Medicaid benefits, it 
is not asking too much to require that families reapply 
for coverage every six months. To the extent that 
problems with the eligibility determination system 
cause some inappropriate denials of Medicaid coverage, 
resources should be spent on fixing the system, not 
changing public policy to accommodate the troubled 
program. 

Notes

	 The House Human Services Committee heard seven 
bills that would have extended the eligibility period for 
Children’s Medicaid to 12 months. It reported HB 1541 
favorably, as substituted, but the bill died in the House 
Calendars Committee when no further action was taken. 
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HB 1672 by Crownover/ HB 1795 by Pierson
Effective May 27, 2009/ Effective September 1, 2009

Newborn screening and retention of newborns’ genetic material

	 HB 1672 revises statutes governing retention by the 
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) of genetic 
material from newborn screening tests and requires the 
department to add sickle-cell trait to the list of diseases 
for which the newborn screening program provides 
detection and treatment. 

	 DSHS must develop a disclosure statement, which 
will be included with the form DSHS develops to 
explain newborn screening to parents, that informs 
them that the genetic material obtained for their child’s 
screening may be retained for use by DSHS or an 
approved lab and how the material is managed and 
used. DSHS must establish procedures for a physician 
attending a newborn or the person attending the 
newborn’s delivery to verify that the disclosure has 
been provided to the parent or guardian of the newborn. 
The disclosure statement must be provided in one of 
two permissible formats that gives parents the option 
to sign a form and indicate to DSHS that their child’s 
genetic material must be destroyed on completion of the 
newborn screening tests.

	 A parent or guardian may submit a signed, written 
statement to DSHS prohibiting the retention and use of 
a child’s genetic material for purposes other than the 
authorized newborn screening. Adults also may file with 
DSHS a written statement instructing the department 
or an approved lab to destroy their genetic material that 
was obtained for newborn screening. Within 60 days of 
receipt of these statements, the genetic material must be 
destroyed. 

	 Reports, records, and information related to genetic 
material collected for a newborn screening are not 
subject to subpoena or disclosure under public records 
provisions. Such documents may not otherwise be 
released unless the release meets criteria established 
by HB 1672, such as obtaining consent as required. 
Officers or employees of the state or a DSHS contractor 
or subcontractor may not be examined in judicial or 
administrative proceedings about the existence or 
contents of records, reports, or other information made 
confidential by HB 1672 unless otherwise authorized by 
the bill.

	 The speaker of the House must charge a committee 
to conduct and report on the results of an interim study 

on newborn screening in Texas. The study will address 
disclosure of the retention of genetic material and 
possible procedures to notify parents and guardians of 
the destruction of a retained specimen. 

Supporters of HB 1672 said

	 HB 1672 would require disclosure to parents that 
genetic material collected for health-critical newborn 
screenings will be retained by DSHS following testing. 
It also would provide a straightforward method by 
which parents could direct DSHS to destroy their 
children’s genetic material so it could not be used 
for future research. The bill would put in statute the 
stringent confidentiality standards that DSHS already 
applies to the use of retained genetic material.  

	 Research on the “de-identified” genetic material 
retained following newborn screenings can lead to 
breakthroughs in the treatment and prevention of 
conditions such as autism and premature birth and can 
assist in other disease research, such as cancer. The 
material retained by DSHS is uniquely critical for such 
research because DSHS maintains the largest sample of 
de-identified newborn genetic material in the nation.

	 While research using this genetic material, which 
DSHS already retains, may serve an invaluable public 
health purpose, HB 1672 would acknowledge that some 
parents have personal concerns about the retention of 
their children’s genetic material and would make the 
retention and use of this material more transparent. Even 
if parents did not have immediate concerns prompting 
them to request destruction of their children’s genetic 
material, HB 1672 would allow a parent to submit such 
a request if concerns arose at a future date. 

	 The disclosure process required in HB 1672 would 
not cost the state anything and would be the most 
efficient way to disclose the genetic material retention 
policy. The disclosure could be developed this summer 
in conjunction with DSHS’s planned development of 
other forms, and it would be distributed with the other 
materials already provided to newborns’ parents. 

	 Proposals requiring an informed consent process 
― disclosing information to parents directly, requiring 
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parents to sign a consent form, and then sending signed 
consent forms to DSHS ― would be unnecessarily 
burdensome and costly to the state and health providers. 
DSHS would have to carry out an extensive process to 
develop the consent form, a system for consent form 
submission, and a system to store the forms and track 
whether a parent had granted consent. The associated 
costs would be particularly unnecessary in light of 
current privacy safeguards and those added by HB 
1672. Not only is all personally identifiable information 
removed from the specimens, but only DSHS staff 
have access to the personal information database, and 
the research request process is structured to protect 
confidentiality. 

	 In addition, the elaborate nature of a consent 
process could cause needless alarm among parents 
who previously would not have been concerned about 
retention of the genetic material. Such alarm could 
cause a disproportionate number of parents to decline 
consent, which could negatively affect the amount of 
data collected.

	 The genetic material legally obtained through the 
newborn screening program meets the definition of a 
state record as machine-readable information received 
on behalf of a state agency. As such, this material 
may be retained for an appropriate amount of time as 
dictated by state records retention statutes. Despite this 
fact, some have expressed concerns that the retention 
constitutes an unlawful search and seizure in violation 
of the Fourth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. 
Such concerns are unfounded because passive consent 
to retention of the materials would be implicit when 
parents knew that they could request that the genetic 
material be destroyed, but did not.

Opponents of HB 1672 said

	 Although HB 1672 would improve existing law 
by requiring DSHS to inform parents about retention 
of newborn genetic material, the approach used in 
the bill would not eliminate the possibility that new 
parents could leave the hospital unaware that their 
child’s genetic material will be retained. The bill better 
would safeguard a parent’s right to protect their child’s 
confidentiality by establishing an “opt-in” process for 
retention of genetic material, in which a child’s genetic 
material could not be retained without the signed, 
informed consent of a parent. 

	 Instead, HB 1672 would allow DSHS to establish 
the procedures by which physicians or other people 
responsible for attending a newborn’s delivery verified 
that they had provided parents with the required 
disclosure. Without extremely explicit procedures, 
confusion could occur about who was responsible 
for providing the disclosure statement if multiple 
people attended a newborn’s delivery. This confusion 
could lead to the medical team’s failure to provide the 
disclosure to some parents.

	 Given the potential that some parents might not 
receive the disclosure statement due to this bill’s “opt-
out” disclosure policy, parents may later discover that 
their child’s genetic material was subject to uses of 
which they may not approve. Although a parent may 
feel comfortable with the permitted uses of retained 
genetic material in HB 1672, the permissible uses of 
this material could be expanded in future years in ways 
to which many people would object. Should genetic 
information ever become available to employers, they 
could discriminate in their choice of job applicants 
based on the applicants’ genetic predispositions. If 
law enforcement were provided access to this retained 
genetic material, they might attempt to use this 
information in investigations, which could infringe on a 
person’s right against self-incrimination.  

	 Further, a lawsuit was filed in March against DSHS 
in U.S. district court in San Antonio, Beleno v. Texas 
Department of State Health Services, in which the 
plaintiffs — five parents of newborns whose genetic 
material was collected and retained — alleged that 
DSHS’s retention of newborn genetic material violated 
the Fourth Amendment’s prohibition against unlawful 
search and seizure when their children’s confidential 
genetic information was taken and stored without their 
consent.

	 HB 1795 requires the Department of State 
Health Services (DSHS) to increase the number of 
screening tests conducted on newborns to include the 
screenings for all core and secondary target conditions 
recommended in “Newborn Screening: Toward a 
Uniform Screening Panel and System” or to establish 
a more stringent set of newborn screening guidelines, 
if determined necessary. DSHS may exclude from the 
required testing screening for galactose epimerase 
and galactokinase. DSHS also may require additional 
newborn screening tests based on the recommendations 
of the Newborn Screening Advisory Committee 
established by the bill. 
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	 DSHS must establish the Newborn Screening 
Advisory Committee to advise the department about 
strategic planning, policy, rules, and services related to 
newborn screening and additional newborn screening 
tests. The advisory committee must include health care 
providers, a hospital representative, people with family 
members affected by conditions for which newborn 
screening could be conducted, and people involved in 
the delivery of newborn screening services, follow-up, 
or treatment. 

	 Unless she objects, a woman must be tested for 
HIV infection at an exam conducted during her third 
trimester of pregnancy or prior to delivery if there is no 
record of test results from an HIV test conducted during 
the woman’s third trimester. Unless a newborn’s parent 
or guardian objects, a newborn must receive expedited 
testing for HIV infection if the mother’s medical record 
does not contain HIV infection test results from a 
test performed in the third trimester of pregnancy or 
immediately prior to delivery.

Supporters of HB 1795 said

	 HB 1795 could enhance the treatment potential 
and quality of life for newborns who had one of the 
additional 24 disorders for which DSHS would screen. 
The conditions for which newborns are screened may 
have no immediate visible effects, but if not detected 
and treated early, could cause physical debilitation, 
cognitive disabilities, or death. Many of the treatments 
for these disorders can be as simple and inexpensive as 
dietary changes.

	 One in 750 children is born with a genetic disorder 
detectable by newborn screening. However, Texas is 
among the bottom five states in the number of genetic 
conditions screened for in newborns. The American 
College of Medical Genetics, under commission by 
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 
recommended that states screen newborns for 54 genetic 
diseases. HB 1795 would bring Texas screening in line 
with these expert recommendations.

	 The core screening panel includes screening for 
the most severe form of galactosemia, a disorder that 
can lead to serious developmental problems and death. 
HB 1795 would allow DSHS to exclude screenings 
for two less-severe forms of galactosemia ― galactose 
epimerase and galactokinase ― which are more costly 
to test for and do not cause death. 

	 While some say additional screenings are too costly, 
this argument fails to weigh the value of saving a child’s 
life and fails to account for the costs saved for families, 
insurers, and the Texas Medicaid program when early 
diagnosis and intervention lead to less costly long-term 
treatments. 

	 HB 1795 also would add additional HIV testing 
requirements for pregnant mothers who did not object 
so that preventative treatment could occur to decrease 
the chances of a mother transmitting HIV to her baby. 
The transmission rate for HIV infection from mother to 
infant is about 25 percent when HIV-infected mothers 
do not undergo treatment and is less than 2 percent for 
mothers who begin treatment while pregnant. The HIV 
testing that would be required for newborns whose 
mothers were not tested could identify infants who 
were exposed to HIV but had not been infected. Early 
treatment of these infants could prevent them from 
being infected with HIV. 

Opponents of HB 1795 said

	 HB 1795 would be too costly during difficult 
fiscal times. The state already screens for most of 
the disorders on the core panel recommended by the 
American College of Medical Genetics. Screening 
for the core panel is more critical than the secondary 
targets that would be added by this bill because the core 
panel represents the disorders that are more severe, 
more prevalent, or more responsive to existing early 
interventions.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1672 appeared in the 
April 7 Daily Floor Report.
 
	 The HRO analysis of HB 1795 appeared in the 
May 13 Daily Floor Report. HB 1795 was amended on 
the Senate floor on May 27 to include the provisions 
about HIV infection testing included in SB 1886 by 
Ellis, which passed the Senate, but died in the House 
Public Health Committee.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1720 by Uresti, the 
Senate companion to HB 1795, appeared in the May 
26 Daily Floor Report. SB 1720 passed the Senate, but 
died on the May 26 Major State Calendar in the House 
when no further action was taken. SB 1720 did not 
include the HIV infection-testing provisions from SB 
1886. 
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HB 2962 by Coleman/ SB 841 by Averitt
Died in Senate committee/ Died in the House

CHIP eligibility and buy-in program

	 SB 841/HB 2962 would have increased the 
income eligibility level for the Children’s Health 
Insurance Program (CHIP) to 300 percent of the federal 
poverty level and would have established a CHIP buy-in 
program for certain children whose net family incomes 
were greater than 300 percent but did not exceed 400 
percent of the federal poverty level.

	 Increased CHIP eligibility. CHIP enrollees whose 
net family incomes were greater than 200 percent, 
but did not exceed 300 percent, of the federal poverty 
level would have paid a share of CHIP plan costs not 
to exceed 5 percent of an enrollee’s net family income. 
The premium would have been about 2.5 percent of the 
enrollee’s net family income. 

	 The measure of net family income on which 
eligibility would have been based would have allowed a 
deduction for both child-care expenses and child support 
payments. The assets test would have applied to children 
whose net family income was 250 percent or greater of 
the federal poverty level. The calculation of allowable 
assets would have been modified, and the allowable 
asset limit would have been increased to $20,000.

	 Applicants for coverage who met the extended 
eligibility criteria and who had health coverage within 
180 days of application would not have received 
coverage until 180 days after the last date on which the 
applicant had health coverage. 

	 CHIP buy-in. The HHSC executive commissioner 
would have adopted eligibility and payment 
requirements for a CHIP buy-in program that would 
have allowed certain children whose net family incomes 
were greater than 300 percent, but did not exceed 
400 percent, of the federal poverty level to buy CHIP 
coverage for at least the full cost HHSC would pay for 
coverage. Children would have been eligible for the 
CHIP buy-in program only if they had been enrolled 
in CHIP or Children’s Medicaid but no longer were 
eligible based on an increase in net family income and 
lack of access to adequate health coverage through an 
employer-sponsored health plan. 
 
	 HHSC could have adopted rules, benefits coverage, 
and procedures for CHIP buy-in enrollees that were 
different than those adopted for CHIP enrollees at 300 

percent or less of the federal poverty level. Provisions 
for the CHIP buy-in program would have been required 
to discourage employers from discontinuing health 
coverage for employees’ children and individuals 
from opting to enroll their children in the CHIP buy-in 
program when they had other health coverage options. 
A child whose CHIP buy-in program coverage was 
terminated due to nonpayment could not have been re-
enrolled in the program for the duration of a lock-out 
period.

	 Community outreach. The bill would have 
established methods by which HHSC would have been 
required to improve the effectiveness of community 
outreach efforts for CHIP. The methods would have 
included enhancing existing public education, assistance 
with applications, and issue resolution in eligibility 
determination processes. 

	 Eligibility determination process. The executive 
commissioner would have adopted a corrective action 
plan if for three consecutive months less than 90 percent 
of CHIP applications or recertifications were processed 
accurately through either of the state’s eligibility 
processing systems. The executive commissioner would 
have adopted processes to reduce eligibility denials due 
to applications with missing information and would 
have established requirements for HHSC to attempt to 
contact applicants with missing information before an 
application was denied. 

	 Miscellaneous provisions. Telephone call 
resolution standards and processes would have been 
developed to ensure that calls regarding questions, 
issues, and complaints successfully were resolved by 
call center or agency staff. The bill would have required 
HHSC to implement a federally required prospective 
payment system for CHIP services provided in federally 
qualified health centers and rural health clinics.

Supporters said

	 SB 841/HB 2962 would enhance access to 
affordable health coverage for Texas children by 
increasing eligibility for CHIP to 300 percent of the 
federal poverty level. It also would establish a program 
by which the families of children whose net incomes 
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were greater than 300 percent but did not exceed 400 
percent of the federal poverty level could buy CHIP 
coverage at full cost. 

	 Children with health insurance are more likely 
to be vaccinated against major illnesses. Lack of 
insurance can lead to more illness, which causes poorer 
educational performance because children miss more 
days of school. Through the relatively low cost of 
providing health coverage, the state can achieve high 
returns on child well-being. 

	 The CHIP eligibility levels established in this 
bill would be appropriate to fill the gap in available 
coverage for the many lower-income children who do 
not have access to affordable health coverage. Only 49 
percent of employers offer health coverage to families. 
Without an employer’s contribution to premiums, most 
uninsured families must turn to coverage in the private, 
individual market, which often is prohibitively costly 
for even the most basic plans. 

	 Middle-income families with incomes just above 
200 percent of the federal poverty level are the fastest-
growing uninsured population, largely because of the 
increasing cost of health coverage. Between 2000 and 
2006 in Texas, family health insurance premiums rose 
5.1 times faster than median family income. SB 841/HB 
2962 would raise CHIP eligibility to 300 percent of the 
federal poverty level to capture the growing population 
of families in the income range that lacks other 
insurance options. The buy-in program would provide 
reasonably priced coverage to children with family 
incomes up to 400 percent of the federal poverty level.

	 SB 841/HB 2962 would provide appropriate 
protections to prevent families from enrolling children 
in CHIP when they otherwise had private coverage 
options. Studies have shown that crowd-out of private 
insurance coverage by public programs is negligible 
when a 180-day waiting period is implemented, as 
would be the case for the new CHIP income eligibility 
levels established by this bill. In addition, studies 
indicate that when offered employer-based health 
coverage, only 8 percent reject it. The bill also would 
increase cost-sharing requirements for families with 
higher incomes to reflect their greater ability to pay. 

	 The costs of this bill would be very reasonable 
considering the benefits to the health of Texas children 
and when balancing the cost savings that would be 
achieved by reducing the uncompensated care costs 
paid for uninsured children. With no other alternative, 

parents often take their sick, uninsured children to 
hospital emergency rooms, which provide the most 
costly care. The burden of uncompensated care costs 
ultimately falls to taxpayers and other health consumers 
through increased local taxes or increased insurance 
premiums. 

	 In addition, Texas loses the opportunity to leverage 
federal matching funds when the state does not cover 
all populations that could be eligible for CHIP. The 
federal government pays for 72 cents of every dollar 
spent in Texas on CHIP. Texas taxpayer dollars also are 
redistributed to other states when Texas does not use its 
full CHIP allotment. 

	 The bill would enhance outreach and education 
efforts to enroll more eligible children in CHIP. In 2007, 
more than 1.4 million Texas children were uninsured. 
HHSC projects the number of children eligible for, but 
not enrolled in, CHIP and Children’s Medicaid in 2009 
to be 850,000. If all of these children were enrolled 
in the appropriate benefit program, the uninsured rate 
among Texas children would be cut in half. 

	 By providing more assistance to people applying 
for CHIP and implementing processes to streamline 
eligibility determination, fewer “procedural denials” 
would result due to issues like missing paperwork. Also, 
problems with the current eligibility determination 
system have caused application processing times to 
exceed federal standards, and applicants have had issues 
with application processing errors. SB 841/HB 2962 
would require HHSC to enhance assistance to applicants 
in resolving problems encountered during the eligibility 
determination process. Corrective action plans could 
be implemented to address ongoing issues with the 
eligibility determination system.

Opponents said

	 SB 841/HB 2962 would expand CHIP eligibility 
to cover children whose family incomes exceeded the 
levels for which the program was created. CHIP was 
designed to provide health coverage to the children 
of low-income, working families who had no private 
coverage alternative. 

	 The increase in CHIP eligibility to 300 percent of 
the federal poverty level would cause Texas taxpayers 
to subsidize the health coverage provided to children in 
families of four with incomes up to $66,540. A variety 
of private healthcare options would be affordable for 
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families below this income level if a consumer was 
willing to do the research to find a plan best-suited to 
that family’s needs. Even with the current 200 percent 
eligibility level for CHIP, more than 170,000 eligible 
children still are not yet enrolled. It does not make sense 
to spend more resources on expanding eligibility for 
CHIP when many children already in need have not 
been served. 

	 Given projected budget shortfalls for the next 
biennium, Texas needs to be wiser in its use of limited 
funds. The resources devoted to this bill would be 
spent more effectively on enhancing private insurance 
alternatives. The primary issue with the health insurance 
market is cost. Decreasing the cost of health coverage 
would allow more businesses to resume offering health 
coverage and would make more private, individual 
market options affordable. Texas could make a major 
advance toward the goal of reducing health insurance 
costs by reducing the number of insurance coverage 
mandates. Instead of taking this approach, SB 841/
HB 2962 would expand a taxpayer-funded program to 
members of the middle class. 

Notes

	 SB 841 passed the Senate, but died on the May 25 
Major State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken. The HRO analysis of SB 841 
appeared in the May 25 Daily Floor Report.
 
	 HB 2962 passed the House, but died in the Senate 
Finance Committee when no further action was taken. 
The HRO analysis of HB 2962 appeared in the May 
14 Daily Floor Report.

	 The conference committee report for SB 2080 by 
Uresti, which concerns child abuse and neglect and 
assistance for adoptive parents and foster care providers, 
would have expanded CHIP eligibility to 300 percent of 
the federal poverty level, among other revisions to the 
program. These CHIP revisions were stripped from the 
version of SB 2080 that ultimately was enacted.
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SB 7 by Nelson/ SB 8 by Nelson/ HB 1218 by D. Howard/ SB 10 by Duncan/ HB 4586 by Pitts
Died in the House/ Died in the House/ Effective September 1, 2009/ Died in the House/ 
Effective June 19, 2009

Pay-for-performance and other health care payment initiatives

	 SB 7 would have implemented a number of 
initiatives intended to improve the quality of care and 
efficiency of services provided in the Medicaid program 
and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), 
including pay-for-performance initiatives. 

	 Pay-for-performance pilot programs. Pay-for-
performance payment systems would have been defined 
as systems for compensating health care providers or 
facilities for health care services based on their meeting 
or exceeding defined performance measures. Cost 
savings under a pay-for-performance system could have 
been shared with participating providers and facilities. 

	 SB 7 would have required the Health and Human 
Services Commission (HHSC) to establish one or more 
pilot programs to test pay-for-performance payment 
systems to reimburse health care providers or facilities 
participating in CHIP or Medicaid, if feasible and 
cost-effective to the state. The pilots would have been 
selected from proposals made by health care providers 
and facilities or by disease or care management 
organizations, or adapted from payment methodologies 
that were used in the Medicare program. 

	 Quality-of-care standards, evidence-based protocols, 
and measureable goals for the pilot programs would 
have been established in consultation with an advisory 
committee that included certain health care practitioners 
and representatives of health care consumers, certain 
hospitals, a care management organization, and 
a member of the Advisory Panel on Health Care-
Associated Infections and Preventable Adverse Events. 
Efficiency performance standards also could have been 
established, as long as the standards did not encourage 
limits on medically necessary services. 

	 Pay-for-performance incentives for nursing 
facilities. SB 7 would have required the HHSC 
executive commissioner to establish, if feasible, an 
incentive payment program for nursing facilities that 
was designed to improve the quality of care and service 
provided to Medicaid recipients. The pilot program 
would have provided additional payments to nursing 
facilities that met or exceeded certain standards. 
Measures could have included quality of life, level 
of person-centered care, recipient and employee 
satisfaction, staff retention and turnover, regulatory 

compliance, and other factors. To be eligible for an 
incentive payment, a nursing facility would have had to 
meet or exceed performance thresholds for at least two 
of the performance measures, at least one of which was 
an indicator of quality of care. 

	 Quality-based hospital reimbursement system. 
HHSC would have established a quality-based hospital 
reimbursement system intended to align Medicaid 
provider payment incentives with improved quality 
of care, to promote coordination of health care, and 
to reduce potentially preventable complications and 
readmissions. 

	 In phase one, the HHSC executive commissioner 
would have adopted rules to identify potentially 
preventable readmissions of Medicaid recipients to 
hospitals, collected data on present-on-admission 
indicators of potentially preventable readmissions, and 
provided a confidential report to each Texas hospital on 
the hospital’s performance. Hospitals would have had 
two years during which they adjusted their practices to 
prevent potentially preventable readmissions. Existing 
payment methods for hospitals would have been 
modified to allow HHSC to classify more accurately 
specific patient populations and account for severity of 
patient illness and mortality risk.

	 In phase two, HHSC would have adjusted 
Medicaid reimbursements to hospitals based on 
performance in reducing potentially preventable 
readmissions. Adjustments would have been focused 
on addressing potentially preventable readmissions 
that were continuing, significant problems. During 
phase three, HHSC would have studied and reported 
on the feasibility of collecting data about potentially 
preventable complications that resulted from care or 
treatment provided during a hospital stay, adjusting 
Medicaid reimbursements based on reductions in those 
complications, and developing reconsideration review 
processes that provided basic due process in challenging 
a reimbursement adjustment.  

	 SB 8 would have expanded the purpose of 
the Texas Health Services Authority to include 
researching, developing, supporting, and promoting 
recommended strategies to improve the quality of 
health care funded by both public and private payors 
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and to increase accountability and transparency. To 
accomplish these goals, the authority would have been 
required to examine standards, strategies, and payment 
methodologies used by the federal Medicare program or 
created by certain nationally recognized organizations 
that address health care quality and efficiency. The 
authority’s recommendations would have been reviewed 
for safety, effectiveness, timeliness, efficiency, equity, 
and patient-centeredness. 

	 The recommendations would have included 
evidence-based best practice standards for health care 
facilities and practitioners, performance measures 
for health care practitioners, and improved payment 
methods. The authority would have developed and 
promoted:

strategies to require or encourage health •	
care practitioners and facilities to adhere to 
the evidence-based best practice standards 
developed;
performance measures to evaluate the quality •	
of care that a patient population received from 
health care practitioners or facilities and to 
compare and report on the relative performance 
of similar practitioners and facilities;
standards for technology to collect information •	
that measured medical outcomes, quality of 
care, and adherence to evidence-based best 
practices; and
alternative payment methods for health care •	
payors that recognized the investments needed 
to deliver primary care in a patient-centered 
medical home and provided rewards for 
improving efficiency, promoting high-quality 
patient care, and using evidence-based best 
practices. 

	 The authority would have conducted or contracted 
for studies to:

develop payment incentives to increase access •	
to primary care; and 
develop payment methods based on risk-•	
adjusted episodes of care that created incentives 
for higher-quality services and a reduction in 
unnecessary services. 

	 HB 1218, which was enacted and took effect 
September 1, 2009, implements several health 
information technology initiatives, including requiring 
the HHSC executive commissioner to establish, if 

feasible, a quality-of-care health information exchange 
in which the commission exchanges information with 
participating nursing facilities about performance 
measures to improve the quality of care and services 
provided to Medicaid recipients. Nursing facilities 
may receive incentive payments to encourage their 
participation if money has been appropriated for that 
purpose. The executive commissioner may determine 
the amount of incentive payment and may enter into a 
contract for data collection, data analysis, and technical 
support services.

	 The performance measures must be recognized by 
the executive commissioner as valid indicators of the 
overall quality of care received by Medicaid recipients 
and designed to encourage and reward evidence-based 
practices in nursing facilities. Measures may assess 
quality of life, level of person-centered care, recipient 
and employee satisfaction, staff retention and turnover, 
regulatory compliance, and other factors. The executive 
commissioner must maximize the use of information 
technology and limit the number of performance 
measures to achieve administrative cost efficiency and 
to avoid an unreasonable administrative burden on 
participating nursing facilities. 

	 SB 10 would have authorized the board of trustees 
of the Employees Retirement System (ERS) to establish 
one or more pilot programs to compensate health care 
providers under an alternative system to the traditional 
fee-for-service payments made under the ERS group 
benefits program. An alternative payment system would 
have included any type of payment system other than 
fee-for-service, including:

a global payment system, which makes a •	
predetermined payment per enrollee for a 
specified period, without regard to the quantity 
of services provided;
an episode-based bundled system, which makes •	
a flat payment for all services provided in 
connection with a single episode of medical 
care;
a pay-for-performance system, which pays •	
a provider for meeting or exceeding certain 
defined performance measures, including 
potentially paying bonuses or a share of realized 
savings; and 
a blended payment system that includes one •	
or more features of a global payment, pay-
for-performance, and episode-based bundled 
system.
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	 The ERS board would have ensured that a coverage 
plan in the pilot program was at least equivalent to the 
basic coverage plan provided to state employees. Pilot 
programs would have been required to include policies 
and practices designed to ensure high-quality, effective 
health care, including policies to promote clinical 
integration — networks of health care providers who 
actively evaluate and modify practice patterns by the 
network’s participants. To the extent practicable, the 
pilot program would have been based on nationally 
recognized quality-of-care standards and evidence-based 
best practices. 

	 The ERS board would have had authority to extend 
a pilot program and make it permanent. The program 
could have been limited to one or more geographical 
regions or health care networks. The bill would 
have established a pilot program evaluation process 
and required that programs ensure the availability 
of providers for plan enrollees and appropriate 
compensation of health care providers.

	 HB 4586, the supplemental appropriations act, 
which took effect June 19, 2009, authorizes ERS to 
establish a pilot program under which physicians 
and health care providers who provide services to 
employees and retirees in the ERS group benefits 
program are compensated under a system designed to 
test alternatives to traditional fee-for-service payments. 
The program must be based on nationally recognized 
quality-of-care standards and evidence-based best 
practices, to the extent practicable, and must include 
policies designed to promote provider collaboration and 
other policies as necessary to ensure high-quality and 
effective health care services.

Supporters said

	 Pay-for-performance and other alternative payment 
initiatives would improve the quality, safety, and 
efficiency of health care delivery in Texas. 

	 Alternative payment initiatives. With alternative 
payment systems, Texas health care providers would 
be rewarded for the quality of health care services 
provided, not the quantity. The currently dominant 
fee-for-service payment model encourages providers 
to perform unnecessary procedures to obtain higher 
reimbursements. At a minimum, fee-for-service does 
not discourage doctors from taking an inefficient, 
thoughtless approach to diagnoses when they may be 
reimbursed for unnecessary tests run in lieu of spending 
adequate time with a patient to narrow the diagnostic 
focus. 

	 Fee-for-service not only is needlessly costly but 
discourages the delivery of the highest quality of care 
because the most effective doctor who quickly addresses 
a patient’s health problem at a lower overall cost does 
not receive as much payment as a colleague treating 
the same condition who struggled more to establish a 
diagnosis and provided unnecessary services.

	 The various pilot programs and other payment 
initiatives that have been proposed would allow 
Texas to explore payment systems that provide health 
care services on a global basis (per person), on an 
episode basis (per disease or health care need), or on a 
performance basis. Texas could determine the payment 
methods that would produce the best outcomes along 
a spectrum of measures, both for patient health and 
savings to taxpayers. 

	 In a pay-for-performance system, providers would 
be rewarded for following evidence-based best practices 
that could incorporate the wealth of knowledge 
available from nationally recognized organizations with 
the resources to aggregate health care data and establish 
what provided the best, most efficient care. Such 
payment initiatives also would reduce health spending 
long term if doctors were reimbursed adequately for 
preventative care that kept more of their patients out of 
the hospital or emergency room. 

	 Global and episodic payment systems would pay 
providers a flat amount for patient care over a fixed 
period of time or for a specific episode of treatments. 
Such systems could lead to highly efficient care 
because the doctors who would benefit most in such 
systems would be those who skillfully could identify 
and address their patients’ exact needs. These doctors 
also would benefit by providing their patients with 
quality, preventative care. Given that payments were 
flat, doctors would benefit less financially from patients 
they had to treat for costly illnesses that could have been 
avoided with proper prevention.

	 Potentially preventable readmissions in 
hospitals. The current structure of the Texas Medicaid 
program causes Texas taxpayers to pay hospitals for 
preventable mistakes. By allowing Medicaid to adjust 
reimbursements to hospitals based on their reductions 
in potentially preventable readmissions, hospitals would 
have a greater incentive to make sure Medicaid patients 
were treated effectively on their first hospital visit, 
and the state would waste fewer Medicaid dollars on 
subsequent, unnecessary treatments. Proposals to adjust 
reimbursements to hospitals based on their reduction in 
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potentially preventable readmissions would specify that 
a hospital admission could be deemed preventable only 
if linked to deficiencies identified in a patient’s care or 
treatment during a previous hospital stay. 

Opponents said

	 Most of Texas’ quality of care issues stem from 
inadequate reimbursement rates for Medicaid providers. 
Texas first should focus on providing adequate reim-
bursement to all Medicaid providers before diverting 
limited resources to experiments with alternative pay-
ment systems that may not produce the outcomes that 
policy-makers hope.

	 Alternative payment initiatives. Each of the 
alternative payment systems would have risks if not 
implemented properly. Alternative payment systems can 
be abused or could have unintentional, punitive conse-
quences for health care providers. For example, without 
proper safeguards, episode-based payment systems that 
reimbursed doctors a fixed amount to address a single 
condition could lead some doctors to cut corners in care 
because they would benefit more financially from using 
low-cost treatments, even if they were not as effective.  

	 Also, a patient’s needs can be very nuanced, and it 
is impossible for doctors to provide the best individual-
ized care to all of their patients if they follow cookie-
cutter best practice guidelines established for a pay-for-
performance system. However, doctors who deviate 
from these guidelines could receive less reimbursement 
even if they made a reasoned decision acknowledging 
their patients’ unique needs. 

	 Potentially preventable readmissions in hospi-
tals. Proposals to adjust Medicaid payments to hospitals 
based on the finding of a potentially preventable read-
mission should not advance unless hospitals are ensured 
the opportunity to weigh in on the definition of this 
term. Current proposals would define “potentially pre-
ventable readmission” broadly, to include readmissions 
for a condition or procedure that “indicates that a surgi-
cal intervention performed during a previous admission 
was unsuccessful in achieving the anticipated outcome.” 
Even the most skilled surgeons may not have a perfect 
success rate given the challenging procedures they 
undertake. This proposal, when interpreted too broadly, 
could discourage surgeons from performing procedures 
initially for fear they would have to perform reasonable 
follow-up procedures in the future for which they may 
not receive adequate reimbursement. 

Notes
	
	 The HRO analysis of SB 7 appeared in the May 24 
Daily Floor Report. Although SB 7 died in the House, 
many SB 7 provisions were enacted substantially or in 
part by other legislation. 

	 HB 1218 by D. Howard was amended in the 
Senate to include substantially the health information 
exchange provisions of SB 7. The SB 7 provision about 
pay-for-performance incentives for nursing facilities 
was revised to become the HB 1218 quality of care 
health information exchange for nursing facilities. 
The quality-based hospital reimbursement system in 
SB 7 was revised in HB 1218 so that hospitals must 
provide information about preventable readmissions to 
HHSC, but HHSC will not adjust hospital payments for 
preventable readmissions. The HRO analysis of HB 
1218 appeared in Part Two of the May 8 Daily Floor 
Report. 

	 A pilot program included in SB 7 to reduce obesity, 
increase physical activity, and improve nutrition 
among Medicaid and CHIP recipients was added as 
an amendment to SB 870 by Lucio, which became 
effective September 1, 2009. SB 870 passed the House 
on the Local, Consent, and Resolutions Calendar and 
was not analyzed in a Daily Floor Report.

	 Requirements from SB 7 for third-party health 
insurers to provide timely information to HHSC about 
their benefits coverage for Medicaid beneficiaries were 
added as amendments to SB 531 by Patrick, which 
became effective September 1, 2009. SB 531 passed the 
House on the Local, Consent, and Resolutions Calendar 
and was not analyzed in a Daily Floor Report. 

	 Requirements from SB 7 for reporting on and denial 
of payment for preventable adverse events were added 
as amendments to SB 203 by Shapleigh, which became 
effective September 1, 2009. SB 203 passed the House 
on the Local, Consent, and Resolutions Calendar 
and was not analyzed in a Daily Floor Report. Other 
provisions of SB 203 are discussed starting on page 147 
of this report.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 8 appeared in the May 
25 Daily Floor Report. The HRO analysis of SB 10 
appeared in the May 26 Daily Floor Report. The HRO 
analysis of HB 4586 appeared in the April 16 Daily 
Floor Report.
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SB 78 by Nelson/ SB 6 by Duncan
Effective September 1, 2009/ Died in the House

Healthy Texas Program and promoting health coverage awareness

	 SB 78 establishes the Healthy Texas Program, 
which provides an additional option for certain small 
employers to obtain health coverage but is not intended 
to diminish the availability of traditional small employer 
health plan coverage. SB 78 also renames the Health 
Coverage Awareness and Education Program the 
TexLink to Health Coverage Program and revises the 
program’s duties in informing and educating the public 
about health coverage.

	 SB 6 would have established the Healthy Texas 
Program in the same form as the program was enacted 
in SB 78 (see Notes).

	 Healthy Texas Program. A small employer — an 
employer with two to 50 employees — may obtain 
a health benefit plan for its employees through the 
Healthy Texas Program, if the employer meets the 
following eligibility criteria:

during the 12-month period before the date of •	
application, the small employer does not offer 
employees group health benefits;
the employer pays at least 30 percent of its full-•	
time employees annual wages that are less than 
or equal to 300 percent of the federal poverty 
level; and
60 percent or more of the employer’s eligible •	
employees elect to participate in the plan.

	 The commissioner of insurance is granted 
rulemaking authority to alter certain eligibility criteria, 
if necessary to prevent inappropriate substitution of 
other health benefits plans for a Healthy Texas plan or 
otherwise to fulfill the purposes of the program.

	 A small employer that purchases a qualifying 
Healthy Texas health benefit plan must pay 50 percent 
or more of the premium for each employee covered and 
may elect to pay all or any portion of the premium for 
dependent coverage. 

	 Coverage. A Healthy Texas plan must include a 
preexisting condition provision that meets the criteria 
established for large and small employer health benefit 
plans. Healthy Texas plans are not subject to a health 
care service or benefit requirement unless a law 
specifically applies the requirement to these plans. 

	 A qualifying health benefit plan may provide 
coverage only for in-plan services and benefits, except 
for emergency care or other services not available 
through a plan provider. In-plan services and benefits 
must include inpatient and outpatient hospital services, 
physician services, and prescription drug benefits. 
The commissioner is granted rulemaking authority to 
develop various coverage plans, approve additional 
in-plan benefits, establish certain administrative 
and operational procedures, and establish certain 
monitoring, oversight, and strategic planning processes. 

	 Plan rating. A health benefit plan issuer may use 
only age and gender as case characteristics in setting 
premium rates for a qualifying health benefit plan. In 
setting premiums for Healthy Texas plans, a health 
benefit plan issuer must apply rating factors consistently 
with respect to all small employers in a class of business 
and charge premium rates that are reasonable and reflect 
objective differences in plan design. A health benefit 
plan issuer must file premium rates with the Texas 
Department of Insurance (TDI) for review and approval.

	 Healthy Texas Small Employer Premium 
Stabilization Fund. SB 78 establishes the Healthy 
Texas Small Employer Premium Stabilization Fund 
from which health benefit plan issuers may receive 
reimbursement for 80 percent per enrollee per year of 
claims paid between $5,000 and $75,000. If the total 
reimbursement amount requested by health benefit 
plan issuers for a calendar year exceeds the amount 
of funds available for distribution, the commissioner 
must provide for the distribution of any available funds 
in an amount proportional to a health plan issuer’s 
share of total eligible claims paid. Enrollment will 
be suspended if the total reported enrollment exceeds 
the total eligible enrollment and likely will result in 
anticipated expenditures in excess of the funds available 
for distribution. Stop-loss insurance or reinsurance may 
be purchased for the fund.

	 Up to 8 percent of the annual amount of the fund 
may be used for public education, outreach, and 
enrollment strategies targeted to small employers that 
do not provide health insurance. The commissioner 
must make any excess funds available for distribution 
in the next calendar year. SB 78 establishes annual 
reporting requirements for the fund. The commissioner 
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may obtain the services of an independent organization 
to administer the fund and submit required reports to 
evaluate the operation of the fund. 

	 Participation by health benefit plan issuers. Any 
health benefit plan issuer may participate in Healthy 
Texas, unless the commissioner establishes a rule 
limiting participation. If participation is limited, the 
commissioner will conduct a competitive procurement 
process to select one or more health benefit plan issuers 
with which to contract. The commissioner will establish 
participation requirements applicable to regional and 
local health care programs that consider the unique plan 
designs, benefit levels, and participation criteria of each 
program.

	 TexLink to Health Coverage Program. The duties 
of the TexLink to Health Coverage Program include 
educating the public about the availability and value 
of health coverage, providing information on health 
coverage options, promoting and developing new health 
coverage options, and assisting small employers and 
individuals seeking to purchase health coverage.

	 SB 78 requires TexLink to develop printed materials 
designed to educate small employers, individuals, and 
others about health coverage. TexLink also may produce 
a newsletter about health coverage. Materials for the 
program may include information about health plan 
issuers but may not favor or endorse particular issuers.

	 The bill allows TexLink to undertake other health 
coverage awareness and education efforts, including 
establishing toll-free telephone options through which 
callers can receive information about health insurance 
coverage, establishing materials and a curriculum for 
educating high school students, supporting colleges, 
universities, and those seeking to develop community-
based health coverage for the uninsured, and conducting 
health coverage fairs at which TexLink and health 
plan issuers and agents may provide information to 
attendees. TexLink will seek gifts and grants to fund 
health coverage fairs.  

	 TDI may undertake measures to educate small 
employers and single-employee businesses about health 
coverage options, how to establish health coverage 
for their employees, and how to qualify for favorable 
federal tax treatment on the coverage they obtain.

Supporters said

	 Healthy Texas Program. By establishing the 
Healthy Texas Program, SB 78 would provide 
affordable health coverage for small employers with 
low-wage employees through an innovative public-
private partnership. Texas has the highest uninsured rate 
of any state in the nation, with 6 million people, or 25.2 
percent of the population, uninsured. This not only leads 
to poor health outcomes for those who cannot afford 
health care, which costs employers in lost productivity, 
but also places the burden of uncompensated care costs 
on the taxpayers of Texas through higher local taxes and 
higher insurance premiums. 

	 The Healthy Texas Program would lead to 
a reduction in the number of uninsured and a 
corresponding reduction in uncompensated care costs 
and worker productivity losses. Although most Texans 
obtain their health coverage through their employer, the 
uninsured rate among employees of businesses with 24 
or fewer workers is more than 44 percent. Only 32.2 
percent of small employers with two to 50 employees 
offered insurance in Texas in 2006, and employers 
indicated in TDI focus groups that cost was the number 
one reason they did not offer coverage.

	 The Healthy Texas Program significantly could 
reduce small-employer premiums, which would allow 
many more people to be insured. The program would 
be modeled on the Healthy New York program, which 
offers insurance premiums that are 30 percent lower 
than premiums paid by those not insured through 
Healthy New York. Insurers charge higher premiums 
to smaller groups because they include fewer plan 
participants over which to spread risk. The Healthy 
Texas Program could reduce insurer risk by providing 
participating insurers reinsurance, a type of insurance 
obtained by insurers to protect against extraordinary 
losses by policyholders. The state would pay for 80 
percent of claims between $5,000 and $75,000.
 
	 Other elements of the program would reduce 
costs or otherwise enable more small employers to 
offer health coverage. Unlike in Texas’ broader small-
employer market, insurers could not use health status 
when determining small-employer premiums, and TDI 
would have to review and approve rates. Removing 
health status from rate-setting would prevent a single 
or handful of employees with higher health risks from 
making the group’s premiums unaffordable. In the 
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current small-employer market, some small employers 
pay as much as $2,400 per employee per month; 
rejected quotes for some employers have been even 
higher than that. Also, small employer insurers require 
75 percent of a business’ employees to participate in a 
plan in order to offer coverage. Many small employers 
cannot reach this threshold of participation, yet SB 
78 would allow employers to join the Healthy Texas 
Program if only 60 percent of employees participated. 

	 The Healthy Texas Program would not be an 
entitlement program and would cost only what the 
Legislature chose to appropriate. Healthy Texas would 
not compete with the small-employer insurance market 
because eligibility would be limited to employers who 
had not offered insurance during the prior year and 
who had a workforce composed at least 30 percent of 
low-wage earners making less than 300 percent of the 
federal poverty level. Eligible employers that chose to 
participate would be those that had wanted to provide 
health coverage but had been prevented from doing so 
because of costs or participation requirements.

	 TexLink to Health Coverage Program. The 
revisions made to the TexLink to Health Coverage 
Program would increase public awareness of the 
benefits of health coverage and the available options 
so that more uninsured people could identify insurance 
plans that met their needs. TexLink also directly could 
assist people or small employers with their technical 
questions about coverage or educate small employers 
on how to obtain plans for which they could receive the 
most favorable federal tax treatment.   

	 Continuing to allow TexLink to solicit gifts and 
grants, including those from insurers, to fund outreach 
efforts would be crucial. Given the difficult economic 
times, the state is short on funding for non-essential 
programs, yet consumers now more than ever need help 
finding affordable insurance. Existing safeguards, such 
as a required review by the Texas Ethics Commission 
of TDI’s rules related to accepting donations, would 
prevent inappropriate outcomes from occurring in 
relation to gifts accepted from an insurer. Informational 
materials distributed by TexLink cold not endorse one 
health benefit issuer over another. 

Opponents said

	 Healthy Texas Program. The Healthy Texas 
Program would be yet another costly government 
intervention in an insurance market that would be 

served best by efforts to reduce health costs rather than 
increasing subsidies. If the private, individual market 
was subject to fewer mandates, for example, plan costs 
would decline and fewer people would need to rely on 
employers to subsidize their premium payments. 

	 Depending on program enrollment, Healthy Texas 
eventually could spend hundreds of millions of dollars 
per fiscal year, much of which would be spent on people 
who could afford private coverage. For an employer to 
be eligible, the bill would require only that 30 percent 
of an employer’s full-time employees receive annual 
wages that are less than or equal to 300 percent of the 
federal poverty level, which is $32,490 for a single 
person in 2009. A variety of private health-care options 
would be affordable for people above this income level 
if they were willing to research plans best suited to their 
needs. Limited state funds should be reserved for those 
most in need, and the Healthy Texas funding would 
be spent more appropriately on efforts to enroll those 
eligible but not enrolled in programs such as CHIP.

	 TexLink to Health Coverage Program. SB 78 
would make valuable improvements in public outreach 
efforts about health coverage, but these efforts should 
not have the potential to be funded by a health plan 
issuer. For example, this bill would allow TexLink to 
seek funding from a health insurer to hold a health 
coverage fair. If such funding arrangements produced 
the public perception of a special relationship between 
TexLink and an insurer, consumers would have a 
difficult time trusting that TDI was playing a neutral 
role in regulating the insurance market. Such funding 
arrangements would defeat the purpose of other 
provisions that prohibit TexLink from favoring or 
endorsing certain insurers in their publications. 

Notes

	 SB 6 by Duncan, which passed the Senate, but died 
on the May 24 Major State Calendar in the House when 
no further action was taken, also would have established 
the Healthy Texas Program. The HRO analysis of SB 
6 appeared in the May 24 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 78 by Nelson, which originally included only 
the health coverage awareness and education promotion 
program, was amended in conference committee 
to include the Healthy Texas Program. The HRO 
analysis of SB 78 appeared in the May 18 Daily Floor 
Report. 



House Research Organization Page 141

SB 182 by Patrick
Died in the House

Informed consent for abortion, including mandatory ultrasound

	 SB 182, as reported by the House State Affairs 
Committee, would have amended the Health and Safety 
Code to add that consent to an abortion would have been 
considered voluntary and informed only if a physician 
or a physician’s agent:

provided the pregnant woman with the printed •	
material she currently has a right to view;
informed her that she was not required to review •	
those materials; and 
provided her with a form entitled “Ultrasound •	
Election” that stated “Texas law requires you 
to undergo an ultrasound prior to receiving 
an abortion,” with space for a woman to elect 
whether or not to see and hear the ultrasound, 
with the statement, “I am making this election 
of my own free will and without coercion.”

	 The consent would have been voluntary and 
informed only if the woman underwent an ultrasound 
prior to the abortion, had been allowed to view and hear 
it, and heard an explanation of the sounds and images, 
including a medical description of the dimensions of the 
embryo or fetus, the presence of cardiac activity, and 
the presence of external members and internal organs. 
Viewing and hearing the ultrasound would not have 
been required if the women elected on the Ultrasound 
Election form not to view the image or hear the 
heartbeat or explanations.

	 The woman would have had to certify in a signed, 
written statement that she was provided with the 
required information and printed materials and that 
they were explained to her. The required information 
would have had to have been provided to the woman 24 
hours prior to the abortion, and it could not have been 
provided by audio or video recording. The physician 
who would have performed the abortion would have to 
have received a copy of the signed, written certification. 

	 A physician could have performed an abortion 
without obtaining informed consent in a medical 
emergency and would have been required to include in 
the patient’s medical records a statement signed by the 
physician that certified the nature of the emergency. The 
physician would have had to certify to the Department 
of State Health Services the specific medical condition 

that constituted the emergency no later than the seventh 
day after the date the abortion was performed.
	
	 The bill would have defined “medical emergency” 
to mean a condition that, in a physician’s good faith 
clinical judgment, complicated the medical condition 
of the pregnant woman and necessitated the immediate 
abortion of her pregnancy to avert her death or to avoid 
a serious risk of substantial impairment of a major 
bodily function.

Supporters said

	 SB 182 would protect women’s health and 
help ensure that a woman making a decision about 
an abortion had access to all medical information 
pertaining to the decision, including an ultrasound, 
which gives a woman a clearer view of what she is 
choosing and whom is affected by her decision. If 
a woman elected not to view the image or hear the 
ultrasound or explanation, she would not be required to 
do so. 

	 Clinics often conduct only perfunctory counseling 
sessions before abortions and rush women through 
the process without ensuring that they understand 
the information and have considered their options. 
Informing a woman fully of her unborn child’s 
gestational development through ultrasound images 
could reduce the number of abortions because it would 
demonstrate more graphically the humanity of the child 
in the womb. 

	 Performing an ultrasound prior to an abortion 
procedure already is the standard of care. It would pose 
no additional cost to the woman seeking an abortion, as 
most, if not all, clinics already include an ultrasound in 
the price of the abortion. 

Opponents said

	 Requiring a woman to have an ultrasound and elect 
whether or not to see or hear it would inappropriately 
emotionalize a woman’s decision. This bill would be 
especially traumatic for victims of sexual assault and 
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incest or women seeking an abortion due to a severe 
fetal abnormality, as it would not exempt women in 
these already painful situations. 

	 The bill would needlessly infringe on a woman’s 
relationship with her doctor. The doctor, in consultation 
with the patient, should determine whether a woman 
should undergo an ultrasound before an abortion. 
Although a woman could choose not to view or hear 
the ultrasound, it still would have to be performed, 
regardless of whether it was medically necessary, adding 
a needless cost to the procedure.

Notes 

	 SB 182 passed the Senate by 20-10 on May 1, but 
died on the May 26 Major State Calendar in the House 
when no further action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 182 appeared in the May 
26 Daily Floor Report.
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	 SB 187 requires the executive commissioner of 
the Health and Human Services Commission to develop 
and implement a Medicaid buy-in program for disabled 
children whose family incomes do not exceed 300 
percent of the federal poverty level. The commissioner 
must adopt rules for this program, in accordance with 
federal law, that establish eligibility and cost-sharing 
requirements. Participants will pay monthly premiums 
according to a sliding scale based on family income.

Supporters said

	 SB 187 would establish a Medicaid buy-in 
program that would provide medical care and therapy 
for children with significant physical or intellectual 
disabilities. This program would assist families with 
incomes of 300 percent or less of the federal poverty 
level in paying the high cost of special needs care and 
increase the quality of life for those children.

	 Children eligible for the buy-in program could 
receive all the services they needed to remain healthy 
and achieve a better quality of life. The cost of 
even basic care for children with disabilities can be 
significant. Many require durable medical equipment, 
such as wheelchairs, and ongoing, costly drug therapies. 
In addition, they may require speech, occupational, and 
physical therapy at a young age in order to integrate 
into the community and learn communication and self-
care skills. Children who need certain therapies but do 
not receive them in the first six years of life may never 
reach their full developmental potential.

	 A family of four making only $66,150 per year, 
which is 300 percent of the federal poverty level, 
cannot afford the out-of-pocket costs of medical care 
and critical therapies for a child with disabilities. 
Nor can most families afford private health coverage 
that provides an adequate array of services. Without 
proper health coverage or care, a child’s condition 
often worsens or families may seek more costly care 
in emergency rooms. Some families that grapple with 
health costs would prefer to raise their children with 
disabilities at home but find they must institutionalize 
their children for them to receive care. Parents in 

SB 187 by Deuell
Effective September 1, 2009

Medicaid buy-in program for children with developmental disabilities

families that qualify for Medicaid coverage have taken 
extreme measures such as divorcing or declining 
job promotions in order to continue qualifying for 
government-sponsored health coverage. A Medicaid 
buy-in program would give families a positive option in 
the midst of these detrimental alternatives.  

	 The Medicaid buy-in program would include 
safeguards, established in federal law, that would 
prevent people from dropping private health coverage 
in favor of more extensive Medicaid coverage. Eligible 
children covered by employer-sponsored plans could 
receive wrap-around Medicaid coverage for the 
Medicaid-eligible services that their existing health 
plans did not provide. 

	 The Medicaid buy-in program would be a more 
comprehensive and cost-effective program than a 
child with disabilities could receive through other state 
programs. The Medicaid program provides significantly 
more services than Early Childhood Intervention, public 
school-based programs, or even the Children’s Health 
Insurance Program (CHIP). 

	 Coverage under the state health insurance risk 
pool, designed for the medically uninsurable, would 
be unaffordable for most families under 300 percent of 
the federal poverty level. Risk pool premiums are twice 
the average premium that would be paid on the private 
market, and plans may have high deductibles and are 
subject to pre-existing condition exclusions.

	 The Medicaid buy-in program would achieve long-
term cost savings that could counterbalance much of the 
program’s short-term Medicaid costs. Many children 
with disabilities who are not eligible currently for 
Medicaid services will be eligible for Medicaid services 
when they turn 19 and the state no longer determines 
their eligibility based on parental income. Without 
having been able to capitalize on a Medicaid buy-in 
program’s medical and therapeutic services at a young 
age, which can dramatically increase developmental 
capacity, many people with disabilities would be more 
costly to the Medicaid program throughout the rest of 
their lives.
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Opponents said

	 The state should not expand the Medicaid program. 
A Medicaid buy-in program, even limited to coverage 
of children with disabilities, annually would cost an 
additional $59.3 million in general revenue funds by 
fiscal 2014, according to the bill’s fiscal note. All states 
are facing a fiscally challenging time. While other states 
are cutting their Medicaid services, Texas is serving 
its citizens well by maintaining existing Medicaid 
programs.

	 The state already has established public-assistance 
programs that provide health services for low-income 
Texans most in need. The Medicaid program covers 
children 18 and younger whose family incomes are at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty level. CHIP 
covers children whose family incomes are at or below 
200 percent of the federal poverty level. In 2009, a 
child in a family of four making up to $44,100 annually 
would be eligible for CHIP.

	 The state health insurance risk pool was designed 
for people with high-cost medical conditions who can 
afford the cost of premiums. People with children with 
special health care needs in families with incomes above 
200 percent of the federal poverty level should be able 
to afford these premiums.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 67 by Lucio, the House 
companion to SB 187, appeared in Part One of the May 
1 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 188 by Deuell
Died in the House

Disease control outreach programs, including syringe exchange

	 SB 188 would have authorized local health 
authorities or certain other local government entities 
in counties with populations of 300,000 or more to 
establish disease control outreach programs that could 
have: 

provided for the anonymous exchange of used •	
syringes for an equal number of new syringes;
assisted participants in obtaining health care •	
and other physical and mental health-related 
services, including substance abuse treatment 
and blood-borne disease testing; and
offered education on the transmission and •	
prevention of communicable diseases, including 
hepatitis C, hepatitis B, and HIV.

	 A disease control outreach program could have 
charged a fee for each new syringe used in the program. 
Program employees and volunteers would have been 
required to follow procedures for the secure storage and 
disposal of syringes. 

	 A wholesale drug or device distributor could have 
distributed syringes to a disease control outreach 
program. It would have been a defense to prosecution 
to offenses related to possession or delivery of drug 
paraphernalia if a person manufactured syringes used 
by a disease control program or used, possessed, or 
delivered syringes for use by a program and presented 
evidence showing that the person was an employee, 
volunteer, or participant of the program. 

	 An organization operating a disease control outreach 
program annually would have had to provide the 
Department of State Health Services with information 
on program effectiveness, the program’s impact on 
reducing the spread of communicable diseases, and the 
program’s effect on injected drug use.

Supporters said

	 SB 188 would provide to certain communities the 
option to establish disease control outreach programs, 
including those that established anonymous syringe 
exchanges, to enhance the health and safety of 
community members. The programs would provide 
public education to reduce the spread of communicable 

diseases and assistance obtaining health services, 
including substance abuse treatment referrals. Syringe 
exchanges would make neighborhoods safer, because 
drug addicts would be less likely to leave used 
syringes in public or to hide them in places where law 
enforcement or health care providers could be pricked 
because the addict feared prosecution for syringe 
possession. 

	 Injection drug users not only infect themselves 
with contaminated syringes but can spread blood-borne 
diseases to their innocent children and sexual partners. 
More than two decades of research shows that syringe 
exchanges protect the health of injection drug users and 
those they could infect. For example, a 1997 National 
Institutes of Health consensus panel on HIV and a 2002 
panel on hepatitis C recommended syringe exchange to 
reduce transmission of these diseases. Based on an array 
of studies, the HIV panel said the programs could lead 
to a 30 percent or greater reduction in HIV.

	 By reducing transmission of blood-borne diseases, 
syringe exchanges also reduce health care costs to 
individuals and the state. If a user is on public assistance 
or must shift to public assistance as illness prevents 
earning wages, the costs of treating HIV and hepatitis 
shift to the Texas taxpayer. The combined Medicaid 
cost to Texas for HIV/AIDS and hepatitis C in 2005 was 
more than $110 million. Further costs are borne by local 
taxpayers, who fund unreimbursed care provided to the 
indigent at public hospitals.

	 Syringe exchanges are an effective way to connect 
drug abusers with treatment programs and to provide 
medical assistance to a population often lacking basic, 
preventative health care. The National Institutes of 
Health has stated that people in areas with syringe 
exchange programs are more likely to enter drug 
treatment. The syringe exchanges that would be 
authorized by SB 188 would provide to volunteers 
a chance to build trust with drug users who are 
inaccessible through other forms of outreach and to 
encourage them to seek treatment. 

	 Reports from the U.S. General Accountability 
Office, National Academy of Sciences, and the U.S. 
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) have said there 
is no evidence that syringe exchange programs 
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increase illegal drug use. Another CDC study showed 
no evidence that U.S. programs increase the total 
number of discarded syringes in cities where they are 
located. A study published in the American Journal of 
Public Health concluded that Baltimore arrest rates in 
program and non-program areas show syringe exchange 
programs do not appear to be associated with increased 
crime rates. 

	 The author of a Vancouver study that often is 
cited by opponents as demonstrating issues with 
syringe exchanges has made public a statement that 
her research was misused and the results of her study 
were influenced by the higher risk nature of the study 
participants and the coinciding emergence of use of a 
specific drug that required more frequent injection. The 
author of a Montreal study often cited by opponents has 
indicated that the results of her study demonstrate the 
need for more syringe exchanges because they typically 
drive down HIV rates.

Opponents said

	 Any health benefits provided by syringe exchange 
programs are overshadowed by the harmful message 
they send that illegal drug use is condoned. Texas could 
not send a clear message to adolescents that they should 
not use illegal drugs if the state authorized community 
programs that provided to an addict an instrument for 
drug use. 

	 The premise that drug abusers will risk an overdose 
for a short-term high, yet consistently use clean syringes 
to protect their long-term health, is questionable. 
Syringe-sharing often persists among participants in 
syringe exchange programs. The best way to squelch the 
spread of disease from injection drug use is for people 
to abstain from using illegal drugs. By authorizing 
syringe exchanges for known drug users, SB 188 would 
facilitate an illegal drug user’s addiction. 

	 Many studies touted by advocates of syringe 
exchange involve questionable experimental design, 
including small sample sizes, problems with the 
accuracy of self-reporting, and questionably drawn 
causal relationships. For example, findings of decreased 
disease transmission rates could be independently 
attributable to the outreach and education efforts 
associated with the syringe exchange programs, rather 
than with the exchange efforts themselves. In addition, 
not all studies show syringe exchange programs 
in a positive light. A 1995 Montreal study showed 

that injection drug users who used the local syringe 
exchange program were more than twice as likely to 
become infected with HIV as those who did not use the 
syringe exchange. A Vancouver study showed AIDS 
prevalence rose significantly in the first ten years the 
program was in operation. 

	 SB 188 would attract drug users to the areas in 
which syringe exchanges operated. Areas with high 
concentrations of drug users are linked with higher 
crime rates, and drug dealers could be attracted to areas 
that established syringe exchange programs because 
they could provide a ready supply of clientele from the 
surrounding neighborhoods. More local dealers also 
could increase the exposure of local youth to drugs, 
potentially starting them down the path to drug use 
when they otherwise might not have been exposed to 
this activity. Many neighborhood residents living near 
syringe exchange programs have reported witnessing 
increases in the number of discarded syringes in their 
neighborhoods after a program began operating. It is 
not fair to ask that certain neighborhoods suffer safety 
risks and restrict their daily routines so that a syringe 
exchange program can operate in a particular area.

Notes

	 SB 188 passed the Senate, but died on the May 21 
General State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 188 by Deuell appeared 
in Part Two of the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 203 by Shapleigh
Effective September 1, 2009

Denying Medicaid payments to hospitals for preventable conditions

	 SB 203 expands the current reporting system for 
health care-associated infections to include reporting 
on preventable adverse events and requires the denial 
or reduction of reimbursement under the Medicaid 
program for preventable adverse events that occur in a 
hospital setting.

	 Health care facilities must report to the Department 
of State Health Services (DSHS) preventable adverse 
events for which the Medicare program will not 
reimburse health care facilities or that are included in 
the list of adverse events identified by the National 
Quality Forum. Certain adverse events included in 
the National Quality Forum may be excluded if it is 
determined that the adverse event was not preventable. 
SB 203 provides for DSHS to compile and make 
available to the public a summary of information, 
by health care facility, on health care-associated 
preventable adverse events.

	 The executive commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission (HHSC) must adopt rules 
on the denial or reduction of Medicaid reimbursement 
for preventable adverse events that occur in a hospital. 
At a minimum, reimbursement denials and reductions 
will be imposed for the same types of health care-
associated adverse conditions and the same types of 
health care providers and facilities for which denials 
and reductions occur in the Medicare program. HHSC 
may impose reimbursement denials or reductions for 
other preventable adverse events that cause patient death 
or serious disability in health care settings, including 
events on the list of adverse events identified by the 
National Quality Forum.

Supporters said

	 SB 203 would save Texas money and encourage 
better patient care by denying or reducing 
reimbursement by the state Medicaid program for 
preventable adverse events that occurred in a hospital. 
In October 2008, the federal government began limiting 
reimbursement to hospitals for Medicare claims 
regarding preventable medical errors that can result in 
serious health consequences for the patient. SB 203 
would include all the conditions for which Medicare 
limits or denies reimbursement, and more preventable 

events could be added to Texas’ list in consultation with 
an expert health care quality advisory committee. 

	 A 1999 Institute of Medicine survey estimated that 
nearly 100,000 deaths per year were due to preventable 
errors, and direct and indirect costs related to such 
errors could be as much as $29 billion annually. SB 203 
would enhance patient safety because hospitals would 
have a greater incentive to provide better care to patients 
if the hospitals absorbed the cost of care for avoidable 
conditions. Consumers also could make more well-
informed decisions about the facilities at which they 
sought care based on the information made publicly 
available about preventable conditions that occurred at 
various health care facilities. 

	 Texas would not be alone in pursuing the goals 
of this bill. Almost 20 states already have or are 
considering methods to eliminate payment for some 
preventable medical conditions. Twenty-seven states 
already collect data on medical errors. 

	 SB 203 would not prohibit Medicaid reimbursement 
for any infections except those that could have been 
prevented by the hospital. The included infections 
only would be those that the patient did not have upon 
admission to the hospital and that occurred at a site on 
which the hospital performed a procedure.

Opponents said
	
	 SB 203 would establish overly broad classifications 
of infections as preventable, adverse conditions for 
which a hospital would be subject to nonpayment 
by Medicaid. Due to certain immune-compromising 
conditions or the limited ability of some patients to 
heal, some infections that develop during a patient’s 
hospitalization are unavoidable even when the hospital 
strictly adheres to appropriate protocols. Hospitals, 
which already bear a large burden of the state’s 
uncompensated care costs for the uninsured, should not 
have to absorb the cost of treatment for unavoidable 
infections acquired by Medicaid patients. SB 203 further 
would harm hospitals that were not paid for treatment of 
unavoidable infections by requiring HHSC to post on its 
website the facilities and conditions for which Medicaid 
payment was denied.
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Notes

	 SB 203 by Shapleigh passed the House on the 
Local, Consent, and Resolutions Calendar and was not 
analyzed in a Daily Floor Report. 

	 SB 203 was amended to include the provisions 
on reporting of and denial of reimbursement for 
preventable conditions that had been included in SB 7, 
which passed the Senate, but died on the May 24 Major 
State Calendar in the House when no further action was 
taken. The HRO analysis of SB 7 appeared in the 
May 24 Daily Floor Report. The provisions of SB 7 are 
discussed starting on page 134.
 
	 HB 852 by T. Smith would have enumerated a list 
of preventable adverse conditions for which HHSC was 
to deny payment for additional associated treatments. 
Additional preventable adverse conditions could have 
been added to the list for which Medicaid could deny 
hospitals payment if these conditions were the same 
type of conditions for which the federal Medicare 
program limits reimbursement. HB 852 died on the 
May 11 General State Calendar in the House when no 
further action was taken. The HRO analysis of HB 
852 appeared in Part Three of the May 11 Daily Floor 
Report.
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SB 204 by Shapleigh/ HB 1523 by Alvarado
Died in the House

Ban on foods with trans fats in certain food service establishments

	 SB 204 would have established a ban on serving, 
in certain food service establishments, foods containing 
trans fats. Trans fats would have been defined as 
foods or food additives artificially created by partial 
hydrogenation. The ban would not have applied to 
nonprofits, volunteer fire departments, shelters, private 
home kitchens, private catering, gasoline retailers, or 
grocery stores. 
	
	 The implementation of the ban would have been 
staggered, first applying to certain foods served by 
chains and franchises of food service establishments 
that operated at 15 or more Texas locations. The ban 
would have applied to all food service establishments 
that were not exempted beginning September 1, 2011. 
On or after this date, food service establishments could 
not have prepared, packaged, stored, or served a food 
that contained trans fat except for a food served in its 
original package that contained less than 0.5 grams of 
trans fat per serving.

	 Food service establishments would have had to 
maintain the original federally required food label 
for any food or food additive that contained fat. The 
establishment would have had to make food labels 
available to any person conducting an inspection of 
the establishment for the Department of State Health 
Services. 

	 Similar to SB 204, HB 1523 also would have 
established a ban on serving, in certain food service 
establishments, foods containing trans fats. However, 
HB 1523 would not have exempted grocery stores 
from the ban on trans fats. HB 1523 also would have 
exempted from the ban only nonprofits that served food 
to the public four days or less each week rather than all 
nonprofits. 

Supporters said

	 SB 204/HB 1523 would enhance the health of 
Texans by prohibiting food service establishments from 
selling most foods with artificial trans fats. Trans fats 
lower “good” cholesterol and raise “bad” cholesterol, 
leading to clogged arteries, insulin resistance, and 
serious health conditions such as heart disease, 
stroke, and type 2 diabetes. These conditions often 

are debilitating or deadly. Trans fats also contribute to 
the obesity epidemic in Texas. Almost 28 percent of 
Texas adults are obese, and that figure could climb to 
more than 42 percent by 2040, according to the state 
demographer. 

	 The bill not only would increase quality of life 
by reducing the incidence of serious health problems 
associated with trans fats, but it also could save Texans 
money. Both consumers and the state pay for health 
services that could have been avoided by diets that 
did not include artificial trans fats. Obesity-related 
issues could cost Texans as much as $39 billion by 
2040. In enacting SB 204/HB 1523, Texas would join 
California, as well as major cities such as New York, 
Philadelphia, and Boston, in providing citizens with 
healthier food options. Restaurant chains and major 
food manufacturers already are shifting to trans fat-free 
foods because they are responding to what consumers 
want. 

	 Because of the phased-in approach to this bill, it 
would not harm local businesses. They would have 
ample opportunity to make changes to their ingredients 
before the ban took effect. In light of the movement 
toward trans fat-free foods, fewer businesses would 
have to change food suppliers to meet the requirements 
of the bill because food manufacturers are switching to 
trans fat-free foods as well.

Opponents said

	 SB 204/HB1523 would be a government intrusion 
into Texans’ right to choose what they eat and Texas 
businesses’ right to choose the foods they serve. It 
is a matter of personal choice and responsibility for 
informed consumers to determine what they will eat, 
including what health risks they are willing to assume. 
If it was the will of consumers to stop eating trans 
fats, then the market would stop producing them. In 
fact, current market trends demonstrate declines in the 
amount of artificial trans fats being produced. This 
trend should be allowed to run its course until a natural 
equilibrium is established between consumer demand 
for trans fats and market supply. 
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	 SB 204/HB 1523 would harm many businesses 
that served food that was wholly or partly produced 
by a manufacturer that used trans fats. Even though 
this bill would provide an exemption from the trans 
fat prohibition for businesses with existing contracts 
for foods that included trans fats, businesses would 
be required to change their food suppliers as soon as 
existing contracts expired if their suppliers did not 
eliminate trans fats from the foods they produced. This 
could lead to losses for food businesses that relied on 
a customer-base that expected continuity in the taste 
of the foods they purchased. It also could increase 
contracting costs for businesses that had to switch to 
food distributors with which they lacked an established 
relationship from which to negotiate lower prices.

Notes

	 SB 204 passed the Senate, but died on the May 23 
General State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken. The HRO analysis of SB 204 
appeared in Part Two of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.
 
	 HB 1523 was reported favorably, as substituted, 
by the House Public Health Committee, but died on the 
May 11 General State Calendar when no further action 
was taken. The HRO analysis of HB 1523 appeared in 
Part Three of the May 11 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 586 by Carona
Died in the House

Managed care plans and out-of-network health care providers

	 SB 586 would have established requirements for 
the conduct of HMOs and insurers offering preferred 
provider benefit plans with respect to providers who 
share information with patients about in-network and 
out-of-network health care. 

	 An HMO would not have been allowed to terminate 
participation of a physician or provider solely because 
the physician or provider informed an enrollee of the 
full range of physicians and providers available to the 
enrollee, including in-network and out-of-network 
providers, and the enrollee chose an out-of-network 
provider. An HMO could not have prohibited or 
discouraged a provider, as a condition of a contract with 
that provider, from sharing with patients the availability 
of facilities, both in-network and out-of-network, for the 
treatment of their medical conditions. 

	 An insurer could not have terminated an insured’s 
participation in a preferred provider benefit plan solely 
because the insured used an out-of-network provider 
nor terminated the contract of a preferred provider 
solely because the provider’s patients used out-of-
network providers. An insurer could not have penalized 
a preferred provider for communicating with an insured 
about the availability of out-of-network providers.

	 An insurer’s contract with a preferred provider 
could have required that before the provider could make 
an out-of-network referral for an insured, the preferred 
provider would have to inform the insured of the option 
to choose a preferred or out-of-network provider and 
that the out-of-network provider could require more out-
of-pocket expenses. The preferred provider also would 
have had to inform patients about any financial interest 
the provider held in the out-of-network provider. 

Supporters said

	 SB 586 would safeguard health care providers and 
patients against insurer retribution for referral to or 
use of out-of-network health care providers. Despite 
terms in most contracts between insurers and health 
care providers prohibiting the insurer’s influence on a 
physician’s medical care decisions, many physicians 
inappropriately have been penalized or even have had 

their contract terminated for making out-of-network 
referrals. Similarly, some insurers have ceased coverage 
for consumers seeking out-of-network care. 

	 When physicians feel threatened by insurers for 
making out-of-network referrals, it can pose a dilemma 
for physicians, who are obligated to make medical 
decisions in the best interest of their patients yet are 
financially dependent on the business that contracts with 
insurers afford. While most contracts require a physician 
to refer patients to an in-network provider when 
possible, there are situations in which an out-of-network 
provider or facility is better equipped to meet a patient’s 
needs or is the only reasonably available provider or 
facility. Particularly with respect to preferred provider 
organizations, the insured pays extra for the flexibility 
of using an out-of-network provider when appropriate, 
even if the cost is higher. SB 586 would prevent insurers 
from influencing a physician’s medical judgment and 
would allow the insured to exercise the right to seek 
medical services where and from whom they prefer. 

	 The bill would not interfere with an insurer’s ability 
to take action against a provider who truly was abusing 
the system for personal gain. The protections for 
physicians only would apply when they had informed 
enrollees of the full range of medical providers available 
to them. The bill would allow an insurer to require a 
preferred provider to inform the insured of the available 
medical providers and the potential to incur higher out-
of-pocket costs for out-of-network care.

Opponents said

	 SB 586 would hinder an HMO or insurer’s ability 
to regulate its provider network in the best interest of 
patients. As more physician-owned health facilities have 
been established, physicians increasingly have been 
encouraging their patients to use services at a facility 
in which the physician held a financial interest, even if 
there was a more convenient and less costly in-network 
facility at which the patient could receive services. Such 
referrals financially benefit the physician yet can lead 
to much higher medical bills for patients. For example, 
an in-network surgeon could see his patients at a private 
office but encourage the patient to undergo the surgery 
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at his physician-owned surgical center, where the patient 
would have to pay more because the anesthesiologist 
was an out-of-network provider. 

	 Although the majority of physicians have their 
patients’ best interests in mind, the bill would equip self-
interested physicians with grounds to challenge actions 
taken by their contracting insurer to curb behaviors that 
lead to needless out-of-pocket expenses for the insured. 
It is not clear what information would be sufficient for 
physicians to argue they had informed an enrollee of the 
“full range” of in-network and out-of-network providers 
available to them. Bad actors could provide minimal 
information regarding in-network providers while 
advocating for their out-of-network facility services. 
Consumers with limited knowledge of their rights in 
navigating the health care market would be inclined 
to trust these doctors. The bill would minimize insurer 
recourse in such situations.

Notes

	 SB 586 passed the Senate, but died on the May 22 
General State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 586 appeared in Part 
Two of the May 22 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 972 by Averitt
Died in the House

Revising small and large employer health group cooperatives

	 SB 972 would have allowed health group 
cooperatives to elect to treat participating employers 
within the cooperative as separate employers for the 
purpose of rating health benefit plans. The bill also 
would have allowed, under specified circumstances, 
eligible single-employee businesses to participate in a 
health group cooperative. 

	 Health group cooperative elections for rating. A 
health group cooperative could have filed an election 
to treat participating employers within the cooperative 
as separate employers for purposes of rating health 
benefit plans. The bill would have established notice 
requirements for the health group cooperative to inform 
participating employers and employers considering 
joining the cooperative of this election. All plans 
offered by the cooperative would have been required 
to be made available to all employers covered by the 
cooperative rather than to all employees participating in 
the cooperative.

	 Single-employee businesses in health group 
cooperatives. Eligible single-employee businesses 
could have participated in a health group cooperative 
if the cooperative elected to permit participation by 
these employers and the cooperative also included small 
employers, large employers, or both small and large 
employers. The health group cooperative first would 
have had to obtain a written agreement from a health 
plan issuer to issue coverage to the cooperative if its 
membership included single-employee businesses. 
Single-employee businesses could not have joined a 
sub(p) cooperative, which is a type of health group 
cooperative that is limited to 50 or fewer employee 
participants and is treated as a single small employer for 
rate setting and for issuance and renewal of coverage. 

	 Guaranteed issuance, rating requirements, and 
mandated benefits applicable to small employers would 
have applied to single-employee businesses that were 
members of a health group cooperative. 

	 A health group cooperative could have rescinded 
its election to permit eligible single-employee 
businesses to join the cooperative if the election to 
allow coverage of these businesses had been in effect at 
least two years and the cooperative met certain notice 
requirements. A health group cooperative that had 

made such a rescission could not have filed an election 
to allow single-employee businesses to receive health 
coverage through the cooperative for five years after the 
rescission.

Supporters said

	 SB 972 would allow health group cooperatives to 
determine if their members would benefit more if they 
were treated separately or as a single employer for 
rating purposes and would expand the opportunities 
cooperatives afford people to obtain health coverage. 

	 The flexibility that would be granted by the 
bill to determine how a cooperative’s member 
employers would be treated for rating purposes would 
encourage more communities to establish health group 
cooperatives and increase the local rate of insurance 
coverage. All members of a health group cooperative 
currently are treated as a single employer for the 
purpose of setting premiums. This structure increases 
premium costs for businesses with employees with 
lower health risks to balance the higher coverage costs 
for cooperative participants with greater health risks. 
A health group cooperative does not serve its purpose 
to insure more people if the businesses that have 
employees with lower health risks drop health coverage 
because they do not feel the benefits they receive 
through the cooperative’s health plan are worth the 
costs. 

	 In addition, no employers benefit if the costs for an 
insurer to offer health plans to a cooperative become so 
great that the insurer ceases to offer the coverage. SB 
972 would allow health group cooperatives to elect to 
treat members separately for the purpose of rating if this 
measure would prevent an insurer from ceasing to offer 
coverage. A low percentage of small firms in Texas, 
only 33.6 percent in 2005, offer health insurance, and 
it is critical to Texas’ efforts to expand small employer 
health coverage that cooperatives are maintained as a 
viable coverage option. 

	 Those who argue that employers that would like 
to join a cooperative yet be treated separately for 
rate-setting purposes should join a private purchasing 
cooperative fail to acknowledge that private purchasing 
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cooperatives do not afford all the benefits that a health 
group cooperative does. Unlike standard private 
purchasing cooperatives, health group cooperatives are 
not required to offer all state-mandated health benefits. 
They confer more stability by requiring members to 
join for two years. Health group cooperatives also allow 
the members to limit membership to employers from a 
specific industry or to maintain the issuance and pricing 
restriction benefits of a small employer health plan.
 
	 By allowing sole proprietors to join health group 
cooperatives, SB 972 would expand the opportunities 
for small business owners to obtain health coverage. 
Some sole proprietors go without insurance because 
premiums in the private, individual market are too high. 
In this market, insurers also may refuse to cover a sole 
proprietor.

	 A health group cooperative could elect whether 
or not to allow single-employee businesses to 
participate and could rescind this election at a later 
date. With the option afforded by SB 972 to treat 
participating employers separately for rating purposes, 
a cooperative would be able to choose if the health risks 
of participating sole proprietors were spread over the 
cooperative at large or borne only through the premiums 
paid by the sole proprietor. Single-employee businesses 
would not be allowed to join sub(p) cooperatives, 
because insurers are not allowed to decline coverage 
to a sub(p) cooperative and it would be inappropriate 
to compel them to assume the risk of coverage for sole 
proprietors in a small group.

Opponents said

	 By allowing health group cooperatives to 
elect to treat employers separately rather than as a 
single employer for the purpose of rate setting, SB 
972 could deny some employers one of the cost-
saving characteristics of health group cooperatives 
that prompted them to join. In addition to reduced 
administrative costs, health group cooperatives make 
insurance affordable for small employers because the 
treatment of all participating employers as a single 
employer spreads risk, which reduces their premiums. 

	 If a health group cooperative elected to treat 
employers separately for rating purposes, many 
participating small employers could drop health 
coverage for their employees because they no longer 
could afford the premiums. Those small employers 
that recently had joined a cooperative could experience 

major increases to their premiums in their second year 
of coverage due to such an election, yet they would 
be required to fulfill their two-year commitment 
to participate in the cooperative unless they could 
demonstrate financial hardship. The original form 
of private purchasing cooperative already treats 
participating employers separately for rating purposes, 
so employers desiring this option should form a private 
purchasing cooperative instead.

Notes

	 SB 972 passed the Senate, but died on the May 22 
General State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken. The HRO analysis of SB 972 by 
Averitt appeared in Part Three of the May 22 Daily 
Floor Report.

	 The companion bill, HB 2586 by Smithee, was 
placed on the May 8 General State Calendar in the 
House, but died when no further action was taken. The 
HRO analysis of HB 2586 appeared in Part Six of the 
May 8 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1500 by Duncan/ HB 3485 by Coleman
Died in the House/ Vetoed by the governor

Employment of physicians by certain hospitals

	 SB 1500 would have allowed the Dallas County 
Hospital District — which performs business as the 
Parkland Health and Hospital System — and certain 
small, rural hospitals to employ physicians. 

	 The Dallas County Hospital District could have 
appointed, contracted for, or employed physicians, 
dentists, and other health care providers. Employment 
of physicians could have occurred only to fulfill the 
district’s mandate to provide medical care for the 
indigent and needy residents of the district. For all 
matters relating to the practice of medicine, each 
employed physician ultimately would have reported to 
the chief medical officer of the district. 

	 The district would have established a committee 
of five physicians who would have ensured that district 
policies allowed employed physicians to exercise 
independent medical judgment in providing care to 
patients. Committee members would have had to 
disclose financial conflicts of interest and report to 
the Texas Medical Board any event that the member 
believed in good faith constituted a compromise of the 
independent medical judgment of a physician in caring 
for a patient. 

	 Critical access or sole community hospitals that 
had a medical staff of 15 or fewer physicians could have 
employed a physician if the hospital was a certified non-
profit health corporation that met applicable statutory 
and Texas Medical Board requirements. The bill would 
have established guidelines for the policies a hospital 
would have been required to adopt and enforce to ensure 
that an employed physician exercised independent 
medical judgment in the care of patients. 

	 The bill would have established requirements for 
the equal treatment by hospitals of employed and non-
employed physicians, including equal consideration for 
physician credentials and privileges, and requirements 
that hospital by-laws prevent discrimination against 
or in favor of a physician based on the physician’s 
employment status. 

	 Hospitals could not have penalized a physician 
or other person who reported a violation of corporate 
practice of medicine statutes, laws regulating nonprofit 
health corporations, or Medical Board rules, nor could a 

physician making such a report in good faith have been 
held civilly liable or disciplined by the Texas Medical 
Board for the report. 

	 The Texas Medical Board could have charged a 
reasonable fee to certify a nonprofit health corporation 
that employed physicians and to investigate the 
organization’s compliance with applicable laws. Fines 
and administrative remedies could have been applied for 
violations. 
 

Supporters said

	 SB 1500 would allow the Parkland Hospital 
System and certain small, rural hospitals to employ 
physicians to ensure adequate staffing to meet the needs 
of the populations they serve. The bill would establish 
mechanisms to ensure physicians could exert their 
independent medical judgment without influence from 
the hospital employing them.

	 The bill would confine the smaller hospitals that 
were granted the right to employ physicians to those 
with 15 or fewer physicians that were critical access or 
sole community hospitals. These designations indicate 
the particular need of these hospitals to have flexibility 
in hiring practices because they provide health services 
to populations with limited access to health care. 
Since contract physicians earn a living according 
to the volume of patients they see and the number 
of procedures they perform, contracting with rural 
hospitals may not provide adequate patient volume for 
physicians to pay administrative costs for their practice. 
The bill would allow the rural hospitals most in need 
to recruit physicians with an employment package that 
would afford a stable salary and defined benefits. 

	 The Parkland Health System has a mandate 
to provide medical care for the indigent and needy 
residents of the district. Because these residents 
often are unable to pay for their health services, it is 
difficult to maintain adequate staffing to serve their 
needs. The bill would acknowledge Parkland’s unique 
circumstances in needing to provide a salary to doctors 
who served patients whose payments would not be 
sufficient to compensate a contracted doctor. 
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	 The bill would have many safeguards for physicians 
to protect their independent medical judgment. 
Employed Parkland physicians ultimately would report 
to the chief medical officer, and their policies would 
be governed by a committee of physicians. Safeguards 
for the rural hospitals would include whistleblower 
protections and policies designed to provide equal 
privileges to and demand equal work requirements 
of employed and contracted physicians. Employment 
would be optional and not mandatory for physicians if 
they were concerned about retaining independence in 
their medical practice. 

	 Texas already allows physicians to own hospitals 
and doctors to be employees of state medical schools, 
community health centers, and almost a dozen rural 
hospitals. Many states have no prohibitions on hospital 
employment of physicians.

Opponents said

	 SB 1500 would allow more hospitals to employ 
physicians, a practice that never should occur because 
it interferes with the physician’s ability to exercise 
independent medical judgment. Even public and 
nonprofit hospitals are motivated to keep costs low and 
meet other business needs. These needs may cause a 
hospital’s priorities to conflict with providing the best 
course of treatment that most would enhance a patient’s 
care and safety. It is impossible for an employed 
physician to act independently of their employing 
hospital’s influence. Even if the physician reported 
to a medical professional, that physician’s salary and 
benefits would be administered by employees, often 
laypeople, of a corporate entity with incentives to 
minimize the hospital’s operating budget.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1500 appeared in Part 
Two of the May 21 Daily Floor Report. 

	 HB 3485 by Coleman was amended to enable 
the Parkland Health System and certain small, rural 
hospitals to employ physicians, but the bill was vetoed 
by the governor. For more information on HB 3485, see 
HRO Focus Report Number 81-7, Vetoes of Legislation, 
81st Legislature, July 22, 2009, pp. 43-46.
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HB 51 by Branch/ HJR 14 by Corte
HB 51 generally effective September 1, 2009/
HJR 14 effective pending voter approval on November 3, 2009

Funding incentives to promote more tier-one research universities

	 HB 51 creates new funding mechanisms and 
incentives to promote the development of national 
research universities. It rededicates the corpus of the 
Permanent Higher Education Fund (PHEF) endowment; 
requires a long-term strategic plan for each research 
and emerging research university on how the institution 
plans to achieve or enhance research recognition; 
authorizes $150 million in tuition revenue bonds for 
the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB) at 
Galveston to assist in the recovery from Hurricane 
Ike; allocates to eligible institutions the annual $262.5 
million appropriation made through the Higher 
Education Fund (HEF); authorizes excellence funding 
and incentive grants for certain universities; establishes 
performance incentive funding based on at-risk student 
enrollments and graduation rates of students in high-
need fields; and requires a feasibility study on creating 
a searchable database to track specialized technology 
research projects conducted at public universities and 
other state institutions. 

	 The National Research University Fund (NRUF) 
would be created, contingent on voter approval of a 
proposed constitutional amendment in HJR 14. It would 
provide a source of funding to enable emerging research 
universities to achieve national prominence as major 
research universities using money that has been invested 
in the PHEF endowment. The corpus of the PHEF 
endowment would be rededicated as the corpus of the 
NRUF. Annual NRUF allocations to eligible institutions 
would be based on the future earnings of the NRUF 
corpus. In order to receive distributions from the NRUF, 
eligible institutions must reach certain steps toward 
designation as tier-one research institutions, including 
expending at least $45 million in restricted research in 
two consecutive years; have a total endowment of at 
least $400 million; award 200 doctoral degrees per year; 
and satisfy other academic standards. 

	 HB 51 establishes three funding streams for 
research and emerging research universities. The 
Research University Development Fund (RUDF) will 
provide funding to eligible research and emerging 
research universities for recruitment and retention of 
faculty and to promote increased research capacity. 
Funding will be allocated to public universities based 

on the total amount research funds expended over a 
specified time. The Texas Research Incentive Program 
(TRIP) will provide matching grants to emerging 
research universities based on the amount of donations 
from private sources or endowments to enhance research 
productivity and faculty recruitment. Performance 
incentive funding is for all general academic teaching 
institutions. Using a system of weights and points, 
allocations will be based on combinations of noncritical 
and critical fields and at-risk and not at-risk students. 
Institutions will qualify for incentive funds in proportion 
to the increase in the average number of degrees 
awarded each year. 

	 The bill also authorizes an Excellence Awards 
program for excellence in specific programs and 
fields for general academic teaching institutions that 
are not research universities or emerging research 
universities. Excellence award funding is to encourage 
the development of designated degree programs to the 
highest national standards. 

	 HJR 14 would amend the Texas Constitution to 
establish the NRUF for the stated purpose of providing a 
dedicated, independent, and equitable source of funding 
to enable emerging research universities in Texas to 
achieve national prominence. Funding would be derived 
from investment earnings of the PHEF endowment, 
which would be rededicated to become the corpus 
for the NRUF. The University of Texas at Austin and 
Texas A&M University would not be eligible to receive 
money from the fund. An eligible state university could 
use distributions from the fund only for the support and 
maintenance of educational and general activities that 
promote increased research capacity at the university. 

	
Supporters said
	
	 Creating additional national research universities 
would help Texas achieve the vision of being globally 
competitive. Tier-one universities are one of the best 
ways to develop a highly skilled workforce, especially 
in the sciences, engineering, and professional fields 
critical to economic success, but the state trails other 
leading states in the number of tier-one research 
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universities. California has nine tier-one schools 
for about 36 million residents. With more than 24 
million Texans and only three tier-one institutions — 
the University of Texas at Austin and Texas A&M 
University, the public institutions, and Rice University, 
which is private — it is no surprise that the state’s top-
flight public institutions have more applicants than 
they can admit. Texas is losing more than 10,000 high 
school graduates a year to doctoral-granting universities 
in other states. At the same time, the state is recruiting 
only 4,000 students per year from other states, resulting 
in a net loss of 6,000 students a year. The presence 
of additional tier-one institutions would expand the 
educational opportunities available to Texas students 
and keep more of them in the state. 

	 Texas is at a disadvantage in attracting and retaining 
top talent and drawing research and venture capital 
investment to the state. The bill would encourage the 
state’s seven emerging research institutions — UT-
Arlington, UT-Dallas, UT-El Paso, UT-San Antonio, 
the University of Houston, the University of North 
Texas, and Texas Tech University — to strive for 
national excellence. University officials say that the new 
initiative would help the state add two or three more 
tier-one universities within a decade. 

	 Limited state dollars should not be targeted to 
those institutions that are the closest to attaining top 
tier status. All institutions that compete for the funding 
to build up their research programs and endowments 
would be encouraged to challenge themselves for 
excellence. Also, the eligibility criteria for receiving 
distributions from the NRUF should be stringent 
because Texas universities striving for tier-one status 
would be competing not only with each other, but 
nationally. 

	 HB 51 and HJR 14 are necessary to repurpose 
the inactive corpus of the PHEF into the National 
University Research Fund to create an endowment 
for emerging research universities in Texas to achieve 
nationally recognized research status. The PHEF 
endowment was established starting in 1995 with annual 
appropriations of $50 million for the benefit of the 
non-Permanent University Fund institutions. The goal 
was for the PHEF to reach $2 billion, at which time 
the interest generated would replace general revenue 
appropriations currently allocated to eligible institutions. 
However, no state appropriations have been made to the 
endowment since fiscal 2003, and it currently is worth 
around $500 million. 

	 Using the money in the moribund PHEF 
endowment to promote tier-one universities would be a 
worthy use that would in no way reduce state funding 
for infrastructure and other needs already allocated to 
all non-PUF state universities, regardless of whether 
they are emerging research institutions. In fact, HB 51 
would authorize general revenue allocations to non-PUF 
institutions based on updated formulas, as required by 
the Texas Constitution. 

	 HB 51 also would provide crucial help to meet the 
recovery needs of UTMB, which was devastated by 
Hurricane Ike last fall. Damages suffered by UTMB in 
Galveston were significant, estimated to be around $1 
billion. The tuition revenue bonds (TRBs) authorized by 
HB 51 would fund a hospital tower on Galveston Island 
to enable UTMB to restore its trauma and indigent care 
capacity. The $150 million from TRBs authorized by the 
bill would be used to match $200 million from the Sealy 
Smith Foundation to build the building. Although a 
consulting firm had recommended moving all the patient 
beds from Galveston to the mainland, the community 
and the University of Texas System board of regents 
unanimously support a plan to repair and improve the 
island-based facilities. The consultant’s report did not 
take into account that some of the FEMA money might 
not be available if UTMB medical operations moved 
inland. Rebuilding on Galveston would maintain the 
proximity and economies of scale with the rest of the 
campus. 

Opponents said

	 While the goals of the bill are laudable, Texas 
should focus more of its limited state resources on those 
institutions that are the closest to attaining tier-one 
status. Especially because of the urgency of developing 
more nationally competitive research universities, it 
would make more sense to target fewer institutions that 
were further along the path to tier-one status.

	 An independent outside consulting firm hired by 
the UT Board of Regents found that an inland location 
would be the best hope for securing the financial 
future of UTMB and recommended moving patient-
care enterprises from Galveston to the mainland. The 
recommendation said an inland location made more 
sense because of the closer proximity to the more 
heavily populated outskirts of Houston, which has a 
greater proportion of patients with commercial and 
governmental insurance, and would help support 
operational costs of UTMB’s health care system. 
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Other Opponents said

	 The funding criteria in the bill would be too difficult 
for many institutions to reach and result in their taking 
many years to qualify for funding. The number of 
doctoral degrees that would be required should be 
lowered and take into account the underserved regions 
and populations served by the institutions, such as those 
in South Texas. 

Notes
	
	 The HRO analysis of HB 51 appeared in Part One 
of the April 24 Daily Floor Report. 

	 HJR 14, originally related solely to eminent 
domain, was amended to include provisions relating 
to establishing a National Research University Fund. 
SJR 35 by Duncan, which would have established the 
National Research University Fund, was approved by 
the Senate, but died on the Constitutional Amendments 
Calendar in the House when no further action was taken. 
The HRO analysis of SJR 35 appeared in the May 24 
Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 2083 by Solomons
Died in Senate committee

Junior college employee group health insurance benefits

	 HB 2083 would have required the Employees 
Retirement System (ERS) board of trustees to include 
eligible public junior college employees when 
determining the state contribution amount necessary to 
pay for coverage under the group benefits program. The 
bill would have defined as eligible those instructional 
or administrative employees of a public junior college 
that otherwise were eligible to participate in the group 
benefits program and whose salary could be paid from 
funds appropriated under the general appropriations act, 
regardless of whether the salary actually was paid from 
appropriated funds. 

	 The bill would have required the number 
of employees eligible for state health insurance 
contributions to be adjusted in proportion to the 
change in enrollment at each college during the 
reporting period. Colleges that experienced a decline 
in enrollment would have been allowed to petition to 
maintain the number of eligible employees at the same 
level as the prior biennium. 

Supporters said

	 HB 2083 would recognize and codify the historic 
commitment by the state to fund community college 
group healthcare insurance for faculty and staff. If 
the issue of responsibility for group health insurance 
benefits for all community college employees involved 
with educational programs is not settled, there could 
be negative statewide implications that would be felt 
in every community, as community colleges would be 
forced to shoulder a significantly higher local expense. 
	
	 If the state did not pay for eligible employee health 
insurance benefits, then community colleges would be 
forced to push those costs onto the community in the 
form of increased local taxes, increased tuition and fees, 
reduced programs and services, or deferred maintenance 
to pay for the benefits. Most districts simply cannot raise 
local taxes or tuition and have already been deferring 
maintenance for some time. The last resort would be to 
cut services by educating only the number of students 
for which the state provides funding. 

	 Forty years ago, the state agreed to fund the cost 
of instruction at community colleges if local residents 
agreed to tax themselves to build and maintain the 
necessary physical facilities. Community colleges are in 
compliance with proportionality requirements — which 
are included as a rider in the appropriations bill — by 
paying for the salaries and benefits of physical plant and 
auxiliary services employees and those who work on 
projects funded by externally funded grants. 

Opponents said

	 All state agencies and public higher education 
institutions determine the proportional cost-sharing 
split for employee benefits costs, and community 
colleges should not be treated differently. State funds 
should not be used to pay for health insurance benefits 
for non-state paid employees. Community colleges 
should pay their fair share of health insurance for their 
employees. In 2005 and 2007, the Legislative Budget 
Board recommended that the state apply proportionality 
cost-sharing to state contributions for public community 
college employees in order to reduce the state’s financial 
obligation.

	 Even though the state leadership agreed to restore 
to community colleges the funding for employee 
health insurance that the governor line-item vetoed, the 
agreement was contingent on the community colleges 
making the transition to proportionality in the future. 
Since the governor’s veto in 2007, the community 
colleges have had time to prepare for the transition and 
assume their fair share of these costs. 

Notes

	 HB 2083 passed the House, but died in the Senate 
Finance Committee.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2083 appeared in Part 
Two of the May 1 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 3276 by D. Howard
Died in the Senate

Determining student priority in awarding TEXAS grants

	 HB 3276, as passed by the House, would have 
required the Legislative Budget Board (LBB), 
in consultation with the Texas Higher Education 
Coordinating Board (THECB), to conduct a study to 
identify and recommend methods of prioritizing TEXAS 
grants for eligible students to ensure the most effective 
use of program funds. The LBB would have been 
required to study the effects of prioritizing awards based 
on financial need and in a manner that was designed to 
provide incentives for students to meet college readiness 
standards. This would have included successful 
performance on assessments of college readiness 
standards of the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) program. 

	 The LBB would have been required to report 
by December 1, 2010, the results of the study to the 
governor, the lieutenant governor, the House speaker, 
and each legislative higher education committee. 

Supporters said

	 While not aiming to reduce the number of students 
eligible for a TEXAS grant, HB 3276 would determine 
if prioritizing the award of grants based on student 
financial need and college preparedness was an effective 
method to ensure the best use of the program’s funds. 
TEXAS grants already help many students, but the 
grants could be more effective if the awards were 
given to financially needy students who are prepared 
academically. Institutions currently allocate existing 
funds to the neediest eligible students on a first-
come, first-served basis without regard to academic 
preparation. The study required by the bill would assist 
in determining the best use of limited state dollars and 
who would be affected by a more targeted approach. 

	 Since its creation, the TEXAS grants program has 
proven to be an effective tool for improving college 
readiness in Texas high school students. In 1999, only 
15 percent of high school graduates were completing at 
least the recommended high school program (RHSP), 
compared to 80 percent today. This very likely is due, in 
part, to the fact that a student must complete the RHSP 
in order to qualify for a TEXAS grant. 

Opponents said

	 Any change to a merit-based component when 
awarding TEXAS grants would shift a disproportionate 
amount of funds to students at four-year institutions and 
away from community college students. Community 
colleges, by their mission, are open enrollment 
institutions. They provide services to students who are 
trying to bridge a gap in order to be successful, learn 
marketable skills, or strengthen their academic abilities 
so they can continue on to four-year universities. 

	  If a decision was made to add a merit component to 
awarding the grants, many community college students 
no longer would meet the eligibility criteria and would 
be bumped to the end of the line for TEXAS grants. 
By their nature, four-year institutions set academic 
standards for admission at higher levels. If grants were 
awarded to needy students who met the TSI standards, a 
significantly larger portion of grant recipients would be 
at four-year institutions. 

Other opponents said

	 A better approach would be to convert TEXAS 
grants to strictly a university program and move the 
community college share to the Texas Educational 
Opportunity Grant (TEOG) program for community 
colleges. If the TEXAS grants program were converted 
to a university-only financial aid program, attention 
would have to be paid to students who graduated under 
the RHSP and were TSI prepared, but for other reasons 
started their higher education at a community college. 
Once they earn an associate’s degree and are ready to 
transfer to a four-year university, they should be eligible 
for a TEXAS grant renewal at the time of transfer, as 
long as they met the other eligibility criteria. 

Notes

	 HB 3276 passed the House on May 7 and was 
reported favorably, as substituted, by the Senate Higher 
Education Committee, but no further action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3276 appeared in Part 
One of the May 6 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 175 by Shapiro
Effective June 19, 2009

Revising Top Ten Percent automatic admissions

	 SB 175 authorizes the University of Texas at 
Austin (UT-Austin) to limit automatic admissions of 
those graduating with a grade point average (GPA) in 
the top 10 percent of their high school graduating class 
to 75 percent of its first-time resident undergraduate 
student enrollment capacity in an academic year, 
beginning with admissions for the 2011-12 academic 
year. SB 175 requires UT-Austin to report to the 
state leadership, in every year that it limits automatic 
admissions, on progress made in the areas of diversity, 
counseling and outreach, and recruiting efforts. The 
authorization to limit automatic admissions expires after 
the 2015-16 academic year. 

	 The bill allows automatic admission for transfer 
undergraduate students who would have qualified for 
automatic admission at the time of their high school 
graduation. The bill limits to 10 percent the admission 
offers to students who are not Texas residents. It 
establishes a scholarship program for certain students 
who graduate in the top ten percent of their high school 
graduating class. The bill also requires the Texas Higher 
Education Coordinating Board (THECB) to implement 
a program for universities to increase and enhance 
outreach efforts to academically high-performing high 
school seniors. The bill establishes the Higher Education 
Assistant Plan to provide to prospective students 
at certain high schools information about college 
enrollment, admissions, and financial aid. 

	 If the number of applicants who qualify for 
automatic admission at UT-Austin exceeds 75 
percent of the university’s slots for first-time resident 
undergraduates, the university may elect to limit 
automatic admissions to no more than 75 percent 
of the enrollment capacity for first-time resident 
undergraduates. If the university limits automatic 
admissions, it must offer admission to those top ten 
percent applicants according to their percentile ranking 
in their graduating class based on grade point average, 
beginning with the top percentile rank, until a sufficient 
number of applicants have been offered admission to 
fill 75 percent of enrollment capacity. The university 
must offer admission to all applicants with the same 
percentile rank. After offering admission to those 
applicants, the university must offer admission to any 
remaining top 10 percent applicants in the same manner 

as generally admitted first-time freshman students. If 
the university elects to limit automatic admissions, it 
may not use an applicant’s legacy status in deciding 
on admissions. Students admitted under the cap must 
complete at least six semester credit hours during 
evening hours or other low-demand hours to ensure 
efficient use of available classrooms.

	 To be eligible for a top 10 percent scholarship, 
students who are Texas residents must satisfy certain 
requirements, including graduating from a Texas public 
or private high school ranked in the top 10 percent 
of their graduating class under the recommended or 
advanced high school curriculum. Students must apply 
to a university that has elected to cap the number of 
automatic admissions but have been denied admission, 
have been awarded a TEXAS grant, and have met other 
eligibility requirements. To continue to receive the 
scholarship, a student must make satisfactory academic 
progress, as defined in the bill.

Supporters said
	
	 SB 175 would maintain the benefits of the Top Ten 
Percent Law while giving universities the flexibility 
they need to carry out their duty to all students in 
Texas. Since the enactment of the Top Ten Percent Law, 
universities have been required to admit all applicants 
who graduated in the top ten percent of their high school 
class. This has had significant negative consequences, 
especially at the University of Texas at Austin, which 
the bill would address. Texas universities should address 
the needs of all Texans, including the other 90 percent. 
Many top-notch students whose GPA does not rank 
them in the top 10 percent are being overlooked, even 
though they are extremely well-prepared and successful 
students. This is especially true for those in large urban 
high schools where academic competition is fierce. 

	 The law was enacted in response to the Hopwood 
decision that said race could not be used as a factor in 
college admissions. It requires state universities to admit 
certain students based on a single criterion — class 
rank — that limits an institution’s flexibility and creates 
a one-dimensional, unhealthy academic environment. 
Basing admissions on this single criterion deprives a 
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campus of a well-rounded freshman class that reflects 
the diversity and excellence of the state. Texas’ flagship 
campuses are losing control of enrollment through the 
number of slots they must dedicate to top 10 percent 
admissions.

	 According to officials at UT-Austin, among 
incoming freshman students from Texas high schools, 
81 percent were automatically admitted in the fall 
of 2008. By 2009, that number is expected to be 
86 percent. If the law was not amended, by 2013, 
UT-Austin would be forced to reject all high school 
applicants who were not top 10 percent graduates. 

	 Now that the U.S. Supreme Court has decided 
that race can be an element of admissions criteria, 
universities no longer need such a rigid policy to help 
promote diversity. Texas universities should admit and 
retain more minority students, and SB 175 would give 
them the flexibility to ensure greater campus diversity. 
Capping the number of automatic admissions would 
allow for more discretionary admissions. A more 
holistic review would allow for the recruitment of a 
rich array of students, including minority students. If 
allowed more discretion, institutions could use ethnicity 
as a factor in admissions in a robust way. If institutions 
could use other factors, such as test scores, special 
talents, leadership ability, personal achievements, or 
other relevant aspects of a student’s application, while 
continuing the use of targeted scholarships and outreach, 
they could admit a well-rounded class of students 
that would include more minorities, student leaders, 
scientists, and virtuosos. 

	 Without a cap, it would be difficult to increase the 
number of minority students because the number of 
students being admitted under a holistic review is so 
small that the slots are very competitive. Even though 
the minority enrollment percentage at UT-Austin has 
increased since the enactment of the law, the actual 
numbers are not that significant. Besides, the increased 
minority enrollment in higher education simply reflects 
the high school population trends because, since 1996, 
African-American, Hispanic, and Asian populations 
have increased in Texas. Further, there is no evidence 
that rural representation overall has increased since the 
law was enacted.

	 The bill would authorize limiting the number of 
those automatically admitted only through 2015-16, 
which would allow UT-Austin time to develop a more 

diverse, well-rounded student body. It also gives the 
Legislature an opportunity to reevaluate the program 
in the future. If minority enrollment declined, the 
Legislature would be able to address it at that time. 

Opponents said
	
	 The number of students allowed to be automatically 
admitted should not be limited because the Top Ten 
Percent system is doing exactly what is was designed 
to do — provide a race-neutral, merit-based method of 
admitting a diverse class of highly qualified, motivated 
students with the necessary skills to succeed. The 
system is fair because basing admissions on class rank 
levels the playing field for students across the state 
and compares them to their peers based on how well 
they have taken advantage of available resources. It 
was designed for students, not for institutions. Capping 
the number of automatically admitted students would 
undermine the college aspirations of students from all 
racial, ethnic, geographic, and economic backgrounds 
and would diminish the duty and accountability of 
flagship institutions to all Texans. 

	 The existing law has helped Texas’ flagship 
universities fulfill their mission to serve students across 
the state by granting broader opportunities to the very 
best students from every high school. Not only has it 
helped create more diverse freshman classes — racially, 
economically, and geographically — at UT-Austin and 
Texas A&M, but it has done so in a way that benefits all 
regions of the state, especially rural areas. Increasing 
ethnic diversity has been more successful, especially for 
Hispanic students, under the Top Ten Percent Law than 
under holistic review admissions that included pre-1996 
race-conscious affirmative action policies. Diversity 
has increased over the years since the law was enacted, 
both in numbers and percentages, and there is a better 
reflection of the population of Texas in the classes of 
students being admitted to the state’s universities. That 
same diversity is missing in the numbers of non-top 10 
percent students. It does not make sense to cap the only 
program that is working.

	 With a more limited top 10 percent plan, Hispanic 
and African-American students in rural and urban areas 
would find it more difficult to be admitted to the state’s 
flagship schools. Schools with a high percentage of low-
income students, especially border area schools, would 
lose out if the plan were changed. 
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	 Claims that automatically admitting students based 
on high school GPA is one-dimensional are misguided. 
Rather, a high school GPA is a collective indicator of a 
student’s hard work and achievement. Data from UT-
Austin’s admissions office indicate that since 1996, 
among all racial and ethnic groups, top 10 percent 
students have outperformed students who scored 
significantly higher on standardized college entrance 
exams. In addition, class rank appears to be a good 
predictor of student performance. 

Other opponents said

	 Rather than amending the existing admissions 
policy, adopting a return to a statewide policy of race-
conscious university admissions would be the surest 
way to ensure true diversity in freshman admissions. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 175 appeared in the May 
20 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 956 by West
Effective June 19, 2009 

Establishing a public law school in Dallas

	 SB 956 authorizes the University of North Texas 
System board of regents to establish a law school in 
Dallas. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
(THECB) is required to conduct a feasibility study to 
determine the actions the University of North Texas 
System must take to obtain accreditation for the law 
school. THECB also is required to conduct a study on 
the feasibility of establishing a public law school in 
areas of the state, including the Texas-Mexico border 
region, where a law school is not located, using the 
same criteria used for the determination of the need for 
the University of North Texas at Dallas College of Law. 

Supporters said

	 Texas has four public law schools, but none in the 
state’s most populous metropolitan area. In fact, Dallas-
Fort Worth is the largest metropolitan region in the 
nation without a public law school. The Dallas-Fort 
Worth area is home to about 6 million people, and that 
number is expected to increase by 300 percent by 2040. 
Dallas needs to be ready for this population surge. The 
money invested for a new public law school would be 
well spent and provide advantages both for the Dallas 
area and the state. 

	 The last public law school in Texas to receive 
American Bar Association approval was Texas Tech in 
1969. Since 1980, the population of Texas has grown 
from 14 million to around 24 million, but no additional 
public legal education institution has been created at 
existing schools during this time. Only 525 new law 
school seats have been created at existing schools in the 
last 25 years. 

	 North Texans do not have an affordable option 
to continue legal studies on a graduate level. Having 
a public law school in Dallas would serve a broad 
range of the population by providing opportunities for 
traditional and non-traditional students, many of whom 
are of modest means. Currently, anyone in the Dallas 
area desiring to attend law school must either leave for 
other areas of the state, leave the state entirely, or attend 
a private law school, which is much more expensive. 
On average, private law schools are three times as 
expensive as public ones. 

	 Dallas has a significant minority population that 
needs and wants a public law school. The population 
in Dallas is 60 percent minority, but only 9 percent 
of lawyers are members of minority groups. Minority 
representation has declined in the legal profession, 
and part of the reason is affordability. Having a more 
affordable public law school in Dallas would feed 
the pipeline to increase the number of lawyers in an 
underserved area. 

	 The bill has broad-based support from the city of 
Dallas and the University of North Texas. The city 
of Dallas has donated the old municipal building and 
an adjacent annex to house the law school as well as 
parking and some renovation funding. A new law school 
is so important to downtown revitalization that the city 
already has pledged $14 million in bond funds and $2 
million in public/private partnership funds to renovate 
the facilities to get the law school operational. The city 
also has awarded a $1 million contract and started the 
design for the exterior renovations. 

Opponents said

	 There is no immediate need for a new public law 
school in the state, now or in the near future. The state is 
producing or importing enough lawyers to meet current 
employment demands, and over the next seven years, 
the number of lawyers is projected to grow faster than 
the increase in population. Costs for a new law school 
would be substantial. Increasing opportunities for Texas 
students, particularly students from under-represented 
groups, may be better achieved by increasing class size 
at existing institutions. Starting evening and part-time 
programs at existing institutions and providing financial 
support for grants and preparatory undergraduate 
programs would serve the needs of under-represented 
populations and increase the likelihood that they would 
remain to practice near the area.

	 The state’s fastest-growing economy is in the Rio 
Grande Valley, and if there is a sharp increase over the 
next 10 years in the demand for new lawyers, as some 
have suggested, it would likely be in and around that 
area. Dallas already has two law schools in the area 
— both private — whereas the only law school in the 
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South, West, or Upper Rio Grande regions is St. Mary’s 
in San Antonio, which is also a private institution. 

	 In THECB’s recent report, “Projecting the Need: 
Legal Education,” four criteria were considered to 
evaluate the location for a new public law school: 
area of the greatest student demand, greatest student 
need, greatest shortage of lawyers, and most developed 
resources already in place. Of the 10 regions, the 
Metroplex and the South Texas regions rank highest in 
existing resources, but the area with the greatest student 
demand is the Gulf Coast region and the greatest student 
need is shared by the West Texas, Upper Rio Grande, 
Northwest, and Upper East Texas regions, none of 
which are home to a law school. The region with the 
fewest lawyers is the Upper Rio Grande. 

	 Other recommendations include allocating 
more resources and incentives to existing public 
institutions to expand their class sizes before a new 
school is established. New loan repayment programs 
or admissions partnerships also could help address 
shortages in the workforce without the greater expense 
of building a new school. 

Notes

	 The House considered SB 956 in lieu of HB 59 
by Branch, the House version of the bill. The HRO 
analysis of HB 59 appeared in Part Three of the May 8 
Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1443 by Zaffirini
Died in House Calendars Committee

Limits on increases in tuition and fees at higher education institutions

	 SB 1443 would have limited increases in 
total academic costs, including designated tuition 
and mandatory academic fees, charged to resident 
undergraduate students by public higher education 
institutions. The limit on increases would have applied 
to the 2010-11, 2011-12, and 2012-13 academic years. 
The bill also would have required certain reports 
regarding core operational costs be submitted to the 
Legislature. 

	 The charges for total academic costs could not 
have exceeded the total amount charged to a similarly 
situated student in the preceding academic year by more 
than the greater of 3.95 percent or $280. Mandatory 
academic fees would have included fees for labs, field 
trips, Internet access or multimedia service, equipment 
replacement, and instructional technology. Optional 
fees or fees approved by the students in a referendum 
would have been excluded from the limit. The bill 
would not have guaranteed that the total academic costs 
to a student would not have increased more than the 
bill prescribed if there was a change in the student’s 
circumstances. 

	 By September 1 of each even-numbered year, 
the Legislative Budget Board (LBB) would have 
been required to submit to the legislative leadership 
an estimate of the core operational costs for the 
next state fiscal biennium for each general academic 
teaching institution. The information would have been 
used in determining the amount of general revenue 
appropriations to the institutions as well as tuition 
rates. The LBB would have used a methodology that 
projected for each year of the next biennium changes 
in student enrollment for each institution and a rate 
of inflation, as well as other data relating to costs of 
instruction, institutional support, and operations and 
maintenance of physical plants. Beginning in 2013, the 
LBB would have been required to submit a comparison 
of each institution’s actual core operational costs for the 
biennium with the LBB’s estimate of those costs for the 
same period. 

Supporters said

	 Increases in tuition and fees at public universities 
have made a college education unaffordable for 

many Texans and need to be reigned in. From fall 
2003 through fall 2007, the statewide average total 
academic charges increased by 53 percent. SB 1443 
would provide predictability for families to plan for 
higher education costs. It would provide financial 
relief to students and their families while recognizing 
the connection between tuition, state support, and 
operational costs. The bill would provide flexibility for 
institutions by allowing either a reasonable percentage 
increase annually or a fixed dollar amount, whichever 
was greater.

	 The Legislature formerly limited the amount that 
public universities could charge, but relinquished 
that authority to individual institutions and university 
systems in 2003 because a budget shortfall required 
increased revenues to cover costs. Before 2003, access 
to higher education was greater because tuition was low. 
The change was a mistake because tuition increases now 
can be imposed at any time for any amount, regardless 
of whether Texas students and families can afford it. It 
was short-sighted to allow appointed boards of regents, 
rather than legislators, who are accountable to voters, to 
set college tuition. The large increases have outstripped 
other increases, including family income, and have 
blindsided students and their families. If the Legislature 
does not reassert some control, rising tuition could 
add a financial burden on Texas families that is not 
sustainable. 

	 The rising costs of higher education affect all 
students but low-income students particularly since 
Texas has a high percentage of low-income families. 
Tuition increases also hurt middle-income families 
because students from those families often do not 
qualify for financial aid. Capping the yearly increases in 
tuition and required fees would help eliminate financial 
surprises that impede graduation and would ensure that 
those who least can afford it are not priced out of higher 
education. Even though part of increased tuition is used 
for financial aid, the best financial aid would be not to 
raise tuition. 

	 Several Texas university systems and individual 
campuses already are utilizing similar approaches to 
limiting the increase in tuition, and it is working well. 
A cap on tuition and mandatory fee increases would not 
hamper an institution’s chances to strive for national, 
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tier-one excellence as long as the institution budgeted 
carefully and maintained cost-containment efforts. 

Opponents said

	 The cost of a higher education in Texas remains 
a good value because average tuition remains below 
the national average. Universities take education 
costs very seriously and realize that while tuition is 
linked to access and excellence, they must strive to set 
tuition rates that are affordable. Tuition has not gone 
up uniformly across the state because universities are 
sensitive to the markets in which they are located and 
take into account regional family income. 

	 Tuition deregulation has allowed universities 
to innovate in addressing the pricing at different 
campuses in different geographic regions of the state 
as well as the different missions of each institution. 
They have experimented with flat-rate tuition, rebates, 
and guaranteed tuition, all while providing additional 
student financial aid, because 20 percent of any tuition 
increase over a base amount must be set aside for 
financial aid. Around 25 institutions offer free tuition to 
families with a certain income level, which is possible 
because of the tuition deregulation and tuition set-
asides. Many students at the median income level have 
not seen any increase because of offsetting additional 
financial aid. For example, students at double the 
median income have had half of increases offset by 
financial aid. 

	 As a result of tuition deregulation allowing a more 
stable source of funding for public institutions of higher 
education in Texas, applications and college graduate 
numbers are up. Research dollars have increased, and 
faculty salaries are more competitive. Many campuses 
have been able to lower their faculty-to-student ratios, 
which benefits everyone. 

	 There has been a shift in the share of costs for 
higher education over the last four or five biennia. Even 
though state support for higher education has increased 
about 1.9 percent a year, the state’s share has declined 
compared to other sources of funding, while the cost to 
provide educational services has increased even more. 
The state funded 48 percent of operating costs prior 
to 2003, when tuition was deregulated; it is now at 
about 36 percent. All costs of education have increased, 
including faculty and staff salaries and benefits, utility 
costs, information technology, and construction. As the 
state’s share of the costs-per-student has gone down, 

the share that families and students pay has gone up. 
Universities must be able to count on tuition revenue as 
a source of funding and need to retain the flexibility to 
set tuition rates. 

	 According to the Texas Higher Education 
Coordinating Board (THECB), tuition and fee 
increases have had very little impact on the numbers of 
applications and enrollment. This likely is due to the 
fact that a portion of any tuition increase must be used 
for student financial aid, which has helped students that 
otherwise might be hurt by increases. 

	 A better alternative would be to require price 
stabilization with a multi-year agreement but not 
mandate the terms, and to allow institutions to plan 
according to the needs of their students and the 
institutions. 

Other opponents said

	 The ability for boards of regents to set tuition should 
be repealed altogether. Tuition should be frozen for a 
period of time to allow students the opportunity to know 
what their total education cost will be.

Notes

	 SB 1443 passed the Senate and was reported 
favorably, as substituted, by the House Higher 
Education Committee, but died in the House Calendars 
Committee when no further action was taken. 
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SB 643 by Nelson
Effective June 11, 2009

Revising state system for care of individuals with mental retardation

	 SB 643 establishes measures for oversight, safety, 
and prevention of abuse, neglect, and exploitation 
of individuals with mental retardation residing in 
state schools, in community and private ICFs-MR 
(intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded), 
and in certain group homes, and for those receiving 
home and community-based services (HCS) in lieu of 
institutional care. A focus of the bill is state schools, 
which now are referred to as state-supported living 
centers (SSLCs), and the ICF-MR component of the Rio 
Grande State Center. 

	 State-supported living centers and center 
directors. Under SB 643, state school superintendents 
now are referred to as “center directors.” Their powers 
and duties are expanded to include ensuring the health, 
safety, and general welfare of center residents and 
clients and ensuring their civil rights are protected, as 
well as monitoring arrivals and departures to ensure 
residents’ safety.

	 Video surveillance. The Department of Aging and 
Disability Services (DADS) must install and operate 
video surveillance equipment in state centers. Video 
cameras may not be operated in “private spaces,” 
including bedrooms, bathrooms, or places where 
individuals receive medical services, privately meet 
with visitors, or make phone calls.

	 Criminal background checks and fingerprinting. 
DADS and the Department of State Health Services 
(DSHS) must perform background checks on all agency 
employees, volunteers, or applicants for employee 
or volunteer positions who would be placed in direct 
contact with residents or clients. Submission of Texas 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) quality fingerprints 
is mandatory. Employees will be dismissed if a criminal 
history check reveals a conviction that would bar 
employment.  

	 Drug testing. SB 643 requires random drug testing 
of all SSLC employees and allows drug testing of a 
center employee upon reasonable suspicion of the 
use of illegal drugs by the employee. Any employee 
who knows or reasonably suspects that another center 
employee is illegally using or is under the influence of 
a controlled substance must report this knowledge or 
reasonable suspicion to the center director.  

	 Center employee training. Before a center 
employee performs duties without direct supervision, 
the department must provide training and instruction 
related to the employee’s job, including the uniqueness 
of the individuals the center serves, the health and 
safety of individuals with mental retardation, and 
conduct expected of employees. The bill also allows 
a SSLC to provide training to employees of private 
ICFs-MR or HCS waiver program group homes or other 
professionals involved in the care of individuals with 
mental retardation. 

	 Forensic state-supported living center. SB 643 
creates a forensic SSLC for the care of high-risk 
alleged offender residents at the Mexia State Center. 
DADS must hire more employees and provide training 
to direct care staff in the care of high-risk alleged 
offender residents. An interdisciplinary team (IDT) 
will determine whether an alleged offender residing in 
a state center on the effective date of the bill is “high 
risk,” or at risk of inflicting substantial harm to another. 
A current alleged offender resident classified as high 
risk is entitled, before being transferred to the forensic 
SSLC, to an administrative appeals process. DADS 
must place all new alleged offender residents charged 
with or convicted of a felony offense, or who have been 
found to have engaged in delinquent conduct defined 
as a felony offense, in the forensic SSLC until a risk 
determination is completed. Alleged offender residents 
criminally committed for misdemeanor behavior may 
be placed in other SSLCs until a risk determination is 
made. Within 30 days of an alleged offender resident’s 
being committed to a SSLC, and annually thereafter, 
an IDT must determine whether the alleged offender 
is high risk. An individual deemed to be a high-risk 
alleged offender is entitled to an administrative hearing 
to contest the determination and may file an appeal in 
a Travis County district court within 30 days of the 
administrative hearing determination.  

	 Educational services for forensic SSLC residents. 
A school district must provide educational services to 
eligible alleged offender residents. The educational 
placement of an alleged offender resident and the 
services provided must be determined by the admission, 
review, and dismissal committee (ARD), consistent with 
federal law for placement of students with disabilities in 
the least restrictive environment.  
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	 A school district in which high-risk alleged offender 
residents are enrolled must employ one or more 
behavior support specialists to serve the residents while 
at school. A behavioral support specialist must have a 
baccalaureate degree and training in providing positive 
behavioral support and intervention. A behavioral 
support specialist must conduct a functional behavioral 
assessment for each alleged offender resident enrolled in 
the district, including development of an individualized 
school behavioral intervention plan for the resident. The 
behavioral support specialist must coordinate with the 
resident’s IDT to ensure that behavioral intervention 
actions of the district and of the forensic SSLC do not 
conflict and participate in implementing the plan and 
determining the placement for each resident.  

	 A school district and the forensic SSLC must enter 
into a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to ensure 
the provision of appropriate facilities and equipment 
if a resident’s ARD determines that the resident must 
receive educational services at the state center. The 
district is entitled to an annual allotment of $5,100 for 
each resident in average daily attendance or a different 
amount for any year provided by appropriation. The 
school district must submit a report to the governor 
and legislative leaders each year accounting for the 
expenditure of funds.

	 Office of Independent Ombudsman. SB 643 
creates an Office of Independent Ombudsman to 
investigate, evaluate, and secure the rights of residents 
and clients of SSLCs. The governor must appoint 
as ombudsman an individual with at least five years 
of experience managing and ensuring the quality of 
care and services provided to individuals with mental 
retardation. Although administratively attached 
to DADS, the office will act independently of the 
department. The ombudsman will evaluate how centers 
investigate, review, and report unusual incidents and 
injuries and will evaluate center services to ensure 
the rights of residents and clients are protected and 
that sufficient unannounced patrols are conducted. 
The ombudsman will hire assistant ombudsmen with 
the same degree of experience to be stationed at each 
SSLC. The ombudsman will investigate complaints of 
a possible systemic issue in a state center’s services and 
may apprise interested parties of a resident’s or client’s 
rights, as well as advocate with an agency, provider, or 
other person on behalf of the individual. 

	 The ombudsman will prepare a biannual report 
on reviews or investigations and recommendations 
for systemic improvements. SB 643 requires the 
ombudsman immediately to report to the governor, the 

lieutenant governor, and the speaker of the House any 
particularly serious or flagrant case of abuse or injury of 
a resident or client or other serious issues.

	 Toll-free number. The ombudsman office must 
establish a permanent, toll-free number to report a 
violation of a resident’s or client’s rights. The toll-
free number must be displayed in common areas, and 
employees, residents, clients, and legally authorized 
representatives of a resident or client must have 
confidential access to a telephone to call the number.

	 New agency roles and procedures; private 
facilities. SB 643 requires DADS to notify each 
resident, parent, or adult family member of a resident 
in a state center of any incident in the center involving 
the abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a resident. The 
bill adds private ICFs-MR to the list of facilities the 
Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) 
must investigate regarding allegations of abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation. DFPS must immediately notify the 
Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
Office of Inspector General when it has cause to believe 
an individual with mental retardation has been abused, 
neglected, or exploited in a manner that constitutes a 
criminal offense.

	 Office of Inspector General (OIG). SB 643 
establishes additional duties for the HHSC Office 
of Inspector General for criminal investigations of 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation in state centers and 
for filing reports relating to investigations. OIG must 
assist local law enforcement with the investigation of 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a criminal nature and 
may employ and commission peace officers for the 
sole purpose of assisting law enforcement. The OIG 
must prepare an annual status report, including non-
identifying information aggregated and disaggregated 
by individual center, including the number and types 
of alleged offenses investigated by the office, alleged 
offenses involving center employees, and investigations 
involving suicides, deaths, or hospitalization of center 
residents or clients. 

	 Mortality review. SB 643 creates an independent 
mortality review system to review deaths of individuals 
with developmental disabilities who at the time of 
death were residents in or received services from a 
state center, a private ICF-MR or community center, 
or certain 1915(c) waiver program group homes. 
The review will be in addition to, and upon the 
completion of, any investigation conducted by the 
facility. The executive commissioner must contract 
with an independent, federally certified, patient safety 
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organization (PSO) to conduct mortality reviews, and 
PSO findings must be submitted to DADS, DFPS, 
the independent ombudsman, and the OIG. The PSO 
must submit a report semi-annually to the governor 
and legislative leaders with aggregated data on deaths, 
trends in the causes of death, and recommendations for 
system-wide improvements. Information acquired by 
the PSO in the course of the investigation is confidential 
and exempt from disclosure under open records law. 

	 Increased penalties and expansion of hearsay 
provisions. SB 643 increases the penalty for failure 
to report the abuse of a child and enhances the penalty 
for failure to report abuse of a child or individual with 
mental retardation residing in a state center when 
the actor knew the individual suffered serious bodily 
injury. It also increases the penalty for intentionally and 
knowingly committing an injury to a disabled individual 
if the individual resided in a state center and the actor 
was a direct-care employee for the victim. Texas law 
provides exceptions allowing for the admissibility of 
hearsay statements made by children who are victims of 
sexual or assaultive offenses, and SB 643 adds hearsay 
statements made by individuals with disabilities to those 
currently admissible.

Supporters said

	 SB 643 would address problems that have played a 
significant role in ongoing allegations of abuse, neglect, 
and exploitation of one of the state’s most vulnerable 
populations — individuals with intellectual and 
developmental disabilities in state schools, private ICFs-
MR, and HCS group homes. The bill would reform 
the internal operations of state facilities and increase 
oversight. It would enhance investigation and reporting, 
institute training, establish safeguards for residents and 
clients, assist staff, and ultimately initiate change in the 
culture of state schools.

	 State-supported living centers and center 
directors. SB 643 would change the name “state 
schools” to a more accurate and illustrative term. “State 
school” is a misnomer that leads to confusion because, 
while state schools do provide some educational 
services, they are residential settings offering a 
wide array of services, treatments, and habilitation, 
primarily to adults. The associated title of “state school 
superintendent” reinforces the confusion. The bill would 
require transitioning to the more appropriate terms 
“state-supported living center” and “center director.”

	 Video surveillance. The use of video surveillance 
systems would deter inappropriate behavior and 
provide evidence in cases of alleged abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation. The privacy of residents would be 
maintained by limitations on camera use, but cameras 
in hallways and other common areas would protect 
residents as employees would know their movements 
into and out of residents’ rooms were recorded and time 
stamped and could be evidence should any abuse occur 
in private.  

	 Criminal background checks and fingerprinting. 
Studies have shown that fingerprint background checks 
are the most accurate type of background check. 
An individual can fake a name but not a fingerprint. 
Both the state auditor and a Senate interim report 
recommended this measure.

	 Drug testing. A House interim report recommended 
that current DADS policy allowing employee drug 
testing only upon reasonable suspicion of drug use 
be changed to allow random drug testing of all state 
center employees. This would help protect residents by 
ensuring that employees were not under the influence of 
drugs.

	 Center employee training. U.S. Department of 
Justice (DOJ) findings noted the need for increased 
training of staff, including training on implementing 
the unique interdisciplinary treatment program of 
each resident for whom the employee would provide 
direct care. Training required by the bill would ensure 
that staff were adequately prepared to care for the 
specialized needs of people with intellectual and 
developmental disabilities. The value-based training 
recommended by the interim committee would begin 
a philosophical shift and change in state school culture 
by focusing on valuing each resident as an individual, 
respecting the needs and abilities of each resident, 
and recognizing the uniqueness of individuals, while 
offering them the highest quality of life.

	 Forensic state-supported living center. 
Establishing a separate forensic state center would 
provide more appropriate care for high-risk alleged 
offender residents and a safer environment for residents 
of other SSLCs. Currently, alleged offenders, including 
those deemed to be “high risk,” are found throughout 
the state school system, housed with non-offender 
populations and cared for by regular direct care 
staff. Assigning all high-risk alleged offenders to the 
designated forensic center would allow them to be cared 
for by staff specially trained to meet the needs of this 
unique population.
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	 The bill would ensure that current alleged offender 
residents were not transferred to the newly designated 
forensic center until they had been determined to be 
“high-risk” and all administrative appeals had been 
exhausted. Therefore, no undue transfer or disruption 
would be imposed on current alleged offender residents 
until a final determination had been made. Only 
individuals entering from the court system on an initial 
criminal commitment involving behavior constituting 
a felony would be placed in the forensic SSLC. Other 
alleged offenders would be committed by the court to 
DADS, and the agency would determine an appropriate 
state center placement for the individual until a risk 
determination could be completed. The bill would 
protect these individuals by requiring a determination 
within 30 days of an individual arriving at a state center.

	 SB 643 would provide for annual reviews of all 
alleged offenders determined to be high-risk so that 
if someone was determined to no longer be at risk of 
inflicting substantial physical harm to another, the 
individual could be transferred out of the forensic center 
to another SSLC.

	 Educational services for forensic SSLC residents. 
SB 643 would address the safety and well being of 
the forensic SSLC residents as well as the students, 
staff, and community of the Mexia Independent School 
District (ISD). The bill would provide much-needed 
guidance to the district and DADS, thereby resolving 
many issues that have been topics of dispute between 
the two.  

	 Office of Independent Ombudsman. An 
ombudsman would be established as an independent 
entity focused on the needs of residents and clients. 
The ombudsman would strengthen oversight and be 
a confidential intermediary among parents, residents, 
guardians, and DADS. Assistant ombudsmen would 
be located at each center to ensure that the rights of 
residents were upheld. The office also would serve 
as a check and balance for DADS because it would 
be authorized to review procedures and services. 
Requiring the office to report annually to the Legislature 
and immediately to report certain serious or flagrant 
situations would be another check. Allowing the 
ombudsman to make investigation reports public would 
provide greater transparency and public oversight.

	 Toll-free number. Although other toll-free numbers 
currently are posted in facilities, adding one more would 
help residents and might encourage them to call when 
necessary.  

	 New agency roles and procedures; private 
facilities. SB 643 would improve the current system 
of private group home inspection by requiring 
unannounced on-site surveys of all HCS group 
homes, other than foster homes. The bill also would 
improve oversight of private ICFs-MR. Currently, 
when an allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploitation 
is received about a private ICF-MR, the institution 
investigates itself, and DADS follows up to confirm 
that the investigation was conducted properly and to 
check for compliance with state and federal licensure 
and certification standards. The bill would remove the 
conflict of interest inherent in the current process by 
providing that reports of abuse in private institutions 
be investigated by DFPS, rather than the facility 
investigating itself. The bill also would provide more 
transparency, as DADS would be required to notify 
residents and family members when an incident of 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a state center resident 
occurred.

	 Mortality review. These reviews would help 
determine whether deaths were preventable or caused 
by abuse or neglect, lack of adequate care, or natural 
causes. The reviews would increase independence 
and transparency. Currently, when a death occurs in a 
state school, DADS handles the incident and reports it 
only to DFPS or HHSC if DADS believes there is an 
indication that the death was not due to natural causes. 
Under the bill, more trust would be instilled in the 
system because one agency, DADS, would administer 
the SSLC program; a second, DFPS, would investigate 
the circumstances of incidents to determine if they 
were due to abuse, neglect, or exploitation; and a third 
agency, HHSC, would be responsible for mortality 
reviews to identify trends and address quality of care. 
Mortality reports would provide regulators, providers, 
and legislators with trend data and strategies to improve 
care.

	 Increased penalties. Abuse and neglect of this 
population is deplorable, and the increased penalties 
provided by the bill would reflect the seriousness of 
these crimes.

Opponents said

	 SB 643 would not address major systemic issues in 
state schools cited by DOJ in its report, such as staff-
to-client ratios and the lack of mid-level supervision. 
Security cameras, name changes, and ombudsmen 
would not change the culture of state schools, which is 
the prime cause of the abuse and neglect. 
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	 State-supported living centers and center 
directors. SB 643 simply would waste the state’s fiscal 
resources by changing the name of state schools to 
“state-supported living centers.” The cost of the name 
change would be $650,000, yet residents and clients 
would not be better served nor better protected as a 
result of the change. People would continue to call them 
“state schools,” as they always have.  

	 The bill would not go far enough to specify the 
authority of a center director to fire employees “at 
will.” A December 2008 recommendation by the House 
Select Committee on Services for Individuals Eligible 
for Intermediate Care Facility Services specifically 
addressed the need for a center director to have authority 
to dismiss employees at will because many abuse and 
neglect reports are found to be “inconclusive” because it 
often is the resident’s word against the employee’s.  

	 Video surveillance. The bill’s requirement of video 
surveillance would be costly while failing to achieve 
a safer environment for residents. The presence of 
cameras in common areas likely would not reduce the 
incidence of abuse and neglect because most of it occurs 
in private. The fiscal resources for cameras would be 
better spent on items that truly would produce change, 
such as staffing, mid-level supervision, and increased 
pay to attract higher-quality employees.

	 Drug testing. While the bill would require random 
drug testing of center employees, individuals with 
developmental disabilities living in private ICFs-MR 
and HCS group homes also deserve the same protection 
from possible mistreatment by employees under the 
influence of drugs. The bill would not provide this 
protection to these groups.

	 Center employee training. Increased training is 
good, but the bill would not address improving the 
quality of staff hired to care for residents by establishing 
higher education requirements or better pay.

	 Forensic state-supported living center. The bill 
would not provide a means by which alleged offenders 
could return to their communities. SB 643 would 
provide for periodic reviews to determine whether the 
individual continued to be “high risk” for inflicting 
substantial harm to another, but would provide no 
review of the state center placement. Under the bill, 
individuals would be presumed guilty based on their 
intellectual disability and, instead of a time-certain 
sentence in the criminal justice system, would receive 
an indefinite sentence to a state center.  

	 Educational services for forensic SSLC residents. 
While the bill would make major improvements, some 
question would remain about providing services in 
the least restrictive environment. The least restrictive 
environment would be on Mexia ISD school campuses, 
but because under the bill all alleged offender residents 
receiving educational services from Mexia ISD would 
have been criminally committed to the state school 
system and would have been deemed to be “high risk,” 
or at risk of inflicting substantial harm to another, the 
forensic state center would be the safest and most 
appropriate environment for all parties.

	 Toll-free number. The required toll-free number 
for the independent ombudsman would do nothing to 
change the reporting of abuse and neglect. Three toll-
free numbers already are posted in state schools for 
reporting allegations of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.

	 New agency roles and procedures; private 
facilities. Investigation reports should be provided to 
residents and family members, as well as made available 
to the public with identifying information redacted. It 
is doubtful the current state school reform would have 
occurred if not for public records.

	 Mortality review. The bill’s mortality review is 
good, but the system would be better served if the bill 
required mortality reports to be released to the public, as 
long as resident or client names were redacted. 

	 Increased penalties. The bill would raise the 
criminal penalties for abuse by a direct care giver and 
for failure to report abuse or neglect of individuals 
living in state centers or private ICFs-MR, but not 
for those living in HCS group homes. The bill should 
address the entire developmentally disabled population 
living in group settings and not protect individuals 
residing in certain facilities over others.

Other opponents said

	 SB 643 would address needed change in state 
schools, but should establish a moratorium on 
admissions. The moratorium should remain in effect 
until the facilities are free of abuse and neglect, or 
for at least one year, to give DADS time to address 
problems and improve facilities. This was done recently 
to address issues at the Corpus Christi State School and 
should apply systemwide.
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	 Center employee training. The bill would not go 
far enough with the training made available to private 
providers. Making the training available would not 
mean that the providers would take advantage of it, due 
to logistical inconveniences and cost. The bill would be 
stronger and fulfill its intent by requiring the training as 
part of licensure or certification requirements for private 
providers.  

	 Over-reaching legislation. The bill is over-reaching 
legislation. Much of what it would implement would 
simply be recreating and renaming existing positions. 
DADS and HHSC currently are initiating changes to 
address the DOJ report. The state increased funding for 
state schools significantly in fiscal 2008-09 and fiscal 
2010-11 and should continue putting money toward 
increasing the number, quality, and training of available 
staff rather than creating more government oversight 
under SB 643 in an attempt to create a false sense of 
security.  

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of SB 643 appeared in the May 
18 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 69 by Nelson
Died in the House

Child Protective Services revisions and foster children’s bill of rights

	 SB 69 would have required the Department 
of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) to study 
the feasibility of implementing a financial incentive 
program to encourage foster children to achieve and 
maintain the progress goals set under the child’s 
individualized treatment or service plan. The Health 
and Human Services Commission (HHSC) would 
have coordinated with DFPS to study the feasibility of 
making changes to foster care assessment, placement, 
and reimbursement methodologies to improve outcomes 
for foster children. 

	 Preparation for Adult Living (PAL) Program. 
DFPS would have been required to ensure that each 
individual enrolled in the PAL program received 
information about available community resources 
in the county in which the individual intended to 
reside to assist in obtaining employment, job training, 
educational services, housing, food, and health care. If 
no community resources were available, the department 
would have ensured that the individual received 
information about any community resources available in 
surrounding counties.

	 Exit survey. DFPS would have adopted a policy 
to conduct an exit survey of each foster parent who 
decided to leave the foster care system, encouraging 
foster parents to state in their own words their reasons 
for leaving. 

	 Foster children’s bill of rights. SB 69 would have 
required that each child in foster care be informed of 
the child’s rights under state or federal law or policy 
relating to:

abuse, neglect, exploitation, discrimination, and •	
harassment;
food, clothing, shelter, and education;•	
medical, dental, vision, and mental health •	
services;
emergency behavior intervention;•	
placement with siblings and contacts with •	
family members;
privacy, including storage space, searches, mail, •	
and telephone conversations;
participation in school-related extracurricular or •	
community activities;

interactions with individuals outside of the •	
foster care system, including teachers, church 
members, mentors, and friends;
contact and communication with a caseworker, •	
attorney ad litem, guardian ad litem, and court-
appointed special advocate (CASA);
religious services and activities;•	
participation in court hearings involving the •	
child; and
participation in the development of service and •	
treatment plans.

	 DFPS would have had to provide a written copy 
of the foster children’s bill of rights to each foster 
child in the child’s primary language, if possible, 
and would have informed the child orally in simple, 
nontechnical terms, in the child’s primary language. 
The foster child could have signed a document 
acknowledging the child’s understanding of the foster 
children’s bill of rights, and if the child signed the 
document, DFPS would have placed it in the child’s 
case file. The department would have to have promoted 
the participation of foster children and former foster 
children in educating other foster children about the 
foster children’s bill of rights. DFPS would have had 
to develop and implement a policy for receiving and 
handling reports that a foster child’s rights had been 
denied. The section of the bill establishing the foster 
children’s bill of rights would not have created a cause 
of action.

	 Caseload standards. DFPS would have had 
to spend up to $12 million to increase the number 
of available caseworkers with the goal of ensuring 
that 95 percent of foster children or children whose 
parent, managing conservator, possessory conservator, 
guardian, caretaker, or custodian was receiving family-
based services from the department were visited by a 
caseworker at least one time each month, subject to a 
specific appropriation in the general appropriations act 
for fiscal 2010-11. 

	 Other provisions. DFPS would have had to 
establish a pilot program under which the foster parents 
of a child could have provided mentoring services to the 
child’s parents to assist the child’s parents in complying 
with the terms of the service plan. When assessing the 
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needs of a child in a service level review, DFPS would 
have to have considered whether, during the 90 days 
preceding the date of the review, the child had engaged 
in behavior that had caused life-threatening injury 
to the child or another individual or had undergone 
a psychiatric hospitalization. SB 69 would have 
allowed DFPS to contract with child-placing agencies 
throughout the state to provide office space for DFPS 
employees providing conservatorship services and 
performing licensing functions.

Supporters said

	 SB 69 would build on the past efforts of SB 6 by 
Nelson, enacted in 2005, and SB 758 by Nelson, enacted 
in 2007, to strengthen the foster system and improve 
care for abused, neglected, and abandoned children 
in Texas. A 2005 Harvard study indicated that foster 
children were more likely to suffer from post-traumatic 
stress disorder than combat veterans. Other studies 
have found that foster children are at greater risk of 
homelessness, teen pregnancy, and entering the criminal 
justice system. The state has a responsibility to care for 
these children and equip them with the tools they will 
need to be successful in life. 

	 Provisions of the bill, such as informing PAL 
program participants of available community services, 
would help foster youth aging out of the system to 
transition successfully into living independently as 
adults. In addition, the studies required by SB 69 would 
seek new and innovative ways of improving the system 
and providing incentives for foster children to achieve 
their goals, similar to those used by parents with their 
children in intact families.

	 The bill also would seek to improve conditions 
for foster parents by conducting exit surveys of 
foster parents leaving the system in an effort to 
identify systemic issues that lead to frustration among 
caregivers. This would be done in order to make 
recommendations and initiate required changes to 
support foster families better.

	 Foster children’s bill of rights. By codifying in 
statute a comprehensive bill of rights for foster children, 
SB 69 would ensure that young people who were a part 
of the foster care system in Texas were aware of their 
protections under the law. This would enable these 
children to advocate effectively on their own behalf and 
provide guidance for court-appointed special advocates 
and other foster care professionals. The rights included 

in SB 69 are taken from various existing sections of the 
Texas Administrative Code, the Texas Family Code, 
federal law, and other sources. The bill would compile 
these rights and protections in one place in the Family 
Code and make them available and understandable so 
that foster children could know the legal rights they 
were afforded.

	 All of the rights afforded to foster children under SB 
69 would be reasonable and appropriate for any child, 
and foster children deserve these protections. Children 
in the foster care system have experienced trying and 
often traumatic experiences. The foster children’s bill 
of rights would let these children know that they could 
benefit from reasonable protections, such as the right to 
privacy, freedom from abuse and harassment, the ability 
to access medical care, the right to file a confidential 
complaint regarding treatment, and the ability to engage 
with foster care professionals and the legal system.

	 The bill specifically would state that the rights 
conferred in the bill were based upon children’s rights 
under state or federal law or policy, ensuring that the 
rights reflected different policies under state and federal 
law to allow for different levels of care based on a 
child’s needs, and that the foster children’s bill of rights 
would not create a cause of action.

	 Caseload standards. SB 69 would require, subject 
to funding, that DFPS hire more caseworkers to improve 
the frequency of visits to foster children. Regular visits 
are crucial to ensure the safety and well-being of a 
child and to increase the chance of finding a “forever 
home” for the child, whether through adoption, living 
with a relative, or reunification with birth parents. 
Foster children who do not receive regular visits from 
caseworkers frequently get “lost” in the system for 
years, ultimately “aging out” of foster care, where 
outcomes are grim.

	 Because of these facts, federal standards require that 
95 percent of foster children be visited at least once each 
month by their caseworker. In 2008, only 74 percent 
of Texas foster children received visits once a month, 
resulting in $4 million in federal fines being imposed 
upon the state. The state got the money back this time 
due to a technicality, but next time likely would not. 
The state instead could spend the money on hiring 
caseworkers, thereby improving outcomes for foster 
children, or could continue to fail in its obligations to 
these abused, neglected, and abandoned children and 
waste money by paying fines to the federal government.
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Opponents said

	 Foster children’s bill of rights. Some of the 
foster children’s rights included under SB 69 would 
be too broad and could add to the difficulty that foster 
care providers face when caring for children in their 
custody. If a child could justify inappropriate behavior 
by pointing to a right included in the Foster Children’s 
Bill of Rights, the bill could have the unintended 
consequence of undermining the authority of a foster 
care provider.

	 SB 805 by Uresti, which died on the General State 
Calendar during the 80th Legislature, would have 
provided for a foster children’s bill of rights, but sought 
to prevent inappropriate use of a right conferred by 
stating that no right conferred under the bill would 
require a foster parent or foster care provider to take an 
action that would impair the health or safety of a child. 
In this manner, a foster parent could restrict reasonably 
a right at least to the extent necessary to prevent harm to 
a child’s health or safety.

Other opponents said

	 Foster children’s bill of rights. This bill is 
unnecessary, as all of the foster children’s rights 
included in SB 69 already exist in other areas of current 
law. Foster care providers in the vast majority of cases 
already present a foster child with a list of the child’s 
rights and ask the child to sign documentation verifying 
that the child understands those rights.

Notes 

	 SB 69 passed the Senate, but died on the May 23 
General State Calendar when no further action was 
taken. The HRO analysis of SB 69 appeared in Part 
Two of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.

	 Several other bills dealing with foster care were 
enacted by the 81st Legislature, including:

	 HB 3137 by Gallego, effective June 19, 2009, 
requires DFPS to develop a statement listing the rights 
and responsibilities of a foster parent in a foster home or 
an agency foster home and of the department or a child-
placing agency. DFPS must provide a written copy of 
the statement to each foster parent in a foster home and 
to each child-placing agency licensed by the department. 
A child-placing agency must provide a written copy of 

the statement to each foster parent in an agency foster 
home. 

	 HB 1151 by Thompson, effective September 1, 
2009, clarifies procedures by which a child may express 
a preference in designating the primary residence of 
the child in custody litigation. HB 1151 also establishes 
a new type of monthly payment, called a permanency 
care assistance benefit, that will be provided to eligible 
kinship care providers of foster children. Currently, 
kinship care providers, who are extended family 
members who care for children or sibling groups who 
have been removed from their homes, receive a one-
time $1,000 payment per sibling group, and some may 
be reimbursed for approved expenses up to $500 per 
year for three years. Eligible adoptive parents receive 
adoption subsidies of $400 to $545 per month that help 
pay for an adoptive child’s long-term care. 

	 HB 1151 provides for permanency care assistance 
benefits, including monthly payments to kinship 
providers, and may include reimbursement of up to 
$2,000 for nonrecurring expenses a kinship provider 
incurs to obtain permanent managing conservatorship of 
a foster child, including attorney’s fees and court costs. 
The bill also specifies educational and employment 
criteria for adoption assistance, permanency care 
assistance, or foster care benefits to continue until 
the month during which a child turned 21 or 22, as 
applicable. DFPS only is required to provide these 
extended adoption assistance, permanency care 
assistance, or foster care benefits if DFPS receives a 
specific appropriation for these purposes.

	 HB 2225 by Parker, effective June 19, 2009, 
creates an adoption review committee to evaluate the 
process for finding permanent placements for foster 
children. The bill requires DFPS, in conjunction with 
the adoption review committee, to conduct an extensive 
review of the foster care system to identify obstacles 
that impede DFPS’ ability to find permanent placements 
for foster children, including adoption, and to develop 
ways to improve the foster care system by reducing 
the time a child is in the conservatorship of the state 
before being permanently placed, reducing the number 
of children in the conservatorship of the state who are 
placed outside of their home county, and enhancing the 
procedures for adopting foster children.

	 SB 939 by Watson, effective June 19, 2009, which 
incorporated SB 493 by Nelson, requires the Texas 
Education Agency (TEA) and DFPS to enter into a 
memorandum of understanding regarding the tracking 
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of educational information about foster children, as 
TEA currently codes and tracks homeless and at-risk 
children to ensure they achieve academic success. SB 
939 exempts from payment of college tuition and fees 
students who were in the conservatorship of DFPS on 
the day preceding the date the student was adopted or 
the date permanent managing conservatorship of the 
student was awarded to a person other than the student’s 
parent. SB 939 also makes exemption eligibility 
applicable to those who enroll in an institution of higher 
education as an undergraduate not later than their 25th 
birthday, rather than their 21st. 

	 In addition, the bill requires that DFPS include 
in a child’s permanency plan concurrent permanency 
goals, consisting of a primary permanency goal and 
at least one alternative permanency goal. Goals may 
include the reunification of the child with a parent or 
other individual from whom the child was removed, 
the termination of parental rights and adoption of the 
child by a relative or other suitable individual, the award 
of permanent managing conservatorship of the child 
to a relative or other suitable individual, or another 
planned, permanent living arrangement for the child. If 
the department’s goal in the permanency plan is to find 
another planned, permanent living arrangement for the 
child, SB 939 requires DFPS to document a compelling 
reason why the other permanency goals are not in the 
child’s best interest. The bill also requires that when 
DFPS is named as a child’s managing conservator in 
a final order terminating a parent’s parental rights, the 
court must conduct a placement review hearing within 
90 days of the final order, followed by additional 
placement review hearings at least once every six 
months until the date the child is adopted or becomes an 
adult. 

	 HB 1043 by Orr, effective September 1, 2009, 
requires an employment preference by state agencies 
or higher education institutions for former foster care 
children, age 25 years or younger, who were under 
permanent managing conservatorship of DFPS on the 
day before their 18th birthday or aged out of foster 
care, if other applicants for the same position were not 
better qualified. This preference would not extend to a 
position of private secretary or deputy of an official or 
department or to a person holding a strictly confidential 
relation to an employer. HB 1043 also adds foster 
care alumni to the list of economically disadvantaged 
individuals for purposes of the enterprise zone program.

	 SB 983 by Davis, effective September 1, 2009, 
requires DFPS to provide to foster children aging 

out of the system certain documents within 30 days 
before the date of discharge, including a DPS personal 
identification certificate or driver’s license, a social 
security card, and proof of enrollment in Medicaid, 
if appropriate. These documents are in addition to 
those already required, such as the foster youth’s birth 
certificate and immunization records. In addition, the 
bill requires DFPS, in cooperation with TEA and DPS, 
to develop a plan to ensure that each foster child in 
permanent managing conservatorship is provided the 
opportunity to complete a driver’s education course 
and to obtain a driver’s license before the child leaves 
conservatorship. 

	 HB 1912 by Rodriguez, effective September 1, 
2009, creates the Transitional Living Service Program, 
to include and expand upon the existing Preparation 
for Adult Living program, which eases the transition 
from foster care to independent living by providing 
instruction in money management, job skills, housing, 
and transportation for foster children aging out of 
the system who are at least 16 years of age. The 
Transitional Living Service Program will assist foster 
youth or alumni between the ages of 14 and 21 in 
obtaining experiential life-skills training to improve 
their transition to independent living. The training 
will be individually tailored to a youth’s skills and 
abilities and may include practical skills such as grocery 
shopping, meal preparation and cooking, using public 
transportation, performing basic household tasks, and 
balancing a checkbook.

	 HB 704 by Rose, effective June 19, 2009, 
establishes extended jurisdiction over a foster child 
after the child’s 18th birthday. The bill allows a young 
adult to request a court that has continuing, exclusive 
jurisdiction over the young adult on the day before that 
person’s 18th birthday to render an order extending 
jurisdiction over the young adult. A “young adult” is 
an individual between 18 and 21 years of age who is 
in the conservatorship of DFPS on the day before the 
individual’s 18th birthday, and after the individual’s 
18th birthday, resides in foster care or receives 
transitional living services from DFPS.

	 A young adult who consents to the continued 
jurisdiction of the court has the same rights as any 
other adult of the same age. If the court finds the 
young adult to be incapacitated, the court may extend 
its own jurisdiction without the person’s consent in 
order to allow DFPS to refer the young adult to the 
Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS) 
for guardianship services. The bill prohibits a court 
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from appointing DADS as the managing conservator or 
guardian of a young adult. 

	 HB 1629 by Naishtat, effective May 23, 2009, 
requires that DFPS and the Texas Youth Commission 
(TYC) coordinate efforts and consistently provide each 
other with relevant health and education information 
regarding foster youth committed to TYC. DFPS must 
visit a child at least once a month while committed to 
TYC, and TYC must permit communication between a 
foster child and the child’s attorney ad litem, guardian 
ad litem, CASA advocate, or DFPS. The bill requires 
that provision of and consent for medical, dental, or 
psychological treatment for a foster child committed 
to TYC be governed by the provisions relating to the 
medical care of a foster child in the Family Code. A 
court may not dismiss a suit affecting the parent-child 
relationship filed by DFPS if the child is committed to 
TYC.



House Research Organization Page 183

Judiciary

* HB 670	 Martinez Fischer	 Qualified privilege for journalists not to testify...................................... 184    
   HB 1657	 Giddings	 Defining general contractor for workers’ compensation......................... 187
   SB 992	 Duncan	 Reorganizing the Texas court system..................................................... 189
   SB 1123	 Duncan	 Standard of causation in mesothelioma lawsuits.................................... 191   
   SJR 44	 Duncan/	 Revising selection of state judges........................................................... 193
      SB 2226	 Duncan	

Table 
of Contents



Page 184 House Research Organization

HB 670 by Martinez Fischer
Effective May 13, 2009

Qualified privilege for journalists not to testify

	 HB 670 creates a qualified privilege for journalists 
not to testify on information or sources. The privilege 
applies in civil actions and to confidential sources and 
unpublished information in criminal matters. 

	 Under the bill, a journalist is defined as a person who 
engages in the practice of journalism for a substantial 
portion of the person’s livelihood or for substantial 
financial gain. It would include someone employed by 
an institution of higher education at the time information 
was gathered for publication for a news medium or an 
agent of the news medium.

Criminal Proceedings

	 Privilege generally. An authority with subpoena 
power may not compel a journalist to testify regarding, 
or to produce or disclose in an official proceeding, any 
confidential or nonconfidential unpublished information, 
document, or item obtained or prepared while acting as 
a journalist nor the source of any such information.

	 A subpoena or other compulsory process may not 
compel the parent, subsidiary, division, or affiliate of 
a communication service provider or news medium to 
disclose the unpublished information, documents, or 
items or the source of any information, documents, or 
items that are privileged from disclosure.

	 HB 670 creates two exceptions to the privilege 
in criminal proceedings that concern unpublished 
information and confidential sources:

	 Unpublished information in criminal proceedings. 
A court may compel testimony on or publication of any 
unpublished information or its source obtained while 
acting as a journalist if the party seeking the information 
shows that all reasonable efforts have been exhausted to 
obtain the information from another source and: 

the information is relevant and material; or•	
the information is central to the investigation or •	
prosecution of a criminal case and the request is 
not based solely on the assertion of the person 
requesting the subpoena, but on reasonable 
grounds that support a belief that a crime has 
occurred.

	 In considering whether to compel disclosure, a court 
must consider, among other factors, whether:

the subpoena is overbroad, unreasonable, or •	
oppressive;
reasonable and timely notice was given;•	
in the particular instance, the interest of the •	
party seeking the information outweighs the 
public interest in gathering and disseminating 
news, including the concerns of the journalist; 
and
the subpoena or compulsory process is being •	
used to obtain peripheral, nonessential, or 
speculative information.

	 Confidential sources in criminal proceedings. 
HB 670 allows a court to compel a journalist to testify 
about or to disclose the source of any information 
if the party seeking the testimony made a clear and 
specific showing that the source of any information was 
observed by the journalist committing a felony criminal 
offense; was a person who confessed or admitted to 
the journalist committing a felony criminal offense; or 
was a person for whom probable cause existed that the 
person participated in a felony criminal offense or the 
disclosure of the confidential source was reasonably 
necessary to stop or prevent reasonably certain death or 
substantial bodily harm.

	 Requests for information regarding other crimes 
in which the transmission of information was in and 
of itself a criminal act would be subject to a clear and 
specific showing that, among other things, all reasonable 
efforts had been exhausted to obtain the information 
from an alternative source.

	 Published or broadcast information. These 
protections would not apply to any information, 
document, or item that had at any time been published 
or broadcast by the journalist. Publication by a 
news medium or communication service provider of 
privileged information, documents, or items would 
not be a waiver of the journalist’s privilege regarding 
sources and unpublished information, documents, or 
items.
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Civil Proceedings

	 Privilege in civil proceedings. HB 670 creates a 
journalist’s qualified privilege not to testify in civil 
proceedings. The bill prevents an authority with 
subpoena power from compelling a journalist to testify 
on or to produce or disclose any confidential or non-
confidential information, document, or item obtained 
or prepared while acting as a journalist or the source of 
any such information, document, or item. A subpoena or 
other compulsory process could not compel the parent, 
subsidiary, division, or affiliate of a communication 
service provider or news medium to disclose such 
information.

	 A court may compel a journalist, a journalist’s 
employer, or a person with an independent contract with 
a journalist to testify on or produce any information or 
its source if the party seeking the information made a 
clear and specific showing that:

all reasonable efforts to obtain the information •	
from an alternative source had been exhausted;
the subpoena seeking the information was not •	
overbroad, unreasonable, or oppressive, and 
when appropriate, was limited to verifying 
published information and the surrounding 
circumstances relating to the accuracy of the 
published information;
reasonable and timely notice was given of the •	
demand for the information;
in the particular case, the interest of the party •	
subpoenaing the information outweighed 
the public interest in the gathering and 
dissemination of news, including the concerns 
of the journalist;
the subpoena or compulsory process was not •	
being used to obtain peripheral, nonessential, or 
speculative information; and
the information was relevant and material to •	
the official proceeding for which testimony 
or production was sought and was essential 
to a claim or defense of the party seeking the 
testimony or production.

	 Publication by a news medium or communication 
service provider of privileged information would not 
constitute a waiver of the journalist’s privilege.

Supporters said

	 HB 670 would increase the free flow of information 
to the public and preserve a free and active press, while 
also protecting the right of the public to effective law 
enforcement and the fair administration of justice. 
The bill represents a compromise between media 
representatives and Texas prosecutors and would place 
Texas with the majority of states that have some form 
of shield law for journalists. It would provide valuable 
guidance to Texas courts as they tried to balance 
the freedom of the press with the interests of law 
enforcement. Currently, 36 states and the District of 
Columbia have some kind of testimonial privilege for 
journalists.

	 The press plays a vital role in a democracy by 
helping to protect the public from abuses by powerful 
governmental and private interests. The press serves as 
an entity through which anyone can report and bring 
important issues to the public’s attention. If sources 
believe they will be exposed when a journalist is 
compelled to disclose information, those sources will 
be fearful of confiding in the press, and that information 
may never reach the public. It is imperative for an open 
society to protect this vital function of the press by 
shielding it from forced disclosure of sources.

	 Under current law, a journalist who protects the 
confidentiality of a source against a judicial order 
can be jailed for contempt of court. In addition, 
responding to orders to produce notes and tapes can 
be a time-consuming burden for the news media. To 
fight a subpoena can easily exceed $10,000 because of 
briefing costs and the hearings involved. Journalists and 
news media in Texas face a real burden. Large-market 
Texas newspapers typically receive 10-20 subpoenas 
a year, and the average Dallas-Fort Worth newsroom 
received about 38 subpoenas a year from 2005 to 2008. 
A Mineola radio station’s one-man news department 
effectively was shut down for almost two days to 
comply with a subpoena.

	 HB 670 would help protect the free flow of 
information by forcing prosecutors to satisfy certain 
criteria to prove a need for the information they seek 
from the press and would require that prosecutors show 
that all reasonable efforts had been exhausted to obtain 
the information from other sources. Critically, HB 670 
would provide not an absolute privilege but a qualified 
privilege. A court could compel testimony if a journalist 
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was an eyewitness to or obtained information from 
a person who confessed to committing a felony, or if 
there was probable cause to believe that the person was 
involved with the commission of a felony. A journalist 
also could be compelled to testify if disclosure was 
reasonably necessary to stop or prevent reasonably 
certain death or substantial bodily harm. The party 
seeking the information would have to establish strong 
reasons why the information was needed before a judge 
would breach a journalist’s privilege against testimony. 
The simple requirement that the party seeking the 
information satisfy certain criteria would help deter 
abuse and over-reliance by law enforcement on the 
news media for information. In addition, the procedural 
requirements that HB 670 would establish would 
give the media specific grounds on which to oppose 
subpoenas and would give judges greater guidance 
when making their rulings.

	 HB 670’s limited disclosure rules would provide 
a carefully negotiated balance between protecting the 
free flow of information and allowing prosecutors to 
discover important evidence to prosecute serious crimes.

Opponents said

	 HB 670 is not needed. Texas has enjoyed a 
functioning democracy and a functioning press since 
its earliest history. Current law provides adequate 
protections for journalists faced with orders to compel 
disclosure of information. Journalists already can, 
and routinely do, make successful motions to quash 
subpoenas forcing them to testify.

	 Prosecutors do not, as a rule, rely excessively 
on journalists for information, and those who 
inappropriately subpoena journalists find their 
subpoenas tossed out of court by the judiciary. In 
addition, the press already enjoys substantial protections 
under the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. 

	 HB 670 potentially could hinder the ability of 
prosecutors to gather information. One of the goals of 
HB 670 is to make large government and corporate 
institutions more accountable, but prosecutors still need 
to speak with whistleblowers in order to investigate 
effectively any accusations of wrongdoing. HB 670 
would shift the burden to prosecutors to show they 
have exhausted all reasonable efforts to obtain the 
information from other sources, among other burdens, 
which could too easily be capriciously interpreted 
by judges and result in wasted prosecutorial time 
and resources. Shifting the burden to prosecutors to 
prove that the journalist was an appropriate source 
of information could delay or even prevent the 
administration of justice.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 670 appeared in the 
April 1 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1657 by Giddings
Died in the Senate

Defining general contractor for workers’ compensation

	 HB 1657 would have amended the Labor Code to 
define a general contractor as a person who undertook 
to procure the performance of work or services for the 
benefit of another, either separately or through the use of 
subcontractors.

	 A subcontractor would have been defined as a 
person who contracted with a general contractor to 
perform all or any part of the work or services that the 
general contractor had contracted with another party to 
perform. 

	 The bill as substituted by the Senate State Affairs 
Committee would have allowed a premises owner who 
was a homeowner, a general small business, or a small 
business engaged in agriculture to be considered a 
general contractor in procuring the performance of work 
or service on the premises owner’s property. 

Supporters said

	 By defining a general contractor as a person who 
procured the performance of work or services for the 
benefit of another, HB 1657 would establish that a 
premises owner was not a general contractor entitled to 
the exclusive remedy defense provided under workers’ 
compensation in claims brought by injured workers. It 
would counter the 2007 Texas Supreme Court ruling 
in Entergy Gulf States v. Summers, in which the court 
found that the law did not forbid a premises owner from 
being considered a general contractor entitled to the 
exclusive remedy defense. The bill would reassert that 
the Legislature, not the Texas Supreme Court, should 
make this determination. 

	 Premises owners should not have a blanket workers’ 
compensation exemption from liability as general 
contractors. In practice, premises owners do not have an 
ongoing relationship with the employees of contractors 
on construction and repair projects on their property, 
nor do they actively supervise the work. Owners of 
oil refineries or chemical plants focus on producing 
their products, not on incidental construction or repair 
projects. In addition, the Senate committee version of 
HB 1657 would provide reasonable exemptions for 
homeowners and small businesses, which would be 

more likely to supervise work, to operate as general 
contractors.

	 Premises owners already enjoy significant 
protections from liability suits through Civil Practices 
and Remedies Code, ch. 95. Essentially, an injured 
employee has to prove that a premises owner had 
control over the manner in which work was performed 
and had actual knowledge of the unsafe conditions 
and failed to adequately warn of the danger. The tort 
reform group’s own study on the low number of workers 
who prevail in such cases proves this is a high barrier. 
Allowing the Entergy standard to stand would make 
recovery from a negligent premises owner even more 
unlikely.

	 HB 1657 would provide incentives for a premises 
owner to maintain a safe workplace and prevent 
accidents, rather than skimp on safety or implement 
measures to save money on insurance premiums. The 
bill would restore the possibility of a premises owner 
being sued for a catastrophic event, such as the BP 
Refinery explosion in Texas City in 2005 that killed 15 
contract workers and injured hundreds of others. In the 
BP plant case, the premises owner had control of the 
work site and extensive knowledge of defects and safety 
issues, yet ignored warnings from its own employees 
and consultants. 

	 Entergy Gulf States does business in both Texas and 
Louisiana, and its contracts include provisions asserting 
that premises owners have protections as general 
contractors — something allowed in Louisiana’s statutes 
based on the Napoleonic code. The Texas Supreme 
Court should not have applied the Louisiana standard, 
and HB 1657 simply would restore what had been 
longstanding Texas law.

	 If, as the Texas Supreme Court claims, premises 
owners already had an established right in law to be 
considered “statutory employers” when contracting 
with subcontractors to provide workers’ compensation 
insurance, lawmakers would not have made several 
attempts to pass bills allowing a premises owner to 
qualify for the exclusive remedy defense. HB 1657 
simply would restore the long-standing interpretation of 
Texas law.
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Opponents said

	 Lawmakers should reject HB 1657 and instead bar 
all third-party lawsuits for on-the-job injuries if the 
injured worker was covered by workers’ compensation 
insurance. The Entergy decision provides an opportunity 
for the Legislature to reevaluate the public policy on 
third-party immunity in the workers’ compensation 
system. 

	 By preventing premises owners from being 
considered general contractors for purposes of 
workers’ compensation, HB 1657 could raise the cost 
of doing business in Texas and discourage economic 
development in the state. A study by the Stradian Group 
commissioned by Texans for Lawsuit Reform shows 
associated costs of third-party litigation in workers’ 
compensation cases exceed $300 million annually. 
Those expenses would not be paid just by the chemical 
plant, but would be passed along by the tire store and 
the beauty shop that sell products to consumers. Few 
workers benefit from third-party litigation in workers’ 
compensation cases. The Stradian Group report found 
that 187,000 compensable injuries occurred in Texas 
between 2000 and 2003, but only 397 plaintiffs, or 
fewer than 100 a year, collected more benefits than 
provided by workers’ compensation insurance. 

	 No employers — whether they participate in 
workers’ compensation or opt out as nonsubscribers as 
allowed by Texas law — would deliberately put their 
own employees or those of a contractor or subcontractor 
at risk. They provide safety programs both to contain the 
high costs of insurance coverage and to meet their own 
moral obligations.

	 HB 1657 could discourage premises owners 
from providing workers’ compensation insurance 
to jobsite workers. Allowing premises owners to be 
considered general contractors, and thus to qualify 
for the exclusive remedy defense when they provide 
workers’ compensation, is good for workers, business, 
and consumers. Premises owners could provide both 
protections for workers and safety programs through 
owner-controlled insurance programs (OCIP), which 
typically include workers’ compensation. With an 
OPIC, the owner of a project designates an insurance 
broker to secure insurance policies for an entire project. 
According to the Comptroller’s 2003 Good Government 
recommendations, OCIPs could result in savings of 
between 0.5 and 4 percent of construction costs for state 
projects alone.

	 HB 1657 would be contrary to what has become 
common employment practice in Texas. When Texas 
enacted workers’ compensation in 1913, workplace 
relationships usually were direct between employers 
and employees. In the past century, job sites have 
grown more complex, with multiple tiers of contractors 
and subcontractors. Texas law accommodates this 
reality by conferring immunity against tort lawsuits 
to a general contractor when the general contractor 
has agreed in writing with subcontractors to provide 
workers’ compensation insurance. The Entergy decision 
merely clarified that premises owners qualified for this 
immunity when they contracted with subcontractors to 
provide workers’ compensation insurance.

Other opponents said

	 The Legislature should address the lack of sufficient 
compensation under workers’ compensation for 
those workers with catastrophic injuries, a significant 
contributor to third-party litigation in workers’ 
compensation cases. If these severely injured workers 
received fair and adequate compensation, they would 
have less incentive to sue premises owners.

Notes

	 After handing down its ruling in Entergy Gulf States 
v. Summers on August 31, 2007, the Texas Supreme 
Court held a rare rehearing on the case in October. The 
court reaffirmed the decision on April 3, 2009.

	 HB 1657 passed the House by 73 to 71 on May 14 
and was reported favorably, without amendment, by 
the Senate State Affairs Committee on May 25, but no 
further action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1657 appeared in the 
May 13 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 992 by Duncan
Died in House committee

Reorganizing the Texas court system

	 SB 992 would have reorganized the Texas trial 
court system by making the jurisdictions of certain 
trial courts uniform by redesignating district courts 
that grant preference to certain types of law, such as 
family or criminal, as regular district courts. District 
courts would have had a common jurisdictional amount 
of $10,000 and up. They would have retained overall 
civil jurisdiction, family law jurisdiction, and the 
responsibility for complex and felony law matters. 
SB 992 would have removed statutory preferences 
that currently require certain district courts to grant 
priority to certain types of cases. The bill would have 
allowed the district court judges in a county to assign 
preferences for certain matters to certain courts by 
agreement.

	 SB 992 would have converted certain county courts 
at law into district courts. Under the bill, the Office of 
Court Administration (OCA) would have conducted a 
study to recommend which courts would be suitable 
for conversion, and the presiding judge in that court 
would have undertaken the decision either to transform 
the court into a district court or revert to a uniform 
county court at law. OCA would have examined the 
efficiency, feasibility, and estimated cost of converting 
certain county courts at law. The conversion would 
have been phased in over several years. OCA would 
have been required to complete by September 1, 2010, 
its study of each county that had a county court at law 
with jurisdiction over $250,000. By January 1, 2011, 
those county courts at law recommended for conversion 
would have been required to elect either conversion 
to a district court or adoption of standard streamlined 
characteristics for a county court at law.

	 SB 992 would have increased the maximum 
jurisdiction for a county court at law from $100,000 to 
$200,000, effective September 1, 2012.

	 SB 992 would have merged small claims and 
justice courts and required the Texas Supreme Court 
to promulgate rules of evidence for justice courts. 
The bill also would have increased the annual training 
requirements for justices of the peace and included a 
new 15-hour course on the substantive, procedural, and 
evidentiary matters in civil law. 

	 The bill would have created rules for the transfer of 
cases between district courts. This provision would have 
allowed for the transfer of cases from one district court 
in a county to another. 

	 The bill would have authorized the nine presiding 
administrative judges to employ up to three additional 
staff attorneys. These additional staff attorneys could 
have been assigned to various courts in the presiding 
administrative judge’s region to assist courts with 
complex matters or to address backlog or other matters.

	 SB 992 would have created several new grants for 
court system enhancements. The funds would have 
been distributed by OCA and would have been used 
by counties to develop programs to manage more 
efficiently cases that required special judicial attention. 
The bill also would have directed the Permanent 
Judicial Commission for Children, Youth, and Families 
to develop a grant program for initiatives that would 
improve safety and permanency outcomes, enhance due 
process, or increase the timeliness of resolutions in child 
protection cases. 

Supporters said

	 SB 992 would bring simplicity and rationality 
to the legal process by reforming the organization 
and administration of the court system. Ever since 
the current court system was established in 1891, it 
has been amended and restructured on a piecemeal 
and ad hoc basis, resulting in an outdated system 
of irregularities, inconsistencies, and overlapping 
jurisdictions. To understand a particular court’s 
jurisdiction, six sources must be consulted: the Texas 
Constitution; general statutory provisions for all courts 
on a particular level; the specific statutory provision that 
authorizes the individual court; statutes creating other 
courts in the county that may affect the jurisdiction 
of the court in question; statutes dealing with specific 
subject matter; and local rules that may specify a subject 
matter preference for particular courts. The process is 
frustrating for licensed attorneys, let alone the average 
Texan.
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	 SB 992 is the result of an exhaustive study of the 
judicial system by the Court Administration Task Force 
of the State Bar of Texas. Experts laid out specific 
recommendations to improve efficiency, increase 
simplicity, adopt more flexibility, and encourage 
excellence. 

	 County courts at law were intended to provide 
quick resolution to simple cases. Overlapping subject 
matter jurisdictions have prevented many county 
courts at law from carrying out this function. The 
bill would restore the original functions to county 
courts at law by redesignating their jurisdiction to 
cover cases in which the matter in controversy was 
between $500 and $250,000. These courts would retain 
their civil jurisdiction and criminal jurisdiction over 
misdemeanors.

	 The bill would create mechanisms to strengthen 
local control of courts. These would include allowing 
the judges in a county to designate preference for 
specific kinds of jurisdiction to certain courts. This 
reform would allow judges to build specializations 
that also would improve the efficiency of the other 
district courts in the county. In addition, district court 
judges would receive new powers to exchange cases 
and benches. These new efficiencies would speed up 
dockets. SB 992 would create grants to direct additional 
resources to courts considering certain types of cases. 

Opponents said

	 SB 992 would attempt to fix what is not broken. 
The court system in each county is a reflection of 
carefully crafted compromises between the local 
judiciary, the county commissioners court, and 
the Legislature to address local needs for civil and 
criminal courts. The number and kinds of courts and 
the jurisdiction of each reflects the individual needs of 
each locality. Streamlining these courts for the sake of 
streamlining would disrupt this local balance. Texas is 
too diverse to demand uniformity of the court system 
when local needs vary so widely. Any problems should 
be addressed on a local basis, as Texas historically has 
done. 

	 The bill further would interfere with local interests 
by changing the jobs of county court at law judges. 
These judges specifically sought to preside in county 
courts at law. Becoming district court judges would 
mean different jobs for many of them because their 
courts would have expanded jurisdictions and thus 
would hear new kinds of cases. Some judges might face 
a pay cut if they were forced to transform the nature of 
their courts. Their pay scales are set as a result of careful 
balancing by local and state officials. 

Notes

	 SB 992 passed the Senate, but died in the House 
Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence Committee when it 
was referred to subcommittee and no further action was 
taken.
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SB 1123 by Duncan
Died in House Committee

Standard of causation in asbestos-related mesothelioma lawsuits

	 SB 1123 would have modified the standard 
of causation for legal claims that sought to recover 
damages for malignant mesothelioma allegedly caused 
by exposure to asbestos fibers. The bill would have 
required a claimant to establish that a defendant’s 
product or conduct was a substantial factor in causing 
the claimant’s mesothelioma by presenting qualitative 
proof of substantial asbestos exposure, as determined 
by the frequency, regularity, and proximity of the 
claimant’s exposure over a period of time. The same 
causation standard would have applied to a defendant 
who sought to prove that another person was 
responsible in full or in part for a claimant’s asbestos-
related mesothelioma. The bill would not have required 
a plaintiff or a defendant to prove the approximate or 
exact numerical dose of exposure to asbestos fibers. 

Supporters said

	 SB 1123 would establish a fairer standard of 
proof for a small but deserving class of victims who 
contracted mesothelioma, an invariably fatal cancerous 
disease, from exposure to asbestos fibers. The Texas 
Supreme Court recently imposed one of the most 
stringent causation standards in the nation for asbestos-
related mesothelioma cases in Borg-Warner Corp. v. 
Flores, 232 S.W.3d 765 (Tex. 2007), which required 
asbestos victims to quantify numerically their “dose” 
of exposure to each individual defendant’s product. 
Unfortunately, it often is impossible to prove a particular 
quantity of asbestos exposure from any one product 
because most asbestos victims were exposed to multiple 
asbestos products and their injuries remained latent for 
several years, even decades, after the exposure. As a 
result of the 2007 decision, mesothelioma victims who 
file claims in Texas courts face greater difficulties in 
pursuing their claims and receiving fair compensation 
than victims who file in jurisdictions that take a more 
balanced approach to mesothelioma cases. The same 
difficulties apply to defendants who seek to defer 
or share liability with other responsible parties by 
demonstrating that a victim’s disease resulted from a 
product different than the defendant’s own.

	 Because the occurrence of mesothelioma generally 
requires a lower level of asbestos exposure over a 
shorter period of time than asbestosis, SB 1123 would 

apply a different causation standard to mesothelioma 
cases. The current standard is unnecessarily strict 
when applied to mesothelioma cases, since it assumes 
incorrectly that mesothelioma victims must have 
endured frequent and regular exposure to asbestos. 

	 SB 1123 is a middle ground compromise between 
the unduly burdensome standard established by Borg-
Warner and the more permissive standard, which only 
requires a victim to show that a defendant caused any 
exposure of asbestos, used in some jurisdictions. The 
bill’s proposed “substantial factor” causation standard 
would comport with the standard used in a majority 
of state jurisdictions. It would balance the needs of 
mesothelioma victims by recognizing the difficulties 
in quantifying asbestos exposure with the right of 
defendants to be free from liability unless their products 
were a substantial cause of a claimant’s illness. 

Opponents said

	 SB 1123 would take asbestos-related litigation 
in the wrong direction by lowering the standard of 
causation for mesothelioma claims. Because scientific 
research has confirmed that the level of exposure, or 
“dose,” to asbestos fibers is the most important factor in 
determining the onset of mesothelioma, an increasing 
number of state and federal jurisdictions have adopted 
the Borg-Warner causation standard by requiring 
plaintiffs to quantify their exposure to asbestos. The 
required showing of an approximate dose amount is 
common to other toxic tort cases and does not impose an 
undue evidentiary burden upon mesothelioma plaintiffs. 
SB 1123 would expose small business owners and other 
entities to spurious and costly litigation by allowing a 
plaintiff to proceed on a mesothelioma claim without 
first having to show quantitative, scientifically grounded 
evidence of exposure to asbestos. 

	 The current causation standard establishes a 
uniform, consistent framework for evaluating all 
asbestos-related claims. By reducing the causation 
standard for mesothelioma cases, SB 1123 would 
create a multi-tiered legal regime for toxic tort cases 
by distinguishing mesothelioma claims from asbestosis 
claims. Because the onsets of mesothelioma and 
asbestosis are determined by dose, it makes sense 
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that a plaintiff should have to present evidence of the 
approximate amount of dose in both types of cases.

Notes

	 SB 1123 passed the Senate by 19-11 on April 20, 
but died in the House Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence 
Committee. A similar bill, HB 1811 by Eiland, also died 
in the Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence Committee.
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SJR 44/ SB 2226 by Duncan
Died in the Senate

Revising selection of state judges

	 SJR 44 would have proposed a constitutional 
amendment to require a justice or judge elected to the 
Texas Supreme Court, Court of Criminal Appeals, courts 
of appeals, or district court to stand for a retention 
election on a nonpartisan ballot at the end of the judge 
or justice’s initial term of office. SB 2226, the enabling 
bill, would have established election procedures for 
these judges and would have required a justice or judge 
appointed to a vacant judicial office by the governor to 
stand for an election on a partisan ballot at the end of 
the appointed term, followed by a nonpartisan retention 
election at the end of each successive term.  

	 After an initial term, a judge would have been 
subject to a retention election on a November general 
election ballot. A judge retained by a majority of voters 
would have served an additional term. If voters elected 
not to retain a judge, the office would have become 
vacant and subject to being filled by the governor with 
the advice and consent of the Senate. The retention 
system would have taken effect January 1, 2010.

Supporters said

	 SJR 44/SB 2226 would reform the state’s 
judicial system to help ensure that incumbent judges 
were evaluated based on their individual merits and 
experience rather than their party affiliation. Shifting 
political winds, not judicial performance, have resulted 
in the defeat of significant numbers of qualified, 
experienced judges. Because judges currently are barred 
from stating their positions on specific issues, factors 
such as party affiliation and campaign advertising 
and contributions have played an inappropriate and 
undeserved role in determining the outcome of judicial 
elections. As a result, many Texas voters regard the state 
judicial system as intrinsically biased toward litigants 
who contribute to a judge’s campaign.  

	 Requiring nonpartisan retention elections for 
judges who first were elected on a partisan ballot would 
establish an ideal balance between allowing input by 
politically motivated interest groups and encouraging 
voters to select judges primarily based on qualifications 
and performance. It would reduce the influence 
of campaign contributions, help ensure a roster of 

qualified candidates, guarantee voters a voice in judicial 
selection, and encourage assessment of candidates on 
the basis of their records, rather than party affiliations or 
campaign advertising.

Opponents said

	 The election system proposed by SJR 44/SB 
2226 would not make judicial elections any less 
political than they are under the current partisan ballot 
system. The appointment of a judge by the governor 
is an inherently political act, and judges likely would 
be selected because of political connections rather 
than individual merit. Retention elections would 
not necessarily improve the public’s perception of 
judicial candidates or make voters’ decisions any more 
related to the qualifications and experience of the 
candidates. Litigants and special interest groups still 
could exert influence through campaign contributions 
and advertising. The most likely effect of SJR 44/SB 
2226 would be to make it more difficult for voters to 
oust incumbent judges. Experiences in other states 
with retention systems show that, in retention elections 
without a single opposing candidate, incumbents face 
low rejection rates from voters and become ensconced 
in their positions. The current partisan election system 
has served the state well by allowing judicial candidates 
from outside the legal establishment to bring a diversity 
of experiences and viewpoints to bench. 

Other opponents said

	 Without any limiting conditions on the governor’s 
power to appoint judges, SJR44/SB 2226 would give 
the governor too much political influence on judicial 
selection. A better approach would be to require the 
governor to select from a list of judges approved by 
the State Bar or other independent group based on 
specific criteria pertaining to a judge’s qualifications 
and experience. This would help ensure that judicial 
appointments were made on the basis of merit, not 
politics. 

	 Another alternative would be to finance judicial 
elections publicly. Public financing would diminish the 
negative influence of campaign contributions while still 
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allowing voters to consider party affiliation as one factor 
among many in selecting judges.  

Notes

	 SJR 44 and SB 2226 both were reported favorably, 
without amendment, by the Senate State Affairs 
Committee on April 17, but no further action was 
taken. A proposed constitutional amendment, SJR 23, 
and the enabling bill, SB 782, both by Duncan, would 
have provided for nonpartisan retention elections for 
appellate judges, but not district judges, following a 
gubernatorial appointment of a judge to a vacant office, 
but would not have required that an appointed judge first 
stand for an election on a partisan ballot. SJR 23 and SB 
782 both died in the Senate Jurisprudence Committee.

	 HB 3995 by Hunter, which also would have 
provided for nonpartisan retention elections for 
appellate judges appointed by the governor to a 
vacant office, died in the House Judiciary and Civil 
Jurisprudence committee.
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HB 3 by Eissler
Effective June 19, 2009

School accountability and public school curriculum

	 HB 3 revises requirements for high school 
graduation and promotion to the next grade level, 
academic and financial accountability standards for the 
public schools, and the dissemination of assessment 
data. 

	 High school graduation programs. The State 
Board of Education (SBOE) must designate specific 
foundation courses required for the minimum, 
recommended, and advanced high school graduation 
programs, but may not designate specific enrichment 
courses or a specific number of enrichment credits 
required for each program. All students must complete 
one physical education credit. 

	 To enroll in the minimum high school plan, a 
student must be at least 16 years old; have completed 
two credits required for graduation in English, 
mathematics, science, and social studies; or have 
failed to be promoted to the 10th grade one or more 
times. The student’s parent or guardian and a school 
administrator must provide written approval. A parent 
or guardian may not consent until the school district 
provides written notice in both English and Spanish of 
the benefits of the recommended high school program. A 
student in the minimum high school graduation program 
may choose at any time to resume the recommended 
program. 

	 Under the recommended and advanced programs, all 
students still must complete four years of mathematics, 
science, English language arts, and social studies. The 
social studies requirement must include at least one-
half credit of government and at least one-half credit 
of economics. The social studies requirement includes 
two credits of a language other than English to graduate 
under the recommended program and three under the 
advanced program. Students will need six elective 
credits to graduate under the recommended program 
and five under the advanced program. A student must 
achieve at least the minimum score determined by 
the commissioner of education for English III and 
Algebra II end-of-course exams to graduate under the 
recommended or advanced programs.  

	 Students who meet college readiness standards on 
both the Algebra II and English III end-of-course exams 

and complete either the recommended or advanced 
program are not required to take assessments given 
by an institution of higher education to assess ability 
to perform in a freshman-level course in those subject 
areas.

	 A school district must use the GPA calculation 
method adopted by the commissioner of higher 
education, if the commissioner adopts a uniform 
method.  

	 Fine arts. All middle and high school students 
must complete at least one fine arts course. TEA 
will administer a pilot program allowing high school 
students in certain counties to satisfy the fine arts credit 
by participating in a program on or off campus and 
outside the regular school day. TEA will report to the 
Legislature the feasibility of expanding it statewide.

	 Early diploma pilot program. The bill establishes 
a pilot program under which a school district may 
issue a high school diploma to a student if, using 
standards developed by participating universities, the 
student demonstrates early readiness for college and 
mastery of subject areas for which readiness standards 
have been adopted and a language other than English, 
notwithstanding other local or state requirements. A 
student receiving a diploma through this program is 
considered to have completed the recommended high 
school program.
 
	 Dual credit. The SBOE, with the Texas Higher 
Education Coordinating Board (THECB), must adopt 
rules to ensure that a student who completes a course 
at an institution of higher education to earn high school 
credit has met the curriculum requirements of the 
student’s graduation program.

	 Grade promotion. The commissioner of 
education must provide guidelines to districts to use 
in determining grade promotion requirements. School 
districts must determine by the first day of the school 
year the requirements for students to be promoted to the 
next grade. School districts must consider a student’s 
performance on assessments, teacher recommendations, 
grades in each subject area, and any other information 
a school district deems important. For each subject in 
which the student fails to perform satisfactorily on the 
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assessment, a student promoted to the next grade by 
the grade placement committee must be assigned to a 
teacher who meets all state and federal qualifications to 
teach in that subject area and grade. 

	 A student who failed to pass the 3rd grade reading 
assessment no longer will be automatically retained in 
the 3rd grade. A school district must provide accelerated 
instruction for students in grades 3 through 8 in the 
subject area in which the student failed to perform 
satisfactorily on the state assessment. A student in 
grades 3 through 8 who does not perform satisfactorily 
may not be promoted to the next grade level unless the 
student completes accelerated instruction before the 
beginning of the new school year. The commissioner 
will develop guidelines for district accelerated 
instruction programs.  

	 Career and technical education. The bill requires 
that the state plan for career and technical education 
provide a rigorous course of study consistent with 
the required curriculum through which a student may 
receive specific education in a career and technical 
program that:

incorporates competencies leading to academic •	
and technical skill attainment;
leads to an industry-recognized license, •	
credential, certificate, or an associate or 
baccalaureate degree;
includes opportunities for students to earn •	
college credit for coursework; and
includes, as an integral part of the program, •	
participation by students and teachers in 
activities of career and technical student 
organizations. 

	 Each time the THECB revises the official statewide 
inventory of workforce education courses, the SBOE 
must revise the essential knowledge and skills of any 
corresponding career and technical curriculum. 

	 The commissioners of education and higher 
education, with the comptroller and the Texas Workforce 
Commission, may award grants of up to $1 million to an 
institution of higher education to work with at least one 
school district and a business entity to develop advanced 
math and science courses to prepare students for a high-
demand occupation. Total grant awards in a biennium 
may not exceed $10 million. An institution awarded a 
grant must obtain from one or more business entities in 
the relevant industry — in a total amount equal to the 

amount of the state grant — gifts, grants, or donations 
of funds or property to be used for the course. 

	 School district accreditation. Each school district 
will be assigned an accreditation status of accredited, 
accredited-warned, or accredited-probation, based on 
criteria determined by the commissioner of education. In 
assigning accreditation, the commissioner must consider 
a school district’s performance on student achievement 
indicators and under the financial accountability system. 
The commissioner may continue to consider statutory 
compliance, data reporting, and the effectiveness of 
district programs. A district’s accreditation status may 
be raised or lowered based on the district’s performance 
or lowered based on the performance of one or more 
campuses in the district that do not meet performance 
standards. 

	 The commissioner may change the accreditation 
status of a district, change the accountability rating of a 
district or campus, or withdraw a distinction designation 
as a result of a special on-site investigation of a district 
into questions about a program, including special 
education, required by federal law or for which the 
district receives federal funds. 

	 The bill expands the situations in which the 
commissioner must conduct a special accreditation 
investigation. After the investigation, the commissioner 
may change the accreditation status of a district or the 
accountability rating of a district or campus, or may 
impose interventions or sanctions as deemed necessary.

	 The bill amends the current calculation of dropout 
and completion rates by excluding students ordered to 
GED programs by a court, those previously reported to 
the state as dropouts, students not counted in average 
daily attendance, students who enrolled initially as 
unschooled refugees or asylees, and students detained 
at a county, state, or federal facility within the criminal 
justice system.

	 Performance ratings. By August 8 of each year, the 
commissioner will assign each school district, campus, 
and open-enrollment charter school a performance 
rating of either acceptable or unacceptable based 
on the state minimum standard set for each student 
achievement indicator and for required improvement. 
Required improvement is the progress necessary for the 
campus or district to meet state standards. 

	 The commissioner must raise the state standards for 
the student achievement indicators for accreditation as 
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necessary to reach the goals of achieving, by the 2019-
20 school year:

student performance in this state, disaggregated •	
by race, ethnicity, and socioeconomic status, 
that ranks nationally in the top 10 states in terms 
of college readiness; and
student performance, including the percentage •	
of students graduating under the recommended 
or advanced high school program, with no 
significant achievement gaps by race, ethnicity, 
and socioeconomic status.

	 TEA will determine the annual improvement for a 
student to be prepared to perform satisfactorily on the 
5th and 8th grade assessment instruments and the end-
of-course exams required to earn a high school diploma.

	 The commissioner must define acceptable 
performance as meeting the state standard for the 
current school year based on student performance in 
the current school year or as averaged over the current 
school year and the preceding two school years. The 
commissioner may assign an acceptable performance 
rating if the campus or district:

performs satisfactorily on 85 percent of •	
the measures the commissioner determines 
appropriate with respect to the student 
achievement indicators; and
does not fail to perform satisfactorily on the •	
same student achievement indicator for two 
consecutive school years.

	 An exception may be granted only if the 
performance of the district or campus is within a 
certain percentage, as determined by the commissioner, 
of the minimum performance standard, or in special 
circumstances, based on alternative criteria established 
by the commissioner.

	 If a district or campus received an unacceptable 
rating for the preceding year, the commissioner 
will notify the district or campus of a subsequent 
unacceptable rating by June 15.

	 Distinction designations. The commissioner must 
adopt criteria for a campus or district to earn recognized 
or exemplary academic distinction, including the 
percentage of students performing satisfactorily on 
college readiness indicators, aggregated across grade 
levels by subject area, or the percentage meeting annual 

improvement standards, aggregated across grade levels 
by subject area. 

	 The commissioner will award a campus a distinction 
designation if a campus: 

is ranked in the top 25 percent of all state •	
campuses in annual student improvement; 
demonstrates an ability to significantly •	
close the achievement gap between student 
subpopulations and is in the top 25 percent 
of all state campuses under the student 
performance criteria; or 
demonstrates significant academic achievement •	
in English language arts, mathematics, science, 
social studies, fine arts, physical education, 21st 
century workforce development programs, or 
second language acquisition.

	 Intervention and sanctions. Campus interventions 
and sanctions will begin the first year that a campus, 
including an open-enrollment charter school, does not 
meet performance standards on all student achievement 
and financial indicators. If the campus implements 
intervention measures substantially similar to federal 
accountability requirements, the commissioner may 
accept those measures as sufficient for the purposes of 
the state accountability system. 

	 The commissioner may order a hearing at which 
the president of the school district board of trustees, 
the superintendent, and the campus principal appear 
to explain the school’s low performance, lack of 
improvement, and plans for improvement. 

	 The commissioner may order the establishment 
of a school community partnership team composed 
of members of the campus-level planning and 
decision-making committee and additional community 
representatives as determined appropriate by the 
commissioner.

	 The campus-level planning committee of a campus 
or charter school must develop a campus improvement 
plan to address the areas in which the school was not 
projected to meet performance standards the following 
year. 

	 A campus intervention team must be assigned to 
a campus that does not meet performance standards 
on any indicator and work with the school community 
partnership team. The team must assess factors such 



House Research Organization Page 199

as teacher retention, certification, and professional 
development and the quality of educational programs. 
The team must provide targeted help in areas in which 
the school did not meet performance standards and help 
develop a targeted improvement plan. The team must 
remain with the school until all academic performance 
standards are met, updating the targeted improvement 
plan as necessary. 

	 If a campus is rated unacceptable for two 
consecutive years, the commissioner must order the 
campus reconstituted. A reconstitution plan must be 
submitted to the commissioner after a public hearing 
and approval from the school district board of trustees. 
Each year the campus has an unacceptable rating, the 
campus intervention team must help update the target 
improvement plan and submit it to the board of trustees, 
parents, and the commissioner for approval. 

	 A school principal who was assigned to the campus 
during the time the campus did not meet performance 
standards may not be retained unless the campus 
intervention team determines it is appropriate to do so. 
The bill retains the requirement that all math, reading, 
science, writing, English/language arts, and social 
studies teachers be removed from the campus unless 
the campus intervention team determines that students 
taught by the teacher exhibited a pattern of significant 
academic improvement. 

	 The commissioner still may appoint a conservator, 
monitor, management team, or board of managers 
to oversee district-level support to low-performing 
campuses and the implementation of the updated 
targeted improvement plan. 

	 If the commissioner determines that a campus did 
not fully implement the targeted improvement plan or 
students failed to demonstrate substantial improvement 
in the targeted areas, the commissioner may pursue 
alternative management, repurpose the campus, or order 
the closure of the campus. 

	 Repurpose or closure of a campus. Should 
a campus maintain an unacceptable rating for five 
consecutive years, then repurposing the campus, 
alternative management, or closure is required. The 
commissioner may waive this requirement for one 
year if the commissioner determines that significant 
improvement in student performance over the preceding 
two years indicated that the campus is likely to be rated 
acceptable the following year. 

	 If the commissioner orders repurposing, the school 
district must submit a comprehensive plan to the board 
of trustees and to the commissioner for approval. All 
students assigned to the campus in the school year 
immediately preceding the repurposing of the campus 
will have the opportunity to enroll at another campus. 
The principal may not be retained at the campus unless 
the commissioner determines that the students have 
achieved significant academic improvement. Teachers 
may not be retained unless the commissioner grants a 
waiver for those who did not teach a subject for which 
an assessment was administered or whose students had 
demonstrated improved academic growth. 

	 The commissioner may not require a campus to 
change its name as a result of reconstitution or when the 
campus is re-purposed. 

	 A qualified for-profit entity may apply for alternative 
management of a public school if a qualified non-profit 
entity is unavailable. 

	 Transitional intervention and sanctions. During 
the transition to the accreditation system established 
under HB 3, to be implemented in August 2013, the 
commissioner may suspend assignment of accreditation 
status and performance ratings for the 2011-12 school 
year.

	 As soon as practicable following the 2011-12 school 
year, the commissioner must report and evaluate district 
and campus performance on the college readiness 
student achievement indicators. For the 2012-13 school 
year, the commissioner must assign district accreditation 
status and district and campus performance ratings 
based on that evaluation.

	 Beginning with the 2013-14 school year, the 
commissioner must evaluate district and campus 
performance based on student performance on 
assessment instruments and assign district accreditation 
status and district and campus performance ratings 
based on that evaluation.

	 During the 2011-12 and 2012-13 school years, 
the commissioner must implement interventions and 
sanctions for districts and campuses identified as having 
unacceptable performance in the 2010-11 school year 
based on the performance standards applicable during 
that school year. The commissioner may increase or 
decrease interventions and sanctions based on district 
or campus performance. For determining multiple years 
of unacceptable performance and required interventions 
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and sanctions, performance ratings and accreditation 
statuses issued in the 2010-11 and 2012-13 school years 
will be considered consecutive.

	 State and local testing. TEA must develop state 
assessments that allow a student’s score to provide 
reliable information on each performance standard 
and an appropriate range of performance to serve as a 
valid indication of growth in student achievement. A 
separate section for testing college readiness no longer 
is permitted; these questions will be integrated into the 
assessment. The commissioner may not require any 
school district or open-enrollment charter school to 
administer a statewide assessment by computer.

	 On required end-of-course exams in mathematics, 
science, English, and social studies, a student’s 
cumulative score must average out to a satisfactory 
scale score, as determined by the commissioner. A 
student must achieve a minimum score determined by 
the commissioner for an end-of-course exam score to 
count toward a cumulative score. 

	 A student who does not perform satisfactorily on 
an end-of-course exam must retake the exam. If the 
student’s performance does not meet college readiness 
performance standards on the Algebra II or English III 
end-of-course exam, the student may take the exam 
again. 

	 For students under the recommended or advanced 
graduation plans, the commissioner may by rule 
determine a way by which a student’s score on the PSAT 
or the ACT can help determine whether the student 
satisfies the requirement to perform satisfactorily in 
mathematics, science, English, or social studies to 
obtain a high school diploma. 

	 The exemption from taking an assessment 
instrument provided for certain students with limited 
English proficiency will be extended to six years. 

	 The determination of which students in a special 
education program qualify for an alternative assessment 
is left solely to the students’ admission, review, and 
dismissal committees. 

	 The bill limits the time that may be spent on 
locally required testing to prepare students for state-
administered exams to no more than 10 percent of 
instructional days in a school year. A campus-level 
planning and decision-making committee may set this 
limit at 10 percent or lower.
	

	 Performance standards. The commissioner 
must establish college readiness standards and overall 
performance standards for end-of-course exams and 
assessments in grades 3-8. The bill defines college 
readiness as the level of preparation necessary for a 
student to enroll and succeed without remediation in 
an entry-level English language arts or math course 
for credit toward a baccalaureate or associate degree 
program. 

	 Before the beginning of the 2011-12 school 
year, TEA, with THECB, will conduct research to 
substantiate the correlation between college readiness 
and a certain level of performance by students on 
the Algebra II and English III end-of-course exams. 
Algebra II and English III end-of-course exams will be 
developed to measure college readiness beginning with 
the 2011-12 school year.

	 TEA, with THECB, must research science and 
social studies end-of-course exams. If the education 
commissioner determines that the research substantiates 
a correlation between student performance on end-of-
course exams and college readiness, the commissioner 
may establish college readiness performance standards 
for the science and social studies end-of-course exams. 

	 By December 1, 2012, TEA must report to 
legislative leaders the feasibility of implementing 
college readiness performance standards for the science 
and social studies end-of-course exams and a summary 
of implementation procedures for each standard.

	 The commissioner must collect data every three 
years to assess the correlation between student 
performance on end-of-course exams and college 
readiness and, if necessary, adjust the rigor of the state’s 
college readiness performance standards. TEA must 
compare the college readiness standards in Texas to 
other states and countries to ensure academic rigor and 
competitiveness and report its findings to legislative 
leaders. 

	 Financial accountability. The bill requires each 
school district to post a copy of its budget to the 
district’s website and allow public access to that budget 
for three years. The bill repeals the rule that at least 65 
percent of a district’s budget be spent for instructional 
purposes and prohibits any proscription of funds 
appropriated to school districts and open-enrollment 
charter schools. Open-enrollment charter schools must 
meet financial accountability expectations.
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	 The comptroller must identify school districts 
and campuses that allocate resources in a way that 
contributes to high academic achievement and cost-
effective operations, based on existing academic and 
financial data, and rank school districts based on the 
evaluation and identify areas for improvement. 

	 The commissioner, in consultation with school 
district and open-enrollment charter school financial 
officers, must develop a process to review annually 
the financial solvency of all school districts and open-
enrollment charter schools. An electronic system 
developed by the commissioner must alert TEA when a 
student-to-staff ratio is significantly outside the norm, 
when there is a rapid depletion of the district or charter 
school’s general fund balance, and when a significant 
discrepancy between actual budget figures and 
projected revenues and expenditures occurs. TEA will 
immediately notify the school district of such an alert. 

	 If a deficit within three years is projected for a 
district, the district must submit to TEA a new budget 
that will resolve the deficit. A district will be rated 
accredited-warned if it does not submit a plan, fails 
to have its plan approved, or fails to comply with the 
approved plan, or if in a subsequent year TEA finds that 
the plan will not avoid the projected deficit.

	 Data collection and reporting. TEA must 
establish a student assessment data portal to allow 
school districts, teachers, parents, students, and public 
institutions of higher education access to individual or 
general student assessment data, including tracking of 
student progress. The information must be available by 
the first day of the school year and include data over 
multiple years, beginning with the 2007-08 school 
year. The portal must permit comparisons of student 
performance at the classroom, campus, district, and state 
levels. 

Supporters said 

	 HB 3 would facilitate a true educational continuum 
for public school students in Texas from pre-school 
through higher education. State assessments would 
be properly aligned with grade-level curriculum and 
with college readiness. The new system would provide 
assurance that graduates were college- or workforce-
ready upon graduation.

	 Students would have more flexibility in coursework 
to pursue their individual interests, while still receiving 

a quality education. Having multiple pathways with 
equal rigor would allow each student to reach his or 
her full potential. The bill would make interventions 
and sanctions more effective by allowing schools 
adequate time to implement changes and demonstrate 
improvement.

	 The financial accountability system would provide 
early indications to school districts and charter schools 
if their financial plans required adjustment to prevent 
problems in future years. 

	 Student improvement. The current accountability 
system does not account for the diversity of the student 
population or student progress because it holds all 
schools to the same standard, despite diverse student 
populations. By contrast, a growth measure system 
would credit districts for individual student performance 
improvement, while also accounting for individual 
student and district characteristics. A growth model 
would acknowledge that a child who has fallen behind 
typically requires more than one academic year to catch 
up to that child’s peers. 

	 Data collection. The current system collects 
copious data but does not disseminate the information in 
a coherent or useful manner. The bill would implement a 
system that would be diagnostic, transparent, and easier 
to use. 

	 High-stakes testing. Claims that the bill would 
maintain high-stakes testing are unfounded. It actually 
would lower significantly the number of tests students 
are required to take because the bill would reduce 
the number of instructional days during which it was 
permissible to administer practice tests. 

	 Alternative management standards. In order 
to ensure that alternative management was a viable 
option, it is necessary to allow for-profit companies 
the opportunity to apply to manage schools. When the 
state previously requested applications from non-profit 
organizations to manage schools that were required 
to be under new management, repurposed, or closed, 
no such organizations applied. This meant that the 
commissioner was forced to choose between closure 
and repurposing the building. The bill would allow a 
for-profit entity to apply to manage schools only if a 
qualified non-profit entity were unavailable.
 
	 Accreditation ratings and performance 
standards. While some argue that TEA needs explicit 
guidance on accreditation and performance standards in 
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order to make the criteria known, this is not necessary. 
The agency would be required to publish the criteria on 
its website so that all stakeholders would be informed. 
When developing rules and standards, the agency 
gathers data about best practices and current research 
and seeks the input of stakeholders. This ensures that 
rules and standards are in line with parent, business, and 
industry expectations.

Opponents said

	 This bill represents a missed opportunity to address 
mistakes made in the past. It would not ensure that 
students acquired the knowledge and skills in each core 
subject area to succeed in college or the workforce, 
which in turn would ensure that students had the basic 
knowledge and skills to become “trainable” in a variety 
of fields. While Algebra II and English III can be a 
proxy for college and career readiness in their respective 
subject areas, meeting college readiness on those two 
exams alone would not demonstrate the ability to 
succeed in all areas after high school. 

	 High-stakes testing. Student performance on 
tests still would drive the accountability system under 
HB 3. This bill would retain the emphasis on one 
test throughout elementary and middle school, as 
well as required performance standards on end-of-
course exams. The system would continue to promote 
“teaching to the test” at the expense of other necessary 
curriculum, such as critical thinking, analytical skills, 
and reading comprehension. 

	 Accreditation ratings and performance 
standards. TEA would need guidance on accreditation 
and performance standards, with explicit language, so 
that all stakeholders know the criteria. The bill should 
provide explicit standards for the career and technical 
courses that would qualify to meet the four years of 
math and science graduation requirement. The bill 
should stipulate that teachers would have to be highly 

qualified in the same way a math and science teacher 
will be.

	 Alternative management standards. The state 
experienced significant problems the last time for-profit 
entities were allowed to participate in the competitive 
bidding process to run public schools. Costs assumed by 
for-profit entities were significantly higher, but student 
performance decreased. Their curriculum did not adhere 
to curriculum standards set by the state. These entities 
may fail to adequately manage schools by inaction, such 
as failing to order textbooks on time. As a result of past 
experience, the state revoked permission for for-profit 
entities to participate in the bidding process. Reinstating 
them would not benefit public schools, as for-profit 
entities still present these same problems, as evidenced 
in other states. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3 appeared in Part One 
of the April 29 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 130 by Patrick 
Vetoed by the governor 

Full-day prekindergarten for certain children

	 HB 130 would have directed the commissioner 
of education to establish a grant program for school 
districts and open-enrollment charter schools, with 
funds appropriated in the general appropriations act, 
to implement a full-day prekindergarten program for a 
child at least three years old who: 

was unable to speak and comprehend the •	
English language; 
was educationally disadvantaged; •	
was a homeless child; •	
was the child of an active duty member of the •	
armed forces; 
was the child of a member of the armed forces •	
who was injured or killed while serving on 
active duty; or 
was or ever had been in the conservatorship •	
of the Department of Family and Protective 
Services.

	 Grants awarded to school districts. A school 
district or open-enrollment charter school would have 
applied to the commissioner, who would have awarded 
grants in the following priority: 

school districts that received grant funding for •	
early childhood education in a lesser amount 
than the amount provided during the 2008-09 
school year and demonstrated above-average 
student performance for the preceding three 
school years on the state assessment instruments 
to students in the 3rd grade; and
school districts that provided services to eligible •	
prekindergarten students and demonstrated 
above-average student performance for the 
preceding three school years on the state 
assessment instruments to students in the 3rd 
grade. 

	 The commissioner would have determined the 
amount of each grant awarded to school districts, and 
no grant could have exceed $4 million annually. Grant 
funding would have been paid directly to a school 
district or open-enrollment charter school and could 
not have been used in any way that would resemble a 
voucher program.

	 A school district participating in the grant program 
would have included in the district’s Public Education 
Information Management System (PEIMS) report 
student-level results of reading instruments administered 
at the kindergarten, first, and second grade levels. 

	 TEA would have collected and maintained 
information reported by school districts regarding state 
assessments to students in the third grade, produced 
longitudinal student performance reports, and made the 
reports available and accessible to the general public.

	 Enhanced quality. A district could not have 
enrolled more than 22 students in a prekindergarten 
class and would have had to maintain an average ratio 
in the program of not less than one certified teacher or 
teacher’s aide for each 11 students. Each class would 
have had to have at least one certified teacher — an 
individual with a minimum of nine semester credit 
hours of college education courses emphasizing 
early childhood education. If a certified teacher was 
unavailable, a community provider contracting with a 
school district could have employed a teacher who had 
a minimum of three years experience in early childhood 
education, was certified as a Child Development 
Associate by the Council for Professional Recognition, 
and was taking one or more college education courses 
that emphasized early childhood education. The bill 
would have required the community provider to employ 
a certified teacher by the third anniversary of the date 
the provider contracted with the district.

	 A school district would have selected and 
implemented a curriculum for the program that included 
the prekindergarten guidelines established by TEA 
and would have been subject to all statutes governing 
prekindergarten programs.

	 Students enrolled in full-day prekindergarten 
programs would have been required to participate in 
moderate or vigorous daily physical activity for at least 
30 minutes throughout the school year. 

	 Community providers partnerships. The bill 
would have required a school district to use at least 20 
percent of grant funds provided to contract with one 
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or more eligible community providers. The amount 
of reimbursement provided by a school district to 
a community provider would have been negotiable 
between the district and the community provider based 
on the services provided. This reimbursement would 
not have affected a community provider’s eligibility to 
receive any other local, state, or federal funds to provide 
before-school, after-school, and summer child care.

	 Waivers. The commissioner could have waived the 
requirement to contract with a community provider if a 
school district demonstrated documentation that the area 
served by the district did not have a sufficient number 
of eligible community providers or the district could not 
reach an agreement with eligible community providers 
or did not receive any applications.

	 Eligibility. A community provider would have had 
to be center-based and licensed by and in good standing 
with the Department of Family and Protective Services. 
An eligible community provider also would have had to 
be: 

certified through the school readiness •	
certification system; 
a Texas Early Education Model Participant; •	
a Texas Rising Star Provider with a three-star •	
certification or higher; or 
accredited by a research-based, nationally •	
recognized, and universally accessible 
accreditation system approved by TEA that 
required a developmentally appropriate 
curriculum that included math, science, social 
studies, literacy, and social and emotional 
components. 

	 Program evaluation. The commissioner 
would have had to contract for an evaluation of the 
effectiveness of the enhanced program in promoting 
student achievement and school readiness and deliver an 
interim report to the Legislature. 

	 Duties of the commissioner of education. The 
commissioner would have had to require regional 
service centers to assist school districts in informing 
parents of prekindergarten options, identifying eligible 
community providers, and maintaining an updated list 
of eligible community providers. The commissioner 
would have had to require regional service centers to 
assist community providers in establishing contracts 
with school districts and provide eligibility information 
to community providers not currently eligible. The 
commissioner would have had to encourage regional 

education service centers and school districts to use 
locally available child care resources and referral 
services. The commissioner could not have required a 
district or recipient of a grant to participate in the school 
readiness certification system.

Supporters said

	 HB 130 would include high-quality, research-
based components in prekindergarten programs while 
maintaining district control and oversight. A Texas 
A&M study demonstrated that for every dollar Texas 
spends on prekindergarten, the state earns a return on 
investment of $3.50. Claims that there is a “fade out” of 
the positive benefits of quality prekindergarten programs 
are unfounded because such results are from weak 
programs or weak research designs.

	 Students who attend prekindergarten need less 
remediation and are less likely to enter the criminal 
justice system, more likely to graduate from high 
school, more likely to go to college, and more likely 
to become productive members of society with higher-
paying jobs. The higher the quality of the program, 
the higher the return. Other states find they get back as 
much as $8.00 or more. 

	 The bill would increase the quality of 
prekindergarten programs by promoting collaboration 
between private providers and school districts to 
share best practices and resources. Partnerships would 
decrease the number of new classrooms needed to be 
built to accommodate students. 

	 The bill would help reduce overly large class 
sizes and student-to-adult ratios for prekindergarten 
programs and increase more programs to full day. Full-
day programs are a significant factor in closing the 
achievement gap between students, and children with 
early childhood intervention outperform other students. 

	 The bill would allow Texas to reach its most at-risk 
students as early as possible in order to have the greatest 
effect. Children who attend prekindergarten are more 
likely to be ready to begin learning in kindergarten and 
44 percent less likely to drop out of school. 

	 More students would participate in full-day 
prekindergarten programs because it would alleviate the 
need for midday transportation for working families. A 
shift from half-day to full-day programs would draw in 
the remaining eligible students. Many families do not 
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participate in half-day programs because they cannot 
work out the logistics of picking up the child midday 
and transporting the child to daycare. 

	 HB 130 would ensure that prekindergarten programs 
had a steady and reliable source of funding. Currently, 
Texas funds half-day programs for participating 
districts, but those districts must rely on grants or local 
funding to pay for the remainder of the day. 

Opponents said

	 This bill would represent an unnecessary increase 
in the role of government and would cost the state 
too much money. It would authorize a massive state 
spending increase of $390.4 million in fiscal 2010-
11, which would be too extravagant during a severe 
recession, and $584.7 million in fiscal 2012-13, when 
the state’s fiscal situation is expected to be even worse. 

	 The bill would move the state closer to a universal 
prekindergarten system, which is not the direction in 
which the state should be moving. Prekindergarten 
benefits only the profoundly disadvantaged, and the 
positive effects have faded by middle school.

	 With limited state resources dedicated to 
prekindergarten, state grant money should be directed to 
districts with the greatest academic need. State funding 
also should be directed to programs demonstrating the 
most efficiency, thereby benefiting the largest number 
of Texas students. Under the funding formula for the 
existing prekindergarten grant program, $25 million 
would serve more than 27,000 students over the next 
biennium, which is 21,000 students more than the 
estimated 6,800 students that would have been served 
under the bill’s proposed program — or a 305-percent 
increase. Expanding the current grant program, 
rather than creating an additional mandatory full-day 
prekindergarten program, would serve more students 
with greater needs.

	 Prekindergarten funding should be used to expand 
the number of students served by the existing half-
day prekindergarten grant program rather than dilute 
the effectiveness of the existing program by funding 
full-day programs. The priority should be to provide 
assistance to half-day prekindergarten programs in 
districts whose third graders have scored below the state 
average on the reading portion of TAKS for the past 
three years.

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 130 appeared in Part 
Three of the May 4 Daily Floor Report. 

	 For additional information on the governor’s veto 
of HB 130 and the response by the author and the 
sponsor, see HRO Focus report Number 81-7, Vetoes of 
Legislation, 81st Legislature, July 22, 2009, pp. 9-15.
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HB 171 by Olivo 
Effective on June 19, 2009

Mitigating factors in disciplining students

	 HB 171 requires school districts to consider 
mitigating factors such as self-defense, intent, a 
student’s disciplinary history, or any disability a student 
may have, before suspending, expelling, or assigning a 
student to a disciplinary alternative education program 
(DAEP) or juvenile justice alternative education 
program (JJAEP). A district must consider the 
mitigating factors regardless of whether the disciplinary 
action is mandatory under the district’s code of conduct. 
The bill will apply beginning in the 2009-10 school 
year. 

Supporters said

	 HB 171 would decrease the number of students 
disciplined unreasonably because a school district 
did not consider mitigating factors when evaluating a 
student’s actions. Seventy-eight percent of the students 
suspended, expelled, or assigned to DAEP or JJAEP are 
placed there by mandatory disciplinary actions under 
a school district’s code of conduct, indicating that the 
student probably had not misbehaved previously or had 
committed a minor offense. Students in a school district 
with a zero tolerance policy who defend themselves 
against another student physically harming them receive 
the same punishment as the students’ attackers because 
school administrators do not consider self defense. 
Districts sometimes punish students for accidents or 
overreact if a student who has never been in trouble 
before violates the code of conduct.

	 Punishments that do not fit the misbehavior have 
long-term negative emotional effects on students, 
and unjustified assignments to alternative education 
programs isolate students and often result in the students 
falling behind academically. School administrators are 
allowed to consider mitigating factors but sometimes 
choose not to exercise common sense. This bill would 
help ensure that students were not unnecessarily 
removed from the traditional learning environment.

Opponents said

	 HB 171 would restrict the amount of local control 
afforded to school administrators. Education Code, 
ch. 37 already permits a district to consider mitigating 
factors.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 171 appeared in Part 
Three of the May 1 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 710 by Rose
Died in the House

Sunset review of State Board of Education

	 HB 710 would have placed the State Board of 
Education (SBOE) under Sunset review during the same 
time periods as the Texas Education Agency (TEA), but 
would not have allowed the board to be abolished. 

Supporters said 

	 HB 710 would provide necessary oversight of the 
State Board of Education. The board should be reviewed 
periodically by the Sunset Advisory Commission 
with the intent of improving the effectiveness of state 
government and to ensure that the board does not 
circumvent legislative intent and statutory limitations on 
its authority. The bill would not allow the SBOE to be 
abolished, but would ensure that it carried out its duties 
in the most efficient and effective manner. 

	 While the SBOE is established in the Constitution, 
much of its policy-making authority comes from the 
Legislature through statute. It would be appropriate for 
the Legislature to review the role and operation of the 
SBOE in relation to TEA, which implements policies 
set by the board, at the same time that TEA comes under 
Sunset review. Other elected bodies or agencies with 
elected heads, including the Department of Agriculture, 
the Railroad Commission, and the Veterans’ Land 
Board, have been subject to periodic full sunset review. 
The SBOE textbook adoption process also was reviewed 
by the Sunset Advisory Commission in 1995, which led 
to statutory changes narrowing the board’s ability to 
approve textbooks.

Opponents said 

	 HB 710 would undermine the public’s role as a 
check on elected officials. The State Board of Education 
is an elected body, and it is up to the voters to decide 
if the members of the board are doing a good job. If 
the voters do not agree with the decisions of SBOE 
members, they will demonstrate this dissatisfaction 
at the polls. It would not be an appropriate use of 
the Sunset process to institute review of the SBOE 
just because lawmakers do not agree philosophically 
with members of the board. The SBOE has exercised 
its authority within the parameters laid out in the 
Constitution and in the Education Code.

Notes

	 HB 710 failed to pass the House on third reading by 
71-73 on May 6.

	 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Three of the 
May 2 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 2823 by Patrick
Died in the House

Excluding private schools from eligibility for certain TEA grants

	 HB 2823 would have amended the eligibility 
requirements for grants awarded to organizations 
that provide volunteers to teach classroom or after-
school programs. The bill would have included 
only those organizations that provided volunteers to 
teach classroom or after-school programs to students 
enrolled in a public school district or open-enrollment 
charter school. These grants would have been awarded 
to organizations for programs to provide technical 
assistance, professional development, case-managed 
student services, and programs for the benefit of 
students enrolled in school districts or open-enrollment 
charter schools. 

	 The commissioner of education could not have 
awarded a grant to an organization that served as a 
substitute for a regular educational program provided 
by a school district or open-enrollment charter school. 
The commissioner could not have awarded a grant to a 
nonprofit organization for services provided as a private 
school or to a private school. 

	 The bill would have expressed the intent of the 
Legislature that grants could not be awarded to an 
organization or nonprofit organization, including 
dropout recovery grants, such as the grants awarded 
in 2008 in response to the Texas Education Agency’s 
Request for Applications (RFA) 701-08-116. 

Supporters said 

	 The Legislature did not intend for the dropout 
recovery program to become a medium for grants of 
public money to private schools. The commissioner 
misinterpreted the statute and should not have awarded 
the grants to private schools. The bill would state clearly 
the Legislature’s intent that taxpayer money should be 
spent on public school education programs and should 
not finance private or alternative education programs. 
Private schools still could receive grant money if they 
contracted with a public school district.

Opponents said 

	 This bill would limit the flexibility of the 
commissioner of education. Texas has one of the highest 
dropout rates in the nation, so the state should not limit 
available solutions. The nonprofit organizations are 
administering successful dropout recovery programs and 
reaching students that otherwise would not complete 
their education. The state should not act in a way 
to inhibit any successful dropout recovery program 
regardless of the provider.

Notes

	 HB 2833 was reported favorably, without 
amendment, by the House Public Education Committee 
on April 14 and was placed on the May 11 General State 
Calendar, but no further action was taken.

	 The language in HB 2823 was adopted by the House 
as an amendment to HB 3 by Eissler. The language was 
removed by the conference committee on HB 3 and was 
not included in the enacted version of that bill. 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2823 appeared in Part 
Three of the May 11 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 3646 by Hochberg
Effective September 1, 2009

Formula funding for public school finance, teacher pay raises

	 HB 3646 revises the school finance system by 
changing the calculations of the basic allotment, 
guaranteed yield allotment, and equalized wealth level 
for school districts and funneling an additional $1.87 
billion to the public schools. All midsize school districts, 
regardless of property wealth, will be eligible for the 
small school district adjustment within the formula. 
The bill also commissions a comprehensive review 
of public school finance by establishing a 15-member 
Select Committee on Public School Finance Weights, 
Allotments, and Adjustments. The committee must 
prepare and deliver its report by December 1, 2010. 

	 Formula funding. Under HB 3646, the basic 
allotment, which is the base level of funding for each 
student in average daily attendance, is increased to 
$4,765 or, for the next four years, 1.65 percent of 
average statewide property value per weighted student, 
whichever is greater.

	 In addition, every school district and open-
enrollment charter school is guaranteed an increase 
of at least $120 per weighted student in average daily 
attendance (WADA), a measure that accounts for 
the extra costs of educating certain students, and a 
maximum increase of $350 per WADA per school year. 
Districts receiving “target revenue” will receive the 
increase in addition to their total revenue. 

	 The bill ties the amount of the basic allotment to the 
calculation of the first of three equalized wealth levels, 
above which a district becomes subject to “recapture” 
of a portion of local property taxes to equalize statewide 
funding. 

	 Target revenue is maintained, based on 2009-10 
funding levels, except that districts no longer are subject 
to the “drag back” provision and instead will retain 
all funding to which they are entitled through formula 
funding.

	 Indirect costs allocation. For the 2009-10 school 
year, the indirect cost allotments will increase as 
necessary to reflect the increased percentage of total 
maintenance and operations funding provided by the 
amended basic allotment.

	 Formula revisions. The bill amends the method 
of finance for certain Foundation School Program set-
asides, such as: study guides for assessments; the cost 
of preparing, administering, and grading assessments; 
teacher training materials and resources for teachers 
of students with limited English proficiency; life 
skills classes for teen parents; optional extended year 
programs; and salaries for certified counselors. These 
programs will be funded through appropriations. 

	 The bill increases from 15 percent to 45 percent the 
portion of funds that may be used for the indirect costs 
of providing compensatory, intensive, or accelerated 
instruction programs to supplement the regular school 
program at a campus at which at least 40 percent of the 
students are educationally disadvantaged.

	 Each school district receives an additional $650 
for every student with a parent or guardian serving in 
the U.S. military in a combat zone or with a parent or 
guardian whose service in the U.S. military has resulted 
in a transfer to the district as a result of an action 
under the Defense Base Closure and Realignment Act 
of 1990. This allotment will be funded by a specific 
appropriation or from excess funds from the Foundation 
School Program and may be used only to provide for 
these students supplemental educational programs or 
life skills programs for student who are parents.

	 The existing high school allotment was made a 
separate allotment under the school finance system, 
rather than only a part of the calculation of target 
revenue.

	 Salary increase. Public school districts and open-
enrollment charter schools must increase the salary for 
each classroom teacher, full-time speech pathologist, 
full-time librarian, full-time counselor, and full-time 
school nurse by the greater of either $80 per month 
($800 per year, based on a 10-month school year) or the 
maximum uniform amount they can provide with $60 
per student in weighted average daily attendance. This 
salary increase is in addition to any increase to which 
the employee is entitled through the district’s salary 
schedule, including local supplement, and any money 
representing a career ladder supplement.  

Table 
of Contents



Page 210 House Research Organization

	 The bill guarantees each individual employed as a 
teacher, full-time speech pathologist, full-time librarian, 
full-time counselor, or full-time school nurse during the 
2010-11 school year at least that salary for the duration 
of the individual’s employment with the school district.

	 Incentive grants. The bill abolishes the Texas 
Educator Excellence Grant. The funding amount for 
District Awards for Teacher Excellence (DATE) will be 
determined by the general appropriations act rather than 
by a statutory formula. Districts must notify teachers 
and principals of the criteria and formulas to be used to 
receive awards before the beginning of the performance 
period on which the awards will be based. 

	 Special education grant. The bill establishes a 
special education grant to help districts that did not 
receive sufficient state and federal funds to pay for 
special education services to students with disabilities. 
The grants will be funded with appropriations, federal 
funds, or other funds available. Districts must report to 
the commissioner of education a comparison of state 
and federal funds received and the expenses incurred by 
the district, including the cost of training teachers.

	 Career and technology certification subsidy. The 
bill makes career and technology certification subsidies 
available only for current or emerging high-demand, 
high-wage, high-skill occupations or for a student 
enrolled in the special education program. It removes 
the stipulation that a student demonstrate financial need 
in order to be eligible for a subsidy. Funding will flow to 
the district and then the student. It adds an allotment of 
$50 per student enrolled in two or more advanced career  
and technology courses or an advanced course as part of 
a tech-prep program.

	 Virtual School Network. For each student who 
completes an electronic course through the state virtual 
school network as a part of a normal course load, the 
school district or open-enrollment charter school that 
provides the course will receive a $400 allotment. The 
district in which the student is enrolled will receive 
$80 for administrative costs. Other entities authorized 
to participate in the network will receive comparable 
reimbursement. 

	 A school district or charter school may charge a fee 
for enrollment in a course provided through the network 
during the summer. The commissioner of education will 
determine the maximum allowable fee and adopt rules 
to prohibit artificially high fees.

	 Students under supervision of the juvenile probation 
department, Texas Youth Commission, or the Texas 
Department of Criminal Justice may participate in 
the network. A student who transferred from one 
educational setting to another after beginning enrollment 
in an electronic course may continue enrollment in 
the course. High school students who are military 
dependents and no longer reside in the state due to 
military deployment or transfer may enroll in one or 
more courses provided by the network.

	 TEA will pay the cost of evaluating and approving 
courses. If funds appropriated for that purpose fall short 
of the demand, a school district or open-enrollment 
charter school may pay the fee necessary for the 
commissioner to evaluate and approve a course. 

	 Facilities. The bill makes bonds for facilities 
funding on which the district had made payments 
during the preceding state fiscal biennium eligible 
automatically under the existing debt allotment 
program, no longer requiring each legislature to “roll 
forward” eligibility.

	 Bonds guaranteed by the Permanent School 
Fund. On approval by the commissioner of education, 
school district bonds guaranteed by the corpus and 
income of the Permanent School Fund (PSF) are 
guaranteed until the date those bonds mature or are 
defeased in accordance with state law. 

	 The State Board of Education (SBOE) may establish 
a percentage of the cost value of the PSF to be reserved 
from use in guaranteeing bonds. 
	
	 The commissioner of education may order a 
school district to set an ad valorem tax rate capable 
of producing revenue sufficient to enable the district 
to provide reimbursement and pay the principal of 
and interest on district bonds. If a school district fails 
to comply, the commissioner may impose a sanction 
authorized under the state accountability system.

	 Intercept Credit Enhancement Program. A 
school district whose application for the PSF bond 
guarantee program is rejected may apply for credit 
enhancement of bonds by money appropriated for the 
Foundation School Program (FSP), other than money 
appropriated to school districts as required by the Texas 
Constitution or for assistance in paying debt service. 
The same school district bonds may not be eligible for 
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both the PSF bond guarantee program and FSP backing. 
The credit enhancement provided for bonds will remain 
in effect until the bonds mature or are defeased in 
accordance with state law. 

	 Money appropriated for the FSP may be used 
to provide credit enhancement for eligible bonds as 
provided by state law, the general appropriations act, 
and SBOE rule if using the PSF to guarantee particular 
bonds will result in: 

the total amount of outstanding bonds •	
guaranteed by the Permanent School Fund 
exceeding the authorized amount; or 
the use of a portion of the cost value of the •	
Permanent School Fund reserved in accordance 
with the bill, as determined by the SBOE.  

	 In each month of each fiscal year, TEA will 
determine the amount available for the intercept credit 
enhancement program from the FSP and the amounts 
due to public schools from the FSP through the end of 
the fiscal year. 

	 The commissioner of education may not endorse 
particular bonds for credit enhancement until the 
commissioner has determined that funds are available 
for this purpose and that the endorsement will not 
cause the projected debt service coming due during the 
remainder of the fiscal year for bonds provided credit 
enhancement to exceed the lesser of: 

one-half of the amount of funds due to public •	
schools from the FSP for the remainder of the 
fiscal year; or 
one-half of the amount of funds anticipated to •	
be on hand in the FSP to make payments for the 
remainder of the fiscal year. 

	 Higher education and school district facility 
construction partnerships. An independent school 
district and an institution of higher education in the 
same county may contract for the district to contribute 
district resources to pay part of the costs of the design 
or construction of an instructional or athletic facility 
under the control of the institution of higher education. 
A district may contribute district resources only if the 
district and the institution of higher education enter into 
a written agreement authorizing the district to use that 
facility.

	 Other provisions. The bill also:

requires school districts to equip school buses •	
with seatbelts only if the state pays for it;
allows certain school districts to schedule a tax-•	
rate approval election before the new school 
year starts;
expands permissible uses of the optional flexible •	
school day to more grade levels and allows 
it to be offered during the school year or the 
summer; and
establishes a financial literacy pilot program.•	

Supporters said

	 HB 3646 would simplify the public school finance 
system and increase funding for most school districts by 
flowing an additional $1.87 billion through the system. 
It would increase aid to districts that have had their 
funding frozen under low “revenue targets” established 
in 2006. It also would improve equity in funding among 
school districts by increasing the basic allotment, which 
is the base level of funding for each student in average 
daily attendance, to at least $4,765.  

	 Districts would reap the benefit of increased 
property tax values and not be constrained by growing 
costs and shrinking budgets. The new system would 
fund more districts under formula calculations, which 
account for the differing costs of educating students 
with differing needs. It also would increase allocations 
to districts whose funding is calculated through the 
formula because the basic allotment, and thus the 
equalized wealth level that determines when a district is 
subject to “recapture,” would increase if property values 
increase over the next four years. 
	
	 Districts that had their target revenue reduced to an 
amount below what the formula would have provided 
them would have access under HB 3646 to the full 
amount available through the formula. The bill would 
guarantee that no district received less funding as a 
result of being funded through the formula. A district 
that would receive more revenue through the target 
revenue provision would remain at target revenue until 
the formula provided more revenue. 

	 HB 3646 also would increase the allowed wealth 
per student before recapture by tying it to the amount 
of the basic allotment, recognizing that all districts 
need additional funds. It would raise the first equalized 
wealth level, which covers most of the revenue raised 
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by school districts, from $374,200 per WADA in 2008-
2009 to $476,500 per WADA in 2009-2010. As a result, 
recapture would be eliminated for some 26 of the more 
than 100 districts affected. Also, Foundation School 
Program set-asides no longer would cut into the total 
revenue provided to school districts.  

	 Salary increase. The bill would provide teachers 
and certain other school employees with a well deserved 
pay raise and would address teacher compensation 
within a framework that maintained equity. 

	 Incentive programs. The incentive pay provisions 
would be significantly improved over current law. 
The bill would repeal the Texas Educator Excellence 
Program, which has serious structural problems. It also 
would increase local control by school districts over the 
design of local incentive programs. 

	 Optional flexible school day. Some school districts 
use the optional flexible school day to allow students 
to make up absences in classes for which they may 
otherwise not receive credit. These programs help 
students to reach their grade level and finish high 
school. The bill would provide another way school 
districts could reach out to at-risk students and help 
reduce the number of dropouts. Unconventional school 
hours often are needed for certain students’ unique 
circumstances, and the bill will allow districts more 
flexibility to tailor their programs to meet these needs. 
The bill would fund these programs with no additional 
cost to the state and ultimately would result in savings. 
It is more expensive for the state to fund a student 
retaking a course than to fund a student making up the 
days the student missed.  

	 Facilities funding. School districts need additional 
and renovated instructional facilities because of rapid 
population growth and the increased need for specialty 
classrooms, such as science laboratories. The permanent 
roll-forward for eligibility for the existing debt 
allotment would provide equity among school districts 
by helping property-poor school districts that would 
otherwise be priced out of building new classrooms. 

	 Virtual School Network. The bill would simplify 
the funding mechanism for the virtual school network 
and bring equity to its students by providing access to 
quality teachers and courses that might not be available 
in a traditional setting. The network was underused in 
the past biennium because the state failed to fund the 
initiative adequately, which made districts hesitant to 
use it. 

	 The bill would allow all public school students 
to enroll in the virtual school network, while current 
law only permits high school students to enroll. It also 
would increase access for students with parents in the 
military by allowing them to enroll both part time and 
full time in the network.  

	 The bill would not divert significant funding 
from traditional programs but would provide public 
schools with an important supplement to their existing 
programs. Virtual schools provide students the 
opportunity to enroll in courses that the students’ home 
districts do not offer, including for rural students who 
otherwise may not have the opportunity to take four 
years of a foreign language or students from families 
who must travel frequently.

	 Intercept Credit Enhancement Program. The 
bill would create a bond backing guarantee using the 
Foundation School Program (FSP) to guarantee bond 
issuances of school districts and would serve as a 
backstop to the Permanent School Fund (PSF) bond 
guarantee program. The program established by the 
bill would be known as a “state intercept” because, 
in the case of a default, the state would intercept the 
normal FSP payment to the school district and pay the 
bondholders. Thirteen other states have established 
similar programs. This would be a separate guarantee 
program and would be used while the PSF guarantee 
was unavailable. Due to market conditions, funds have 
not been sufficient in the PSF to guarantee local school 
district bonds since November 2008, which has forced 
school districts to turn to an increasingly small private 
bond insurance market to issue bonds at higher costs. 

	 School district bonds are backed by the taxing 
capacity of districts, and no defaults on PSF-guaranteed 
bonds have ever occurred. Also, the FSP has ample 
reserve for backing local school district bonds. For 
the last 10 years, it has run a surplus of between $400 
million and $800 million. The bill also would provide 
important safeguards to ensure that FSP appropriations 
were not used unless strict conditions were met. 

Opponents said

	 Salary increase. The state should not specify the 
amount by which a teacher’s salary should be increased. 
The decision to increase teachers’ salaries should be 
made at the local level to award effective teachers. 
This would acknowledge teachers as professionals by 
approaching their raises the same the way a corporation 
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would its employees’ raises. Some teachers do not 
deserve pay raises. 

	 Incentive programs. The changes to incentive 
programs under HB 3646 would damage current 
programs. The bill would change the rules concerning 
how the money could be spent. Some districts choose 
not to participate in incentive programs, believing that 
they are unstable and not sustainable, and the changes 
made by this bill would be an example of that problem. 

	 Facilities funding. This bill would decrease 
the number of fast-growth districts eligible for state 
facilities funding assistance. It would calculate 
eligibility using the taxable property value of the current 
tax year, and if the district had experienced significant 
property growth over the year, this would reduce the 
state aid for which the district was eligible, as the need 
for facilities increased. 

	 High school allotment. The bill would continue 
the high school allotment based on ADA rather than 
WADA. As a result, the funding would flow to districts 
whether or not they had a significant drop-out problem. 
Shifting the basis of funding from ADA to WADA 
would help ensure the districts with the greatest drop-
out problem received the most funding to address that 
problem.

	 Virtual School Network. By increasing use of the 
virtual school network, this bill could divert money 
from public schools at a time when the state is not 
meeting basic educational needs for public school 
students. While electronic courses may benefit some 
students, the cost of these courses should be borne by 
individual students and families.

	 Intercept Credit Enhancement Program. The bill 
would offer a low-risk way for school districts to issue 
bonds at lower rates using the state’s Foundation School 
Program (FSP). However, because the FSP provides 
most of the state’s funding for school districts, the state 
should be cautious about using it to back school district 
bonds.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3646 appeared in Part 
One of the May 11 Daily Floor Report.

	 The provisions of SB 955 by Shapiro expanding 
the Virtual School Network were added to HB 3646, 
as were those of SB 1255 by Shapiro allowing the 
Foundation School Program to guarantee school district 
bonds in lieu of the Permanent School Fund. 

	 SB 955 passed the Senate, but died on the May 22 
General State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken. The HRO analysis of SB 955 
appeared in Part Two of the May 22 Daily Floor Report. 

	 SB 1255 passed the Senate, but died on the May 21 
General State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken. The HRO analysis of SB 1255 
appeared in Part Three of the May 21 Daily Floor 
Report.
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HB 4294 by Branch
Effective on June 19, 2009

Buying electronic textbooks, materials, and technology

	 HB 4294 requires the commissioner of education 
to adopt a list of electronic textbooks and instructional 
materials that convey information to a student or 
otherwise contribute to the learning process. School 
districts and open-enrollment charter schools could 
select electronic textbooks or instructional materials to 
purchase from the list. 

	 Electronic textbooks or instructional materials on 
the list must: 

be reviewed and recommended by a panel of •	
experts in the subject area of the textbook or 
materials;
be aligned with the current research in the •	
subject area of the textbook or materials;
meet the National Instructional Materials •	
Accessibility Standard; 
cover each part of the Texas essential •	
knowledge and skills and indicate the 
percentage of each essential knowledge and 
skill covered; and
include appropriate training for teachers. •	

	 The commissioner must give the State Board 
of Education (SBOE) an opportunity to comment 
on proposed electronic textbooks and instructional 
materials before placing such materials on the approved 
list. A panel of experts will make a recommendation 
before an approved electronic textbook or instructional 
material can be removed from the approved list. 
Changes to materials on the approved list are subject to 
review and approval of the commissioner.

	 Funds from the state textbook fund may be used 
to purchase technological equipment necessary to 
support electronic textbooks or instructional materials, 
according to rules adopted by the commissioner.

	 If a school district or open-enrollment charter 
school purchases from the approved list, the state 
will pay, for each textbook or instructional material 
purchased, 100 percent of the maximum amount 
approved by the SBOE for a printed textbook for the 
subject area and grade level, plus a textbook credit 
equal to 50 percent of the difference between that cost 
and the maximum amount, multiplied by the number 
of electronic textbooks or instructional materials the 

district or school needed for that subject and grade 
level. School districts and open-enrollment charter 
schools can purchase additional textbooks, supplemental 
material, electronic textbooks, instructional materials, 
and technological equipment with the district or charter 
school portion of the textbook credit.

	 School districts and open-enrollment charter 
schools will be required to obtain a classroom set 
of textbooks for each subject and grade level in the 
foundation and enrichment curriculum and must certify 
annually to the SBOE and the commissioner that 
printed textbooks, electronic textbooks, or instructional 
materials that cover all elements of the essential 
knowledge and skills in that subject area and grade level 
are provided to each student. 

	 A school district or open-enrollment charter 
school may cancel a subscription and subscribe to a 
new electronic textbook or instructional material on 
the conforming list before the end of the state contract 
period if the electronic textbook or instructional material 
has been used for at least one school year and the Texas 
Education Agency (TEA) approves the change.

	 HB 4294 also requires the commissioner by rule to 
establish a computer lending pilot program to provide 
computers to public schools in which 50 percent 
or more of the students enrolled are educationally 
disadvantaged and to make computers available for 
use by students and their parents. Computers will be 
provided from surplus or salvage equipment from state 
agencies, higher education institutions, and donations. 
The commissioner will submit an annual report to the 
Legislature. The pilot program expires September 1, 
2014. 

	 Eligible public school computer lending programs 
must:

allow students and parents to borrow a •	
computer;
include an option for students and parents •	
to work toward owning a computer initially 
borrowed under the school’s lending program;
provide computer training for students and •	
parents; and
operate outside regular school hours.•	
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Supporters said

	 HB 4294 would provide more local control and 
flexibility to school districts and would save the state 
money. School districts and charter schools would be 
able to decide whether printed or electronic textbooks 
better serve the needs of its student population. The bill 
acknowledges that not all districts may be ready for the 
transition to technology, while others could serve their 
students best with electronic materials. For districts that 
chose to do so, the bill would allow information to be 
downloaded to student laptops, Kindles, or technologies 
deemed appropriate. 

	 The bill would authorize school districts to 
purchase electronic books or other instructional 
materials that have been vetted and are less expensive. 
Around the state, warehouses are filled with unused 
printed textbooks due to reluctance to issue textbooks 
to each student for fear they might lose or damage 
them. When each textbook costs on average between 
$50 and $75, it becomes clear that the state must be 
smarter about the use of state dollars. The claim that 
textbooks in a warehouse do not go to waste because of 
a computerized inventory system that allows districts to 
ship textbooks to another district that needs them fails 
to account for the fact that other districts do not, in fact, 
need them.

	 The bill would bring textbooks into the 21st 
century. The learning styles of students have changed 
dramatically. Students have been raised in front of 
computer screens, and they are more comfortable 
consuming information in this manner. Students often 
do not find traditional textbooks engaging, and it is 
cumbersome for them to carry around several big, heavy 
textbooks when they prefer an electronic version. The 
state’s current approach is short-sighted and undermines 
the ability of teachers to do their jobs in the most 
effective and engaging manner. 

	 A study in Great Britain found that young students 
using electronic textbooks scored higher in both group 
and individual tests than those using print books. A 
pilot program in Texas that provided laptops to every 
student in class has shown a positive impact on student 
learning, and school administrators emphasize that 
technology has improved student learning and increased 
standardized test scores.

	 The process the state uses to approve textbooks 
is long and laborious, and sometimes the information 
is out of date by the time the textbook reaches the 

classroom. The bill would allow local school districts 
to utilize modern technology and to save money. 
Traditional textbooks in areas such as social studies 
become out-of-date very quickly, becoming irrelevant 
and useless to school districts and to teachers, who 
must find supplemental material to ensure students 
are learning accurate and relevant information. With 
electronic textbooks, publishers can update their books 
and correct errors every year instead of every several 
years as with printed textbooks. 

	 The State Board of Education’s power to approve 
textbooks derives from the Legislature, not the Texas 
Constitution. The Legislature can increase and decrease 
that power to meet the changing needs of the state. The 
input of the SBOE would be considered in the review 
process as would the recommendations of experts. The 
bill would grant the commissioner ample oversight 
ability. 

Opponents said

	 The bill would impede the power granted to the 
State Board of Education to approve the content of 
textbooks. The system could become fraught with 
opportunities to misdirect and harm students because 
of the lack of oversight by elected officials and parents. 
The review process for electronic textbooks would not 
provide for parental input because it would not include 
public hearings or comment. Parents would not have 
control over the content of their children’s textbooks. 
Parents can pick up and read a hard-bound copy of a 
textbook, whereas they may not take the time to access 
an electronic textbook to review what their child is 
learning.

	 There is no evidence that electronic textbooks or 
an increase in the use of technology in the classroom 
improves student learning. Some justify the transition 
to electronic textbooks by saying that it is what students 
want, but it is not the role of adults to indulge children. 
If educators do not trust a student with a textbook, it 
is not clear why they would trust the student with a 
laptop. Some families also cannot afford to purchase at-
home technology that enables the student to access an 
electronic textbook at home. 

	 The state textbook fund should be used only to 
purchase traditional printed textbooks. Textbooks in 
warehouses do not go to waste. The state operates a 
computerized inventory that allows districts to ship 
books to another district that needs them. Claims that 
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the state would save money are not valid because 
transitioning to technology and the upkeep required 
is expensive. Software glitches would require school 
districts to employ individuals with expertise in these 
areas.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 4294 appeared in Part 
One of the May 2 Daily Floor Report. 

	 On June 19, 2009, Gov. Rick Perry issued an 
executive order mandating cooperation among the 
commissioner of education, TEA, and the SBOE to 
ensure digital content meets the essential knowledge 
and skills and is factually error-free. The review process 
must include the SBOE, and the panel of experts 
required in HB 4294 must include SBOE members or 
their designees who qualify as an expert as determined 
by the provisions of the bill. If the SBOE has previously 
rejected an electronic textbook based upon its content, it 
cannot be placed on the approved list. 
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HJR 77 and HB 2037 by D. Howard 
Died in Senate Committee

Replacing SBOE as managers of the Permanent School Fund

	 HJR 77, a proposed constitutional amendment, 
and its enabling legislation, HB 2037, would have 
required the Legislature to provide by law for a 
Permanent School Fund Management Council to 
manage the Permanent School Fund (PSF) rather than 
the State Board of Education (SBOE). Individuals 
would have been appointed to the council only if they 
had substantial institutional investment expertise or 
institutional financial management experience. Council 
members would have served staggered four-year 
terms. The council would have assumed oversight of 
the PSF bond guarantee program, replaced the SBOE 
in contracts pertaining to the fund, and entered into a 
memorandum of understanding with the School Land 
Board under which the council would not invest in real 
estate without the consent of the School Land Board. 
References to management of the fund by the SBOE 
would have been replaced with references to the new 
council. 

	 Under HB 2037, the council would have included:

two members appointed by the governor;•	
one member appointed by the governor from a •	
list prepared by the speaker of the House;
one member appointed by the governor from a •	
list prepared by the State Board of Education;
one member appointed by the lieutenant •	
governor;
one member appointed by the land •	
commissioner; and
one member appointed by the comptroller. •	

By majority vote, the council would have appointed a 
chief investment officer for the PSF.

	 HJR 77 also would have expanded the role of 
the School Land Board during a fiscal year in which 
constitutional restrictions prevented a distribution from 
the PSF to Available School Fund (ASF) by allowing 
the School Land Board to distribute funds to the ASF 
for that fiscal year in an amount not to exceed the five-
year annual average of funds released by the board for 
use by the PSF. 

	 HJR 77 also would have required that the 
distribution rate for the amount distributed from the 
PSF to the ASF in each year of a state fiscal biennium 

be adopted by a two-thirds vote of the total membership 
of the PSF Management Council, with approval by a 
majority vote of the total membership of the State Board 
of Education (SBOE). The Legislature would have 
adopted a rate if the council did not adopt one or if the 
SBOE did not approve one. 

Supporters said

	 HJR 77 and its enabling legislation, HB 2037, 
would allow for management of the Permanent School 
Fund (PSF) by one entity composed of individuals with 
expertise in financial matters. The original intent the 
framers of the Texas Constitution was that the SBOE 
be a body of prudent and careful people who would 
make safe investments in stocks and bonds. HJR 77 
would restore that original intent through creation of the 
Permanent School Fund Management Council, whose 
sole responsibility would be the prudent investment of 
the PSF. 

	 The SBOE in its current form has not managed the 
fund successfully. In a report to the 77th Legislature 
in 2000, the Texas House General Investigating 
Committee recommended that the Constitution be 
amended to create an appointed Permanent School Fund 
Investment Board, separate from the SBOE, with the 
jurisdiction of the SBOE limited to education policy. 
In 2003, an independent report contracted through the 
State Auditor’s Office and requested by the SBOE said 
that “by constitutional amendment a governing board 
for a state-sponsored, quasi-independent investment 
management organization [should be] created to 
administer the PSF.” 

	 The Permanent School Fund Management Council 
would improve the effectiveness of fund management. 
The SBOE does not provide adequate management for 
the fund because it lacks expertise. While most members 
are qualified for education policy-making, they are not 
qualified in investment fund management. Their lack of 
knowledge has resulted in each member appointing a 
personal advisor, none of whom is a professional money 
manager. The change to a separate investment council 
would enable a comprehensive investment strategy 
and adequate management, which would increase the 
money available to the public school finance system. 
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The SBOE has duplicated work and employed an 
ineffective and non-comprehensive investment strategy. 
For example, the SBOE is able to invest in real estate 
without consulting the General Land Office, resulting 
in chaotic and ill-informed investments. The SBOE’s 
duplication of GLO actions has resulted in doubled 
expenses to the fund. 

Opponents said

	 HJR 77 and its enabling legislation, HB 2037, 
would undermine the intent of the framers of the 
Constitution, who did not intend to place the PSF in the 
hands of financial experts but to have it overseen by 
those accountable to the people. The SBOE successfully 
has managed the fund for more than 125 years. The 
SBOE has survived all the ups and downs in the state’s 
history and provides checks and balances to ensure 
that the fund produces as much money as possible. 
Any dysfunction of the SBOE is a result of piecemeal 
changes made by Legislature to the duties of the SBOE. 
The Legislature demanded increased returns, so SBOE 
investments became riskier, which necessitated personal 
advisors for members of the board.

	 The SBOE plays an important role in maintaining 
the permanency of the fund and preserving 
intergenerational equity, both of which require 
conservative investment and fund distribution policies. 
The SBOE is charged with maintaining equity between 
generations of children, taking into account inflation 
and the cost of education, so SBOE membership has 
resisted efforts to overspend the fund. The SBOE, as a 
separately elected independent body accountable to the 
voters of the state, is not required to guarantee a fixed 
disbursement each biennium, but to protect the long-
term financial soundness of the PSF. 

	 The state does not need to create an entire new 
governmental entity because the SBOE can correct itself 
within the existing structure. The SBOE is diverse in 
beliefs and ideas, which is a strength, not a weakness.

Other opponents said

	 The Constitution should not be amended to change 
the management of the Permanent School Fund until 
the state examines the policies and procedures of 
successfully managed funds such as the University of 
Texas Investment Management Company (UTIMCO), 

the Teacher Retirement System (TRS), and the 
Employees Retirement System (ERS). From this 
research, the state would determine what best practices 
suit the Permanent School Fund. 

	 The SBOE should not have final approval authority 
over the distribution rate adopted by the council. This 
responsibility should be transferred wholly to the new 
council. To ensure intergenerational equity, spending 
and investment policy decisions should be consistent 
with one another.

Notes

	 The House approved HJR 77 by 104-40 on April 
27 and HB 2037 by 104-42 on April 28. Both measures 
died in the Senate Education Committee.

	 The HRO analysis of HJR 77 and HB 2037 
appeared in Part One of the April 27 Daily Floor 
Report. 
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SB 891 by Nelson
Effective June 1, 2009

Standards for public school physical education curriculum

	 SB 891 requires a school’s physical education 
curriculum to be structured along certain guidelines. 
A physical education curriculum must be sequential, 
developmentally appropriate, and designed, 
implemented, and evaluated to enable students to 
develop the motor, self-management, and other skills, 
knowledge, attitudes, and confidence necessary to 
participate in physical activity throughout life. Each 
school district must establish specific objectives and 
goals for a program. The State Board of Education must 
develop essential knowledge and skills for physical 
education ensuring that the curriculum:

emphasizes a lifetime of regular physical •	
activity; and
is consistent with national physical education •	
standards for the information that students 
should learn about physical activity and the 
physical activities that students should be able 
to perform. 

	 On a weekly basis, at least 50 percent of a physical 
education class must be used for actual student physical 
activity at a moderate or vigorous level and must: 

offer students an opportunity to choose among •	
many types of physical activity in which to 
participate; 
offer students both cooperative and competitive •	
games; 
cover all physical ability levels; •	
take into account gender and cultural •	
differences; 
teach self-management and movement skills; •	
teach cooperation, fair play, and responsible •	
participation in physical activity; 
promote student participation in physical •	
activity; and 
allow physical education classes to be an •	
enjoyable experience for students. 

	 All prekindergarten students must meet the 
same physical activity requirements as students in 
kindergarten through sixth grades. The bill requires 
school districts with a student-to-teacher ratio greater 
than 45 to 1 in physical education classes to identify 
specifically the manner in which the safety of the 
students is maintained. 

Supporters said

	 SB 891 would provide a more structured set of 
guidelines for physical education classes in public 
schools. Only half of adolescents participate regularly 
in vigorous physical education, and one-fourth report 
no physical education whatsoever. Regular physical 
education is important for maintaining a healthy body, 
enhancing physiological well-being, and preventing 
premature death. Of children aged 5 to 10 who are 
overweight, 61 percent have one or more cardiovascular 
disease factors, and 27 percent have two or more. Forty-
two percent of fourth graders in Texas are either obese, 
overweight, or at risk of becoming overweight, and 70 
percent of overweight children will become overweight 
adults. This bill would help to combat obesity by 
requiring schools to implement rigorous physical 
education curricula.

Opponents said

	 SB 891 would infringe on the local control afforded 
to school districts. A district is capable of determining 
the physical education needs of its students. Because 
of the high demands that high-stakes testing imposes, 
school districts already have difficulty finding time in 
the school day to implement proper physical education 
or recess.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis appeared in the May 19 Daily 
Floor Report.
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HB 55 by Branch
Effective September 1, 2009

Prohibiting wireless device use while driving in a school zone

	 HB 55 prohibits the operator of a vehicle from using 
a wireless communication device in a school crossing 
zone unless the vehicle is stopped or a hands-free device 
is used. The bill establishes a misdemeanor offense 
with a fine of no more than $200 and an affirmative 
defense to prosecution if the device was used to make 
an emergency call to an emergency response service; a 
hospital, health clinic, or a medical doctor’s office; a fire 
or police department; or an individual to administer first 
aid treatment.

	 The prohibition does not apply to operators of 
authorized emergency vehicles using a device while 
acting in an official capacity or operators who are 
licensed by the Federal Communications Commission 
to operate a wireless communication device or a 
radio frequency device. The bill defines a “wireless 
communication device” as a device that uses a 
commercial mobile service, as defined in federal codes 
regulating telegraphs, telephones, and radiotelegraphs.

	 A local government enforcing the ban must post 
a sign informing drivers that the use of a wireless 
communication device is prohibited in the school 
zone and that a driver in violation will be subject to a 
fine. TxDOT must adopt standards for a required sign 
to be attached to an existing sign and for the content 
of the sign. The bill creates an affirmative defense to 
prosecution for a driver in violation in a school zone 
that does not have the required sign. The bill preempts 
all inconsistent local ordinances, rules, or regulations. 

Supporters said

	 HB 55 would create consistency and promote 
safety by prohibiting drivers statewide from using cell 
phones in school zones. A growing body of research has 
concluded that cell phones distract drivers and increase 
response times to sudden traffic incidents. Nowhere is 
this added distraction more dangerous than in school 
zones, which are characterized by numerous sudden 
traffic incidents, such as students crossing a street to 
reach a sidewalk or make their way to a waiting vehicle. 

	 In response to these obvious hazards, many 
municipalities have adopted ordinances to prohibit the 
use of cell phones to varying extents in school zones. 

Differing local approaches to this problem may create 
confusion in areas with multiple adjacent municipalities. 
Local ordinances may not be well publicized and may 
have specific rules that vary between neighboring 
localities. 

	 Creating a uniform statewide prohibition would 
promote consistent, well-publicized standards barring 
cell phone use without a hands-free device by drivers in 
school zones. The bill would create a primary offense 
— allowing an officer to pull over an offending party 
— that would be critical to the enforcement of the cell 
phone ban. An officer would have to be vested with the 
authority to pull over an individual in visible violation 
of the prohibition for it to be effective.

Opponents said

	 HB 55 would single out one of an innumerable 
number of distractions that can result in dangerous 
driving. Drivers commonly are distracted by radios, 
various auto controls, passengers, and a host of other 
potential distractions that decrease awareness and 
reduce judgment time. Banning the use of cell phones 
without hands-free devices, even in limited areas, would 
not address the core issue of distracted driving.

Other opponents said

	 HB 55 would create a primary offense for using a 
cell phone in a school zone, an infraction that would 
be left to the discretion of an officer and would be 
very difficult to discern. Because it would be difficult 
to prove either affirmatively or negatively that an 
individual was using a cell phone without a hands-free 
device while driving, this provision would give license 
to an officer to stop people on a pretense that could not 
be verified readily. The bill should be revised to include 
cell phone use in a school zone as a secondary offense 
that could be enforced only in the course of pursuing a 
driver for a primary offense, such as speeding.

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 55 appeared in Part 
Four of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 339 by Phillips
Effective on September 1, 2009

Driver’s education and licensing requirements for minors

	 HB 339 requires school districts to consider 
offering a driver’s education and traffic safety course 
during each school year. A school district may charge a 
fee for the course in an amount determined by the Texas 
Education Agency (TEA) comparable to the fee charged 
by a licensed driver’s education school. A school district 
also may contract with a licensed driver’s education 
school. The education commissioner may charge a fee 
to each driver’s education school to cover the expense 
incurred to regulate driver’s education courses. TEA 
must establish or approve all curricula for driver’s 
education courses, including those conducted by school 
districts, driver’s education schools, parent-taught 
programs, or those exclusively for adults. This provision 
will apply beginning in the 2009-2010 school year.

	 Driver’s education courses for adults. The 
commissioner may not approve a driving safety course 
or a drug and alcohol driving awareness program as a 
driver’s education course. An adult driver’s education 
course must be a six-hour course, which can be offered 
both online and in the classroom. The curriculum must 
include instruction:

in alcohol and drug awareness; •	
about the traffic laws of this state, highway •	
signs, signals, and markings that regulate, warn, 
or direct traffic; and 
about the issues commonly associated with •	
motor vehicle accidents.

	 Those who complete the highway sign and traffic 
law parts of the adult course need not take those parts of 
the license exam.

	 Driver’s education courses for minors. A driver’s 
license may not be issued to a person younger than 
21 years of age unless the person submits a driver’s 
education certificate that states that the person has 
completed and passed an approved driver’s education 
course. A driver’s education course for both adults and 
minors must require a student to complete: 

seven hours of behind-the-wheel instruction •	
with a licensed driver’s education instructor; 
seven hours observing a licensed driver’s •	
education instructor; and 

20 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, of •	
which at least 10 must take place at night in the 
presence of an adult over the age of 21 with a 
valid driver’s license and at least one year of 
driving experience.

	 Driving test for minors. A driving test is required 
for any applicant who applies for a driver’s license 
on or after September 1, 2009, who is under the age 
of 18. The commissioner must adopt rules governing 
this section of the bill by January 1, 2010, and each 
driver’s education and training program approved by 
the commissioner must comply with the curriculum 
requirements outlined in this bill by May 1, 2010.

	 Driver’s education instructors. The commissioner 
of education may not issue or renew a driver’s education 
instructor license, including a temporary license, to 
a person who has six or more points assigned to the 
person’s driver’s license. An individual may not teach 
a parent-taught course if the individual has six or more 
points assigned to his or her driver’s license. A foster 
parent can qualify to teach a parent-taught driver’s 
education course. 

	 Revoking provisional license or instruction 
permit for dropouts. A person under the age of 18 
cannot be issued a driver’s license unless the applicant’s 
parent or legal guardian has submitted written 
permission authorizing DPS to access the applicant’s 
student enrollment records. TEA must inform DPS 
if a person with a provisional license or instruction 
permit drops out of school. On the date DPS receives 
notification, DPS will revoke the person’s provisional 
license or instruction permit and notify the person in 
writing of the revocation. This change applies only to 
licenses issued on or after September 1, 2009.

	 A provisional license or instruction permit expires 
on the individual’s 18th birthday for any license issued 
on or after September 1, 2009. The fee for the issuance 
of a provisional license or instruction permit will 
increase from $5 to $15. 

	 Driver’s license restrictions for minors. A person 
under the age of 18 is restricted from operating a motor 
vehicle during the twelve-month, rather than six-month, 
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period following the issuance of an original Class A, B, 
or C driver’s license: 

after midnight and before 5 a.m. except for •	
work, school or school-related activity, or 
medical emergency; 
with more than one passenger under the age of •	
twenty-one who was not a family member; and 
while using a wireless communications device, •	
except in case of emergency. 

	 The bill extends current motorcycle and moped 
restrictions for riders under the age of 17 from six 
months to twelve months following license issuance. 

	 DPS annual report. DPS must collect data 
regarding collisions by students taught by public 
schools, licensed driver’s education schools, parent-
taught courses, and other entities that offer driver’s 
education courses for which a uniform certificate of 
completion was issued. The rate must be computed 
by dividing the number of an entity’s students who 
completed a course during that fiscal year by the number 
of collisions that involved students who completed a 
course with that entity that occurred in the twelve-month 
period following licensure. The department must issue a 
publication listing these collision rates by October 1 of 
each year, noting the severity of the collisions involving 
students of each entity and each type of course. The first 
report must be issued no later than October 1, 2011.  

	 DPS must include in the report the number of minor 
students taught by each driver’s education entity and the 
total number of minor students taught by parent-taught 
courses who become licensed during fiscal 2009-10. 

	 DPS task force. DPS must appoint a task force 
to review and make recommendations regarding 
the effectiveness of the materials provided for use 
in driver’s education courses taught by a parent or 
guardian. The task force will consist of: 

a DPS representative; •	
a TEA representative; •	
a commercial provider of driver’s education •	
courses; 
a member of an interested group or association •	
as determined by DPS; and 
other appropriate members as determined by •	
DPS.

Supporters said

	 HB 339 would create the “Less Tears More Years 
Act” to help ensure that teenage drivers receive proper 
practice and instruction to be safe drivers. Texas law is 
weaker than at least 30 states, receiving a rating of only 
“fair” from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. 
Motor vehicles are the number-one killer of teenagers, 
accounting for one in three deaths. Last year, children 
aged 15 to 17 caused more than 70,000 crashes, 300,000 
injuries, and over 300 fatalities. A teenager is four times 
more likely to die than older adults in a crash. 

	 The bill would increase the quality of driver’s 
education in Texas by requiring each applicant under 
the age of 18 to pass a driving test. Under current law, 
DPS waives the driving skills test for those aged 15 to 
18 who complete a driver education course. A driving 
test identifies those drivers not ready for a license and is 
a credible check on the system. Also, the data-collection 
section of the bill would help legislators evaluate the 
different ways by which drivers are licensed, and 
parents would be able to identify programs whose 
students have lower collision rates. 

	 School districts would do a better job of teaching 
driver’s education and provide a safe atmosphere, 
and schools and teachers would be more accountable. 
Claims that school districts would expose themselves to 
more lawsuits are unfounded; prior to 1995, nearly all 
school districts had driver’s education programs and did 
not have significant liability issues. 

	 The bill would not require any school district 
establish a driver’s education program, but would allow 
school districts who chose to offer driver’s education 
courses to assess a fee to cover the cost to the district or 
contract with a private provider. Small or rural school 
districts could consolidate programs to share costs.

Opponents said

	 The state should subsidize costs to provide an 
incentive for school districts to establish driver’s 
education programs. Otherwise, school districts may not 
be able to afford them. This bill would be expensive for 
school districts, especially for small and rural districts 
with few eligible students. A school district that decided 
to establish a driver’s education program would have 
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to purchase a vehicle, modify the vehicle with a brake 
pedal on the passenger side, and pay a teacher’s salary 
as well as a stipend to attract the teacher to the district, 
totaling an estimated $81,000 in start-up costs. 

	 This bill could add an additional layer of 
bureaucracy to school districts and potentially subject 
districts to increased liability and expose them to 
lawsuits. The state should establish a way to indemnify 
school districts. Data requirements imposed on school 
districts who establish a driver’s education program may 
violate federal confidentiality laws.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis for HB 339 appeared in Part 
Two of the May 4 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 537 by Berman
Effective September 1, 2009

Requiring safety belts for minors in passenger vehicles

	 HB 537 expands current safety belt requirements 
to create an offense for a person 15 years or older to 
not wear a safety belt while riding in a rear seat of a 
moving passenger vehicle. The bill also creates an 
offense for a person to allow a child younger than 17, 
who was not required to ride in a child safety seat, to 
ride in a passenger van designed to transport 15 or fewer 
passengers, including the driver, without securing the 
child individually by a safety belt. The bill applies only 
to those occupying seats equipped with a safety belt. 
The bill retains misdemeanor offenses and fines for 
similar offenses in current law.

	 The bill also prohibits the operator of a motorcycle 
from carrying another passenger under 5 years old, 
unless the passenger is seated in a sidecar attached to 
the motorcycle. Riding with a passenger under 5 years 
old is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine between $100 
and $200.

Supporters said 

	 Expanding requirements for safety belts in 
passenger vehicles, including vans, would reduce the 
chances of sustaining devastating injuries in the event 
of an accident. From 2003 to 2007, 78 percent of 
passengers killed in 15-passenger vans were not wearing 
safety belts, and motor vehicle deaths are the leading 
cause of death for children ages 4 to 14. The risk of 
rollover in 15-passenger vans is similar to trucks and 
sports utility vehicles, but increases significantly when 
the van has 10 or more occupants. Wearing a safety belt 
dramatically reduces the risk of death or serious injury 
during a rollover crash. 

	 The state already has a mandatory safety belt law 
for persons in the front seat of a car, and there is no 
reason this law should not extend to persons in the 
back seat of a car. The state has determined that it has 
an interest in motorists wearing safety belts and that 
such laws do not violate personal liberty. Hundreds of 
motorists are injured or killed each year because they 
failed to use available safety belts. Only 17 percent 
of crash victims wearing safety belts are hospitalized, 
compared with 32 percent of crash victims not wearing 
safety belts. Seventy-five percent of crash victims who 
are ejected from a car are injured fatally. 

	 HB 537 would help reduce the financial impact 
of costly auto crash injuries. Traffic accidents create a 
burden for the individuals involved, law enforcement 
officers who investigate accidents, and entities that 
pay for short-term or long-term healthcare for injured 
individuals. The severity of crash injuries also can 
affect auto insurance rates. Wearing a safety belt is not 
just a matter of personal responsibility. Safety belt use 
is important to traffic safety and should be regulated 
just as any other traffic law. The best way to increase 
safety belt use is by expanding use requirements. Rear 
safety belt use is higher in states that require it by law, 
with 88 percent usage, than in those that do not, with 69 
percent usage. While educating about safety belt use is 
important, it is not enough on its own. 

Opponents said 

	 The state should not further intrude into the personal 
choices and liberties of Texans by mandating the use of 
safety belts in passenger vans and other vehicles. The 
existence of laws mandating front-seat safety belts for 
passengers under 15 and other safety belt requirements 
do not justify expansion of the current restrictions. 
Motorists and passengers have abundant information 
about safety belt safety, and they should be free to make 
this decision for themselves. It is not the government’s 
job to protect Texans from every potentially bad choice, 
including whether or not to wear a safety belt in the 
back seat of a car or in a passenger van. Increasing the 
use of safety belts is best done through education. A 
more restrictive law is not the most effective way to 
convince those resistant to wearing safety belts to adopt 
the practice. 

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 537 appeared in Part 
Two of the May 6 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1164 by Wentworth/ HB 1893 by Driver
Died in the House

Allowing concealed handgun licensees to carry weapons on college 
campuses

	 SB 1164 and HB 1893 would have created 
an exception to the prohibition against carrying a 
weapon at a public or private university or college if a 
person held a concealed handgun license issued under 
Government Code, ch. 411.

	 Both bills also would have prohibited a college 
or university from adopting rules against concealed 
handgun license holders carrying weapons, with two 
exceptions:

public and private colleges and universities •	
would have been able to establish rules on the 
storage of handguns in dormitories or other 
residential buildings owned or operated by the 
institutions and located on their campuses; and
a private college or university would have •	
been allowed to prohibit carrying of weapons 
by concealed handgun license holders after 
consulting with students, staff, and faculty.

	 Under both bills, a prohibition against concealed 
weapons at a collegiate sporting event would not have 
applied unless the stadium posted warning signs in 
conspicuous places.

	 SB 1164 differed from HB 1893 in that it would 
have prohibited a concealed handgun license holder 
from carrying a weapon on the premises of a hospital 
maintained or operated by an institution of higher 
education and would have made the changes effective 
on September 1, 2010, rather than September 1, 2009.

Supporters said

	 SB 1164/HB 1893 would eliminate an arbitrary and 
imaginary line around college campuses where law-
abiding Texas concealed handgun license holders cannot 
carry their weapons for their own personal safety. 
College campuses should not be treated any differently 
than other public places where concealed handguns can 
be carried legally. Violent criminals are not deterred by 
those restrictions. Simply removing a geographic barrier 
would not cause concealed handgun license holders to 
act less responsibly or become less law-abiding.

	 The bill would affect only adult students, faculty, 
staff, and parent visitors and would not arm large 
numbers of undergraduates. Concealed handgun license 
holders must be at least 21, pass background checks, 
and complete 10 to 15 hours of training. According 
to DPS records, only 4,175 — about 5.7 percent — 
of the 73,090 concealed handgun licenses issued in 
fiscal 2008 were granted to those 25 years of age or 
younger. Generally, less than 5 percent of about 400,000 
concealed handgun holders are in this age group.

	 Enactment of either bill would not be precedent-
setting. Twenty-three states with concealed carry laws 
do not prohibit their license holders from possessing 
their weapons on college campuses. Twelve U.S. 
colleges and universities currently allow concealed 
carry on campus and have not seen an increase in gun 
violence, gun accidents, or gun thefts during a period 
of hundreds of semesters. Also, the federal Gun-Free 
School Zones Act, which prohibits possession of 
firearms within 1,000 feet of a school, exempts those 
with state concealed-handgun licenses from the ban.

	 Enacting this proposal would not suggest that 
concealed handgun license holders be responsible for 
protecting campuses. Despite some concerns from 
law enforcement officers, there would be little danger 
from a concealed weapon holder or a first responder 
engaging in “friendly fire.” Most real-world shootouts 
are typically localized and over very quickly. It is 
not realistic to expect police to encounter an ongoing 
shootout between assailants and armed civilians. 

	 Prevention of violence and preparedness are 
not mutually exclusive. In a perfect system, the two 
approaches to safety complement each other. Preventive 
measures could include teaching students and faculty 
to watch for the warning signs of mental illness and 
providing counseling to disturbed students. Those 
efforts could complement preparative measures, such as 
developing campus alert systems, providing additional 
training to campus police, and allowing trained, licensed 
adults who legally carry concealed handguns to possess 
them on campus. SB 1164/HB 1893 could reduce 
the vulnerability of students and faculty should an 
unthinkable and low-probability tragic event occur.
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Opponents said

	 SB 1164/HB 1893 would not make college 
campuses any safer and could increase the risk of more 
violence. The bill would solve a phantom problem. 
Statistically, campuses are much safer than their 
surrounding cities. According to a U.S. Department 
of Justice study, 93 percent of crimes committed 
against college students from 1995 to 2002 occurred 
off campus. In fact, there may be a counterintuitive 
relationship between personal safety and carrying a 
weapon. A Harvard School of Public Health study 
on guns and gun threats at college concludes that 
“predictors for being threatened with a gun while at 
college include personally having a gun for protection.”

	 Concealed handgun advocates overstate the law-
abiding nature of those with concealed handgun license 
holders. While DPS records show concealed handgun 
license holders commit a statistically insignificant 
portion of all crimes in the state, some are convicted of 
serious offenses. The DPS reports are delayed to include 
final convictions, but the report for 2007 showed that 
four concealed handgun license holders were convicted 
of murder, including two for capital murder.

	 Campus shootings remain extremely rare, albeit 
extremely tragic, events. The chance of their occurring 
at any given college or university is almost infinitesimal. 
Even advocates concede that the proposed bills would 
apply to an extremely limited subset of Texas residents 
and college students. It would be almost impossible to 
calculate the chances of a concealed handgun license 
holder being in the position to stop a campus gunman. 
While the massacres at Luby’s Cafeteria in Killeen and 
at Virginia Tech raise the question of whether someone 
with a handgun could have stopped the killings or 
at least minimized the number of victims, enacting 
legislation based on such questions would be bad public 
policy.

	 After the Columbine massacre, first responders have 
been trained to act aggressively against any gunmen in 
a crowded and confined space. Police could be as likely 
to shoot any would-be concealed handgun hero as the 
assailant. A crossfire among the concealed handgun 
holder and assailant could be dangerous to others in 
the room as well. Recent experiences in Oakland and 
in Pennsylvania demonstrated that a determined, if not 
suicidal, gunman easily could kill and wound well-
armed and highly trained law enforcement officers 
wearing bulletproof vests. It would be better to leave 
law enforcement to trained professionals. 

	 Statistically, handguns are more likely to be used for 
suicides, rather than homicides. Suicide rates already are 
high among teenagers and young adults, and the college 
years can be stressful. Having more guns available on 
campus could exacerbate this problem. 

Notes 

	 SB 1164 passed the Senate by 20-11 on May 20, 
and was reported favorably, without amendment, by the 
House Public Safety Committee on May 22, but died 
in the House Calendars Committee. The companion 
bill, HB 1893, was placed on the May 11 General State 
Calendar in the House, but no further action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1893 appeared in Part 
Four of the May 11 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 2730 by Kolkhorst
Generally effective September 1, 2009

Continuing Department of Public Safety and Private Security Board

	 HB 2730 continues the Department of Public 
Safety (DPS) until September 1, 2015. It requires the 
adoption of a civilian management model for driver’s 
license operations, revisions to the structure of the Texas 
Division of Emergency Management, and creation of 
an Office of Inspector General. The Sunset Advisory 
Commission will review and prepare an initial report 
on the adoption of the Sunset recommendations and the 
October 2008 Deloitte Consulting management review 
report by December 1, 2010, with a final report required 
before February 15, 2011.

	 HB 2730 continues the Private Security Board as 
a division of DPS and will require its evaluation as 
part of the DPS Sunset review rather than separately. 
The bill makes administrative changes to the licensing 
procedures for private investigators, including requiring 
all licensees to undergo criminal background checks 
using FBI records and pass an exam on knowledge 
of jurisprudence. Other provisions allow the Private 
Security Board to assess administrative penalties of up 
to $5,000, rather than $500, exempt computer repair 
technicians from private security licenses, and make 
unlicensed persons offering private security services 
subject to penalties for deceptive trade practices. These 
changes take effect on September 1, 2009.
	
	 Driver’s license operations. The further Sunset 
Advisory review due in February 2011 will focus on 
developing a civilian business model for DPS driver’s 
license operations, including improvements in customer 
service by use of best practices in call center technology, 
expansion of operating hours, and a decrease in the time 
to send a replacement driver’s license. HB 2730 also 
requires training programs in customer service, cultural 
diversity, and review of proof of citizenship documents 
for all employees in the DPS driver’s license offices. 

	 The bill creates the offense of conspiring to 
manufacture counterfeit driver’s licenses or state 
identification cards and makes it a state-jail felony (180 
days to two years in a state jail and an optional fine 
of up to $10,000). If committed by a public servant, 
the offense is a third-degree felony (two to 10 years 
in prison and an optional fine of up to $10,000). Other 
provisions require a program to verify addresses given 
by driver’s license applicants and disallow the use of a 
post office box as an address.

	 HB 2730 changes the notice requirements on 
assessment of surcharges for points and other offenses 
under the Drivers Responsibility Program. DPS must 
provide up to 45 days to pay a surcharge or set up 
a payment plan for first notice, and up to 60 days 
after a second notice, before suspending a driver’s 
license. In addition, the bill provides for drivers to 
establish indigent status to reduce the surcharge and for 
procedures for deducting points from a license. These 
provisions take effect September 1, 2011.

	 Other provisions require schools to offer driver 
training programs, restrict drivers under the age of 18 
from using wireless devices, and increase the charge for 
provisional licenses from $5 to $15.

	 Emergency management. HB 2730 transfers the 
Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) 
from the Governor’s Office to DPS and requires that its 
chief be appointed by the DPS director with approval of 
the governor. TDEM will administer the state’s disaster 
contingency fund and be required to report annually 
on expenditures and rules changes to the lieutenant 
governor and the House speaker. In addition, DPS will 
be the sole state government agency to select recipients 
for state and federal grants for homeland security or 
border security programs. TDEM will develop a pilot 
program for reentry credentialing of those evacuated 
because of a disaster or threat of a disaster.

	 Inspector general. HB 2730 replaces the DPS 
internal affairs division with an inspector general 
appointed and supervised by the Public Safety 
Commission. The Inspector General’s Office will 
investigate criminal activity within DPS, allegations of 
wrongdoing by DPS employees, crimes on department 
property, and serious breaches of department policy. 

	 Concealed handgun licenses. HB 2730 makes 
several changes in the administration of the concealed 
handgun license program. The bill ends the prohibition 
against concealed handgun licenses for applicants 
convicted of offenses that subsequently have become 
felonies, allows qualified handgun instructors to list that 
designation on their licenses, and imposes a $25 fee on 
any returned checks for concealed handgun applications. 
The bill also removes the requirement that a concealed 
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handgun license holder must display that permit upon 
demand by a law enforcement officer.

	 Pilot programs and studies. HB 2730 allows 
for the creation of a one-year driver monitoring pilot 
program, in which DPS can enter into a contract with 
certain entities with which it would share specific 
information from its driver’s license records.

	 HB 2730 requires DPS to develop a pilot 
identification verification program with the Texas 
Department of Criminal Justice to provide driver’s 
licenses and state identification cards to inmates. The 
two agencies must report on the results of the program 
before December 1, 2010.

	 The bill also requires counties whose disposition 
completeness percentage on crimes reported to DPS 
falls under 90 percent to establish a local data advisory 
board to make recommendations on improving that 
disposition completeness percentage. The board must 
make its report by June 1, 2010. 

	 Each October 1, TxDOT will be required to 
compile and report on the percentage of accidents 
involving students from public school driver training 
programs, driver training schools, and other entities 
offering driver instruction.

	 Other provisions. HB 2730 requires the 
confidentiality of personal information and fingerprint 
records collected from DPS as part of criminal 
background checks for public school employees. DPS 
must keep those records confidential regardless of 
whether the information had been stored in a format 
other than that of the original records.

	 The bill also:

changes the name of the Unsolved Crimes •	
Investigation Team to the Unsolved Crimes 
Investigation Unit and allows it to be located 
outside of Austin;
allows DPS and other state law enforcement •	
agencies to provide incentives, including up to 
four days of administrative leave a year, to meet 
physical fitness standards; and
increases the administrative fine for parking •	
violations at the Capitol complex from $10 to 
$25 and the late fee from $2 to $5.

Supporters said

	 HB 2730 would help institutionalize and continue 
ongoing efforts to transform the culture of the DPS and 
modernize its operations. The department’s new board 
members and management team have made great strides 
since fall 2008, and the bill would provide a statutory 
framework to implement the recommendations from the 
Sunset Commission and the Deloitte report.

	 Driver’s license operations. HB 2730 would 
continue efforts to establish a civilian management 
model of driver’s license operations and would lead to 
a more customer-friendly approach. Adoption of best 
practices and other changes could remedy complaints 
about long lines, unclear directions to services, limited 
hours, and waits to receive driver’s licenses and 
identification cards. 

	 HB 2730 would provide the necessary training for 
civilian driver’s license employees as they interact with 
the public and examine documents proving citizenship. 
Without further guidance from the federal government, 
there remains no urgency in adopting REAL ID 
standards for Texas driver’s licenses and identification 
cards. 

	 Increased penalties for fraudulent applications and 
increased scrutiny of applications would be appropriate 
because driver’s license operations retain an important 
law enforcement role, even under civilian management.

	 HB 2730 would implement needed reforms in the 
Drivers Responsibility Program approved last session 
and recommended in the Legislative Budget Board’s 
January 2009 Texas State Government Effectiveness 
and Efficiency report. The study showed that only 38.5 
percent of drivers assessed surcharges comply with 
the program, and many low-income Texans continue 
to drive without licenses. With little of the $1.3 billion 
in surcharges collected, legislators should be skeptical 
about any claims about potential revenue losses from 
changing the surcharge program.

	 Emergency management. HB 2730 would clarify 
the role of TDEM, DPS, and the Governor’s Division of 
Homeland Security concerning the state’s preparedness 
and emergency management functions. The bill would 
provide a clear line of authority and accountability for 
the grant of emergency management and homeland 
security resources. 
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	 Inspector General’s Office. HB 2370 would 
reform and strengthen current efforts to root out 
criminal activity and other violations of DPS policies. 
The Inspector General’s Office would be modeled on 
similar positions in other state and federal agencies and 
would answer to the Public Safety Commission rather 
than the DPS chain of command. DPS has enjoyed a 
well-deserved reputation for integrity and service to 
the citizens of Texas in the past, and the bill would help 
maintain and enhance that tradition.

	 Pilot programs and studies. The bill would help 
encourage further innovation and development of 
best practices by short-term pilot projects to monitor 
driver records and help inmates transition back into 
society. Also, studies about county crime disposition 
completeness and collision data on young drivers would 
guide both policymakers and the public to make better 
decisions about important issues. 

	 Establishment of a driving record monitoring 
pilot program would enable insurance companies 
and employers of large vehicle fleets, among others, 
to obtain up-to-date information on their clients or 
employees. Such a system would create a way to 
identify more quickly dangerous drivers and allow 
companies to take actions leading to safer driving 
conditions. This program would change little regarding 
eligibility to obtain information, but it would create a 
more efficient and expedient process.

	 Other provisions. Changes to school employee 
criminal history background checks would address 
what is believed to be a loophole in provisions to keep 
information confidential and not subject to the Public 
Information (Open Records) Act. The bill would provide 
protection to any school district that may have converted 
its records to another format.

Opponents said

	 Driver’s licenses operations. While making some 
needed management changes, HB 2730 would not 
address larger policy questions about the DPS rules, 
issued fall 2008, requiring proof of citizenship and 
residency. The training procedures do not address 
the fundamental flaw in requiring clerks to practice 
immigration law, a complex and arcane specialty. Also, 
the Legislature should make a firm decision on whether 
to implement or reject the stringent requirements of the 
federal REAL ID program.

	 Provisions of the bill would create an unnecessary 
new crime of conspiring to manufacture counterfeit 
licenses and certificates, which duplicates existing 
statutes. Also, the bill could compromise the personal 
information of millions of Texans by allowing private 
companies to assist in verifying addresses of driver’s 
license and identification card applicants. 

	 Adoption of the reductions in surcharges for indigent 
drivers would cost the state $5.5 million per fiscal year 
in needed funding for trauma care. The intention of the 
program adopted in 2003 was to ensure that those who 
caused the most injuries because of their negligence as 
drivers, including driving while intoxicated, bear the 
brunt of the responsibility for the costs.

	 Emergency management. Direction of emergency 
management efforts, including the ability to name the 
director of TDEM, should remain in the Governor’s 
Office.

	 Pilot programs and studies. Requiring local 
data advisory boards would be yet another unfunded 
state mandate on county governments. The provisions 
of the bill would have a significant fiscal impact 
on counties that have not attained the 90 percent 
disposition completeness rate. According to the DPS 
Report Examining Reporting Compliance to the Texas 
Computerized Criminal History System for 2009, only 
38 counties meet the standard of 90 percent completion 
rates. Therefore, 216 counties fall below that average, 
and would have to hire additional staff and spend 
considerable time in meetings to study the issue and 
prepare the plan required by the bill.

	 Other provisions. Provisions in HB 2730 would 
continue legislative efforts to weaken the right of the 
public and the media to receive information collected 
at taxpayer expense and reduce the transparency and 
accountability of school districts. Parents and others 
should have access to information obtained through 
criminal background checks on teachers and other 
school employees and should receive a campus-by-
campus report summary of convictions. The attorney 
general has ruled that some of these records still remain 
public, and access should be allowed.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2730 appeared in Part 
One of the May 13 Daily Floor Report. 



Page 232 House Research Organization

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2286 by Driver, 
which would have made various changes to the Private 
Security Act but died on the House calendar, appeared 
in Part Two of the May 11 Daily Floor Calendar. The 
HRO analysis of SB 1244 by Carona, which would 
have exempted computer repairers from private security 
licensing but died on the calendar, appeared in Part 
Three of the May 22 Daily Floor Report. 

	 Provisions similar to HB 2730’s definition of 
conspiracy to manufacture counterfeit driver’s licenses 
and identification and to provide for verification of 
addresses are included in SB 1785 by Carona, which 
was withdrawn from the May 27 House Local and 
Consent Calendar. 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2411 by Fletcher, which 
would have made knowingly swearing to or affirming 
falsely any information required by the Department of 
Public Safety in an application for an original, renewed, 
or duplicate driver’s license or ID a third-degree felony, 
failed to pass the House by 39-90 on May 14 and 
appeared in Part Five of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1061 by Shapiro, 
which would have required counties whose disposition 
completeness percentage on crimes reported to DPS 
falls under 90 percent to establish a local data advisory 
board, appeared in Part Two of the May 22 Daily Floor 
Report.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1858 by West, which 
included similar provisions on the confidentiality of 
school employee criminal background check records, 
appeared in Part Four of the May 22 Daily Floor 
Report.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1775 by Whitmire, 
which included similar provisions to change the name of 
the DPS Unsolved Crimes Investigation Team, appeared 
in Part Two of the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 61 by Zaffirini
Effective September 1, 2009

Increasing minimum age and height for child safety seats

	 SB 61 increases from five years to eight years and 
from three feet to four feet, nine inches the minimum 
age and height that a person must be to ride in a vehicle 
without being secured in a child safety seat. A fine for 
a person who does not secure the child properly is no 
more than $25 for the first offense and no more than 
$250 for subsequent offenses. In addition, a person must 
pay 15 cents as a court cost upon conviction of such 
an offense. Revenue from the additional fee will be 
deposited in a separate account in the General Revenue 
Fund and may be appropriated only to the Texas 
Department of Transportation to purchase child safety 
seats for distribution to low-income families. 

	 The bill applies to offenses on or after June 1, 2010, 
before which a law enforcement officer may only issue a 
warning to an offending individual. 

Supporters said 

	 By requiring safety seats for children from five 
to eight years of age, SB 61 would reduce the risk 
of serious injury and save lives. Current law allows 
children to be restrained by a standard safety belt once 
they are over 36 inches in height. However, safety 
belts were not designed for children and do not fit 
appropriately until a child reaches four feet, nine inches 
tall. In car crashes, children under this height are likely 
to suffer severe head, spinal cord, and internal organ 
injuries. Safety seats reduce the risk of these injuries by 
59 percent. 

	 SB 61 would educate parents and help them protect 
their children. It is intended to inform parents of the best 
way to keep children safe in vehicles. The fine would be 
used to fund safety seats for low-income families, rather 
than as mere punishment. 

	 The bill would help families and the state save 
money on personal injury and public medical costs, as 
well as work losses. Treating one child with injuries 
sustained without a safety seat is very costly. In 
comparison, safety seats can be purchased for as little as 
$15.

Opponents said 

	 SB 61 would set in place a misdirected incentive 
system to achieve the important goal of enhancing child 
safety in motor vehicles. The bill would extend penalties 
to drivers who did not use an approved safety seat for 
children aged six and seven or shorter than 4 feet 9 
inches. The penalties would be less effective than other 
measures in encouraging families to use the restraint 
systems. Motivating parents to secure older children 
in safety seats would be better accomplished through 
education, rather than by punishing families that may 
not even be aware of the safety risks of standard seat 
belts. 

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of the House companion bill, 
HB 528 by Vaught, appeared in Part One of the May 8 
Daily Floor Report.

Table 
of Contents



Page 234 House Research Organization

SB 298 by Carona
Died in House committee

Allowing sobriety checkpoints in larger Texas cities and counties

	 SB 298 would have allowed the Department of 
Public Safety (DPS) or a sheriff’s department in a 
county with a population of more than 250,000, as well 
as a police department in a city larger than 500,000, to 
operate a temporary checkpoint to determine whether 
drivers were intoxicated. The bill would have set 
standards for selecting locations and for operating 
sobriety checkpoints. 

	 Selection criteria for checkpoints would have been 
based on the number of alcohol-related accidents and 
intoxication arrests in the vicinity within the preceding 
12 months and could not have been based on the ethnic 
or socioeconomic characteristics of the area. Individual 
stops would have been required to be reasonably 
predictable and non-arbitrary. A DPS captain, sheriff, 
or mayor would have had to approve the operation of 
the checkpoint based on written selection criteria. The 
criteria would have been required to be posted on the 
law enforcement agency’s website. Locations would 
have been selected to allow for the safety of the public 
and law enforcement officers conducting the checks and 
for diversion of drivers believed to be intoxicated. In 
addition, the checkpoint would have had to be marked 
with signs and safety devices, such as flares, flags, or 
traffic cones, and the officers making initial contact 
would have been required to wear uniforms.

	 SB 298 would have required that:

drivers not be questioned longer than three •	
minutes or made to wait more than 10 minutes 
to pass through the checkpoint;
video and audio recordings be made of all •	
encounters between law enforcement officers 
and drivers;
no requests be made to show driver’s licenses, •	
concealed handgun licenses, or proof of 
insurance; 
the date and time of the checkpoint, but not •	
necessarily the location, be publicized in the 
media and on the Internet; and
checkpoints not operate for more than four •	
hours and no more than once every 12 months 
in the same location or within a mile of that 
location.

	 The bill also would have required that law 
enforcement agencies maintain records on the 
operations for five years and video and audio recordings 
for two years. In addition, the law enforcement agencies 
would have been required to report on checkpoint 
operations by January 15 each year to the Texas 
Department of Transportation (TxDOT), which in turn 
would have been required to make a report on sobriety 
checkpoint effectiveness to the governor, the lieutenant 
governor, and the House speaker by February 1, 2015.

Supporters said 

	 Sobriety checkpoints would provide an effective law 
enforcement tool to prevent driving while intoxicated 
by deterring Texans from driving drunk in the first 
place. It is impossible to arrest more than a relatively 
small proportion of alcohol-impaired drivers, so general 
deterrence is critical to reducing the deaths and injuries 
caused by drinking drivers. In 2007, 1,292 people were 
killed and almost 30,000 injured in alcohol-related 
crashes on Texas roads and highways, according to 
the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 
Sobriety checkpoints would increase public awareness 
of the problem of alcohol-impaired driving, the 
possibility of arrest, and the presence of an aggressive 
law enforcement effort.

	 SB 298 would limit the intrusion on motorists 
passing through sobriety checkpoints and would 
preserve Texans’ protections against unreasonable 
searches and seizures. In Michigan Dept. of State Police 
v. Sitz, 496 U.S. 444 (1990), the U.S. Supreme Court 
upheld the constitutionality of sobriety checkpoints. 
However, the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals 
ruled in June 1994 that sobriety checkpoints were 
unconstitutional in Texas only because no statewide 
guidelines existed for properly conducting such stops. 
SB 298 would provide steps to prevent racial and 
socioeconomic profiling, require all stops to be non-
arbitrary and recorded, and prevent law enforcement 
officers from asking for driver’s licenses and insurance. 
Overall, SB 298 would require law enforcement 
agencies to operate sobriety checkpoints transparently 
and without improperly expanding into other 
enforcement activities.
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	 The bill would be bracketed narrowly to apply only 
to large cities and counties with resources to conduct 
sobriety checkpoints in a way that protected drivers’ 
rights while deterring drunk driving. It would prevent 
smaller jurisdictions from running sobriety checkpoints 
as revenue-producing traps. Law enforcement agencies 
would have to coordinate so that, for example, the 
Arlington Police Department could not operate a 
checkpoint at a location soon after the Tarrant County 
Sheriff’s Department had conducted similar stops.

	 Data from other states, including 23 studies reviewed 
by the Centers for Disease Control, demonstrate that 
sobriety checkpoints significantly reduce alcohol-related 
crashes and associated fatal and nonfatal injuries. 

	 Sobriety checkpoints could complement other widely 
publicized enforcement efforts against drunk driving, 
such as “no refusal” weekends, when suspected drunk 
drivers must submit to a breath or blood test. “No 
refusal” policies already have been adopted successfully 
in Houston and Austin and have proven effective in 
deterring drinking drivers and convicting those with 
multiple driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses. 

Opponents said

	 SB 298 would be a violation of Texans’ rights 
under both the U.S. and state constitutions to be free 
from unreasonable searches and seizures. Randomly 
selecting drivers for sobriety screenings, rather than 
basing investigations on behavior, is inefficient, wastes 
taxpayer resources, and interferes with everyday Texans’ 
rights to be left alone. Even in Michigan Dept. of 
State Police v. Sitz, the U.S. Supreme Court held that 
checkpoints constitute a Fourth Amendment seizure. 
However, the court reasoned that the seizure was 
not unreasonable because the “subjective intrusion” 
to motorists would be minor in light of the alleged 
effectiveness of checkpoints in reducing drunk driving. 
Traditionally, Texans reject such loose interpretations of 
constitutional rights, and state courts have upheld higher 
protections against unreasonable searches and seizures. 

	 Sobriety checkpoints are not effective in identifying 
drunk drivers on the road when compared to “saturation 
patrols,” which focus patrol resources on areas known 
for drunk driving problems or “emphasis patrols,” 
where drunk drivers are identified after stops for minor 
violations. Both tactics are more efficient and less 
intrusive. Media studies and an FBI bulletin indicate 
that sobriety checkpoints have lower arrest rates per 
car stopped and officer hour than do saturation patrols. 

Other data suggest that between 2003 and 2004, most 
of the reduction in alcohol-related fatalities occurred in 
states without sobriety checkpoints.

	 Bracketing the bill to larger Texas cities and counties 
could be seen as a tacit admission that the legislation 
would be questionable public policy. Once sobriety 
checkpoints were in statute, it would be easy to change 
the brackets and allow smaller jurisdictions without the 
same level of resources or monitoring to conduct the 
stops. There already has been too much experience with 
small cities running “speed traps” or abusing drug asset 
forfeiture laws to run treasure hunts against passing 
motorists to raise revenue. 

	 Public awareness about the dangers of drunk 
driving could be raised without adopting intrusive 
measures such as sobriety checkpoints or “no refusal” 
weekends and holidays. Larger Texas cities could 
decrease alcohol-related accidents through public 
service announcements and increased access to safe 
transportation. Encouraging designated drivers, as 
well as increasing access to public transportation and 
subsidized and accessible taxi services would make 
Texas cities safer without sacrificing civil liberties. 

Other opponents said

	 Increasingly intrusive investigations and draconian 
punishments apparently have not deterred repeat DWI 
offenders, who pose the most danger to other drivers. 
TxDOT reports that more than 124,662 Texans have 
three or more DWI convictions, including 18,271 with 
five or more. One person has 22 convictions. Texas 
may have reached the point of diminishing returns on 
strategies such as sobriety checkpoints and may need to 
reconsider its approach to drunk driving.

Notes 

	 SB 298 passed the Senate by 20-11 on March 
31, but died in the House Criminal Jurisprudence 
Committee. The companion bill, HB 169 by T. Smith, 
died in the House Public Safety Committee.  
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HB 8 by Otto
Effective January 1, 2010

Comptroller property value study and appraisal district review

	 HB 8 changes the frequency of the comptroller’s 
property value study from annual to biennial. About half 
of the state’s school districts’ property values will be 
studied each year. The other half will undergo a review 
of their standards, procedures, and methodology. HB 
8 also establishes a Property Value Study Advisory 
Committee to help the comptroller draft rules governing 
the conduct of the standards and procedures study.

	 Timing of study. Under Government Code, sec. 
403.302, the comptroller will conduct a study:

at least every two years in each school district •	
for which the most recent study resulted in a 
determination by the comptroller that the school 
district’s value was valid; and
each year in a school district for which the most •	
recent study resulted in a determination by the 
comptroller that the school district’s local value 
was not valid.

	 In any year in which the comptroller does not 
conduct a study of a school district, its local value for 
that year will be considered valid.

	 Study results. The property value study will use 
the results of a study of property values produced by 
an appraisal district to determine the school district’s 
taxable value in a year when the comptroller had studied 
the property values produced by the appraisal district. 
The study will follow the same procedures and apply the 
same margin of error that the comptroller currently uses. 

	 The property value study will use the market value 
provided by an appraisal district, minus certain tax 
exemptions, to determine the taxable value of property 
in a school district in a year when a study of a school 
district’s taxable value has not been done by the 
property tax division.

	 Review of appraisal district procedures. HB 
8 establishes guidelines for the review of appraisal 
districts’ standards, procedures, and methodology, 
which will take place at least once every two years. 
The comptroller will review the governance of each 
appraisal district, taxpayer assistance provided, and 
the operating and appraisal standards, procedures, 
and methodology used by each appraisal district. The 

review will determine compliance with generally 
accepted standards, procedures, and methodology. 
The comptroller by rule may establish procedures and 
standards for conducting and scoring the review.

	 Failing to take remedial action. HB 8 changes 
the mechanism for conservatorship of appraisal 
districts that fail to comply with the comptroller’s 
recommendations for improvement. If the appraisal 
district fails to comply with the recommendations in 
the report and if the comptroller finds that the board of 
directors of the appraisal district fails to take remedial 
action reasonably designed to ensure substantial 
compliance with each recommendation in the report 
within a year, the comptroller will notify the Board of 
Tax Professional Examiners, or a successor agency, 
which will be required to take action necessary to ensure 
that the recommendations are implemented as soon as 
practicable. Before February 1 of the year following the 
year in which the Board of Tax Professional Examiners, 
or a successor agency, takes action to ensure substantial 
compliance with each recommendation in the report, 
the board will determine, with the assistance of the 
comptroller, whether the recommendations in the most 
recent report substantially have been implemented. 
The presiding officer of the board will notify the chief 
appraiser and the board of directors of the appraisal 
district of the board’s determination.

Supporters said

	 HB 8 would increase accuracy and improve 
standards and practices of property appraisals in Texas. 
Under current law, there is no state oversight beyond the 
property value study, and the current system does not 
exert enough pressure on appraisal districts to produce 
accurate and professional valuations.

	 Changing the frequency of the property value study 
from annual to biannual would allow the comptroller 
to do more focused analyses of school districts’ 
taxable property because the number of appraisal 
districts’ valuations studied in a year would be halved. 
It also would allow the comptroller to examine more 
closely local appraisal standards and procedures. The 
comptroller’s property tax division staff would be able 
to check more closely for highly technical processes 
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that can be used to manipulate values, which often are 
overlooked in a more general analysis.

	 Reviews of standards and practices would be 
especially helpful to appraisal districts in smaller 
counties that can have difficulty recruiting qualified 
employees and whose tight budgets make training 
relatively expensive. These reviews also would help 
promote professionalism and uniformity in appraisal 
districts across Texas. One of the categories that 
an appraisal district would be graded on would be 
taxpayer assistance. The comptroller would look at 
office practices, the appraisal review process, and other 
aspects of the office to ensure that appraisal districts 
were in compliance with best practices. These reviews 
would help restore confidence in the property tax 
system.

	 HB 8 would not encourage appraisal districts to 
lower their property values. The review of standards 
and practices would discourage them from undervaluing 
property in the off years. Further, they would not be 
able to keep appraisals flat for one year and then catch 
up on the next because the existing 5-percent allowable 
variation in local appraisals above and below the 
comptroller’s value determination may not provide 
enough leeway in the catch-up year. In addition, only 
the appraisal districts that produced valid local values 
would be eligible to be studied every other year. Those 
appraisal districts that did a poor job would continue 
to face annual studies. Finally, those appraisal districts 
that lowered their values in an off year would open 
themselves up to additional and costly litigation.

Opponents said

	 HB 8 would be an excuse for appraisal districts 
to lower their property values, potentially costing the 
state more under the school finance formulas that send 
more state aid to districts with lower property values 
per student. Because their values would be studied only 
every other year, districts would be tempted to keep the 
values flat in the off year.

	 Many Texans already lack confidence in property 
appraisals. HB 8 would erode that confidence further 
if they perceived a pattern of no appraisal growth, 
followed by large jumps in anticipation of the property 
value study.

	 HB 8 would be too much of a change. The bill 
would be improved by including a Sunset provision 
so that the Legislature could examine several years 
of data and make changes and improvements or even 
discontinue the program if necessary.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 8 appeared in the April 
23 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 770 by D. Howard
Effective January 1, 2010

Homestead exemption for damaged homes; Open Beaches Act 
exception; property-tax exemption for chambers of commerce

	 HB 770 allows a homestead exemption to continue 
on property with a damaged home while a replacement 
home is being built; allows certain property owners 
on the Bolivar peninsula to retain property and rebuild 
homes on land that otherwise would have been claimed 
as public beach beyond the vegetation line by the Texas 
Open Beaches Act; and allows chambers of commerce 
to receive an exemption from property taxes.

	 Continuing the homestead exemption while 
rebuilding damaged homes. If a home under a 
homestead exemption is rendered uninhabitable or 
unusable by casualty or by wind or water damage, 
the owner may continue to receive the homestead 
exemption for the structure and the land while the owner 
constructs a replacement residence on the land, if the 
owner has not established a different principle residence 
or homestead exemption and the property owner 
returns and occupies the rebuilt residence as a principle 
residence. HB 770 requires that reconstruction occur 
within a certain period of time and that the replacement 
structure meet certain construction standards for square 
footage and exterior in order to qualify as a replacement 
and not as a new structure. If an owner continues a 
homestead exemption and sells the property before the 
construction of the replacement home is completed, the 
property owner will owe the tax that would have been 
due absent the continuation.

	 Bolivar Peninsula property owners. HB 770 
prevents a court order or an injunction to remove a 
house from a public beach if:

the line of vegetation establishing the boundary •	
of the public beach moved as a result of a storm 
that occurred before January 1, 2009;
the house was located landward of the natural •	
line of vegetation before the storm;
a portion of the house continues to be located •	
landward of the line of vegetation; and
the house is located on the Bolivar Peninsula.•	

	 The owner of the house may repair or rebuild the 
house if it was damaged or destroyed by the storm. The 
house still may be ordered removed if the owner does 
not repair or rebuild before September 1, 2013.

	 Granting chambers of commerce a property-
tax exemption. HB 770 adds a property-tax exemption 
for nonprofit community business organizations that 
provide economic development services to a local 
community. To qualify, a “nonprofit community 
business organization” must:

have been in existence for at least the five •	
preceding years;
be organized as a nonprofit corporation •	
under state law (under the Texas Non-
Profit Corporation Act or Texas Non-Profit 
Corporation Law) and federal law (under U.S. 
I.R.C. sec. 501(c)(6));
be a local, not a statewide, organization;•	
have maintained a dues-paying membership of •	
at least 50 for the preceding three years;
have a board of directors elected by its members •	
who are not compensated for their service on 
the board; and
be supported by membership dues and income •	
related to its primary functions.

	 In addition, the organization in its local community 
must be engaged primarily in:

promoting the common economic interests of •	
businesses;
improving business conditions; or•	
providing economic development services.•	

	 HB 770 includes definitions of the types of 
buildings and personal property owned by nonprofit 
community business organizations that will be exempt 
from taxation under the bill.

Supporters said 

	 Continuing the homestead exemption while 
rebuilding damaged homes. HB 770 would address a 
gap in current law regarding the property-tax protections 
provided by the homestead exemption. In order for a 
property owner to qualify for the homestead exemption, 
the law requires both real property and a residence 
upon it. Those who lose their homestead to a natural 
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disaster such as a hurricane or flood are at risk of losing 
their homestead exemption, even if their intent is to 
rebuild and keep the property as their primary residence. 
Reapplying for the homestead at a later date is not 
an adequate solution because the owner would lose 
valuable homestead protections such as the ten-percent 
appraisal cap. HB 770 would allow taxpayers to keep 
homestead exemptions while rebuilding and working to 
piece their lives back together.

	 HB 770 would help property owners rebuild 
homesteads. Even though a homeowner whose property 
is annually reappraised would receive a lower tax bill 
because the value of the residence was reduced, that 
person still might lose the homestead protections of an 
appraisal cap and a freeze on school taxes if disabled 
or 65 years of age or older. Loss of these valuable 
protections could result in dramatically higher taxes. 
Even if a county only reappraises every other year, 
appraisal districts quickly detect new construction and 
appraise accordingly. New construction of a replacement 
structure could result in a finding that the property no 
longer was a principal residence and a resulting loss of 
the homestead exemption. 

	 Bolivar Peninsula property owners. The Texas 
Open Beaches Act can unfairly restrict the use of the 
property of homeowners by declaring that a change in 
the vegetation line causes the property to become of 
the public beach, which is akin to forced taking. HB 
770 would allow homeowners on the Bolivar Peninsula 
a chance to rebuild. They should not be punished for 
storm actions wholly outside of their control.

	 Granting chambers of commerce a property-
tax exemption. HB 770 would provide a narrow 
exemption from property taxation for chambers of 
commerce, defined in the bill as “nonprofit community 
business organizations.” This exemption would allow 
a local chamber of commerce to direct money that the 
organization otherwise would have to spend on property 
taxes to its primary goal of improving the business 
climate and recruiting companies to the community.

	 Because the role of a chamber of commerce or 
similar organization is to support the activities of local 
businesses and to increase property values and tax 
revenue in local communities, it would be appropriate 
to grant these organizations this tax exemption. Further, 
because businesses that fund chambers of commerce 
already pay state and local taxes, including property 
taxes, taxing chambers of commerce amounts to a form 
of double taxation. Chambers of commerce already are 

exempted from other federal and state taxes, and HB 
770 simply would extend this policy to local property 
taxes. 

Opponents said 

	 Continuing the homestead exemption while 
rebuilding damaged homes. HB 770 is unnecessary. 
Homeowners already are protected by existing law that 
allows appraisers to reappraise properties in a disaster 
area, which results in proper tax reductions for those 
who have suffered catastrophic loss.

	 The point of the homestead exemption is to protect 
property that is a primary residence. While it is tragic 
that a person may have lost a house due to a natural 
disaster, if the person moves off the property, it no 
longer is a primary residence. In addition, the person 
already should have been compensated by insurance and 
direct governmental aid, such as FEMA funds. Further, 
a person always can reapply for a homestead exemption 
once the home is rebuilt.

	 Bolivar Peninsula property owners. HB 770 
would unacceptably undermine the Texas Open 
Beaches Act, which protects the rights of Texans to 
access the beach and also prevents unsafe construction 
on constantly moving beaches. HB 770 would allow 
a dozen specific property owners to rebuild houses 
destroyed by recent hurricanes below the vegetation 
line. Not only would this exemption from the Open 
Beaches Act be granted to a small group no more 
deserving than others who suffered property damage, 
but it also would be questionable public policy to 
allow for the construction of buildings on unsecured 
and even dangerous sand. Further, these property 
owners purchased their land with full knowledge that 
it someday could become public land if the vegetation 
line changed. While the loss of the use of property is 
regrettable, an act of nature shifted this property into 
public beach, and it should be treated as such.

	 Granting chambers of commerce a property-
tax exemption. Full property-tax exemptions 
generally should be reserved for churches, shelters, 
and other nonprofit charitable organizations that 
serve the community. A chamber of commerce is a 
voluntary organization supported by its members 
that engages in advocacy for their benefit. As such, 
it would be inappropriate for the state to grant tax 
exemptions to these organizations without extending 
the exemption to other voluntary organizations. For 
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example, labor unions provide support for members 
and work to improve the lives of working people in 
local communities. However, under HB 770 unions still 
would have to pay ad valorem taxes. If a chamber of 
commerce was exempted from property taxes under this 
bill, it only would be fair to provide a similar exemption 
to unions and other voluntary organizations that also 
benefitted the community.

	 Providing a property tax exemption for real and 
personal property of chambers of commerce would 
reduce taxable property values, shifting the tax burden 
to other taxpayers and requiring the state to make up 
the difference for school-tax purposes. This would 
effectively result in an inappropriate government 
subsidy for these business organizations.

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 770 appeared in 
Part Three of the May 4 Daily Floor Report. HB 
770 originally included only the retention of the 
homestead exemption during the reconstruction of 
damaged property, and the other provisions were added 
subsequently as floor amendments. 

	 The property-tax exemption for chambers of 
commerce originally was included in HB 831 by Taylor, 
which passed the House, but died in the Senate Finance 
Committee. The HRO analysis of HB 831 appeared in 
Part Five of the May 8 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 982 by Thompson/ HB 2070 by Cohen
Died in the Senate/ Died in the House

Raising revenue from sexually oriented businesses

	 HB 982 would have imposed a 10 percent tax on 
admissions charged by sexually oriented businesses and 
repealed the $5 per entry fee established by HB 1751 
by Cohen, enacted by the 80th Legislature in 2007. 
One-fourth of the revenue collected from the tax would 
have been allocated to the Foundation School Fund and 
three-fourths to the General Revenue Fund, which the 
comptroller would then have transferred to the Sexual 
Assault Program Fund.

	 A sexually oriented business that had paid the 
entry fee under HB 1751 prior to its repeal would have 
received a credit against the new admissions tax equal 
to the amount of fees paid. The penalty for failure to pay 
the tax or file the report would have been a forfeiture of 
5 to 10 percent of the amount owed.

Supporters of HB 982 said 

	 HB 982 would quell the constitutional concerns 
raised by the $5 entry fee added by HB 1751 enacted 
by the 80th Legislature. The occupation tax established 
by HB 982 would be applied to all sexually oriented 
businesses, using a definition already established 
in statute, and would not target those with nude 
entertainment or performances, an expression protected 
by the First Amendment. The structure of HB 982 is the 
same as statutes enacted in 10 different states, all found 
constitutional. One-fourth of the collected revenue from 
this occupation tax would be allocated to the Foundation 
School Fund, as required by the Texas Constitution, Art. 
7, sec. 3(a).

	 Enactment of HB 982 would end the litigation 
against HB 1751, allow the state to distribute the money 
collected under HB 1751, and give the businesses that 
paid the fee a credit against the tax equal to the amount 
of any fees previously paid.

	 Taxing an activity neither endorses nor penalizes 
that activity. Texas imposes taxes on a variety of 
activities, from buying cigarettes to purchasing food, 
without attempting to encourage or discourage the 
activity.

Opponents of HB 982 said 

	 By instituting this tax and collecting revenue to fund 
state programs, HB 982 would legitimize and encourage 
objectionable behavior.

	 This bill selectively would penalize individuals who 
patronize or own sexually oriented businesses.

Other opponents of HB 982 said 

	 By repealing HB 1751 and imposing an occupation 
tax rather than a fee, HB 982 would split the revenue 
allocation between the Foundation School Fund and 
the General Revenue Fund. This would shift funds 
away from the original purpose of supporting sexual 
assault programs. Also, the existing fee applies to each 
customer admitted, regardless of the admission price 
or whether an admission price is charged at all, while 
a tax would be levied only on the admission price, 
likely generating much less revenue for sexual assault 
programs.

	 HB 2070 would have reduced the sexually oriented 
business entry fee from $5 to $3 and would have 
required the comptroller to deposit all revenue received 
from the fee to the Sexual Assault Program Fund. The 
bill would have repealed the provision of HB 1751 that 
allocates fees collected over $25 million to the Texas 
Health Opportunity Pool.

	 The bill also would have added representatives from 
the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) to 
the Sexual Assault Advisory Council and would have 
expanded the council’s reporting duties. The bill would 
have required the attorney general to conduct a study on 
violence against women.

Supporters of HB 2070 said

	 HB 2070 would eliminate the constitutional 
concerns currently facing HB 1751. In a challenge to 
HB 1751, a state district court in Austin found that 
persuasive evidence exists linking nude performance 
and the secondary effects addressed by the Sexual 
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Assault Program Fund, but that an insufficient nexus 
exists between nude performance and inadequate 
healthcare. By allocating all collected fees to the Sexual 
Assault Program Fund and removing the allocation to 
the Texas Health Opportunity Pool, HB 2070 would 
eliminate this concern.

	 The bill would not apply a discriminatory tax on 
protected expression. The bill imposes a fee, rather than 
a tax, and would be applied only to sexually oriented 
businesses that also authorize the consumption of 
alcohol on the premises. The U.S. Supreme Court has 
held that states have the right to ban this combination 
of nude performance and consumption of alcohol. 
Therefore, the state can discourage the combination by 
imposing a fee. The bill is content neutral, as it seeks 
to regulate negative, secondary effects associated with 
sexually oriented businesses that combine live nude 
entertainment and serving alcohol. 

	 By providing a dedicated source of revenue, HB 
2070 would support essential sexual abuse prevention 
and survivor support programs. The bill would allow the 
state to devote approximately $16.5 million annually to 
aid the survivors of sexual assault and support training 
and prevention programs to reduce future incidents of 
sexual assault.

	 Enforcement of the fee should not be problematic, 
as the vast majority of these entities sell alcohol and 
already are licensed, regulated, and audited by TABC. 
The Comptroller’s Office could partner with TABC to 
ensure enforcement of this program and easily could 
handle the auditing duties of the few entities that do not 
sell alcohol.

	 Imposing a fee on an activity does not mean 
condoning it. Texas assesses a variety of “sin taxes” 
on tobacco, alcohol, and other activities that many 
Texans may not condone, in addition to sales and 
property taxes that business may have to pay. Because 
a certain segment of the population will visit strip clubs 
regardless of cost, the state is justified in imposing a fee 
on that activity and funding other state programs with 
the proceeds.

Opponents of HB 2070 said

	 Lowering the fee and allocating all the funds to 
the Sexual Assault Program Fund would not cure the 
constitutional challenges currently facing HB 1751. 
HB 2070 still would impose a tax on constitutionally 

protected speech. The U.S. Supreme Court has ruled 
that erotic expression is protected speech under the First 
Amendment and that taxation of protected speech is 
unconstitutional. The state of Texas already has incurred 
significant legal expenses due to court challenges to HB 
1751, and enactment of HB 2070 would not quell these 
legal challenges. 

	 The fee imposed under HB 2070 could prove 
difficult to implement for the Comptroller’s Office, 
which would have to audit and ensure that the amount of 
money collected was accurate. Some businesses do not 
collect door charges. Other businesses may collect door 
charges but keep the count of customers low in order to 
inappropriately divert the money to their own coffers.

	 The state should not use behavior that many Texans 
find objectionable and offensive to fund important state 
priorities. To do so would be hypocritical and could 
send a message that this type of behavior somehow is 
encouraged.

Other opponents of HB 2070 said 

	 While the $3 fee in HB 2070 would support a 
worthy cause, the fee instituted on patrons of strip clubs 
is unrelated to this goal. No link exists between strip 
clubs and sexual assault, so the bill would institute 
unfair tax profiling on individuals who visit these 
establishments legally. Sexual assault prevention and 
treatment certainly deserve financial support from the 
state of Texas, but they should not be paid for by a 
discriminatory tax unrelated to the problem that those 
programs are trying to address.

Notes

	 HB 982 passed the House and initially passed the 
Senate, but the Senate reconsidered its vote on final 
passage, and the bill died when no further action was 
taken. The HRO analysis of HB 982 appeared in the 
April 2 Daily Floor Report. 

	 HB 2070 died on the May 9 General State Calendar 
in the House when no further action was taken. The 
HRO analysis of HB 2070 appeared in Part Three of 
the May 9 Daily Floor Report. 

	 HB 1751 by Cohen, enacted by the 80th Legislature 
during the 2007 regular session (Business and 
Commerce Code, ch. 47, subch. B), requires that a fee 
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of $5 be charged per customer admitted to a sexually 
oriented business providing live nude entertainment or 
performances and authorizing consumption of alcohol 
on the premises. The first $25 million collected is 
allocated to the Sexual Assault Program Fund and the 
remaining revenue is allocated to the Texas Health 
Opportunity Pool.

	 In March 2008, a state district court in Austin 
held that this provision of HB 1751 violates the First 
Amendment of the U.S. Constitution and therefore 
is invalid. The fee was found to be a tax aimed at 
restricting speech protected by the First Amendment. 
The Third Court of Appeals in Austin upheld the 
lower court decision on June 5, 2009, and the state has 
appealed to the Texas Supreme Court. The fee is still 
being collected, but the funds are being held by the 
Comptroller’s Office while the appeal is pending.
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HB 1038 by Paxton
Effective January 1, 2010

Including foreclosed homes in homestead property appraisals

	 HB 1038 requires an appraisal district to include 
comparable foreclosed and distressed homes when 
valuing a residential homestead.

	 HB 1038 directs appraisers, when valuing a 
homestead, to consider the value of properties that 
were foreclosed upon during the prior three years 
and were comparable to the homestead at the time 
of the foreclosure sale. Appraisers also must include 
those distressed homes whose value has decreased 
due to a declining economy. To be comparable, these 
foreclosed and distressed properties must be in the same 
neighborhood and have similar relevant characteristics.

Supporters said

	 By requiring that foreclosure sales of homes 
in the same neighborhood be taken into account in 
determining their value for property taxation purposes, 
HB 1038 would help ensure more accurate property 
appraisals. When selecting properties to compare 
for valuation purposes, appraisers routinely exclude 
properties that have been foreclosed or sold at auction, 
even if those homes were comparable at that time. This 
practice is widespread because appraisers interpret sec. 
1.04(7)(C) of the Tax Code as directing them to do so, 
because the properties were not sold willfully through 
an arm’s-length transaction.

	 Directing appraisers to take into account foreclosed 
properties would create a more representative pool 
of comparable properties for valuation. Foreclosed 
properties and those sold at auction tend to sell for 
significantly less than those sold through a normal 
agreement. Including these properties should result in 
property-tax relief as individual appraisal values would 
more accurately reflect neighborhood sales prices.

	 The current system takes too long to account for 
the effects of foreclosed properties on home values in a 
neighborhood. It can take two, three, or even four years 
to account for the effect that a foreclosed property can 
have on neighborhood property values. HB 1038 would 
require that the effect of foreclosure sales be taken into 
account much sooner, creating more accurate appraisals.

	 HB 1038 would direct appraisers to include 
foreclosed properties that sold within the past three 
years because not all neighborhoods or communities 
have enough turnover in homeowners to find 
comparable foreclosed homes within the past year or 
two. Some rural areas or smaller neighborhoods may 
even have trouble finding comparable sales within the 
previous three years. Most appraisers agree that a three-
year period is an appropriate time frame.

Opponents said 

	 HB 1038 would look back too far in time by 
including foreclosed properties that sold at auction 
within the past three years. A year-long window would 
be more appropriate because there is enough property 
turnover in Texas, especially in urban areas, that a year 
would provide more than enough comparable sales 
data and limit comparisons to only the most recent, and 
therefore the most relevant, sales.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1038 appeared in the 
March 30 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1801 by Bohac
Effective July 1, 2009

Adding certain backpacks and school supplies to sales-tax holiday

	 HB 1801 adds certain backpacks and school 
supplies to the back-to-school sales-tax holiday. Eligible 
purchases are exempted from sales taxes if they are 
purchased:

for use by a student in a public or private •	
elementary or secondary school;
during the sales tax holiday beginning on •	
the third Friday in August and ending on the 
following Sunday; and
for less than $100.•	

	 HB 1801 defines “backpack” as a messenger bag, 
book bag, or pack with straps that a person wears on the 
back, including a backpack with wheels if the backpack 
also can be worn on the back. Luggage, a briefcase, an 
athletic bag, a duffle bag, a gym bag, a computer bag, a 
purse, and a framed backpack are not eligible. 

	 Eligible school supplies are defined in the interstate 
Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement and include: 
binders; book bags; calculators; cellophane tape; 
blackboard chalk; compasses; composition books; 
crayons; erasers; folders, including expandable, pocket, 
plastic, and manila; glue, paste, and paste stickers; 
highlighters; index cards; legal pads; lunch boxes; 
markers; notebooks; certain kinds of paper, poster 
board and construction paper; pencil boxes and other 
school supply boxes; pencil sharpeners; pencils; pens; 
protractors; rulers; scissors; and writing tablets.

Supporters said

	 HB 1801 would help Texas families with the yearly 
costs of preparing to send children to school and would 
help students be better prepared with tools for success. 
Under current law, school clothes are exempted from 
state and local sales taxes during the state’s back-to-
school sales tax holiday. While the tax holiday has been 
a huge success, it does not cover school supplies, which 
are essential to a child’s success. HB 1801 would add 
school supplies to the sales tax holiday to assist parents 
with the costs of equipping their children for school. 

	 HB 1801 only would add a list of 27 school supplies 
that have been agreed upon by education and tax experts 
and recommended by the multi-state Streamlined 

Sales and Use Tax Agreement. If the list included 
items that some schools require that generally also are 
not education-specific, like tissue and plastic bags, 
consumers could take advantage of the back-to-school 
sales-tax holiday and purchase large quantities of these 
goods without ever intending to use them as school 
supplies. HB 1801 would include a narrow list of goods 
that generally were education-specific. Sticking to this 
list would ensure the smallest possible fiscal impact 
while still achieving substantial savings for families as 
they prepare for the start of the school year. 

	 Other states have found that sales-tax holidays 
improve revenue collection because people increase 
purchases and taxes from increased sales offset losses 
from exemptions.

Opponents said

	 HB 1801 could reduce general revenue by up to 
$40.25 million over 2009-2014. Local governments 
could lose $10.7 million over five years. Texas’ 
infrastructure, law enforcement, education, and 
healthcare systems, and other public programs require 
adequate funding. This sales tax break would require the 
tax burden needed to fund these programs be shifted to 
other taxpayers or that the programs supported by these 
funds be scaled back.

Other opponents said

	 HB 1801 would not exempt enough items necessary 
for school. Many school districts require items that are 
not covered by HB 1801, such as tissues, plastic bags, 
and other supplies. In addition, many families buy 
computers and reference material for the sole purpose 
of their children’s education. If the goal of a sales-tax 
exemption weekend is to enable families to prepare for 
the start of school, the list of exempted items should 
reflect what Texas school districts and other education 
professionals require, not what an agreement between 
states deems acceptable for exemption.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1801 appeared in Part 
One of the May 12 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 2154 by Edwards
Effective September 1, 2009

Physician education loan repayment program and tobacco tax

	 HB 2154 expands the physician education loan 
repayment program, which assists physicians in 
repaying student loan debt in exchange for practicing 
for a certain period in medically underserved areas. It 
also creates a dedicated revenue source for the program 
by changing the tax on tobacco products such as snuff, 
chewing tobacco, and pipe tobacco from a price-based 
to a weight-based tax. 

	 HB 2154 allows eligible physicians who have one, 
two, three, or four consecutive years of practice in areas 
designated by the Department of State Health Services 
as experiencing a health professional shortage to 
receive up to $160,000 in repayment assistance. The bill 
establishes a ladder that increases assistance with each 
year of service:

$25,000 for the first year;•	
$35,000 for the second year;•	
$45,000 for the third year; and•	
$55,000 for the fourth year.•	

	 The bill also changes the way that Texas taxes 
certain tobacco products other than cigars and cigarettes. 
Instead of a tax rate of 40 percent of the manufacturer’s 
list price, the tax rate will be:

$1.10 per ounce in fiscal 2010;•	
$1.13 per ounce in fiscal 2011;•	
$1.16 per ounce in fiscal 2012;•	
$1.19 per ounce from September 1, 2012 to •	
December 1, 2013; and
$1.22 per ounce after December 1, 2013.•	

	 The amount of revenue attributed to the General 
Revenue Fund and the Property Tax Relief Fund from 
the tobacco products tax based on the former tax rate 
would remain the same, but any additional revenue 
would be deposited in the physician education loan 
repayment program account.

Supporters said

	 HB 2154 would implement a recommendation 
in the Legislative Budget Board’s 2009 Government 
Effectiveness and Efficiency Report. More than 5.6 
million Texans, or 23 percent, currently live in health 

professional shortage areas, including under-privileged 
or rural areas, or areas served primarily by community 
health clinics. The shortage of health professionals 
negatively affects the health and economic development 
of those areas.

	 The bill would allow the Texas Higher Education 
Coordinating Board to fund loan repayments to 
additional physicians and would create a ladder that 
would reward physicians an increasing amount of loan 
repayment the longer they stayed in the program. This 
change would make the program more competitive with 
similar programs in other states and have a positive 
impact by recruiting and retaining more physicians in 
under-served areas. 

	 At $9,000 per year, the program’s current benefits 
are not competitive with programs in other states. 
As a result, Texas is losing interested physicians to 
other states with more lucrative benefits. The ladder 
established by HB 2154 would increase repayment 
assistance with each year of service. This would 
encourage physicians to establish long-term practices 
and roots in the communities they serve, making them 
more likely to remain after the repayment assistance has 
ended.

	 Changing the tax formula for tobacco products such 
as snuff, chewing tobacco, and pipe tobacco from a 
price-based to a weight-based formula would result in a 
significant increase, of $44 million, in available revenue 
for the program. This increase is warranted as the tax on 
a tobacco product would be used to fund health care in 
underserved areas.

Opponents said

	 The Higher Education Coordinating Board does 
not routinely track the length of time physicians remain 
in underserved areas beyond their practice obligation. 
Without information on retention rates, it cannot be 
determined if this program has had any long-term 
impact.

	 Changing the tobacco products tax from a price-
based to a weight-based formula would benefit large 
tobacco companies at the expense of their smaller 
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competitors. Large companies would be able to raise 
prices on their products to match the popularity of 
their brands, something smaller companies could not 
do. This increased competitive advantage could allow 
larger tobacco companies further to marginalize smaller 
manufacturers. 

	 The bill would target lower-income Texans who 
previously could avoid some tax by buying lower-priced 
tobacco products such as snuff. If the tax was shifted 
to a weight-based formula, many lower-income Texans 
would not be able to avoid the tax.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2154 appeared in Part 
One of the May 11 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 3611, HB 3612, HB 3613, and HJR 36 by Otto
Generally effective January 1, 2010

Property appraisal revisions

	 HB 3611, effective January 1, 2010, pending voter 
approval of HJR 36 on November 3, 2009, allows the 
boards of directors of two or more adjoining central 
appraisal districts to form a consolidated appraisal 
review board by interlocal contract.

Supporters of HB 3611 said

	 HB 3611 would allow rural counties to form 
consolidated appraisal review boards, allowing them 
to take advantage of certain efficiencies. Many rural 
counties encounter difficulty finding enough qualified 
and willing candidates to sit on their appraisal review 
boards. HB 3611 would allow counties to join together 
and pool their talent. Having fully staffed and qualified 
appraisal review boards would help to ensure a more 
professional, equitable, and timely appraisal review 
process.

Opponents of HB 3611 said

	 Only residents of an appraisal district should 
decide appeals of appraisals of property located in 
that district. Local appraisal review boards know their 
county markets and local economic realities. Bringing 
in outsiders from another county could result in a loss of 
local control of a local issue

	 HB 3612, effective January 1, 2010, directs the 
State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) to 
develop a pilot program for a property owner to appeal 
to SOAH an Appraisal Review Board (ARB) decision 
regarding a protest of appraised or market value if the 
appraised or market value is more than $1 million. 
SOAH must develop this program by January 1, 2010. 
The pilot program will cover Bexar, Cameron, Dallas, 
El Paso, Harris, Tarrant, and Travis counties for a three-
year period beginning January 1, 2010. The program 
will cover real or personal property, not including 
industrial property or minerals. The program expires in 
2013.

Supporters of HB 3612 said 

	 HB 3612 would create a pilot program that would 
provide an interim step between an ARB decision and 

an appeal to district court. Many taxpayers are unhappy 
with the ARB process but cannot afford to appeal their 
cases to district court, as the cost of doing so often 
exceeds the tax savings they hoped to obtain. Under 
current law, property owners whose property is valued 
at less than $1 million have the option of going to 
binding arbitration. Doing so can save tens of thousands 
of dollars from the cost of appealing to district court. 
However, property owners whose property is valued at 
more than $1 million do not have this option. HB 3612 
would allow these property owners, if the property in 
question was located in one of the seven most populous 
Texas counties, to take their appeals to SOAH. SOAH 
expects the average cost of these hearings to be between 
$1,500 and $2,000. This would result in significant 
cost savings compared to an appeal in district court 
and would open up an avenue for a meaningful and 
professional appeal to those who otherwise might not 
find it economical to pursue one.

	 HB 3612 would promote confidence and 
professionalism in the appraisal system. Taxpayers 
would have an avenue for an appeal that would be 
independent of the appraisal district, increasing 
confidence in the system. Further, as administrative 
law judges (ALJ) heard these tax appeals, they would 
become more expert, and a body of opinions would 
form that would better direct future tax appraisal 
practices. These would be deterrents for everything from 
poor appraisal practices to frivolous appeals.

	 HB 3612 also would help speed up the appeals 
process, as ALJs would resolve cases in about 30 days. 
Under the current system, some appeals have taken 
longer than two years to be resolved by district courts. 
Further, HB 3612 would not promote a proliferation 
of frivolous appeals because those who lost would be 
required to pay for the cost of the appeal to SOAH. The 
chief appraiser would be able to appeal to SOAH if the 
appraisal district’s board of directors voted to allow it. 
This also would provide an important check on possible 
misuse of this appeals process.

	 HB 3612 would require that appeals from SOAH 
to district court be by a trial de novo, starting afresh 
without being bound by any prior ruling, in order 
to protect the interests of property owners. One 
of the goals of HB 3612 would be to open up the 
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appeals process to those who otherwise would find it 
uneconomical to appeal. If the standard of appeal were 
a review of whether substantial evidence justified the 
previous decision, then a taxpayer would have to be 
represented by an attorney in order to follow rules of 
evidence and procedure and to ensure that issues would 
be preserved for appeal. HB 3612 would allow a tax 
payer to be represented by anyone who currently can 
represent a taxpayer before an ARB.

	 Even though a trial de novo standard would allow 
parties two chances at appeal, HB 3612 would require 
that the findings of the ALJ be admissible in district 
court and the party that lost the SOAH hearing be 
required to pay for that hearing. This would help to 
deter automatic appeals and should result in district 
courts having to hear fewer property tax appeals.

	 Creating an appeals system for certain property-tax 
appraisals through SOAH would be a better approach 
than allowing non-binding arbitration. SOAH hearings 
would prevent more litigation than non-binding 
arbitration would because non-binding arbitration would 
not prevent a party from simply appealing a case to 
district court. Further, because SOAH is independent 
of any taxing entity, taxpayers would feel that they had 
received a fair and impartial hearing, something many 
taxpayers feel they do not currently receive at ARB 
hearings. 

	 The SOAH appeals system that HB 3612 would 
establish would be a pilot program. It would expire 
after three years unless the Legislature renewed it, and 
it would apply only to the seven largest urban counties. 
This program would be limited enough to allow the 
Legislature to evaluate it and improve it as needed or 
scrap it in favor of a better solution.

Opponents of HB 3612 said 

	 HB 3612 would not reduce the amount of litigation 
surrounding property-tax appraisal because it would 
require that an appeal from a SOAH decision to district 
court be by trial de novo. Because litigants would not 
be bound by the decisions of an ALJ, they would not be 
deterred from trying a second appeal before a district 
court.

	 A better approach would be to allow property 
owners whose properties were valued at more than $1 
million to go to non-binding arbitration as an option 
before they appealed to district court. This option would 

reduce the number of cases that ended up before district 
court, would use the already well-established arbitration 
system, and would not require an expansion of SOAH’s 
duties.

	 HB 3613, effective on January 1, 2010, pending 
voter approval of HJR 36 on November 3, 2009, 
requires that the land of a residence homestead be 
appraised as a residence and not based on the highest 
and best use of the property. 

	 The bill also entitles a veteran classified as having 
a 100 percent disability rating as a result of military 
service to a tax exemption for the total appraised value 
of the veteran’s residential homestead. HB 3613 also 
revises the disability ratings to determine disabled 
veterans’ property tax exemption as less than 30, 50, and 
70 percent rather than not more than those percentages. 
These provisions of HB 3613 took effect June 19, 2009, 
and are discussed starting on page 253.

Supporters of HB 3613 said 

	 The constitutional requirement that property be 
taxed in proportion to its value has all too often meant 
that county tax appraisers have valued property on its 
“highest and best use” rather than on its current use. For 
example, a residential property in or near a commercial 
district may be valued based on its commercial potential 
even though it currently is being used as a residence. 
HB 3613 would require that the market value of a 
residence homestead be determined by its value as a 
residence homestead, regardless of whether it is the 
highest and best use of the property.

	 Some Texas homeowners have seen their property 
appraisals double or even quadruple in a short period, 
not because the value of their homes increased, but 
because the highest and best use of the land dramatically 
changed. While the 10-percent cap on annual increases 
in taxable value of residence homesteads mitigates the 
impact of large increases in appraised market value, 
it still means that every year the taxes on the property 
will rise substantially. Where property use is restricted 
by zoning regulations, residential homesteads are 
somewhat protected from dramatic changes in highest 
and best use — for example, from residential to 
commercial. But those areas of the state not covered by 
zoning regulations are susceptible to dramatic appraisal 
increases based solely on the changes of land use in the 
area where the homestead happens to be located.
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	 Texas already protects certain types of property from 
large appraisal increases due to changes in highest and 
best use. For example, the taxable value of agricultural 
or timber land is appraised based on the land’s capacity 
to produce agricultural or timber products, not on its 
market value, which usually is much higher. Residential 
homesteads do not have such protection.

	 HB 3613 would protect Texas homesteads from 
increases due to changes in highest and best use by 
ensuring that the properties were appraised only on the 
basis of the property’s value as a residence homestead. 
These protections are especially necessary to protect 
homeowners whose neighborhoods are in transition 
from residential to commercial use. This limitation on 
the appraisal process would apply only to residence 
homesteads, not to other residential property such as 
apartments or vacation homes.

Opponents of HB 3613 said

	 HB 3613 would arbitrarily move the property 
appraisal process further away from a true valuation of 
property according to its worth. According to the LBB, 
allowing residential homestead property to be valued 
based solely on its residential use and exempted from 
a highest and best use valuation would reduce taxable 
property values, thereby reducing local tax revenue and 
potentially requiring a local tax increase or spending 
cuts to offset the revenue loss. The owners of residence 
homesteads already receive a substantial benefit from 
the 10-percent annual limitation on the increase in 
the taxable value of their property plus other value 
exemptions and tax freezes, which owners of other types 
of property do not receive.

	 When school districts’ property values per student 
are lower, the state must provide additional funding to 
these districts under the Foundation School Program’s 
equalization formulas. The state cannot afford to 
increase its obligations in this manner, especially when 
state finances are expected to be spread thin over the 
next few years.

	 HJR 36 proposes three separate constitutional 
amendments. One would authorize the consolidated 
appraisal review boards implemented by HB 3611, and 
one would authorize the requirement that residence 
homesteads be appraised based solely on their value 
as homesteads rather than the highest and best use, as 
implemented by HB 3613.

	 HJR 36 also includes a third proposed 
constitutional amendment that would eliminate the 
current requirement that administrative and judicial 
enforcement of uniform standards and procedures for 
property appraisal originate in the county where the 
tax is imposed. The three proposed amendments will 
be submitted to the voters at the November 3, 2009, 
election.

Supporters of HJR 36 said

	 While appraisers are trained and certified, the only 
check on appraisals are appraisal review boards and 
expensive litigation in district courts. HJR 36 would 
help to improve appraisals when they were initially 
conducted through state enforcement of uniform 
statewide standards that would ensure more accurate 
and equitable appraisals.

Opponents of HJR 36 said

	 HJR 36 could lead to a loss of local control. 
Central Appraisal Districts know their local markets 
and economic realties better than state officials do. 
Enforcing standards at the state level could impose a 
one-size-fits-all solution that might not produce the most 
accurate appraisals for each locale.

Notes

	 The HRO analyses of HB 3611, HB 3612, HB 
3613, and HJR 36 appeared in Part One of the April 27 
Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 3613 by Otto
Effective June 19, 2009

Implementing disabled veterans’ exemption from property taxation

	 HB 3613 entitles a veteran classified as having 
a 100 percent disability rating as a result of military 
service to a tax exemption for the total appraised value 
of the veteran’s residence homestead. The bill also 
removes as taxable property under the comptroller’s 
property value study any property subject to the totally 
disabled veterans-homestead exemption. The exemption 
applies starting with the tax year beginning January 1, 
2009.

	 HB 3613 also revises the disability ratings to 
determine disabled veterans’ property tax exemption as 
less than 30, 50, and 70 percent, rather than not more 
than those percentages.

Supporters said

	 HB 3613 would allow those veterans classified 
as fully disabled an exemption from property taxes, 
implementing Proposition 9 (SJR 29 by Carona), a 
constitutional amendment that the voters of Texas 
approved overwhelmingly in 2007. A classification of 
total disability means these veterans are completely 
unemployable, and HB 3613 would remove a significant 
burden for those whose ability to earn an income is 
severely hindered. This exemption would apply to those 
whose disabilities are service-connected, meaning these 
veterans have given their health and safety in defense of 
our freedoms and values. 

	 Under current law, a totally disabled veteran only 
can receive an exemption of up to $12,000 from the 
homestead’s value. Although this helps defray costs, 
it does not reduce significantly the ever-increasing 
property tax burden caused by appraisal creep that 
veterans and all Texans are facing. For disabled 
veterans who are completely unemployable and with 
limited means to earn an income, a full exemption from 
property taxes would allow them to keep their homes. 

	 The bill also would implement another 2007 
constitutional change included in Proposition 9 that 
would allow more disabled veterans to claim a higher 
exemption from their homestead value and thus lower 
their taxes. Under the current disability rating system, 
a disability rating is rounded to the nearest multiple of 

10. If a veteran’s disability rating is rounded down to 
a rating of 10, 30, 50, or 70 percent, that person falls 
into a lower tier of exemption. For example, the $7,500 
exemption currently is for disability ratings of more 
than 30 percent but not more than 50 percent. Under 
the change that would be implemented by SB 469, the 
$7,500 exemption tier would be at least 30 percent but 
less than 50 percent, which would allow a 30 percent 
disabled veteran to get the $7,500 exemption and a 
50 percent disabled veteran to get the next highest 
exemption, which is $10,000.

Opponents said 

	 No one disagrees with granting benefits to veterans 
for their service to the nation, but this measure would 
reduce revenue available to local governments. This 
effect would be exacerbated by the influx of new 
disabled veterans returning from Iraq and Afghanistan. 
Technological advancements and new medical 
techniques, coupled with more dangerous enemy 
weaponry, have led to different and sometimes more 
debilitating injuries than in previous conflicts, even 
while fatality rates in these conflicts are much lower 
than in previous wars. Additionally, totally disabled 
veterans do not face an increased tax burden because 
they are eligible for a school property tax freeze the 
same as other homeowners receive when they reach age 
65.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3613 appeared in Part 
One of the April 27 Daily Floor Report. As originally 
considered by the House, HB 3613 also provided that 
the land of a residence homestead must be appraised as 
a homestead and not on the highest and best use of the 
property. This provision of HB 3613 is discussed on 
page 251.

	 SB 469 by Carona, which also would have 
implemented the disabled veterans tax exemptions, 
passed the Senate, but died on the May 21 Major State 
Calendar in the House when no further action was taken. 
The HRO analysis of SB 469 appeared in Part One of 
the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 4765 by Oliveira
Effective January 1, 2010

Revising small business exemption from business margins tax

	 HB 4765 increases the revenue ceiling for a 
business to qualify for a total exemption from the 
business margins franchise tax from $300,000 to $1 
million, for two years. The $1 million ceiling to qualify 
for the tax exemption will decrease to $600,000 on 
January 1, 2012. 

	 These provisions will take effect if HB 2154 by 
Edwards, which changes the way certain tobacco 
products are taxed, also takes effect and increases 
state revenue during fiscal 2010-11 to offset part of the 
revenue lost by the increased exemption. HB 2154 was 
enacted and took effect September 1, 2009 (see pp. 248-
249). If HB 2154 had not taken effect, HB 4765 only 
would have increased the business margins franchise tax 
exemption to $600,000, as of January 1, 2010.

Supporters said

	 HB 4765 would deliver needed tax relief to the 
small businesses that constitute the backbone of the 
Texas economy and create most new jobs. According to 
comptroller estimates, 40,000 small businesses would 
benefit from raising the revenue ceiling to $1 million 
for businesses to qualify for the margins tax exemption. 
The average tax relief would be a reduction of $2,200. 
Qualifying businesses also would save accounting and 
tax preparation expenses.

	 HB 4765 would provide instant tax relief. Under 
the margins tax, payments on a particular year are due 
in May of the following year. Taxes on revenues earned 
in 2009 are not due until May of 2010. Small business 
owners and their accountants would be able to predict 
these savings and invest or spend those saved tax dollars 
immediately.

	 Under HB 4765, future legislatures would not be 
obligated to expenditures or reductions in revenues 
that did not have an ongoing funding source. This 
would be targeted tax relief designed to help small 
businesses make it through the recession. Once the 
economy improved, the margins tax would revert to the 
broad-based tax it was designed to be. Making the cuts 
permanent would undermine this critical goal.

	 HB 4765 would not endanger future federal 
stimulus funds. Fears that it would are speculative. This 
tax cut would be paid for with state general revenue 
funds and increases in the state tax on certain tobacco 
products, including snuff, chewing tobacco, and pipe 
tobacco, and not with stimulus dollars. Further, HB 
4765 would not directly violate any of the guidance 
from the federal government on how to spend the 
stimulus funds. Most of the concern about a tax cut 
is that it would mean fewer state dollars going to 
education through the Property Tax Relief Fund. The 
point of the fiscal stabilization funds given to the states 
by the federal government is to prevent cuts in certain 
social services. Under SB 1, the general appropriations 
act, overall funding to education would be increased, 
achieving the goals of the federal fiscal stabilization and 
stimulus programs.

	 HB 4765 would deliver targeted tax relief to small 
businesses, the group affected by the margins tax that 
most needs relief. Lowering the EZ calculation rate for 
the margins tax from 0.575 to 0.4 would not target small 
businesses as effectively and would more than double 
the revenue loss, to $402 million. 

Opponents said

	 HB 4765 would result in millions of dollars in lost 
general revenue for the next biennium. According the 
LBB, HB 4765 would cost the state $172 million in all 
funds for the fiscal 2011-12 biennium. A cut in general 
revenue of this size would reduce the state’s ability 
to fund critical public services. Moreover, during an 
economic downturn, public spending on critical needs 
would better stimulate the economy than would tax cuts 
for business.

	 The margins tax was designed to be a broad-based 
tax. HB 4765 would move drastically away from that 
premise. Sound tax policy dictates that taxes should be 
broad-based to allow tax rates to be as low as possible 
at all points and for all payers. HB 4765 would remove 
margins tax liability from 40,000 businesses, which 
would remove 80 percent of payers from the tax base 
and drastically violate the “broad-based” principle. 
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If HB 4765 were enacted, fewer businesses would 
be paying the margins tax than were paying the old 
franchise tax, defeating one of the primary reasons for 
enacting the margins tax — to broaden the tax base and 
require all businesses of all types to pay their fair share.

	 HB 4765 could threaten Texas’ eligibility to receive 
future stimulus funds from the federal government. HB 
4765 would reduce the revenue going into the Property 
Tax Relief Fund, which supports the Foundation School 
Program. In order to ensure the state’s public school 
finance obligations were fulfilled, this revenue loss 
would have to be replaced by another funding source. 
The state budget for fiscal 2010-11 would use $1.77 
billion in federal stabilization dollars to shore up the 
Foundation School Program. The U.S. Department of 
Education could find that HB 4765 reduces revenue to 
the Foundation School Program and that the state paid 
for this tax cut with federal funds that may be used 
only to restore lost education funding resulting from 
declining tax revenue, not from voluntary tax cuts. In 
order to ensure compliance with the federal American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act, fiscal stabilization 
dollars are being disbursed in two phases. Texas 
could be putting a significant share of future stimulus 
payments at risk by enacting a margins tax cut.

Other opponents said 

	 HB 4765 would not provide enough relief to small 
businesses. A better approach would be to lower the EZ 
calculation rate. This would preserve the broad base of 
the margins tax and have the potential to deliver relief to 
a broader swath of taxpayers, not just small businesses. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 4765 appeared in Part 
One of the May 4 Daily Floor Report.

	 A related bill, SB 19 by Patrick, would have raised 
the margins tax exemption to $1 million and reduced 
the EZ calculation rate from .575 to .4. According to the 
LBB, SB 19 would have cost the state $402 million over 
the next fiscal biennium. SB 19 was left pending in the 
Senate Finance Committee.
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HB 1 by Pitts, First Called Session
Effective July 10, 2009

Issuing general obligation bonds for highway improvements

	 HB 1 allows the issuance of general-obligation 
bonds for highway improvements authorized by 
Proposition 12, a constitutional amendment approved 
by the voters in 2007. The bill allows the Texas 
Transportation Commission to issue bonds to:

pay for costs of a highway improvement •	
project, defined as the acquisition, construction, 
reconstruction, and major maintenance of a 
highway or right-of-way; and
cover administrative costs for authorized •	
projects, pay costs of issuing the bonds, or make 
a payment due under a credit agreement.

	 Proceeds from the sale of general obligation bonds 
must be appropriated by the Legislature. The Texas 
Transportation Commission may enter into credit 
agreements relating to the bonds. Bond issuances may 
not exceed the total authorized in the Texas Constitution 
and must mature no later than 30 years after issuance. 
Bonds and related records must be submitted to the 
attorney general for approval. 

	 HB 1 amends provisions in Texas Department of 
Transportation (TxDOT) Rider 60 in SB 1, the general 
appropriations act for fiscal 2010-11, to appropriate 
$2 billion in Proposition 12 general-obligation bond 
proceeds for highway projects and $100 million for debt 
service on the bonds. It also amends provisions in SB 1 
directing $1 billion in general obligation bond proceeds 
to be used to capitalize the State Infrastructure Bank by 
specifying that money in the bank for loans to public 
entities may not be used for the purpose of converting a 
non-tolled road or highway to a tolled road or highway.

	 The bill also revises current law allowing a local 
toll project entity and TxDOT to issue bonds and enter 
into credit agreements to pay any costs associated with 
certain toll road projects. The bill extends the maximum 
duration of bonds issued for these purposes from 30 
years to 40 years. 

Supporters said 

	 HB 1 would authorize the Texas Transportation 
Commission to issue the Proposition 12 general 

obligation bonds that were approved overwhelmingly 
by Texas voters in November 2007, in conjunction with 
appropriations made in SB 1, the general appropriations 
act for fiscal 2010-11, to generate revenue for 
desperately needed highway improvements. The bill 
would implement the appropriation of $2 billion from 
bond proceeds for fiscal 2010-11 made by SB 1, which 
received near-unanimous approval by both houses of the 
Legislature during the regular session.

	 General obligation bonds are another funding 
mechanism needed to finance the state’s vital 
transportation infrastructure. The state motor fuels 
tax has been declining in relative value since 1991, 
and the original 20-cent per gallon tax is now equal 
to only about 13 cents in inflation-adjusted dollars. 
Demands on the state’s transportation infrastructure 
have been steadily increasing while political support for 
a statewide increase in the motor fuels tax, including an 
increase limited to annual inflation, has flagged. Despite 
multiple attempts since 2001, no legislation supporting 
an increase in the statewide motor fuels tax has 
mustered the votes to pass a house of the Legislature. 

	 The state needs alternative approaches to generating 
funding for transportation projects. While the Texas 
Constitution prohibits state-supported debt from 
exceeding 5 percent of uncommitted general revenue, 
state debt currently remains well below that maximum 
at about 4.1 percent, leaving room for additional general 
obligation bonds backed by state general revenue. 
Issuing the bonds would not have a significant impact 
on the state’s fiscal standing, and Texas still would have 
a low debt burden compared to other states.

	 Borrowing against future general revenue would 
speed up highway projects, thus alleviating traffic 
congestion, enhancing productivity, improving safety, 
and reducing negative economic and social impacts that 
stem from inadequate highway infrastructure. Improving 
mobility sooner rather than later would aid economic 
development and job creation in the midst of a national 
economic recession. Issuing the general obligation 
bonds soon would be critical in light of diminishing 
availability of Fund 6 revenue bonds and Texas Mobility 
Fund bonds and in view of recent highway funding 
shortfalls. 
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Opponents said 

	 HB 1 would provide the legislative authorization 
to obligate future general revenue appropriations the 
state cannot afford to spend on debt service to finance 
highway construction and maintenance. Texas has a 
longstanding policy of funding transportation projects 
solely through dedicated funds. Borrowing money for 
construction increases costs because interest must be 
paid on the bond proceeds, and these costs are passed 
along to future taxpayers and legislatures. If all the 
authorized general-obligation bonds were issued over 
the next five years, debt service payments from general 
revenue would reach about $359 million in fiscal 2015 
to continue to 2044. This is a significant sum of money 
with serious long-term implications for the taxpayers 
of the state. Texas should continue to pay for the 
highway construction it can afford, rather than obligate 
scarce general revenue and drive up the cost of already 
expensive projects by adding interest payments.

	 Adding even more debt would increase the general 
revenue needed for debt financing and could limit the 
state’s ability to meet other needs. Highway projects 
should be paid for through Fund 6 and with bonds 
borrowed through transportation-related funds that 
are secured with revenue from motor fuels taxes and 
vehicle registration fees, and thus from those who use 
state roads. It would not be in the state’s best interest 
to commit general revenue that could be used for 
other urgent state needs, such as education and human 
services, to pay for debt service for bonds to build 
highways.

	 HB 1 would continue the state’s piecemeal approach 
of providing transportation funding without addressing 
the core issue facing the state — a motor fuels tax 
that has been declining in relative value since 1991. 
Expanding the practice of issuing bonds for highway 
improvements would not address long-term, structural 
highway funding shortfalls, which represent the most 
significant obstacle to adequate highway construction 
and maintenance. The state needs to address the core 
issue facing highway funding and increase or index 
to inflation the motor fuels tax, preferably both. 
Continuing the flawed policy of paying for highways 
with borrowed money would postpone and worsen 
transportation funding shortfalls in the future.

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1 appeared in the 
July 2 Daily Floor Report. The enrolled version of 
HB 1 contains elements similar to SB 263 by Carona, 
considered during the regular session of the 81st 
Legislature. SB 263, which would have provided the 
statutory authorization for the Texas Transportation 
Commission to authorize general obligation bonds and 
also would have required 10 percent of the proceeds 
to go to fund local pass-through financing agreements, 
passed the Senate, but died on the May 23 Major State 
Calendar in the House when no further action was taken. 
The HRO analysis of SB 263 appeared in Part One of 
the May 23 Daily Floor Report. 

	 The version of HB 1 reported by the House 
Appropriations Committee would have created a 
Texas Transportation Revolving Fund and charged the 
Texas Transportation Commission with administering 
and providing financial assistance from the fund. The 
commission could have used money in the fund to 
provide loans and other forms of financial assistance 
to a public entity, including TxDOT, for the costs of a 
highway improvement. Money in the fund also could 
have been used to pay debt service on revenue bonds 
secured through the revolving fund. Language in the 
bill regarding the revolving fund was stricken by an 
amendment on the House floor, and the $1 billion 
funding to capitalize the proposed revolving fund was 
shifted to the existing State Infrastructure Bank. 
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HB 300 by Isett
Died in conference committee

Continuing and revising the Texas Department of Transportation

	 SB 2 by Hegar, enacted during the first 
called session, extended the Texas Department of 
Transportation (TxDOT) until September 1, 2011. The 
agency’s sunset bill, HB 300 by Isett, was not enacted 
during the regular session. 

	 HB 300 would have revised policy and oversight 
bodies, statewide and local transportation planning, 
funding for transportation projects, toll road authority, 
and TxDOT powers, duties, and regulatory oversight. 
The bill also would have continued TxDOT for four 
years, until September 1, 2013.

	 Revisions to policy and oversight. The conference 
committee report version of HB 300 would have 
retained the existing structure and appointments of 
the Texas Transportation Commission. The House-
passed version of the bill would have replaced the 
current structure with a 15-member commission with 
a chair elected at large and the other 14 members 
elected for two-year terms by districts. The conference 
committee report version of the bill also would have 
established a legislative oversight committee to make 
recommendations on the state transportation system. 
It would have transferred to the oversight committee 
funds for employees and duties currently in TxDOT’s 
government and public affairs research section. The 
committee would have met quarterly and would have 
included eight appointed members from specific 
committees of the House and the Senate.

	 The committee would have been responsible 
for monitoring the implementation of Sunset 
recommendations, transfer of certain duties from 
TxDOT to the new Department of Motor Vehicles 
(DMV), state and federal transportation policy 
initiatives, financial issues facing transportation in the 
state, major TxDOT projects, and other subjects as the 
committee deemed relevant. The committee would have 
had other powers and duties of special committees but 
could not have recommended funding for developing a 
specific project.

	 Revisions to transportation planning. HB 300 
would have revised provisions governing statewide 
surface transportation planning and funding. It would 
have eliminated a requirement that there be no more 
than 25 regional districts in the state established to 

perform TxDOT’s duties in those areas. The commission 
would have been able to align district boundaries in 
congruity with regional planning commissions, such as 
a council of government. 

	 The bill would have required a statewide 
transportation plan covering at least 25 years that 
contained specific, long-term transportation goals 
and measurable targets for each goal, identified 
priority projects, and included a plan for input on 
goals and priorities identified by the general public 
and governmental organizations. The bill would have 
codified in statute federal requirements for metropolitan 
planning organizations (MPOs) to prepare and update 
long-range plans for their service areas and would 
have required that interested parties have a reasonable 
opportunity to comment on the plan before its adoption. 
The bill also would have codified in statute specific 
duties and performance standards for MPOs on project 
selection and planning. 

	 The bill would have placed in statute certain 
existing practices, requiring TxDOT to develop a 10-
year unified program to guide the development of 
transportation projects and to estimate project timelines 
and funding levels for each year in the program. The 
commission would have specified criteria for selecting 
and defining phases of major transportation projects 
and program funding categories, such as safety, bridges, 
maintenance, and mobility. Local planning organizations 
would have developed 10-year transportation plans 
consistent with the criteria and definitions adopted by 
the commission. TxDOT would have prioritized a list 
of projects with input from local officials for areas not 
located in the boundaries of a planning organization.

	 The commission would have established criteria 
for TxDOT to use in collaboration with local planning 
organizations in selecting projects for the statewide 
transportation plan. TxDOT would have used project 
lists adopted by local planning organizations to create 
the statewide program and budget, which would have 
included the agency’s official cash flow forecast and 
each region’s estimated allocation of funds. 

	 The commission would have adopted rules to create 
funding formulas for transportation projects and would 
have allocated funds for metropolitan area corridor 
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projects, mobility and rehabilitation projects, congestion 
mitigation and air quality improvement projects in non-
attainment areas, and a percentage of transportation 
enhancement project funding to MPOs with urban areas 
with populations over 200,000. For MPOs with smaller 
urban areas, the commission would have allocated 
funds for urban area corridor projects and a percent of 
transportation enhancement project funding. 

	 TxDOT would have been required to work 
with planning organizations to develop a statewide 
connectivity plan. The agency would have adopted 
rules to establish criteria for designating a project 
as a statewide connectivity project and would have 
developed benchmarks to evaluate progress. The 
plan would have been adopted formally by the Texas 
Transportation Commission.

	 Funding for transportation projects. HB 300 
would have authorized TxDOT to issue $2 billion in 
general obligation bonds appropriated in the general 
appropriations act for fiscal 2010-11 (SB 1 by Ogden). 
(These provisions were included in HB 1 by Pitts, 
enacted by the 81st Legislature in its first called 
session.) HB 300 would have allowed the bonds to be 
issued to pay costs of highway improvement projects, 
the cost or expense of issuing the bonds, or payments 
owed under a credit agreement or to provide money for 
deposit in the Texas Transportation Revolving Fund 
(TTRF). 

	 The bill would have created the TTRF and would 
have charged the commission with administering 
and providing financial assistance from the fund. 
The commission could have used money in the fund, 
subject to existing restrictions, to provide loans and 
other forms of financial assistance to a public entity, 
including TxDOT, for highway improvement. Money in 
the fund also could have been used to pay debt service 
on revenue bonds secured through the revolving fund. 
A public entity authorized to construct, maintain, or 
finance a transportation project could have borrowed 
money from the revolving fund, subject to terms set by 
the commission. 

	 To provide for repayment, a public entity could have 
pledged any combination of revenue, income, and taxes. 
The commission could have required revenue from a toll 
road to be shared between a tolling entity and TxDOT 
in lieu of repayment. The commission could have sold 
loans from revenue in the fund and would have had to 
deposit proceeds of the sale in the fund. Any loans sold 

would have had to use a competitive bidding process 
and be sold at a price and under terms the commission 
deemed reasonable. A public entity receiving financial 
assistance from the fund could have agreed to waive 
sovereign immunity from a suit regarding its obligations 
under the terms of the assistance agreement.

	 HB 300 would have allowed a municipality or 
county to establish a transportation reinvestment zone 
for any transportation project. If any part of the project 
were subject to TxDOT oversight, the municipality or 
county could have requested that the agency delegate 
to it full responsibility for developing the project. If the 
project were on the state highway system, it would have 
had to comply with state design criteria unless TxDOT 
made a specific exception. TxDOT could have taken any 
reasonable action necessary to comply with a federal 
requirement and enable the state to receive federal-aid 
highway funds.

	 A law establishing a transportation reinvestment 
zone would have had to designate the base year used to 
establish a tax increment in the municipality or county. 
The bill would have required the portion of the money 
deposited into the tax increment account, as specified 
by the municipality, to be used to fund the project 
associated with the zone and for aesthetic improvements 
within the zone. Remaining funds from the increment 
could have been used for other purposes. 

	 A municipality or county could not have been 
penalized with a reduction in traditional transportation 
funds due to establishing a transportation reinvestment 
zone. Funds that TxDOT designated for a project 
before a reinvestment zone was established could not 
have been reduced solely because of the designation 
of the zone. Funds for TxDOT districts similarly could 
not have been reduced due to the establishment of a 
reinvestment zone by a county or municipality in the 
district.

	 The bill also would have allowed funds from the 
highway beautification account to be used for regulating 
outdoor signs on rural roads. Certain civil penalties 
for violations of outdoor advertising provisions would 
have been redirected from the State Highway Fund 
(Fund 6) to the beautification account. The bill would 
have provided for administrative penalties in lieu of 
a suit to collect a civil penalty. The TTC would have 
adopted procedures for suspending or revoking a license 
for outdoor advertising and could have denied license 
renewals for failing to conform to permit requirements. 
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The bill would have required that notice be provided 
to a party whose permit to display an outdoor 
advertisement was revoked or denied.

	 Revisions to comprehensive development 
agreements. The bill would have required a 
comprehensive development agreement (CDA) to 
include a repurchase provision allowing TxDOT to 
buy a private entity’s interest in a toll project. The 
provision would have had to include a schedule stating 
a specific price for the purchase of the toll project at 
certain intervals. A local tolling authority could have 
repurchased a private entity’s interest for no more 
than the lower of the price stated for the interval or the 
governing fair market value or outstanding debt at the 
time, whichever was greater. A contract would have 
had to include the calculation used to determine the 
repurchase value based on these conditions. 

	 A CDA allowing a private entity to operate or 
receive revenue from a toll project would have been 
required to be reviewed for legal sufficiency by the 
attorney general and reviewed for financial viability 
by the comptroller and signed by the commission. 
“Non-compete” provisions in CDAs limiting roads that 
could be constructed near a toll road could not have 
been effective for more than 30 years and could not 
have applied to an interstate highway. Local tolling 
authorities, with certain exceptions, would have been 
prohibited from accepting concession payments for 
CDAs but could have entered into a toll revenue sharing 
agreement with a private entity. 

	 The bill would have included provisions found in 
SB 17 and SB 404, both of which died in the House, 
extending the authority to enter into CDAs and revising 
the process by which toll roads were developed.

	 Revisions to TxDOT powers and duties. The bill 
would have included standard Sunset recommendations 
on filing and acting on complaints, developing a 
policy for public involvement, negotiated rulemaking 
and alternative dispute resolution, and technological 
solutions.

	 The commission would have been responsible 
for reviewing TxDOT’s performance against specific 
criteria and making the review available to the public. 
TxDOT would have been required to establish a 
transportation project and reporting system on its 
website to allow for tracking project development and 
expenses. The reporting system would have contained 
specific information about transportation projects and 

funding in the 10-year project development program, 
including reports on the effectiveness of project funding. 
TxDOT would have been charged with conducting a 
performance review of each project in the program, 
including the status of the project and whether the 
project met projected timelines. The website would 
have included information on the condition of the state’s 
bridges and traffic congestion and delays.

	 The bill would have allowed TxDOT to enter into 
design-build contracts for non-tolled highway projects. 
A “design-build” contract would have been defined as 
an agreement with a private entity for the design and 
construction, expansion, or improvement of a highway 
project, not including the financing or operation of the 
highway. 

	 The commission would have been charged with 
organizing a rail transportation division within TxDOT 
to assume related functions and duties. The division 
would have had to:

assure that rail transportation was an integral •	
part of the department’s transportation planning 
process;
coordinate and oversee rail projects financed •	
with TxDOT funds, including money from the 
Texas Rail Relocation and Improvement Fund;
develop and plan for improved passenger and •	
freight rail facilities and services; and
coordinate the efforts of TxDOT, the federal •	
government, local governments, and private 
entities to continue the development of rail 
transportation facilities and services.

	 TxDOT would have coordinated activities for the 
planning, construction, operation, and maintenance 
of a statewide passenger rail system. The agency also 
would have prepared and updated a long-term plan for a 
statewide passenger rail system. 

	 General provisions. HB 300 would have required 
TxDOT to manage a system of changeable message 
signs on highways in its jurisdiction with information 
about traffic incidents, weather conditions, road 
construction, and alternative routes. 

	 The bill would have revised municipal authority to 
impose a civil penalty for a red light traffic violation to 
allow the owner of a motor vehicle that received a civil 
fine for running a red light to successfully complete 
an intersection safety course. The course could have 
included a fee set by the governing body and could 
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have been provided by a third party. The conference 
committee report version of the bill did not include 
an amendment adopted in the House that would have 
prohibited new red light cameras and phased out 
contract renewals for existing red-light cameras after 
June 2009. 

	 HB 300 would have authorized “Choose Life” 
specialty license plates. Fees for issuing the license 
plates would have gone to the Choose Life account, 
which the bill would have created in the General 
Revenue Fund. The Choose Life account could have 
received gifts, grants, donations, and legislative 
appropriations that the attorney general could have spent 
to make grants to eligible organizations and to defray 
the cost of administering the account. Money received 
from the account could have been spent only for specific 
purposes related to pregnancy and prenatal care. 

	 The bill would have repealed statutory references to 
the Trans-Texas Corridor. 

Supporters said

	 HB 300, the TxDOT Sunset bill, would promote 
transparency, accountability, and efficiency and improve 
planning. The bill would make structural changes to 
oversight of the agency, revise its powers and duties, 
and establish new procedures for planning and funding.

	 Texas Transportation Commission. HB 300 would 
focus on key aspects of TxDOT that need reform, rather 
than reorganizing a commission that is not primarily 
responsible for the agency’s shortcomings. Retaining 
the existing commission structure would allow many 
key revisions to be implemented with the expertise and 
geographic balance of the current commissioners. 

	 While proposals to overhaul or eliminate the 
existing commission may have merit, most also 
have weaknesses that eclipse their promise. A single 
appointed official or single elected commissioner could 
leave large areas of the state with no representation on 
the commission. Adding elected officials also could 
politicize the selection of transportation projects and 
result in decisions made for political expediency rather 
than the state’s best interests. 

	 In other respects, a single commissioner actually 
could reduce accountability and transparency by 
eliminating the discussion of transportation projects 
at commission meetings. One commissioner could act 

unilaterally without the need to justify decisions or 
reasoning to fellow commissioners. 

	 Major structural modifications to the commission 
would not address core issues with transportation 
management in the state — the need to make 
organizational, leadership, and cultural changes within 
TxDOT.

	 Changes to planning and funding. The bill would 
strike an important balance by clarifying expectations 
and increasing accountability of transportation 
planning and funding in the state without going too far 
to localize statewide transportation priorities. Under 
current practices, the commission determines the funds 
available to districts and MPOs through a formula 
developed internally that is subject to change and has 
been the source of much confusion in recent years. 
Requiring TxDOT to establish the formula in rule and 
to allocate certain funds for each region would reduce 
confusion about the allocations. Local entities would 
know the exact sum available to them for transportation 
projects and would have access to the formula that 
yielded the funds.

	 Texas is a center of commerce and a hub for 
international and domestic trade. A strong statewide 
road system is critical to maintaining the state’s 
competitive business advantage. A statewide 
transportation program must be coordinated by the 
state, not local entities. Subordinating the state’s role in 
planning to local planning organizations would threaten 
the long-term viability of the state’s transportation 
system. 

	 HB 300 would be a logical progression in the 
use of transportation reinvestment zones to fund road 
development and improvements. Under current law, 
transportation reinvestment zones — which allow a 
local entity to dedicate additional tax revenue generated 
by increased property values around a transportation 
project to the costs of developing the project — are 
confined to projects funded in a pass-through tolling 
agreement with TxDOT. A pass-through tolling 
agreement allows a local entity to pay the development 
costs of a road project, then seek reimbursement from 
TxDOT based on the estimated number of vehicles that 
travel on the road. 

	 HB 300 would broaden local governments’ ability 
to establish transportation reinvestment zones. It also 
would clarify and update existing laws on reinvestment 
zones and make assurances that a government could not 
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rescind certain agreements attached to a zone or modify 
a zone if the proposed change had an impact on pre-
committed revenue. These changes would help ensure 
the viability of transportation zones and reassure parties 
seeking to develop highway projects in such zones. 

	 The bill would help to secure another transportation 
financing option for local governments in an era of 
increasing congestion and limited resources. While 
raising the motor fuels tax may be another reasonable 
approach, this recently has proved a political 
impossibility. With fixed state and federal funds for 
transportation projects, it is critical to maximize options 
for developing transportation projects.

	 Legislative oversight committee. Current 
legislative oversight of TxDOT, while valuable, is 
insufficient for the guidance and review necessary 
to restore trust and confidence in the agency and to 
ensure the intent of the Legislature is carried out after 
a legislative session. Current legislative committees 
must review a wide range of functions with limited 
staff resources. A formal oversight committee tasked 
with specific duties in how transportation projects are 
implemented and funded in the state could go a long 
way in providing direct guidance for the agency’s 
operations. Further, providing the committee with 
additional funding would provide the resources needed 
for thorough review and oversight of the agency. 

Opponents said

	 HB 300 would miss an important opportunity to 
restructure TxDOT in ways that promote the state’s 
long-term interests. 

	 Texas Transportation Commission. The Sunset 
Advisory Commission found a pervasive atmosphere of 
distrust surrounding TxDOT and recommended decisive 
action. Sunset argued that a single commissioner would 
help restore accountability, trust, and responsiveness 
to the agency. Retaining the five-member commission 
would not adequately reflect current discontent 
with TxDOT operations. The state needs significant 
change in how transportation projects are planned and 
implemented that would not be realized by the bill.

	 The TTC should be significantly restructured to 
include a single appointed or elected representative 
or multiple, elected representatives. A change of this 
magnitude would send a strong message to TxDOT 
and fundamentally alter the commission to make its 

policymaking functions responsive to the public and its 
representatives. 

	 Changes to planning and funding. HB 300 would 
not go far enough in changing the emphasis of planning 
functions in the state. Much of the bill simply would 
codify existing practices without significant changes. 
The House-passed version of the bill would have made 
some major changes to the emphasis in transportation 
planning. That version of the bill would have created 
rural planning organizations and would have required 
the commission to align district and planning 
organization boundaries and to allocate a larger share 
of transportation funds to local planning organizations. 
This would have changed decisively the emphasis on 
current transportation planning in the state by relocating 
more authority and resources to local entities, which 
have the greatest local accountability. The conference 
committee version of HB 300 did not retain many of the 
strong planning and funding reform measures contained 
in the House-passed version of the bill.

	 Transportation reinvestment zones likely would 
be limited to select areas and would not address 
statewide highway funding shortfalls. The state needs 
to address the core issue of lack of adequate funding for 
transportation needs and increase or index to inflation 
the motor fuels tax — preferably both. Reinvestment 
zones also would be a diversion from this necessity 
and would expand the troubling practice of using 
property taxes to fund transportation improvements. 
This questionable use of property taxes could create 
an incentive to increase appraisals of property in the 
zone. Further, the increment dedicated to the costs of 
transportation projects would be diverted from other 
needs of local governments.

	 Legislative oversight committee. The legislative 
oversight committee would not substantially change 
any authority or review process that currently applies 
to TxDOT. A number of legislative committees and 
subcommittees already oversee TxDOT and can review 
implementation and funding of transportation projects. 
More legislative oversight likely would result in more 
time and resources devoted to reviewing TxDOT, with 
no guarantee the reviews would result in real change at 
the agency.

	 Bids and contracts. The bill would apply a very 
specific method of delivery for transportation contracts, 
design-build contracts, to standard contracts that should 
be procured with standard processes. Allowing TxDOT 
to use design-build contracting for any non-tolled 
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highway project would not make sense because only a 
fraction of highway projects are suited for procurement 
through specialized means. Allowing an expanded use 
of design-build contracts would have few benefits and 
could present a number of risks, based on how these 
contracts were structured.

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 300 appeared in the 
May 7 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 2 by Hegar, enacted during the first called 
session, extended the Sunset date for TxDOT and 
certain other agencies to September 1, 2011, and limits 
Sunset Advisory Commission review of TxDOT to the 
appropriateness of the recommendations made to the 
81st Legislature. SB 2 was considered by the House 
in lieu of its companion bill, HB 2 by Isett. The HRO 
analysis of HB 2 appeared in the July 2 Daily Floor 
Report. 

	 The governor called a special session to enact SB 
2 because HB 1959 by Isett, a Sunset revision bill 
that would have extended the Sunset date for TxDOT 
and certain other agencies due to be abolished on 
September 1, 2009, died when the House did not act 
on the conference committee report on the bill. The 
House on June 1 adopted HCR 291 by Pitts, a corrective 
resolution for HB 4583, that included an extension of 
TxDOT’s Sunset date to September 1, 2011, but the 
Senate did not act on the concurrent resolution. 
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HB 3097 by McClendon
Effective September 1, 2009

Creating Texas Department of Motor Vehicles; regulating auto parts 
recyclers

	 HB 3097 transfers various functions related to 
the management of motor vehicles currently under the 
Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) to a 
new Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), moves the 
Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority 
(ABTPA) from TxDOT to the DMV, and establishes a 
new regulatory framework for used automotive parts 
recyclers in the state. 

	 Department Of Motor Vehicles. HB 3097 creates 
the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as a 
separate state agency. The bill charges the department 
with administering and enforcing laws governing:

certificates of title and motor vehicle •	
registration;
motor carrier registration, including federal •	
motor carrier registration;
the sale and lease of motor vehicles;•	
salvage vehicle dealers;•	
markings on commercial motor vehicles;•	
motor transportation brokers; and•	
foreign commercial motor transportation.•	

	 The DMV is organized into divisions to accomplish 
assigned functions and duties, including divisions for 
administration, motor carriers, motor vehicles, and 
vehicle titles and registration. Over-size and over-weight 
permitting functions will remain at TxDOT.

	 The bill makes conforming changes to statutes 
governing TxDOT to reflect the transferred 
responsibilities and associated appropriations. Powers 
and duties consolidated in the DMV will be transferred 
to the agency on November 1, 2009. The DMV will be 
abolished on September 1, 2015, unless continued by 
the Legislature. 

	 DMV board. The DMV has an executive director 
appointed by a board that will meet quarterly and 
consists of nine members serving staggered, six-year 
terms, appointed by the governor no later than October 
1, 2009, with the advice and consent of the Senate. 
The governor designates a presiding member of the 
board to preside over meetings, create subcommittees, 
and appoint a member to act in his or her absence. 
Appointments to the board must include:

three members to represent motor vehicle •	
dealers, two of whom must be franchised 
dealers and one of whom must be an 
independent dealer;
one member to represent a licensed •	
manufacturer or distributor;
one member who is a county tax assessor-•	
collector;
one member who is a law enforcement officer •	
for a local government;
one member who represents the motor carrier •	
industry; and
two members to represent the general public.•	

 	 Automobile Burglary And Theft Prevention 
Authority. The bill revises statutes governing the 
Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority 
(ABTPA) to transfer its authority from TxDOT to the 
DMV. Conforming changes are made to reflect the 
transfer. 

	 Regulation of used automotive parts recyclers. 
HB 3097 adds Occupations Code, ch. 2309, the Texas 
Used Automotive Parts Recycling Act, governing the 
dismantling and reuse or resale of used automotive 
parts and the safe disposal or resale of salvaged or non-
repairable motor vehicles. The bill does not apply to a 
salvage yard that does not deal in used automotive parts 
as more than an incidental part of its primary business. 
The bill also does not apply to metal recyclers unless 
a metal recycler is involved in a transaction in which a 
motor vehicle was delivered or used as a source of used 
automotive parts. 

	 Advisory board. The bill establishes an advisory 
board that meets twice annually to provide advice and 
recommendations to the Texas Department on Licensing 
and Regulation (TDLR) on technical matters relating 
to licensing standards and other matters related to used 
automotive parts recyclers. The advisory board consists 
of five members appointed for staggered, six-year terms 
by the Texas Commission on Licensing and Regulation 
to represent the used automotive parts industry. Board 
members are entitled to receive reimbursement only for 
expenses incurred as part of exercising official duties.
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	 Licensing and inspection. The Texas Commission 
on Licensing and Regulation is charged with adopting 
rules for licensing used automotive parts recyclers and 
taking necessary enforcement action accordingly. The 
commission also will establish and collect reasonable 
fees necessary to cover administration costs. 

	 The bill requires a person that owns or operates a 
used automotive parts recycling business to be licensed 
by TDLR and establishes requirements for a license 
applicant. TDLR is charged with entering and inspecting 
a business regulated by the bill every two years and may 
conduct additional regular inspections based on criteria 
established by the bill. A peace officer may inspect 
any record that a recycler is required to maintain or the 
recycler’s premises at any reasonable time. 

	 Requirements and procedures. A used automotive 
parts recycler who acquires a salvaged vehicle must 
obtain a properly assigned title from the previous 
owner and maintain a record of each vehicle purchased. 
A dealer that acquires a vehicle for the purpose of 
dismantling or destroying the vehicle must submit to 
TxDOT documentation of ownership information by the 
31st day after acquiring the vehicle. TxDOT must issue 
a receipt to the dealer upon receiving the certificate. 
Parts recyclers also must comply with existing statutes 
governing salvaged and non-repairable vehicles, 
including processes for titling such vehicles. A recycler 
may not dismantle or dispose of a motor vehicle without 
first obtaining a certificate of authority to dispose of 
the vehicle, a similar document, or a certificate or title 
showing that all liens have been satisfied.

	 A used automotive parts recycler must keep an 
inventory of each major auto component acquired, 
such as an engine, transmission, fender, or frame. Each 
inventory record must include specific information 
listed in the bill. A dealer alternatively could keep an 
inventory of the name of the person who participated in 
the sale, including the person’s certificate or inventory 
number or federal taxpayer identification number. A 
dealer does not have to keep an inventory of interior 
components or special accessories from a vehicle older 
than 10 years or of a part delivered by a commercial 
freight line or other commercial carrier. 

	 A recycler must keep each component in its original 
condition for at least three calendar days after obtaining 
the part unless the part is an inoperable engine, 
transmission, or rear axle from another recycler or 
automotive-related business. A recycler must surrender 
any documents it is required to retain under law to 

TxDOT upon request and will receive a receipt for any 
surrendered certificate of title. 

	 Additional provisions. The bill provides 
administrative penalties for anyone who violated a 
provision it established or an associated rule. The 
director of TDLR may issue a cease-and-desist order 
as necessary to uphold applicable laws. A person who 
violates licensing requirements, deals used parts without 
a license, or employs an unlicensed individual is subject 
to a class C misdemeanor (maximum fine of $500). 
Regulations in the bill supplement local ordinances or 
other regulations of used automotive parts dealers and 
do not restrict any similar municipal licensing or permit 
requirement. 

Supporters said 

	 HB 3097 would consolidate key customer service 
functions currently housed in TxDOT into a new state 
agency, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. 
Moving functions carried out by the motor vehicle titles 
and registration division, the motor vehicle division, 
and the motor carrier division to the DMV would allow 
TxDOT to focus on expanding and managing the state’s 
transportation system. TxDOT currently is saddled with 
too many exacting responsibilities related to the state’s 
transportation network to devote adequate attention 
to managing the divisions serving Texas drivers. An 
agency of the size of TxDOT is prohibitively difficult 
to restructure internally without causing disruptions to 
other divisions and activities. Separating the functions 
to an independent agency would provide the best 
opportunity for any further restructuring or other 
revisions that may be necessary in the long-term. 

	 Creating a separate agency with an emphasis on 
customer service for Texas drivers would improve 
registration processing times and reduce administrative 
lags that inconvenience many residents and businesses 
in the state. A stand-alone agency also would improve 
transparency and accountability by creating clear 
responsibility for overseeing the transferred functions 
and subjecting the agency to direct scrutiny from a 
number of sources, including the Legislature and the 
State Auditor’s Office.

	 HB 3097 also would impose long-overdue 
regulations on used auto parts recyclers, which have to 
date been free of direct regulation in state statutes. Some 
used auto parts recyclers have engaged in criminal 
activities associated with stolen and damaged auto 
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parts as well as other offenses. The bill would create 
a separate chapter in the statutes for used auto parts 
recyclers and would establish a regulatory framework 
that would provide licensing and oversight of the 
industry by the Texas Department of Licensing and 
Regulation (TDLR). TDLR, with abundant experience 
overseeing many different professions, is well-equipped 
to extend its purview to include auto recyclers. Clear 
regulations would not impair an honest broker’s ability 
to operate, but would empower the state to stop those 
engaged in criminal activity. 

Opponents said 

	 HB 3097 would create a new agency to address 
problems that could be addressed through restructuring 
or by making other changes to the management of the 
divisions that would be moved out of TxDOT. The state 
did in fact have a separate department to administer 
motor vehicle registrations until the early 1990s, when 
it was merged to form TxDOT. Reversing that decision 
would not necessarily resolve problems with turnaround 
times and understaffing. Moving the functions to a 
new agency possibly could relocate the sources of 
current problems without addressing underlying issues, 
specifically concerning lack of resources. 

	 The bill would constitute another example of 
diversions of State Highway Fund (Fund 6) revenue 
from TxDOT to a different agency. A new agency could 
create additional demands on resources over time and 
effectively divert a larger portion of dedicated highway 
funds away from desperately needed highway projects. 

	 HB 3097 could have unintended consequences 
on used parts recyclers that operate in good faith in 
Texas. The bill would apply overbearing standards 
to all recyclers, requiring them to collect and record 
personal information from a person that delivered 
parts. This could place both the recycler and the seller 
in a difficult position, since the former may not want 
to record and store personal information and the latter 
may not want to surrender this information. Further, 
provisions requiring that a recycler retain a component 
part for three days after purchase would serve no clear 
purpose and would place a significant inconvenience 
on a recycler that received an order for the part. The 
requirement to hold a part for three days could be a 
decisive factor that could lose a particular sale. 

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3097 appeared in Part 
Two of the May 4 Daily Floor Report. The House and 
Senate versions of HB 300 by Isett, the TxDOT Sunset 
bill, contained similar provisions creating a DMV. 
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SB 404 by Carona/ SB 17 by Nichols
Both died in the House

Extending CDA authority and revising toll development process

	 SB 404 would have changed, from August 31, 
2009 to August 31, 2013, the termination date of the 
authority of the Texas Department of Transportation 
(TxDOT) and Regional Mobility Authorities (RMAs) 
to enter into comprehensive development agreements 
(CDAs). The bill also would have changed, from 
August 31, 2011, to August 31, 2015, the termination 
date of the authority to enter into other CDAs that did 
not grant a private entity a right to finance a toll project 
or those in connection with a project located in an air 
quality nonattainment zone or for which a request for 
qualifications previously had been issued.

	 SB 17 would have repealed provisions requiring a 
market valuation process for toll projects developed by 
a local tolling authority and established a development 
review process for toll projects. The bill also would 
have modified other provisions governing CDAs.

	 Toll road development review process. SB 17 
would have established a development review process 
for toll projects located in the territory of a local toll 
authority — defined as a public entity, not including 
TxDOT, authorized by law to acquire, design, construct, 
finance, operate, and maintain a toll project, including 
certain counties, a Regional Tollway Authority (RTA), 
or an RMA. The bill would not have applied to certain 
toll roads listed in the bill nor to specific exceptions 
listed in statute. A toll project obtained by TxDOT or 
a local tolling authority would have been owned in 
perpetuity, unless it was sold or otherwise transferred. 

	 The bill would have established a process to 
determine which entity, either a local tolling authority 
or TxDOT, would develop, finance, construct, and 
operate a toll project. After a Metropolitan Planning 
Organization (MPO) approved the inclusion of a toll 
project in its metropolitan transportation plan, a local 
tolling authority could have notified TxDOT of its 
interest to initiate the tolling project review process. 
TxDOT also could have notified a local toll project 
entity of the department’s intent to initiate the tolling 
project review process after approving the final 
environmental impact statement for the project. 

	 SB 17 would have established a process for 
determining which entity would have the right to 

develop a toll project and whether a toll project 
would be developed as a publicly owned or privately 
owned facility. Each entity that received notification 
of a possible toll project would have had a specific 
timeframe in which to exercise the option to develop 
the project and enter into a contract for constructing the 
project. The option to develop a toll project would have 
been offered for development in the following order, 
moving to the next choice if an entity failed or declined 
to exercise its option to develop a toll project:

a local tolling authority could develop the •	
project as a publicly owned and operated 
facility, with 180 days to exercise the option 
after receiving notice; and if not, then
TxDOT could develop the project as a publicly •	
owned and operated facility, with 60 days to 
exercise the option after receiving notice; and if 
not, then
a local tolling authority could develop the •	
project as a privately owned and operated 
facility, with 60 days to exercise the option after 
receiving notice; and if not, then
TxDOT could develop the project as a privately •	
owned and operated facility, with 60 days to 
exercise the option after receiving notice.

	 If the process had concluded without a contract for 
development, either a local tolling authority or TxDOT 
could have re-initiated the process. TxDOT or a local 
tolling authority could have, at any time during the 
process, declined to exercise an option to develop a 
toll project. If TxDOT declined to exercise its option to 
develop a project as a publicly funded toll project, then 
the local tolling authority would have had to determine 
simultaneously whether to develop the project as a 
publicly or privately funded toll project within 180 days 
of receiving notice. 

	 Comprehensive development agreements. SB 
17 would have revised provisions governing the right 
to repurchase a private interest in a toll project. Under 
the bill, a CDA would have had to contain a provision 
authorizing a local tolling authority to purchase the 
interest of a private participant in a toll project and 
related property under agreed terms. The provision 
would have had to include a schedule over the term of 
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the agreement stating a specific price for the purchase of 
the toll project at certain intervals up to five years from 
the date the project opened. 

	 The local tolling authority could have repurchased 
a private entity’s interest for no more than the lower 
of the price stated for the interval or the governing fair 
market value or outstanding debt at the time, whichever 
was greater. A contract would have had to include the 
calculation used to determine the repurchase value 
based on these conditions. The repurchase provision 
in the bill would not have applied to certain highway 
developments, including portions of the IH-69 corridor.

	 The bill would have placed a 30-year maximum 
on a clause in CDAs that authorized compensation 
to a private party for loss of toll revenue attributable 
to a competing highway facility. An agreement for 
compensation for lost toll revenues could not have 
applied to an interstate highway.

Supporters said 

	 Together, SB 404 and SB 17 would extend the 
state’s authority to enter into CDAs while making 
important changes to how toll projects are developed. 
SB 404 would extend the state’s ability to enter into 
CDAs with private entities that can, in key instances, 
bring abundant resources to toll projects that may be 
unavailable to the public sector. Many private toll road 
developers have international asset and capital bases 
that they may leverage to finance the initial acquisition 
and construction of toll facilities. Private toll road 
development agreements bring the state initial income 
in the form of concession agreements, provide the state 
a portion of ongoing revenue collections, and relieve the 
state from the responsibility of building or maintaining 
the road. 

	 By leasing the rights to develop and operate toll 
projects to private entities, the state shields itself from 
unavoidable risks associated with these projects. These 
risks are inherent in every aspect of toll development. 
Estimates of initial construction costs, maintenance and 
operation costs, the number of drivers willing to pay 
tolls, and the price drivers would pay to use toll roads 
are all unknown values that determine the ultimate 
profitability of the project. 

	 Private entities also have a vested interest in 
maintaining toll roads because deteriorating road 
quality affects the number of drivers using the road 

and the amount of revenue collected by the tolling 
authority. Private participation is necessary to the long-
term efficiency of the state’s highway network, and it 
is imperative to maintain the option to enlist private 
resources in toll road development. 

	 SB 17 would ensure that extended CDA authority 
would be properly executed in a larger, balanced toll 
road development framework. The bill would retain 
primacy for local tolling authorities over private entities 
while still allowing private entities to develop toll 
projects in the event that local tolling authorities were 
not interested in or able to develop eligible projects. The 
bill also would split the authority to develop toll roads 
between local tolling authorities and TxDOT, subject to 
the established development system. Specific timelines 
restricting option periods would prevent the process 
from slowing project development inordinately.

	 SB 17 would provide an alternative to the much-
maligned market valuation process established in 2007 
by SB 792. Flexible language establishing the process 
has been interpreted as authorizing what amounts to 
a “concession fee” on local tolling authorities for the 
right to develop and manage a toll road. Imposing this 
fee on public local tolling authorities merely substitutes 
one pot of public funding for another, as local entities 
must recover the cost of upfront bond issuances through 
increased toll fares.

	 Primacy should be preserved for local public 
entities that retain equity in toll road projects over 
time and reinvest proceeds into the transportation 
infrastructure in communities that pay for the facilities. 
Local, public tolling entities and private interests share 
pressures to maintain toll roads as time passes, and they 
have more flexibility and self-determination in decision-
making than does the state. Local, public tolling 
authorities also provide for the recirculation of revenue 
from toll roads into maintaining local transportation 
infrastructure — successful public toll roads become 
future engines of transportation funding.

Opponents said 

	 SB 404 and SB 17 would continue the flawed 
practice of turning over valued public assets to the 
private sector. The value of the transportation assets the 
state loses by leasing out development rights for toll 
roads most often exceeds any benefits it might enjoy as 
a result of ceding such rights. The capacity of private 
financing to minimize the risks inherent in developing 



House Research Organization Page 271

a toll road is overstated. Private developers are not 
likely to gamble with toll roads that they do not expect 
to yield significant net profits over their lifetime, and it 
is unlikely that the state credibly could deny financial 
or contractual assistance to a private interest operating 
a failing tollway. Toll projects that do not expect to 
yield generous returns on investment are not sought as 
aggressively by private interests.

	 Because roads are built only at great public expense 
and are built on rights-of-way often acquired through 
eminent domain, and because roads act as critical 
public assets by giving motorists access to important 
destinations, the state is deeply invested in their 
continued, viable operation. As a result, the notion that 
the state simply could deny requests for intervention 
or assistance that, if withheld, could lead to the failure 
and closure of a privately financed tollway is highly 
questionable. If a private company leased a toll project 
that failed to be profitable, the state would be compelled 
to take on the expense of buying out the private entity 
and assume maintenance of the road or to amend the 
contract to include terms more favorable to the private 
interest.

	 The best course for toll road development is to 
restrict the option of development only to local tolling 
authorities. Local, public tolling authorities share 
pressures to maintain toll roads as time passes, and 
they have more flexibility and self-determination in 
decision-making than does the state. Local, public 
tolling authorities also provide for the recirculation of 
revenue from toll roads into the maintenance of local 
transportation infrastructure. Successful public toll 
roads become future engines of transportation funding, 
while privately funded toll roads export revenue to 
shareholders.

	 SB 17 would leave vulnerabilities that TxDOT 
likely would use to continue its policy of pushing 
privately funded and operated toll roads. Under the 
bill, TxDOT automatically could decline the option to 
develop a project as a public toll project, which would 
force a local tolling authority to review at once the 
possibility of developing the road publicly and privately. 
The bill would leave open the possibility for TxDOT to 
“wait out,” or even obstruct actively, a local authority’s 
ability to develop the project until the statutory period 
expired, at which point the agency could turn over the 
rights to develop toll roads to a private entity.

Other opponents said

	 SB 17 would place private financiers and 
developers of toll road projects at a distinct 
disadvantage and would reduce competition for toll 
projects. The bill would create a structural bias against 
private entities in favor of public tolling authorities, 
irrespective of the nature of a particular toll project. 
This bias could hinder the optimal development of 
toll roads in the state and thereby result in worsened 
congestion over time in major metropolitan areas. The 
state cannot afford to restrict available tools to promote 
the accelerated development of critical highway 
infrastructure. 

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of SB 404 and SB 17 appeared 
in Part Two of the May 22 Daily Floor Report. The bills 
were set on the General State Calendar in the House, but 
no further action was taken.

	 The 81st Legislature, in its first called special 
session, considered legislation that would have extended 
the authority to enter into CDAs and revised the toll 
road development framework. HB 3 by Pickett, which 
died in the House Transportation Committee, and 
SB 3 by Nichols, which died in the Senate Finance 
Committee, contained provisions similar to SB 404 and 
SB 17 from the regular session. In addition to revising 
the toll road development process in similar terms as 
SB 17 would have, the bills would have exempted from 
expiration on August 31, 2009, CDAs that TxDOT 
entered into before August 31, 2013, for:

IH-35E managed lanes in Dallas and Denton •	
Counties from IH-635 to U.S. 380;
SH-183 managed lanes in Dallas County from •	
State Highway 161 to State Highway 114 in 
Irving and from State Highway 114 to IH-35E 
in the city of Dallas;
IH-30 managed lanes from the Trinity River to •	
Baird Farm Road in Tarrant County; and
a project for which a local toll project entity •	
had declined to exercise its option to develop, 
construct, and operate and requested TxDOT to 
develop as a CDA.
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SB 855 by Carona
Died in the House

Authorizing elections for local option motor fuels taxes

	 SB 855, as reported from committee in the House, 
would have allowed a county to impose and collect a tax 
of 10 cents per gallon on the sale of gasoline and diesel 
fuel if such a measure was approved by a majority of 
voters in the county. The tax would have been added to 
the sales price of the fuel and would have been part of 
the total fuel price. The tax would have been in addition 
to current state motor fuels taxes and would have been 
collected when the fuel was removed from a terminal to 
be delivered in a county with the local option fuel tax. 
A county would have had to discontinue collecting the 
local option tax if all mobility projects were accepted 
by the entity contracting for the projects, all issued 
bonds were paid in full, and additional revenue was not 
necessary for ongoing maintenance and operation of 
mobility improvement projects. 

	 Election. County commissioners’ courts that were 
in total or in part covered by a single metropolitan 
planning organization (MPO) could have ordered an 
election for a local option fuel tax on a uniform election 
date in November if:

the commissioners courts of the counties •	
representing two-thirds of the total population 
of a MPO adopted a resolution calling for an 
election; or
at least 10 percent of registered voters in the •	
counties submitted a petition requesting an 
election.

	 Elections in multiple counties covered by one 
MPO would have been held on the same date. A 
commissioners court could have called another election 
two years after the first election. 

	 The election ballot would have contained 
prescribed language and would have listed and 
described the nature and scope of mobility projects 
to be constructed, along with estimated cost and 
completion dates. A transit authority proposing to 
use funds for a rail-related project would have had to 
include an estimate of any increased cost of service 
resulting from the improvement. Proposed projects 
could have included improvements to an existing or 
proposed mobility project or the retirement of existing 
debt of a transit agency related to a mobility project. 
A commissioners court would have determined which 

projects to submit for election in a public hearing based 
on information provided by the MPO. 

	 County mobility improvement fund. The 
commissioners court of each county that imposed 
a local option fuel tax would have established a 
county mobility improvement fund separate from the 
county’s general revenue account. A county could have 
used money in the mobility improvement fund for 
specific purposes listed in the bill related to mobility 
improvement projects. The county could have used 
mobility improvement funds to pay bonds or other 
obligations, but could not have used money in the fund 
to finance a mobility project not approved by voters or 
to transfer funds approved for one mobility project to 
another. 

	 The county would have deposited tax revenue 
into the fund, which would have been separated into 
accounts for each approved mobility improvement 
project and for certain transit authorities. All funds used 
would have had to be consistent with transportation 
plans adopted by the governing MPO. 

	 Administration. The comptroller would have 
administered, collected, and enforced the local option 
fuel tax. Provisions governing the collection of the 
state motor fuels tax codified in current law would 
have applied equally to the local option fuel tax. A tax 
approved by voters would have taken effect on the first 
new quarter following an election that authorized the 
local option tax. The comptroller could have delayed 
the effective date of the tax if necessary to prepare for 
collecting the tax and could have deducted any costs 
incurred for administering the tax. The comptroller 
would have deposited the collected taxes into a trust 
account and would have distributed to counties their 
share monthly. Earned interest would have remained in 
the account. 

	 The comptroller’s administrative duties with 
respect to the local option fuel tax would have 
been contingent on the receipt of sufficient funding 
in advance adequate to cover any necessary 
implementation costs. If the Texas Constitution required 
that one-fourth of the local option fuel taxes collected be 
dedicated to the Available School Fund, then the county 
would have deposited the funds into a separate account 
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for allocation to the comptroller for the purposes 
required. 

	 General provisions. A county could not have used 
revenue from a local option fuel tax to:

acquire, construct, maintain, or otherwise •	
directly fund a toll project;
fund an approved mobility improvement if the •	
revenue was used to reallocate other revenue for 
a toll project;
directly or indirectly hold, promote, or oppose •	
an election for a local option fuel tax; or
pay a registered lobbyist. •	

	 A county could not have operated or provided 
directly passenger rail or other services reserved by 
a transit authority. A local option fuel tax could not 
have been used to establish or fund a transit authority 
created after January 1, 2009. A county or other entity 
that received transportation funds could not have 
been penalized with a reduction in state or federal 
transportation funding due to the imposition of a local 
option fuel tax. 

	 Provisions governing the assessment of a local 
option fuel tax would have expired January 1, 2019. No 
additional elections could have been held after that date, 
but the expiration would not have affected the collection 
of a tax authorized before that date or other functions 
related to the tax. 

Supporters said 

	 SB 855 would give counties that were covered 
by or intersected a metropolitan planning organization 
(MPO) the opportunity to pursue measures to generate 
revenue for desperately needed highway and rail 
improvements in urban areas. The state motor fuels 
tax has been declining in relative value since 1991, 
and the original 20-cent tax per gallon is now equal 
to only about 13 cents in inflation-adjusted dollars. 
Demands on the state’s transportation infrastructure 
have been steadily increasing while political support for 
a statewide increase in the motor fuels tax, including 
an increase limited to annual inflation, has flagged. 
Despite multiple attempts since 2001, no legislation 
supporting an increase in the statewide motor fuels 
tax has mustered the votes to pass a house of the 
Legislature. Some of the opposition to a statewide 
increase is derived from concerns that additional motor 
fuels tax revenue would not be distributed evenly 

around the state, but instead would be concentrated on 
transportation improvements in and around urban areas. 

	 SB 855 culminates from many years of discussion 
about the dire state of transportation funding and the 
limited funding options available to finance critical 
transportation infrastructure. If enacted, the bill would 
avoid a statewide increase in the motor fuels tax while 
allowing congested urban areas to propose an increase 
in local taxes for voter approval. The bill would not 
allow any increase in local motor fuels taxes without an 
election and would require a ballot initiative to include 
specific projects as well as associated cost estimates. 
Funds derived from the local option tax would be 
dedicated to paying for the listed projects. 

	 The bill would represent a critically timed 
measure that would allow the most severely congested 
municipalities and counties to take decisive actions to 
provide critical infrastructure. Counties that were not 
experiencing severe congestion would not be able to 
marshal the necessary votes to pass the local option 
fuel tax and therefore would not be affected by the bill. 
However, the bill would be sufficiently broad to allow 
many urban areas to vote for an increase in the near 
future should local support for infrastructure projects 
grow. The bill is a direct response to a continued lack 
of decisive action on transportation funding on the state 
level. 

	 Urban transportation systems in some metropolitan 
areas in the state, such as the Dallas-Fort Worth 
region, have become sufficiently congested as to have 
a demonstrable effect on residents’ quality of life, 
health, and ability to conduct business. Texas is a major 
domestic and international trade hub and a national 
center of commerce. Maintaining safe and reliable 
transportation is critical to the long-term economic 
vitality of the state. Sustained and improved mobility 
would ensure that Texas remained a business leader into 
the future. 

Opponents said 

	 SB 855 could result in an increase of taxes on vital 
sectors of the economy when those sectors are least 
able to absorb additional hardships imposed by the 
government. The midst of a recession is not time for 
new government tax-and-spend policies — in fact, just 
the opposite. When businesses are reducing operations 
and laying off employees, and when people are reducing 
consumption, the government should be following suit 
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by cutting non-essential programs and reducing tax 
burdens. Money retained by businesses and consumers 
would be reinvested in the economy and would promote 
a quicker economic recovery. Allowing for an increase 
in the motor fuels tax in major metropolitan areas 
could have a significant impact on the price of goods 
and could worsen the recession in consumption and 
production and slow the pace of recovery. 

	 Allowing selective tax increases only in certain 
areas would be a patchwork approach to transportation 
funding that could have serious long-term implications 
on statewide connectivity. Authorizing metropolitan 
areas to establish local sources of revenue for 
transportation projects could essentially localize funding 
for transportation improvements. Without pressure to 
secure statewide sources of funding, transportation 
infrastructure outside of metropolitan areas could 
deteriorate.

	 The long-term implications of the local-option 
approach for statewide connectivity are troubling, since 
Texas is a major source and destination of freight that 
depends on quality highways throughout the state. 
The responsibility for expanding and maintaining state 
highways rests with the state and should not devolve 
to local entities which, by nature, are not focused on 
statewide concerns. SB 855 would set a precedent for 
local transportation funding that could, if continued, 
effectively undermine the state’s role in funding 
transportation projects. 

	 Other avenues for transportation funding currently 
are available to the state. The recent federal Recovery 
Act included about $2.7 billion in appropriations for 
a variety of transportation projects in the state. This 
funding, which included funds for public transportation, 
has offset the need for any immediate increase in 
motor fuels tax. Many options also are available to 
pursue private-public partnerships for the development 
of toll projects. Toll roads are an ideal solution to 
transportation financing shortfalls, since they impose a 
direct user fee only on those that use them and are able 
to secure financing and initiate construction much faster 
than conventional transportation projects. 

Other opponents said

	 SB 855 would continue the state’s piecemeal 
approach to providing transportation funding without 
addressing the core issue facing the state — a motor 
fuels tax that has been declining in relative value since 

1991. The local option tax authorized in the bill would 
not address statewide highway funding shortfalls, which 
represent the most significant obstacle to adequate 
highway construction and maintenance. The state 
needs to address the core issue facing highway funding 
and increase or index to inflation the motor fuels tax, 
preferably both. Creating additional transportation 
funding options for local projects without a dedicated 
source of revenue would represent another diversion 
from this necessary step. 

Notes 

	 The Senate-passed version of SB 855 would have 
allowed local entities the option of holding an election 
to decide on various fees for transportation projects, 
including:

a tax on the retail sale of gasoline or diesel fuel •	
in the county;
a mobility improvement fee, imposed on a •	
person registering a motor vehicle in the county 
at the time of registration;
a parking management fee;•	
an annual motor vehicle emissions fee on •	
vehicles registered in the county;
a fee for the renewal of a driver’s license issued •	
to a county resident; and
a Texas new resident roadway impact fee, •	
imposed on each person registering a motor 
vehicle previously registered in another state or 
country.

	 The Senate-passed version of the bill would have 
applied to specific regions identified in the bill and 
contained specific provisions applying to each of those 
regions.

	 SB 855 passed the Senate, but died on the May 21 
General State Calendar in the House when no further 
action was taken.

	 The Senate-passed version of HB 300, the TxDOT 
Sunset bill, contained a provision authorizing a local 
option motor fuels tax similar to SB 855. The language 
was stripped from the conference committee report 
version of HB 300, which never received a final vote in 
either house.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 855 appeared in Part 
Two of the May 21 Daily Floor Report. 
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	 SJR 52 by Davis would have amended the Texas 
Constitution to authorize counties to assess and collect 
an additional local motor fuels tax in the county and 
an additional motor vehicle registration fee on vehicles 
registered in the county. It would have included 
passenger, transit, and freight rail systems, in addition to 
highway uses, to the purposes for which revenue from 
the county tax or fee could be used and would have 
exempted such taxes or fees from the requirement that 
one-fourth of the revenue be transferred to the Available 
School Fund. SJR 52 was approved by the Senate, 
but died on the May 22 Constitutional Amendments 
Calendar in the House when no further action was taken. 
The HRO analysis of SJR 52 appeared in Part One of 
the May 22 Daily Floor Report.
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SJR 9 by Carona
Died in the House

Constitutional dedication of state highway funds to construction and 
maintenance

	 SJR 9 would have amended the Texas Constitution 
to strike existing provisions that allow revenue from 
state motor fuels taxes and vehicle registration fees to 
be used for policing public roads and for supervision 
of traffic and safety by a state agency that was not 
also responsible for the construction and maintenance 
of state highways. Similar requirements would have 
applied to federal reimbursements for qualified state 
expenditures. 

	 The bill would have included a temporary provision 
that no motor fuels tax or vehicle registration funds 
could be appropriated or otherwise allocated for an 
unauthorized purpose after September 1, 2018. After 
September 1, 2011, the Legislature would have had 
to decrease proportionally the revenue dedicated to 
purposes not specifically named. The agency responsible 
for construction and maintenance of state highways 
would have had to ensure that revenue appropriated to it 
would reflect the required proportional decrease. 

Supporters said

	 SJR 9 would provide a gradual but decisive long-
term approach to ending diversions of motor fuels and 
registration fee revenue from highway construction and 
maintenance. Ending the practice of diverting motor 
fuels and vehicle registration revenue to purposes not 
directly related to building roads is essential in light of 
existing and projected transportation funding shortfalls. 
The state motor fuels tax has been declining in relative 
value since 1991, and the 20-cent tax per gallon is 
now equal to only about 13 cents in inflation-adjusted 
dollars. Moreover, demands on the state’s transportation 
infrastructure have been steadily increasing. The 2030 
Committee, charged by the Texas Transportation 
Commission with reviewing funding needs for 
highway maintenance, including bridges, and for urban 
mobility and rural mobility and safety, as well as other 
transportation needs, reported that the state’s highway 
network would require $313 billion in improvements 
between 2009 and 2030 — or about $14.2 billion a year.

	 Despite multiple attempts since 2001, no legislation 
supporting an increase in the statewide motor fuels 

tax has mustered the votes to pass a house of the 
Legislature. In the absence of a plausible route for 
raising the statewide motor fuels tax, it is necessary to 
locate other means of securing funding for highways, 
including ensuring that funds that should be dedicated 
to those purposes are appropriated accordingly. The 
current diversion of state highway funds (Fund 6) to 
the Department of Public Safety (DPS) originated when 
there was much more correspondence between the 
highway and safety functions in the state. The original 
justification for highway funds for DPS has grown less 
relevant as the separation between these functions has 
become more defined. 

	 SJR 9 would phase out appropriations of 
revenue collected for purposes not related to highway 
construction and maintenance. DPS should be funded 
out of general revenue, which would be appropriate for 
an agency that serves a statewide need and contributes 
funds to general revenue but does not have dedicated 
revenue sources sufficient to pay its costs. The 
amendment would not prescribe immediate suspension 
of the transfers, which could have a major cost to 
general revenue and could create instability in funding 
critical services if done suddenly, but would instead 
create a transition period for legislators gradually 
to fund an increasing share of DPS operations from 
sources besides the state motor fuels tax and vehicle 
registration fees. 

	 Adopting a constitutional amendment rather than 
a change in statute or change in appropriations practice 
is necessary in light of the Legislature’s inability 
to exercise restraint in diverting funds from state 
highways. Definitively restricting state motor fuel and 
vehicle registration tax revenue to highways could assist 
in building support for tax increases in the future by 
addressing concerns that an increase in the motor fuels 
tax may not be destined to fund its stated purpose. 

Opponents said

	 SJR 9 would create instabilities in funding for safe 
transportation on the state’s roads. Constitutional and 
statutory provisions authorizing the use of the motor 
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fuels tax and vehicle registration fees for policing and 
ensuring safety on the roads are long-standing features 
of state law, the constitutional provision having been 
added in 1946. Similarly, appropriations practices have 
followed the legal authority to allocate transportation-
related taxes to police public roads in recent history. 
The practice of appropriating state highway funds for 
public safety stems from a long-standing precedent that 
funding for public safety on state highways is in keeping 
with the intended purposes of motor fuels and vehicle 
registration taxes. Ensuring the safety of travelers on 
state highways is an equally valid use of motor fuels tax 
revenue as is maintaining and improving the quality of 
those roads. 

	 Making DPS ineligible to receive revenue 
from motor fuels taxes would not resolve ongoing 
transportation shortfalls and would place the agency in 
competition with other state needs for limited resources. 
Ending transfers to DPS from Fund 6, which amounted 
to about $1 billion in fiscal 2008-09, would not solve 
rapidly growing statewide transportation shortfalls. 
Also, the general revenue necessary to fund DPS would 
have to be shifted not only from other state priorities 
but also from TxDOT, which increasingly will rely on 
general revenue for debt service on general obligation 
bonds. 

	 SJR 9 would continue the state’s piecemeal 
approach to providing transportation funding without 
addressing the core issue facing the state — a motor 
fuels tax that has been declining in relative value since 
1991. Prohibiting appropriations of motor fuels tax 
and vehicle registration fees to DPS would not address 
long-term statewide highway funding shortfalls, which 
represent the most significant obstacle to adequate 
highway construction and maintenance. The state 
needs to address the core issue facing highway funding 
and increase or index to inflation the motor fuels tax, 
preferably both. Creating a prohibition on transferring 
relatively small appropriations to DPS would represent 
another distraction from this necessary step. 

	 SJR 9 would make use of a constitutional 
amendment to accomplish something that is best left 
to a statutory change. DPS provides essential services 
that must be fully funded. The amendment would 
allow no Fund 6 appropriations for DPS whatever 
the circumstances, which would place the agency 
in competition with other essential public services 
for scarce general revenue. Eliminating from the 
Constitution the option of using state highway funds 
for public safety purposes would be too rigid and could 

have unintended consequences in the future — for 
instance, in the event of a recession causing a shortfall 
in general revenue. 

Other opponents said

	 SJR 9 would create a far too distant time horizon 
for prohibiting diversions of state highway funds to 
DPS. The state is experiencing a crisis in transportation 
funding now, and waiting up to nine years to definitively 
end diversions of highway funds would be too long a 
transition. 

Notes 

	 SJR 9 was approved by the Senate, but died on the 
May 22 Constitutional Amendments Calendar in the 
House when no further action was taken.

	 The HRO analysis of SJR 9 appeared in Part One 
of the May 22 Daily Floor Report. 

	 A related bill, HB 1047 by Deshotel, which would 
have stripped statutory provisions allowing revenue 
from the State Highway Fund (Fund 6) to be used 
by DPS to police the state highway system and to 
administer state laws relating to traffic and safety on 
public roads, died in the House Calendars Committee.
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SJR 25 by Harris
Died in the House

Restricting revenue from public toll roads to transportation

	 SJR 25 would have amended the Texas 
Constitution to add Art. 8, sec. 7-c to limit the use 
of revenue a public entity collected from a tolled 
highway project to acquiring, constructing, operating, 
maintaining, or improving transportation projects. The 
restriction would not have applied to an international 
bridge or revenue that was dedicated to repaying debt 
for the tolled highway project.

Supporters said

	 SJR 25 would restrict revenue collected by a local 
tolling authority for a toll project to being spent for 
transportation projects. This constitutional restriction is 
needed in light of the growing number of toll projects 
completed by local tolling authorities in the wake of 
SB 792 by Williams, which granted local authorities 
primacy over private entities for toll road development. 
A constitutional prohibition has important advantages 
over a statutory revision — it is decisive, enduring, 
and reflects the will of voters in the state. Toll projects 
completed by local tolling authorities are given primacy 
in part with the justification that these projects provide a 
long-term source of revenue for transportation projects. 
However, projected increases in revenue generated by 
these projects could give rise to political attempts to 
reallocate the surplus funds in the future to purposes 
other than transportation.

	 The proposed constitutional amendment would 
ensure in the long term that revenue from public toll 
roads was spent on purposes that adhered to the original 
justification for these projects — enhancing mobility by 
maintaining and expanding transportation infrastructure. 
The proposal would achieve a balance by granting some 
flexibility concerning which types of transportation 
projects could receive surplus toll funds so that 
future legislatures could modify the range of eligible 
transportation projects, if necessary. 

Opponents said

	 SJR 25 would take the unnecessary step of 
adding a constitutional amendment restricting 
revenue from public toll roads to transportation 
projects. Transportation Code, sec. 228.0055 and sec. 

228.006 currently restrict the use of toll revenue from 
comprehensive development agreements and other 
surplus toll revenue to being spent on highways, air 
quality projects, and transportation projects. There is no 
compelling reason that the current statutory restrictions 
are insufficient to dedicate properly surplus toll revenue 
to transportation projects. 

Other opponents said

	 SJR 25 would add language that is overly broad 
and would not restrict the use of revenue from publicly 
owned toll roads specifically to funding highway and 
bridge projects. Current constitutional provisions restrict 
the uses of motor fuels taxes and vehicle registration 
fees to improving and policing public roadways. This 
is an important restriction that ties the spending of 
the revenue to the purposes for which it is collected. 
Surplus toll road revenue should not be used for other 
transportation-related initiatives, such as passenger or 
freight rail or airport development, that have no direct 
relation to the source of the revenue. 

Notes 

	 SJR 25 was approved by the Senate, but died on the 
May 26 Constitutional Amendments Calendar in the 
House when no further action was taken. 

	 The HRO analysis of SJR 25 appeared in the May 
26 Daily Floor Report. 
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