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	 In 2007, the 80th Texas Legislature enacted 1,481 bills and adopted 
17 joint resolutions after considering more than 6,341 measures filed. 
This report is an overview covering many of the highlights of the regular 
session. It summarizes some proposals that were approved and some that 
were not. Also included is a brief review of the arguments offered for and 
against each measure as it was debated. The legislation featured in this 
report is a sampling and not intended to be comprehensive.  

	 Other House Research Organization reports covering the 2007 
session include those examining the bills vetoed by the governor and 
the constitutional amendments on the November 6, 2007, ballot and an 
upcoming report summarizing the appropriations for fiscal 2008-09, 
including HB 1, HB 2, and HB 15 by Chisum.   
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SYNOPSIS OF LEGISLATION
80th Legislature, Regular Session

Source: Texas Legislative Information System

*Includes 51 vetoed bills — 43 House bills and 8 Senate bills

House bills	 4,140	 955	 23.1%

Senate bills	 2,050	 526	 25.7%

TOTAL bills	 6,190	 1,481	 23.9%

HJRs	 108	 10	 9.3% 

SJRs	 43	 7	 16.3% 

TOTAL joint
resolutions	 151	 17	 11.3%

Introduced	 Enacted*	 Percent enacted

2005	2 007	 Percent change

Bills filed	 5,484	 6,190	 12.9%

Bills enacted	 1,389	 1,481	 6.6%

Bills vetoed	 19	 51	 168.4%

Joint resolutions filed	 145	 151	 4.1%

Joint resolutions adopted	 9	 17	 88.9%

Legislation sent or transferred
to Calendars Committee	 1,492	 1,692	 13.4%

Legislation sent to Local and
Consent Calendars Committee	 921	 1,056	 14.7%
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HB 1038 by Ritter 
Effective September 1, 2007

Revising operation of Texas Residential Construction Commission

	 HB 1038 revises disciplinary actions and the 
inspections process under the Texas Residential 
Construction Commission (TRCC) Act. The bill also 
changes requirements for registered builders and the 
composition of the TRCC. 

	 Contract requirements. A construction contract 
must include the builder’s name, registration number, 
builder information available through TRCC, how to file a 
complaint, and a disclosure regarding binding arbitration if 
arbitration is required by the contract. HB 1038 lowers the 
value of interior home improvements subject to the TRCC 
Act from $20,000 to $10,000.

	 TRCC composition. In appointing the three public 
members of the TRCC, the governor must consider 
individuals who can represent the interests of homeowners. 
A person who is an officer, employee, manager, or paid 
consultant of a consumer association or Texas trade 
association in the field of residential construction may not 
be a member or employee of the TRCC. A lobbyist also may 
not be a member or the general counsel of the TRCC. 

	 Disciplinary action. HB 1038 adds numerous 
violations for which a builder may be subject to disciplinary 
action. TRCC or the attorney general may obtain injunctions 
and issue cease and desist orders for violations of TRCC 
rules. TRCC may revoke or suspend a builder’s license 
only if the builder engages in repeated violations resulting 
in disciplinary action. TRCC may assess an administrative 
penalty of up to $10,000 for most violations and up to 
$100,000 for fraud or misappropriation of funds. A builder 
and a person who controls a majority ownership interest in 
the builder are jointly and severally liable for any amount 
due the commission from administrative actions. The 
commission must make available to the public information 
about each complaint resulting in disciplinary action.

	 Inspections. HB 1038 adds requirements for builders 
to have a fee inspector inspect residential construction 
conducted in areas not subject to municipal inspections. A 
homeowner is not bound by the state-sponsored inspection 
and dispute-resolution process (SIRP) if the homebuilder 
was not registered when the contract was made or the 
homebuilder’s license has been revoked. If an alleged defect 
that would violate the statutory warranty of habitability is 
not reasonably discoverable within the warranty period, 
SIRP may be requested up to the second anniversary of 

the discovery of the alleged defect. The recommendation 
of a third-party inspector or a panel of state inspectors is 
considered admissible as evidence as a business record. 

	 Registration requirements. A builder must meet 
continuing education requirements in order to maintain 
registration, including five hours of continuing education 
every five years. A municipality must verify that a builder 
is registered with TRCC or exempt from registration before 
issuing a building permit. The bill requires registration of 
colonias, and a homeowner of a colonia who claims a post-
construction defect must go through the SIRP. 

Supporters said  

	 HB 1038 is a balanced bill that would make TRCC 
a stronger, more effective agency with increased power 
to protect homeowners and punish the bad actors in the 
residential construction industry. The bill would make 
the commission more impartial by making it unlawful for 
the officers of a builders’ trade association or consumer 
advocacy groups to be members or employees of the TRCC. 
Conflict of interest provisions for the commission would be 
consistent with those for other Texas regulatory bodies. 

	 The bill would include significant increases in TRCC 
power to authorize disciplinary action for a variety of 
new offenses. Remedies for these violations would be 
enforceable because TRCC and the attorney general could 
issue cease and desist orders for violations and could obtain 
court-ordered injunctive relief if builders did not comply. 
These powers, combined with increased administrative 
penalties, would encourage homebuilders to perform work 
properly the first time and to address quickly any issues that 
were identified after construction. 

	 The rights and remedies of homeowners in actions 
against builders would be expanded. If a builder contracted 
for work while not registered, a homeowner could disregard 
the SIRP and go directly to court. With respect to the 
warranty of habitability, the time period to request the 
SIRP if a defect was not discoverable would be extended 
to two years after the date of discovery. The homeowner’s 
presumption of a defect in subsequent civil actions would be 
strengthened because an inspector’s recommendation would 
be self-authenticating. HB 1038 would expand the parties 
against whom a homeowner could take action to include 
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those who had a majority interest in the builder, so these 
individuals could not evade their shared responsibility to 
homeowners.

	 The bill simultaneously would maintain appropriate 
protections for builders. It would ensure that a revocation or 
suspension of registration could not occur unless repeated 
prior violations had occurred. This would recognize that 
some builders conduct more business than others, and 
large builders should not have their registration revoked for 
isolated incidents. 

	 The TRCC Act already contains appropriate flexibility 
for TRCC to define warranty standards. Minimum standards 
for warranties have been established, and TRCC has 
rulemaking authority to create more stringent warranty 
standards if research on residential construction practices 
indicates changes to warranties would be appropriate. 

Opponents said 

	 Although many of the provisions in the bill would 
be beneficial, HB 1038 would not go far enough to help 
homeowners and would decrease consumer protections 
in some areas. Builders are afforded four places on the 
commission, yet a person who had certain affiliations with a 
consumer association could not be a member or employee of 
TRCC. This provision is at odds with the provision requiring 
that consideration be given to individuals who represent the 
interests of homeowners in filling the three public member 
slots on the commission. Many of those most well-informed 
regarding homeowner interests likely would have some 
prohibitive affiliation with a consumer association. 

	 Certain violations perpetrated by builders are so 
egregious that they merit immediate revocation or 
suspension of registration with the first incident. HB 1038 
would prevent such immediate disciplinary actions from 
occurring because it would not allow TRCC to revoke or 
suspend a builder’s license unless the builder engaged in 
repeated violations resulting in disciplinary action.

	 In addition, the bill specifies that a builder who failed 
to pay a court judgment would be subject to disciplinary 
action. The current statute is more appropriate because it 
is general enough to apply to failure to pay an arbitration 
judgment. The vast majority of contracts between builders 
and homeowners include binding arbitration agreements, so 
disputes between homeowners and builders rarely are settled 
in court. The added specificity in HB 1038 would render this 
cause for disciplinary action largely useless to the majority 
of consumers who must address their grievances with 
builders in arbitration.

	 Ideally, the bill would remove stipulations regarding 
the length of warranties from the Property Code so that 
the commission could use its judgment to set appropriate 
warranty periods. Short of removing such stipulations, the 
bill at a minimum should extend the warranty periods from 
one year to two years for workmanship and from two years 
to three years on electrical and appliances. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1038 appeared in Part Two 
of the April 24 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1634 by Dukes 
Effective June 8, 2007

Incentives for film, television, and related industries

	 HB 1634 renames the Film Industry Incentive Program 
the Moving Image Industry Incentive program and provides 
incentives for digital interactive media productions in 
addition to incentives already provided for films, television 
programs, and commercials. Program qualification and 
grant awards will be determined based on the amount of 
a production company’s in-state spending rather than the 
amount of wages paid to Texas residents. 

	 To be eligible for moving image industry incentive 
grants, a project must generate $1 million in in-state 
spending for film or television programs or $100,000 in 
in-state spending for commercials. At least 70 percent of the 
production crew, actors, and extras must be Texas residents, 
and at least 80 percent of the project must be filmed in 
Texas. A grant application may be denied because of content 
that is inappropriate or that portrays Texas or Texans in a 
negative fashion.

	 Qualifying applicants may receive a grant not to 
exceed the lesser of 5 percent of the total amount of a 
production company’s in-state spending or $2 million for 
a film; $2.5 million for a television program; $200,000 for 
a commercial or series of commercials; or $250,000 for a 
digital interactive media production. The bill adds Houston 
and Fort Worth to the areas designated as under-used that 
may receive an additional 1.25 percent grant of total in-state 
production costs. The bill also would create a moving image 
industry personnel training program and a film archive 
program.

Supporters said

	 HB 1634 would help support the state’s moving image 
production industry, which now employs more than 18,000 
Texans, and would entice producers to locate more projects 
in Texas. The Texas Film Commission estimates that since 
2003, Texas has lost more than $700 million in production 
budgets and 4,500 jobs to other states that have implemented 
the types of incentives that the bill would allow.  

	 Thirty-seven states and all Canadian provinces already 
have similar programs, and these incentive programs are 
dramatically altering film production location decisions. 
For example, the New Mexico State Film Commission saw 
production revenues soar from $8 million in 2002, before 

incentives were enacted, to $428 million in 2006. At the 
same time, Texas lost its market share in the moving image 
industry, commanding nearly 85 percent of the regional 
market in 2002 and only 18 percent of the market in 2006. 
Without an active incentive program, Texas risks losing its 
once promising moving image production industry.

	 HB 1634 would improve the state’s existing grant 
program by increasing some project grant caps, tailoring 
the grant caps to encourage specific types of projects, and 
ensuring that productions increase employment for Texas 
production crews. The current grant program ignores the 
impact of the gaming and animation industries, which 
currently employ 1,835 people in Texas and have significant 
overlaps with the film industry in the development of 
post-production and special effects editing talent. The bill 
would add incentives to encourage digital interactive media 
production and would place more emphasis on television 
production, because it creates a more stable source of in-
state spending and local jobs than do feature films. 

	 The bill also would require that 70 percent of the 
production crew, actors, and extras be from Texas and more 
than 80 percent of the filming be done in the state. This 
change to the program is vital, because it would ensure 
that productions receiving funding would do the bulk of 
their work in Texas and would keep Texans from leaving 
the state for seasonal work. It is of primary importance 
that productions not depend on the relocation of crews 
from other states when Texas has its own base of expert 
production crews. 

	 HB 1634 would ensure the Moving Image Industry 
Incentive Program was fiscally responsible. Because Texas 
is home to highly skilled production crews, it could provide 
a fraction of the incentives other states offer and still make 
an impact. In addition, the funding appropriated for this 
program by HB 1 for fiscal 2008-09 would be contingent 
on the comptroller’s certifying that the moving image 
industry generated sufficient revenue to offset the cost of 
the appropriation. To further ensure financial accountability, 
any funding requests above the current appropriation would 
undergo an extensive approval process. The bill would not 
create a dedicated account, so if the grant program was 
found not to be self-sufficient, the funding would remain in 
general revenue to fund other state priorities. 
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Opponents said 

	 While increasing film production is important, the 
state cannot afford to support corporate welfare. The 
current budget for Film and Music Marketing in the state 
is $1.8 million, and the Moving Image Industry Production 
Incentive Program aims to dole out more than ten times 
that amount over the biennium. In 2003, Illinois initiated a 
film incentives program and by 2006 had to double its tax 
incentive in order to remain competitive. Like any spending 
program, this budget is not a fixed cost, but likely would 
grow over time. While it is contended that the incentive 
program would be self-supporting, it is unclear if the 
comptroller’s calculations also would examine the benefits 
the state could derive by simply returning the $22 million to 
Texas taxpayers.  

	 The state of Texas is not in the business of moving 
image production. The industry is made up of private 
businesses and is region-specific. Because most of the 
moving image production happens in the Dallas and Austin 
areas, these municipalities should develop more robust 
incentive packages to attract projects to their areas. It would 
be unfair to tax every person and business in the state in 
order to provide incentives that ultimately would benefit 
only one or two metropolitan areas. Moreover, filmmakers 
already are eligible for several incentives, including 
exemption from sales tax on many of the items and services 
used in the manufacture of the film, exemption from the 
state hotel occupancy tax if they stay for more than 30 days, 
and fuel sales tax refunds for fuel used off-road, such as for 
generators and boats.

Other opponents said

	 HB 1634 would not do enough to support Texas talent. 
Texas residents should make up more than 70 percent of 
a production crew, actors, and extras. Also, the bill should 
designate a portion of the incentive funding to support 
the projects of Texas production companies rather than 
base eligibility solely on in-state spending and provide all 
benefits to out-of-state production companies.  

	 This bill should include a minimum diversity standard. 
Texas production crews should reflect the makeup of our 
state. Historically, crews in the moving image production 
industry have been predominantly Anglo, but the state 
includes a diverse population of skilled workers.  

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1634 appeared in the April 
10 Daily Floor Report.

	 HB 1 by Chisum, the general appropriations bill 
for fiscal 2008-09, appropriates $22 million over the 
biennium to fund the moving image incentive program. 
Appropriations may exceed this amount with approval 
from the Legislative Budget Board and the Office of the 
Governor. Any appropriation for the program is contingent 
on the comptroller certifying that there is sufficient revenue 
generated by the film industry and related activity in Texas 
to offset the cost of the appropriation. Not more than $2 
million may be used for the personnel training and film 
archive programs.
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HB 2960 by Smithee 
Died when no action taken on conference committee report

Restructuring the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association

	 HB 2960 would have amended Insurance Code 
provisions for operating and funding the Texas Windstorm 
Insurance Association (TWIA), which provides 
homeowners’ insurance for coastal residents and businesses 
that are denied coverage by private carriers. 

	 Funding structure. TWIA’s current funding structure, 
which includes several stages for covering catastrophic 
losses that exceed the association’s premium income, would 
have been revised. The first stage for covering these losses, 
a $100 million assessment on member insurers, would 
have been eliminated. The funding mechanism to cover 
excess losses and operating costs would have included the 
following, in this order:

up to 75 percent of the amount in the catastrophe 
reserve trust fund could have been used to cover 
each catastrophic event. If the trust fund had been 
reduced by more than 75 percent in one year, 
TWIA could have required member companies to 
collect a premium surcharge for one year from their 
policyholders who lived or had insured property in 
the catastrophe area;
an assessment on member insurers of up to 1.25 
percent of direct premiums;
income from Class 1 bonds issued before a 
catastrophic event;
an assessment on member insurers of up to 4 
percent of direct premiums; and
up to $3.5 billion in Class 2 bonds issued on or after 
a catastrophic event.

	 Unlimited assessments on insurers for major 
catastrophic events and related premium tax credits for five 
or more successive years after paying these assessments 
would have been eliminated. 

	 Revenue bond program. HB 2960 would have 
established procedures for the issuance of Class 1 and Class 
2 revenue bonds. For Class 1 bonds, debt service and bond-
related expenses would have been covered by a premium 
surcharge on policyholders in the catastrophe area. For Class 
2 bonds, debt service and bond-related expenses would have 
been covered by a statewide premium surcharge of up to 
4.5 percent of annual premium over a 12-month period. The 
bill would have specified that neither the state nor a state 
agency, political corporation, or political subdivision of the 

•

•

•

•

•

state was obligated to pay the principal or interest on Class 1 
bonds except as provided by the bill.

	 Notice to policyholders and applicants for insurance. 
TWIA would have had to issue a notice to policyholders and 
applicants for insurance that read substantially as follows:

	 “Insurance policies issued by the Texas Windstorm 
Insurance Association are not guaranteed by the state or 
federal government. In the event of a major catastrophe, the 
association may not have sufficient funding resources to pay 
all losses to all policyholders suffering damage. In such an 
event, you may be paid less than the full amount of damages 
that you suffer. You may obtain additional information as to 
the association’s potential exposure and its available funding 
resources at www.tdi.state.tx.us.”

	 Rates. The TWIA board could have filed and used rates 
without prior approval by the insurance commissioner if 
the filed rates were made 60 days before being used, did 
not exceed 105 percent of current rates, did not reflect a 
rate change of more that 5 percent for any individual rating 
class, and were not disapproved in writing by the insurance 
commissioner. 

	 The bill would have allowed recognized catastrophe 
models to be used as a factor in determining TWIA rates. 
TWIA would have been authorized to establish rating 
territories and vary rates among territories. 

	 Mandatory compliance with building codes. To 
be eligible for insurance coverage through TWIA, all 
construction, alteration, remodeling, enlargement, and 
repair of any structure in the catastrophe area begun on or 
after January 1, 2008, would have had to be constructed in 
compliance with applicable building codes. The bill would 
have authorized TWIA to make exceptions and charge a 
premium surcharge for certain structures that were altered 
before January 1, 2008, and had been insured in the private 
market for the 12-month period immediately preceding the 
date of the application.

	 Inspections. The bill would have transferred authority 
for conducting building inspections from the Texas 
Department of Insurance (TDI) to TWIA and would have 
allowed the association to charge a reasonable fee for each 
inspection. The bill would have authorized TWIA to fund 
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inspections after a catastrophe as necessary to facilitate 
recovery, rebuilding, and repair in the affected catastrophe 
area. TWIA would have adopted procedures for the 
appointment and oversight of qualified inspectors.

	 Incentive plan. TDI would have had to maintain a list 
of all property and casualty insurers that sold insurance in 
the voluntary market in the seacoast territory and developed 
incentive programs for insurers to write insurance on a 
voluntary basis and to minimize the use of TWIA as a means 
of obtaining insurance.

	 Composition of the board of directors. The nine-
member TWIA board of directors would have been 
appointed by the commissioner of insurance and would have 
included: 

•	 four insurer representatives who were members of 
TWIA, who could reside anywhere in the state;  

•	 three public members, one of whom would have 
had to own property or have resided in one of first-
tier coastal counties and be a TWIA policyholder; 
and 

•	 two licensed insurance agents, one of whom would 
have had to maintain a principal office in a first-tier 
coastal county. 

	 The commissioner also would have had to appoint a 
non-voting member to advise the board regarding issues 
related to the inspection process. All board members would 
have had to demonstrate experience in insurance, general 
business, or actuarial principles sufficient to make the 
success of TWIA probable.

Supporters said 

	 HB 2960 would give TWIA the tools it needs to cover 
losses in the event of one or a series of catastrophic storms 
along the Texas coast. TWIA’s current funding level and 
mechanism for covering losses is insufficient to cover losses 
should one or more catastrophic events like hurricanes 
Katrina or Rita occur in the coming years. Without a new 
funding structure, the state would have to use general 
revenue to cover most losses in such a catastrophic event. 

	 In the wake of hurricanes Katrina and Rita, many 
private insurers have withdrawn from the coastal market, 
leaving TWIA as the insurer of last resort for an increasing 
number of coastal residents. Over the past five years, 
policies in force at TWIA have increased dramatically. 
Between 2001 and 2006, the number of TWIA policies has 
nearly doubled, from 68,758 to 135,000, in the 14 coastal 
counties and a portion of Harris County that make up the 

TWIA coverage area. As of November 30, 2006, TWIA’s 
exposure for windstorm losses from all costs reached more 
than $40 billion. As of January, 2007, the association had 
about $180 million of premiums in force, of which about 
$100 million could be used to cover the cost of windstorm-
related losses.

	 HB 2960 would give TWIA more flexibility in setting 
rates to meet projected demands and in issuing bonds to 
cover losses in the event of one or more catastrophic storms. 
By authorizing the use of catastrophe models, the bill would 
allow TWIA to predict more accurately the likelihood of 
catastrophic events and related funding needs. 

	 This improved structure would better prepare TWIA to 
cover losses in the event of one or more catastrophic storms 
and would stimulate economic growth along the coast by 
providing sufficient windstorm coverage. This economic 
growth would benefit the whole state by generating 
increased tax revenue. While windstorm insurance may be 
an issue of special importance to coastal residents, it is in the 
entire state’s interest to establish a solid system to protect 
against windstorm losses.

Opponents said 

	 HB 2960 would give TWIA too much latitude by 
allowing the use of recognized catastrophe models in setting 
rates. These models easily can be manipulated to justify 
rates that otherwise might be considered unnecessarily high. 
The bill could lead to higher TWIA rates in coastal areas, 
which could inhibit economic activity and growth.

	 Requiring TWIA to issue a notice to every policyholder 
and applicant that suggests that coverage might not be 
provided in a major catastrophe would be confusing to 
consumers and could have other, more serious effects on 
the coastal economy. For example, mortgage companies 
might be hesitant to provide funding if insurance coverage 
were provided with the sort of caveat implied by such a 
notice. Rather than requiring the notice, the bill should add 
an additional layer of assessments on insurers for the most 
catastrophic events so that adequate coverage was available. 
If a notice is required, it should include clearer and more 
specific parameters indicating when coverage might be 
curtailed.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2960 appeared in Part One 
of the May 7 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 3358 by Smithee
Effective September 1, 2007

Prohibiting insurance rate increases during judicial review

	 HB 3358 prohibits an insurer that files in district court 
a petition for judicial review of a disapproved rate from 
raising rates for the same line of insurance before the matter 
under judicial review is finally resolved, unless the new rate 
is filed with the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) and 
approved by the insurance commissioner.

	 If an insurer is required to file its rates, the 
commissioner must issue an order specifying the reasons for 
the required rate filings. The affected insurer is entitled to a 
hearing if a written request is filed with the commissioner no 
later than 30 days after the date of the order.

Supporters said 

	 HB 3358 would discourage insurers from using 
the court system to their advantage while challenging 
the disapproval of a rate increase by the insurance 
commissioner. This would prevent another situation like 
the one that occurred following the enactment of SB 14 
by Jackson in 2003, when the insurance commissioner did 
not approve a rate increase proposed by State Farm. The 
company appealed the commissioner’s decision but has 
been able to charge the higher rate while the matter is under 
judicial review. Experts estimate that State Farm has made 
more than $600 million in premium and interest charges 
during its court challenge to TDI’s initial rate adjustment. 

	 The bill would provide an incentive for insurers to 
resolve court cases as quickly as possible rather than 
dragging them out over several years. If insurers were 
prohibited from raising rates until a court case was resolved, 
they would be more likely to seek a more timely resolution.

Opponents said 

	 The Legislature enacted the file-and-use system in 2003 
to allow insurers to adjust rates in response to changing 
market conditions. Any litigation involving past rate 
decisions should not have an effect on future rate filings, 
which affect current and future rates.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3358 appeared in the Part 
Three of the May 3 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 987 by Lucio
Died in the House

Mortgage counseling for complex loans

	 SB 987 would have prohibited a lender from making 
a complex loan to a borrower with a credit score of 650 
or less unless the loan applicant presented a certificate 
of completion of counseling from an approved housing 
counseling agency regarding complex loans and financial 
alternatives. A complex loan would have been a loan: 

•	 that had a principal amount of less than $125,000;
•	 that was secured by a first lien on the principal 

residence of the borrower; 
•	 for which the aggregate of the principal balance of 

all loans secured by the property to the value of the 
property was at least 90 percent; and

•	 that contained a variable interest rate with an initial 
interest rate that was significantly lower than the 
fully indexed rate at the time the loan was closed or 
a provision that permitted periodic payments that 
were less than the amount of accrued interest on the 
scheduled payment date.

	 The counseling agency could have charged the 
loan applicant a reasonable fee for the counseling. The 
counseling requirement would not have applied to an 
interim construction loan with a maturity of less than 18 
months. An attorney who provided the counseling could not 
have represented or advised another party to the loan.

	 Before the applicant received counseling, the lender 
or broker would have had to provide the applicant and 
counselor written notice explaining the proposed terms of 
the loan, that the loan was a complex loan, and available 
financial alternatives.  

Supporters said  

	 SB 987 would educate consumers regarding their 
loan alternatives and the risks associated with the loan 
product they choose. Texas ranks sixth among states in the 
rate of mortgage foreclosures, largely due to the number 
of consumers obtaining complex loans that they did not 
realize they could not afford. While foreclosures obviously 
are negative for consumers, they also adversely impact 
legitimate lenders and the building industry. The high level 
of foreclosures has contributed to many sub-prime lenders 
recently going out of business, and the demand for new 
home building decreases with a decreased pool of lenders.

	 A home is the largest purchase most people will make 
in their lives, and loan products change constantly – to the 
degree that often the lender does not understand fully the 
way a product works. If a consumer did opt for a complex 
loan, counseling would prepare the consumer for any 
changes in payment level as the loan term progressed, 
and the consumer could make financial arrangements 
accordingly. Counseling could take place in person or on the 
phone, and flexible options would allow counseling to occur 
quickly without interfering with the consumer’s obtaining 
the desired property.

	 SB 987 would be focused narrowly to address the 
riskiest loans obtained by higher-risk consumers. It would 
address only negative amortizations and variable rate 
arrangements that had up-front teaser rates to make initial 
payments significantly lower. The borrower population 
would be limited to people with credit scores no higher than 
650 who were borrowing less than $125,000. The bill would 
draw the line at $125,000 because consumers who could 
qualify for higher loan amounts would have a greater ability 
to recover from a loss.

	 More elaborate disclosures would not confer the 
benefits of counseling, because disclosures would be 
provided with the rush of other documents a borrower 
received on the closing date after the borrower already 
had made arrangements and was determined to sign on 
the dotted line. Even if a borrower carefully reviewed 
disclosures on the closing date, the borrower would not 
have the same opportunity to ask clarifying questions that 
would be afforded through counseling. While the borrower 
could ask the loan officer questions, the loan officer might 
be biased to answer in a way that ensured the borrower 
completed the loan transaction. Predatory lenders also could 
deceive the borrower, and because the Deceptive Trade 
Practices Act does not cover lending, the borrower would 
have little recourse.  

Opponents said  

	 SB 987 would place the state government in an 
inappropriate role mandating mortgage loan counseling for 
borrowers who should be responsible for their own decision-
making. A consumer intending to make such a large 
investment should be responsible for independently seeking 
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education about the loan products available and choosing 
the most appropriate product. In certain instances, a complex 
loan is the only loan for which a consumer can qualify. If 
a consumer found a complex loan was the only borrowing 
option and felt such a loan would pose too great a risk, it 
would be the responsibility of the consumer to delay the 
decision to borrow or to pursue a more affordable property.

	 SB 987 could be detrimental to consumers who were 
well educated about the type of loan they sought. Non-
traditional loan types were created to suit borrowers with 
unique needs. A person should not be dissuaded from 
pursing a certain type of loan if he or she had researched 
the loan independently and deemed it the most appropriate 
financing option. In a competitive market, the delay 
associated with having to obtain counseling could cause a 
consumer to lose a desired property to another buyer who 
could obtain immediate financing. Rather than require 
counseling that could interfere with a consumer’s closing 
a loan, complex loans could be accompanied by more 
detailed disclosures that made it clear what the borrower 
should anticipate and would ensure that the lender could not 
deceive the consumer.  
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HB 8 by Riddle
Effective September 1, 2007

Death penalty, other punishments for repeat sex crimes committed 
against children

	 HB 8 increases penalties for sex crimes committed 
against children by authorizing the death penalty for certain 
repeat offenders and creating a new offense for continuous 
sexual abuse. The bill is to be known as “the Jessica 
Lunsford Act.”

	 Super-aggravated sexual assault and death penalty. 
HB 8 authorizes the death penalty or life-without-parole 
for second convictions of “super aggravated sexual assault” 
against children. First offenses are punished with 25 years to 
life and are ineligible for parole.

	 The term “super aggravated sexual assault” describes 
an enhancement created by HB 8 to the existing aggravated 
sexual assault statute. It applies to convictions for 
aggravated sexual assault if the victim was: 

•	 younger than six years old; or 
•	 younger than 14 years old and the offense included 

certain aggravating factors involving bodily injury, 
threats to kill or hurt, deadly weapons, acting with 
multiple people to commit the offense, or giving 
certain drugs to the victim. 

	 New offense of continuous sexual abuse. HB 8 creates 
a new offense of “continuous sexual abuse.” The offense 
is committed if a person who was at least 17 years old 
committed two or more “acts of sexual abuse,” regardless of 
the number of victims, against a child younger than 14, over 
a period of 30 or more days. The offense is a first-degree 
felony punishable by a term of 25 years to life, and offenders 
are not eligible for parole. Second convictions are punished 
with life without parole.

	 “Acts of sexual abuse” are defined as sexual assault; 
aggravated sexual assault; indecency with a child involving 
contact with the sex organ or anus; aggravated kidnapping 
with the intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually; 
burglary with intent to commit one of these offenses; and 
sexual performance by a child.

	 If a jury tries the case, it does not have to agree 
unanimously on which specific acts of sexual abuse were 
committed or the exact date on which they were committed. 

The jury must agree unanimously that during the 30-day-
plus period, the person committed at least two acts of sexual 
abuse. 

	 It is an affirmative defense to prosecution that the 
person was not more than five years older than the victim, 
did not use force, and did not have previous convictions for 
certain sex crimes. 

	 Statute of limitations. HB 8 removes the statute of 
limitations for sexual assault of a child, aggravated sexual 
assault of a child, and indecency with a child and establishes 
no statute of limitations for the new offense of continuous 
sexual abuse of a child.

	 The bill creates a new statute of limitations of 20 years 
from the 18th birthday of a victim for crimes against victims 
who were younger than 17 at the time of the offense and 
applies it to sexual performance by a child, aggravated 
kidnapping with intent to violate or abuse the victim 
sexually, and first-degree burglary with intent to commit 
certain serious sex crimes. 

	 Miscellaneous. HB 8 makes several other changes 
to the laws governing sex offenses committed against 
children. It adds sexual performance by a child to the list of 
serious and violent crimes in Code of Criminal Procedure 
Art. 42.12, sec. 3(g), which restricts probation and requires 
offenders to serve one-half of their sentences or 30 years, 
whichever is less, before being eligible for parole. The bill 
also adds 3(g) sex offenses committed against children to the 
list of offenses that are not eligible for jury-recommended 
probation.

	 It increases penalties for sexual performance by a child 
if the victim is younger than 14 years old and makes all 
indecency with a child offenses, all sexual assault offenses, 
sexual performance by a child, and continuous sexual abuse 
ineligible for release on mandatory supervision, under which 
certain inmates automatically are released on a certain date 
under supervision similar to parole. 

	 The bill also authorizes the attorney general to offer 
to assist local prosecutors in prosecuting certain sexually 
violent offenses, and it requires the attorney general to assist 
local prosecutors with those cases upon their request. 
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Supporters said

	 HB 8 is necessary to provide the best protection possible 
for Texas children from sex offenders who commit horrific 
crimes and to punish appropriately those who victimize 
children. HB 8 would be Texas’ version of Jessica’s Laws, 
the name given to a set of proposed laws targeting sex 
criminals who commit offenses against child victims.
 
	 Super-aggravated sexual assault and death penalty. 
Sex offenses against children are so horrific that the death 
penalty for repeat offenders would be appropriate and just 
punishment. HB 8 would apply the death penalty only 
to the most dangerous offenders – those who repeatedly 
sexually assault very young children or assault children with 
aggravating factors. Other punishments, such as long prison 
sentences, are not adequate to address the harm these repeat 
offenders have caused and the danger to the community they 
represent. 

	 Concerns that making serious sex crimes against 
children eligible for the death penalty would prompt 
offenders to kill victims are unfounded. Other states with 
similar laws have seen no rash of child killings. Authorizing 
the death penalty for repeat child rapists would be a 
powerful deterrent to offenders who have been convicted 
once of raping a child. A potential death sentence should 
not deter family members from protecting children from 
heinous crimes by reporting those crimes. 

	 Long, mandatory prison terms are appropriate 
punishment for first offenses of super-aggravated sexual 
assault. In addition to protecting victims, witnesses, and 
other children by keeping sex criminals behind bars, long 
sentences would help deter other potential offenders. Long 
mandatory sentences would not make crimes more difficult 
to prosecute, but instead would ensure that offenders were 
punished appropriately. Instead of accepting plea bargains 
that reflect less serious offenses, prosecutors should be 
required in some cases to devote the resources necessary 
to obtain convictions for the actual crimes that were 
committed. 

	 Texas should join the growing number of states 
instituting such laws. At least five states – Florida, 
Louisiana, Montana, Oklahoma, and South Carolina – have 
authorized the death penalty for people who commit repeat 
serious sex crimes against children, and other states are 
considering it. 

	 Texas should do whatever is necessary to protect its 
children without waiting for the U.S. Supreme Court to rule 
specifically about the death penalty for child rapists. When 
the court ruled in 1977 in Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584, 

that the death penalty was disproportionate punishment for 
the crime of raping an adult woman and therefore forbidden 
by the Eighth Amendment as cruel and unusual punishment, 
it did not rule on the constitutionality of sentencing child 
rapists to death. The issues involved in cases of repeat child 
rapists are different than those in the Coker case, and the 
language in Coker was limited specifically to the rape of an 
adult and did not touch on the rape of children. 

	 New offense of continuous sexual abuse. By creating 
the new offense of continuous sexual abuse, HB 8 would 
address the problem of sexual predators who abuse 
children repeatedly. By requiring that the sex crimes be 
committed over a 30-day period, the bill would capture 
serial offenders who were a threat to public safety. Allowing 
a series of crimes to be prosecuted as one offense would 
give prosecutors more flexibility to allege crimes under 
continuous sexual abuse or under existing law. It would 
allow prosecutors to present a more accurate picture of 
a predator to a jury and would allow more appropriate 
punishments than considering each incident individually. 
Courts in at least five other states have held that using 
a continuing-course-of-conduct approach upon which 
jurors must unanimously agree on certain factors satisfies 
constitutional requirements. 

	 A mandatory minimum of 25 years, with no parole, 
would be appropriate punishment for these serious crimes 
and would protect children from these predators. Life 
without parole for second offenses is necessary to ensure 
that repeat offenders never again victimize a child. Although 
a long mandatory minimum sentence and parole restrictions 
would be important to ensure these offenders would not ever 
be released, they would not be a significant departure from 
current law because certain repeat offenders already must 
serve at least 35 years without parole consideration and are 
rarely, if ever, paroled. 

	 The bill would include a “Romeo and Juliet” clause 
so activities by teenagers engaging in consensual sexual 
activity would not be considered continuous sexual abuse. 

	 Extending the statute of limitations for the prosecution 
of some sex crimes. Lengthening the time limit for filing 
charges in certain cases of sex crimes against children 
would be warranted because of the special circumstances 
surrounding child sex abuse cases and the seriousness of 
these crimes. Extending the statute of limitations would 
allow these child victims to mature and gain the financial 
and emotional stability necessary to speak out. Extending 
Texas’ statute of limitations would bring the state in line 
with about 30 other states in which the statute of limitations 
is more favorable to child victims of sex crimes. 
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Opponents said

	 Texas’ current law works adequately to punish and 
supervise sex offenders, and while HB 8 is well intended, 
it actually could make it more difficult to protect children 
from harm. Resources should be used to enforce current 
law allowing long prison sentences and restricted parole 
for dangerous offenders and to invest in the treatment of 
sex offenders and the prevention of child abuse. With its 
many deficiencies, the death penalty in Texas should not be 
expanded.

	 Super-aggravated sexual assault and death penalty. 
The death penalty would be a disproportionate punishment 
for admittedly heinous sex crimes against children. The 
death penalty should be reserved for especially vicious 
murders, and although raping a child is a hideous offense 
that warrants severe punishment, it should not be equated 
with murder by punishing offenders with death. Long prison 
terms, such as those imposed by current law, or life without 
parole could be used to punish repeat child rapists and 
protect the public. 

	 Texas law already allows for a range of appropriately 
harsh punishments to deal with sex offenders. Requiring 
mandatory sentences of 25 years for first offenses and the 
death penalty or life without parole for second offenses 
could backfire by making defendants less inclined to plead 
guilty. In cases in which evidence was not airtight or the 
victim was reluctant to testify, this could lead prosecutors 
not to file charges or to accept plea bargains to lesser crimes. 
Fewer guilty pleas also might lead to more trials that could 
further traumatize child victims. 

	 There is no evidence that the death penalty would deter 
child rapists, many of whom are sexually violent predators 
who habitually prey on children. The prospect of receiving 
a death sentence actually might be counterproductive by 
giving offenders a perverse incentive to kill their victims 
so those victims could not serve as witnesses to a crime 
potentially punishable by death. In addition, children and 
their families might be less likely to report sexual assault by 
a relative for fear that the family member might be executed.

	 Since the reinstatement of the death penalty in 
1976, most states have limited the punishment to murder 
cases. Texas should not enact a law of questionable 
constitutionality simply because it is politically popular, 
especially given clues by the U.S. Supreme Court that death 
penalty laws that would be rarely imposed or that are not 
supported by a broad national consensus would be ruled 
unconstitutional. 

	 New offense of continuous sexual abuse. It is 
unnecessary to create a new offense of continuous sexual 
abuse. All of the crimes that constitute the new offense 
already are serious offenses that carry tough penalties 
that should be enforced. HB 8 would set an arbitrary time 
frame of committing two offenses within 30 days, which 
unfairly would exclude from the offense those whose crimes 
occur within 29 days. HB 8 could violate constitutional 
requirements of juror unanimity by requiring juries only to 
agree unanimously that during the 30-day-plus period the 
person committed at least two acts of sexual abuse but not 
requiring that the jurors be unanimous as to the dates or the 
acts committed.

	 Setting a 25-year mandatory minimum sentence 
for continuous sexual abuse would reduce prosecutors’ 
flexibility to handle these cases and have the same problems 
as the mandatory minimum sentence for first offenses of 
super-aggravated sexual assault. Current law requires these 
inmates to serve long terms before being eligible for parole, 
and the Board of Pardons and Paroles has been extremely 
cautious about releasing sex offenders on parole. Although 
very few are approved for parole now, it would be better to 
continue allowing these offenders to be eligible for parole, 
for both prison management reasons and to recognize 
that some offenders could be rehabilitated and society 
best served if they were released on parole under close 
supervision.

	 Extending the statute of limitations for the prosecution 
of some sex crimes. Current law already has carved out 
a unique, exceptionally long time limit for filing charges 
in serious child sex crimes, which is both appropriate and 
adequate. Extending the statute of limitations even further 
could render defendants unable to defend themselves 
adequately and infringe upon their right to due process. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 8 appeared in the March 5 
Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 1355 by Gattis
Effective September 1, 2007

Felony for owners of dogs causing serious bodily injury or death

	 HB 1355 creates “Lillian’s Law” in memory of Mrs. 
Lillian Stiles and in dedication to various others who have 
been victims of unprovoked dog attacks. It creates an 
offense punishable as a third-degree felony (two to 10 years 
in prison and an optional fine of up to $10,000) if the owner 
of a dog is criminally negligent by failing to secure a dog 
that causes serious bodily injury to someone off the owner’s 
property. The same penalty applies to a dog owner who 
already knows the dog is dangerous and whose dog causes 
serious bodily injury to another person through an attack 
outside of a secure enclosure. 

	 If a dog attack under the circumstances described 
above results in a person’s death, the penalty for the owner 
is increased to a second-degree felony (two to 20 years in 
prison and an optional fine of up to $10,000). In these cases, 
HB 1355 allows the court to order the destruction of the dog 
and to prosecute the owner under another section of the law 
that may apply. 

	 In addition, the bill establishes various defenses to 
prosecution, including provisions for people who work with 
animals, people sanctioned by the government to handle 
dangerous dogs, and disabled people who rely on dogs for 
assistance. The bill also creates a defense for the owner of a 
dog that attacks someone who is committing a crime against 
a person or property, including murder, sexual assault, arson, 
robbery, or burglary. 

Supporters said

	 HB 1355 would establish Lillian’s Law to ensure that 
dog owners were held responsible for the vicious acts of 
their dogs and would help to prevent future attacks. In late 
2005, 76-year old Lillian Stiles was brutally killed by a pack 
of six pit bull-rottweiler mixed breeds that escaped from a 
neighbor’s yard. Holding a dog owner responsible for such 
an event is difficult under existing law because the dog 
previously must have been designated as dangerous. While 
a dog will be destroyed if it seriously attacks a person, the 
dog owner is not penalized until the dog has been deemed 
dangerous. This allows negligent dog owners to duck 
responsibility when they get new dogs because an owner’s 
previous poor stewardship is not taken into account. 

	 HB 1355 would apply only to an unprovoked attack that 
caused serious bodily injury. This would limit the offense to 
serious attacks in which people were seriously hurt, and the 
bill would not apply to a dog who harmed someone only in 
a minor way. In addition, actions by the dog owner would 
have to be taken with criminal negligence or while knowing 
the dog was “dangerous” as defined in current law. Leash 
and enclosure laws are not enough. Dogs have been known 
to cause serious bodily harm while tied to fences or trees, 
which has allowed owners to avoid taking responsibility for 
the actions of their dogs. In addition, enclosure laws unfairly 
burden owners who do not keep dangerous dogs.

	 HB 1355 is not intended to apply to an attack that 
occurred while someone was trespassing in an enclosure. 
The bill is designed to protect people from dangerous dogs 
by deterring negligent behavior by dog owners. To that 
end, penalties would apply only if a dog owner did not take 
reasonable steps to keep the dog in a secured enclosure 
or if a dog attack happened somewhere off a dog owner’s 
property, as in the case of Lillian Stiles. The bill is designed 
to protect innocent people from suddenly being attacked 
by a dangerous dog and would provide liability protections 
for a dog owner if a dog caused serious bodily harm or 
death to a person engaged in certain criminal acts, including 
burglary and criminal trespass. In addition, the bill would 
not refer to any specific breed nor impose any breed-specific 
regulations.

Opponents said

	 HB 1355 would be unnecessarily severe. Under current 
law, a person cannot be prosecuted for an attack by a dog 
unless the dog already has been labeled dangerous, meaning 
that the person must have been aware of the possibility of 
an attack. Under this bill, a person could be prosecuted for a 
felony without any previous indication that the person’s dog 
might hurt someone. The bill would make no distinction in 
penalizing a first-time offender versus the owner of a dog 
that already had been deemed dangerous – both owners, 
regardless of past history, could be prosecuted for a second- 
or third-degree felony.

	 HB 1355 would not ensure protection for people from 
dangerous dogs because the law would be solely punitive 
and not preventive. The bill would provide penalties only 
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after a dog had attacked. To protect innocent victims, 
the bill instead should require dog owners to accept 
responsibility for their dogs before any attack occurred by 
creating statewide leash and enclosure laws. While the bill 
aims to penalize irresponsible dog owners, such a person 
would have little incentive to claim ownership should the 
dog be involved in an attack and might be shielded from 
prosecution altogether.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1355 appeared in Part One 
of the April 23 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 2328 by Woolley
Effective September 1, 2007

Cruelty to animals penalties

	 HB 2328 establishes the separate offenses of cruelty to 
livestock animals and cruelty to non-livestock animals. 

	 Non-livestock animals. Under the offense of cruelty to 
non-livestock animals, animals are defined as domesticated 
living creatures, including stray or feral cats or dogs, and 
wild living creatures previously captured. Acting recklessly, 
in addition to knowingly and intentionally, against a non-
livestock animal constitutes an offense if the person: 

•	 tortures an animal; 
•	 in a cruel manner kills or causes serious bodily 

injury to an animal; 
•	 without the owner’s effective consent, kills, 

poisons, or causes bodily injury an animal; 
•	 fails unreasonably to provide necessary food, water, 

care, or shelter to an animal in the person’s custody; 
•	 transports or confines an animal in a cruel manner; 
•	 causes one animal to fight another; 
•	 uses an animal as a lure in a dog race; or 
•	 seriously overworks an animal. 

	 It is a defense to prosecution if the person killed or 
caused bodily injury to a non-livestock animal without the 
owner’s effective consent if the person was acting within 
the scope of the person’s employment as a public servant 
or during activities involving electricity transmission, 
distribution, or generation or natural gas delivery.

	 Livestock animals. Under the offense of cruelty to 
livestock animals, livestock animals are defined as cattle, 
sheep, swine, goats, ratites, poultry commonly raised for 
human consumption, horses, ponies, mules, donkeys, 
hinnies, and hoofstock and fowl raised under agricultural 
practices. The bill establishes an offense for intentionally 
failing unreasonably to provide necessary water to a 
livestock animal in one’s custody. The offense is a class A 
misdemeanor (up to one year in jail and/or a maximum fine 
of $4,000).

	 Definition. Torture is defined, for purposes of both 
offenses, as an act that causes unjustifiable pain or suffering.

	 Exception. The bill establishes an exception to either 
offense for someone engaging in conduct that is a generally 
accepted and otherwise lawful form of conduct for wildlife 

management, depredation control, shooting preserve 
practices, or agricultural practice involving livestock 
animals. 

	 Penalties. For purposes of enhanced penalties on a third 
occurrence of either offense, a person may have committed 
the first two offenses against livestock animals, non-
livestock animals, or both.

	 The bill stipulates that it does not create a civil cause of 
action for damages or enforcement related to either offense. 
 

Supporters said

	 In a balanced way, HB 2328 would establish separate 
laws on animal cruelty for livestock animals and non-
livestock animals. The bill would expand protections for 
non-livestock animals while largely retaining the status quo 
for treatment of livestock animals to avoid interfering with 
agricultural practices. The strengthened protections for non-
livestock animals would help close loopholes in existing law 
and prevent future acts of cruelty.

	 Non-livestock animals. HB 2328 would strengthen 
protections for non-livestock animals by establishing that 
acting in a cruel manner to kill or injure an animal, short of 
torture, was an offense. Also, allowing “reckless” conduct, 
in addition to “knowing” and “intentional” conduct, to 
constitute an offense would enhance prosecution of abusive 
animal owners. This culpable mental state would apply to 
those who were aware their conduct was dangerous, thereby 
adding to the incidents that could be considered offenses.

	 Current laws on animal cruelty contain vague, 
inconsistent wording, leaving room for heinous crimes 
against animals to go unpunished. Texas’ animal cruelty 
laws have not kept up with national standards, but this 
bill would address loopholes in current law to provide 
prosecutors with more legal tools to protect non-livestock 
animals. Under current law, pet owners sometimes escape 
punishment for certain acts of cruelty because causing 
serious bodily injury to an animal is an offense only if it is 
committed against an animal owned by another individual 
and because the definition of torture can be narrowly 
interpreted. In one example, a pet owner ran over his puppy 
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with a lawn mower and escaped prosecution because 
causing serious bodily injury would apply only to animals 
owned by someone else and defining the act as torture was 
precluded by the puppy’s instant death. The definition of
non-livestock animal also would help protect stray cats 
and dogs. Whether an owner of an animal can be identified 
should not determine whether an offense has been 
committed against that animal.

	 Evidence suggests a link between animal cruelty 
and family violence. Violence toward animals can be an 
indicator of other abuse being perpetrated within families, 
and perpetrators of animal cruelty are at risk of becoming 
violent offenders. The bill would improve prosecution of 
animal abuse and potentially prevent future acts of violence.

	 Livestock animals. While expanding protection for non-
livestock animals, the bill would not interfere with certain 
currently permissible practices. It would retain exceptions 
to the offense for agriculture, hunting, fishing, trapping, and 
lawful wildlife control, while adding an exception for lawful 
depredation control. As a result, it actually would expand 
protections for certain activities. It would retain horses 
under the definition of livestock animals so that they could 
continue to be used in certain ranch activities.

Opponents said

	 Amending current animal cruelty laws, as HB 2328 
would do, is not an appropriate way to prevent animal 
cruelty. Social ills cannot be ameliorated by establishing 
more offenses and strengthening the state’s ability to 
prosecute. This would not adequately deter some individuals 
from committing heinous acts against animals. The state 
instead should provide public education to prevent future 
incidents of animal cruelty. Also, funding is needed to 
shelter animals treated inhumanely.

Other opponents said

	 Aside from a few minor changes, the bill would not do 
enough to address animal cruelty or to close the loopholes 
in current law. It would not establish clear standards on 
what acts constitute cruelty to animals and what acts do 
not. Broad exceptions to prosecution remain in the bill, 
creating the potential for some people to avoid prosecution 
on technicalities. The penalties for acts of cruelty against 
animals would not be increased, so Texas would do little to 
remedy its negligence concerning animal cruelty compared 
to other states.

	 Horses should be defined as non-livestock animals in 
order to be placed under the stricter protections provided by 
the bill. Most horses are used for pleasure activities rather 
than agricultural practices and are exposed to the same 
general public as non-livestock animals. Because horses are 
not consumed as food in the United States, they should not 
be placed in the same category as livestock animals, many 
of which are consumed as food. Also, although cockfighting 
is legally permissible only in New Mexico and Louisiana, 
the Texas law is weak and replete with loopholes, which the 
bill would not address. The bill specifically should prohibit 
cockfighting as well as the training and conditioning of 
animals to be used in fights.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2328 appeared in the April 
18 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 3200 by Madden
Vetoed by the governor

State basic supervision funding for local probation departments

	 HB 3200 would have altered the computations for 
determining state basic supervision funding for local 
probation departments for felony defendants placed on 
probation. Instead of having the per capita funding for 
felons based on those directly supervised by local probation 
departments, it would have been based on each felony 
defendant placed on probation and on each felony defendant 
participating in pretrial programs.  

	 The Criminal Justice Assistance Division of the Texas 
Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) would have 
annually established a per capita funding formula that 
included: 

•	 higher per capita rates for felony probationers who 
were serving the early years of their probation terms 
than for those who were serving the end of their 
terms; 

•	 penalties in per capita funding for each felony 
probationer whose probation was revoked due to a 
technical violation of probation; and 

•	 awards in per capita funding for each felony 
defendant who was discharged due to an early 
termination of probation. 

	 The TDCJ board would have been authorized to adopt 
a policy limiting the percentage of benefit or loss that a 
department could have realized under the new formula.

	 The formula would have to have been established by 
January 1, 2008, and been used for the state fiscal year that 
begins on September 1, 2008.

Supporters said

	 HB 3200 would adjust the computation used to send 
money to local probation departments to encourage more 
intensive supervision in the early years of probation terms, 
to discourage probation departments from keeping offenders 
on probation longer than necessary, and to discourage 
revocations of probation for technical violations of probation 
terms. 

	 Front-loading probation funding by requiring higher 
rates for offenders in the early years of their terms would 
give local probation departments the resources to intensely 

supervise probationers during this critical period when most 
re-offending occurs. 

	 The current formula used to determine state funding can 
create an incentive to keep felony offenders on probation 
longer than necessary because funding continues as long as 
they are on supervision. Also, sometimes the fees paid by 
those who continue to meet their obligations to pay them 
are used to make up funding from offenders who do not pay 
their fees. HB 3200 would address this by requiring awards 
for early terminations of probation. Decisions about early 
terminations still would be made solely by judges who are 
accountable to voters and would not be influenced by the 
funding formula to make decisions that jeopardized public 
safety. 

	 HB 3200 also would discourage probation departments 
from revoking offenders’ probation and sending them to 
prison for technical violations, which are violations of 
supervision that do not include new offenses. In some 
cases, these technical violations do not warrant using a 
prison bed for a probationer, especially given that the state 
prison system is operating at capacity and beds should be 
reserved for violent and serious offenders. The change 
in the funding formula would give the local probation 
departments incentives to work with offenders to improve 
their success on probation, but decisions about revocations 
would continue to be made by judges who do not receive the 
funding.

	 By requiring the funding formula to contain awards for 
early termination and for TDCJ to adopt a policy limiting 
benefits or loss to departments, the bill would mitigate its 
effects on probation departments.

Opponents said

	 HB 3200 could upset the sentencing dynamics in 
Texas by providing incentives for probation departments 
to terminate probation early and disincentives to revoking 
probation. 

	 If prosecutors and courts felt that early termination of 
probation had become the norm as a result of the awards 
required in HB 3200, they might support longer probation 
terms or more incarceration. Current law allows judges to 
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review offenders at their own discretion and to reduce or 
terminate a probation term after the lesser of one-third of 
the original term or two years had been served. Probation 
departments should not receive incentives to push for early 
termination in inappropriate cases. 

	 In the same way, providing a financial disincentive 
to revoke probation for technical violations could result 
in some probationers remaining free on probation when 
they should have had been sent to prison. Some technical 
violations of probation are serious and warrant revocation. 
For example, absconding from probation or coming 
in contact with a victim both could be technical parole 
violations. Under HB 3200, a probation department would 
have a financial incentive to keep offenders who committed 
these violations on probation instead of sending them to 
prison, which might be warranted.  

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of the HB 3200 appeared in Part 
Two of the Daily Floor Report.

	 For more information on HB 3200, see HRO 
Focus Report Number 80-6, Vetoes of Legislation, 80th 
Legislature, July 9, 2007, pp. 63-64.
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SB 103 by Hinojosa
Effective June 8, 2007

Revising Texas Youth Commission authority and operations

 	 SB 103 makes a number of changes to the oversight 
and internal operations of the Texas Youth Commission 
(TYC).

	 Governing structure. SB 103 temporarily changes the 
governing structure of TYC from a seven-member board 
appointed by the governor. Instead, it will be governed 
until September 1, 2009, by an executive commissioner 
appointed for a two-year term by the governor, with the 
consent of the Senate. 

	 The bill establishes a nine-member advisory board 
to advise and assist the executive commissioner. Three 
members are to be appointed by the governor, three by 
the lieutenant governor, and three by the speaker of the 
House. The governor designates the board’s chair. At least 
one member must be a physician, one an experienced 
member of a victims advocacy organization, one a mental 
health professional, and one a current or former prosecutor 
or judge. A majority of the board members must be 
qualified, by experience or education, in programs for the 
rehabilitation and reestablishment in society of children in 
the custody of agencies similar to TYC. 

	 The sections of SB 103 establishing the executive 
commissioner and the advisory board will expire September 
1, 2009, and as of that date, TYC will be governed by seven-
member board appointed by the governor with the advice 
and consent of the Senate. 

	 The Sunset Advisory Commission will study the merits 
of moving TYC toward a regionalized structure of smaller 
facilities and more diversified treatment and placement 
options. The commission also will study the merits of an 
executive commissioner governing the TYC as compared 
to a citizen board. The Sunset commission must include its 
recommendations on these issues in its Sunset review report 
on the TYC, which will be abolished September 1, 2009, 
unless continued by the Legislature.

	 Misdemeanor offenses. SB 103 prohibits youths from 
being sent to TYC for misdemeanor offenses. 

	 Age limit and determinate sentences. SB 103 lowers 
the maximum age limit for youths in TYC from age 21 to 
age 19. 

	 Youth placement restrictions. TYC is prohibited from 
placing youths younger than age 15 in dormitories with 
youths age 17 and older unless it is to ensure the safety of 
TYC youths or for short-term assessment and orientation. 
The commission must adopt scheduling, housing, and 
placement procedures to protect vulnerable children in TYC. 
When deciding where to house a child, TYC must consider 
the proximity of the child’s family. 

	 Lengths of stay and review panel. TYC must establish 
a minimum length of stay for offenses. After youths have 
completed the minimum length of stay, TYC must discharge 
the child, release the child on parole, or extend the child’s 
stay. 

	 TYC must appoint a panel to review and determine 
which action will be taken. The panel may extend the 
length of a stay only on a majority vote and only on the 
basis of clear and convincing evidence that the youth needs 
additional rehabilitation and that TYC would provide the 
most suitable environment for that rehabilitation. Panel 
members must be commission employees who work at 
the commission’s central office and cannot be involved in 
any supervisory decisions concerning TYC youth. TYC 
must establish a process for youths, parents and guardians, 
employees, and volunteers to request the reconsideration of 
an extension order. 

	 Training, staffing. TYC is required to give each 
juvenile correction officer (JCO) at least 300 hours of 
training before that person begins work.

	 TYC must maintain a ratio of at least one JCO for 
every 12 youths in correctional facilities with dormitories. 
TYC must consider the age of a JCO so that, to the extent 
practicable, JCOs are at least three years older than the 
youths they supervise. 

	 The TYC executive director is required to perform state 
and national criminal background checks of employees, 
contractors, volunteers, ombudsmen, and advocates working 
for the commission and those who provide direct delivery of 
services to the youths or have access to TYC records. 

	 Office of Inspector General (OIG). SB 103 establishes 
an office of inspector general to investigate crimes 
committed at TYC facilities and fraud committed by TYC 
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employees. The executive commissioner must select a 
commissioned peace officer as chief inspector general, and 
the OIG is authorized to employ and commission peace 
officers to carry out the duties of the office. 

	 The OIG is required to report the results of its 
investigations to the TYC commissioner and advisory 
board, the governor, legislative leaders and committees, and 
other entities. The report is public information. The chief 
inspector general also must prepare a quarterly report on 
the operations of the office. The OIG must immediately 
report to agency and state officials any particularly serious 
or flagrant problem concerning the administration of a TYC 
program or operation or any interference by the executive 
commissioner or a TYC employee with an investigation 
by the office. The OIG is required to immediately provide 
the Special Prosecution Unit with a report about an alleged 
offense if the offense is believed to be particularly serious 
and egregious.

	 The TYC commissioner is required to file a complaint 
immediately with a law enforcement agency if the director 
has reasonable cause to believe that a youth was the victim 
of a crime committed at a TYC facility.  

	 Special prosecution unit. SB 130 recognizes in statute 
the Special Prosecution Unit (SPU) and extends its authority 
to offenses relating to TYC. The SPU is an independent 
unit that cooperates with and supports prosecuting attorneys 
handling criminal offenses and delinquent conduct on 
TDCJ or TYC property or committed by or against anyone 
in their custody or while a person was performing a duty 
away from department or commission property. Prosecutors 
are authorized to request that the SPU handle any criminal 
offense or delinquent conduct that fits these criteria. 

	 The SPU’s executive board must elect a “counsellor,” 
who will coordinate prosecution issues and monitor cases 
dealing with TYC and may conduct certain types of 
investigations of alleged illegal or improper conduct by 
commission officers, employees, or contractors. 

	 The attorney general is authorized to offer assistance to 
prosecutors handling criminal offenses concerning TYC. 

	 Office of the ombudsman. SB 103 establishes the 
Office of Independent Ombudsman of the Texas Youth 
Commission as a state agency to investigate, evaluate, 
and secure the rights of youths committed to TYC. The 
ombudsman is independent of TYC.

	 Duties of the office include reviewing TYC procedures 
and services to ensure youths’ rights are observed, reviewing 
complaints, conducting investigations of non-criminal 

complaints, reviewing facilities and procedures, and 
providing assistance to youths and their families, including 
advocating for the best interests of the child. 

	 The first ombudsman is appointed by the executive 
commissioner for a term that ends February 1, 2009, and the 
governor appoints subsequent ombudsmen with the advice 
and consent of the Senate for two-year terms. 

	 Increased penalty for improper sexual activity. SB 
103 increases the penalty for certain crimes that violate the 
civil rights of someone in custody and for improper sexual 
activity with a person in custody. The penalty increases 
from a state jail felony (180 days to two years in a state jail 
and an optional fine of up to $10,000) to a second-degree 
felony (two to 20 years in prison and an optional fine of up 
to $10,000) if the offender employs, authorizes, or induces 
a youth in TYC to engage in sexual conduct or a sexual 
performance. 

	 Other provisions. SB 103 makes numerous other 
changes to the laws governing TYC, including:  

•	 requiring TYC to offer appropriate rehabilitation 
programs for its youths and, if not able to do so, 
to report to the Legislature about which programs 
were not offered or available and why;  

•	 establishing a permanent, toll-free number for 
information about abuse, neglect, or exploitation of 
youths that is prominently displayed in each facility 
and accessible to the youths; and

•	 requiring TYC to create a parents’ bill of rights that 
includes a description of the agency’s grievance 
procedures and requiring TYC to give parents or 
guardians a quarterly report on their child’s progress 
in language that is clear and easy to understand. 

Supporters said

	 SB 103 is necessary to address the problems that played 
significant roles in the recent scandal involving allegations 
of sexual abuse and other crimes in TYC facilities. The bill 
would address these problems by significantly reforming the 
internal operations of the agency and increasing oversight 
of it. The bill would enhance accountability at the agency, 
require transparency in its operations, establish checks and 
balances on agency staff and operations, establish oversight 
and reporting of agency operations and alleged crimes, 
and institute training and safeguards to protect the children 
committed to the agency and to help the agency staff. 
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	 The agency will undergo Sunset review this interim, 
and the 81st Legislature will have the opportunity to make 
additional changes in 2009.

	 Governing structure. Given the large number of 
changes being implemented at the agency, it is necessary 
temporarily to give the reins of the agency to an executive 
commissioner. This would be the best way to focus 
responsibility for the agency and make it clear who is 
in charge and whom to hold accountable as the agency 
reorganizes. 

	 To ensure that this model is scrutinized in 2009, SB 
103 would sunset the commissioner’s position and reinstate 
a governor-appointed board. The 81st Legislature could 
impose whatever structure it deemed appropriate because 
the agency would be undergoing Sunset review and would 
be abolished in 2009 unless continued by the Legislature.

	 Misdemeanor offenses. It is important to prohibit the 
placement in TYC of youths who commit misdemeanor 
offenses so that space and resources can be devoted to those 
who commit more serious offenses. To properly refocus 
its efforts and implement some of the provisions of SB 
103, including lower staff-to-youth ratios, the agency must 
downsize. The Legislature would be able to revise the ban 
on misdemeanants in two years if it felt the agency had the 
resources to handle them.

	 Prohibiting misdemeanor placements would not mean 
that youths who committed misdemeanors would go 
untreated or go without sanctions. Local juvenile probation 
departments are well equipped to handle these youths, and 
the Legislature is increasing their resources through the 
appropriations process.
 
	 It is unclear how often youths are influenced by 
the technical aspects of sentencing. Any effect on plea 
agreements would be minimal and would influence only 
a small number of cases. Only about 6 percent of the 
misdemeanants in TYC have committed a felony that was 
pled down to a misdemeanor offense. 

	 Age limit and determinate sentences. Lowering the 
age limit of youths at TYC from 21 to 19 would allow the 
agency to focus on its core mission of rehabilitating youths. 
This would reserve TYC for younger offenders who should 
not be mixed with older offenders who are really adults. 

	 TDCJ is equipped to handle these older youths. 
Currently, if youths are 17 years old when they commit an 
offense, they are handled in the adult system, and many are 

sent to TDCJ. Housing 19-year-olds in prisons would be 
more appropriate than housing them with 13-year-olds in 
TYC facilities.

	 Youth placement restrictions. To address the problem 
of very young offenders being housed and sometimes 
victimized by older offenders, SB 103 would place 
restrictions on the ages that could be housed together. 

	 Length of stay and review panel. To help create 
transparency and fairness, SB 103 would establish a review 
panel to make formal decisions about whether youths should 
remain at TYC longer than their minimum lengths of stay. 
In the past, some of these decisions seem to have been 
made arbitrarily. The bill would ensure these decisions were 
made fairly and that youths and their families understood 
and could appeal them. The bill’s statistical reporting 
requirements and requirements that decisions be transparent, 
consistent, and objective would allow oversight. 

	 Training and staffing. SB 103 would address problems 
caused by untrained and unsupported staff by significantly 
increasing the training required of juvenile corrections 
officers from 80 hours to 300 hours. SB 103 would 
implement a ratio of one JCO to 12 youths, which would be 
within the range of national ratios and a reduction from the 
current rate of one-to-24 at night and one-to-15 or one-to-24 
during the day.

	 Office of Inspector General (OIG). Creating the OIG 
would address the problem of alleged crimes committed 
at TYC not being prosecuted because the allegations were 
not properly investigated or forwarded to law enforcement 
officers and prosecutors. Under TYC’s current system, 
in numerous cases the initial and only investigations of 
criminal allegations were done by civilian TYC staff 
who were untrained and unqualified to perform criminal 
investigations and whose focus was on whether the agency 
should take administrative actions. Staffing the OIG with 
peace officers who would have a duty to investigate and 
report crimes would ensure that investigations into all 
crimes were handled properly. The system established by 
SB 103 would be modeled on the one that works well in the 
adult criminal justice system.

	 Several provisions in SB 103 would ensure the 
independence of the office and proper oversight of its 
investigations and operations. For example, the OIG would 
report on its operations and investigations directly to several 
independent entities, including the Legislature, and the 
reports would be public information. 
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	 Special prosecution unit. SB 103 would address the 
problem of alleged crimes at TYC not being prosecuted due 
to a lack of local prosecutorial resources. The bill would 
allow the state resources of the Special Prosecution Unit 
(SPU) to be used to prosecute criminal offenses that occur 
in TYC facilities, just as they are used to prosecute offenses 
in adult correctional facilities. SB 103 would help prevent 
TYC cases from falling through the cracks by requiring the 
appointment of a counsellor to have the direct responsibility 
for alleged crimes in TYC.

	 The bill would create another check and balance by 
authorizing the attorney general to offer assistance to 
prosecutors handling criminal offenses concerning TYC.

	 Office of the ombudsman. SB 103 would establish an 
ombudsman to create an independent entity focused on the 
needs of the youths. Currently, no one is charged explicitly 
with advocating for the youths, and the youths and their 
families often feel that they have nowhere to turn with their 
concerns. SB 103 would keep the lines of authority clear 
by limiting the investigatory powers of the office to non-
criminal cases that under SB 103 would be handled by the 
office of inspector general. 

Opponents said

	 Governing board. SB 103 should keep the current 
structure of a governor-appointed board overseeing 
agency operations. The problems plaguing the agency 
resulted from the structure of agency operations and the 
personnel appointed and hired to run the agency, not from 
the governance structure itself. The board and much of 
the staff who were in charge when the problems occurred 
have resigned or been terminated. SB 103 should keep the 
board structure, but set requirements for the qualifications 
of those appointed and allow a new board to implement the 
numerous improvements in the bill. 

	 Even temporarily changing the structure to a single 
governor-appointed commissioner would not ensure more 
oversight for TYC, but actually might diminish oversight 
because instead of a diverse board with six members, only 
one person would be in charge. The answer to the problems 
with the agency lies in more oversight rather than less. 

	 Misdemeanor offenses. Prohibiting the placement 
of misdemeanants at TYC would reduce the flexibility of 
judges to handle youths and would upset the sentencing 
dynamics in the state’s juvenile justice system. In 
many cases, although a youth may be adjudicated for a 
misdemeanor, factors such as their past crimes, the danger 

the child represents to the community, the child’s success 
in local programs, and their home and school situations can 
result in judges deciding that the TYC is the best place for 
them. 

	 Plea agreements could be reduced because prosecutors 
who want to keep the option of sending a youth to TYC 
would not be willing to agree to reduce a charge to a 
misdemeanor. This could translate into more felony charges 
and convictions. Crime could increase if youths realized that 
they could commit misdemeanors and not be sent to TYC. 

	 SB 103 could shift problems to the local level. Although 
new funding may be available this session for local 
probation departments to handle more youths, increased 
funding and shifts to local communities historically have not 
translated into permanently increased resources. 

	 Age limit. Requiring all 19-year-olds to be released 
or transferred to the adult system could have a negative 
impact on those youths who are best served at TYC where 
rehabilitation programs are more accessible than at TDCJ. 
Some youths still are immature at age 19 and face a better 
chance at rehabilitation if they can stay in the juvenile 
system. 

	 Reducing the age cap on youths would result in some 
youths having shorter stays at TYC even though they 
received long determinate sentences. This could influence 
judges to order the transfer of more of these youths to the 
adult system when they reached age 19 so that they would 
stay incarcerated. It also could increase the number of 
youths being certified to stand trial as adults if prosecutors 
wanted to ensure that older youths – 16-year-olds, for 
example – were locked up for a number of years.

	 Office of Inspector General. The OIG that would be 
established by SB 103 would not be far enough removed 
from TYC to ensure its independent and objective 
investigation of alleged crimes. This could result in a 
conflict of interest in which the office felt pressure not 
to raise issues that might place the board or agency in a 
bad light. To ensure the true independence of the office, 
the OIG should be appointed by an outside entity, and the 
appointment should be for a set term with removal only for 
specified reasons. 

Other opponents said

	 Governing structure. The important job of running 
TYC warrants a permanent,  independent, full-time 
professional, rather than a short-term commissioner who 
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gives up power to a volunteer board of lay persons in 2009. 
This system could result in a caretaker commissioner whose 
long-term authority was unclear. The current problems 
demonstrate the lack of accountability and oversight when 
no one has clear, continuing oversight of the agency.  

	 A permanent, professional commissioner would be 
the best way to focus responsibility for the agency and 
would make it clear whom to hold accountable. The public 
holds the governor responsible for the agency, and the 
governing structure should allow the governor to meet 
that responsibility by appointing the commissioner. This 
commissioner model is being implemented more often and 
has been successful in the state’s insurance and health and 
human service agencies.

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of the companion bill, HB 2807 
by Madden, appeared in Part One of the May 7 Daily Floor 
Report.
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SB 263 by Ellis
Died in House committee

Creating a Texas Innocence Commission

	 SB 263 would have created the Texas Innocence 
Commission to investigate thoroughly each post-conviction 
exoneration to: 

•	 discover errors and defects in the criminal 
procedures used in the case; 

•	 identify errors and defects in the criminal justice 
process; 

•	 develop solutions and methods to correct the errors 
and defects; and 

•	 identify procedures and programs to prevent future 
wrongful convictions. 

	 The commission would have had nine members serving 
two-year terms, as follows: 

•	 two appointed by the governor, including the dean 
of a law school and a law enforcement officer;

•	 one appointed by the lieutenant governor; 
•	 one appointed by the speaker of the House; 
•	 one judge appointed by the presiding judge of the 

Court of Criminal Appeals; 
•	 one professional in the forensic science field, 

appointed by the presiding officer of the Texas 
Forensic Science Commission;

•	 one prosecutor, appointed by the Texas District and 
County Attorneys Association; 

•	 one criminal defense lawyer, appointed by the 
Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association; and 

•	 one attorney representing an innocence project 
appointed, on a rotating basis, by the University of 
Texas School of Law, the University of Houston 
Law Center, and the Texas Tech University School 
of Law.

	 The commission would have been required to report 
its findings and recommendations to the governor, the 
lieutenant governor, and the speaker. The report would 
have been made available to the public on request, and 
the findings and recommendations could not have been 
used as binding evidence in a subsequent civil or criminal 
proceeding.

Supporters said 

	 SB 263 is necessary for Texas to address the problem 
of wrongful criminal convictions. In Texas, DNA testing 
has been used to help exonerate almost 30 people who were 
wrongfully convicted, and these and other cases of wrongful 
convictions should be studied to help prevent additional 
miscarriages of justice. The bill would establish a process 
to investigate cases in which innocent persons had been 
wrongfully convicted, identify what went wrong and why 
in those cases, and recommend changes to prevent wrongful 
convictions in the future. In addition to the burden placed on 
people convicted in error, a wrongful conviction may mean 
that a guilty person remains free, which is also a miscarriage 
of justice.

	 It is necessary to create a commission dedicated to 
investigating these cases because currently there is no 
institutional mechanism to do so. An innocence commission 
investigating cases would be similar to the way that 
transportation accidents are investigated by a national safety 
board. The Legislature would have the power to eliminate or 
revise the commission.

	 SB 263 would not lead to finger pointing or eliminating 
the death penalty. It is designed to identify causes of 
wrongful convictions and to prevent additional miscarriages 
of justice. Cases of wrongful conviction that do not involve 
DNA evidence or the death penalty deserve scrutiny just 
as much as the higher-profile cases. The bill would not be 
punitive and could not be used to establish criminal or civil 
liability for a person who was part of a wrongful conviction. 
The commission would not have subpoena power or any 
other authority that could be used against anyone involved 
in such a case.

Opponents said  

	 SB 263 would be a back-door way to erode the death 
penalty in Texas. If the goal of the bill is to study post- 
conviction exonerations and the criminal justice process in 
Texas, that could be accomplished in numerous ways under 
current law. 
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	 The bill would create a new bureaucracy biased toward 
eliminating the death penalty, focused only on negative 
aspects of criminal cases, and lacking the traditional 
adversarial process central to the criminal justice system. 
This could institutionalize opposition to the death penalty 
and allow public funds and the weight of the state to be used 
to further the political goal of eliminating the death penalty, 
an objective not shared by all Texans. Such a commission 
might be hard ever to abolish because governmental entities 
traditionally are difficult to eliminate and tend to grow in 
scope to justify their continued existence. 
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SB 378 by Wentworth
Effective September 1, 2007

Use of force or deadly force in self-defense

	 SB 378 creates a presumption of reasonableness for a 
person’s belief that the use of force or deadly force to protect 
the person is immediately necessary and therefore justified. 
The belief is presumed to be reasonable if:

•	 the actor knows or has reason to believe that the 
person against whom force or deadly force is used 
has unlawfully and with force entered or is trying 
to enter the person’s occupied home, vehicle, or 
work place; unlawfully and with force removes or 
is trying to remove the person from the person’s 
home, vehicle, or work place; or is trying to commit 
aggravated kidnapping, murder, sexual assault, 
aggravated sexual assault, robbery, or aggravated 
robbery;

•	 the actor did not provoke the person against whom 
force is used; and

•	 the actor is not engaged in criminal activity at 
the time force is used, other than a minor traffic 
violation.

	 An actor is not required to retreat from a person against 
whom force or deadly force is used if the actor has a right 
to be present at the location, has not provoked the person 
against whom the force is used, and is not engaging in 
criminal activity at the time. The failure to retreat may not 
be considered in determining whether an actor reasonably 
believed the use of force or deadly force was necessary. A 
defendant who uses force or deadly force that is justified by 
the bill is immune from civil liability for personal injury or 
death resulting from that defendant’s use of force or deadly 
force.

Supporters said

	 SB 378 would provide Texans with broader power to 
protect themselves. It would shift the burden from victims 
to aggressors by creating a presumption that a victim’s 
belief was reasonable that the use of force or deadly force 
was immediately necessary under certain circumstances 
and therefore justified. The expanded “castle doctrine” 
would protect people not only in their homes, but also 
in their vehicles and work places. In modern life, people 
spend more time in these places and should enjoy the same 
justifications for self-defense there that they enjoy at home. 

The bill also would return the law to what it was before 
1973, when Texas did not impose a duty to retreat in the 
face of an attack. In addition, protecting victims from civil 
liability would allow them to focus on defending themselves 
and their families instead of being concerned about potential 
lawsuits.

	 The bill would address organized crime and gang 
activity by explicitly stating that the right to stand your 
ground did not extend to those engaged in criminal activity, 
those who had provoked their attackers, or those who did 
not have a right to be present at the location where force was 
used.

Opponents said

	 SB 378 would be a solution in search of a problem 
because current law provides a good balance between a 
person’s right to self-defense and the value of human life. 
Under existing law, if a reasonable person is able to retreat, 
that person should do so, but people may resist deadly force 
with deadly force if they are unable to retreat. This rule 
avoids violence and conserves human life.

	 The bill would prevent a jury from considering 
reasonableness or proportionality, which could cause a 
miscarriage of justice as some thieves are intent only on 
committing property crimes, not on physically harming 
anyone. Texas juries historically have done a good job siding 
with property owners against home invaders, so no change 
in the law is necessary. Eliminating the duty to retreat also 
could increase the number of people who used deadly force 
and claimed it was justified by the provisions of the bill.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of the House companion bill, 
HB 284 by Driver, appeared in the March 19 Daily Floor 
Report. 
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SB 909 by Whitmire
Effective June 15, 2007

Continuing of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice

	 SB 909 continues the Texas Department of Criminal 
Justice (TDCJ) until September 1, 2011, and makes several 
changes to the laws governing the agency. It removes the 
Sunset date for the Correctional Managed Health Care 
Committee (CMHCC) but continues the committee and 
requires that it be reviewed during any review of TDCJ. 
The bill amends laws governing the Board of Pardons and 
Paroles, requiring it to review, update, and report on parole 
guidelines and to institute a process formally to identify and 
make recommendations about releasing some offenders 
early from parole supervision. 

	 Criminal Justice Legislative Oversight Committee. SB 
909 establishes the Criminal Justice Legislative Oversight 
Committee to provide objective research, analysis, and 
recommendations to guide state criminal justice policies. 
The committee has six members: the chairs of the Senate 
Criminal Justice Committee and the House Corrections 
Committee; two members of the Senate appointed by 
the lieutenant governor; and two members of the House 
appointed by the speaker of the House. The presiding 
officer is designated alternately by the lieutenant governor 
and the speaker, with the speaker appointing the first chair 
by January 15, 2008. The committee will examine the 
criminal justice system, including its cost-effectiveness, 
critical problems, and long-range needs. It will advise the 
Legislature and recommend policy priorities and problem-
solving strategies. 

	 MRIS for state jail felons. SB 909 authorizes judges 
to release from state jails certain state jail felons under the 
Medically Recommended Intensive Supervision (MRIS) 
program to a medically suitable placement. This is allowed 
if the judge finds the offender does not constitute a threat to 
public safety and is identified as elderly, physically disabled, 
mentally ill, terminally ill, or mentally retarded or as 
having a condition requiring long-term care. If released, the 
offender must be supervised and remain under a physician’s 
care in a medically suitable placement. 

	 Payment for overtime. TDCJ must pay employees for 
overtime worked at the same time they are paid for work at 
the regular rate for that month. 

	 Miscellaneous. The bill makes many other changes in 
the laws governing TDCJ, including requiring a feasibility 
study on relocating the Central Prison Unit from Sugar Land 
to a location that more appropriately addresses the needs of 

the correctional system and requiring the agency to study the 
possibility of a prisoner exchange with foreign countries 

	 Correctional managed health care. SB 909 continues 
the CMHCC, which manages a statewide managed health 
care network for inmates, removes its individual Sunset 
date, and requires that its responsibilities be reviewed under 
the Sunset Act during any review of TDCJ.

	 The bill revises TDCJ’s role in monitoring health care 
by removing limits on the department’s monitoring activities 
and requiring it to monitor certain aspects of the quality of 
care delivered by providers. TDCJ must ensure that certain 
types of information about health care and the process for 
filing inmate grievances about health care are available to all 
inmates. 

	 Parole guidelines, early release from parole 
supervision. SB 909 requires the Board of Pardons and 
Paroles (BPP) to meet annually to review and discuss 
parole guidelines. Based on the review, the BPP may 
update the guidelines. The BPP annually must report to 
the newly created Criminal Justice Legislative Oversight 
Committee and legislative leaders on its application of the 
parole guidelines. SB 909 requires that when a parole board 
member or a parole commissioner deviates from parole 
guidelines, instead of making a brief written statement, 
they produce a written statement describing in detail the 
circumstances of the departure. The bill imposes a new 
requirement that the statement be provided to the inmate. 

	 SB 909 requires TDCJ to establish a system for 
recommending persons on parole and mandatory 
supervision for early release from supervision. Annually, 
parole officers must identify releasees who meet certain 
criteria and determine whether early release from parole 
would be appropriate. Parole officers must forward their 
recommendations to the regional parole supervisor, 
and if the regional parole supervisor approves the 
recommendation, the parole division must allow the releasee 
to serve the remainder of the sentence without supervision.

Supporters said

	 TDCJ should be continued, but the agency should be 
reviewed again in 2011 because of growth in the offender 
population, the significant changes being instituted in the 
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criminal justice system, and an increase of  $200 million 
for offender diversion and treatment programs appropriated 
by the 80th Legislature. In 2011 the Legislature should be 
able to evaluate the criminal justice system and decide if 
statutory changes are necessary, using studies done by the 
oversight committee created in the bill. 

	 Criminal Justice Legislative Oversight Committee. 
SB 909 would fill a gap in the information available to 
legislators by creating a legislative oversight committee to 
provide independent, objective information and analysis. 
Since the abolishment of the Criminal Justice Policy 
Council in 2003, no entity has filled its role in providing 
comprehensive and ongoing analysis of the criminal justice 
system for the Legislature. Creating the committee is 
warranted, given the size of the criminal justice system and 
the significant challenges it faces with prisons and many 
jails operating at capacity. Information provided by the 
Legislative Budget Board (LBB) and other entities does not 
provide objective, independent analysis of the system as a 
whole or include recommendations. 

	 MRIS for state jail felons. Because current law does 
not specifically allow state jail offenders to be released 
on medically recommended intensive supervision, judges 
often are reluctant to release them early for medical reasons. 
There is no reason to deny this option for state jail offenders 
when in some cases medical release would be warranted 
and release would save the state the costs of extraordinary 
medical care. 

	 Payment for overtime. Requiring TDCJ to pay 
employees soon after their overtime is earned would codify 
current agency policy. In January 2007, when the agency 
had 3,250 vacant correctional officer positions, it modified 
its overtime policies and began paying officers for their 
overtime in the next pay period instead of requiring them to 
bank 240 hours of overtime before receiving any payments. 
This policy could help retain correctional officers and is so 
important to employee retention and morale that it should be 
established in law so that it could not easily be changed. 

	 Correctional managed health care. SB 909 would 
update the CMHCC’s duties to better reflect its purpose 
in making decisions about health care delivery and would 
improve monitoring of inmate health care by removing a 
current restriction on TDCJ’s monitoring efforts. TDCJ 
needs more authority to monitor the health care system 
provided by the universities so that it can identify and 
address individual and systemic problems. 

	 Parole guidelines, early release from parole 
supervision. SB 909 would require the BPP to explain its 
efforts to meet parole guidelines so the Legislature could 
have more information about the board’s deviation from the 
guidelines. Focusing more attention on the guidelines could 
help the Legislature, the board, and the public determine 
if the parole process was adequately objective, consistent, 
flexible, and accountable. Requiring the updating of the 
guidelines annually would ensure that the guidelines best 
served the needs of the parole process.

	 Requiring parole decision makers to provide reasons 
for their departures from the guidelines would increase 
transparency and confidence in the process. This would not 
infringe on a parole panel’s discretion to make appropriate 
decisions because it would not be required to adhere to the 
guidelines and there would not be a penalty for failing to 
follow the guidelines.  

	 SB 909 would institute a formal system for parolees 
to be identified and assessed for early release from parole, 
because TDCJ does not use its current authority in this 
area. By facilitating the early release of some offenders, 
SB 909 would provide incentives for parolees to meet 
parole conditions, reduce parole supervision caseloads, and 
enhance public safety by allowing parole officers to focus 
on high-risk and newly released offenders who needed more 
intensive supervision. Under the system outlined in SB 909, 
offenders would be released early only from supervision, but 
they would not be formally discharged from parole, so their 
parole still could be revoked if warranted.

Opponents said 

	 TDCJ’s next date for Sunset review should be 2019, 
which would allow for the standard 12 years between 
agency reviews. The agency was reviewed by the Sunset 
Commission in 1987, 1999, and 2007. Having another 
review in 2011 would mean that it has been reviewed 
three times in 12 years. The Sunset Commission staff 
should focus their limited resources on other areas of state 
government in the next 12 years. Other entities, including 
the new oversight committee, are capable of evaluating 
trends in the criminal justice system.

	 Criminal Justice Legislative Oversight Committee. It 
is unnecessary to create a new entity to provide information 
about criminal justice matters because several entities now 
fill this need. These include the LBB, the criminal justice 
agencies, the state auditor, the newly created Criminal 
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Justice Statistical Analysis Center in the Governor’s Office, 
and the House and Senate committees with jurisdictional 
oversight of criminal justice agencies. 

	 MRIS. Before releasing a state jail felon on MRIS, 
judges should have to hold a hearing to allow prosecutors 
and the offender a chance to present evidence concerning 
the release. 

	 Payment for overtime. Statutorily requiring TDCJ to 
pay overtime would reduce the Legislature’s and agency’s 
flexibility to allocate its budget. Although TDCJ’s current 
overtime policies are in compliance with SB 909, in 2003 
the agency had to change its policy and restrict overtime 
payments due to budget constraints.

	 Parole guidelines, early release from parole 
supervision. Many of the requirements in SB 909 are 
unnecessary. The BPP already meets regularly to discuss its 
parole guidelines and reports on them in an annual report.

	 The requirement in SB 909 that the parole board 
describe in detail the specific circumstances of a departure 
from the parole guidelines would be difficult to meet. 
When votes are cast, parole board members do not know 
if they have exceeded the parole guideline percentages 
for that month, and this knowledge could lead to charges 

that the board members were voting to meet quotas for 
release. Parole decisions are made based on a number 
of factors, such as the type of crime, a person’s criminal  
history, the impact on victims, and public safety, and parole 
guidelines are just one tool. Decisions should continue to 
be made based on these factors without overly elevating the 
importance of the parole guidelines. 

	 SB 909 would institute a system in which TDCJ 
parole division staff, and not the parole board, could make 
decisions about releasing offenders early from parole 
supervision. Decisions to release offenders from supervision 
would better be made by the BPP, whose members are 
appointed by the governor.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 909 appeared in the May 18 
Daily Floor Report.

	 HB 431 by Madden, effective September 1, 2007, 
contains similar language authorizing the release of state jail 
offenders on medically recommended intensive supervision 
for state jail felons.
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SB 1655 by Ellis, Duncan
Died in the House

Creating office of capital writs for death penalty habeas corpus 
petitions

	 SB 1655 would have created a statewide office 
of capital writs. The office would have provided legal 
representation for indigent capital murder defendants who 
were sentenced to death and appointed counsel for a writ 
of habeas corpus, which is a type of legal challenge sought 
from a judgment that typically centers on constitutional 
rights, such as effectiveness of counsel or satisfactory 
disclosure of evidence by prosecutors, and may be filed in 
both state and federal court.

	 If an indigent defendant who had been sentenced to 
death desired the appointment of counsel for a writ of 
habeas corpus, the court would have been required to 
appoint the office of capital writs to represent the defendant, 
unless specific conditions in the bill were met. The office 
would have been prohibited from accepting an appointment 
if there were a conflict of interest, if the office had 
insufficient resources to provide adequate representation, 
if the office were incapable of providing representation in 
accordance with the rules of professional conduct, or if there 
were other good cause. 

	 If the office had not accepted the appointment or had 
been prohibited from accepting the appointment under the 
restrictions in the bill, the convicting court would have been 
required to appoint an attorney from a list of competent 
counsel that would have been maintained by the presiding 
judges of the judicial administrative regions, instead of 
being maintained by the Court of Criminal Appeals as under 
current law. 

	 The bill would have established a procedure for 
selecting the director of the office of capital writs. A five-
member committee appointed by the president of the State 
Bar of Texas with ratification by the executive committee of 
the State Bar would have been established. This committee 
would have had to submit to the Court of Criminal Appeals 
the names of persons whom it would recommend to be 
director of the office, and the court would have had to 
appoint the director from those on the list for a four-year 
term. The Court of Criminal Appeals could have removed 
the director only for good cause. 

Supporters said

	 SB 1655 would help ensure that competent attorneys 
were appointed to help indigent defendants with writs of 
habeas corpus for death sentences. Because of the finality 
of a death sentence, the state needs to do all it can to make 
the appeals process fair and just and to provide consistent 
representation throughout the state. 

	 The office of capital writs that would be created by SB 
1655 would be fundamentally different from the federally 
funded Texas resource center, which aided death row 
inmates with appeals and was closed in the mid-1990s. The 
resource center was funded almost entirely with federal 
money and was not a state agency. The office of capital writs 
would be a state agency subject to standard oversight and 
monitoring mechanisms, and any problems with the agency 
could be addressed at the state level. 

	 The office of capital writs would have a pool of talented 
professionals who could handle these highly technical, 
specialized cases. Current law requiring district courts to 
appoint attorneys from a list maintained by the Court of 
Criminal Appeals has resulted in the appointment of some 
lawyers who clearly are unqualified and inexperienced and 
some who have done substandard work. The current list 
of attorneys who may be appointed includes some serving 
probated suspensions of their licenses, some with no capital 
experience and no habeas corpus experience, some with 
mental illness, and some who have filed no cognizable 
claims. In addition, the work of the lawyers is not monitored 
or evaluated, so incompetent lawyers can continue to be 
appointed. This especially creates problems in habeas 
appeals because, in most situations, only one state habeas 
appeal is allowed, and a federal appeal can hinge on the 
quality and content of a state appeal.

	 Giving presiding judges in the administrative judicial 
regions the responsibility for the list of attorneys who could 
be appointed if there were a conflict of interest would 
improve the current system, in which the Court of Criminal 
Appeals maintains a list.  
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	 Having qualified and experienced lawyers working 
these writs would result in a more efficient and effective 
system for handling death penalty appeals. It would address 
the problem of incompetent attorneys wasting the resources 
of the criminal justice system by raising issues that were 
improper or by making other errors. It would be appropriate 
for SB 1655 to be limited to writs of habeas corpus because 
it is difficult to find competent attorneys to perform this 
challenging, technical, and specialized part of the death 
penalty appeals process.

	 SB 1655 also would go far in addressing the problem 
of compensation for attorneys currently appointed for these 
cases. In many cases, judges cap the compensation for these 
appointed attorneys at the state-funded level of $25,000, 
which is inadequate in almost every case. Also, courts 
sometimes deny claims for reimbursement for investigatory 
expenses. An office of professionals dedicated to this work 
could be compensated adequately through their salaries, 
and the office would have resources for investigations. 
According to the fiscal note, SB 1655 would cost the state 
in fiscal 2008-09 about $58,000 in addition to the $500,000 
currently spent for court-appointed habeas attorneys for 
capital writs. If necessary, the Legislature could revisit the 
issue of compensation after the office of capital writs had 
been in operation.

	 The bill would enact recommendations by the State 
Bar Task Force on Habeas Counsel Training and would put 
Texas in line with the vast majority of other death penalty 
states with publicly funded offices of specialized lawyers 
to handle these cases. It also would mirror the structure in 
many prosecutors’ offices that have divisions specializing in 
habeas corpus work. 

Opponents said

	 SB 1655 would establish a flawed system for providing 
representation of capital defendants for writs of habeas 
corpus. The statewide office of capital writs could turn into 
a publicly funded anti-death penalty office, similar to the 
federal death penalty resource centers that were abolished in 
the mid-1990s. This could institutionalize opposition to the 
death penalty and allow public funds and the weight of the 
state to be used to further the political goal of eliminating 
the death penalty, a goal not shared by all Texans. The 
current system, having courts appoint attorneys from a list 
maintained by the Court of Criminal Appeals, helps ensure 
that this does not occur.

Other opponents said 

	 SB 1655 would not go far enough to address the 
problems with appointed attorneys in capital cases. While 
the bill would help with writs of habeas corpus, which come 
at the very end of the process, it would be better to institute 
a statewide defender’s office or other reforms earlier in the 
process for trial and direct appeals.

	 SB 1655 also would not do enough to address the need 
for higher compensation for attorneys working on death 
penalty cases. Attorneys outside of the office of capital writs 
who were appointed to a case due to a conflict of interest 
still would be under the cap for cases and still could have 
requests for expenses denied. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1655 appeared in Part Two 
of the May 17 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 528 by Seliger, which died in the House, would 
have revised requirements for attorneys appointed to defend 
indigent criminal defendants in death penalty cases for both 
the trial and direct appeals. The bill would have established 
separate sets of requirements for trial attorneys and direct 
appeals attorneys in these cases. 

	 For appellate attorneys, instead of the requirement of 
having tried to verdict as lead defense counsel a significant 
number of felony cases, including homicide trials and other 
trials for offenses punishable as second- or first-degree 
felonies or capital felonies, SB 528 would have required the 
attorneys to have authored a significant number of appellate 
briefs, including appellate briefs for homicide cases and 
other cases involving capital felonies, first-degree felonies, 
or certain other serious and violent offenses.

	 SB 528 would have required that trial attorneys and 
appellate attorneys in death penalty cases not have been 
found by a federal or state court to have rendered ineffective 
assistance of counsel during the trial or appeal of any capital 
case unless the conduct underlying the finding failed to 
reflect accurately the attorney’s current ability to provide 
effective representation. The bill also would have removed 
the requirement for an appointed attorney to have at least 
five years of criminal litigation experience and replaced 
it with a requirement of at least five years of criminal law 
experience. 
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HB 218 by B. Brown
Died in the Senate

Requiring voters to present proof of identification

	 HB 218 would have required a voter to present to an 
election officer at the polling place a valid voter registration 
certificate and either one form of photo identification or two 
different forms of non-photo identification. The bill would 
have modified the list of acceptable proof of identification, 
specifying eight acceptable forms of photo ID and 11 
acceptable forms of non-photo ID. 

	 If the voter’s identity could have been verified from 
the documentation presented and the voter’s name was on 
the precinct list of registered voters, the voter could have 
proceeded to vote. A voter whose identity had been verified 
by the documentation presented could have proceeded to 
vote if the voter:

•	 had not presented a voter registration certificate but 
the voter’s name had appeared on the precinct list of 
registered voters; 

•	 had presented a correct voter registration certificate 
but the voter’s name had not appeared on the 
precinct list; or

•	 had presented a voter registration certificate 
showing registration in a different precinct and the 
voter’s name had not appeared on the precinct list, 
if the voter had sworn that the voter was a resident 
of the precinct and would vote only once in the 
election. 

	
	 A voter with or without a voter registration certificate 
who had not presented proof sufficient to meet the 
identification requirements would have been allowed to cast 
a provisional ballot. 

	 HB 218 would have prohibited the Department of 
Public Safety (DPS) from collecting a fee for a personal 
identification certificate issued to a person who stated that it 
was being obtained for the sole purpose of proof of identity 
for voting – as long as the person either was a registered 
voter in Texas who presented a valid voter registration 
certificate or was eligible to register and submitted a 
registration application to DPS. 

	 The presiding election judge would have posted in a 
prominent location outside of each polling place a list of 
the acceptable forms of photographic and non-photographic 
identification. The bill would have required election judges 
and clerks to receive training on the acceptance and handling 
of identification presented by voters.

Supporters said

	 HB 218 would protect and strengthen the electoral 
system by requiring voters to present identification at the 
polls. The bill would establish a uniform standard for voting 
at the polls, reduce voter fraud, bring voting in line with 
other transactions that require proper identification, and raise 
the bar in restoring confidence in elections. 

	 Stricter identification requirements would not impose an 
unreasonable burden on voters. The bill would allow many 
ways to fulfill the identification requirements and would not 
force anyone to bear great cost. Some people even would be 
eligible for a free identification card. 

	 HB 218 would protect the rights of citizens and serve 
as a reasonable precaution to prevent ineligible people 
from voting. Proper identification is necessary to ensure 
that voters are who they say they are, that voters cast only 
one ballot each, and that ineligible voters – including 
undocumented persons, felons, and people using the names 
of deceased voters – are not allowed to vote. 

	 Cheating at the polls makes a mockery of the electoral 
process and dilutes the votes of honest citizens. Even a 
small amount of fraud could tip a close or disputed election, 
and the perception of possible fraud contributes to low 
confidence in the system. Many activities in everyday life 
require the presentation of photo ID, including air travel and 
cashing checks. Society has adapted to these requirements 
and benefited from the safeguards they provide.	

Opponents said

	 The voter identification requirements in HB 218 would 
create substantial obstacles to voting for otherwise eligible 
voters that would inhibit voter participation and likely 
would disproportionately affect certain groups, including 
the elderly, minorities, and low-income voters. By placing 
an extra burden on voters and creating confusion among 
election officials and the public, the bill effectively would 
lead to the needless disenfranchisement of many voters. 

	 Claims that voter fraud makes it necessary to demand 
ID at the polls are not supported by evidence. In fact, the 
effect of stricter ID requirements would not be reduction of 
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voter fraud but the suppression of legitimate votes. While 
almost all voter fraud involves absentee and mail-in ballots, 
the bill would do nothing to make mail-in balloting more 
secure. Instead, it would attempt to address the nonexistent 
problem of voter impersonation at the polls. Evidence of 
such fraud is anecdotal at best, and the penalty for voter 
impersonation is a third-degree felony, a strong deterrent to 
anyone who might consider casting a dishonest vote. 

	 Voter identification requirements should be limited 
to the minimum needed to prevent duplicate registration 
and ensure eligibility. Texas already has taken steps to 
diminish the threat of fraud, including the implementation 
of requirements under the federal Help America Vote Act 
(HAVA). Current registration requirements are sufficient 
because registrants must swear they are U.S. citizens under 
penalty of perjury. Falsely claiming citizenship and voting 

fraud are federal offenses. Texas should attempt to curb 
voter fraud by vigorously prosecuting election fraud cases 
rather than hassle legitimate voters with unnecessary new 
requirements aimed at solving a nonexistent problem. 

Other opponents said

	 The provisions in the bill would be a major departure 
from current law, so a grace period of at least one election 
would be needed to educate election workers and voters. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 218 appeared in Part One 
of the April 23 Daily Floor Report. 



Page 44 House Research Organization

HB 556 by Hilderbran
Effective June 15, 2007

Exemption for disabled voter accessibility in certain elections

	 HB 556 exempts certain small counties and the 
political subdivisions within those counties from having 
to provide at least one voting station at each polling 
place that complies with federal Help America Vote Act 
(HAVA) requirements on accommodations for people with 
disabilities, unless the election is held jointly with another 
election in which a federal office is on the ballot. The 
exception is based on population criteria or on proof that 
the accommodation will create an undue burden. A county 
or political subdivision must file an application with the 
secretary of state no later than 90 days before an election to 
seek an exception from the requirements. 

	 A county with a population of less than 2,000 is exempt, 
but if a disabled voter requests reasonable accommodation 
by the 21st day before the election, the county must make 
reasonable accommodations for the person to vote. A 
county with a population of less than 5,000 must provide at 
least one voting station that meets the HAVA accessibility 
requirements on election day. A county with a population 
of less than 10,000 must provide at least one accessible 
voting station on election day and during early voting by 
personal appearance. A county with a population of less than 
20,000 that makes a showing that compliance constitutes 
an undue burden must provide an accessible voting station 
on election day and early voting by personal appearance 
and must provide a mobile voting station during early 
voting by personal appearance that meets the accessibility 
requirements.

	 Also, the secretary of state is authorized to reimburse 
political subdivisions for expenses incurred in conducting a 
special election that is held statewide. 

Supporters said

	 HB 556 would provide a balanced compromise between 
the disabled community and small political subdivisions 
that have experienced financial hardships in complying 
with voting accessibility requirements. It would reduce the 
burden on small counties and political subdivisions while 
maintaining the ability of disabled Texans to cast a secret 
ballot. 

	 Some small communities face significant financial 
hardships in complying with the HAVA requirement. 
At this point, the only voting system that complies with 
accessibility standards under federal law is the DRE, or 
direct recording electronic voting machine. These machines 
are extremely expensive and often unaffordable for small 
entities. 

	 While all counties in Texas are required to have 
electronic machines and received federal funding to make 
the initial purchase, continued funding for maintenance and 
operations is not available. The machines are expensive 
to program – a process also referred to as coding – which 
must be done for each election. Some counties do the 
coding themselves, while others do not have the resources 
to perform these duties and must pay a vendor to do it. 
Smaller political subdivisions, like cities, school districts, 
and MUDs, did not receive funding for the machines, and 
although some counties do hold joint elections, the expense 
often is passed on to the cities and school districts. Some 
small cities bought the voting machines, which increased 
the cost of their elections by thousands of dollars, only to 
find out that they have been under-used or not used at all. 
Others did not buy the machines but instead lease them from 
the counties. If there are not enough machines to go around, 
some are forced to spend money to buy them or risk being 
noncompliant. 

	 The bill would follow current ADA requirements by 
allowing exceptions for small entities that could prove a 
financial burden, yet still would require them to provide 
reasonable accommodations. Also, disabled voters always 
have the option of voting early by mail. 

Opponents said

	 The bill could undo many years of hard-fought efforts 
to secure voting rights for the disabled to have a chance to 
cast a private ballot. It would send a message that polling 
places no longer had to comply with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA) and could open the door for more 
local entities to become exempt because they did not want 
to pay for electronic voting systems. Some disabled voters 
would not be able to cast a private ballot, resulting in a city 
or county being vulnerable to ADA lawsuits. If someone 
arrived to vote and no accommodation were available, that 
person would have a legitimate ADA complaint.
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	 A large number of disabled voters are visually impaired, 
and this voting technology has benefited them the most 
by allowing them, for the first time in their lives, to vote a 
private ballot without having someone read it aloud to them. 
This includes the elderly who are losing their eyesight and 
voters who are unable to read. 

	 Also, the 20,000 population trigger is arbitrary and 
should be raised. There are still many small communities 
with slightly larger populations that would not be able to 
apply for an exemption to the HAVA voting accessibility 
requirement. 

Notes
	
	 Other bills to exempt small communities from 
accessible voting station requirements for certain elections 
were introduced during the 80th Legislature. HB 1031 by 
Chisum, which would have exempted political subdivisions 
with a population of less than 5,000, except for elections 
held jointly with another election in which a federal office 
was on the ballot, died in Senate committee. SB 1776 by 
Duncan, which contained many of the same provisions as 
HB 556 but would have provided specific requirements for 
political subdivisions located in more than one county, died 
in the House.  
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HB 626 by P. King
Died in Senate Committee

Proving U.S. citizenship to register to vote

	 HB 626, as passed by the House, would have required 
that, when registering to vote, a U.S. citizen by birth provide 
the city, county, state, and country of that applicant’s birth 
and a naturalized citizen provide the city, state, and year 
of taking the naturalization oath or the applicant’s alien 
registration number.  

	 Using the applicant’s information regarding citizenship 
by birth or naturalization, the voter registrar would have had 
to verify with the secretary of state that the applicant was 
a U.S. citizen. The secretary of state would have adopted 
rules and entered into any necessary agreements to verify an 
applicant’s citizenship. An applicant whose citizenship could 
not be verified would have been able to execute an affidavit 
stating that the applicant was a U.S. citizen. The affidavit 
would have created a rebuttable presumption that the 
applicant was a U.S. citizen. HB 626 would have prohibited 
a notary public from charging a fee for notarizing the 
affidavit required to verify citizenship for a voter registration 
application.

Supporters said

	 HB 626 would ensure that voting was a right reserved 
only for U.S. citizens as established by the U.S. and Texas 
Constitutions. It simply would require that those registering 
to vote include the city, county, state, and country of their 
birth, if the applicants were citizens by birth, or the city, 
state, and year of taking a naturalization oath or their alien 
registration number, if they were naturalized citizens. HB 
626 would safeguard the foremost democratic right, the right 
to vote, from gaps in Texas election laws and procedures.  

	 Throughout Texas, applicants who check “yes” to the 
question of citizenship on voter registration applications 
simply are taken at their word. The Office of the Secretary 
of State, which oversees the administration of elections, 
conducts no formal verification of a voter registration 
applicant’s citizenship status. In a letter dated June 15, 2006, 
the Secretary of State’s Office wrote that Texas relies on 
the applicant to provide accurate, truthful information on a 
voter registration application and that, to the extent that an 
applicant must sign the application verifying qualifications 
to register, including U.S. citizenship, the application is 
processed on those merits. Such an admission is sufficient 
basis for legislative action to assure that only those eligible 
are allowed to register to vote.  

	 Under the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA), 
the secretary of state, as of January 1, 2006, checks voter 
registration applications against driver’s license numbers, 
DPS-issued personal identification numbers, and Social 
Security numbers. While this procedure can serve to 
authenticate the name and address of an applicant, it does 
not prevent foreign nationals from registering to vote 
because both Texas driver’s licenses and Social Security 
numbers are available to non-citizens. A DPS driver’s 
license application provides a place to check citizenship 
status, but the agency does not verify the information.   

	 In June 2006, the Harris County tax assessor-collector 
and voter registrar testified before the U.S. House 
Administration Committee that he identified at least 35 non-
citizens who either applied for or received voter registration 
cards. Since 1992, the Harris County registrar has cancelled 
3,742 registered voters for non-citizenship. Officials in 
Harris County discovered non-citizens on the voter rolls 
when the district clerk received returned jury summons 
from people who were on the voter rolls but claimed not to 
be citizens and ineligible for jury service. Incidents such as 
these provide compelling reasons to address the problem of 
non-citizens successfully registering to vote. 

	 HB 626 would be consistent with efforts in other states 
to secure the registration and voting process. Even a few 
fraudulent votes can make a difference, and elections can 
be won and lost by a handful of votes. In November 2004, 
voters in Arizona approved a statewide ballot initiative, 
Proposition 200, requiring all applicants who register to 
vote to prove their citizenship and present identification 
at polling places. The National Commission on Federal 
Election Reform, chaired by former President Jimmy Carter 
and former Secretary of State James Baker, recommended 
requiring a national voter ID card with a photograph and 
confirmation of U.S. citizenship.   

Opponents said

	 HB 626 would create an additional impediment to 
voting, impose an onerous burden in trying to solve a 
problem that does not exist, and end up creating new 
problems. The 2000 Census information for Texas recorded 
1,985,316 non-citizens out of 20,851,820 people, or 9.5 
percent. HB 626 would impose greater difficulties on 
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the 90.5 percent of people in the state who are citizens, 
particularly naturalized citizens and citizens born in states 
other than Texas or overseas of U.S. parents.    

	 The bill’s requirement that the secretary of state verify 
citizenship would be costly – an estimated $21.2 million 
in fiscal 2008-09 – and impractical. No federal or state 
agency maintains a comprehensive database of U.S. citizens. 
Verification of citizenship as directed by HB 626 would 
result in expensive cross-checks with the Texas Bureau of 
Vital Statistics, the U.S. Citizen and Immigration Services 
SAVE (Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements) 
program, and vital records bureaus of the 49 other states.    

	 There is no reliable evidence of non-citizens 
intentionally voting illegally in Texas. In election contests, 
parties must prove by clear and convincing evidence that 
specific voters were ineligible and voted fraudulently. 
While there is evidence of ineligible felons voting illegally 
before the 75th Legislature in 1997 last changed those 
requirements, in the last 30 years no incontrovertible 
evidence has emerged in Texas for a non-citizen voting, 
except one. In 2005, in the Heflin v. Vo election contest, 
a non-citizen, a Norwegian living in Katy, voted in the 
November 2004 election even though he was not a 
U.S. citizen. He said he did not recall registering, but an 
application on file in the Harris County registrar’s office 
appeared to bear his signature with a check that he was not 
a citizen. The Harris County registrar acknowledged that 
his office erred in giving the non-citizen a voter card and 
the vote was not counted. In the report and findings of the 
master in that case, the summary said that the contestant had 
produced no evidence of intentional voter fraud affecting 
the final vote tally to his detriment. No amount of required 
documentation would eliminate clerical error, and HB 626 
would not fix such a problem. 

	 Under current law, voter registration applicants must 
mark their citizenship status under penalty of perjury and 
must sign a statement that they understand that giving false 
information to procure voter registration is perjury and could 
result in jail time of up to 180 days, a fine up to $2,000, or 
both. The applicant also could be subject to imprisonment 
of up to three years or a fine of $250,000, or both, under 
federal law. These penalties, plus having to make an oath as 
to citizenship, would seem sufficient to keep non-citizens 
from registering and voting illegally in Texas. The current 
provision to affirm citizenship on a voter registration 
application is the legal equivalent of executing an affidavit, 
which HB 626 would mandate, but more practical for both 
the applicant and election officials.  

	 Evidence of an occasional non-citizen registering has 
surfaced, but usually due to an over-zealous volunteer 
registrar and an unaware applicant. The non-citizen 
ultimately is stopped short of voting illegally. Non-citizens 
generally are the least likely to vote because they want to 
remain “under the radar” if they are in the country illegally. 
A violation could lead to more charges and deportation. 

	 The Carter-Baker Commission’s recommendations 
include requiring that a federal voter ID card (with 
the voter’s photograph) be issued free of charge. The 
recommendations also would mandate every state to have 
an active recruitment program to locate people who were 
not registered and give them a voter identification card. The 
report stated that voter registration and address changes 
should be made easier, and this bill would directly contradict 
that goal. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 626 appeared in Part One 
of the April 23 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 2017 by Giddings
Died in the Senate

Moving the primary election date to the first Tuesday in February

	 HB 2017 would have changed the presidential primary 
and general primary date to the first Tuesday in February 
and the runoff primary election date to the second Tuesday 
in March. The filing deadline for placement on the general 
primary election ballot would have been not later than 6 
p.m. on November 15 in the odd-numbered year preceding 
the general primary election day, and the application for 
filing would have begun after 8 a.m. on October 15 in that 
odd-numbered year.  

	 The bill would have added a provision to the current 
requirements for a candidate’s application for a place on the 
ballot to include a statement that the candidate was aware of 
the provisions of Texas Constitution, Art. 16, sec. 65, which 
relate to automatic resignation from certain county and 
district offices upon announcement of candidacy for another 
office.  

	 The bill would have specified that an application for a 
place on the ballot for the general primary election had to 
be challenged for compliance not later than the 15th day 
after the filing deadline. A candidate in the general primary 
election could have been declared ineligible not later than 15 
days after the date of the regular filing deadline. 

	 A candidate would not have been able to withdraw from 
the general primary election after the second day following 
the regular filing deadline. The bill would have created 
other deadlines relating to a deceased applicant and an 
applicant who sought the office of a withdrawn, deceased, or 
ineligible candidate.  

	 HB 2017 would have required the county and senatorial 
district conventions to be held on the fourth Saturday in 
March after general primary election day, unless that date 
fell during Passover or the day after Good Friday, in which 
case the conventions would have been held the following 
Saturday.  

Supporters said

	 HB 2017 would move up the presidential primary 
election and the general primary election from the first 
Tuesday in March to the first Tuesday in February to allow 
Texans to have meaningful input in choosing the presidential 

nominees for both major political parties. The bill represents 
a bipartisan effort among House members, the Texas 
Democratic Party, and the Republican Party of Texas. 

	 Texas should play a significant role in the presidential 
nominating process because of the size of its delegate 
pool. The state has the second-highest delegate total to 
the Republican National Convention and the third-highest 
total of delegates to the Democratic National Convention. 
We should not place our delegates in a mostly symbolic 
role by keeping the presidential primary in March, when 
the presidential nomination likely already will have been 
decided.

	 The demographic composition of this state is what 
the country will look like in 20 years, but primary states 
resembling the past determine the future of our nation. 
We should not continue to yield the interests of Texas to 
unrepresentative states like New Hampshire, Iowa, and 
South Carolina.

	 Advancing the primary date by only a month would not 
inconvenience candidates or give incumbents an advantage. 
Challengers usually are prepared to run long before the 
filing date, whenever it may be. Separating the presidential 
and general primary dates as some states do would be 
prohibitively expensive, and it also could mean that those 
who voted in the presidential primary for one party would 
be barred from voting for state and local candidates in the 
other party’s primary in a subsequent election. Shifting the 
primary dates back and forth between presidential and non-
presidential years also would cause voter confusion.

Opponents said 

	 Because as many as 23 states representing more than a 
majority of convention delegates could choose their party’s 
presidential nominee on February 5, 2008, HB 2017 could 
cause that primary date to become a national referendum 
and give too much of an advantage to the front-running 
candidates who are better known and better financed. With 
so many large states, including California and New York, 
conducting presidential primaries on one day, candidates 
could not campaign in the “retail” fashion associated with 
early presidential primaries, making personal appearances 
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and engaging in single-state debates. Instead, the proposed 
February 5 primary would be more like a de facto general 
election, with candidates having to rely more heavily on 
television advertising and direct mail to reach voters. The 
candidate with the most campaign money would have 
the biggest advantage – even more than is customary in a 
presidential primary. 

	 Several nationally recognized presidential campaign 
experts and pundits for both political parties concur that the 
concentration of such a large number of states conducting 
presidential primaries on February 5 could have the opposite 
effect of the one intended. A February 5 “super duper” 
Tuesday could make the outcome of earlier primaries in 
states like Iowa and New Hampshire even more significant 
because voters would not have adequate time to assess 
candidates and could be influenced more easily by the 
national media and voter sway in these earlier state 
primaries and caucuses. Another scenario would be that 
no single candidate could emerge on the first Tuesday in 
February. Quite possibly, two well-funded front runners 
could be deadlocked after February 5, giving Texas a crucial 
role in determining the nominee in March. 

	 An early February primary would make the period 
before the general election of unprecedented length – nine 
full months, in which candidates would have a hard time 
avoiding voter apathy. Such a long campaign could give 
the advantage to better-funded incumbents, especially 
as challengers would have to compete for attention with 
holiday distractions during much of the primary campaign.  
Candidates seeking office would have to file almost a year 
before the general election. During the long period before 
the general election, new issues could emerge, yet voters 
could choose only from candidates chosen in primaries nine 
months earlier.

	 Residency for candidates for the Legislature is 
determined as of one year before the general election. Under 
current law, a candidate has to establish residency before 
filing because the filing period begins in early December, 
less than a year before the general election. By allowing 
candidates to file beginning October 15 of an odd-numbered 
year, a candidate could file to run in any district simply 
by declaring residency intent as of the date of the filing 
deadline. As long as the candidate maintained residency 
from a year before the general election, a residency 
challenge could be difficult to sustain.  

Other opponents said 

	 A sound alternative to moving both the presidential 
primary and the party primaries to the first Tuesday in 
February would be to have split primary election dates. 
Most of the states that have enacted or are considering 
a presidential primary election on the first Tuesday in 
February have dual primaries and choose their party 
nominees for Congress and state and local offices at a 
later date closer to the general election. If the Legislature 
wanted the presidential primary moved up, nothing would 
prevent setting the general primary election at a later date. 
The overall benefit to the voting public and the state would 
outweigh any cost considerations.    

Notes      

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2017 appeared in the April 
12 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 12 by Hilderbran
Generally effective June 15

Funding and jurisdiction of TPWD and Historical Commission

	 HB 12 amends the Texas Historical Commission’s 
Sunset statute to continue the commission until September 1, 
2019, and requires the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
(TPWD) to transfer 18 historic sites to the commission by 
January 1, 2008. The bill requires 6 percent of sporting 
goods sales tax collections each biennium to be credited to 
the Historical Commission in the newly established Historic 
Site Account, which can be used to administer, operate, 
preserve, repair, expand, or maintain those historic sites. 
To aid in the transition, the bill requires the commission to 
prepare a base operating plan for each historic site before 
initiating a transfer and a management plan filed each 
legislative session about upcoming maintenance and funding 
priorities. This bill also includes protections for existing 
employees after the transfer.

	 The bill allows the Historical Commission to establish 
fees at all historic sites under its jurisdiction; accept grants 
and donations; and enter into agreements with non-profit 
entities for the expansion, renovation, management, 
operation, or financial support of any site.

	 The bill revises the dedication of revenue from the 
sporting goods sales tax to TPWD. The bill requires that 74 
percent of the $32 million from the sporting goods sales tax 
annually credited to TPWD go to the State Parks Account. 
Ten percent of the tax will go to the newly established Large 
County and Municipal Recreation and Parks Account, 15 
percent to the Texas Recreation and Parks Account that 
benefits smaller counties and municipalities, and 1 percent 
to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Conservation and Capital 
Account. The bill also creates a joint legislative task force 
to review funding of TPWD from the sporting goods sales 
tax and to provide recommendations to more evenly match 
revenue from the tax with the needs of the agency.

	 TPWD must comply with recommendations made 
by the State Auditor’s Office, including certain park 
management-related provisions, annual equipment reviews, 
evaluation of its facility reservation system, and an 
assessment of whether maintenance tasks can be done more 
cost effectively by a third-party contractor. TPWD may 
use inmate labor, sell livestock, establish variable facility 
and lodging fees, establish on-site speed limits, and work 
to enhance revenues based on suggestions made by the 
Legislative Budget Board (LBB). 
 

	 The bill establishes a legislative task force to review 
the use and appropriation of the sporting goods sales tax. 
In addition, it includes various parks and wildlife-related 
measures, including: 

•	 physical fitness standards for law enforcement 
officers (also in SB 1722 by Ogden, effective 

	 September 1, 2007); 
•	 the nuisance or noxious aquatic vegetation program 

(HB 2001 by Creighton); 
•	 the regulation of party boats (SB 997 by Watson); 
•	 regulating the power to take or unload fish (HB 

3765 by O’Day, effective September 1, 2007); 
•	 giving preferential consideration to parks programs 

with matching funds (SB 1848 by Duncan); 
•	 permits for the possession or transport of non-

indigenous snakes (HB 1309 by Hilderbran, 
generally effective September 1, 2007); and

•	 hunting of raptors from public rights-of-way (HB 
2414 by Isett). 

Supporters said

	 HB 12 would protect and honor the state’s most 
valuable historic sites. TPWD handles many different tasks, 
including the management of statewide recreation, hunting, 
fishing, coastal preservation, natural resource preservation, 
and historic site maintenance. TPWD has done an admirable 
job with historic sites in the past, but the Texas Historical 
Commission is the logical agency to manage the state’s 
historic sites because its mission is to protect the state’s 
architectural, archeological, and cultural landmarks. 

	 The bill further would develop Texas historic sites as 
optimum cultural and tourist attractions. Heritage tourism 
currently is the third-largest segment of the travel industry, 
and in recent years, the marketing of historic sites has 
changed from a focus on single sites to a decentralized 
historic program that provides a more complete picture of an 
entire region. By transferring historic sites to the Historical 
Commission, HB 12 would enable the agency to develop a 
distinct franchise for Texas Heritage Tourism. One example 
of the commission’s success includes the Texas Main Street 
Program, which helps revitalize historic downtown and 
neighborhood commercial districts by using preservation 
and economic development strategies. To date, the Main 
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Street Program has resulted in the private reinvestment 
of more than $860 million in Texas downtowns and 
commercial districts, created more than 18,200 jobs, and 
established more than 4,600 new businesses. 

	 The Historical Commission has a proven track record 
for assuring better visibility and user experiences that 
have created financial benefits, especially in rural Texas, 
where park fees, lodging, food, and related travel expenses 
contribute greatly to the local tax base. The bill would 
ensure that the commission could provide improved historic 
site services by creating the Historic Sites Fund, requiring 
the commission to develop a base operating plan before 
transferring a site, and dedicating additional revenue to 
benefit historic sites. 

	 Along with the substantial increase in TPWD funding 
under HB 1 by Chisum, the general appropriations act, 
HB 12 would provide much-needed support to TPWD. 
Further, the bill would establish a legislative task to study 
the issue of TPWD funding via the sporting goods sales 
tax to ensure that these funds are collected fairly and that 
the tax adequately supports the needs of the state’s parks 
system. The bill would take into consideration several of 
the issues concerning TPWD operations raised in the state 
auditor’s report and the LBB report. By instituting these 
best practices, HB 12 would ensure greater efficiency and 
improve the profit potential at TPWD sites.

Opponents said

	 This bill would mandate unnecessarily the transfer 
of historic sites from TPWD to the Texas Historical 
Commission. TPWD already can transfer sites by 
interagency agreements that would ensure both agencies 
developed a public plan of action. At this time, there has 
been no public input, study, or evaluation to suggest a 
cost savings or operational benefit would result from 
transferring 18 historic sites to the Historical Commission. 
A recent Sunset Advisory Commission review did not 
make such a recommendation, nor has there been a 
feasibility study on transferring these 1,604 acres, which 

include 100 archaeological sites. This transfer would result 
in a significant duplication of efforts, with both TPWD 
and the commission engaging in recreational activities, 
archeological programs, and natural resource management. 
The LBB found that it costs the TPWD $5 million to operate 
these 18 sites annually, while the Historical Commission is 
estimating an annual cost of $7 million and a one-time repair 
and restoration budget of $34 million.

	 HB 12 would transfer historic sites to an agency with 
no experience in facility operations and management. While 
the commission points to the success of the Courthouse 
Restoration program, the Main Street program, and the 
Heritage Trail program, none of these programs included 
site operation and management. Rather, all of these 
programs were marketing and grant-making projects of 
the Historical Commission that depended on the operation 
and management of sites by local jurisdictions. In addition, 
many of the historic sites being proposed for transfer do 
not have robust non-profit organizations that could provide 
ample operation and management support.

	 HB 12 would miss an important opportunity to ensure 
that the entire balance of the State Parks Account accruing 
from the sporting goods sales tax went to its intended 
purpose of supporting Texas’ system of public parks. In 
recent years, TPWD has been denied the full amount of the 
$32 million from the sporting goods sales that goes into 
this account, leading to well-publicized problems with the 
upkeep and maintenance of Texas’ parks system. Diversion 
of sporting goods sales tax revenue violates the principle of 
truth-in-taxation, because tax dollars ostensibly collected 
for the benefit of the state parks system have not been 
supporting that function. HB 12 at least should require that 
the full balance of the State Parks Account go to the agency, 
if not lift the $32 million cap entirely to ensure that TPWD 
received adequate funding from the sporting goods sales tax.

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 12 appeared in Part One of 
the May 2 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 3732 by Hardcastle/HJR 93 by Chisum 
HB 3732 Effective September 1, 2007/HJR 93 Died in Senate Committee

Implementation of advanced clean energy projects 

	 HB 3732 establishes the advanced clean energy project 
grant and loan program, to be administered by the State 
Energy Conservation Office (SECO). A dedicated account 
is to be created in the general fund, and each biennium it 
will receive roughly $30 million in general revenue funds 
and any future general obligation bond revenues that may 
be issued to the fund by the Texas Public Finance Authority. 
SECO can provide up to $20 million per biennium in private 
sector matching grants and no more than $10 million for 
loans.

	 The bill defines an “advanced clean energy project” as 
one that:

•	 uses coal, biomass, petroleum coke, or solid waste 
in generating electricity, process steam, or industrial 
projects, including gasification, and creating 
liquid fuels, hydrogen for fuel cells, and other co-
products;

•	 reduces sulfur dioxide emissions by 99 percent;
•	 reduces mercury emissions by 95 percent;
•	 maintains a nitrogen oxide (NOx) emission rate 

of no more than 0.05 pounds per million British 
Thermal Units (lbs/MMBTU); and

•	 captures, sequesters, or abates carbon emissions.

	 The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
(TCEQ) will have 18 months from the date of accepting 
an application to issue or deny the applicant a permit, with 
a three-month extension allowed. Applicants will not have 
to prove that the technology proposed for use in the project 
is commercially feasible, and emission rate requirements 
cannot be set based on existing facilities that are operating 
with the help of advanced clean energy project incentives. 
TCEQ will establish a non-exclusive list of pollution-control 
facilities, devices, or methods that will have to be updated 
at least once every three years. If the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) adopts a final rule or regulation 
considering carbon dioxide a pollutant, the program will 
cover capture and sequestration technology. In addition, 
TCEQ and SECO must publish a joint report every four 
years evaluating the implementation, effectiveness, and 
continuation of the advanced clean energy program. 

	 The bill also includes additional tax benefits for: 

•	 operators of facilities, devices, or other methods of 
controlling pollution; 

•	 enhanced oil recovery projects that make use of 
sequestered carbon dioxide; and 

•	 sellers of electricity generated by an advanced clean 
energy project.

	 HJR 93 proposed two constitutional amendments that 
would have authorized issuance of up to $250 million in 
general obligation bonds for incentives to use carbon-free 
hydrogen technologies and up to $250 million in general 
obligation bonds and credit enhancement agreements for 
incentives to use advanced clean energy technologies.

Supporters said

	 HB 3732 would promote and support the development 
of advanced clean energy projects and technology. As 
the demand for electric power grows and the drawbacks 
associated with carbon-based fuels become more apparent, 
Texans have increasingly called for more environmentally 
clean technologies. Many of the technologies associated 
with advanced clean energy still are in the experimental 
stage and require grant support for the initial start-up costs 
associated with research, development, and large-scale 
implementation. To that end, HB 3732 would provide a mix 
of financial, tax, and regulatory incentives to encourage 
businesses to develop advanced clean energy projects in the 
state.

	 The bill would streamline the permitting process for 
advanced clean energy projects. One of the chief stumbling 
blocks to getting innovative technologies on line is the 
administrative uncertainty associated with obtaining an 
energy project permit. While energy plants should be 
subjected to public scrutiny, the state has a vested interest 
in providing a more predictable turn-around time for those 
plants that ultimately will reduce emissions.

	 The bill would uphold the highest clean-energy 
standards currently recommended. In the Energy Policy 
Act of 2005, the federal government set clean coal power 
emissions goals for 2020. HB 3732 would create incentives 
for projects that met or exceeded those goals up to 12 years 
early. While other clean-energy technologies exist, the 
bill would aim to improve the efficiency of coal, biomass, 
and solid waste technologies because they are cheap and 
abundant sources of energy that will be a part of the power 
grid for the foreseeable future.
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	 Rather than creating a financial hardship for the state, 
HB 3732 would spawn more economic development. In 
much the same way that solar and wind projects receive 
subsidies to be competitive and develop cleaner sources 
of energy, clean coal technology is expensive and will 
require some public subsidy to be sold on the market and 
developed on a large scale. The bill would motivate private 
businesses to locate advanced clean energy projects in the 
state, which would create jobs and generate additional tax 
revenue. While the initial plants would be experimental and 
therefore would produce energy at a higher rate per kilowatt-
hour, these technologies eventually will no longer require 
subsidies as they become commercially viable and costs 
decrease.

Opponents said

	 This bill proposes an emission standard for NOx that 
would be too low. While HB 3732 would use the minimum 
2020 standards recommended by the federal Energy Policy 
Act of 2005, current coal plants across the state already 
are meeting these standards. In fact, this bill would set the 
NOx emission standard for advanced clean energy at 0.05 
lbs/MMBTU, which is no cleaner than the average coal 
plant operating in Texas today. In contrast, research by 
the EPA and projects currently being proposed in the state 
suggest that advanced clean energy projects could achieve 
a NOx emission standard of 0.02 lbs/MMBTU. Also, this 
bill would allow businesses to secure tax exemptions before 
actually proving that their projects would have a positive 
environmental impact. By setting such a low emissions 
standard, this bill could have the unintended consequence 
of subsidizing business as usual rather than stimulating 
technological innovation. 

	 The bill would sacrifice accountability by fast-
tracking the permitting process. The proposed 18-month 
application schedule would be too compressed and would 
leave little time for public input. The governor recently 
tried to fast-track coal plants on an 18-month schedule, 
which encountered public resistance. To meet such an 
aggressive permitting timeline, TCEQ would have to focus 
staff resources on these applications rather than on other 
environmental issues affecting the state. HB 3732 would 
represent an unfunded mandate for TCEQ and instead 
should provide the agency with enough time thoroughly to 
examine each permit request to ensure the plants were the 
best value for taxpayers.

	 There is no clear reason to provide the incentives 
proposed by this bill. Texans have made it clear that they 
want more environmentally clean technologies. To meet 
that need, the private market will respond to consumer 
demand and the stricter federal regulations on air pollution 
that are sure to follow. Two coal gasification plants currently 
are being proposed in Texas, without the benefit of the 
incentives proposed by this bill. In addition, TCEQ currently 
may offer tax incentives for pollution-control projects. 
Due to the experimental nature of advanced clean energy 
technology, the state should not put taxpayers at risk by 
investing $30.2 million per fiscal biennium in projects that 
are not yet commercially viable. Further, like any spending 
program, this budget would not be a fixed cost but likely 
would grow over time. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3732 appeared in Part Two 
of the April 25 Daily Floor Report. The HRO analysis of 
HJR 93 appeared in Part Two of the May 7 Daily Floor 
Report.	

	 Three bills would have funded the proposals authorized 
by HJR 93. In addition to HB 3732 by Hardcastle, HB 2972 
and HB 2970 by Chisum would have provided incentives 
for a hydrogen energy loan program and hydrogen-powered 
vehicles, but both died in the House.
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SB 3 by Averitt
Effective September 1, 2007

Water resources development and management

	 SB 3 makes numerous changes to the management of 
Texas’ water resources.

	 Environmental flows. SB 3 creates an administrative 
process to determine the environmental flow needs in 
Texas’ rivers, bays, and estuaries. The bill requires (Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) to:

•	 determine the environmental flow standards that are 
necessary to support the ecological environment of 
each river basin and bay system in the state;

•	 establish an amount of unappropriated water to 
be set aside to satisfy the environmental flow 
standards; and

•	 create a process for reducing the amount of water 
available under a water rights permit in order to 
protect environmental flows. This provision applies 
only to a permit approved after the bill’s effective 
date.

	 After determining environmental set-asides in basins 
with unappropriated water rights, TCEQ may not grant an 
appropriation of water that interferes with those set-asides. 
After an environmental flow set-aside has been determined, 
any new water permit or new amendment to an existing 
water right increasing the size of that water right must 
include conditions for the protection of the environmental 
flow set-asides.

	 TCEQ will take these actions in response to 
recommendations from advisory groups operating in an 
administrative process created under the bill. Four new 
types of entities will contribute to the administrative process 
established under SB 3:

•	 an environmental flows advisory group;
•	 an environmental flows science advisory 

committee;
•	 environmental flows stakeholders committees for 

each river basin and bay system in the state; and
•	 expert science teams for each river basin and bay 

system in the state.

	 In adopting environmental flow standards for a river 
basin and bay system, TCEQ will consider multiple criteria, 
including recommendations and information provided by 
these entities.

	 The bill prohibits TCEQ from issuing a new permit for 
instream flows dedicated to environmental needs or bay 
and estuary inflows. TCEQ may approve an application to 
amend a permit or certificate of adjudication to change a use 
to environmental needs or bay and estuary inflows.

	 The bill creates a nine-member environmental flows 
advisory group made up senators, representatives, and state 
environmental agency board members. Through studies 
and public hearings, the advisory group will examine the 
balance between the water needs of Texas’ population 
and the protection of environmental flows of the state’s 
river, bay, and estuary systems. By December 1, 2008, and 
every two years thereafter, the advisory group must issue 
a report summarizing its activities, including proposed 
legislative changes and documenting progress in developing 
environmental flow regime recommendations initiated under 
the bill.

	 The bill also establishes the environmental flows 
science advisory committee to aid the environmental 
flows advisory group’s evaluation of environmental 
flows. For each river basin and bay system in the state, the 
environmental flows advisory committee will appoint a river 
basin and bay area stakeholders committee that reflects a 
balance of interest groups concerned with environmental 
flows in the basin. Each river basin and bay system 
stakeholders committee will develop recommendations 
regarding environmental flow standards and strategies. 
Those recommendations will be submitted to TCEQ and to 
the environmental flows advisory group.

	 A new permit or amendment to an existing water right 
that would increase the amount of water that could be taken 
will have to provide for the protection of environmental 
flows. After an expedited public comment process, an 
adjustment may be made by TCEQ if such an adjustment 
was required to comply with environmental flow standards.

	 Taken with any other adjustments by TCEQ, an 
adjustment to a permit for compliance with environmental 
flow standards may not increase the amount of water 
taken for protection of environmental flows by more than 
12.5 percent of the annualized amount of that requirement 
contained in the permit. For an amended water right, no 
more than 12.5 percent of the annualized total of the amount 
of the increase in the water authorized under the amended 
right may be taken for protection of environmental flows.
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	 A water-right holder will receive credit for contributing 
water for the benefit of environmental flows against an 
adjustment considered by TCEQ. Water that had been set 
aside by TCEQ to meet environmental flow needs may 
used temporarily for other essential needs in the event of an 
emergency.

	 Reservoir designation. SB 3 designates the 19 sites 
recommended in the 2007 state water plan as having 
unique value for the construction of a dam and reservoir, 
determining that the sites are necessary to meet water supply 
needs. This designation will last until September 1, 2015, 
unless there is an affirmative vote for a reservoir project by a 
project sponsor.

	 The bill also designates 15 river and stream segments of 
unique ecological value that were recommended in the 2007 
state water plan.

	 The bill establishes a study commission on water supply 
in the Region C Regional Water Planning Group (which 
includes Dallas/Fort Worth). The commission will review 
water supply alternatives available to Region C, including 
existing and proposed reservoirs.

	 No later than December 1, 2010, the study commission 
will report its findings and recommendations, including 
a recommendation as to whether Marvin Nichols should 
remain designated as a reservoir site.

	 The former owner of real property used for agricultural 
purposes that was acquired for a reservoir will be able 
to lease the property from the person who acquired the 
property in order to continue using the property for 
agricultural purposes until the lease is terminated for the 
construction of the reservoir.

	 Water conservation. SB 3 makes several changes in 
policy related to water conservation. It creates a 23-member 
water conservation advisory council to provide state leaders 
with expertise on the issue of water conservation. The Texas 
Water Development Board (TWDB) executive administrator 
is directed to develop and implement a statewide public 
awareness program to educate Texas residents about water 
conservation.

	 A retail public utility providing potable water service to 
3,300 or more connections must submit to the TWDB chief 
administrator a water conservation plan based on specific 
goals generated in accordance with best management 
practices developed by TCEQ and TWDB. The entity is 
subject to enforcement actions by TCEQ if it commits a 
violation.

	 The bill directs TWDB to give priority to applications 
for funds for water supply projects in the state water plan 
that demonstrate water conservation savings or would 
achieve water conservation savings.

	 The bill adds a procedure by which a regional water 
planning group may adopt a minor amendment to its 
regional water plan. 

	 The bill states that it is the policy of the state to 
encourage voluntary land stewardship to benefit the 
water of the state and to encourage public participation 
in the groundwater management process in areas within 
a groundwater management area not represented by a 
groundwater conservation district.

	 Edwards Aquifer. SB 3 makes several changes to the 
regulation of the Edwards Aquifer by the Edwards Aquifer 
Authority (EAA).

	 On January 1, 2008, the cap on permitted withdrawals 
from the Edwards Aquifer will be raised from 450,000 acre-
feet to 572,000 acre-feet.

	 The EAA cannot allow withdrawals from wells drilled 
after June 1, 1993, except for:

•	 replacement, test, or exempt wells; or
•	 an amendment to an initial regular permit 

authorizing a change in the point of withdrawal 
under that permit.

	 If the level of the aquifer is equal to or greater than 660 
feet, rather than 650 feet, above mean sea level as measured 
at well J-17, the authority can authorize withdrawals 
from the San Antonio pool, on an uninterruptible basis, of 
permitted amounts.

	 By January 1, 2008, the EAA must adopt a critical 
period management plan with withdrawal reduction 
percentages in specified amounts when well levels or spring 
flows fall below certain thresholds. Greater withdrawal 
reductions will be triggered if the 10-day average of 
springflows drops below the lowest trigger levels.

	 Beginning on September 1, 2007, the EAA cannot 
require withdrawals to be less than an annualized rate of 
340,000 acre-feet, under Stage IV critical period.

	 Without respect to the critical period adopted by the 
authority, a person authorized to withdraw groundwater 
for irrigation can finish one already planted crop in that 
calendar.
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	 The EAA must develop a recovery implementation 
program for threatened or endangered species with input 
from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, other federal 
agencies, interested stakeholders, and environmental 
interests

	 A steering committee, with input from an expert 
science committee and other stakeholders, must submit 
recommendations to the EAA, which must review those 
recommendations and adopt a critical period management 
plan.

	 The EAA may operate facilities as long as those 
facilities are not used to recirculate water at the Comal or 
San Marcos springs.

	 Other provisions. SB 3 establishes a legislative joint 
interim committee on state water funding made up of 
senators and representatives.

	 The bill also includes other provisions creating and 
modifying various local water districts. 

Supporters said

	 Environmental flows. SB 3 would mark an historic 
step toward protecting the environment by dedicating 
instream flows for rivers and freshwater inflows for bays 
and estuaries. Currently, no state law provides designated 
protection to ensure a minimum of flow in rivers and into 
bays and estuaries. Instead, priority is given to agricultural, 
commercial, residential, and other uses. Water rights in 
several river basins have been over-permitted, and other 
basins likely will follow suit. SB 3 would provide a means 
to balance agricultural, commercial, and residential needs 
with important environmental considerations.

	 While important for the environment, instream flows 
do more than support fish, aquatic organisms, and wildlife. 
River flows provide recreation, dilute and disperse treated 
wastewater, and support commercial activity. Aquatic 
species need sufficient flows of water to facilitate their 
life cycles. Coastal wetlands rely upon freshwater flows 
from rivers to sustain their unique habitats. These bays and 
estuaries support the economy of the Texas Gulf Coast 
through the tourism industry and commercial fishing and 
shrimping. For these reasons and many more, environmental 
flows are crucial to Texas’ economy and quality of life.

	 In order to determine standards and set-asides for 
environmental flows, SB 3 would establish a consensus-
based process relying upon the best available science to 
determine the amount of flows needed for environmental 

considerations. The bill would allow input from stakeholders 
from every group with a substantial interest in water rights 
and flows, while expert science teams would report the 
environmental needs of river basins and bays directly to 
TCEQ. Under this process, TCEQ could balance the best 
available science with the other water needs of Texas’ 
growing population. In this manner, the process would 
resemble the successful regional water planning process 
established under SB 1, enacted by the 75th Legislature 
in 1997. Because water is a vital resource for so many 
diverse interests, it is important that the environmental flow 
planning process be as inclusive as practicable.

	 Reservoir designation. SB 3 would follow the 
recommendations in the 2007 state water plan by 
designating 19 reservoir sites that could be needed to meet 
the state’s water needs in the next half century. The bill 
would provide state and local water supply interests with 
the certainty needed to plan for and meet future water 
needs. Texas’ population is expected to more than double by 
2060, and water demand will increase while water supplies 
decline. While conservation, reuse, desalination, and other 
strategies will be important to meet Texas’ water needs, 
those strategies are unlikely to be sufficient. Reservoir 
construction will be an essential and unavoidable component 
of the state’s water planning future.

	 The bill would not seize any private property or put 
any undue restrictions on landowners. Landowners would 
remain free to engage in virtually any action or make any 
improvement to property in a designated reservoir site. The 
bill would incorporate compromise provisions to balance 
the interests of affected landowners with entities that wish to 
construct reservoirs.

	 SB 3 would not require the construction of any 
reservoir, nor would the designation of a reservoir site 
guarantee that a reservoir would be constructed on the site. 
The bill simply would provide legislative action in order to 
keep these sites available for future reservoir construction 
if it was determined that their construction was necessary. 
Without designation, the few remaining reservoir sites could 
be preemptively foreclosed as an option due to the actions of 
the federal government such as a wildlife refuge designation.

	 Water conservation. SB 3 would establish and expand 
several important programs to encourage conservation of 
water resources in the state. It would incorporate state-of-
the-art industry standards and techniques to realize efficient 
use of water resources. The bill would recognize the 
importance of such strategies as private land stewardship 
and residential conservation measures, while moving 
cities toward more efficient use of the state’s limited water 
resources.
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	 Edwards Aquifer. SB 3 appropriately would balance 
environmental, residential, and other concerns with 
respect to the EAA. By allowing a reasonable increase 
in withdrawals from the aquifer, the bill would prevent 
ratepayers from having to support a costly buy-down of 
water rights above the current withdrawal level. To protect 
environmental considerations, the bill would establish 
reduction requirements during critical periods of drought 
when springs were impacted most severely.

	 The bill would create a thorough Recovery 
Implementation Program developed in accordance with U.S. 
Fish and Wildlife Service practices that would involve an 
extensive group of stakeholders engaged in the sustainability 
of the Edwards Aquifer. The Recovery Implementation 
Program would provide recommendations to the EAA in 
order to determine the appropriate withdrawal level going 
forward. This consensus-based process would balance the 
interests of communities and entities relying on the aquifer 
for residential, commercial, recreational, and agricultural 
uses while protecting the delicate environmental balance 
that sustains threatened species associated with the aquifer.

	 The bill would raise the withdrawal limit to 572,000 
acre-feet, an amount that would be subject to adjustment 
through the Recovery Implementation Program. Further, 
the critical period management procedure would hold 
down withdrawals when well levels and spring flows were 
reduced by drought. This would protect the San Marcos and 
Comal springs and protected species. Further, history has 
shown that permitting in itself is an effective method for 
managing demand, as permit holders become more aware of 
their allotted amounts. Removing the conflict in current law 
would provide certainty to permit holders and allow more 
effective management of demand from the aquifer.

Opponents said

	 Environmental flows. SB 3 would establish an 
unnecessarily complicated tangle of bureaucracy. The bill 
would create two new statewide committees as well as 
stakeholder and science boards in every river basin and bay 
system in the state. Recommendations made by these four 
groups would have to work their way up to TCEQ, which 
would make the final determination on environmental 
flow standards and set-asides. Aside from the elected 
officials on the environmental flows advisory board, the 
majority of members on these policymaking bodies would 
not be accountable to the voters. These bodies would be 
granted excessive influence, a serious concern since the bill 
would contemplate seizing water rights for what could be 

marginally important purposes. Such important and binding 
determinations should not be delegated by the Legislature to 
TCEQ.

	 Reservoir designation. SB 3 needlessly would cloud 
the title of landowners within the designated reservoir sites, 
because the threat of a future reservoir negatively would 
affect their property value. While supporters of reservoir 
designation point out that many of these reservoirs may 
never be built, a cloud would remain on the title to property 
in a designated site from the moment the bill was enacted. It 
would be unfair to make this designation without providing 
immediate funds to offset the loss in value that landowners 
would see.

	 Reservoir construction is an arcane, environmentally 
destructive, and wasteful strategy that should not be used 
to address the state’s water supply needs. Reservoirs do not 
“create” water, but actually contribute to water loss due to 
evaporation. Given the looming threat of global warming, 
it is likely that evaporation of water stored in reservoirs 
will become an even greater problem. Reservoir creation 
can harm severely both downstream and upstream wildlife 
and ecosystems, in addition to the area flooded to create 
the reservoir. Lawmakers should not ratify this outmoded 
water development strategy and instead should focus on 
other strategies to meet Texas’ water needs, including 
conservation, reuse, desalination, improved marketing of 
existing water resources, and aquifer storage and recovery.

	 Edwards Aquifer. By allowing pumping of the Edwards 
Aquifer up to the currently permitted amount, SB 1341 
effectively would eliminate the pumping cap for all practical 
purposes. This level of pumping on a regular basis likely 
would be unsustainable over the long term. Although the bill 
would incorporate reductions in pumpage during drought 
periods, it would be better for the aquifer ecologically and 
hydrologically if a lower level of regular pumping were 
allowed.

	 Under current law, the EAA is empowered to raise 
the 400,000 acre-feet cap if the authority can demonstrate 
scientifically that doing so would not be environmentally 
harmful. SB 3 would undermine this consideration, allowing 
the cap to be raised due to permit considerations rather 
than scientific considerations. The substantial increase in 
the withdrawal limit under the bill could put the aquifer 
on a collision course with the Endangered Species Act, 
representing a step back in protection of the ecosystem 
of the Edwards Aquifer and the communities that rely on 
Edwards Aquifer spring flow.
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	 The current system has been effective as an inducement 
to entities to repair infrastructure, implement conservation 
policies, develop efficient agricultural water practices, and 
diversify water sources. Withdrawals have gone down from 
a peak of more than 542,000 acre-feet in 1989 to 366,000 
acre-feet in 2005. If the withdrawal limit were raised, it is 
likely that pumping would float up to the limit. 

Other opponents said

	 Environmental flows. SB 3 would not go far enough 
in protecting environmental flows. The bill would provide 
no remedy for the many basins in which all available water 
has been permitted. In addition, the provision enabling 
diversion of environmental flows during an emergency 
is problematic. When a drought strikes – precisely the 
time that instream flows are so crucial to river and bay 
ecosystems – environmental flow set-asides would be 
available for diversion to other uses. The only reasonable 
method for reliably protecting environmental flows would 
be to buy back more senior water rights from private 
interests and keep those flows in the river. If the Legislature 
fails to appropriate funds for this purpose, it is unlikely that 
SB 3 substantially would benefit those river basins that are 
most desperately in need of a base level of flows.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 3 appeared in Part Two of 
the May 21 Daily Floor Report.  

	 The provisions of HB 3 by Puente, dealing with 
environmental flows and the Edwards Aquifer Authority, 
and HB 4 by Puente, dealing with water conservation, were 
incorporated into SB 3, but also were enacted separately. 
HB 3 takes effect September 1, 2007, except the Edwards 
Aquifer provisions were effective June 15, 2007. HB 4 was 
effective June 15, 2007, except a requirement that on-site 
water reclamation technologies be incorporated into state 
buildings will be effective September 1, 2009. 
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SB 12 by Averitt
Effective June 8, 2007

Air quality enhancement programs, including energy efficiency 
standards

	 SB 12 amends various state programs with the 
objective of enhancing the state’s air quality. It modifies 
guidelines set by Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality (TCEQ) for the Low-Income Vehicle Replacement 
Program (LIRAP) at the county level. The bill adjusts 
eligibility criteria for participation in LIRAP to include 
a vehicle owner with an income up to 300 percent of the 
federal poverty level. The maximum amount of funding 
distributed under LIRAP may not exceed $3,000 for a 
replacement car of the current model year or the three 
previous model years, $3,000 for a replacement truck of 
the current model year or the two previous model years, or 
$3,500 for a replacement hybrid vehicle of the current or 
previous model year. Subject to the availability of funds, 
replacement vehicles must have a gross weight rating of less 
than 10,000 pounds and may not cost more than $25,000.

	 The bill includes requirements for the dismantling of 
replaced vehicles. TCEQ must work in conjunction with 
the steel industry and automobile dismantlers to ensure that 
replaced vehicles are scrapped. An automobile dealer who 
takes possession of a replaced vehicle must prove that the 
vehicle has been retired. The vehicle dismantler must scrap 
the emissions control equipment and engine and may be 
subject to a civil penalty for not doing so. Mercury switches 
must be removed from the vehicle in accordance with the 
law. 

	 TCEQ may require certain documentation procedures 
for the purchase of a replacement vehicle. An automobile 
dealer participating in LIRAP must be located in Texas. 
TCEQ must work with dealers to publicize information 
about LIRAP using funding allocated for this purpose. A 
participating county is required to provide an electronic 
means of distributing LIRAP funds to automobile dealers. 

	 No more than $5 million per fiscal year may be 
distributed through LIRAP to fund local initiative projects. 
Examples of local initiative projects include: 

•	 expanding the AirCheck Texas Repair and 
Replacement Program; 

•	 remotely determining vehicle emissions; 
•	 implementing TCEQ’s smoking vehicle program; 
•	 combating the use of counterfeit state inspection 

stickers; 

•	 enhancing transportation system improvements; and 
•	 adopting new air control strategies. 

	 SB 12 expands the scope of eligibility for Texas 
Emissions Reduction Plan (TERP) funding to include 
projects with a maximum cost effective amount of up 
to $15,000 per ton of nitrogen oxide (NOx) emissions 
reduced. Miles traveled by a qualifying vehicle outside 
of a nonattainment area or affected county are allowed to 
count toward meeting TERP’s percentage-of-use standard 
for the operation of vehicles in nonattainment areas. For 
eligible infrastructure projects, TERP funding can be used 
for auxiliary power units designed to dispense electricity 
to marine vessels. Also, funding can be distributed for the 
lease, purchase, or installation of idle reduction technologies 
and facilities at rest areas and other public facilities in areas 
eligible for funding. 

	 The bill extends TERP to August 31, 2013. TCEQ can 
hire staff and consultants to carry out duties established 
under the program. The commission will investigate various 
Internet procedures for submitting applications for rebate 
grants through TERP. An Internet-based application process 
will be implemented by June 1, 2008. The TERP fund is 
administered by TCEQ instead of the comptroller. 

	 SB 12 sets certain priorities for grant distribution under 
the New Research and Technology Development (NRTD) 
program, with grants awarded reflecting a balanced mix of: 

•	 advanced technologies to reduce emissions from the 
existing stock of engines;

•	 advanced technologies for new engines and 
vehicles; and 

•	 testing facilities to evaluate these advanced 
technologies. 

	 NRTD funding may be distributed to a nonprofit 
organization or a higher education institution to implement 
and administer the NRTD program. TCEQ will supervise 
the nonprofit organization that currently receives NRTD 
funding. 

	 If the State Energy Conservation Office (SECO) 
determines that the latest provisions on energy efficiency 
in the International Residential Code and the International 
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Energy Conservation Code result in improved commercial 
energy efficiency and air quality, the office will adopt 
the more stringent provisions. Parties with an interest 
in the adoption of energy efficiency codes – including 
builders, architects, engineers, government authorities, 
and environmental groups – will have the opportunity to 
comment on the codes under consideration. 

	 Energy efficiency programs for certain political 
subdivisions are extended to include higher education 
institutions and state agencies. In consequence, these entities 
and school districts will implement measures to reduce 
electricity consumption by 5 percent each year for six years, 
beginning September 1, 2007. Contingent upon availability 
and cost-effectiveness, TCEQ or another state agency will 
purchase equipment and appliances for state use that meet or 
exceed federal Energy Star standards.

	 SB 12 also establishes a grant program for the 
installation of solar electric systems in certain residences 
and businesses. To qualify for such a grant, the solar electric 
system must generate electricity using solar resources, have 
a generating capacity of no more than 1,000 kilowatts, and 
include a manufacturer’s warranty. 

	 The bill also modifies the extent to which TCEQ may 
prohibit or limit motor vehicle idling. It stipulates that such 
idling is not necessary to power a heater or air conditioner if 
the vehicle is within two miles of a facility offering external 
heating and air conditioning connections. Drivers using 
a vehicle’s sleeper berth are prohibited from idling in a 
residential neighborhood or within 1,000 feet of a hospital. 
Motor vehicle idling requirements are extended by two 
years, to expire on September 1, 2009.

	 SB 12 amends various actions followed by TCEQ. If 
the commission determines there are multiple violations of 
the federal Clean Air Act, only the violations that require 
the initiation of formal enforcement will be included in 
any proposed enforcement action. The commission will 
not include violations in enforcement action that are new 
or have been corrected within a certain time frame. SB 12 
also modifies TCEQ’s notification requirements to provide 
that an application for certain permits must be sent to the 
county judge and the presiding officer of the municipality’s 
governing body where the facility is located.  

Supporters said 

	 SB 12 would enhance the various state programs 
designed to improve air quality in key areas of Texas. The 
state’s deadline to comply with federal air quality standards 

is set for 2010. Currently, several areas in Texas remain in 
noncompliance. In order to not jeopardize federal funding, 
the state must implement more aggressive measures to 
reduce NOx emissions. By maximizing the potential of 
air quality programs approved by past legislatures, the bill 
more rapidly would improve the state’s air quality, thereby 
advancing the removal of non-attainment areas from 
noncompliance status.

	 Through the reduction of NOx emissions, LIRAP and 
TERP are meaningful programs to protect the environment 
and health of Texas residents. Other than smog creation, 
NOx emissions can contribute to acid rain, oxygen 
depletion in bodies of water, and global warming. Also, 
NOx emissions result in health problems, such as asthma 
and emphysema, while also aggravating heart disease and 
damaging lung tissue. By bolstering LIRAP and TERP, the 
bill would help reduce future costs to the state in public 
health and environmental remediation.

	 In order to meet federal air quality improvement 
requirements, Texas must accelerate the turnover of the 
automobiles that operate in the state and replace older 
vehicles with newer, cleaner cars. Monetary incentives 
are needed to achieve the objective of removing old 
vehicles from the state’s roadways. Since the inception 
of LIRAP, program demand generally has been less than 
the supply of program funding. The bill would increase 
LIRAP participation by requiring TCEQ to partner with 
participating automobile dealers to publicize program 
information. Other modifications to LIRAP would entice 
more vehicle owners to participate in the program by 
increasing grant amounts for the purchase of replacement 
vehicles and expanding eligibility requirements. 

	 SB 12 would expand the reach of the TERP program 
by broadening project eligibility requirements and extend 
its expiration date to 2013, giving the program more 
time to achieve emission reductions to comply with 
federally mandated targets. Like LIRAP, much of the 
funding generated for TERP-related programs remains 
underappropriated and underutilized. The bill would give 
TCEQ greater authority to distribute TERP funds by 
transferring control of the fund from the comptroller to the 
agency.

	 The bill would make important strides toward 
increasing energy efficiency in Texas. New energy 
efficiency standards for buildings and appliances serve as 
an important means of reducing NOx emissions, enabling 
the state to meet its reserve margin for energy production 
and achieving cost savings for consumers. SB 12’s inclusion 
of equipment and appliances that meet federal Energy Star 
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standards would spur the use of more efficient products. 
The inclusion of higher education and state agencies in 
current energy efficiency programs would set an important 
example for reducing electric consumption. Grants for solar 
electricity systems would be helpful in spurring renewable 
energy production.

Opponents said

	 SB 12 promises many important benefits, but should 
not be considered the state’s main strategy for meeting 
compliance with federal air quality standards in non-
attainment areas and affected counties. Incentive-based 
programs would not go far enough to achieve the necessary 
NOx emission reductions. Moreover, power generation 
plants represent an estimated 27 percent of NOx emissions 
and should be addressed in this omnibus air quality 
legislation.

	 More than just NOx emissions must be considered 
in the state’s efforts to improve air quality. Currently, El 
Paso fails to meet federal air quality standards for carbon 
monoxide and particulate matter. Outside of El Paso, several 
areas exhibit near-nonattainment status in particulate matter 
levels. The incentive -based programs included under 
LIRAP and TERP should include carbon monoxide and 
particulate matter in their scope. 

	 An alternate version of SB 12 would have permitted 
SECO to establish minimum energy efficiency standards for 
certain appliances and prohibit the sale of such appliances 
until energy efficiency standards were met. It also would 
have included product certification and labeling standards 
for certain appliances. These energy efficiency standards 
would have led to a significant reduction in electricity 
consumption, resulting in cost savings for consumers. The 
establishment of such standards would not pose a fiscal 
hardship for the state. In fact, energy efficiency standards 
for certain appliances would help the state meet its reserve 
margin for energy production, thus reducing the need to 
build coal plants that negatively impact the state’s air quality 
and public health. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 12 appeared in Part One of 
the May 14 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 124 by Ellis
Died in Senate committee

Requiring low-emission vehicle standards

	 SB 124 would have allowed the Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality (TCEQ) to establish a low-emission 
vehicle program in Texas. The program would have to have 
been consistent with Phase II of the California low-emission 
vehicle program and would have applied to vehicles 
beginning in model year 2009. 

Supporters said 

	 SB 124 would allow TCEQ to adopt California’s stricter 
low-emission vehicle standards, which would improve air 
quality in Texas by targeting a major source of pollution. 
California first adopted low-emission vehicle standards 
in 1990 and is now implementing Phase II of its program 
to further reduce nitrogen oxide (NOx) emissions and 
greenhouse gases. Ten other states have adopted California’s 
low-emission vehicle standards, and air quality studies show 
a reduction of up to 15 percent in nitrogen oxide (NOx) and 
volatile organic compounds under the California standards 
compared to federal standards.

	 More than two-thirds of Texans live in areas where 
the air is unhealthy to breathe. This poor air quality creates 
health problems, resulting in missed work days and health 
care costs to the state. In addition, Texas is required to 
meet air quality standards set by the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency and will lose federal funding if these 
standards are not met. Current incentive-based programs are 
an insufficient means of achieving required improvement in 
air quality because such gains are offset by a greater number 
of cars on the road and a corresponding increase in vehicle 
miles.

	 The adoption of Phase II of California’s low-emissions 
vehicle standards would be an effective way of addressing 
mobile source pollution, moving Texas forward in its 
objective to reduce ozone precursors from vehicular 
emissions. SB 124 would demonstrate the state’s keen desire 
to reduce health problems associated with air pollution. 
Moreover, by mandating improved vehicular emissions 
standards, the bill would enhance fuel economy and 
ultimately reduce gasoline costs for consumers. 

Opponents said 

	 SB 124 would accomplish little in helping Texas 
comply with federal air quality standards. There is 
insufficient evidence to support the claim that stricter vehicle 
emissions standards significantly improve air quality. 
Furthermore, imposing tougher standards would hurt 
consumers, particularly the state’s low-income population, 
by increasing the cost of new vehicles. Instead, the state 
should work to improve air quality by focusing on the Low 
Income Vehicle Assistance, Retrofit and Accelerated Vehicle 
Replacement Program (LIRAP) and the incentive-based 
Texas Emissions Reduction Plan (TERP), because these 
programs improve air quality without placing additional cost 
burdens on Texans.
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SB 1317 by Jackson
Died in the House

Restricting a city’s ability to regulate air pollution outside its city limits

	 SB 1317 would have restricted a city’s ability to 
regulate as a nuisance air pollution that occurred outside the 
city’s boundaries.

	 A city would have been authorized to define and 
prohibit a nuisance within 5,000 feet of its city limits 
only if the definition of the nuisance did not address 
levels of emissions authorized in a Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality (TCEQ) air permit. The bill also 
would have specified that an ordinance for the control and 
abatement of air pollution would have to be consistent with 
TCEQ permits and could not apply outside the city’s limits.

Supporters said

	 SB 1317 would prevent cities in Texas from 
overreaching beyond their boundaries to impose onerous 
air quality regulations and restrictions on surrounding 
cities and counties. For example, the city of Houston has 
proposed fining industrial plants outside its city limits to 
require stricter enforcement of air quality standards. Such 
a proposal would allow Houston to impose restrictions 
on businesses in other cities and political jurisdictions, 
improperly encroaching upon the sovereignty of other 
political subdivisions.

	 Pollution is a regional and statewide issue that should 
be addressed in a comprehensive manner. Without SB 1317, 
Texas cities would be free to adopt a patchwork of confusing 
and conflicting local air pollution regulations. TCEQ is 
the state agency charged with monitoring, permitting, and 
enforcing the state’s air pollution laws, and SB 1317 would 
prevent conflicts between local regulations and official state 
environmental policy.

	 Problems with urban air quality in cities like Houston 
primarily are a consequence of automobile exhaust. 
Regulating industries outside a city’s boundaries provides 
a politically expedient scapegoat, allowing local officials 
to avoid making tough decisions about the most significant 
causes of poor air quality, such as traffic, sprawl, and a lack 
of public transportation options.

Opponents said

	 SB 1317 would remove an important tool that Texas 
cities have to control air quality and ensure the health and 
well-being of their residents. Many Texas cities, including 
the city of Houston, have to contend with industrial facilities 
located just outside their boundaries. The businesses 
emit harmful pollutants into the air that harm air quality 
throughout the region. Pollution knows no political 
boundary, and it is appropriate to allow a city to mitigate 
pollution occurring outside its limits when that pollution 
substantially harms the residents of the city.

	 Houston is one of the nation’s most polluted cities, 
due in large part to refineries and other regional industries 
that the state of Texas has failed to properly regulate. In the 
absence of effective regulation of these industries, the city 
of Houston has been forced to take the lead by addressing 
pollution occurring outside its boundaries.

	 Texas cities need the ability to protect their citizens 
from air pollution. TCEQ has shown an unwillingness 
to adequately protect Texas citizens against air pollution, 
most recently by overruling the recommendation of an 
administrative law judges by permitting the Oak Grove coal-
fired power plant despite serious concerns about pollution 
from the plant.
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SB 1687 by Watson
Died in the House

Studying strategies for combating greenhouse gas emissions

	 SB 1687 would have required the Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) to prepare a report by 
December 1, 2008, listing strategies for reducing greenhouse 
gas emissions in Texas. TCEQ would have been directed to 
consider strategies for reducing emissions from other states 
and countries. The study would have taken into account 
strategies that could be achieved without financial cost 
or strategies that could result in savings for consumers or 
businesses over the life of the strategy.

Supporters said

	 SB 1687 would direct TCEQ to evaluate and identify 
economically beneficial policies to minimize the production 
of greenhouse gas, a leading cause of global climate 
change. Such a study would help transform Texas from 
a leading contributor of carbon dioxide to a true global 
leader in the fight against global warming. Greenhouse gas 
emissions such as carbon dioxide and nitrous oxide have 
been established as primary causes of global warming, a 
phenomenon with potentially severe consequences for our 
way of life. Without innovative, technology-driven solutions 
to dramatically curtail pollution caused by human activity, 
the pattern of rising temperatures likely will worsen.

	 SB 1687 would initiate a study to identify economically 
neutral or beneficial strategies to address the problem of 
global warming. Such solutions are key to safeguarding the 
health of Texas citizens and preserving the environment 
while minimizing negative economic consequences. The 
longer Texas, the United States, and industrialized nations 
wait to mitigate carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas 
emissions, the more costly such policy changes will become.

Opponents said

	 SB 1687 would open the door to extensive and 
potentially economically disruptive environmental 
regulation. With a growing population and expanding 
economy, Texas has distinct energy needs that will be 
challenging to accommodate even without the burden 
of untested restrictions on greenhouse gases. The vague 
strictures in the study required under SB 1687 could 
unfairly place the burden of compliance with recommended 
strategies on private business, with potentially negative 
consequences for employment and economic performance 
in the state.

	 Regulation of air pollution typically has been addressed 
through federal guidelines such as the Clean Air Act, and 
Texas environmental policy appropriately has been focused 
on attaining federal standards. SB 1687 could launch Texas 
down an uncharted road of regulation that could put Texas 
at a comparative disadvantage with neighboring states or put 
Texas in conflict with federal greenhouse gas legislation that 
Congress is likely to consider in the future.
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HB 2685 by Chisum/HB 2683 by Chisum 
Effective September 1, 2007

Marriage license fee waiver for premarital education and marriage 
promotion grants

	 HB 2685 revises the premarital education course and 
increases the marriage license fee from $30 to $60. Those 
who complete a specified premarital education course 
will be exempt from both the fee and a three-day waiting 
period between the receipt of a marriage license and the 
performance of a wedding ceremony. 

	 The minimum suggested hours for a premarital 
education course are increased from four to eight. Each 
course must teach conflict management, communication 
skills, and the key components of a successful marriage. The 
bill specifies the training requirements, eligible instructors, 
and curriculum requirements for a premarital education 
course. 

	 To receive a waiver from the marriage license fee and 
the three-day waiting period, a person must present to the 
county clerk a certificate signed and dated by the course 
provider during the year preceding the filing of a marriage 
license application with the clerk. A county clerk who 
collects a fee for issuing a marriage license must send $20 of 
that fee, or $12.50 of each $25 fee collected for a declaration 
of informal marriage, to the comptroller for deposit in the 
child abuse and neglect prevention trust fund account. The 
clerk also must send $10 of each marriage license fee to the 
comptroller for deposit in the family trust fund account.

Supporters said

	 HB 2685 would improve premarital education programs 
and benefit the people who completed them and decided to 
get married. Couples planning to marry sometimes focus 
on the wedding at the expense of thinking seriously about 
issues of children, finances, and family dynamics. 			 
	

	 By creating an incentive for marriage license applicants 
to complete a premarital course, the bill would encourage 
more couples to educate themselves about how to prevent 
some of the possible conflicts associated with marriage. 

	 Studies show that the completion of premarital 
education often is associated with higher levels of marital 
satisfaction. Helping couples think carefully about the 
commitments associated with marriage can lower the risk of 
marital problems and divorce. According to recent data, as 
much as eight hours of premarital education can contribute 
to lower rates of divorce. 

	 Premarital education under the bill would not be 
counseling but would focus on skills-based and research-
based education. Education programs would teach couples 
many of the necessary skills for a good marriage, including 
effective communication, teamwork, problem solving, 
conflict management, and the importance of preserving love, 
commitment, and friendship. 

	 HB 2685 would not require premarital education. It 
simply would offer incentives to couples already seeking to 
marry.

Opponents said

	 Marriage without financial security is not a solution to 
poverty and is likely to lead to the divorce of low-income 
couples, if not spousal abuse or other negative outcomes. 
What low-income Texans really need is access to education 
and training, leading to jobs that provide stable employment, 
living wages, and access to health benefits. For those who 
cannot afford the higher fee, the premarital education course 
would be all-but-mandatory, which would be too much state 
interference into private, personal matters.
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	 HB 2683 requires the Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC) to spend a minimum of 1 percent of 
money from the federal Temporary Assistance to Needy 
Families (TANF) block grant on programs that provide 
services that support the development of healthy marriages 
or strong families. Funds will benefit the Healthy Marriage 
Development Program and the new Healthy Marriages and 
Strong Families Grant Program established by the bill. 

	 Grants made through the Healthy Marriages and Strong 
Families Grant Program may provide up to $50,000 to a 
program supporting the development of healthy marriages 
or strong families. Grant recipients may use funds to provide 
direct services to participants, develop a program, enlarge 
program capacity, or pay other related expenses. Programs 
using grant funds may not charge for services provided to 
program participants.

	 In selecting grant recipients, HHSC must give 
preference to applicants whose programs will contribute 
to the geographic diversity of program locations or who 
operate small programs and seek to maximize service 
delivery and build capacity.

Supporters said 

	 HB 2683 would benefit adults, children, and society as 
a whole by funding programs to promote healthy marriages 
and strong families. Happily married couples provide a 
stable and healthy environment for raising children. Married 
people live up to eight years longer than their divorced or 
never-married counterparts, and marriage tends to provide 
increased financial security. Children of married parents 
also fare better. They are less likely to engage in criminal 
behavior, abuse drugs or alcohol, become pregnant out 
of wedlock, or experience emotional and psychological 
troubles. The initiatives funded by this bill would give low-
income Texans the skills and knowledge to form and sustain 
healthy marriages and strong families.

	 By promoting strong marriages and families, the 
state would not withdraw support and services for single-
parent families. There are many legitimate and federally 
approved uses for TANF block grant funds, including the 
strengthening of families and encouragement of two-parent 
households. Promoting marriage and supporting single-
parent families are not mutually exclusive.

	 Healthy marriage initiatives do not encourage people 
to remain in abusive relationships. They are designed to 
do the opposite – strengthen families by giving couples 
the necessary skills to deal with conflict and anger within 

a relationship. Grant applicants seeking TANF funds for 
marriage promotion initiatives would have to demonstrate 
how their proposed programs addressed domestic violence 
and would be required to consult with domestic violence 
experts in the administration of the programs. Abusive 
marriages are good for no one, and programs funded with 
the grants authorized by HB 2683 would not provide 
comfort to abusers.

	 Choosing to marry is a private decision, and the state of 
Texas has no intention of interfering with anyone’s private 
life. Marriage is directly related to a child’s well-being. The 
purpose of this bill would be to fund programs that give 
families the tools they need to succeed in marriage and in 
life.

Opponents said

	 By promoting marriage to low-income people, the 
state would send a message that the way out of poverty 
is dependence on a spouse rather than economic self-
sufficiency. The purpose of TANF is to provide assistance 
to needy families to end dependence on government 
benefits. Rather than diverting these funds toward marriage 
promotion, Texas instead should invest TANF funds in 
strategies to support the transition from welfare to work or in 
giving working-poor families tools to escape poverty, such 
as training in job skills, child care, and adult literacy.

	 Marriage does not eliminate poverty. Studies show that 
most low-income unmarried women still would be poor or 
near-poor if they were married and working. Educational 
attainment and the job market have more influence on 
poverty than marital status. What low-income people really 
need is access to education and training opportunities, 
leading to jobs that provide stable employment, living 
wages, and access to health benefits.

	 An unintended consequence of marriage promotion 
programs could be to encourage victims of domestic 
violence to marry or stay married to their abusers. 
Promoting marriage to women who were not in safe or 
healthy relationships could harm them and cost the state 
in increased medical expenses and loss of economic 
productivity.

	 While the promotion of marriage by the state might 
spring from noble motives, it intrudes into fundamentally 
private matters. The decision to marry is one of the most 
personal and important decisions that people make in their 
lifetimes. When reaching this decision, people turn to their 
family and friends, not the government.
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Notes

	 A related bill, HB 2684 by Chisum, would have 
extended the waiting period for grant of a divorce on 
grounds of insupportability from 60 days to two years from 
the date of filing suit unless the couple completed a marriage 
education course that included instruction in conflict 
management, communication skills, and forgiveness skills.  
HB 2684 was considered on the House floor, then died in 
committee after being recommitted on a point of order.

	 The HRO analyses of HB 2683 and HB 2685 
appeared in Part One of the April 11 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 221 by Lucio
Died in the House

Obtaining noncertified copies of adoption-related birth certificates

	 SB 221 would have allowed an adopted person age 
18 or older who was adopted after January 1, 2008, or a 
spouse or relative if the adopted person was deceased, to 
obtain a noncertified copy of the person’s original birth 
certificate. The bill would have created a contact preference 
form on which birth parents could have indicated whether 
they wished to be contacted by the adopted person, possibly 
through an intermediary, and whether they consented to 
the release of a noncertified copy of the adopted person’s 
original birth certificate. If a parent had indicated that the 
birth certificate not be released, the state registrar could 
not have released a copy without a court order. If resources 
allowed, the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) 
could have released a noncertified copy of a birth certificate 
to a person who was adopted before January 1, 2008, if the 
birth parents had indicated approval for release on a contact 
preference form.
 
	 The bill would have allowed a birth parent to file an 
updated medical history form with DSHS. It would have 
required the Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS), a licensed child-placing agency, or a person other 
than a close relative placing a child for adoption to inform 
the birth parents about the rights of an adopted child to 
obtain a noncertified copy of the birth certificate. These 
entities also would have been required to provide the contact 
preference form to the birth parents, and the petition for 
adoption would not have been granted until the parents had 
filed a completed form. 

Supporters said

	 SB 221 would establish a system in Texas to allow 
release of adoption-related information while accounting 
for the needs of all parties involved, including people who 
were adopted, their birth parents, and DSHS. The bill would 
help many adopted people who currently rely on private 
investigators, the Internet, and their own financial resources 
to track down information on their birth parents. Use of 
the contact preference form would streamline the process 
of enabling adopted people to communicate with their 
biological parents, if both parties agreed. 

	 It is very important for adopted children to know about 
any genetic diseases that run in their biological families. 
The bill would provide a way for birth parents to update 
their medical records and forward this information to their 
biological children. In addition, it would require the agency 
or other entity that placed a child for adoption to notify the 
birth parents about the requirement to complete and file 
contact preference forms, which would alleviate concerns 
about birth parents not being aware of these reporting 
requirements.

	 Because the bill would apply prospectively, SB 221 
would not place a burden on DSHS to provide records 
from adoptions that took place decades ago. Nevertheless, 
resources permitting, it would allow DSHS to comply with 
requests for noncertified copies of birth certificates from 
people who were adopted before January 1, 2008.

Opponents said

	 The bill assumes that a biological parent who did not 
indicate otherwise on a contact preference form would 
not object to his or her biological child’s receiving a 
noncertified copy of the person’s birth certificate. In many 
cases, parents who gave up their children for adoption did so 
with the understanding that this information would remain 
confidential for life. Additionally, many parents might not 
know about the existence of contact preference forms or the 
consequences of failing to file one with the state, especially 
those who gave their children up for adoption many years 
before. The bill should err on the side of non-release to 
protect the birth parents’ confidentiality if the state did not 
have affirmative evidence that such parents wished to be 
contacted by their biological children.

Other opponents said

	 SB 221 would be much more beneficial to adopted 
people seeking information if the bill applied retrospectively, 
rather than prospectively. Even though the department 
could issue a noncertified copy to someone adopted before 
January 1, 2008, it is not certain that DSHS would have 
the resources to comply with all the requests from adopted 
people seeking to find out the identities of their birth parents.
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Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 221 appeared in Part Two of 
the May 17 Daily Floor Report.	

	 The House companion bill, HB 525 by Goolsby, passed 
the House on May 11, but died in Senate committee. HB 
525 would have required DSHS to provide a noncertified 
copy of a birth certificate on request to an adopted person 
regardless of when the adoption took place.
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SB 439 by Deuell 
Died in the House

Advance directives and health care and treatment decisions

	 SB 439 would have amended Health and Safety Code, 
ch. 166 to expand directives regarding health care and 
treatment for incompetent patients diagnosed with terminal 
conditions. It would have defined “surrogate” to mean a 
legal guardian, an agent under medical power of attorney, 
or a person authorized to make a health care decision or 
treatment decision for an incompetent patient. 

	 The bill would have specified that if an attending 
physician disagreed with a health care or treatment decision 
of a surrogate made on behalf of an incompetent patient 
who had been diagnosed with a terminal condition that had 
been certified in writing by the attending physician, life-
sustaining treatment would be provided to the patient, but 
only until a reasonable opportunity presented itself for the 
transfer of the patient to another physician or health care 
facility willing to comply with the decision. 

	 If artificial nutrition and hydration were the only life-
sustaining treatment provided to a patient with a terminal 
condition, the process for handling treatment disagreements 
could not have been invoked unless reasonable medical 
evidence indicated that artificial nutrition and hydration 
could hasten the patient’s death or seriously exacerbate other 
major medical problems.

	 If an attending physician requested a consultation with 
an ethics or medical committee, the committee would have:

•	 appointed a patient liaison familiar with end-of-
life issues and hospice care options to assist the 
patient’s surrogate throughout the process; and

•	 appointed one or more representatives of the ethics 
or medical committee to conduct an advisory ethics 
consultation with the surrogate, which would have 
been documented in the patient’s medical record. 

	 If a disagreement over a health care or treatment 
decision persisted following an advisory ethics consultation, 
the attending physician could have requested a meeting with 
the ethics or medical committee and would have advised 
the surrogate that the attending physician would initiate the 
review process and present medical facts at the meeting. The 
attending physician could not have participated as a member 
of the committee in the case being evaluated. 

	 On receipt of a request for a meeting of the ethics or 
medical committee, the surrogate would have been offered 
a written description of the ethics or medical committee 
review process and any other possible policies and 
procedures adopted by the health care facility, as well as 
other information that the surrogate was entitled to receive, 
including statements about the surrogate’s right to seek a 
second opinion and a patient's right to transfer.   

	 If the attending physician or the surrogate had not 
agreed with the decision reached during the review process, 
the physician would have had to make a reasonable effort 
to transfer the patient to a physician who was willing 
to comply with the surrogate’s health care or treatment 
decision. The facility personnel would have assisted the 
physician in arranging the patient’s transfer to another 
physician, an alternative care setting within the facility, or 
another facility.

	 If the surrogate had requested life-sustaining treatment 
that the attending physician had decided – and the ethics 
or medical committee had affirmed – was medically 
inappropriate treatment, the patient would have received 
available life-sustaining treatment pending transfer. The bill 
would have established that the patient receive treatment to 
enhance pain relief and minimize suffering, which would 
have included the provision of artificial nutrition and 
hydration. The patient would have been responsible for 
any costs incurred in transferring to another facility. The 
attending physician, any other physician responsible for the 
care of the patient, and the health care facility would not 
have been obligated to provide life-sustaining treatment, 
except for the provision of artificial nutrition and hydration, 
after the 21st calendar day after the required written decision 
had been provided to the surrogate.  

	 Under the bill, a patient’s surrogate could have 
submitted a motion for extension of time for a patient 
transfer in any county court at law, court with probate 
jurisdiction, or district court, including a family district 
court, and served a copy on the health care facility. 

	 Any party could have appealed the lower court’s 
decision to the court of appeals with appropriate jurisdiction 
for expedited review. Any party could have filed a petition 
for review of the court of appeals decision no later than three 
business days after the appeals decision had been issued. 
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Other parties could have filed responses within three days 
after filing of the petition for review. The Supreme Court 
would have had to rule on the petition for review within 
three business days after the day on which the response had 
been due. If the Supreme Court had granted review, it would 
have exercised its sound discretion in determining how 
expeditiously to hear and decide the case. The bill would 
have prohibited the assessment of a fee for any proceeding 
in a trial or appellate court. 

	 On submission of a health care facility’s application to 
renew its license, a facility in which one or more meetings 
of an ethics or medical committee had been held would 
have filed a report with the Department of State Health 
Services that contained aggregate information regarding 
the number of cases considered by the committee relating 
to a physician’s disagreement with health care and the 
disposition of those cases by the facility. The report could 
not have contained any data specific to an individual patient. 

	 In the case of a person who was incompetent but 
previously had executed or issued a directive to physicians 
requesting that all treatment, other than treatment necessary 
for keeping the person comfortable, be discontinued or 
withheld, the physician could have relied on the directive 
as the person’s instructions to issue an out-of-hospital do-
not-resuscitate order and would have placed a copy of the 
directive in the person’s medical record. 

Supporters said

	 SB 439 would revise the current Texas Advance 
Directives Act to give additional direction for dealing with 
patients who are in such a condition that their physician, 
hospital, or family no longer believe that they should be 
treated. Since 1999, Texas law has held that a hospital 
wishing to withhold treatment must notify a family that 
a committee meeting to consider cutting off support be 
held within as little as 48 hours. Following that meeting, 
treatment may be stopped after 10 days unless another 
hospital or medical facility can be found to take the patient. 
This system is not working. Families often are not ready to 
make such a decision – often the hardest of their lives – in 
such a short amount of time. Finding a place to transfer a 
patient in this time period frequently is difficult as well. 

	 SB 439 would give families more time to make these 
painful decisions by increasing from 10 days to 21 days 
the length of time that a family had to transfer a dying 
loved one. In addition, the minimum notification time 
that a family would receive before the hospital ethics or 
medical committee met would be extended from two days 
to seven days to allow the family to prepare themselves. 
Hospitals would be required to provide relevant medical 
records within 72 hours of a family member’s request, and 
the hospital would appoint a liaison to further assist the 
family. The procedures that a hospital would follow in cases 
involving life-sustaining treatment and transfer decisions 
and the new judicial processes in the bill would help 
families in times of great difficulty.

Opponents said

	 SB 439 would thwart the promise made by doctors 
to take care of their patients to the best of their abilities. 
The bill’s provision to extend life-sustaining treatment 
considered medically inappropriate from 10 days to 21 days 
unnecessarily would prolong suffering for the irreversibly 
ill. With added delays from court procedures, a person could 
be made to experience pain and suffering for an indefinite 
period. It is important to acknowledge that medical 
treatment has limits and not to stretch out a loving family 
member’s efforts to maintain expensive care that serves no 
medical purpose. 

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of SB 439 appeared in Part One of 
the May 22 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 758 by Nelson 
Effective September 1, 2007

Child Protective Services revisions

	 SB 758 requires the Department of Family and 
Protective Services (DFPS) to implement a Child Protective 
Services (CPS) improvement plan with the primary goals of 
keeping families together while ensuring child safety in the 
home, reducing the time children remain in state care, and 
improving the quality and accountability of foster care.

	 Case management and substitute care. DFPS no longer 
must privatize all case management and substitute care 
services, as the Legislature had required be done by 2011 
in SB 6 by Nelson, enacted in 2005, and the independent 
administrator role is eliminated. By September 1, 2008, 
DFPS must contract for case management services in one 
or more geographic areas with a goal of contracting in 5 
percent of cases. Case management includes developing and 
revising the child and family case plan, coordinating and 
monitoring permanency services, and assisting DFPS in the 
child’s custody suit. DFPS must provide conservatorship 
services, including approval of child placements and case 
plans. DFPS must assess the need for substitute care services 
and contract with providers if it will improve services to 
children and families. In an emergency, DFPS employees 
may provide temporary care for a child in a place other than 
the employee’s residence, or a residential child-care facility 
may exceed its capacity for up to 48 hours. 

	 Child-care facility regulation. A team of at least two 
residential child-care monitoring staff must conduct annual, 
unannounced inspections of licensed residential child-care 
facilities. DFPS must investigate reports of incidents or 
alleged violations at agency foster homes pertaining to a 
child under the age of six. Child-placing agencies (CPAs) 
must report to DFPS required information about closed 
foster homes. Foster homes must report their violation 
histories when transferring to a new CPA. The child-care 
facility regulation division must employ an investigation 
safety specialist and a risk analyst who work to reduce 
the risk of harm to children in child-care facilities. The 
division must include a performance management unit that 
recommends improvements based on quality assurance 
reviews of randomly selected monitoring and investigative 
reports. A committee on licensing standards will recommend 
policy changes on licensing and facility inspections. The 
owner or operator of a day-care facility commits a class B 
misdemeanor (up to 180 days in jail and/or a maximum fine 
of $2,000) if that person operates a day-care facility without 
a qualified director or does not comply with criminal history 
and background check requirements for caregivers. 

	 Improving child and family services. DFPS will 
provide enhanced in-home support for families in which 
poverty could be a significant cause of child neglect. Family 
service plans must be adapted to meet the special needs of 
children under the age of two. The bill expands the drug-
endangered child initiative. Children who have been in 
the conservatorship of DFPS are eligible for enrollment 
in a pre-kindergarten class. Pediatric centers of excellence 
will be identified that assist DFPS in evaluating medical 
findings for children who are suspected victims of abuse and 
neglect. DFPS must provide children discharged from foster 
care with relevant personal records and those about to be 
discharged with information regarding Preparation for Adult 
Living (PAL) program benefits. DFPS must cooperate with 
other entities to expand recruitment of foster parents and 
increase adoption assistance payments based on the level of 
care a child needs. DFPS will study the effect of providing 
reimbursements for education expenses on the ability to 
retain qualified CPS caseworkers and target caseworker 
recruitment toward those with specific degrees. 

Supporters said  

	 SB 758 would improve the quality and accountability 
of child-care licensing, strengthen families, and enhance 
outcomes for children in substitute care. The bill also would 
rebalance the level of outsourcing enacted through SB 6 
by Nelson in 2005 to ensure that outsourcing efforts were 
implemented in a measured way that enhanced the well-
being of children. 

	 Given that outsourcing represents a major change to 
the traditional service delivery system, SB 758 judiciously 
would implement case management outsourcing among 5 
percent of providers across the state. This approach would 
reveal how the outsourced modeled worked in diverse 
areas. Independent review of outsourcing efforts would 
help uncover issues to consider in the development of best 
practices before expanding the program. Case management 
outsourcing would decrease duplication of efforts between 
CPS and private case managers and increase efficiency. 
Those best equipped to determine each child’s needs – the 
people who work with the child on a daily basis – would 
make case management decisions. As the managing 
conservator ultimately responsible for a child’s well-being, 
the state would retain oversight to approve case plans and 
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represent the child in court. Contracts could be structured 
to enhance outcomes for the child by rewarding private 
providers for meeting performance measures or sanctioning 
providers that keep children in substitute care longer than 
appropriate for the case.

	 SB 758 would recognize that there are circumstances 
under which the state is the best provider of substitute care. 
Often, private providers shy away from providing care to 
high-needs children. The bill would allow Texas to maintain 
its public substitute care provider infrastructure to ensure 
that the children most in need had adequate care. DFPS’ 
child-care regulation division is independent of the division 
providing substitute care services. The regulation division 
sanctions for non-compliance the substitute care facilities 
run by the state as it would sanction a private provider.

	 The bill appropriately would retain a child-care facility’s 
right to refuse certain child placements. Some homes are not 
equipped for special needs children, and it could be unsafe 
for all the children in residence if a facility took on a child 
it could not handle properly. With a shortage of providers, 
well-run facilities should not have to jeopardize their 
licenses by risking incidents with children that a facility was 
forced to accept in an emergency. 

Opponents said 

	 The state has not given the CPS outsourcing model 
enacted by SB 6 in 2005 an opportunity to work. SB 758 
should not delay plans to fully privatize case management in 
Texas by 2011. The plan to outsource only 5 percent of case 
management throughout the state would cause confusion in 
the courts and among CPS and providers because different 
regions could have both outsourced and traditional provider 
relationships. By requiring that the state approve case plans 
developed by outsourced case managers but not allowing 
private case managers to assume court-related duties, SB 
758 would hold contracted service providers accountable 
for performance outcomes that the contractor would not 
have control over meeting. The case plan approval process 
also could harm children if a state caseworker who was less 
informed about the case denied plan recommendations made 
by a private caseworker.

	 Efforts to achieve full outsourcing of substitute care 
services should not be eliminated. DFPS faces a conflict of 
interest because it is responsible for both the operation and 
regulation of agency child-care facilities. Given that private 
providers already provide about 80 percent of substitute 
care services, it would not be disruptive to outsource 
the remaining 20 percent of care provided through state 

facilities. Lack of substitute care providers in serving certain 
child populations is due to inadequate reimbursement 
rates for children with higher service needs. Certain 
private providers already provide all the types of care the 
state provides, including basic care, emergency shelters, 
therapeutic foster care, group homes, and residential 
treatment centers. This array of services assures that the 
remaining children in public foster care could be absorbed 
into the private system if higher reimbursement rates were 
provided.

	 The bill should require child-care facilities to take 
children on an emergency basis if a facility has an empty 
bed and the child has no alternative placement. Too many 
children are placed temporarily in ill-equipped CPS 
offices despite a child-care facility having an empty bed. 
In addition, SB 758 should require yearly inspections of 
foster homes, which are inspected by DFPS staff only once 
every three years. The current frequency of inspections is 
not enough to ensure the safety of children, as evidenced 
by tragic deaths that could have been prevented if more 
frequent inspections had uncovered risk factors in foster 
homes. 

Other opponents said  

	 SB 758 would provide better protection for Texas 
children if it eliminated all CPS privatization efforts. Private 
organizations should never play a role in case decision-
making for people under the state’s care. Conflicts of 
interest arise in privatized case management models because 
the case managers have an incentive to make decisions 
that benefit their facilities. In addition, privatizing case 
management responsibilities held by CPS caseworkers 
would impose increased liability on the state because state 
caseworkers would be approving case plans and placement 
recommendations despite more limited exposure to other 
aspects of the child’s case. Even if privatization were an 
option that should be explored, the aggressive timeline for 
implementation of the case management pilot program 
would not allow for appropriate planning. Rather than 
spending more money to privatize case management, 
the state should redirect funds intended for privatization 
to hiring more conservatorship caseworkers to reduce 
caseloads, providing state caseworkers more time to interact 
with children and families.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 758 appeared in Part One of 
the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 785 by Shapiro/SB 920 by Patrick
Died in the House

Abortion reporting and review of ultrasound image

	 SB 785 would have added reporting requirements 
for physicians performing abortions, including specific 
information about the physician, the abortion facility, the 
patient, the fetus, the father, and the abortion procedure. 
If the patient had been a minor, reporting requirements 
would have included whether a parent or guardian had 
given written consent required by law or whether a judicial 
authorization was received and other information. 

	 The Department of State Health Services (DSHS) 
would have had to require abortion providers to maintain a 
list of domestic violence shelters and assistance programs 
and to provide referrals if a woman had communicated she 
was being abused or forced to have an abortion. The bill 
also would have required a physician who treated an illness 
or injury related to an abortion complication to complete 
an abortion complication reporting form and submit it to 
DSHS.

	 DSHS would have had to issue a public report each 
year summarizing the information submitted on individual 
reports of abortion providers and ensure that none of the 
information in the report could reasonably have led to the 
identification of a physician who performed an abortion or 
a woman who had an abortion. The information would have 
been confidential and not subject to disclosure under the 
Public Information Act.

	 Physicians would have been subject to late fees 
or sanctions for civil contempt for failing to submit 
reports. Failing to submit a report, disclosing confidential 
information, or intentionally submitting false information 
would have subjected a person to a class A misdemeanor 
(up to one year in jail and/or a maximum fine of $4,000). 
Citizens of the state could have petitioned a court for an 
injunction against the executive commissioner of the Health 
and Human Services Commission for failure to produce the 
report or failure to enforce reporting requirements. 

	 The Texas Supreme Court would have had to adopt 
rules governing the collection of statistical information on 
applications and appeals by judges authorizing minors to 
undergo abortions without parental notification. Information 

collected on judicial bypasses would have had to be made 
available to the public in aggregate form by county and 
produced in a manner that could not reasonably have led to 
the identification of the minor.

Supporters said 

	 SB 785 would produce better information about 
abortions in order to craft better public policy. DSHS already 
requires reporting of general information, but that reporting 
does not provide the broad range of accurate, reliable 
data needed. Strengthening reporting requirements would 
provide insight into the circumstances leading women to 
seek abortions and would assist maternal health groups in 
directing their outreach efforts. The U.S. Supreme Court 
has said that reporting requirements that are reasonably 
directed to preserving maternal health and that properly 
respect privacy are permissible. The bill would not require 
collection of information not already required by some 
other states. In addition, collecting information on judicial 
bypasses granted to minors would help the Legislature 
assess the efficacy and frequency of the parental notification 
provision.

Opponents said

	 SB 785 would burden patients, target elected judges, 
and make public an experience that should be respected as 
private and confidential, while doing nothing to improve 
public health. The reporting proposed by the bill would 
be more detailed and burdensome to both the patient and 
the physician than what is currently required. Physicians 
estimate that compliance would require at least 20 minutes 
per patient, time that is lost to treating patients and that 
is uncompensated. As a result, some physicians could be 
discouraged from offering abortion services and follow-
up care because of the administrative burden and legal 
liabilities involved. There is no compelling justification with 
respect to maternal health for collecting statistics on judicial 
bypass cases, and it could jeopardize the confidentiality and 
safety of judges. Reporting by county effectively would 
identify the judge hearing the case because many counties 
have only one or two district judges. 
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	 SB 920 would have required a physician who 
performed an abortion to take an obstetric ultrasound image 
of the unborn child and review the image with the woman. 
A woman would have been required to certify that she had 
been provided with and had the opportunity to review the 
image. The physician would have been responsible for 
informing the woman that she was not required to view 
the image, and neither the physician nor the woman would 
have been penalized if the woman refused to look at the 
image. A physician found intentionally in violation of this 
and other informed consent requirements would commit a 
misdemeanor offense punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.

Supporters said

	 SB 920 would help to ensure that a woman making 
a decision about abortion had access to all medical 
information pertaining to the decision, including an 
ultrasound. A recent study indicated a pregnant woman 
develops a powerful bond with her unborn child once she 
actually sees the fetus in the womb. Clinics often conduct 
only perfunctory counseling sessions before abortions and 
rush women through the process without ensuring that 
they understand the information and have considered their 
options. Some women say they would not have had an 
abortion if they had known more about the procedure and 
the development of the unborn child. Informing a woman 
fully of her unborn child’s gestational development through 
ultrasound images could reduce the number of abortions by 
demonstrating more graphically the humanity of the child 
in the womb. Requiring a physician to take an obstetric 
ultrasound image and review it with a woman considering 
abortion merely would provide an additional measure of 
informed consent. A woman who chose not to view the 
image would not be required to do so. 

Opponents said

	 The bill would infringe needlessly on the relationship 
between a woman and her doctor. The doctor, in 
consultation with the patient, should determine whether a 
woman should undergo an ultrasound before an abortion. 
In addition, informed consent is required for all surgical 
procedures, including abortion, and most women already 
have an ultrasound and the opportunity to view the images 
before an abortion. Requiring a woman to review an 
ultrasound image with her doctor also would emotionalize 
her decision inappropriately. Choosing to end a pregnancy 
is a difficult choice. A woman who had wanted to become 
pregnant but chose to terminate the pregnancy when she 
discovered that the fetus had a severe and life-threatening 
abnormality should not be faced with reviewing an image 
that would have no bearing on her decision and only would 
make a tragic situation more painful. The real intent of 
this legislation would not be to help a woman make an 
informed choice but to shame her for a choice to terminate 
her pregnancy. Finally, the bill would place physicians in the 
difficult and contradictory position of having to provide a 
woman with an image and review that image with her, while 
informing her that she was not required to view the image.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 785 appeared in Part One of 
the May 22 Daily Floor Report.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 920 appeared in Part Two of 
the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 10 by Chavez  
Died in the House

Providing prosecution defense to certain gambling for Native 
American tribes 

	 HB 10 would have provided a defense to prosecution 
for gambling or other gaming activity that is or may be 
permitted under the federal Indian Gaming Regulatory 
Act (IGRA) for certain Native American tribes on certain 
lands. The defense would have applied to gambling or 
gaming if it were conducted by a tribe recognized by the 
federal government on January 1, 1998, and on tribal land 
recognized by the federal government on January 1, 1998, 
and designated by the tribe for gaming. The defense would 
have applied whether or not the gambling or gaming was 
conducted by a tribe governed by the IGRA. 

	 The tribes would have had to pay to the comptroller 5 
percent of the revenue from the gambling or gaming, which 
could be used only to fund the TEXAS grant program for 
higher education students. 

Supporters said

	 HB 10 would allow only the three federally recognized 
Native American tribes in Texas – the Tiguas, Kickapoos, 
and Alabama-Coushattas – to have a narrow defense to 
prosecution for limited gaming on tribal property recognized 
as part of their reservations on January 1, 1998. It would 
not legalize casino gambling throughout the state, which 
is barred by the Texas Constitution. HB 10 would extend 
to Native American tribes in Texas the same authorization 
as the state to operate only games that already are legal 
in Texas. The bill would not require a constitutional 
amendment because it would not authorize anything that 
is prohibited by the Texas Constitution. Slot machines and 
video lottery machines are illegal in Texas now and would 
remain so with HB 10. The defense would be limited to a 
type of gaming called class 2 gaming, which is bingo, pull-
tab bingo, and non-banking card games.

	 Indian gaming is highly regulated by the federal 
government, the tribes, and the states. Under IGRA, the 
federal Indian Gaming Commission has broad authority to 
oversee tribal gaming, and the tribes, which have adopted 
stringent regulatory schemes, have historically proved 
capable and successful in their regulations. 

	 Concerns that HB 10 would be used to authorize 
gaming by tribes not currently recognized in Texas or on 
lands other than the sites of the Alabama-Coushatta, Tigua, 

or Kickapoo tribes outside of Livingston, in El Paso, and 
near Eagle Pass, are unfounded. HB 10 would allow gaming 
only by tribes with federal recognition on January 1, 1998, 
and on land they held on that date.  

	 The bill would legitimize an income source that has 
helped Native Americans in Texas and allowed them, for a 
short time, to become self-sufficient. The Tiguas operated 
a casino for about eight years and the Alabama-Coushattas 
for about nine months before they were closed in late 2002 
by federal court rulings in lawsuits brought by the state 
against the tribes. The Kickapoos opened the Lucky Eagle 
Casino on their land near Eagle Pass in August 1996 and 
now conduct bingo-based games and card games in which 
players compete against each other but not against the 
house with no banking by the house or another player. HB 
10 would provide the seeds for a long-term, self-sustaining 
economic model and help prevent gambling dollars, jobs, 
and other economic benefits from going to other states.

	 Gambling opponents predicted increased crime in the 
areas around the tribes’ gaming centers, but in fact, crime 
dropped significantly in the area around the Tiguas’ casino. 
Gambling addictions are like other unfortunate compulsions, 
such as alcohol addiction and compulsive shopping, that the 
state does not try to stop by prohibiting the activities. Most 
Texans support the rights of the tribes to conduct gambling 
on their lands. In a 2007 poll, 71 percent of Texans surveyed 
said they favored Indian gaming because it would keep 
hundreds of millions of gaming dollars in Texas, and 69 
percent said they supported Indian gaming to help tribes in 
Texas. 

	 HB 10 also would benefit higher education in Texas 
by requiring that some of the gaming revenue be allocated 
to the state for the TEXAS Grants program, a needs-based 
financial aid program for qualified Texas high school 
students. 

Opponents said

	 Gambling in Texas should not be expanded with HB 
10. The broad language in the bill would allow any type of 
Indian gaming authorized under the federal IGRA, which 
authorizes a range of gaming, including casinos, and could 
make Indian casinos legal in Texas. If HB 10 is meant to 
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allow only bingo and other class 2 gaming, it should clearly 
state this. Also, the broad type of gaming addressed by HB 
10 should not be authorized without amending the Texas 
Constitution. HB 10 would provide a defense to a type of 
gambling that is unconstitutional. 

	 The bill would reward the tribes’ earlier illegal behavior, 
which was stopped by federal court rulings that shut down 
two casinos operated by Texas tribes. They should remain 
closed. When the Tiguas and Alabama-Coushattas were 
restored to federal jurisdiction, they agreed to an identical 
provision in the federal law that says: “All gaming activities 
which are prohibited by the laws of the State of Texas are 
hereby prohibited on the reservation and on lands of the 
tribe.”  

	 HB 10 would provide no mechanism for regulating 
the gaming authorized by the bill and no requirement for 
a state-tribal compact that could do so. In the absence of a 
state-tribal compact, it is unclear what, if any, authority the 
state would have to oversee tribal gaming and how the bill’s 
requirement that tribes remit to the comptroller 5 percent of 
the gaming revenue would be enforced.   

	 HB 10 would provide an incentive for other tribes to 
press for recognition in Texas and for the three currently 
recognized tribes to seek to expand both land holdings and 
gaming. 

	 The bill would have a far-reaching statewide impact, 
and any economic benefit to tribe members and others 
should not outweigh concerns about expanded gambling 
in Texas. Gambling carries with it social and other costs, 
such as increases in crime, unemployment, and bankruptcy, 
as well as the costs of regulation and potential corruption, 
that offset economic or other gains. The Legislature must 
consider the concerns not only of the Native Americans 
who would benefit from this bill but also of the 22 million 
Texans whom it could affect. Texans should have the right to 
express their opinions on legalizing Indian gaming by voting 
on this issue.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 10 appeared in Part One of 
the May 2 Daily Floor Report. 

	 The House adopted three amendments to HB 10 before 
it failed to pass to engrossment. One of the amendments 
would have stated that the defense to prosecution applied 
to conduct that consisted of activities “permitted as class 
II gaming.” Another amendment would have limited the 
defense to gambling conducted by a tribe “with a reservation 
in this state” on January 1, 1998, and the third would have 
increased the percentage of revenue paid to the state from 5 
percent to 10 percent.

	 Another bill related to gaming by Native American 
tribes, HB 2535 by Chavez, was placed on the May 9 
General State Calendar but was not considered. HB 2535 
would have expanded the definitions in the Bingo Act so 
that the Tigua tribe, under certain conditions, could have 
conducted bingo under the state’s Bingo Act. Under the 
bill, the bingo would have to be conducted by a Tigua 
fraternal organization that performed charitable, benevolent, 
patriotic, employment-related, or educational functions. 
The tribe would have had to adopt rules that conformed 
to the substantive provisions of the Bingo Act and Texas 
Constitution, Art. 3,  sections 47(b) and (c), and would have 
been able to conduct bingo under the tribe’s rules without 
submitting to Texas’ regulatory jurisdiction, including 
licensing requirements. The tribe would have had to remit to 
the state 5 percent of its gross receipts from bingo. 
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	 HB 13, as considered by the House, would have:

•	 required the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to 
oversee the Texas Data Exchange; 

•	 established the Office of Homeland Security in the 
Governor’s Office;

•	 created the Border Security Council; 
•	 prohibited the state and cities from adopting 

policies under which they would not enforce or 
would violate certain immigration and drug laws; 

•	 required peace officers and their agencies to report 
the commission of federal crimes; 

•	 authorized local agreements with federal 
immigration authorities; and 

•	 created a legislative oversight committee on 
homeland and border security issues. 

	 Texas Data Exchange (TDEx). HB 13 would have 
required DPS to oversee the TDEx database of law 
enforcement information. The governor’s Division of 
Emergency Management would have been required to 
provide DPS with the necessary project management 
resources for TDEx, including operational support and 
personnel.

	 State Office of Homeland Security. HB 13 would 
have established the State Office of Homeland Security in 
the Governor’s Office, which would have performed the 
tasks of coordinating homeland security activities among 
local, state, and federal agencies and the private sector. 
The governor would have continued to direct the state’s 
homeland security efforts through the office. The Office 
of Homeland Security would have continued the current 
funding activities carried out by the Governor’s Office but 
would have done so with the advice of the newly created 
Border Security Council. 

	 Border Security Council. HB 13 would have 
created the Border Security Council to advise the Office 
of Homeland Security about the allocation of funds for 
border security. The council also would have developed 
and recommended performance standards, reporting 
requirements, audit methods, and other procedures to ensure 
that money allocated by the Office of Homeland Security 
for security efforts along the Mexico border was used 
properly and that recipients were accountable for its use. The 
governor would have appointed the members of the council. 

HB 13 by Swinford
Died in the House (see Notes)

Homeland security, border security, TDEx database, immigration 
enforcement

	 Prohibitions against certain policies. State government 
entities and political subdivisions would have been 
prohibited from adopting rules, policies, or ordinances under 
which they would: 

•	 refuse to take an action authorized under 8 U.S.C., 
sec. 1252c, which gives state and local law 
enforcement officials authority, as permitted by 
state and local laws, to arrest and detain persons 
who were present unlawfully in the United States 
and previously had been deported or left the country 
following a felony conviction; 

•	 violate federal laws under 8 U.S.C., sec. 1324, 
which creates criminal penalties for several offenses 
related to bringing certain aliens into the country or 
harboring them; or 

•	 not fully enforce state or federal laws relating to 
drugs, including the Texas Controlled Substance 
Act and Dangerous Drugs Act.

	 These same prohibitions would have been placed in 
the Local Government Code and would have applied to 
cities, county commissioners courts, sheriffs, city police 
departments, city attorneys, county attorneys, district 
attorneys, and criminal district attorneys.  

	 If the Attorney General’s Office had determined that 
a state governmental entity or a political subdivision had 
violated these prohibitions, the entity would have forfeited 
and had to repay funds they received for homeland or border 
security purposes. State governmental entities and political 
subdivisions would have been able to appeal a determination 
that they had violated this prohibition. 

	 State governmental entities and cities would have been 
prohibited from adopting rules, policies, or ordinances – and 
from following or establishing commonly accepted practices 
– that required peace officers to violate state or federal 
criminal law. Peace officers would have been required to 
disregard any such rule or policy that required them to 
violate a state or federal criminal law. 

	 It would have been the duty of peace officers to report 
to their agencies the commission of federal crimes or 
conspiracies to commit federal crimes if the officer had 
knowledge of the offense. It would have been the duty of 
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the officer’s law enforcement agency, if it received such 
a report, to pass it on to the State Office of Homeland 
Security. 

	 Performance of immigration officer functions. HB 
13 would have authorized political subdivisions of the state 
to enter into agreements under the federal Immigration 
and Nationality Act to perform functions of immigration 
officers.

Supporters said

	 HB 13 would strengthen the state’s homeland and 
border security efforts. The bill would not encroach into 
the federal responsibilities relating to immigration law and 
is not an attempt to require local governments to enforce 
immigration law. The bill would focus efforts on border 
security, which plays a large role in homeland security.

	 Texas Data Exchange. HB 13 would place TDEx 
under DPS’ authority because DPS is the state’s premier 
law enforcement entity and has experience managing and 
protecting databases. The TDEx database was developed 
with authority given to the Governor’s Office in 2005, in 
SB 9 by Staples, and should be continued and properly 
supported. By allowing law enforcement agencies to 
share information, TDEx is helping prevent terrorism and 
crime. The TDEx database contains only law enforcement 
information and is accessible only by law enforcement 
authorities.

	 It is necessary to give the Governor’s Division of 
Emergency Management authority to support TDEx to meet 
federal requirements that federal funds used to support it go 
through a homeland security agency. HB 13 would clearly 
give DPS, not the Governor’s Office, authority over the 
database and limit the division to project management. 

	 State Office of Homeland Security. HB 13 would 
formalize the State Office of Homeland Security by giving 
it an official name and establishing it within the Governor’s 
Office. In 2003 and 2005, the Legislature gave the governor 
authority to direct the state’s homeland security efforts, 
and HB 13 would continue this policy decision. Because 
homeland security efforts are spread across several state 
agencies and the majority of  law enforcement resources 
exist at the local level, it would make sense to have the 
state’s executive coordinate efforts.

	 It is necessary to keep the Office of Homeland Security 
outside of an agency like DPS and to name the office as the 
entity to allocate state and federal homeland security grants 

to ensure that the state meets federal requirements that grant 
funds go through a homeland security agency. Giving this 
responsibility to another state entity could jeopardize these 
federal funds, which may be as much as $100 million.

	 Border Security Council. By establishing the Border 
Security Council, HB 13 would create a structure to allow 
formal input into the allocation of border security funds and 
the evaluation of how they are spent. The bill would give the 
governor flexibility to appoint the members of the council 
so that the council could include people possessing the 
necessary range of expertise. The Legislature has given the 
governor responsibility for homeland security, so he should 
receive the authority to appoint the council in the same way 
other state advisory boards are appointed. The council would 
be charged only with providing advice, not with making any 
decisions, and its meetings and plans would be subject to the 
state’s public meetings and information laws so that there 
would be checks and balances on its activities.

	 Requiring the council to develop performance standards 
and audit methods to track border security funds would 
help ensure the proper use of the money. The state has seen 
tangible, positive results from money directed to the area, 
and HB 13 would provide a way to monitor the success of 
future funds spent in this manner. 

	 Prohibitions against certain policies. HB 13 would 
ensure that state and local governmental entities were 
not actively working against immigration and drug laws, 
but would not force any entity to take over the federal 
responsibility of immigration law enforcement. Federal 
law takes precedence over state laws and local policies, 
and state and local entities should not be able to pick and 
choose which laws they follow. The bill deals with criminal 
laws, not civil laws, and would not be the appropriate place 
to address concerns about civil violations that may affect 
immigrants, such as municipal housing ordinances. 

	 HB 13 would require only that entities not adopt 
policies requiring peace officers to violate state or federal 
criminal laws. Peace officers would not be required to act 
as immigration agents, to investigate anyone’s immigration 
status, or to detain or deport illegal immigrants. Following 
the requirements in HB 13 simply would mean that when an 
officer knew that a person had committed a federal crime, 
the officer would report it. 

	 These provisions would help address the problem 
of so-called “sanctuary cities.” Some of these cities have 
official policies under which law enforcement officers are 
not required to ask or to report on the immigration status of 
people they encounter. 
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	 Performance of immigration officer functions. HB 
13 would establish the necessary authority for local law 
enforcement entities to enter into agreements with the 
federal government to take on some immigration functions, 
if they desired. The performance of immigration officer 
duties must be done under a formal memorandum of 
understanding and with required training and education. 
While only a handful of entities nationwide have received 
this designation, it should be available to Texas entities.

Opponents said 

	 Texas Data Exchange. While HB 13 would place 
TDEx under the control of DPS, it also would charge the 
governor’s Division of Emergency Management with 
supporting the database. Authorizing the Division of 
Emergency Management to provide operational support and 
personnel to the database would mean that the Governor’s 
Office would continue to have some control over the 
administration of TDEx, which would be inappropriate 
given the civilian, political nature of the Governor’s Office
	   
	 State Office of Homeland Security. A formalized 
Office of Homeland Security should be placed within a law 
enforcement agency such as DPS, not within the Governor’s 
Office, as HB 13 would do. Many of the duties of the 
Office of Homeland Security – especially duties related to 
intelligence gathering – traditionally have been handled by 
law enforcement agencies, not civilian, political offices. Just 
because the Legislature chose to give the governor some 
oversight on homeland security issues does not mean that 
the responsibility should not be moved now that the duties 
have evolved. 

	 Authority given to the governor in HB 13 to allocate 
funds to assist  law enforcement agencies in homeland 
security efforts, including border security and law 
enforcement emergencies, would be too broad and not 
provide enough accountability. Grants of this nature should 
be made through a fiscally accountable state agency, include 
objective requirements that account for factors such as 
population and crime rates, and stipulate how the money 
should be used and how success would be measured. 
Questions have been raised about the success of current 
border operations, and HB 13 would continue the process 
that has produced these questionable results. 

	 Border Security Council. HB 13 is not specific enough 
about the composition of the Border Security Council to 
ensure that it would have balanced, fair representation. The 
bill would give the Governor’s Office the sole authority 

to name the council without placing any requirements 
on the members. The bill should specify geographic 
and law enforcement agency diversity so the Office 
of Homeland Security would receive balanced advice. 
Without this diversity on the council, it could continue 
sending homeland and border security funds to a small 
number of law enforcement entities. Several entities, such 
as municipal police departments, should be included in the 
decision making and receipt of funds. Having the council 
both develop performance methods and give advice about 
awarding funds could be a conflict of interest.

	 Prohibitions on certain policies. HB 13 would take 
discretion away from local entities to set their own policies 
governing immigrants and public safety. HB 13 would 
go too far in requiring local law enforcement officers to 
enforce complex federal immigration laws and participate 
in immigration efforts, something they have neither the 
training nor the manpower to do. The role of local law 
enforcement officers is to solve and prevent local crimes, 
and even requiring officers to inquire or report about 
someone’s immigration status could harm the trust and good 
relationships necessary for an officer to operate successfully 
in the community. 

	 The reporting functions required by HB 13 would add to 
the burden of local law enforcement entities, which already 
are spread thin. In some cases, such as drug crimes that 
are both state and federal offenses, the federal government 
might not want to know that an officer had knowledge of 
a federal crime if the crime was being handled at the state 
level. Police often investigate actions that may violate 
federal law, but have no homeland security implications. 

	 HB 13 would go too far in penalizing local entities for 
any rule, policy, or ordinance they enact. Decisions about 
policies can be made by numerous people in a department 
who may have no intention of affecting immigration actions. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 13 appeared in Part One of 
the May 7 Daily Floor Report. 

	 The House adopted numerous amendments to HB 13 
before passing it to engrossment, including ones designating 
the Department of Public Safety as the only state agency 
or governmental entity authorized to develop, maintain, 
operate, and control access to the TDEx and allowing the 
governor’s Division of Emergency Management to provide 
only funding to support the database. An amendment 
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would have required the governor to appoint a director 
of homeland security, with the advice and consent of the 
Senate. 

	 The bill also was amended on the floor to require 
at least one-third of the members of the Border Security 
Council to be residents of the border region. The provisions 
creating a Border Security Council were enacted as part of 
SB 11 by Carona, effective September 1, 2007, except as 
otherwise provided.

	 HB 13 was approved by the House and the Senate, but 
died in the House on a point of order during consideration of 
Senate amendments.



Page 86 House Research Organization

	 HB 28 would have prohibited a person born in 
Texas whose parents were illegal immigrants from 
receiving any benefit provided by the state or a political 
subdivision of the state. These benefits would have included 
employment, retirement, public assistance such as welfare 
and food stamps, health care, disability, public housing, 
unemployment compensation, professional and commercial 
licenses, and primary, secondary, or higher education.

Supporters said

	 HB 28 is necessary because the federal government is 
not addressing the issue of illegal immigration. Allowing 
children of illegal immigrants to receive state and local 
government benefits in Texas encourages more illegal 
immigration, which is imposing an enormous cost on state 
and local governments.

	 HB 28 could become a needed test case for the 
U.S. Supreme Court to interpret the 14th Amendment, 
which grants birthright citizenship. Such a test could help 
determine the extent of the constitutional rights of children 
of illegal immigrants and would be a good use of the state’s 
resources, which are currently being used to provide these 
benefits. It simply is not fair or proper for the state to give 
benefits to children of parents who break the law by their 
very presence in the United States. 

Opponents said

	 HB 28 would be unconstitutional. It is clear that under 
the 14th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution anyone born in 
the United States is a citizen and is entitled to all the benefits 
of citizenship. HB 28 would unfairly punish children – who 
under the U.S. Constitution are citizens – for the actions of 
their parents. If HB 28 were enacted, it would be challenged 
in court, and Texas would have to spend resources defending 
a clearly unconstitutional law. Immigration is a federal issue, 
and the Texas Legislature should not act until Congress 
does.

HB 28 by Berman
Died in House Committee

Illegal immigration restrictions: Prohibiting children of illegal 
immigrants from receiving state benefits

Notes 

	 Several other bills introduced in the 80th Legislature 
related to illegal immigrants. HB 127 by Delisi, which died 
in the House State Affairs Committee, would have required 
state agencies to report on the cost of services and benefits 
provided to illegal immigrants. 

	 HB 29 by Berman, which died in the House State 
Affairs Committee, would have assessed a transmission fee 
on money sent from Texas to Mexico and to Central and 
South America. A similar bill, SB 268 by Patrick, which 
died in the Senate Finance Committee, would have assessed 
a fee on money sent to any destination outside of the United 
States. Under both bills, U.S. citizens or others lawfully 
present in the United States would have been eligible for a 
refund of the fee.

	 Several bills, all of which died in committee, would 
have prohibited local governments from adopting policies 
under which they would not fully enforce state or federal 
immigration laws. A similar provision was included in HB 
13 by Swinford, an omnibus homeland security bill, which 
died in the House. Other bills, which also died in committee, 
would have authorized or required peace officers to inquire 
into the immigration status of people they arrested or 
detained under certain circumstances and in some cases to 
report or arrest those who violated civil or criminal federal 
immigration laws. HB 3507 by Hernandez, which died 
in the House Law Enforcement Committee, would have 
prohibited peace officers from being directed or required 
to enforce federal immigration law. Other bills would have 
required certain state agencies to enter into agreements with 
the federal government so that state or local peace officers 
could be trained to enforce federal immigration law.

	 HB 1196 by Kolkhorst, effective September 1, 2007, 
bars any public subsidy designed to promote economic 
development to a business that does not certify that it 
does not and will not employ an undocumented worker, 
and any business convicted under federal law of hiring an 
undocumented worker must repay to the state the amount of 
any public subsidy, with interest.
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	 HB 461 would have made an animal identification 
program developed by the Texas Animal Health 
Commission (TAHC) voluntary unless otherwise required 
by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). The 
commission could have adopted rules and required 
program participation only if USDA had set a timeline for 
the creation and implementation of a mandatory national 
program.

	 The bill would have eliminated TAHC’s authority 
to require the use of animal identification numbers as 
identification for commission programs. Also, TAHC’s 
existing authority to establish a date by which all premises 
must be registered would have been repealed. 

	 HB 461 would have required the inclusion of certain 
information on application forms for participation in the 
animal identification program. This information would 
have included a notice of the program’s voluntary status 
unless mandated by USDA and an explanation regarding the 
disclosure of information collected under the program and 
persons to whom this information can be disclosed. Also, a 
person enrolled in the animal identification program could 
have withdrawn, in which case their personal information 
would have been deleted. 

	 TAHC could not have used information collected 
under the program for anything other than disease control. 
The executive director of the commission could not have 
released information collected for the program to certain 
persons. For other entities permitted to receive information 
under current law, the commission would have been able 
to release information only if adequate protection for the 
confidentiality of information had been guaranteed. 

	 The commission would have been required to provide 
notice of the changes under the bill to each individual 
registered under the program by November 1, 2007.

Supporters said 

	 TAHC’s ability to impose a mandatory animal 
identification system should be revoked. This would be 
consistent with a decision made by the commission in 2006, 
when TAHC postponed action on proposed mandatory 
registration rules authorized by the 79th Legislature’s 
enactment of HB 1361 by Hardcastle in the previous year. A 

HB 461 by Miller
Died in the Senate

Prohibiting mandatory participation in an animal identification system

large, centralized system is not the most effective method for 
preventing and tracing animal diseases. The current process 
employed by TAHC to identify and track animals functions 
effectively, with regional or statewide quarantines imposed 
on animal movement during a disease outbreak. 

	 A mandatory animal identification system consistent 
with the USDA’s National Animal Identification System 
(NAIS) would be costly to implement statewide. The fee 
for premise registration would create a financial burden for 
animal owners, especially small producers who are subject 
to the same fees as large commercial operators. Animal 
owners should not be required to pay for a system designed 
to benefit the general public. By making participation in 
the animal identification system voluntary, HB 461 would 
permit animal owners to determine whether participation in 
the program would be beneficial. Letting the market drive 
the use of the animal identification system would be fairer 
and more efficient.

	 Being forced to register with the government constitutes 
an invasion of privacy, and TAHC should not have this 
authority unless USDA requires the commission to move 
forward with NAIS compliance. Although the initial 
phase of compliance with NAIS involves only premise 
registration, the next two components of the system – 
tagging and tracing animals – would constitute an especially 
intrusive form of government oversight. Owners should not 
be forced to provide the government with information to be 
stored and possibly shared with others, with no assurances 
that the information would remain confidential. The 
information generated through the program could be used 
against the agricultural industry, and market prices easily 
could be manipulated with new information available on 
animals in Texas.

Opponents said 

	 As part of its mission to ensure animal health, TAHC 
needs proper tools to respond to animal disease emergencies. 
Current law allows the commission to administer 
valuable programs to identify disease and infestation 
problems, register premises, and move quickly in case 
of an emergency, such as an outbreak of avian flu. These 
provisions are justified due to the devastating potential of 
an infectious animal disease or a terrorist using animal pests 
or diseases to destroy the state’s food supply. Under HB 
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461, TAHC would not be able to achieve the level of animal 
identification necessary for effective disease control, and 
its ability to adequately to protect the state’s livestock and 
public health would be weakened.

	 Certain identification processes are required when 
transporting animals across state and international borders. 
Several TAHC programs use identification components 
to administer these processes, such as the agency’s efforts 
to stamp out cattle tuberculosis, cattle brucellosis, scrapie 
in sheep and goats, and equine infectious anemia. With 
oversight by TAHC, the state’s livestock industry complies 
with standards imposed by other states, the federal 
government, and other countries. HB 461 could impede 
TAHC’s ability to ensure compliance with these standards. 
The agency no longer would be able to use certain 
identification processes to administer important programs. 
In this case, the state’s livestock industry could become 
quarantined, and HB 461 could negatively impact the Texas 
economy. 

	 Although TAHC does not have plans to require premise 
registration, current law allows the agency to do so in the 
future as needed. HB 461 would weaken this important 
standby authority. At the same time, current authority 

given to TAHC to register premises is permissive and not 
mandatory. The agency lacks the resources and authority to 
suddenly implement a mandatory program. To implement 
such a system, the commission would have to follow 
standard rule-making procedures for state agencies. Other 
components of the animal identification system, such as 
tagging and tracking, are even further from implementation. 

Other opponents said 

	 HB 461 would not offer necessary protection against 
NAIS, which requires Texas to cede jurisdiction over its 
sovereign land and people to the federal government. The 
program is a violation of states’ rights and could lead to 
the federal seizure of animals and land. Texas should adopt 
legislation stating that it will never implement NAIS, even if 
required to do so by USDA.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 461 appeared in Part One 
of the April 23 Daily Floor Report.
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	 HB 991 amends Government Code, sec. 411.192 
to remove the requirement that the Department of Public 
Safety (DPS) furnish to anyone information on whether a 
person holds a concealed handgun, leaving exceptions for 
a criminal justice agency or the applicant or license holder. 
Under prior law, any individual could file a written request 
to discover if a particular person had a concealed handgun 
license, in which case DPS was required to release the 
licensee’s name, date of birth, gender, race, and zip code to 
the requestor. HB 991 continues the requirement for DPS to 
notify a concealed handgun licensee when it releases such 
information to an authorized agency.

Supporters said

	 HB 991 would safeguard the privacy of Texans, 
including more than 42,000 female license holders, who 
choose to protect themselves or their families by carrying 
a concealed handgun. Allowing the release of this personal 
information to the public puts license holders at risk. Access 
to someone’s name, date of birth, gender, race, and zip code 
is sufficient for a stalker or burglar to locate that person, 
especially with the search capabilities available on the 
Internet. The safety and privacy of individual license holders 
outweigh abstract concerns about open government, and 
the state should err on the side of caution in protecting the 
identities of those who legally carry concealed weapons.

	 HB 991 would not prevent the public from finding out 
about a concealed handgun license holder who committed 
a weapons crime. Records concerning concealed weapons 
licenses already are tied to other criminal justice databases. 
Licensees accused of crimes have their licenses suspended, 
and the privilege is revoked upon conviction. The names of 
those with suspended or revoked licenses currently are open 
records under other statutes. 

	 Current law allows the release of statistical data on 
concealed handgun licensees, and HB 991 would not affect 
the availability of that information. The media and academic 
researchers can reach conclusions about licensees and 
their behaviors without knowing the names of individuals. 

HB 991 by Rose
Effective May 23, 2007

Limiting disclosure of concealed handgun licensees

Inquiring whether specific individuals – such as elected 
officials or celebrities – are exercising their constitutional 
right to protect themselves is intrusive and unnecessary for 
public safety. The bill would strike a fair balance between 
the public’s need for information and the safety and privacy 
concerns of licensees.

Opponents said

	 The government should not collect records that no 
one has the right to see. Names of those who hold driver’s 
licenses or professional licenses are public record, and those 
licensed to carry deadly weapons should be subject to the 
same degree of scrutiny by the media and other citizens. 
If a person commits a crime involving a handgun, the 
public has a right to know if the state licensed that person 
to carry a gun. This free flow of information helps keep the 
government responsible and responsive to the people. 

	 There is no reason to believe that public knowledge 
about a person holding a concealed handgun permit makes 
that license holder less safe. In fact, one could argue that a 
person who is known to carry a concealed weapon would 
be less likely to become a target for crime. Besides, burglars 
and stalkers are unlikely to make a public record search to 
target their victims. Most criminals commit their crimes 
impulsively, and even those planning a crime probably 
would be unwilling to request information about a potential 
victim when their name would be recorded and reported to 
that potential victim.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 991 appeared in Part One 
of the April 18 Daily Floor Report.

	 During the 2005 regular session of the 79th Legislature, 
the House passed a similar bill, HB 318 by Hupp, which 
died in Senate committee. In 2003, another similar bill, HB 
220 by Hupp, passed the House, but also died in Senate 
committee.
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HB 2006 by Woolley 
Vetoed by the governor

Revised standards for authority to use eminent domain power

	 HB 2006 would have modified processes governing 
eminent domain proceedings, standards of evidence that 
could be considered by a court in the course of making 
decisions regarding damages, obligations placed upon 
condemning entities, and the rights of previous owners to 
repurchase taken property. 

	 As a basis for assessing actual damages to a property 
owner from a condemnation, HB 2006 would have allowed 
special commissioners to take into account evidence 
relating to the change in value of the property, including 
any injury or benefit to the property owner. If property was 
condemned for purposes related to the state highway system 
or a county toll project eligible for designation as part of the 
state highway system, special commissioners also would 
have had to consider diminished access to highways for any 
remaining property to the extent that it affected the present 
value of the property, including factors considered when 
determining market value for property tax purposes. 

	 The bill would have defined “public use” as a use 
of property that allowed the state, one of its political 
subdivisions, or the general public to possess, occupy 
and enjoy the property. Governmental and private entities 
could not have taken property except for a public use and 
would have had to provide relocation services for displaced 
persons. 

	 The bill would have modified the price at which 
previous owners could repurchase condemned property on 
which a public use was cancelled within 10 years of the 
acquisition. The repurchase price would have been the price 
paid to the owner by the governmental entity at the time the 
property originally was acquired, rather than the fair market 
value of the property at the time the public use was canceled. 
The repurchase provision would not have applied to a port 
that was acquiring property for deep water navigation. (The 
constitutional authorization for this provision, HJR 30 by 
Jackson, is on the November 6, 2007, ballot.)

	 HB 2006 would have added the “Truth in 
Condemnation Procedures Act” to require a governmental 
entity, for each property or group of jointly owned 
contiguous properties to be condemned, to formally 
authorize by motion the initiation of condemnation 
proceedings at a public hearing by a record vote. The 
bill would have required entities that intended to acquire 
property for a public use to make a bona fide offer to acquire 

the property by voluntary purpose or lease. Such an offer 
would have to have been based on a reasonably thorough 
investigation and honest assessment of just compensation 
for the taking. A court, upon finding that a condemning 
entity did not make a bona fide offer, could have ordered 
the condemning entity to pay all costs and any reasonable 
attorney’s fees incurred by the subject owner.

	 In response to a request by the property owner under 
the Public Information Act, condemning entities would have 
had to furnish only documents relating to the condemnation 
of the specific property. Any condemning authority not 
subject to public information requirements intending to 
exercise the power of eminent domain would have had 
to serve property owners with notice prior to initiating 
proceedings.

Supporters said

	 HB 2006 would make critical amendments to existing 
statutes regulating eminent domain to ensure that individual 
property rights were balanced appropriately against 
legitimate public needs for property acquisition. The bill 
would make the use of eminent domain a public process 
by subjecting it to authorization by a governing body and 
ensure accountability by requiring disclosure of documents 
related to a condemnation beyond the appraisal records 
required in current statutes. 

	 Property owners rightfully deserve to be compensated 
for diminished access to their property due to certain road 
projects. These costs should be borne by entities that use 
eminent domain for road construction and are necessary to 
fairly compensate property owners for their losses due to 
these takings. The costs of paying for diminished access 
would be substantially less than what has been estimated by 
critics of the provision, and any cost increase would mean 
that property owners have not been fairly compensated in 
the past. 

	 HB 2006 would provide a definition of public use that 
both holds condemning authorities accountable and has 
sufficient flexibility to avoid discounting legitimate public 
interests. Public use would be defined generally to include 
specific uses added by previous legislation or uses that allow 
public interests to access and otherwise enjoy the property. 
This definition would preclude conspicuous examples of 
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condemnations that result in private commercial uses but 
that are justified as being publicly accessible, incidental to 
the primary use, and having economic benefits. 

	 The bill would leave sufficient room for fair 
consideration of evidence in eminent domain transactions. 
Expanding evidence standards would provide recognition 
of the special status of condemnation proceedings caused 
by the fact that the property owner would not have sold 
under normal circumstances. Current standards of evidence 
do not provide for unique conditions associated with each 
property. Property owner rights would be protected by the 
bona fide offer requirement expressly placed on condemning 
authorities. Recourse would be available, along with 
compensable court fees, for an owner who was unable to 
partake in fair negotiations with the condemning authority. 
Entities using the power of eminent domain would have a 
strong incentive to negotiate in good faith and try to secure a 
settlement up front. 

	 HB 2006 would provide for the repurchase of 
condemned property at the price the entity paid at the time 
of acquisition. Permitting the repurchase price to be set at 
the original sale value, and not the current fair market value 
as currently required in the Property Code, would enable 
subject property owners to reclaim equity for appreciating 
property to which they were entitled. The bill would not 
confer any special advantage upon an individual because it 
would permit only the redress of a taking that was not justly 
executed. The bill under no conditions would guarantee 
the transfer of positive value to an individual. The bill 
would create a strong disincentive against the speculative 
exercise of eminent domain authority by condemning 
authorities, including school districts, municipal and 
county governments, state agencies, pipelines, and utilities. 
Condemning authorities would be discouraged strongly 
from acquiring land through eminent domain for which 
there were no immediate plans. 

Opponents said 

	 HB 2006 would introduce more liabilities into 
eminent domain proceedings than it would resolve. The 
bill unnecessarily would change statutory provisions that 
have not given rise to any substantial issues since they were 
enacted in 2005 through SB 7 by Janek, 79th Legislature, 
second called session.

	 Provisions requiring compensation to land owners for 
diminished access to their remaining property as a result 
of an eminent domain taking for certain road construction 
would go too far. This requirement would cost taxpayers 
extraordinary sums – with one estimate putting it at easily 

over $1 billion annually – and stop or seriously delay needed 
road projects by making their costs prohibitively high. This 
requirement could lead to excessive compensation for those 
whose access was reasonably preserved and only would 
enrich condemnation lawyers who bring suits for these 
damages.

	 HB 2006 would add an overly broad standard to 
the criteria of admitting evidence for the determination 
of damages in a condemnation hearing. Allowing the 
consideration of the impact of highways built as part of 
toll plans would open up a dangerous and indefinite realm. 
This standard could include evidence of items that did not 
necessarily have any bearing on value of the property, the 
purpose for which the land was being taken, or the material 
damage to the owner. Allowing an expanded variety of 
evidence could create greater inconsistencies in the hearing 
process and reduce the overall equity of damage claims 
across the state. 

	 The bill also would introduce vague provisions 
regarding the definition of public use and bona fide 
negotiations. While the bill appropriately would count 
the permitted uses specifically listed in statute as public, 
it would not define clearly the relationship between 
primary and incidental uses. HB 2006 would require future 
clarification about the permissibility of public uses that had 
an incidental private benefit. In addition, the determination 
of a good faith effort would be left to a court. This could 
place many condemning authorities in the difficult position 
of being unaware of what steps to take to ensure a finding of 
a bona fide offer. The provision could encourage litigation to 
clarify what constituted a good faith effort in the context of 
eminent domain. 

	 HB 2006 would allow “double recovery” for property 
owners who had undergone eminent domain proceedings 
and were eligible to repurchase their property. The bill 
would confer a windfall upon property owners who were 
compensated justly for the original taking. An owner who 
was eligible to repurchase at the price originally paid could 
accrue all the equity from appreciation without having to 
pay property taxes, maintenance expenses, and other costs 
normally incurred as part of property ownership. The bill 
would allow any appreciation that accrued in the property 
while it was in the custody of a government organization 
to be transferred to an individual in the form of equity. 
Allowing an individual to repurchase at the original 
price effectively could result in the state being used as an 
instrument of financial gain for that individual. There is 
a good reason for the longstanding and rarely amended 
constitutional prohibition against transferring things of 
public value to individuals.
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Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2006 appeared in Part One 
of the May 7 Daily Floor Report.

	 For more information on HB 2006, see HRO 
Focus Report Number 80-6, Vetoes of Legislation, 80th 
Legislature, July 9, 2007, pp. 46-49.
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HJR 19 by Branch
Effective if approved by voters at the November 6, 2007, election

Requiring legislators to cast record votes

	 HJR 19 would amend Texas Constitution, Art. 3, sec. 
12 to require a vote taken in either house of the Legislature 
be by record vote if it was on final passage of:

•	 a bill;
•	 a joint resolution proposing or ratifying a 

constitutional amendment; or
•	 any other resolution except one of a purely 

ceremonial or honorary nature. 

	 A vote on final passage would mean a vote on:

•	 third reading;
•	 second reading, if the applicable house suspended 

or otherwise dispensed with the requirement for 
three readings;

•	 whether to concur in the amendments of the other 
house; or

•	 whether to adopt a conference committee report. 

	 Either house could pass a rule to provide for exceptions 
for a bill that applied only to one district or political 
subdivision of the state. Each member’s vote would be 
recorded in the appropriate journal and made available 
for at least two years on the Internet or future electronic 
communications technology in a form accessible to the 
public by referencing the number or subject of the bill or 
resolution. 

Supporters said

	 HJR 19 would require legislators to be accountable for 
their votes and help the public assess how each member 
stood on each significant issue before the Legislature. A 
key tenet of democracy is open government and the ability 
of voters to hold their elected officials accountable. Texas 
is one of only nine states that does not require record votes 
on final passage of legislation. Although the House Rules 
require final votes to be recorded, the requirement should be 
written in the Constitution because the rules can be changed 
every session. Any member can request a record vote at 
any time, but that does not occur on many of the votes cast, 
meaning that less than half of the votes taken are helpful to 
the public in deciding if their elected officials are voting in 
their best interests. 

	 Too many votes have been hidden under the “voice 
vote” provision, which is a common method of passing or 
defeating legislation in both chambers. House members 
have their votes recorded as “aye” unless they state their 
preference for a “no” vote, so an “aye” vote is merely 
presumed. Members should be required to affirmatively vote 
one way or the other as a matter of public record. 

	 HJR 19 appropriately would require record votes 
on third reading or final passage because final passage 
is the key vote on any bill. On other matters, any House 
member or any three senators may ask for a record vote and 
frequently do, so the most important votes already can be 
recorded. However, if the Constitution required record votes 
on second reading or on every vote on every amendment, it 
significantly would slow the lawmaking process. 

Opponents said

	 The House rules already require record votes on third 
reading and final passage, and any member can ask for 
a record vote on any measure at any time. Under House 
Rules, passage of a bill or joint resolution without objection 
is equivalent to a recorded vote because the House Journal 
reflects the fact that all members voted for the measure 
and are allowed to register opposition if they choose. The 
Senate has recorded all votes on final passage since the 
79th Legislature in 2005, so it is not necessary to amend 
the Constitution to require this. Placing the requirement in 
the Constitution could create a time-consuming, logistical 
burden for future legislatures. Legislators should maintain 
the flexibility to determine how many of the hundreds of 
hours members and staff spend in session should be devoted 
to counting and recording votes. Current procedures adopted 
by rule in both chambers offer a practical way of informing 
the public while allowing the Legislature to carry out its 
business in an efficient manner during the brief biennial 
sessions.

Other opponents said

	 HJR 19 also should require record votes on second 
reading, which is the most important stage in the process 
of considering legislation. Votes cast during the second 
reading of a bill carry significant importance because 
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amendments can be adopted at this stage with a simple 
majority, rather than the two-thirds vote required to amend 
a bill on third reading. As a result, bills rarely are amended 
on third reading, and most of the substantive debate takes 
place on second reading. The ability to view record votes 
on second reading would provide true transparency and 
allow the public to express their opinions on a bill prior 
to final passage. As a practical matter, votes on second 
reading already are posted on the Internet, and the proposed 
amendment should reflect this practice. 

	 Allowing legislators to adopt rules to except local bills 
from the third-reading record vote requirement could allow 
controversial local bills to be overlooked. Although neither 
house would be required to adopt such a rule and any House 
member or any three Senators may request a record vote 
at any time under current rules, the proposed amendment 
might have the perverse effect of requiring record votes on 
routine measures without shedding light on how members 
voted on important bills that applied to only one district or 
political subdivision.  

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HJR 19 appeared in the April 
17 Daily Floor Report. 

	 HB 83 by Branch, which would have required by statute 
that each house of the Legislature record on final passage 
votes on all bills, resolutions, and other resolutions that were 
not purely ceremonial or honorary in nature, died in the 
House.	
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HJR 59 by Elkins
Died in Senate Committee

Allowing the Legislature to override a veto after sine die adjournment

	 HJR 59 would have amended the Constitution to 
require the Legislature to convene after the 20-day post-
session deadline for filing veto proclamations to reconsider 
vetoes by the governor. The period for reconsidering vetoes 
would have begun at 10 a.m. on the day after the veto 
deadline and could not have exceeded five consecutive days. 
Unless the Legislature had been called into special session 
by the governor, it could not have considered any subject 
except vetoes of bills or appropriation line items that the 
governor had returned within three days before or any time 
after sine die adjournment of a session.

Supporters said

	 HJR 59 would give the Legislature an opportunity to 
exercise its authority under the Constitution to reconsider 
legislation vetoed by the governor following sine die 
adjournment. The Texas Constitution requires the governor 
to sign or to forward a veto with objections to the house that 
originated the bill within 10 days while the Legislature is 
in session. For bills sent to the governor during the final 10 
days, not counting Sundays, of a session or after sine die 
adjournment, the governor has 20 days after adjournment to 
veto a bill or a line item in the appropriations bill, leaving 
the Legislature with no opportunity to attempt to override 
the veto.

	 Texas is one of 17 states where only the governor 
may call a special session, while the remaining 33 states 
permit either the governor or legislature to call a special or 
extraordinary session, which may include review of vetoed 
items. As such, the governor can kill measures approved by 
both chambers secure in the knowledge that the Legislature 
is powerless to challenge a veto decision. Providing the 
option to override a governor’s veto would enhance the 
authority to enact laws by the people’s representatives, 
where it belongs, and reinforce constitutional checks and 
balances. It makes little sense for the Legislature to have the 
authority to override vetoes if it rarely has the opportunity to 
exercise that authority.

	 Rather than addressing specific debates between the 
governor and the Legislature, the proposed constitutional 
amendment would deal with general issues of accountability 

and balance of power. Under the bill, existing constitutional 
requirements would remain unchanged, and overriding a 
veto still would be extremely difficult. The governor would 
retain the power to veto legislation, and the vote necessary 
to override the veto would remain a two-thirds majority in 
both chambers. The call for the session would be limited 
to overriding vetoes, unless the governor also had called a 
special session. 

	 The Legislature often must consider complex legislation 
for which it may be difficult to reach agreement until the 
very end of the session. No matter the length of a session, 
some legislation always will be passed within the final 10 
days before sine die adjournment. HJR 59 effectively would 
give lawmakers additional time to complete that challenging 
task. Just as legislators could reach compromises and build 
alliances to override vetoes, the governor would have the 
opportunity to reach agreement to prevent a veto from 
being overridden. Bills that survive the winnowing of the 
legislative process, only to be vetoed, should not have to 
wait until the next regular session to be considered. The 
same members who passed the original legislation should 
have the opportunity to address the veto.

Opponents said

	 The governor of Texas constitutionally has limited 
authority, and the ability to veto legislation after sine die 
adjournment and call special sessions are among the few 
strong powers of the office. HJR 59 would weaken further 
the office of the governor. Quarrels between legislators 
and the governor can be resolved without amending the 
Constitution.

	 The Legislature could recapture its ability to respond to 
vetoes if it did not send an overwhelming majority of bills to 
the governor during the final 10 days of the session. During 
the 2007 regular session, the Legislature sent to the governor 
1,226 of the 1,481 bills passed, or 83 percent of the total, 
during the last 10 days, allowing the governor to wait until 
20 days after the session adjourned to act on those bills. If 
the Legislature believes a bill may be vetoed, then it should 
enact the bill early in the session to allow an override vote to 
be taken. 
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Other opponents said

	 HJR 59 would be too inflexible and would require 
the Legislature to convene for up to five days whether or 
not there was a need or desire to do so. The amendment 
would include no mechanism to determine whether there 
was a necessary majority to override a veto. For example, 
Gov. Perry vetoed two bills during the 2007 regular session 
before the final 10 days, and the Legislature made no effort 
to override either veto when it had the chance.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HJR 59 appeared in the March 
21 Daily Floor Report.



House Research Organization Page 97

	 SB 11 changes the structure of the state’s emergency 
management system, exempts certain discussions about 
school security audits from open meetings requirements, 
expands wiretap authority, allows the use of toll road 
technologies for criminal investigations, creates a Border 
Security Council to advise the governor on the distribution 
of border security funds, and creates a state database for 
temporary vehicle tags, among other provisions.

	 Emergency management. SB 11 designates certain 
local officials as emergency management directors to serve 
as the governor’s designated agents for duties under the 
Texas Disaster Act. The bill requires public officers whose 
duties involve emergency management responsibilities to 
complete a training course developed by the governor’s 
division of emergency management

	 SB 11 divides the state into disaster districts for 
homeland security preparedness and response activities. 
The districts follow the boundaries of state planning regions 
under Local Government Code provisions dealing with 
regional planning commissions.

	 Mutual aid systems. SB 11 establishes the Texas 
Statewide Mutual Aid System to provide for statewide 
mutual aid responses between local governments that do 
not have written mutual aid agreements. A request for 
mutual aid assistance between local governmental entities is 
considered to be made under the system in SB 11 unless the 
entities requesting aid and responding have a written mutual 
aid agreement. 

	 School security audits. SB 11 exempts school boards 
and charter schools from open meetings requirements when 
deliberating about a district security audit. The bill requires 
school districts to report the results of the security audit to 
the Texas School Safety Center and allows institutions of 
higher education to use any appropriate model for a multi-
hazard emergency operations plan developed by the center. 

	 Wiretap authority. SB 11 expands the current authority 
to use wiretaps from investigations of capital murder, 
child pornography, and certain drug crimes to include 
investigations of kidnapping, aggravated kidnapping, 
trafficking of persons, and money laundering if the money 
laundering involved an offense against a person. 

SB 11 by Carona
Generally effective September 1, 2007

Emergency management, mutual aid system, wiretaps, vehicle tags, 
Border Security Council

	 Toll road technology and emergency vehicles. SB 
11 repeals the current prohibition against evidence from 
automated toll road enforcement technologies, such as 
photographs, being used in the prosecution of any offenses 
except for capital murder and certain offenses relating to 
paying tolls. The bill also prohibits toll project entities 
from requiring tolls from certain emergency vehicles used 
by a nonprofit disaster relief organization exclusively for 
emergencies and allows certain vehicles to be authorized to 
operate as emergency vehicles during a disaster.

	 Border Security Council. SB 11 creates the Border 
Security Council to advise the governor about the allocation 
of border security funds and to develop and recommend to 
the governor performance standards, reporting requirements, 
audit methods, and other procedures to ensure funds 
allocated by the governor for border security are used 
properly and that fund recipients are held accountable for the 
funds. The council is composed of members appointed by 
the governor, at least one-third of whom must be residents of 
the Texas-Mexico border region. 

	 Temporary vehicle tag database. SB 11 establishes a 
system for generating and tracking temporary cardboard 
tags placed on new vehicles. The Texas Department of 
Transportation is required to develop and maintain a secure, 
real-time database of information on vehicles on which 
dealers and converters had affixed temporary cardboard 
tags and with information on persons to whom temporary 
tags were issued. The database must allow law enforcement 
agencies to use vehicle-specific numbers to obtain 
information about the dealer or buyer of a car. Dealers will 
charge $5 for each temporary cardboard buyer’s tag, and the 
money will be deposited in the state highway fund. The bill 
also creates criminal penalties for illegal actions involving 
the tags. 

	 Public Safety Commission. SB 11 increases the size 
of the Public Safety Commission, which oversees the 
Department of Public Safety (DPS), from three to five 
members and requires that all members reflect the diverse 
geographic regions and population groups of Texas.

	 Immunization records of first responders and 
disease management. SB 11 establishes a state registry of 
information about persons who receive immunization or 
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other medications to prepare for a potential disaster, attack, 
military action, or other emergency. 

	 SB 11 revises the powers of a regional health authority 
and the Department of State Health Services in attempting 
to limit the spread of a contagious disease. If they believe 
that five or more people had been exposed or infected with a 
communicable disease, they can order those exposed to take 
control measures to prevent the spread of the disease. The 
bill establishes procedures for the isolation and quarantine of 
a group of five or more individuals by court order. 

	 Enhanced driver’s licenses. SB 11 authorizes DPS to 
issue an enhanced driver’s license or identification card for 
crossing the Texas-Mexico border. These may be issued 
only to applicants who prove their U.S. citizenship, identity, 
and Texas residency. DPS must implement a biometric 
matching system for the enhanced license. 

	 Human trafficking. SB 11 expands the kinds of 
activities that may be considered part of the criminal offense 
of human trafficking, requires certain hotels and other public 
lodgings that have tolerated human trafficking and are part 
of a common nuisance civil suit to post a toll-free number 
concerning human trafficking, and directs the attorney 
general and the Health and Human Services Commission to 
conduct studies on human trafficking.

Supporters said  

	 SB 11 is necessary to improve the state’s disaster and 
emergency readiness and to give law enforcement necessary 
tools to ensure homeland security. 

	 Emergency management. SB 11 would codify parts of 
the state’s emergency management structure and response 
currently found in executive orders. Placing this information 
in statute would help ensure consistency and make it easier 
to find the guidelines. 

	 Mutual aid agreements. SB 11 would establish a single 
statewide mutual aid system to cover situations in which 
a local entity needed aid but had not already entered into 
an agreement. Outlining a default system in statute would 
allow aid to flow more quickly and efficiently, streamline 
the delivery of aid in an emergency, and cut red tape. 
Allowing local entities to enter into any type of agreement 
they wanted, with the model agreement in the bill available 
as a back-up, would allow these agreements to be tailored to 
specific local needs. 

	 School security audits. SB 11 would protect school 
districts from having to reveal security information that 
should be kept private, such as a planned meeting point for 
children in a terrorist attack, by exempting school boards 
from open meetings requirements when discussing these 
plans. School board members, who are elected to represent 
the public, would have access to this information, but it 
would not have to be revealed in a public meeting. Allowing 
public access to information in security audits could give 
terrorists or others with bad intentions information that they 
could exploit and could compromise the ability of the school 
to keep students safe.

	 Wiretap authority. SB 11 would expand the wiretap 
statutes to address kidnapping, trafficking in persons, 
and money laundering, all crimes that have an impact on 
homeland security. The state should allow wiretaps in 
these cases because these are serious crimes for which 
law enforcement may need to gather information and 
act quickly. It would be appropriate to include money 
laundering in the wiretap authority because this offense 
has a clear connection to homeland security and often 
involves narcotics, something for which wiretaps already are 
authorized. 

	 Toll road technology and use by certain vehicles. 
Repealing restrictions dealing with toll road enforcement 
technology would give law enforcement another tool that 
would be used only in limited, but important circumstances, 
such as a kidnapping or terrorism case. Concerns about 
this provision leading to harassment and false arrest are 
unrealistic. SB 11 would allow evidence of toll road 
violations to be used in any criminal prosecution just as 
a parking ticket can be used in any criminal prosecution. 
There is no reason to continue to arbitrarily limit the type of 
evidence that may be used by prosecutors.

	 Border Security Council. By establishing the Border 
Security Council, SB 11 would create a structure to allow 
formal input into the allocation of border security funds and 
the evaluation of how they are spent. The bill would give the 
governor flexibility to appoint the members of the council 
so that it could include people possessing the necessary 
range of expertise. It makes sense that the governor, who 
has the responsibility for homeland security, should have 
the authority to appoint the council in the same way other 
state advisory boards are appointed. The council would be 
charged only with providing advice, not making any legally 
binding decisions, and its meetings and plans would be 
subject to the state’s open meetings and public information 
laws so that there would be checks and balances on their 
activities.
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	 Temporary vehicle tag database. SB 11 would create 
a temporary tag database with unique numbers to track 
sales of new vehicles, because currently law enforcement 
authorities cannot readily identify owners and drivers of 
vehicles with temporary tags. The current system raises 
concerns related to homeland security because the tags are 
counterfeited easily and can be used by criminals to move 
anonymously across the state roadways and to transfer 
stolen vehicles across the border. 

Opponents said 

	 Emergency management. Placing in statute the 
language governing emergency management that currently 
is found in executive orders could reduce the state’s 
flexibility to respond to emergencies. Under SB 11, any 
changes to these directives would have to wait until the law 
could be amended when the Legislature was in session, 
whereas now they can be changed through an executive 
order to meet the needs of a particular emergency.

	 Mutual aid agreements. SB 11 would add to the 
confusion concerning mutual aid agreements by establishing 
yet another kind of agreement to go with the three that 
already exist. It would be better to develop a single 
statewide mutual aid system. 

	 School security audits. Texas needs to publicly vet 
its school security audits so that predictable errors can be 
identified and plans improved before a problem occurs. 
School security audits should be developed with maximum 
public input and accountability, and shielding them from 
open meetings requirements could be counterproductive.  

	 Wiretap authority. The expansion of wiretap authority 
to money laundering would go too far. Current law limiting 
wiretap authority to murder, possession or promotion of 
child pornography, and drug crimes rightfully limits this tool 
to the most serious crimes in which immediate information 
can be crucial. While kidnapping and trafficking of persons 
may fit these circumstances, money laundering would not. 

	 Even worse would be an expansion of the state’s 
wiretap statutes, which some have proposed, to authorize 
roving wiretaps, which allow tapping of any phone used by 
a person, because this would go too far in allowing potential 
violations of Texans’ privacy rights, especially for a person 
not under investigation. For example, if a person frequently 
used a phone at a neighbor’s house or at a business, that 
phone could fall under the wiretap, which could violate the 
privacy of the neighbor or business.

	 Toll road technology and use by certain vehicles. By 
repealing the current restriction on using toll road photos 
for law enforcement purposes, SB 11 would go too far and 
could result in an unwarranted expansion of surveillance 
information. This could lead to misuse and misidentification, 
resulting in harassment and false arrest of innocent people 
who look similar to people suspected of crimes. 

	 Border Security Council. SB 11 is not specific enough 
about the composition of the Border Security Council to 
ensure that it would have balanced, fair representation. 
The bill would authorize the governor to name the council 
without placing any requirements on the members, such as 
geographic and law enforcement agency diversity. Without 
this diversity, the council could continue sending homeland 
and border security funds to a small number of law 
enforcement entities. Numerous entities, such as municipal 
police departments, should be included in the decision 
making and receipt of funds.

Other opponents said 

	 Wiretap authority. SB 11 would not go far enough in 
revising the state’s wiretap statutes. It also should authorize 
roving wiretaps in narrow circumstances. Roving wiretaps, 
which are tied to a person, not a particular instrument, are 
increasingly necessary because criminals have become 
more sophisticated in their knowledge of the law and are 
using cell phones for a short time – sometimes only one 
day – before discarding them. Tapping the person and not 
the instrument in limited circumstances would modernize 
the state wiretap statute to recognize this use of cell phone 
technology, which was not in existence when the original 
statute was enacted.

	 Roving wiretaps would continue to have to meet the 
numerous restrictions and regulations on wiretaps, including 
receiving authorization from a limited number of high-level 
judges who monitor the authority and having DPS operate 
the equipment. Requirements that wiretaps be minimized 
and turned off if conversations did not pertain to an 
investigation would apply. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 11 originally appeared in 
the May 17 Daily Floor Report.

	 Several of the provisions in SB 11 appeared in other 
bills considered by the 80th Legislature. The provisions 
creating the Border Security Council were in HB 13 by 
Swinford, which died in the House. 



Page 100 House Research Organization

	 SB 129 specifies that a gift of cash or cash equivalent 
such as a negotiable instrument or gift certificate reported on 
a personal financial statement disclosure filed with the Texas 
Ethics Commission (TEC) on or after January 1, 2008, must 
include in the description of the gift a statement of the gift’s 
value. 

Supporters said

	 SB 129 would close a loophole in current law that 
allows a state official to receive cash or the equivalent 
without disclosing the amount of the gift. While a state 
officer annually must disclose any gift worth more than 
$250, including a description of the gift and the person 
who gave it, current law does not specifically require the 
description to include a value. In 1999, TEC issued Ethics 
Advisory Opinion No. 415, which held a state official need 
not report the specific value of a gift. The commission 
reaffirmed this position in 2006, stating that the description 
of a gift of cash or cash equivalent is not required to include 
its value because the term “description” is not defined in the 
relevant statutes. As a result, a person subject to personal 
financial disclosure requirements need only report a gift as 
a “check” or “money order” without having to disclose the 
face value, even if a check is for $100,000. By specifically 
requiring the description to include a statement of the gift’s 
value, SB 129 would strengthen public trust in financial 
disclosure laws. 

	 Current law requires that most financial activity on 
personal financial statements include a specific amount 
or range, or a dollar category. SB 129 would follow a 
recent recommendation for statutory change from TEC 
by including a statement of actual cash value for gifts 
reported in financial disclosure statements. This common 
sense requirement would set clear guidelines for state 
officers and generate more confidence in state government 
accountability and the state agency responsible for personal 
financial statements and their disclosure.

SB 129 by West 
Effective September 1, 2007

Reporting the value of gifts of cash or cash equivalent to public officials

Opponents said

	 SB 129 is not needed because Texas has had strict 
prohibitions involving gifts to public servants and elected 
officials and their employees in all three branches of 
government since 1973. Current law does not require 
officials to declare the value of gifts because the exceptions 
for gift-giving are so narrow, and TEC has issued an opinion 
upholding this principle as recently as 2006. 

Other opponents said

	 A better approach for the Legislature to enhance 
financial disclosure would be to clarify that TEC has the 
authority to interpret statutes that are consistent with its 
mission, including being able to define certain terms and 
adopt applicable rules.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 129 appeared in Part One of 
the May 15 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 903 by Brimer
Died in conference committee

Continuing the Office of State-Federal Relations

	 SB 903 would have continued the Office of State-
Federal Relations (OSFR) until September 1, 2013. 
OSFR, the state’s advocate with the federal government 
in Washington, D.C., seeks federal funding for the state, 
prioritizes the state’s agenda at the federal level, and acts 
as a conduit between state and federal entities regarding 
Texas issues. An advisory committee of the governor, the 
lieutenant governor, and the speaker of the House annually 
reviews the state’s federal priorities and strategies.

	 The bill would have required that any political 
subdivision or state agency report to the OSFR any contract 
it had entered or ended with a federal-level lobbyist 
within 30 days of a change of status. It would have added 
duties for the agency, including notifying certain state 
and congressional officials of important state and federal 
actions and conducting conference calls with the lieutenant 
governor and the speaker, or their representatives.

	 The House-passed version would have funded the 
agency through the Governor’s Office, which would have 
provided human resources and administrative support for 
the OSFR. The agency could not have contracted with 
federal-level lobbyists. The advisory board would have been 
required to approve the hiring of any employees, except 
for the executive director, who would have been appointed 
by the governor, subject to the advice and consent of the 
Senate.

	 The Senate-passed version would have abolished the 
OSFR as an independent agency and transferred all its duties 
and functions to the Governor’s Office. It also would have 
abolished the advisory committee, allowing the executive 
director to approve all employee hiring. The governor still 
would have appointed the executive director but would not 
have needed the advice and consent of the Senate to do so. 
The agency would have been permitted to contract with 
federal-level lobbyists, provided the governor had signed a 
contract that would have included performance measures, 
termination clauses, and oversight provisions. The OSFR 
would have been required to adopt written procedures for 
any contract with a federal-level lobbyist that provided for a 
competitive procurement process, a method to assign value 
to a bidder’s ability and experience level in providing the 
needed services, and a way to assure that a consultant or a 
consultant’s clients did not have interests that conflicted with 
those of the state.

Supporters said

	 SB 903 appropriately would continue the OSFR, 
which the Sunset Advisory Commission found plays a vital 
role not only in securing federal dollars for Texas but also 
in serving as a resource to Texas legislators and federal 
officials in Washington. The bill would establish the agency 
as the central resource for all governmental lobbying efforts 
originating from Texas.

	 The OSFR still is a vital resource, especially on 
occasions when the state’s congressional delegation may 
be unable to put aside differences for political reasons or 
parochial interests. It is essential the state have an advocate 
in Washington that reflects the view of the entire state, and 
Texas is not alone in this endeavor. Thirty-seven states have 
established a Washington office staffed by government 
employees, and two others use consultants to represent their 
interests at the federal level. The bill would make the OSFR 
a clearinghouse through which all state and local entities 
would report any federal lobbying contracts. This procedure 
would ensure the state and its federal legislators were on the 
same page with all government entities. It also would allow 
the OSFR to craft a consistent message from all levels of 
state and local government. 

Supporters of the House-passed 
version said

	 SB 903 would ensure the agency could not become 
entangled with partisan politics by administratively attaching 
it to the Governor’s Office and adding new restrictions, such 
as a prohibition on contracts with federal-level lobbyists.

	 During the 2003 budget shortfall, the Legislature cut 
the OSFR’s staff from 17 to seven, prompting the agency 
to subcontract some of its lobbying work, which will end 
up costing the state $1.2 million. In early 2006, two of 
those contracts made headlines when it was revealed that 
the state had hired two lobbyists with ties to former U.S. 
House Majority Leader Tom DeLay and convicted lobbyist 
Jack Abramoff. Critics were concerned about the potential 
partisanship of contracted state government workers, whose 
records showed they met mostly with Republican members 
of Congress. 
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	 The House-passed version of SB 903 would prevent this 
from happening again by prohibiting future contracts with 
lobbyists. The state has a wealth of resources in Washington, 
along with the sitting president and several high-ranking 
officials in the executive branch, that include the OSFR, 
other lobbyists working for state or local entities, and Texas’ 
34-member congressional delegation. The main role of 
these officials, especially those who work directly for the 
government, is to advocate for the needs of Texans. On any 
number of issues, from hurricane relief to the exemption 
of state sales taxes on federal returns, these government 
employees have put aside partisan politics to focus on the 
needs of Texas.

	 The bill would follow the spirit of the Sunset 
commission’s recommendation to remove costly and 
inefficient administrative functions from the OSFR’s 
domain, but it would depart from the letter of the 
recommendation to place the agency under the direction 
of the governor. In a state in which the executive branch is 
decentralized, the lieutenant governor and speaker of the 
House also should have a significant voice in determining 
federal priorities. 

Supporters of the Senate-passed 
version said

	 This version of SB 903 would recognize certain realities 
about the federal process and allow for the state to enter 
into contracts with lobbyists under strict requirements. The 
bill more closely would follow the recommendations of the 
Sunset commission, which carefully researched the agency 
and crafted solutions that would allow it to advocate more 
effectively for the state while reducing the potential risk of 
contracting with outside consultants. Placing the agency 
under the governor’s direct authority would create a more 
efficient and responsive chain of command. 

	 Of the 37 states with Washington offices, 13 hire 
additional consultants. Although the Sunset commission 
did not make a value judgment on whether the state should 
pursue this option, it did find the role of outside help to be 
beneficial for the states that used the assistance properly. 
Certain lobbyists have expertise and networks that are 
unmatched by OSFR employees. The OSFR attributes $1.1 
billion in federal money for the state to the work of the 
outside lobbyists, whom it credits with successfully pressing 
for increases in federal highway money and authorization 
of maintenance dredging in the Matagorda Ship Channel. 
By subcontracting out the work, the Governor’s Office 
estimates the state saved about 15 percent of the amount it 
would have paid to perform the same functions itself. 

	 The Senate version would give the state the option of 
hiring lobbyists if doing so gave Texas an advantage in 
receiving more funding or achieving a specific policy goal. 
By setting clear guidelines for hiring and evaluation, and 
ensuring lobbyists had the ability to work with all members 
of Congress without conflicting interests, the bill would 
provide ample safeguards to prevent a repeat of recent 
controversies. Also, given recent staff cuts, the agency 
should have some leeway in hiring additional staff to handle 
a particularly taxing or overwhelming problem. 

	 The Sunset commission found that Texas is the only 
state whose federal advocacy office is an independent 
agency. The Senate version of the bill would move 
the agency under the governor’s authority, providing a 
clear chain of command that would allow the agency 
to act quickly in a fast-paced Washington environment. 
Maintaining the advisory committee of the governor, the 
lieutenant governor, and the speaker of the House would 
leave the OSFR with too many masters. If any of the three 
members were from different political parties, for example, 
the agency’s ability to set clear priorities and serve as a 
central voice for Texas in Washington would be undermined.

Opponents said

	 The state should not continue to spend money to 
lobby the federal government when that money could 
be used for more urgent local needs. Thirty-four elected 
officials represent the interests of Texas in Washington, 
and although they may take parochial views on certain 
issues, they have shown the ability to unite across party 
lines on issues of statewide significance. It is not the role of 
government to create an office of lobbyists or – even worse 
– to fund additional lobbyists to champion state interests 
in Washington. Using state tax dollars to chase federal tax 
dollars is an inherently wasteful process, especially when 
significant amounts of federal money are dedicated through 
guaranteed funding formulas.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 903 appeared in Part One of 
the May 14 Daily Floor Report.

	 HB 3249 by Truitt extended OSFR’s Sunset date by two 
years, to September 1, 2009. The governor signed the bill on 
June 15.
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	 SB 1908 amends provisions governing the allocation 
formula by the Texas Department of Housing and 
Community Affairs (TDHCA) for distributing housing 
tax credits, modifies criteria for evaluating tax credit 
applications, makes administrative revisions to agency 
operations, and creates statutory authorization for a first-
time homebuyers program administered by TDHCA. The 
bill also establishes a statewide land bank program and 
revises an existing land bank program in Houston.  

	 Modifying the Regional Allocation Formula (RAF). 
SB 1908 requires TDHCA to allocate 15 percent of available 
housing tax credits for at-risk developments prior to 
distributing funding through the regional allocation formula 
(RAF). TDHCA also must allocate 20 percent or more of the 
housing tax credits in an application cycle to developments 
in rural areas. Of this allocation, at least $500,000 must 
be reserved for rural developments in each service region 
designated in the RAF. Any funds that remain following an 
initial allocation for rural developments will be available for 
allocation in urban areas in each service area.

	 The bill calls for TDHCA to allocate 5 percent 
of housing tax credits in each application cycle to 
developments that receive federal financial assistance 
through the Texas Rural Development Office. Tax credits 
allocated to these developments for rehabilitation must come 
from funds set aside for at-risk developments. Housing 
Trust Fund (HTF) revenue in an amount less than $3 million 
and funds designated primarily to serve disabled persons 
will be exempt from distribution through the RAF. The bill 
also recodifies requirements relating to regional allocation 
developed by TDHCA that account for the need for housing 
assistance and the availability of housing resources in urban 
or rural areas.

	 Revising low-income tax credit allocation. SB 1908 
amends provisions governing the points allocated for 
housing tax credit applications. Statutes providing for the 
administration of points on the basis of written statements 
from elected officials are modified to specify that such 
statements must come from the state representative or the 
senator representing the district containing the proposed 
development site. The bill repeals provisions requiring 
each written statement received to be equally weighted. An 
applicant will be awarded full points for demonstrating a 
good faith effort to obtain community participation in the 
event there is no neighborhood association corresponding 

SB 1908 by Ellis
Effective September 1, 2007

Modifying provisions for statewide and local housing programs

to the proposed development. The absence of an association 
must be verified by an officer of a municipality or county 
clerk, as applicable. Additional points may be awarded 
for an application located in a disaster area declared by 
the governor, and applicants are encouraged to provide 
free notary public service to the residents of proposed 
developments. 

	 Modifications to TDHCA. SB 1908 establishes the 
Texas First-Time Homebuyer Program to facilitate the 
origination of single-family mortgage loans for eligible 
first-time homebuyers and to provide loans for down 
payment and closing cost assistance. The bill allows the 
TDHCA board to adopt rules governing the administration 
of the program, the provision of loans to eligible applicants, 
and terms of contracts made with mortgage lenders. To 
be eligible for a mortgage loan through the program, an 
individual must qualify as a first-time homebuyer and meet 
income eligibility and other departmental requirements.  

	 The bill makes other administrative and operational 
changes to TDHCA, including requiring transcripts of public 
meetings, exempting personal information from disclosure, 
allowing for the imposition of administrative penalties of up 
to $1,000, and providing for alternative dispute resolution 
procedures. The annual low-income housing report will be 
treated as an administrative rule, and TDHCA must follow 
standard statutory rulemaking procedures to adopt it as such.

	 Modifying receivership programs. SB 1908 modifies 
provisions authorizing the receivership and rehabilitation 
of property. The bill strikes references restricting the scope 
of applicability of the receivership statute – which allows 
a municipality to bring action against a property in court 
and arrange for temporary custody to be granted to a 
nonprofit organization or developer – to residential property. 
Receivers may collect a receivership fee of 10 percent of 
total costs and expenses, which are added to the amount 
an owner has to pay to recover a property. Receivers are 
allowed to impose a lien on the property in the amount of 
the receivership fee and all unrecovered costs and expenses. 

	 The bill eliminates procedural distinctions between 
properties whose owners had been notified and those with 
no identified owner. After providing sufficient public notice, 
receivers may petition for termination of their custody of 
the property, and a court may order the sale of a property 
if an owner fails to pay rehabilitation expenses and the 
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receivership fee within one year of the property being 
received. A receiver may bid on the property at a court-
ordered sale and apply any existing liens as credit toward the 
purchase of the property. 

	 Expanding and revising land bank programs. SB 
1908 creates the Urban Land Bank Program Act to allow a 
city to adopt a land bank program in which certain eligible 
property acquired through foreclosure proceedings for 
delinquent taxes may be resold by private sale for purposes 
of affordable housing development. The governing body 
of a municipality adopting such a program must establish 
or approve the land bank for the purposes of acquiring, 
holding, and transferring real property in accord with 
statutory provisions. A municipality adopting a land bank 
program must operate the program in accordance with a 
land bank plan to be adopted annually. A land bank plan 
must account for other existing municipal housing plans, 
including federal plans, and must list community housing 
development organizations eligible to participate in the 
program. A plan also must contain a list of parcels that 
could become eligible for sale to the land bank during the 
next year, the municipality’s plan for affordable housing 
development on those parcels, and the account of revenue 
estimated to be available for the development of affordable 
housing. A land bank plan is subject to a public hearing. SB 
1908 also revises existing statutory provisions regulating the 
Houston land bank program.

	 Additional provisions. A person who is awarded state 
or federal funds through TDHCA to construct affordable, 
single family housing must ensure that each circuit breaker 
box is located no higher than 48 inches above the floor 
inside the building on the first floor. Any lease agreement 
signed with a tenant in a housing development that received 
tax credits through TDHCA must comply with applicable 
laws and state standards identified by departmental rules 
and establish an e-mail system for notifications associated 
with tax credit applications. SB 1908 also provides for 
a tax increment financing tool for the renovation of 
historic structures in a reinvestment zone designated by a 
municipality with fewer than 18,000 residents. 

Supporters said

	 SB 1908 would make important changes in the housing 
funding allocation process at the point when funds are 
reserved for low-income housing located in rural areas 
or in support of the development of housing for disabled 
persons. The bill would take positive measures to resolve 
shortcomings in the current application of the RAF that 
result in an insufficient availability of funds in some areas 
and an oversaturation in others. 

	 The bill’s set-aside provisions would resolve 
deficiencies and other problems that result from the 
allocation of rural funds based on the application of the RAF 
in each of TDHCA’s 13 service areas. The bill would assure 
a $500,000 minimum for rural developments in each service 
area, which would provide a necessary baseline of funding 
while allowing for variations in the number and extent of 
development proposals by service area over time. The bill 
would recodify statutory standards to be used in the adoption 
of the RAF annually and highlight TDHCA’s ability to 
modify the RAF to accommodate changing patterns of low-
income housing development and need statewide.

	 SB 1908 would make necessary revisions to the 
receivership statute to increase its utility for municipalities 
and nonprofit housing rehabilitation organizations. 
Existing statutory provisions make receivership processes 
prohibitively difficult to exercise and discourage interest 
among nonprofit organizations. Current law requires a 
receiver to wait two or three years, depending on whether 
a property owner has been located, before petitioning 
to terminate the receivership and thereby authorizing a 
court-ordered sale of the property. This lengthy timeframe 
impairs a nonprofit’s ability to apply tied-up capital to other 
projects and limits interest in participating in a receivership 
program. Decreasing the minimum receivership period 
to one year and allowing receivers to collect a 10 percent 
fee would make receivership a viable option for nonprofit 
housing rehabilitation organizations and other qualified 
individuals. Broadening the scope of receivership to include 
nonresidential properties would allow for rare but critical 
restorations of historical, commercial, and agricultural 
properties that have been abandoned or fallen into severe 
disrepair. 

Opponents said 

	 SB 1908 would limit the effectiveness of TDHCA’s 
RAF, which is designed to ensure an equitable distribution 
of resources for low-income housing around the state. 
Establishing a mandatory allocation for rural areas by statute 
would not allow the RAF to adjust for changing demands 
and market conditions annually. Tax credit allocations 
must respond to both a societal need for affordable 
housing and sufficient development activity to produce 
tax credit proposals. Setting aside a fixed percentage for 
rural proposals statewide could result in underserving 
metropolitan areas with significant needs for low-income 
housing. The RAF represents an objective, quantifiable 
instrument that can be modified incrementally and on 
the basis of public input. Any statutory provisions that 
limited the funds subject to the RAF could compromise the 
objectivity of the allocation process. 
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	 HB 2063 could have unintended consequences for the 
geographic distribution of low-income housing tax credits. 
By removing set-aside funding for at-risk development 
proposals from the RAF, the bill could make available 
roughly $6 million in fiscal 2008 for development proposals 
involving the rehabilitation of low-income housing. This 
may give such proposals an advantage in high-demand areas 
and leave a small remainder for other applicants around the 
state. There is much annual variation in low-income tax 
credit development proposals, and setting aside 15 percent 
of funding prior to allocation could jeopardize funding in 
underrepresented areas of the state. Legislation providing for 
an initial set-aside should include provisions to ensure the 
equitable distribution of funding. 

Notes

	 The HRO digest of SB 1908 appeared in Part One of 
the May 22 Daily Floor Report.
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	 SB 2031 provides a means for the Legislature to 
determine the extent to which the state waives its sovereign 
immunity with regard to a settlement of a claim or action 
against the state that requires an expenditure of state funds. 

	 The attorney general or other attorney representing 
Texas may not enter into a settlement or a claim or action 
against the state without the consent or approval of the 
Legislature if the settlement:

•	 requires the state to pay total monetary damages in 
an amount greater than $25 million in a state fiscal 
biennium; or

•	 commits the state to a course of action that would in 
reasonable probability entail a continuing increased 
expenditure of state funds over subsequent state 
fiscal bienniums.

	 Such a settlement entered into without the prior 
consent or approval of the Legislature will be void unless 
it expressly is conditioned on obtaining subsequent 
approval through a resolution adopted by both houses of 
the Legislature. The resolution can grant permission to sue 
the state and limit the relief to which a claimant is entitled 
or provide additional conditions on the permission to sue. 
An appropriation of state funds to pay or comply with a 
settlement does not constitute consent to or approval of 
the settlement. A resolution consenting to or approving a 
settlement does not and cannot require the Legislature to 
appropriate a particular amount for a particular purpose.

	 By September 1 of each even-numbered year, the 
attorney general must send to the lieutenant governor, 
the speaker of the House, and each member of the Senate 
Finance Committee and the House Appropriations 
Committee a report describing each pending claim or 
action that has been or could be settled in a manner that 
would require prior consent or subsequent approval by the 
Legislature.

Supporters said

	 SB 2031 would limit the types of settlements that the 
attorney general or another attorney representing the state 
could enter into without the approval of the Legislature. 
There is no current means of limiting the extent to which 

SB 2031 by Ogden
Effective June 15, 2007

Requiring legislative approval of certain claims against the state

the state waives its sovereign immunity with regard to a 
settlement of a claim that requires a significant expenditure 
of state funds. Requiring the Legislature to consent would 
provide checks and balances on the authority of the attorney 
general to negotiate settlements paid out of state funds.

	 The bill also would prevent a situation in which the 
attorney general committed the state to a settlement for 
which the Legislature was unwilling to appropriate funds. 
The Legislature is the client in these situations, and as such, 
the attorney general should consult and negotiate with the 
Legislature before agreeing to a large settlement on its 
behalf. The Legislature must pay the bill, so its consent is 
crucial for the settlement actually being honored by the state. 
Having the Legislature’s agreement before the settlement 
was finalized would avoid recent appropriations-related 
problems and makes the entire process more efficient.

Opponents said
	 	
	 This bill would tie the hands of the attorney general or 
other attorneys representing the state. SB 2031 essentially 
would require a plaintiff to try his or her lawsuit in front 
of the Legislature when it was session. Meanwhile, during 
the interim, a settlement agreement would incur additional 
attorney’s fees and interest due to the inability to obtain 
timely legislative consent. A better approach would be to 
require the Legislative Budget Board and the governor to 
consent to the attorney general’s paying the settlement. This 
would avoid the complications with the timing of sessions 
and the difficulty of essentially trying cases in front of the 
Legislature.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 2031 appeared in Part One 
of the May 22 Daily Floor Report.
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	 HB 9 would have prohibited a person from smoking:

•	 in a public place or place of employment;
•	 within 15 feet of an entrance, operable window, 

or ventilation system of a public place or place of 
employment;

•	 in the seating area of an outdoor arena, stadium, or 
amphitheater; or

•	 in bleachers or grandstands for spectators at 
sporting or other public events.

	 As passed by the House, the bill would not have applied 
to:

•	 a private residence, except when used as a child-
care, adult day-care, or health care facility;

•	 a hotel or motel room rented to a guest and 
designated exclusively as a smoking room;

•	 a private or semiprivate room in a nursing home 
or long-term care facility occupied exclusively by 
consenting smokers; 

•	 a fraternal or veterans organization;
•	 a private club not open to the general public;
•	 a bingo hall or a premises that conducted charitable 

bingo;
•	 property owned or leased by a church, synagogue, 

religious society, nonprofit veterans organization, or 
fraternal organization; 

•	 a tobacco shop;
•	 a private club that was not established for the sole 

purpose of avoiding compliance with the bill and 
did not employ anyone, unless the club was being 
used for a public function;

•	 a bar, if the operator of the bar provided health 
benefits coverage for each of its employees; or

•	 privately owned property designated as exempt.

	 Under the bill, a person who owned real property 
could have designated the property as exempt by posting 
conspicuously on the property a statement that smoking was 
permitted.

	 The bill would have defined “public place” as an 
enclosed indoor area the public is invited or permitted to 
enter. Examples would have included a bar, restaurant, 
theater, bus, polling place, hospital, public restroom, hotel 
lobby, and shopping mall.

HB 9 by Crownover
Died in the Senate

Banning smoking in all workplaces and public places

	 A person in control of a public place or place of 
employment would have had specific requirements, 
including posting a conspicuous “NO SMOKING” sign, 
removing all ashtrays, and making a reasonable effort to 
request that any person known to be smoking in a prohibited 
area extinguish the tobacco product. 

	 An employer subject to the bill could have offered to 
employees a smoking cessation program. An employer that 
offered such a program would have been entitled to credit 
against the state franchise tax for the cost of the program. To 
qualify for the credit, the program would have had to offer 
assistance to an employee through at least two attempts to 
quit smoking and could have been offered directly by the 
employer or through a provider. 

	 The Department of State Health Services (DSHS) or a 
public health official could have enforced the provisions of 
the bill and inspected a public place. Under HB 9, a person 
could have filed a complaint concerning a violation with 
DSHS or a political subdivision of the state. In addition to 
other provided remedies, the attorney general, or a district, 
county, or city attorney, could have brought an action for 
injunctive relief to enforce these requirements.

	 A violation of the bill, including smoking in a prohibited 
place or failure by a person with authority to create an 
environment to prevent smoking in public or at work, would 
have committed a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of no 
more than $100. If it were shown at trial that the defendant 
had a previous conviction for the same offense within 
one year, upon conviction the defendant would have been 
punished by a fine of $500 or less, and a third offense would 
have been punished by a maximum fine of $1,000.

	 HB 9 would have repealed Penal Code, sec. 48.01, 
which penalizes smoking in certain public places. It could 
not have been construed to permit smoking where it was 
restricted by other law. The bill would not have preempted 
or superseded a local ordinance, rule, or regulation adopted 
before September 1, 2007, by a political subdivision with 
a population of fewer than 50,000 people that prohibited 
or restricted smoking to a lesser degree. It would not have 
prohibited a political subdivision adopting a local ordinance, 
rule, or regulation after September 1, 2007, from prohibiting 
or restricting smoking to a greater degree than the bill. 
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	 The voters in a municipality could have voted, in the 
same manner as for a charter amendment, to allow its 
governing body to adopt a local ordinance that restricted or 
prohibited smoking to a lesser degree than the bill would 
have provided. The bill would have directed such an election 
be held on May 10, 2008.

Supporters said

	 HB 9 would protect the health of employees by 
eliminating smoking in all indoor public and private 
workplaces, including restaurants and bars, unless the bar 
operator provided all employees health benefits. A recent 
statewide poll shows that 66 percent of Texans favor a 
statewide comprehensive law to eliminate smoking in all 
indoor workplaces and public facilities, including public 
buildings, offices, restaurants, and bars. HB 9 would ban 
smoking in all of those places as well as seating areas of 
outdoor arenas and stadiums and grandstands at sporting or 
other public events. 

	 A June 2006 report issued by the U.S. Surgeon 
General states that there is no risk-free level of exposure 
to secondhand smoke and that the only way to protect the 
population from this health hazard is to eliminate exposure 
completely. According to the National Cancer Institute, 
secondhand smoke kills 53,000 non-smoking Americans 
each year and is the third leading cause of preventable death. 
HB 9 would protect employees and the public at large from 
the dangers posed by second-hand smoke. Seventeen states 
have enacted smoke-free laws, and 14 other states, including 
Texas, are considering such legislation. 

Opponents said

	 HB 9 would violate the rights of individuals and 
business property owners. Smoking tobacco is a choice 
made by millions of Americans, and this bill represents 
an assault on a legal product that has been part of Western 
culture for 500 years. 

	 Small business owners, particularly restaurant and bar 
owners, in Texas cities that have adopted various smoking 
ordinances claim that their revenues have dropped as much 
as 30 percent due to smoking bans. This economic factor 
has affected not only owners but also employees, including 
waitresses and other restaurant and bar staff. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 9 appeared in the May 4 
Daily Floor Report.
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HB 14 by Keffer/HJR 90 by Keffer
Effective pending voter approval on November 6, 2007

Cancer research funding

	 HB 14, which would take effect if voters approve the 
constitutional amendment proposed by HJR 90, would 
dissolve the Texas Cancer Council and transfer all rights, 
duties, and obligations of the council to a new Cancer 
Prevention and Research Institute of Texas. The purpose of 
the institute would be to:

•	 create and expedite innovation in the area of cancer 
research enhancing the potential for a scientific 
breakthrough in the prevention of and cure for 
cancer; 

•	 attract, create, or expand research capabilities of 
higher education institutions and other public or 
private entities that would promote a substantial 
increase in cancer research and in the creation of 
high-quality new jobs in Texas; and 

•	 develop and implement the Texas Cancer Plan.

	 The institute could provide grants to public and private 
entities, medical research facilities, educational institutions, 
and collaborations to fund research into the causes, cures, 
and treatments for cancer. To receive a grant, the recipient 
would be required to have an amount of funds equal to 
at least one-half of the grant dedicated to the research for 
which the grant was received. Not more than 5 percent of 
total money awards could be used for facility construction 
and not more than 10 percent could be used for cancer 
prevention and control programs in any year.

	 The Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas 
Oversight Committee would be the governing body of the 
institute. The Research and Prevention Programs Committee 
would perform grant application review and make 
recommendations to the oversight committee regarding 
the award of research, therapy, development, and clinical 
trial grants. Standards would be established requiring 
grant recipients to use Texas suppliers and historically 
underutilized businesses to the extent reasonably possible. 

	 The Cancer Prevention and Research Institute would 
be funded by the issuance of up to $300 million in general 
obligation bonds per year beginning January 1, 2008. 
Proceeds of the bonds could be used for the purposes of 
the institute and to pay the cost of issuing the bonds. The 
state could collect appropriate royalties from projects 
undertaken with grant funds. The Cancer Prevention and 
Research general revenue-dedicated account could contain 

patent, royalty, and license fees received under contract. The 
institute could solicit and accept gifts and grants from any 
source. 

	 The lung cancer advisory council would create a 
summary of the advantages, disadvantages, risks, and 
descriptions of all medically efficacious and viable 
alternatives for the treatment of lung cancer. The 
Department of State Health Services would make these 
summaries available to physicians for distribution to 
patients.

	 HJR 90 would amend the Texas Constitution to 
establish the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of 
Texas and enable the Texas Public Finance Authority to 
issue general  obligation bonds on behalf of the Cancer 
Prevention and Research Institute in an amount not to 
exceed $3 billion, with no more than $300 million in bonds 
authorized to be issued in a year, for grants for cancer 
research and operation of the institute. 

Supporters said

	 HB 14 and HJR 90 would make Texas a global leader in 
cancer research and prevention. The Texas Cancer Council 
indicates that cancer is the number two killer of Texans, 
killing more than 35,000 Texans each year. Approximately 
85,000 Texans are diagnosed with cancer annually. The 
estimated direct economic cost of cancer to Texas in 1998 
was $4.9 billion and estimated indirect costs the same year 
were $9.1 billion. 

	 Texas already has the infrastructure in place to support 
cancer research, but needs more funding and direction 
to encourage collaboration to better leverage its existing 
infrastructure. HB 14 and HJR 90 would accelerate 
landmark discoveries in cancer research and allow scientists 
and practitioners to translate these discoveries into practical 
tools and techniques to treat and prevent cancer.  

	 Grants through the Cancer Prevention and Research 
Institute would infuse the cancer research and treatment 
community with up to $300 million each year. Total 
research spending would far exceed this level, because grant 
recipients would be required to dedicate funding equal to 
at least half the grant reward. This contribution also would 
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legitimize the research since grant recipients would share 
the risk of the undertaking. The total investment from 
both the state and grant recipients not only would enhance 
cancer research, but also would attract private businesses to 
emerging Texas technology clusters. This would create more 
jobs in Texas as companies capitalized on local intellectual 
resources. 

	 Recommendations for the awarding of grants would 
be directed by the professional expertise of the oversight 
and research and prevention committees. The oversight 
committee would create standards that would balance Texas’ 
economic interest in contracting for intellectual property 
rights and royalties with the need to provide incentives to 
grantees to conduct worthwhile research. Bond proceeds 
would be subject to the appropriations process so that the 
Legislature could maintain its role as the steward of this 
large sum of taxpayer dollars. 

	 HB 14 and HJR 90 would not require that bonds be 
utilized, but this legislation would provide the option to 
issue bonds to pay for the Institute in years during which 
the Legislature found it most prudent to do so. If the general 
obligations bonds were utilized, the debt service on the 
bonds for the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute 
would be a small price to pay for the ground-breaking 
advances in cancer research that could occur. Much of the 
financing cost also would be offset by new jobs generated 
in Texas, incoming royalties, and the decreased direct and 
indirect costs of cancer that resulted from the discovery of 
breakthrough medical advances. 

	 HB 14 and HJR 90 would lead to such breakthroughs 
not because the state government singularly was performing 
cancer research but rather because Texas would provide 
a sustained source of funding fostering a collaborative 
environment for both public and private entities to advance 
the field. Given that the availability of federal cancer 
funding is declining, making Texas the epicenter of a 
collaborative cancer research environment would optimize 
the use of cancer research funds to make unprecedented 
advances in cancer research. This focused investment has 
greater potential to facilitate advances than an environment 
in which diverse bodies vie for independent funding.  
	

Opponents said

	 While cancer research doubtless is a worthwhile 
undertaking, medical research should be left in the hands 
of private organizations. Creative research is neither the 

role nor the talent of government. There are countless other 
pressing needs in this state that represent more appropriate 
uses of state general revenue and pose less of a gamble 
with taxpayer dollars, such as insuring Texas children 
and reducing the waitlist for community services for the 
disabled. Expenditures in these and other areas will have a 
more predictable and measurable influence on the welfare of 
Texans.

Other opponents said

	 The state should demonstrate that cancer research is 
a priority by funding the Institute with general revenue 
in the state budget process rather than by issuing bonds. 
Long-term financing costs could approach $1.6 billion. 
Legislatures over the next 30 years could be obligated to 
repay financing costs in lieu of funding other state priorities 
such as education, transportation, or health and human 
services issues. If general revenue was used instead, the state 
would pay fully its commitment to cancer research in only 
ten years. In addition, royalties and other funding generated 
by the Institute could assist in paying for the research on a 
cash basis. While the constitutional authorization would not 
require that bonds be issued to finance cancer research, the 
state has demonstrated over the years that if the opportunity 
exists to issue bonds to finance a project rather than use 
general revenue, bonds most likely will be issued. 

	 The amendment would assure a stronger impact on 
cancer research if bond proceeds could be used by the 
Institute without appropriation. The amendment already 
would establish the permissible use of Institute funds. 
Having the Legislature micromanage cancer research 
funding allocations would not be beneficial and could risk 
that legislators may attempt to influence appropriations 
for the Institute to fund their pet projects. 

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 14 appeared in Part Five of 
the May 7 Daily Floor Report, and the analysis of HJR 90 
appeared in the May 9 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 109 by Turner
Effective June 15, 2007

Children’s Health Insurance Program eligibility revisions

	 HB 109 establishes Children’s Health Insurance 
Program (CHIP) income eligibility levels using net family 
income rather than gross family income. The definition of 
net family income allows a reduction for child-care expenses 
for determining income eligibility. 

	 The period that a child remains eligible for CHIP 
benefits increases from six months to a period not to 
exceed 12 months. By September 1, 2008, the eligibility for 
children in families whose initial eligibility was established 
with a net family income in excess of 185 percent of the 
federal poverty level still will be verified at six months. 
An electronic verification method may be used if one is 
available and appropriate. If the net family income exceeds 
eligibility limits at the six-month verification, the child 
can be disenrolled from CHIP after the Health and Human 
Services Commission (HHSC) provides the family with 
proper notice and the opportunity to establish eligibility.

	 HB 109 limits the 90-day waiting period that previously 
applied to all children to only those children who had 
health insurance during the 90 days prior to applying for 
CHIP coverage. The family allowable asset limit for CHIP 
eligibility increases from $5,000 to $10,000. The value of 
vehicles that may be exempted from the asset calculation 
increases as well.   

	 HHSC will contract with community-based 
organizations to conduct community outreach promoting 
knowledge of and enrollment in child health programs. The 
outreach campaign will include school-based clinics and 
a toll-free number. Outreach materials must be written in 
Spanish and English.

Supporters said 
 
	 HB 109 would restore many of the eligibility standards 
that were in place when CHIP began in Texas in 1999, 
making health coverage available to more of Texas’ 
uninsured children. It would reverse some of the negative 
impact of CHIP policy changes enacted in 2003, which 
resulted in an enrollment decline of an estimated 152,000 
children, according to HHSC. Lack of insurance leaves 
families no choice but to seek care at local emergency 
rooms, which is more costly and provided at taxpayer 
expense. Uninsured children often go without vital 
preventive care.

	 Period of eligibility. Extending the CHIP eligibility 
period from six to 12 months would ensure that children in 
need received continuous health care coverage. The state 
has experienced poor performance from the CHIP eligibility 
system, and processing errors at re-enrollment have led to 
eligible children being disenrolled. Increasing eligibility to 
12 months would decrease the CHIP application-processing 
workload by half, eventually leading to decreased error 
rates.   

	 It is more cost effective to serve a child on CHIP than 
on Children’s Medicaid because the federal match rate is 
more favorable for CHIP. Verifying eligibility at six months 
causes the state to move those identified as qualifying for 
Children’s Medicaid more quickly to that program than 
if eligibility were determined at 12 months. In addition, 
administrative costs are higher when verifying eligibility 
twice a year. Finally, the majority of children who leave 
CHIP become uninsured, which ultimately increases the 
population of children with poorer health outcomes and 
greater needs for emergency care. HB 109 appropriately 
would limit initial six-month eligibility verification only to 
those at the higher end of the income eligibility range.

	 Assets test. HB 109 would align the asset limits on 
the assets test for determining CHIP eligibility with values 
that are more reasonable for a fiscally responsible family 
at 150 percent to 200 percent of the federal poverty level. 
The current assets test limits were based on the food stamp 
standards created for populations at 100 percent or less of 
the poverty level. A higher-income family making prudent 
decisions to have a financial safety net or maintain reliable 
vehicles can risk losing CHIP coverage due to the low assets 
test limits.  

	 Income calculation. HB 109 appropriately would add 
an income disregard for child-care expenses similar to one 
that already exists in the Medicaid program. Child care 
is a large expense that effectively can reduce a family’s 
disposable income to the income levels of other families 
who qualify for CHIP. In 2007, a family of four at 200 
percent of the federal poverty level has an income of 
$41,300, which is insufficient to support the cost of private 
insurance. Many families do not qualify for CHIP because 
they have incomes slightly above this level yet need child 
care in order to hold jobs and support their families. 
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	 Ninety-day wait period. HB 109 would give families 
much needed health care coverage during the first 90 days 
following the establishment of eligibility. The original policy 
was intended to avoid “crowd out” of private health care 
benefits to prevent people from opting to use CHIP rather 
than private or employer health insurance. The 2003 change 
made Texas the only state that has required all children 
to wait 90 days for coverage. This wait period prevents 
coverage for children who have never been insured as well 
as for newborns in need of infant care. 

Opponents said  

	 The CHIP reforms implemented in 2003 were sound 
public policy. While Texas has yet to use fully its federal 
CHIP funding, caseloads will continue to increase under 
the current eligibility requirements and eventually reach the 
funding ceiling. The time will come when CHIP funding 
is limited, and it would be prudent now to retain policies 
ensuring that CHIP benefits are used only as a safety net for 
those most in need.  

	 Period of eligibility. The eligibility period should not 
be extended to 12 months. Maintaining the six-month 
eligibility period would provide the best stewardship of 
state funds because a family’s financial circumstances can 
change drastically over the course of a year. The state is 
working to resolve CHIP application-processing issues, and 
timeliness rates for application processing have improved. 
The state should not determine the eligibility period based 
upon the assumption that processing errors will continue to 
occur. Recertifying eligibility at six months would ensure 
the state’s limited resources were used only for those truly 
eligible for benefits.

	 Assets test. As a safety-net program, CHIP should not 
be open for abuse by families trying to protect their assets 
while relying on the government for assistance with health 
care. In addition, a family that experiences a short-term loss 
of income should not receive CHIP funds if they have large 
amounts of assets that could pay for necessary health-care 
costs. These sorts of situations unfairly burden all taxpayers, 
including people receiving CHIP benefits. The family 
allowable asset limit should not be increased to permit 
such abuse. In addition, there are a variety of programs that 
promote savings and are exempted from the assets test, 
including certain retirement accounts, prepaid burial funds, 
and certain savings funds for higher education. 

	 Income calculation. In 2007, a family of four making 
$41,300 annually would be eligible for CHIP. A variety of 
private health-care options would be affordable for a family 
above this income level if a consumer were willing to do the 
research for a plan best-suited to that family’s needs. The 
continuation of the use of gross family income would be the 
fairest means of determining eligibility.

	 Ninety-day wait period. The current 90-day wait for all 
CHIP applicants to receive benefits should be maintained 
to avoid “crowd out” of other available insurance. The 
90-day wait period provides a family an opportunity to 
obtain a reasonable private insurance option. In addition, 
many public and private sector employers also have 30- to 
90-day wait periods for health insurance coverage. If CHIP 
eliminated the 90-day wait, such individuals might opt 
to obtain CHIP to receive immediate benefits rather than 
wait for their employer insurance to take effect. The 90-
day waiting period discourages people with other available 
coverage from taking public slots. 

Other opponents said

	 Assets test. More children in need of health care could 
be served through the elimination of the assets test. Texas 
and Oregon are the only states that have implemented assets 
tests. While it does prevent some abuse, the assets test, 
regardless of how high limits are set, causes children in need 
to lose CHIP coverage. The mere threat of losing coverage is 
a disincentive for families to make the responsible decision 
to save. A child should not lose CHIP benefits because his or 
her family was saving for college or for a better home. 

	 Income calculation. All income disregards in alignment 
with those allowable in Medicaid should be restored. This 
would allow families to deduct child support payments and 
work-related expenses up to $120 per month in the income 
calculation. These are reasonable deductions, without which 
a family’s disposable income could appear inflated.  

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 109 appeared in the April 3 
Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 1098 by Bonnen
Effective May 8, 2007

Preventing HPV vaccine from being required for admission to school

	 HB 1098 establishes that immunization against human 
papilloma virus is not required as a condition for admission 
to any elementary or secondary school. It preempts any 
contrary executive order issued by the governor and 
prevents the executive commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission (HHSC) from adding 
HPV vaccination to the list of vaccinations required for 
school admission. The bill also requires HHSC to provide 
educational materials about the HPV vaccine to schools to 
distribute to parents or guardians during the immunization 
schedule. These provisions expire January 11, 2011.

Supporters said

	 HB 1098 is necessary to address an executive order 
from the governor that prematurely mandated that young 
girls receive an HPV vaccine. On February 2, 2007, Gov. 
Perry issued Executive Order No. RP-65, which ordered 
the health and human services executive commissioner to 
mandate vaccination against human papilloma virus (HPV) 
for all female children before their admission to the sixth 
grade. However, too many questions remain about this 
vaccine for its use to be made mandatory for young girls. 
The vaccine has been tested for only five years. It typically 
takes 10-15 years for HPV to develop into cervical cancer, 
so five years is not long enough to determine whether the 
vaccine will be effective. Also, there still are unanswered 
questions about whether this vaccine would provide lifelong 
immunity, what side effects the vaccine might produce, and 
the effect of the vaccine on pregnant women. Until those 
questions have been answered, it would be appropriate for 
the Legislature to exercise its judgment and decide not to 
mandate the vaccine. 

	 Mandating HPV vaccination is unnecessary because 
other measures would be as effective in preventing cervical 
cancer – such as education and early diagnosis, along with 
voluntary immunization as the vaccine is proven. While 
most women will be exposed to HPV, most HPV infections 
are spontaneously cleared from a woman’s immune system. 
The rates of cervical cancer have decreased over the last 50 
years, in part because of the increasing use of pap smears to 
diagnose pre-cancerous cells and improvements in medical 
technology. The focus should continue to be on education 
and prevention with regular pap smears, rather than on 
mandatory vaccination with a yet-to-be-proven vaccine. 

The Legislature in 2005 promoted these goals by enacting 
HB 1485 by Delisi, establishing the Texas Cervical Cancer 
Strategic Plan to diagnose and prevent HPV infection and 
eliminate mortality from cervical cancer by 2015, and HB 
1485 by Thompson, requiring health benefit plans to cover 
screening tests to detect HPV infection and cervical cancer.

	 Mandatory immunization against HPV would be 
inappropriate because mandatory vaccination typically is 
used for diseases spread by casual contact, not for sexually 
transmitted diseases. While hepatitis is spread both sexually 
and more casually, the vaccine against that disease was not 
mandated in Texas until 15 years after it was licensed.

	 HB 1098 would not prohibit anyone from receiving 
vaccination against HPV voluntarily. It simply would 
block mandatory HPV vaccination for all young girls as a 
prerequisite for attending school.

	 The bill would protect the right of parents to control the 
upbringing of their children. Executive order RP-65 would 
have undermined parents’ control of their children’s health 
care. HB 1098 would allow parents to educate themselves 
and their children about HPV and the vaccine at their 
discretion and to make private decisions about whether to 
vaccinate their children.

Opponents said

	 HB 1098 would undermine efforts to provide effective 
health care to Texas women for a preventable cancer. The 
currently available HPV vaccine, Gardasil, is effective on 
the strains of HPV that cause 70 percent of cervical cancers. 
Although most HPV infections are spontaneously cleared 
from a woman’s immune system, the infections that do 
not spontaneously clear could be the strains of HPV that 
cause cervical cancer. Pap smears can be misinterpreted by 
physicians, and they have a false negative rate that may be 
as high as 30 percent. Although the HPV vaccine is new, 
it has undergone rigorous testing with peer review from 
the federal Food and Drug Administration. Even if the 
immunity is not for a lifetime, the need for booster shots to 
update immunity to the virus would be much like what is 
required for some other vaccinations. There is no evidence 
that the vaccine has a negative effect on pregnancy or future 
fertility.
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	 If the vaccine is not required, girls from low-income 
families or whose families are unaware of the vaccine could 
be less likely to be vaccinated. In Texas, cervical cancer 
rates are highest among Hispanic women, and mortality 
rates are highest among African-American women and in 
rural counties, according to a report from the Department of 
State Health Services.

	 In addition, the executive order provides for parents 
to opt out of the HPV vaccine requirement. The opt-out 
provision would be no more onerous than existing opt-out 
provisions for other vaccines and would allow parents or 
guardians to file the forms over the Internet. 

	 Mandatory vaccination has been used in the past for 
diseases that can be spread sexually. For example, Hepatitis 
A vaccination and Hepatitis B vaccination are mandatory. 
Hepatitis B can be transmitted through blood or infected 
bodily fluids. Mandating vaccination is one of the best ways 
to control disease. Incomplete vaccination of a person or 
population can cause vaccine- and drug-resistant strains of 
viruses to develop.

	 HB 1098 would foreclose the option of further 
discussion on the merits of mandating the HPV vaccine. 
Rather than just preempting Gov. Perry’s executive order 
and the agency rulemaking process, the bill would, unlike 
for any other disease, prohibit state health officials from 
mandating HPV vaccination, regardless of the demonstrable 
health benefits, until 2011. Whether mandated by executive 
order or legislative directive, the HPV vaccination would 
save thousands of lives, and state officials should be allowed 
to require it like other vaccinations against infectious 
disease.

	 HB 1098 also would impose upon HHSC an unfunded 
mandate by requiring it to disseminate educational 
information but not providing additional funding to 
accomplish this goal. HHSC’s budget already is stretched 
by other priorities and does not have available resources 
to produce brochures and documents effectively. Also, 
educational materials are most effective at outreach when 
they are targeted to specific groups along with clear 
mechanisms for informing the public. Brochures simply 
distributed to parents on a complex medical issue would 
not be effective in educating parents. The materials would 
be more effective if coupled with a mechanism to direct 
questions to medical professionals.

Other opponents said

	 This bill would not go far enough to prevent 
government intrusion into the health care decisions of 
its citizens. Government should not be able to mandate 
vaccinations. Through education efforts, most parents would 
choose to have their children vaccinated when the vaccine 
has been proven safe and effective, but they should be able 
to weigh the risks and make that choice themselves.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1098 appeared in the 
March 13 Daily Floor Report.

	 HB 1379 by Deshotel, which requires development of 
educational materials and programs on HPV, is effective on 
September 1, 2007.
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HB 3575 by Rose
Effective June 15, 2007

Monitoring and update of health and human services eligibility systems

	 HB 3575 prescribes goals for the enhanced health and 
human services eligibility system, a system that consists of 
the Texas Integrated Eligibility Redesign System (TIERS); 
the System of Application, Verification, Eligibility, Referral, 
and Reporting (SAVERR); and integration and delivery 
processes and practices used for health and human services 
benefit programs. Goals for the enhanced eligibility system 
include: 

•	 increasing the quality of and client access to 
services provided through the programs;

•	 implementing more efficient business processes 
to reduce application processing times and staff 
workloads;

•	 implementing simplified application and enrollment 
processes;

•	 enhancing the integrity of and reducing fraud in 
benefit programs; and

•	 ensuring compliance with applicable federal law 
and rules.

	 HB 3575 requires the Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC) to develop a transition plan to meet 
the goals of the enhanced eligibility system by January 
1, 2009. The State Auditor’s Office (SAO) will establish 
or contract for an independent validation and verification 
(IVV) program for the eligibility system during the 
development of the transition plan. The IVV program will 
allow for the determination of whether the goals for the 
transition plan and enhanced eligibility systems are being 
met, what actions are necessary to achieve these goals, 
and whether the eligibility system is progressing toward 
becoming fully functional relative to the needs of benefit-
eligible Texans. 

	 HB 3575 establishes an HHSC eligibility system 
legislative oversight committee to support the commission’s 
implementation of the enhanced eligibility system. The 
committee consists of seven members, including the chairs 
of the Senate Health and Human Services and House 
Human Services committees, two members of the Senate 
appointed by the lieutenant governor, two members of the 
House appointed by the speaker, and one member appointed 
by the governor. The committee will review information 
and recommendations from the public, HHSC, SAO, and 
the Department of Information Resources quality assurance 
team to make recommendations to the Legislature. The 

oversight committee also will monitor and regularly report 
to the Legislature on the effectiveness and efficiency of the 
implemented enhanced eligibility system. 

	 Each contract with the commission or a health and 
human services agency that requires providing call 
center services or written communications related to call 
center services must include performance standards that 
measure the effectiveness, promptness, and accuracy of the 
contractor’s oral and written communications with people of 
limited English proficiency.

Supporters said 

	 HB 3575 would provide the planning and oversight 
necessary to ensure that performance problems in the state 
eligibility system were resolved without further harm to 
Texas benefit recipients. During the Accenture TIERS 
development contract, a variety of issues arose, including the 
contractor’s failing to deliver certain technology capabilities, 
which led to a processing backlog of applications and 
renewals. These delays affected the issuance of benefits 
to eligible Texans and caused Texas to fall below federal 
timeliness standards. In addition, many eligible people 
mistakenly were denied benefits. The integrated eligibility 
system had only internal testing and quality control 
processes.

	 HB 3575 would institute three major mechanisms 
of enhanced quality control and oversight. HHSC would 
identify the enhanced eligibility system as a major 
information resources project in HHSC’s biennial operating 
plan to qualify the project for review by the state quality 
assurance team. The legislative oversight committee would 
monitor the process and recommend further statutory 
change before the next session. Finally, the project would 
be reviewed by an IVV program, which would ensure an 
independent verifications process. This would add general 
state, legislative, and independent oversight to the enhanced 
eligibility system.

	 The bill would not address outsourcing requirements 
because in focusing on general oversight functions, many 
levels of authority would have oversight concerning whether 
HHSC contracted for the appropriate balance of state and 
outsourced responsibilities. The bill does not need to address 
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staffing issues because the fiscal 2008-09 budget would 
authorize HHSC to augment HHSC staff in response to any 
decision to use fewer contractor staff.

Opponents said 

	 While HB 3575 would take many positive steps 
toward resolving issues with the Texas eligibility 
system, it would fall short of incorporating all the 
unanimous recommendations of the House Human 
Services Subcommittee on Integrated Eligibility and 
TIERS Implementation. For example, subcommittee 
recommendations that included performance measures of 
“full functionality” were not included in the bill. 

	 The bill does not include subcommittee 
recommendations to establish clear limitations for 
outsourcing processes that involve decision making. While 
outsourcing is appropriate in creating technology, it should 
be limited to standardized, measurable tasks when an 
outsourced employee communicates with benefit recipients. 

Problems with dividing responsibilities between state and 
outsourced staff were a main driver of many of the issues 
that emerged during the first TIERS pilot rollout.

	 Finally, HB 3575 would not address the need for 
a staffing analysis to ensure that staffing levels were 
appropriate to maintain program integrity. The bill should 
require a staffing analysis and should require HHSC 
to demonstrate that the commission still could reach 
performance measures with any proposed reduction in 
staff. These measures would be a safeguard against the staff 
shortage and subsequent scarcity of policy knowledge that 
occurred after HHSC informed too many state staff that they 
would lose their jobs following the signing of the Accenture 
contract.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3575 appeared in Part Two 
of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 3778 by Rose
Died in Senate Committee 

Nursing home quality assurance fee

	 HB 3778 would have collected a quality assurance 
fee (QAF) from nursing homes, convalescent homes, and 
related institutions. Exemptions from imposition of the 
nursing facility QAF would have included:

•	 state-owned veterans’ nursing facilities;
•	 entities that provided multiple services on a single 

campus and operated under a continuing care 
retirement community certificate of authority; and

•	 entities at which the combined patient days of 
service provided to independent and assisted living 
residents exceeded the patient days of service 
provided to nursing facility residents. 

	 The Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
would have assessed the QAF on a per patient, per day basis 
in an amount that would not have produced annual revenues 
equaling more than 5.5 percent of the facility’s total annual 
gross receipts. A nursing facility could not have listed the 
QAF as a separate charge on a patient’s billing statement or 
indirectly charged the QAF to a patient. 

	 HHSC could have used the money from the dedicated 
general revenue QAF account together with federal 
matching funds to offset an institution’s allowable Medicaid 
expenses and to increase reimbursement rates paid under 
Medicaid to institutions. If for any reason it was determined 
that QAF funds could not draw down federal matching 
dollars, HHSC immediately would have ceased collection 
of the QAF and would have returned any collected QAFs to 
the appropriate institutions.

Supporters said

	 HB 3778 would allow Texas nursing facilities and 
other state health care providers to capitalize upon a QAF 
collected from nursing facilities similar to legislation 
enacted in at least 30 other states. Texas already has 
successfully implemented a QAF on intermediate care 
facilities for the mentally retarded, and the bill would confer 
the same benefits on nursing facilities and the health care 
industry at large. 

	 The state would use the QAF to draw down matching 
federal funds, first apportioning funds back to nursing 
facilities and then providing these facilities and other 
Medicaid providers with rate increases. Provider rate 

increases desperately are needed to expand the number of 
providers taking new Medicaid patients before the state 
reaches a critical provider shortage. The QAF would provide 
an alternative funding source for rate increases that would 
not require the use of existing general revenue.  

	 Assuming Texas received the appropriate federal 
waivers, HB 3778 would prohibit the collection of 
QAFs from continuing care retirement communities 
and other facilities that predominately provided services 
to independent and assisted living patients. This would 
minimize the number of facilities that would pay the QAF 
without being fully reimbursed for their contribution.

	 The imposition of QAFs is an all-or-nothing venture, 
because federal regulation governing permissible health 
care-related taxes would not allow a tax to be imposed only 
on Medicaid beds. While this federally imposed limitation 
inevitably would create some cost to private pay facilities, 
this fee would serve the greater good of the nursing home 
community and the Medicaid health care community at 
large. The bill would prohibit passing the QAF on to nursing 
facility residents, so no private payor would be adversely 
affected. 

Opponents said

	 Imposition of the nursing facility QAF proposed in HB 
3778 would represent yet another example of the state’s 
unwillingness to support important services through the 
use of existing general revenue. The QAF would place a 
monthly fee on all eligible nursing-home beds, with the 
exception of certain facilities exempted through federal 
waiver. This QAF assessment would include nursing homes 
that did not take Medicaid patients. 

	 Forty-nine out of Texas’ 1,100 nursing homes contain 
a significant number of private-pay beds, and 22 contain 
purely private-pay beds. These homes are not connected 
with any health care system that could benefit from QAF 
reimbursements. A QAF on these nursing homes would be 
a “granny tax” passed on by the nursing home to elderly, 
private payors. Even though facilities could not pass on the 
QAF to a private payor directly on a billing statement, the 
private facility’s increased costs inevitably would cause a 
private payor’s bills to increase. Such increases could be 
masked as cost increases related to other facility overhead. 
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Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3778 appeared in Part One 
of the May 7 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 10 by Nelson
Effective September 1, 2007

Revisions to the Medicaid program and access to health care

	 SB 10 revises certain Medicaid programs and requires 
the initiation of Medicaid-related studies and pilot programs. 
An eight-member Medicaid Reform Legislative Oversight 
Committee will facilitate Medicaid reform efforts, the 
process of addressing uncompensated hospital care, and the 
establishment of programs addressing the uninsured. 

	 Access to health care. The Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC) will promote access to federally 
qualified health centers or rural health clinics. In contracts 
with health maintenance organizations, HHSC will establish 
outcome-based performance measures and incentives 
designed to increase recipients’ access to appropriate health 
services. HHSC directly will supervise and administer the 
medical transportation program providing non-emergency 
transportation services to those who are eligible for HHS 
programs and have no other means of transportation. 
Former foster care youth enrolled in an institution of higher 
education may receive Medicaid benefits up to the age of 
23. Individuals preferring to enroll in a group health benefit 
plan may opt-out of Medicaid coverage, and HHSC will 
pay the individual’s share of required premiums up to the 
estimated total Medicaid cost. The individual must pay all 
deductibles, co-payments, or other cost-sharing obligations.

	 With federal approval, Texas will create a health 
opportunity pool trust fund to offset hospital uncompensated 
care costs, reduce the number of persons in Texas who 
do not have health benefits, and maintain and enhance 
the community public health infrastructure provided 
by hospitals. The fund will contain federal money from 
supplemental hospital payment programs, state appropriated 
funds, gifts, grants, and donations. 

	 One or a group of counties may establish regional or 
local health care programs to provide health care benefits 
to the employees of small businesses. In addition to 
contributions from the employers and employees, state or 
other funds collected by the program’s governing body may 
be used to pay program costs.

	 Client-centered revisions. If cost-effective and 
feasible, HHSC will implement a health savings account 
pilot program to encourage health care cost awareness 
and promote appropriate utilization of Medicaid services 
among volunteer participants. The HHSC may seek a 
federal waiver to implement tailored benefit packages 
customized to meet the health care needs of recipients 

within defined categories of the Medicaid population. If 
cost-effective and feasible, certain Medicaid recipients may 
designate a primary care provider to provide the recipients’ 
initial and primary care and initiate referrals to other health 
care providers. Exceptions will be made to limitations on 
benefits provided under certain home and community-based 
waiver programs if further benefits are necessary to protect 
patient health and safety. HHSC will undertake initiatives 
to encourage managed care organizations to provide more 
services to improve the health status of plan enrollees. The 
bill establishes a means of provider selection and access 
for Medicaid recipients to receive eligible eye health care 
services.

	 Prevention. HHSC will develop and implement a pilot 
program in one region under which Medicaid recipients 
receive incentives to lead healthy lifestyles. HHSC 
may provide guidance to Bexar County in establishing 
a pilot program to prevent the spread of infectious and 
communicable diseases, which may include an anonymous 
needle exchange program. Women eligible for Medicaid 
coverage to treat breast or cervical cancer will be eligible for 
coverage for screenings for these cancers.

	 Technology. HHSC will contract for an acute care 
Medicaid billing coordination system and implement fraud 
detection and deterrence measures proven effective by a 
study. HHSC may permit, facilitate, and implement the use 
of health information technology to allow for electronic 
communication among HHSC, operating agencies, and 
participating providers. A pilot program will provide health 
information technology for use by primary care physicians 
providing services to Medicaid recipients. HHSC may 
expand systems such as health passport technology. 

	 Hospital care. The executive commissioner will 
establish a work group on uncompensated hospital care 
to assist in implementing an uncompensated hospital care 
reporting and analysis system and studying the impact of 
standardizing the definition of uncompensated care and 
the computation of its cost. HHSC may require a Medicaid 
recipient who chooses certain high-cost medical services 
provided through an emergency room to pay a share of 
the cost of the service if the recipient does not require the 
treatment. The hospital may provide the recipient with a 
referral to a non-emergency provider who can provide the 
service without co-payment.
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	 Demonstrations and studies. HHSC may implement 
a demonstration project to determine whether paying an 
enhanced Medicaid reimbursement rate to a physician-
centered nursing facility specializing in geriatric medicine 
improves resident health and results in cost savings. Studies 
will be conducted on reducing reliance on Medicaid 
through offering tax and other incentives to employers 
to provide health and long-term care insurance; the cost-
effectiveness of implementing an integrated Medicaid 
managed care model for the aged, blind, disabled, or 
chronically ill; providing child health passports to children 
receiving Medicaid or enrolled in the Children’s Health 
Insurance Program (CHIP); increasing the availability of 
small employer health plans; and increasing the number 
of medical residency programs, medical residents, and 
physicians practicing medical specialties in Texas.

Supporters said  

	 SB 10 would optimize funding available for health 
coverage while maintaining consumer choice and 
protections. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, Texas 
had the highest rate of uninsured in 2005 at more than 24 
percent. This high level of uninsureds not only leads to poor 
health outcomes for individuals, but also contributes to the 
high cost of uncompensated care in hospital emergency 
rooms. 

	 The bill would allow for experimentation with 
different health care program models without undermining 
fundamental principles of the Medicaid program or putting 
vulnerable clients at risk. The bill would implement 
consumer protections for enrollees in experimental 
approaches to delivering health care services, including 
voluntary participation on the part of enrollees, consumer 
counseling, and the ability to return to more traditional 
means of service delivery if the consumer was not happy 
with a particular health care alternative. 

	 SB 10 would implement measures to reduce overall 
state health care spending. By focusing on attaining 
preventive care and encouraging healthy behaviors, the 
overall demand for health care services would decrease. 
More individuals could access health care through increased 
availability of premium assistance funds and encouraging 
participation in employer-based health plans. Such initiatives 
also would reduce the burden on hospitals, which are the 
safety net used to defray the costs of uncompensated care. 
The bill would promote wise consumer decision-making 
in health care spending through health savings accounts 
and tailored benefit packages. SB 10 would modernize 
service provision through enhanced technologies that would 

protect patient confidentiality, reduce fraud, and create a 
more efficient and cost-effective health care system. The 
legislative oversight committee would provide continuity 
and direction for the implementation of Medicaid revisions 
by making recommendations that programs with greater 
potential be revised and successful programs be expanded.

	 The local and regional health care programs permitted 
in SB 10 would allow for a significant reduction in the 
number of uninsured working for small businesses. Many 
small businesses and their employees cannot afford the high 
cost of health plans without assistance. This lack of subsidy 
is why small business health care cooperatives alone are 
not as effective as supplementing employer and employee 
contributions with public, private, or non-profit funds. 
Encouraging participation in such programs would reduce 
reliance on Medicaid and uncompensated care. 

	 It would be appropriate that HHSC provide guidance 
to Bexar County in its disease management pilot program, 
including a needle exchange program. Studies have 
demonstrated that such programs do not increase drug use, 
yet they reduce the spread of diseases such as hepatitis and 
HIV/AIDS. Needle exchange programs also provide an 
access point for health care professionals to connect drug 
abusers with treatment programs. Texas is the only state that 
has yet to support a needle exchange program. 

Opponents said 

	 The bill would implement many different types of 
reforms at once on both a state and local level without a 
template for how these various options should fit together. 
This could lead to different levels of funding, eligibility 
standards, and levels of benefits being provided in different 
areas of the state. Such variance in levels of coverage 
could lead to inequities in poorer areas of the state. These 
disparities would be counter to the objectives of the 
Medicaid program, and Texas should implement the reforms 
in a more coordinated fashion.

	 The local and regional health care programs that SB 10 
would permit could allow too much of the financial burden 
of these programs to fall on state government if individuals 
and employers refused to proportionally increase their level 
of program contribution to align with the rising cost of 
health care. The state should allow more time to demonstrate 
if small business health care cooperatives enabled by 2003 
legislation provide a viable option to promote affordable, 
group-rate health care before the state permits multi-
share programs that discourage self-reliance among small 
businesses and their employees.
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	 The bill should not permit HHSC to assist Bexar 
County in the creation of a needle exchange program. In 
effect, such programs condone and facilitate drug abuse. 
Any funds directed towards the drug addicted should focus 
on treatment and encouraging abstinence from illegal drug 
use. 

	 The language in the bill should be tightened to ensure 
that any reforms implemented would protect state funds. 
For example, the bill would direct HHSC to implement any 
methods determined effective to strengthen fraud detection 
and deterrence. This provision should require that HHSC 
first determine that projected savings from Medicaid fraud 
detection would be greater than the cost to implement the 
technology. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 10 appeared in Part One of 
the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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	 HB 159 would have repealed current law allowing a 
person to be classified as a resident for purposes of college 
tuition on the basis of having graduated from a public or 
private high school and having maintained a residence in 
Texas continuously for the three years preceding graduation. 
Only those who had lived in Texas for one year prior to 
the academic term in which they were enrolled in a higher 
education institution and whose parents had lived in Texas 
for one year prior to the academic term in which the 
dependent was enrolled would have been classified as a 
resident for tuition purposes. 

	 The bill would have eliminated the option for persons 
who were not citizens or permanent U.S. residents to 
submit as information required to establish resident status 
an affidavit stating that the person would apply to become 
a permanent resident of the United States upon becoming 
eligible to apply. HB 159 also would have permitted 
universities to reclassify resident students as nonresident 
students if they had qualified for residency status under the 
provisions that would have been eliminated by the bill, if 
the student otherwise would not have been eligible to be 
classified as a resident.

Supporters said

	 HB 159 would help right a wrong allowed under 
current law. Granting resident tuition to illegal immigrants 
provides an incentive for illegal behavior. There is no 
other circumstance in the United States where people are 
rewarded for breaking the law. It is unfair to allocate limited 
state resources to illegal immigrants who are breaking the 
law – especially at a time when many American citizens 
cannot afford to attend college.

	 The current law is in violation of sec. 1623 of the 
federal Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant 
Responsibility Act of 1996 (8 U.S.C.) and needs to be 
repealed. Offering in-state tuition to illegal immigrants 
violates federal law because it discriminates against U.S. 
citizens and legal immigrants. The federal law says that a 
state is not permitted to treat non-residents who are U.S. 
citizens worse, with respect to college benefits, than it treats 
illegal immigrants who are physically present in the state. 
As a result, many illegal immigrants are paying in-state 
tuition rates to attend Texas colleges and universities, while 

HB 159 by Zedler
Died in the House

Determination of resident status of students by public universities

U.S. citizens who do not reside in Texas are required to 
pay higher, out-of-state tuition rates. Such laws circumvent 
federal requirements by simply not asking students whether 
they are in the United States legally. Students should have 
to prove they are citizens or legal residents before receiving 
in-state tuition eligibility. 

Opponents said

	 In 2001, the Texas Legislature, with the support of 
the governor, recognized that it was good public policy 
to further the education of immigrants who already were 
integrated into local communities and wanted to fully 
participate and contribute to the Texas economy. While 
recognizing that immigration is an emotional issue, it still 
is good policy to support the education of Texas resident 
students regardless of their citizenship status. Most children 
of undocumented immigrants are in the United States to 
stay, so society benefits by providing them access to higher 
education that results in increased earnings and taxes and 
in lower crime and poverty rates. Denying in-state tuition 
to undocumented students would not curtail the population 
of illegal immigrants. The law encourages them to change 
their status from illegal to legal, which is a step in the right 
direction. 

	 Claims that the law violates federal immigration laws 
because it does not offer the same tuition rates to U.S. 
citizens and nationals who live outside Texas are unfounded. 
Under Texas law, undocumented students must graduate 
from a Texas high school and live in Texas for at least three 
years before applying to college. Other residents establish 
Texas residency in only one year, so the requirements 
imposed on undocumented students are more stringent. A 
suit brought against a similar law in Kansas was dismissed 
after a judge ruled that the plaintiffs could show no potential 
harm or injury to themselves because their own non-resident 
status would not change whether or not resident tuition 
applied to undocumented immigrants.

	 The 1982 U.S. Supreme Court decision in Plyler v. Doe, 
457 U.S. 202, 228-30 (1982), requires states to provide a 
free K-12 education to children regardless of immigration 
status, paving the way for undocumented children to reap 
the benefits of public education. According to the Texas 
Education Agency, it costs about $100,000 to educate 



House Research Organization Page 125

one student from kindergarten through 12th grade. This 
substantial investment made by Texas taxpayers is lost if 
students cannot go on to college once they graduate from 
high school. 

	 Without the opportunity to qualify for in-state tuition, 
many undocumented students could not obtain an affordable 
college education and an entire class of law-abiding students 
would graduate high school without being able to plan 
for the future. Undocumented students who have grown 
up in the United States and graduate from American high 
schools should not be punished for the actions of parents 
who brought them illegally to this country. Until Congress 
addresses the complex issues surrounding immigration, the 
young people caught in the crossfire should continue to have 
access to higher education through affordable tuition rates. 

Other opponents said

	 The bill negatively could affect permanent residents of 
Texas and U.S. citizens because students who were living 
legally in Texas with family members other than legal 
guardians, such as grandparents, would lose their claim to 
residency. Likewise, if a student’s family moved out of state 
and the student wanted to stay in Texas to attend college, the 
student would lose a claim to residency because minors are 
dependent on their parents and cannot establish residency on 
their own. Even students who had lived in Texas their entire 
lives could be faced with having to pay out-of-state tuition.  

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 159 appeared in the May 9 
Daily Floor Report.
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HB 3826 by Morrison
Effective June 15, 2007

High school curriculum requirements for higher education admission

	 To qualify for admission to a general academic 
institution of higher education in Texas, HB 3826 will 
require, beginning with admissions for the 2008-09 
academic school year, all high school students who graduate 
from a public or an accredited private high school in Texas 
to: 

•	 graduate under the recommended or advanced high 
school curriculum or its equivalent; 

•	 satisfy ACT’s college readiness benchmarks; or 
•	 score at least 1,500 on the SAT exam. 

	 HB 3826 will require students graduating with a 
grade point average in the top 10 percent of their high 
school class to complete the recommended or advanced 
high school curriculum, or its equivalent, to qualify for 
automatic admission to a Texas university. In addition, the 
bill requires students who graduate in the top 25 percent 
of their high school class and apply to a university with an 
optional automatic admissions policy to satisfy the same 
requirements. The children of certain public servants killed 
in the line of duty also qualify for automatic university 
admission if they meet certain minimum academic 
requirements.

Supporters said

	 HB 3826 would allow Texas to take the next step 
toward fully implementing the curriculum recommendations 
in “Closing the Gaps,” the state’s higher education plan, by 
requiring all students to graduate from high school under the 
recommended or advanced high school program in order 
to be eligible for admission to Texas universities. Texas 
has experienced roughly 3 percent growth each year in the 
number of students graduating under the recommended 
high school program (RHSP), and more than 80 percent 
of all Texas high school students graduate under these 
requirements. In fact, a survey of Texas public and private 
general academic institutions shows that 97 percent of 
freshman entering public institutions in the fall of 2006 
graduated under the RHSP, as well as 95.5 percent of the 
freshman entering private or independent colleges and 
universities during the same time period. Now that Texas 
is reaching a critical mass of students who already are 
graduating under these requirements, it is time to make them 
mandatory for admission to universities. 

	 These higher standards would improve the college 
readiness of new students by significantly reducing the 
number who are academically unprepared to continue their 
studies after high school and require remedial education 
at the college level. Currently, the remediation rate for 
students who graduate under the tougher graduation plan 
is half that for students who graduate under the minimum 
requirements. In addition, the bill would provide a safety net 
for students who did not take the recommended or advanced 
curriculum by allowing those who score at least 1,500 on the 
SAT – which is the college-readiness standard – or satisfy 
the ACT’s college-readiness benchmarks to qualify for 
admission. 

Opponents said

	 It is critical for Texas that more students go to college, 
yet the bill unfairly would penalize and eliminate an entire 
pool of highly qualified students. For example, students 
who have career interests that do not require advanced 
mathematics and science education – such as music, dance, 
performing arts, or athletics – might be better served by 
following the minimum high school curriculum. Students 
who graduated under such a plan and did not perform 
sufficiently well on the SAT or ACT would find the doors of 
higher education in Texas closed to them.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3826 appeared in Part Two 
of the May 7 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 3828 by Morrison
Died in the Senate 

Performance incentive funding for higher education institutions

	 HB 3828 would have established a performance 
incentive funding system to encourage public universities 
and colleges to meet the statewide goal of increasing the 
number of students completing high-quality degrees and 
certificates. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating 
Board (THECB) would have distributed appropriated 
incentive funds to higher education institutions based on 
a point system. The bill would have established funding 
mechanisms using a matrix of weights by type of institution, 
including general academic teaching institutions, two-year 
institutions, and health-related institutions, including Baylor 
College of Medicine. 

	 Universities would have been rewarded for bachelor’s 
and advanced degrees granted, with additional weight for 
bachelor’s degrees awarded in critical fields and to at-risk 
students. Community, technical, and public state colleges 
would have been rewarded for certificates and associate 
degrees granted, with additional weight for certificates and 
degrees awarded in critical fields and to at-risk students. 
Additional weight would have been awarded for certain 
students transferring to a university from a two-year 
institution. Health-related institutions would have been 
rewarded under the point system for degrees and residencies 
completed. The THECB would have been charged with 
establishing a method to assess the quality of degrees and 
certificates awarded, including minimum standards that a 
degree or certificate would have to satisfy in order to qualify 
for points under the system. 

Supporters said

	 HB 3828 would implement Gov. Perry’s proposal for 
incentive funding for Texas public universities and colleges. 
The current funding formula is based on the number of 
semester credit hours students take but does nothing to 
address quality, and there are few incentives to improve 
performance. Incentive funding would benefit universities 
because if students graduated and earned degrees or 
certificates, the institutions would receive formula funding 
plus the incentive funding. If a student did not graduate, 

the institutions still would receive formula funding. The 
state would benefit in several ways because incentive 
funding would encourage schools to graduate students, 
not merely enroll them, and would increase the number of 
graduates in critical fields, such as nursing, physical science, 
mathematics, and engineering. The funding system would 
be simple and understandable and link directly to the goals 
of Closing the Gaps, the state’s master plan for higher 
education. 

Opponents said

	 Community colleges have a broad mission to respond to 
the needs of the state by offering economic and workforce 
training and development as well as customized training for 
industry. Degrees or certificates usually are not awarded for 
this training, and community colleges would be penalized 
for this by not receiving incentive funding. There should be 
some latitude for including certificates of completion for 
continuing education or workforce training as a factor to 
generate the incentive funding. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3828 appeared in Part Four 
of the May 4 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 3900 by Morrison
Effective June 15, 2007

Establishing the Texas Tomorrow Fund II prepaid tuition program

	 HB 3900 establishes the Texas Tomorrow Fund II 
pre-paid tuition unit undergraduate education program, to 
be administered by the Prepaid Higher Education Tuition 
Board in the Comptroller’s Office. The fund will receive 
money from the purchase of prepaid tuition contracts, plus 
income earned from investment of fund assets. 

	 Purchasers may pre-pay the costs of all or a portion of 
a student’s undergraduate tuition at four-year and two-year 
institutions, both private and public, or at accredited out-of-
state institutions. The beneficiary must be a state resident or 
the child of a state resident at the time the purchaser enters 
the pre-paid tuition contract. Purchasers may transfer money 
between Texas Tomorrow Fund II accounts and similar 
prepaid plans established in Texas or other states. 

	 The program offers three types of pre-paid tuition units 
to Texas residents. Type I units are based on the cost of 
undergraduate resident tuition and required fees charged 
by the universities with the highest tuition and fee costs. 
Type II units are based on the cost of the weighted average 
undergraduate resident tuition and fees at universities. Type 
III are based on the cost of the weighted average resident 
tuition and fees of two-year institutions. Each unit costs 
1 percent of a year’s tuition and fees at current rates. The 
board must adjust the purchase price of the tuition units 
annually based on the actual cost of tuition.  

	 Purchasers may buy one type of unit or a combination 
of unit types. The value of a tuition unit is equal to 1 percent 
of the amount necessary to cover undergraduate tuition and 
fees for the academic year in which the unit is redeemed. 
One hundred Type 1 units are worth one year’s tuition and 
fees at the highest-priced public university, 100 Type II 
units are worth one year’s tuition and fees at a university 
at the weighted average, and 100 Type III units are worth 
one year’s tuition and fees at a community college at the 
weighted average. The beneficiaries, or students, must be 
enrolled in the plan at least three years before the funds can 
be used, and when the student redeems units, universities 
must honor the unit’s value.  

	 The bill also establishes the Texas Save and Match 
program under which money paid by purchasers for pre-
paid tuition contracts may be matched with contributions 
made by anyone on behalf of certain student beneficiaries 
selected as provided by board rule. It also may be matched 
with funds appropriated by the Legislature to be used for 

the purchase of additional tuition units for certain student 
beneficiaries whose annual household income is below 
the state median family income; whose enrollment would 
promote target goals of “Closing the Gaps,” the state’s 
master plan for higher education; or who meet other criteria 
as established by board rule. 

Supporters said

	 HB 3900 would establish a new Texas Tomorrow 
Fund II, structured in a sound manner, that would help 
many Texas families, particularly those in middle-income 
categories who do not qualify for financial assistance, to 
manage the costs of higher education. Families would have 
some predictability in planning for their children’s future 
higher education needs by being able to lock in tuition at 
today’s rates. 

	 The Higher Education Prepaid Tuition Program, 
originally called the Texas Tomorrow Fund, was established 
in 1995 and helps Texans save for college through two 
programs – a prepaid plan and a savings plan. Both plans 
are authorized under sec. 529 of the federal Internal 
Revenue Code, so investments grow tax-deferred, and 
distributions to pay for college are federally tax-free. 
Because new enrollment in the pre-paid plan has been 
suspended, the savings plan currently is the only state-
sponsored tool to help families save for college. The Prepaid 
Higher Education Tuition Board suspended enrollment 
in the prepaid plan in June 2003 because it could not 
accurately predict future college costs once the Legislature 
deregulated tuition. The state constitutionally guarantees 
that contributions to the prepaid plan will cover the costs 
of attending college at some point in the future, so the state 
is obligated to pay the actual cost of tuition, whatever that 
might be. The board could have jeopardized the plan’s 
assets by selling new tuition contracts at inadequate prices. 
Likewise, any university with tuition and fees above the 
weighted average tuition must waive the difference in cost 
between their tuition and the weighted average amount. 
According to the Sunset Advisory Commission, the six 
largest universities waived more than $7 million in tuition 
for pre-paid plan beneficiaries in 2005. 

	 Under the proposed unit redemption system, the state 
would be obligated only to pay contract contributions and 
earned interest, and the purchase price of the units could 
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change each year to reflect changing tuition. Institutions 
would receive the unit price plus interest, so in years when 
the value of a student’s education units exceeded the cost of 
the weighted average of tuition and required fees, schools 
would earn additional income. If universities raised tuition 
and fees at a slower rate, they could make money from the 
program. If they raised tuition and fees at a faster rate, they 
would have to make up the difference. Universities would 
have an incentive to be judicious in raising tuition and 
required fees. Moreover, the bill has a built-in safety net to 
keep the fund actuarially sound. The board could impose a 
$25 fee to be used only to maintain the actuarial soundness 
of the fund. Also, to protect institutions from a shortfall, 
the bill would permit institutions to receive a minimum 5-
percent return on investments, if the money is available. 

	 The Save and Match program would encourage low- to 
moderate-income families to prepare for their children’s 
higher-education expenses by pre-paying for all or part 
of their tuition in advance. Increasing the program’s 
participants ultimately would enhance the actuarial 
soundness of the program. Eight other states have similar 
state match pre-paid plans to ensure that pre-paid tuition 
programs are available to a wide variety of individuals, 
not just higher-income families that can afford to set aside 
money to invest in their children’s higher education. 

Opponents said

	 The bill would shift the cost burden of pre-paid tuition 
from the state to higher-education institutions. If investments 
of fund assets did not perform well in a given year, the 
investment return fell short of tuition increases, and there 
were not enough dollars to cover the pre-paid contracts, the 
institutions would be responsible for the remaining amount. 
If the Legislature pulled back on appropriations because 
of lean budgetary years, this could pose a real problem. 
If institutions raised tuition to make up the difference, the 
burden could fall on the students who had not prepaid their 
tuition. 

	 The original Texas Tomorrow Fund’s average rate of 
return over a five-year period ending in 2005 was 4.93 
percent. If the Texas Tomorrow Fund II performed similarly, 
the new fund would be under-funded, just like the original 
one, and the state would not be obligated to appropriate 
money to keep the fund actuarially sound. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3900 appeared in Part Two 
of the April 30 Daily Floor Report.
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	 Several bills were introduced to limit increases in 
designated tuition and required fees charged at public 
institutions of higher education and would have taken a 
variety of approaches. SB 85 by Hinojosa would have 
placed a moratorium on any increases until 2010, at which 
time tuition increases would have been capped at 5 percent 
annually. SB 96 by Ellis would have repealed the authority 
of institutions to set designated tuition in 2010 unless the 
Legislature voted to continue it. SB 100 by Shapiro would 
have frozen tuition amounts for incoming freshmen for 
four or five years. SB 578 by Ellis would have capped at 
5 percent annually any tuition increases, and SB 579 Ellis 
would have capped increases at 10 percent of a certain 
amount calculated using median income. 

Supporters said

	 Increases in tuition and fees at public universities are 
out of control and need to be reigned in. The Legislature 
formerly limited how much public universities could charge 
but relinquished that authority in 2003 because of a budget 
shortfall. It was a huge mistake because increases now can 
be imposed at any time for any amount. The amounts should 
be set by state lawmakers instead of unelected university 
regents. Tuition and fees at four-year public institutions 
have climbed an average of 40 percent from 2002-03 to 
2006-07, adjusted for inflation. The big increases have taken 
students and their families by surprise, making it difficult to 
budget for higher education expenses. Even though part of 
the increase is used for financial aid, the best financial aid 
would be not to raise tuition. 

	 As of October 2006, Texas surpassed the U.S. average 
in the cost of a four-year public education. The rising 
costs of going to college impacts lower income students 
the most and Texas has a high percentage of low income 
families. Increases also hurt middle-income families 
because those students often do not qualify for financial 
aid. Texas is number 41 in the national rankings on the 
number of people who graduate with a four-year degree, and 
affordability plays a role in that. Freezing tuition amounts 
would eliminate financial surprises that impede graduation. 
Limiting the increases in tuition and fees would ensure that 
those who can least afford it are not priced out of higher 
education. Institutions need to do their share in holding 

SB 85 by Hinojosa/SB 96 by Ellis/SB 100 by Shapiro/SB 578 by Ellis/SB 589 by Ellis
Died in Senate committee

Limiting increases in tuition and required fees at higher education 
institutions

down costs, including reviewing faculty productivity, 
scheduling more classes, better utilizing their space, and 
reducing the costs of instruction. 

Opponents said

	 Higher education is still a bargain in Texas because 
the cost of going to college in Texas before tuition and fees 
were deregulated was extremely low. However, the cost of 
higher education has increased even more than the cost of 
health care, and the state needs to find a reasonable medium 
between what the state subsidizes and what students and 
their families pay for higher education. If institutions were 
limited in how much tuition can be raised, Texas would 
not have the kind of world-class universities it needs and 
deserves and long-term planning would be greatly inhibited.
 
	 Even though state support for higher education has 
increased by about 1.8 percent a year over the last four or 
five biennia, the state’s share has gone down compared 
to other sources of funding, while the cost to provide 
educational services has increased even more. All aspects 
of educating students have increased, including faculty 
and staff salaries, utility costs, information technology, 
construction, and compliance with federal research 
requirements. In addition to state support, constitutional 
funding, federal research dollars, and philanthropic support, 
universities have to be able to count on tuition as a source 
of funding. Universities need to retain the flexibility to 
set tuition, especially in lean budgetary times when the 
Legislature pulls back on state support because of competing 
state needs. 

	 Deregulation has allowed universities to be innovative 
in addressing pricing at different colleges and for different 
degrees. Universities have been able to experiment with flat-
rate tuition, rebates, and guaranteed tuition while providing 
additional financial aid, because 20 percent of any increase 
over a certain amount has to be set aside for financial aid. 
Students at the median income have not seen any increase 
because of the offset in additional financial aid, and students 
at double the median income have had half of increases 
offset by financial aid. 
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SB 101 by Shapiro
Conference committee report died in the House

Limiting top 10 percent automatic undergraduate admissions

	 SB 101 would have capped at 60 percent the 
proportion of first-time resident undergraduate students each 
general academic teaching institution would be required 
to admit automatically in an academic year under the top 
10 percent law. To be eligible for automatic admission, 
applicants would have been required to have completed 
the recommended or advanced high school program or its 
equivalent. The cap on the number of automatic admissions 
would have expired on August 31, 2015. 

	 If the number of applicants who qualified for automatic 
admission had exceeded 60 percent of an institution’s 
enrollment capacity for those slots, institutions could 
have offered automatic admission to those applicants and 
filled the remaining slots using other admissions criteria, 
or they could have capped at 60 percent the number of 
automatic admissions. If an institution had capped automatic 
admissions at 60 percent, applicants qualified under the 
top ten percent law would have been admitted based on 
percentile rank according to class standing based on GPA, 
beginning with the top percentile rank, until a sufficient 
number of admission offers were made to fill 50 percent of 
the freshman slots. An institution would have had to offer 
admission to all applicants with the same percentile rank. 
Among remaining applicants qualifying for automatic 
admission, an additional 10 percent would have been 
considered in the same manner as generally admitted 
first-time freshman students until the number of automatic 
admissions reached 60 percent. Once 60 percent of the 
slots had been filled with those qualifying for automatic 
admission, remaining students qualifying for automatic 
admission would have been admitted in the same manner as 
generally admitted first-time freshman students.  

	 Qualified applicants who had not been admitted because 
there were not enough slots remaining for automatic 
admissions would have been admitted to their second choice 
institution within the university system. 

	 Institutions would have had to adopt a written policy 
on recruiting and retention of underrepresented groups with 
the input of community leaders. Institutions also would have 
had to demonstrate a commitment to providing opportunities 
for postsecondary education for members of all racial or 
ethnic minority groups, ensuring racial and ethnic diversity 
in the institution’s faculty and administrative staff. 

	 Automatic admission would have been granted to 
a transfer undergraduate student who completed core 
curriculum requirements at another institution if that student 
had qualified for automatic admission under the top 10 
percent law at the time of graduation and had maintained 
a 3.25 GPA at the institution where core curriculum 
requirements were completed. 

Supporters said

	 SB 101 would maintain the benefits of the top 10 
percent law while giving universities the flexibility they 
need to carry out their duty to all the people of Texas, not 
just a certain population. The admissions process of any 
university is an exercise both in selecting qualified students 
with a high probability of achieving success and in admitting 
an entering class that serves the university’s mission. By 
requiring universities to admit all applicants who graduated 
in the top 10 percent of their high school class, the law has 
had some negative consequences that the bill would address. 
Many top-notch students who are not in the top 10 percent 
are being overlooked. 
	
	 The current automatic admissions law is based on 
one factor, graduation rank, which limits an institution’s 
flexibility. One of the state’s flagship schools, the University 
of Texas at Austin, is particularly burdened by the current 
law and is losing control of enrollment through the number 
of slots it must dedicate to top 10 percent graduates. 
According to the university, about 71 percent were admitted 
under the plan in the fall of 2006, compared to 69 percent in 
the fall of 2005. As a result, only 28 percent of an entering 
freshman class is made up of students admitted under a 
holistic review process. Such a rigid admissions policy is 
hampering the university’s ability to admit an ethnically 
diverse student body and is choking the flow of other 
talented students into fields such as music and the arts. 

	 Only one in four top 10 students at UT-Austin is 
African-American or Hispanic, so the law has not had a 
dramatic effect on minority enrollment. Capping the number 
of automatic admissions would allow for more discretionary 
admissions, and a holistic approach would allow institutions 
to recruit a broad array of students, including minority 
students. Without a cap, it would be difficult to increase 
the number of minority students because the percentage of 
students being admitted under other criteria is so small that 
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those slots have become very competitive. If other factors 
could be used, such as test scores, special talents, leadership 
ability, and personal achievements, along with the continued 
use of targeted scholarships and outreach, institutions could 
admit a more well rounded class of students that could 
include more minorities, student leaders, and individual 
virtuosos.

Opponents said

	 The number of automatically admitted students should 
not be capped because the law is doing exactly what it was 
designed to do – provide a race-neutral method of admitting 
a diverse class of highly qualified students. It is fair because 
basing admissions on class rank levels the playing field 
for students across the state and compares them to their 
peers, no matter what school they attended. It is simple 
to understand and sends a “play-by-the-rules” message to 
students across Texas. 

	 The law has helped Texas’ flagship universities fulfill 
their mission to serve students from across the state by 
granting broader opportunities to the very best students 
from every high school. Not only has it helped create a 
more diverse freshman class – racially, economically, 
and geographically – at UT-Austin and at Texas A&M, it 
has done so in a way that benefits all regions of the state, 
especially rural and large urban area schools. Historically, 
increasing ethnic diversity has been more successful, 
especially for Hispanic students, under the top 10 percent 
plan than under holistic review admissions that included 
race-conscious affirmative action policies in place before 
1996. It would not make sense to restrict the only program 
that is working. Schools with a high percentage of low-
income students, especially border area schools, would lose 
if the bill is enacted. 

	 Data from UT-Austin indicate that the top 10 percent 
students are performing well, so the law has enabled 
Texas universities to enroll highly qualified, superior, and 
motivated students. Furthermore, class rank appears to be 
a good predictor of student performance. Because of the 
nature of selective universities, someone is going to be left 
out, and the only question is who that is going to be. Under 
the current law, a student population that better reflects 
the population of Texas is being admitted to the state’s top 
universities. 

Other opponents said

	 If other state universities would aggressively recruit 
students, it would relieve some of the burden on UT-Austin. 
The Legislature also should create more attractive flagship 
institutions. Rather than amending the existing admissions 
policy, adopting a return to a statewide policy of race-
conscious university admissions would be the surest way to 
ensure true diversity. U.S. Supreme Court decisions permit 
the use of race-sensitive admissions criteria, and UT-Austin 
has been using race and ethnicity as criteria in discretionary 
admissions since 2005. Such policies should be adopted by 
all public universities in Texas. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 101 appeared in Part One of 
the May 22 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 1602 by Van Arsdale
Effective May 24, 2007

Amending venue rules for lawsuits involving maritime workers

	 HB 1602 establishes new venue rules for civil actions 
under the federal Jones Act, which provides a cause of 
action for the injury or death of maritime workers in the 
course of their employment. If all or a substantial part of 
the events or omissions giving rise to a Jones Act claim 
occurred in Texas or on the state’s inland waters, the suit 
may be brought in the county in which a substantial part of 
the events occurred or where the defendant’s principal Texas 
office is located. 

	 If a substantial part of the events or omissions occurred 
ashore in a Gulf Coast state other than Texas or on inland 
waters outside Texas, the venue may be in the county: 

where the defendant’s principal office in Texas is 
located, if the office is located in a coastal county;
in the county where the plaintiff resided at the time 
the cause of action accrued, if the defendant does 
not have a principal office in a coastal county; or 
in Harris or Galveston counties, depending on the 
plaintiff’s residence. 

	 All other suits brought under the Jones Act may be filed 
in the county where the defendant’s principal Texas office is 
located, where the plaintiff resided at the time the cause of 
action accrued, or in which a substantial part of the events or 
omissions giving rise to the claim occurred.

Supporters said

	 HB 1602 would help protect the maritime industry in 
Texas, which contributes $178 billion to the Texas economy 
each year, by creating venue rules for Jones Act suits more 
consistent with other civil actions. Current law, which allows 
suits to be brought in the plaintiff’s county of residence, 
differs sharply from the laws of other states. The current 
Jones Act venue rules were intended to be temporary, and 
HB 1602 finally would set appropriate venue rules for Jones 
Act suits. 

	 The bill would provide a particular benefit to the 
dredging industry, which has been crippled in recent years 
by a dramatic increase in lawsuits. The current Jones Act 
venue statute has allowed plaintiffs to forum-shop and find 
sympathetic juries that provide disproportionately high 
damage awards. In a single year, more than 50 percent 
of Jones Act lawsuits filed against dredgers nationwide 

•

•

•

were filed in four counties in the Rio Grande Valley. One 
company experienced 13 lawsuits in six years, causing 
its insurance costs to increase by 288 percent. Texas’ 
venue exception for workers covered by the Jones Act has 
made the state a high-risk area for employers and directly 
discourages companies from hiring Texas employees. 
Restricting the ability for plaintiffs to file certain Jones 
Act claims in their counties of residence would allow 
generations of families to continue to work for a thriving 
maritime industry in South Texas. 

Opponents said 

	 HB 1602’s venue rules for injured maritime workers 
in Texas would be unfair. In most cases, plaintiffs injured 
ashore or on the inland waters of any Gulf Coast state, 
including Texas, would have to file in a county other than 
their residence. This harsh requirement would represent a 
significant departure from current law, which recognizes 
the need to create a venue exception for injured maritime 
workers. The Jones Act affects about 25,000 Texas 
employees, and the occupational hazards facing these 
workers are much more severe than those experienced by 
average land-based workers. Most of the injuries suffered 
by workers covered by the Jones Act prohibit travel to other 
parts of the state for trials or health care. As a result, the 
plaintiff’s residence should be allowed as a choice of venue 
no matter where the worker was injured. 

	 The spike in Jones Act lawsuits and awards is due to the 
maritime industry’s safety problems and shoddy business 
practices, not special venue rules. The argument that the 
maritime industry is being crippled by Jones Act lawsuits 
is directly refuted by evidence of dredging companies’ 
record profits over the last several years. The four counties 
that have seen the so-called lawsuit spike are the counties 
where the dredging companies do most of their hiring. The 
plaintiffs are not “forum-shopping” – they simply are filing 
in the counties where they live. It is insulting to suggest that 
judges and juries in this part of the state somehow are not 
trustworthy.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1602 appeared in Part One 
of the April 25 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 966 by Ellis
Died in the House

Establishing a qualified privilege of a journalist not to testify or disclose

	 SB 966 would have established a “shield law” for 
journalists. With certain exceptions, a journalist could not 
have been compelled to testify, produce, or disclose in an 
official proceeding any information, document, or item, or 
the source of information, obtained while that person was 
acting as a journalist.

	 Limited disclosure provisions. A court could have 
compelled disclosure if the person seeking information had 
made a clear and specific showing that: 

•	 reasonable efforts had been exhausted to obtain the 
information from alternative sources; 

•	 the subpoena was not overbroad, unreasonable, or 
oppressive, and the request was limited in scope; 

•	 reasonable and timely notice was given; 
•	 the interest of the party seeking the information 

outweighed the public’s interest in news gathering 
and dissemination in that case; and 

•	 the information sought was not peripheral or 
speculative. 

	 To have compelled disclosure, the information 
requested also must have been:

•	 relevant and material to the proper administration of 
the official proceeding for which the disclosure was 
sought and essential to the maintenance of a claim 
or defense of the person seeking the disclosure; or

•	 central to the investigation or prosecution of a 
criminal case regarding the establishment of guilt 
or innocence and, based on something other than 
the assertion of the person requesting the subpoena, 
stemming from reasonable grounds to believe that a 
crime had occurred.

 
	 If a court had found that the person seeking information 
had exhausted all reasonable efforts to obtain the 
information from alternative sources, disclosure also could 
have been compelled with a clear and specific showing 
that the information was obtained from the journalist’s 
eyewitness observation of criminal conduct or that the 
journalist had obtained the information from someone: 

•	 who had confessed to committing certain violent 
offenses or a crime against a child victim; or 

•	 for whom there was probable cause to believe had 
participated in committing such an offense.

	 Disclosure could not have been compelled if the alleged 
crime to which the journalist was an eyewitness was the 
communicating, receiving, or possessing of the information. 
However, disclosure could have been compelled if the 
information had been disclosed in violation of a grand 
jury oath administered to either a juror or a witness under 
Code of Criminal Procedure, art. 19.34 or 20.16, or if it had 
related to certain violent offenses or a crime against a child 
victim.
 
	 A journalist also could have been compelled to disclose 
information if it were reasonably necessary to prevent 
reasonably certain death or substantial bodily harm.
 
	 Definition of journalist. A “journalist” would have 
been someone who for a substantial portion of the person’s 
livelihood or for substantial financial gain, gathered, 
compiled, prepared, collected, photographed, recorded, 
wrote, edited, reported, investigated, processed, or published 
news or information that was disseminated by a news 
medium or communication service provider, or the parent, 
subsidiary, division, or affiliate of such a person.

Supporters said 

	 SB 966 would support the free flow of information to 
the public by protecting journalists from being compelled to 
disclose information they obtained while gathering the news, 
including the names of confidential sources. Under current 
law, a journalist who declines to reveal this information can 
be jailed for contempt of court. More than 30 states already 
have some form of “shield law” providing a journalist’s 
privilege, and it is time for Texas to do the same. 

	 Prosecutors should not be permitted to rely too heavily 
on information gathered by journalists or to use journalists 
as an investigative arm. This creates a time-consuming 
burden for journalists and threatens the freedom and 
independence of the press. The press plays a vital role 
in a democracy by helping to protect the public from 
powerful interests, both private and governmental, and the 
press often is the first entity to expose wrongdoing within 
these institutions. The bill would provide an incentive for 
whistleblowers to come forward to the press by preventing 
journalists from having to reveal whistleblowers’ names in 
response to a subpoena in most cases. If sources think they 
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will be exposed when a journalist is compelled to disclose 
information, sources will be reluctant to confide in the press, 
and the information they have may never reach the public.

	 SB 966 would provide not an absolute but a qualified 
privilege. Journalists could be compelled to disclose 
information under certain circumstances, but the party 
seeking information would have to establish reasons the 
information was needed from the journalist. The bill would 
provide a good balance between protecting the free flow of 
information and allowing prosecutors to discover important 
evidence to prosecute crimes.

Opponents said

	 SB 966 is unnecessary. Texas has enjoyed a functioning 
democracy and press throughout its history. Current law 
provides adequate protection for journalists faced with 
orders to compel disclosure of information. Prosecutors do 
not, as a rule, rely excessively on journalists for information, 
and those who inappropriately subpoena journalists would 
be unable to defend those subpoenas to a judge. In addition, 
the press enjoys substantial protections under the First 
Amendment.

	 SB 966 could hinder the capacity of prosecutors to 
gather information they need to prosecute crimes. One 
purported goal of the bill would be to make government 
and corporate institutions accountable to the public, but 

prosecutors need to speak with whistleblowers to investigate 
effectively their accusations. SB 966 inappropriately 
would shift the burden to prosecutors to show they had 
exhausted other sources of information and had a specific 
need to obtain it from the news media. This standard too 
easily could be capriciously interpreted by judges and 
result in wasted prosecutorial time and resources. Shifting 
the burden to prosecutors to prove that a journalist was an 
appropriate source for information could delay or prevent 
the administration of justice.

Other opponents said

	 SB 966 would not go far enough to protect the free 
flow of information because it would provide too many 
exceptions to the journalist’s privilege not to testify or to 
disclose information. In addition, the bill would provide 
legal protections to some journalists but not to others, setting 
up a kind of licensing system for journalists to qualify for 
statutory protection. The bill would apply only to journalists 
who practiced the craft for substantial financial gain, leaving 
out many amateur bloggers and student journalists. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 966 appeared in Part One of 
the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1204 by Duncan
Died in the House

Court system reorganization and administration

	 SB 1204 would have reorganized the Texas court 
system by:

•	 increasing Supreme Court oversight of presiding 
judges in administrative judicial regions;

•	 standardizing trial courts and their jurisdictions;
•	 authorizing the promulgation of rules for small 

claims courts;
•	 providing additional resources to courts handling 

certain cases; and
•	 establishing a grant program for court system 

enhancements.

	 Administrative judicial regions. SB 1204 would have 
allowed the chief justice of the Supreme Court, rather than 
the governor, to appoint one judge in each administrative 
judicial region as presiding judge. The Supreme Court 
could have removed the presiding judge for good cause by a 
majority vote of the court after notice and a hearing.

	 Trial courts. The bill would have allowed a district 
court, statutory county court, county court, or justice court 
to transfer a case to any other of those courts in the county, 
whether or not the receiving court had jurisdiction of the 
matter, provided that all parties and the receiving court 
agreed to the transfer.

	 District courts. The bill would have codified options 
for exchanging cases and benches among district courts in 
counties with more than one district court, including: 

•	 transferring a case to another district court in the 
county; 

•	 hearing a pending case without transferring it; 
•	 sitting for another district court in a pending case; 
•	 temporarily exchanging benches with a judge of 

another district court;
•	 trying different cases in the same court at the same 

time; and 
•	 allowing a judge temporarily to sit in a case for 

another district judge who was sick or absent.

	 When the sitting judge in a district court had determined 
on the judge’s own motion that the judge was disqualified or 
should be recused, the presiding judge of the administrative 
judicial region could have assigned a new judge to the case 
or transferred a case to another district court in the county, 
depending on the number of district courts in the county. 

	 The local board of district judges in a county with more 
than one district court could have designated a court to give 
preference to certain types of cases, such as family law 
matters. Giving preference to certain types of cases would 
not have limited the jurisdiction of that court or any other 
district court in the county.

	 A district court would have been required to sit in the 
county seat for a jury trial in a civil case. The commissioners 
court of the county could have authorized a district court to 
sit in any municipality in the county to hear non-jury trials 
in civil cases and to hear motions, arguments, and other 
matters not heard before a jury in a civil case. The district 
clerk temporarily could have transferred necessary books, 
minutes, records, and papers while the court was in session. 

	 SB 1204 would have standardized district court 
terms to begin on the first Mondays in January and July. 
The bill would have made equal the county-provided 
supplemental compensation to all district judges in a county 
and would have required the same amount of supplemental 
compensation to be paid to a district judge serving on a 
county juvenile board as was provided to other judges 
serving on the juvenile board. 

	 County courts at law. SB 1204 would have converted 
into district courts 45 county courts at law with civil 
jurisdiction, generally beginning January 1, 2011. The bill 
would have made statutory changes to ensure continuity, 
including providing for existing juries and pending cases. 
The initial vacancy in a newly created district court would 
have been filled by election, and subsequent vacancies 
would have been filled as provided by law. A judge in a 
converted county court who was elected to fill the initial 
vacancy in the district court could have chosen to continue 
participating in the county retirement system or become a 
member of the retirement system for state judges.

	 County criminal courts at law in Harris County would 
have been granted concurrent jurisdiction with county 
civil courts to hear appeals of driver’s license suspensions, 
original proceedings on occupational driver’s licenses, and 
existing appellate jurisdiction in criminal cases from justice 
of the peace (JP) courts and municipal courts in the county.

	 JP courts. The maximum amount in controversy for 
general civil jurisdiction in JP courts would have increased 
from $5,000 to $10,000. SB 1204 would have eliminated 
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the current designation of some JP courts as “small claims 
courts” and directed all JP courts to adjudicate small claims. 
The Supreme Court would have defined “small claims” and 
established rules for resolution of small claims cases with 
the advice of a committee of JPs and public members.

	 Resources for certain complex cases. SB 1204 would 
have established a committee – including the chief justice 
of the Supreme Court as presiding officer and the nine 
presiding judges of the administrative judicial regions – to 
allocate additional resources to courts in certain complex 
cases. Resources would not have been provided for more 
than 10 cases a year and would have been awarded based on 
criteria adopted by the Supreme Court, including whether a 
case was likely to involve: 

•	 a large number of separately represented parties; 
•	 coordination with related actions pending in other 

courts; 
•	 several pretrial motions or novel legal issues; 
•	 many witnesses or a large amount of documentary 

evidence; 
•	 substantial post-judgment judicial supervision; 
•	 a trial lasting more than four weeks; or 
•	 a substantial burden on the trial court’s docket and 

available resources.

	 Development grants. The Task Force on Indigent 
Defense would have developed and administered a grant 
program for counties to improve the courts. Applicants 
would have had to match the amount of a grant with 
local funds. The Supreme Court would have determined 
whether to award a grant to a county that met eligibility 
requirements, and the task force would have monitored use 
of the grant money. The Supreme Court also would have 
administered a program of grants to counties to alleviate a 
backlog of child protection cases.

Supporters said

	 SB 1204 would bring simplicity and rationality 
to the legal process by reforming the organization and 
administration of the court system. Since the court system 
was established, it has been restructured on a piecemeal 
basis, resulting in an outdated system of inconsistencies and 
overlapping jurisdictions.
	
	 The bill would improve efficiency. The Supreme Court 
already has extensive powers to set administrative rules 
for the state’s courts, so it would be appropriate to grant 
the court more authority to oversee who executes these 
rules. County courts at law were intended to provide quick 

resolution of simple cases, but overlapping subject matter 
jurisdictions have prevented many from doing so. The 
bill would restore their original functions by converting 
45 county courts at law into district courts. In addition, 
increasing the amounts in controversy adjudicated by JP 
courts would allow district courts and county courts at law 
to give more attention to higher value and more complex 
cases. Designating a preference for certain kinds of cases in 
certain courts would allow judges to build specializations 
and improve efficiency of district courts countywide. 
Authorizing district court judges to exchange cases and 
benches also would speed up dockets.  

	 As the population and economy of Texas grow, so will 
its needs for an efficient and rational system of courts. The 
bill’s reforms and investments would be geared toward 
creating more efficient and uniform justice across the state.

Opponents said

	 SB 1204 would try to fix what is not broken. The 
court systems in each county reflect careful compromises 
among the local judiciary, the commissioners court, and the 
Legislature to address local needs, including the number, 
types, and jurisdiction of courts. Streamlining for the sake 
of streamlining would disrupt this balance. Texas is too 
diverse to demand statewide uniformity of the court system. 
Problems should continue to be addressed locally in keeping 
with longstanding Texas tradition.

	 The bill could result in some cases being heard in 
inappropriate courts. Increasing the amount in controversy 
in JP courts would bring to those courts more complex cases 
requiring additional legal and factual analysis, but most 
justices of the peace are not attorneys. JP courts traditionally 
have had relatively limited jurisdictions to ensure that 
they disposed only of relatively simple cases. In addition, 
allowing trial courts in a county to transfer cases between 
each other on agreement of the parties and the courts, which 
could result in a JP court hearing serious and complex cases, 
would be too broad a grant of authority. The bill also could 
change significantly the jobs of some county court-at-law 
judges, who specifically sought to preside in these courts 
with their limited jurisdiction, because the new courts would 
have expanded jurisdiction and hear substantially different 
kinds of cases.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1204 appeared in Part One 
of the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1287 by Chisum
Effective June 15, 2007

Adding study of the Bible as public school elective course

	 HB 1287 allows school districts, beginning with 
the 2009-2010 school year, to offer an elective course for 
students in grades nine or above on the Bible’s Hebrew 
scriptures (Old Testament) and its impact, the New 
Testament and its impact, or a course combining the two.

	 The bill also adds religious literature, including the 
Hebrew Scriptures (Old Testament) and the New Testament, 
and their impact on history and literature to the required 
enrichment curriculum in public schools. 

	 The purpose of the course is to teach students 
biblical content, characters, poetry, and narratives that are 
prerequisites to understanding contemporary society and 
culture, including literature, art, music, mores, oratory, and 
public policy. The course will familiarize students with the 
contents, history, and literary style of the Hebrew scriptures 
(Old Testament) or New Testament of the Bible, as well 
as their influence on law, history, government, literature, 
art, music, customs, morals, values, and culture. A course 
authorized by the bill must abide by all applicable laws, 
including any state and federal guidelines in maintaining 
religious neutrality.  

	 A course teacher must hold a minimum of a high school 
composite certification in language arts, social studies, or 
history with, where practical, a minor in religion or biblical 
studies. A teacher selected to teach the course must complete 
training designed by the Texas Education Agency (TEA), 
which will provide:

•	 expertise in the appropriate Bible course 
curriculum;

•	 understanding of applicable U.S. Supreme Court 
rulings and current constitutional law regarding 
how Bible courses are to be taught with objectivity 
as part of a secular program;

•	 understanding of how to present the Bible in 
an objective and academic manner that neither 
promotes nor disparages religion;

•	 proficiency in instructional approaches that present 
course material in a manner that respects all faiths 
and religious traditions, while favoring none; and

•	 expertise in how to avoid devotional content or 
proselytizing in the teaching of the course.

	 Before adopting rules identifying the essential 
knowledge and skills of the course, the State Board of 
Education must submit them for approval to the attorney 
general to ensure that the course complies with the  First 
Amendment. The bill does not prohibit a school board from 
offering an elective course based on books of a religion 
other than Christianity, according to student and parent 
demand.

Supporters said

	 HB 1287 would provide students with biblical 
knowledge necessary for a full appreciation of other 
academic subjects. Educators widely agree that the study 
of the Bible is an important part of a complete education. 
Knowledge of biblical stories and concepts is necessary 
to understand fully courses in literature, history, law, and 
art, which contain allusions to the Bible. According to one 
estimate, Shakespeare alone has more than 1,300 biblical 
references. Schools that fail to teach about the Bible put 
students at a disadvantage educationally and deprive them of 
knowledge essential to being a well rounded citizen.

	 An academic and objective study of the Bible would 
not violate the First Amendment. As a federal district court 
has stated, “The First Amendment was never intended 
to insulate our public institutions from any mention of 
God, the Bible or religion. When such insulation occurs, 
another religion, such as secular humanism, is effectively 
established,” Crockett v. Sorenson, 568 F. Supp. 1422, 1425 
(W.D. Va. 1983). The case emphasizes that, “[bible study] 
when presented objectively as part of a part of a secular 
program of education, may…be effected consistently with 
the First Amendment.” The court in the Crockett case 
acknowledged that without some basic understanding of the 
Bible, one cannot truly appreciate such great works as 
da Vinci’s Last Supper, Handel’s Messiah, or Melville’s 
Moby-Dick.

	 The teacher training required under the bill would 
ensure an objective study of the Bible and not the 
teaching of religion. All teachers of the course would 
receive specialized training on instructional approaches to 
presenting the course material in an objective manner that 
would respect all faiths and meet constitutional guidelines. 
TEA also would provide training materials and resources 
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to help teachers manage an objective classroom and avoid 
the inclusion of devotional content. With religious literature 
offered as an elective in public schools, students would 
receive the benefit of learning about a text foundational 
to society and culture without any imposition of religious 
traditions or perspectives.

Opponents said

	 The constitutionality of a religious literature course does 
not ensure its academic quality. Texas lacks what is needed 
to provide academic quality in Bible courses in public high 
schools. Only serious university study prepares someone 
to teach English, history, or chemistry, and it should not 
be different for the Bible and other religious texts. The bill 
would not require that, absent certain course work, a teacher 
pass a comprehensive test in the subject, while coursework 
and testing are required for other subject areas, such as 
English and biology. 

	 Texas should not authorize high school instruction in 
a subject for which it does not have adequate resources. 
Texas public universities have opposed adopting religion 

departments, unlike some other states. At the university 
level, biblical studies include several ancient languages, 
archaeology, and the histories and literatures of ancient Near 
Eastern cultures. True academic study accounts for methods 
of historical inference, dating of artifacts, and linguistic 
analysis. 

	 Even with the inclusion of safeguards, the teaching of 
religious texts in public schools could subject some students 
to religious views contrary to their own. The Bible is the 
source of many people’s religious faiths. Teachers and 
students could have a difficult time remaining objective in 
their focus and interject their religious views in classroom 
discussion. For this reason, study of the Bible should be kept 
in church or parochial schools.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1287 appeared in Part Two 
of the May 7 Daily Floor Report.
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	 HB 1387, as passed by the House, would have required 
a school district to conduct a feasibility study before 
acquiring title to certain property through eminent domain. 
A study would not have been required for property that was 
less than one acre or that was adjacent to property already 
owned by the district. 

	 The study would have had to include an analysis of 
14 specific items outlined in the bill and be approved by a 
licensed engineer or architect. If the study determined that 
the property would not be needed within 10 years of the 
study’s completion, the study also would have been required 
to include justification for immediate acquisition of the 
property. 

Supporters said

	 HB 1387 would help ensure that school district land 
acquisitions remained fair for all parties involved. The 
initial costs and administrative burden of the feasibility 
study would be outweighed in the long run by the value 
of informed decisions. Existing law offers few protections 
against imprudent land takings by school districts and 
does not define standards for determining which properties 
to acquire. By requiring a school district to conduct a 
feasibility study before acquiring property, HB 1387 would 
establish safeguards against common grievances associated 
with poorly planned and executed takings decisions. 

	 The misuse of eminent domain has resulted in some 
bad outcomes in public schools. In the El Paso area, for 
instance, poorly planned eminent domain decisions have 
led to schools that are sited in dangerous locations that 
municipal entities have zoned for higher-intensity land uses. 
In the Dallas area, school takings have needlessly derailed 
development plans and deprived owners of irretrievable 
development-related expenses. 

	 Careful site selection also benefits school districts. 
School expansions undertaken based on a careful cost-
benefit analysis result in new schools that are well timed and 
placed in a good location. Feasibility studies would require 
school districts to attend to major factors affecting a school’s 

HB 1387 by P. King 
Died in the Senate

Requiring school districts to conduct feasibility studies before 
taking land

long-term success, such as flood hazards, infrastructure, 
and comprehensive municipal land use plans. HB 1387 also 
would force schools to look at broader city planning goals, 
the comparative development potential of different sites, and 
the costs and benefits of proposed acquisition plans. 

	 The feasibility study would include a determination of 
whether property acquisition was necessary within 10 years 
of the end of the study. This would allow schools to acquire 
property when it was justifiable even if it were for a long-
range project. This would give schools enough flexibility 
to exercise eminent domain when it was warranted while 
preventing them from acquiring property when it was 
gratuitous or speculative.

Opponents said

	 HB 1387 would place an inordinate burden on school 
districts trying to exercise their right to acquire land through 
eminent domain. The requirements would add excessive 
costs ultimately borne by taxpayers. Rapidly expanding 
districts would be disproportionately affected, and the bill 
would provide no offsetting compensation for the mandates 
it would impose. 

	 Expanding districts often do informal feasibility 
studies in less time with fewer resources, conditioned by 
local circumstances. HB 1387 would establish a rigid, 
bureaucratic prerequisite that could make future property 
acquisitions difficult. Any value of the mandatory study 
would be outweighed by the administrative burdens of doing 
the study. 

	 Placing administrative hurdles at the beginning of the 
process could lead to higher land values and diminished 
availability of developable land, especially in areas where 
development is rapid. HB 1387 would present an obstacle 
to school districts’ ability to engage in long-range planning. 
More obstacles to school districts translate into valuable 
revenue diverted from much-needed educational resources.
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Other opponents said

	 A feasibility study would be a good means of ensuring 
the decision to take property was made only when necessary. 
HB 1387 should be broadened to apply to other entities with 
the power of eminent domain, such as universities, utility 
districts, and economic development corporations.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1387 appeared in the 
March 26 Daily Floor Report. 
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	 HB 2237 establishes a variety of pilot projects and 
grant programs for dropout prevention, high school success, 
and college readiness.

	 Dropout prevention pilot programs include up to $4 
million per biennium for a program to fund student club 
activities for students at risk of dropping out of school and 
up to $4 million per year for school districts and charter 
schools to collaborate with local businesses, non-profit 
and faith-based organizations, or other interested parties to 
reduce dropouts and increase employment opportunities 
for students who might otherwise drop out. Another pilot 
program will offer intensive academic instruction during the 
summer for students at risk of dropping out.

	 The bill also directs TEA to contract with one or more 
centers for education research to conduct a study of best 
practices for dropout prevention and requires school districts 
and charter schools with high dropout rates to submit to 
TEA a plan for using the compensatory education and 
high school allotments for developing and implementing 
research-based strategies for dropout prevention. A high 
school innovation grant program will provide grants to 
support the implementation of innovative high school 
improvement programs for high school reform, dropout 
prevention, and preparation of students for postsecondary 
coursework or employment.

	 The bill establishes a High School Completion and 
Success Initiative Council to identify strategic priorities for 
and make recommendations to improve the effectiveness, 
coordination, and alignment of high school completion 
and college and workforce readiness. Beginning with the 
2008-09 school year, the State Board of Education must 
incorporate college readiness standards and expectations 
into the foundation curriculum for high school students. 

	 Teacher training programs include a grant program 
to train teachers and administrators to align curriculum 
requirements with college readiness standards; a pilot grant 
program to provide content and instructional training for 
middle and high school mathematics teachers; teacher 
reading academies to provide training for teachers who 
provide reading instruction to students in sixth, seventh or 
eighth grade; and academies at higher education institutions 

HB 2237 by Eissler
Effective June 15, 2007

Programs and grants for dropout prevention, high school success, and 
college readiness

for teachers certified to teach in science, technology, and 
mathematics (STEM) programs.

	 The bill directs TEA to establish a competitive grant 
program for school districts to construct or renovate high 
school science laboratories. Construction costs must be 
limited to $200 per square foot for new construction projects 
or $100 per square foot for renovation projects. To be 
eligible for a grant, school districts must demonstrate that 
existing science laboratories are insufficient to comply with 
the recommended and advanced high school curriculum 
requirements. Grants will be awarded based on a ranking 
of school districts by wealth per student, with low-wealth 
districts receiving priority.

	 An intensive technology-based academic instruction 
pilot program will provide up to $3 million in grant funding 
to school districts with a high percentage of dropouts 
to provide intensive technology-based supplementary 
instruction in English, mathematics, science, or social 
studies to high school students at risk of dropping out. 
Another pilot program will provide grants to rural school 
districts to finance supplemental technology-based 
instruction, such as distance learning, teacher training, and 
academic tutoring, for students in sixth through twelfth 
grades. 

	 The bill requires school districts and charter schools 
that teach middle and high school students to participate in 
“Education: Go Get It” week by providing students with 
comprehensive grade-appropriate information regarding the 
pursuit of higher education.

Supporters said 

	 HB 2237 would help students complete high school 
ready for postsecondary success and help teachers at all 
school levels to strengthen their content knowledge and 
instructional expertise. 

	 The bill would address the state’s high dropout rates 
with a variety of approaches, including research into best 
practices in dropout prevention and small grants to schools 
to support academic or co-curricular clubs that should 
strengthen connections between students and educators. 
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A collaborative dropout reduction pilot program between 
school districts and community-based organizations would 
provide at-risk students with job skills and continuing 
education opportunities. 

Opponents said 

	 HB 2237 would create a number of relatively small 
dropout prevention and high school completion programs 
that would not be effective in confronting the state’s 
dropout program. Rather than establishing a variety of 
pilot programs, the state should provide funding for a more 
limited number of programs that have demonstrated success 
in preventing dropouts.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2237 appeared in Part One 
of the May 4 Daily Floor Report.
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	 Alternative education program placement revisions. 
HB 2532 revises the laws governing when students may 
be sent to alternative educational placements called Juvenile 
Justice Alternative Education Programs (JJAEPs) and 
disciplinary alternative education programs (DAEPs). 
	
	 HB 2532 allows school boards to expel students and 
place them in either a JJAEP or a DAEP for engaging in 
any felony offense under Title 5 of the Penal Code, which 
involves offenses against persons, regardless of where the 
offense occurred. Under the previous law, DAEPs were used 
for students who committed serious off-campus offenses that 
were not school-related, those who committed violations 
of the student code of conduct, and those who committed 
certain other misdemeanor offenses on campus. JJAEPs 
were used for certain students who were expelled from 
school for serious on-campus or school-related offenses 
listed in Education Code, sec. 37.007, some of which are 
Title 5 offenses. This applies in the 26 Texas counties with 
populations greater than 125,000, which are required to 
work with school districts to establish JJAEPs.

	 Under HB 2532, a student may be expelled and, under 
a memorandum of understanding between the school board 
and the local juvenile board, sent to a JJAEP if the student:

•	 is charged with engaging in conduct defined as 
a felony in Title 5, Penal Code, which involves 
offenses against persons; 

•	 has been referred to a juvenile court for an 
adjudication hearing after an allegation of 
committing a Title 5 felony;  

•	 has received probation or deferred adjudication for 
a Title 5 felony; 

•	 has been convicted of a Title 5 felony; or 
•	 has been arrested for or charged with a Title 5 

felony. 

	 In addition, the student’s presence in the regular 
classroom would have to threaten the safety of other 
students, be detrimental to the educational process, or not be 
in the best interest of the district’s students.

	 A student expelled and placed in an alternative setting 
is subject to that placement until graduating from high 
school, completing the term of placement or being assigned 
to another high school, or having the charges dismissed 

HB 2532 by Patrick 
Effective June 15, 2007 

Alternative school placement of students expelled for felonies and 
registered sex offenders 

or reduced to a misdemeanor offense. The bill allows for 
review of the placement of students in alternative settings. 
School boards are required to reimburse a JJAEP for the 
actual cost per day for the student.

	 School districts are required to assess the academic 
growth of students placed in DAEPs for 90 school days or 
longer.  

	 Placement of sex offenders in public schools. HB 2532 
requires school districts, on receiving notice from a law 
enforcement agency that a student is required to register as a 
sex offender, to remove the student from the classroom and 
determine the appropriate placement using criteria outlined 
in the bill. 

	 A school superintendent, within 24 hours of receiving 
notice from a prosecutor that a student is required to register 
as a sex offender, must notify all instructional and support 
personnel who have regular contact with the student. The 
superintendent also must notify these personnel within 24 
hours of being notified of a student’s conviction, deferred 
prosecution, or deferred adjudication for felony offenses 
and certain misdemeanor offenses. The bill also establishes 
procedures to follow when students who are sex offenders 
transfer among schools.

	 A registered sex offender under any form of court 
supervision must be placed in an appropriate alternative 
education program for one semester. Districts have the 
option of placing registered sex offenders who are not under 
court supervision in an alternative education program for 
one semester. The bill establishes criteria for returning these 
students to a regular classroom. 

	 At the end of the first semester of a student’s placement 
in an alternative education program, the school board must 
convene a committee to review the student’s placement and 
to make a recommendation about whether the student should 
be returned to the classroom or remain in the alternative 
education program. If a student has to remain in the 
alternative education program, the committee will conduct 
additional reviews before the beginning of each school year. 
The bill allows a student or the student’s parent or guardian 
to appeal a school board’s decision to place the student in an 
alternative education program.
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	 The placement of students with disabilities must comply 
with the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 
and the review may be made only by an admission, review, 
and dismissal committee, which may request the assistance 
of the kind of committee established in the bill for other 
students.

Supporters said

	 HB 2532 would give more flexibility to schools and 
juvenile boards to determine the best placement for students 
involved in certain serious crimes. Under current law, 
students who commit certain serious off-campus offenses 
must be sent only to a DAEP, and this placement may not be 
appropriate. In some cases, students involved with serious 
crimes should not be in the same learning environment as 
other students who have not committed serious crimes. HB 
2532 would ensure that, when appropriate, other students 
were able to learn in a safe environment without fear of 
intimidation or disruptions from students who had been 
involved in Title 5 felony offenses. HB 2532 also could 
benefit students sent to alternative placements who may 
need a more specialized learning environment. JJAEPs 
should be able to adapt to long-term placements. 

	 HB 2532 also would clarify and strengthen notification 
laws so that students who were registered sex offenders 
were not placed in regular classrooms without review. It 
would require that teachers and other personnel be notified 
promptly when a registered sex offender enrolled in their 
school. 

	 Registered sex offenders should not attend school 
alongside other students. Placing these students in an 
alternative education program for at least one semester 
would help protect students and teachers while still giving 
the offender access to an education.

Opponents said

	 HB 2532 would allow students to be expelled and 
placed in JJAEPs even if they had only been accused of a 
felony offense. Placing these students in a JJAEP before 
they had been convicted of a crime could violate these 
students’ rights. HB 2532 could result in a student being 
left in a JJAEP for several years because it would allow 
placement until high school graduation. JJAEPs were not 
designed for and may not be equipped for such long-term 
placement.

	 The highly charged atmosphere surrounding sex 
offenders could lead some review committees to assign 
students who were registered sex offenders to alternative 
education programs indefinitely, without a serious 
review of the student’s situation. Typically, the quality of 
education provided by alternative education programs is not 
comparable to that of regular public schools. Students who 
are registered sex offenders should be given more avenues 
to appeal long-term placement in alternative education 
programs.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2532 appeared in Part Four 
of the May 4 Daily Floor Report.

	 Numerous other bills considered by the 80th Legislature 
dealt with alternative educational placements. HB 2532 
contains provisions similar to those found in of HB 494 by 
Madden that require school districts to give an assessment 
test to students placed in a DAEP for 90 days or longer. HB 
494 died in the Senate.

	 Many of the provisions of HB 2532 dealing with the 
placement of sex offenders in public schools were in SB 
1067 by Shapiro, which passed the Senate but died in the 
House.  

	 HB 425 by Madden, which is effective September 1, 
2007, requires the commissioner of education to determine 
instructional requirements for education services provided 
by school districts or open-enrollment charter schools in pre-
adjudication secure detention facilities and post-adjudication 
secure correctional facilities. The requirements would 
address the length of the school day, the numbers of days of 
instruction, and the curriculum. 

	 HB 426 by Madden, which is effective June 15, 2007, 
requires the Texas Education Agency to adopt minimum 
standards for disciplinary alternative education programs 
and requires DAEPs to offer at least the minimum amount 
of instructional time per day required by the Education 
Code, currently seven hours a day. 

	 HB 1324 by Madden, which died in the Senate, would 
have established procedures to review the placement of 
certain students with disabilities into JJAEPs. 
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	 HB 2814 requires the Texas Education Agency (TEA) 
to establish a dual language education pilot program to 
examine dual language education programs and their effect 
on a student’s ability to graduate from high school. TEA will 
administer the project, selecting participating school districts 
that commit to a operating a dual language program for at 
least three years and giving preference to districts that:

•	 implement the program at the kindergarten level 
and demonstrate the potential to expand the 
program through middle and high school;

•	 offer at least one language other than English used 
in the pilot program; and

•	 demonstrate parent, teacher, and community 
support for a language immersion program.

	 TEA will select no more than 10 districts and 30 
campuses to participate in the pilot program. The first year 
of the program must be devoted to planning activities, 
including hiring and training teachers, establishing parental 
and community support, and acquiring adequate learning 
materials in both program languages.

	 Each participating school district or campus must 
establish a community education pipeline team, made 
up of educators, district-level administrators, community 
leaders, and parents, to create an academic improvement 
plan and suggest how the immersion program should 
be implemented. The team will consider the educational 
challenges and the necessary resources specific to the district 
or campus and recommend how grant funds should be used 
to implement the improvement plan, with the approval of 
TEA. The pilot program will expire August 1, 2013.

	 To expand language learning opportunities for all public 
school students, including those not participating in the pilot 
program, TEA will contract for up to $4 million annually 
to license language-learning software using language 
immersion methods. The contract must meet the needs of 
up to one million public school students and employees for 
three years. The software must be made available online to 
public school students and employees no later than January 
1, 2008. Districts may not use the software to supplant a 
bilingual education, English as a second language, or dual 
language education program. By January 1, 2013, TEA must 
report to the Legislature on the utilization and effectiveness 
of the software.

HB 2814 by Eissler
Effective June 15, 2007

Requiring TEA to establish a dual language education pilot program

Supporters said

	 HB 2814 would give TEA an opportunity to test a 
language learning program to better prepare students to 
succeed in college and to compete in an era of globalization. 
Bilingualism and multilingualism are considered marketable 
skills in Texas and abroad. 

	 Language immersion products offer interactive 
technology that allow students to master a language at their 
own pace. One program, for example, presents a carefully 
chosen selection of four images and asks the student to 
select the image that matches the written text and the voices 
of native speakers. A student can learn a language without 
the traditional need for translation or memorization. Schools 
now experimenting with this type of instruction already are 
showing significant gains.

	 The bill also could benefit bilingual education 
initiatives. Language software would provide online 
support to non-English speakers by supplementing bilingual 
education curricula with English immersion software.

Opponents said 

	 Rather than investing in solutions offered by for-
profit vendors, TEA should invest in other opportunities 
for students to acquire new language skills, such as dual 
language education or Texas’ Two-Way language immersion 
program. These programs not only promote biliteracy and 
bilingualism, but also place English-speaking and non-
English speaking students in the same classrooms, which 
allows them to help each other in learning another language. 

	 With Texas schools already experimenting with 
language immersion programs, there is a marginal value 
to implementing a pilot program in this area. HB 2814 
would require TEA to use budgeted funds to implement 
the language immersion pilot program. TEA instead could 
spend significantly less researching existing programs and 
not have to redirect funds from established programs.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2814 appeared in Part One 
of the April 23 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 3678 by C. Howard
Effective June 8, 2007

Voluntary expression of religious viewpoints in public schools

	 HB 3678 requires a school district to treat a student’s 
voluntary expression of a religious viewpoint in the same 
manner that the district treats a student’s expression of a 
secular or other viewpoint on a permissible subject. The bill 
may be cited as the Religious Viewpoints Antidiscrimination 
Act or the Schoolchildren’s Religious Liberties Act.

	 School districts must adopt a policy to establish a 
limited public forum for student speakers at school events in 
order to:

•	 provide a forum that does not discriminate against 
a student’s voluntary expression of a religious 
viewpoint on a permissible subject;

•	 provide a neutral method for selecting students to 
speak at school events and graduation ceremonies;

•	 ensure a student speaker does not engage in 
obscene, vulgar, offensively lewd, or indecent 
speech; and

•	 provide a disclaimer, in writing or orally, that the 
students’ remarks do not reflect the endorsement, 
sponsorship, position, or expression of the school 
district.

	 The bill stipulates that adopting and following a model 
policy contained within the bill would put school districts in 
compliance.

	 Students may express their religious beliefs in 
homework, art work, and other assignments. Assignments 
must be judged by ordinary academic standards of substance 
and relevance, and students may not be penalized or 
rewarded because of the religious content of their work.

	 Students may organize prayer groups, religious clubs, 
“see you at the pole” gatherings, and similar activities 
before, during, and after school to the same extent as 
students participating in other non-curricular groups. 
Religious groups must have the same access to school 
facilities as other non-curricular groups. Schools may 
disclaim sponsorship of student groups and events in a way 
that neither favors or disfavors students meeting to engage in 
prayer or practice religious speech.

Supporters said

	 HB 3678 is an anti-discrimination bill that would protect 
students’ voluntary expression of religious viewpoints. 
The bill would not require or suggest that students express 
religious viewpoints at any time but would protect them if 
they decided voluntarily to express their views, religious or 
otherwise. Under the bill, school children wishing to express 
religious views would have the same privileges as students 
expressing secular views. 
	
	 The bill is drafted to align with recent Supreme Court 
opinions. The case of Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 
(1971), while considered by some to be the leading case on 
this issue, has not been widely referenced in recent cases. 
Arguably, the new standard is neutrality. Good News Club 
v. Milford Central School, 533 U.S. 98 (2001), for example, 
pronounced that “speech discussing otherwise permissible 
subjects cannot be excluded from a limited public forum 
on the ground that the subject is discussed from a religious 
viewpoint.” The Supreme Court never has declared that 
the expression of religious views in a school setting is 
unconstitutional. While a school district may not provide, 
write, or require a prayer, nor endorse prayer as a preferable 
practice, these restrictions do not prohibit a student from 
voluntarily initiating a prayer at school events. The bill 
would support neutrality and prevent speech from being 
excluded based on its content.

	 HB 3678 would be aligned with the U.S. Department 
of Education’s Guidance on Constitutionally Protected 
Prayer in Public Elementary and Secondary Schools. The 
department’s guidance states that students may pray or 
study religious materials during non-instructional times, 
such as student recess or the lunch hour. The guidelines 
also state that students may express religious beliefs in 
homework, art work, or other assignments, which should be 
evaluated according to ordinary academic standards. While 
not established law, these guidelines establish permissible 
activities referenced in the bill. 

	 The bill would prevent religious expression from being 
treated as second-class speech. Schools are not faith-free 
zones, and teachers should not be asked to be prayer police. 
Current policies have been ineffective in both protecting a 
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student’s free speech rights and making clear the freedom 
that teachers have to allow these student liberties. The 
bill would clarify the law to dispel many misconceptions 
about that have led to the unconstitutional suppression of 
individual speech in Texas schools.

Opponents said

	 HB 3678 would interfere with the management of 
school campuses by adding new state mandates. Principals 
and teachers must provide students an environment suitable 
for learning, and schools need order and the discretion to 
discipline to maintain such an environment. The bill could 
prevent schools from disciplining students for comments 
and behavior. What is offensive to some may not be to 
others, and schools must have discretion to determine what 
is appropriate for their classrooms and local communities.

	 The bill’s constitutionality is questionable. Lemon v. 
Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) established the Lemon 
test, used by courts for more than 30 years to maintain the 
separation of church and state. It is one of the fundamental 
principles of the First Amendment’s Establishment Clause 
that the Constitution forbids not only one religion over 
another, but also practices that endorse or prefer religion 
over non-religion. Under the test, the government’s action 
must have a secular legislative purpose, must not have the 
primary effect of either advancing or inhibiting religion, 
and must not result in an “excessive entanglement” with 
religion. HB 3678, without a secular purpose, could serve 
to advance the presence of religion in schools. The Lemon 
test still embodies the dominant line of reasoning on the 
separation of church and state. If litigation ensued under the 
bill, the Lemon test still could be used to review a related 
constitutional challenge. 

	 The bill could serve as a tool to proselytize the majority 
religious view, Christianity, in Texas schools. The United 
States is made up of people of many faiths. Children are 
required to attend school and should be allowed to do so 
without someone else’s religion being imposed on them. An 
example in Texas schools of majority religious insensitivity 
was the scheduling of the TAKS exam for the 2006-2007 
school year, when the exam was scheduled on the first 
day of Passover, a Jewish holiday. Families who practice 
the Jewish faith were forced to choose between having 
their child miss an important exam or honoring their faith. 
Promotion of religion should be reserved for homes, places 
of worship, and individual hearts, not the public school 
system.

Other opponents said

	 The bill would cause further confusion on the issue 
of religion in schools. For fear of litigation, many schools 
improperly have made efforts to silence religious viewpoints 
in the classroom and at school events. The bill should 
require training on constitutionally supported free religious 
speech in order to eliminate uncertainties about what are 
legal and appropriate expressions of religious views in 
schools.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3678 appeared in Part One 
of the April 30 Daily Floor Report.



House Research Organization Page 151

SB 4 by Shapiro
Died in the House

Establishing a new system of public charter schools  

	 SB 4 would have repealed current statutes governing 
open-enrollment charter schools and created a new system 
of public charter schools. The State Board of Education 
would have been authorized to grant up to 215 charters 
for public charter districts to eligible applicants, including 
public, private, or independent higher education institutions, 
nonprofit organizations, or governmental entities.

	 All existing charter holders would have had to apply for 
a new license following procedures outlined in the bill. The 
State Board of Education could have approved or denied 
applications based on criteria it adopted and on financial, 
governing, and operational standards adopted by the Texas 
Education Agency (TEA). A public charter district could not 
have begun operations until TEA certified that the district 
had implemented acceptable administrative and accounting 
systems.

	 TEA would have had to grant a charter immediately to 
governmental entities holding an existing charter, charter 
holders that served primarily students in residential facilities, 
and those in which at least 25 percent of students passed 
assessment tests for mathematics and for language arts in 
the 2006-07 school year and the entity’s assets equaled 
or exceeded liabilities in fiscal 2006 or its total liabilities 
exceeded its assets by not more than 20 percent of total 
expenditures. Schools that met the financial requirements 
but did not meet the academic performance requirements, 
including those affected by Hurricane Rita, could have had 
test scores averaged for the 2005-06 and 2006-07 school 
year.

	 TEA would have been able to modify, place on 
probation, or revoke a charter without a hearing if the 
commissioner determined that the charter holder committed 
a material violation of the charter, failed to satisfy generally 
accepted accounting standards of fiscal management, failed 
to protect the health, safety, welfare, or best interests of the 
students, or failed to comply with regulations governing 
charter schools. Charter holders would have been able to 
appeal a revocation only by following procedures outlined 
in the bill and otherwise could not have appealed to the 
commissioner or to a district court. If a charter were revoked 
or if a district surrendered its charter, the district could not 
have continued to operate or receive state funds.

	 Charter holders would have been eligible for a 
facilities allotment of up to $1,000 per student in average 
daily attendance (ADA) if any campus had for two 
consecutive years been rated exemplary or recognized 
under state accountability standards and had satisfied 
fiscal management standards. These charter holders would 
continue to be eligible for facilities funding unless they 
received an accountability rating of unacceptable.

	 The bill would have established new regulations for 
charter school management companies, which would have 
been liable for damages incurred by the state or a school 
district for failure to comply with its contractual or other 
legal obligations. The attorney general could have sued 
board members for breach of fiduciary responsibility or 
management companies for damages incurred by the state.

	 TEA would have had the authority to audit the records 
of a public charter district or campus, a charter holder, and a 
management company, but would have had to limit the audit 
to matters directly related to management or operations and 
would have had to limit audits to no more than one on-site 
audit per fiscal year without specific cause. TEA could have 
issued a subpoena to compel the attendance and testimony 
of a witness or the production of materials relevant to an 
audit or investigation. The bill would have established 
procedures for receivership and disposition of assets of a 
charter school that previously held a charter, but was not 
authorized to operate as a public charter district or elected 
not to do so.

	 TEA could have authorized up to three charter holders 
to grant a charter to an eligible entity to operate a “blue 
ribbon” charter campus if the new charter replicated a 
distinctive education program, the charter holder had 
demonstrated the ability to replicate its program, and the 
program to be replicated had been in operation for at least 
seven years and had been rated recognized or exemplary 
for at least five years. These charters would not have been 
subject to the limit on the number of charters issued in the 
state. 

	 SB 4 would have allowed college or university charters 
to operate as advanced technical academies, which would 
have focused on advanced career and technology education, 
allowed students to combine high school and college courses 
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in grades 9-12, and allowed participating students to receive 
an associate’s degree or trade or occupation certificate 
within five years of starting high school. The program would 
have had to provide flexible class scheduling and academic 
mentoring and would have had to be designed based on 
input from employers. Paid student internships, arranged 
through local chambers of commerce, local employers, and 
the Texas Workforce Commission, also would have been 
incorporated into the program.

Supporters said

	 SB 4 would give TEA the tools it needs to weed out 
and shut down low-performing charter schools while 
establishing a new framework to nourish successful charter 
programs so that they could fulfill the original purpose 
that the state envisioned when it began offering charters in 
1995. There are many high-performing charter programs 
in the state that need additional support in order to succeed. 
These programs should have access to comparable funding, 
including facilities funding, as regular public schools.

	 The bill would reward the highest performing charter 
schools by providing them with facilities funding of $1,000 
per student in ADA. The lack of state facilities funding is the 
single biggest problem facing most charter schools, and SB 
4 would begin to address this problem.

	 Many charter schools that serve the most difficult-to-
educate students have met or exceeded state accountability 
standards. Those charter schools that cannot meet these 
accountability standards should not be allowed to continue 
to operate year after year.

Opponents said

	 Many of the charter schools that would be closed under 
SB 4 are offering opportunities for the most difficult-to-
educate students, including those who otherwise would drop 
out of school altogether. These schools should not be judged 
solely on test scores and compared to other public schools 
that serve a much different student population. Instead, other 
criteria should be used to measure their success.

	 Charter schools that receive an accountability rating of 
adequate also should have access to facilities funding. State 
support for facilities funding is the greatest need facing 
charter programs, and programs that are meeting basic 
standards should not be denied this support.

Other opponents said 

	 The state should not commit to providing facilities 
funding for charter schools until it addresses the disparities 
and lack of facilities funding for its regular public schools.

	 Although SB 4 would allow TEA to deny charters to the 
lowest-performing schools, many others that have produced 
mediocre results likely would have their charters approved. 
Even though many charter schools perform more poorly 
than their public school counterparts, they are not subject 
to the same scrutiny regarding the use of public funds. The 
bill would not go far enough in ensuring that TEA would 
hold all charter schools to the same academic and financial 
accountability standards as public schools, such as class-size 
limits and minimum teacher qualifications.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 4 appeared in Part Two of 
the May 22 Daily Floor Report.	

	 The Senate in a floor amendment by Sen. Shapiro 
added the provisions of SB 4 to HB 2237 by Eissler, but the 
amendment was removed from the enrolled version of the 
bill.
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	 SB 8 requires high school students participating in 
athletic activities sponsored or sanctioned by the University 
Interscholastic League (UIL) to submit to random testing for 
steroids.

	 The UIL must adopt rules to administer the steroid 
testing program. The rules must:

•	 require the random testing of a statistically 
significant number of students to be tested;

•	 provide for the selection of students through a 
process that randomly selects from a single pool of 
students participating in any UIL athletic activity;

•	 administer the program at about 30 percent of 
participating high schools; 

•	 provide for a process for confirming any initial 
positive results through a subsequent test; 

•	 require the testing to be conducted at an approved 
and certified laboratory; and

•	 provide for a period of ineligibility for students with 
confirmed positive results.

 
	 Results of steroid tests will be confidential and, except 
by court order, may be disclosed only to the student, the 
student’s parent, activity directors, and the principal and 
assistant principals of the student’s school.

	 A student prescribed steroids by a medical practitioner 
for a valid medical purpose is not subject to a period of 
ineligibility from UIL events. Licensed practitioners with 
prescriptive authority are included in the parents’ statement 
of acknowledgment of who may prescribe steroids.

	 Each employee who serves as an athletic coach at or 
above the seventh grade level for a UIL-sponsored athletic 
activity must complete an educational program regarding 
the health effects of steroid use. 

	 The steroid testing program will be financed through 
funds budgeted to the Texas Education Agency. The 
UIL must conduct a study on potential mechanisms for 
future funding of the program and report findings and 
recommendations to the Legislature no later than December 
1, 2008. 

 

SB 8 by Janek
Effective June 15, 2007

Random steroid testing in public high schools

Supporters said

	 The random testing program required by SB 8 would 
help discourage steroid use in public schools. The number of 
Texas schools testing athletes for steroids has nearly doubled 
since 2002, and a recent study by Texas A&M University 
found that steroid use among Texas students in grades 7-12 
decreased from 2 percent in 2004 to 1.5 percent in 2006. 
The downward trend indicates that increased testing could 
be the deterrent schools need to maintain clean competition. 

	 Young athletes often feel the need to become stronger 
and faster to remain competitive and may turn to steroid 
use. However, steroids can produce lasting, harmful health 
effects. Major side effects from steroid abuse include cancer, 
liver and kidney tumors, jaundice, fluid retention, high blood 
pressure, and stunted growth in adolescents. Psychiatric 
side effects can include aggression, extreme mood swings, 
irritability, delusions, and impaired judgment from feelings 
of invincibility. Research also indicates that users may turn 
to other drugs to alleviate some of the negative effects of 
steroids, compounding the problem.

	 In 2004, the National Institute on Drug Abuse and the 
University of Michigan found that more than 40 percent 
of 12th graders described steroids as “fairly easy” or “very 
easy” to get, and the perception among high school students 
that steroids are harmful dropped from 71 percent in 1992 
to 56 percent in 2004. With students losing perspective 
on the dangers posed by steroids, schools should facilitate 
programs that discourage their use. 

	 Under the bill, students who used steroids improperly 
would face a period of ineligibility from participation in 
athletic events. Random testing could be the necessary 
stimulus to keep students clean. Students aspiring to 
play at the college level understand that playing time is 
essential to advancement, and SB 8 would send a strong 
message to young athletes that Texas schools insist on clean 
competition.   
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Opponents said

	 Random drug testing does not effectively reduce drug 
use among young people, including athletes. A study in 
the Journal of School Health (April 2003) reported that 
the strongest predictor of drug use by students is their 
attitude toward drug use and their perceptions of peer use. 
Random testing does not bring constructive changes to 
students’ attitudes about drugs or their beliefs in the dangers 
associated with them. 

	 With 733,000 public school athletes in Texas, more 
than any other state, SB 8 would create administrative and 
financial burdens on school districts, and some of the testing 
logistics for the districts remain unclear.  

	 Drug testing programs can result in false positives, and 
innocent students could be unfairly stigmatized. Eliminating 
false positives would require schools to ask students to 

identify their prescription medications before taking a test. 
This could compromise the student’s privacy rights and 
create an additional administrative burden for schools to 
ensure that private information was safeguarded. 

	 SB 8 could undermine students’ relationships with 
teachers and coaches because drug testing can erode trust. 
Students often confide in their teachers and coaches about 
their fears and concerns, and this trust could be jeopardized 
if teachers and coaches acted as confidantes in some 
instances and as “police” in others.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 8 appeared in Part One of 
the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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	 SB 9 requires criminal background checks for public 
school employees and establishes a criminal history 
clearinghouse within the Department of Public Safety 
(DPS). A national criminal history record information 
(CHRI) review will have to be conducted for: 

•	 applicants for or holders of teaching certificates 
who currently are employed by a school district, 
charter school, or shared service agreement; 

•	 teachers, librarians, educational aides, 
administrators, and counselors at charter 
schools (TEA must approve these applicants for 
employment);

•	 non-certified and contract employees for school 
districts who are hired after January 1, 2008, if 
the contract employee has or will have continuing 
duties related to the contract service as well as 
direct contact with students; and

•	 substitute teachers.

	 Student teachers and volunteers who are not a student’s 
parents or guardians will be subject to name-based criminal 
background checks. This does not apply to volunteers 
accompanied by district personnel or volunteering for only 
one occasion. By September 1, 2011, the State Board of 
Educator Certification (SBEC) must complete a CHRI 
review for all current certified educators, and the Texas 
Education Agency (TEA) must complete a CHRI review for 
all substitute teachers.

	 School districts, charter schools and other employers 
affected by the background-check requirements may be 
required by TEA to collect a fee to cover the cost from those 
who must to submit to a CHRI review. School districts may 
use third-party vendors other than the FBI or DPS to run 
background checks.

	 SBEC may suspend or revoke a person’s certificate, 
impose other sanctions, or refuse to issue a certificate 
or permit to a person who has been convicted of a 
felony or misdemeanor offense relating to the duties and 
responsibilities of the education profession, including an 
offense involving:
 

•	 moral turpitude;
•	 a form of sexual or physical abuse of a minor or 

student or other illegal conduct in which the victim 
was a minor or student; 

SB 9 by Shapiro 
Effective June 15, 2007

Requiring criminal background checks for public school employees

•	 the possession, transfer, sale, or distribution of a 
controlled substance, or conspiracy to possess, 
transfer, sell, or distribute a controlled substance;

•	 the illegal transfer, appropriation, or use of school 
district funds or other school district property; or 

•	 an attempt by fraudulent or unauthorized means to 
obtain or alter a teaching certificate or license.

	 SBEC must adopt a procedure for placing a notice of 
alleged misconduct on an educator’s public certification 
records. The notice must be placed immediately if the 
alleged misconduct presents a risk to the health, safety, or 
welfare of a student or minor, as determined by the board. 
SBEC must notify the educator in writing when placing such 
a notice on the educator's certification records and provide 
an opportunity for the educator to appeal. If the board 
determines that the educator did not engage in this conduct, 
the notice must be removed immediately. This provision 
takes effect September 1, 2007, and applies regardless of 
whether the conduct occurred or was committed before, on, 
or after that date.

	 SBEC may put an educator’s certificate on inactive 
status for failure to comply with background check 
requirements.

	 School districts, charter schools, or other potential 
employers must discharge or refuse to hire an employee 
or applicant for employment or a contract employee, if 
the criminal background check shows that the employee 
or applicant has been convicted of one of the following 
offenses and the victim was under 18 years old or was 
enrolled in a public school at the time of the offense:

•	 a felony offense under Title 5, Penal Code, which 
includes offenses against the person, including 
homicide, kidnapping, and sexual assault;

•	 an offense on conviction of which the person is 
required to register as a sex offender; or 

•	 an equivalent offense under the laws of another 
state or federal law.

	 These provisions do not apply to an offense committed 
more than 30 years before the effective date of the bill or 
more than 30 years before the date the person’s employment 
began and the employee or applicant satisfied all terms of 
the court order entered on conviction. 
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	 SBEC may sanction an educator who does not discharge 
an employee or who does not refuse to hire an applicant if 
the educator knew or should have known, through a criminal 
background review, that the employee has been convicted of 
an offense cited in the bill.

	 Campus visitors. School districts may require a person 
who enters a district campus to show a driver’s license or 
another form of photo ID issued by a governmental entity. 
School districts may create electronic databases to store 
information about visitors and may verify whether a person 
is a convicted sex offender registered with DPS. Information 
collected for a school database may be used only for school 
security and may not be sold or otherwise disseminated to a 
third party.
 
	 Criminal history clearinghouse. DPS must establish 
an electronic clearinghouse for criminal history record 
information and a subscription service to provide updated 
information. The clearinghouse will provide either an 
individual’s state and national criminal history information 
or a statement that the individual does not have a criminal 
history, as well as the date any information was received 
from the FBI. This information will be confidential and may 
be provided only to persons authorized to receive it. 

	 Updated information about a person’s criminal record 
must be provided through the subscription service within 
48 hours after DPS becomes aware that a person’s criminal 
history has changed. Subscribers who no longer are entitled 
to receive this information must notify DPS and cancel 
their subscription. The subject of the criminal history record 
information must consent to the release of the information. 
DPS must notify SBEC of the arrest of any educator who 
has fingerprints on file with the department.

Supporters said 

	 SB 9 would help protect children by expanding criminal 
background checks to include a broader range of individuals 
who come into contact with children at school, including 
non-certified staff, substitute and student teachers, and 
contract employees. It also would include certified staff who 
were hired before 2003, when criminal background checks 
were required of all new certified employees. 

	 The bill would improve communication among school 
districts, SBEC, DPS, and local law enforcement, so that 
these organizations could share information that could 
prevent acts by educators against children that can happen in 
communities anywhere in the state. 

	 Since Texas began requiring national criminal 
background checks for candidates for educator certification 
in October of 2003, almost 300 candidates for certification 
have been found to have serious offenses on their records, 
including sexual misconduct and crimes against children. As 
recently as 2004-05, SBEC found that 35 certified educators 
were registered sex offenders. 

	 The cost of these background checks would be covered 
by modest fees of about $50 per employee. This is about 
the same fee that new applicants for teacher certification 
pay to cover the cost of criminal background checks. While 
name-based background checks may be less expensive than 
fingerprinting, they are less reliable and more subject to 
identity theft and other fraud.

Opponents said 

	 SB 9 would cast too wide a net in an effort to ensure 
children’s safety. Educators who have served in the 
profession for 10 or 20 years should not be subjected to 
criminal background checks by the FBI.

	 The cost of conducting national criminal background 
checks would be passed on to those who could least afford 
it, particularly substitute teachers. The state should cover the 
cost of adopting a policy of conducting criminal background 
checks for all educators, rather than passing it on to 
educators.

Other opponents said 

	 Rather than establishing a criminal background check 
clearinghouse within DPS, the state could save money and 
get more complete information by contracting with private 
vendors to conduct criminal background checks. Name-
based criminal background checks would be less expensive 
than fingerprinting and national criminal background 
checks. DPS criminal background checks are likely to 
miss a significant number of criminal convictions because 
counties are not required to forward criminal records to the 
state.

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of SB 9 appeared in Part One of 
the May 22 Daily Floor Report.
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	 SB 530 transfers authority for establishing physical 
education requirements for public school students from 
the State Board of Education to school districts and sets 
minimum standards for student physical activity. Beginning 
with the 2007-08 school year, students below sixth grade 
will have to participate in moderate or vigorous daily 
physical activity for at least 30 minutes throughout the 
school year. Beginning with the 2008-09 school year, 
students in grades six through eight must participate in daily 
physical activity for at least 30 minutes for at least four 
semesters during those grade levels.

	 If a school district determines, for any particular grade 
level below sixth grade, that this requirement is impractical 
due to scheduling concerns or other factors, students in 
that grade level may participate in moderate or vigorous 
physical activity for at least 135 minutes during each school 
week. For districts that use block scheduling, students must 
participate in moderate or vigorous physical activity for at 
least 225 minutes during each two-week school period.

	 Students who participate in an extracurricular activity 
with a moderate or vigorous physical activity component 
will be exempted from this requirement, as will students 
with illnesses or disabilities that prevent them from 
participating.

	 The local school health advisory committee will have 
to consider and make policy recommendations on the 
importance of daily recess for elementary school students, 
taking into account research on unstructured and undirected 
play, academic and social development, and the health 
benefits of daily recess. Any policy recommendation by the 
council to the district must reflect local community values.

	 School districts will have to annually assess the physical 
fitness of students in grades three through 12, unless a 
disability or other condition would make the assessment 
inappropriate. For the 2007-08 school year, the Texas 
Education Agency (TEA) will have to adopt an assessment 
instrument to be used by school districts that is based on 
factors related to student health, including aerobic capacity, 
body composition, and muscular strength, endurance, and 
flexibility. The assessment must include criterion-referenced 
standards specific to a student’s age and gender and based 
on the physical fitness level required for good health.

SB 530 by Nelson 
Effective June 15, 2007 

Increased physical education requirements for public school students

	 Districts must compile the results of the fitness 
assessments and provide TEA with summary results, 
aggregated by grade level and any other appropriate 
category. These summary results may not contain the 
names of individual students or teachers. Individual student 
performance on the assessments will be confidential and 
may be released only in accordance with state and federal 
law.

	 TEA will have to analyze the assessment results and 
identify any correlation with the following:

•	 student academic achievement levels;
•	 student attendance levels;
•	 student obesity;
•	 student disciplinary problems; and 
•	 school meal programs.

	 By September 1 of each year, TEA will report these 
findings to the School Health Advisory Committee for use in 
assessing the effectiveness of coordinated health programs 
and developing recommendations for modifications to 
coordinated health programs.

	 By September 1, 2008, TEA must submit a report to 
the Legislature that details options and recommendations 
for providing moderate or vigorous daily physical activity 
for students for at least 30 minutes outside the seven-hour 
instructional day.

Supporters said

	 SB 530 would address the need for physical activity by 
students while also giving schools enough flexibility to meet 
other, equally important state requirements. The bill would 
help the state address a growing crisis of childhood obesity 
and related health problems by giving a better understanding 
of the relationship between student fitness and other 
factors, such as academic performance, dropout rates, and 
absenteeism. Good health is as fundamental as reading, 
writing, and arithmetic, a lesson students must learn.

	 More than one third of Texas students are overweight, 
putting them at higher risk for numerous chronic diseases, 
including heart disease. Adolescents are developing the type 
of diabetes that used to show up only in middle-aged adults. 
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Most shocking of all, our youth are at risk of becoming the 
first generation of Texans to live shorter lives than their 
parents. Action now would reverse this trend.

	 A lack of physical education requirements in Texas 
is fueling this crisis. National guidelines recommend that 
middle and high school students should receive 225 minutes 
of exercise per week. SB 530 offers a flexible approach that 
would take into account outside physical activities while 
still ensuring that students got at least a minimal amount of 
physical activity.

Opponents said 

	 An increase in physical education requirements could 
limit the time available for other electives, particularly art 
and music for elementary students. While physical activity 
is important, it should not be emphasized at the expense of 
these other important pursuits.

Other opponents said 

	 Increasing physical education requirements would 
not have a significant impact on student obesity. Nutrition 
education and attention to the types of food served in 
cafeterias also should be emphasized to have a greater 
impact on student health.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 530 appeared in Part One of 
the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1000 by Shapiro
Died in the Senate

School vouchers for students with autism

	 SB 1000 would have established an Autism Services 
Accessibility Program and directed the Texas Education 
Agency (TEA) to spend up to $125,000 each fiscal year to 
fund the provisions of the bill. The bill would have allowed 
students diagnosed with autism or an autism spectrum 
disorder to attend public school in the district in which 
they resided, another public school district, or a private 
“qualifying school.” 

	 To participate in the program, a qualifying school 
would have been required to be accredited or have applied 
for accreditation by an accrediting organization recognized 
by TEA; not advocate or foster unlawful behavior or teach 
hatred of any person on the basis of race, ethnicity, national 
origin, or religion; comply with health and safety laws, 
including laws on criminal background checks; and hold a 
valid occupancy permit if required by the municipality in 
which the school was located. Admissions standards would 
have had to comply with federal laws and nondiscrimination 
provisions established in the bill. A private school with more 
qualified applicants than available positions would have had 
to fill the available positions by a random selection process.

	 If a student had attended school in a district in which 
the student did not reside, the district in which the student 
attended school would have been entitled to include the 
student in its average daily attendance for state aid purposes. 
If a student had attended a private qualifying school, TEA 
would have distributed directly to the school the amount 
that the student’s home district would have received 
and deducted this amount from the home district’s state 
funding. The student’s program funding would have been 
the entitlement of the student under the supervision of the 
parent, and not that of any school, but the qualifying school 
could not have shared a student’s program funding with 
or have refunded or rebated any share of the money to the 
student or student’s family.

	 For each eligible student, qualifying schools would have 
had to establish academic goals similar to an individualized 
education program and provided a report to the student’s 
parents every six weeks. They also would have to have 
administered each spring either the TAKS test or another 
nationally norm-referenced assessment instrument approved 
by TEA. Individual test results would have been provided 

to the student’s parents, and aggregated results would have 
been made available to the public. Qualifying schools 
would not have been required to implement individualized 
education programs for eligible students.

	 It would have been the responsibility of the parent and 
student to locate and select a qualifying school, apply for 
admission to the school, and submit required information 
to TEA in order to qualify for funding. Funding then would 
have been distributed to the school following procedures 
established in the bill.

	 TEA would have designated an impartial organization 
to evaluate the program without the use of state funds and 
report to members of the Legislature by December 1, 2010. 
An evaluation would have compared differences between 
qualifying and public schools, including such factors as 
student and parent satisfaction, behavioral problems, class 
size, the fiscal impact to the state and school districts, 
student academic performance, and practices of a qualifying 
school that contributed to any change in student behavior 
or academic performance. The program would have been 
subject to sunset review and, unless continued as part of the 
sunset process, would have expired September 1, 2017.

	 TEA also would have been required to contract with a 
regional education service center to coordinate statewide 
services and training for educators serving students with 
autism. As part of this initiative, the regional education 
service center would have studied available training options, 
developed new ones as appropriate, coordinated statewide 
training, and developed procedures for school districts to use 
in determining the training needs of educators. The service 
center would have developed a guidebook for educators 
and parents on appropriate practices for students with 
autism and maintained a web site with information about 
available services. The web site also would have included 
information about the diagnosis of and current research on 
autism, recommended instructional practices for students 
with autism, and state and national autism organizations. 
The service center would have collaborated with the Texas 
Council on Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders 
to administer the initiative.
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Supporters said 

	 SB 1000 would give parents of students with autism 
flexibility to determine the kind of education that best 
meets their children’s needs by allowing students to transfer 
within or between districts or to a private, accredited school. 
Funding would follow the child and be limited to the 
amount the student’s public school would have received to 
provide educational services. If tuition at a private school 
exceeded this amount, parents would be responsible for 
paying the difference.

	 To be eligible for participation, students would have to 
qualify for special education services, have an individualized 
educational program (IEP), and be diagnosed with autism 
or a related disorder. The bill would not open the door to 
a statewide voucher program but instead would provide a 
narrowly defined benefit for students needing services that a 
public school district may not be willing or able to provide.

	 One in every 150 children is diagnosed with autism 
each year, and the number of students in Texas public 
schools with autism has increased by 600 percent over the 
last 20 years. Research shows that with early, intensive 
intervention, almost 50 percent of children with autism 
can become indistinguishable from their peers. While 
some school districts provide excellent services, others 
do not have programs to meet the needs of these unique 
students. Children with autism can learn and progress if 
placed in an appropriate educational setting to meet their 
individual needs, but effective teaching strategies are crucial 
to their positive development and could be the difference 
between a generation of healthy, taxpaying citizens and 
institutionalized adults.

Opponents said 

	 SB 1000 would open the door to other voucher 
programs in which state funds would be used to fund private 
school educations for certain students. Instead of diverting 
money from public schools, the state should invest in 
improving public school services for children with autism. 
There are many excellent programs in public school districts 
throughout the state that could serve as models for other 
school districts.

	 Allowing students to transfer to other school districts 
without allowing the districts to limit enrollment could 
undermine the quality of education in school districts doing 
a good job of providing services for students with autism. 
School districts without the capacity to meet the additional 
demand for services could be overwhelmed if a large 
number of new students transferred into the district.

	 The state share per student is estimated to be about 
$14,000 per student per year, which probably would not be 
enough to cover the annual cost of private school tuition. 
Parents with the means to make up the difference would 
benefit from the bill, while those who could not cover the 
additional tuition would not be able to participate in the 
program. Families who lived in small towns likely would 
not have access to such programs at all. 
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SB 1031 by Shapiro
Effective September 1, 2007

Replacing TAKS with end-of-course exams for graduation 

	 SB 1031 replaces the exit-level and other high school 
TAKS tests with end-of-course exams, which students 
will be required to pass in order to graduate from high 
school. The bill also establishes test security procedures and 
penalties for those who violate these procedures. 

	 End-of-course exams. To receive a high school 
diploma, students taking the recommended or advanced 
high school program will have to perform satisfactorily on 
end-of-course exams in each of the following subjects: 

•	 English I, II, and III; 
•	 Algebra I and II and geometry; 
•	 biology, chemistry, and physics; and 
•	 world geography, world history, and U.S. history. 

	 Students taking the minimum high school program will 
have to perform satisfactorily on end-of-course exams only 
for the courses listed above that are required to complete the 
program.

	 Students who do not perform satisfactorily on an end-
of-course exam must have multiple opportunities to retake 
it and be provided with accelerated instruction. If a district 
determines that a student, on completion of grade 11, is 
unlikely to achieve the cumulative scores required to pass 
these exams, the district must require the student to enroll 
in a corresponding content-area college preparatory course. 
The student may use the score on the end-of-course exam in 
the college preparatory course toward the cumulative score 
requirements.

	 Performance on any of these exams will account for 
15 percent of a student’s final grade in the course. Students 
must have an average cumulative grade of 70 on all exams 
and receive a score of 60 in order for a test score to count 
toward the cumulative score. If a student retakes an exam, 
the school district does not have to use the grade on the 
repeat exam in determining the student’s final grade for the 
course. A student’s performance on the end-of-course exams 
must be included in the student’s academic achievement 
records.

	 End-of-course assessments may be adopted for other 
courses, but grade and performance requirements will not 
apply to those tests. Spring test administration may be no 
earlier than the first week of May, with the exception of tests 

in English I, II and III. Tests may not be administered to any 
student on more than 10 percent of instructional days in any 
school year. The Algebra I and II and geometry tests must be 
administered with the aid of technology.

	 The Texas Education Agency (TEA) will adopt rules 
for the transition to end-of-course exams, so that the last 
students to take the exit-level TAKS test will be those 
entering 10th grade in the 2011-12 school year, and students 
entering ninth grade in that year will be subject to the new 
requirements for end-of-course exams. By the time they are 
in seventh grade, students subject to the new requirements 
will receive written notice of the change to end-of-course 
assessments. 

	 Tests must be developed to allow for the measurement 
of annual student achievement. Existing test instruments 
may be used, provided that they are aligned with the 
essential knowledge and skills of the subject being assessed 
and allow for the measurement of annual improvement. 
Special-purpose questions will be included in the test to 
measure college readiness and to identify students likely to 
succeed in advanced high school courses. These students 
and their parents must be notified by the district of their 
potential to succeed in advanced courses. The tests may not 
be used to screen students for eligibility for those courses.

	 A student’s satisfactory performance on an advanced 
placement test, international baccalaureate examination, 
an SAT subject test, or another assessment considered by 
TEA to be equally rigorous may be used as a factor in 
determining whether the student has satisfied requirements 
for an end-of-course examination. 

	 Assessment instruments must be designed so that they 
could be administered by computer. By September 1, 2008, 
school districts must notify TEA of their ability to administer 
assessments by computer. TEA must compile this data and 
submit a report to the Legislature by December 1, 2008.

	 The bill will limit field testing of questions for any 
end-of-course exams to every other year. TEA will have to 
conduct a study of the sample size and procedures used in 
field testing questions for assessment instruments and report 
the results to the Legislature by December 1, 2008.

	 By June 1, 2008, TEA must develop a vertical scale 
for evaluating and comparing student test performance 
from one grade to the next. This scale will be implemented 
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beginning with the 2008-09 school year.

	 Test security. TEA must establish procedures for 
administering tests to ensure security and may establish 
record retention requirements for school districts for test 
security. TEA also may develop and implement statistical 
methods and standards for identifying potential security 
violations beginning with the 2008-09 school year. These 
standards may include indicators of potential violations 
that are monitored annually and patterns of inappropriate 
testing practices that occur over time. TEA may establish 
one or more advisory committees to advise the agency on 
these issues and require training for those responsible for 
administering tests.

	 TEA may investigate school districts for potential 
violations of test security. Each school year, the agency must 
identify the districts that were investigated and the statistical 
methods and standards used to select the district. Beginning 
with the 2007-08 school year, TEA may conduct random 
audits of school districts to determine compliance with 
security requirements.

	 The bill authorizes TEA to issue subpoenas as part of an 
investigation or audit of test security violations, including an 
investigation of an educator, or for an agency accreditation 
investigation. 

	 Intentional disclosure of the contents of any portion 
of a test, including answers, is a class C misdemeanor 
(maximum fine of $500).

	 College preparation assessments. Each school year and 
at state cost, if funding is appropriated, school districts must 
administer the following tests:

•	 for eighth graders, a nationally norm-referenced 
preliminary college preparation assessment 
instrument to diagnose student strengths and 
deficiencies before entering high school;

•	 for 10th graders, a nationally norm-referenced 
preliminary college preparation assessment test to 
measure a student’s progress toward readiness for 
college and the workplace; and

•	 for 11th and 12th graders, at state cost, a nationally 
norm-referenced assessment instrument selected by 
the student that is used by colleges and universities 
as part of their undergraduate admissions process.

	 TEA will select and approve vendors of the specific 
assessment instruments, pay all fees from funds allotted 
from the Foundation School Program, and reduce allotments 
to school districts accordingly. Vendors may not be paid for 
a test that was not administered. TEA must develop a refund 
system in which vendors return any payment for a student 

who registered for but did not take a test.

	 Test results must be included in TEA’s electronic student 
records system, and the student’s parents must receive a 
copy of test results.

	 Review of accountability system. The bill establishes 
a 15-member committee to study the state’s public school 
accountability system. The committee will examine the 
mission, organizational structure, design, processes, and 
practices of similar accountability systems in other states, as 
well as federal requirements, and will conduct a thorough 
review of several aspects of the state accountability system. 
The committee will hold public hearings throughout the 
state and solicit testimony from public school parents 
and other interested parties. By December 1, 2008, the 
committee will report on its findings and recommend 
statutory changes.

Supporters said 

	 SB 1031 would phase out the exit-level TAKS exam, 
which has outlived its usefulness, and replace it with 
an assessment method that better reflects high school 
achievement and college readiness. The bill would maintain 
accountability for schools while providing multiple 
pathways to graduation by allowing a student to satisfy 
graduation requirements in different ways instead of 
depending on a single pass/fail test.

	 End-of-course exams would allow a more in-depth 
study of a particular subject and provide a more timely 
assessment of a student’s grasp of that subject. These exams 
would be more relevant to the content of the course than 
is the broad-based TAKS test. Students would be tested at 
the end of the course, when the material was fresh in their 
minds, instead of having to pass a test covering information 
about subjects they may have studied years ago.

	 The bill would move the state away from a system in 
which one test is used to measure the quality of teaching 
as well as student performance. A random survey by one 
teachers’ organization found that more than three out of four 
teachers believe the TAKS does not accurately measure a 
student’s academic level and is turning students into test-
takers rather than critical thinkers. More than 60 percent of 
teachers and parents surveyed said that TAKS had reduced 
learning to how well a student can take a test. 

	 The bill would promote college readiness by 
encouraging all students to take nationally normed tests such 
as the SAT, ACT, and PSAT. All eighth graders would take a 
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diagnostic test such as EXPLORE, an assessment designed 
by ACT to measure a student’s strengths and weaknesses in 
preparation for high school. Students would not be required 
to take the SAT or ACT, and the state would be reimbursed 
if a student signed up for a test but did not take it.

Opponents said 

	 Overemphasis on the TAKS test could be replaced 
with overemphasis on end-of-course exams, which could 
lead teachers to design entire courses around one final 
exam. Currently, teachers develop their own final exams 
based on the elements they have emphasized during the 
year. Standardized end-of-course exams could lead to more 
conformity in teaching.

	 By requiring students to pass at least four end-of-course 
exams rather than one exit-level TAKS test, the bill could 
lead to an increase in dropout rates. Students who failed one 
or several of these exams may choose to drop out of high 
school instead of retaking these exams.

	 Administering all tests by computer could create 
problems for districts not set up to administer exams in this 
way. In some courses, such as mathematics, paper exams are 
preferable to computer-administered assessments because 
of the need to show a student’s work in solving a problem. 
School districts should have the option of administering 

paper tests in some cases.

	 More than half of the cost of the bill in fiscal 2009 
and 2010, about $13 million, would cover the state cost of 
such nationally normed tests as the ACT, SAT, PSAT and, 
in eighth grade, an assessment instrument produced by 
ACT. Most of these tests traditionally have been paid for 
by students as part of the college admissions process. If 
students have some financial investment in test results, they 
are likely to take such tests more seriously.

	 The EXPLORE assessment, in particular, would 
add another layer of testing at a time the state is trying to 
scale back on assessments. In addition to the EXPLORE 
assessment, eighth-grade students still would have to take 
the TAKS test, which would provide a similar measurement 
of the student’s strengths and weaknesses. School districts 
still should be able to decide whether they want to 
participate in this diagnostic program.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1031 appeared in Part One 
of the May 14 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1643 by Shapiro
Died in the Senate

Tying educator evaluations to test scores 

	 SB 1643 would have required that the appraisal 
process for teachers include student achievement, including 
improvement in test scores, and a teacher’s relevant 
subject area expertise. A majority of the teacher’s appraisal 
would have been based on consideration of annual student 
achievement on the TAKS test and other locally adopted 
measures, including benchmarking systems, portfolio 
assessments, and nationally norm-referenced assessments. 
These criteria would not have applied to teachers in subjects 
for which objective and quantifiable measures did not exist. 
Teachers employed under probationary contracts would 
have been appraised more frequently than those employed 
under a term or continuing contract.

	 If a teacher received an unsatisfactory appraisal or 
one that identified important instructional deficiencies 
related to student achievement, the teacher’s supervisor, 
in consultation with the appraiser and teacher, would have 
had to develop a performance improvement plan. The 
improvement plan would have identified all areas in which 
the teacher was in need of improvement, professional 
development and instructional effectiveness requirements, 
and a timeline for completion of the performance 
improvement plan.

	 Teachers who had received an overall unsatisfactory 
rating for three consecutive years either would have been 
discharged or not had their contracts renewed, as applicable.

	 The bill would have required that appraisals of 
principals and assistant principals be based on student 
test scores on that campus, as well as staff and parent 
evaluations and other observable measures, when 
appropriate. At least 25 percent of the principal’s or assistant 
principal’s evaluation would have had to be based on 
objective and quantifiable measures of student achievement 
on that campus. 

	 The State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) 
would have had to include in its accountability standards 
for educator preparation programs the achievement on 
standardized tests of students of teachers who were in 
the first three years following certification, as well as 
perseverance of beginning teachers in the profession. 
Perseverance would have been measured by the number of 
beginning teachers who had remained on active status in the 
Teacher Retirement System for at least three years compared 
to similar programs. 

	 SBEC would have had to adopt rules allowing the Texas 
Education Agency (TEA) to impose sanctions on educator 
preparation programs that did not meet accountability 
standards. These sanctions could have included requiring 
technical assistance from SBEC or TEA or contracting for 
professional services, appointing a monitor to participate in 
and report on the activities of the program, or appointing a 
conservator to direct the program. 

	 Programs rated unacceptable under the educator 
preparation program accountability system could have 
been taken over by a board of managers. Those rated 
unacceptable for two consecutive rating periods could have 
been closed, and a program rated unacceptable for three 
years would have been closed. These actions could also have 
been applied to educator preparation programs in a certain 
field. A program could have sought recertification after two 
years. 

	 The bill would have required SBEC and the Texas 
Higher Education Coordinating Board to review and assess 
educator certification programs every two years.

Supporters said 

	 SB 1643 would ensure that evaluations of teachers, 
principals, and assistant principals were based on the 
academic performance and improvement of students by 
taking student test scores into account as a significant part 
of the evaluation process. Evaluations also would consider 
other factors, such as relevant subject area expertise. 

	 A fair, accurate, and sound method of evaluating teacher 
and administrator performance is essential to strengthening 
the overall quality of education in the state. In Texas, teacher 
evaluation relies too much on inputs and efforts rather than 
on results and effectiveness. As a result, effective teachers 
are not properly rewarded, teachers in need of improvement 
do not receive help, and persistently ineffective teachers are 
not properly removed.

	 The bill would improve the quality of teacher 
preparation programs by establishing stricter accountability 
programs and giving SBEC clear authority to close 
programs or to provide assistance to programs that 
consistently did not meet standards for student and teacher 
performance.
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Opponents said 

	 SB 1643 would lead to even more emphasis on TAKS 
scores by tying teacher salaries to student test scores. 
The bill could create an incentive for the best teachers to 
gravitate to schools with the highest TAKS scores and avoid 
more challenging teaching assignments in schools where test 
scores needed improvement. 

	 Under the current system, schools and school districts 
have wide latitude in evaluating teachers and deciding 
not to renew the contracts of teachers who do not meet 
performance standards, particularly during a teacher’s first 
three years on the job. Teachers are evaluated based on a 
wide variety of factors, such as classroom management 
techniques and other observable behaviors, which are not 
reflected in student test scores. Any effort to tie teacher 
performance to student test scores should be part of an 
overall review and revamping of the state accountability 
system.
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SB 1788 by Shapiro
Effective September 1, 2007

Creating a state virtual school network 

	 SB 1788 establishes a state virtual school network to 
provide electronic courses or programs for Texas students, 
as well as equitable access to the courses. TEA will 
administer the network, employing a limited administrative 
staff and contracting with a regional education service 
center to operate the program. The State Board of Education 
(SBOE) will establish criteria for course and program 
content based on Texas essential knowledge and skills 
(TEKS) requirements. The courses must be in specific 
subjects that are part of the required state curriculum and 
must be equivalent in instructional rigor and scope to a 
course provided in a traditional classroom setting. 

	 Electronic courses are those in which instruction 
and content are delivered primarily over the Internet, a 
student and teacher are in different locations for most 
of the student’s instructional period, most instructional 
activities take place in an online environment, online 
instructional activities are integral to the academic program, 
extensive communication between a teacher and students 
is emphasized, and the student is not required to be on the 
physical premises of the school.

	 TEA will evaluate and approve electronic courses or 
programs and provide public access to a list of those that 
are approved, including advanced placement courses and 
those required for high school graduation. The agency will 
establish a schedule for the annual submission and approval 
of electronic courses to be approved by August 1 of each 
year.

	 TEA will establish the cost of providing an electronic 
course, which may not exceed $400 per student per course 
or $4,800 per full-time student. School districts or charter 
schools that submit courses for approval must pay a fee 
to cover the cost of evaluating the electronic courses and 
programs. 

	 Funding. The state must pay for operating the state 
virtual school network. The costs may not be charged to a 
school district or charter school. School districts or charter 
schools in which a student is enrolled in an electronic 
course are entitled to state and local funding equal to the 
cost of providing the course, as established by TEA, plus 20 
percent. Payments may be based on contact hours or on the 
student’s successful completion of a course. 

	 Home-schooled students must pay a fee that may not 
exceed the lesser of the cost of providing the course or $400. 

	 Teacher qualifications. Teachers of on-line courses 
must be certified under state certification requirements to 
teach that course and grade level and must complete the 
appropriate professional development courses, provided 
through the virtual school network. The network also may 
provide other teacher development courses.

	 Student eligibility. Electronic courses may be offered 
to state residents younger than 21 and eligible to enroll in 
a public high school. Students may enroll full time in the 
virtual school network only if they were enrolled in a public 
school the previous year or if they were a dependent of a 
member of the military, were previously enrolled in high 
school in Texas, and did not reside in Texas because of a 
military deployment or transfer. 

	 Full-time public or charter school students may enroll in 
one or more classes through the state virtual school network. 
The district or school must notify students and parents about 
the option of enrolling in on-line courses at the time and 
in the manner that the district informs students and parents 
about traditional courses. School districts may not require 
students to enroll in an on-line course, but also may not 
unreasonably deny the request of a student or parent for a 
student to enroll in one. 

	 To deny this option, the district or school must 
demonstrate that the course does not meet state or district 
standards, the course load is inconsistent with the student’s 
graduation plan or could negatively affect the student’s 
performance on the TAKS test, or the student requested 
permission to enroll in an on-line course at a time that was 
not consistent with district or school enrollment periods. 
Districts or schools must make all reasonable efforts 
to accommodate a student’s enrollment under special 
circumstances.

	 Home-schooled students may take up to two on-line 
classes per semester, but will not be considered public 
school students and must gain access to the courses through 
the district or charter school attendance zone in which the 
student resides. 
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	 Attendance and accountability. TEA must adopt rules 
to verify attendance of students in electronic courses or 
programs. Students enrolled in on-line courses must take 
the same assessment tests required of students in traditional 
classrooms. School districts or charter schools must report 
results of assessment tests to TEA through the Public 
Education Information Management System (PEIMS). 

	 The virtual charter school network must begin 
operations with the 2008-09 school year by providing 
electronic courses for grades nine, 10, 11, and 12 only, with 
grades six, seven, and eight added in the 2009-10 school 
year, and all grades covered starting in the 2010-11 school 
year.

Supporters said 

	 SB 1788 would move education in Texas into the 
21st century by expanding  opportunities for students 
to use technology as an alternative way to gain access 
to a high-quality education through a statewide virtual 
school network. The network would increase equity in the 
educational system by providing access to courses for all 
students.

	 The network would be established within the state’s 
existing educational framework and would build on recent 
pilot projects that tested the use of electronic courses and 
programs at individual school districts. SB 1788 would be 
different from virtual charter school bills the Legislature 
has considered in the past two sessions, particularly one that 
would have been offered by a private company that provided 
equipment directly to participating students. The virtual 
school network would be administered by TEA and operated 
through participating public school districts, charter schools, 
and higher education institutions. 

	 Safeguards would be included to ensure that students 
enrolled in electronic courses or programs received an 
education equal to or better than traditional courses. The 
programs would be developed by school districts and charter 
schools and based on state content standards. Students 
would be subject to testing and attendance requirements, and 
certified teachers would teach the courses. 

	 While the bill would not prevent private companies 
from contracting with districts or charter schools, the cap of 
no more than $400 per student per course would limit the 
amount of money a company could make. The company 
would have to meet the same standards for content as the 
school district or charter school.
 

	 While home-schooled students would be eligible to 
participate in a limited number of courses, the programs 
would benefit many kinds of students, including students in 
rural areas who may not have access to advanced courses, 
children with disabilities such as autism, gifted and talented 
students, and students from families who must travel a 
great deal. Home-schooled families might choose not 
to participate because of the assessment and attendance 
requirements.

	 SB 1788 simply would offer another educational option 
for Texas students and families in the same way that charter 
schools offer such alternatives. The bill would not divert 
significant funding from traditional programs, but rather 
would provide public schools with an important supplement 
to existing programs.

Opponents said 

	 SB 1788 would divert money from traditional public 
schools at a time when the state is having trouble meeting 
basic educational needs for public school students. 
According to the bill’s fiscal note, the cost of the program 
would increase from $13.4 million in fiscal 2008-09 to 
$38 million in fiscal 2010-11. While electronic courses 
could benefit many students, the cost should be borne by 
individual students, families, and, in many cases, individual 
school districts.

	 The bill would not prohibit a private company from 
contracting with a district or charter school to develop 
on-line courses. This could be a windfall for some on-line 
vendors.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1788 appeared in Part One 
of the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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	 SB 247 establishes a “targeted divestment” process 
by which the Employees Retirement System (ERS) and the 
Teacher Retirement System (TRS) – following a series of 
notifications outlined in the bill – must sell, redeem, divest, 
or withdraw, beginning in January 1, 2008, all publicly 
traded securities of certain “scrutinized businesses” with 
operations in Sudan.

	 A company is considered to have engaged in 
“scrutinized business operations” if it has business 
operations that involve contracts with or provides supplies 
or services to the Government of Sudan, if that government 
has any direct or indirect equity share in the company, or 
if the company is a consortium or project commissioned 
by the Government of Sudan – or is involved in such a 
consortium or project – and its revenues or assets linked to 
Sudan exceed certain thresholds established in the bill. 

	 The Comptroller’s Office and ERS and TRS will 
have to follow timelines for identifying and notifying 
“scrutinized companies” – companies that engaged in 
scrutinized business operations or were “complicit” in the 
Darfur genocide during any preceding 20-month period. 
Before initiating divestment, the agencies must notify 
the companies of their “listed” status and give them the 
opportunity to cease these investments under timelines 
established in the bill.

	 ERS or TRS may stop divesting from or reinvest in a 
listed company only if the agencies determine in good faith 
that divestment would result in a loss such that the value of 
all assets in the fund equaled 99.7 percent of what the value 
would have been if the agency had not divested from those 
companies. The agencies may maintain investments in these 
companies only to the extent necessary to ensure that the 
overall value of the fund does not fall below 99.7 percent of 
what it would be without divestment.

	 The provisions of the bill expire on the earliest of:

•	 the date the U.S. Congress or the President of the 
United States declare that the Darfur genocide has 
been halted for at least 12 months; 

•	 the date the U.S. government revokes its sanctions 
against the Government of Sudan; or

•	 the date the U.S. government declares that 
mandatory divestment interferes with the conduct 
of U.S. foreign policy.

SB 247 by Ellis
Effective January 1, 2008

Restricting ERS and TRS pension fund investments in Sudan 

	 By December 31 of each year, ERS and TRS must 
file a publicly available report identifying all investments 
sold, redeemed, divested, or withdrawn and all prohibited 
investments, and summarize any changes made by 
investment funds regarding listed companies.

Supporters said 

	 SB 247 would send a powerful message about corporate 
responsibility in the face of mass murder and human rights 
atrocities by requiring the state’s two largest pension funds 
to divest in companies that actively do business in the 
Darfur region of Sudan. On September 26, 2006, the U.S. 
House of Representatives stated that “an estimated 300,000 
to 400,000 people have been killed by the Government of 
Sudan and its Janjaweed allies since the Darfur crisis began 
in 2003, more than two million people have been displaced 
from their homes, and more than 250,000 people from 
Darfur remain in refugee camps in Chad.” The Darfur crisis 
represents the first time the United States government has 
labeled ongoing atrocities a genocide.

	 The bill would put further pressure on the Government 
of Sudan, which has been subject to sanctions by the U.S. 
government since 1997, by requiring ERS and TRS to divest 
in companies actively doing business with the Sudanese 
government. This is necessary because current political 
and diplomatic pressure has imposed virtually no cost to 
the Sudanese government for continuing its genocide in 
Darfur. Divestment, however, would force the Sudanese 
government to pay a price for its refusal to restore peace and 
security to Darfur.

	 The bill would establish a “targeted divestment 
strategy” designed to have the greatest impact by affecting 
those companies, all of them foreign and mostly in the 
energy sector, that conduct a significant amount of business 
with the Government of Sudan while doing little for the 
country’s underprivileged population. 

	 Under a series of notice requirements specified in the 
bill, companies would have up to 15 months to cease active 
business operations that made them subject to divestment. A 
small fraction of companies in the ERS and TRS portfolios 
would be affected, and any losses to either pension fund 
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likely would be minimal. The bill would set limits to ensure 
that neither fund faced significant losses as a result of 
divestment.

	 SB 247 would allow Texas to join the growing number 
of states taking action to stop the genocide through targeted 
investments. These actions are having an effect. Unlike 
isolated countries that tend to shrug off sanctions, Sudan is 
desperately trying to attract foreign investment. Threats to 
these efforts are taken very seriously by the government in 
Khartoum.

	 Texas Constitution, Art. 16, sec. 67(a)(3) specifies that 
the Legislature by law may further restrict the investment 
discretion of the board of a statewide benefit system. The 
Legislature has clear constitutional authority to direct or 
restrict ERS and TRS investments in companies doing 
business in Sudan.

Opponents said 

	 Although the human rights abuses occurring in Sudan 
are reprehensible, it is unlikely that requiring Texas state 
employee and teacher pension funds to divest would 
affect the targeted companies or the Government of 
Sudan. However, such action could violate fiduciary and 
trust standards and cause these pension funds, neither of 
which currently is actuarially sound, to lose money, which 
ultimately would harm the retirees these funds are intended 
to benefit. 

	 SB 247 could violate Art. 16, sec. 67(a)(1) of the Texas 
Constitution, which states that “the assets of a system are 
held in trust for the benefit of members and may not be 
diverted.” The Constitution is very clear that after state 
money or member contributions are deposited into a pension 
system, the Legislature has no authority over that money. 
Any divestiture bill causing losses to a fund would cause a 
trustee to violate the fiduciary duties established in the state 
Constitution.

	 Any sale of investments would clash with Texas 
Constitution, Art. 16, sec. 67(a)(3), which requires that 
pension funds be managed in a manner that “persons of 
ordinary prudence, discretion, and intelligence exercise 
in the management of their own affairs.” While the same 
section authorizes the Legislature to restrict the investment 
discretion of the board, this refers to whether trustees are 
exercising prudent risk in carrying out their responsibilities. 
For example, the Legislature could direct the board to switch 
to relatively safe investment-grade debt from riskier junk 
bonds The provision does not authorize the Legislature to 
direct trustees to violate their fiduciary duty by divesting 
certain stocks or other securities altogether for reasons 
unrelated to prudent investing.

	 SB 247 could cause the pension funds to lose money. 
According to the fiscal note, ERS estimates that its potential 
loss from divestment in fiscal 2008 could be as high as $69 
million. TRS, meanwhile, would stand to lose $51 million 
in fiscal 2008, with ongoing losses in future years. The bill 
also could raise tax issues because the assets of a pension 
fund must be exclusively held for the benefit of members in 
order to be qualified under the federal tax code, which also 
prohibits diversion of member funds. 

	 Divestment also would be ineffective. While Texas’ 
retirement funds might divest themselves of Darfur-related 
investments, other investors would be quick to purchase 
these assets. The Illinois attorney general’s office, arguing 
in defense of a similar Illinois statute, admitted that its 
law “does not impose any substantive economic pressure 
on Sudan … the act is merely moral investment style … 
codified into law.”

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 247 appeared in Part One of 
the May 15 Daily Floor Report.
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	 SB 1846 allows the Teacher Retirement System 
(TRS) board of trustees to make a one-time supplemental 
payment, or “13th check,” to eligible TRS annuitants if 
the pension fund is determined to be “actuarially sound,” 
meaning that unfunded liabilities can be amortized over a 
period of 30 years. If issuing such a payment would cause 
the fund to become actuarially unsound, the TRS board may 
increase the TRS member contribution rate from 6.4 to no 
more than 6.58 percent of salary. The bill increases the state 
contribution rate to 6.58 percent of payroll. 

	 The “13th check” will be the lesser of $2,400 or the 
amount of the annuitant’s August 2007 gross annuity 
payment and subject to all applicable tax withholding and 
other required deductions. 

Supporters said 

	 SB 1846 would divide responsibility for the long-term 
health of the TRS pension fund between the state and active 
teachers by allowing TRS to raise the contribution rate for 
active teachers if necessary so that the pension fund was 
determined to be “actuarially sound,” even if TRS issues a 
“13th check” to eligible retirees in September 2007. 

	 The long-term financial strength of the pension 
fund should not be only the state’s responsibility. Active 
members, for whom the fund provides retirement security, 
also should have to increase their contributions if the fund’s 
soundness is in question. It would be irresponsible to issue 
a “13th check” to eligible retirees without taking significant 
steps to address the overall financial health of the pension 
fund. 

	 TRS retirees have not had a benefit increase since 2001 
and should not have to wait another two years or more 
until market gains are sufficient for the pension fund to be 
determined actuarially sound. Since the last benefit increase, 
retirees living on fixed incomes have struggled with higher 
costs for health care, food, and other necessities.

SB 1846 by Duncan
Effective September 1, 2007

Increasing TRS contribution rates and issuing a “13th check” for 
retirees 

Opponents said 

	 In view of other budget needs, the state contribution rate 
should not be raised to match the contribution level of active 
teachers. Improving market conditions, changes in TRS 
investment strategies, and new TRS eligibility requirements 
adopted in 2005 eventually should lead the fund to become 
actuarially sound and allow TRS to grant benefit increases 
by 2010.

Other opponents said 

	 A February 2007 valuation of the TRS pension fund 
determined that an increase in the state contribution rate to 
6.6 percent of payroll would be sufficient to make the fund 
actuarially sound. The state then could issue a “13th check” 
without taking about $50 million per year out of the pockets 
of working teachers and other education employees. 

	 A “13th check” should not be held hostage by a 
requirement that active teachers contribute more to the 
pension fund. Over the past two decades, the state has 
decreased its TRS contribution rate to the constitutional 
minimum, which negatively has impacted the long-term 
financial health of the fund. Rather than asking active TRS 
employees to contribute more, the state should make a 
long-term commitment to funding levels that would ensure 
solvency.

Notes

	 A related bill, HB 1105 by McLendon, would have 
increased the TRS state contribution rate to 6.7 percent of 
payroll but would not have increased contribution rates 
for active employees. The bill also would have required 
TRS to issue a “13th check” to retirees in September 2007. 
These provisions were adopted by the House as a complete 
floor substitute to SB 1846 but were not included in the 
conference committee report.

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1846 appeared in Part One 
of the May 22 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 216 by Otto
Died in Senate Committee

Increasing school district margin of error in comptroller’s property 
value study

	 HB 216 would have required the comptroller to use 
a margin of error of 10 percent, rather than the current 
5 percent, in determining whether the taxable value of 
property for a school district was valid.

	 The property value study is an annual study conducted 
by the comptroller’s Property Tax Division to determine 
the taxable value of property in each school district in the 
state to help ensure that state funds for public schools are 
distributed equitably. A secondary purpose of the study is to 
measure county appraisal district performance.

	 For a specific school district, the property value study 
compares the district’s appraised value with the district’s 
market value. A school district’s “appraised value” is 
determined by the school district’s central appraisal district. 
A school district’s “market value” is the fair price at which 
a property would sell under normal conditions. If a school 
district’s reported value falls within a 5 percent margin of 
error above or below the district’s taxable value as estimated 
by the Property Tax Division, the value is considered valid.

Supporters said

	 By increasing the margin of error used in the 
comptroller’s property value study from 5 percent to 
10 percent, HB 216 would help slow the burdensome 
“appraisal creep” that has afflicted property owners across 
the state. Currently, the state forces local appraised value 
to fall within a stringent and unrealistic 5 percent margin 
around an estimate of market value by the comptroller’s 
Property Tax Division. If a school district’s appraised value 
falls outside that range, the school district must choose 
between raising property appraisals or losing state education 
funding – generally, the higher a district’s property value, the 
less state aid it receives. HB 216 would correct this problem 
by authorizing a more appropriate margin of error, lessening 
the upward pressure on appraisals that have burdened 
property owners across the state with increasing tax bills.

	 Tax appraisal is more of an art than a precise science, 
and the 5 percent margin of error in the property value 
study is unreasonable. Market value is an inexact number, 
and two independent appraisals rarely will be within 5 
percent of each other, as required under current law. The 5 

percent margin is too stringent to account for the variation 
in appraisals that local appraisal districts and the state often 
report.

	 Without a method of holding down appraised value, 
increases in property value will undermine the progress 
made under the package of school finance legislation 
enacted by the 79th Legislature in 2006 during its third 
called session. Those bills bought down local property 
taxes while expanding the state’s share of public education 
funding. However, if property appraisals are allowed to rise, 
citizens and businesses will see their taxes increase while the 
state’s share of education funding erodes.

Opponents said

	 According to the Legislative Budget Board, HB 
216 would cost $1.9 billion in general revenue from the 
Foundation School Fund from fiscal 2008 through fiscal 
2012, a substantial diversion of state funds that should be 
used for other priorities in the state budget. State budget 
writers struggle every session to provide adequate funding 
for health care, public and higher education, criminal justice, 
and other important programs, and it would be imprudent 
to dedicate such a large amount of money simply to allow 
below-market property appraisals.

	 HB 216 would undermine the accuracy of property 
appraisals by authorizing a wider range of property 
valuation. Current law indirectly encourages appraisal 
districts to keep values appraised at a level that is at least 
95 percent of market value by tying state education funding 
to appraised value. The state’s school finance system is 
predicated on accurate local appraisals, and undermining 
the accuracy of those appraisals would upset the balanced 
school finance partnership shared by the state and local 
school districts.

	 The way to address the problem of rising appraisals is 
not through undermining the accuracy of property appraisals 
by allowing greater deviation from market value. Several 
other potential fixes exist, such as lowering the current 
10 percent annual appraisal cap on residence homestead 
property taxable value increases or increasing the residential 
homestead exemption. Ultimately, the problem with 
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appraisal creep lies in a state school finance system that 
relies too heavily on local property taxes rather than funding 
from other, more diverse state sources.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 216 appeared in the April 
16 Daily Floor Report.
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	 HB 1751 imposes a fee of $5 on each entry by each 
customer to a sexually oriented business that provides live 
nude entertainment and allows on-premises consumption 
of alcoholic beverages. The money generated by the fee, 
up to $25 million per fiscal biennium, will go into the 
sexual assault program fund. Money from the sexual assault 
program fund may be appropriated for state programs and 
grants to outside organizations to combat sexual violence 
and provide sexual assault victim assistance.

	 The amount of money received from the fee that 
exceeds $25 million will go to the Texas health opportunity 
pool established under SB 10 by Nelson, 80th Legislature, 
for health benefits coverage premium payment assistance to 
low-income persons.

	 A sexually oriented business must record each day the 
number of customers admitted to the business and make 
those records available for inspection by the comptroller. A 
business may determine the manner in which it derives the 
money to pay the fee and is not required to pass the $5 fee 
on to customers.

	 The bill also establishes the sexual assault advisory 
council to coordinate state and local sexual assault 
programs. It also authorizes the Legislature to appropriate 
funds for a third-party assessment of the sexually oriented 
business industry that could provide recommendations 
on how to regulate the growth of the sexually oriented 
businesses in Texas.

Supporters said

	 HB 1751 would provide a dedicated source of revenue 
to support essential sexual abuse prevention and survivor 
support programs. By dedicating $25 million to a range of 
programs, the bill would allow the state to devote resources 
to aid the survivors of sexual assault and support training 
and prevention programs to reduce future incidents of sexual 
assault.

	 HB 1751 claims no defined link between sexual assault 
and strip clubs. The bill simply would use a fee generated 
from inessential and entirely discretionary behavior to 

HB 1751 by Cohen
Effective January 1, 2008

Entry fee for sexually oriented businesses to fund sexual assault 
prevention

fund important services for victims of sexual assault. 
Sexually oriented businesses employ women, and HB 
1751 would benefit survivors of sexual assault, a group that 
disproportionately includes women.

	 Contrary to arguments that a fee on customers of 
sexually oriented businesses would be unconstitutional, HB 
1751 would not suppress or make illegal the activities at any 
sexually oriented business. Texas uses narrowly applied fees 
to fund many areas of state government, so there is ample 
precedent for the program contemplated under the bill.

Opponents said

	 While the $5 fee in HB 1751 would support a worthy 
cause, the fee to be paid by patrons of strip clubs is 
unrelated to this goal. No link exists between strip clubs 
and sexual assault, meaning that the bill would institute 
unfair tax profiling on individuals who legally visit these 
establishments. 

	 The fee imposed under HB 1751 could prove difficult 
to implement for the Comptroller’s Office, which would 
have to audit sexually oriented businesses and ensure 
that the amount of money collected was accurate. Some 
businesses do not collect door charges. Other businesses that 
collect door charges might keep an artificially low count of 
customers to inappropriately divert the money to their own 
coffers. 

	 The state should not use behavior that many Texans 
find objectionable and offensive to fund important state 
priorities. To do so would be hypocritical and could send a 
message that this type of behavior somehow is encouraged 
or condoned.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1751 appeared in Part One 
of the May 3 Daily Floor Report.
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	 HB 2785 would have reduced the school district 
maintenance and operations (M&O) tax compression rate 
from 66.67 to 60.67 percent of the district’s 2005 tax rate. 
It also would have repealed the current expiration date of 
September 1, 2009, for the new tax rate.

Supporters said 

	 HB 2785 would make use of the record state surplus 
by providing additional property tax relief. Both the House 
and the Senate have approved budgets that leave at least $3 
billion in general revenue unspent, plus another $4 billion 
in the rainy day fund. This money should be returned to 
taxpayers in the form of additional property tax relief instead 
of being left on the table.

	 The property tax cut authorized in HB 1, 79th 
Legislature, third called session, is barely sufficient to keep 
up with increases in local property tax appraisals. HB 2785 
would ensure genuine tax relief for Texans.

Opponents said 

	 Further tax cuts would cripple our state’s ability to pay 
for essential services such as education and health care. The 
state should not spend every bit of extra money to further 
reduce property taxes when so many other pressing needs 
have not been met. The additional school tax compression in 
HB 2785 would cost $2.5 billion in fiscal 2008-09 alone and 
continue to drain the state budget in future years, with none 
of this money benefiting public education, only replacing 
local funding with state money.

HB 2785 by Paxton
Died in Senate committee

Further compression of school district property tax rates

	 The new taxes enacted in 2006 cover less than half 
of the cost of tax cuts from the special session. HB 2 by 
Chisum, which provided $14.1 billion in state aid to school 
districts to replace local property tax revenue, used general 
revenue to cover much of the cost of the tax cut. The state 
already is diverting funds from its historically inadequate 
general revenue stream to fund the current tax cut, and to cut 
property taxes even further would be fiscally irresponsible.

Notes 

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2785 appeared in the May 
10 Daily Floor Report. 

	 HB 2785 was amended on the House floor to prohibit 
the state from appropriating funds to reduce the compression 
percentage below 66.67 percent unless each school district 
and charter school in the state received the product of 
$6,000 times the number of teachers, librarians, nurses 
and counselors. According to the fiscal note for the House 
engrossed version of HB 2785, this provision would have 
cost $4 billion in fiscal 2008-09, in addition to the $2.5 
billion cost of the further compression of school property tax 
rates.
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HB 2994 by Bonnen
Effective June 15, 2007

Allowing limitations on appraised value for nuclear and coal 
gasification plants

	 HB 2994 adds nuclear power generation and electric 
power generation using integrated gasification combined 
cycle (IGCC) technology to the list of projects eligible for 
limitations on the appraised value of property for school 
district maintenance and operations (M&O) property 
taxation under the Texas Economic Development Act, 
effective January 1, 2008. Districts negotiating their 
appraised values through such agreements will be held 
harmless by the state for purposes of state education aid.

	 The bill allows the owner of a nuclear electric power 
generation facility by agreement with a taxing unit to defer 
the effective date of an abatement up to seven years after the 
agreement is made. An agreement including such a deferral 
may have a term no longer than 10 years following the 
effective date of the agreement.

	 The bill also requires the comptroller to file a report 
with the lieutenant governor, the speaker of the House, and 
the governor assessing the progress of every agreement 
for appraised value limitation under the Texas Economic 
Development Act. The report must include information 
on the number and quality of jobs created by a project, the 
amount of investment made under an agreement, the impact 
of a limitation on taxable value, and other information.

Supporters said

	 By adding nuclear electric power generation and IGCC 
facilities to the Texas Economic Development Act, HB 2994 
would put Texas at the cutting edge of developing clean, 
reliable, and efficient power solutions. Allowing school 
property tax abatements for nuclear and IGCC plants would 
benefit the local economy in communities in which plants 
were located and would increase Texas energy production 
with a low-emissions alternative to pulverized coal plants.

	 Nuclear energy is a safe, reliable energy option. Only 
two accidents have occurred in 12,000 cumulative reactor-
years of commercial operation in 32 countries, and only 
Chernobyl released harmful radiation. Critics of nuclear 
power provide no guidance about what else can viably be 
done to address the growing demand for energy. Coal is 
too dirty, natural gas is limited in supply and expensive, 
and wind and solar power are unreliable and unrealistic 

as a large scale solution. Nuclear power is an essential 
component of a multi-part strategy to address Texas’ 
growing need for energy.

	 While nuclear power is an affordable source of energy 
once a facility is online, the permitting and construction 
process is very expensive. For this reason, tax incentives are 
required to make new nuclear plants economically viable. 
The process to obtain a license from the Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission takes years and can cost up to $100 million. 
The total cost of a nuclear project is estimated between $2.5 
billion and $3 billion. Without abatements such as those that 
would be authorized under HB 2994, it is unlikely that any 
additional nuclear capacity will be brought online in Texas.

	 A new nuclear or IGCC plant would provide a 
significant economic benefit to any community in which it 
was located. For this reason, these projects clearly fall under 
the intent of the Economic Development Act. In particular, 
the proposed addition of two new units to the South Texas 
Nuclear Project in Matagorda County would create an 
estimated 3,000 jobs at peak construction of the $5.2 billion 
unit. It is estimated that the project would result in as many 
as 1,000 high paying, highly skilled permanent jobs.

Opponents said

	 HB 2994 would allow public subsidies for the 
construction of costly and dangerous nuclear power plants 
in Texas. Nuclear plants take years to construct and are 
economically unfeasible without millions of dollars in 
public subsidies, making nuclear power an unrealistic way 
of addressing pollution and climate change. Texas instead 
should focus public subsidies to support IGCC plants like 
the ones included under HB 2994, in addition to renewable 
energy such as wind and solar power. Further, Texas should 
focus on reducing demand through energy efficiency and 
conservation.

	 The nuclear power industry has not settled the 
issue of disposal of radioactive waste produced in the 
generation process. High- and low-level radioactive waste 
remains dangerous for several hundred thousand years. 
Transportation and storage of high level radioactive waste is 
an unsettled issue, with the Yucca Mountain waste disposal 
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project in Nevada mired in controversy and unlikely to open 
any time soon. On-site waste storage remains the most likely 
option at existing and future nuclear power plants, a non-
permanent solution that poses its own risks.

	 Security and safety at nuclear plants is a serious 
concern. A terrorist attack at a nuclear facility similar to the 
9/11 attacks would be catastrophic. The South Texas Project 
nuclear plant, site of two proposed new nuclear facilities, 
was the subject of a report by the Union of Concerned 
Scientists that highlighted deficient security protocols at the 
existing plant. In addition, the possibility of a leak or failure 
at a plant could contaminate ground or surface water or the 
land close to a plant. The public safety concerns associated 
with nuclear power simply are too great to encourage the 
construction of additional nuclear plants.

	 HB 2994 could represent a very large cost to the state 
for planned nuclear power projects that likely will be built 
even without this bill. If the value of a $2.5 billion nuclear 
electric generation facility was limited at $10 million, the 
state could be required to contribute approximately $25 
million per year to hold the local school district harmless for 
the loss in property tax revenue. The cost to the state of a 
more expensive plant would be even greater. Because local 
school districts would be held harmless by the state under 
HB 2994, they would have no reason not to enter into such 
agreements, which ultimately could cost state taxpayers 
hundreds of millions of dollars.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 2994 appeared in Part Two 
of the April 24 Daily Floor Report.
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	 HB 3821 would have required any person filing with 
the county clerk documents conveying certain types of 
property to include in those records a form disclosing the 
property’s sales price. Certain types of sales or transfers, 
such as those involving government sales or purchases, 
court orders, bankruptcy, foreclosures, or specified family 
members, would have been exempt from this requirement. 
The comptroller would have been required to create a form 
for the purchaser to submit. A purchaser would have been 
allowed to disclose under the form the financing method 
of the purchase, additional property included in the sale, or 
other unusual terms of the sale that affected the sales price. 

	 A chief appraiser could not have used the report as 
the sole basis for increasing the property’s market value. 
A county clerk could have accepted documents of sale or 
transfer without the disclosure report. A chief appraiser 
would have been authorized to send a purchaser notice of 
the absence of a report, and if the report was not filed within 
30 days of this notice, the purchaser could have been liable 
for a civil penalty equaling 5 percent of the property’s sales 
price. 

Supporters said

	 HB 3821 would give appraisal districts another tool 
with which they could more equitably assess property 
value. It especially would benefit middle- and low-income 
homeowners, who currently bear a large share of the tax 
burden because of appraisal districts’ inability to accurately 
assess the value of commercial and high-end residential 
property. By enabling appraisal districts to accurately 
assess property value, the bill would allow school districts 
to collect more local property tax revenue, saving the 
state millions of dollars in payments from the Foundation 
School Fund. This bill would not result in higher property 
taxes for all property owners. Instead, it would create a 
more equitable assessment structure that would require all 
property owners to pay their constitutionally mandated fair 
share.

	 At least 35 states require a property’s sales price to be 
disclosed, and this bill would allow appraisal districts access 
to vital information that currently is limited. It was one of 
the recommendations in the 2007 report of the Texas Task 
Force on Appraisal Reform. Although appraisal districts 
generally can ascertain the fair market value of residential 

HB 3821 by Villareal
Died in House committee

Mandatory property sales price disclosure

property by collecting data from listings, realtors, and the 
Multiple Listing Service (MLS), that information is not 
as readily available for high-end residential homes and 
commercial properties. In some cases, homes are removed 
from MLS before a deal closes because a buyer does not 
want the appraisal district to learn the sales price. 

	 The enactment of this bill would create a more uniform 
system of valuation and would not necessarily lead to 
increases in all property taxes. Taxing units are limited to 
annual increases in taxes collected, and property owners 
also are protected from large tax increases through appraisal 
caps. The bill further would protect property owners by 
specifying that the sales price could not be used as the sole 
factor in appraising a property’s value. It also would allow 
property owners to disclose other factors that may have 
led to a sale at a particular price. Taxpayers should not be 
allowed to benefit from all the government services funded 
through taxes if they are not paying their full tax burden, and 
HB 3821 simply would ensure that all property owners paid 
their fair share.

Opponents said

	 HB 3821 would encourage “sales chasing” – building 
up appraised values beyond a property’s market value 
– which would lead to a larger tax burden for all property 
owners. Once one home in a neighborhood sold for a certain 
amount, owners of similar properties could expect an 
increase in the assessed value of their properties. Sales price 
disclosure would erode the confidentiality of a property 
owner’s financial dealings. It also could enable appraisers 
to use sales price as the primary factor in assessing value 
without properly accounting for a variety of other factors 
that led to a property being sold for a certain amount. For 
commercial properties, giving this tool to appraisers without 
a thorough understanding of the complexity of transactions 
likely would lead to more overvaluations, unfairly shifting 
the burden of proof from the appraisal district to the property 
owner.

	 Sales price data should not be used to assess the value 
of commercial property and high-end homes because those 
properties are inherently unique. Differences in designs, 
floor plans, and amenities – not to mention location – play 
significant roles in the sales prices of high-end homes. 
Sales prices of commercial properties take into account the 
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business conducted, client lists, the value of potential future 
rental income, and other factors that have little to do with the 
actual property itself. Additionally, the financing of a sale 
plays a large role in a property’s sales price. A buyer paying 
in cash likely could purchase a property for less than a buyer 
financing the purchase with loans. Commercial sales can 
be extremely complex – stock purchases, tax exchanges, 
and portfolio exchanges can influence a sales price. Some 
investors also overpay for real estate to avoid capital gains 
on a different property they have sold. 

Other opponents said

	 This bill should be coupled with a reduction in 
appraisal caps or the rollback rate in order to ensure sales 
price disclosure did not become another method for local 
governments to raise revenue. The governor’s task force 
recommended that any enactment of sales price disclosure 
legislation be tied to a reduction from 10 percent to 5 
percent on the average annual tax increase for property 
owners on their residence homesteads.

Notes

	 HB 3820 by Villareal, which died in House committee, 
is identical to HB 3821 except that it would have allowed a 
county commissioners court to call an election to trigger the 
sales price disclosure requirements.

	 SB 270 by Wentworth, which died in the Senate, 
contained the same basic disclosure requirements as HB 
3821 but would not have provided for inclusion of additional 
information aside from the sales price, nor would it have 
included a role for the chief appraiser. A substitute version of 
the bill would have limited the requirements to commercial 
property, vacant land, and multifamily residential property. 
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	 HB 3928 makes numerous changes to the revised 
franchise tax created under HB 3 by Keffer (79th 
Legislature, third called session), which will take effect 
January 1, 2008.

	 Small business tax discount. The bill creates a discount 
on tax liability for small businesses:

•	 a taxable entity with annual total revenue that is 
at least $300,000 but less than $400,000 will be 
eligible for a discount of 80 percent on its tax 
liability;

•	 a taxable entity with annual total revenue that is 
at least $400,000 but less than $500,000 will be 
eligible for a discount of 60 percent on its tax 
liability;

•	 a taxable entity with annual total revenue that is 
at least $500,000 but less than $700,000 will be 
eligible for a discount of 40 percent on its tax 
liability;

•	 a taxable entity with annual total revenue that is 
at least $700,000 but less than $900,000 will be 
eligible for a discount of 20 percent on its tax 
liability.

	 Beginning in tax year 2010, these thresholds will be 
indexed biennially for inflation.

	 E-Z tax computation. The bill will allow a taxable 
entity with no more than $10 million in total revenue to 
compute its tax liability by apportioning the entity’s total 
revenue to Texas and multiplying this amount by a rate of 
.575 percent. An entity choosing this method of computation 
may not take another credit or deduction, including a 
compensation or cost-of-goods-sold deduction.

	 Treatment of rental income for partnerships. In 
determining total revenue, the bill will require partnerships 
to include gross rental income instead of net rental income.

	 Apportionment of securities income. The bill revises 
the manner in which a taxable entity’s revenue from the 
sale of securities will be apportioned to Texas. If a loan 
or security is treated as a seller’s “inventory” for federal 
income tax purposes, the gross proceeds from the sale 
of a loan or security will be considered gross receipts for 
apportionment purposes.

HB 3928 by Keffer
Effective January 1, 2008

Correcting and modifying the revised franchise tax

	 Business loss carryforwards. The bill establishes a 
method by which a taxable entity may claim a credit on its 
taxable margin for business loss carryforwards that existed 
under the previous franchise tax.

	 Business tax advisory committee. The bill creates the 
Business Tax Advisory Committee to study the effects of the 
revised franchise tax on businesses in Texas. The committee 
will consist of:

•	 two members of the House of Representatives, 
appointed by the speaker of the House;

•	 two members of the Senate, appointed by the 
lieutenant governor;

•	 at least five residents of the state, appointed by the 
comptroller, who are engaged in a private business 
subject to the tax; and

•	 at least two residents of the state, appointed by the 
comptroller, who have expertise in state business 
taxation.

	 The comptroller will serve as the presiding officer of 
the committee. The committee will submit a report to the 
Legislature before each regular session.

	 Elimination of reporting requirements on certain 
entities. The bill repeals a requirement that an entity with 
more than 100,000 employees in the state file an annual 
report on the number of its employees that receive assistance 
under Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program 
(CHIP).

	 Controlling interest. The bill changes the definition of 
a “controlling interest” to include a 50 percent interest in an 
organization, rather than 80 percent under previous law.

Supporters said

	 HB 3928 would retain the essential characteristics of 
the revised franchise tax that the 79th Legislature enacted 
overwhelmingly in its third called session in 2006. HB 
3928 is a revenue-neutral clean-up bill that would make 
numerous corrections to clarify the existing tax and improve 
its administration. The bill would make several changes to 
ensure that all taxable entities were treated similarly and 
fairly, leading to a modest increase in revenue that the tax 
would generate. This revenue increase would be offset by 
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a technical correction in the apportionment of securities 
income and by creating a small business tax discount to 
provide tax relief to all entities with annual total revenue of 
up to $900,000.

	 By establishing an optional alternative calculation 
method for businesses with annual total revenue of less 
than $10 million, HB 3928 would allow an option to enable 
easier calculation of the tax for small businesses. Many 
small businesses face paying more in accounting fees to 
determine their tax liability than they actually might owe 
under the revised franchise tax. The E-Z tax computation 
option in HB 3928 would give a business owner the option 
of simply applying a rate of .575 percent to the business’s 
total revenue and remitting that tax, saving the time and 
cost of complying with the revised franchise tax’s more 
complicated calculations.

	 It is important that HB 3928 retain the essential 
characteristics of the revised franchise tax that was enacted 
under HB 3. The bill cannot eliminate the possibility that 
an unprofitable business might be taxed under the revised 
franchise tax, because to do so would establish a de facto 
unconstitutional state income tax. Courts have considered 
the potential of a business to owe taxes in a year in which 
it lost money as an essential test in determining whether a 
tax is a personal income tax. Further, a reduction in the rate 
of the tax would shrink the amount of funds flowing into 
the property tax relief fund, to which all revenues from the 
revised franchise tax are dedicated. This fund is essential to 
ensuring the constitutionality of the state’s school finance 
system and to provide businesses and homeowners with 
an ongoing source of relief from excessively high property 
taxes.

Opponents said

	 HB 3928 would miss an opportunity to improve 
a deeply flawed business tax that will have a 
disproportionately negative effect on small and marginally 
profitable businesses. This bill would not alter the revised 
franchise tax’s characteristics as a modified gross receipts 
tax. The central problem remains that a business could be 

required to owe taxes in a year in which it lost money. The 
bill should incorporate an exemption so that a business’s tax 
liability would be removed if it had negative or only slightly 
positive net income in a particular tax year. It is unfair to 
require a business owner to render state taxes when the 
owner’s business operated at a loss in a tax year, a scenario 
that very likely could occur under the revised franchise tax 
with this bill.

	 HB 3928 also would fail to take advantage of a record 
state surplus to reduce the rate that businesses would have to 
pay under the revised franchise tax. A 50 percent reduction 
in the twin tax rates of the revised franchise tax easily could 
be absorbed in the state budget by either a modest increase 
in the sales-and-use-tax or by dedicating a portion of Texas’ 
current budget surplus. Further, the Legislature should 
amend the tax to ensure that no business would be subject 
to any greater than a 100 percent increase in its tax liability 
under the revised tax. This would ensure that a business was 
not severely affected with a tripling of its tax liability or 
worse.

	 Small business should play a more prominent role on 
the business tax advisory committee proposed under HB 
3928. As it stands, there is no safeguard to prevent larger 
firms from dominating this committee because it contains 
no guaranteed positions for small business owners. Many 
small businesses are likely to be swept up under the revised 
franchise tax, so it is important that the business tax advisory 
council be acutely responsive to the concerns of small 
business owners.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3928 appeared in Part One 
of the May 1 Daily Floor Report.
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HJR 16 by Leibowitz (and nine others)
Died in House and Senate committee

Changing limitations on taxable appraised values of properties

	 Ten proposals were introduced to amend the Texas 
Constitution to authorize the Legislature to change the 
limitations placed on the average annual increase in taxable 
appraised value of a residence homestead, which is currently 
set at 10 percent.

	 Four measures would have authorized the Legislature 
to reduce the appraisal cap to either 5 percent (HJR 16 by 
Leibowitz and HJR 27 by Callegari) or 3 percent (SJR 14 
by Patrick and HJR 52 by C. Howard). Two others would 
have provided for a local option to reduce the appraisal 
cap below 10 percent to no less than 3 percent: SJR 10 by 
Janek would have authorized a governing body of a taxing 
unit to set the new cap, while HJR 21 by Riddle would 
have allowed county voters to set the lower cap. 

	 Two proposals would have combined the statewide 
mandate with a local option. HJR 47 by Bohac would have 
allowed the Legislature to reduce the cap to 5 percent for 
all school districts and authorized all other taxing units the 
option to set a 5 percent limit in lieu of a 10 percent limit. 
SJR 23 by Nichols would have allowed the Legislature to 
set a cap at 5 percent or less but would have provided for a 
local election to raise the cap for any taxing unit to no more 
than 10 percent. 

	 Two other proposals would have changed the types 
of properties eligible for the cap but would not have 
reduced the limit below 10 percent. HJR 41 by Vo would 
have applied the cap to all real property, and SJR 15 by 
Patrick would have applied the cap to all property used for 
residential purposes, not just residence homesteads.

Supporters said

	 Homeowners no longer can sustain annual increases in 
their property tax bills due to rising values, despite the 10 
percent cap on average annual growth in taxable appraised 
value. Although the Legislature recently reduced school 
property taxes by one-third over a three year period, much 
of that relief was not realized by homeowners because of 
“stealth taxes” imposed by local governments that passively 
raise and spend more money without raising tax rates merely 
because appraised values increased. 

	 The persistent escalation of residential property values, 
in effect, penalizes Texans for home ownership. It unfairly 
increases their taxes regardless of their ability to pay. 
Lowering the cap would continue helping homeowners 
living in areas with rapidly appreciating property values 
level out their property tax payments to make it more 
affordable to remain in their homes. Higher values still 
would be taxed, but increases would be spread out more 
reasonably to avoid the sharp increases seen under the 
current cap. In the vast majority of cases, owners of lower-
valued homes have benefited the most from the cap because 
their appraised values have been more likely to increase 
significantly. Regardless of capped values for tax appraisal 
purposes, property owners still would be able to sell their 
homes at true market value.

	 Appraisal caps do not interfere with local government 
spending or revenue streams. If anything, they require local 
jurisdictions to be more honest with their constituents by 
requiring them to raise tax rates in order to increase revenue. 
Caps merely restrict the rate of growth in taxable property 
values, protecting property owners from shouldering a 
disproportionate share of the tax burden. Elected officials 
still could raise rates for property or sales taxes or for fees 
if more revenue were required or if priorities and needs 
dictated greater expenditures for public goods and services.

Opponents said

	 Appraisal caps interfere with real estate market forces 
and create artificial levels of taxable property value that 
distort the market value appraisal standard. Reducing the cap 
beyond the current 10 percent level would exacerbate the 
inequities of the current system, making it more regressive 
by requiring lower- and middle-class homeowners to absorb 
a larger share of the tax burden at the benefit of higher-
income homeowners whose rapidly appreciating property 
values more frequently benefit from the cap. 

	 Reducing the cap would further limit the ability 
of local governments to raise the revenue they need to 
provide essential goods and services. It would adversely 
impact bond ratings, constrain local financial flexibility, 
and limit the ability of local governments to meet vital 
infrastructure needs. As outstanding debt mounted due to 
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decreased property tax revenues, local governments would 
be saddled with higher interest payments, resulting in lower 
bond ratings and deteriorating ability to finance needed 
infrastructure improvements. Caps inhibit government’s 
ability to respond to external factors such as population 
growth, recession, and emergencies.

	 The Texas Task Force on Appraisal Reform, which the 
governor created to respond to escalating property taxes, 
recommended several options the state should explore in 
lieu of reducing the appraisal cap. Proposed fixes include 
requiring voter approval for any taxing unit imposing taxes 
in excess of 5 percent of its previous budget’s tax revenue, 
improving the fairness of the appraisal process, and reducing 
the number of unfunded state mandates. The task force did 
not endorse a reduction in the cap on its own and supported 
the measure only in conjunction with the disclosure of a 
property’s sales price.

Notes

	 Of the ten proposals introduced, four (SJRs 10, 14, 15, 
and 23) were heard in the Senate Finance Committee, but 
none was reported from committee.

	 HJR 40 by Hochberg, which would amend Texas 
Constitution, Art. 8, sec. 1-i to authorize the Legislature to 
limit the increase in appraised taxable value of a residence 
homestead to 10 percent since the property’s most recent 
appraisal, rather than the current maximum of 30 percent if 
the last appraisal had occurred three years previously, was 
approved by the Legislature and will be presented to voters 
at the Tuesday, November 6, 2007, election.
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	 SB 1886 would have amended various sections of the 
Tax Code, Water Code, and Code of Criminal Procedure 
to make administrative and technical changes to the 
implementation of state motor fuel taxes. The bill would 
have conformed laws governing motor fuel taxes with 
statutory revisions made in previous sessions.

	 As passed by the House, the bill included an 
amendment by Rep. Martinez Fischer that  would have 
instituted a temporary reduction in the state gasoline tax 
from 20 cents to zero cents on each gallon of gasoline. The 
temporary reduction would have been in effect for 90 days 
following the effective date of the bill, and would have 
expired on the 91st day.

	 The bill would have taken immediate effect if it 
had been approved by two-thirds of both houses of the 
Legislature on final passage. Otherwise it would have taken 
effect September 1, 2007.

Supporters said

	 SB 1886 would provide all Texans with substantial 
immediate relief from high gasoline prices. In May 2007, 
the price of a gallon of unleaded gasoline approached 
the inflation-adjusted all-time high, set in 1981. Working 
Texans need a break from these historically high gasoline 
prices, and a gas tax holiday would mean tax relief for 
Texas families that are struggling to make ends meet. The 
estimated $500 - $700 million cost of the three month gas 
tax holiday easily could be covered with the state’s multi-
billion dollar budget surplus or rainy-day fund balance.

	 Because the gas tax is regressive, a three-month 
tax holiday particularly would benefit low-income and 
working Texans. According to the comptroller’s 2007 Tax 
Exemptions and Tax Incidence report, Texas households 
in the lowest income quintile pay the greatest percentage 
of their income in gasoline taxes. Instead of dedicating 
the state’s fiscal surplus to additional school property tax 
rate reductions, this money should be used to temporarily 
reduce the gasoline tax. Property tax rate reduction mostly 
benefits owners of highly-valued residential and commercial 
properties, and the Legislature has dedicated billions of 
dollars to reduce these tax rates in recent years. SB 1886 
would provide an opportunity to extend tax relief to low-
income citizens and other taxpayers such as renters who 

SB 1886 by Williams 
Died in conference committee

Revising motor fuels taxes, including 90-day gasoline tax holiday

have not sufficiently benefited from recent school property-
tax cuts approved by the Legislature.

Opponents said

	 The gas tax holiday included in SB 1886 would 
seriously undermine state finances by denying the State 
Highway Fund hundreds of millions of dollars of revenue 
that goes toward public road construction and maintenance. 
The gas tax is a vital revenue source for the state 
transportation finances that already are stretched too thin. 
Providing a temporary holiday from the tax would provide 
no long-term solution to the problem of high fuel costs and 
could increase demand for gasoline, ultimately leading 
to even higher fuel costs. In addition, consumers would 
experience an overnight 20 cent jump in the price of a gallon 
of gas upon expiration of the 90-day holiday, which could 
cause chaotic supply disruptions as motorists rushed to fill 
their tanks before the tax holiday expired.

Other opponents said

	 In order to appropriately address fiscal issues related to 
transportation policy, the Legislature should raise the motor 
fuel tax or at least index the tax to account for inflation. The 
gasoline tax has not been raised since 1991, while inflation 
has eroded its ability to pay for the state’s substantial unmet 
transportation infrastructure needs. The insufficiency of the 
gasoline tax as a means to support highway construction is a 
major reason behind the shift in transportation policy toward 
toll road construction and reliance on public debt to finance 
road construction. Without improving the fiscal stability 
of the motor fuel tax, Texans will face traffic congestion, 
highway disrepair, and increased use of toll roads.

Notes

	 The HRO digest of HB 3320 by Keffer, the House 
companion bill to SB 1886, appeared in Part One of the 
May 7 Daily Floor Report.  

	 During floor consideration of SB 1886, the House 
tabled an amendment by Rep. Krusee that would have 
adjusted annually the motor fuels tax rate based on the 
increase in the Consumer Price Index. 
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SJR 13 by Averitt/HB 5 by Berman 
Approved by voters at the May 12, 2007, election

Proportionate reduction in elderly and disabled school tax freeze 
amount

	 SJR 13 adds Art. 8, sec. 1-b(d-1) to the Texas 
Constitution, to specify, for homeowners who are age 65 
or older or disabled and receiving a limitation on school 
property taxes in the 2007 tax year, that the Legislature can 
reduce the limitation amount to reflect a reduction in the tax 
rate from tax year 2006. The Legislature also can reduce the 
limitation amount to reflect a rate reduction that occurred 
between tax year 2005 and tax year 2006. 

	 Texas Constitution, Art. 8, sec. 1-b(d) freezes the 
amount of taxes imposed by a school district on the 
residence homestead of a person who is age 65 or older or 
disabled. The tax amount may not be increased while the 
property remains the residence homestead of the person or 
the person’s spouse. In accordance with that section, the 
Legislature can provide for the continuation of the limitation 
amount until the limitation expires.

	 HB 5, which took effect with the voter approval of 
Proposition 1/SJR 13 at the May 12 election, amends the 
Tax Code to make the necessary statutory changes to apply 
the proportionate reduction in a school district’s property 
tax rate from tax year 2006 to tax year 2007 in calculating 
the maximum amount of school property taxes owed by 
individuals whose tax bills are frozen because they are 
disabled or at least 65 years old. If the new calculations 
result in a school property tax bill lower than the amount 
at which it was frozen, the lower amount is established as 
the new cap. A homeowner eligible for the limitation prior 
to tax year 2006 also receives a proportional tax reduction 
for tax year 2007 based on a reduction in the school district 
tax rate that occurred between tax year 2005 and tax 
year 2006. The adjusted amount also takes into account 
improvements that increased the value of the homestead. To 
the extent that adjustments authorized by HB 5 reduce the 
revenues districts can collect from taxable property, school 
districts are entitled to additional state aid. HB 5 ensures 
the reductions made under this section will not be applied 
in calculating the amount of money distributed to school 
districts under state funding formulas.

Supporters said

	 SJR 13/HB 5 would provide tax relief to senior citizens 
and to those who receive federal disability payments by 
ensuring that school tax amounts frozen for these citizens 

were reduced proportionally to reflect recent school tax 
reductions granted by the Legislature for all other property 
owners. For example, if a school district reduced its tax 
rate by one third, a tax bill that previously was frozen at 
$1,000 would drop in the following tax year to $667, where 
it would remain frozen. Without this amendment, many 
elderly or disabled homeowners who have had their school 
district taxes frozen for a number of years would be unlikely 
to benefit from property tax relief measures recently enacted 
by the Legislature. 

	 HB 1 by Chisum, enacted in 2006 during the third 
called session of the 79th Legislature, provided for state 
aid to school districts to reduce school property taxes for 
maintenance and operations by 11.3 percent in tax year 
2006 and one third (33.3 percent) in tax year 2007 and 
beyond. Many elderly and disabled homeowners live on 
fixed incomes and should be granted the benefit that other 
homeowners received last year and will receive starting 
this year from the reduction in school property taxes. The 
Legislature made a similar adjustment in the tax freeze 
amount in 1997 when it increased the homestead exemption 
amount so that every home owner would receive tax relief 
from the change.

	 The primary purpose of offering a school property tax 
freeze to senior citizens and the disabled is to give budget 
certainty to people who live on fixed incomes, and the 
adjusted freeze should operate in the same way. Proposals 
that would adjust the limitation amount upward if school tax 
rates subsequently were increased could cause elderly and 
disabled homeowners to face a substantial increase in their 
expenses, which might make it financially difficult for some 
to continue living in their homes. 

Opponents said

	 The property tax reduction enacted recently by the 
Legislature was intended to provide tax relief to those 
Texans whose tax bills have soared in recent years as a 
result of rising property values and increases in local school 
property tax rates. Senior citizens and disabled homeowners 
generally have been shielded from these increases by having 
their property tax bills frozen, regardless of their income or 
ability to pay local school district taxes. These individuals 
already have received significant tax relief, especially those 
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whose residence homesteads have increased substantially in 
value since their tax bills were frozen. There is no need to 
provide a special additional benefit to these individuals by 
reducing their taxes even more. 

	 The property tax freeze already benefits individuals 
owning higher value homes more than those with modest 
residences. Any future reduction should be targeted only to 
the elderly and disabled under a certain income level.  

Other opponents said

	 It would be fairer to all property owners if the tax freeze 
amount were allowed to float. While elderly and disabled 
homeowners deserve to receive the extra tax relief, they also 
should have to assume the proportionate tax burden when 
rates inevitably rise – at least until the amount reached the 
level at which their taxes originally were frozen. Elderly and 
disabled homeowners still would receive additional tax relief 
under such a system because, unlike other property owners, 
their tax bills would never rise above the amount they paid 
in school taxes for 2006. Moreover, elderly and disabled 

residents who participate in school tax rollback elections 
would have no incentive to vote against higher taxes if their 
tax burden remained unchanged regardless of the outcome.

	 While school property tax rates may continue to 
drop after 2007, these measures would not allow for any 
corresponding reductions in the tax freeze amount. As a 
result, the Legislature would have to repeatedly change the 
law and seek voter approval to amend the Constitution to 
allow seniors and disabled citizens to benefit from future 
tax cuts. The Legislature should amend the law and the 
Constitution one time to allow for automatic tax freeze 
reductions in the future.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 5 appeared in Part One of 
the February 28 Daily Floor Report. The analysis of HJR 
1, the companion to SJR 13, appeared in Part One of the 
February 19 Daily Floor Report. Also, see HRO Focus 
Report Number 80-5, Constitutional Amendment Proposed 
for May 2007 Ballot, April 19, 2007.
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	 HB 323 requires that each bus transporting school 
children be equipped with three-point – lap/shoulder – seat 
belts for the driver and each passenger. Each school district 
must require students riding buses equipped with lap/
shoulder belts to wear the belts and can create disciplinary 
procedures to enforce compliance. The requirements 
apply to all buses purchased by the school district on or 
after September 1, 2010, and to all school-chartered buses 
used by a school district on or after September 1, 2011. 
If the Legislature fails to appropriate money necessary to 
reimburse school districts for costs incurred in meeting these 
requirements, they will not take effect. A school district 
can use its own money or a private donation to finance the 
addition of lap/shoulder belts to its existing bus fleet. 

	 School districts will be required annually to submit to 
the Texas Education Agency information regarding school 
bus accidents, which will be published on its web site. The 
State Board of Education must develop and distribute to 
school districts training materials and best practices related 
to proper usage of lap/shoulder belts. 

Supporters said

	 HB 323 would require that all buses used by a school 
district contain seat belts – an important safety feature 
required in automobiles. The bill would give school 
districts and the companies with which they charter 
buses a reasonable amount of time – three and four years, 
respectively – to comply in a cost-effective manner with 
these required vehicle upgrades. This mandate would not 
apply if it were not funded by the state. Studies have shown 
the lap/shoulder belt to be the best safety option for school 
buses, and any concerns about cost should not be placed 
ahead of the protection of our children.

	 The bill is designed to protect the lives of school 
children, particularly in view of a recent, tragic bus accident. 
On March 29, 2006, a chartered bus carrying 23 soccer 
players from West Brook High School overturned and killed 
two of the players. The bus did not come equipped with seat 
belts, causing some players to be thrown about inside and 
outside of the vehicle. In July, the Beaumont Independent 
School District became the first in Texas to require that all 
new buses come equipped with lap/shoulder seat belts.

HB 323 by Hamilton
Effective September 1, 2007

Three-point seat belts for school buses

	 Although the Beaumont students were in a chartered 
bus, most children in Texas still are traveling to and from 
school in buses employing a technology developed in the 
1970s called “compartmentalization.” Federal law has 
required that any new school bus made on or after April 
1, 1977, use this method, which requires the installation 
of closely spaced seats with energy-absorbing seat backs, 
although smaller buses weighing less than 10,000 pounds 
are required to have seat belts. Compartmentalization has 
serious flaws – especially for a child sitting in the front row 
– and is designed to adequately protect children only in low-
speed frontal crashes. Compartmentalization is especially 
unsafe in side-impact crashes, and its safety level varies 
from bus to bus depending on the height and padding of 
each seat back. 

	 The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
(NHTSA), in its most recent study on school safety belts 
in 2002, found that lap/shoulder seat belts are the safest 
option for school buses, ahead of compartmentalization 
and lap belts, which cause problems because of the amount 
of pressure they place on the abdominal area of still-
developing children. Lap/shoulder seat belts do not cause 
these problems and can be adjusted to properly fit a child of 
any age. According to NHTSA, usage of lap/shoulder seat 
belts could reduce frontal crash fatalities in school buses by 
an annual average of 50 percent and significantly reduce 
head and neck injuries. The data show they are particularly 
effective in reducing ejection in rollover crashes. 

	 Seat belts also would help improve discipline problems 
on buses because children would not be able to stand up or 
roam the aisles while the bus was moving. Wearing a seat 
belt on a bus also would teach children good safety habits. 
For many children, the school bus is the only place where 
they do not wear a seat belt, and it is difficult to impart a 
consistent message about the importance of wearing seat 
belts if children are unable to use them in the vehicle they 
ride in every weekday.

	 Concerns about cost and bus capacity are overblown. 
Although three elementary school students can fit in a row 
of seats on an average school bus, buses carrying older 
– and generally larger – students typically fit two to a seat, 
so the capacity of these buses would be unchanged with 
lap/shoulder seat belts. Additionally, NHTSA reports that the 
average bus operates at 72 percent of its passenger capacity, 
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so a 20 percent reduction might have no effect on a single 
bus route or at least could be absorbed by reconfiguring 
certain routes without requiring additional vehicles. By 
removing requirements for full compliance before a set date, 
the bill simply would require that any new buses purchased 
by a school district come equipped with lap/shoulder belts. 
Such a requirement would save money by allowing buses 
recently purchased by school districts to run their average 
life span of around 10 years.

Opponents said

	 School buses are the safest form of ground 
transportation in America today, and this bill would impose 
significant costs on the state without any real safety benefit. 
Installing lap/shoulder seat belts reduces the capacity of 
a bus by 20 percent, which would lead to more districts 
buying more buses. The costs would add up quickly after 
that – more fuel, more bus drivers, more salary and benefits, 
and more space needed to park the buses. This bill assumes 
a school district could find enough drivers, which would be 
difficult in some areas, given strict state requirements.

	 The Legislative Budget Board projects the state would 
cover all these additional costs to the tune of  $231.7 million 
in the first two years in fiscal 2011-12, which assumes that 
school districts would be replacing only one-fifth of their 
bus fleets during those years. The costs would continue to 
escalate for at least another eight years under this scenario, 
and the total cost could exceed $1 billion. If the state were 
to more narrowly interpret the reimbursement of “expenses 
incurred” in complying with this bill, local school districts 
would bear significant costs to purchase these buses.

	 These costs would not pose a great concern if the new 
buses significantly increased the safety of our children, but 
that is not necessarily true. Riding in a school bus today is 
eight times safer than traveling in a car, with a fatality rate 
of 0.2 percent for each 100 million vehicle miles traveled. 
Although NHTSA has shown lap/shoulder seat belts to 

be the safest option, that is predicated on the idea that 
they are worn properly by 100 percent of the passengers. 
Given the demographic involved, such a scenario is not 
very likely. Improperly wearing a seat belt could do more 
damage to a child than not wearing one at all. If this were 
such a definitive safety solution, it would be required by the 
federal government and employed in more than five states. 
Other tangential safety benefits, such as reducing driver 
distraction, are questionable. In fact, this bill can lead to 
different distractions for drivers, such as trying to ensure that 
all the children properly fasten their safety belts.

Other opponents said

	 The bill should be funded to ensure safety 
enhancements for all children were guaranteed, not just 
promised. This bill would be nothing more than an empty 
gesture without state funding because school districts would 
not be obligated to comply with the safety belt requirements 
without state funding. 

	 The bill also should restore requirements, included 
in the version reported out of the House Transportation 
Committee, that would mandate full compliance by 2014. 
Given the average 10-year life span of a school bus, those 
school districts that have recently purchased buses – or 
worse, those that decide to buy additional belt-less buses 
in the next two years to maintain current capacity levels 
– would not be providing the enhanced safety protections to 
all its students for at least a decade. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 323 appeared in Part One 
of the April 30 Daily Floor Report.
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	 HB 1439 would have authorized the Department 
of Public Safety (DPS) to create a one-year driver 
monitoring pilot program, allowing the agency to enter 
into contracts with certain entities with which it would 
have shared specific information from its driver’s license 
records. Upon completion of certain requirements and 
at the recommendation of the agency, the Public Safety 
Commission could have authorized DPS to implement a 
permanent program.

	 An entity eligible to receive driver’s license record 
information under the Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure 
Act (Transportation Code, ch. 730) would have been 
allowed to participate in the program, provided it also was: 

•	 an insurance support organization or employer 
support organization; 

•	 an employer or insurer; or 
•	 an entity that self-insured motor vehicles. 

	 In order to obtain the status of a driver’s license and 
information regarding each moving violation during the 
preceding three years, such an entity would have submitted 
specific information and a $6 fee per record to the agency, as 
required under current law.

	 DPS would have been required, under a contract entered 
into through this program, to monitor the driving record of 
each driver requested by the contractor, identify any changes 
in the status of the driver’s license or any time the driver 
was convicted for a traffic offense, and periodically provide 
the contractor with reports of those changes. In exchange, 
the contractor would have been required to purchase a copy 
of the driving record of any person identified as having 
an updated record. The contractor also would have been 
prohibited from sharing the information with unauthorized 
parties. 

	 The Attorney General’s Office could have filed suit 
against a contractor to seek injunctive relief to prevent or 
restrain the violation of contract terms governing illegal 
disclosure of information. If the contract was violated, the 
attorney general could have sought a civil penalty of up to 
$2,000 for each day the violation continued or occurred. 
An employee of the contractor who violated information 
disclosure requirements under the contract could have been 
charged with a class B misdemeanor (up to 180 days in 
jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,000). If the action was 

HB 1439 by Chisum
Died in the House

Driver record monitoring pilot program

considered an offense under other statutes, the violator could 
have been prosecuted under HB 1439, another statute, or 
both.

	 A House floor amendment would have required the 
attorney general to allocate the civil penalty fines equally to 
anyone whose personal information was illegally released. 
Another amendment would have required DPS to charge a 
fee equal to one-third of the contractor’s net profits under 
the contract and use that revenue for trauma care.

Supporters said

	 HB 1439 would authorize DPS to establish a driver 
record monitoring pilot program to enable insurance 
companies and employers of large vehicle fleets, among 
others, to obtain up-to-date information on their clients 
or employees. Such a system would create a way to more 
quickly identify dangerous drivers and allow companies to 
take action leading to safer driving conditions. This program 
would change little about the existing system regarding 
those eligible to obtain information, but it would create 
a more efficient and expedient process. Thirty-six states 
already use a program like this.

	 Texas long has allowed access to driving records for 
purposes of employment verification, law enforcement, 
insurance coverage, legal cases, antifraud cases, and other 
public safety purposes. Insurance companies can use this 
information to check driving behaviors of new and existing 
customers. Companies employing drivers can do the same to 
avoid additional liabilities associated with unsafe motorists, 
and school districts can check drivers’ records to ensure the 
safety of students who ride their buses. 

	 Today, an average insurance company purchases 
only about 20 percent of its clients’ driving records each 
year because it too expensive to buy every record on an 
annual basis. Most motorists’ driving histories, therefore, 
are reviewed only once every five years or so, limiting the 
ability of an insurance company to determine which of 
its insured drivers are high-risk and which never or rarely 
run afoul of the law. Because of this limitation, insurance 
companies must spread the cost of potential risks across the 
entire pool of insured motorists. While insurers could not 
promise rate reductions, it is safe to say that good drivers’ 
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insurance rates would be stabilized while dangerous drivers 
would pay higher rates and bear the majority of costs 
incurred through contracting with a third-party vendor. 

	 The bill would protect the security of private 
information by penalizing those who illegally released 
information and authorizing the attorney general to file suit 
against these parties. The bill contains other safeguards, such 
as making the program temporary, to ensure that Texas did 
not enter into a permanent contract without first protecting 
its citizens.

Opponents said

	 HB 1439 would create a program that not only would 
have little benefit for drivers but actually could cause them 
harm. It would add yet another avenue for the release of 
motorists’ personal information and driving records and 
could create additional problems for those trying to secure 
their private data in an age of identity theft. This bill is 
unnecessary because insurance companies already have 
several mechanisms through which they can monitor a 
driver’s record.

	 Giving another entity access to drivers’ personal 
information and driving history would create another source 
from which hackers and identity thieves could obtain 
private data. One of the three companies that has indicated 
an interest and an ability to bid on this program recently 
has acknowledged security lapses that led to the release of 
private information to the public. Restoring a credit record 
and financial standing after identity theft is an arduous 
process that eats up time, money, and patience of those 
whose personal information had been stolen. This bill would 
not create any way for the state to monitor or oversee the 
third party. 

	 Drivers are more likely to see an increase in rates than 
a decrease or stabilization of rates because this program 
would add another layer to the process – the third-party 
vendor – whose cost would be borne by all ratepayers. The 
correlation between moving violations and the likelihood 
of a driver getting involved in an accident is tenuous. In 
most cases, insurance companies currently receive accident 
notifications, and this information is the most crucial and 
telling as to the risk an insurance company must absorb for 
a particular driver. By raising a driver’s rates after a moving 
violation, an insurance company is doubly penalizing a 
driver who already has been required to pay a substantial 
fine associated with the citation. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1439 appeared in Part One 
of the April 23 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 876 by Seliger, the identical companion to HB 1439 
as passed by the House Transportation Committee, was 
approved by the Senate, but died in the House.
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	 SB 792 establishes a two-year moratorium, with 
certain exceptions, on all statewide toll projects that involve 
a private entity operating or collecting revenue on a toll 
road. The bill creates requirements for comprehensive 
development agreements (CDAs), including shortening 
their maximum duration, and new standards for interaction 
between the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) 
and entities authorized to build toll roads. It authorizes, 
for all toll projects, TxDOT and the Texas Transportation 
Commission (TTC) to take any action necessary in their 
reasonable judgment to comply with federal requirements 
enabling the state to receive funding. SB 792 also adds 
reporting requirements and oversight for TxDOT.

	 TTC is authorized to issue bonds secured by the State 
Highway Fund (Fund 6) up to $6 billion instead of $3 billion 
and can only issue bonds or other securities in an aggregate 
principal amount of up to $1.5 billion annually, $500 
million higher than the previous limitation. The aggregate 
principal amount required to be spent on projects that reduce 
accidents or improve hazardous situations is doubled from 
its former requirement to $1.2 billion.

	 Moratorium. TxDOT and local toll project entities are 
prohibited from selling or entering into a contract to sell a 
toll project to a private entity for two years. If those entities 
entered into a CDA with a private party after May 1, 2007, 
any agreement reached prior to September 1, 2009, must not 
contain a provision allowing the party to operate or collect 
revenue from a toll project. 

	 The moratorium specifically includes any toll project 
or managed lane facility project on any portion of U.S. 
Highway 281 in Bexar County, but exempts CDAs in 
connection with projects: 

•	 in Cameron, El Paso, and Hidalgo counties, unless 
a toll project adopted by the El Paso Metropolitan 
Planning Organization (MPO) prior to May 1, 
2007, meets specific criteria;

•	 associated with the Trinity Parkway in Dallas;
•	 including one or more managed-lane facilities 

added to an existing controlled-access highway, 
primarily located in a nonattainment or near-
nonattainment air quality area for which TxDOT 
issued a request for qualifications prior to May 1, 
2007;

SB 792 by Williams
Mostly effective June 11, 2007 

Two-year moratorium and local priority for certain toll road projects, 
revised standards for CDAs, higher highway bonding capacity

•	 on any portion of the Loop 9 project in a 
nonattainment air quality area in Tarrant and Dallas 
counties;

•	 on any portion of the State Highway 99 project;
•	 on certain portions of the proposed Interstate 69 

project south of Refugio County; 
•	 on the State Highway 161 project in Dallas County; 

and
•	 outside the scope of the Trans Texas Corridor 

located in the jurisdictions of regional mobility 
authorities (RMAs) meeting specific criteria.

	 A legislative study committee will explore the public 
policy implications of allowing a private party to operate 
and collect revenue from a toll project and must submit its 
findings to the governor and legislative leaders by December 
1, 2008.

	 Comprehensive development agreements. A CDA may 
run for multiples of 10 years, but no more than 52 years 
in total, taking all factors into consideration. The contract 
must contain an explicit mechanism for setting the price 
at which TxDOT would purchase the interest of a private 
entity. TxDOT and an RMA may pay an unsuccessful bidder 
for work done in submitting the proposal, but no longer are 
required to do so. 

	 TxDOT and TTC must use any revenue received under 
a CDA to finance construction, maintenance, or operation 
of a regional transportation or air quality project. Funds 
must be proportionally allocated based on TxDOT districts 
covering the CDA project area. Payments received by 
TxDOT under a CDA, surplus revenue from a toll project 
or system, and other specified income must be placed in 
a separate account in Fund 6, which will be broken down 
into subaccounts for each project, system, or region. A 
subaccount also will receive any interest it accrues. 

	 A toll project entity must develop a formula for making 
termination payments to end a CDA under which a private 
party operated and collected revenue from a toll project. 
The formula must estimate the amount of loss a private 
party would incur as a result of the termination but cannot 
be based on any new estimate of future revenues. An entity 
that terminates a CDA that allowed a private party to operate 
and collect revenue from a toll project could issue bonds, if 
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authorized, to make termination payments or purchase the 
private party’s interest.

	 A CDA may not contain any provisions limiting 
or prohibiting work on transportation projects by any 
governmental entity or contracted private entity. A CDA 
may allow a toll entity to compensate a private party in 
the event of a loss of toll revenues due to the construction 
of certain nearby highway projects, excluding safety 
or maintenance improvements, work required by an 
environmental regulatory agency, or a project providing a 
mode of transportation not included in the CDA.

	 County toll road authorities (CTRAs). A CTRA may 
exercise the powers of an RMA, allowing it to enter into 
a CDA with a private entity. In case of a conflict, CTRAs 
supersede RMAs. If a CTRA requests or is requested to 
participate in the development of a project that is part of 
the Trans-Texas Corridor, the county will be granted all the 
powers of TxDOT in developing that part of the project. 

	 A county commissioners court or a local government 
corporation, without state approval, supervision, or 
regulation, may authorize and use surplus toll project 
revenues for road work or planning in its jurisdiction. A 
third party may not pay off the bonds and bond interest of 
a CTRA toll project, causing it to become part of the state 
highway system, without the consent of the entity that 
initially issues the bonds. A commissioners court of a CTRA 
may pool other existing projects into its tolling authority. 

	 Transportation authorities. Regional tollway 
authorities (RTAs) may enter into CDAs in the same fashion 
as other local toll authorities. Under certain situations and 
after an agreement with a prescribed government entity, 
an RTA may use surplus revenue for a turnpike project or 
certain other transportation projects. A member of the RTA 
board of directors is subject to prohibitions on solicitation 
or acceptance of certain gifts and benefits. A violation of 
these provisions is a class A misdemeanor (up to one year in 
jail and/or a maximum fine of $4,000) under this section or 
under Penal Code, sec. 36.08, which governs gifts given to 
a public servant. Each MPO policy board must adopt in its 
bylaws provisions aimed at preventing conflicts of interest.

	 Uniform toll project contract standards. All toll 
projects are subject to uniform standards governing 
financing, construction, operation, and maintenance. Local 
entities have the primary responsibility for financing, 
construction, and operation of a toll project, but that does 
not limit the authority of TxDOT or TTC to participate in 
those endeavors. Local entities have the right of first refusal 
to develop toll projects in their jurisdictions. If they exercise 
their option to move forward with a project but fail to take 

certain steps within the prescribed time frame, TxDOT and 
TTC have the opportunity to develop the project if they take 
the same steps in the same time frame. TxDOT must assist 
the local entities in financing, construction, and operation of 
a toll project by allowing them to use state highway right of 
way (ROW) and access to the state highway system. Any 
entity operating a toll road has the same powers as TxDOT 
for toll collection and enforcement. Fines for failing to pay 
a toll may not exceed $250. Revenue may be used by the 
entity for any work on a toll road or lane. 

	 Market valuation study. A local toll project entity – a 
county, RTA, or RMA – must reach an agreement with 
TxDOT to build a toll project. The agreement must contain 
provisions governing the initial toll rate and escalation 
methodology and requiring that the project undergo a market 
valuation study. TxDOT and the local entity must select an 
independent party, which cannot have a financial stake in 
the actual project, to appraise the value and corresponding 
upfront concession fees a project would realize on the 
private market. The local entity has first option to build the 
project, except for an RMA, for which its respective MPO 
makes the decision. If the local authority cannot raise the 
up-front payments or follow certain procedures within six 
months, TxDOT may proceed with the project with the 
private sector. If the local authority develops the project, 
it must commit to using the surplus revenue from the toll 
project to build additional road projects or deposit that 
money into a TxDOT account to be used for regional road 
projects. Both TxDOT and a local authority may issue bonds 
to pay any costs associated with a toll project. If TxDOT and 
the local entity cannot agree on the terms and conditions of 
an agreement, neither the entity nor the agency may develop 
the toll project. 

	 Oversight. TxDOT must seek transparency in its role 
related to the Trans-Texas Corridor by providing, to the 
greatest extent possible under the Texas Public Information 
Act and other open-records statutes, any information the 
agency collects, assembles, or maintains on the project. A 
toll project entity may not enter into a CDA until:

•	 the attorney general vets the agreement and 
determines it to be legally sufficient;

•	 it provides the Legislative Budget Board (LBB) 
with copies of the proposed agreement, proposal, 
and a financial forecast detailing revenue the 
entity expects to derive from the project, estimated 
construction costs and operating expenses, and the 
amount of income the entity expects a private party 
to realize under the agreement; 

•	 it allows the state auditor to review and comment 
on a traffic and revenue report; and
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•	 it publishes prescribed information in an area 
newspaper and conducts a public hearing on the 
proposed project.

Supporters said

	 SB 792 would recognize the will of the people by 
placing a two-year moratorium on most toll projects that 
involve private entities running or building state roads. The 
bill would ensure that the state moved cautiously before 
leasing what could be valuable property to private industry 
for several decades, while providing local tolling authorities 
additional tools needed to build and finance toll and non-toll 
projects to meet growing demands for new roads. The bill 
also would create protections and more financial options 
for state transportation authorities by allowing them to 
ensure that procedures used by local entities did not risk the 
state’s federal funding and by increasing the state’s bonding 
authority limits. 

	 Moratorium. The bill would allow the state to take a 
step back before leasing more land for highway projects to 
private entities. The moratorium would not stop all projects 
underway because most that are far enough along in the 
planning stages would be exempted under the bill. It also 
would not prevent construction of toll roads – state and 
local tolling authorities still could build them independently. 
Planning on toll roads also could continue. SB 792 would, 
however, have a significant effect on up to 25 projects on 
which TxDOT could put out a bidding request in the near 
future. These projects are not as far along as those that have 
been exempted. It would be more than appropriate to take 
a two-year pause to explore the types of contracts created 
under CDAs and the type of legacy they would leave for 
taxpayers in 50 years. Although TxDOT still could explore a 
loophole through which it could pursue private participation 
in toll projects, passage of the bill would convey the 
Legislature’s disapproval of such a financial arrangement. 
Most projects still would be subject to a lengthy 
environmental review period, which would give legislators 
time to close any loopholes TxDOT tried to pursue during 
the next legislative session.

	 SB 792 would respond to the legitimate reservations 
many Texans have about allowing private enterprise to run 
a vital piece of infrastructure and perform a role that should 
be a government function. Government is more beholden to 
the will of the people and would be less likely to raise toll 
rates to the degree a private company would. It also is more 
accountable than a private entity, which, due to demands 
for higher profits, could take shortcuts in materials used to 
build these roads that might not be apparent until after the 
contract had expired. The fact that private companies are 

itching to bid on these projects demonstrates their value, 
and instead of allowing private industry to make money off 
the state, Texas instead should be exploring ways to finance 
these projects itself. Toll revenue should not be used to 
enrich a few private investors but instead should be used to 
benefit the people who pay the tolls. The bill would require 
a legislative study of outsourcing toll roads, allowing serious 
contemplation about the ramifications of such an endeavor.

	 By doubling the limit on bond financing backed by the 
State Highway Fund, the bill would add financing options 
for transportation projects over the next biennium, which 
would help fill the void created by instituting a moratorium. 
TTC has been issuing bonds and allocating money to MPOs 
since it was first granted this authority in 2003, and this has 
proven to be an important source of funding for essential 
transportation projects. 

	 Comprehensive development agreements. SB 792 
would grant locally elected officials more control over toll 
projects in their jurisdictions. If a state agency wanted to 
build a toll project in a county, the bill would give local 
authorities the right of refusal and would give areas with 
local tolling authorities the ability to prevent the project 
altogether. Local decision makers know what is best for their 
areas. 

	 The bill would keep money generated by toll roads 
in one region from being spent in another region. The bill 
would allow surplus toll revenues to be spent on free non-
tolled projects in the same district, such as roads, highways, 
transit systems, and bicycle and pedestrian projects. It 
would not shift policy but instead would require what was 
a permissive procedure, preventing TxDOT from using toll 
money – essentially local tax dollars – for projects in other 
parts of the state. It would provide local tolling authorities 
access to state rights-of-way for a reasonable fee instead 
of the excessive terms TxDOT had been seeking in at least 
one proposed contract. These rights-of-way belong to state 
taxpayers, not any specific state agency, so charging local 
governments above the cost of land acquisition would be 
akin to double taxation.

	 It also would mitigate industry-friendly contract 
terms dealing with buy-back provisions and non-compete 
clauses. By prohibiting the use of future project revenue 
in calculating how much money a private company would 
receive if the state bought the road from a private industry, 
the bill would act as a safeguard against prohibitively high 
buyout costs. Non-compete clauses can lead the state to 
shortchange maintenance and improvements to existing 
free roads, tying the hands of local governments seeking 
solutions to transportation problems to the benefit of a 
private company. Non-compete clauses also force the state 



House Research Organization Page 197

to compensate private interests if certain transportation 
projects reduced traffic along a toll road, and by prohibiting 
them, this bill would reduce yet another cost borne by Texas 
motorists that would benefit a private company.

	 A pilot project, which would affect only State 
Highways 161 and 99 in Dallas and the Harris County area, 
respectively, would allow a tolling authority and TxDOT to 
enter into a market valuation study under which the local 
entity would pay costs equal to the estimated project value 
into Fund 6 or build additional road projects. This market 
valuation study would allow those critical of the current 
concession model to see if more revenue would be generated 
under that format or the traditional model of collecting tolls 
over the life of the project. 

	 Oversight. SB 792 would continue the Legislature’s 
efforts to press TxDOT into being more forthcoming with 
the public about toll projects. Audits over the past few years 
have shown the agency has not been as transparent as it 
could have been in its planning process and has not been 
fairly representing expected costs and revenues related to the 
Trans-Texas Corridor.

Opponents said 

	 SB 792 would be an overreaction to the unpopularity 
of toll roads in certain segments of the state that only would 
serve to exacerbate Texas’ already backlogged highway 
construction process. If the objective of the bill is to slow 
down or scale back programs the Legislature created without 
fully vetting them four years ago, passage of a “fix” bill that 
has had very little public examination while being rushed 
through both chambers would show the state has not learned 
its lesson. Many of these provisions would serve to scare 
off potential investors both by showing that any long-term 
agreements could be subject to significant change and by 
reducing other incentives aimed at encouraging investment. 

	 Moratorium. The Legislature saw fit four years 
ago to create an expansive, long-range solution to the 
state’s transportation needs and revised those plans just 
last session. Suspending that program now, without fully 
seeing exactly what the program would do, would be 
short-sighted. Coupled with a lack of any real alternative 
to build new roads for a rapidly growing population, this 
decision would have severe repercussions for Texas roads. 
While TxDOT’s lack of transparency and other actions 
have not necessarily instilled confidence in members of the 
Legislature and the public, any such attempt to punish the 
agency ultimately would hurt Texas motorists. Instead of 

studying the ramifications of a program that already is in 
place, the Legislature should allow the program to continue 
and modify it or explore other changes as necessary.

	 The political incentives for placing a moratorium on 
this program are the exact reasons why the private sector is 
best equipped to manage toll roads. Governments concerned 
about a backlash against raising rates, even at the risk of 
losing revenue, would not necessarily operate the roads 
in the same manner a business would. Although a private 
entity could raise rates, it has to answer to the people in its 
own way. Drivers who found the costs excessive would 
speak with their cars and stop using toll roads, and if such an 
action were widespread, the market eventually would force 
the entity to respond by lowering rates. Private firms also 
can experiment with ideas, such as peak pricing, because 
they have more flexibility to try a market-based approach to 
solve congestion problems. Governments and taxpayers also 
benefit under such a scenario because the up-front payments 
required in most CDAs allow local entities and the state 
not only to use that money on other roads and urgent needs 
but also any money that would have come out of their own 
coffers for the road project.

	 Increasing the bond limit would require appropriations 
the state cannot afford to spend on interest. At a time when 
skyrocketing gasoline prices could cause people to reduce 
how much they drive, it would be unwise to use bonding 
authority backed by Fund 6, which is heavily dependent on 
revenue from state and federal motor-fuel taxes. 

	 Comprehensive development agreements. This bill 
would prevent TxDOT from overseeing tolling authorities 
and would essentially be granting local tolling authorities 
the same powers it is trying to strip from TxDOT, creating 
a number of smaller versions of the agency. Granting 
a local entity right of first refusal on any project would 
increase inefficiencies and expense for any toll projects by 
eliminating any competition. The advantage of the current 
system is the role of the market in driving costs down, which 
compounds the advantages of issuing bonds to pay back 
these lower costs over time. Large, up-front concession 
payments from private entities have been used for other 
transportation projects, and by removing these companies 
from the initial phase and potentially from more toll projects 
in the state, other construction projects likely would not be 
built.

	 Amending non-compete clauses could result in lower, 
fewer – or, in some cases – no bids from private entities that 
might not find a toll project as enticing if another highway 
could be built to serve the same market of drivers at which 
the toll road was aimed. Existing non-compete clauses have 
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been designed to ensure the state does not use proceeds from 
the agreement to build a free roadway that reduces traffic on 
that private partner’s tolled road. These agreements do not 
prevent a toll authority from building roadways that might 
compete with those toll roads in the district. Further, it does 
not prevent the state from repairing or improving existing 
thoroughfares. 

	 Adding a buy-back provision also would have serious 
implications for the types and levels of bids for toll projects 
and could eliminate up-front payments altogether. The state 
essentially would be allowing private entities to finance and 
build a project based on the long-term revenue potential, but 
before the companies could actually recoup those costs, it 
could take the project back at a price that would not allow 
the companies that took the risk to realize the full reward.

	 Oversight. TxDOT contends that it has publicized as 
much information as it could as quickly as it could with 
regard to CDAs, and some of the bill’s provisions would 
have the effect of scaring off businesses from investing 
in the state. The agency backed Cintra-Zachry in its legal 
fight against the publication of certain sensitive contract 
language in the master development plan of the first stage 
of the Trans-Texas Corridor to ensure the integrity of the 
competitive process by not releasing proprietary information 
before the contract was finalized. Once a final agreement 
was reached, the agency put the document on its Web 
site. Protecting the public interest is important, but if the 
state is to entice businesses to invest in its road projects, it 
must ensure that competitors cannot access key strategic 
information.

Other opponents said 

	 A two-year moratorium on toll road agreements with 
private companies that would exempt almost every project 
in the advanced planning stages would not be much of a 
moratorium. However, halting private involvement – and 
its associated up-front concession fees – for the next two 
years would reduce potential funding sources for new road 
construction. Texas’ road construction needs are immense, 
as is its project backlog, and other existing resources for 
road construction are not enough to reduce traffic congestion 
and improve air quality in the most heavily trafficked areas. 
Any moratorium should be coupled with imposition of new 
state fuel taxes that would provide a funding source for the 
most urgent problems over at least the next fiscal biennium.

	 Moratorium. This bill should be amended to ensure 
TxDOT could not find loopholes through which it could 
still pursue privately financed or operated toll roads, such 

as facilities agreements or other accounting tricks. Banning 
the overarching toll-road contract would not necessarily 
prevent a facilities agreement, under which individual 
segments of the Trans-Texas Corridor are expected to be 
built. Private companies also could finance and build toll 
roads by collecting annual fees from the state based on 
traffic, as opposed to collecting profits, and circumvent the 
moratorium imposed by the bill. 

	 This bill should be amended to remove the exemptions 
granted to several toll projects. If the premise of SB 792 is 
to say that toll roads, especially those financed or built by 
private enterprise, are not the responsible option, the act of 
exempting so many projects seriously would undermine 
that rationale. If this is bad public policy for some, it 
should be bad public policy for all. Some of the proposed 
projects, such as the proposed Interstate 69 corridor, would 
be exempted from the moratorium even though there is 
virtually no chance a CDA could be reached during the next 
two years.

	 The moratorium should be extended to all toll road 
projects because tolls are an unfair double tax on drivers 
who already have paid for road projects through fuel taxes. 
They are regressive taxes that impose the same fee on all 
classes yet represent a greater hardship on low-income and 
middle-class drivers.

	 Comprehensive Development Agreements. The 
market-valuation study would undercut one of the critical 
benefits that could be attained by a moratorium. Because 
a government entity would not be as prone to squeezing 
as much money out of the driving public as would a 
private company, a moratorium should be expected to 
reduce motorists’ toll burden. Unfortunately, requiring an 
assessment of the market value of a road would force a 
local government to compete with private industry in trying 
to achieve the greatest amount of profit for a road project. 
Government’s job is to serve the public, not to make a profit. 
This provision would change little about today’s current 
problems with privately run toll roads. Instead of facing 
escalating toll rates from a company, drivers would be 
charged excessive rates by a local government.

	 TxDOT should be required to gain approval of local 
governments before starting any toll project, whether or not 
there was a local toll authority. Also, the local involvement 
should be expanded to include voters, who should be 
allowed to vote on a new project in the same way they can 
for bond issues.
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Notes
	
	 The HRO analysis of SB 792 appeared in Part One of 
the May 17 Daily Floor Report.

	 HB 1892 by W. Smith, which contained much of the 
same language as SB 792, was approved by the Legislature 
but vetoed by the governor. Notable differences between SB 
792 and HB 1892 are that SB 792 increases the maximum 
length of CDAs, adds exemptions to the moratorium, and 
allows TxDOT and TTC to take any reasonable action to 
ensure eligibility for federal funds is not compromised. The 
HRO analysis of HB 1892 appeared in Part One of the April 
10 Daily Floor Report. For more information on HB 1892, 
see HRO Focus Report Number 80-6, Vetoes of Legislation, 
80th Legislature, July 9, 2007, pp. 43-45.



Page 200 House Research Organization

	 SB 1119 establishes procedures for local entities opting 
to use cameras to cite owners of vehicles illegally running 
red lights. It caps civil penalties at $75 and late fees at $25 
and requires net proceeds be split between the state and local 
entity for health and safety programs. 

	 Establishing a program. The governing body of an 
entity authorized to enact traffic laws may, by ordinance, 
implement a red-light camera (RLC) system to issue a civil 
penalty to the owner if a vehicle runs a red light. Before 
implementing a program, a local entity must compile 
accident report statistics for any eligible intersection for 
the 18 months before installation of a camera and send 
subsequent accident information annually to the Texas 
Department of Transportation (TxDOT).

	 Installing a system. A governmental entity may install 
and operate a system itself or contract with a vendor to do 
so. Intersections for the program must be determined by 
traffic volume, accident history, and frequency of red-
light violations without regard to ethnic or socioeconomic 
characteristics of an area. The local entity must perform 
a traffic engineering study of an intersection approach 
proposed for the program to determine whether a design 
change could be used in lieu of, or in addition to, an RLC 
to reduce violations at the intersection. A citizen committee 
must advise the local government on installing RLCs. 

	 A local government must erect a sign at least 100 
feet from an intersection with a RLC to notify drivers that 
cameras may document violations, resulting in a citation 
and fine. A traffic signal under the program must maintain 
a steady yellow light for the minimum time specified in the 
Texas Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices.

	 Revenue. An entity may authorize a vendor to 
administer the system, but cannot enter into a contract 
granting a company a specified percentage or dollar amount 
for each civil penalty collected. At the end of the fiscal 
year, a local entity may deduct from the revenue generated 
through civil penalties and late fees money necessary to run 
the program. Of the remaining money, 50 percent must go to 
the state and 50 percent to a local account used only to fund 
traffic safety programs. The executive commissioner of the 
Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) will use 
the state share to fund uncompensated care of designated 
trauma facilities and certain emergency medical services in 

SB 1119 by Carona
Effective September 1, 2007 

Statewide standards for use of red-light cameras

the same regional advisory council jurisdiction as the entity 
that remitted the revenue. 

	 Enforcement. A civil penalty is initiated by mailing a 
notice of violation to the owner of a vehicle caught running 
a red light by the camera. The notice, including penalty 
amounts and adjudication procedures, must be sent within 
30 days after the violation to the owner at the address 
provided through registration records. 

	 A civil penalty is not considered a conviction. A local 
entity may not forward information on a civil penalty to 
a credit bureau. Failure to pay the penalty may not result 
in an arrest warrant nor may it be noted on the owner’s 
driving record. It may result in TxDOT or a county assessor-
collector refusing to register the vehicle.

	 Implementing a RLC program does not preclude an 
officer from citing a person for running a red light. Any 
person using the cameras for other than documenting red-
light running is subject to a class A misdemeanor (up to one 
year in jail and/or a maximum fine of $4,000).

	 Presumptions. A RLC program presumes the owner of 
a vehicle shown in a photo depicting a violation committed 
the infraction. If, at the time of the violation, the vehicle was 
owned by a different person or a person in the business of 
selling, renting, or leasing vehicles, a civil penalty may not 
be imposed on that owner upon presentation of evidence 
within a certain time frame. If a vehicle owner proves 
another person was driving the vehicle, that person will be 
assumed to have committed the violation and be subject to a 
civil penalty.

	 Adjudication. A person receiving a violation notice may 
contest the civil penalty by requesting an administrative 
adjudication hearing. An owner contesting the finding may 
appeal, and the court will hear the appeal through a new 
trial without regard to the finding made at the administrative 
hearing.

Supporters said

	 SB 1119 would create a uniform statewide standard 
for red light camera programs, which have been used 
successfully for the last several years by cities across Texas. 
Codifying uniform standards would remove lingering 
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uncertainty about the legality of the programs and establish a 
procedure for all entities to follow to ensure that safety was 
the paramount concern. The bill would ensure that cameras 
were used to benefit public safety and not as a revenue 
stream for local governments.

	 Accidents caused by Texas drivers who run red lights 
are costly in human and economic terms. A recent Federal 
Highway Administration study identified Texas as one of 
the worst states for red-light running. Red-light accidents 
often are among the worst because they can involve vehicles 
crashing directly into the driver or passenger side of another 
car at high speeds. More than 110 cities and at least 12 
states and the District of Columbia employ RLCs. Several 
studies have shown their benefit in reducing violations and 
accidents. Although most studies have shown some increase 
in rear-end crashes, due partly to drivers slamming on their 
brakes to avoid running a light, those accidents are not as 
dangerous as a “T-bone,” or sideswipe, accident.

	 Uniformity. SB 1119 would create a statewide standard 
clear to drivers, who otherwise could face different rules in 
different jurisdictions. No uniform state statute specifically 
addresses this program, and because this statute would be 
more recent and more specific than any other provisions 
under which RLC programs have been implemented, this 
statute should govern all RLC programs in Texas.

	 SB 1119 would prevent an entity from using a RLC 
program as a cash cow by standardizing penalties and 
requiring revenue be used for certain purposes. At least 
one Texas city already has exceeded the $75 fine by $50, 
and another is using the revenue for its general budget. 
This bill would prevent that. Municipalities also would be 
prohibited from entering contracts based on the number of 
citations issued, reducing incentives to issue large numbers 
of citations. Municipalities would be able to cover expenses 
and net proceeds would have to be spent on local safety 
efforts and uncompensated trauma care.

	 Effect on enforcement. Under most RLC programs 
in Texas, municipalities have little ability to compel 
payment from offenders, and SB 1119 would increase the 
motivation to pay. It would allow a county or TxDOT to 
deny registration to the owner of a vehicle with unpaid 
fines. However, a county or TxDOT could decide, with 
proper evidence, not to use that authority under certain 
circumstances. The bill also would prevent credit bureaus 
and insurance companies from accessing RLC violations. 

	 Effect on motorists. The standards for RLC programs 
in SB 1119 would allow a person who felt wrongly accused 
several opportunities to be heard. The hearing and appeals 

process would give motorists ample opportunity to explain 
what happened and give administrative officials the same 
discretion an officer at the scene would have had. It also 
would alert drivers of an intersection using a RLC with a 
sign along the road.

	 Privacy claims brought by drivers on public roads have 
been rejected by courts around the country. The fact that 
cameras already are used widely in Texas, including at toll 
booths, with little public complaint proves they not only 
are effective but relatively noninvasive. The cameras are 
triggered to take photos only after a motorist has run a red 
light. Under SB 119, RLCs could photograph the vehicle 
and license plate but not the driver. The bill would protect 
privacy by sending an offender a copy of the license plate 
but not the vehicle. 

Opponents said

	 This bill would create statewide standards for a system 
with questionable safety benefits. The state should do the 
opposite – ban RLCs and explore other options that could 
have beneficial safety effects, such as lengthening yellow-
light time, making lights more visible, and exploring 
engineering solutions to problems that may have caused 
drivers to run the light.

	 While some studies have touted the success of RLCs, 
several states and municipalities have reached different 
conclusions. Two states have canceled their programs, and at 
least four others have banned the cameras altogether. Studies 
have found installing the cameras increased rear-end crashes 
and crashes resulting in severe injuries and fatalities.

	 Effect on enforcement. Cameras cannot use discretion 
the way an officer on the scene can by choosing not to cite a 
motorist because of bad weather or participation in a funeral 
procession, for example. Cameras also cannot remove 
reckless or drunken drivers from the road and could evolve 
into a replacement for uniformed traffic officers. 

	 Effect on motorists. RLCs deny a driver’s ability 
to confront the accuser as guaranteed under the Sixth 
Amendment. A camera cannot testify about what happened, 
and an accused motorist cannot defend against a machine 
that may have malfunctioned and snapped a picture when 
the light was not red. 

	 Use of RLCs is akin to “big brother” spying on Texas 
drivers. Surveillance cameras are popping up everywhere, 
with public and private cameras installed on streets and 
buildings to monitor traffic and guard against break-ins. 
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RLC programs violate the Fourth Amendment’s protection 
against unreasonable search and seizure. City governments 
unreasonably deploy cameras on public roads without 
probable cause to believe that a particular motorist will 
violate the law.

Other opponents said

	 Although this bill wisely would create statewide 
standards for RLC programs, several provisions would 
undercut this effort, including the lack of a requirement that 
an entity follow this model. Also, limitations on penalty 
amounts and revenue expenditures could hamstring local 
governments.

	 Uniformity. Repealing provisions that local 
governments now use to employ RLC programs would 
ensure all entities followed the procedures in the bill and 
would reduce the opportunity for municipalities to use 
penalties against motorists for violating other laws or 
ordinances. While municipalities so far have used this 
provision only to operate RLC programs, it could be 
construed to govern other actions not explicitly covered by 
state law, such as prohibiting the use of a cell phone while 
driving. 

	 Limiting fines is a good idea, but the bill should provide 
more flexibility. Smaller cities with less net revenue should 
be exempted from these limitations because their budgets 
for public safety programs are limited. The bill could turn 
RLC programs into a liability, making it difficult for entities 
to use them if they did not have enough money to cover the 
costs. This bill should provide for a penalty range to allow 
for increases in program costs and other inflationary factors.

	 To ensure safety was the paramount concern, the bill 
should enhance requirements for an engineering study at 
an intersection selected for the program. Simply mandating 
a study and creating an advisory committee without any 

power to veto use of an RLC would not be enough. The bill 
should require an entity to implement engineering changes 
that would reduce accidents and violations and determine if 
it would eliminate the need for an RLC. Otherwise, it could 
appear a city was more interested in generating revenue than 
preventing accidents.

	 Effect on enforcement. Denying registration to a 
vehicle owner would be excessive. Although the bill would 
prohibit an entity from issuing a civil penalty if a criminal 
citation already had been issued for the violation, it would 
not provide for what happened if a person inadvertently 
were issued a civil and a criminal penalty, allowing an 
enterprising motorist to pay the civil penalty and contest 
the criminal violation on the basis that the driver already 
had been punished for the offense. It also would not fully 
provide for interactions with uniformed officers. If an 
officer used discretion not to cite a driver at a monitored 
intersection, a civil penalty still could be issued under this 
program. 

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 1119 appeared in Part One 
of the May 15 Daily Floor Report.

	 SB 1119 incorporates SB 125 by Carona, which was 
analyzed in Part Three of the May 22 Daily Floor Report.

	 A related bill, HB 922 by Truitt, which took effect 
on June 15, 2007, prohibits a municipality from using an 
automated traffic control system on a highway or street 
under its jurisdiction to enforce compliance with posted 
speed limits. 
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	 SJR 64 would add Texas Constitution, Art. 3, sec. 
49-p to allow the Legislature to authorize the Texas 
Transportation Commission (TTC) or its successor to issue 
state general obligation bonds in a total amount no greater 
than $5 billion for highway improvement projects. TTC 
would prescribe terms, denominations, and installments of 
the execution of the bonds. A portion of the proceeds from 
the sale of the bonds and a portion of interest earned on 
the bonds could be used to pay the costs of administering 
authorized projects, the cost or expense of issuing the bonds, 
and all or part of a payment owed under a credit agreement.

	 The bonds authorized under this section would 
constitute a general obligation of the state, which would be 
required to pay the principal of and interest on the bonds that 
matured or became due during the fiscal year, including an 
amount necessary to make payments under a related credit 
agreement. 

Supporters said

	 SJR 64 would help the state finance badly needed 
highway infrastructure to meet its transportation and 
economic development needs. The state has a funding gap 
between transportation needs and available funding of at 
least $77 billion. While toll roads have increasingly been 
used as an alternative to finance highway construction, 
the two-year moratorium enacted this session (SB 792) 
that prevents the state from entering into an agreement 
with a private firm to build a toll road and receive up-front 
payments that could be used for other transportation projects 
shows the limitations of this funding source. 

	 The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) 
has been moving in a new direction since the approval of 
Proposition 15 in 2001, when the state’s longstanding “pay-
as-you-go” policy for transportation funding was modified 
to allow transportation officials to borrow money to 
construct new roads instead of waiting to build until funding 
was appropriated. The Constitution prohibits state-supported 
debt from exceeding 5 percent of uncommitted general 
revenue, and the state debt currently is below 2 percent, 
leaving roughly $21 billion available for general obligation 
bonds. The bonds authorized by SJR 64 would not have 
a significant impact on the state’s fiscal standing because 
Texas has a low debt burden compared with other states.

SJR 64 by Carona
Effective if approved by voters at the November 6, 2007, election

Authorizing $5 billion in general obligation bonds for highway projects

	 Although the state has dedicated transportation funding 
sources, bonds supported by general revenue likely would 
have a lower interest rate because the revenue stream is 
more consistent than the revenue stream from the State 
Highway Fund (Fund 6). Additionally, transportation 
projects affect many other sectors and have a statewide 
benefit to the economy and the improvement of statewide 
infrastructure. Other states, as well as local governments, use 
bonding authority backed by general funds for transportation 
projects under this same rationale. 

Opponents said

	 Short-term borrowing would require general revenue 
appropriations the state cannot afford to spend on debt 
service. Borrowing would increase the state’s costs in terms 
of forgone interest earned on cash balances and interest 
charges for new borrowing. Texas has a longstanding 
policy of funding transportation projects solely through 
dedicated funds and minimizing obligations of general 
revenue. Trusting an agency such as TxDOT that has not 
been forthright with the Legislature or the public regarding 
its expenditures and budgeting with even more money 
outside of the traditional appropriations process would be 
irresponsible.

	 Borrowing money for construction increases costs 
and passes them along to future taxpayers and legislatures. 
Texas should continue to pay for the amount of highway 
construction it can afford, rather than encumber scant 
resources and drive up the cost of already expensive 
projects. Adding even more debt would increase the amount 
of money needed for debt financing, which could limit the 
state’s ability to meet unforeseen needs.

	 Transportation projects should be funded through Fund 
6 and not general revenue. It would not be in the state’s 
best interest to tie up money that could be used to certify 
the budget or for other urgent state needs such as public 
education and children’s health care on debt service for 
bonds to build highways.
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Other opponents said

	 Rather than using strained resources to incur more debt, 
the state should put more money into Fund 6 by raising gas 
tax rates, vehicle registration fees, or both, or by dedicating 
other revenue streams to Fund 6, such as motor-vehicle sales 
taxes or vehicle inspection fees.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SJR 64 appeared in Part Two of 
the May 22 Daily Floor Report.
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	 HB 735 will repeal the Telecommunications 
Infrastructure Fund assessment, a 1.25 percent tax on the 
taxable receipts of telecommunications providers. Collection 
of the assessment will continue until September 30, 2008, 
but not after that date. The bill repeals Utilities Code ch. 57, 
subch. C and other sections of code governing the TIF board 
and policies.

Supporters said

	 HB 735 would eliminate an assessment paid by 
telecommunications consumers that raises revenue to 
fund a government program that has accomplished its 
original purpose and needs to be ended. TIF was created 
in 1995 to finance access to telecommunications services 
for public schools, nonprofit hospitals, public libraries, 
and higher education institutions across the state. The fund 
was maintained through an assessment of 1.25 percent 
on telecommunications providers’ taxable receipts and 
was authorized to collect up to $1.5 billion over 10 years. 
The program has helped purchase computers and install 
networks in schools, libraries, and hospitals throughout 
Texas. However, more recently proceeds from the TIF 
assessment have been diverted into the general revenue 
fund rather than being earmarked for their original 
intended purpose to combat the “digital divide.” Now that 
it has achieved its purpose, there is no reason to continue 
collecting TIF money.

	 The TIF assessment is a burdensome tax paid by 
telecommunications consumers. According to the Tax 
Foundation, as of 2004, Texas had an effective tax rate on 
telecommunications services of more than 14 percent, a 
rate of state telecommunications taxation surpassed only 
by Rhode Island. Having a vibrant telecommunications 
sector is crucial to continued future growth, and this sector 
should not be subject to excessively high taxation. Texas can 
afford to abolish TIF in the current fiscal environment, and 
policymakers should not wait any longer to eliminate a tax 
that was due to expire years ago.

HB 735 by Straus
Effective September 1, 2008

Repealing the Telecommunications Infrastructure Fund assessment

Opponents said

	 By eliminating the TIF assessment, the bill would result 
in an estimated loss to the state of $176 million in fiscal 
2009 and an additional $424 million in fiscal 2010-11. 
TIF funds have been used to support essential government 
services in recent years and may be necessary to contribute 
to property tax relief or other important programs in the 
future. It would be imprudent for the state to eliminate 
this important source of revenue without accommodating 
the change by augmenting other taxes or reducing state 
spending.

	 While the TIF’s success is commendable, its original 
mission has not completely been accomplished. Schools, 
libraries, and hospitals continue to need new computers, and 
Texas still has a need to upgrade local telecommunication 
networks. All these projects require a secure and dedicated 
source of funding. The state should continue collecting the 
TIF assessment, but the money should be dedicated to its 
original purpose instead of diverted to general revenue.

Other opponents said

	 Collection of the TIF assessment should end as quickly 
as possible rather than waiting until September 2008. 
Delaying that provision of HB 735 only would compound 
the unfairness of this tax. The Legislature should reconsider 
the decision made last session to divert the TIF assessment 
revenue to pay for other general revenue expenditures. This 
biennium is projected to end with a substantial surplus, so 
any revenue loss from ending the TIF assessment as soon as 
possible would not affect current spending priorities.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 735 appeared in the March 
19 Daily Floor Report. 
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	 HB 1090 establishes an agriculture biomass and 
landfill diversion incentive program at the Department 
of Agriculture. The program will distribute grants to 
encourage electric energy generation with certain types of 
biomass materials. Grants will be distributed with the intent 
of moving the state forward in its goal to generate more 
renewable energy.

	 A farmer, logger, or diverter can receive a monetary 
grant for delivering qualifying biomass to an eligible facility. 
Qualifying biomass includes agricultural biomass, storm-
generated biomass debris, forest wood waste, urban wood 
waste, and agricultural livestock waste nutrients. Grants 
amount to $20 for each ton of qualifying biomass. The 
agriculture commissioner may compensate a farmer, logger 
or diverter for an amount greater than $20 per ton in order to 
encourage the submission of qualifying biomass. 

	 To qualify for program participation, a facility must 
generate electric energy through biomass materials. Among 
other criteria, the facility is required to use the best available 
emissions control technology and be operational after 
August 31, 2009. Facilities must verify and document the 
amount of qualifying biomass received for electric energy 
production. The facility will disburse the grant to the 
farmer, logger or diverter on behalf of the Department of 
Agriculture. Each quarter, the department will reimburse 
facility operators for grant distribution. Grant provisions 
for farmers, loggers, and diverters also apply to facility 
operators, including grant amounts. 
	
	 The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
and the Public Utility Commission (PUC) will assist the 
Department of Agriculture in implementing the bill’s 
provisions. The total amount awarded by the department for 
qualifying biomass material may not exceed $30 million per 
fiscal year, and no single facility may receive more than $6 
million per fiscal year. The agriculture biomass and landfill 
diversion incentive program will expire on August 31, 2019. 

	 HB 1090 also amends the Utilities Code to make 
certain modifications to the renewable energy program. 
PUC will establish an alternative compliance payment 
that entities can pay in order to meet renewable energy 
purchase requirements. Also, if a customer notifies PUC 
that it chooses not to support the state’s renewable energy 
generation goals, the commission will reduce the renewable 

HB 1090 by Swinford
Effective September 1, 2007

Grants to encourage electric energy generation with biomass materials

energy purchase requirements for the appropriate retail 
electric provider, municipally owned utility, or electric 
cooperative. 

	 The bill requires the completion of two studies by 
January 1, 2009. The commissioner of agriculture will 
conduct a study of the volume of wood waste in the East 
Texas and Central Texas forest regions. The PUC will 
examine the effect of the renewable energy credits trading 
program on the state’s market power and residential 
electricity rates. 

Supporters said 

	 As the nation’s second-largest agricultural producing 
state, Texas represents an ideal location to promote the 
conversion of biomass into energy. By establishing such 
a program, HB 1090 would open new markets for Texas’ 
agricultural industry and create job growth through the 
operation of biomass facilities. The bill’s potential positive 
economic and environmental impact would more than 
outweigh its cost, offering lawmakers a rare “win-win-win” 
opportunity as producers, consumers, and the environment 
all stand to benefit from the program’s implementation. 
	
	 Emissions from fossil fuel plants generate harmful 
air contaminants, posing serious health risks for Texans. 
By contrast, biomass constitutes a renewable and reliable 
energy source, capable of generating clean electricity 24 
hours a day. The bill also would benefit the environment 
by diverting waste from landfills and reducing the amount 
of refuse openly burned. Typically, biomass materials are 
considered a burden to farmers, loggers, landowners, and 
communities. Wood waste often is the primary substance in 
landfills, and the decay of timber leads to methane emissions 
that contribute to global warming. Under HB 1090, these 
materials would be used to produce energy instead of 
damaging the environment.

	 HB 1090 would promote biomass production in Texas, 
increasing the diversity of energy sources and leading to a 
drop in energy prices for consumers. Facilities specializing 
in biomass energy production are expensive to build and 
require a sustainable source of biomass for use as fuel. 
By ensuring a ready supply of biomass, the distribution 
of grants for qualifying biomass would make this form of 
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energy production more economically feasible. Moreover, 
the use of biomass for energy contributes to national and 
regional energy security. 

	 Modifications to the Utilities Code would give 
customers and energy providers greater flexibility in the 
renewable energy credits program. Additionally, a study 
of the program would generate important information on 
program outcomes. 

Opponents said

	 Prior to program implementation, the life cycle 
of biomass should be evaluated to determine its true 
environmental impact in energy production. Although 
biomass is renewable, making it ready for use as an energy 
source still could contribute to global warming. For instance, 
the process of transporting biomass to production facilities 
could lead to increased emissions of air contaminants and 
carbon dioxide.

	 According to the Legislative Budget Board, the bill 
would cost the state over $15 million per year, staring in 
fiscal 2010. Currently, a market for certain forms of energy 
production exists. A government program should not 
distribute economic incentives to alter this market. Instead, 
market forces should determine the production and use 
of certain fuel sources. When biomass becomes a viable 
economic option for energy production, the market will 
demand it.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 1090 appeared in the April 
30 Daily Floor Report. 
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	 HB 3693 requires local governments, state agencies, 
and universities to adopt various policies to save energy; 
revises building codes to encourage energy savings; and 
provides incentives to electric utilities and consumers to 
reduce the growth in demand for electricity.

	 School boards must establish a goal for the reduction of 
energy consumption by 5 percent each fiscal year during the 
six years after September 1, 2007, and school districts and 
higher-education institutions are required to buy energy-
efficient light bulbs. State agencies also will be required to 
buy energy-efficient products, including light bulbs. Energy-
saving devices are required for vending machines in state 
agency buildings. 

	 Governmental entities responsible for utility payments 
must post information on their electricity, water, and 
natural gas utility bills on an Internet site accessible to the 
public. Single or multi-family dwellings built with state or 
federal loan funds must include energy conservation and 
efficiency measures. The State Energy Conservation Office 
is authorized to adopt energy efficiency standards based on 
standards in the most current International Residential Code 
or the International Energy Conservation Code.

	 HB 3693 requires electric utilities to give school 
districts credit for any surplus energy produced by solar 
panels on the roofs of schools. It also allows for the 
interconnection of distributed renewable generation into the 
bulk electric grid.

	 Other provisions of the bill establish goals for reduction 
of growth in demand, beginning with a target of a 15 percent 
reduction of demand by December 31, 2008, and for retail 
electric providers in the Electric Reliability Council of 
Texas (ERCOT) region and electric utilities outside the 
ERCOT region to provide customers with energy efficiency 
educational materials. Municipally owned utilities and 
electric cooperatives with retail sales of more than 500,000 
megawatt hours in 2005 must report to the State Energy 
Conservation Office by September 1, 2009, on the combined 
effects of their energy efficiency activities.
 
	 The bill exempts certain energy-efficient products 
– including light bulbs and some appliances – from sales 
and use taxes during the Memorial Day weekend. 

HB 3693 by Straus
Effective September 1, 2007 

Electricity efficiency and conservation incentives

	 The Public Utility Commission will be required to 
review a merger or consolidation, sale of 50 percent of 
stock, or transfer of controlling interest in a transmission and 
distribution utility, if the transaction took place after May 1, 
2007. 

Supporters said

	 HB 3693 would provide a comprehensive approach to 
energy efficiency, with the state setting an example on how 
those programs work and by aligning these programs with 
the restructured electricity market. These measures should 
result in reductions in electricity consumption to avoid peak 
demand problems and avoid new costs for power plants and 
power lines. Texas must have electricity capacity to continue 
to grow, but the state cannot solve the projected shortfall 
in reserve capacity by building generation facilities or by 
conservation measures alone. The state must do both and 
needs to be a better steward of our energy resources. 

	 Government should not mandate any program for 
businesses and consumers that it would not apply to its 
own operations. State and local governments have the 
obligation to set an example. HB 3693 also would provide 
for transparency and accountability in energy efficiency 
programs by requiring entities to set goals and post the 
results where the public could see them.

	 HB 3693 would be designed so that energy efficiency 
programs matched the Texas marketing structure. Under 
the old regulatory regime, the PUC could mandate energy 
savings as part of the rate hearing and adjust rates to 
account for energy savings. Policymakers must be flexible 
and innovative to design these new programs under 
restructuring. HB 3693 would provide a schedule of goals 
and incentives rather than mandates so that electric utilities 
and retail service providers could be compensated fairly 
for energy efficiency programs. Also, consumer concerns 
about global warming and energy efficiency have changed 
electric utilities’ expectations and marketing strategies. An 
increasing number of consumers want to “go green,” so 
utilities must be able to provide electricity from renewable 
sources and encourage conservation and efficiency 
programs. 
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	 Lost time cannot be made up or past decisions reversed. 
Texas has a completely different political culture and history 
than does California, and the Lone Star State has continued 
restructuring and competition in electric utilities. Differences 
in the climate and topography within the state prevent a one-
size-fits-all solution from being feasible. However, Texas 
would join Colorado and North Carolina, which approved 
comprehensive energy conservation programs this spring.
 
	 School systems and other small generators who produce 
power through solar and alternative methods should 
have access to the electric grid. Texas needs to encourage 
alternatives to large generating stations. The technology 
required to meter this off-grid transmission is simple and 
proven, and the flows of electricity would pose no overall 
problems to the transmission grid.

	 Creating a tax holiday for certain energy-efficient 
products would encourage consumers to replace inefficient 
appliances and use energy-efficient technologies in their 
homes. Tax policy is an important tool for influencing 
consumer behavior, and this provision would help reduce 
energy consumption and associated air pollution. High 
energy demand can lead to inflated costs for consumers and 
shortages during peak use periods, as well as to a need for 
costly construction of additional generation capacity. A sales 
tax holiday also would provide an opportunity to educate the 
public about the benefits of energy conservation.

Opponents said

	 HB 3693 is more of a Christmas tree of tangentially 
connected concepts than a coherent energy savings program. 
It is uncertain how the incentives would mesh with the 
existing restructuring of the electricity industry to provide 
for retail electric competition. The experience Texas had 
with the “price to beat” is not an encouraging sign for the 
incentives under HB 3693. The “price to beat” deliberately 
was set to be artificially high. The goal was to persuade 
customers to switch to other retail providers or even select 
another plan with their existing provider. Despite all the 
publicity and consumer education programs, almost one-
third of ratepayers stubbornly refuse to choose another, and 
potentially lower, rate plan. Consumers might know how 
efficiency programs could affect their electricity bill and 
ignore that information. 

	 The bill would impose an unfunded mandate on school 
districts and local governments to pay for energy programs 
with an uncertain return on the investment. Other provisions, 
such as the energy savings requirement for vending 
machines, would impose unnecessary burdens and costs for 
the individuals and private companies who contract with the 
state, while the cost-savings would be kept by the agency or 
university.

	 Allowing school districts with solar panels or small 
generators to interconnect to the bulk electric transmission 
system could compromise safety and reliability of electric 
service. These sources tend to provide insignificant and 
unpredictable amounts of power that do not justify the risk 
to the grid.

	 A sales tax holiday for certain energy-efficient products 
unfairly would affect local jurisdictions that levy sales 
taxes. It would deny local governments this revenue without 
allowing them to decide whether or not to participate. Also, 
instituting a tax holiday for energy-efficient products would 
run counter to the goal of tax simplification. The proposal 
could complicate Texas’ participation in the Streamlined 
Sales Tax Project, a project under which a consortium of 
states are attempting to simplify their sales tax structures 
in order to gain federal approval for the taxation of online 
commerce.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of HB 3693 appeared in the May 
4 Daily Floor Report.

	 HB 1000 by Burnam, which would have established 
a sales tax holiday for certain energy-efficient products 
during two weekends each year, died in the Senate and was 
analyzed in the April 10 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 482 by Fraser
Died in the House

Competition incentives for retail electric customers 

	 SB 482 would have established incentives and 
sanctions for electric utilities to persuade retail customers 
still paying the regulated price-to-beat rate to choose an 
alternative plan and would have provided for Public Utility 
Commission (PUC) review of future sales of electric utilities 
in the state. The bill also would have codified PUC rules 
on disconnection for non-payment of electric bills during 
weather emergencies, prohibited the collection of deposits 
from low-income customers or those who had not made 
late payments in 12 months, and required that utility bill 
surcharges collected for the System Benefit Fund be used 
to provide consumer education about electric retail choice 
and a discount for low-income ratepayers ranging from 10 
percent to 20 percent.

	 All versions of SB 482 would have required large 
electric utilities to persuade customers still served at the 
price-to-beat rate to switch to alternative service plans or to 
new retail electric providers. Failure to do so would have 
resulted in financial penalties for utilities. The conference 
report for SB 482 would have required a utility serving one 
million customers as of December 31, 2006, to gain 120,000 
residential customers outside its traditional service area and 
for a utility serving fewer than one million customers to 
gain 45,000 residential customers outside its traditional area. 
Penalties would have been assessed based on the difference 
between the goals and the actual number of customers 
switched, starting with $100 per customer as of December 
31, 2007, rising to $200 per customer as of December 31, 
2008, and increasing to $300 per customer as of December 
31, 2009.

	 The House version and conference report for SB 
482 included provisions that would have mandated a 
reduction of rates based on the price to beat and would 
have reinstituted a limited ability for PUC to regulate 
retail electricity rates. Customers who remained on the old 
price-to-beat rate would have been granted a 10 percent 
rate reduction on July 1, 2007, and an additional 5 percent 
reduction on September 1, 2007. However, the requirement 
would not have applied to any price-to-beat customer who 
had received a 10-percent reduction before June 30, 2007, 
from the price charged on June 30, 2006. The House version 
and conference report of SB 482 also would have required 
PUC to conduct a market review of electric rates for a 
transmission and distribution utility where 25 percent of the 
customers remained on a plan comparable to the price to 
beat at the end of 2007 or more than 20 percent remained at 

the end of 2008. If the price charged by the equivalent rate 
to the price to beat were more than two cents per kilowatt 
hour greater than the average of other available plans, the 
PUC could have ordered a rate reduction of not less than one 
cent per kilowatt hour.

	 SB 482 would have required a transmission and 
distribution utility and its affiliated power generation and 
retail electric providers and holding companies to have 
separate names and logos, independent boards of directors, 
and separate headquarters. The conference report added 
provisions that would have required a transmission and 
distribution company that served more than 850,000 
customers on December 31, 2006, along with its affiliated 
power generation and retail electric provider companies and 
associated holding company, to implement safeguards and 
a code of conduct and to prevent the non-regulated portions 
from pledging the regulated transmission and distribution 
company’s assets to obtain credit or assume debt. 

	 The House version and conference report for SB 482 
would have required PUC review and approval for mergers 
or consolidations, sales of at least 50 percent of stock, or 
transfer of a transmission and distribution utility, but those 
provisions would not have applied to any transaction agreed 
to before April 1, 2007, or for which an application had been 
filed for PUC review before May 1, 2007. The conference 
report also included provisions in SB 483 by Fraser that 
would have revised penalties and required refunds or 
disgorgement for market power abuses in the wholesale 
power generation sector. The conference report also would 
have included provisions from HB 2818 by Ritter that would 
have delayed the beginning of retail electric competition in 
the Southwest Power Pool region in southeast Texas without 
specific legislative approval before January 1, 2017. 

Supporters said

	 SB 482 would provide meaningful rate reductions 
and safeguards for consumers in Texas while allowing 
lawmakers to fulfill their promises to protect all ratepayers 
during the transition to retail competition in electricity. The 
bill would grant a 15-percent reduction for those paying the 
price-to-beat rate and allow the PUC to exercise continuing 
oversight on that rate. It would prohibit electric companies 
from charging deposits for low-income or elderly customers 
or those who had paid their bills on time for the past year 



Page 212 House Research Organization

to establish service. In addition, the elderly and consumers 
with critical medical conditions would be protected from 
having their electricity disconnected during the extremely 
cold or hot days that occur frequently in Texas.

	 Texas should be proud of its success and achievements 
in restructuring the electric industry through the enactment 
of SB 7 by Sibley in 1999, and SB 482 would adjust market 
rules without resorting to re-regulation of electric utilities in 
the state. The price to beat, the partially regulated price for 
residential electricity customers, was a uniquely successful 
transition tool. In retrospect, Texas probably maintained 
the regulated rate for too long, and that program distorted 
prices and market behavior throughout 2006. While the 
PUC’s 2007 Scope of Competition in Electric Markets in 
Texas concedes that too many Texans remain at the price-
to-beat rates, there are plenty of opportunities to lower their 
rates. The bill would create the right mix of incentives and 
penalties to encourage the incumbent utilities to look beyond 
their traditional service areas and persuade more consumers 
to choose electric plans that are right for their needs.  

	 Texas must assure existing utilities and potential 
investors that its markets are fair and efficient even as it 
provides safeguards for ratepayers. SB 482 would strike the 
right balance between enhancing the state’s business friendly 
climate and ensuring that private-equity investors would not 
burden the regulated TXU “wires” company with debt from 
its other operations. In February, Kohlberg Kravis Roberts 
and Texas Pacific Group, a private-equity consortium, 
announced plans to purchase TXU, the investor-owned 
electric utility serving most of North Texas, for $45 billion. 
Transactions for the “wires” portion of TXU were subject 
to review by the PUC, but the purchase of the wholesale 
generation and retail electric sales divisions were not. SB 
482 would require prior PUC approval for large sales, 
including any future transactions involving TXU, without 
interfering with existing contracts or creating additional tax 
burdens for the utility’s potential purchasers. The bill also 
would address continuing concerns about abuse of market 
power and unfair practices by TXU and other utilities.  

	 The Legislature cannot afford to reverse its decision 
on electric utility restructuring and introduction of market 
competition. Re-regulating electric rates for residential 
customers would not be sound public policy. Competition 
already is flourishing among large industrial users and 
smaller businesses, and the marketplace has increased 
choices and lowered prices for these ratepayers. Mixing 
regulation and competition would increase the burden of 
managing the system for government, business and industry, 
and residential customers. Setting arbitrary price caps and 

mandatory rate reductions would not stop imposition of 
higher electricity costs, as shown by the experiences in 
California and Maryland, among other states.

	 Admittedly, transition to a new market structure has 
been painful at times. However, recent higher electric rates 
cannot be attributed to competition. Disruptions caused by 
hurricanes Katrina and Rita in 2005 caused spikes in natural 
gas prices. Gas-fired units produce 73 percent of power in 
ERCOT, including 86 of the capacity in the Houston region. 
While natural gas prices tripled, however, electric rates 
did not increase by that proportion. Notwithstanding those 
unprecedented increases, competitive prices for electricity 
are near the former regulated rates. 

	 SB 482 would establish meaningful, but attainable, 
goals for larger utilities to compete outside their traditional 
service areas. The requirements would apply mainly to 
TXU and Reliant. Requiring each of these large companies 
to compete directly in the other’s service area would draw 
more attention to the advantages of competition. Even if 
customers did not switch to the large competitor, there 
could be beneficial spillover effects as consumers selected 
alternative plans with their current provider or signed up 
with other retailers. 

	 Even though SB 482 failed to pass, the debate raised 
awareness about the future of electric competition in the 
state. One positive effect was the announcement that TXU 
decided on a further reduction of rates from 10 percent to 15 
percent shortly after the end of the legislative session.

Opponents said

	 The conference report on SB 482 was a mere shell of 
the strong version passed by the House. Most of the claimed 
consumer protections already exist in statute or PUC 
rules. The conference committee stripped out meaningful 
environmental protection provisions and the requirement 
that the PUC report on how to re-regulate the industry. 
Also removed was a requirement that utility companies 
consider a bill paid when it was postmarked. The proposed 
15 percent reduction largely would have been an empty 
gesture, as most TXU ratepayers still on the price to beat 
would not have qualified because they already had received 
a 10-percent reduction. The System Benefit Fund was not 
protected, and even a provision allowing discounts for 
nursing homes did not survive the conference committee 
deliberations. 
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	 SB 482 fundamentally would change the rules of the 
game and put the future of competitive markets in Texas 
at risk. The bill would attempt to address past problems 
without necessarily improving prospects for the future. 
Two of the major problems have been high electricity rates 
caused by spikes in natural gas prices after hurricanes 
Katrina and Rita and alleged market abuses by TXU. By 
definition, future natural disasters are unpredictable. It is 
uncertain whether the bill would provide adequate oversight 
or sanctions to prevent future market abuses. 

	 The benefits of electric utility competition for residential 
customers were oversold initially, and the experience with 
increasing electricity bills during the past eight years only 
has increased the skepticism and anger most ratepayers feel. 
Freedom to choose among competing electric providers 
turns into an empty abstraction when the customer receives 
a monthly electric bill of $700 or more during a hot Texas 
summer. The Legislature should reconsider its decision 
on SB 7 and begin the process of re-regulating residential 
electric rates again.

Notes

	 The HRO analysis of SB 482 appeared in the April 
12 Daily Floor Report.	

	 HB 624 by P. King, which took effect June 15, allows 
for securitization for costs related to the transition to 
competition that are not defined as “stranded costs.” It also 
includes a provision that was in SB 482 authorizing PUC to 
review and approve future mergers, sales, and transfers of 
transmission and distribution utilities. HB 3693 by Straus, 
effective September 1, contains a similar provision (see page 
209).

	 SB 483 by Fraser and HB 2818 by Ritter, contained 
provisions that also appeared in the conference committee 
report for SB 482. SB 483 died in conference committee, 
and HB 2818 died in Senate committee. 
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