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 During its 2005 regular session, the 79th Texas Legislature enacted 
1,389 bills and adopted nine joint resolutions after considering more 
than 5,600 measures filed. It also enacted two bills during the first called 
session and three bills during the second called session. This report 
provides an overview of some of the highlights of the regular session and 
the first and second called sessions, summarizing some proposals that 
were approved and some that were not. Also included is a brief review of 
the arguments offered for and against each measure as it was debated. The 
measures featured in this report are a sampling and are not intended to be 
comprehensive.  

 Other House Research Organization reports covering the 2005 
sessions include those examining the bills vetoed by the governor and 
the constitutional amendments on the November 8, 2005, ballot and an 
upcoming report summarizing the general appropriations act for fiscal 
2006-07.   
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SYNOPSIS OF LEGISLATION
79th Legislature, Regular Session

Source: Texas Legislative Information System.

*Includes 19 vetoed bills — eight House bills and 11 Senate bills

House bills 3,592 876 24.4%

Senate bills 1,892 513 27.1%

TOTAL bills 5,484 1,389 25.3%

HJRs 102 5 4.9%

SJRs 43 4 9.3%

TOTAL joint
resolutions 145 9 6.2%

Introduced Enacted* Percent enacted

2003 2005 Percent change

Bills filed 5,596 5,484 -2.0%

Bills enacted 1,383 1,389 0.4%

Bills vetoed 48 19 -50.0%

Joint resolutions filed 161 145 -10.0%

Joint resolutions adopted 21 9 -57.1%

Legislation sent or transferred
to Calendars Committee 1,255 1,492 18.9%

Legislation sent to Local and
Consent Calendars Committee 1,096 921 -16.0%
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HB 7 by Solomons 
Effective generally September 1, 2005

Workers’ compensation revisions

 HB 7 revises the Texas workers’ compensation system, 
a no-fault, state supervised, employer-funded system 
established under the Workers’ Compensation Act (Labor 
Code, Title 5, subtitle A) to pay the medical expenses of 
employees who are injured on the job and to compensate 
them for lost earnings.  

 Administrative structure. HB 7 abolishes the Texas 
Workers’ Compensation Commission (TWCC) and creates 
a Division of Workers’ Compensation (TDWC) within the 
Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) with a commissioner 
appointed by the governor. The new commissioner exercises 
all authority over workers’ compensation with the advice 
of the TDI commissioner. The bill creates an Office of 
Injured Employee Counsel (OIEC) administratively attached 
to, but independent of, TDI to represent the interests of 
injured employees as a group and to supervise and advise 
ombudsmen. 

 Other regulatory functions that TDWC performs 
include performance-based oversight and prioritization 
of complaints, preparation of return-to-work educational 
materials, and a requirement that insurers offer skilled case 
management for certain injured workers.

 Networks of providers. Medical care under HB 7 is 
managed through networks of providers, certified by TDI 
and similar to those used in group health. Under the bill, 
a network must include providers within 30 miles of an 
employee’s home in urban areas and within 60 miles in 
rural areas, with a 75-mile standard for access to specialists. 
It also establishes a structure for out-of-network care. The 
bill permits a group health network to become certified as 
a workers’ compensation network. Employers that choose 
to use a workers’ compensation network may require their 
employees who live in the network area to use an in-
network provider, but a carrier is required to pay for out-of-
network care for employees who live outside the network. 
An employee in an HMO group health plan also may opt to 
receive care from his or her HMO primary care provider. 

 The bill sets up treatment guidelines, fee guidelines, 
prompt pay requirements, limited liability of $7,000 for 
medical care prior to a denial of compensability, and 
preauthorization requirements and prohibits retrospective 
denial. It requires the adoption of a closed formulary for 
prescription drugs. Networks are not required to accept any 
willing provider. 

 Dispute resolution. Much of the existing dispute system 
is maintained for medical disputes, including the use of 
Independent Review Organizations for medical necessity 
disputes both in and out of network, although in-network 
fee disputes will not be subject to outside review. Appeal 
to the State Office of Administrative Hearings no longer is 
included in the dispute resolution process. TDWC also will 
adopt rules determining the requirements for doctors that 
perform peer review and rules regarding electronic billing.

 Dispute resolution for income benefits largely 
is retained, although the number of Benefit Review 
Conferences is limited, with mediation as their goal. HB 7 
permits involvement of a designated doctor in more disputes 
where the central issue is related to a medical determination 
and establishes appeal and evidentiary standards. The 
appeals panel process remains but is modified to include a 
three-member panel. 

 Income benefits. HB 7 sets the basis for the cap on 
weekly workers’ compensation income benefits, the State 
Average Weekly Wage, at 88 percent of the average weekly 
wage computed by the Texas Workforce Commission 
(TWC). The TDWC commissioner also is authorized to 
increase the State Average Weekly Wage up to 100 percent 
of the TWC rate. The current requirement that an injured 
employee who receives supplemental income benefits make 
a “good faith effort” to find work was strengthened.  

 Post-injury waivers. The bill establishes a “cooling-off” 
period for post-injury waivers by non-subscribers – 
companies that do not participate in workers’ compensation 
through TDWC. The waiver is not effective if it is signed 
less than 10 days post-injury and after the employee has 
been evaluated by a non-emergency provider.

Supporters said 

 The Texas workers’ compensation system is broken: 
return-to-work rates are too low; utilization is too high; 
physicians are leaving the system; and premiums are rising. 
The regulatory structure under TWCC has little strategic 
direction, inefficient management, and no accountability. 
Nothing short of a complete overhaul of workers’ 
compensation in Texas will give injured employees the 
assistance they deserve. Injured employees bear the brunt 
of this inefficient system. Compared to other states, Texas 
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workers are off work longer, and fewer return to work within 
two years. After two years, one-third of injured workers in 
Texas have not returned to their jobs, and 15 percent never 
go back. It also is more difficult for Texas workers to find 
doctors to treat them. According to physician groups, the 
number of doctors who will treat workers’ compensation 
patients has declined by 50 percent over the last two years.

 The regulatory structure is to blame for many of the 
problems in the workers’ compensation system. Two of 
the most significant hurdles the regulatory structure creates 
are the time it takes to resolve complaints and an inability 
to implement measures to stem rising costs of medical 
care. Merely applying new fixes to the existing regulatory 
structure would doom any reform. TWCC should be 
abolished because the agency has a long history of failing 
adequately to manage the workers’ compensation system. 
The agency is burdened by layers of administration and 
history, as attempts to reform the workers’ compensation 
system over the years have created a Byzantine 
administrative structure. For example, the policy goal in the 
1980s of moving dispute resolution out of the courts created 
a duplicative and endless dispute resolution and appeal 
process at TWCC. Also, the six-commissioner structure 
leads more often to gridlock than to efficient administration. 

 TDI, with a single commissioner and experience in 
other insurance products, would be the best place for the 
new workers’ compensation system. A single commissioner 
would be responsive and accountable, and the department 
has demonstrated efficient regulation of the insurance 
industry for years. Because the medical side of workers’ 
compensation would be modeled after group health, 
TDI would be the logical place to put the new regulatory 
structure.

 The new Office of Injured Employee Counsel would 
improve employees’ access to information and assistance. 
Even though workers’ compensation would not be under a 
stand-alone agency, employees actually would have better 
access because the OIEC would serve as a single point of 
contact for assistance in obtaining benefits, sorting through 
disputes with carriers, receiving information about return-to-
work, and helping navigate services at other state agencies. 

 Networks of providers would fix many of the problems 
in the system. Because networks use primary-care doctors 
to ensure appropriate utilization, injured employees would 
be treated more efficiently and appropriately. No longer 
would they be seen for weeks or months on end by a 
practitioner whose motivation is continued payment by 
the workers’ compensation carrier. Providers also would 
be better off under a network structure. The current system 

requires retrospective review and can make payment very 
slow because the carrier has little assurance that the medical 
service is appropriate. Also, providers are paid a fixed rate 
under the current system, whereas networks base their 
negotiations on market rates, which would result in more 
appropriate compensation for providers. 

 Because workers’ compensation networks would look 
like group health networks, dispute resolution for medical 
necessity and fee disputes would be removed from the state 
regulator to the well established and universally agreed-upon 
system of independent review and contract agreements. In 
addition, the bill would offer an alternative to independent 
review for claims that were too small to justify the cost. 

 What constitutes an adequate network is clearly defined 
in this bill and would ensure that all workers in Texas have 
access to care, no matter where they live. Requiring the 
availability of a broad range of medical services within a 
30-mile radius in urban areas and within 60 miles in rural 
areas would assure the availability of care. In areas of the 
state without sufficient medical resources, the bill includes 
procedures for out-of-network care. 

 The bill includes prompt pay protection for providers 
and carriers to ensure that bills are submitted and paid in 
a timely manner. The issue of compensability, unique to 
workers’ compensation, is addressed by requiring carriers to 
pay for services until the compensability issue is identified 
by the carrier, but limiting their exposure to $7,000. This 
would ensure that patients received timely treatment and that 
providers were not left with unpaid bills.

 In addition to improving the medical side of workers’ 
compensation, HB 7 would increase the income benefits 
that injured workers receive. The basis for wages currently 
used to calculate income benefits lags behind the market and 
leaves workers under-compensated. The bill would tie it to 
the basis used for unemployment, which is higher and tracks 
the market. 

 This package of changes represents a new era in 
workers’ compensation for Texas and could lay the 
groundwork for more participation by employers. The 
current system is so fraught with problems that many 
employers choose to go without workers’ compensation 
insurance or to purchase policies outside the system that 
offer neither employer nor employee significant protections. 
Making workers’ compensation mandatory is not feasible 
from an economic development perspective, but it makes 
sense to improve the system so that more companies will 
join. 
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Opponents said

 HB 7 would not produce all of the promised 
improvements in the workers’ compensation system. 
Although the bill would prescribe sweeping changes, 
lawmakers should consider closely the finer points of the 
proposed revisions. 

 Moving workers’ compensation to TDI would be a 
mistake. Workers’ compensation is not an insurance product 
like property or health insurance, but is a way to manage 
the relationship between employers and injured workers 
without involving the courts. Without a dedicated, stand-
alone agency, workers would not have adequate influence 
concerning the rules governing the system and could be 
treated unfairly without legal recourse. A better approach 
would be to take the elements that work at TDI – a single 
commissioner, streamlined review processes, and an office 
that represents individuals – and apply them to TWCC. TDI 
could have a conflict of interest with workers’ compensation 
under its purview. The agency that regulates the carriers 
that write workers’ compensation policies should not 
also administer dispute resolutions between carriers and 
providers or employees.

 The bill should have more stringent return-to-work 
requirements. The problem with injured employees 
returning often is not with the employee but rather with the 
employer. Even if the worker is ready to come back at light 
or modified duty, some employers are reluctant to allow 
them due to fears of subsequent injury or low productivity. 
The longer an employee stays off work, the less likely he 
or she is to return, which may result in permanent disability 
or the need for public assistance. Texas seriously should 
encourage employee reintegration with work by requiring 
employers to accept employees when they are ready to 
return. 

 HB 7 also would fail to address the suitability of work 
for injured employees trying to comply with the requirement 
that they look for work in order to receive Supplemental 
Income Benefits. The requirement would be a step in the 
right direction, but injured employees should not be forced 
into taking jobs that are far below their skill levels in order 
to avoid penalties. The Texas Unemployment Compensation 

Act and TWC rules address this issue for unemployed 
workers because the goal is to get workers back into 
sustainable, appropriate jobs or careers, which also should 
be the goal for workers’ compensation.

 Compensability is a difficult issue to reconcile with 
prompt pay, and this bill would not completely solve the 
problem. Although a $7,000 limit on carrier liability would 
pay for some services, it would not come close to covering 
spinal surgery or multiple bone scans, for example. A higher 
limit would be more appropriate, particularly one that 
floats with the market because any fixed amount could be 
outpaced by new technology and higher costs within a few 
years.

 Because networks are designed to reduce costs and 
improve treatment outcomes, which should translate into 
reduced workers’ compensation premiums, the bill should 
ensure that all employers can participate. Carriers might 
offer network access only to large employers because 
their business is more valuable. Small employers have 
experienced similar discrimination in group health where 
it has been difficult for them to obtain affordable health 
coverage for their employees.

 The “cooling off” requirement before workers sign 
waivers of liability could cause workers to go without care. 
Some companies that do not have workers’ compensation 
insurance still carry an insurance product that would give 
injured workers some benefits and often ask the worker to 
sign a waiver of future liability in exchange for access to the 
benefits. Companies are not required to carry any insurance, 
and requiring a cooling off period might cause them to 
withhold medical treatment until the waiver was signed.

 
Notes 

 The HRO analysis of HB 7 appeared in the March 
30 Daily Floor Report. The analysis of the companion bill, 
SB 5 by Staples, which included the substance of HB 7 as 
passed by the House, appeared in the May 13 Daily Floor 
Report.
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HB 846 by Flynn 
Died in the House

Regulation of payday loans

 HB 846 would have revised provisions governing 
deferred presentment transactions, commonly known as 
“payday loans,” by both lenders and third-party providers. 
A lender could not have advanced more than $1,000, 
engaged in a transaction with a term of less than seven days 
or more than 45 days, or assessed a finance charge of more 
than $15 for every $100 advanced. A borrower could have 
rescinded the transaction by 5 p.m. on the business day 
after the transaction. A borrower could not have entered 
into more than two consecutive transactions following an 
initial transaction, and each consecutive transaction would 
have required a 10 percent reduction in the principal amount 
of the debt. The borrower could have entered a repayment 
plan if the borrower entered into a second consecutive 
transaction. 

 The lender could have collected a one-time insufficient 
funds fee of $20 or less per returned instrument and only 
could have used civil means to collect unless the borrower 
had employed deception in obtaining the loan. A lender 
could not have contacted a borrower’s employer about 
a deferred presentment debt, communicated facts about 
a borrower’s indebtedness to an employer, or threatened 
criminal prosecution to collect an amount due. A lender 
could not have garnished the wages of a borrower who 
was a member of the armed forces or engaged in collection 
activity against a member of the armed forces or national 
guard member on active duty. 

 The consumer credit commissioner annually would 
have prepared a consolidated analysis and recapitulation of 
reports from each lender to the Legislature and the governor 
and made aggregate data available to the public. A licensed 
lender or third-party provider could have been examined 
and investigated by the commissioner. The bill also would 
have required distribution of certain consumer education 
materials and reference information on credit counseling 
agencies. 

Supporters said
 
 HB 846 would provide extensive protections to 
consumers who seek payday loans. It would limit the 
amounts of fees that could be charged and the number of 
times a transaction could be renewed, add requirements for 
an extended repayment plan and a 10 percent pay-down 

for the principal on a loan, and allow rescission of the loan 
if the borrower had concerns after signing an agreement. 
In addition, the bill would provide special protections for 
military personnel. 

 HB 846 would reduce the cost of payday loans to Texas 
consumers, who currently pay between $17 and $24 per 
$100 borrowed from out-of-state banks and about $30 per 
$100 to Internet and disguised payday lenders. The $15 per 
$100 fee in this bill generally would be less than fees for 
bouncing a check, overdraft protection, or late fees on bills. 
A more restrictive rate would prohibit most businesses from 
operating in Texas, and Texas consumers would be forced to 
do business either with more expensive out-of-state banks 
or unregulated operators. Annualized percentage rates are a 
deceiving comparison for the cost of loans. Consumers have 
choices in financing short-term needs, and they routinely 
choose payday loans over other options. 

 Payday loans are not targeted specifically to low-
income families. More than 50 percent of Texans who use 
this product earn between $25,000 and $50,000 per year. 
A $1,000 loan limit would be appropriate to meet the loan 
needs of many middle-income people without unduly 
burdening them with debt. Most payday lenders use income 
testing as a criterion for extending a loan so that people 
whose salaries could not support such an extension of credit 
would receive only the appropriate amount of funds. 

Opponents said

 HB 846 would allow lenders to prey on poor and 
working-class families. It would increase the cap on interest 
rates consumers pay on loans to $15 per $100 loan. For an 
average loan of two weeks, this would be the equivalent 
of 390 percent APR – almost one-third higher than the cap 
allowed under current law. In addition, most of the 34 other 
states regulating payday loans set the maximum loan at $500 
or less. Even with a 45-day term, a $1,000 loan is equal to 
75 percent of a minimum wage worker’s gross salary during 
that time period.

 Many low-income borrowers find themselves unable 
to repay their loan amounts plus fees at the end of the loan 
term, and these individuals are forced to carry their debt 
past the original term, incurring more fees in the process. 
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Although the bill would allow borrowers to engage in no 
more than three consecutive transactions, new fees would 
be added each time, and the borrower would be required 
to pay down only 10 percent of the principal. In addition, 
even when a borrower paid off one loan, he or she still could 
obtain another one the next day. This bill would not provide 
enough protections to advance a borrower out of a cycle of 
debt. 

 Regardless of all its supposed protections, HB 846 
would not protect Texas borrowers from higher rates 
charged by lenders affiliated with out-of-state banks. If 

Texas wishes to compete more effectively with out-of 
state-banks, it should close the loophole allowing out-of-
state banks to export exorbitant rates to their Texas affiliates 
instead of increasing the rate cap on loans at Texas-chartered 
banks.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 5 
Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 2026 by Hilderbran
Effective June 18, 2005

Prohibiting Internet hunting

 HB 2026 prohibits a person from engaging in 
computer-assisted remote hunting or providing or operating 
facilities for computer-assisted remote hunting, if the animal 
being hunted is located in Texas. This practice involves the 
use of computer technology, including the Internet, to shoot 
animals or birds using a firearm or archery equipment via 
remote control in real time. The first offense is a class B 
Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor, punishable by a fine 
of between $200 and $2,000 and/or a jail term of 180 days. 
A subsequent offense is a class A misdemeanor, punishable 
by a fine of between $500 and $4,000 and/or a jail term of 
one year. Simply providing materials that could be used 
in the process of computer-assisted hunting, such as a 
computer or camera, does not constitute an offense. 

 In addition to prohibiting Internet hunting, HB 2026 
makes numerous other changes to the Parks and Wildlife 
Code.

Supporters said

 Computer-assisted remote hunting is not “hunting” in 
any meaningful sense of the word because animals have 
no chance to sense and flee the hunter, who is miles away 
in front of a computer screen. In reality, Internet hunting 
is cruel, pay-per-view slaughter. No self-respecting hunter 
would condone such a practice, and neither should the state.

 Hunters in Texas must have a hunting license. When 
someone “hunts” in Texas via the Internet, there is no way to 
verify that the person sitting in front of the computer screen 
has a valid Texas hunting license. This practice should be 
banned altogether, if only for the sake of enforcing hunting 
license requirements. 

 There is no assurance that a remote hunting company 
would have a safety manager on site because the state does 
not regulate these businesses. Also, Internet hunting would 
not be the only opportunity for people with disabilities to 
participate in hunting because many groups offer assistance 
that allows such people to participate in legitimate hunting 
activities.

Opponents said

 Internet hunting is a new development that allows many 
people to enjoy the sport of hunting who otherwise could 
not. For example, computer-assisted remote hunting gives 
people with severe disabilities the chance to participate 
in this activity. Also, because there is always a human 
managing the rifle on site for safety reasons, animals have 
the chance to sense the hunter’s assistant. Internet hunting 
should not be banned because it could be a growth industry 
in Texas and a potential source of tax revenue.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
11 Daily Floor Report. 

 HB 391 by T. Smith, which died in the House, also 
would have outlawed computer-assisted remote hunting. It 
would have made a first offense and subsequent offenses 
class A Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanors. The HRO 
analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 12 Daily Floor 
Report.
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SB 14 by Jackson 
Effective September 1, 2005

Penalties for insurers that unsuccessfully appeal rate rollbacks

 SB 14 increases the interest penalty required if an 
insurer unsuccessfully appeals a rate refund in court. The 
interest will be the lesser of 18 percent or 6 percent plus the 
prime rate for the calendar year in which the commissioner’s 
order was issued. Interest accrues beginning on the date 
when the commissioner issued the order and continues 
to accrue until the refund is paid. An insurer will not be 
required to pay any interest penalty if the company prevails 
in an appeal of the commissioner’s order. An insurer may 
not claim a premium tax credit to which it otherwise would 
be entitled if it does not comply with the requirements of the 
bill.

 SB 14 also adds a new section to the Insurance Code 
governing regulation of insurer market conduct to establish 
a framework for market conduct actions by the Texas 
Department of Insurance (TDI), including: 

processes and systems for identifying, assessing, 
and prioritizing market conduct problems that 
have a substantial adverse effect on consumers, 
policyholders, and claimants;
development of appropriate market conduct actions 
by TDI to substantiate and remedy market conduct 
problems; and 
procedures to communicate and coordinate market 
conduct actions with other states to foster the most 
efficient and effective use of resources.

Supporters said

 Prompted by skyrocketing property insurance 
premiums, the 78th Legislature in 2003 enacted SB 14 by 
Jackson, which authorized the insurance commissioner 
to order rate cuts if rates were found to be excessive. Two 

•

•

•

of the state’s largest insurers challenged the rate cuts in 
court, denying immediate relief to Texas homeowners. By 
imposing stiff penalties on insurers that unsuccessfully 
challenge rate rollbacks, SB 14 would provide fair 
compensation to consumers and serve as a deterrent to 
companies that try to game the system. The penalties in 
existing law are not severe enough to prevent insurers from 
using court challenges as a stalling tactic when a refund is 
ordered. 

 The bill would help deter companies from charging 
consumers excessive or unfairly discriminatory premiums, 
as State Farm has continued to do even though TDI ordered 
the company to roll back its rates by 12 percent in 2003. By 
using appeals to the courts as a stalling tactic, State Farm 
has withheld from consumers an estimated $155 million 
in overcharges each year. Stiffer penalties are needed to 
prevent such actions in the future.

Opponents said

 SB 14 is unnecessary because the current penalty of 
1 percent interest is sufficient to prevent a company from 
pursuing an unsuccessful appeal in court as a stalling tactic. 
The bill would not have affected State Farm because their 
appeal was successful, and the company continues to 
contend that its rates are justified.  

Notes

 The HRO analysis of SB 14 appeared in Part One of 
the May 24 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 327 by Zaffirini 
Effective September 1, 2005

Prohibiting Internet “spyware” transmission of unauthorized software  

 SB 327 prohibits a person who is not the owner 
or operator of a computer from knowingly transmitting 
computer software to a computer in Texas and using the 
software, through intentionally deceptive means, to collect 
personally identifiable information, modify settings, disable 
software, open advertisements, or produce other results, 
each specified in the bill, that are typically the effects of 
computer “spyware.”

 The bill allows a provider of computer software, an 
owner of a web page or trademark, or a telecommunications 
carrier or Internet service provider adversely affected by 
violations in the bill to bring a civil action against the person 
committing the violation and makes a person who commits 
a violation liable to the state for a civil penalty of up to 
$100,000 for each violation. If it appears to the attorney 
general that a person is engaging in, has engaged in, or is 
about to engage in a violation, the attorney general may 
request a temporary restraining order or a permanent or 
temporary injunction.

Supporters said 

 SB 327 would prohibit a number of activities related 
to “spyware,” which is software secretly placed on a user’s 
computer to monitor, collect, and transmit personally 
identifiable information without the user’s knowledge 
or consent. Spyware is installed for a myriad of reasons, 
including tracking a user’s online behavior, browsing for 
market research, sending pop-up ads, redirecting computer 
users to web sites, or recording keystrokes, and can be 
transferred via spam or bundled with freeware, shareware, 
or games downloaded from the Internet. Spyware can cause 
the drastic slowing of infected computers, corruption of the 
hard drive, or disabling of hardware and software settings.

 According to the National Cyber Security Alliance, nine 
out of 10 computers connected to the Internet are infected 
with spyware. A recent audit by Earthlink found that the 
average computer had more than 26 spyware programs 
installed. The net impact of this problem will be citizens’ 
loss of confidence in the Internet and a reluctance to engage 
in online business transactions.

 The bill would protect the privacy of Texas consumers 
and establish a cause of action for those adversely affected 
by spyware, including software companies, web page or 
trademark owners, and the general public through actions 
brought by the attorney general. Existing statutes do 
not expressly prohibit activities relating to spyware. By 
specifically identifying such prohibitions, the bill would 
provide clear authority for the attorney general and others 
to pursue civil actions against those who knowingly and 
deceptively transmit and use spyware.

 The bill is carefully crafted to define and outline 
prohibited behaviors, rather than actually to define spyware. 
Beneficial uses of technology that could be defined as 
spyware would not be prohibited because the bill would 
specify that prohibited activities must be conducted with an 
intent to deceive.

Opponents said 

 The activities addressed in SB 327 already are 
prohibited under existing laws addressing fraud and 
deceptive trade practices. Nothing prevents the attorney 
general or anyone else from taking civil action under these 
statutes. The bill broadly would apply the term “intent 
to deceive” in connection with prohibited behaviors, 
establishing a standard that could be difficult to prove and 
would raise the bar for litigation. Because of the difficulty 
of proving intent, the bill could be virtually unenforceable. 
Spyware is difficult to define, and beneficial uses, such as 
using “cookies” to collect and save credit card information 
so that it does not have to be reentered, could be affected. 
This is a rapidly changing technology, and many potentially 
beneficial uses yet to be developed could be outlawed.

Other opponents said 

 SB 327 should include provisions on notice, consent, 
and specification of purpose when spyware was used 
without the intent to deceive and thus not prohibited by most 
provisions in the bill. The bill would have limited impact 
on the spyware problem because it does not address all 
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uses of spyware. Various types of known spyware, many of 
which are not addressed by SB 327, could continue to be 
distributed.

Notes

 The HRO analysis of SB 327 appeared in Part One of 
the May 23 Daily Floor Report. 

 A related bill, HB 1098 by McCall, effective September 
1, 2005, prohibits Internet “phishing” fraud. It prohibits 
creating a web page or Internet domain name representing 
a legitimate online business without the business owner’s 
authorization and using that web page or domain name to 
solicit personal identifying information with the intent to 
use it fraudulently. The bill also prohibits sending an e-mail 
that falsely represents itself as being sent from a legitimate 
business, refers the recipient to a falsely represented Web 
site, and solicits personal identifying information from 
the recipient for a purpose that the recipient believes to be 
legitimate. The HRO analysis of HB 1098 appeared in the 
April 4 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 107 by Van Arsdale
Effective September 1, 2005

Barring lawsuits alleging injuries related to obesity or weight gain

 HB 107 bars lawsuits against a manufacturer, seller, 
trade association, livestock producer, or agricultural 
producer for claims arising from weight gain or obesity or a 
health condition associated with weight gain or obesity.  The 
following actions are not barred: claims for damages arising 
from obesity-related injuries caused by cosmetics, medicine, 
or dietary supplements; claims alleging that a manufacturer 
or seller knowingly and willfully violated a federal or 
state law in the manufacture, marketing, distribution, 
advertisement, labeling, or sale of a food if the violation was 
a cause of the person’s obesity-related injury; claims under 
the Texas Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act; and requests by 
the attorney general for restraining orders for deceptive trade 
practices. The bill limits discovery for claims permitted by 
the bill.

Supporters said 

 Frivolous claims alleging obesity or weight gain 
recently have been filed in the United States and should not 
be permitted in Texas. The bill would protect manufacturers, 
sellers, trade associations, livestock producers, and 
agricultural producers against liability from frivolous 
claims. Individuals are responsible for their food and 
nutrition choices, and excessive litigation restricts the range 
of choices that otherwise would be available to those who 
consume products responsibly. Changing regulation of 
the food industry through lawsuits rather than new laws 
or regulations undermines the balance between personal 
responsibility for one’s food choices and the supplier’s right 
to provide those choices. HB 107 would affirm that each 
individual must assume responsibility for his or her own 
food choices.

Opponents said

 Food companies should not have immunity from suit 
for intentionally enticing children to eat unhealthy food. 
Young children should not be held to the same standard of 
personal responsibility in food choices as adults. Children 
are not personally accountable for their food choices in 
the same way that adults are because children do not have 
the capacity to make educated decisions about nutrition.  
Many food companies take advantage of this by marketing 
unhealthy food specifically to children. Very few of these 
suits have been filed in the United States, and none has 
succeeded. 

 HB 107 is a solution in search of a problem. Legislative 
intervention in the form of blanket immunity is not 
necessary. Consumers are entitled to due process, which the 
bill would deny them. The Legislature should not interfere 
with the job of the courts.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the May 4 Daily Floor 
Report.
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SB 15 by Janek
Effective September 1, 2005

Civil claims involving exposure to asbestos and silica

 SB 15 requires persons who claim an asbestos or silica-
related injury to file a report proving that they meet certain 
medical criteria before they can proceed with their action in 
court. The bill establishes a pretrial multidistrict litigation 
process and changes the statute of limitations for bringing 
an action for personal injury or death related to asbestos or 
silica.  

 Asbestos claims. A plaintiff claiming an asbestos-related 
injury must serve on each defendant a report prepared by a 
board-certified doctor establishing that the plaintiff has been 
diagnosed with mesothelioma or another asbestos-related 
cancer and that the plaintiff’s exposure to asbestos was a 
likely cause of the plaintiff’s illness. Alternately, a separate 
report may establish that the plaintiff has been diagnosed 
with a less serious health condition as a result of exposure to 
asbestos. In order to proceed with the suit, a certain level of 
impairment is required. For plaintiffs who have filed actions 
before May 1, 2005, a lower level of impairment is required.  

 Silica claims. A plaintiff claiming a silica-related injury 
must serve on each defendant a report prepared by a board-
certified doctor confirming that the doctor has performed a 
physical examination of the plaintiff and that the plaintiff’s 
condition probably was caused by silica exposure. The 
report must include numerous medical reports, including 
pulmonary function tests and lung volume tests, that 
the doctor reviewed to reach the conclusions. In order 
to proceed with the suit, a certain level of impairment is 
required. 

 Multidistrict litigation. SB 15 establishes multidistrict 
litigation (MDL) proceedings for asbestos and silica claims. 
MDL rules apply to any action pending on September 1, 
2005, unless the action was filed before September 1, 2003, 
and:

the trial already had begun or begins within 90 days 
of September 1, 2005;
the plaintiff serves a report compliant with the one 
required by the bill within 90 days after September 
1, 2005; or
the plaintiff has malignant mesothelioma or a 
malignant asbestos or silica-related cancer.

•

•

•

 For a case that is pending on September 1, 2005, the 
plaintiff has the option to file an alternate medical report 
based on different criteria than the previously described 
medical reports to determine asbestos- or silica-related 
impairment. The doctor making such a report must 
conclude that the plaintiff’s condition probably was caused 
by exposure to asbestos or silica and that the plaintiff has 
physical impairment comparable to the impairment a person 
would have if the plaintiff met the criteria established in the 
medical report that would be required of a plaintiff whose 
case was not pending on September 1, 2005. 

 An alternate report also may be introduced in lieu 
of a regular medical report for an action filed on or after 
September 1, 2005, under certain circumstances. For 
example, a MDL court could find that, due to unique or 
extraordinary physical or medical characteristics of the 
plaintiff, the criteria in a regular medical report do not 
adequately assess the plaintiff’s impairment.

 Statute of limitations and other provisions. The bill 
changes the date on which the two-year statute of limitations 
begins to run for asbestos and silica-related injuries. The 
period begins to run either on the exposed person’s death 
or when the plaintiff serves on the defendant a report 
that complies with the bill. The change in the statute of 
limitations applies only to an action that commences or is 
pending on or after September 1, 2005.

Supporters said

 SB 15 would establish a fair compromise between the 
interests of those who have been exposed to asbestos and 
silica and companies that may be sued for such exposure. 
The bill would ensure that only those who were already 
ill from exposure to asbestos or silica could bring a case 
in Texas. It also would protect those people who had been 
exposed to asbestos or silica but had not become ill by 
changing the way the statute of limitations applies to their 
claims.

 Exposure to asbestos or silica does not necessarily mean 
that a person will become ill. Under current law, however, 
persons who believe they might have an asbestos or silica-
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related disease must file a claim for damages within two 
years or lose the ability to file a claim at all. This results 
in thousands of people filing claims each year simply so 
they will not lose the ability to file a claim later should they 
develop an illness. SB 15 would address this problem by 
changing the statute of limitations as it applies to asbestos 
and silica-related illnesses such that the two-year period 
would not begin to run until a plaintiff served a defendant 
with a medical report establishing that the plaintiff had an 
asbestos- or silica-related impairment. This alone would 
clear thousands of cases from Texas courts, allowing cases 
involving plaintiffs who already are gravely ill to be heard 
much more quickly.  

 The bill also would require plaintiffs to meet certain 
minimum medical criteria to establish that they truly are ill. 
This would save millions of dollars for businesses that might 
have exposed their workers to asbestos or silica because 
people who were not sick could not file claims, and these 
businesses, as a result, would not have to pay attorney’s 
fees and damage awards to people who were not, and might 
never become, ill.

 By establishing a pretrial MDL process, SB 15 
dramatically would decrease forum shopping in Texas. 
While asbestos cases may be filed in either state or federal 
court, the percentage of cases filed in federal court has 
fallen to less than 20 percent since the early 1990s when 
the federal court system began transferring cases to a single 
judge for multidistrict litigation. At that time, Texas saw a 
sharp increase in the number of asbestos cases filed in state 
court. Texas has about half of all asbestos claims filed in the 
nation. Claimants frequently “forum shop” and often wind 
up in Texas courts because the laws governing punitive 
damages and the juries in Texas are favorable to plaintiffs. 
By routing cases through MDL proceedings, rather than 
allowing them to go straight to trial before a jury, SB 15 
would reduce the number of asbestos and silica cases filed in 
Texas.

Opponents said

 SB 15 unfairly would limit Texans’ access to courts, 
rationing justice by limiting those who could pursue their 
claims. Many people who have asbestos- or silica-related 
illnesses would be precluded by the minimum medical 
criteria from seeking justice through the courts. Many 
workers would not be qualified to bring a case even if they 
were too ill to work. Under the current system, juries decide 
whether a claimant is impaired as part of their deliberations 

about liability. SB 15 would take that power away from 
juries and give it the Legislature. Texas relies on juries to 
make decisions in highly complex cases, including life 
and death decisions in capital murder cases, and they are 
sufficiently qualified to evaluate asbestos and silica cases 
as well. Additionally, only 6 percent of personal injury suits 
filed in Texas do not involve auto accidents, and asbestos 
and silica cases are only a small portion of those non-auto 
cases. Texas courts are not overwhelmed by asbestos and 
silica cases, so there is no justification for limiting access to 
the courts in this way.

 The implication that healthy individuals are filing 
claims is false. Asbestos cases are very difficult and costly to 
pursue, so lawyers have an economic interest only in taking 
cases in which an actual injury occurred. Texas may have a 
larger proportion of asbestos cases than other states because 
it has a significant industrial base, a large resident retiree 
population that was exposed to asbestos years before, a 
transitory industrial workforce that has temporary residency, 
and a history of product liability litigation with specialized 
legal practices. Changes in the venue laws in the mid-1990s 
required that plaintiffs plead and prove sufficient facts to 
show that a Texas venue was proper in filing such cases. The 
new venue rules authorize judges to remove cases that do 
not belong in the state. Because cases take years to resolve, 
there may be cases in the system that were filed under old 
venue rules, which may have inflated Texas’ numbers.

 The recent resurgence in the number of cases filed 
in Texas is due to a one-time underlying factor — mass 
screening. During the late 1990s, some plaintiff law firms 
offered free x-ray screening for members of certain unions 
whose work might have exposed them to asbestos. That 
screening caught a number of cases that otherwise would 
have gone undetected for many more years. It created a false 
“bubble” in filings because workers who otherwise would 
not have filed until a disease was diagnosed proceeded with 
a claim while the statute of limitations still applied.

 Applying SB 15 retroactively to certain claimants who 
already have cases pending would be unfair. These cases 
should be governed by the law in effect when they were 
filed.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the May 10 Daily 
Floor Report.
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Penalties and community supervision conditions for intoxication 
offenses

 HB 51 requires those granted community supervision 
(probation) for intoxication while driving, boating, flying, 
or operating an amusement ride to install ignition interlock 
systems on their vehicles when placed on probation if they 
had a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.15 or greater when 
the offense took place. The bill repeals provisions in the 
Penal Code that limit consideration of previous intoxication 
offenses to 10 years for purposes of enhancing penalties. It 
also allows consideration of previous offenses of driving 
while intoxicated (DWI) with a child in the vehicle for 
penalty enhancement.

Supporters said 

 HB 51 would require careful monitoring of the most 
serious DWI offenders, which could save lives. A person 
with an alcohol level of 0.15 or higher is much more 
intoxicated than a person with an alcohol level of 0.08, the 
minimum point at which the Penal Code deems someone 
to be intoxicated. Texas is among the states with the highest 
rates of alcohol-related traffic deaths, and lawmakers should 
do everything possible to change that. In 1999, Texas drivers 
with blood alcohol levels of 0.15 or greater were involved 
in an estimated 161,900 crashes that killed 1,345 people and 
injured 55,600. Statistics show that although these drivers 
represent only 1 percent of all drivers on a weekend night, 
they are involved in about 50 percent of fatal crashes in that 
period. HB 51 also would deter offenders on probation from 
committing repeat offenses and subject them to a high level 
of monitoring by requiring them to install ignition interlock 
systems.
  
 By removing the current 10-year limit on using a prior 
offense to enhance punishment, the bill would make the 
enhancement for repeat intoxication offenses similar to 
that used for all other types of criminal offenses. There 

HB 51 by T. Smith
Effective September 1, 2005

is no logical reason for this 10-year limit because there 
is no such limitation for any other offense. Eliminating 
this rule is especially important when a repeat offender 
commits a serious intoxication offense such as intoxication 
manslaughter. Limiting prior convictions to those that occur 
within 10 years allows a person periodically to start with 
a clean slate. This is inappropriate for alcohol offenses 
because it limits courts in their analysis of a person’s crimes 
and potential to behave dangerously in the future.

Opponents said

 It would be unfair to eliminate the current 10-year 
time limit on intoxication offenses. This could allow for an 
enhanced punishment even if a previous offense occurred 
25 years before, when the driver was a teenager. The former 
law was designed to enable someone convicted of an 
intoxication offense to earn a fresh start by abiding by the 
law for a decade. This is especially important when dealing 
with intoxication offenses, because without these provisions, 
a small lapse in judgment, especially during a period when 
society viewed alcohol use more leniently, could lead to an 
enhanced penalty later.   

Notes 

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 
10 Daily Floor Report.

 HB 49 by T. Smith, which also would have allowed 
prior convictions of driving while intoxicated with a child 
in the vehicle and certain intoxication convictions that 
were more than 10 years old to be used for enhancement 
purposes, passed the House but died in the Senate.
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HB 151 by Truitt
Died in Senate committee

Increasing the penalty for burglary of a vehicle offense

 HB 151 would have increased the penalty for 
burglarizing a vehicle from a class A misdemeanor to a 
state jail felony (180 days to two years in a state jail and an 
optional fine of up to $10,000).

Supporters said 

 Since 1994, when the penalty for burglary of a vehicle 
was reduced to a misdemeanor, burglaries of vehicles have 
increased dramatically in Texas.  Many offenders arrested 
for burglary of a vehicle are repeat offenders, indicating that 
the current punishment is not an effective deterrent. Many 
offenders deliberately choose to burglarize vehicles rather 
than commit other crimes because they are aware of the 
minimal punishment for vehicular burglary.  

 In addition, many repeat offenders burglarize vehicles to 
support their drug habits. Because drug treatment programs 
in state jails can be more effective than those in county 
jails and misdemeanor probation programs, HB 151 could 
result in addicted offenders receiving the treatment they 
need to rehabilitate themselves. Even if such offenders 
were not rehabilitated in state jail, it could be better to keep 
them safely behind bars while they struggled with their 
drug problems than to release them into society, where they 
almost certainly would commit more criminal offenses.  
Increasing the penalty also would give more leverage 
to prosecutors, who frequently accept plea bargains for 
vehicular burglary charges in order to move cases more 
quickly through the overcrowded misdemeanor docket.    

Opponents said 

 The statistics showing that vehicular burglaries have 
increased during the past decade neglect the fact that poverty 
and drug use – two key reasons people burglarize vehicles 
– also have increased during this time. As a result, increasing 
the penalty would not affect the cause of the increase, and 
vehicular burglary rates would continue to rise. The Penal 
Code properly reserves incarceration in state facilities for the 
most serious and violent crimes, and burglary of a vehicle 
does not rise to that level.

 Many repeat offenders burglarize vehicles for money 
to support their drug addictions. Statistics have shown that 
imprisoning drug addicts does not help them conquer their 
addictions. Substance abuse programs in state jail would 
offer no solution because funding for these programs has 
decreased in the past few years, reducing their effectiveness. 
The answer to reducing the rate of vehicular burglaries lies 
in treatment for drug addiction, not in increased penalties.
Increasing the penalties for even first-time offenders would 
dramatically increase the number of felons in Texas each 
year, and making this crime to a felony would stigmatize 
more Texans, making it more difficult for them to find 
employment and safe housing while not addressing the 
underlying reasons for this offense.  

Other opponents said 

 The prison system in Texas already is nearing capacity 
and could not bear the burden of hundreds, possibly 
thousands, of additional felons entering the system each 
year. It would make more sense to focus on repeat offenders 
and enhance the penalty in those cases than to raise the 
penalty for all cases, including first offenses.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the March 29 Daily 
Floor Report.

 A related bill, HB 1324 by Pena, which would have 
increased the penalty for third and subsequent offenses of 
burglarizing a vehicle from a class A misdemeanor to a 
state jail felony (180 days to two years in a state jail and an 
optional fine of up to $10,000), passed in the House on April 
20 but died in the Senate Criminal Justice Committee along 
with HB 151.
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 HB 164 restricts the sale of over-the-counter 
products containing ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, or 
norpseudoephedrine to pharmacies and to licensed non-
pharmacies. It does not apply to the sale of liquid products 
containing these chemicals. Any business that sells such 
products in solid form is required to display them either 
behind the counter or in a locked case. In deciding whether 
to issue a license to a non-pharmacy, the Department of 
State Health Services (DSHS) must consider whether the 
business sells a variety of medicines and whether it employs 
measures to deter the theft of products containing ephedrine, 
pseudoephedrine, or norpseudoephedrine. 

 A person who wishes to purchase products containing 
these chemicals must show a driver’s license, be at least 16 
years of age, and sign for the purchase. The store must keep 
a record of the sale that includes the name of the customer, 
the date of purchase, and the amount of pseudoephedrine 
or related substances purchased. The store must limit a 
customer’s single-transaction purchase of pseudoephedrine 
or related substances to either two packages or six grams. 
Violation of the laws regulating the sale of ephedrine, 
pseudoephedrine, or norpseudoephedrine may result in an 
administrative penalty of up to $10,000. Any wholesaler 
who furnishes products containing these chemicals to 
retailers must make available to the Department of Public 
Safety (DPS) all records of such transactions and must 
notify DPS of any order for a suspicious quantity of such 
products. 

 A Department of Family and Protective Services 
employee, a law enforcement officer, or a juvenile probation 
officer may take possession of a child if the child’s parent 
or a person who had possession of the child permitted 
the child to remain on premises used for the manufacture 
of methamphetamine. Such an action could lead to a 
conviction of abandoning or endangering a child, punishable 
as a state-jail felony (180 days to two years in a state jail and 
an optional fine of up to $10,000).

 Any wholesale distributor of either prescription or 
nonprescription drugs must obtain a wholesale drug 
distribution license from DSHS. The department may refuse 

Restricting the sale of products used to manufacture 
methamphetamines
HB 164 by Berman
Effective August 1, 2005 

an application or suspend or revoke a license if the applicant 
or licensee created or sold a counterfeit drug or violated the 
Texas Controlled Substances Act or the Texas Dangerous 
Drugs Act.

 Possession or transport of anhydrous ammonia in 
violation of procedures delineated in HB 164 is a third-
degree felony (two to 10 years in prison and an optional fine 
of up to $10,000).

Supporters said

 HB 164 would restrict the ability of a person to 
obtain large quantities of chemicals necessary in the 
process of manufacturing methamphetamine. Ephedrine, 
pseudoephedrine, and norpseudoephedrine normally 
are obtained within the United States by chemically 
processing cold tablets. The number of meth labs operating 
in Oklahoma has decreased dramatically since that state 
began regulating the purchase of products containing such 
chemicals. Texas could achieve similar success in reducing 
the manufacture of methamphetamine by adopting such 
measures.

 Methamphetamine abuse has become an enormous 
problem in Texas, hitting rural areas the hardest. This 
drug is highly addictive and inexpensive to make, and 
methamphetamine addicts have very low rates of recovery, 
even with full drug rehabilitation treatment. Addicts often 
manufacture the drug themselves by combining with other 
common chemicals pseudoephedrine or related substances 
from cold tablets. The manufacturing process involves 
highly combustible substances – explosions in meth labs 
are common, and cleaning up a meth lab is hazardous and 
can cost between $45,000 and $50,000. The fumes and 
chemical residue produced by the manufacturing process are 
highly dangerous, especially to the children of addicts who 
often are exposed to such chemicals. Police frequently find 
children in meth labs, and children of methamphetamine 
addicts are much more likely to be neglected and physically 
and sexually abused.
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 HB 164 would allow cold and allergy sufferers to 
continue to purchase products containing pseudoephedrine 
and related substances and would not penalize people who 
purchase such products for legal use. It would require 
only common sense regulations that have been adopted 
by other states and have proven effective in reducing the 
manufacture of methamphetamine. While the bill would 
not affect pseudoephedrine or related substances imported 
illegally from Mexico, it would take an important first step 
in decreasing the number of meth labs and the amount of the 
drug available in Texas. 

Opponents said

 Products containing pseudoephedrine or related 
substances are very effective in combating allergy and cold 
symptoms, helping millions of people lead productive lives. 
Regulating products containing pseudoephedrine or related 
substances by requiring purchasers to sign a log could 
discourage people from making legitimate purchases, which 
might injure pharmaceutical companies or result in other 
unintended consequences. The existence of such logs also 
could result in the abuse of purchasers’ personal information 
and privacy. 

 Only a very small percentage of people who purchase 
products containing such chemicals do so in order to 
produce methamphetamine. Tightly regulating sales of such 
products in the hopes of targeting this minority would be 
unfair to the majority of people who purchase those products 
for legal use. People who live in rural areas many miles 
away from pharmacies legitimately may need to buy large 
quantities of cold and allergy products, which this bill would 
not allow.

Other opponents said

 People who manufacture methamphetamine using 
products purchased in the United States that contain 
pseudoephedrine or related substances typically run 
small labs and are producing mainly to satisfy their own 
addictions. The largest manufacturers illegally obtain such 
chemicals from Mexico, and the bill would not target those 
large-scale manufacturers. 

 Currently, only ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, or 
norpseudoephedrine contained in a solid form can be used 
to manufacture methamphetamine. However, it possible that 
one day manufacturers of methamphetamine may learn how 
to extract these chemicals from liquid preparations, so the 
bill also should regulate the sale of liquid products.

 Instead of simply targeting the production of 
methamphetamine, the Legislature should attempt to reduce 
demand for the drug by expanding treatment programs 
and increasing public awareness about the dangers of 
methamphetamine.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the May 12 Daily 
Floor Report.

 SB 66 by Nelson, effective September 1, 2005, 
establishes the Methamphetamine Watch Program, 
administered by DSHS, which is designed to:

educate retailers about the problems associated 
with methamphetamine use and production 
and how to deter theft or improper purchase of 
products containing ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, or 
norpseudoephedrine; 
inform farmers and retailers about the use 
of anhydrous ammonia in the production of 
methamphetamine and how to deter theft of 
anhydrous ammonia;
prevent methamphetamine use among school-age 
children and help parents and teachers identify kids 
who might be using the drug; and
require DSHS to work with DPS to protect children 
exposed to methamphetamine or the chemicals used 
in its production.

•

•

•

•
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Qualifications of appointed counsel for indigent defendants in capital 
cases 

 HB 268, as adopted by the House in the conference 
committee report, would have established separate 
requirements for attorneys appointed for the trial and 
the direct appeal stages of death penalty cases involving 
indigent defendants. It also would have changed the 
qualifications for attorneys to be appointed at the trial and 
appellate stages. 

 The bill would have allowed prosecutors, and others 
who are not now eligible, to be appointed as lead attorneys 
by eliminating the current requirement that appointed 
attorneys have tried a significant number of felony cases 
to a verdict as lead defense counsel. Instead, attorneys 
appointed as lead counsel would have to have tried felony 
cases to a verdict as either a lead prosecutor or lead defense 
counsel. The bill also would have removed a requirement 
that appointed attorneys, both lead and appellate, have 
experience investigating and presenting mitigating evidence 
at the penalty phase of a death penalty trial. HB 268 
would have required experience for lead attorneys in the 
presentation or cross examination of mitigating evidence 
at the penalty phase of a homicide trial. Appeals attorneys 
would have to have participated in the presentation of 
appellate briefs or in the drafting of appellate opinions as 
an attorney for an appeals court in felony cases, including 
homicide and other capital or first or second-degree felonies. 

 HB 268 also would have authorized the Task Force on 
Indigent Defense to set guidelines for attorneys appointed 
in habeas corpus appeals and eliminated the current 
requirement that the Court of Criminal Appeals adopt rules 
for the appointment of these attorneys. The bill listed some 
qualifications the guidelines could have included. The Task 
Force would have been required to determine on a case-by-
case basis whether attorneys were qualified for appointment. 
The Task Force would have had to keep a list of attorneys 
qualified for appointments in habeas proceedings, which 
could have been reviewed annually by the Court of Criminal 
Appeals.  
 
 The bill would have prohibited the appointment of 
attorneys found to have rendered ineffective assistance of 
counsel during the trial or appeal of any capital case. 

HB 268 by Keel
Died in the Senate  

Supporters said 

 HB 268 would raise the bar on indigent defense by 
changing the qualifications required of defense attorneys 
appointed to death penalty cases so more capable, skilled 
attorneys could qualify for appointments. Current law does 
not distinguish among skills necessary for trial, appeal, and 
habeas corpus proceedings, although each requires a unique 
set of skills and experience. HB 268 would require skills 
and experience unique to the appellate and trial stages of 
defense. It also would address the problem of an insufficient 
number of qualified attorneys to represent indigent capital 
defendants by expanding the available pool of qualified 
attorneys. The bill would retain the requirement that an 
appointed attorney exhibit proficiency and commitment 
to providing quality representation to defendants in death 
penalty cases.   

 HB 268 would improve current requirements for 
appointed attorneys by removing the meaningless 
requirement for experience in a “significant number” of 
felony cases and specifically outlining other standards that 
would have to be met. Allowing former prosecutors to serve 
as defense counsel would not weaken current law because 
prosecutors can have valuable experience and skills that 
defense attorneys lack. A former prosecutor also may be 
able to foresee how another prosecutor would think and 
anticipate a prosecutor’s strategy and how a prosecutor 
would cross-examine a witness. Current law requiring 
attorneys to have presented mitigating evidence in a 
death penalty trial unnecessarily excludes many qualified 
attorneys. HB 268 would address this by allowing the 
appointment of attorneys who have been involved with 
mitigating evidence in the penalty phase of a homicide trial. 
Both types of trials are essentially the same in the type of 
evidence that is presented. 

 While outlining high standards for defense in a habeas 
proceeding and authorizing the Task Force to adopt 
guidelines for appointed attorneys could potentially result 
in Texas being declared an “opt-in” state and in shorter 
deadlines for habeas proceedings in federal courts, this 
ultimately is a federal decision and not a good reason for 
failing to improve standards. Texas has a duty to provide the 
best representation possible, regardless of federal law.  
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 HB 268 also would transfer the responsibility for 
maintaining a list of qualified attorneys to the Task Force on 
Indigent Defense, which would be better equipped to gauge 
the quality and effectiveness of eligible attorneys.

Opponents said 

 Expanding the pool of available counsel for 
appointment in death penalty cases would not guarantee a 
larger pool of qualified attorneys. The better route would be 
to require an attorney to develop skills by serving as second 
chair in a death penalty trial before acting as lead defense 
counsel.

 HB 268 would weaken minimum standards for 
attorneys defending capital crimes and could result in more 
inferior lawyers being appointed in death penalty cases. For 
example, removing the current requirement that appointed 
trial attorneys have tried a significant number of cases as 
lead defense counsel could result in the appointment of 
lawyers with little or no experience. This bill also could 
result in the appointment of lawyers whose only experience 
was as a prosecutor and who may lack crucial experience 
in unique and key aspects of defense in capital trials. For 
example, an important role of the defense counsel is to 
humanize the defendant by developing and presenting the 
client’s social history, a skill that can take years to develop. 
While a former prosecutor may have excellent trial skills, 
a prosecutor’s job is to dehumanize the defendant, and 

after doing so for many years, an attorney could become 
entrenched in this role. By eliminating a requirement that 
those handling the punishment phase of a trial and an appeal 
have defense experience in death penalty cases, the bill 
would increase the likelihood that trials or appeals would be 
inadequate.

 If the Task Force were to establish a certain type of 
mandatory guidelines under HB 268 for appointments in 
habeas proceedings, Texas could qualify as an “opt-in” state, 
which would shorten the time for filing a habeas petition 
and limit federal courts’ authority to intervene by granting 
execution stays. Under federal law, when a state statutory 
scheme for representation of indigent capital defendants 
meets certain standards, federal law shortens deadlines in the 
federal post-conviction proceedings.  

Notes 

 The HRO analysis appeared in the March 17 Daily 
Floor Report.

 SB 60 by Lucio and HB 1701 by Keel, effective 
September 1, 2005, prohibit the appointment of a lead 
attorney found to have rendered ineffective assistance of 
counsel during the trial, appeal, or habeas proceeding of any 
death penalty case.



Page 28 House Research Organization

HB 1068 by Driver
Effective September 1, 2005

Creating the Texas Forensic Science Commission

 HB 1068 creates the Texas Forensic Science 
Commission to investigate allegations of professional 
negligence or misconduct that substantially would affect the 
integrity of the results of a forensic analysis conducted by 
an accredited laboratory, facility, or entity. The commission 
also is charged with developing and implementing a system 
to report professional negligence and misconduct and with 
requiring all labs and other entities that conduct forensic 
analyses to report professional negligence or misconduct to 
the commission. The commission comprises nine members, 
of which the governor appoints four, the lieutenant governor 
appoints three, and the attorney general appoints two. HB 
1068 requires that many of these appointments have specific 
types of expertise or hold certain faculty positions at Texas 
universities. 

 HB 1068 also gives the Department of Public Safety 
(DPS) more authority to inspect crime labs and DNA labs in 
Texas. It authorizes DPS to enter and inspect the premises of 
an accredited crime lab or one seeking accreditation and to 
audit a lab’s records, reports, procedures, and other quality 
assurance matters. The bill expands DPS’ current authority 
to inspect the premises and audit the procedures of DNA 
labs that provide DNA records or forensic analysis to DPS. 
The department also can audit the records, reports, and other 
quality assurance matters of DNA labs that provide DNA 
records to DPS or that conduct forensic analysis.

 The bill also expands who must contribute samples 
for the state DNA database by requiring a sample from 
all persons confined in the Texas Department of Criminal 
Justice system and from all juvenile offenders adjudicated 
of felonies who are committed to the Texas Youth 
Commission.

Supporters said

 HB 1068 would be another step in addressing problems 
with the state’s crime labs. Creating an independent, expert 
body to investigate problems and misconduct at the labs 
would help ensure the quality of their work and maintain the 
integrity of evidence used in criminal trials. The bill would 
allow legislation enacted by the 78th Legislature to require 

accreditation of crime labs in Texas to come to fruition 
with the newly created commission providing a check and 
balance to the accreditation process. An independent entity 
divorced from DPS and local officials is necessary to ensure 
that problems and misconduct are handled appropriately and 
impartially. 

 The bill also would address some problems identified 
since 2003 by putting more teeth into the law that requires 
crime labs to be accredited and would clarify provisions 
in that law. HB 1068 would expand DPS’ audit and 
inspection powers so that DPS could examine a lab if it 
lost its accreditation or evaluate a situation at an accredited 
lab and determine if further agency or accreditation action 
were necessary. It also would expand the state’s inspection 
authority over DNA labs to include records, reports, and 
other quality assurance matters and would ensure that 
DPS could enter and inspect private labs and labs that 
had lost their accreditation. The state currently does not 
have authority to enter private labs, even though it has an 
obligation to regulate them. 

Opponents said

 It is unnecessary to establish a new commission to 
oversee the allegations of problems or misconduct at 
crime labs. DPS has authority to look into accredited labs, 
and local officials are in the best position to undertake 
investigations into problems at local labs. There is no need 
to create a new state entity to oversee crime labs when DPS 
has the experience and expertise to perform this duty.

Other opponents said

 HB 1068 would not go far enough in addressing the 
state’s need for independent crime labs. It also should 
establish regional crime labs so that work done by the 
state’s crime labs would be subject to scrutiny by an outside, 
independent entity and would be divorced from local law 
enforcement agencies and DPS.
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Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 9 
Daily Floor Report.

 The provisions creating the Texas Forensic Science 
Commission were added to HB 1068 through an 
amendment by Sen. Juan Hinojosa on the Senate floor. 
SB 1263 by Whitmire, which was approved by the House 
Law Enforcement Committee and sent to the Calendars 
Committee, also would have created the Texas Forensic 
Science Commission and given it the same duties as those in 
HB 1068. 

 HB 1788 by Bailey, which died in the House Law 
Enforcement Committee, would have required DPS to 
designate existing laboratories as regional DNA labs if a 
lab accredited by DPS did not exist in that region. These 
regional labs would have been authorized to collect a fee for 
performing forensic analysis. 
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HB 2193 by Madden
Vetoed by the governor

Revising the community supervision (probation) system

 HB 2193 would have revised the state’s community 
supervision (probation) system and, in general, would have 
applied to persons on probation on or after September 1, 
2005, regardless of when the person initially was placed on 
probation. The reduction in the maximum probation terms 
would have applied only to those placed on probation on or 
after September 1, 2005.

 Length of probation terms. HB 2193 would have 
reduced from 10 years to five years the initial probation 
and deferred adjudication terms that judges could impose 
for third-degree felonies that were not “3g” or sex offenses. 
(“3g” offenses are certain violent and serious crimes listed 
in Code of Criminal Procedure, art. 42.12, sec. 3g.) These 
probation terms could have been extended up to 10 years 
through a maximum of five one-year extensions. HB 2193 
would have kept the 10-year maximum period of probation 
and deferred adjudication for offenders guilty of  “3g” 
felony offenses, offenses that result in a person having 
to register as a sex offender, and first- and second-degree 
felonies. 

 HB 2193 would not have changed the minimum or 
maximum probation terms for state-jail felons. The bill 
would have repealed certain minimums, maximums, and 
extensions for probation terms that could be given to some 
sex offenders. It would have expanded the current mandate 
that some low-level state jail drug offenders be placed on 
probation to include state-jail felons with previous state-jail 
drug offenses that were punished as misdemeanors. HB 
2193 would have prohibited a person convicted of murder 
from receiving jury-recommended probation.

 Mandatory review for possible reduction or 
termination of probation. Judges would have been required 
to review defendants’ records and consider whether to 
reduce or terminate probation after defendants had served 
one-half of their sentences. Judges would have retained their 
current authority to reduce or terminate probation terms after 
the lesser of one-third of the term or two years. 

 Judges would not have had to review defendants’ 
records if defendants were delinquent in paying restitution, 
fines, costs, or fees that they had the ability to pay or if they 
had not completed court-ordered counseling or treatment. 
Judges could not have refused to terminate probation solely 

on the grounds that a defendant was indigent and unable to 
pay restitution, fines, costs, or fees.

 HB 2193 would have applied provisions on early 
termination to state jail felons but made “3g” defendants 
ineligible for early termination and continued the prohibition 
on early termination for offenders subject to the state’s sex 
offender registration laws.

 Giving credit against a sentence. HB 2193 would 
have made changes in the laws governing when judges had 
to give probationers credit for time spent in court-ordered 
residential treatment programs or facilities. 

 Community service. The bill would have given judges 
discretion about whether to require probationers to perform 
community service, instead of the current mandate requiring 
all defendants to do so. 

 Drug courts. HB 2193 would have required more 
counties to establish drug courts, but the requirement 
would have taken effect only if a county received federal 
or state funding for the courts. The requirement to establish 
drug courts would have been applied to counties with 
populations of at least 200,000, instead of the current 
550,000. The bill would have authorized a new $50 fee to 
fund the state’s drug courts, which would have been charged 
to defendants convicted of driving while intoxicated and 
other intoxication, alcoholic beverage, and drug offenses. 
Counties would have been able to keep 10 percent of the 
fee. 

Supporters said 

 HB 2193 would create a stronger and more effective 
probation/community supervision system that better 
supervised and rehabilitated probationers, which would 
enhance public safety. This could encourage judges to place 
appropriate offenders on probation, rather than sending them 
to prison, and could result in fewer probationers being sent 
to prison after having their probations revoked. 

 The changes made in HB 2193, in conjunction with 
additional funding provided in the general appropriations 
bill for fiscal 2006-07, would give judges more community 
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resources to do a better job of handling probationers. The 
budget would fund about 500 local beds, which would serve 
about 1,500 offenders per year and 3,000 over the biennium, 
to be used for residential treatment and for sanctioning 
offenders. Some $7.2 million would fund outpatient 
substance abuse treatment for about 2,000 offenders per 
year or 4,000 for the biennium. About $28.2 million would 
provide funds to local probation departments for 350 to 400 
new probation officers so that the average direct supervision 
caseload could be reduced from 116 cases per probation 
officer to about 95 cases per officer. 

 Length of probation terms. HB 2193 would allow for 
shorter, but more intense, probation terms for some felons, 
which would result in more judicial involvement and more 
meaningful probation oversight and would improve public 
safety. Judges would be able to extend probation terms for 
third-degree felonies to up to 10 years. HB 2193 would not 
shorten terms for the more serious and violent “3g” offenses 
and sex offenses. For many of the  third-degree felonies that 
would fall under the provisions of HB 2193 – for example, 
assaulting a peace officer – there are different degrees of the 
offense, and probation already is an option in these cases. A 
defendant who seriously assaults a peace officer or commits 
another serious offense most likely would not – and should 
not – receive probation. 

 HB 2193 more closely would align some of Texas’ 
probation terms with those in other states. According to a 
2002 report, Texas probation terms were about 67 percent 
longer than the national average, with a Texas average of 67 
months compared to a national average of 40 months. 

 Mandatory review for possible reduction or 
termination of probation. HB 2193 would ensure that 
judicial involvement with probationers was increased 
and that judges took a critical look at all probationers by 
instituting a required review of a defendant’s probation. 
This would give judges a formal opportunity to release 
from probation those defendants who were doing a good 
job. The bill would not institute a bias toward early release 
because judges would retain full authority to continue 
under supervision any offender for whom they deemed 
it appropriate. Although current law authorizes judges to 
review probationers, it would be better to have a requirement 
for review so all cases were examined. Public safety would 
be protected by making those convicted of “3g” offenses 
and sex crimes ineligible for early termination. Probation 
officers could concentrate on supervising those offenders 
who needed closer watching and on trying to find those who 
had absconded from probation. 

 Giving credit against a sentence. HB 2193 would 
provide judges with more flexibility to give defendants 
credit against a sentence for time spent in court-ordered 
treatment programs. This is only fair since the time spent in 
the program is court-ordered and analogous to time spent in 
jail. Judges have discretion to deal with offenders who have 
not become rehabilitated through treatment programs. 

 Community service. HB 2193 would give judges 
more discretion and flexibility in assigning community 
service. It is more important that judges have authority to 
make decisions on a case-by-case basis about imposing 
community service than to have a uniform statewide 
requirement. Defendants who would benefit from 
community service still could be required to perform it, and 
local governments and charities could continue to use that 
service. 

 Drug courts. HB 2193 would expand the state’s 
successful drug court programs so that more probationers 
could take advantage of the opportunities they afford. HB 
2193 would not be an unfunded mandate because the bill 
would make this requirement take effect only if the county 
received state or federal funding for the courts. Lowering to 
200,000 the population threshold for requiring counties to 
have drug courts would take in 13 additional counties, six of 
which already have drug courts, and bring the state total to 
20 counties. HB 2193 would enable the state to fund these 
new drug courts through a new $50 fee.

Opponents said 

 HB 2193 could result in more – not fewer – criminals 
being sent to state prisons and could compromise public 
safety if defendants did not receive adequate, long-term 
supervision. Shorter probation terms for some felons and 
a mechanism for early release from probation would make 
probation a less attractive option in many cases, which 
could result in defendants being sentenced directly to prison. 
Many of the changes in HB 2193 would be unnecessary 
because judges already have authority to do these things but 
choose not to.

 Not enough study has been done of the effect that 
proposed changes such as early release would have on the 
state. HB 2193 could create a system biased toward early 
release of offenders as a way to address a lack of state 
resources and growth in the prison population similar to 
the one employed decades ago when the state’s parole rate 
peaked at almost 80 percent. That resulted in increased 
crime, which preceded the state’s massive prison expansion 
program.
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 Length of probation terms. Reducing the maximum 
length of probation terms for some offenders would upset 
the state’s current sentencing dynamics. Long probation 
terms can help ensure that a defendant is rehabilitated and 
not a danger to the public. Without this option, prosecutors 
could be less inclined to agree to probation in some cases, 
which could lead to more direct prison sentences. Some 
third-degree felonies that would be subject to the shorter 
probation terms are serious crimes such as assault on a peace 
officer.

 Mandatory review for possible reduction or 
termination of probation. It is unnecessary to require judges 
to review probationers upon completion of half of their 
terms. Current law allows judges to review offenders at their 
own discretion and to reduce or terminate a probation term 
after one-third of the original term, or two years, whichever 
is less. The mandatory review established in HB 2193 would 
contribute to distortions in the state’s sentencing dynamics. 
Because many prosecutors would assume up front that any 
term of probation could or would be cut in half, they could 
be less willing to place people on probation and work for 
more direct prison sentences. The bill would expand this 
review requirement to misdemeanor probations, which 
could burden misdemeanor courts without saving the state 
any money since misdemeanants who have their probation 
revoked go to county jails.  

 Giving credit against a sentence. HB 2193 would 
infringe on judicial discretion by requiring judges to 
give credit to defendants for time spent in court-ordered 
residential programs or facilities in some situations. It would 
be better to give judges authority to make these decisions on 
a case-by-case basis without a mandate. Mandatory credit 
also could lead to instances in which credit was given to 
someone who wasted limited treatment resources and did 
not become rehabilitated.

 Community service. Eliminating the requirement for 
mandatory community service for probationers could result 
in disparate treatment of defendants from court to court. 
Community service helps rehabilitate offenders and can 
help local governments and charities get much-needed work 
done. 

 Drug courts. The state should not mandate that any 
counties establish drug courts. It would be better to authorize 
or encourage the courts but not to institute something that 
could become an unfunded mandate in the future.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
12 Daily Floor Report. 
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 SB 60 institutes “life without parole” as a possible 
sentence in death penalty cases and eliminates “life” 
sentences as an option for capital murder. In capital murder 
cases in which the state seeks the death penalty, a person 
found guilty must be sentenced either to life without parole 
or death. In capital murder cases in which the state does not 
seek the death penalty, the sentence must be life without 
parole. Capital felons sentenced by a judge rather than a jury 
must receive life without parole. Those serving sentences of 
life without parole are not eligible for release on parole or on 
medically recommended intensive supervision. 

 SB 60 also changes from 17 to 18 years old the 
minimum age that a defendant must be when a capital 
murder is committed for the death penalty to be imposed.  

Supporters said 

 Juries in capital murder cases now are limited to a 
choice of death or a life sentence that carries a possibility of 
parole – not always acceptable alternatives. Under the bill, 
juries could reserve the death penalty for the most heinous 
cases, while ensuring that other criminals stayed behind bars 
for life. Life without parole would allow a more appropriate 
sentence when the crime was heinous but for other reasons 
the prosecutor did not seek the death penalty. 

 Life without parole also would apply when an offender 
committed a capital murder while under age 18. Since the 
U.S. Supreme Court banned execution of such offenders, 
only a life sentence is available for these cases in Texas. SB 
60 would change the minimum age for an offender to be 
given the death penalty so that the Texas statutes comply 
with the U.S. Supreme Court ban on the execution of 
persons who committed their offense when younger than 18.

 Life without parole would not mislead victims’ families 
or the public because it would mean just what it says – that 
offenders would spend the rest of their lives in prison. 
Concerns that a person sentenced to life without parole 
would be released under clemency or a prison management 
act are far-fetched. 

 There is no evidence that allowing a sentence of life 
without parole would dilute the death penalty or lead to its 
demise. The procedures for imposing a sentence of death 

SB 60 by Lucio
Effective September 1, 2005

Life without parole for capital murder and eliminating life sentences

or life in prison in capital cases would not be changed, so 
the changes proposed by SB 60 would not generate court 
challenges that could jeopardize Texas’ death penalty 
system. 

 Texans support life without parole. A fall 2004 survey 
by the Scripps Howard Texas Poll reported that 78 percent 
of those surveyed favored creating a sentence of life without 
parole. SB 60 would bring Texas in line with the federal 
government and 36 of the 38 states with the death penalty 
that have a sentence of life without parole.
 
 The Texas Department of Criminal Justice has the 
expertise and resources to manage a prison population 
sentenced to life without parole. Studies have shown that 
these offenders do not pose a disproportionate risk of 
violence in prison.

 It would be unwise for Texas to have three capital 
murder sentencing options – death, life without parole, and 
a life sentence. Jurors easily could be confused over when to 
impose each type of sentence. 

Opponents said 

 SB 60 is unnecessary because the options already 
available to Texas juries in capital cases punish offenders 
adequately and protect the public. Texas now has a statute 
that effectively is life without parole. Capital murderers 
sentenced to life imprisonment face 40 years of calendar 
time in prison before they are eligible for parole, and being 
eligible does not guarantee release. Two-thirds of the Board 
of Pardons and Paroles must approve an eligible capital 
felon’s release, an unlikely scenario in light of the tough 
parole policies of the last decade. 

 SB 60 would be misleading and would give only the 
illusion of comfort to victims because it would not guarantee 
that a person would never be released from prison. 
Releases due to court decisions, medical parole, executive 
clemency, or a prison management act designed to reduce 
overcrowding could lead to those given life without parole 
getting out of prison.

 SB 60 inappropriately could replace the death penalty 
or weaken the state’s death penalty scheme if judges and 
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juries consistently sentenced capital offenders to life without 
parole. But life without parole would be inadequate for the 
most heinous crimes. While the sentence might satisfy one 
purpose of the death penalty – protecting society – it would 
not serve other functions, such as deterring crime and giving 
closure to victims’ families and friends. Procedures used 
in Texas to determine punishment in capital murder cases 
have been well litigated and established and may not easily 
withstand change.

 Comparisons to the experiences of other states with 
sentences of life without parole are not valid. Other states 
have small death rows and few, if any, states execute as 
many people as Texas. Also, SB 60 could result in problems 
with prison management. Being unable to use parole as an 
incentive for good behavior could be difficult and expensive. 

Other opponents said 

 Texas should have three options for sentences in 
capital murder cases – death, life without parole, and life in 
prison. This would give juries maximum flexibility to tailor 
sentences to individual crimes and offenders. SB 60 would 
not give juries any flexibility when the jury had decided 
against the death penalty but thought a defendant deserved 
at least a remote possibility of release later in life.  

 
Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
23 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 122 by Hinojosa
Effective September 1, 2005

Prohibitions against identity theft

 SB 122 prohibits a person from obtaining, possessing, 
transferring, or using the personal identifying information 
of another without the other’s consent and with intent to 
obtain a good, service, insurance, extension of credit, or any 
other thing of value. It requires peace officers who receive 
reports of criminal violations involving the fraudulent use 
or possession of identifying information to make a written 
report. Businesses must implement and maintain procedures 
to prevent the unlawful use of personal identifying 
information that they collect. In addition, businesses must 
destroy customer records that they are not retaining that 
contain personal identifying information. 

 A person or business is required to disclose any 
unauthorized acquisition of computerized data that 
compromises the security, confidentiality, or integrity of 
sensitive personal information. The security breach must be 
disclosed to people whose sensitive personal information 
was acquired, or reasonably believed to have been acquired, 
by an unauthorized person. A person who was injured by 
a security breach or has filed a complaint alleging criminal 
identity theft can file an application with a district court to 
be declared a “victim” of identity theft, defined as a person 
whose identifying information was used by an unauthorized 
person. A violation of a provision in SB 122 can be punished 
by a civil penalty ranging from $2,000 to $50,000. 

Supporters said

 SB 122 would address a problem some identity theft 
victims encounter in obtaining police reports by requiring 
law enforcement authorities to make written reports about 
these crimes. Police reports often are necessary to trigger 
other actions or protections for victims, and without these 
reports, it can be difficult for victims to convince creditors 
that they should not be held responsible for unauthorized 
purchases.

 A specific provision prohibiting identity theft and 
placing requirements on businesses is needed in the 
Business and Commerce Code so that identity theft can be 
battled on all fronts. It is not unusual for the state to prohibit 
in the civil codes something that is also a crime. This helps 
to serve as an additional deterrent and gives enforcement of 
the laws more teeth. 

 SB 122 would help protect individuals by specifically 
requiring businesses to safeguard personal information, 
to destroy certain information, and to notify consumers 
about breaches in the security of computerized data. Self-
regulation of the industry has not worked, and individuals 
can take action to protect their bank accounts, credit 
rating, and identity if they learn quickly that their personal 
information may have fallen into the wrong hands. The 
prevalence of identity theft makes it essential that all 
businesses, even small ones, safeguard personal information. 
The requirements in SB 122 would be reasonable and would 
not burden businesses or significantly increase their costs. 
Consumers who are victims of identity theft carry a far 
larger burden than any cost that may be passed on to them 
as a result of SB 122. Businesses also accrue costs due to 
identity theft and already pass these on to consumers.  

 SB 122 also would establish procedures and definitions 
so that victims could receive a court order naming them as 
victims, which would help them in challenging financial 
transactions and in establishing their identities for criminal 
law purposes. In some cases, individuals have reported 
difficulties in having law enforcement authorities, credit 
bureaus, and others involved with personal information 
consider them victims because such entities tend to consider 
merchants that have been defrauded as the only victims. 

 The bill would hold businesses accountable if they did 
not adequately safeguard personal information by allowing 
the imposition of civil penalties. It includes a wide range 
of penalties, from $2,000 to $50,000, to give the courts 
flexibility to assess an appropriate penalty based on various 
factors, such as the nature of a violation and the size of a 
business.

Opponents said

 The state should not dictate decisions about when to 
generate police reports, which is best left to the discretion of 
officers who can determine the merits of each case.

 It is unnecessary to place in the Business and 
Commerce Code what already is a crime in the Penal Code 
– obtaining, possessing, transferring, or using another’s 
information without authorization. The requirements 
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for handling information and notification about security 
breaches that SB 122 would impose on businesses could be 
interpreted by some businesses as a new mandate that might 
increase business costs, which in the long run would be 
borne by consumers. New mandates especially burden small 
businesses.

 The penalties authorized by the bill could be too 
onerous in some situations. The range for the penalties 
is wide, and the imposition of a large penalty on a small 
business for what might be an honest oversight could be too 
harsh.

Notes

 The HRO analysis of the companion bill, HB 1321 by 
Giddings, appeared in Part Two of the May 11 Daily Floor 
Report.

 Numerous other bills dealing with identity theft were 
considered by the 79th Legislature, including:

 HB 699 by McCall (effective September 1) increases 
the penalty from a class B misdemeanor to a class A 
misdemeanor for displaying or possessing a driver’s license 
or certificate that is fictitious, altered, or belongs to another 
individual. The penalty also is increased for possessing 
more than one currently valid driver’s license or certificate, 
lending one of these documents to another person, or 
applying for one of these documents using false information. 
If a minor presents false identification in an attempt to 
purchase alcoholic beverages, the severity of the penalty 
would be governed by separate provisions in the Alcoholic 
Beverage Code.

 HB 1323 by Swinford (effective September 1) makes 
it an offense to possess, rather than sign or write one’s name 
on, another individual’s credit or debit card without the 
individual’s effective consent and with intent to use it. The 
offense is a state-jail felony (180 days to two years in a state 
jail and an optional fine of up to $10,000).

 HB 628 by Giddings (effective September 1) prohibits 
debt collectors from attempting to collect an obligation if a 
transaction was not initiated by an authorized user, and the 
authorized user had filed a report with law enforcement and 
sent the debt collector written notice that the transaction 
was unauthorized. The debt collector may collect on such 
obligations if the collector has credible evidence that the 
report was fraudulent and that the transaction was indeed 
authorized.

 HB 2223 by Giddings and Bohac (effective September 
1) describes procedures by which a customer who has closed 
an account at a financial institution due to identity theft may 
provide the institution certain documentation of the identity 
theft and request that the institution return checks with the 
notation “forgery.” The financial institution would be held 
harmless for acting in accordance with the individual’s 
request and would not be held liable for dishonoring a 
check.

 HB 1379 by J. Jones (effective June 18) makes a 
business record inadmissible in a civil trial if the record was 
provided to a law enforcement agency in connection with 
the investigation of identity theft. If a party seeking to admit 
the record into evidence obtains the record from a source 
other than a law enforcement agency, the record is not 
automatically inadmissible.

 SB 99 by Ellis (effective September 1) prohibits a 
lender from denying or restricting the extension of credit 
solely on the basis that an individual has been a victim 
of identity theft. A creditor who violates this provision is 
subject to license suspension or revocation. An insurer 
authorized to write property and casualty insurance may 
offer and issue coverage for a loss suffered by a policyholder 
as a result of the policyholders’ being a victim of identity 
theft or attempted identity theft.
 
 HB 345 by Solomons (effective June 17) prohibits 
a voter registrar or other county official with access to 
information furnished on a voter registration application 
from posting the following on a web site – a telephone 
number, a Social Security number, a date of birth, or the 
number on a driver’s license or personal identification card.

 HB 607 by Giddings (effective June 1, 2006) prohibits 
a check provider, such as a check-printing company or bank, 
from delivering check-form orders by courier to unattended 
addresses without the consent of customers. The bill allows 
for the imposition of a $1,000 civil penalty per violation.  

 HB 698 by McCall (effective September 1) requires 
businesses that have personal identifying information of 
customers in their records to shred, erase, or modify them 
upon disposal and authorizes a civil penalty of up to $500 
per record. The bill exempts insurers subject to laws in the 
Insurance Code on privacy of health information as well as 
financial institutions that are required to maintain certain 
financial records for five years under the Gramm-Leach-
Bliley Act, a federal law that combats money-laundering and 
other crimes.        
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 HB 853 by Solomons (effective September 1) requires 
merchants to use Social Security and driver’s license 
numbers only for identification purposes in the course of 
accepting returned merchandise from customers without 
receipts. Each violation of this provision can be punished by 
a civil penalty of up to $500.  
 
 HB 982 by Reyna (effective September 1) requires 
restaurants and bars to post signs on their premises warning 
employees that the fraudulent use of debit or credit cards 
is a state-jail felony. Failure to comply with the posting 
requirements can be punished by a fine of $25.   

 HB 1855 by Giddings (effective September 1) directs a 
business that accepts checks from customers to delete, in the 
event of receiving an unauthorized bad check, any electronic 
record, except for the customer’s checking account number 
or bank routing number, indicating that a customer had 
issued a dishonored check. The business must delete such 
records within 30 days after the date that the customer 
demonstrated to the business that the dishonored check was 
unauthorized. Failure to comply with these provisions may 
result in a civil penalty of up to $1,000. The bill exempts 
financial institutions subject to the federal Gramm-Leach-
Bliley Act.
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Requiring written, oral permission for police to conduct consent 
searches  

 SB 1195 would have prohibited peace officers who 
stop motor vehicles for alleged violations of the law from 
searching the vehicle unless the officer:

had probable cause or another legal basis for the 
search;
conducted a search for weapons based on an 
articulation of a reasonable fear for the officer’s 
safety or the safety of others;
obtained the written consent of the vehicle’s 
operator on a form that complied with provisions of 
the bill; or
obtained the oral consent of the vehicle’s operator 
and ensured that the oral consent was recorded in 
compliance with the bill.

 DPS would have established requirements for the 
written consent form and for the audio and video recordings 
in line with the minimum requirements set forth in the bill. 
The written form and the recording would have included 
a statement that the driver understood that he or she could 
refuse to give consent and a statement that the driver 
voluntarily had given consent to search the vehicle. 

Supporters said 

 SB 1195 is necessary to stop an unproductive law 
enforcement practice that also could be used to inflict 
injustices or unfairly target minorities. Rather than ban 
all consent searches, the bill would take the reasonable 
approach of allowing these searches as long as drivers gave 
their written or oral permission. 

 Many people agree to consent searches because they 
do not understand their right to decline a search, which is 
illustrated by the experiences of law enforcement agencies 
that require written permission for consent searches. In some 
cases, the current approach results in people being harassed 
by law enforcement officers with no justification. SB 1195 
would educate drivers about their rights.

 Consent searches sometimes are used for racial profiling 
by disproportionately targeting minority drivers’ vehicles. 
SB 1195 would help ensure that minority drivers were clear 
about their right to refuse a search.

•

•

•

•

SB 1195 by Hinojosa
Vetoed by the governor

 SB 1195 would not prevent law enforcement officers 
from doing their jobs, and far from impeding their efforts, it 
would help them. It is more difficult for a person to contest a 
vehicle search when an officer has written permission. This 
makes prosecution easier in cases where illegal items are 
found. 

Opponents said 

 In the majority of cases, consent searches are used as a 
law enforcement tool, not as a means of harassment or racial 
profiling. SB 1195 is unnecessary because drivers know 
they have the right to refuse a search and often agree to a 
search in order to cooperate with law enforcement officers. 
The U.S. Supreme Court has ruled that written permission is 
not needed for consent searches and that it is presumed that 
people know they can refuse. 

 Although SB 1195 would not outlaw consent searches, 
the requirements for the consent form are so detailed that 
they could result in a bias toward those who refuse to 
give permission for the search. If people agree to consent 
searches because they do not know that they can refuse, 
a better response would be to educate people about their 
rights.

Other opponents said 

 It would be better to prohibit explicitly all consent 
searches rather than to allow them with written or oral 
permission. Law enforcement still could intimidate drivers, 
intentionally or not, into agreeing to a consent search even 
with the written or oral permission requirement. Searches 
should be based solely on probable cause.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
24 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 1765 by Morrison 
Effective June 14, 2005

Establishing the Texas Emerging Technology Fund

 HB 1765 establishes the Texas Emerging Technology 
Fund (TETF) to finance projects designed to expedite 
innovation, commercialize research, create businesses, 
increase high-quality jobs, and improve research 
capabilities. An entity is eligible for funding if it proposes 
to create new, high-quality jobs in Texas and if its work has 
the potential to result in a medical or scientific breakthrough. 
The following industries are eligible for funding: 
semiconductor; information; computer and software 
technology; energy; manufactured energy systems; micro-
electromechanical systems; nanotechnology; biotechnology; 
medicine; life sciences; petroleum refining and chemical 
processes; aerospace; and defense. 

 The TETF is overseen by the Texas Emerging 
Technology Committee, made up of 17 members appointed 
by the governor. The fund is a dedicated account in the 
general revenue fund that is considered a trusteed program 
within the Office of the Governor. The governor will 
negotiate on behalf of the state in awarding money from 
the fund, with approval from the lieutenant governor and 
the speaker of the House. The bill describes the terms 
of contracts made with entities funded as well as other 
administrative requirements and requires an entity to return 
to the fund any money received if the entity fails to perform 
specific actions guaranteed to provide benefits to the state.

 Fifty percent of the money appropriated to the fund 
by the Legislature is allocated for use as incentives for 
private or nonprofit entities to collaborate with institutions 
of higher education on economic development projects. 
These regional centers of innovation and commercialization 
will be established in Harris, Lubbock, Bexar, and El Paso 
counties, the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex, the Middle 
and Lower Rio Grande Valley, and other locations deemed 
suitable. Twenty-five percent of the money appropriated to 
the fund is allocated for the purpose of matching research 
grants awarded by federal or private sponsors, with a focus 
on partnerships with Texas colleges and universities. The 
remaining 25 percent is allocated for use in creating or 
attracting to Texas world-class or nationally recognized 
researchers in relevant technology fields. 

Supporters said

 The TETF would boost the state’s reputation as a 
global leader in technology. It would foster innovation, 
attract high-quality jobs, and increase research capabilities 
at universities. The plan is an outgrowth of the Governor’s 
Council on Science and Biotechnology Development, and 
the TETF also would dovetail with the governor’s long-term 
strategic job creation plan, which focuses on many of the 
same industry clusters. The TETF would provide economic 
development incentives targeted to emerging technologies 
with the highest job-creation potential rather than requiring 
such projects to compete with more generalized projects 
backed by the Texas Enterprise Fund. 

 Many states, including California, Florida, North 
Carolina, Ohio, and Pennsylvania, are infusing billions of 
dollars into high-tech research and development. Studies 
show that $3 trillion in revenue will be generated worldwide 
by emerging technologies over the next decade. Without 
the TETF, Texas could be left behind. In addition, this 
fund would provide a vital link to close the present market 
funding gap between research and commercialization. Also, 
by attracting outside businesses, the bill would broaden the 
state’s tax base, which would help pay for essential services.  
Entities receiving incentives from the TETF would have 
to guarantee specific benefits to the state or else refund the 
money.

Opponents said

 The Legislature should not approve this new fund until 
it finds money to fund higher priorities, including health 
care and public education. Tax-funded incentive packages 
for businesses are inefficient and often play a minor role 
in relocation and expansion decisions. Instead, tax dollars 
should support job training programs and infrastructure 
improvements that are more generally beneficial for 
promoting economic development.

 The bill should require the governor to submit a report 
outlining a long-range plan for use of the funds. It also 
should include more specific accountability requirements to 
ensure that the incentives produce the promised benefits to 
the state. 
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Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 
10 Daily Floor Report.

 HB 10 by Pitts, the supplemental appropriations bill, 
grants $100 million from the general revenue fund for the 
TETF. Also, if during fiscal 2005-06 the amount in the 
state’s “rainy day fund” exceeds comptroller’s estimate, 
the first $100 million in excess of the estimate will be 
appropriated from that fund to the TETF. 
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HB 1938 by Ritter 
Effective generally September 1, 2005

Reporting and oversight of grants from the Texas Enterprise Fund

 HB 1938 makes several changes to the reporting and 
oversight process for grants from the Texas Enterprise Fund 
(TEF), an economic development grant program established 
in 2003 by the 78th Legislature. It requires the governor 
to enter into a written agreement with a recipient of a TEF 
grant. Under this agreement, the state can retain a lien on 
a capital improvement funded with a TEF grant and can 
require the grant recipient to repay the grant if a capital 
improvement is sold. If a grantee has not used the grant 
money for the purposes for which the funds were intended 
by a date certain, the recipient must repay that amount 
plus interest to the state. If a grantee does not meet specific 
performance targets established by the governor, the state 
will withhold grant disbursements or require repayment of 
disbursements already made. Grantees must issue annual 
progress reports on the attainment of performance targets to 
the governor, the lieutenant governor, and the speaker of the 
House.

 The governor must submit to each member of the 
Legislature a biennial report on TEF grants that includes 
such information as the number of jobs grantees have 
committed to creating, the median wage of jobs created, the 
amount of capital investment by grantees, and the number 
of positions with health insurance created by each grantee. 
In addition, the governor must issue an economic impact 
statement for a proposed grant, stating the grant’s size and 
the jobs, wages, and taxes expected to result from a project. 

Supporters said

 HB 1938 would introduce much-needed accountability 
controls and reporting requirements to the TEF, ensuring 
that the fund would operate no differently than other state 
programs in terms of open government and accountability. 
Current state law governing the TEF does not require the 
governor to report to the Legislature on the fund’s grants, 
activities, or performance. The bill would create reasonable 
performance standards to demonstrate the effectiveness of 
projects funded by the TEF and hold companies accountable 
for the money they receive. It also would require the 
governor to report to the Legislature on projects funded by 

the TEF. With this detailed information, legislators could 
decide how effectively money appropriated to TEF had been 
spent and how best to reform the TEF’s administration in the 
future.

Opponents said

 HB 1938 is unnecessary because the TEF already has 
safeguards to prevent misuse of grants from the fund. Every 
project funded by the TEF requires the unanimous written 
consent of the governor, the lieutenant governor, and the 
speaker of the House. The Governor’s Office has included 
in all agreements “clawback” provisions that deny funds 
to grantees that do not meet their performance targets. 
The additional requirements in HB 1938 could slow the 
application and approval process, causing Texas to miss out 
on investment from some firms.

Other opponents said

 The bill should be strengthened to ensure the maximum 
economic benefit from TEF grants. Companies receiving 
TEF money should be required to provide a minimum level 
of health care coverage, a living wage, and a safe workplace 
for employees. Projects should be distributed geographically 
across the state and directed particularly to areas of the 
greatest economic need.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the April 11 Daily 
Floor Report.

 HB 2421 by Chavez, effective June 18, 2005, 
establishes a funding mechanism for the Skills Development 
Fund and the TEF to support job training and economic 
development grants and programs in the state. The funds are 
supported through an assessment of 0.1 percent on wages 
paid by employers participating in the state’s unemployment 
insurance program.
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SB 877 by Madla
Effective May 9, 2005

Direct shipment to consumers by domestic and out-of-state wineries  

 SB 877 allows holders of winery permits and out-of-
state winery direct shipper’s permits issued by the Texas 
Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) to ship wine 
directly to Texas consumers, including consumers in dry 
areas. These permit holders cannot sell or ship wine to a 
minor and cannot deliver more than three gallons of wine 
within any 30-day period to the same Texas consumer. The 
wine delivery carrier must be permitted by TABC, and 
the recipient must be at least 21 years of age, among other 
mailing and delivery requirements.

 SB 877 also creates an out-of-state winery direct 
shipper’s permit. These permit holders cannot sell more than 
35,000 gallons of wine annually to direct Texas consumers. 
These out-of-state permit holders are allowed to sell and 
deliver only wine that they produced or bottled, must keep 
certain sales records, and must pay excise and sales and use 
taxes at the same rate as if the winery were located in Texas.   

 Any person without an out-of-state direct shipper’s 
permit who sells or ships alcohol from outside the state to 
a consumer in Texas commits an offense. A first offense 
is a class B misdemeanor, a second offense is a class A 
misdemeanor, and a third offense is a state-jail felony.

Supporters said
 
 SB 877 would take advantage of an important economic 
development opportunity by allowing Texas wineries to 
sell their products directly to consumers. At present, Texas 
wineries can ship wine only to consumers who first have 
visited in person. The bill would expand the possible market 
for Texas wineries by allowing them to take orders over 
the Internet and ship wine anywhere in the world. SB 877 
contains provisions to enforce the law and require out-of-
state permit holders to pay taxes and submit records of sales 
and delivery to TABC. The bill would establish a reasonable 
regulatory system that has proven effective at protecting 
minors in other states. 

 SB 877 would remedy problems with current 
law governing transportation of wine that were ruled 
unconstitutional in Dickerson v. Bailey, 336 F.3d 388 
(5th Cir. 2003). In this ruling, the 5th U.S. Circuit Court 
of Appeals held that Alcoholic Beverage Code, sec. 
107.07 discriminates against out-of-state wine producers 
and shippers by compelling them to go through Texas 
wholesalers and retailers. As a result, out-of-state wineries 
now may ship to Texas consumers, but Texas wineries are 
prohibited from doing the same thing, a situation that SB 
877 would correct.  

Opponents said

 SB 877 could create a public safety problem by 
making it easier for minors to purchase alcohol. The bill 
also would place improper responsibility on package 
delivery companies, which are not trained to recognize 
false identification. It would weaken the established three-
tier alcohol retail system that is easily regulated by TABC. 
Allowing wineries to ship wine to consumers in dry areas 
would subvert the will of the people who voted to keep these 
areas dry. 

Notes

 On May 16, 2005, in its ruling in Granholm v. Heald 
(03-1116), the U.S. Supreme Court stuck down laws 
in Michigan and New York that prevented or made it 
difficult for out-of-state wineries to sell and ship directly to 
consumers. 

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the April 
26 Daily Floor Report.
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Authorizing the Legislature to exempt commercial loans from interest 
rate caps

 SJR 21 would have amended the Texas Constitution 
to allow the Legislature to create exemptions from the 
maximum rates of interest on commercial loans. A 
commercial loan would have been considered a loan made 
primarily for business, commercial, investment, agricultural, 
or similar purposes and not primarily for personal, family, or 
household purposes.

 HB 955, which was generally effective September 
1, 2005, makes various revisions to the Finance Code and 
included the enabling legislation for SJR 21. If voters had 
approved SJR 21, HB 955 would have allowed parties to an 
exempt commercial loan to contract for, charge, and receive 
any rate or amount to which the parties had agreed. An 
exempt commercial loan would have been any commercial 
loan of $7 million or more that was secured primarily by 
real property or any loan of $500,000 or more that was not 
secured primarily by real property.  

Supporters said

 SJR 21 would allow the Legislature to exempt certain 
commercial loans from maximum interest rates. Texas’ 
commercial lending laws place both Texas borrowers and 
lenders at a competitive disadvantage compared to the laws 
of 46 other states, which give sophisticated commercial 
lenders and borrowers greater freedom to structure the 
unique loan arrangements that commercial parties often 
require. Texas-chartered banks and other commercial 
lenders do not share this freedom.

 Because of Texas’ low interest-rate ceiling, the vast 
majority of commercial loan transactions are made by out-
of-state entities in accordance with the lending laws of other 
states. Texas’ existing commercial lending laws increase 
costs for Texas businesses, limit opportunities for Texas-
chartered banks attempting to make commercial loans, and 
require Texas businesses to obtain loans from lenders whose 
decision makers are located out-of-state. SJR 21 would 
allow the Legislature to level the playing field by permitting 
Texas’ commercial borrowers and lenders to compete with 

SJR 21 by Averitt/HB 955 by Solomons
Rejected by voters at November 8, 2005, election

financial institutions from across the country. This limited 
change also would provide opportunities for economic 
development because it would increase incentives for large 
banks to locate their headquarters in Texas.

 Often, Texas banks and lenders cannot obtain a great 
enough yield to make high-dollar commercial lending 
worthwhile because of the greater risk involved in 
making large loans. Loosening the restrictions on certain 
commercial lending further would reduce costs because 
parties to large commercial loans with Texas banks often 
must obtain elaborate legal opinions to navigate the complex 
laws governing which fees and charges constitute interest. 

 SJR 21 would grant sophisticated borrowers the 
freedom to structure loan deals with proper incentives 
to compensate banks with reasonable rewards for the 
risk they assumed. This change would not remove the 
protections of rate ceilings for less sophisticated borrowers 
because the Legislature, as demonstrated in the reasonable 
criteria set forth in HB 955, still would exercise judgment 
in determining eligibility criteria for which commercial 
loans would receive interest-ceiling exemptions. In 
addition, regardless of whether or not Texas institutes such 
exemptions, out-of-state banks and commercial lenders still 
would have the ability to contract with small, commercial 
borrowers according to the rate standards in accordance with 
laws from their home states. 

Opponents said

 The interest-rate ceilings in the Texas Constitution and 
statutes create a protection from usurious lending practices. 
While some commercial borrowers have the sophistication 
to enter into complex loan agreements, not all commercial 
loans are obtained by sophisticated borrowers. Certain 
borrowers may not recognize the implications of all the 
terms included in a loan contract and often do not possess 
adequate resources to subject the contract to legal review 
prior to signing. The exemption criteria included in HB 955 
is based upon the loan amount, and the size of a loan is not 
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always an accurate measure of borrower sophistication. 
Even though HB 955 sets forth exemption criteria to protect 
less sophisticated borrowers, SJR 21 would open the door 
for the Legislature to change these criteria in the future. 
Texas should not follow the dangerous lead of other states 
that have exempted all commercial lending from interest-
rate ceilings. 

Notes

 The HRO analyses of SJR 21 and HB 955 appeared 
in Part One of the May 9 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 57 by Denny
Effective October 1, 2005

Limiting uniform election dates to May and November

 HB 57 eliminates two uniform election dates – the 
first Saturday in February and the second Saturday in 
September – and moves the uniform election date in May 
from the first Saturday to the second Saturday. General 
and special elections are required to be held on either the 
uniform election date in May or the uniform election date in 
November, which is the first Tuesday after the first Monday. 

 The exception for bond elections for education 
institutions is eliminated, and those elections now must 
occur on uniform election dates in May or November. 
The period for early voting by personal appearance for an 
election held in May must begin on the 12th day before 
election day and continue through the fourth day before 
election day. Finally, the time for local canvassing for the 
May election date is delayed to account for the receipt of 
overseas ballots. 

Supporters said

 HB 57 would make voting more convenient, increase 
public awareness of elections, and reduce the costs of 
holding elections. Texas has 254 counties, more than 1,000 
school districts, and more than 1,000 cities, as well as many 
other political subdivisions. Each of these entities hold 
elections, and all can be held on different dates. Texas has so 
many elections that voters have “turnout burnout” and are 
staying away from the polls, even though Texas has a two-
week early-voting period with accessible and convenient 
voting locations. Limiting uniform election dates would help 
alleviate voter fatigue.
 
 School district elections held on non-uniform dates in 
large districts have cost more than $180,000 per election, 
and a city election in Dallas held on a non-uniform date 
in early 2000 cost $1.1 million. Reducing the number of 
uniform dates would encourage political subdivisions to 
combine elections and could result in significant savings for 
some local governments. 

 Current election law allows an exception to the uniform 
date requirement for school and college districts to hold 
elections to levy taxes or issue bonds. These elections 
are costly and often are not well publicized, which tends 

to restrict voter turnout to those with a vested interest in 
approving the bonds. The exception has been removed for 
every other governmental body except school districts, and 
it has not proved to be a hardship.  

 Moving the May election date one week later would 
address concerns of elections administrators regarding the 
potential for conflict in even-numbered years between the 
primary runoff election, which is the second Tuesday in 
April, and early voting for the May uniform election date. 

Opponents said

 HB 57 would remove local control from school boards 
and other local entities by eliminating their ability to hold 
elections when needed. School districts that are experiencing 
dramatic enrollment increases must be able to respond to the 
needs of the community, and bond funding is an important 
way to address rapid growth.

 Many school districts choose to hold bond elections 
on either the September or November uniform date or on a 
non-uniform date during the months before winter break. 
Similarly, many districts use the February date or a non-
uniform date in the spring because students are in school and 
the community is more likely to be informed and involved. 
School districts should continue to be able to determine 
what election date best corresponds to local needs.

 An issue as critical as setting aside tax money for debt 
service sometimes should be a single-focus issue. Allowing 
school districts to hold bond elections on non-uniform dates 
enables voters to devote their full attention to the specifics of 
the bond campaign. Advocates on both sides of bond issues 
especially would have difficulty reaching voters in the midst 
of electioneering that accompanies local, state, and federal 
elections.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 
18 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 1348 by Eiland
Died in House committee

Defining and clarifying political contributions and expenditures

 HB 1348 would have made various revisions to the 
Election Code provisions concerning political contributions 
and expenditures. It would have specified that a political 
party that accepted authorized corporate or union 
contributions could use those contributions only for its own 
administrative expenses, for administration of a primary 
election, for the establishment or administrative expenses 
of a convention held by the party, or for expenses related to 
redistricting. A political party would have had to maintain 
these funds in a separate account and pay vendors directly 
from that account.
  
 The bill would have raised the threshold for reporting 
individual, independent expenditures in an election from 
$100 to $1,000. It would have defined what constituted 
coordination resulting in attribution of a third-party 
expenditure as a contribution to a candidate, political 
committee, or political party. 

 The current corporate campaign prohibition would have 
applied to any entity with a parent, subsidiary, or affiliate 
under the Texas Business Corporation Act, the Texas Non-
profit Corporation Act, federal law, or law of another state 
or nation. HB 1348 would have clarified that a corporation, 
labor organization, or membership organization could use 
treasury funds to communicate with their restricted class and 
conduct non-partisan voter registration drives and get-out-
the-vote campaigns aimed at that group.  

 A “restricted class” would have been defined as 
the group of individuals who could be solicited for 
contributions. For a corporation, this would have included 
its employees, stockholders, and their respective families; 
for a union, its members, employees, and their respective 
families; for a membership organization, its members, 
employees, and the employees’ family members.  

 The bill would have provided explicitly for when a 
corporation, labor organization, or membership organization 
could use its funds for administrative expenses. A related 
organization could have solicited only its own restricted 
class with its funds. A corporation or labor organization 
could not have made more than two written solicitations for 
contributions in one calendar year to employees who were 
not stockholders, executive or administrative personnel, 
or their respective families. Current law prohibiting 

a corporation or labor organization from making a 
contribution for 60 days before a general election for state 
and county officers also would have applied to a primary 
election. 

 The bill would have authorized the Texas Ethics 
Commission to adopt rules to implement the legislation and 
to ensure that corporate or labor organization funds were 
not used for political activity in circumvention of these 
provisions.    

 The bill would have defined several terms to be 
consistent with federal law. “Administrative expense” 
would have been an expenditure incurred in the normal 
course of business, including for office space, phones, 
supplies, and utilities but not for political activity. “Direct 
campaign expenditures” would have included express 
advocacy and electioneering communications that were 
not made in coordination with a candidate or political 
committee. “Electioneering communication” would have 
included broadcast ads, mass mailings, and telephone banks 
that referred to an identified candidate that were publicly 
distributed within 60 days of a general election or 30 days 
of a primary, and that targeted the candidate’s electorate. 
“Express advocacy” would have been a communication that 
referred to a candidate and expressly advocated the election 
or defeat of the candidate. 

Supporters said 

 HB 1348 would clarify and modernize current law to 
strengthen the state’s 100-year prohibition against the use 
of corporate money and union funds in political campaigns, 
mostly by adopting well established federal standards. The 
bill would ban corporate-funded “issue ads” that target 
candidates 60 days before a general election and make 
clear that donations from political action committees or 
individuals used for political attack ads must be disclosed. 
Under the legislation, any direct-mail or broadcast ads 
funded by corporate or union money would be prohibited 
within 30 days of a primary election and 60 days of a 
general election if they clearly targeted a candidate – even if 
the mailing or ad did not ask a person to vote a certain way.  
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Opponents said 

 HB 1348 contains vague terminology and would be 
overly broad for such a complex issue. Under the legislation, 
voter guides and newsletters of advocacy groups could 
be prohibited, and the restriction on corporate and labor 
organization speech could infringe upon First Amendment 
rights. The public would be better served by an interim study 
to further clarify the bill’s provisions. 

Other opponents said 

 The bill would not stop last-minute attack ads financed 
by wealthy individuals or remove the influence of large 
donations from state politics. It should include limits on 
political contribution amounts, as under federal law.
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HB 1706 by Denny
Died in the Senate

Requiring voters to present proof of identification at polling places

 HB 1706 would have required a voter to present 
to an election officer at the polling place his or her voter 
registration certificate and either one form of specified photo 
identification or two different forms of specified non-photo 
identification. If the voter’s name was on the precinct list 
of registered voters or if the voter was eligible under other 
existing eligibility provisions, and if the voter’s identity 
could have been verified from the identification presented, 
the voter would have been accepted for voting without a 
voter registration certificate. An election officer could not 
have considered whether the voter’s address on the voter’s 
identification forms matched the voter’s address on the voter 
registration certificate or the list of eligible voters.    

 The bill would have modified the list of acceptable 
proof of identification, specifying acceptable forms of 
photo identification and acceptable forms of non-photo 
identification. A county commissioners court could have 
authorized the county elections administrator or the county 
clerk to issue photo identification cards for use as proof of a 
voter’s identity. 

 The bill would have allowed a voter who did not 
show either the specified photo identification or two forms 
of non-photo identification to cast a provisional ballot if 
the person executed a provisional ballot affidavit. Proof 
of identification would have been added to requirements 
for a provisional ballot to be accepted by the early voting 
ballot board. A voter accepted for provisional voting could 
have submitted proof of identification to the voter registrar 
not later than the fifth day after the date of the election. 
The office of the voter registrar would have been open on 
a Saturday within the five-day period in which the voter 
had to present identification. The secretary of state would 
have prescribed procedures as necessary to implement 
identification provisions for these voters who were accepted 
for provisional voting. 

 The presiding election judge would have posted in a 
prominent location on the outside of each polling place 
notice that a provisional ballot would be provided to a 
person who executed the appropriate affidavit and a list of 
the acceptable forms of photo and non-photo identification. 

The notice would have had to be printed in English, Spanish, 
and any other language appropriate to the polling place’s 
precinct and in at least 24-point type.         

 The bill also would have prohibited the Department 
of Public Safety (DPS) from collecting a fee for a personal 
identification certificate issued to a person who executed 
an affidavit stating that the person was financially unable 
to pay the required fee, who was a registered Texas voter 
and presented a valid voter registration certificate, or who 
was eligible for voter registration and submitted a voter 
registration application to DPS.

Supporters said 

 HB 1706 would increase public confidence in voter 
registration rolls and election outcomes and help prevent 
voter fraud. No statutory provisions now provide for 
verifying the identity of those who present voter registration 
certificates at polling places, and the bill would close a 
potential loophole for fraud. More situations in everyday life 
require photo identification, including traveling on airplanes 
and cashing checks. It is time to conform the voting system 
to provide identity protection.

 Voters with voter registration cards would have to 
show photo identification from an acceptable list or show 
two forms of acceptable non-photo identification. A voter 
without a registration card but on the registered voter list 
still could vote by presenting the required identification – in 
most cases, a Texas driver’s license. Those unable to present 
the required identification could cast provisional ballots by 
completing a related affidavit. The bill would not result in 
voters being turned away from the polls.

 The bill would not be an onerous burden on Texas 
voters. According to the National Conference of State 
Legislators, five states now require some form of photo 
ID for voter identification, and 14 more require proof of 
identification that does not necessarily include the voter’s 
picture. In addition, by authorizing DPS to issue personal 
identification cards without a fee to those unable to pay, the 
bill would assure inclusion of the state’s diverse voting
population.
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Opponents said 

 HB 1706 would address a perceived problem for 
which there is no evidence – identification fraud at polling 
places by registered voters. Anecdotal reports of voter 
fraud in other settings have not involved registered voters 
with valid voter registration certificates, and no one has 
produced evidence of eligible voters falsifying identities at 
polling places. Rather than combatting voter fraud, the bill’s 
onerous requirements would disenfranchise some eligible 
voters. 

 The bill would discourage some voters by creating long 
lines at the polls as election officials were required to verify 
more forms of identification. In addition, a prospective voter 
without the specified forms of identification who went home 
to retrieve acceptable identification, assuming he or she 
possessed it, might face even longer lines upon returning to 
the polling place. While such a voter could cast a provisional 
ballot under this bill, a voter who has voted faithfully for 
many years by presenting a voter registration card should 
not be left to wonder whether the provisional ballot actually 
would count.

 While citizens are required to show proof of 
identification in situations ranging from flying on an airplane 
to renting movies, none of those is a constitutional right 
and only one ID is necessary in such settings, not two or 
three as this bill could require. Also, when the state of 
Texas accepted federal Help Americans Vote Act (HAVA) 
funds, it agreed to certain conditions. As written, these bills 
could jeopardize additional HAVA federal funds for Texas, 
estimated at $103.2 million.  

Other opponents said 

 HB 1706 would be impractical and difficult to enforce. 
Mandating that every person who appears at a polling place 
to vote have specified proof of identification – beyond a 
voter registration card – would be a major departure from 
current law. A grace period of at least one election would 
be needed to educate election workers and voters. Even that 
might not be sufficient time to change habits among voters 
accustomed to needing only voter registration certificates to 
vote at the polls.
 
 With respect to the list of acceptable non-photo IDs, 
a variety of official documents are issued to people under 
age 18, including library cards, temporary driving permits, 
and junior hunting or fishing licenses. By recognizing these 
forms of ID, the bill could generate more problems with 
voter eligibility and underage voting than it would solve. 

Notes

 The HRO analysis of HB 1706 appeared in Part Two 
of the April 19 Daily Floor Report and Part Two of the May 
2 Daily Floor Report. 

 The House-passed version of SB 89 by Averitt, 
which died in conference committee, contained similar 
requirements with regard to the presentation of voter 
identification at a polling place. In addition, it would have 
permitted election officers to access electronically readable 
information from driver’s licenses to determine a voter’s 
identity. As amended on the House floor, the bill would have 
allowed a business to access the electronic information to 
verify the identification of an individual or the validity of a 
check at the point of sale.
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HB 2030 by Nixon
Died in the House

Residency eligibility to be a candidate for or to hold public office

 HB 2030 would have established residency 
requirements to be eligible to hold or be elected to public 
office. It would have applied to public offices established 
under state law, including offices of political subdivisions. A 
person would have been considered a resident of a territory 
if the person had maintained a principal, regular place of 
residence in that territory at a specified time or throughout 
a specified period.  A person’s stated intent to reside at a 
place other than the individual’s principal, regular place of 
residence would not have determined residency.  

 A person would not have been considered a resident of a 
territory if:

the person received a residence homestead 
exemption from ad valorem taxes for a residence 
outside the territory, unless the person acted to 
cancel the exemption; 
the person was registered to vote at a residence 
outside the territory, unless the person acted 
to change the registration to a residence in the 
territory; or
at the specified time or period, the person identified 
the address of a residence, other than the person’s 
business address, outside the territory as the 
person's residence address, or failed to identify a 
residence address in the territory as required, on one 
of the following: a tax document the person filed 
with a governmental entity, on any other document 
the person submitted to a governmental entity 
for any purpose, or on a document submitted to a 
political party in connection with the person’s status 
as a candidate for public office. 

 The homestead exemption requirement would not have 
applied for one year after the election of a person to an 
office if the person previously met residency requirements 
for election and no longer met requirements as a result 
of the redrawing of districts used to elect a person to the 
Legislature or the governing body of a political subdivision. 
 
 HB 2030 would have required a candidate to have lived 
in Texas for two years and in the territory from which the 
office was elected for 12 months to be eligible for office. 
An eligible candidate could not have been convicted of 

•

•

•

providing false information on a ballot application in 
the previous 24 months. The bill would have lengthened 
residency requirements from 12 months to two years for 
home-rule city office holders and candidates from areas that 
recently had undergone redistricting.

 Candidates would have had to sign affidavits stating that 
they were not currently violating the constitution or laws 
of the United States or Texas. Providing false information 
would have been an offense punishable as a class A 
misdemeanor (up to one year in jail and/or a maximum fine 
of $4,000).

Supporters said 

 HB 2030 would ensure that elected officials represented 
the territories in which they actually lived. The bill would 
establish qualifications and standards for determining 
whether a candidate or office holder could be considered a 
resident and would encompass state and local elections. It 
would define two important factors in deciding residency 
– physical conduct and intent. Residency would be fixed 
when those two elements coincided. Rather than relying 
on case law, the bill would provide a statutory standard to 
determine residency. It is designed not to conflict with the 
Election Code and would apply to several other statutes in 
the Water Code, Election Code, and other codes affecting 
elected officials. 

Opponents said 

 No one-size-fits-all pattern fits the residency issue. The 
courts have long reviewed residency for office holders and 
candidates on a case-by-case basis and examined the issue 
as a matter of both presence and intent. The provision in HB 
2030 declaring that “The person’s stated intent to reside at 
a place other than the individual’s principal, regular place 
of residence does not determine whether the person resides 
at that other place,” would pose constitutional problems. 
Federal courts have rejected attempts to fix residency 
regardless of intent, and Texas courts have rejected using 
homestead or homestead exemptions in determining 
residency. 
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Other opponents said 

 The provision in HB 2030 related to receiving a 
homestead exemption could favor a person without a 
homestead who thus would not be held to that standard.  
Because it would not treat prospective candidates or office 
holders equally, it could raise discrimination issues.   

 The candidate affidavit requirement is overly broad and 
should be refined. As written, it would require candidates 
for office to sign an oath stating that they were not currently 
violating the constitution or laws of the United States or 
Texas. The implications of such an oath could encompass 
many circumstances not contemplated by the bill.    

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
11 Daily Floor Report.  



Page 54 House Research Organization

 HB 2405 would have prohibited counting a marked 
ballot voted by mail from a person who had not applied 
for that ballot. A person would have committed a class C 
misdemeanor (maximum fine of $500) if, with the intent 
that an unlawful ballot be cast, the person had directed the 
return of a marked, early mail ballot with the knowledge that 
the ballot was from a voter who was not entitled to receive 
a mail ballot. The bill would have instructed the early 
voting clerk to include with the balloting materials a notice 
prescribed by the secretary of state informing the voter of 
the categories of people eligible to vote by mail and stating 
that the voter should not cast the ballot unless the voter, or a 
person authorized by the Election Code to assist that voter, 
requested the ballot.    

Supporters said 

 HB 2405 would create a penalty for intentionally 
directing a person to vote a ballot by mail if that person had 
not applied for the ballot, thus establishing an enforcement 
mechanism for a practice already prohibited. More reports 
of fraud related to early voting by mail are cropping up. If 
the elections process in Texas is to have integrity, the state 
must be able to punish fraudulent voting by mail.

 The Election Code makes it expressly clear that a 
person who has not applied for an early ballot by mail is not 
entitled to receive a mail ballot, regardless of whether the 
voter meets one or more eligibility requirements. In recent 
elections, however, evidence has surfaced that the law has 
been interpreted to allow such mail ballots to be cast and 
counted, despite voters’ ineligibility to receive them in the 
first place. To protect unsuspecting voters, the bill would 
require a prosecutor to show that a person who directed the 

Return of marked, early mail ballot from a voter without application

return of a marked, early mail ballot with the knowledge that 
the mail ballot was from a voter not entitled to that ballot 
had the intent to cast an unlawful ballot.  

 HB 2405 further would reduce the chance of ensnaring 
innocent voters by requiring early voting clerks to include 
with the balloting materials information prescribed by the 
secretary of state on the categories of those eligible to vote 
by mail and a statement that the voter, or a person authorized 
by the Election Code to assist that voter, should not cast that 
ballot unless the voter or the authorized person requested it. 

 
Opponents said 

 If a sizeable number of voters who did not request 
mail ballots are receiving them, the problem lies with 
county clerks and elections administrators, not with voters. 
These officials should be trained to watch for signature 
discrepancies and other irregularities because confusion 
surrounding procedures for requesting and accepting mail 
ballots likely will increase with time. For example, the 
federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) contains provisions 
stipulating that voters cannot be questioned if they identify 
themselves as disabled, which will likely increase the 
number of voters who use mail ballots. The best approach to 
avoid future problems is to educate election officials.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the April 
18 Daily Floor Report and Part Two of the May 2 Daily 
Floor Report.  

HB 2405 by Keel
Died in Senate committee
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HB 86 by W. Smith
Died in the Senate

Standards for compliance histories of TCEQ-regulated entities 

 HB 86 would have repealed the classification system 
implemented in 2001 that ranks entities regulated by the 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) 
according to their compliance histories based on a formula.  
TCEQ no longer would have been required to classify 
regulated entities into the categories of “high,” “average,” 
and “poor” based on compliance history.  TCEQ would have 
evaluated compliance histories using varying standards, 
including the size of a regulated entity and any violations.  
Individualized criteria also would have been used in 
determining if an emissions event were excessive.

 The bill would have changed the definition of “repeat 
violator” to include only entities that committed violations 
of the same nature in the same environmental media rather 
than entities that had committed any repeated violations.  
“Repeat violators,” unlike other regulated entities, would 
have been denied the chance to correct violations after 
receiving notice.  TCEQ would have included notices of 
violations only as part of the compliance histories of “repeat 
violators.” 

 HB 86 would have allowed regulated entities to use 
alternative pollution control or abatement methods that 
were as protective, rather than more protective, of the 
environment and public health than the standard prescribed 
by law.

 Compliance history information held by the federal 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) about a regulated 
entity would have been used by TCEQ only when readily 
available, and violations in other states no longer would 
be included in an entity’s compliance history.  TCEQ 
would have had to notify entities before displaying their 
compliance history information on its website, giving an 
entity time to review the accuracy of the information.

Supporters said 

 TCEQ’s current way of evaluating compliance history 
is unnecessarily restrictive and prevents the agency from 
assessing compliance histories on a case-by-case basis. 
TCEQ’s use of a uniform standard for all regulated 

entities creates a bias against small businesses as they do 
not have the same resources nor do they cause as much 
environmental damage as large industries.  HB 86 would 
eliminate the bias against small businesses by allowing 
TCEQ to consider important factors when evaluating 
compliance history, including an entity’s size and the 
magnitude of the environmental impact of any violations.  

 The definition of “repeat violator” now used is overly 
broad and does not target only entities that commit the same 
violation on more than one occasion. A “repeat violator” 
should be an entity that repeats an identical violation in the 
same environmental medium rather than any entity that 
has more than one serious violation. For example, an entity 
that failed to obtain an air permit and later failed to obtain 
a water permit should not be considered a repeat violator 
because the violations involved different environmental 
media.

Opponents said 

 HB 86 would decrease the regulatory authority of 
TCEQ by excluding notices of violations from most 
entities’ compliance histories and by relaxing restrictions 
on polluters.  Notices of violation are a vital component of 
compliance history and should not be eliminated.  Including 
them in compliance history allows permit reviewers, 
inspectors, and citizens to recognize patterns of repeat 
notices of violation. HB 86 also would allow polluters that 
repeatedly violate the agency’s rules to avoid classification 
as “repeat violators.”  The bill further would assist polluters 
by permitting them to use alternative pollution control or 
abatement methods not proven to have a better impact 
on the environment and public health than the standard 
prescribed by law.  

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared on the March 16 Daily 
Floor Report.  
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HB 2481 by Bonnen
Effective September 1, 2005

Revising the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan

 HB 2481 extends the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan 
(TERP) until 2013, revises the plan’s funding structure, 
requires the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
(TCEQ) to adopt new federal Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) rules, and establishes rebate programs to 
streamline TCEQ’s emissions-related grant programs.

 Allocation of TERP funds. HB 2481 changes the 
allocation of TERP funding by increasing the portion of 
TERP funds used for research and development. Beginning 
in 2008, 64 percent of TERP funding will be directed toward 
reductions in diesel emissions and 33 percent will be used 
for research and development. Until 2008, TERP funding 
will maintain the current allocation of 87.5 percent for diesel 
reductions and 9.5 percent for research and development.  

 The bill requires at least 10 percent of research and 
development funds to be used to support air quality research 
in the Houston-Galveston-Brazoria (HGA) and Dallas-
Fort Worth (DFW) areas, where emissions exceed federal 
standards. A minimum of 25.5 percent of the HGA and 
DFW research is reserved for a Houston-based technology 
research nonprofit organization charged with responsibility 
for administering the new technology research and 
development program. The bill gives a representative of 
the Houston-based non-profit a seat on the TERP advisory 
board.  

 TERP Title Transfer Fees. Beginning in 2010, a 
$28 title transfer fee will be assigned to applications for 
certificate of titles in all counties of the state. Between 2008 
and 2010, $5 of the title transfer fee will continue to be 
deposited in the TERP account. In 2010, title transfer fees 
will be deposited entirely into the Texas Mobility Fund 
instead of the TERP account.  
 
 HB 2481 establishes rebate programs designed to 
streamline TCEQ’s emissions reductions grant programs.

 EPA Clean Air Interstate Rule and Clean Air Mercury 
Rule.  HB 2481 requires TCEQ to implement the EPA’s 
Clean Air Interstate Rule and Clean Air Mercury Rule. The 
Clean Air Interstate Rule is designed to reduce emissions 
of sulfur dioxide (SO2) and nitrogen oxides (NOx), and 
the Clean Air Mercury Rule is designed to reduce utility 
emissions of mercury. Each program works through a cap-

and-trade system by which the EPA allocates emissions 
allowances to the state. The state then distributes the 
allowances to sources of emissions (i.e., power plants or 
utilities), which can trade them. The bill creates additional 
restrictions that specifically pertain to NOx emissions. 

Supporters say

 By prioritizing investment in cutting edge, emissions-
reducing technologies, HB 2481 would facilitate complying 
with federal air quality standards. Increasing the state’s 
investment in the development of new emissions-reducing 
technology has proven to be a cost-effective strategy in 
combating air pollution. State funding for research and 
air planning activities has yielded optimum results in 
developing science-based, practical, economically viable 
state implementation plans for non-attainment areas and 
air planning activities for near-non attainment areas. The 
availability of more efficient emissions technologies on the 
market would save the state money by reducing the cost per 
ton of emission reductions. 

 HB 2481 significantly would increase the bonding 
authority of the Texas Department of Transportation 
(TxDOT) by requiring that title transfer fees be temporarily 
deposited in the Texas Mobility Fund. The additional 
leveraging authority given to TxDOT could help relieve 
the state’s current congestion crisis. The bill simultaneously 
would benefit TCEQ and TxDOT by providing funding for 
TERP and allowing TxDOT to finance needed transportation 
projects around the state.

Opponents say

 The bill’s incremental approach to investment in 
research and development of new technologies would not be 
substantial enough to bring Texas into compliance with EPA 
standards in 2010. The bill would not increase funding for 
research and development until 2008 – leaving little time to 
develop new emissions-reducing technologies. Further, the 
provisions of the bill would not be strong enough to bring 
the HGA area into compliance with the EPA’s new eight-
hour ozone standard. Texas has a long way to go before 
meeting EPA standards on air quality, so the majority of 
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TERP funds should continue to be used to fund emission 
reductions, not research. If Texas failed to comply with 
federal standards, the state could risk losing vital federal 
highway funding or suffering restrictions on industrial 
development in major metropolitan areas.  

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the April 27 Daily 
Floor Report.

 HB 3469 by Hochberg, effective June 17, 2005, 
establishes a grant program for projects to reduce emissions 
of diesel exhaust from school buses by way of the TERP 
if money is available after allocations from the fund 

have been made for other purposes required by the State 
Implementation Plan (SIP). HB 1611 by Chisum, effective 
June 18, 2005, creates a sub-account within the clean air 
account in an amount not to exceed $20 million, with funds 
available but otherwise not appropriated for vehicle repair 
and retrofit to fund programs to improve air quality.  SB 
784 by Shapleigh, effective September 1, 2005, authorizes 
TCEQ to allow substitution of emissions reductions either 
if reduction of emissions of one air contaminent for which 
an area is designated non-attainment are substituted for 
reduction of emissions of another air contaminent for which 
the area is designated non-attainment, or if the TCEQ finds 
the reduction clearly will result in greater health benefits for 
the community than would reductions at the original facility. 
Previous law required the TCEQ to meet both standards. HB 
2481 also includes this provision.
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HB 2833 by R. Cook
Died in the Senate

Revising regulatory takings to include impervious cover restrictions

 HB 2833 would have specified that a taking of private 
property by a governmental entity could result not just from 
a governmental action but from a series of governmental 
actions. Governmental actions resulting in a taking would 
have included those that limited impervious cover – surfaces 
that prevent the infiltration of water into the soil – to less 
than 45 percent of a property’s surface area, excluding land 
within the 100-year floodplain and lands sloping 35 percent 
or more. 

 The bill would have removed an exemption for 
municipal actions, including actions that imposed 
regulations on a city’s extraterritorial jurisdiction but not 
on the city itself. It would have retained exemptions for 
certain actions when they did not affect building size, lot 
size, or impervious cover, including municipal regulations of 
sexually oriented businesses, fireworks, noise, and smoking, 
among other matters. 

 HB 2833 would have required impact assessment 
statements to be made before governmental actions were 
taken and would have provided recourse for the public to 
ensure impact assessments complied with attorney general 
guidelines.

 Under the bill, a suit or a contested case would have 
to have been filed not later than two years from the later 
of the date on which a governmental action was enforced 
and affected private real property, the date on which a 
governmental action was enforced and affected a permit 
application on the property, or September 1, 2005.

Supporters said 

 HB 2833 would strengthen takings provisions for 
land owners when certain regulations unfairly devalued 
their property. Municipal regulations continue to impose 
restrictions on the use and development of private property, 
despite federal and Texas constitutional protections with 
respect to the taking of private property by government 
entities. The bill would not prevent a city from applying any 
regulations deemed necessary to protect public health and 
safety.

 Through technological advances, development 
– specifically, impervious cover – can take place while 
preserving environmental quality. Engineered storm water 
retention/detention systems can help maintain water quality, 
regardless of impervious ground cover, to protect water 
quality downstream.

 Property owners should not have to bear the costs of 
regulations imposed to support the public good. Cities 
already issue bonds and purchase mitigation lands to prevent 
hazards and protect the public. Private property owners 
should not be required to subsidize what government 
already can do with tax dollars.

 Expanding use of impact assessments would save the 
state money in the long run by preventing actions that could 
require compensation. While finding that a governmental 
action was a taking could keep a regulation from being 
enforced until compensation was made, the process of 
proving a government action had reduced property value 
and was cause for compensation could be difficult. Under 
such circumstances, a property owner and a regulatory 
agency might well be more inclined to negotiate on 
the regulation and agree upon a less intrusive means of 
accomplishing regulatory goals.

Opponents said 

 HB 2833 would create a new cause of action for 
regulations to preserve environmental standards and 
drinking water quality. Many city ordinances, including 
some adopted by Austin, Buda, and San Antonio, that limit 
impervious cover on environmentally sensitive areas would 
amount to takings of property requiring compensation at 
market value.

 Raising impervious ground cover limits would endanger 
stream flow, groundwater recharge, stream banks, and 
water quality. Safe drinking water supplies could not be 
maintained at 45 percent impervious cover. Pollutants would 
increase, even with engineered water quality controls. Storm 
flow – the volume of water flowing during storms – would 
increase, as would erosion and flooding. Base flow, water 
that flows between storms, could decrease, preventing water 
from reaching the recharge zone.
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 The bill would reverse protections for water sources 
such as the Edwards Aquifer. The aquifer’s unique geology 
increases its vulnerability to pollution. Regulations on 
surrounding land owners may seem severe, but preserving 
the aquifer’s water quality is essential for the 1.5 million 
people who depend on it for drinking water. It also provides 
fresh water flows for rivers that feed bays and estuaries 
along the Texas coast, supporting fish, wildlife, and 
economic activity. Even with structural controls, pollution 
could enter the aquifer. Relying on structural controls would 
require a political subdivision’s maintenance and upgrades, 
which could increase fees to developers.

 The bill would hamper a city’s ability to regulate 
land use to protect property values.  In cities such as 
Austin, where impervious cover limits have been adopted, 
the bill would invalidate voter initiatives instituted by 
the public. HB 2833 would require a city to pay for 
enforcing regulatory protections for which city residents 
hold government responsible. City residents depend on 
regulation to protect drinking water. While the bill would 

not prevent cities from enforcing regulations, it would make 
enforcement prohibitive and coerce cities into diluting 
regulatory protection. Cities would have to pay landowners 
not to pollute water.
 
 Cities would have to pay for more public notices 
and impact assessments, providing 30 days’ notice by 
publication in a newspaper of a governmental action that 
could result in a regulatory taking. The bill would require 
impact assessments for regulations that might reduce 
property value, which would be administratively and fiscally 
demanding on local governments and would penalize 
cities for proposing routine regulations. Some cities could 
afford the increased costs, but others would have to forego 
regulatory enforcement. With weakened ability to regulate 
land use, property values would decrease. 

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 9 
Daily Floor Report.
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HB 2915 by Puente
Died in the House

Allowing redesignation of river basins based on scientific evidence

 HB 2915 would have allowed the Texas Water 
Development Board (TWDB) to redesignate a river basin 
based on scientific or hydrologic evidence, whether or not 
such a redesignation facilitated the transfer or diversion of 
water.

Supporters said 

 By specifying that TWDB could redesignate river 
basins when there was a sound hydrologic basis for 
doing so, HB 2915 would clarify that state law restricting 
interbasin transfers of surface water was based upon 
accurate scientific data. When defining the parameters of a 
river basin, TWDB bases its determination on the extent to 
which an area is linked hydrologically. If water in a region 
flows into a single watershed that empties into the Gulf 
of Mexico, that watershed is designated as a single river 
basin. However, years ago the determination was made 
to classify the Guadalupe and San Antonio river basins 
separately, even though they are linked hydrologically. The 
current designation contradicts policy governing river basin 
classification across the state, and HB 2915 would correct 
this inconsistency.

 Current law requires a person to apply to the Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) before 
diverting water from one river basin to another. Upon 
receiving an application for an interbasin transfer, TCEQ 
must hold public hearings and review the effect of such a 
transfer on factors such as the economies of both basins, 
existing water rights, and bays and estuaries. TWDB is 
prohibited from redesignating a river basin in order to allow 
a transfer of water that otherwise would violate provisions 
governing interbasin transfers. An application is pending 
that would divert water from the Guadalupe River basin into 

what currently is the San Antonio River basin, and TWDB 
has interpreted the law to prevent it from redesignating these 
two basins as one. Without direction from the Legislature, 
the current designation would continue, even though this 
designation does not reflect the hydrology of the Guadalupe 
and San Antonio rivers.

Opponents said 

 HB 2915 would allow for circumvention of current laws 
restricting interbasin transfers, a pillar of state water policy. 
Redesignation of the San Antonio and Guadalupe rivers as 
one basin would enable diversions from the Guadalupe to go 
forward without meeting the public hearing and evaluation 
requirements in current law. The bill would provide an 
end-run around the reviews, studies, and junior water rights 
protections established by the Legislature to protect water 
rights holders and residents in the Guadalupe River basin.

Other opponents said 
 The bill should be amended to protect instream flows in 
the unified river basin. Freshwater flows from the Guadalupe 
River are vital to the unique ecological balance in bays and 
estuaries along the coast. Specifying a minimum flow in 
case of drought could address many of the environmental 
and other concerns associated with the project.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Three of the May 
10 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 3 by Armbrister
Died in the House

Developing, managing, and conserving water resources

 SB 3, as reported by the House Natural Resources 
Committee, would have made comprehensive changes in 
state water policies concerning environmental flows, water 
conservation and planning, and water project financing. It 
also would have modified the Edwards Aquifer Authority 
and created two new groundwater districts.

 Environmental flows. SB 3 would have established a 
system for evaluating and setting aside in-stream surface 
water flows in watersheds throughout the state.

 The bill would have established an Environmental 
Flows Commission (EFC) that would have issued a report 
to the governor with recommendations on environmental 
flows. EFC recommendations would have been based upon 
recommendations for environmental flow protection made 
by an environmental flows Science Advisory Committee 
(SAC).

Under the bill, the EFC would have defined 
geographically each river basin and bay system 
for the purpose of developing environmental flow 
recommendations. For each river basin and bay system, 
the EFC would have appointed a stakeholders’ committee 
consisting of representatives from such interests as 
agriculture, municipalities, water districts, commercial 
fishermen, environmental interests, and recreational water 
users, among others. This stakeholders’ group would have 
appointed an expert science team to submit environmental 
flow recommendations. Each expert science team would 
have recommended an environmental flow regime based 
solely on the best science available, without regard for other 
water use needs. The Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality (TCEQ) would have adopted environmental flow 
standards based on those recommendations and would have 
determined the amount of unappropriated water to be set 
aside for environmental flow standards.

 TCEQ could not have issued a new water right that 
would impair an environmental flow set-aside, but the 
agency could have adjusted a permit for a new water right 
or amendment to an existing water right to protect instream 
flows or freshwater inflows. This provision would not 
have affected any water right or amendment issued before 
September 1, 2005.

 Water Conservation and Planning. A retail public 
utility providing potable water service to a population of at 
least 3,300 would have been required to submit to the Texas 
Water Development Board’s (TWDB) chief administrator a 
water conservation plan that was consistent with minimum 
requirements adopted by TWDB and TCEQ.

 TWDB would have been required to implement a 
statewide public awareness program to educate Texas 
residents about water conservation. TCEQ would have been 
required to contract with a private vendor, at no cost to the 
state, to install electronic water conservation systems on 
toilets, sinks, and showers in state buildings. Private vendors 
would have had to demonstrate that water conservation 
systems would result in an annual cost savings of at least 50 
percent of current costs.

 A municipality with a population of 5,000 or greater 
would have had to require an irrigation system installer to 
hold a license and obtain a permit prior to installing a system 
in the municipality or the municipality’s extraterritorial 
jurisdiction. Such a municipality also would have been 
required to establish minimum standards for irrigation 
systems.

 A change in the purpose and place of use under an 
historic or existing-use permit could not have been made 
without a permit amendment. In addition, the bill would 
have prevented a groundwater district from discriminating 
between an owner of land that was irrigated for production 
and a landowner participating in a federal conservation 
program.

 The bill would have established a stakeholder 
committee to study management of groundwater underneath 
state-owned lands. The committee would have made 
recommendations to the Legislature regarding appropriate 
management techniques and availability of groundwater 
under such lands.

 For applications for funds to implement water supply 
projects in the state water plan, TWDB would have given 
priority to entities that had demonstrated significant 
water supply savings or that would achieve savings by 
implementing the project for which funding was sought.
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 Financing of water projects. SB 3 would have 
established a Legislative Oversight Committee on Water 
Financing to study the implications of a water conservation 
and development fee as a source for funding water 
infrastructure.

 Edwards Aquifer Authority. The amount of permitted 
withdrawals from the Edwards Aquifer could not have 
exceeded the sum of all regular permits issued or for which 
an application had been filed and issuance was pending as of 
January 1, 2005.

 The Edwards Aquifer Authority (EAA) would have 
adopted a critical period management plan with withdrawal 
reduction percentages that would have reduced the amount 
of withdrawals from the aquifer during varying stages of 
drought.
 
 The EAA could not have allowed withdrawals beyond 
specified levels during serious droughts unless the EAA 
determined that a different volume of withdrawals was 
consistent with maintaining protection for endangered 
species as required by federal law.

 Creation of groundwater districts. The bill would have 
created two new local groundwater conservation districts, 
the Victoria County Groundwater Conservation District and 
the Val Verde County Groundwater Conservation District.

Supporters said

 Environmental flows. SB 3 would mark an historic 
step toward protecting the environment by dedicating 
instream flows for rivers and freshwater inflows for bays 
and estuaries. Currently, no state law provides designated 
protection to ensure minimum flows in rivers and into bays 
and estuaries. Instead, priority is given to other uses such as 
agricultural, commercial, and residential uses. Water rights 
in several river basins have been over-permitted, and other 
basins likely will follow suit. SB 3 would provide a means 
to balance agricultural, commercial, and residential needs 
with important environmental considerations.

 In order to determine standards and set-asides for 
environmental flows, the bill would establish a consensus-
based process relying upon the best available science to 
determine the amount of flows needed for environmental 
considerations. Because water is a vital resource for so many 
diverse interests, it is important that the environmental flow 
planning process be as inclusive as practicable. 

 The planning process established under SB 3 would 
establish set-asides in rivers where unappropriated water 
still exists. The bill would not infringe on the water rights 
of existing water holders. It would include protections for 
other beneficial uses in case a drought or other emergency 
required diversion of environmental flows.

 Water conservation. The bill would establish 
and expand several important programs to encourage 
conservation of water resources in the state. It would 
recognize the importance of such strategies as private land 
stewardship and residential conservation measures, while 
moving cities toward more efficient use of the state’s limited 
water resources.

 The bill would prevent discriminatory treatment in the 
groundwater permitting process against landowners who 
placed their property in the federal conservation reserve 
program, an important conservation program that helps 
prevent overuse and improves the ecological balance of 
pastureland in the state.
 
 Water infrastructure funding. By establishing a 
legislative oversight committee on water infrastructure 
financing, the bill would help future legislatures address 
pressing needs for funding water development. Texas has 
a rapidly growing population, and this committee could 
provide recommendations regarding how best to fund water 
infrastructure demands.

 Edwards Aquifer Authority. The bill appropriately 
would balance environmental, residential, and other 
concerns with respect to the EAA. To protect environmental 
considerations, the bill would establish reduction 
requirements during critical periods of drought when springs 
were affected most severely.  

Opponents said

 Environmental flows. SB 3 would establish an 
unnecessarily complicated tangle of bureaucracy. The bill 
would create two new statewide committees as well as 
stakeholder and science boards in every river basin and 
bay system in the state. The majority of members on these 
policymaking bodies would not be accountable to the voters 
in the way that elected officials are. These bodies would 
hold excessive power to seize water rights for what could be 
marginally important purposes.
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 Water conservation. CSSB 3 would place several 
unfunded mandates on local governments that would have 
to comply with the bill’s extensive water conservation 
requirements. For example, water utilities would have 
to develop and abide by water conservation plans, and 
municipalities would have to regulate more extensively 
residential irrigation facilities and installers. It would be 
inappropriate for the state to mandate these requirements 
without providing the funds for their implementation.

 The provision on nondiscrimination against 
conservation reserve program lands is unnecessary 
because current law sufficiently protects the water rights 
of landowners enrolled in a government program. Districts 
must consider idle land in a government program as 
agricultural land, preventing disparate treatment of these 
types of land.

 Water infrastructure funding. Establishing a legislative 
oversight committee on water infrastructure financing 
could lay the groundwork for new taxes and fees for costly 
water projects. A water infrastructure fee is an idea that the 
Legislature repeatedly has rejected, yet this committee could 
serve as a vehicle to resurrect this discredited concept.

 Edwards Aquifer Authority. The level of pumping from 
the Edwards Aquifer allowed under SB 3 likely would be 
unsustainable over the long term. Although the bill would 
incorporate important reductions in pumpage during drought 
periods, it would be better for the aquifer ecologically and 
hydrologically if a lower level of regular pumping were 
allowed.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the Part Three of the 
May 24 Daily Floor Report.

 As passed by the Senate on April 29, SB 3 included 
several provisions relating to management of groundwater 
resources, including:

providing remedies for interference with a domestic 
or agricultural well;
requiring registration and reporting of water 
transactions;
establishing training requirements for groundwater 
conservation districts; and
establishing a groundwater management area 
council to coordinate the activities of groundwater 
conservation districts.

•

•

•

•
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 SB 1667 would have shifted jurisdiction from the 
Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) and the 
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) for the 
licensing and regulation of:

the processing of low-level radioactive waste or 
naturally occurring radioactive material (NORM) 
waste received from other persons, except oil and 
gas NORM waste;
the recovery or processing of source material;
the processing of by-product material; and
sites for the disposal of these regulated materials.

 The Texas Railroad Commission would have licensed 
and regulated the possession, storage, processing, 
handling and disposal of oil and gas NORM waste and the 
decontamination and maintenance of oil-field equipment. 
 
 A licensee authorized to dispose of radioactive 
substances from other persons would have transferred 8 
percent of its gross receipts from disposal operations to the 
state as general revenue and 2 percent to the host county. 
TCEQ could have held contested case hearings on license 
applications under the Texas Radiation Control Act only 
if an affected person filed a timely request regarding the 
renewal or amendment of a license if a requested change had 
constituted a major amendment. TCEQ could have issued, 
as a component of an injection well permit, authorization 
for in situ mining of radioactive substances in a specified 
area. The authorization could not have required additional 
approval by TCEQ or any additional hearing for the permit 
holder to conduct minor in situ mining in the production 
area. 

Supporters said 

 SB 1667 would consolidate regulatory powers 
over waste disposal under one agency, assure consistent 
regulations across the board, and ensure that the state and 
counties received more financial benefits from radioactive 
waste disposal, adding an estimated  $4,334,332 in general 
revenue over the upcoming biennium. The U.S. Nuclear 
Regulatory Commission (NRC) has cited the number of 
overdue inspections, vacant positions, and staff turnover 

•

•
•
•

Transfer to TCEQ of responsibilities concerning radioactive substances 
SB 1667 by Duncan
Died in the House

from the DSHS radiation program as the basis for its 
“heightened oversight” of Texas. Transferring the licensing 
and regulatory duties to TCEQ would address the issues 
cited by NRC and eliminate the threat of NRC’s resuming 
regulatory functions in Texas. If Texas lost “agreement 
state” status, it would increase administrative burdens 
and costs to businesses, which would discourage industry 
development in Texas. 

 The transfer of radioactive materials jurisdiction 
to TCEQ would provide for a more holistic regulatory 
approach because TCEQ would be equipped to address the 
disposal, geological, engineering, and safety aspects of the 
process. The timelines provided for the transfer would be 
adequate to meet the need to review thoroughly applications 
to ascertain their validity and adherence to public safety 
requirements. Ensuring efficient processing of applications 
would protect current applicants who should not have to 
encounter processing delays due to reorganization of the 
state’s licensing authorities. 

 The current process in Texas to obtain permits to mine 
uranium is unlike any other in the nation in that a business 
can do all that was required to obtain a permit to drill in a 
certain area yet later have permits denied to drill individual 
wells. An initial permit thoroughly reviewed by TCEQ 
should be enough for a company to carry out business 
within the parameters of the permit. The public still would 
have a mechanism to hold a contested case hearing if a 
major amendment were made to a permit that would change 
the outcomes of drilling for which the business initially 
applied. 

Opponents said 

 DSHS has an extensive history and greater expertise 
in regulating radioactive materials than does TCEQ. 
Duties should not be transferred at a time when TCEQ 
and DSHS are beginning to find a balance of authority in 
their respective areas of expertise, and the transfer could 
interfere with pending applications. An attempt to move 
programs from the Texas Department of Health (TDH) 
regulating radioactive issues in 1993 failed because the 
bulk of the staff with the expertise on radioactive matters 
remained with TDH. SB 1857 in 1997 reversed the transfer 
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of the by-product materials program primarily because the 
need was recognized to take advantage of the expertise in 
radioactive matters that remained with TDH.

 The bill’s deadlines would not provide enough time 
for the responsible transfer of powers and duties among 
departments and would rush the processing of pending 
license applications. This would include deadlines for 
decisions on applications pertaining to uranium mining 
waste recovery, low-level waste processing, and by-product 
disposal. Such a fast review of applications for a company 
to dispose of radioactive waste would be irresponsible and 
serve only the business interests of applicants.

 The bill would eliminate the public’s recourse to hold 
contested case hearings on minor in situ mining and would 
limit their ability to conduct all contested case hearings 
except on amendments deemed major. The public has a right 
to protect its health and should retain all proper protections 
to ensure it is not threatened by exposure to radioactive 
substances.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 
24 Daily Floor Report.
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Penalties for serving alcohol to minors
HB 1357 by Flores/HB 2868 by Frost
Effective September 1, 2005

Driver’s license suspension
 HB 1357 requires the automatic suspension of the 
driver’s license of a person convicted of purchasing alcohol 
for a minor or supplying it to a minor. It also prohibits the 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) from issuing a driver’s 
license to anyone convicted of these offenses. For a first 
offense, the driver’s license is suspended for 180 days after 
the final conviction or cannot be issued for 180 days after an 
application for a license is made. A second offense results 
in a one-year suspension after the conviction or after the 
submission of a license application.

 If a minor who is a repeat offender for certain offenses 
involving alcohol does not present to the court evidence 
showing successful completion of a required alcohol 
awareness program, the court must order DPS to suspend 
the minor’s license or permit, or deny the issuance of such 
documents, for up to one year. 

Supporters said

 HB 1357 would give the courts another tool to combat 
the problem of underage drinking. Studies show that minors 
most often get alcohol from adults, and current law making 
it a misdemeanor for adults to supply alcohol to minors is 
not a sufficient deterrent. Providing alcohol to minors, who 
often drive after drinking, is akin to giving them a lethal 
weapon. The seriousness of this offense and its key role in 
enabling underage drinking warrants suspending the driver’s 
licenses of adults who provide alcohol to minors. At least 
four other states have enacted similar legislation.

 The bill would not place an undue hardship on anyone 
who had a legitimate transportation need that could not be 
met except by driving. Current law includes procedures by 
which adults may request a provisional license from a court. 
The state has chosen in other situations to suspend driver’s 
licenses for non-driving actions, including non-payment of 
child support by a non-custodial parent and conviction for 
graffiti-related offenses.

 HB 1357 would change only the penalty, not what is 
considered a criminal offense or existing exceptions to the 
law. The current exception allowing parents to give alcohol 

to their own children or to their underage spouses would 
remain, as would the laws allowing use of alcohol for 
religious or sacramental purposes. 

Opponents said

 Adults who provide alcohol to minors already are 
subject to criminal penalties, which should be enforced. The 
state generally reserves the penalty of license suspension 
for offenses tied to driving, and obtaining a provisional 
license could be expensive and time consuming for adults 
who supplied alcohol to minors. Driver’s license suspension 
also could make it difficult or impossible for such adults to 
perform necessary tasks, such as driving to work or taking 
family members to school. 

Civil liability
 HB 2868 makes an adult 21 years of age or older liable 
for damages caused by the intoxication of a minor under the 
age of 18 if the adult knowingly served or provided alcohol 
to the minor or if the adult allowed the minor to be served or 
provided with alcohol on the adult’s premises. This liability 
does not extend to the minor’s parent, guardian, spouse, or 
an adult who has legal custody of the minor.

Supporters said

 HB 2868 appropriately would impose civil liability 
on an adult who knowingly served or provided alcohol to 
a minor and would help discourage such behavior. Parents 
who permit the consumption of alcohol by minors in their 
homes and then allow intoxicated children to leave in 
automobiles are not providing a safe environment in which 
to drink. On the contrary, these adults are contributing to the 
problem of drunk driving on Texas roads, and they should 
be liable for damages caused by intoxicated teenagers who 
drive away from their homes.

 In addition to the personal costs to families who lose 
children to drunk driving are the associated medical costs, 
which are borne by society. Imposing liability for damages 
associated with drunk driving on adults who knowingly 
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provide minors with alcohol would decrease these costs to 
taxpayers and result in fewer adults providing alcohol to 
minors, which would lead to fewer drunk driving accidents.

Opponents said

 A large percentage of minors drink and can find ways 
to obtain alcohol, with or without the help of adults. To 
protect their children, some parents allow them to drink or 
hold parties in the safety of the home in an effort to keep 
drunk teens off the road. HB 2868 would impose liability on 
any parent who allowed a child to have a party with alcohol 

if one of the minor party goers caused damage because 
of being intoxicated. This would discourage parents from 
providing a safe environment in which their children and 
their children’s friends could drink and might result in those 
teenagers drinking and driving elsewhere.

Notes

 The HRO analysis of HB 1357 appeared in Part 
Two of the April 26 Daily Floor Report, and the analysis of 
HB 2868 appeared in Part Two of the May 9 Daily Floor 
Report.
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Defining marriage as a union of one man and one woman
HJR 6 by Chisum
Approved by voters at November 8, 2005, election

 HJR 6 amends the Texas Constitution by adding Art. 1, 
sec. 32 stating that marriage in this state would consist only 
of the union of one man and one woman. The provision also 
prohibits the state or a political subdivision of the state from 
creating or recognizing any legal status that is identical or 
similar to marriage.

Supporters said 

 The Legislature should bring this issue before 
voters in November so that the citizens of Texas, not the 
courts, can decide what constitutes marriage in this state. 
A constitutional amendment would prevent a possible 
challenge to the state’s marriage statutes. Even though Texas 
courts may be unlikely to interpret the Constitution to allow 
same-sex marriage today, it could happen in the future.  
Texas’ equal protection clause is not so different from that of 
other states that it could not be interpreted to permit same-
sex marriage. Preserving marriage for unions between a man 
and a woman should be defined beyond doubt, not left to the 
whims of future judges. 

 A constitutional provision also would protect the 
definition of marriage by ensuring that civil unions would 
not be permitted in the future. Civil unions are a way for 
same-sex couples to circumvent laws protecting marriage by 
creating a legal arrangement that is substantially the same as 
marriage in all but the name.

 The amendment would not discriminate against 
individuals based on their sexual preference but merely 
would permit the voters of Texas to decide the scope of 
marriage in the state. Same-sex couples would not be 
prohibited from pursuing their lifestyle if this amendment 
were approved by voters. It just would not be sanctioned by 
the state. Also, a constitutional provision is not written in 
stone, and future citizens and lawmakers could amend the 
provision if values and mores change in the future.

 The prohibition against recognition of any legal status 
that is identical or similar to marriage would not infringe 
on individuals’ ability to enter into contracts or change the 
way common law marriage is treated today. The amendment 
would not apply to contracts because they would not be 

considered the same or similar to marriage, and common-
law marriage would not be affected because it is viewed as 
marriage today.

 The contention that this proposed amendment would 
invalidate traditional marriage is erroneous and false. 
No court in Texas would interpret the wording of the 
amendment to deny recognition of a traditional marriage. 
Judges are reasonable and take intent into account when 
deciding how the law should be applied. This amendment 
simply would place into the Constitution an existing 
provision in Texas law.

Opponents said 

 Amending the Texas Constitution to ban same-sex 
marriage is entirely unnecessary because, in practical 
terms, no case would get far enough to challenge the state’s 
marriage statutes. The courts in Texas are considered so 
unlikely to be sympathetic to arguments favoring same-sex 
marriage that no one has even filed a suit to start the process. 
Recent examples of how the courts likely would rule prevent 
challengers from wasting time and resources filing in Texas. 
Other challenges have been a part of a national campaign, 
with national funding and resources, to seek same-sex 
marriage status in certain states. Texas is not one of them, so 
the state should not change the Constitution unnecessarily.  

 This proposed amendment would take the issue 
of same-sex marriage out of the hands of citizens even 
though the institution of marriage has proven dynamic. It is 
noteworthy that anti-miscegenation laws banning inter-racial 
marriage were struck down less than 40 years ago. Although 
same-sex marriage is not contemplated widely today, 
future generations may see value in creating alternatives to 
traditional marriage. Already many Texas families are being 
formed that look different from the traditional format, either 
because of divorce and remarriage, single parenthood, or 
other circumstances. A constitutional amendment would 
limit future lawmakers’ ability to respond to constituents’ 
changing needs.

 This proposed amendment essentially would determine 
that the state’s equal protection clause would not apply to 
one group of people. Texas should not discriminate against 
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a group of citizens in the state constitution. Nowhere else in 
the constitution is a group of people singled out to be denied 
rights.

 This proposed amendment could threaten some 
contracts and other arrangements between individuals, 
such as common law marriage or certain domestic partner 
arrangements. Though not all contracts are similar to 
marriage, some relating to the transfer of property, medical 
decision-making authority, and other family issues could 
be construed as granting privileges similar to those 
enjoyed by married people. Common law marriage also 
could be threatened as it is not explicitly excluded from 
the prohibition this amendment would add to the Texas 
Constitution. 

 Further, this proposed amendment is clumsily worded 
and could be interpreted to mean that the state might not 
recognize existing marriages. Other states have worded 
their amendements to specify that the prohibition against 
recognizing or creating a legal status identical or similar to 
marriage does not include traditional marriage. Courts in 
Texas are unlikely to invalidate existing marriages, but they 
are equally unlikely to conclude that marriage can include 
same-sex unions given the existing statutory prohibition.

Notes
 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the April 
25 Daily Floor Report.
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Child and adult protective services revisions  

SB 6 by Nelson
Effective September 1, 2005

Child Protective Services (CPS)
 SB 6 changes the CPS system by implementing 
statewide privatization of substitute care and case 
management services by September 1, 2011. The 
Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) will 
develop performance-based contracting practices and new 
payment methodologies to maintain oversight of the newly 
privatized system and hold service providers accountable 
for outcomes. Independent administrators will manage 
substitute care services and case management services 
regionally if it is deemed cost beneficial. Services provided 
by an independent administrator will include recruiting 
and subcontracting with community-based substitute care 
providers to ensure a full array of services, managing 
placements and making referrals for placement, monitoring 
services delivered by subcontractors, providing training 
and technical assistance to contract providers, and ensuring 
accountability for achieving defined client and system 
outcomes. Residential treatment facilities and administrators 
will be licensed and monitored by DFPS.

 DFPS will develop and implement a staffing and 
workload distribution plan to reduce caseloads and 
improve the quality of investigations. CPS investigators 
will incorporate forensic methods of investigation with an 
emphasis on screening out less serious cases not requiring 
further investigation and responding to cases on a shorter 
timeline based on severity. Along with the new screening 
procedures, penalties are increased for people knowingly 
making false reports of abuse. Caseworkers will conduct 
joint investigations and training with law enforcement, 
incorporating the use of forensic methods of investigating 
alleged abuse, and will co-locate, to the extent possible, 
with law enforcement, shelters, and health care providers. 
The use of technology will be encouraged throughout 
the system. Attorneys ad litem will complete continuing 
education on child advocacy and will be appointed not 
only for children but also for indigent parents. DFPS will 
support the expansion of court-appointed volunteer advocate 
programs into counties in which there is a need for such 
programs.

 DFPS first will seek placement for a child with relative 
caregivers, and these individuals may be located through 
the use of a child placement resources form upon which 

parents will indicate potential caregivers. Assistance may 
be provided to relative caregivers in obtaining permanent 
legal status for a child and by providing, based upon a 
family’s need, a one-time cash payment of not more than 
$1,000, specified reimbursements for child-care expenses, 
and support services. Children in foster care will receive 
medical care through a medical home at which the child will 
receive necessary treatments to meet the child’s ongoing 
physical and mental health needs. Medical care will not 
be provided to a child in foster care unless approval is 
obtained from a person authorized to provide consent for 
medical care. Health and education passports will be readily 
accessible to authorized individuals containing the child’s 
full educational and medical history. The department will 
increase discharge planning and coordinate, to the extent 
possible, extended foster care eligibility, transition services, 
workforce-related services, referrals for short-term housing 
stays, and Medicaid coverage for youths age 21 or younger 
who formerly were in foster care. If DFPS determines that 
the number of children of a particular race or ethnicity 
in the CPS system is not proportionate, the department 
will attempt to reduce the disproportionate representation 
by documenting it and instituting policies to promote parity 
in outcomes for all children. 

Supporters said

 SB 6 would roll out privatization of substitute care 
and case management services in a highly planned and 
responsible fashion so that Texas children no longer 
would be endangered by the failings of the current CPS 
system. Evidence and experience have shown that adding 
more resources to the current system has not resolved 
CPS’s problems. Privatization would balance the need for 
immediate action with a process to assess each regional 
privatization effort so that the state could learn from best 
practices and implement them in other regions. Contracting 
with community-based organizations for substitute care 
and case management services would allow CPS to 
focus on performing effective investigations and making 
determinations on child removals in each child’s best 
interest. The infrastructure already exists for privatization 
because about 75 percent of foster care services currently are 
privately provided. The array of private services available, 
including basic care, emergency shelters, therapeutic foster 
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care, group homes, and residential treatment centers, assures 
that the remaining children in public foster care easily would 
be absorbed into the private system.  

 The current system is inefficient because case 
management services are duplicated by CPS staff and 
case managers within child care facilities. The privatized 
system would result in greater efficiency because those best 
equipped to determine each child’s needs — the people who 
work with the child on a daily basis — would make case 
management decisions. Under the current system, DFPS 
both regulates and manages itself, which creates a conflict 
of interest. The privatization plan would remove this conflict 
because the independent administrators who select the 
substitute care provider statutorily would be prevented from 
providing such services themselves or having a financial 
interest in such providers. Performance measures would 
be built into each contract, and payment methodologies 
would be aimed at achieving desired outcomes. In addition, 
nonprofits would be accountable to multiple stakeholders, 
including donors, and many have longstanding reputations 
for providing quality service. 

 DFPS would maintain the authority to provide services 
in emergencies. Ultimate decision-making authority would 
remain with DFPS as the child’s managing conservator, so 
the department could weigh in on contested terminations 
and exercise its authority when necessary. Other states have 
demonstrated positive outcomes from privatization, and 
costs would not be too high unless DFPS micromanaged at 
the case level, rather than effectively monitoring results and 
ensuring compliance with federal and state laws.

 The bill would include other positive provisions, 
including proven prevention services, enhanced 
collaboration with law enforcement and the community, 
more cultural awareness, increased assistance to foster and 
adoptive children and families, heightened emphasis on 
kinship care, and increased use of technology. Enhanced 
call-screening processes would allow caseworkers to 
reduce caseloads through better fact-gathering, allowing 
the state’s overburdened investigators to focus more time 
on helping true victims of abuse and neglect. Increasing 
the penalty for false reports would allow caseworkers to 
focus on cases where the safety of children truly was at risk. 
Following recommendations on the proper administration 
of psychotropic drugs would safeguard children against 
over-medication when they could have benefited from other 
treatments or were the subject of misdiagnosed behavioral 
problems. Medical passports would be a tremendous 
resource because medical histories would be maintained 
as children move from place to place and could provide 

critical information relevant to determining treatments 
and understanding what therapies previously had been 
attempted.
 
 Requiring DFPS to inquire about the sexual orientation 
of prospective families is unnecessary. The department 
already screens families for their suitability as foster parents 
and any person exhibiting behavior that truly is unstable 
or unhealthy is disqualified. There is no justification for 
discriminating against homosexual or bisexual applicants 
based solely on their sexual orientation. They may be the 
best placement for children given the small pool of families 
willing to become foster parents.

Opponents said 

 Privatization is not the answer to problems caused by 
a shortage of well trained CPS workers, a dearth of high-
quality foster homes, and insufficient social services such as 
mental health and drug and alcohol counseling. The major 
crisis in the CPS system, contributing to the tragic, recent 
cases of child abuse and death despite CPS involvement, 
is occurring at the investigations level, which privatization 
would not resolve. Although financial resources have been 
added to the current system, sufficient resources have never 
been committed to keep pace with caseload growth, leaving 
CPS starved for adequate funding to achieve its mission. 
The reason children often are sent to far-off treatment 
facilities is not because of a lack of effort by DFPS to obtain 
services locally but rather because reimbursement rates are 
not adequate to fund the higher costs of providing services 
in certain areas. Only more money will entice service 
providers into these hard-to-serve areas, which could be 
allocated without privatization. 

 It makes no sense to transfer case management to 
private providers when many of the supposed benefits of 
privatization could be obtained under the current system. 
With more resources, caseloads would be reduced and 
CPS caseworkers could spend more time interacting with 
children and families and ensure that parents’ input was 
heard and addressed. DFPS could build, train, and support 
networks of providers on a regional basis and also could 
enhance outcomes for children through performance-based 
contracting and various payment methodologies. Privatizing 
on the basis of benefits that DFPS could provide under the 
current system only would add another administrative layer 
of costs for oversight of cases and contract management.

 The definition of case management would leave room 
for harmful conflicts of interest because the independent 
administrator only would make the initial child placement, 
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after which case managers working for specific providers 
would make determinations on child and family service 
needs and would have an incentive to make decisions that 
could benefit their facilities. If payment methodologies 
intended to prevent abuses by minimizing the time a child 
spent in out-of-home care were not implemented carefully, 
they inadvertently could provide an incentive to deny 
children and families the full array of services needed. 
Although reunification is ideal, it should not be promoted at 
the expense of child welfare. 

 Private providers would lack the relevant experience, 
including dealings with the court system, to take over case 
management responsibilities. While CPS caseworkers deal 
with case decisions and related litigation, case managers 
at facilities deal with specific services provided to children 
and families. Privatizing case management responsibilities 
currently held by CPS caseworkers only would impose 
increased liability on the state. While ultimate responsibility 
for child outcomes still would fall to the state, CPS no 
longer would have control over case decision-making. 
Instead of implementing privatization statewide, Texas 
should implement a pilot program to examine fully various 
privatization models and weigh the consequences of each. 
Such a pilot would prevent resources from being pumped 
into a system that has not been proven safe or beneficial to 
the welfare of children and families in Texas.  

 Other harmful outcomes could arise from this bill. 
Placing a greater emphasis on screening calls could 
influence intake specialists to report fewer cases allowing 
more cases of real neglect and abuse to be overlooked. 
Increasing penalties for giving false reports could deter 
some sincere individuals from making reports of abuse for 
fear that they could be prosecuted if their allegations were 
not proven. Caution should be exercised in introducing 
stringent protocols regulating a doctor’s administration of 
psychotropic drugs to children because a physician is in 
the best position to assess a child’s treatment needs and 
sometimes treatment should involve the proper mix of 
multiple medications. The proposal for medical passports 
accessible by computer poses a privacy concern given the 
rise in incidences of identity theft and recent break-ins to 
major computer systems. 

Other opponents said

 DFPS should require foster parents to state whether 
they are homosexual or bisexual and disqualify applicants 
who answer affirmatively from becoming foster parents or 
continuing as foster parents. If DFPS determined after a 

reasonable investigation that an applicant had not answered 
truthfully, the department also should remove the children. 
This would ensure that children were not placed in unstable 
or unhealthy environments. Already children in the foster 
care system have undergone traumatic events, and the state 
should not compound their difficulties by placing them with 
individuals who live such lifestyles. 

Adult Protective Services (APS)
 SB 6 makes systemic changes to the APS program. The 
bill transfers authority over the state’s guardianship services 
from DFPS to the Department of Aging and Disability 
Services (DADS). The bill establishes new risk assessment 
criteria for use by APS personnel in determining whether 
an elderly or disabled person requires protective services 
due to imminent risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. It 
requires the creation of an investigation unit for APS that 
will investigate reports of abuse and contact the appropriate 
law enforcement agency if it finds abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation due to the criminal conduct of another person. 
The investigation process will provide for a special task unit 
and qualified personnel to handle complex cases and for an 
internal review of completed investigations. 

 APS will implement a quality assurance program based 
on client-centered outcome measures, including the intake 
process, investigations, risk assessment determinations, and 
the delivery of protective services. APS also will develop 
and implement a training program that new employees 
must complete before initiating an investigation of a report 
of alleged abuse or providing protective services to elderly 
or disabled persons. The Health and Human Services 
Commission must implement a caseload reduction program, 
a pilot program to monitor and remediate certain unlicensed 
long-term care facilities, and, if funding is available, a 
media campaign to educate the public and potentially 
prevent the mistreatment of elderly and disabled people. 
The commission also must develop an annual community 
satisfaction survey. 

 The bill also allows DADS to contract with a political 
subdivision of the state, a guardianship program, a private 
agency, or another state agency for the provision of 
guardianship services. DADS must develop or implement 
a quality assurance program for guardianship services 
to monitor any contracts DADS entered into to ensure 
the quality of the guardianship services. A guardianship 
advisory board will study the feasibility of adult protective 
services provided through a statewide network of local 
adult protective services boards making up a statewide 
guardianship program. 
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Supporters said 

 SB 6 would raise the bar for APS investigations and 
improve the quality of caseworkers that citizens depend on 
to safeguard the vulnerable adults of the state. Widespread 
problems have been documented in the state’s existing 
systems for protecting elderly and disabled persons from 
abuse and neglect, and the state cannot depend on the 
agency to reform itself. Provisions in the bill would improve 
investigative practices concerning elder abuse and neglect, 
support quality casework, improve the effectiveness of 
ongoing services, reform the guardianship system, increase 
the coordination with and involvement of community 
organizations, and enhance agency accountability. SB 6 
also would improve the training of direct delivery staff to 
improve incapacity determinations. The current assessment 
test, consisting of a handful of questions, is ineffective and 
inconsistently applied and allows cases to be closed early 
without intervention. The new test would evaluate better  
the mental capacity of elderly individuals by assessing 
their living conditions, financial status, physical and 
medical status, and social interaction and support. SB 6 
would encourage the retention of effective caseworkers by 
providing better training and support for employees who 
provide protective services to the aged and disabled. 

 The caseload reduction plan mandated by the bill 
would help to maintain caseloads and increase the quality 
of investigations. SB 6 would improve state guardianship 
services by transferring responsibilities from DFPS to 
DADS. Currently, there is a conflict of interest regarding 
placement of the guardianship program in APS because the 
agency also is responsible for reviewing and determining 
the necessity for guardianship. The agency that investigates 
should not be the same one handling guardianship duties. 
Individuals would be better served if the guardianship 
responsibilities were given to another agency. 

Opponents said 

 APS should not contract with protective services 
agencies for the provision of direct services to elderly and 
disabled persons. The state should be responsible for the 
care of its citizens, and services offered by private protective 
services agencies might be inferior to those offered by the 
state, as well as more difficult to supervise. SB 6 should 
require funding for a public awareness campaign, rather 
than base its implementation on the availability of funds. 
A public education campaign would improve citizens’ 
awareness of the abuse, neglect, and exploitation that face 
elderly and disabled persons. The public must learn about, 
and be encouraged to help prevent, the mistreatment of 
the elderly and disabled. The bill also should provide for 
the creation of a second probate court in certain counties 
that face large and rising caseloads. Probate courts around 
the state have struggled with their dockets due to a lack of 
resources to handle growing caseloads. 

Notes

 HB 920 by Uresti, which passed the House but died 
in the Senate Health and Human Services Committee, was 
identical to the adult protective services provisions in Article 
2 of SB 6 by Nelson.

 The HRO analysis of SB 6 appeared in Part One of 
the April 19 Daily Floor Report. HB 920 was analyzed in 
the April 28 floor report. 
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SB 419 by Nelson
Effective September 1, 2005

Abortion – parental consent and third trimester restrictions

 SB 419, the State Board of Medical Examiners Sunset 
bill, adds to the list of prohibited activities by a physician 
the performance of an abortion on an unemancipated minor 
without the written consent of the child’s parent or guardian 
or without a court order permitting the abortion.

 The bill also adds to the list of prohibited activities 
the performance of a third-trimester abortion of a viable 
unborn child unless the abortion would prevent the death or 
imminent, severe brain damage or paralysis of the woman. 
Such an abortion also would not be prohibited if the fetus 
had a severe, irreversible brain impairment.

Supporters said 

 Requiring consent would improve parental involvement 
in a minor’s decision about whether or not to have 
an abortion. While Texas has a parental notification 
requirement, physicians do not always follow it, and parents 
may find out too late or not at all. The bill would make 
Texas consistent with neighboring states as well as 18 other 
states currently requiring parental consent. 

 Parental involvement is important. By involving parents 
in a medical procedure performed on their children, parental 
consent could reduce the medical risk to minors. Parents are 
a key source of important medical information that may be 
relevant to surgery, such as allergies, medical conditions, 
and medical histories. After a minor had an abortion, a 
parent who had been involved could watch for and react 
to any possible negative consequences, such as infection 
or depression. Some school districts require consent of the 
parent before giving children aspirin in school and Texas 
requires it for ear-piercing, so the state should require 
parental consent for the much more serious procedure of 
abortion.

 Requiring consent would not compromise a minor’s 
ability to obtain alternate authorization under certain 
circumstances. Minors still would have available the option 
of seeking authorization from a court. 

 Parental consent, rather than notification, could make 
the decision process less difficult for a minor. Under the 
notification law, a minor still could have the procedure 
performed regardless of whether her parents had a moral 

objection. With required consent, parents would have veto 
power and would not have to convince their child not to 
have the procedure.

 An abortion of a viable child in the third trimester 
should be performed only to prevent the death or severe, 
irreversible brain damage or paralysis of the mother. A 
caesarian section to deliver a healthy unborn child in the 
third trimester often can be performed if continuing the 
pregnancy could jeopardize the mother’s health. 

Opponents said 

 The existing notification law adequately ensures 
parental involvement in a minor’s decision about whether 
or not to have an abortion. Parents who otherwise might be 
left out of their daughters’ life choices have the chance to 
counsel and advise them. There is no evidence that parents 
are not being notified under the existing law. No court case 
has been brought by a parent against a provider alleging that 
the physician performed an abortion on an identified minor 
without first notifying the parents. 

 Texas’ notification law is consistent with those of 
comparable states, such as New York and Florida, that, 
along with 10 other states, require parental notification. 
None of Texas’ neighboring states require consent, as New 
Mexico’s and Oklahoma’s consent statutes currently are 
not in effect as a result of an attorney general opinion or 
because they are enjoined by the courts. California’s consent 
statute also currently is enjoined by the courts based on state 
constitutional challenges.

 Requiring parental consent could endanger a woman’s 
health. Many young women who are pregnant wait as 
long as possible before seeking medical care and are likely 
to put off their decisions even longer if required to get 
consent from parents. Any delay increases the medical risk 
for a pregnant girl, and the risk grows as the pregnancy 
progresses. Judicial bypass can delay access to abortion by 
several more weeks.

 In Texas and most other states, minors are assured of 
confidentiality when they seek sensitive medical services, 
such as pregnancy and delivery, treatment of sexually 
transmitted disease, and therapy for drug abuse. These 
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conditions often entail greater health risk than abortion, yet 
the decision is left to the minor and remains confidential. 
Mandatory consent for abortion cannot be compared to 
receiving aspirin in school because school districts have 
adopted those policies voluntarily to protect themselves 
from liability concerns.

 Requiring parental consent, rather than notification, 
could increase the number of judicial bypass cases. Young 
women who have been abandoned by their parents or whose 
only surviving parent is in jail would be forced to go to 
court, even if the reason consent could not be obtained was 
not a parent’s objections. The panoply of family situations 
for young women could not adequately be accounted for 
under a parental consent law. Notification strikes the right 
balance between encouraging parental involvement and 
respecting a young woman’s ultimate right to choose.

 Restricting a physician’s authority to perform a third 
trimester abortion to instances when the mother’s life was 
at risk of severe, irreversible brain damage or paralysis 
would ignore other equally devastating outcomes, such as 
risks to her health. No woman who has carried an unborn 
child to the third trimester wants an abortion, but there are 
medical conditions and other unforeseen complications that 
can occur, and families, with their physicians, should make 
decisions based on individual circumstances rather than the 
Legislature’s making arbitrary distinctions. 

Other opponents said 

 This amendment would not go far enough and could 
be open to challenge in court because it is not explicit in its 
provisions for judicial bypass of parental consent for a minor 
to have an abortion. The additional requirements in HB 1212 
by P. King and SB 1150 by Harris would include extending 
the time frame for a judge to hear and decide such cases 
from two to five business days, limiting venue to the minor’s 
county of residence or the county where the abortion would 
be performed, requiring the judge to determine whether the 
abortion was in the minor’s best interests, and changing the 
burden of proof from a preponderance of evidence to clear 
and convincing evidence. In addition, HB 1212 would have 
required disclosure of certain judicial information and made 
coercing a woman to have an abortion an offense. 

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the May 16 Daily 
Floor Report. The abortion consent amendment and third 
trimester abortion restrictions were added on the House floor 
and did not appear in the original analysis of SB 419 .

 HB 1212 by P. King and SB 1150 by Harris, requiring 
parental consent for abortion by a minor, both died on the 
House floor. The HRO analysis of HB 1212 appeared in Part 
One of the May 10 Daily Floor Report, and the analysis of 
SB 1150 appeared in the May 22 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 1434 by Hamric
Died in the Senate

Continuing the Texas Lottery Commission

 HB 1434 would have continued the Texas Lottery 
Commission, the State Lottery Act, and the Bingo Enabling 
Act until September 1, 2017. 

 General agency administration. HB 1434 would have 
changed the size of the commission from three to five 
members. The bill would have directed the commission 
to develop a comprehensive business plan and to make 
an annual assessment of the performance of each project 
described by the business plan. 

 The bill would have made the general law governing 
purchasing and contracts by state agencies apply to the 
commission, except as otherwise provided by the lottery act. 
HB 1434 would have required the commission to analyze 
complaints to identify any trends related to certain types of 
violations. The bill would have required the commission 
to identify and adopt polices complying with relevant laws 
governing consumer information and protection. 

 Lottery. The bill would have added a definition of 
“minor” to specify that a prize could be paid directly to a 
person age 18 or older. It would have allowed a lottery sales 
agent’s license to be transferred from one location to another 
under certain circumstances and would have allowed a 
license that had been expired for not more than 10 days to be 
renewed under certain circumstances. 

 Bingo. HB 1434 would have prohibited the use of 
certain types of equipment by stating that the definition of 
bingo equipment would not include an electronic monitoring 
terminal, a site controller, or any electronic device used 
to play an electronic version of pull-tab bingo. The bill 
also said that this provision would prevail over any other 
conflicting act of the 79th Legislature. 

 The commission would have had to establish 
comprehensive qualifications for licensure and renewal of 
licenses, develop a standard license renewal process, and 
establish standards of conduct for licensees. It would have 
had to consider the compliance history of licensees when 
deciding whether to renew a license. 

 HB 1434 would have required, instead of authorized, 
the commission to take certain actions when suspending or 
revoking a license for failure to comply with a code or rule 
or for a reason that would allow or require the commission 

to refuse to issue or renew a license in the same class. It 
would have established a new option for a reprimand in 
these cases. The bill would have allowed the commission 
to place on probation those whose licenses were suspended. 
Upon a suspension of a bingo organization’s license, the 
commission would have been required to issue an amended 
or temporary license to other organizations that conducted 
bingo at the same location so they could conduct bingo 
during the time that the suspended organization conducted 
games. 

 HB 1434 would have eliminated current requirements 
that certain types of organizations be in existence for a 
specified numbers of years to be authorized to conduct 
bingo. Instead, the commission would have been able to 
specify by rule the length of time that organizations must 
have been in existence. 

Supporters say

 General agency administration. The Texas Lottery 
Commission should be continued since the state lottery and 
bingo are important sources of revenue for the state, local 
jurisdictions, and charities. The work of the commission 
in operating the lottery and regulating charitable bingo 
is hampered by having only three commissioners. In the 
absence of one commissioner, for example, the other two 
cannot informally discuss the work of the agency without 
violating the Open Meetings Act. Also, because of its small 
size, the commission cannot form subcommittees to help it 
oversee the agency. 

 Lottery. It is necessary to clarify the definition of a 
minor because current law refers to a definition in the 
Property Code that describes a person younger than 21 years 
of age. This limit prevents people between the ages of 18 
and 20 from receiving major winnings directly. Since people 
above the age of 18 legally are allowed to purchase lottery 
tickets, they should be able to receive any winnings as a 
result. The bill would resolve this conflict. 
 
 Bingo. Electronic pull-tab bingo should be prohibited 
explicitly by the bill to ensure that gambling would not be 
expanded in Texas and that authorization of electronic pull-
tab bingo would not used as a back-door way to legalize 
video lottery terminals or other gambling machines. 
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 HB 1434 would make numerous changes to the 
commission’s licensing procedures to ensure a consistent 
licensing process and to standardize enforcement provisions. 
These changes would help ensure that the procedures 
were fair to licensees, adequately protected the public, and 
safeguarded charitable revenue. The bill would achieve 
these objectives by requiring that the commission establish 
the qualifications for licensure and renewal so that all 
licensees were subject to the same requirements and 
aware of the qualifications. The bill also would give the 
commission more flexibility to respond appropriately to 
licensees by authorizing a system of probation. 

Opponents say
            
 General agency administration. The Lottery 
Commission should be merged with the Racing Commission 
to form a new gaming commission. Alternatively, the 
operation of the lottery should be transferred back to the 
Comptroller’s Office, allowing the agency to operate more 
independently. The regulation of bingo should be separated. 
A three-member commission properly ensures that two 
commissioners cannot discuss business in a casual way 
outside of a formal meeting. This restriction assures the 
public that business is never discussed behind closed doors. 

 If the Lottery Commission is to be expanded, it should 
include two representatives of bingo interests, instead of 
the one currently required. This would help ensure that 
the bingo industry was adequately represented. If more 
commissioners were added, the governor should appoint a 
representative who could speak for underprivileged people, 
who play the lottery in disproportionate numbers. 

 Bingo. HB 1434 should include authorization for 
electronic pull-tab bingo. This would not expand gambling 
but simply would be a new way to play the existing game 
of pull-tab bingo and would increase revenues to the 
charities and the state. Authorizing electronic pull-tab bingo 
would not be a back-door way of authorizing video lottery 
terminals or other gambling machines. 

 The commission should continue to be authorized, 
instead of required as in HB 1434, to take certain actions 
when it considers a license suspension or revocation. The 
bill would tie the hands of the commission by requiring 
certain types of actions, which in some cases may not be 
appropriate or could result in less money for charitable 
purposes. 

Notes
 
 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
12 Daily Floor Report. 

 HB 1116 by Solomons, revising the Sunset schedule, 
continued the Texas Lottery Commission, the State Lottery 
Act, and the Bingo Enabling Act until 2011, at which time 
the Sunset Advisory Commission will conduct a full review. 

 The House engrossed version of HB 1434 would have 
prohibited bingo-related electronic monitoring terminals, 
site controllers, or any devices used to play an electronic 
version of pull-tab bingo.  However, the Senate adopted an 
amendment by Armbrister to HB 3 by J. Keffer, the omnibus 
revenue bill, that would have authorized electronic pull-
tab bingo. When the House appointed its conferees for HB 
3, it adopted a motion to instruct the conferees to remove 
the Armbrister amendment from the bill. HB 3 died in 
conference committee. 

 An unsuccessful amendment to HB 3540 by Pitts, 
appropriations-related legislation that was not enacted, 
would have authorized the Lottery Commission to establish 
a system to sell lottery tickets through the Internet. 
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HB 2544 by Hamric
Died in Senate Committee

Continuing the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

 HB 2544, the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission 
(TABC) Sunset bill, would have continued the commission 
until September 1, 2011.

 General powers and public health. The bill would 
have given TABC a number of general powers and duties, 
including the protection of public safety, promotion of legal 
and responsible alcohol consumption, and enforcement 
of the Alcoholic Beverage Code and the licensing and 
permitting process. Among the bill’s provisions, on-premise 
permit and license holders would have been required 
to display on the door to each restroom a warning sign 
informing the public of the risks of drinking alcohol during 
pregnancy.
 
 Enforcement. TABC would have been required to 
adopt a schedule of sanctions to ensure that the severity 
of each sanction appropriately matched the severity of the 
corresponding violation. TABC could have used funds 
gained through the sale of seized alcoholic beverages to help 
defray the costs of forfeiture lawsuits. 

 Regulation of business practices. The bill would have 
repealed Alcoholic Beverage Code, sec. 101.44, which 
requires that beer be sold only in specific container sizes. It 
would have removed the requirement that TABC approve 
liquor and wine labels and conduct chemical analyses of 
liquor and wine. Some requirements of beer testing also 
would have been relaxed. 

 The commission could have issued licenses that expired 
in two years, rather than one, to businesses that had no 
previous violations. HB 2544 would have required the 
commission to authorize payment for beer deliveries to 
retailers by electronic funds transfer initiated on or before 
the day of delivery. 

Supporters said

 According to a recent survey, up to 50 percent of 
women do not connect the consumption of alcohol with the 
risk of birth defects. Posting signs to inform the public about 
these risks would be an important step in preventing health 
problems among many of the state’s citizens.

 Currently, TABC cannot use proceeds from the sale of 
seized property to pay the costs of forfeiture lawsuits, which 
establish the state’s right to illegal property. HB 2544 would 
allow TABC to file forfeiture suits and give it a mechanism 
for paying the associated court costs. This would bring the 
process in step with other law enforcement agencies and 
enable TABC to afford to file more forfeiture lawsuits. Also, 
developing a new schedule of sanctions would help ensure 
that penalties were fair and consistently applied.

 The bill would allow market preference, not the size of a 
bottle, to determine which beers could be sold in Texas. The 
consumer would benefit from this choice. Also, the proposed 
biennial license renewal would ease administrative burdens.

Opponents said

 The commission should go further in its efforts to 
combat the damage created by alcohol abuse by abolishing 
happy hour practices at bars and restaurants. Also, rather 
than eliminating all size restrictions for beer containers, the 
commission should set a maximum size limit, which would 
help prevent alcohol abuse.

 In reviewing its sanctions on license holders, the 
commission should consider limiting the lifetime of a 
violation on record. Also, graduated penalties should be tied 
to the relevant licensed location where an offense took place, 
not to the entire company.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 5 
Daily Floor Report.

 Two of the Sunset commission’s recommendations 
initially included in HB 2544 ultimately were included in 
SB 1255 by Brimer (effective June 18), allowing TABC 
to use funds gained through the sale of seized property to 
help defray the costs of forfeiture lawsuits and repealing 
Alcoholic Beverage Code, sec. 101.44, which required that 
beer be sold only in specific container sizes.

 HB 1116 by Solomons, revising the Sunset review 
schedule, continues the TABC until September 1, 2007. 
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SB 7 by Janek, Second Called Session
Effective November 18, 2005 

Restricting eminent domain use for economic development purposes

 SB 7 prohibits governmental or private entities from 
using eminent domain to take private property if the taking 
confers a private benefit on a particular private party through 
the use of the property or is for a public use that merely is 
a pretext to confer a private benefit on a particular private 
party. 

 It also prohibits the exercise of eminent domain 
to seize private property if the taking is for economic 
development purposes, unless economic development is a 
secondary purpose that results from municipal community 
development or municipal urban renewal activities to 
eliminate an existing affirmative harm on society from slum 
or blighted areas under specific provisions of the Local 
Government Code or the Tax Code.

 A determination by a governmental or private entity that 
a proposed taking of property does not involve one of these 
prohibited reasons does not create a presumption about what 
the taking involved.

 SB 7 does not affect the authority of any entity 
authorized to use eminent domain for: 

• transportation projects, including railroads, airports, 
or public roads or highways;

• conservation and reclamation districts created under 
the Texas Constitution, including port authorities, 
navigation districts, and any other conservation or 
reclamation districts that act as ports; 

• water supply, wastewater, flood control, and 
drainage projects; public buildings, hospitals, and 
parks; and provision of utility services;

• a sports and community venue project approved by 
voters at an election held on or before December 1, 
2005, under Local Government Code, chapters 334 
or 335; 

• pipeline operations; 
• a purpose authorized by Utilities Code, ch. 181 

regulating private gas and electric utilities; 
oil and gas underground storage operations subject to 
Natural Resources Code, ch. 91; 

• a waste disposal project; or 
• a library, museum, or related facility and any 

infrastructure related to the facility. 

•

 The bill does not affect the authority of a governmental 
entity to condemn a leasehold estate on property owned by 
that entity.

 These provisions apply to the use of eminent domain 
under all state laws, including a local or special law, by any 
governmental or private entity including: 

• a state agency, including an institution of higher 
education; 

• a political subdivision of the state; or 
• a corporation created by a governmental entity to 

act on behalf of the entity.

 The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) is 
prohibited from using eminent domain to take property for 
an ancillary facility, such as a gas station or convenience 
store, on both the Trans-Texas Corridor and other state-
owned toll roads unless the acquisition is for one of multiple 
ancillary facilities included in a comprehensive development 
plan approved by the county commissioners court of each 
county in which the property is located. 

 SB 7 prohibits a governing board of an institution of 
higher education from using the power of eminent domain 
to acquire land for a lodging facility, parking, or a parking 
structure intended to be used in conjunction with the use of a 
lodging facility.

 The bill creates an interim legislative committee to 
study the use of the power of eminent domain, including 
its use for economic development and the issue of what 
constitutes adequate compensation for property taken 
through eminent domain, and to report to the 80th 
Legislature by December 1, 2006. 

Supporters said 

 SB 7 is necessary to protect property rights in Texas 
following the recent U.S. Supreme Court ruling that 
allowed a local government to seize property from private 
owners and transfer it to another owner simply to increase 
tax revenues through economic development. Under the 
precedent established by the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision 
in Kelo v. City of New London, cities or other entities with 
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eminent domain authority could argue that nearly any 
project benefited the public through economic development 
and could, for example, take private homes to enable the 
construction of a shopping mall that would generate more 
tax revenue than the homes. Without SB 7, the state and 
local governments could subject Texans to the same abuse 
of eminent domain power that has occurred in the Kelo case. 
The bill is not an overreaction to the Kelo decision because 
similar cases have occurred in Texas, including in the cities 
of Freeport and Hurst. The bill would be in line with similar 
policies in use or under consideration in several other states 
and in the U.S. Congress.

 The language in SB 7 is specific enough to protect 
private property from inappropriate takings for economic 
development, yet also to allow state and local governments 
to continue to use eminent domain in clear public-use 
situations. To avoid confusion, the bill specifically lists 
certain types of projects that clearly would not be subject 
to the prohibitions in the bill. SB 7 also would require local 
approval for the use of eminent domain for ancillary toll-
road facilities to ensure that there was local support and a 
local official to hold accountable in these cases.

 The bill would not violate the state’s policies of local 
control or of encouraging economic development. It would 
not take away the authority that any entity currently has to 
use eminent domain and would not prohibit the exercise 
of that authority for projects with economic development 
ramifications as long as these projects were undertaken for 
legitimate public uses in which economic development was 
not the primary purpose. Even if done purely for economic 
development, such projects could proceed with government 
participation without the use of eminent domain. 

Opponents said 

 Enacting new restrictions on eminent domain use 
would be an overreaction to the Kelo decision. The laws 
and Constitution of Texas allow for a broad interpretation 
of public use to include economic development in some 
situations involving eminent domain, and that flexibility 
should not be eliminated. Economic development is an 

accepted role for government that in some cases has a 
defined public benefit and can satisfy a public purpose as 
much as more traditional government projects. An overly 
broad statewide limit on the use of eminent domain for all 
economic development projects could conflict with the 
state’s policy of encouraging state and local officials to think 
creatively about economic development and of local control. 

 The Kelo decision illustrates when it might be 
acceptable to exercise eminent domain for economic 
development purposes, such as when an area is distressed 
enough to justify an economic development program and 
when the property is taken under a carefully formulated 
development plan to provide appreciable benefits to 
the entire community, rather than a particular class of 
identifiable individuals. For example, the exercise of 
eminent domain over the objections of a few property 
owners might be appropriate if an entire community stood 
to benefit from a carefully crafted economic development 
project, such as the development of a consumer/retail area. 

 SB 7 could have the unintended consequence of 
restricting many legitimate uses of the power of eminent 
domain for public purposes. Private property owners could 
challenge its legitimate exercise by claiming that almost 
any project was being undertaken primarily for economic 
development reasons and could take the matter to court. 

 This bill would conflict with the principle of local 
control by interfering with decisions made by local officials 
about when to use eminent domain for public uses and 
when public use should be broadly interpreted to include 
economic development. Local officials are in the best 
position to make these decisions about the greater good of 
local communities because these officials are closest to the 
projects and can be held accountable for their actions by 
voters.

Notes

 The HRO analysis of the companion bill, HB 16 by 
Woolley, appeared in the August 10 Daily Floor Report. 
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SB 9 by Staples
Effective May 28, 2005

Expansion and modification of homeland security efforts

 SB 9 changes the name of the Critical Infrastructure 
Protection Council to the Homeland Security Council. 
Fifteen government entities will be newly represented 
on the council, and representatives are to be appointed 
by December 1, 2005.  The bill establishes a First 
Responder Advisory Council as a permanent special 
advisory committee to advise the Governor’s Office on 
homeland security issues relevant to first responders, radio 
interoperability, the integration of statewide exercises for 
hazards, and the related use of available funding. It also 
creates the Private Sector Advisory Council to advise the 
Governor’s Office on homeland security issues relevant to 
the private sector. 

 The Governor’s Office must develop and administer 
a strategic plan to design and implement a statewide 
integrated public safety radio communications system to 
promote interoperability within and between local, state, 
and federal agencies and first responders. A report on the 
status of its duties must be submitted to the Legislature by 
the Governor’s Office not later than September 1 each year. 
The bill abolishes the Public Safety Radio Communications 
Council (PSRCC) and makes the Governor’s Office 
responsible for the interoperability of radio communications. 
The Governor’s Office will take ownership and custody of 
all property, including records, of PSRCC by December 1, 
2005. 

 The bill requires an owner, agent, manager, operator, or 
other person in charge of a public water supply system or 
wastewater system providing services for public or private 
use to notify the Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality (TCEQ) of certain events that negatively could 
affect the production or delivery of safe and adequate 
drinking water, such as unauthorized entry on property, 
an act of terrorism, property theft, or a natural disaster, 
accident, or act resulting in damage to the water supply or 
system. 

 The Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) and Texas 
Animal Health Commission (TAHC) must pursue a policy 
of ensuring that state borders are secure from shipments of 
potentially dangerous pests and diseases carried by plants 
and animals. TDA and TAHC must jointly conduct road 
station and interstate shipment inspections, as feasible and 

appropriate, at strategic locations throughout the state. TDA 
may enter into agreements with private entities to implement 
these requirements. 

 SB 9 includes a comprehensive definition of critical 
infrastructure facility and increases the penalty from a class 
B misdemeanor (up to 180 days in jail and/or a maximum 
fine of $2,000) to a class A misdemeanor (up to one year 
in jail and/or a maximum fine of $4,000) for trespass on 
or in refineries, chemical and power plants, and the other 
critical infrastructure facilities. The enhanced penalty will 
not apply if a defendant can prove by a preponderance of the 
evidence that the defendant entered or remained on or in a 
critical infrastructure facility as part of a peaceful or lawful 
assembly.

 SB 9 also repeals a requirement that the operator of a 
crane or similar apparatus, any part of which is capable of 
vertical, lateral, or swinging motion, post a warning sign and 
install and equip the crane with an insulating device or guard 
to prevent electrocution.

Supporters said 

 A strategy to detect, deter and respond to homeland 
security threats and emergencies is crucial for the safety 
and security of the state and its citizens. Much has been 
accomplished, but the state needs consistently to strengthen 
its capacity to enhance domestic security and combat 
terrorist activities. SB 9 would provide for improvements 
in areas not now covered for homeland security purposes, 
including efforts to protect public health, agricultural crops 
and livestock, drinking water, and critical infrastructure. The 
bill would improve anti-terrorism planning, coordination, 
and communication between state and local agencies and 
would encourage more inspections of livestock, produce, 
and pesticides entering the state.  

 Adding the 15 state agencies to the Homeland Security 
Council would provide a more balanced and complete 
representation of the entities crucial to homeland security. 
Establishing two permanent special advisory committees 
would keep the Governor’s Office better advised on 
homeland security issues in the public and private sectors.
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 In Texas, several different radio systems are used by 
federal, state, and local emergency responders and law 
enforcement officials. These overlapping systems fail to 
communicate for several reasons, including frequency 
variations, age, incompatible equipment, or lack of 
coordination among interested parties. SB 9 would require 
the Governor’s Office to link various existing radio systems 
regionally and throughout the state with radio systems that 
would be purchased in the future by using some of the 
Homeland Security grant program money. 

 The tougher penalty for trespassers on or in critical 
infrastructure facilities would make it more difficult for 
terrorists to scout and investigate targeted facilities. The 
extra time that a terror suspect remained in custody would 
increase the likelihood of law enforcement agents obtaining 
information on plans and accomplices, as well as deter 
others from committing similar acts.

 Current federal safety regulations, which require cranes 
to be kept a certain distance from power lines, are sufficient. 
The repeal of the installation requirements would assist 
municipalities, districts, first responders, and emergency 
services in protecting critical infrastructure facilities and in 
disaster recovery. 

Opponents said 

 SB 9 should provide harsher penalties for those 
trespassing on or in critical infrastructure facilities. This 
bill would increase the penalty for trespassing at refineries, 
ports, and other prime infrastructure facilities from a class B 
to a class A misdemeanor, which would amount to merely 
a harder slap on the wrist for offenders. Instead of risking 
six months in the county jail, the maximum penalty under 
current law for a class B misdemeanor, a trespasser scouting 
a refinery as a potential target could wind up in jail for a 
year, the maximum penalty for a class A misdemeanor. Such 
a penalty would be unlikely to make a terrorist, such as a 
suicide bomber, think twice about committing a terrorist act. 

 This bill also would repeal an important safety 
requirement for operators of cranes and similar apparatuses. 
According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, between 
10 and 36 workers have died each year since 1992 as 
a result of a crane coming into contact with electric 
current. By removing the 16-year-old requirement for 
installing insulating devices on cranes, SB 9 could result in 
unnecessary deaths of crane workers. 

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
24 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1140 by Carona
Died in House committee

Requiring legislators to cast record votes

 SB 1140 would have required record votes on votes 
taken by the House or the Senate or a committee on any of 
the following: 

• approval or disapproval of a bill, amendment, or 
substitute bill;

• approval or disapproval of a joint resolution or 
related amendment or substitute;

• appointment or election of a legislative officer or 
other public official; or

• confirmation of an appointment to public office. 

 Record votes would have been published in the 
journals and committee minutes of each house and for two 
years following the vote would have been published and 
maintained on the Internet in a user-friendly manner.

Supporters said

 SB 1140 would require that legislators be accountable 
for their votes. Texas legislators currently record their votes 
on just a fraction of the bills and amendments they pass 
each session. According to the National Conference of State 
Legislatures, Texas is one of a handful of states that does not 
require record votes on final passage of legislation or other 
important stages in the legislative process. For example, 
the California Assembly takes more than 5,000 votes in 
a two-year session, all of which not only are recorded 
but are easily accessible online. Further, Arizona’s part-
time legislature routinely records votes without creating 
unreasonable delays in the legislative process. Texas should 
demonstrate a similar commitment to open government by 
requiring the elected representatives of its citizens to cast 
record votes.  

 While the votes of individual legislators on some 
measures are printed in the House or Senate journals, there 
is no way to determine how each member voted during 
a voice vote, a common method of passing or defeating 
legislation in both chambers. Texas citizens did not elect 
their lawmakers to vote anonymously on major issues that 

affect the state, and SB 1140 would prohibit legislators from 
picking and choosing when to be accountable for the ballots 
they cast. In addition, SB 1140 would make it easier for 
the public to view members’ voting records on the web by 
requiring online storage of such information “in a manner 
that is easily accessible and searchable.” Although the 
journals of both legislative chambers currently are available 
online, it is very difficult to uncover even a record vote on 
the state’s online system without knowing, for example, the 
exact bill number or date on which the vote or debate took 
place.  Recent procedural changes have made finding record 
votes somewhat easier, but the Legislature by law should be 
required to make record votes readily accessible.

Opponents said 

 Requiring record votes on all legislation, even when the 
vote is routine and unanimous, would be expensive, time-
consuming, and logistically burdensome. According to the 
House Journal Clerk, the estimated cost of each recorded 
vote is $55, which would have cost approximately $200,000 
if all votes, including amendments and votes on second and 
third reading, had been recorded during the 2003 regular 
session and subsequent special sessions. Requiring record 
votes also could hinder behind-the-scenes negotiations, 
which allow lawmakers to pass bills that, while regionally 
unpopular, might benefit state as a whole.

 Under recent House rules changes, any member 
can ask for a record vote on any measure at any time. 
In addition, voice votes are recorded in the journal with 
the understanding that each member voted “yes” unless 
otherwise indicated. Even on non-record votes, members 
may notify the journal clerk to have their votes recorded, 
and members also may submit statements to the journal 
explaining their votes, which sheds additional light on 
the process. Current procedures in both chambers offer a 
practical way of informing the public while allowing the 
Legislature to carry out its business in an efficient and cost-
effective manner during brief biennial sessions.
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SB 1863 by Ogden
Effective September 1, 2005

Appropriations-related statutory changes

 SB 1863 makes appropriations-related statutory 
changes that are expected to result in a gain to general 
revenue and related funds of $725 million in fiscal 2006-07. 
Significant provisions include: 

 Telecommunications Infrastructure Fund (TIF). 
SB 1863 repeals the current $1.75 billion cap on the total 
revenue that can be raised for the TIF. The bill also extends 
the expiration date of the fund until September 1, 2011. 
Revenue collected under this TIF assessment will go into the 
general revenue fund.

 After the amount paid into the fund by all utilities equals 
$1.5 billion, a telecommunications utility can recover the 
amount that it paid into the fund from its customers through 
their monthly bills. A utility can collect from its customers 
only the amount assessed after the fund reaches $1.5 billion. 
The comptroller will publish in the Texas Register the date 
on which the fund equals this amount. A utility that wishes 
to recover its assessment will have to file an affidavit no 
later than February 15 of each year stating the amount it paid 
to the fund and the amount it collected from its customers 
during the previous year.

 Delayed transfers. The bill deposits driver’s license and 
other fees to general revenue, rather than the Texas Mobility 
Fund, in fiscal 2006-07. This section took effect September 
1, 2005, and will expire January 1, 2008.

 Increased fees. SB 1863 raises the registration fee for 
lobbyists from $300 to $500 per year. 

 Audits. The bill requires agencies with expenditures of 
greater than $100 million each biennium to participate in 
recovery audits. 

 Health and human services (HHS) changes. SB 
1863 continues six-month eligibility for Medicaid and the 
Children’s Health Insurance Program and continues the 
existing quality assurance fee for intermediate care facilities 
for the mentally retarded. HHS agencies are permitted in 
conjunction with other states to jointly purchase prescription 
drugs, if feasible and cost effective. 

 State employee waiver of health benefits. A state 
employee wishing to waive health coverage is required to 
show coverage by a substantially similar plan or eligibility 

for benefits under TRICARE military coverage, in which 
case an employee will be eligible for an incentive payment 
in an amount set by the general appropriations act. If an 
employee is eligible for TRICARE, the state also will offer a 
supplemental health coverage program. The state can reduce 
its contribution for employees who waive health coverage 
or those who waive and choose an incentive payment or 
supplemental coverage. 

 Petroleum storage tank remediation. The bill extends 
the reimbursement deadline to August 31, 2007, for 
eligible petroleum storage tank owners or operators who 
take corrective action, which increases the number of sites 
that can participate in the state-lead remediation program. 
Operators of storage tanks in sites that are admitted into the 
remediation program may not be held liable for releases 
of regulated substances or for costs related to corrective 
action. The bill also removes limitations on the amount of 
funds within the petroleum storage tank remediation account 
that can be spent on administration of the account and the 
groundwater protection cleanup program.

 Collection of fees for the petroleum storage tank 
remediation account will be maintained at fiscal 2003 levels, 
rather than reduced annually. This account cannot be used 
after March 1, 2008, and the reimbursement program will 
expire September 1, 2008.

 Collection of court costs, fees, and fines. Counties with 
at least 50,000 inhabitants and cities with at least 100,000 
inhabitants, unless granted a waiver, are required to develop 
a program to improve collection of court costs, fees, and 
fines. The comptroller will assist counties and cities with 
developing and implementing the program. 

 Interest on tax refunds. The bill sets the interest rate 
paid by the state on tax refunds at the lesser of the annual 
rate of interest earned on deposits in the state treasury during 
December of the previous year or the prime rate plus 1 
percent, which was the rate paid before the enactment of SB 
1863.

 Existing Debt Allotment (EDA). The bill rolls forward 
the eligibility cutoff date for the EDA for school facilities 
by two years so that bonds for which school districts made 
payments during the 2004-05 school year are eligible for 
state debt assistance.   
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 State employee benefits and pay. The bill changes the 
accrual rate for longevity pay from increments of three 
years’ service to two-year increments. It also makes changes 
affecting the following employee groups:

Annuitant state employees. A retired state employee 
who returns to work is not eligible for longevity pay 
or benefit replacement pay, an additional amount 
covering Social Security costs for senior employees. 
The employee’s vacation time is calculated based 
on the length of employment after the employee 
retires and returns to work. 
Benefit replacement pay. The bill shortens from 
12 consecutive months to 30 days the amount of 
time an employee or state-paid judge can leave 
state employment before becoming ineligible for 
benefit replacement pay. Unpaid leave-of-absence 
or periods when an employee usually does not work 
do not count toward the 30 days. 

 Teacher Retirement System (TRS). The bill 
incorporates the following provisions of SB 1691 by 
Duncan: 

increasing active employees’ required contribution 
to TRS-Care, the retired teacher health insurance 
program, from 0.5 percent to 0.65 percent of salary; 
requiring school districts to contribute to the TRS 
pension fund the state contribution rate during a 
new employee’s first 90 days of employment; and 
transferring the administration of supplemental 
salary, such as the health insurance passthrough, 
from TRS to the Texas Education Agency. 

 SB 1863 also amends the Government Code to specify 
that the state contribution to the TRS pension fund must be 
between 6 percent and 10 percent.

•

•

•

•

•

Supporters say

 TIF. The 74th Legislature in 1995 created the TIF to 
finance access to telecommunications services for public 
schools, nonprofit hospitals, public libraries, and higher 
education institutions across the state. The fund was created 
and maintained through an assessment of 1.25 percent of 
the telecommunications providers’ taxable receipts and 
was authorized to collect up to $1.5 billion over 10 years. 
Eliminating the revenue cap for TIF would result in $200 
million per year that could be used for property tax relief 
and essential government services, including education. 
Given that the telecommunications utilities have met their 
obligations up to the original revenue cap of $1.5 billion, 
it would be reasonable to allow those incumbent local 
exchange carriers (ILECs) that have not been passing on the 
1.25 percent assessment to consumers to now do so.

Opponents say

 TIF. Allowing ILECs to pass on their 1.25 percent 
assessment to customers would amount to a new tax that 
millions of consumers would have to pay each month. 
Eliminating the revenue cap on TIF and using these 
additional receipts for programs other than technology 
grants would violate the spirit of the original TIF 
agreement and amount to a discriminatory sales tax on 
telecommunications services. The state has fulfilled the goal 
of the original legislation by disbursing more than $1 billion 
for technology grants since 1995, and TIF now should be 
retired.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the May 22 Daily 
Floor Report.
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HB 1135 by Delisi
Died in the House

Creating a Medicaid buy-in program

 HB 1135 would have directed HHSC to develop and 
implement a Medicaid buy-in program for people with 
disabilities as authorized under the federal Ticket to Work 
and Work Incentives Program Act of 1999 and the Balanced 
Budget Act of 1997. A Medicaid buy-in program is a way 
for people with disabilities to obtain employment without 
exceeding the Medicaid income threshold and thus losing 
their benefits.

 The program would have been based on a model 
developed through a stakeholder workgroup that included:

eligibility for disabled individuals with incomes 
below 250 percent of the federal poverty level 
($23,275 per year);
an asset limit of $2,000 to $3,000, including 
disregards for certain work expenses;
a focus on work with required employment and 
income of about $300 per month; and
a sliding-scale monthly premium that could range 
from $25 to $400.

Supporters said

 A Medicaid buy-in program would remove a significant 
barrier faced by people with disabilities when they 
contemplate employment. Although many such people are 
unable to earn enough to pay their significant medical costs, 
some can earn enough to contribute to them. Instead of not 
working and paying nothing for Medicaid, this program 
would get such people into the workforce and allow them 
to participate in the cost of their medical care as if it were 
a private health plan. Employment benefits people in 
intangible ways through community involvement, skills 
development, and social interaction. It also may reduce 
medical costs as people who are shut out of the working 
world often show symptoms of neglect or depression that 
could be remedied by purposeful, regular work. 

 Many people who are hampered by the regulations 
of Medicaid and Medicare – including the waiting period 
for Medicare for people with disabilities and the de facto 
employment prohibition in Medicaid – would benefit 

•

•

•

•

from this program. Often people with disabilities face 
changes in their situation, such as a new diagnosis or loss 
of a spouse’s health insurance, that can result in a period 
without insurance. Untreated and without resources, these 
individuals often are ruined financially and physically by 
the gap in coverage. A Medicaid buy-in program would give 
them a way to obtain health insurance when their income 
and health were on the brink and possibly prevent them 
from needing more public services. 

 This program would not be a significant expansion of 
Medicaid. Concerns about the rising future cost of Medicaid 
and calls for holding the line on eligibility would not apply 
directly to this program. Because the program would have 
eligibility standards and cost-sharing requirements, the 
number of people who participated could be calibrated to 
the state’s finances. Also, not all of the participants would be 
new to Medicaid because a portion of them already receive 
Medicaid services without any cost-sharing.  

Opponents said

 Medicaid is one of the largest and fastest growing state 
expenses each biennium, and Texas should not expand the 
program in any way. Although the numbers of those who 
could participate in a Medicaid buy-in program may look 
small today, creation of such a program would add another 
entitlement group. The state would be required under federal 
law to pay for any and all eligible recipients.

 Instead of loosening the eligibility requirements for 
Medicaid, the state should ensure that all people who receive 
state assistance really deserve it. Medicaid benefits should 
be reserved only for individuals whose income truly makes 
them eligible, and people with disabilities who can work 
should do so. 

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the April 
25 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1771 by Delisi
Effective June 18, 2005

Establishing a Medicaid integrated care management pilot project

 HB 1771 establishes an integrated care management 
(ICM) model for Medicaid recipients. The model is a non-
capitated primary care case management program with no 
per participant charge that assigns recipients to a medical 
home – a medical professional who oversees all care; uses 
utilization management techniques; and performs health 
and functional needs assessments, case management, health 
education, and initiatives to prevent institutionalization. 
The ICM model is considered a managed care plan under 
the Medicaid program and could be implemented by a third 
party under contract. The bill permits the commissioner of 
the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) to 
create a statewide ICM advisory committee.  

Supporters said

 ICM would achieve savings for the state without 
hospitals losing federal funds. In 2003, HHSC was charged 
with expanding Medicaid managed care because it is a 
better and less expensive model of delivering health care. 
As HHSC prepared to carry out that charge, the nine 
transferring hospitals made it clear that they would lose a 
significant source of federal funds – the Upper Payment 
Limit (UPL) – if the STAR+PLUS capitated model were 
implemented. Because those hospitals financially would 
be unable to continue sending intergovernmental transfers 
for federal disproportionate share funds if they lost UPL, 
many hospitals would face reduced federal funds. The 
implementation of ICM, however, would preserve the 
transferring hospitals’ ability to bill for services and receive 
UPL matching funds because ICM is not a capitated model, 
meaning that the fees associated with the model are not 
on a per-patient basis, but are associated with the service 
rendered.

 ICM would offer recipients every benefit that 
STAR+PLUS could. The program would create a medical 
home for patients and would monitor best practices and 
reward providers that improved the system. The client-
focused approach to the program also would improve 
services for recipients, particularly the elderly and disabled 
who have a wide range of needs and for whom proper care 
can mean the difference between staying in the community 
and living in a nursing home. 

 Texas should ensure that its safety-net hospitals do 
not lose federal funding. Already these hospitals, which 
serve the entire spectrum of patients and conditions from 
trauma to indigent primary care, deliver millions of dollars 
in uncompensated care every year. The state does not 
have sufficient funds to pay for all the public benefit these 
hospitals deliver and should not jeopardize other sources 
of funding in any way. Other proposals to compensate the 
transferring hospitals for a loss of federal UPL funds would 
not be equivalent to what would be lost under STAR+PLUS.

Opponents said

 ICM is an unproven theory, and its implementation 
could result in a provider rate cut of $110 million and a loss 
of $168 million in federal funds in the coming biennium. 
The budget includes a cost savings of $278 million in all 
funds for fiscal 2006-07, which is assumed to be generated 
by the implementation of a non-capitated managed care 
program. If ICM does not deliver, HHSC will have to find 
a way to cut up to $278 million from existing services, 
and provider rates would be the most likely source of cuts. 
Doctor, hospital, and other health care provider rates already 
suffered a round of cuts in 2003, and further cuts would be 
unsustainable. Instead of implementing an unproven model, 
Texas should strongly consider other options, including 
proposals from HHSC. While many of these proposals are 
short-term funding solutions, HHSC reports that they would 
generate $104 million, an amount that would soften the 
transition from UPL to other sources. The long-term options 
could draw down more than $215 million each biennium, 
more than replacing UPL. 

 STAR+PLUS is a proven model of health care delivery. 
The debate about which method of managed care is best 
for the state and for patients was derailed by the UPL 
discussion, and the proven value of STAR+PLUS was 
overshadowed. Patients are happy and well cared for under 
STAR+PLUS, and it has been operating for more than six 
years. One of the many benefits of a capitated model is that 
the risk for achieving savings is transferred to the HMO, 
and such a model would assure the state of $110 million in 
savings in fiscal 2006-07. The state’s primary responsibility 
is to taxpayers and patients. Only STAR+PLUS can address 
the needs of both.
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 The financial hurdles for ICM may be insurmountable. 
Not only would it be required to achieve the same cost 
and utilization savings as STAR+PLUS, but it would cost 
about $125 million in administrative expenses and cost the 
state $21 million in premium taxes collected from HMOs. 
Because ICM would be starting out in a hole, it is unlikely 
that it could achieve the savings needed by the state. 

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the April 
26 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1929 by Woolley/HB 864 by P. King
Died in House committee

Stem cell research and ban on human cloning

 HB 1929 would have prohibited reproductive human 
cloning and established penalties, including a civil penalty 
of up to $10 million for each violation and a criminal 
offense punishable as a first-degree felony (life in prison or 
a sentence of five to 99 years and an optional fine of up to 
$10,000). The bill explicitly would not have restricted stem 
cell research but would have directed the Health and Human 
Services Commission to establish an advisory committee 
to develop guidelines for such research. Stem cell research 
only could have been conducted using female reproductive 
material that was voluntarily and knowingly donated; such 
material could not have been purchased or sold. 

Supporters said

 Stem cell research is one of the most promising – and 
poorly understood – potential advances in medicine. Often 
confused with human cloning, stem cell research employs 
therapeutic cloning, which simply involves using a donor 
egg to reproduce the patient’s own genetic material. This 
technique potentially can offer the benefit of undifferentiated 
stem cell transfer to treat a wide range of diseases and a 
lower risk of rejection by the patient. Texas should ensure 
that its scientists can participate in this new frontier of 
medicine. 

 By ensuring that Texas scientists could conduct stem 
cell research, HB 1292 would help the state attract economic 
development and investment. The state’s institutes of higher 
education as well as its biotechnology industry would 
benefit, possibly bringing some of the nation’s leaders in 
science and medicine to Texas.

 Other states already have staked their claim on 
investment in stem cell research. In California, voters 
approved a bond initiative that will commit $3 billion to
stem cell research over the next 10 years. Illinois, Maryland, 
New Jersey, New York, Wisconsin, and other states have 
plans at various stages to commit state funding toward 
stem cell research. If Texas prohibits stem cell research, 
the state quickly will be eclipsed by other states that are 
making a commitment to the future of scientific research and 
investment. 

 HB 864 would have prohibited reproductive human 
cloning and established penalties. It also would have 
prohibited somatic cell nuclear transfer, a cloning process 
by which the nucleus of an unfertilized egg is removed or 
destroyed and the nucleus of a somatic cell  – a cell other 
than a sperm or egg cell – is then placed in the emptied egg. 

 
Supporters said 

 Texas should not condone ethically abhorrent research 
based on dubious claims of future benefit. While stem cell 
research in general may produce medical advances, there 
is no way to predict the outcome of research using cloning 
techniques. 

 A ban on certain forms of stem cell research in Texas 
would not impede the state’s economic development 
because other areas of research are active here, with strong 
public-private partnerships, higher education research 
departments, and world-renowned medical centers. Texas 
can grow into a center of excellence for other types of 
research and leave somatic cell nuclear transfer work to 
other states or even other countries.

Notes 

 Other bills that would have prohibited reproductive 
cloning and protected stem cell research included SB 128 
by Shapleigh and SB 1164 by Zaffirini, both of which were 
left pending in the Senate Health and Human Services 
Committee.

 SB 943 by Armbrister, which was left pending in the 
Senate Health and Human Services Committee, also would 
have prohibited somatic cell nuclear transfer but would not 
have prohibited research using genetic material created by 
fertility treatments that otherwise would be discarded. 

 In addition to bills concerning stem cell research, 
legislation was filed and left pending in committee regarding 
the funding of such research, including:
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• HB 2269 by Woolley and SB 1041 by Janek, which 
would have authorized the issuance of bonds to 
fund stem cell research; 

• HB 3076 and HJR 96 by Naishtat, which would 
have established a grant program for stem cell 
research;

• HB 2469 and HJR 71 by Thompson, which would 
have established a statewide funding program for 
stem cell research; and

• HB 2081 by Paxton, which would have prohibited 
the use of state funds for any stem cell research.



House Research Organization Page 95

HB 2572 by Truitt
Vetoed by the governor

Local MH/MR authorities serving as providers 

 HB 2572 would have directed the Health and Human 
Services Commission (HHSC) to establish roles and 
responsibilities for local mental retardation authorities 
and permitted them to offer intermediate care facilities 
for the mentally retarded (ICF-MRs) services and waiver 
services if needed to ensure access or under certain capacity 
limitations. Local mental health authorities also would have 
been permitted to serve as qualified service providers.

 The bill would have restricted HHSC from decreasing 
the number of local mental health or mental retardation 
(MH/MR) authorities in a community until September 1, 
2007, unless two or more local authorities requested the 
reduction or HHSC determined that the local authority had 
failed to meet contract terms. 

 The bill also would have required HHSC to include in 
its rate setting a review of different payment methods and 
the effect of payment changes before implementing any rate 
change, although the requirement would not have applied 
to payment rates for ICF-MRs, some waiver services, and 
mental retardation service coordination. 

Supporters said 

 Local mental health and mental retardation authorities 
should not be the providers of last resort as established by 
HB 2292 by Wohlgemuth, the omnibus health and human 
services reorganization bill enacted by the 78th Legislature. 
Not enough private provider resources are available to 
fill the need that would be created if the local authorities 
could not also serve as providers in some areas of the 
state. Individuals need access to services, and repealing the 
provider of last resort and privatization amendments would 
ensure access.

 The approach taken in HB 2572, which would build 
on local networks, is more appropriate than the one in HB 
470 by J. Davis, which would centralize contracts, taking 
management of the contracts from the local authorities and 
placing them at the agency. Managing local contracts from 

afar is difficult and can mean working less closely with 
providers or with fewer providers. It also distances local 
donors and supporters from the local networks, which can 
lead to less funding, fewer volunteers, and a reduced sense 
of community for the people these programs serve.

Opponents said 

 Local mental health and mental retardation authorities 
should not serve as both state contractors and providers. 
Already the contractor has significant influence over a 
client’s access to services, but if it also were the provider, the 
client would have no other entity to which that client could 
turn. This inherent conflict of interest should be avoided 
wherever possible.

Other opponents said 

 A better approach, contained in HB 470, would mandate 
a split in responsibilities between authority and provider and 
would move the state toward a more efficient and consumer-
driven system by proposing a needs-based, rather than 
diagnosis-based, system and allowing for innovation at the 
local level.

Notes

 The HRO analysis of HB 2572 appeared in Part Two 
of the May 9 Daily Floor Report.

 HB 470 died in the House. The HRO analysis of HB 
470 appeared in Part Two of the May 12 Daily Floor Report.

 For more information on HB 1572, see HRO 
Focus Report Number 79-9, Vetoes of Legislation, 79th 
Legislature, July 29, 2005, pp. 15-18.
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 SB 410, the State Board of Pharmacy Sunset bill, in 
addition to other provisions, establishes a designation for 
Canadian pharmacies to lawfully ship prescription drugs to 
Texas residents. 

 To obtain designation, a pharmacy must meet Texas 
licensing standards and submit certain information, such 
as the name and address of the pharmacy’s owner and 
pharmacist-in-charge. In addition, the Canadian pharmacy 
must have a Canadian license in good standing and be able 
to produce a record of a prescription drug order within 
72 hours of a request by the board, an affidavit that the 
pharmacist has read and understands applicable Texas law 
and rules, and evidence that the pharmacy meets the board’s 
safety, dispensing, and other standards.

 In addition to meeting Texas pharmacy requirements, a 
designated Canadian pharmacy must meet other standards, 
including dispensing only drugs prescribed for long-term 
use, only drugs that are approved by Canada’s Therapeutic 
Products Directorate for sale to residents of Canada, 
and only drugs in the original, unopened manufacturer’s 
packaging whenever possible. A Canadian pharmacy may 
dispense only refilled prescriptions. It may not fill an initial 
prescription, dispense an amount that exceeds a three-month 
supply, dispense a drug for which there is not an equivalent 
drug in the United States, or dispense certain other classes of 
drugs, such as controlled substances, biological products, or 
infused drugs.

 The board will conduct random, annual inspections of 
designated pharmacies to ensure compliance. Other than the 
initial inspection, the board can contract with another state 
to perform the inspection. Designated Canadian pharmacies 
must send complaint reports by Texas residents to the board 
and compile and maintain a 30-day effective price list for 
prescription drugs provided to Texas residents.

 The bill directs the board to designate between one 
and 10 Canadian pharmacies and authorizes necessary 
fees to cover inspections. The board will create a web 
site containing information needed for Texans to order 
prescriptions from designated Canadian pharmacies.

Supporters said

 Inspecting and designating certain Canadian pharmacies 
would better protect Texas consumers. Because prescription 
drugs are significantly cheaper in Canada, many Texas 
residents already order their drugs from Canadian 
pharmacies or over the Internet. The cheaper prices spare 
some Texans from having to choose between purchasing 
needed drugs and paying rent or buying food and can 
prevent people with inadequate or no prescription drug 
coverage from rationing their medications. Unfortunately, 
some purchasers of medications from foreign pharmacies 
currently fall victim to online scams and receive fraudulent 
drugs as a result. Official state designation of Canadian 
pharmacies and the accompanying web site would help 
ensure that Texas residents obtained their prescriptions from 
legitimate foreign businesses that comply with standards 
similar to those required of a Texas pharmacy.

 Other states have similar programs, including 
Minnesota, Nevada, Rhode Island, and Wisconsin. For 
example, Minnesota’s state-administered web site (www.
minnesotarxconnect.com) lists prescriptions that can be 
obtained from Canadian and British pharmacies along with 
their prices. The Canadian pharmacies featured on the site 
are licensed by Canada and inspected by Minnesota state 
officials. Consumers can compare prices and obtain the 
information necessary to purchase drugs through reliable 
foreign pharmacies. 

 Although the national debate about prescription drug 
importation ultimately will be decided by Congress, offering 
information to Texas residents in the meantime could 
protect them from scams and dangerous drugs. Already, 
many Texans buy their drugs from other countries, either in 
Mexico or online from foreign pharmacies. Access to a list 
of certified pharmacies simply would allow consumers who 
already buy foreign prescriptions to make safer purchases.

 Federal law does not prohibit states from creating 
web sites containing information about Canadian 
pharmacies. Other states have done the same thing, and 
the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has not taken 
enforcement action against them. In a May 2005 letter to 

Standards for Canadian pharmacies shipping prescription drugs to 
Texas
SB 410 by Whitmire, amendment by Hochberg
Effective generally September 1, 2005



House Research Organization Page 97

Gov. Kenny Guinn of Nevada, the FDA stated: “To date, 
FDA has focused its enforcement resources on those who 
commercialize the practice of importing drugs into the 
United States from abroad. ... As a matter of enforcement 
discretion, FDA generally has not seized drugs from those 
who have taken buses across the border and then brought 
foreign drugs back into the United States for their own 
personal use.” It is unlikely that the FDA would take 
enforcement action against the state of Texas for establishing 
an informational web site or against any citizen who used it 
to make purchasing decisions.

Opponents said

 This bill would give consumers a false – and potentially 
harmful – sense of security. Even if Texas inspected 
Canadian facilities and ensured that the pharmacies were 
licensed, the board still could not determine where the drugs 
were manufactured, if a specific lot had been recalled, or if 
re-dispensing had occurred. Canada allows the sale of drugs 
manufactured in third-world countries and under conditions 
not permitted in the United States for safety reasons. By 
endorsing foreign pharmacies, Texas could mislead residents 
into thinking the drugs they purchased from abroad were 
safe, which could not be assured. Also, because Texas has 
no jurisdiction over Canadian pharmacies, any complaint 
resolution or recourse performed by the board would have 
no effect.

 This bill would violate federal law, which the FDA has 
affirmed in more than 10 letters sent to governors and local 
government officials in charge of similar plans. Importing 
drugs by individuals from abroad is illegal, and those who 
can be found civilly and criminally liable include any who 
cause a prohibited act under the Federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Act (21 U.S.C. § 331). The fact that the FDA has 
not yet taken enforcement action does not mean the agency 
would not choose to go after Texas.

 Not only might consumers be exposed to fraudulent 
drugs through importation, they unwittingly could be 
supporting terrorist networks in the process. In a recent 
report by the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of 
America, the industry calls on the Department of Homeland 
Security to conduct a threat and vulnerability assessment 
for imported drugs because of a possible link between 
counterfeit goods, including pharmaceuticals, and terrorist 
groups. 

 Other, safer, options exist for consumers seeking lower-
cost prescription drugs. Some manufacturers have programs 
through which low-income or uninsured people can obtain 
their prescriptions free or at a reduced cost. A web site with 
information on how to enroll in such programs would be 
more helpful to Texans than one directing them to Canadian 
pharmacies. Nationally, the federal government has 
launched initiatives to bring down the cost of medications, 
including accelerated approval of new medical procedures 
and drugs and fewer delays in bringing generic drugs to 
market. The Medicare prescription drug discount card also 
will offer seniors discounts and expanded coverage for 
prescriptions.

Notes

 The HRO analysis of SB 410 appeared in the May 
22 Daily Floor Report. The portion dealing with Canadian 
pharmacies was added by amendment on the House floor 
and did not appear in the original bill analysis. A similar 
provision was proposed in HB 173 by Hochberg, which died 
in the House Public Health Committee.
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HB 6 by Morrison, Second Called Session
Died in the Senate

Authorizing tuition revenue bonds for higher education institutions

 HB 6 would have authorized the issuance of a total 
of $2.75 billion in tuition revenue bonds (TRBs) for 
institutions of higher education to finance construction and 
improvement of infrastructure and related facilities. It also 
would have appropriated $108 million to pay debt service on 
the bonds authorized by the bill. The bonds would have been 
payable from pledged revenue and tuition and, if a board of 
regents did not have sufficient funds to meet its obligations, 
funds could have been transferred among institutions, 
branches, and entities within each system or university.

 HB 6 also would have added junior college districts 
with a total headcount enrollment of 40,000 or more to the 
statutory list of entities eligible to issue debt obligations. 

Supporters said

 HB 6 would authorize financing for a wide range of 
critical facilities projects at higher education institutions 
throughout the state that play an important role in closing the 
gaps in higher education. Renovations, repairs, upkeep, and 
new facilities are essential to the state’s ability to provide 
high quality education to Texas students. Higher education 
institutions depend on state support for maintenance and 
expansion to keep pace with the exploding growth in student 
enrollment and to maintain and enhance the quality of 
education these students receive. Economists and higher 
education experts say that economic prosperity and better 
jobs depend on having a highly skilled and well educated 
workforce. 

 TRBs are the most cost-effective way to finance 
higher-cost construction or improvement of long-lasting 
infrastructure, which can be used while the debt is being 
paid off. With interest rates near all-time lows, now is the 
ideal time to finance the construction of new classrooms, 
laboratories, and student housing. The state should make 
an investment in higher education that would pay for itself 
many times over by supporting each institution’s bond 
program. The bonds would be pledged against university 
revenues and thus would pose little financial risk for the 
state.

 While the cost of supporting these bonds is significant, 
it is in the state’s best interest to continue to support higher 
education by paying a significant portion of debt service on 

TRBs. In its 2004 report, the Joint Interim Committee on 
Higher Education recognized the importance of supporting 
TRBs in its recommendation that the Legislature require 
that general revenue funding be used to reimburse higher 
education institutions for the cost related to debt service of 
all legislatively approved TRBs. HB 6 would continue the 
Legislature’s recent practice of funding part, but not all, of 
the debt service on the TRBs authorized.
 
 An increase in cost-sharing between the state and higher 
education institutions would be a significant policy shift, 
and the state should not retreat from the long-held practice 
of assisting with the funding of debt service with general 
revenue. The ability to support cost-sharing would vary 
widely among universities. It would be difficult for smaller 
institutions that are less able to raise tuition to make debt-
service payments and would create a burden for students 
attending institutions that did raise tuition in response to 
cost-sharing pressures. According to credit rating agencies, 
any change to the state’s long-standing commitment to fund 
TRBs could lower the bond ratings of public universities, 
thereby increasing the cost of debt for needed projects.

Opponents said
 
 TRBs have become popular because they allow 
lawmakers to support more projects by paying only a small 
portion of the cost and leaving the remaining financial 
commitments for future legislatures and taxpayers. Because 
of limited state resources, there should be greater cost-
sharing between the state and the institutions that issue the 
bonds. The Legislature and higher education institutions 
need to move in the direction of less reliance on state 
funding for debt service on TRBs, requiring institutions to 
include bond debt as part of their overall operating budgets. 
Cost-sharing would allow institutions to issue larger 
amounts in TRBs, thereby funding more capital projects. 
Institutions have other sources to fund the cost of buildings, 
including bonds backed by the Permanent University 
Fund and the Higher Education Fund, indirect research 
cost reimbursements earned on externally funded research 
programs, tuition revenues, and private funds. With tuition 
deregulation, these institutions have more flexibility to raise 
the revenue they need to finance capital improvements.
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Other opponents said

 HB 6 would be a step in the right direction but is 
significantly underfunded. While the bill would authorize 
$2.75 billion in bonds requiring $476 million in debt service 
for fiscal 2006-07, the related appropriation for debt service 
would be only $108 million through the next biennium. It 
is assumed that the institutions would be responsible for the 
remaining debt service, which most institutions – smaller 
universities in particular – would have difficulty supporting. 
This could force university systems to choose among 
critically needed projects and could result in projects being 
postponed.  

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the July 25 Daily 
Floor Report.

 During the first called session, the House passed HB 6 
by Morrison, which would have authorized $2.7 billion in 
TRBs for higher education institutions. The bill died in the 
Senate. 

 During the regular session, the House and the Senate 
passed HB 2329 by Morrison, which would have authorized 
a total of $2.2 billion in TRBs for higher education 
institutions. The bill died when neither the House nor the 
Senate considered the conference committee report for the 
bill. Sec. 14.61 of Article 9 of SB 1 by Ogden, the general 
appropriations act for fiscal 2006-07, included $108 million 
for TRB debt service, contingent on passage of HB 2329 
or similar legislation. Gov. Perry line-item vetoed this 
provision because HB 2329, or similar legislation, was not 
enacted. 

 A related bill introduced in the first called session, SB 
80 by Ogden, would have authorized the issuance of TRBs 
at higher education institutions, but would have limited state 
reimbursement for debt service beginning September 1, 
2007. The state reimbursement could not have exceeded 60 
percent of the amount of the debt service for as long as the 
bonds were outstanding, unless the limit imposed a hardship 
for an affected university. SB 80 was left pending in the 
Senate Finance Committee.
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Limiting Top 10 Percent automatic admissions of undergraduate 
students

 HB 2330 would have required each state university 
to reserve at least 50 percent of its enrollment capacity for 
first-time undergraduate students for admission of students 
who graduated in the top 10 percent of their high school 
classes and, under existing law, gained automatic college 
admission. If the number of top 10 percent applicants 
exceeded 50 percent, priority would have been given to 
students who completed the advanced high school program 
or the equivalent. 

 The commissioner of higher education could have 
developed a standard method of computing a high school 
student’s grade point average to be used in determining 
eligibility for automatic admission. The computation method 
would have given extra weight to honors courses and other 
advanced courses, would have applied to students who 
entered 9th grade during or after the 2007-08 school year, 
and would have expired September 1, 2010.   

 Automatic admission would have been granted to 
a transfer student who completed the core curriculum 
at another university and who otherwise qualified for 
automatic admission.

Supporters said

 HB 2330 would maintain the benefits of the Top 10 
Percent Law while giving universities the flexibility they 
need to carry out their duty to all the people of Texas. The 
admissions process of any university is an exercise in 
both selecting qualified students with a high probability 
of success and crafting an entering class that meets the 
university’s mission. By requiring universities to admit 
all applicants who graduated in the top 10 percent of their 
high school classes, the Top 10 Percent Law has had some 
negative consequences that HB 2330 would address. 

 Current law requires state universities to admit certain 
students based on a single criteria – graduation rank – that 
limits an institution’s flexibility and creates an unhealthy 
academic environment. Texas’ flagship institutions are 
losing control of enrollment through the number of slots 
they must dedicate to top 10 percent graduates. The 
share of students admitted automatically at Texas A&M-

HB 2330 by Morrison
Died in Senate committee 

College Station already is approximately 50 percent, and 
the situation at the University of Texas (UT)-Austin is 
fast approaching the point where Texas residents will be 
admitted exclusively on the basis of high school class rank. 
Students are not one-dimensional, and a university needs 
room in its admissions decisions to consider criteria other 
than high school rank.

 Capping the number of automatic admissions would 
allow institutions more discretionary admissions, and a 
holistic approach could be used so that other factors, such 
as test scores, special talents, leadership ability, personal 
achievements, or other relevant aspects of a student’s 
application were considered. The bill would allow 
institutions the flexibility to admit a greater number of 
other students, including minority students and those highly 
qualified students who did not graduate in the top 10 percent 
of their classes. 

 Another negative consequence of the current law is 
that it is unfair to bright students who attend competitive 
high schools but do not graduate in the top 10 percent of 
their classes. This has caused a “brain drain” – forcing 
top students to attend universities outside Texas because 
they were denied admission to the flagship universities. 
Conversely, some students who graduate in the top of their 
classes at less demanding high schools may not be qualified 
to attend the state’s best public universities. HB 2330 would 
establish balance in this area by allowing for the admission 
of more second-decile graduates to state universities and 
encouraging high school students to take rigorous courses 
by giving preference to students who took the advanced high 
school curriculum.   

 HB 2330 is based on data published in recent studies 
and presented to the Senate Subcommittee on Higher 
Education during the interim. A study published in 2004 
by Princeton University called for allowing no more than 
half of top 10 percent Texas freshmen to be admitted 
automatically. Additionally, a report issued last year by the 
Commission of 125, an advisory group of prominent citizens 
from within and beyond Texas, contains recommendations 
that UT-Austin exercise primary control over admissions 
and efforts to ensure diversity and that no single factor 
should be used for admissions.  
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Opponents said

 The number of students allowed to be automatically 
admitted should not be capped because the Top 10 Percent 
Law is doing what is was designed to do – provide a 
race-neutral method of admitting a diverse class of highly 
qualified students. It is fair because basing admissions on 
class rank levels the playing field for students across the 
state and compares students to their peers based on how well 
they have taken advantage of available resources. Capping 
the number of students admitted automatically would 
undermine the college aspirations of students from all racial, 
ethnic, geographic, and economic backgrounds and would 
diminish the duty and accountability of flagship institutions 
to all Texans.  

 The existing Top 10 Percent Law has helped Texas’ 
flagship universities fulfill their mission to serve students 
across the state by granting broader opportunities to the 
very best students from every high school. Not only has it 
helped create more diverse freshmen classes at UT-Austin 
and Texas A&M, but it has done so in a way that benefits 
all regions of the state, especially poorer rural and urban 
areas. According to an analysis performed by UT-Austin, 
the freshman class of 2003 was the most diverse in the 
university’s history, and minority students made up a slightly 
greater percentage of the incoming classes of 2004 and 
2005. 

 In response to concerns about the academic 
qualifications of many students who gain automatic 
admission under current law, data from UT-Austin’s 
admissions office indicate that since 1996, among all 
racial and ethnic groups, top 10 percent students have 
outperformed students who scored significantly higher on 
standardized college entrance exams. In addition, class rank 
appears to be a good predictor of student performance. The 
study published by Princeton University revealed that top-
ranked students from resource-poor schools are enrolling out 
of state in some of the most competitive public and private 
institutions. If these students truly were unprepared for the 
rigors of higher education, they would not be getting into 
these schools. 

 The Princeton study also showed that, contrary to 
anecdotal claims, top-ranked students from so-called 
competitive high schools who did not graduate in the top 
10 percent of their classes still have a substantial advantage 
in their access to the flagship institutions. Virtually all 
who graduated in the top 20 percent from these schools 
who identified UT-Austin or Texas A&M as their top 
college choice succeeded in enrolling there. Lastly, the 

study revealed that most students who attend out-of-state 
universities do so by choice, not because they were denied 
admission to a Texas flagship.

 The Top 10 Percent Law should be maintained in 
its current form because it has proven the most effective 
method of promoting diversity in higher education in Texas. 
Minority representation in the state’s universities is greater 
now than it was during the days when Texas universities 
practiced race-conscious affirmative action policies, so it is 
unlikely that a “holistic” admissions policy that gave more 
weight to factors other than class rank would be any more 
successful in ensuring diversity in higher education.

Other opponents said

 The debate about changing the Top 10 Percent Law 
misses the point. The problem is not that the state has too 
many students entering higher education under automatic 
admission but that there are not enough flagship institutions 
to accommodate the number of qualified students who want 
to attend. Texas should have about seven more flagship 
universities based on its current population.

 Universities need the ability to regain control of their 
admissions policies, but the answer should not be the 
capping of automatic admissions. Instead, a top 10 student 
should be guaranteed admission to a university system, 
rather than a particular school, which would allow the 
system administrators to make the institutional assignment 
in a way that was responsive to the carrying capacity of the 
higher education system.

 Although some aspects of the law are beneficial, the 
Top 10 Percent Law has not done enough to meet the state’s 
need to build minority representation in higher education. 
Adopting a holistic admissions approach would be a step in 
the right direction, but a return to a statewide policy of race-
conscious university admissions, as permitted under recent 
U.S. Supreme Court decisions, would be the surest way to 
ensure true diversity in freshman admissions. 

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
11 Daily Floor Report. 

 A related bill, SB 111 by Shapleigh, effective September 
1, 2005, authorizes the higher education commissioner 
to develop a standard method for computing a student’s 
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high school grade point average that gives additional 
weight for each honor’s course, advanced placement 
course, international baccalaureate course, or dual-credit 
course completed by a student for purposes of determining 
automatic undergraduate admission under the Top 10 
Percent Law, beginning with students starting the 9th 
grade during the 2007-08 school year. It also requires 
higher education institutions to grant undergraduate credit 
to entering freshmen for completing the international 
baccalaureate program, achieving a required score on 

advanced placement or college-level examinations, or 
successfully completing courses while concurrently enrolled 
in high school and a college or university.  

 SB 333 by West, which would have required the 
commissioner to develop a weighted computation method 
for determining the top 10 percent and also would have 
limited application of the law to students who completed the 
recommended or advanced curriculum, passed the Senate 
but died in House committee. 
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 SB 1227 revises student financial aid programs. It 
requires the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
(THECB) to develop a comprehensive financial aid training 
program for public school counselors, employees of student 
financial aid offices, and members of community-based 
organizations. 

 The bill authorizes use of funds paid to the THECB by 
the federal Lender’s Special Allowance Program to pay for 
the administration of loan and grant programs, including the 
awarding of grants through the Towards Excellence, Access 
and Success Grant Program (TEXAS Grants).

 TEXAS Grant awards for students attending private 
higher education institutions are phased out beginning with 
the fall 2005 semester. However, students who received 
TEXAS Grant awards for that semester or an earlier 
academic period are “grandfathered” and continue to receive 
them. 

 SB 1227 changes the name of the TEXAS Grants II 
program, for students attending community and technical 
colleges, to the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant and 
establishes the same hardship provisions and satisfactory 
academic progress requirements as for TEXAS Grants. 

 The bill allows students to pay tuition and fees on 
an installment basis, except when a student has financial 
aid available to cover the total amount, in which case the 
university must apply the financial aid toward the total 
amount of tuition and fees and release the balance to the 
student. Payment options for students with delayed awards 
of financial aid are authorized. An institution may allow a 
student waiting for disbursement of financial aid to register 
on an accounts-receivable basis and postpone the due date of 
unpaid tuition and fees. A student whose financial aid award 
later was cancelled or reduced would have up to 30 days to 
pay any unpaid tuition or fees. 

 SB 1227 establishes the Higher Education Enrollment 
Assistance Program through which the THECB provides 
enrollment and financial aid information to students in three 
areas of the state that have low rates of students enrolling in 
higher education.  

SB 1227 by Shapiro
Effective September 1, 2005

Student financial aid revisions and nonvoting student regent

 The bill requires the governor to appoint a nonvoting 
student regent to the board of each general academic 
teaching institution, medical unit, and dental unit in each 
university system. The student regent has the same powers 
and duties as other board members except that the student 
regent may not vote on matters before the board, make or 
second any motion, or be counted in determining a quorum.

Supporters say

 SB 1227 would implement a number of changes 
recommended by the Joint Interim Committee on Higher 
Education that would enable the state, higher education 
institutions, and students to make better use of financial aid.

 Prior law allowed the state to use the federal Lender’s 
Special Allowance to pay for the administration of loan and 
grant programs. SB 1227 would allow these federal funds 
to be used directly as financial aid, including for TEXAS 
Grants, instead of merely to pay administrative costs, which 
could be covered by other appropriated funds. 

 Adjusting the installment plan and allowing students to 
enroll on an accounts-receivable basis would provide more 
payment options for students and their families. Currently, 
students who qualify for financial aid but have not received 
the award by the time they register must obtain alternate 
funding to pay their initial charges for tuition, fees, books, 
and supplies, which can create a severe financial hardship. 
If a student’s award was delayed, SB 1227 would authorize 
universities to allow the student to register at the beginning 
of the semester and pay tuition and fees when the financial 
aid became available. The fact that such students already 
would have been processed and approved for aid would 
serve as collateral on a university’s postponement of the 
payment due date. 

 The name of the TEXAS Grant II program should 
be changed to eliminate the confusion with the TEXAS 
Grant program. Conforming the hardship provisions and 
satisfactory academic progress requirements for the Texas 
Educational Opportunity Grant with those for the TEXAS 
Grant also would streamline the two programs.
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 While university boards of regents have done a good 
job of reaching out to students, these bodies should contain 
student representation in some form. In the years since 
the Legislature began allowing boards of regents to set 
designated tuition, many students have expressed concern 
that their voices have not been heard. Texas has many 
students capable of serving in this capacity who could 
handle sensitive, confidential issues that can come before 
boards of regents. Student regents are present on the board 
of the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation and on 
university boards in 39 other states, where they have proved 
to be valuable assets.

Opponents said

 The bill should prohibit a student regent from being 
present during executive sessions. It would be awkward 
to air certain proceedings in the presence of a student, 
including sensitive matters such as the termination of a 
president that best would be left to the voting regents of the 
board.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
24 Daily Floor Report. 

 SB 34 by Zaffirini, which requires students to complete 
undergraduate degrees in four or five years to qualify for the 
tuition rebate program, also provides for a nonvoting student 
regent.
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SB 1228 by Shapiro
Died in the House

Statewide accountability system and tuition deregulation review

 SB 1228 would have required the Texas Higher 
Education Coordinating Board (THECB) to develop and 
implement a statewide assessment and accountability system 
to measure the performance of each Texas higher education 
institution and public junior college and the effectiveness of 
each institution in managing and using available funds. The 
bill would have created a legislative oversight committee 
that would have reviewed affordability and accessibility 
of higher education, including the impact of tuition 
deregulation. It would have set forth reporting requirements 
for the oversight committee and THECB.

 The bill would have outlined performance goals used 
in measuring an institution’s progress in certain areas, 
including the number of students served, the number of 
degrees or certificates awarded, retention and graduation 
rates, institutional research, and each institution’s overall 
excellence determined in part by its number of nationally 
recognized programs. Each year, using composite measures 
for all the goals, THECB would have rated and assessed 
each institution against its peers in Texas and in other states. 
If an institution received an unacceptable performance 
rating, it would have been prohibited from increasing 
designated tuition, except for cost-of-living increases, until it 
received an acceptable performance rating. 

 The committee would have reviewed tuition 
deregulation and made recommendations to the 80th 
Legislature for its continuation or repeal. Tuition 
deregulation would have been repealed as of September 1, 
2008, if not continued by the Legislature.

Supporters said

 SB 1228 would improve the performance of all 
institutions of higher education in Texas and help control 
huge increases in designated tuition. Closing the Gaps by 
2015, the state’s higher education plan adopted in 2000, 
outlines the goals of increasing enrollment and success 
in higher education among students statewide but does 
not contain any benchmarks or mandates to ensure that 
institutions meet these objectives. Taxpayers deserve 
to know how Texas institutions compare to their peers 
statewide and nationally, and leaders in higher education 

need data with which to measure and monitor the progress 
of institutions. Moreover, institutions must be held 
accountable in meeting the standards of excellence set by 
THECB. 

 In addition to setting goals and measuring performance, 
SB 1228 appropriately would prevent low-performing 
institutions from increasing designated tuition. This would 
help control escalating increases in tuition that, by some 
accounts, have priced many Texans out of higher education. 
In response to an historic budget shortfall, the 78th 
Legislature in 2003 deregulated designated tuition by giving 
universities authority to set that portion of the tuition rate. 
According to the comptroller, tuition rate increases in the 
first year of deregulation averaged 17.5 percent statewide, 
and tuition at some of the larger universities, including the 
University of Texas at Austin, increased nearly 40 percent. 
While institutions need the flexibility to increase designated 
tuition in order to meet their needs and make long-range 
plans, SB 1228 would demand accountability from 
institutions of higher education to the Legislature and the 
public.

Opponents said

 SB 1228 would reverse a recent policy decision that has 
not had enough time to work and could cause universities 
to increase fees. Even with tuition deregulation, higher 
education in Texas is still a bargain compared to tuition 
at public institutions in other large states. Texas does not 
have the resources to fully fund higher education in light 
of the other competing demands for state funds, and Texas 
institutions, through the freedom to set designated tuition, 
now are playing “catch-up” with other states that previously 
have made significant investments in higher education. In 
order for Texas universities to remain competitive, there 
must be cost-sharing in tuition between the state and the 
public. Current policy is a market-based model that allows 
tuition to fluctuate with demand and allocates students to 
various state institutions according to affordability. 

 Allowing the Legislature to regain control of setting 
tuition rates would create uncertainty about future funding 
among state universities. Higher education officials have 
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used their authority to set tuition responsibly, incorporating 
student input and committing new revenue toward hiring 
faculty and creating scholarships. As long as higher 
education institutions do not have adequate state support, 
they must be able to raise enough funds to keep pace with 
growing enrollment and the costs of instruction and faculty. 
Far from helping to close the gaps, a return to state-regulated 
tuition would cause Texas institutions to fall behind.
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HB 11 by Hartnett, Second Called Session
Effective December 1, 2005

Increasing compensation for state judges and adding court fees

 HB 11 raises judicial salaries, institutes a new fee 
on criminal court convictions and civil court filings, and 
requires the collection of data about judicial turnover. 

 Judicial salaries. HB 11 increases judges’ salaries 
and bases them on the salary of district judges, instead of 
Supreme Court justices. District court judges’ minimum 
annual state salaries will rise from $101,700 to $125,000. 
Appellate court justices, other than chief justices, will have 
minimum annual state salaries of 110 percent of district 
judges, meaning that their minimum salaries increase from 
$107,350 to $137,500. Supreme Court justices will have 
minimum annual state salaries of 120 percent of district 
judges, meaning that their minimum state salaries increase 
from $113,000 to $150,000. District judges and courts of 
appeal justices can receive county supplements up to the 
caps in HB 11. 

 Fees on criminal and civil cases. HB 11 increases 
fees in civil and criminal cases. A person convicted of any 
offense, other than a pedestrian or parking offense, will 
pay an additional $4 in court costs. Sixty cents of this fee 
will go to the general fund of the municipality or county to 
promote the efficient operation of municipal courts and the 
investigation, prosecution, and enforcement of municipal 
and state offenses. The other $3.40 will be deposited in the 
state judicial fund. The bill also adds a $37 civil case filing 
fee in district courts, statutory county courts, and county 
courts, to be deposited in the judicial fund.

Supporters said 

 Judicial salaries. In order to attract and maintain the 
highest quality judges, Texas must raise its judicial salaries. 
State judges make important decisions that affect the entire 
state, and their pay should be commensurate with their 
responsibilities, duties, and skills. Currently, Texas ranks 
39th among states in judicial salaries. HB 11 would address 
this by giving needed, modest raises to the state’s judges, 
who have not had a salary increase since 1997. To attract 
and maintain quality judges, judicial salaries must be raised 
to compete with private sector and other public service 
salaries. The low judicial salaries paid in Texas discourage 
experienced judges from remaining on the bench, which 
inevitably affects the quality of justice and leads to 
inefficiency and uncertainty. 

 HB 11 is not the vehicle to undertake a change to 
sever the link between the pensions of the elected class 
of state officials and judicial salaries. Any change in this 
arrangement should be considered independently of this 
bill. Legislators receive low pay for their hard work, making 
many sacrifices during the course of their public service, and 
their pensions are a fair part of the compensation received 
by those who serve long enough to qualify. 

 Fees on criminal and civil cases. Monies from the 
state judicial fund traditionally are appropriated – along 
with general revenue – to pay judicial salaries. Depositing 
the fees generated by HB 11 in the judicial fund in no way 
would tie judicial pay directly to decisions made by judges. 
This mechanism simply is a method of finance that would 
not create a judicial conflict of interest. An increase in court 
fees would be the most logical way to afford a judicial pay 
raise at this time, which would help ensure that those in the 
court system received the highest quality justice. Anyone 
who could not afford the fees could file an affidavit asking 
the court to waive the costs.

 HB 11 is not the appropriate vehicle for a new fee 
to fund indigent criminal defense, and the topic may not 
even be germane to the bill. The debate over increased 
funding for indigent criminal defense should take place 
independently of HB 11. 

Opponents said 

 Judicial salaries. Judges are adequately compensated. 
They earn significantly more than most Texans and most 
other public servants. Salaries in the private sector are not 
the appropriate benchmark by which to evaluate a judge’s 
salary. Pay in a private law firm is vastly higher than most 
other occupations, even other areas of the legal profession. 
Individuals are attracted to the bench not for the salary but 
for the desire, prestige, and the privilege of public service. It 
is unreasonable to expect that a judge’s salary could compete 
with earnings in the private sector. 

 HB 11 should sever the link between judicial salaries 
and legislative pensions so that an increase in judicial 
salaries did not result in an increase in retirement benefits for 
legislators and others in the elected class. Lawmakers should 
not enact legislation that automatically and indirectly would 
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boost their own pensions, especially when the Legislature 
has restricted future teacher retirement benefits and has 
failed to fully fund the Employees Retirement System and 
the Teacher Retirement System so that regular retired state 
employees and retired educators might receive long-delayed 
pension increases. If legislators and other elected officials 
deserve higher pensions, that issue should be debated 
separately. 

 Fees on criminal and civil cases. A judge’s salary 
historically has been and should continue to be funded 
through general revenue, not through fees on criminal and 
civil cases. Coupling an increase in judicial salaries with a 
fee on criminal convictions would raise questions about the 
appearance of judicial conflict of interest and the impartiality 
of judges’ decisions about guilt or innocence. 

 The new fee that HB 11 would impose on criminal 
convictions should be increased and the money dedicated to 
supporting local governments’ efforts to provide attorneys 
for indigent criminal defendants. State funding for indigent 
defense is inadequate, and the fee created by HB 11 would 
be an appropriate way to raise such revenue.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the July 25 Daily 
Floor Report. 

 An earlier version of HB 11 died in the Senate during 
the first called session, and its companion bill, SB 11 by 
Duncan died in the House Calendars Committee. A similar 
bill, SB 368 by Duncan, died during the regular session after 
the House did not consider the conference committee report 
on the bill. 
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SB 1189 by Wentworth
Generally effective September 1, 2005

Creating new judicial districts in certain counties

 SB 1189 creates the following judicial districts:

6th and 7th criminal judicial districts, composed of 
Dallas County;
412th Judicial District, composed of Brazoria 
County;
424th Judicial District, composed of Blanco, 
Burnet, Llano, and San Saba counties;
425th Judicial District, composed of Williamson 
County;
426th Judicial District, composed of Bell County;
427th Judicial District, composed of Travis County, 
which will give preference to criminal matters;
428th Judicial District, composed of Hays County;
430th Judicial District, composed of Hidalgo 
County, which will give preference to family 
violence and criminal matters;  
433rd Judicial District, composed of Comal 
County; and
434th Judicial District, composed of Fort Bend 
County.

 The new district courts in Dallas, Brazoria, and Hays 
counties and the 425th multi-county court are created 
September 1, 2005. The rest will take effect January 1, 2007.  

 SB 1189 establishes when the terms of the 6th, 7th, 
207th, 406th, 424th, and 426th district courts begin.

 The bill also makes the following changes in 
jurisdiction:

the 264th and 426th judicial districts are added to 
the list of districts that have concurrent jurisdiction 
in Bell County;
the 424th District Court now has concurrent 
jurisdiction with the 33rd District Court; 
Willacy County is removed from the jurisdiction of 
the 103rd, 107th, 138th, 357th, and 404th district 
courts, which now are composed solely of Cameron 
County;
the 406th District Court now has concurrent 
jurisdiction with the other district courts in Webb 
County; and

•

•

•

•

•
•

•
•

•

•

•

•

•

•

the family violence and criminal matters preference 
for the 398th district court and the criminal matters 
preference for the 389th district court, both in 
Hidalgo County, are eliminated.

 All civil cases in the 92nd, 93rd, 139th, 206th, 275th, 
332nd, 370th, 389th, 398th, and 430th district courts must 
be assigned and docketed at random by the district clerk 
using an automated system.

 SB 1189 changes the composition of the juvenile boards 
in Blanco, Burnet, Comal, Leon, Llano, San Saba, and Webb 
counties. 

 The bill immunizes judges of Tarrant County criminal 
courts from suits arising from the performance of the 
judges’ duties, except for acts committed intentionally, 
willfully, wantonly, with gross negligence, or with conscious 
difference or reckless disregard for the safety of others. It 
also allows judges in the 33rd and 424th district courts to 
hear certain non-jury cases.

Supporters said

 SB 1189 would promote judicial efficiency by creating 
new district courts in Texas counties where overloaded 
dockets currently are denying parties the right to obtain 
timely justice. Texas has experienced massive population 
growth in the last five years, which has had a significant 
impact on the district courts. The workload in district courts 
has increased significantly, causing long docket delays and 
forcing judges to work exceedingly long hours. Adding 
district courts would be a cost-effective way to relieve 
existing district courts of overcrowded dockets while 
speeding up the administration of justice.

 Adding new courts would decrease the necessity of 
using visiting judges. The visiting judge fund was cut 
substantially in 2003, and because the general appropriations 
act does not increase funding of the program in fiscal 2006-
07 to its former level, it is unlikely that counties could rely 
on the use of visiting judges in the future.

•
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 Reducing the number of district courts in Willacy 
County to one would be sufficient to  meet the county’s 
docket needs and save the county much needed money.

Opponents said
 
 This bill would cost the state $1.3 million by fiscal 2007 
and $1.1 million per year thereafter, money that should 
be directed toward more pressing state budget needs. If 
counties need help to reduce their dockets, they should rely 
on visiting judges already paid for by money appropriated to 
the visiting judge fund.

Other opponents said

 By cutting the number of district courts with jurisdiction 
over Willacy County from six to one, this bill would create 
long docket delays for county residents. In addition, Willacy 
County residents might be unable to vote an unpopular 
judge out of office because the county would share the judge 
with Cameron County.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
23 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1704 by Ellis 
Effective September 1, 2005 

Raising the pay for jury service 

 SB 1704 requires that jurors be paid a minimum of 
$6 for the first day of jury service and a minimum of $40 
for each additional day. The state will reimburse a county 
$34 per day after the first day for juror pay. A county will 
file a claim for reimbursement through the comptroller, and 
the comptroller will reimburse counties quarterly. These 
changes will take effect January 1, 2006.

 The bill requires anyone convicted of any offense, other 
than one related to a pedestrian or a parking offense, to pay 
a $4 fee in addition to all other court costs. The fee is to be 
used to reimburse counties for juror pay. This court cost 
applies to a defendant convicted of an offense committed on 
or after September 1, 2005. 

 The bill also penalizes the act of knowingly providing 
false information in a request to be exempted or excused 
from jury service. Such an act is subject to a contempt action 
punishable by a fine between $100 and $1,000 in addition 
to any other criminal penalties authorized by law. The bill 
allows a person to postpone jury service for up to six months 
if the person has not been granted a postponement in that 
county during the previous year. This applies to a person 
summoned for jury service who is required to appear on or 
after September 1, 2005. 

Supporters said

 SB 1704 would fund a much needed pay increase for 
Texas jurors, who are the lowest paid in the nation. The 
current $6 per day minimum pay often does not cover even 
the cost of parking near a courthouse. Juror pay in Texas has 
not been increased in more than 50 years, and the minimum 
is woefully insufficient to encourage people to fulfill their 
civic duty of performing jury service. People with lower 
incomes are disproportionately burdened by this low pay 
as they simply cannot afford to perform jury duty, which 
often results in the inadequate representation of minorities 
on Texas juries. For example, Latinos make up 30 percent 
of the population of Dallas and Harris counties but make up 
only 10 percent of juries. 

 The minimum pay of $6 for the first day of jury duty 
would not dissuade low-income citizens from appearing 
for jury duty. El Paso County has increased the pay of 
its jurors but continues to pay only $6 for the first day of 
service. Even so, the county has seen a dramatic increase 
in the percent of people, including low-income people and 
minorities, who appear for jury duty.

 The $4 court cost fee that would be required of people 
convicted of most offenses would fully fund the increased 
juror pay, resulting in no loss to the state or to counties. It 
correctly would place the responsibility of financing juror 
pay raises on the responsible party — the offenders. Because 
the fee would be only $4, offenders would not be overly 
burdened in funding the system.

Opponents said

 This bill still would set minimum pay at only $6 for 
the first day of jury service. This low pay may continue to 
dissuade people with low incomes from appearing for jury 
duty. 

 Court costs for people convicted of criminal offenses 
already are very high, and many people cannot afford to pay 
the costs. Felons in particular experience great difficulties 
in readjusting to society and should not be burdened by 
additional costs. Additional court costs disproportionately 
would affect persons with low incomes and minorities, who 
are convicted of crimes at much higher rates. Taxpayers 
should pay for the costs of increasing juror pay because 
society as a whole benefits from having fully representative 
juries.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
23 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 2 by Grusendorf, Second Called Session
Died in the House

School finance and public education revisions

 HB 2, as reported by the House Select Committee on 
Public Education Reform during the second called session, 
would have restructured the state’s method of funding public 
education and established new requirements for school 
districts, including salary increases for teachers and other 
professionals, mandatory school start and end dates, end-of-
course assessments for high school students, and restrictions 
on the amount of funding that could be used for purposes 
other than direct instruction. The bill would have required 
school districts to reduce local school property taxes and 
obtain local voter approval for any subsequent tax increase. 
HB 2 would have taken effect only with the enactment of 
HB 3 by J. Keffer (see p. 135).

 Salaries and benefits. The bill would have revised the 
minimum salary schedule for teachers and other professional 
staff and would have required school districts to provide an 
increase of $150 per month, or $1,500 per year, over 2004-
05 salaries, including supplements. Districts also would 
have had to provide an average increase in compensation, 
defined as salaries, incentives, or other compensation, of 
$500 in 2005-06 and another $500 in 2006-07. The state 
would have been required to pay 50 percent of contributions 
for districts that currently pay into Social Security.

 Incentives. Districts would have been required to use 1 
percent of professional staff payroll to fund teacher incentive 
programs. HB 2 would have established a separate incentive 
program of up to $100 million in state funds for the 2006-
07 school year for educationally disadvantaged schools. 
At least 75 percent of these funds would have been used 
to provide rewards of at least $3,000 for each teacher at a 
campus receiving a grant award. Teachers who continued to 
work but were eligible to retire with full retirement benefits 
would have received additional salary supplements of 
between $1,000 and $4,000 per year, based on their years of 
retirement eligibility. 

 Textbooks and technology funding. HB 2 would have 
established new procedures for the review, adoption, and 
purchase of “instructional materials,” including textbooks, 
workbooks, and computer-adaptive materials. The current 
system of funding textbooks would have been eliminated, 
and textbook funds would have been combined with the 
current $30 technology allotment for an “instructional 
materials and technology” allotment of $100 per ADA (an 
unweighted count of students in average daily attendance) 

in the 2006-07 school year and $150 per ADA in 2007-08 
and beyond. Beginning in the 2006-07 school year, districts 
would have been required to use a portion of this allotment 
for targeted technology programs. 

 Local property taxes. School district taxes would have 
been capped at $1.20 per $100 of valuation or a lower rate 
for any school year provided by appropriation. School 
districts could have imposed local enrichment taxes of up 
to 15 cents per $100 of valuation with no recapture of these 
funds. These rates would have been limited to 5 cents in 
2007, 10 cents in 2008 and 2009, and 15 cents thereafter 
and would have to have been approved by district voters by 
majority vote. Districts could have exceeded these limits 
and taxed up to the maximum maintenance and operations 
(M&O) tax rate – $1.50 per $100 of valuation – with at least 
two-thirds approval of district voters.

 State funding. The bill would have distributed funding 
to school districts through two tiers. The first tier would 
have provided a basic “accreditation allotment” and a series 
of special program allotments based on dollar amounts 
rather than weights. All districts taxing at the minimum rate 
would have been guaranteed a particular sum of money 
adjusted based on student and community characteristics. 
This entitlement would have been divided into a state and 
local share depending on local district property wealth. 

 State funding in the enrichment tier would have 
been distributed through a guaranteed yield. Initially, 
the guaranteed level would have been based on a target 
percentile equivalent to these amounts per penny of tax 
effort for the following school years: $39.20 for 2006-07, 
$40 for 2007-08, and $40.70 for 2008-09. In 2009-10, the 
guaranteed yield would have been determined based on a 
target percentile of the 94th percentile in wealth per student, 
which would have been increased to the 96th percentile in 
2010-11.

 Funding formulas and special allotments. State 
funds distributed through formulas would have been based 
on dollar amounts instead of weights. Districts would 
have received a basic accreditation allotment of $4,600 
per student and special allotments for special education, 
compensatory and bilingual education, career and 
technology education, gifted-and-talented education, and 
public education grants. School districts would have had 
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flexibility in the use of special allotments, except that they 
could not have spent less per student than they did in 2005-
06. 

 Each school district or county that operated a 
transportation system would have received a transportation 
allotment of $1.50 per mile for each approved route mile. 
Fast-growing districts would have received $375 per student 
in ADA for the first year in which students attended a new 
instructional facility and, for the second and third years, 
$375 for each new student. For other districts, this allotment 
would have been $250 per student in ADA for the first year 
and $250 for each new student in the second and third years. 
The bill would have applied a cost of education index (CEI) 
to adjust for differences among districts for such costs as 
inflation and teacher salaries. 

 Recapture. Local revenue would have been limited 
to the amount of each district’s entitlement under funding 
formulas and adjustments. Any local property tax revenue 
exceeding that amount would have been subject to 
recapture, which would have been capped at an amount 
equal to 38 percent of the M&O tax revenue used in 
determining the district’s local share, provided the district 
was taxing at a level of at least 75 percent of the maximum 
tax rate. The cap would have been tied to the level of equity 
in the guaranteed yield for the enrichment tier.

 Hold harmless and limitations on increased funding. 
School districts would have been guaranteed an increase of 
at least 3 percent in state funding over levels in current law. 
Increases in state aid would have been limited to 108 percent 
in the 2006-07 school year, 116 percent in 2007-08, and 124 
percent in 2008-09.

 Expenditures on classroom instruction. By the 2009-
10 school year, each district would have had to allocate at 
least 65 percent of its total available revenues to fund direct 
instructional activities. This requirement would have been 
phased in, with an initial requirement that at least 50 percent 
of revenue be allocated to direct instructional activities, with 
a 5 percent increase each following year.

 Sanctions for low-performing schools. The bill 
would have established additional procedures for the Texas 
Education Agency (TEA) to intervene in the operation of 
low-performing campuses and authorize takeover by an 
outside entity if a low-performing school failed to show 
improvement.

 School start and end dates. In most cases, schools 
would have had to start the Tuesday after Labor Day and 
could have ended no later than June 7. 

 School board elections and term lengths. School board 
elections would have been held on the uniform election 
date in November of even-numbered years. School board 
members would served staggered four-year terms.

 End-of course-examinations. TEA would have been 
required to develop end-of-course assessments in secondary-
level courses in mathematics, science, English, and social 
studies and could have required the administration of these 
tests to students. A joint legislative oversight committee 
would have been established to monitor the development of 
end-of-course assessments.

 Charter schools. The bill would have repealed current 
statutes governing open enrollment charter schools and 
established new procedures for licensing charter schools and 
revoking the licenses of low-performing charter schools. 
High-performing charter schools would have received state 
facilities funding of $1,000 per student.

 Facilities. The Legislative Budget Board (LBB) would 
have been directed to conduct a study of instructional 
facilities funding and needs, including age of facilities, 
capacity issues, and bond indebtedness.

 Continuation of TEA. The bill would have continued 
TEA until September 1, 2017. 

Supporters said

 HB 2 would provide $2.4 billion in new money for 
public education, increase significantly the state’s overall 
share of education funding, improve the equity of the 
system, and establish new standards to ensure that Texans 
get more for their education dollars. The bill would 
provide tax relief by reducing local school property taxes 
and limiting the ability of school districts subsequently to 
increase taxes without local voter approval. New funding 
formulas in HB 2 would offer more flexibility in using state 
funds to meet each district’s priorities, while also taking 
account of variations in cost due to student need, regional 
price variations, and district size.

 Salaries and benefits. HB 2 would ensure that every 
teacher and professional staff member received a salary 
increase. Teachers would be assured of receiving $1,500 
for each of the next two years in place of the $500 health 
insurance passthrough through an increase in the minimum 
salary schedule. The bill would allow school districts 
flexibility in determining the actual range of an additional 
pay increase of $500 in each of the next two years. Districts 
have discretion in developing compensation plans for all of 
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their employees, and they could continue to cover the cost of 
a health insurance passthrough for all employees if they so 
chose. 

 Incentives. The bill would require districts to design 
incentive plans that promote cooperation while also 
encouraging teachers to compete for incentives. A separate 
$100 million state incentive program would provide a 
$3,000 award for teachers who had helped failing campuses 
show improvement in student academic achievement. 

 Textbooks and technology funding. HB 2 would move 
public education in Texas into the 21st century by giving 
school districts the resources and tools needed to harness the 
promise of technology. For continued economic growth and 
improved employment opportunities, Texas cannot afford 
to fall behind in providing a modern learning environment. 
Public education should follow the example of business in 
embracing technology as an integral part of its operations.

 The bill would break the near monopoly of a handful 
of publishing giants in providing textbooks and related 
materials for Texas students and allow state funding for 
instructional materials to be used for technology as well. For 
too long, textbook publishers – with the encouragement and 
support of the elected SBOE – have benefited from a system 
that sets prices and locks out competitors years before the 
final product is purchased. The bill would end a process 
in which textbooks are updated every six years while 
information and technology evolve far more rapidly. 

 HB 2 also would set up a process to ensure that 
instructional materials were reviewed in a timely manner, 
were free of factual errors, and contained appropriate 
instructional content. School districts would have more 
flexibility in determining their own funding levels for 
instructional materials and technology, depending on 
their existing resources. Rather than having to select from 
conforming and nonconforming lists of approved materials, 
districts could select from the wide array of products on the 
market and choose instructional materials that support their 
curricula. 

 Recapture. While every district would be guaranteed 
an increase in overall funding of 3 percent, no district 
would receive a significant and immediate windfall because 
funding increases would be capped at 8 percent, 16 percent, 
and 24 percent over the next three years. By imposing a cap 
on recaptured funds, the bill would provide relief to a small 
number of wealthy districts that currently are sending up to 
70 percent of local property tax revenue back to the state. 
This cap would be tied to the percentage of equity in the 

enrichment tier. As long as the state met its commitment to 
guarantee equity in the enrichment tier, recapture would be 
limited. 

 Equity. Under HB 2, equity among Texas schools 
would reach record levels. For the enrichment tier, school 
districts would be guaranteed a higher yield per penny of 
tax effort than is available under the current system. HB 2 
would allow school districts to seek additional funding for 
enrichment but would require a vote of the people each time 
a school district sought a tax increase. By requiring these 
elections, the bill would give taxpayers more say in how 
their money is spent. 

 Instructional costs. The bill would simplify funding 
formulas by converting from weights to dollar amounts 
and ensure by 2009 that at least 65 percent of tax dollars 
were being spent in the classroom on direct instruction. 
Districts still would be able to use a significant portion of 
their budgets to fund other costs, such as cafeterias, school 
security, and school nurses, but the bill would require that a 
reasonable percentage of funds were being used to provide 
classroom instruction. 

 Low-performing schools. HB 2 would put more muscle 
into the state accountability system by allowing outside 
entities to bid for contracts to take over failing schools if 
other efforts to turn the school around were unsuccessful. 
Too many of the state’s lowest-performing schools are 
allowed to fail year after year with minimal consequences 
for the district or the state. No child should have to wait 
years for a public school district to produce better results. 

 Facilities. While facilities funding is an important 
issue, policymakers need more information before they can 
address the problem. The study authorized by HB 2 would 
assist the Legislature in developing programs to provide 
assistance for facilities funding where it is needed most.

 School board elections. Elections for school board 
trustees should be held in November when the voter turnout 
is about four times higher than in May elections. Because 
fewer voters go to the polls in May elections, most trustees 
are elected by a small minority of voters. Holding school 
board elections in the fall, along with other elections, 
would result in more citizens expressing their preferences 
about who should manage their schools. The bill would 
encourage joint elections, which would save money because 
the expenses would be shared by the political subdivisions 
holding the joint election. Currently, school districts that 
have trustees who serve three-year terms must hold an 
election every year. By mandating that trustees serve 
staggered four-year terms, a two-year election cycle would 
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result, substantially reducing the number of elections. Even 
if some joint elections have increased costs, holding fewer 
elections overall still would save money. 

 Charter schools. HB 2 would give TEA the tools 
it needs to weed out and shut down low-performing 
charter schools while establishing a framework to nourish 
successful charter programs so that they could fulfill the 
original purpose that the state envisioned when it began 
offering charters in 1995. There are many high-performing 
charter programs in the state that need additional support 
in order to succeed. These programs should have access to 
funding, including facilities funding, comparable to regular 
public schools. 

 School start dates. Postponing the school start date 
would extend the summer for students, families, and 
teachers, providing more options for vacations, summer 
camps, and professional education for teachers and 
generating significant economic benefits to the state as 
well as to school districts. The later start date would benefit 
migrant students who now must start school later than their 
peers, putting them at a significant academic disadvantage.

Opponents said 

 HB 2 would not provide enough money to meet the 
state’s current or future educational needs and would create 
a variety of unfunded mandates that quickly would consume 
any increases in funding for districts. Even though all school 
districts would be guaranteed increases of 3 percent, this 
barely would be enough to keep up with inflation. The bill 
would not begin to replace education cuts suffered during 
the 2003 session, and some of the “new funds,” such as the 
increase in the minimum salary schedule and the increased 
technology allotment, simply would be a different way of 
spending funds already allocated for education. 

 Salaries and benefits. HB 2 would provide a minimal 
across-the-board raise for teachers, counselors, librarians, 
and nurses because the $1,500 increase would include 
$1,000 per year these professionals already were promised 
to restore the health insurance passthrough that was reduced 
to $500 per year in 2003. The additional $500 would amount 
to only $41.66 per month over a 12-month period. The bill 
would take away an important benefit from 300,000 other 
public school employees who would lose the passthrough 
and receive no offsetting benefit. 

 Incentives. Before approving any incentives, the state 
should provide funding for a more significant across-the-
board pay raise for all teachers. The state will continue 

to lose teachers and face ongoing shortfalls without a 
meaningful increase in overall salaries. Past experience 
has shown that performance incentive measures run out 
of steam when it comes time to pay for them. The career 
ladder experiment failed in Texas when funds ran out to pay 
deserving teachers, and today’s incentive proposals likely 
would meet the same fate. 

 Textbooks and technology funding. School districts 
are not prepared to make the transition to technology-based 
instruction, and HB 2 would not provide sufficient resources 
to cover the full array of technology expenses it would take 
to support and maintain this level of instruction. Investments 
in technology would be wasted if a school district could not 
commit enough resources to cover maintenance, upkeep, 
replacement, training, and other elements that make up the 
“total cost of ownership” in a technology program. While a 
textbook is durable, and paper workbooks can be replaced 
from year to year, a laptop computer would require regular 
maintenance and oversight to ensure that it was being 
used appropriately. In many subjects, such as the study of 
literature, printed books are superior to technology-based 
materials. HB 2 should include requirements for categorical 
funding to ensure that school districts did not spend too 
much on hardware and too little on instructional content. 

 HB 2 would diminish Texas’ influence on the 
instructional materials development process at many 
publishing companies. Protections in current law designed 
specifically to ensure that small, rural districts receive the 
same priority from publishers as larger districts would be 
eroded. Changing the State Board of Education’s review 
process to an ongoing review and approval process would 
diminish the authority of the board and the content quality of 
the instructional materials. All materials – print or electronic 
– should meet the same review and approval requirements. 
Removing the requirement that districts select instructional 
material approved by the state board would eliminate the 
incentive for publishers to go through the approval process.

 Recapture. HB 2 eventually would generate such 
inequities between wealthy and poor districts that the 
public school finance system again could be subject to 
constitutional challenge over funding equity issues. The 
38 percent cap on recapture would lead to wide inequities 
between a handful of “super wealthy” districts and the rest 
of the school districts in the state. While some districts 
would see increases of slightly more than 3 percent, others 
would experience double-digit increases over the next 
several years. 

 Equity. Any gains in equity as a result of increased 
equalization in the enrichment tier would be more than 
offset by the significant inequities in the basic accreditation 
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allotment. The “hold harmless” provisions would carry over 
existing disparities in funding between property-wealthy and 
property-poor districts. 

 Instructional costs. The current system of distributing 
state funds through student weights does a good job of 
accounting for the different student needs in a diverse 
state and should not be changed. A directive specifying the 
proportion of funds that should be spent on direct instruction 
unfairly would affect schools and districts with higher non-
instructional expenses, even if these expenses contribute 
directly to student performance. 

 Low-performing schools. Current law already 
establishes procedures for school districts and TEA to work 
together to address the problems of failing schools. Even the 
federal No Child Left Behind Act gives a low-performing 
school four or five years before it is subject to outside 
takeover. These solutions take time, and school districts 
should have the chance to correct the situation before a 
problem is turned over to outside entities. 

 Facilities. Any revision of school funding formulas 
should include a component for facilities funding. This 
is one of the areas that the district court recently deemed 
to be unconstitutional, and it is important to the fast-
growing districts in the state that continually must build 
new classrooms to accommodate rapidly growing student 
populations. This issue should not be put off until next 
session while another study is conducted. Sufficient 
evidence was presented in the school finance trial to 
document the urgency of the problem.

 School board elections. School districts should be 
allowed to retain local flexibility in choosing whether to 
hold school board elections in May or November. School 
board members are not elected by party, and November 
elections in even-numbered years are very partisan. School-
related issues easily could be lost in the midst of partisan 
elections for federal, state, and county offices. Straight-
party voters could become confused about why they were 
unable to vote for their party’s nominee for school-board 
trustee or might skip the nonpartisan school trustee election. 
Nonpartisan school board candidates would have to vie 
for support, such as inclusion on a slate card or other 
advertisement, from organizations with partisan agendas 
and be evaluated on their positions on issues that may not be 
school-related.

 Charter schools. The bill does not go far enough in 
ensuring that TEA would hold all charter schools to the 
same academic and financial accountability standards as 

public schools. Although HB 2 would allow TEA to deny 
charters to the lowest-performing schools, many others 
that at best have produced mediocre results likely would 
have their charters approved. The state should not commit 
to providing facilities funding for charter schools until it 
addresses the disparities and lack of facilities funding for its 
regular public schools.

 School start dates. School start dates should be based 
on local needs and preferences rather than economic 
interests such as tourism. If a district has a large number 
of migrant students or a major tourist attraction, there is 
nothing to prevent that district from starting school in 
early September. For many districts, savings in utilities 
and other costs would be offset by similar expenses in late 
May and early June. Many school districts and families 
would prefer to start school earlier in order to finish the first 
semester before the winter holidays. High school students 
in particular benefit from completing final exams before the 
holidays. These students should not have to compromise 
their academic achievement so that the state’s tourism 
industry can profit. 

Notes

 The HRO analysis of HB 2, second called session, 
appeared in the July 26 Daily Floor Report. The HRO 
analysis of HB 2, regular session, appeared in the March 8 
Daily Floor Report. The HRO analysis of HB 2, first called 
session, appeared in the June 28 Daily Floor Report.

 SB 8 by Shapiro, second called session, was approved 
by the Senate on August 9. While substantially similar to 
HB 2, SB 8 did not include the caps on recapture and non-
instructional costs or requirements for fall school board 
elections and end-of-course assessments. SB 8 would have:

• required school districts to increase salaries 
for all employees for the 2005-06 school year 
in an amount equal to the product of $500 per 
professional employee and provided state aid in an 
amount equaling $2,000 per professional employee 
for the 2005-06 school year;

• allowed districts to impose an initial enrichment 
tax of 2 cents per $100 of valuation without voter 
approval;

• delayed adoption of the technology allotment until 
2007; and

• specified that various provisions of the bill, 
including increases in the guaranteed yield in 
the enrichment tier, would be subject to specific 
appropriation.
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HB 4 by Grusendorf
Died in the Senate

Funding instructional materials and technology for public schools  

 HB 4 would have abolished the current system 
for reviewing, adopting, and purchasing textbooks and 
established a process for the review, adoption and purchase 
of  “instructional materials,” including books, supplementary 
materials, computer software, interactive videodiscs, 
magnetic media, CD-ROMs, computer courseware, online 
services, electronic media, or other means of conveying 
information to a student. School districts and charter 
schools would have received an instructional materials and 
technology allotment per student in average daily attendance 
of $70 beginning September 1, 2005, and $150 beginning 
September 1, 2006. Districts would have had to use $40 of 
the $70 allotment and $60 of the $150 allotment to fund 
targeted technology programs, provide teacher training, and 
acquire other infrastructure, components, and technologies 
necessary to enhance student performance.  

 The bill would have established a review process by 
which publishers could at any time submit instructional 
material to the State Board of Education (SBOE) with a 
statement identifying the essential knowledge and skills 
for a subject and grade level that the material covered. 
The SBOE would have had to meet quarterly to review 
and approve instructional materials and would have had 
to approve or reject them no later than two board review 
meetings after submission. For each subject and grade 
level, the SBOE would have listed approved instructional 
materials, periodically reviewing it and, by majority vote, 
removing materials that the board determined no longer 
adequately covered essential knowledge and skills. School 
districts and charter schools would not have had to select 
instructional materials approved by the SBOE but would 
have had to certify to TEA annually that each student was 
being provided with instructional materials aligned with 
essential knowledge and skills adopted by SBOE for that 
subject and grade level.

 The bill would have eliminated distribution of textbooks 
through the textbook depository system and allowed school 
districts and charter schools to purchase instructional 
materials directly from the publisher or through the 
Department of Information Resources (DIR). Prices would 
have been determined through negotiation between the 
publisher and DIR, which could have executed a contract to 
purchase or license each approved instructional material. 

 To the extent practicable and appropriate, TEA would 
have had to require school districts to administer the TAKS 
test by computer by May 1, 2007. TEA would have had to 
develop or acquire ongoing, computer-adaptive, interactive 
assessment tools for each subject and grade level TAKS 
test and, from funds appropriated for this purpose, make 
them available to public schools at no cost. TEA could have 
adopted rules governing computer-adaptive assessments and 
delayed the release of TAKS test questions and answer keys 
as necessary to implement computer-adaptive testing.

 TEA would have been required to review all state- and 
federally funded grant programs and incentives designed 
to improve student academic performance and would have 
determined the extent to which funds awarded under these 
programs could be used to enhance technology use in public 
schools. The TEA commissioner would have had to appoint 
an advisory committee of business, education, and public 
members to help the agency monitor changing technology in 
business, industry, and education. 

Supporters said 
 HB 4 would move public education in Texas into 
the 21st century by giving school districts the resources 
and tools needed to harness the promise of technology. 
Other states and school districts already are successfully 
implementing this vision with positive results. For continued 
economic growth and improved employment opportunities, 
Texas cannot afford to fall behind in providing a modern 
learning environment. Public education should follow the 
example of business in embracing technology as an integral 
part of its operations.

 Investing in technology is expensive, and HB 4 likely 
would not fund all of a district’s technology needs. But 
most school districts have used the current $30 technology 
allotment to develop technology programs, and the 
additional funding that HB 4 would authorize would allow 
them to expand on that basic programming. Districts also 
could use their own resources to provide enough funding to 
cover the “total cost of ownership.”
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 The bill would break the near monopoly of a handful 
of publishing giants in providing textbooks and related 
materials for Texas students and allow state funding for 
instructional materials to be used for technology as well. 
For too long, textbook publishers – with the encouragement 
and support of the elected SBOE – have benefited from a 
system that locks in prices and locks out competitors years 
before the final product is purchased. The bill would end 
a process in which textbooks are updated every six years 
while information and technology move at a far more rapid 
pace. Under the current system, students effectively are 
restricted from learning of spectacular advances in human 
achievement until years after they occur. Technology offers 
the promise of delivering a wide array of information to 
students in a variety of formats suited to particular subjects.

 HB 4 would set up a process to ensure that instructional 
materials were reviewed in a timely manner, free of 
factual errors, and with appropriate instructional content. 
Instructional materials would be reviewed on an ongoing 
basis, rather than every six years, to ensure that they 
met state requirements for curriculum content. The 
bill would give school districts flexibility to determine 
their own funding levels for instructional materials and 
technology, depending on their existing resources, while 
providing safeguards to ensure that districts met the state’s 
constitutional responsibility to provide instructional 
materials for all children. Rather than having to select from 
conforming and nonconforming lists of approved materials, 
school districts could select from the wide array of products 
on the market and choose which instructional materials 
would support their curriculum. 

 The bill would provide a strong incentive for school 
districts to convert to online testing by imposing a deadline 
of May 1, 2007, for TEA to provide online assessment 
materials and for school districts to administer the TAKS 
test online if practicable and appropriate. Interactive online 
testing could give teachers immediate feedback, which 
would improve students’ learning and reduce the criticism of 
“teaching to the test” by enabling educators to fine-tune their 
assessment of each child’s progress and needs. 

 The bill would help embed technology into the state’s 
educational structure by requiring TEA to review all state- 
and federally funded grant programs to determine the extent 
to which grant funds could be used to enhance or expand 
the use of technology in schools. This proactive approach 
would help ensure that more districts made technology 
use a priority in developing and carrying out grant-funded 
programs.

Opponents said 

 Schools do not need to embrace technology for its own 
sake but should make informed decisions about the use 
of technology in a broader context. It would be a mistake 
to assume that the state’s already inadequate education 
budget should be spent on laptop computers rather than 
decreasing class sizes, hiring qualified teachers, funding pre-
kindergarten, and other priorities. Businesses have harnessed 
technology mainly to enhance efficiency to boost profits, but 
schools are not businesses.

 HB 4 would not provide enough resources for school 
districts to cover the full array of technology expenses 
and most are not prepared to make the full-scale transition 
to technology-based instruction envisioned by the bill. 
Investments in technology would be wasted if a school 
district could not commit enough resources to cover 
maintenance, upkeep, replacement, training, and other 
elements that make up the “total cost of ownership” in a 
technology program. While a textbook is durable and paper 
workbooks can be replaced from year to year, a laptop 
computer would require regular maintenance and oversight 
to ensure that it was being used appropriately. In many 
cases, such as the study of literature, textbooks and hard 
copy are superior to technology-based materials. 

 HB 4 would diminish Texas’ influence on the 
instructional materials development process at many 
publishing companies. Without the advance commitment 
of funds and timelines for adoption, companies would 
not create project timelines to coincide with Texas. The 
more than 800 school districts with enrollments of fewer 
than 2,000 students would get little attention in marketing 
and sales efforts if the state adoption cycle disappeared. 
Once each district could determine what it wanted, when it 
wanted, the larger school districts would receive the sales, 
marketing, and implementation attention, but the smaller 
districts would have difficulty selecting and securing 
instructional materials in a timely manner. Protections in 
current law designed specifically to ensure that small, rural 
districts receive the same priority from publishers as larger 
districts would be eroded.

 Changing the SBOE’s review process to an ongoing 
review and approval process would diminish the authority 
of the SBOE, which is accountable to the voters, and the 
content quality of the instructional materials. Allowing the 
SBOE, by majority vote, to remove approved materials that 
the board determined no longer adequately covered essential 
knowledge and skills would open the door to board rejection 
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of materials based on subjective criteria. The bill should 
require the SBOE to provide publishers with notice if their 
materials were removed from the approved list.

 If state funds were allocated for instructional materials, 
schools should be required to spend those funds on 
SBOE-reviewed and approved materials, regardless of the 
materials’ format. All materials – print or electronic – should 
meet the same review and approval requirements. Removing 
the requirement that districts select instructional material 
approved by the SBOE would eliminate the incentive for 
publishers to go through the approval process.

 HB 4 should include requirements for categorical 
funding to ensure that school districts did not spend too 
much on hardware and too little on instructional content. 
Texas has invested in and is a national leader in tying 
accountability standards to assessments and instructional 
materials. Without adequate controls, the quality of this 
system could be compromised. 

 The bill would encourage districts to move quickly 
to online testing when this may not be the best method 
for the state’s current high-stakes accountability system. 
These summative assessments are designed to measure 
specific knowledge and to control for other variables, such 
as environment, test time, and other factors. These factors 
would be easier to control with the current paper-and-pencil 
system than with the online system envisioned by the bill. 
Online testing would be costly, and the benefits would not 
justify the expense. The Legislative Budget Board estimates 
that online testing would cost school districts an additional 
$11 million per year, which could be spent in other, more 
beneficial ways.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the April 
20 Daily Floor Report. 

 Similar provisions appeared in HB 2 by Grusendorf, 
first and second called sessions, and HB 62 by Grusendorf, 
second called session, none of which were enacted.
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HB 283 by Hope
Effective June 18, 2005

Prevention of bullying in public schools

 HB 283 requires school districts to prohibit students 
from bullying, harassment, and making “hit lists.” School 
districts must ensure that district employees enforce 
these provisions and must provide staff with appropriate 
methods for managing students in the classroom and on 
school grounds, disciplining students, and preventing 
and intervening in student discipline problems. Districts 
also must adopt and implement a discipline management 
program that provides for prevention and education 
concerning unwanted physical or verbal aggression, sexual 
harassment, and other forms of bullying in school, on school 
grounds, and in school vehicles.

 The school board or its designee must grant a victim of 
bullying a transfer to another classroom or campus at the 
request of the parent or other person authorized to act on 
behalf of the victim. The board or its designee must verify 
that the student was a victim of bullying before granting 
the transfer and may consider past student behavior when 
identifying a bully. The decision of the board or its designee 
is final and may not be appealed. The board does not have 
to provide transportation for a student who is transferred to 
another campus. 

 Bullying for the purpose of student transfers is defined 
as engaging in written or verbal expression or physical 
conduct that a school board determines would have the 
effect of physically harming a student, damaging a student’s 
property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of harm to 
the student or the student’s property, or that is sufficiently 
severe, persistent, or pervasive that the action or threat 
creates an intimidating, threatening, or abusive educational 
environment for a student.

Supporters said

 HB 283 would help reduce or eliminate bullying and 
related behavior in public schools, provide teachers and 
other school staff with tools to address the problem, and 
provide alternatives for students who have been victims of 
bullying. Research shows that almost one-third of school-
age children are victimized by their peers. Students who 
are bullied are five times more likely to be depressed and 
have low self esteem than are other children, conditions 
that can last well into adulthood. A 2002 report by the U.S. 
Department of Education and the U.S. Secret Service, which 

studied 10 students who committed school shootings, found 
that bullying played a role in a majority of those incidents.

 School districts cannot afford to provide transportation 
for every student who wishes to transfer to another school 
to avoid a bully. If the problem is serious enough to require 
a transfer, the parents or other responsible party should be 
willing to provide transportation.

Opponents said

 HB 283 defines bullying broadly to include behavior 
that, while wrong, may not by itself justify transferring a 
student to another class or school. School districts or their 
designees should have the flexibility to respond to individual 
incidents in other ways that may be more effective than 
simply removing the victim from the classroom or school. 
Rather than punishing the bully, prevention should focus 
on teaching the victim to respond appropriately to bullying. 
Most serious school violence associated with bullying 
has been conducted by the victims of bullying and not the 
bullies themselves. Victims should be provided with anger 
management and other behavioral tools to shield themselves 
from the negative effects of bullying. 

Other opponents said

 HB 283 should require school districts to provide 
transportation for victims of bullying who wish to transfer to 
another school. If a school or district has been unsuccessful 
in controlling the bullying, it should bear the cost of 
removing the victim from the situation. Many students who 
need to transfer to another school to avoid a bully would be 
unable to do so due to lack of transportation. 

Notes
 
 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 2 
Daily Floor Report.

 HB 308 by Hope, effective June 18, 2005, requires 
school districts to authorize a transfer for a student who has 
been sexually assaulted by a student attending the same 
campus.
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 HB 603 directs school boards, in adopting a required 
student code of conduct, to specify whether consideration is 
given, as a factor in a decision to order suspension, removal 
to a disciplinary alternative education program, or expulsion, 
to:

• self-defense;
• intent or lack of intent at the time the student 

engaged in the conduct;
• a student’s disciplinary history; or 
• a disability that substantially impairs the student’s 

capacity to appreciate the wrongfulness of the 
student’s conduct.

 The bill specifies that, except in cases involving 
firearms, the student code of conduct need not specify 
a minimum term of removal for students suspended or 
expelled from school.

 If a student is removed from class for assaulting a 
teacher, the student cannot be returned to that class without 
the teacher’s consent, and the teacher cannot be coerced 
to consent. Each educator who has responsibility for the 
instruction of a student must be notified if the student has 
been placed in an alternative education program or expelled. 
This information must be kept confidential from anyone not 
entitled to it.

Supporters said

 HB 603 would provide more flexibility in enforcing 
the state’s zero-tolerance laws by requiring school districts 
to specify whether consideration is given to certain factors 
in determining whether a student who violates the code 
of conduct should be suspended, placed in an alternative 
education program, or expelled. This would allow school 
districts to give principals and other school authorities more 
discretion in determining the appropriate consequences for 
violations of the code of conduct.

 Since these zero-tolerance laws were enacted in 1997, 
there have been reports of students being expelled for such 
actions as accidentally bringing a paring knife to school 
even though the student had no intention of using the knife. 

Consideration of intent or disciplinary history in student discipline 
policies  
HB 603 by Eissler
Effective June 17, 2005

Under current law, principals have no discretion to respond 
to individual situations in which suspending or expelling 
a student or placing the student in an alternative education 
program may not be warranted. As a result, many students 
end up in alternative education programs that often do not 
offer the same quality of education as a regular classroom, 
and even excellent students have difficulty maintaining their 
grades. The bill would not limit a principal’s authority to 
expel students who intentionally bring weapons to school. 

 HB 603 would protect teachers who have been assaulted 
from further violence by allowing that teacher to refuse 
the student readmission into the class. During the 2003-04 
school year, the Texas Education Agency reported that 1,221 
students committed assaults against school employees. By 
allowing teachers to refuse to accept a student who has 
assaulted that teacher, the bill would affirm to teachers that 
they are safe and supported in their jobs. One of the main 
reasons teachers leave the teaching profession is because 
of student discipline problems. Teachers need the peace of 
mind of knowing that they do not need to continue to teach 
students who have assaulted them.

Opponents said

 The bill would give principals too much discretion in 
deciding whether a student should be suspended, placed in 
an alternative education program, or expelled for violating 
the student code of conduct. This should be handled by 
courts rather than by a principal, who may know the 
offender and be too inclined towards leniency or stringency 
depending on the particular student.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the April 
26 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1445 by Madden
Died in the House

Establishing a state virtual school network

 HB 1445 would have established a state virtual school 
network to provide electronic courses or programs for 
Texas students. The network would have been governed 
by the State Board of Education (SBOE), which would 
have established criteria for course and program content, 
evaluated and approved electronic courses or programs, 
placed courses or programs on an approved list, provided 
public access to the list of approved courses or programs, 
and solicited new courses or programs in which there was a 
demonstrated interest. The commissioner of education could 
have overruled the board’s refusal to approve an electronic 
course or program.

 The virtual school network would have been prohibited 
from developing its own curriculum, courses, or programs 
or providing educational services directly to a student. 
Electronic courses or programs could have been submitted 
to SBOE for approval by school districts rated academically 
acceptable or higher or by charter schools rated recognized 
or higher. Charter schools could serve as provider schools 
only to students in the school district in which the charter 
school was located or within its service area, whichever 
was smaller, or to any other student in the state through an 
agreement with the enrolling school. 

 The SBOE would have set the cost of each course or 
program, which could not exceed $400 per student per 
course or $4,800 per full-time student. An electronic course 
offered through the state virtual school network would have 
had to provide for at least the same number of instructional 
hours as required for a course offered in a program that 
met the state’s required minimum number of instructional 
days and required length of school days. School districts 
or charter schools in which a student was enrolled in an 
electronic course would have been entitled to state funding 
equal to the cost of providing the course, as established by 
the SBOE, plus 20 percent. The number of courses available 
to students not enrolled in a public or charter school would 
have been capped at 6,000 courses in the 2006-07 school 
year and 15,000 courses in the 2007-08 school year. 

 The board would have had to adopt rules for verifying 
the attendance of students enrolled in electronic courses or 
programs. School districts or charter schools would have 
had to report results of assessment tests to TEA through 
the Public Education Information Management System 
(PEIMS). Teachers of electronic courses and programs 

would have had to be certified by the state to teach that 
subject and grade level. The virtual charter school network 
would have begun operations beginning with the 2006-07 
school year.

Supporters said 

 HB 1445 would move education into the 21st century 
by expanding opportunities for students to use technology 
as an alternative method of gaining access to a high-quality 
education through a statewide virtual school network. 
The network would be firmly established in the state’s 
existing educational framework and would build on recent 
pilot projects that have tested the use of electronic courses 
and programs at individual school districts. The bill is 
significantly different from a 2003 virtual charter school bill 
that would have provided equipment directly to participating 
students because the virtual school network would be 
operated through participating public school districts. 

 The bill would include safeguards to ensure that 
students enrolled in electronic courses or programs 
received an education that was equal to or better than 
traditional courses. The programs would be developed 
by school districts and charter schools and based on state 
content standards. Students would be subject to testing and 
attendance requirements, and courses would be taught by 
certified teachers.
 
 While a limited number of home-school students would 
be eligible to participate in the virtual school network, 
these programs would benefit many other kinds of students, 
including students in rural areas who may not have access 
to advanced courses, children with disabilities, gifted-and-
talented students, and students from families who must 
travel a great deal. Home-school families actually might not 
wish to participate because of the assessment and attendance 
requirements.

Opponents said 

 HB 1445 would divert money from public school 
classrooms at a time when the state is having trouble 
meeting basic educational needs for public school students. 
According to the bill’s fiscal note, the cost of the program 
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would increase from $20.6 million in 2007 to $52.6 million 
in 2010. In addition to paying for the creation of these 
courses, the state would have to cover the cost of reviewing 
and approving electronic courses and publicizing their 
content. 

 The program outlined in the bill would support home 
schools that are private schools and ought to be funded 
privately. This is a form of “virtual voucher” that would 
provide public funding for private schooling. 

 It would be premature to adopt HB 1445 before the 
state has had time to evaluate the results of studies of virtual 
school pilot programs. The initial findings about the benefits 
of these programs are inconclusive. While online education 
may offer promising opportunities, the state should not 
authorize resources to fund these programs until more 
information is available about their costs and benefits.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Three of the May 
11 Daily Floor Report.
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HB 1476 by Edwards
Died in Senate Committee

Prohibiting sexually suggestive performances at school events 

 HB 1476 would have prohibited a school dance, drill, 
or cheerleading team or any other performance group from 
performing in a manner that was overtly sexually suggestive 
at an athletic or other extracurricular event or competition 
sponsored or approved by a school district or campus. The 
Texas Education Agency (TEA) could have submitted 
a written request that a district review performances to 
determine whether they were overtly sexually suggestive 
and, if so, require the district to take appropriate action, as 
determined by the district, against the performance group 
and the group’s sponsor.

Supporters said

 HB 1476 would make it clear to school districts and 
students that sexually suggestive performances are not 
acceptable in Texas public schools. Many people have 
expressed concern about the sexual nature of half-time 
shows at football games and other school-sponsored events. 
While overtly sexually suggestive performances may be 
difficult to define, they are easy to recognize, and every 
school administrator should be required to ensure that they 
do not take place. 

 While existing statutes include sanctions for lewdness 
and indecent exposure at school and school-sponsored 
activities, they do not speak directly to performances 
by cheerleaders, drill teams, and other groups at school-
sponsored athletic events. School administrators are 
unlikely to place cheerleaders or school band members in an 
alternative education program because of their performance 
in a half-time show. This bill would not impose penalties 
because it is not intended to be punitive, but rather to 
serve as a directive to school districts that sexually explicit 
performances are prohibited.

 The fact that cheerleading organizations voluntarily 
have adopted standards prohibiting sexually explicit 
performances illustrates that there is a problem. 
Cheerleading squads may perform different routines at 
football games than they perform in competitions because 
they know the behavior is prohibited. Those squads that 
voluntarily prohibit these movements would not be affected 
by the bill. 

 TEA and school boards are responsible for cooperating 
to ensure that school-related activities promote a positive 
self-image for young women. The bill would establish the 
appropriate level of state involvement by directing TEA 
to serve as a referral agency but giving school districts the 
responsibility for taking appropriate action.

Opponents said 

 HB 1476 is unnecessary because existing statutes and 
policies already address public lewdness and indecent 
exposure. The bill would be difficult to implement because it 
does not define what would be considered “overtly sexually 
suggestive” and would impose no penalties for this behavior. 
One person’s sexually suggestive behavior may be another’s 
idea of artistic expression. A high school musical production, 
for example, might contain elements that some consider 
suggestive and others find perfectly acceptable, even 
charming. School districts already have sufficient authority 
to respond to inappropriate and suggestive performances by 
placing students in alternative education programs. Most 
cheerleading teams have adopted voluntary standards for 
content that prohibit sexually explicit performances, and 
the National Cheerleading Association penalizes squads 
that have vulgar or suggestive elements in their competition 
routines.

 The state should not be involved in legislating morality. 
Dress codes and other guidelines should be adopted 
locally and should reflect local tastes and morals. TEA is 
in no position to decide the appropriateness of a half-time 
performance at a particular high school football game. 
If parents believe that extracurricular activities at their 
children’s school are in violation of good taste, they have 
ample opportunity to seek corrective action by appealing to 
campus and district administrators and school board trustees.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the May 3 Daily Floor 
Report.
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SB 422 by Jackson
Died in the House 

Creating a publicly funded school voucher pilot program

 SB 422, the Texas Education Agency (TEA) Sunset 
bill, as substituted in the House Public Education Committee 
included a provision that would have established an urban 
school choice pilot scholarship program for eligible students 
in the San Antonio, Dallas, Houston, Fort Worth, Austin, 
Edgewood, and North Forest school districts. Eligible 
districts would have been the largest school districts in 
counties with populations of more than 750,000 in which 
a majority of students were economically disadvantaged 
or at least 90 percent of students were economically 
disadvantaged during the preceding year. The program 
would have expired June 1, 2014.

 For three consecutive school years, beginning with the 
2005-06 school year, the number of students eligible for the 
program would have been capped at 5 percent of the number 
of students in the district. The cap would have expired 
September 1, 2008, and would not have applied to students 
who had dropped out, were starting school for the first time, 
or who had been the victims of assault by a student on the 
same campus. 

 To be eligible for the program, a child would have 
had to meet criteria established in the bill, such as being at 
risk of dropping out of school, having been assaulted by 
another student, or being of limited English proficiency 
or low-income. A child who established eligibility would 
have remained eligible until graduating from high school 
or reaching the age of 21, whether or not the student had 
continued to live in an eligible district. The child would 
have been entitled to receive an annual scholarship of the 
lesser of 90 percent of the statewide average annual cost 
per student for the preceding school year or the qualifying 
school’s average actual annual cost per student. If a child 
were eligible for special education or bilingual education, 
the scholarship would have had to include the amount that 
the school district received for these special programs for the 
child.

 Applications for participation in the program would 
have been handled by schools-of-choice resource centers 
– independent and privately funded nonprofit organizations 
selected by TEA – that would have issued scholarship 
certificates to parents of eligible students. The parent would 
have had to endorse the certificate and present it to the 
qualifying school chosen by the parent. The qualifying 

school would have had to present the certificate, along with 
documentation verifying attendance, to TEA, which would 
have issued payments in monthly installments. A qualifying 
school would have to have been accredited or be applying 
for accreditation by a recognized accreditation association 
and not advocate or foster unlawful behavior or teach hatred 
of any person or group on the basis of race, ethnicity, or 
national origin. The school could not have denied admission 
by discriminating on the basis of the child’s race, national 
origin, or ethnicity and would have had to comply with 
federal anti-discrimination laws. A school with more 
scholarship applicants than available positions would have 
had to fill the available scholarship positions by a random 
selection process. A school could have given preference to 
a previously enrolled student, siblings of current students, 
victims of school violence, and students from low-
performing schools. 

 Each qualifying school that enrolled a child under the 
program would have had to administer annually the TAKS 
or other state-administered assessment test or a nationally 
norm-referenced test approved by TEA. A qualifying school 
that accepted a scholarship under the program would not 
have been considered an agent or an arm of the state or 
federal government and would not have been subject to 
state regulation. The bill specified that the purpose of the 
program was to allow the private sector maximum freedom 
to respond to and provide for the educational needs of the 
children of Texas without governmental control and that 
the regulations authorized by the bill would be construed 
liberally to achieve that purpose. TEA would have had 
to contract with one or more researchers experienced in 
evaluating school choice programs to study the program. 

Supporters said 

 SB 422 would provide students with the opportunity 
to reach their full potential, regardless of their economic 
circumstances or where they lived, by providing individual 
students with the resources they need to pursue educational 
alternatives. The bill would offer hope and choice to 
students trapped in failing public schools who did not have 
the economic means to leave the system and attend private 
schools. 
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 The state cannot afford to wait any longer to offer an 
alternative to students being failed by the current system. SB 
422 would extend a lifeline to these students by establishing 
a school choice program that initially would serve only 5 
percent of students but eventually could offer educational 
options to all students in the state’s five largest urban 
districts and other eligible low-income districts. These are 
the students that would gain the most from a school choice 
program and who are in the most immediate need. If the 
program were successful, it could be expanded to other parts 
of the state.

 The bill would improve public schools by creating 
competition for students and student dollars, just as the 
private marketplace depends on competition to improve 
products and services. In every community that has adopted 
a school choice program, the nearby public schools have 
improved as a result. There is no reason why education 
should not be subject to the same competitive forces as other 
elements of the economy.

 Education is personal, and no one is better qualified to 
determine what is best for a child than the child’s parent. 
The bill would give parents the opportunity to make 
informed choices about the best educational program for 
their children. Even if some of the beneficiaries of the 
program would have attended private schools anyway, these 
families are taxpayers and should be able to benefit from 
taxpayer-supported education programs.

 Schools that accepted vouchers would be subject to state 
testing requirements, and TEA would have the authority to 
investigate complaints or disputes and withhold funds from 
districts or schools that violated TEA rules governing the 
program.

Opponents said 

 SB 422 would drain taxpayer dollars from public 
education when schools already face a budget crisis. Dollars 
siphoned for vouchers would be taken from funding that 
could pay for smaller classes, education for at-risk students, 
and higher teacher salaries. The state should not consider 
funding a voucher pilot program until it has committed to 
providing sufficient funding for public school students. 

 Texas school children are not trapped in failed 
neighborhood public schools. Only a handful of 
neighborhood schools have been rated low-performing for 
even two years. The consistently failing schools are charter 
schools, which are privately run using taxpayer dollars and 
already have cost the state more than $1 billion. The state’s 

experience with charter schools should prove that vouchers 
and alternatives to public education should be approached 
with caution.

 SB 422 would make Texas the first state to devote 
significant public funding to private and parochial schools 
through a voucher program. Communities in other states that 
have experimented with voucher programs have had mixed 
results. Texas should not take the lead in using public funds 
on this educational experiment at a statewide level.

 The program is likely primarily to benefit students 
who would have attended private schools anyway. In 
Washington, DC, only 433 students from public schools 
labeled as needing improvement applied for and received 
voucher funds through the nation’s first federally funded 
voucher program. Nearly half of the students who applied 
for and received vouchers already were attending private 
schools. The bill offers opportunities for students to attend 
public school briefly to qualify for state funding that could 
then be used to finance private school education for the rest 
of the student’s school years. This would result in a higher 
cost to the state than the bill’s fiscal note estimates.

 The bill would allow public money to go to private 
schools with very few of the controls governing public 
schools. While these schools would have to administer 
the TAKS test, the bill would include limited sanctions if 
the students did not perform well on the test and no real 
accountability for the expenditures of taxpayer dollars.

Other opponents said 

 Vouchers should be considered only if the state adopts 
a constitutional amendment prohibiting the imposition of 
state regulations on private and parochial schools. Although 
the bill specifies that private schools would not be subject to 
state regulation, it would include testing requirements and 
authorize TEA enforcement actions against private schools 
in certain situations. Private and parochial schools should 
not participate in a program that would open the door to 
regulation by the state. The bill would open the door to 
court challenges on whether the teaching of religious topics 
in private and parochial schools violated constitutional 
prohibitions against state subsidies of religion.

 The program unfairly would concentrate on five major 
urban districts, which would lose millions of dollars in state 
funding if a large number of students chose to participate. 
If vouchers are such a good idea, every district in the state 
should be required to offer this option and face the loss of 
state funds.
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Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
23 Daily Floor Report.

 SB 422 would have continued the TEA until September 
1, 2017, repealed statutes requiring Sunset reviews 
for regional education service centers, and given TEA 
rulemaking authority for teacher certification. The bill 
would have authorized TEA to close low-performing charter 
schools, expanded the state’s accreditation system, adopted 
safety requirements for athletic activities, and authorized 
administrative changes. HB 1116 by Solomons continues 
TEA until September 1, 2007, and authorizes a limited 
Sunset review of the agency.

 SB 422 was amended in the House Public Education 
Committee to add a provision substantially similar to HB 
1263 by Harper-Brown concerning a school voucher pilot 
program.
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HB 1795 by Crownover
Died in Senate committee

Authorizing health savings accounts for state employees  

 HB 1795 would have required the state Employees 
Retirement System (ERS) to offer health savings accounts 
(HSAs) for eligible individuals and their dependents, to fund 
or purchase at least one high-deductible health plan, and to 
provide information to eligible individuals about the option 
to participate in HSAs and high-deductible health plans. 
Each state agency would have had to offer employees the 
option of participating in the program. 

 To participate in the program, individuals eligible for 
group health insurance through ERS would have had to 
waive basic plan coverage and purchase a high-deductible 
health plan. For each participant and dependent, the state 
would have contributed annually the same percentage to 
a high-deductible health plan that it contributed for an 
employee or dependent covered by the basic coverage plan 
and, to the person’s health savings account, an amount 
determined by ERS. Each participant would have had 
to contribute any amount required to cover the cost of 
participation in a high-deductible health plan that exceeded 
the state contribution amount. 

 ERS would have had to develop and implement the 
program in a manner that was as revenue-neutral as possible 
and would have had to develop enrollment requirements 
during 2005-06, with coverage beginning September 1, 
2006. 

Supporters said 

 HB 1795 would let state employees take control of their 
own health care expenses and could help the state control 
the increasing cost of employee health insurance coverage. 
Texas could be a model for other states and private 
employers by offering employees this new health benefit 
option.

 The bill could save the state money because employees 
who chose HSAs would enroll in high-deductible health 
insurance plans, which typically cost hundreds of dollars 
less in monthly premiums. While a portion of this cost 
savings would be passed on to the employee through 
funds deposited in the employee’s HSA, the state’s overall 
contribution for that employee’s health insurance coverage 
still would be lower. There is no evidence to suggest that 
sicker people would not select HSAs over traditional health 

plans. While individuals with chronic conditions may not be 
able to build substantial savings, HSAs give everyone more 
choice and control over their health care decisions. Sicker 
employees still would have high-deductible insurance to 
cover health care costs after the deductible had been met. 
These employees could save money with HSAs because 
they would be able to use pre-tax dollars to pay ongoing 
health care costs.

 State employees who chose HSAs likely would be 
more careful consumers of health care. Traditional health 
insurance plans tend to insulate patients from the cost of 
care because out-of-pocket costs such as deductibles usually 
are a small portion of the actual cost of care. A patient who 
is responsible for the full cost of health treatment would 
be more likely to question the cost of treatment and the 
necessity of particular procedures, which would help control 
overall health costs.  

 HSAs are a more attractive employee benefit than the 
TexFlex accounts the state now offers. TexFlex accounts 
allow employees to pay deductibles and other health care 
expenses with before-tax dollars but must be used up 
entirely from one year to the next. An employee who leaves 
state employment is not entitled to any remaining funds in a 
flexible health spending account. HB 1795 would offer the 
potential for the state to control health insurance costs so 
that it would have money to provide state employee salary 
increases in the future rather than the benefit cuts of recent 
years.  

Opponents said 

 HB 1795 could lead to higher costs for the state as 
a result of “adverse selection” that results when healthy 
employees leave a group insurance pool while sicker 
employees, who cost more to insure, remain. While healthy 
state employees would be likely to opt out of traditional 
health insurance in favor of HSAs, those with more illnesses 
probably would continue to choose traditional health 
insurance, raising the cost of this coverage for the state 
and for these employees. Even though the bill directs ERS 
to adopt a plan that is revenue neutral, the ERS actuary 
estimates that the cost to the state of this adverse selection 
would be $13.4 million between fiscal 2007 and fiscal 2010. 
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 Any long-term savings to the state from HSAs likely 
would be the result of cost-shifting rather than lower health 
care costs. Employees could choose not to seek preventive 
care because they did not wish to drain money from their 
HSAs, which could lead to higher costs for more serious 
illnesses later. The HSA plan design would put the greatest 
burden on those employees who require ongoing care for 
chronic illness, such as diabetes or asthma. The state already 
offers employees a way to save money on deductibles and 
other health insurance costs through TexFlex accounts. Any 
money in these accounts that is not spent remains with the 
state, rather than being withdrawn when an employee leaves 
a job.

Other opponents said 
 
 Offering HSAs to Texas state employees would be 
premature. The Legislature should postpone consideration 
of HSAs until at least next session, when more information 
will be available about the experience of public employers, 
particularly the federal government, in offering the option of 
HSAs to their employees.

Notes

 The House adopted an amendment to SB 1176 by 
Armbrister, generally effective September 1, 2005, making 
various ERS revisions, that would have required ERS to 
offer HSAs, but it was removed in conference committee.

 The HRO analysis of HB 1795 appeared in the May 
11 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1691 by Duncan
Effective September 1, 2005

Revising TRS retirement and benefit plans 

  SB 1691 includes changes concerning retirement 
eligibility, employee contributions and administration of the 
Teacher Retirement System (TRS). 

 Retirement annuities are based on the member’s highest 
five years of salary rather than the highest three years. To 
be eligible for a partial lump-sum payment at retirement, 
the sum of the member’s age and amount of service credit 
must equal the number 90. These provisions do not apply to 
a TRS member who, as of August 31, 2005, was at least 50 
years old, whose age plus amount of service credit equaled 
70, or had 25 years of service credit.

 To be eligible for full retirement benefits, TRS members 
hired on or after September 1, 2007, will have to be 65 years 
old with five years of service or at least 60 years old and 
qualify under the “rule of 80” (age plus amount of service 
credit equals 80.) Otherwise, their annuities will be reduced 
in 5 percent increments for each year of age that they retire 
under age 60. The bill also repealed the option of purchasing 
additional service credit, known as “air time,” for retirement 
eligibility.

 SB 1691 also increases the amount that active 
employees must contribute to TRS-Care, the retiree health 
insurance program, from 0.5 percent of the employee’s 
salary to 0.65 percent. School districts that hire retired TRS 
members must pay the difference between the amount the 
retiree is required to pay for TRS-Care and the full cost 
of that retiree’s participation, as determined by TRS. This 
applies only to employees who were not on the payroll in 
January 2005.

 For new members as of September 1, 2005, employers 
must pay the state’s share of contributions to the TRS 
pension fund for the first 90 days of employment. A school 
district that hires a retired TRS member must pay TRS an 
amount currently equal to both the state’s and employee’s 
share of retirement contributions as if that person were an 
active employee. 

 The bill also amends statutes governing TRS 
administration and transfers responsibility for the health 
insurance passthrough for public school employees from 
TRS to the Texas Education Agency.

Supporters said

 SB 1691 would help improve the financial soundness of 
TRS and reduce escalating pressures on TRS that threaten 
the solvency of the fund. The bill also would improve the 
system’s administrative efficiency and clarify the TRS 
board’s authority to manage and protect pension assets. 

 Although TRS has experienced solid investment gains 
in recent years, the fund has about $11 billion less than the 
amount needed to pay current and future benefits to retirees. 
Under state law, TRS cannot increase pension payments 
to retirees unless the fund is deemed “actuarially sound,” 
meaning that it is sufficiently funded to pay current and 
future benefits over the next 31 years. TRS needs to limit 
its costs in order to become actuarially sound so that it can 
provide annuity increases for current and future retirees. The 
bill would reduce future benefits for all current members 
by $1.5 billion, which in turn would reduce the state 
contribution rate that would be needed to make the fund 
actuarially sound from 8.11 percent to 7.01 percent. The cost 
of making the fund actuarially sound would be reduced by 
$250 million in fiscal 2006.

 Current teachers, school employees, and retirees would 
not be affected by changes in retirement eligibility related to 
the rule of 80. These changes would be phased in over future 
years and would affect only new hires. 

 The bill would help reverse a trend toward early 
retirement that is beginning to have a significant impact on 
TRS. The average age of TRS retirees has dropped from 
61.7 years in fiscal 1998 to 59.4 years in fiscal 2004, in 
part as the result of early retirement incentives such as the 
purchase of air time and retire/rehire. As the retirement age 
decreases, TRS faces significantly higher health insurance 
costs for retirees who are not yet eligible for Medicare, as 
well as the loss of employee contributions to the pension 
fund. Retirees should not be able to take advantage of these 
early retirement options while also expecting the state to 
shore up the pension fund. Changes should be made to 
discourage early retirement before the state commits to an 
increase in its contribution rates. 
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 The bill would clarify the TRS board’s authority as a 
trust to manage and protect pension assets by exercising 
authority over risk management, contract disputes, 
purchasing, contracting, administrative appeals, salaries and 
travel, and data management. These clarifications of board 
authority should raise awareness that TRS is distinguishable 
from state agencies. Provisions in the Texas Constitution and 
various statutes require that pension assets be held for the 
exclusive benefit of the members and cannot be diverted to 
other uses.

Opponents said

 SB 1691 would take benefits away from current and 
especially future retirees without making the pension fund 
solvent enough to provide annuity increases for current 
retirees. The real cause of the TRS solvency problem is 
that the Legislature over the past several budget periods 
has reduced its contribution rate from 8.5 percent to the 
constitutional minimum of 6 percent of payroll. The 
retirement restrictions in this bill would reduce the state 
contribution rate required to make the fund solvent but still 
would not commit the state resources necessary to make 
TRS fully funded and thereby allow a long overdue increase 
in retiree benefits. Instead of reducing retirement benefits, 
the Legislature should address the TRS solvency problem by 
increasing its share of payments to the pension fund. 

 The bill could increase costs for school districts by 
eliminating early retirement incentives, which were adopted 
to allow school districts to save money in salary costs for 
experienced teachers, and by requiring districts to pay 
pension benefits during the 90-day waiting period. The 
waiting period was supposed to be temporary to address the 
state’s 2003 budget shortfall and should not be established 
as an ongoing expense for districts.

 If the purpose of reducing benefits this session is to 
ensure fund solvency and provide future benefit increases, 
this should be clearly stated in the bill. Current and future 
TRS members should be guaranteed annuity increases if the 
fund is deemed actuarially sound.  Also, the bill would not 
address the problems of TRS-Care, the retiree health care 
plan, which is still underfunded and structurally unsound.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the May 22 Daily 
Floor Report.
 
 A related bill, HB 1579 by Kolkhorst, et. al., was 
amended in the Senate to establish a minimum retirement 
age of 60 for certain TRS members. This provision would 
not have applied to members who, as of August 31, 2005, 
were 50 years old, met the rule of 70, or had 25 years of 
service credit. The bill died on the Senate floor after failing 
to receive a two-thirds majority needed to consider the bill.
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HB 3 by J. Keffer, Second Called Session
Died in the House

Restructuring the Texas tax system

 HB 3, as reported by the House Select Committee on 
Property Tax Relief, would have reduced school property 
taxes through offsetting increases in state taxes and fees.

 Property tax rate reduction. HB 3 would have set the 
maximum ad valorem tax rate for school districts at $1.25 
per $100 of taxable property in the 2005 tax year and $1.21 
beginning with the 2006-07 school year. It also would have 
permitted an additional tax of up to 15 cents for enrichment, 
if authorized by an election.

 Ongoing property tax rate buy-down. The bill would 
have dedicated to reducing school tax rates each biennium 
15 percent of any increase in the comptroller’s biennial 
revenue estimate plus the amount distributed for property 
tax reduction in the previous biennium, ultimately reducing 
school property taxes to a floor of 75 cents per $100 of 
taxable value. It also would have dedicated any funds in 
excess of the anticipated amount raised by HB 3 to the 
school property tax relief fund.

 Increasing the homestead exemption. HB 3 would 
have increased the homestead exemption for public school 
taxation purposes for residential property from the current 
$15,000 to $22,500, if voters had approved HJR 12 by J. 
Keffer, an accompanying constitutional amendment. The tax 
freeze amount for elderly or disabled homeowners would 
have been adjusted to reflect the additional homestead 
exemption in 2006 and any proportionate change in school 
property tax rates.

 Franchise tax. The franchise tax would have been 
applied to a corporation holding an interest in a partnership 
doing business in Texas. A partner in an upper-tier 
partnership would have been considered a partner in each 
lower-tier partnership of the organization for the purposes 
of the franchise tax. Taxable earned surplus under the tax 
would have included a corporation’s share of the gross 
receipts of each partnership or joint venture in which the 
corporation directly or indirectly owned an interest.

 Sales tax. The state sales and use tax rate would have 
increased from 6.25 percent to 7 percent, and the rate on 
motor vehicle and boat sales would have increased from 
6.25 percent to 7 percent. The tax base would have been 

broadened to include computer program repairs and motor 
vehicle repairs. The timely filer deduction would have been 
repealed.

 Standard presumptive value. A system would have 
been established to use the standard presumptive value of a 
vehicle to assess the state sales and use tax on the purchase 
of a vehicle.

 Tobacco taxes. The bill would have raised taxes on all 
tobacco products, including an increase of the cigarette tax 
from 41 cents to $1.41 per pack.

 Radioactive substances fee. A fee of 10 percent would 
have been levied on the gross receipts of a permit holder 
from the storage and disposal of radioactive substances. Of 
this fee, 8 percent could have gone to the general revenue 
fund and 2 percent would have gone to the county in which 
the facility was located.

 Collection of state delinquent obligations. Third-
party collection of delinquent state debt could have been 
contracted by the attorney general under certain conditions.

Supporters said

 HB 3 would provide meaningful property tax relief to 
Texas citizens while ensuring that more Texans paid their 
fair share for the public services they enjoy. Any net revenue 
increases in the bill would be offset entirely by a reduction 
in the maximum school district maintenance and operations 
ad valorem tax rate. This rate reduction would lessen the 
burden of an onerous tax that increasingly has consumed 
household incomes and business profits.

 Property tax rate reduction. Property taxes have 
increased dramatically in recent years, and a reduction in 
the school property tax rate to $1.21 or less would provide 
meaningful relief to all Texans. A higher sales tax would 
partially be offset by the property tax reduction because 
consumers would see lower prices for goods and services 
made possible as businesses realized the property tax 
savings under this bill.
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 Under HB 3, the state share of public education funding 
is projected to reach about 55 percent, compared to less than 
40 percent in the current system. New state taxes would 
replace school property taxes, and a lower cap on school 
property taxes would prevent school districts and the state 
from becoming overly dependent on increases in local 
property values for school funding. This change would bring 
more equity to the state’s school finance system because 
districts would be less dependent on local property bases of 
widely varying value, and a larger share of education dollars 
would flow through the state funding formulas.

 Ongoing property tax rate buy-down. Texas should 
develop a mechanism to continue lowering school tax rates 
and increasing the state share of education costs, thereby 
promoting greater equity. HB 3 would ensure that if the 
state’s finances improved or new state tax efforts raised 
more money than expected, continued school tax rate 
reduction would be the top priority. A wide range of interests 
compete when the state has additional money. Requiring that 
a portion of any revenue increase go toward reducing the 
school tax rate would put property tax reduction at the top of 
the priority list, while preserving most of any state revenue 
increase for other priorities, including increases in education 
spending.

 Increasing the homestead exemption. By increasing 
the homestead exemption, HB 3 would provide property 
tax relief that particularly would benefit low- and middle-
income homeowners. The proposed amendment would 
result in a proportionately larger tax cut for people who own 
less valuable homes and who would be less likely to receive 
significant savings from any school-tax rate reductions. In 
this way, an increase in the homestead exemption would 
help offset increases in sales and other consumer taxes.

 Franchise tax. By closing the current “Delaware 
sub” and “Geoffrey” loopholes, HB 3 would address a 
serious shortcoming with Texas’ largest business tax. The 
franchise tax has proven to be a stable source of revenue 
and has weathered well, even during economic downturns. 
The primary problem with the current tax is that many 
businesses have been able to reorganize as partnerships in 
order to avoid the tax. Many large, profitable businesses 
such as Dell and SBC do not pay the tax. These and other 
companies rightly would be drawn into the franchise tax 
under HB 3, reinforcing this revenue stream.

 Retaining the current franchise tax and closing its 
loopholes would be a better option than other business tax 
proposals. The franchise tax is a well established source 
of revenue that the state has relied upon for decades. A 
new business tax on payrolls or gross receipts that applied 
to all income-producing entities could cause a serious 

disruption in the state’s economy, potentially harming 
investment or exacerbating unemployment. Further, given 
the constitutional prohibition against the taxation of personal 
income, any payroll-based tax or tax on sole proprietors 
almost certainly would be challenged in court and could be 
ruled unconstitutional. Given these uncertainties, it would 
be imprudent for the state to rely upon an unproven and 
potentially unconstitutional system of business taxation to 
fund vital government services.

 Sales tax. Sales taxes remain one of the most stable 
and reliable revenue sources, tracking a wide variety 
of economic activities in the state conducted by both 
individuals and businesses. The general sales tax rate has not 
increased in 15 years, and the vehicle sales tax rate has not 
increased in 14 years. A 0.75-cent sales tax rate increase still 
would give Texas a maximum combined sales tax rate lower 
than eight other states, including neighboring Louisiana, 
Arkansas, and Oklahoma. Texas’ average combined rate 
likely would not be significantly higher than those three 
bordering states.

 Sales taxes mostly are discretionary. They derive 
revenue from purchasing decisions that businesses and 
individuals can choose not to make. The regressiveness 
of sales taxes compared to other taxes is exaggerated. It is 
mitigated in Texas by numerous exemptions or exclusions 
on necessities (e.g., groceries, medicine) or goods and 
services with great social or economic benefits (e.g., child 
care, advertising).

 The state is facing a property tax crisis that could be 
mitigated by this modest sales tax rate increase and base 
expansion. Any new taxes levied in the bill are necessary 
to provide meaningful property tax relief to Texas citizens. 
Texas families and businesses are burdened with some of 
the highest property tax bills in the nation, and this relatively 
modest shift in state sales tax policy would generate revenue 
that could be refunded to taxpayers, benefiting the state and 
its economy.

 Standard presumptive value. HB 3 would give state 
and local authorities the tools to collect vehicle sales taxes 
that already should be paid. Currently, no mechanism exists 
to ensure that people who transfer titles on used vehicles 
accurately state the sales price. This bill would allow the 
state to gain significant additional revenue from improved 
collection of the sales tax on automobiles.

 Tobacco taxes. Increasing taxes on cigarettes and 
other tobacco products would provide government with a 
reliable revenue stream while reducing tobacco use, saving 
lives, and lowering health care costs. While tobacco is an 
addictive product that many customers will continue buying 



House Research Organization Page 139

regardless of price hikes, tobacco taxes still are a self-
assessing user fee on discretionary consumption. No one is 
forced to start smoking, and ample resources are available 
to smokers who wish to quit for health or economic reasons. 
Avoiding the tax is a matter of individual choice.

 Higher tobacco taxes would help the state recoup some 
of its tobacco-related health care costs by discouraging 
smoking among Texans, particularly among price-sensitive 
young people. For example, the American Cancer Society 
estimates that Texas eventually could save up to $1 billion 
a year in Medicaid expenses and up to $10 billion overall 
by raising the rate $1 per pack. Tobacco tax revenue need 
not be dedicated to health care programs because under 
the Texas tobacco settlement, the tobacco industry already 
provides funding for this purpose.

Opponents said

 HB 3 is an unfair bill that would benefit only the state’s 
wealthiest citizens while hiking taxes for the vast majority 
of Texans without generating any net increase in revenues 
to fund the state’s many unmet needs. With the bill’s heavy 
reliance on sales and consumption taxes, only families with 
incomes greater than $100,000 would benefit from the bill, 
with the wealthiest 10 percent benefiting by far the most, 
according to the Legislative Budget Board’s tax equity note.

 Property tax rate reduction. While HB 3 would lower 
school property tax rates, this would amount to a “tax shift” 
rather than a true tax cut. The property tax cuts in HB 3 
would be achieved not by fiscal restraint and improved 
efficiency but by creating new taxes and raising existing 
rates. Merely reshuffling the tax burden in the state would 
make little economic sense.

 HB 3 would raise taxes for the majority of Texans 
in order to reduce school property taxes primarily for the 
benefit of the wealthiest. This property tax cut largely 
would be funded through an increase in the state sales tax 
to 7 percent, a rate that would make Texas’ rate among the 
highest in the nation. The Legislature should try to reverse 
what already is a regressive tax system rather than move the 
state even further in the wrong direction.

 Ongoing property tax rate buy-down. This proposal 
would create a budget structure at odds with the state’s 
economy by dedicating 15 percent of any state revenue 
growth to replacing school property taxes before the 
Legislature even had the opportunity to review state 
spending needs and priorities for the next biennium. The 
primary drivers in the state budget are not new programs but 
population growth and inflation.

 This provision would deplete growth in state finances 
and become a fiscal albatross in periods of static or declining 
revenues. It would require the comptroller to distribute 15 
percent of the increase in state revenue plus the amount 
distributed in the preceding biennium. This would be an 
ever-increasing portion of new state revenue going toward 
property tax reductions rather than other state needs. 
Without an overall cap on the percentage or amount of new 
revenue tied up by this buy-down provision, legislative 
budget writers could be forced into a fiscal strait jacket even 
as population demands rose and costs increased.

 Increasing the homestead exemption. Increasing the 
homestead exemption would benefit only a limited group of 
property tax payers. Businesses, which shoulder more than 
40 percent of property tax payments in Texas, would receive 
no benefit from the higher exemption because it would 
apply only to homestead residences.

 HB 3 would result in only a short-term gain for 
homeowners who in a few years could see any reduction 
eclipsed by rising appraisals. When the homestead 
exemption was increased in 1997, homeowners barely 
noticed the change because any benefits from the increased 
exemption quickly were offset by rising appraised values 
and increased taxes. As appraised values continue to 
increase, most homeowners would be unlikely to experience 
any long-term tax savings from this homestead exemption 
increase.

 Franchise tax. By retaining the inequitable and 
problematic franchise tax, HB 3 would squander an 
important opportunity to truly revamp the state’s outmoded 
system of business taxation. Even with the closure of 
current loopholes, the base of the franchise tax would be 
very narrow, and the tax would continue disproportionately 
to burden capital-intensive industrial and mercantile 
enterprises. The state’s rapidly growing service and 
information economy largely would continue to escape 
taxation.

 Art. 8, sec. 24(a) of the Texas Constitution requires 
a binding statewide referendum on any law that imposes 
a tax on net income, “including a person’s share of 
partnership and unincorporated association income.” This 
provision could lead a court to declare the provisions of 
HB 3 unconstitutional in the likely event that they were 
challenged. For this reason, the franchise tax expansion 
in the bill should be put to a public vote in accordance 
with the Constitution. Such a vote would clarify the will 
of the electorate with regard to taxation of businesses and 
individuals in the state.
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 Sales tax. Sales taxes are notoriously regressive. They 
have a greater proportional impact on low- and moderate-
income taxpayers than on the affluent, who better can absorb 
increases in the costs of goods and services caused by higher 
sales taxes. In the current school finance context, it would be 
poor public policy to use such hikes to relieve the tax burden 
on a smaller segment of the overall tax base – i.e., property 
owners – by shifting more of the tax burden to the more 
numerous and already overburdened sales tax payers.

 Consumers in Texas’ still shaky economy would have 
to pay state sales tax at a rate of 7 percent and absorb a sales 
tax rate increase of 12 percent. Texas would be tied with 
Tennessee, Mississippi, and Rhode Island for the highest 
state sales tax rate in the nation, and all four states that 
border Texas would have lower state rates. Texas’ average 
combined state and local sales-tax rate likely would be near 
8.7 percent, second only to Tennessee and higher than all 
bordering states, with the rate in most urban areas as high as 
9 percent.

 Service industries constitute a high-growth sector of the 
state’s economy that is not paying its fair share. It would be 
unfair to increase the burden on a few consumers but not on 
those of a huge segment of the economy.

 Standard presumptive value. This bill would put tax 
assessor-collectors in the position of policing a tax collection 
program for which they might not be qualified, a change that 
would create greater inconvenience for sellers and buyers. 
A clerk would have to spend 15 minutes or more to research 
values not included in the system before processing the 
transfer application. Tax-assessor offices typically are the 
busiest during the first and last five days of a month, and the 
delays caused by this bill could push lines out the doors.

 Tobacco taxes. Raising tobacco taxes to enhance 
revenue is not sound fiscal policy. Tobacco use, particularly 
smoking, already is declining, which has led to an average 
annual revenue decrease of 2 percent (inclusive of 
population growth), according to the Comptroller’s Office. 
Funding for crucial governmental functions should not be 
dependent on a shrinking revenue source.

 Raising tobacco taxes would force a narrow class of 
taxpayers to subsidize a public good to a greater degree than 
other taxpayers. Smokers already are taxed at the state and 
federal levels and indirectly through the tobacco settlement. 
In addition, cigarette taxes are regressive because they 
charge all smokers the same rate, regardless of ability to pay. 
A tax increase would disadvantage lower-income smokers, 
particularly young smokers, to a greater degree than higher-
income smokers.

 A $1-per-pack rate hike on cigarettes would be a 244 
percent increase that would put Texas at a competitive 
disadvantage with regard to its neighboring states, all four 
of which would have substantially lower rates. It would 
increase black-market trade and encourage out-of-state 
shopping, especially on Indian reservations, in duty-free 
shops in Mexico, and over the Internet.

Notes 

 The HRO analysis of HB 3, second called session, 
appeared in the July 26 Daily Floor Report. Similar revenue 
bills considered by the 79th Legislature also were designated 
as HB 3.  The HRO analysis of HB 3, regular session, 
appeared in the March 9 Daily Floor Report. The HRO 
analysis of HB 3, first called session, appeared in the July 6 
Daily Floor Report.
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HB 5 by Krusee
Died in House committee

Indexing gasoline taxes to inflation 

 HB 5 would have adjusted the gasoline tax rate and 
diesel fuel tax rate of 20 cents per gallon by the percent 
increase or decrease in the Consumer Price Index of the 
preceding state fiscal year. The adjustment in the tax would 
have been made by the Legislative Budget Board (LBB) by 
September 1 of each year.

Supporters said

 HB 5 would address the fact that inflation has eroded 
the state tax on gasoline and diesel fuel. Currently, the tax 
on gasoline is defined in statute at a rate of 20 cents per 
gallon, which has not changed since 1991. A fixed tax on 
the amount of fuel sold does not take into account inflation 
that has occurred since 1991. Consequently, in real dollars, 
the gasoline tax does not provide as much revenue as it 
did when it was set originally. Indexing the tax to inflation 
would prevent further erosion of this important revenue 
source, which helps fund the transportation infrastructure 
and public school system of Texas.

 Because the Consumer Price Index is a general measure 
of prices paid by consumers, it would be an appropriate 
measure with which to account for rising costs in addition to 
rising incomes. While gas prices are volatile, the Consumer 
Price Index is comparatively stable, fluctuating gradually 
over time. While inflation may be imperceptible on a day-
to-day basis, the cumulative effect of the value of money 
over several years can be significant. A gasoline tax that was 
indexed to inflation would not lead to a drastic increase in 
the cost of gasoline in Texas, but it would ensure over the 
long term that the integrity of this important revenue source 
was maintained.

 It is misleading to characterize an indexed gasoline tax 
as a tax hike, as the tax actually would decrease when the 
Consumer Price Index declines.

Opponents said

 HB 5 would authorize an ongoing gasoline tax increase 
at a time of painfully high fuel prices. With gasoline prices 
in Texas approaching $3 per gallon, now is not the time 
for legislation that would require the LBB to calculate 
an increase in gasoline prices every year based on the 
Consumer Price Index.

 The Consumer Price Index would not be an appropriate 
measure by which to index gasoline prices. The index 
bears limited relation to transportation and education costs 
on which gas tax revenue must be spent. Further, in a 
deflationary economic context, revenue from the indexed 
tax would decrease even as transportation and education 
expenses might remain constant or increase.

Other opponents said

  While the relative value of the gasoline tax has eroded 
since 1991, indexing the tax to the Consumer Price Index 
would be an inappropriate means of dealing with the 
problem. The proper, accountable way to adjust the tax 
would be for the Legislature to vote for a direct increase in 
the amount of the tax. Given the fluctuations that consumers 
are subject to at the pump and the variations in state 
government revenue and expenditures, the best way for 
the Legislature to deal with the gasoline tax is on a regular, 
biennial basis.
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HB 9 by Flores (and numerous other bills)
Died in House Committee

Authorizing video lottery terminals and casino gambling

 HB 9 would have authorized the operation of video 
lottery terminals (VLTs) at racetracks and on the lands of the 
state’s three federally recognized Native American tribes. 
It also would have authorized casino gambling at these 
locations and up to 12 other locations throughout the state. 
The bill would have created the Texas Gaming and Boxing 
Commission to oversee and manage the state lottery, VLTs, 
casino gambling, bingo, pari-mutuel racing, and boxing.  
These provisions would not have taken effect without 
approval of a constitutional amendment authorizing VLTs 
and casino gambling.

 VLTs could have been operated, under licenses issued 
by the commission, at Class 1 or Class 2 horse racetracks 
and greyhound tracks with a license or an application for 
a license in effect on June 1, 2005. VLTs could have been 
operated by the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo (Tiguas) tribe, the 
Alabama-Coushatta tribe, and the Kickapoo Traditional 
Tribe of Texas. VLTs would have been controlled through a 
central system linked to the individual terminals.

 The bill would have authorized the commission to 
award up to 12 licenses for casinos at which gaming could 
have been conducted. Voters in a county would have to 
have approved the constitutional amendment authorizing 
casino gaming before one of these 12 licenses could have 
been issued. In addition, authority to operate casinos could 
have been given to persons with Class 1 and 2 horse track or 
greyhound track licenses or applications in effect on June 1, 
2005, and to the state’s federally recognized Indian tribes. 

 The state would have received 30 percent of net 
terminal income from all VLTs not on Indian lands, and 
the location would have received the remaining 70 percent. 
Income from VLTs operated on Indian lands under a gaming 
agreement would have been distributed as authorized by that 
gaming agreement. Racetracks would have been required to 
allocate a percentage of their share of net terminal income to 
a purse fund for race winners. 

 Casinos would have had to pay a tax of 15 percent of 
their gross gaming revenue. Five-sixths of the tax would 
have gone to the state. The remaining one-sixth would have 
been split between the city and county where the casino was 
located. One-tenth of 1 percent of the state revenue would 
have been allocated for a compulsive gambling program.

Supporters said 

 Authorizing VLTs and limited casino gambling could 
raise significant revenue that could be dedicated to public 
education, other state programs or property tax relief without 
raising taxes. The bill would allow VLTs at established 
racetracks already engaging in gaming and allow 12 highly 
regulated and tightly controlled tourist-destination casinos.   

 VLTs as authorized by HB 9 would generate about 
$1.5 billion per year in state revenue and about 26,000 
additional permanent jobs. These estimates already account 
for possible revenue losses from other gaming activities and 
the sales tax, and studies have shown that social costs do 
not exceed the economic benefits of gaming. Since playing 
VLTs is purely voluntary, the money collected for the state 
should not be considered a tax. 

 Any social costs related to gambling already exist 
because Texas currently allows numerous other forms of 
gaming, and Texans routinely travel out of state to gamble. 
Authorizing VLTs in Texas would not significantly increase 
pathological or problem gambling, which appears to be 
fairly rare, potentially afflicting only about 1 percent to 5 
percent of the population by some estimates. It is unfair 
to penalize the large majority of Texans who are not 
compulsive gamblers for the problems experienced by a 
few. Playing VLTs would be a strictly voluntary form of 
entertainment and would victimize no one. Some studies 
have shown that social costs, including crime, can actually 
decrease after gaming is introduced.

 In addition to directly adding dollars to the state coffers, 
VLTs and casinos would help stimulate the Texas economy 
and increase tourism. While shifts in the economy and jobs 
may occur as some entertainment or discretionary money is 
spent on VLTs, there still would be a net gain to the Texas 
economy. It is estimated that Texans lose about $1 billion 
annually gambling on electronic gaming machines in other 
states, and some of these funds could be spent in Texas if 
VLTs are approved. 

 Gambling is an increasingly popular form of 
entertainment, and it would be appropriate to let voters 
decide whether to amend the Constitution to allow VLTs 
and casinos in the state. As in any business, growth in the 
gaming industry is driven by consumer demand. 
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 It is a myth that Texans oppose gambling. In an autumn 
2004 Texas Poll, 72 percent of those surveyed favored 
legalizing state-taxed video lottery terminals at Texas’ horse 
and dog tracks to help fund public schools. Voters already 
have approved numerous other gaming opportunities, 
including the lottery, bingo, and pari-mutuel wagering.
     
 Authorizing VLTs actually could help combat the 
expansion of unregulated, illegal gambling that occurs 
throughout the state using “eight-liners.” With the clearly 
legal option of playing state-regulated VLTs that return 
a high percentage of wagers, bettors likely would forego 
eight-liners for VLTs.

Opponents said

 Authorizing VLTs and casino gambling would not 
generate significant revenue for the state, would damage 
the economy, and would expand gambling to the detriment 
of Texas. Estimates of the potential tax revenue gain from 
VLTs are overblown and the costs, which often prove to 
be higher than the revenue generated, are underestimated. 
Every dollar gained for the state is offset by costs due to 
regulation, lost state revenue, and social costs. 

 Gambling will not solve Texas’ fiscal problems, as the 
lottery and pari-mutuel racing have shown. While state 
gambling revenue can fluctuate greatly, at best it would raise 
only a fraction of the revenue needed to meet the state’s 
public education needs.

 Unlike most other forms of entertainment, gambling 
imposes high social costs. It can undermine the work ethic 
and be highly addictive, with studies indicating that as 
many as 5 percent of adults may be problem or compulsive 
gamblers. VLT machines can be especially seductive and 
damaging because they offer bettors speed, convenience, 
and repetition, leading some to refer to these machines as the 
“crack cocaine” of gambling. 

 State and local economies could suffer if VLTs were 
authorized in Texas and Texans spent their money at VLTs 
instead of at local restaurants, theaters, or retail stores or 
on other taxable gambling activities. Some Texans spend 
money gambling out of state while traveling for other 
reasons, and the authorization of VLTs would not necessarily 
keep these dollars in Texas. The state should not use VLTs 
as a way to support the agricultural industry or to prop up 
foundering horse and dog tracks that have never produced 
the rosy revenue estimates touted by their supporters. 

 Allowing casinos in Texas and introducing tens of 
thousands of VLTs at Texas racetracks – or anywhere else in 
the state – would be a significant expansion of gambling. It 
is unsavory and immoral to finance essential state services 
such as public education through expanded gambling. 

 Texans do not overwhelmingly support gambling. 
Those surveyed in a February 2003 Texas Poll were divided 
evenly on the question of whether video slot machines that 
take bets and pay prizes should be legal in Texas. Only 45 
percent of those surveyed said they should be legal, while 46 
percent said they should be banned. While some respondents 
said they supported the legalization of casinos, 43 percent 
opposed it with 4 percent undecided, statistically very close 
to an even split of opinion in a poll with a margin of error of 
plus or minus 3 percent. 

 
 Notes

 Numerous bills and constitutional amendments to 
authorize VLTs and casino gambling were introduced during 
the 79th Legislature. They would have taken a variety 
of approaches, including approving VLTs at racetracks 
and other locations, authorizing casino gambling, and 
authorizing electronic gambling on cruise ships. The bills 
and resolutions also varied in the amount of money that 
would go to the state or local governments, with some 
dedicating the money to specific purposes, and in their 
designation of whom would oversee the gaming. None of 
the bills or resolutions were reported from committee. 
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HB 879 by Madden/SB 447 by Janek
Died in the House/Died in the House

Authorizing sale of local governments’ tax receivables

 HB 879 would have authorized local governmental 
entities – municipalities, counties, school districts, 
special-purpose districts and authorities, or other political 
subdivisions – to sell their tax receivables under their own 
terms and conditions, including the price at which the tax 
receivable was offered. The holder of a tax receivable 
certificate would have been entitled to proceeds from the 
sale or resale of property sold in a lien foreclosure lawsuit. 

 Sale proceeds of tax receivables could not have been 
included in calculations of local governmental entities’ 
effective tax rates or rollback rates. Tax receivables sold 
by a school district would have been required to meet a 
minimum price of 95 percent of the outstanding principal 
for receivables delinquent less than one year, 90 percent for 
receivables delinquent between one year and two years, and 
75 percent for receivables delinquent more than two years. 

 Amounts to be sold could have included the original 
amounts of delinquent property taxes plus any unpaid 
penalties and interest through the date of sale and the 
original amounts of delinquent assessments or other charges 
plus any unpaid interest through the date of sale. Interest 
and penalties would have continued to accrue on the unpaid 
original tax amount after the sale of delinquent property 
tax receivables. Sales could have been negotiated or made 
through competitive bidding or negotiated sale and would 
not have affected existing relationships with private tax 
collectors. A local government could not have sold a tax 
receivable to a private individual under contract to collect 
the tax or enter into such a contract with the purchaser of a 
tax receivable.

 If a property owner paid in full prior to the date of 
the sale, the sale could not have proceeded. The local 
government entity could have postponed or canceled a sale 
and would not have been liable for any resulting damages. 
A purchase and sale agreement would have had to include 
the purchase price and any contingency amounts, as well 
as a waiver of liability for the local government against 
damages from failure to collect delinquent taxes. The 
agreement could not have required local governments to 
prohibit paying delinquent taxes in installment, nor could it 
have interfered with contracts for performance of services 
in lieu of taxes or with individuals= rights to defer or abate 
a delinquent tax lawsuit. The agreement could not have 
demanded different collection standards than are customary. 

Supporters said

 HB 879 would make the budgets of local governmental 
entities, especially school districts, more certain. Allowing 
local governments to sell their delinquent tax rolls would 
help improve their fiscal stability as they would realize 
the value of the sale immediately, rather than projecting 
the collection of delinquent taxes that might never be 
paid. Approximately 30 states already allow this type of 
financing.

 When the receivables are sold, the local government 
realizes the income, and the receivables move off the 
local government’s books. This reduces risk for the local 
government because it no longer matters to the local 
government if the tax is ever paid. All risk is borne by the 
purchasers.

Opponents said 

 The authority to sell tax receivables could encourage 
local government entities to undersell their tax rolls for 
ready cash in a pinch. Across the state, local governments 
have experienced budget problems, and this new tool could 
seem like a windfall. Instead of conducting a thorough 
financial analysis of the potential lost tax revenues in 
relation to the cash generated by a sale, local governments 
could be tempted to rush forth with a sale of all outstanding 
tax receivables. 

 Local tax delinquency rates rarely exceed 3 percent, 
and most of that amount is collected the next year. So local 
governments would have relatively small and difficult 
accounts to sell, many of which would be bankruptcies or 
businesses that had closed. School districts would benefit 
only if they could anticipate that their collection rates were 
going to decline.

Notes

 The HRO analysis of HB 879 appeared in Part One of 
the May 12 Daily Floor Report, and the analysis of SB 447 
appeared in the May 17 Daily Floor Report.
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Lowering the rollback tax rate and setting notification requirements 
for taxing units

 HB 1006, as passed by the House, would have lowered 
the maintenance and operations (M&O) rollback rate for 
taxing units from 8 percent to 5 percent above the effective 
tax rate. It would have required that a rollback election 
petition be signed by at least 10 percent of registered voters 
who voted in the last gubernatorial election rather than 10 
percent of all registered voters.

 The bill would have required all taxing units to 
publish notice of any increase above the effective tax rate. 
In addition to notifying the public, taxing units that levy 
property taxes in excess of $5 million would have been 
required to call a public hearing on any proposed increase 
beyond the effective rate. If a taxing unit failed to hold a 
required hearing, the tax rate would have reverted to the 
effective tax rate. After the hearing, the taxing unit would 
have been required to issue another public notice on the 
time and date of the taxing unit’s subsequent vote on the 
tax rate. If the taxing unit did not adopt a tax rate greater 
than the effective tax rate by the 14th day after the public 
hearing, it would have been required to issue another notice 
announcing when and where it would vote on the tax rate 
increase.

 The bill also would have allowed, via petition of 10 
percent of registered voters, a taxing unit to increase its 
rollback rate up to a maximum of 1.08 times its effective 
rate when it needed the revenue to comply with unfunded 
state mandates.

Supporters said

 HB 1006 would hold local governments more 
accountable for proposed tax increases. By lowering the 
rollback rate, the bill would help ratchet down tax increases 
due to skyrocketing appraisal values. While the bill could 
raise city and county costs by increasing the frequency of 
rollback elections, it is more important to provide long-term 
taxpayer relief by keeping property taxes under control. The 
cost of such elections is far less than the exponential growth 
of property taxes. 

 The bill also would strengthen the truth-in-taxation 
provisions by requiring a local taxing unit to notify the 
public of any proposed increase beyond the effective 

HB 1006 by Isett
Died in conference committee

rate. Taxpayers would benefit from this more transparent 
approach because local officials would have to expose any 
proposed increase beyond the effective rate to a process 
that ensured public participation. Local governments 
would have to justify any increase in revenue they sought 
without simply relying on increases in appraised value to 
automatically boost revenue.  
 
 Cities and counties would not fiscally be constrained by 
HB 1006. A 5 percent rollback rate would allow taxing units 
to collect adequate revenue while accounting for inflation, 
which averages between 2 percent and 3 percent nationally. 
Local taxing units already are familiar with rollback 
procedures and work to ensure financial efficiency, and if a 
rollback election were called, voters still could approve rate 
increases when local governments justified higher spending 
or when voters authorized the increase to cover the costs of 
a state mandate. 

Opponents said

 Basing rollback petition requirements on a percent 
of registered voters who voted in the last gubernatorial 
election would destabilize city and county governments. 
Voter participation fluctuates greatly between elections 
and across the state. In areas of low voter participation in 
the gubernatorial election, very few signatures would be 
needed for a rollback petition. The bill would allow a small 
minority of voters to override local policy decisions, which 
would force many local governments to implement tax rates 
that did not represent the will or needs of the majority. With 
minimal petition requirements, more rollback elections 
would take place, costing local governments time, effort, 
and money. 

 Lowering the rollback rate to 5 percent would decrease 
property tax revenues at a level below the annual rate of 
municipal inflation. Municipal costs rise at an average 
rate of nearly 6 percent, which is double the overall rate of 
inflation. To compensate, cites and counties would be forced 
to increase sales taxes and impact fees and rely more on 
debt financing to avoid rollback elections. 



Page 146 House Research Organization

 Cities and counties are entrusted by voters to provide  
growing populations with quality, essential services. 
At the same time, they must be responsive to unfunded 
state mandates, public safety, and emergencies. When the 
public demands expanded or improved services, local 
governments cannot always avoid increased taxes. Current 
law provides a sensible compromise between the needs of 
local governments and taxpayers. The built-in buffer of a 3 
percent increase beyond the effective rate allows local taxing 
entities to handle routine adjustments for higher property 
values while keeping local governments accountable to 
citizens for larger increases, with an 8 percent increase 
triggering a possible rollback election if only 10 percent of 
registered voters petition to hold one. 

Other opponents said

 Proposed tax rates that exceed the rollback rate should 
trigger automatic elections rather than require voters to 
petition for a rollback election. Automatic elections would 
require taxing units to justify directly to the voters any 
significant revenue increase purely derived from higher 
property values.

 While HB 1006 would strengthen “truth in taxation,” 
and soften rollback petition requirements, it would not 
protect taxpayers from sharply increasing appraisal values. 
The current 10 percent cap on appraised value increases 
should be lowered. This method would be a more effective 
constraint on local taxing units benefiting from a revenue 
windfall from rising property values than merely requiring 
them to follow a few extra procedures before they adopt tax 
rates above the effective rate.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the April 
21 Daily Floor Report. 

 Under HB 1006 as introduced, an increase of 3 percent 
or greater in the effective tax rate automatically would have 
triggered a rollback election without a voter petition. 

 The committee substitute of HB 1006 would have 
set the rollback rate at 3 percent and established a “super-
rollback rate” for an increase of 5 percent or greater in 
the effective tax rate. If a taxing unit adopted a rate above 
the rollback rate, a petition calling for a rollback election 
would have required the signatures of at least 10 percent 
of registered voters who voted in the last gubernatorial 
election. If a taxing unit adopted a rate above the super-
rollback tax rate, a petition calling for a rollback election 
would have required the signatures of at least 5 percent of 
such voters.

 While HB 1006 died in conference committee, two 
related bills were enacted by the 79th Legislature.

 SB 567 by Deuell, effective June 17, 2005, requires a 
governing body of a taxing unit or a school district to add 
budget and appraisal value information to the notification 
of a public hearing on a tax increase above the effective 
tax rate. The notice must include the annual difference, 
expressed as a percent increase or decrease, in the amount 
budgeted for M&O, debt service, and total expenditures. It 
also must include the total appraised value and taxable value 
of all property and all new property within the taxing unit, as 
well as the total amount of unpaid bond debt.    

 SB 18 by Williams, effective June 18, 2005, requires a 
taxing unit to notify the public and hold two public hearings 
in different weeks on any increase beyond its effective rate. 
The difference between the proposed rate and the effective 
rate, among other information, must be included with the 
notification and must be posted on the taxing unit’s web site, 
if one exists. The bill also changes the petition requirement 
for a rollback election following the adoption of a tax rate 
that would impose M&O taxes in excess of $5 million. 
Signatures of 7 percent of registered voters, rather than 10 
percent, are required to trigger a rollback election.
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Authorizing a 5 percent cap on real property appraised value increases

 HJR 35 would have amended the Texas Constitution 
to authorize the Legislature to set the maximum increase on 
annual taxable appraised value as low as 5 percent and apply 
it to all real property. The Constitution currently allows the 
Legislature to cap the annual appraised value increase at 10 
percent or more for residential homesteads only.

Supporters said

 Homeowners no longer can sustain annual increases in 
their property tax bills due to rising values, despite the 10 
percent cap on annual growth in taxable appraised value. 
In 1997, the Legislature approved significant property tax 
relief by increasing the value of the mandatory homestead 
exemption. Few homeowners realized any benefit, however, 
because the savings were consumed by rapid growth in 
appraised values that primarily drove up school property 
tax bills. The appraisal cap should be lowered to curtail the 
ability of local government to passively raise and spend 
more money merely because appraised values increased. 
Lowering the cap would continue helping homeowners 
living in areas with rapidly appreciating property values 
level out their property tax payments to make it more 
affordable to remain in their homes. Higher values still 
would be taxed, but increases would be spread out more 
reasonably to avoid the sharp increases seen under the 
current cap.   

 Extending the cap to business property would encourage 
economic growth. Failure by local governments to rein in 
property tax growth exceeding inflation or income growth 
has hurt the state’s economy. Managing appraisal growth 
would attract business investments as well as help keep 
home ownership affordable as the housing market continued 
to thrive. Caps are wisely used in 14 other states, and 
lowering the permissible appraisal cap to 5 percent would 
give Texas a competitive advantage over neighboring states.

 Appraisal caps do not interfere with local government 
spending or revenue streams. They merely balance local 
jurisdictions’ need for additional resources with taxpayers’ 
need for protection against surging tax bills. Taxing entities 
would be able annually to increase the appraised value of 
property by up to 5 percent and would continue raising 
substantially more money each year without changing their 
tax rates. 

HJR 35 by Bohac
Died in the House

Opponents said

 Appraisal caps interfere with real estate market forces 
and create artificial levels of taxable property value that 
distort the market value appraisal standard. Caps inhibit 
government’s ability to provide public goods and services 
and respond to external factors such as population growth, 
recession, and emergencies. The existing 10 percent cap 
took nearly $11 billion in residential property value off the 
tax rolls in 2003, according to the comptroller – $2.4 billion 
in Houston alone. Lowering the cap and extending it to all 
real property would make matters considerably worse.

 Any tax limitation disproportionately benefits owners 
of more expensive property. Because high-end property 
value growth tends to exceed cap levels more than lower-
end property, appraisal caps, even at 10 percent, shelter a 
greater amount of expensive property’s taxable value, which 
benefits its owners to the detriment of all others. Lowering 
the cap to 5 percent only would exacerbate the inequity.

 Because the cap is removed when property sells, 
property taxes on newly purchased real estate may be 
much higher than identical real estate nearby, depending 
on the sales price and the age and value trends of the area. 
Consequently, inequities arise among various segments of 
property owners – lowering the cap only would exacerbate 
this inequity.

Other opponents said 

 The limitation on appraisal increases should be reduced 
lower than 5 percent to ensure meaningful property tax relief 
and protect against “appraisal creep.” Also, while appraisal 
caps should be lowered, they should continue to apply only 
to residential property. Business’s share of property taxes 
has been declining steadily since 1982, and they do not need 
further relief in the form of an appraisal cap. 

Notes 

 The HRO analysis of HJR 35 appeared in the April 
12 Daily Floor Report. HB 784 by Bohac, the enabling 
legislation for HJR 35, was recommitted to committee on 
April 14.
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 HB 1347 would have prohibited local authorities from 
using photographic traffic signal enforcement systems. The 
bill also would have repealed Transportation Code, sec. 
542.202(b)(3), which was added by the 78th Legislature 
in 2003 and permits local authorities to regulate traffic 
and certain traffic-related issues within their jurisdictions 
provided such regulation does not conflict with state law.

Supporters said

 HB 1347 would prohibit red-light cameras and close 
a loophole that has allowed cities to use these cameras 
contrary to the expressed will of the Legislature. In 2003, the 
78th Legislature permitted local authorities to regulate traffic 
and certain traffic-related issues, including criminal and 
civil enforcement of state laws and municipal ordinances, 
provided that that regulation does not conflict with state 
law. Before 2003, cities could issue only criminal citations 
for running red lights, which must be served personally 
to offenders. Since then, several cities have made running 
a red light a civil offense and enforced violations with 
photographic traffic signal enforcement systems, also known 
as “red-light cameras.” Because civil citations do not have to 
be served personally to offenders, creating a civil violation 
for running a red light facilitates the use of automated traffic 
enforcement systems that photograph offenders’ license 
plates and send citations to vehicle owners through the 
mail. HB 1347 would prevent the use of red-light cameras 
as an instrument of law enforcement while also repealing 
the authority of local municipalities to civilly enforce traffic 
offenses.

 Red-light cameras do not increase public safety. Recent 
studies have found that these cameras increase accidents, 
particularly rear-end collisions caused by motorists 
slamming on the brakes after seeing a red-light camera. 
These cameras also may be used to justify reducing the 
number of police officers or shifting officers to non-traffic 
divisions, further decreasing safety because, unlike officers, 
red-light cameras cannot remove drunk or reckless drivers 
from the road.  

 Cities with red-light cameras also have a perverse 
incentive to maintain or even increase the number of 
violations in order to maximize revenue. Several cities 

Repealing authority to use red-light cameras and to civilly enforce 
traffic offenses
HB 1347 by Isett
Died in Senate committee

with these cameras in other states have been suspected of 
reducing the length of time their traffic lights stay yellow 
in order to increase the number of offenses, which suggests 
that some cities are more interested in generating revenue 
than in increasing public safety.

 Red-light cameras remove discretion in issuing citations 
and violate constitutionally assured rights, such as equal 
protection and the right to privacy. Human discretion is 
needed to evaluate extenuating traffic circumstances and 
to guard against issuing a ticket to an owner who was 
not driving the vehicle when the red light was run. The 
penalties associated with red-light cameras also violate equal 
protection by assigning a civil penalty to the offense when 
caught by camera, although the offense is punishable as a 
criminal misdemeanor when caught by an officer. Red-light 
cameras violate the Fourth Amendment right to privacy 
against unreasonable search and seizure because with no 
probable cause to believe that any particular person will 
run a red light, there is no individual reason for mounting a 
camera. 

 By unintentionally giving local authorities power 
to enforce violations civilly and administratively, the 
Legislature unwittingly may have opened the door to 
inconsistent city regulation. Such inconsistency can confuse 
drivers and reduce safety. The broad enforcement powers 
in current law also could allow individual cities to penalize 
other violations not authorized by the Legislature, such as 
driving while talking on a cell phone. Traffic regulation 
should be consistent statewide to ensure the highest level of
safety.

Opponents said

 Red-light cameras should not be prohibited because 
Texas has one of the highest rates of vehicular accidents and 
fatalities due to red-light running in the nation, and red-
light cameras are effective in reducing crashes and saving 
lives. Cities should be allowed to continue using this proven 
public safety tool. About 100 Texans die annually and 
thousands more are injured in accidents when drivers run 
red lights. Even excluding property damage, these accidents 
cost between $1 billion and $3 billion each year in medical, 
insurance, and related expenses. 



Page 150 House Research Organization

 Automatic traffic signal enforcement systems can 
reduce red-light violations more effectively than traditional 
enforcement because motorists know that the lights are 
being monitored. This consistent enforcement against 
violators has led to a drop in violations of up to 60 percent 
in cities that have used these cameras, which corresponds 
to a decline in accident rates of up to 40 percent over time. 
Cameras also have permitted more efficient and safer use of 
law enforcement resources as officers can be freed from red-
light monitoring to fight other types of crimes and are not 
required to chase cars running red lights, which can create a 
dangerous traffic situation.

 Cameras do not reduce enforcement discretion because 
cities require their police departments to evaluate the 
photographs to determine whether a citation should be 
issued. Those receiving citations also may request a hearing 
to explain extenuating circumstances and request dismissal 
of the citation. Fines also are not a financial boon to local 
law enforcement because they are used for traffic and public 
safety. The accusation that cities manipulate the length of 
yellow lights is unfounded because the length of lights is set 
by the Texas Department of Transportation and local traffic 
departments and is sequenced according to federal and state 
regulations.

 Cities have shared information and implemented the 
same or similar ordinances. To ensure conformity with state 
regulation, they have copied sections of the Transportation 
Code on civil enforcement of parking violations and 

procedures for enforcing them. Thus, there is little danger 
of conflicting or confusing local regulations. Moreover, 
the fee for a civil penalty is equivalent to that paid by those 
receiving criminal citations who take defensive driving or 
deferred adjudication.

 The use of cameras does not invade privacy any more 
than does traditional enforcement of red-light violations. 
Taking a photograph of a vehicle’s license plate is less 
invasive than requiring a motorist to produce a license when 
stopped by an officer. The probable cause is the same as 
when an officer pulls someone over – the red light was run, 
which in the case of automatic enforcement is detected by 
sensors. Use of surveillance cameras already is widespread 
in office buildings and public areas and on roadways. Texas 
already has approved photographic enforcement of the 
payment of tolls on toll roads.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the April 
18 Daily Floor Report.  

 HB 259 by Elkins, which would have repealed 
Transportation Code, sec. 542.202(b)(3) that permits civil 
enforcement of traffic offenses by local authorities, passed 
the House on February 28, but died in the Senate. The 
analysis of HB 259 appeared in the February 24 Daily Floor 
Report.
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HB 1546 by McClendon/HJR 54 by McClendon
Approved by voters at November 8, 2005, election 

Creating the Texas Rail Relocation and Improvement Fund 

 HB 1546 creates the statutory framework for 
the establishment of the Texas Rail Relocation and 
Improvement Fund. The fund would be administered 
by the Texas Transportation Commission (TTC) as a 
revolving fund used to finance the relocation, construction, 
reconstruction, acquisition, improvement, and expansion of 
certain rail facilities. The fund would be subject to the same 
investment rules as are applied to the State Highway Fund.

 The bill would allow TTC to issue bonds against the 
fund with a maturity period not to exceed 30 years. Bond 
proceeds would have to be used to improve mobility and 
protect public safety around the state. Bond money could 
be used to finance projects for state-owned rail facilities or 
to partially fund projects for privately owned rail facilities. 
Before issuing bonds, TTC would be required to develop 
a strategic plan outlining the proposed use of funds and 
potential benefits to the state. In order to relocate rail lines, 
TTC is required to obtain approval from the local governing 
body in the area where the lines are to be located.

 HJR 54 amended the Texas Constitution to authorize 
the Legislature to create the fund and allow the TTC to issue 
the bonds.

Supporters said

 HB 1546 would help alleviate traffic congestion 
and improve safety by financing the relocation and 
construction of rail lines in Texas. It would authorize the 
Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) to negotiate 
with railroads to move freight rail lines, especially those 
carrying hazardous materials, outside of densely populated 
urban centers and help pay for separated grade crossings 
that can produce fatal accidents.  Right-of-way obtained by 
relocating railroads out of urban areas could be used for the 
placement of commuter rail lines or new highways, both 
of which would decrease traffic congestion. The current 

congestion crisis on Texas highways stems in part from the 
inability of railroads to keep up with increasing demands for 
the transport of freight by rail. Allowing for the shipment of 
more goods by train would decrease the number of trucks 
traveling on highways, which would decrease congestion 
and potentially dangerous truck traffic.

 Relocating rail lines would help boost the state’s 
economy by encouraging investment, improving efficiency, 
and preventing existing businesses from moving out of the 
state. With a revamped rail system, investors would look to 
Texas as a prime location through which to ship their goods. 
Also, freight would be delivered much faster if freight rail 
lines did not pass through congested cities, making multiple 
stops at railroad crossings.

Opponents said

 Railroad relocation should be left entirely to the private 
sector. It is not the responsibility of the state to finance 
construction of additional freight rail lines. The proposed 
rail relocation fund could be used to finance an unlimited 
amount of bonds that could obligate the state for years to 
come.

 TTC should use TxDOT resources to carry out its 
primary functions that relate to the planning, construction, 
and maintenance of the state’s highways. The railroad 
industry is no longer a state-regulated industry, and the 
state government should not involve itself in that industry’s 
investment decisions.

Notes

 The HRO analyses of HB 1546 and HJR 54 appeared 
in the April 25 Daily Floor Report. 
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HB 2337 by Corte
Effective September 1, 2005

Image verification system for issuance of driver’s licenses

 HB 2337 requires the Department of Public Safety 
(DPS) to establish an image verification system for driver’s 
license applicants using biometric identification. DPS will 
authenticate the applicant’s facial image and thumbprint 
or fingerprint using image comparison technology before 
issuing an identification certificate, driver’s license, or 
commercial driver’s license or permit. The technology 
will ensure that an applicant is issued only one original 
license, permit, or certificate; does not fraudulently obtain a 
duplicate of any of these documents; and does not commit 
other fraud in connection with an application for any of 
these documents. DPS will have authority to use the image 
verification system to aid other law enforcement agencies 
in investigating criminal conduct or establishing the identity 
of a victim of a disaster or crime if a local law enforcement 
agency is unable to do so. 

 An application for a license must include, in addition 
to a thumbprint and a brief description of the applicant, 
a photograph and signature. DPS may use the image of 
an applicant’s thumb or finger to verify the identity of the 
individual as needed by law enforcement agencies. The bill 
also extends indefinitely the $1 fee required at the time of 
application or renewal of registration of a motor vehicle to 
finance the state highway fund. DPS will have to provide 
a statistical report annually to the Legislature describing 
the rate of error presented in the image verification system, 
including the rate of incorrect matching of facial images, 
categorized by race. The report requirement expires 
September 1, 2010.

Supporters said 

 Image verification technology would enable DPS to 
compare photographs on licenses and identification cards 
in its system to verify that each person held a license or 
identification card in only one name. This would combat 
identity theft and driver’s license fraud. The technology 
would alert DPS when a person tried to establish a false 
identity and would ensure that DPS did not issue licenses or 
identification cards to those persons. The information would 
be stored on DPS’s secure computer system and be available 
to other agencies only with DPS approval and supervision. 
The bill would combat fraudulent driver’s licenses, bolster 
homeland security, and provide DPS the funds to update its 

aging driver’s license computer system while still protecting 
the privacy of licensees and safeguarding Texans’ private 
information. 

 Using biometric identification in the license process 
would increase confidence in the accuracy of the cards and 
make them more difficult to forge. Current law requires 
license applicants to state their full names, addresses, and 
dates of birth, and to verify that information by presenting 
proof of identity to DPS. DPS has no way to verify many 
documents, such as birth certificates, used as proof of 
identity, which can allow people to obtain licenses under 
false names or multiple licenses by presenting fraudulent 
documents. Capturing a biometric identifier when a person 
applied for a license or ID card would allow DPS to use that 
identifier to ensure that the person did not obtain licenses 
under false names. This would help prevent identity theft 
and ensure the accurate identification of drivers by DPS 
and others, such as merchants who use the cards to verify 
identity. 

 The benefits of having a reliable, accurate database 
that law enforcement could use to authenticate identity in 
combating terrorism outweigh unfounded concerns about 
privacy. HB 2337 would not expand current law broadly. 
DPS already collects applicants’ thumbprints, which are 
biometric identifiers. The bill simply would direct DPS to 
set up its identification system based on biometrics, provide 
funding to do so, and allow DPS to use other biometric 
identifiers, such as facial recognition. Thumbprints would 
be used only to authenticate identity. Other safeguards 
would prevent abuse or sharing of biometric information. 
Transportation Code, sec. 730.007, limits the disclosure of 
personal information collected for motor vehicle records 
to disclosure for use by government agencies carrying 
out government functions. Accordingly, biometrics could 
be disclosed only when the thumbprints and photographs 
already collected could be disclosed – for example, for 
legitimate law enforcement purposes. 

Opponents said 

 The technology provided by HB 2337 effectively would 
allow the government to create a colossal database of its 
citizens’ faces, facilitating the intrusion of the government 
into the lives of average citizens while doing little to target 
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or thwart criminals. Using biometric identifiers for the 
driver’s license program would erode Texans’ individual 
privacy and unwisely would expand the government’s reach 
and power. This would be another step in government’s 
efforts to gather more and more information on private 
citizens. 

 The image verification system greatly would expand 
DPS’s ability to use personal information. The law now 
restricts use of thumbprints to, for example, license issuance, 
child support collection, and the U.S. Selective Service. 
However, DPS intends to share image information with 
other government agencies, and computer hackers or 
other criminals also could gain access to this information. 
Biometric identifiers can contain more personal information 
than the photographs used on current licenses. Analysis of 
biometric information can go beyond identifying a person 
and reveal sensitive information, such as a person’s genetic 
makeup or medical history, which could be shared with 
government or private entities. 

 HB 2337 would allow DPS to collect facial images and 
fingerprints, vastly expanding the agency’s current authority 
to collect thumbprints. The thumbprints now collected are 
not in a searchable database like the one this bill would 

establish. Also, using biometrics on driver’s licenses would 
not make the licenses fraud proof. A different person’s 
biometric identifier could be placed on a license, just as a 
photograph of one person can be placed on a license with 
another person’s name and address. This technology is 
untested for large populations and often fails properly to 
identify people. Law enforcement use of the DPS biometric 
database could lead to increasing harassment of innocent 
people.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 4 
Daily Floor Report.

 SB 89 by Averitt, which died in conference committee, 
would have permitted election officers to access 
electronically readable information from driver’s licenses 
to determine a voter’s identity. As amended on the House 
floor, the bill would have allowed a business to access the 
electronic information to verify the identification of an 
individual or the validity of a check at the point of sale.
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 HB 2702 makes a number of changes to the 
Transportation Code related to the construction and 
financing of the Trans-Texas Corridor, the conversion of 
non-toll to toll roads, and other associated issues.

 Toll conversion. In order to convert a non-toll highway 
or lane to tolled highway or lane, the Texas Department of 
Transportation (TxDOT) must hold a public hearing and 
gain approval from the Texas Transportation Commission 
(TTC) and local voters. However, non-tolled roads and lanes 
may be converted without voter notice and approval if:

the road was designated by TTC as a toll road 
before the construction contract was awarded;
the road, prior to September 1, 2005, had been 
operating as a toll road or was designated by a 
Metropolitan Planning Organization as a toll road;
the number of non-tolled lanes on the road would 
not be reduced by the conversion;
a facility is built adjacent to the converted road to 
provide the same number of non-tolled lanes that 
existed previously; or
a high-occupancy vehicle lane in operation prior 
to May 1, 2005, that is converted to a toll lane 
continues to allow vehicles containing a certain 
number of passengers to use the lane without 
paying a toll.

 Comprehensive Development Agreements (CDAs). 
The bill authorizes TxDOT to enter into CDAs with private 
entities for toll and non-toll transportation projects, including 
Trans-Texas Corridor facilities. In a CDA, a private entity 
can design, develop, finance, construct, maintain, repair, 
operate, extend, or expand a project. 

 CDAs are subject to the following regulations: 

funds appropriated by the Legislature expressly for 
engineering, design, management, or planning 
purposes cannot be used to finance CDAs with 
private entities;
TxDOT is required to use a best value approach when 
selecting between competing private proposals for 
CDAs;
a private entity must present TxDOT with evidence 
of financial security to provide assurance that the 
entity can afford to carry out the project;  

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

highways and facilities built through CDAs are 
public property;  
highways built and maintained through CDAs must be 
returned to TxDOT at the end of the agreement; and
the terms of CDAs are to expire within 50 years unless 
the contract contains provisions for the state to buy 
a developer’s interest the project, in which case 
CDAs can last up to 70 years.

 Rail. HB 2702 allows TxDOT to enter into CDAs 
to include both rail and highway components in the 
development of the Trans-Texas Corridor. Contracts for 
CDAs for rail must be selected based on the best value 
method rather than the lowest bidder method. The bill 
authorizes TxDOT to enter passthrough toll agreements with 
public or private entities for freight or passenger rail projects 
in the process of developing the Trans-Texas Corridor. 
Pass-through toll agreements for rail projects can be funded 
through the State Infrastructure Bank.

 The bill eliminates the $12.5 million cap on TxDOT 
annual rail expenditures. It also transfers to TxDOT all 
railroad-related functions formerly under the Texas Railroad 
Commission. 

 Ancillary facilities. HB 2702 restricts to gas stations and 
convenience stores the types of commercial establishments 
along the Trans-Texas Corridor that directly benefit 
motorists. Gas stations and stores must be located at least 
10 miles away from intersections with interstate highways 
and other legs of the corridor. The bill prohibits TxDOT 
from condemning land adjacent to the corridor or limiting 
public access to the corridor for the benefit of commercial 
establishments. TxDOT cannot enter into agreements that 
give private entities the ability to lease or license property to 
commercial facilities. 

 Private developers and business along any toll road 
are subject to local taxation. The bill allows for the 
condemnation of property on segments of toll roads that are 
not located along the Trans-Texas Corridor for commercial 
establishments, including garages, stores, hotels, and 
restaurants. 

 Pass-through tolling. The bill authorizes the use of 
reverse pass-through tolling, in which a local government or 
private entity repays TxDOT the cost of road construction 

•

•

•

HB 2702 by Krusee
Effective September 1, 2005

Trans-Texas Corridor revisions and toll road conversion restrictions
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through a per-vehicle fee based on the expected volume 
of traffic on the completed road. The bill authorizes local 
authorities – including municipalities, counties, Regional 
Mobility Authorities (RMAs), and Regional Tollway 
Authorities (RTAs) – to enter into pass-through toll 
agreements with private entities to carry out transportation 
projects. 

 Advance acquisition agreements.  Advance acquisition 
or “quick-take” agreements between TxDOT and willing 
property owners expire in five years. Quick-take agreements 
can be renewed for additional five-year periods following 
the initial expiration. 

 Bonds. The bill authorizes TxDOT to borrow twice the 
average monthly revenue deposited in the State Highway 
Fund. HB 2702 increases TxDOT’s toll equity cap from 
$800 million each year to $2 billion. The bill authorizes 
local governments to issue bonds secured with pass-through 
toll revenue. 

 Pending congressional action, the bill directs TxDOT 
to administer a private activity bond program authorizing 
the issuance of tax-exempt bonds to finance highway and 
surface freight transfer projects. 
  
 Mitigation of environmental impact. TxDOT can 
opt to pay a fee or transfer property in exchange for the 
mitigation of adverse environmental impacts caused by 
highway projects. Before buying or condemning land for 
mitigation purposes, TxDOT is required to offer to purchase 
a conservation easement from the owner. TxDOT must 
produce and display on its web site a detailed statement on 
the environmental impacts of the Trans-Texas Corridor.

 Privately operated tolls. TxDOT must approve a private 
operator’s methodology for setting and increasing toll 
rates. The department also is required to approve methods 
used by a private operator to collect tolls, including any 
penalties charged for late or delinquent toll payments. The 
bill authorizes the private or public operator of a toll road to 
contract with peace officers to enforce payment of tolls and 
to regulate traffic flow.  

 Compensation for acquisition of private property. 
HB 2702 requires TxDOT to pay damages caused by 
the division of property along the route of a controlled 
access highway, including costs associated with the lack of 
reasonable access to property on both sides of the highway. 
The bill enables owners to choose to be compensated for the 
remainder of a severed tract with free use of a section of the 
toll road or the rights to a percentage of revenue gained from 

a section of the toll road. If an environmental study found 
evidence of hazardous materials on the property in question, 
TxDOT would not be required to offer compensation. 

 Water. TxDOT is required to provide notice to local 
water authorities before agreeing to extract groundwater for 
transport along Trans-Texas Corridor utility lines. The bill 
does not allow ground water to be extracted along the Trans-
Texas Corridor’s right-of-way for the purpose of providing 
water to a public utility. Wells along the corridor are subject 
to the rules of the applicable groundwater district. 

 Access. The bill gives former owners the opportunity 
to build and operate commercial facilities along the Trans-
Texas Corridor in a manner that fulfills TxDOT objectives 
for the property. An owner whose property was divided by 
the corridor also could build alternative access routes.  

 Transfer. The bill allows a county to transfer a 
transportation project and associated debt to TxDOT under 
certain circumstances. HB 2702 allows counties to request 
authorization from the TTC to create RMAs and/or transfer 
county transportation projects to RMAs, provided the 
transfer is not prohibited by bond proceedings. The bill also 
allows for the dissolution of RTAs and the transfer of an 
RTA’s financial obligations, toll projects, and toll roads to an 
RMA or other transportation authority.

 RMA mass transit authority. The bill authorizes 
RMAs to build, own, operate, and maintain mass transit 
systems, including the property and facilities of existing 
mass transit providers. An RMA is required to hold a 
public hearing before setting fares or service charges and to 
provide criminal penalties for failing to pay fares for transit 
services. The RMA must assume all financial obligations of 
a transit authority. RMAs also obtain any sales tax authority 
previously held by the former transit provider.

Supporters said 

 Toll financing. HB 2702 would establish procedures 
for conversion of existing non-toll roads into toll facilities 
by requiring county commissioners court approval of 
any proposed conversion by a local entity and local voter 
approval if TxDOT proposed such a conversion. Toll roads 
are a superior method of financing projects to address the 
state’s congestion problems rather than steep increases in 
the motor fuel tax or other proposed alternatives. TxDOT 
estimates that the motor fuel tax, currently 20 cents per 
gallon, would need to be increased by $1 per gallon in order 
to meet the state’s transportation needs. While increased 
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use of mass transit, high-occupancy vehicle lanes, and other 
such measures could be a part of the solution, no method 
other than toll-related financing could fund the number of 
transportation projects the state must complete quickly.

 Economy. The Trans-Texas Corridor would boost 
the state’s economy by providing jobs and improving 
transportation infrastructure. There is a direct relationship 
between transportation and the economy. Williamson 
County alone has lost an estimated 10,000 potential jobs in 
the technology industry as result of the inadequacy of the 
state’s infrastructure to accommodate the increase in truck 
traffic necessary to carry out the industry’s shipping and 
receiving activities. 

 Property rights. The bill would allow the state to 
acquire only land that was necessary for the Trans-Texas 
Corridor and its operation. The condemnation of property 
along the route of the Trans-Texas Corridor in the interest of 
private entities would be prohibited. HB 2702 would prevent 
the state from taking land and holding it indefinitely without 
putting it to its assigned use. If property acquired through 
the “quick take” process was not used for the corridor within 
five years, it automatically would revert to the landowner 
from whom the property was taken, who then could decide 
whether to renew the old agreement. Also, landowners 
would be able to lease condemned land for agricultural 
and recreational purposes until needed for construction by 
TxDOT.

 CDAs. HB 2702 would allow for the use of CDAs, 
rather than the design-build method, in the construction 
of the Trans-Texas Corridor. A CDA is an innovative 
tool that helps contractors minimize delay in completing 
transportation projects by allowing them to exercise 
flexibility in design. CDA contracts also save money by 
including a provision through which the contractor agrees to 
provide road maintenance for a negotiated amount. 

 State resources. The Trans-Texas Corridor would solve 
many of Texas’ transportation problems without burdening 
the state financially. The contract for the Trans-Texas 
Corridor ensures that the state would not be held responsible 
if the developer went bankrupt. The participation of private 
investment in the development of the corridor in return for 
future tolls would free up state money to relieve congestion 
in Texas’ urban areas.  

Opponents said

 Economy. HB 2702 would facilitate plans for the 
Trans-Texas Corridor, which, as proposed, would create a 
4,000-mile network of multimodal corridors for transporting 
commodities and people by car, truck, rail, and utility line. 
Each corridor would have six lanes for cars, four additional 
lanes for 18-wheeler trucks, half a dozen rail lines, and a 
utility zone for moving oil, water, gas, and electricity – even 
broadband data. This gigantic superhighway spanning more 
than half a million acres dramatically could reduce output in 
Texas’ agricultural industry as a result of the amount of land 
taken out of production.  

 Public input. The citizens of Texas should be more 
involved in the planning process for the Trans-Texas 
Corridor. The TTC entered into 50-year exclusive contract 
with a foreign company without legislative approval that 
allowed for the condemnation of right-of-way for the 
exclusive use of the developer. More public oversight is 
needed to ensure that future such deals are not struck.

 Environmental impact. The Trans-Texas Corridor is 
not an environmentally sensitive solution for the state’s 
congestion crisis. Its construction negatively would impact 
wildlife and hunting in many areas of the state in which 
hunting has become a major part of farm and ranch income. 
In addition, the corridor would increase air pollution by 
encouraging motor vehicles as the state’s principal method 
of transportation.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 
11 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 1257 by Lindsay
Effective September 1, 2005

Prohibitions against cell phone use while driving

 SB 1257 prohibits a person under age 18 from 
operating a motor vehicle while using a cell phone during 
the first six months after receiving a driver’s license. The 
bill places the same restriction on the first six months that 
a person under the age of 17 holds a restricted motorcycle 
or moped license. It also prohibits the operator of a bus 
containing minor passengers from using a cell phone except 
in an emergency or while the bus is not in motion. The bill 
also makes other changes dealing with commercial driver’s 
licenses. 

Supporters said
 
 SB 1257 would make Texas roads safer by prohibiting 
young, inexperienced drivers from talking on cell phones 
while operating a motor vehicle. Research demonstrates that 
talking on the phone while driving increases the probability 
of accidents, and young drivers especially could be easily 
distracted by a cell phone conversation. A specific law is 
necessary because of the prevalence of cell phone use and to 
ensure that drivers know what is required of them. Special 
restrictions on new, young drivers are appropriate and not 
discriminatory or unusual. The prohibition against using 
a cell phone would be one more restriction contained in 
the graduated driver’s license program for young drivers, 
which already prevents them initially from driving between 
midnight and 5 a.m. and from driving with certain other 
passengers under the age of 21.

Opponents said

 SB 1257 would discriminate against young drivers by 
restricting their cell phone use on the road based not on 
their abilities or driving records but on their age. It would 
be unfair to enact a blanket prohibition on all young drivers, 
some of whom may have good judgment and driving skills. 
This bill should not single out cell phone use because data 
shows that cell phones do not contribute to a significant 
number of crashes, and there are countless distractions 
related to unsafe driving that the bill would not cover, 
including eating or applying makeup while driving. In any 
case, SB 1257 is unnecessary because reckless drivers who 
are distracted by phone conversations can be charged with 
driving offenses.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the May 18 Daily 
Floor Report. SB 1257 was amended on the House floor to 
include the provisions prohibiting the use of cell phones by 
minors and bus drivers.
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SB 1670 by Staples
Effective September 1, 2005

Creating a motor vehicle liability insurance verification program  

 SB 1670 requires the Texas Department of Insurance 
(TDI), in consultation with the Texas Department of 
Transportation (TxDOT) and the Department of Information 
Resources (DIR), to establish a program for verifying 
whether owners of motor vehicles have established financial 
responsibility. TDI, through a competitive bidding process, 
must select an agent to develop, implement, operate, and 
maintain the program for up to five years. 

 The three agencies must convene a working group 
to facilitate implementation, help develop rules, and 
coordinate a testing phase and necessary changes identified 
in the testing phase. The working group must include 
representatives of implementing agencies and the insurance 
industry, as well as technical experts with skills and 
knowledge, including knowledge of privacy laws, required 
to create and maintain the program. The program established 
must be the one most likely to reduce the number of 
uninsured drivers in the state, operate reliably, be cost-
effective, protect privacy, ensure the security and integrity 
of information provided by insurers, identify and employ a 
compliance method that improves public convenience, and 
provide accurate and current information. The program must 
be capable of being audited by an independent auditor. 

 An insurance company providing motor vehicle liability 
insurance policies in Texas must provide information to 
allow the chosen agent to implement the program, subject 
to the agent’s contract with the implementing agencies and 
rules governing the program. The agent is entitled only to 
information that is at that time available from the insurance 
company. Information is confidential and may not be used 
for commercial or other purposes. Using the information for 
an unauthorized purpose is a class B misdemeanor (up to 
180 days in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,000).

 The implementing agencies and the Texas Department 
of Public Safety (DPS) must jointly adopt rules to 
administer the program. TDI must select an agent before 
December 31, 2005, and the program must be implemented 
for personal automobile policies by December 31, 2006. 
The agencies must adopt rules seven months before the full 
implementation. A program for commercial vehicles must be 
implemented when the agencies determine it to be feasible.

Supporters said 

 SB 1670 would allow Texas to address its uninsured 
motorist problem by authorizing TDI, in consultation 
with TxDOT and DIR, to come up with a program for 
identifying uninsured motorists and to contract with a 
qualified private vendor to carry out such a program by the 
end of 2006. The bill would help lower insurers’ costs for 
uninsured motorist claims and would bring Texas alongside 
more than 20 other states with similar programs that have 
reduced the number of uninsured motorists by double-digit 
percentages. A verification system would provide easier 
access to information and help fight the growing problem of 
counterfeit insurance cards.

 As part of a feasibility study authorized by the 
Legislature in 2003, DPS and TDI recommended that 
Texas consider alternatives to a database software interface 
system that would provide the maximum reduction in the 
uninsured motorist rate in Texas. The bill would authorize 
TDI to request proposals that could include either a database 
interface system or other possibilities that the agencies 
charged with overseeing the program determined to be a 
better approach.

 While some people might be identified mistakenly 
as uninsured in start-up stages of a verification program, 
motorists could correct these mistakes by sending in proof of 
insurance or by correcting errors in registration information. 
Many of these errors would be due to motor vehicles that 
were not registered or titled to the current owners, despite 
existing laws requiring owners to hold title and registration. 

 Financial responsibility laws are not to blame for 
the lack of affordable insurance. Insurers’ discriminatory 
practices are more to blame than proof-of-insurance 
requirements.

Opponents said 

 SB 1670 would require TDI to award a huge state 
contract to a private entity for a system with questionable 
value. According to the Legislative Budget Board, this 
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system would cost $6 million to implement in the first 
year and some $2 million to maintain in each following 
year. While the bill would authorize TDI to seek bids for 
alternative methods of verification, the agency would have 
to adopt a program and choose a contractor by December 
31, 2005. Because of this short timeline, TDI may feel 
pressured to adopt a database reporting system, which the 
state’s own feasibility study advised against because of 
problems revealed by the use of similar systems in other 
states. 

 The DPS/TDI feasibility study pointed out that for 
a database reporting system, the primary concern is with 
the error match rates associated with combining insurance 
company databases and motor vehicle registration 
information. The bill would add reporting costs for insurers, 
which could be passed on to policyholders in the form of 

higher rates. Smaller insurers, in particular, could have 
trouble keeping up with the regular reporting requirements 
needed for a verification system. 

 The state should not increase enforcement of the 
proof-of-liability law until access to affordable insurance 
improves. Less intrusive methods are available to increase 
the number of insured motorists — for example, a “pay-
at-the-pump” system of insurance, under which a tax on 
gasoline would fund an insurance pool for all motorists.

Notes

 The HRO analysis of the companion bill, HB 2573 by 
Callegari, appeared in the May 4 Daily Floor Report.
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Prohibiting use of credit scoring by electric and telecommunications 
providers

 HB 412 prohibits a retail electric provider from 
denying, on the basis of an applicant’s credit history or 
credit score, an applicant’s request to become a residential 
customer. A provider may use an applicant’s utility payment 
data until either January 1, 2007, or the date on which 
“price to beat” is no longer in effect in the region where 
the customer is located. However, a provider may not use 
utility payment data to deny service in an area in which 
the provider is required to provide service. After January 
1, 2007, a retail electric provider may not deny service 
based on an applicant’s credit history, credit score, or utility 
payment data but may deny service based on the applicant’s 
electric bill payment history. Credit history or a credit score 
may not be used to determine the price of electric service if 
the agreement is for 12 months or less.

 The bill also prohibits a provider of basic local 
telecommunications service and nonbasic services from 
denying, on the basis of the applicant’s credit history or 
credit score, an applicant’s request to become a residential 
customer.

Supporters said 

 HB 412 would protect Texas electric and 
telecommunications consumers from a discriminatory and 
unfair practice. Credit scoring disproportionately harms 
minorities and low-income Texans because individuals in 
those groups are more likely to have unfavorable credit 
scores, often through no fault of their own. Credit scoring is 
an inaccurate practice that relies upon data with little relation 
to customers’ ability to or likelihood of paying their electric 
or telephone bills. An individual with no outstanding debt or 
with a history of large insurance claims or health care costs 
could have a very high credit score. These factors have little 
bearing on an individual’s risk of nonpayment to an electric 
or telecommunications provider.

HB 412 by Turner
Effective September 1, 2005

Opponents said 

 Credit scoring should not be prohibited because it 
is an effective strategy for electric service providers in 
mitigating their risk. Credit agencies are developing newer, 
more targeted models to isolate high-risk customers, and 
these innovations likely will address most current concerns 
regarding credit scoring.

Other opponents said 

 HB 412 would not go far enough to protect electric 
customers. Providers would be able to deny electric service 
based on utility or electric bill payment data, and no 
standards would govern the manner in which a provider 
could use that data. As little as one late bill payment could 
result in denial of electric service.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the April 
21 Daily Floor Report.
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SB 5 by Fraser, Second Called Session
Effective September 7, 2005

Restructuring telecommunications and cable regulation 

 SB 5 makes numerous changes to the regulation of 
cable and telecommunications in Texas.

 Deregulation of certain ILEC markets. SB 5 
deregulates the markets of all incumbent local exchange 
carriers (ILECs) on January 1, 2006, unless the Public 
Utility Commission (PUC) determines that a market should 
remain regulated. The PUC cannot prevent deregulation in 
any market in which the population was at least 100,000. 
The commission also cannot prevent deregulation in a 
market with a population between 30,000 and 100,000 that 
contains competitors to the ILEC that meet specific criteria.

 The bill establishes new categories to govern companies 
that are partially deregulated and transitioning to full 
deregulation. A company transitioning to deregulation can 
exercise pricing flexibility and introduce a new service after 
providing informational notice.

 In a deregulated market, a company cannot engage in 
discriminatory or predatory pricing or subsidize the rate 
for services in a deregulated market with services provided 
in a regulated market. A company cannot increase the rate 
for stand-alone basic service until the PUC has revised 
its monthly per-line support under the Texas High Cost 
Universal Service Plan. The company must make available 
the same price, terms, and conditions to all customers 
uniformly throughout its market. 

 Reduction of switched access rates. Under the bill, 
a deregulated ILEC must reduce its intrastate switched 
access rates to parity with the company’s federal switched 
access rates. Schedules are established to reduce the rates of 
transitioning companies to parity with federal rates within 
three to four years. No company can increase its rates above 
the level prescribed in the bill after they have been reduced. 
If federal switched-access rates are reduced, a company 
must reduce its intrastate rates as well.
 
 Legislative oversight committee. The bill establishes 
a nine-member legislative oversight committee on 
telecommunications competitiveness consisting of the chair 
of the Senate Business and Commerce Committee, the 
chair of the House Regulated Industries Committee, three 
senators, three representatives, and the chief executive of 
the Office of Public Utility Counsel. The committee will 

submit a biannual report to the governor, the lieutenant 
governor, and the speaker of the House that includes an 
analysis of problems caused by deregulation and legislative 
recommendations to address those problems.

 Statewide cable franchise. SB 5 creates a method for 
an entity seeking to provide cable or video service in the 
state to receive a statewide franchise from the PUC. The 
franchise certificate authorizes the entity to provide cable or 
video service and to use public rights-of-way to deliver that 
service.

 A cable or video service provider that currently holds 
a cable franchise cannot seek a statewide franchise until 
the expiration date of the current franchise. However, as of 
September 1, 2005, a cable provider that serves less than 
40 percent of all cable customers in the municipal franchise 
area can terminate its franchise and apply for a state-issued 
franchise, as long as that the provider remits to the affected 
municipality any unpaid franchise fees.

 The holder of a state-issued franchise must pay each 
municipality a fee equal to 5 percent of the provider’s gross 
revenues from cable services derived in the municipality. 
This revenue is in lieu of compensation for a provider’s right 
to provide service or use a public right-of-way.

 Until the expiration of an incumbent cable provider’s 
agreement, the holder of a state-issued franchise must pay a 
municipality in which it offers cable service the same cash 
payments as required by the provider’s franchise agreement. 
Upon the expiration of the agreement, the holder of a 
state-issued franchise must pay a municipality 1 percent of 
the provider’s gross revenues or the per-subscriber fee that 
was paid under the expired agreement, in lieu of in-kind 
compensation and grants, whichever the municipality elects. 
Until the later of the date when a franchise was to expire or 
January 1, 2008, a provider must continue offering network 
capacity for noncommercial use by the municipality and 
cable services to community buildings.

 A cable or video provider cannot deny access to service 
by a group of potential residential subscribers in an area 
because of the income of residents. A provider can satisfy 
this requirement by using an alternative technology, even if 
that alternative differs in terms of content or functionality. 
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Neither the state nor a political subdivision can require 
a provider to build out a network, except as specifically 
required under federal law.
 
 The bill requires a cable or video service provider to 
provide a municipality with capacity in its network to allow 
up to three public, educational, and governmental access 
channels (PEGs).

 A municipality can exercise police power-based 
regulations toward a franchise holder in a non-
discriminatory manner in order to protect the health, 
safety, and welfare of the public. A municipality can 
require a cost-free construction permit for a franchisee 
that locates facilities in a public right-of-way. Otherwise, 
municipal authority over a franchisee is limited to requiring 
a franchisee to maintain a point of contact, establishing 
guidelines governing PEG channels, and submitting service 
complaints to the PUC.

 A municipality or cable, voice, or video service provider 
can seek clarification of its obligations under federal law.

 Broadband over power lines (BPL). SB 5 authorizes 
an affiliate of an electric utility to operate a BPL system, 
defined as the provision of broadband services over electric 
power lines, and provide BPL services on an electric utility’s 
electric delivery system.

 An electric utility can allow an affiliate or an unaffiliated 
entity to own or operate a BPL system on the utility’s 
electric delivery system or to provide Internet service over 
a BPL system. A utility must ensure that operation of a BPL 
system on its electric delivery system does not interfere with 
the reliability of its delivery system. The governing body of 
a municipality does not have jurisdiction over a BPL system, 
rates, or services. The operator of a radio frequency device 
must cease operating the device upon notification by the 
Federal Communications Commission (FCC) or the PUC 
that the device caused harmful interference.

 An electric utility’s investment in a BPL system that 
directly supports services used by the utility can be included 
in the utility’s invested capital and be included under a rate 
proceeding. Such expenses must be directly allocated to 
customers receiving those services.

 Texas Universal Service Fund (TUSF). A 
telecommunications provider can meet its provider-of-last-
resort obligations using any available technology, and the 
TUSF can be used to fund the use of technologies other than 
traditional wireline technologies to meet these obligations. A 
certificate holder must meet 911 and other service standards 
that are comparable to those for wireline technologies.

 The PUC must conduct a study to assess whether the 
TUSF’s purposes have been achieved, whether it should be 
phased out, and the manner in which money was collected 
and disbursed. The report must include recommendations 
such as how TUSF money should be collected, how money 
should be disbursed, the purposes for which it should be 
used, and how to ensure accountability for its use.

 The bill establishes a program to provide financial 
assistance from the TUSF for a free audio newspaper 
assistance service that offers the text of newspapers over the 
telephone to visually impaired individuals.

 Basic service revisions. After July 1, 2006, residential 
call waiting service no longer will be part of basic service 
under Utilities Code ch. 58. For customers age 65 or older, 
however, basic service will include caller identification 
service. The bill requires local exchange providers to ensure 
that customers are informed of the Lifeline program upon 
the initiation of service.

Supporters said

 By making telecommunications law compatible with 
the latest technological and competitive innovations, SB 
5 would update Texas’ outmoded regulatory framework 
for telecommunications and cable technologies. The bill 
would open the Texas marketplace to true and extensive 
competition, providing a legal structure that would 
encourage technological innovation and improve service for 
customers.

 Deregulation. Texas should eliminate the artificial 
subsidy of basic telephone service because it does 
not take into account the options customers have for 
telecommunications service. With the advent of intermodal 
competition among telecommunications technologies, 
consumers can abandon basic telephone service in favor of 
other technologies, such as wireless or voice over Internet 
protocol (VOIP), that provide technological and economic 
advantages. However, current law enforces a policy 
preference toward outmoded landline services through an 
artificial subsidy of that service in the basic service rate 
cap. By eliminating that cap, the Legislature would align 
regulation with the important technological innovations of 
recent years.

 By lowering intrastate access rates to parity with 
interstate rates, Texas long-distance consumers would 
see significantly reduced prices for in-state long-distance. 
Because of the current inflated intrastate access rates, it can 
cost more to call from Dallas to Houston than it does to 
call from Dallas to Albuquerque. Reducing intrastate rates 
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to parity with interstate rates would allow access charges 
to resemble more closely the actual cost of switching calls, 
facilitating more efficient competition in the long-distance 
market.

 SB 5 would foster competition and benefit consumers 
through free-market policies. Since Texas started down the 
road toward deregulation in the mid-1990s, competition for 
telecommunications services has flourished throughout the 
state. The Texas market is sufficiently dynamic to absorb the 
reforms laid out under this bill.

 Cable franchise. By establishing a level playing field 
for competition and choice in cable and video services, SB 5 
would put Texas at the forefront of regulatory modernization 
in this rapidly innovating industry. This bill is necessary 
to allow deployment of integrated technologies and to 
encourage private investment that would benefit Texas 
consumers.

 SB 5 would streamline state and municipal regulation 
of cable service providers. Currently, before a cable provider 
enters a market, that provider must negotiate a franchise 
agreement with a municipality, an expensive and inefficient 
process. The result is a maze of regulations that presents 
a barrier to entry for cable competitors. By establishing a 
statewide franchise, the bill would eliminate the need to 
negotiate individual agreements while establishing a system 
of stable, predictable franchise fees that have become a vital 
component of city budgets.

 SB 5 would allow Texas customers to enjoy the benefits 
of competition in cable service that they have enjoyed in 
telecommunications service since the mid-1990s. Currently, 
incumbent cable companies generally operate as monopolies 
under local franchise agreements, limiting the amount of 
competition and consumer choice in most communities. 
The bill would tear down barriers to market entry and 
competition by ensuring that all video service providers 
operated under a single set of clear, equitable rules.

 The bill would affirm current safeguards that benefit 
cities, schools, and consumers. It would provide for a 
base number of public access channels that many cities 
use for educational and civic purposes. Also, SB 5 would 
incorporate federal requirements prohibiting discriminatory 
treatment of low-income citizens, allowing companies to 
meet this obligation through new technologies.

 Broadband over power lines. SB 5 would establish a 
framework for deployment of BPL technology across Texas. 
Because electric service is ubiquitous, the potential exists 
for equally expansive broadband service, provided the state 
establishes a framework for deploying BPL technology.

 Recognizing that the FCC has exclusive jurisdiction 
over radio frequencies, SB 5 would establish appropriate 
measures to prevent interference of BPL services with 
amateur radio services. The bill would require BPL 
providers to comply with all applicable federal laws and 
would require a BPL service to be halted if the FCC found 
evidence of interference.

 Texas Universal Service Fund. Companies with 
provider-of-last-resort obligations should be allowed to use 
any available technology to satisfy those obligations. It can 
be extremely expensive to run a basic landline to a remote 
rural location that otherwise could be served effectively by 
a mobile phone or other technology. There is no practical 
reason to discriminate against new technologies, as occurs 
under current law. It would be wise to study how the TUSF 
is managed to ensure that grants from the fund adequately 
serve the purpose of providing ubiquitous access to 
telephone service in the state.

Opponents said

 Deregulation. SB 5 would allow major local telephone 
companies, such as SBC and Verizon, to raise the price 
of basic local service virtually without restriction in most 
markets. In doing so, this bill would run counter to historic 
state policy ensuring that all Texans have affordable access 
to basic local service. By deregulating basic telephone 
service, this bill would result in Texas consumers facing 
higher prices for local phone service.

 The minimal level of competition that now exists in 
the state would not be an effective bulwark against higher 
prices for telephone service. The market test established for 
smaller markets would not sufficiently protect competitors 
or ensure low phone rates. When the Legislature has 
deregulated nonbasic services, the cost of these services has 
gone up, often dramatically. Consumers could expect similar 
increases in local phone service under this bill.

 The bill should not tie higher local telephone prices to 
lower intrastate long-distance prices. In effect, this provision 
would force consumers of basic local service to subsidize 
lower rates for high-volume long-distance customers. 
Companies could be expected to more than make up for the 
cost of reduced access charges with higher rates, and local 
phone service consumers would bear this burden.

 SB 5 would mark a major step backward for 
telecommunications competition in Texas, the only check 
on prices that would exist under this new framework. 
Under this bill, large ILECs would be able to raise rates 
on consumers who have no access to competing service 
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providers while they lowered rates in areas of competition. 
This would make it very difficult for competitive local 
exchange companies (CLECs) to compete with SBC and 
other large companies and could drive many out of business.

 With its overemphasis on “intermodal competition,” 
SB 5 would ignore the significant competitive differences 
between basic phone service and newer telecommunications 
technologies. The cost of a basic line is very affordable 
– currently around $10 to $15 per month. On the other hand, 
the most basic monthly wireless plan can cost more than 
$40, and VOIP is even more expensive. The Legislature 
should not count these other services as providing sufficient 
competitive pressure to maintain affordable rates for basic 
service.

 Basic service is robust and reliable, while technologies 
such as wireless and VOIP are less so. While basic phone 
service runs on an independent network isolated from 
problems caused by electricity blackouts, other platforms, 
such as wireless, could be affected by disruptions in 
electrical distribution. Basic service also ensures that 
individuals have access to E-911, which is vital in case of 
emergency because it allows emergency responders quickly 
and accurately to locate the caller.

 Cable franchise. SB 5 would discriminate against 
existing cable providers that are subject to extensive 
federal, state, and local regulations governing network 
build-out, quality of service, and public access channels, 
among other requirements. Cable companies that have built 
networks throughout entire cities would be at a disadvantage 
compared to new entrants that could build only in 
neighborhoods with the most profit potential. SBC and other 
major telecommunications providers that receive public 
TUSF subsidies would be able to corner the most lucrative 
sections of the market, harming consumers and providing 
only the illusion of true competition.

 Under the guise of “intermodal competition,” SB 5 
would open the door to abusive redlining practices by new 
entrants in the cable market. The bill would purport to allow 
“alternative technologies” to satisfy nondiscrimination 
mandates. However, the availability of ubiquitous yet 
expensive direct-to-home satellite technology likely would 
satisfy nondiscrimination requirements while remaining an 

unrealistic option for low- or middle-income consumers. 
New providers would be free to build video networks in 
higher income areas while denying the cost and service 
benefits of new technologies to low-income Texans.

 SB 5 would undermine local control for cities that 
currently can negotiate cable franchise agreements that are 
appropriate to the diverse needs of cities across the state. 
The bill would allow cable providers to opt out of negotiated 
agreements that often provide cities with the ability to 
enforce customer service standards and ensure universal 
service.

 Broadband over power lines. BPL is an unproven 
technology that has been shown to cause substantial 
interference with radio services, particularly amateur radio 
services. Because power lines are not designed to prevent 
radiation of radio frequency energy, interference with certain 
licensed broadcasters is likely. Studies by the U.S. National 
Telecommunications and Information Administration have 
demonstrated interference from BPL systems and have 
suggested that the recently adopted FCC regulations are 
insufficient.

 Texas Universal Service Fund. Companies that reap the 
benefits of deregulation should not be able to keep millions 
of dollars in public subsidies from the TUSF. It would be 
unfair for taxpayers to continue subsidizing companies that 
receive a huge profit windfall from price deregulation under 
the bill, particularly as the Legislature is making it easier for 
those companies to enter the cable market at the same time. 
If the Legislature is going to require an expansive study on 
the TUSF but withhold substantial changes to the fund until 
the study is complete, the same approach should be taken to 
competition and price deregulation.

Notes

 SB 5 was considered in lieu of its identical companion, 
HB 13 by P. King, and passed by the House on August 10. 
The HRO analysis of HB 13 appeared in the August 9 
Daily Floor Report.
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SB 20 by Fraser, First Called Session
Effective September 1, 2005

Expanding the state’s renewable energy portfolio standard program

 SB 20 establishes new requirements for generating 
capacity from renewable energy in Texas. The bill requires 
a total of 5,880 megawatts (MW) of renewable capacity by 
January 1, 2015. It also establishes the target of 10,000 MW 
of additional installed renewable energy capacity by January 
1, 2025. All renewable energy capacity installed in the state 
and all renewable energy credits in the state count toward 
the goal. The PUC can cap the price of renewable energy 
credits and suspend the renewable energy goal if necessary 
to protect the reliability of the grid.

 The PUC will designate “competitive renewable energy 
zones” in which resources and land areas are sufficient to 
develop renewable energy generating capacity and develop 
a plan to construct the transmission capacity required to 
deliver the output from renewable energy technologies to 
customers.

 The PUC also will consider the level of financial 
commitment by generators for each zone in determining 
whether to designate an area as a competitive renewable 
energy zone and whether to grant a certificate of 
convenience and necessity.

Supporters said

 SB 20 would continue and expand the state’s successful 
Renewable Portfolio Standard (RPS) program. The benefits 
of renewable energy are significant. Unlike depleting and 
polluting fossil fuels, renewable energy represents a real, 
unlimited, clean source of energy. The current RPS has been 
successful because it has required electricity providers to 
get a specific amount of energy from renewable sources. By 
expanding this program, SB 20 would require this amount 
to increase every two years so that at least 5,880 MW of 
electricity would come from renewable sources by 2015.

 Beyond its environmental benefits, renewable energy 
offers many ancillary economic benefits for landowners and 
local governments in areas of the state where wind energy 
facilities are located. For example, some have estimated that 
wind energy production in the state generated close to $15 
million in local school property taxes in tax year 2004, and 

an expansion of generating capacity to attain the 5,880 MW 
requirement could mean more than $60 million in annual 
school property tax revenue.

 SB 20 would balance support for renewable 
technologies with concerns for system reliability. Like the 
current standard, the target established in SB 20 would 
represent a floor above which supplies of renewable energy 
sources could expand in order to meet growing demand. 
The bill incorporates important safeguards to ensure that 
necessary investments in the transmission grid would 
be made and that the electric grid’s integrity would be 
maintained.

Opponents said

 All electricity generation should be determined by the 
market. Wind and solar plants cannot produce the same 
amount of energy as more traditional types of generating 
plants. Renewable energy is more expensive and therefore 
is not a cost-effective way to produce energy. Requiring 
utilities to use this more expensive energy increases electric 
rates for customers.

 Building wind farms or solar energy generating facilities 
requires a source of backup energy from a traditional source, 
duplicating generation and increasing costs. In addition, 
because most zones for renewable energy production exist 
in areas isolated from urban markets, expansion of wind 
energy requires substantial investment in transmission 
capacity. Further, because the generation of wind energy 
depends on unpredictable weather patterns, renewable 
energy is not a reliable or consistent source of energy. All 
of these factors contribute to the economic inefficiency of 
renewable energy.

Other opponents said

 The RPS requirement set by the SB 20 should be 
increased in order to more effectively develop renewable 
energy resources in the state. Some estimates are that the 
likely output of renewable energy by 2015 will be 8,000 
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MW under the current rate of development, a level well 
above the one envisioned under SB 20. A better proposal 
would be to increase the renewable energy standard to 
10,880 MW by 2015, a level that truly would set Texas 
on the way toward meaningful expansion of important 
renewable technologies.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the July 14 Daily 
Floor Report.
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SB 408 by Nelson
Effective September 1, 2005

Continuing the Public Utility Commission and revising ERCOT

 SB 408 continues the Public Utility Commission 
(PUC) until 2011 and institutes new oversight measures for 
the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT). ERCOT 
is an independent organization responsible for facilitating 
wholesale electricity transactions among power generators 
and retailers, ensuring customer information is provided 
to retailers, maintaining the reliability of the transmission 
network, and ensuring open access to the network. 

 SB 408 makes ERCOT directly accountable to the 
PUC and authorizes the PUC to oversee and audit ERCOT 
finances and operations. The bill also alters ERCOT’s 
governing structure, replacing the current 14-member board 
with a 16-member governing body that includes:

the PUC chairman as an ex officio non-voting 
member;
the Office of Public Utility Counsel (OPUC) 
counselor as an ex officio voting member 
representing residential and small commercial 
consumer interests;
the chief executive officer of ERCOT as an ex 
officio voting member;
six market participants elected by their market 
segments to serve one-year terms, with one member 
each representing independent generators, investor-
owned utilities, power marketers, retail electric 
providers, municipally owned utilities, and electric 
cooperatives;
a representative of industrial consumer interests, 
elected by this market segment to serve a one-year 
term;
a representative of large commercial consumer 
interests, selected by the outgoing large commercial 
consumer representative to serve a one-year term; 
and
five representatives unaffiliated with any market 
segment, selected by the other members of the 
governing body to serve three-year terms.

 Meetings of the ERCOT board of directors are open 
to the public. A member of ERCOT’s governing body who 
has a direct interest in a matter that comes before the board 
must disclose the interest and recuse himself or herself from 
deliberations on the matter.
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 SB 408 also establishes a wholesale electric market 
monitor within ERCOT to prevent manipulation of the 
electric market under the jurisdiction of ERCOT. The bill 
also increases the penalty for a violation of a PUC statute, 
rule, or order from $5,000 to $25,000 for each day a 
violation occurs.

Supporters said

 SB 408 would institute much needed oversight 
and accountability reforms for ERCOT and its board 
of directors. ERCOT has been the target of serious 
allegations of mismanagement and wasteful spending, 
and several former employees and contractors have been 
indicted for felony charges related to contracting fraud. 
Due to ambiguity surrounding the applicability of state 
open meetings and public records laws, members of the 
public have been stymied in their attempts to learn more 
about ERCOT’s business practices and participate in its 
decision-making process. ERCOT performs vital functions 
in its management of the state’s electric market, and it is 
imperative that this powerful organization be accountable to 
the public it serves.

 Increasing the administrative penalty for an 
administrative violation by a utility would strengthen the 
commission’s enforcement authority. If a utility or provider 
perpetrated a single type of violation that lasted several 
days, that entity could be punished for each day a violation 
occurred, providing an effective deterrent against a utility 
that might otherwise choose to pay the nominal current fine 
and continue its abusive practices.

Opponents said

 A $25,000 fine per day, per violation would be 
excessive. Doubling the fine from $5,000 to $10,000 would 
be more appropriate. However, if the Legislature chooses 
to increase the maximum administrative penalty five-fold, 
it also should adopt a two-year statute of limitations on 
violations to provide utilities and providers with a measure 
of regulatory certainty in their dealings with the commission 
and consumers. 
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Other opponents said

 Although the bill would increase the number of 
independent members on ERCOT, consumer representation 
on the board would remain weak. Consumers pay the fees 
through which ERCOT is funded, and they deserve a strong 
voice to ensure that these funds are spent prudently. Market 
participants would continue to outnumber residential, 
industrial, and commercial consumers. The Sunset 
Commission found that industry representatives on the 
ERCOT board have little incentive to act in the best interest 
of consumers, and increasing public representation could 
address this imbalance.

 While SB 408 would strengthen protections against 
wholesale generation market manipulation, additional 
reforms are needed. Market manipulation can be difficult 
to identify after an abuse has occurred. A more effective 
method of preventing abusive practices by wholesale 
generators would be to require that no company control 
more than 20 percent of the generation capacity in a single 
congestion area, rather than the current, more general 
limitation of 20 percent across the entire ERCOT region.

Notes

 The HRO analysis appeared in the May 22 Daily 
Floor Report. 

 SB 408 as passed by the House included provisions that 
would have established a statewide franchise for offering 
cable services and provided a framework for municipal 
compensation for use of public rights-of-way. While these 
provisions were removed from the bill in conference 
committee, similar provisions were included in SB 5 by 
Fraser (see p. 160), enacted during the second called session.
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