HOUSE
RESEARCH
ORGANIZATION

Texas House of Representatives

focus

August 6, 2003

Number 78-12

Civil Liability

Criminal Justice

Economic Development
and Finance

Elections

Environment

Families and Children

Government Affairs

Health and Human
Services

Higher Education

Insurance

Judiciary

Public Education

Public Employees

Redistricting

Taxation and Revenue

Transportation and
Motor Vehicles

REPORT

Major Issues
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During its 2003 regular session, the 78th Texas Legislature enacted
1,383 bills and adopted 21 joint resolutions after considering more
than 5,700 measures filed. This report provides an overview of some
of the session’s highlights, summarizing some proposals that were
approved and some that were not. Also included is a brief review of
the arguments offered for and against each measure as it was
debated during the session.

The measures featured in this report are a sampling and are not
intended to be comprehensive. Other reports already published or
being prepared by the House Research Organization examine other
legislation approved by the 78th Legislature, including HB 1, the
general appropriations act for fiscal 2004-05, bills vetoed by the
governor, and the proposed constitutional amendments on the
September 13, 2003, ballot. The Legislature may revise or revive
several of the bills covered in this report during a subsequent special
session.
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SYNOPSIS OF LEGISLATION
78th Legislature, Regular Session

Introduced Enacted* Percent enacted

House bills 3,636 824 22.7%
Senate bills 1,956 559 28.6%
TOTAL bills 5,592 1,383 24.7%
HJRs 100 15 15.0%
SJRs 61 6 9.8%
TOTAL joint

resolutions 161 21 13.0%

*Includes 48 vetoed bills — 31 House bills and 17 Senate bills

2001 2003 Percent change

Bills filed 5,544 5,596 0.9%
Bills enacted 1,601 1,383 -13.6%
Bills vetoed 82 48 -41.5%
Joint resolutions filed 162 161 -0.6%
Joint resolutions adopted 20 21 5.0%
Legislation sent or transferred

to Calendars Committee 1,494 1,255 -16.0%
Legislation sent to Local and

Consent Calendars Committee 1,070 1,096 2.4%

Source: Texas Legislative Information System.
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Revising medical malpractice and tort liability laws

HB 4 by Nixon, et al.
Generally effective September 1, 2003

HB 4 amends Texas’ medical liability statute in regard to limits on liability in malpractice cases;
cases involving emergency or charity care; litigation matters such as expert reports, the structure of
attorney fees, and filing deadlines; and recovery of medical expenses. It also makes many changes in
Texas’ tort liability laws in regard to class actions, settlement offers, product liability, civil litigation
procedures, limitations on damages, liability of certain public employees, and other matters.

Medical malpractice liability

HB 4 repeals the Medical Liability and Insurance Improvement Act (V.T.C.S., art. 45901) and
replaces it with anew set of statutes governing cases of medical malpractice liability.

Limits on liability. The bill sets a cap on noneconomic damages of $250,000 per claimant per
case and atotal cap of $500,000 for all institutions in a single case. This cap is not indexed, and
health-care providers need not carry liability insurance to obtain protection under the cap. Ifthe
$250,000 limit on liability is found unconstitutional, providers would have to carry liability insurance
to obtain protection. The levels of liability coverage would increase in three tiers over time. Initially,
the required level for health-care providers would be $200,000 per claim and $600,000 aggregate,
increasing to $300,000 and $900,000 in 2005 and to $500,000 and $1,000,000 in 2007. The bill
maintains the general $500,000 indexed cap on liability in cases involving wrongful death or survival
action. This cap includes punitive damages under the limit and applies on a per-occurrence basis,
regardless of the number of claimants and defendants. Hospitals that provide charity care have their
liability limited to $500,000 in exchange for providing uncompensated health-care services, as long
as the patient or the person responsible for the patient signs a statement to that effect.

The bill maintains the statute of limitations of two years from the occurrence of the breach or tort,
except that minors under age 12 have until their 14th birthday to file. It adds a statute of repose,
limiting the filing of a claim to 10 years after the act.

Informed consent. HB 4 creates a nine-member Texas Medical Disclosure Panel attached to the
Texas Department of Health. The panel of three lawyers and six doctors must determine which risks
related to medical care must be disclosed and which procedures may be performed only after
disclosing the risks. It must establish a general disclosure form and must develop written materials
for disclosure of risks associated with hysterectomies. Compliance or failure to comply with the
required disclosure is admissible into evidence and creates a rebuttable presumption of either
informed consent or lack thereof. Failure to disclose may not be found negligent if doing so would
have been medically infeasible, such as in an emergency.

Arbitration. An arbitration agreement between a claimant and a physician or health-care provider
must include a disclosure statement informing the claimant that the agreement waives the claimant’s
rightto ajury and is invalid unless signed by the patient’s attorney.
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Emergency care. HB 4 repeals the immunity from liability for emergency procedures performed by
“good Samaritans” and replaces that immunity with a definition of standard of proofin such cases. A
claimant must prove that the treatment or lack of treatment deviated, with wilful or wanton
negligence, from the degree of care and skill that could be expected from an ordinarily prudent
physician in similar circumstances. This provision does not apply to cases involving treatment after
the patient is stabilized or to remedy an emergency caused by a provider.

Pretrial matters. A claimant must provide written notice of a claim at least 60 days before filing a
suitand must authorize in writing the disclosure of medical records. All parties have access to the
patient’s medical records and standard discovery interrogatories within 45 days of arequest. Filers
of claims must submit only an expert report and no longer must submit a cost bond. Ifa claimant
fails to serve each party an expert report and the expert’s curriculum vitae within 180 days after
filing the claim, the court must dismiss the claim with prejudice and must order the claimant to pay
the defendant’s attorney fees and court costs. The required expert report may not be introduced
into evidence or referred to by either party in the course of the action, but any other expert report
may be introduced by either party. The bill also establishes qualifications for expert witnesses
testifyinginaclaim.

Recovery matters. A court must order periodic payments, rather than a lump-sum payment, at the
request of either the defendant or the plaintiffin cases when the award is at least $100,000. To be
allowed to make periodic payments, the defendant must show financial responsibility in the form of
an insurance policy, bond, or other proof of ability to make full payment. If arecipient of periodic
payments dies, all payments except loss of earnings must cease and any remaining security be
returned to the defendant.

Nursing home insurance. HB 4 delays from September 1, 2003, until September 1, 2005, the
requirement that nursing homes carry a certain level of liability insurance.

Supporters said Texas has a medical malpractice crisis, and the changes in HB 4 would be the
best way to help ensure patients’ access to care. Large jury awards have driven up the cost of
malpractice insurance in recent years, forcing physicians in some areas of the state to limit their
practices, retire early, or leave Texas. Many obstetrician/gynecologists no longer deliver babies, and
more and more neurologists no longer perform surgery. HB 4 would strike an appropriate balance
between common-sense reforms to the medical liability system and protecting the right of those who
are harmed to recover compensation. Other states have enacted similar reforms to address similar
problems. In 1975, California enacted its Medical Injury Compensation Reform Act (MICRA),
considered the nation’s most comprehensive set of medical malpractice reforms. MICRA hashad a
significant impact on premiumrates in California, where rates have risen at about one-quarter the
pace ofthe rest of the nation.

Limits on liability. Caps on noneconomic damages are a cornerstone of efforts to reduce medical
malpractice rates, because high verdicts in malpractice cases make it more expensive for insurers to
write policies. Since economic damages would remain uncapped, a limit on noneconomic damages
would ensure that plaintiffs received the compensation they deserved, rather than winning a
“lottery.” Based on California’s experience, a $250,000 cap on noneconomic damages in Texas
would reduce liability premiums substantially over time. Such a cap would not limit a patient’s right
to redress, nor would it limit the amount a patient could be compensated for actual losses and
damages, past or future health-care expenses, past loss of earnings or future loss of earning
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capacity, and other economic damages. Noneconomic damages do not make a patient whole but
only weigh down the medical system.

Analternate to the first limit on liability in the bill would ensure that the state’s reform efforts would
stand even if the first limit were held unconstitutional. The quid pro quo offered by the alternate cap
would satisfy the constitutionality test, as it has in the Charitable Immunity and Liability Actof 1987,
upon which itis modeled. The caps-for-coverage trade would promote higher recovery for patients,
as itwould ensure that physicians and hospitals carried sufficient liability insurance to cover an
award.

Opponents said the tort system is not a significant cause of the medical malpractice liability crisis.
Texas should focus first on insurance rate regulation, which would lower malpractice premium rates
directly. Insurers’ intense competition for market share during the 1990s sank premium rates to
artificial depths. Thin margins, coupled with stock market woes and low interest rates, have forced
insurers to pass higher costs on to policyholders. California’s premium rates grew along with the rest
of'the nation through the 1980s, even after the enactment of the damage award caps in MICRA,
and fell only after state voters approved a 1988 initiative that mandated lower rates and regulated
insurance companies.

Limits on liability. A cap on noneconomic damages would limit unfairly a patient’s right to
redress. Economic damages account only for medical bills and wages, not for intangible losses such
as becoming homebound, being unable to care for one’s children, suffering caused by major
disfigurement, and other results of medical malpractice.

Thebill’s alternate limit on liability would be insufficient to withstand a constitutional challenge, and
the caps-for-coverage trade represents no trade at all. Physicians already must carry certain levels
of liability insurance to obtain hospital privileges. HB 4 would require the public to surrender access
to courts in exchange for protection it already enjoys. Also, indigent patients should not have to
waive their right to recovery in exchange for health services. This bill would allow emergency rooms
to treat indigent patients with a lower standard of care without fear of liability, because patients
would have to sign away their rights at the door.

Other opponents said the Legislature should require a guarantee from insurers that the changes
in HB 4 will result in lower premiums. In 1995, the 74th Legislature enacted HB 1988 by Duncan,
establishing flexible rating for certain lines of insurance. That law contained a provision introduced
by then-Rep. Mark Stiles requiring insurers to estimate the amount of money saved through the civil
liability revisions also enacted that session and to apply that amount to a temporary rate reduction.
HB 4 similarly should require that reductions in tort costs be applied directly to reducing premium
rates.

Any limit on liability should be indexed, as should the minimums for insurance policies under an
alternate cap. Limits set in today’s dollars would be worth little or nothing in 25 years, and doctors
would have to carry only minimal levels of insurance by future standards. Caps and insurance
minimums set in statute could be increased over time, but it would make more sense and save future
legislatures time and effort to index them in HB 4.
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Tort liability

Class actions. HB 4 extends jurisdiction to the Texas Supreme Court to hear an appeal from a trial
court’s order regarding a class certification and stays all proceedings in the trial court pending that
appeal. Supreme Court rules must require trial courts to calculate class attorneys’ fees by the
Lodestar method, which requires a reasonable fee based on hours actually worked, and to ensure
thatifa classreceives a portion ofits settlement in noncash compensation, the class attorneys
receive the same proportion of cash to noncash compensation.

Settlement offers. If aparty to a civil suit makes a settlement offer to another party thatis not
accepted and the rejecting party prevails at trial, the offering party may receive its litigation costs
incurred after the rejected offer, if the rejecting party’s recovery is 20 percent or more less
favorable than the settlement offer. Iflitigation costs are shifted against the plaintiff, the plaintiff
recovers at least half ofhis or her economic damages, plus the amount of any statutory liens against
the plaintiff’s recovery. These provisions apply to actions filed on or after January 1, 2004.

Product liability. HB 4 establishes a 15-year “statute of repose” for product liability actions,
requiring a plaintiffto initiate an action within 15 years from the date of sale of the product, unless
the symptoms of a claimant’s disease caused by a product did not manifest themselves until many
years after use of the product. It also creates an “innocent retailer” defense under which a seller that
did not manufacture a product is not liable for harm caused to a plaintiff by that product unless the
seller had some responsibility for the defect or unless the manufacturer is insolvent or not subject to
the court’s jurisdiction.

Actions alleging an injury caused by a failure to provide adequate warnings or information abouta
pharmaceutical product are subject to a rebuttable presumption that the defendant is not liable for
failing to provide an adequate warning if the defendant supplied a warning that complied with federal
guidelines. A claimant may rebut this presumption in several ways, including by showing thatthe
defendant misrepresented or withheld relevant information from the U.S. Food and Drug
Administration. The bill also establishes a rebuttable presumption that a product’s manufacturer or
selleris not liable for an injury caused by some aspect of the formulation, labeling, or design of the
productifthose features complied with mandatory federal safety standards. These changes apply to
product liability cases filed or on after July 1,2003.

Forum non conveniens and multidistrict litigation. HB 4 requires a court to dismiss a case
that has no connection to Texas and that should have been brought in another state or country if the
court determines that dismissal is in the best interest of justice and for the parties’ convenience. The
chiefjustice of the Supreme Court must appoint a five-member judicial panel that may transfer civil
actions involving one or more common questions of fact pending in the same or different courts to
any district court for consolidated or coordinated pretrial proceedings.

Proportionate responsibility. A defendant in a civil action may seek to designate a person as a
responsible third party, and a plaintiff may seek to join a responsible third party as a party in the
case. The trier of fact may consider the potential fault of a responsible third party when allocating
responsibility. Defendants who are jointly and severally liable for damages to a claimant are liable
only for the percentage of damages found by the trier of fact equal to their percentage of
responsibility. These changes apply to cases filed or on after July 1,2003.
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Interest. HB 4 prohibits assessment or recovery of prejudgment interest on an award of future
damages. The postjudgment interest rate is based on the weekly average one-year treasury yield as
published by the Federal Reserve System, with a minimum rate of 5 percent and a maximum rate of
15 percent, rather than 10 and 20 percent, as in current law.

Appeal bonds. The bill adds several circumstances in which a court may grant a stay of execution
of judgment. It also reduces the amount of security required to obtain an appeal bond in certain
cases. It caps security at 50 percent of the judgment debtor’s net worth or $25 million, whichever is
lower. Ifthe debtor shows that it is likely to suffer substantial economic harm if required to post
security in the required amount, the trial court must lower the bond amount. An appellate court may
review the bond amount but may not increase the amount above the cap.

Claims against public health-care workers. HB 4 extends the limit on personal liability for
governmental employees to include health-care personnel of a public hospital and limits the liability
of anonprofit organization that manages a hospital for a city or hospital district.

Damages. A jury may award exemplary (punitive) damages only if the claimant proves by clear and
convincing evidence that the harm resulted from fraud, malice, or gross negligence and if the jury
votes unanimously to award exemplary damages. The bill limits the recovery of medical or health-
care expenses to the amount actually paid or incurred by or on behalf of the claimant.

School employees. A person must exhaust all administrative remedies before filing suit againsta
professional employee of a school district. An employee may recover attorney’s fees and court
costs from the plaintiffifthe employee is found to be immune from liability. The bill expands the
immunity granted to school employees under federal law to a person who provides services for a
private school.

Admissibility of evidence in civil action. Evidence that a convalescent or nursing home has
been found by the Texas Department of Health to have violated a standard for participating in the
Medicaid program or that the institution has had a monetary penalty assessed against it is not
admissible in court, except when the state or local agency seeking an enforcement action is a party
to the case or when the violation relates to the particular incident and individual whose personal
injury is the basis of the claim brought in the case. Evidence as to the use or nonuse of a seatbelt is
admissible in a civil case filed on or after July 1, 2003.

Successor liability for asbestos-related litigation. The bill limits a successor corporation’s
asbestos-related liabilities to the fair market value of the acquired company’s total gross assets at
the time of a merger or consolidation, if the acquisition that generated the asbestos-related liability
took place before May 13, 1968.

Liability of certain service providers. HB 4 immunizes all volunteers of a charitable organization
from civil liability for any act or omission within the volunteer’s scope of duty. A volunteer fire
department or firefighter is liable for damages only to the extent that a county or county employee
providing the same or similar emergency response services would be liable. In an action alleging
professional negligence against a registered architect or licensed professional engineer, the plaintiff
must file an affidavit of a third-party design professional setting forth a specific negligent act of the
defendant.
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Supporters said HB 4 would make comprehensive reforms in Texas’ system of tort liability law,
creating a system that offers balance and fairness for all parties. The current lawsuit environment
breeds litigiousness, which diminishes the peace of a civil society. Juries often appear to render
“Jackpot” verdicts without first considering how much they will increase the costs of products and
services to the average consumer.

Class actions. HB 4 would enable class members to recover fully for their injuries. Under the
current system, class attorneys often receive more recovery than the class members themselves
receive. Requiring courts to apply the Lodestar method of calculating attorneys’ fees would ensure
thatattorneys do notreceive a windfall for aminimal amount of work but that they are paid properly for
services rendered. The bill would end the proliferation of “coupon settlements” that entitle class
members to a discount off their next purchase while the class attorneys reap millions of dollars.

Settlement offers. HB 4 would give parties an incentive to settle cases early, helping to unclog the
courts by reducing the number of cases that go to trial. Rejecting parties would risk losing their
attorney’s fees and costs from the time of the offer to the end of trial if they did not accept a
reasonable offer. Offering parties would be encouraged to make reasonable settlement offers early,
because they could receive reimbursement for their fees and costs from the rejecting parties if the
offer was more favorable than the judgment for the plaintiffs.

Productliability. HB 4 would protect innocent retailers from liability for products manufactured
by someone else. Retailers often are small businesses that are in no better position to pay for an
injury than is the plaintiff. Establishing a 15-year statute of repose for product liability claims would
allow manufacturers to plan for expansion or improvement of their business without worrying about
stale claims.

Forum non conveniens and multidistrict litigation. Texas courts are clogged with cases that
do notbelong here. In some cases, Texas has no meaningful relation to the case or the parties,
other than that the plaintiffs believe they can recover more money in a Texas court than elsewhere.
Also, making venue and forum non conveniens more consistent with federal standards would give
Texas courts a more substantial basis to send cases back where they belong. Consolidating cases
that share fact issues for the purposes of pretrial matters would allow multiplaintiff cases to be heard
inamore efficient manner that would ensure justice for all parties.

Proportionate responsibility. HB 4 would ensure that all potentially responsible parties were
submitted to the fact finder. The current system confuses jurors because they are told about all of
the possibly responsible people but may assess liability only to those who are parties in the case.
This encourages plaintiffs to seek to maximize their recovery by suing defendants with the “deepest
pockets” rather than those who are most liable.

Appeal bonds. Many defendants find it difficult to pursue appeals because they cannot afford the
high cost of an appeal bond. In many cases, the cost of the bond ends the suit at the time of
judgment rather than after a rightfully brought appeal. HB 4 would limit the bonding requirement and
cap the total amount of the bond to level the playing field for defendants.

Damages. Exemplary damages should be designed to prevent a defendant from repeating a harmful
act, not to prevent a business from operating at all. Because juries often do not understand the
complexities of corporate finance, they find it difficult to ascertain the proper amount of damages to
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assess against a corporate wrongdoer. Giving judges a simple formula with which to determine
damages would assist them with this determination.

Successor liability for asbestos-related litigation. Corporations who bought other companies
years ago unknowing of potential asbestos-related litigation are going bankrupt because of lawsuits
relating to actions that occurred before their purchase occurred. Putting these companies out of
business prevents rightful claimants from receiving the compensation they deserve. A reasonable
limit on the amount of potential liability would ensure that injured people were compensated and that
the companies could remain in business.

Opponents said HB 4 would destroy benefits that the legal system has developed for ordinary
people over hundreds of years of common law and would endanger the rights of millions of Texans.
The bill effectively would slam the courthouse doors in the faces of plaintiffs with valid claims and
would encourage defendants to continue wrongful business practices by removing the threat of suit.

Class actions. By making it more difficult to maintain class actions, HB 4 would prevent thousands
of people from being able to obtain the justice they deserve. The Lodestar method of determining
fees would do more to reduce the defendant’s payout than to increase recovery by an injured class.

Settlement offers. HB 4 would create a greater “litigation lottery” than now exists by forcing
parties to guess the value of their cases early in the process at the risk of losing litigation costs. The
penalty assessed against arejecting party that did not receive a high enough judgment would
preclude many injured claimants from receiving the amount of recovery they deserved.

Productliability. Protecting manufacturers that complied with governmental regulations would
allow manufacturers to evade responsibility for injuries they cause. Governmental regulations are set
as minimum standards, not according to what is or is not safe for the average consumer, and are not
designed for setting liability limits.

Forum non conveniens and multidistrict litigation. Current venue rules give judges enough
authority to remove cases that do not belong in Texas. Plaintiffs already must plead and prove
sufficient facts to show that venue is proper. Denying a plaintiff the right to choose a forum that is
both convenient and necessary to the parties would tip the balance in the favor of the defense.
Combining multiplaintiff cases is not in the interest of justice. Making the parties join together for
purposes of pretrial procedure ignores the uniqueness of each plaintiff’s injuries. A single judge
reviewing a block of hundreds of cases cannot give each case the individual attention it needs and
deserves.

Proportionate responsibility. Plaintiffs have the right to sue any and all parties that they believe
are liable for their injuries, and they risk being barred forever from claims against necessary parties
that they fail to sue. Requiring the designation of all potential defendants would be unfair to plaintiffs.
A defendant could bring a string of possible defendants into the case in name only and encourage
juries to assess damages to the imaginary defendants.

Appeal bonds. The purpose of an appeal bond is to ensure a plaintiff’s recovery in the event that
the defendant tries to skip out on the judgment. Capping the amount of the bond would limita
party’s ability to recover the full amount of damages if the defendant defaulted on the bond, because
the cap often is lower than the judgment amount.
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Damages. Exemplary damages are intended to punish wrongdoers for egregious harm so that they
will notrepeat harmful acts. Limiting exemplary damages would undermine a jury’s ability to send
the proper message to a wrongdoer. Jurors decide murder cases and other cases, and they can be
trusted to determine the amount of exemplary damages to assess.

Successor liability for asbestos-related litigation. Absolving companies of liability for
asbestos-related claims would prevent thousands of injured Texans from receiving compensation to
which they are entitled. These companies bought their predecessors understanding the potential for
future lawsuits, and they should not be allowed to shirk their responsibility.

The HRO analysis appeared in the March 19 Daily Floor Report.
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Capping noneconomic damages in medical and other liability cases

HJR 3 by Nixon, et al.
On September 13, 2003, ballot

HJR 3 proposes amending the Texas Constitution to authorize the Legislature to set limits on
noneconomic damages in medical and other liability cases. This authority would apply to laws
relating to medical liability enacted during the regular session of the 78th Legislature or in later
regular or special sessions. After January 1,2005, this authority would apply to limiting noneconomic
damages in all other types of liability cases, subject to approval by a three-fifths vote of all members
elected to each house.

The amendment would define “economic damages’ as compensatory damages for any pecuniary
loss or damage. Such damages would not include any loss or damage, however characterized, for
past, present, and future physical pain and suffering, loss of consortium, loss of companionship and
society, disfigurement, or physical impairment.

The Legislature’s authority to limit noneconomic damages would apply regardless of whether the
claim or cause of action arose or was derived from common law, a statute, or other law, including
tort, contract, or any other liability theory or combination of theories. The claim or cause of action
would include a medical or health-care liability claim, as defined by the Legislature, based on a
medical or health-care provider’s treatment, lack of treatment, or other claimed departure from an
accepted standard of medical or health care or safety that caused or contributed to a person’s
actual or claimed disease, injury, or death.

If Texas voters rejected the proposed amendment, a court could not consider any aspect of the
vote for any purpose, in any manner, or to any extent.

Supporters said Texans should be allowed to decide whether limiting noneconomic damages is
an appropriate action for the Legislature to take. Texas faces a crisis in medical malpractice
insurance caused by increases in the size of damage awards. Physicians in some areas, burdened by
large increases in the cost of their liability insurance, have limited their practices, retired early, or left
the state, jeopardizing Texans’ access to health care. A key solution to this crisis would be to
impose a $250,000 cap on noneconomic damages, as enacted in HB 4 by Nixon. The state faced a
similar crisis when the 65th Legislature enacted a cap on noneconomic damages in 1977, but the
Texas Supreme Court ruled the cap unconstitutional except in cases of wrongful death. Texas
voters, not the courts, should decide whether their elected lawmakers can enact reasonable and
necessary solutions to persistent problems with the liability system. Voters should be able to decide
this issue quickly so that caps on noneconomic damages could take effect without delay. The
proposed amendment would ensure that future courts could not overturn the Legislature’s attempts
to resolve the medical malpractice crisis.

The amendment could fail for reasons unrelated to its merits, such as national or international events,
bad weather, other issues or candidates on the ballot, or voter confusion over the ballot language. If
damage caps faced a legal challenge, the courts should not be able to consider the outcome ofthe
vote on the amendment in deciding the constitutionality of damage caps.
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Opponents said Texans should not be asked to give the Legislature free rein to restrict their
constitutionally protected access to relief in court when they suffer losses and seek to establish
liability for damages. No one can predict what other types of caps a future legislature might enact
under the broad, open-ended authority in this amendment. Some caps might be acceptable, while
others might not, but the courts are the appropriate forum to decide these issues.

The damage caps authorized by the proposed amendment would not lower medical malpractice
premiums, nor would they improve patient access to care. Increases in malpractice insurance rates
are due to other factors, including premiums driven artificially low in the 1990s by competition,
recent stock market performance, very low interest rates, and increases in claims and defense costs.
A cap on damages would address none of these factors, nor would it affect whether doctors could
remain in practice, yet people harmed by health-care providers would lose an important legal right
to redress.

Evenif damage caps were justified in medical malpractice cases, no similar justification exists to give
the Legislature broad authority to limit damage awards in all other types of cases. HIR 3, like HB 4,
represents an attempt to “piggyback’ onto medical malpractice limitations broader, less justifiable
liability restrictions in other types of cases. Also, requiring a vote by three-fifths of each house to
enact future caps for nonmedical liability cases would protect Texans’ interests no better than the
current system. Even though the Legislature already has the authority to enact caps with a majority
vote, the courts oversee the use of that authority, and the Constitution protects the right of access to
the courts.

The HRO analysis appeared in the March 26 Daily Floor Report.
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Creating an inactive docket for certain asbestos-related claims

SB 496 by Janek
Died in the Senate

SB 496, as reported by the Senate State Affairs Committee, would have required cases involving
asbestos-related injuries, but not incapacities, to be placed on an inactive docket established by the
Texas Supreme Court. Cases involving asbestos-related incapacities would have been placed on an
accelerated active docket. An incapacity requires proof of inability to perform certain functions, a
higher standard than that of an injury. A case placed on the inactive docket could have been moved
to the active docket by showing through objective medical criteria that the claimant had an
asbestos-related incapacity. Cases placed on the inactive docket would not have been subject to
discovery or other court orders. Claimants with an asbestos-related injury but not an incapacity
could have filed their cases on the inactive docket to preserve their ability to sue. Filing fees for the
inactive docket would have gone into a dedicated account in general revenue.

Supporters said Texas has almost half of the nation’s 200,000 pending asbestos cases, and
creating an inactive docket for some cases would increase efficiency and fairness in dealing with
asbestos-related claims. Courts in other states have created similar types of dockets. Many cases
brought by plaintiffs who have had been exposed to asbestos but are not incapacitated are clogging
active dockets, making it impossible for many seriously injured plaintiffs to obtain relief. SB 496
would ensure that incapacitated plaintiffs could obtain the relief they needed, while preserving the
rights of recovery of those who have been injured by asbestos.

The bill would assure plaintiffs of their ability to recover, because they could place their cases on the
inactive docket and later remove them to the active docket if the plaintiffs became incapacitated. It
would ensure that the most seriously injured plaintiffs received compensation by accelerating their
cases ahead of less urgent cases. Businesses bearing the burden of expensive asbestos claims would
have to pay damages only to claimants who were incapacitated and not to those who might become
injured in the future.

Opponents said the courts, not the Legislature, should resolve any problem with asbestos cases
to preserve the separation of powers. Requiring the creation of an inactive docket would prevent
many people from recovering compensation for their injuries, because the bill would set too high a
hurdle for a case to be removed to the active docket. By preventing many valid claims from being
adjudicated, SB 496 would enable companies that have caused great harm to thousands of Texans
to avoid paying compensation. Many plaintiffs cannot afford an attorney except on the basis ofa
contingency fee taken from any recovery received, and because the inactive docket would prevent
any recovery until a case was removed to the active docket, many plaintiffs could not obtain the
legal help they would need simply to preserve their claims. The state should allow the court system
to continue to hold these companies liable for the harm they have caused.

Notes: The companion bill, HB 1240 by Nixon, died in the House Calendars Committee.
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Prohibiting death sentence for person found mentally retarded

HB 614 by Keel, et al.
Died in the Senate

HB 614 would have prohibited a death sentence for a person found by a jury to be mentally
retarded and would have established procedures for presenting evidence of mental retardation
to the jury. The jury’s decision would have been made during the sentencing phase of a capital
trial. A defendant who wanted the jury to consider the issue of mental retardation would have
had to file with the court and the prosecutor a written notice of intent to raise the issue,
accompanied by objective evidence of the defendant’s potential mental retardation. The bill
would have required courts to order the examination of defendants by qualified experts upon
receiving objective evidence of mental retardation from any source. Upon request by the
defense, a jury would have had to answer a specific question about whether the defendant was
mentally retarded. Courts would have had to tell juries that if they decided a defendant was
mentally retarded, the defendant would be sentenced to life in prison.

Supporters said HB 614 would establish clear, fair procedures to implement the U.S.
Supreme Court’s ban in Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. _ (2002), on the execution of the
mentally retarded. HB 614 would protect the role of juries by allowing them to determine
whether a defendant was mentally retarded and would mirror current law, which requires juries
to decide about whether a defendant is a future danger and whether any mitigating
circumstances would preclude a death sentence. It is appropriate to ask the jury that hears
evidence and facts about a murder to decide whether the defendant has mental retardation.
Details about how a defendant planned, carried out, or covered up a murder can shed light on
whether the person is mentally retarded and can reflect the person’s adaptive, functioning,
social, and interpersonal skills.

HB 614 simply would create one more special issue to be decided by a jury during a trial’s
punishment phase. It would weave the issue of mental retardation into Texas’ already
established and court-approved death penalty procedures.

The bill would require the determination of mental retardation to be made during the punishment
phase of a trial because deciding whether someone will receive a death sentence or life
imprisonment is a punishment decision. No other fact relating to punishment is decided before a
trial. Requiring the decision before trial would lead to unnecessary delays in capital trials, with
most or even all defendants claiming mental retardation.

The bill would not include a specific 1Q score for determining whether a person could be
presumed to be mentally retarded. Such a finding should not be decided by any hard and fast
rule, but by considering all the evidence.

Opponents said the procedure established by HB 614 would not be fair or cost effective. It
would be better to decide the question of mental retardation before a trial began, not during
the sentencing phase. This would be in line with current procedures that allow questions about
a defendant’s competency to stand trial to be decided beforehand.
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HB 614 inappropriately and unfairly would ask jurors, who had heard the often horrible and
gruesome details of a capital murder and decided that the defendant was guilty of the murder,
to decide impartially the question of mental retardation. Whether a defendant has mental
retardation should be an objective, clinical determination that is not colored by the emotion of a
murder trial. The facts and circumstances of a crime are irrelevant as to whether someone has
mental retardation. HB 614 could lead to court challenges with defendants arguing that they did
not receive due process and were harmed because the jury was prejudiced.

Deciding the issue of mental retardation after a trial would be more costly than deciding the
issue beforehand. If a defendant was found to be mentally retarded before trial, the cost of a
capital trial — which averages $2 million by some estimates — could be avoided. These
defendants still could be tried for the crimes and given life sentences, but without the costly
special procedures that are part of all capital trials.

Allowing the issue of mental retardation to be decided before trial would not cause unnecessary
delays or lead to all defendants claiming mental retardation. Baseless claims of mental
retardation could be avoided by requiring claims of mental retardation to be supported by
evidence.

Other opponents said that a judge, not a jury, should decide whether a defendant had
mental retardation. Judges have the experience and training necessary to weigh complicated
evidence and to make objective decisions.

HB 614 is unnecessary. Texas’ criminal justice system already has many safeguards to prevent
execution of the mentally retarded, including allowing the issue of mental retardation to be
raised when examining a defendant’s competency to stand trial and allowing the issue to be
considered as a factor that could mitigate against imposing the death penalty.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the April 24 Daily Floor Report.
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Requiring probation for possession of certain controlled substances

HB 2668 by Allen, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 2668 requires a judge to place a defendant on community supervision (probation) upon
conviction of a state-jail felony offense of possession of certain controlled substances. If the
defendant previously was convicted of a felony, the judge can place the defendant on community
supervision or sentence him or her to a term of incarceration in a state jail. Unless the judge makes
an affirmative finding that the defendant does not require treatment to complete the period of
community supervision successfully, the judge must require the defendant to undergo substance-
abuse treatment. The bill also requires the Drug Demand Reduction Advisory Committee to inform
courts and prosecutors about grants and other sources of revenue to assist in providing the
treatment.

Supporters said HB 2668 would divert defendants convicted of minor drug crimes from state jail
to probation, saving the state an average $40 per inmate per day and making more prison beds
available for violent offenders. The bill would help alleviate the severe overcrowding of prison space
projected by the Criminal Justice Policy Council. It also would help reduce crowded court dockets,
because offenders, ensured the fair option of probation, would have less incentive to take cases to
trial. Probation is a more appropriate and effective punishment for minor drug crimes than isjail
time. As drug courts have proven, treatment for offenders who commit drug-related crimes is
effective inreducing recidivismrates.

Opponents said mandating probation for drug offenders would be inappropriate. Judges should
have the discretion to decide when to grant probation, based on the facts of the case and the
defendant’s characteristics. The bill would remove prosecutors’ bargaining power, because a
defendant, ensured of probation, would have nothing to lose by going to trial and, therefore, no
incentive to reach a plea bargain. As aresult, the bill could clog courts’ trial dockets with minor
drug-possession cases. HB 2668 inappropriately would reduce punishment for possession of
serious drugs, including cocaine and heroin. It would send the message that personal use is
acceptable, even though these drugs pose very dangerous health risks.

Other opponents said the bill would not go far enough because it would not allow a defendant
to clear his or her record after successfully completing a term of probation. Ex-felons face many
handicaps, such as the loss of the right to vote and serve on juries. That classification should be
reserved for the most serious offenders.

The HRO analysis appeared in the May 1 Daily Floor Report.
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Making evidence tested by unaccredited crime laboratory inadmissible

HB 2703 by Bailey, et. al.
Effective June 20, 2003

HB 2703 makes inadmissible in court physical evidence and testimony regarding the evidence if, at
the time of forensic analysis or the time the evidence is submitted to the court, the crime laboratory
or other entity conducting the analysis is not accredited by the Department of Public Safety (DPS).
The bill does not apply to latent print examinations, breath tests, and examinations exempted by rule
by the DPS director. Until September 1,2005, physical evidence is admissible regardless of the
accreditation status of the crime laboratory if the laboratory preserves one or more separate samples of
the physical evidence and agrees to do so until all appeals in the case are final. The DPS director
must establish an accreditation process for crime laboratories and other entities, including DNA
laboratories, and must regulate DNA testing. The director can exempt certain crime laboratories
from the accreditation process if independent accreditation is unavailable or inappropriate, the type
of examination is admissible under a well-established rule of evidence, and the type of test
performed is conducted routinely outside of a crime laboratory.

Supporters said HB 2703 would establish minimum standards that would help bring all
laboratories in Texas up to national standards and would prevent the kind of shoddy forensic
analyses that threaten to taint the state’s criminal justice system. A DPS audit in December 2002
found widespread problems in the unaccredited Houston Police Department (HPD) crime lab. The
audit team found that lab personnel lacked necessary training and experience; that a leaking roof
might have contaminated evidence; that the 1ab had failed to calibrate properly equipment and
instruments used in DNA testing; and that trial testimony of lab analysts had been based on
questionable lab results. HB 2703 would prevent these kinds of abuses in the future. Requiring
accreditation would ensure that laboratories received the funding, and employees received the
training, necessary to function properly. Laboratories would undergo internal and external audits on
aroutine basis, ensuring that any problems would be detected early and that laboratories would
have to keep up with changes in technology regarding DNA testing. Prosecutors, courts, and juries
give great weight to forensic evidence, and it is essential that such analyses be reliable. HPD and the
Harris County District Attorney’s Office are reviewing cases as far back as 1992 involving DNA
evidence that was tested at the HPD crime lab and that inculpated the defendant, to determine
whether the evidence should be retested.

Opponents said HB 2703 would do nothing to address cases that already have been decided on
the basis of unreliable forensic analyses from unaccredited labs.

Other opponents said HB 2703 would not go far enough. To protect the rights of criminal
defendants fully, the bill should allow them to obtain through discovery the error rate for the
laboratory where the evidence was tested and should make the error rate admissible at trial. That
would enable the jury to consider the laboratory’s record in deciding whether to trust the forensic
analysis.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the April 29 Daily Floor Report.
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Creating criminal and civil penalties for death of an unborn child

SB 319 by Armbrister, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 319 allows criminal and civil penalties to be imposed for the death or injury of an unborn child.
Itamends the statutes dealing with wrongful death to include in the definition of an “individual” an
unborn child atevery state of gestation from fertilization until birth. In the criminal statute, the bill
defines “death,” for an individual who is an unborn child, as including the failure to be born alive.
Penal Code provisions regarding criminal homicide and assault do not apply to the death or injury of
anunborn child ifthe conduct charged is:

. committed by the mother of the unborn child;

. alawful medical procedure performed by a doctor or other licensed health-care provider
who had the required consent, and the death of the unborn child was the intended result of
the procedure;

. alawful medical procedure performed by a doctor or other licensed health-care provider
with consent as part of an assisted reproduction as defined by the Family Code; or

. the lawful dispensation or administration of a drug.

Penal Code provisions regarding intoxication assault and intoxication manslaughter do not apply to
the death or injury of an unborn child if the conduct was committed by the child’s mother.

SB 319 applies the Civil Practice and Remedies Code provisions regarding wrongful death ifan
individual (including an unborn child) who is injured would have been entitled to bring an action for
his or her injury ifthe child had been born alive. Civil remedies for wrongful death of an unborn child
are subject to exceptions similar to those under the criminal statute.

Supporters said SB 319 would close a gap in current law by allowing criminal and civil penalties
for a third party who wrongfully injured or killed an unborn child against the mother’s wishes
through actions such as murder, assault, or drunk driving. Current criminal law does not protect an
unborn child from harm inflicted by a third party against the mother’s wishes, and civil law does not
allow parents to sue for the wrongful death of their unborn child. SB 319 would be only a modest
change to Texas law because other existing laws recognize unborn children independently of their
mothers and give them certain protections and rights.

SB 319 would not infringe on a woman’s right to have an abortion or any other legal medical
procedure to which the mother had consented. Concerns that the bill is designed to limit abortions
or lay the groundwork to limit abortions are unfounded. The bill would make clear, specific
exceptions to the applications of the law for any action to which a pregnant woman consented,
including abortion. Similar laws in other states have been upheld and have not limited a woman’s
right to abortion.

A majority of states allow civil and criminal penalties along the lines of those in SB 319. Thirty-
seven states and the District of Columbia allow parents to sue for the wrongful death of an unborn
child, and 27 states treat the killing of an unborn child against the mother’s wishes as a form of
homicide.
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Predictions that SB 319 would limit health care by exposing doctors to increased liability are
unfounded. The bill’s specific, clear exceptions for lawful medical procedures performed with a
woman’s consent would protect health-care providers from frivolous lawsuits. SB 319 simply
would expand the class of people on whose behalf civil suits for wrongful death could be brought.
Liability should not be limited when it comes to pregnant women and their unborn children. Courts
could weigh whether lawsuits were frivolous.

Opponents said SB 319 could establish a statutory foundation to restricta woman’s right to
abortion. The bill could resultin a fetus being elevated to the legal status of personhood, resulting in
aback-door approach to restricting women’s access to abortion. The bill could be used to bring
endless lawsuits or criminal charges against abortion providers, making them reluctant to perform
this legal procedure and reducing access to abortion for women.

SB 319 would expose doctors to increased liability for medical malpractice suits. It could result in
higher malpractice insurance rates for doctors and in their restricting or limiting the medical
procedures they were willing to perform on pregnant women. This could increase the costs ofan
already overburdened health-care system and could result in less access for women to obstetricians
and gynecologists. The bill unwisely would create a new cause of action for civil lawsuits and could
lead to increases in frivolous litigation and to the imposition of criminal penalties in inappropriate
situations.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Three of the May 26 Daily Floor Report.
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Allowing life without parole for capital murder

SB 348 by Lucio, et al.
Died in the Senate

SB 348 would have given juries the option of sentencing defendants found guilty of capital murder
to life in prison without the possibility of parole. In a capital case in which the state did not seek the
death penalty, if the defendant was found guilty or pleaded guilty or no contest, the court would
have had to conduct a separate sentencing proceeding to determine whether the defendant should
be sentenced to life imprisonment or to life without parole.

Supporters said juries in capital murder cases are limited to choosing between death and a life
sentence that carries a possibility of parole —not always acceptable alternatives. Though the
current parole rate is low, it has been as high as 79 percent, and some inmates have had death
sentences commuted to life in prison and have been paroled. Allowing a sentence of life without
parole would give courts maximum flexibility in deciding punishments and would allow the death
penalty to be reserved for the most heinous cases, while ensuring that some other capital murderers
are never released back into society and live the rest of their lives in prison. SB 348 would give
victims’ families and friends the peace of mind of knowing that a murderer sentenced to life in prison
never would be eligible for release, and it would give prosecutors another tool for reaching plea
agreements. The bill also would help ensure that an innocent person was not executed and would
address concerns about the morality of the state taking a life and the unequal application of the
death penalty to the poor and to minorities. It would bring Texas into line with the federal
government and the 46 states that offer a sentence of life without parole with 35 of the 38 states that
have the death penalty offering the option. Life without parole could be legislated so as to withstand
court scrutiny and fit into Texas’ death penalty punishment scheme. Resources now spent on
pursuing the death penalty and responding to a lengthy appeals process would be used better to
manage a prison population sentenced to life without parole.

Opponents said the punishment options already available to Texas juries in capital cases serve to
punish offenders adequately and to protect the public. Life without parole already is available in
effect, since capital murderers given life sentences must serve 40 year before being eligible for
parole, and the average age of persons received on death row is about 27. Also, eligibility for
parole does not guarantee release — two-thirds of the 18-member Board of Pardons and Paroles
must vote for release, an unlikely scenario. The procedures that Texas uses to determine punishment
in capital murder cases have been well-litigated, and any changes to current law would have to
undergo court scrutiny, lengthening the appeals process and temporarily halting executions.
Managing inmates without being able to use parole as an incentive for good behavior would be
difficultand expensive. Life without parole inappropriately could replace the death penalty if juries
consistently exercised that option, which would be inadequate punishment for the most heinous
crimes.

Notes: The companion bill, HB 590 by Dutton, et al., and a similar bill, HB 366 by Dutton, died in
the House Criminal Jurisprudence Committee.
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Preventing, prosecuting, and punishing identity theft

SB 405 by Hinojosa
Died in the House

SB 405 would have created new offenses and remedies relating to identity theft. A person could
not have obtained, possessed, transferred, or used personal identifying information of another
person without that person’s consent and with fraudulent intent. Businesses would have had to
implement and maintain procedures to preventunlawful use of personal identifying information
collected by them. The bill would have established a state-jail felony (punishable by 180 days to
two years in a state jail and an optional fine of up to $10,000) for using a scanning device or re-
encoder to access, scan, store, or transfer information encoded on the magnetic strip of a payment
card without the authorized user’s consent and with intent to harm the user.

A person who violated the above provisions would have been liable for a civil penalty of between
$2,000 and $50,000 for each violation in a suit brought by the attorney general, as well as
attorney’s fees, court costs, and restitution for a victim. The attorney general could have brought an
action for a restraining order or injunction to prevent a person from engaging in prohibited conduct.
A person injured by a violation could have applied to a district court for issuance of a court order
declaring that the person was a victim of identity theft.

A person who accepted a debit or credit card for a business transaction could not have printed
more than the last four digits of the account number or the month and year of the card’s expiration
date on areceipt. A violator would have been liable to the state for a civil penalty not to exceed
$500 for each month during which a violation occurred.

A peace officer who received areport of identity theft would have had to make a written report and
provide the victim with a copy of the report. Identity theft could have been prosecuted in any county
where the identifying information was obtained or used or in the victim’s county of residence. The
director of the Department of Public Safety (DPS) would have had to create an identity theft unit to
help local law enforcement agencies investigate identity theft.

The bill would have prevented a state or local governmental entity from disclosing certain personal
information, including social security numbers. Governmental entities would have had to establish
procedures to ensure that they collected personal information only to the extent reasonably
necessary to accomplish a legitimate governmental purpose. Local and state governments would
have had to develop written privacy policies. A consumer reporting agency would have had to
follow procedures in preparing or disseminating information to ensure maximum possible accuracy
of the information about the consumer.

Supporters said SB 405 would help combat identity theft, the nation’s fastest growing crime. It
would protect victims of identity crimes and give reliefto Texans who have lost valuable years of
their lives and large sums of money trying to reestablish their credit ratings. Victims would be entitled
to a court order declaring them to be victims ofidentity theft, which they could provide to employers
who requested a criminal background check or, in a worst-case scenario, to police officers who
arrested them because thieves had committed crimes in their names.
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SB 405 would give law enforcement the tools to investigate these crimes effectively by creating an
identity theft unit within DPS to assist local law enforcement. Because credit bureaus often will not
believe a victim’s story without areport to back it up, the bill would require a peace officer to make
apolice report of an allegation of identity theft. The attorney general could pursue identity thieves
and impose hefty civil fines for violations.

SB 405 would ensure that government agencies were more responsible when collecting and
distributing personal information that citizens must provide for everyday purposes, such as to obtain
adriver’s license. It also would impose reasonable requirements on businesses to protect
consumers’ identifying information. For example, ifa request for a consumer report included an
address for the consumer that differed from the address in the file, the agency would have to notify
the requestor, and credit issuers would have to verify a change of address before issuing a new
card. This would prevent an identity thief from substituting his or her home address for that of the
victim and having new credit cards sent directly to the thief.

Opponents said better enforcement of existing laws and better education for consumers on how
to protect themselves would make SB 405 unnecessary. While the bill’s goals are worthy, the cost
to the state of implementing it, estimated at $500,000, would be too high in view of the state’s
current fiscal crisis. The financial impact on cities would be especially harsh. Developing privacy
policies, establishing procedures to limit the collection of personal information, redacting public
records, or creating separate systems of records for information that could or could not be
disclosed would require additional resources such as computer programs and personnel. Also,
preventing cities from disclosing personal information could harm businesses that use this information
for awide range of legitimate purposes.

The requirement that a credit-card issuer verify a change of address would be burdensome and
costly and would not prevent identity theft. Only a very small portion of identity theft occurs through
address changes. Also, complying with provisions that would prohibit more than four numbers to be
printed on a credit card receipt could be costly, because new receipt machines cost about $500,
which could be alarge expense for small businesses.

Other opponents said HB 405 would not go far enough. It should require consumer reporting
agencies to take simple precautions to identify consumers before releasing credit reports, such as
matching at least four separate items of identification regarding the consumer with information about
the consumer in the file.

Notes: HB 254 by Kolkhorst, effective September 1, 2003, allows identity theft to be prosecuted
either in the county where the offense occurred or in the county where the victim lives. SB 235 by
Fraser, also effective September 1, requires sellers to print no more than the last four digits of a
credit card account number or the month and year of the card’s expiration date on a receipt.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 27 Daily Floor Report.
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Allowing consumers to place security alert and freeze on consumerfiles

SB 473 by Ellis, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 473 gives consumers the right to request a security alert or a security freeze on their files held
by consumer reporting agencies. A security alert notifies a recipient of a consumer report that the
consumer’s identity may have been used without the consumer’s consent to obtain goods or
services fraudulently. A security freeze prohibits a consumer reporting agency fromreleasing a
reportrelating to the extension of credit involving that consumer without the consumer’s express
authorization.

A consumer reporting agency must place a security alert on a consumer’s file within 24 hours of
receiving the consumer’s request to do so, and the alert must remain in effect for at least 45 days. A
person who receives notification of a security alert in connection with a request for a consumer
report for the approval of a credit-based application or for an application for a noncredit-related
service may not lend money, extend credit, or authorize an application without taking reasonable
steps to verify the consumer’s identity.

Upon arequest thatincludes a copy of a valid police report or complaint of identity theft, an agency
must place a security freeze on a consumer’s file within five business days. Within 10 days, the
agency must send confirmation to the consumer along with a unique identification number or
password that the consumer may use to authorize removal or temporary lifting of the security freeze.
Security freezes do not apply to a consumer report provided to a state or local governmental entity
acting under a court order, warrant, subpoena, or administrative subpoena. Security freezes and
alerts do not apply to certain companies, including check service companies. The attorney general
may file suit for injunctive reliefto prevent a violation of these provisions or for a civil penalty not to
exceed $2,000 per violation.

Effective January 1,2005, SB 473 also generally prohibits a person, other than a governmental
entity, from:

. intentionally communicating or making available to the general public a person’s social
security number;

4 displaying a person’s social security number on a card or other device required to obtain a
product or service;

. requiring a person to transmit a social security number over the Internet, unless the
connection is secure or the number is encrypted;

. requiring a person’s social security number for access to an Internet website, unless a
password or other authentication device also is required; or

. printing a person’s social security number on any materials, other than a form or application,

sent by mail, unless required by state or federal law.

Supporters said SB 473 would help curb identity theft, one of the nation’s fastest growing
crimes. It would enable victims of identity theft to control the flow of their credit information by
imposing a security alert or freeze on their consumer files. Security alerts have been proven effective
in other states in preventing identity theft. A security alert also is an effective first line of defense
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against fraud, because it requires verification of the consumer’s identity. While some consumer
reporting agencies already use a security alert system, their practices are inconsistent and ineffective.
A security freeze only would prohibit an agency from releasing a report relating to the extension of
credit, so any concerns about helping criminals conceal their records are misplaced. Agencies could
release information to employers regarding prospective employees’ backgrounds regardless of
whether or not a security freeze was in place.

A consumer could lift the security freeze for a certain period or for a specific person and could ask
that the freeze be removed if the case was resolved or if the consumer found the freeze to be
inconvenient. A freeze would not prevent a consumer from locking in an interest rate for a home
loan. In fact, the ability to lift a freeze within three days would allow consumers to designate a
period of time or requestor so that a mortgage loan could be made.

SB 473 also would help reduce the risk of identity theft by restricting public availability of social
security numbers. It would prohibit the public display or disclosure of social security numbers in
mail, onreceipts, and on the Internet. The bill would not prohibit private entities from using social
security numbers but would affirm their right to do so for internal purposes. The bill’s provisions for
confidentiality of social security numbers would not apply to the public sector because of the
overwhelming cost of converting records. However, reducing the private sector’s reliance on social
security numbers would minimize the impact of identity theft.

Opponents said SB 473 would take consumers down the wrong path by allowing them to
impose a security freeze on their files. Shoppers who imposed a freeze would be inconvenienced
later if they wanted to make a major purchase such as a car. Also, shoppers at retail stores could
not obtain in-store credit, because an agency could take up to three days to lift a security freeze.
Many consumers would forget to remove the freeze, which would deny them access to credit. A
freeze also could prevent a consumer from locking in an interest rate for ahome loan.

SB 473 could have the unintended consequence of helping criminals conceal their history. Some
consumer reporting agencies run background checks for employers and apartment owners, among
other entities. A sexual predator could impose a security freeze on his or her consumer file in an
attempt to prevent prospective employers from obtaining information.

The bill would harm Internet commerce. Consumers shopping online do not realize which credit
reporting agencies are used by which lenders or even who the lenders are. Therefore, they would

have a hard time knowing which agency to call to lift the freeze on their consumer files.

Other opponents said SB 473 is unnecessary. Consumer credit agencies already use effective
security alert systems to protect consumers from identity theft.

SB 473 would not go far enough. It should prohibit display or disclosure of social security numbers
by the public sector, which also can lead to identity theft.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.

Page 30

House Research Organization



Defense to prosecution for trespass by people licensed to carry handguns

SB 501 by Armbrister, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 501 creates an exception to the application of the criminal offense of trespass by a holder of a
concealed handgun license if the property on which the license holder carried a handgun was owned
or leased by a governmental entity and was not a premise or other place on which the license holder
was prohibited from carrying the handgun by Penal Code, sec. 46.03 or46.035. The bill creates a
defense to prosecution for criminal trespass if the basis on which entry on the property, land, or
building was forbidden was that entry with a handgun was forbidden and if the person was carrying
aconcealed handgun and was licensed to do so. The bill also makes the Penal Code prohibition
against weapons in certain places apply to the premises of government courts and court offices,
instead of only to the courts and court offices themselves.

Supporters said SB 501 would make it clear that local governments or entities could not prohibit
concealed handgun licensees from carrying concealed handguns on certain properties. Some cities,
counties, and transit authorities have misinterpreted current law and an attorney general’s opinion as
authorizing them to ban concealed handguns from public places.

Cities and counties ignore the Constitution and the concealed-carry law’s original intent when they
ban weapons from any location other than the specific places listed in state statute. The Legislature
considered and rejected bans on concealed handguns in many of the places where local
governments now say they are off limits. Under the Texas Constitution, only the Legislature ora
federal authority can regulate where licensees may carry concealed handguns. Local control,
although an important concept in Texas, does not extend to constitutional rights. Prohibiting
weapons in public places violates the rights of license holders and could make it needlessly difficult
for a person lawfully carrying a concealed handgun to perform necessary tasks such as paying a
utility bill or renewing a car registration.

Opponents said rescinding the authority of local governments to ban concealed weapons on
public property by changing current law would erode local control and would result in local
governments being treated differently from other property owners. Current law gives local
governments the same rights as private property owners to regulate property under their control and
to prohibit concealed handguns on their property. Local governments, not the state, should make
decisions about the use of local public property and the need for public safety restrictions.

Local government entities are not overstepping their authority or violating the Texas Constitution but
are using authority granted to them by the Legislature. Following enactment of the original
concealed-handgun law in 1995, the 75th Legislature in 1997 authorized property owners, including
local governments, to ban concealed handguns. Local governments are not violating anyone’s rights
by prohibiting handguns on certain public properties. License holders are not being barred from
conducting any necessary public business; they simply are prohibited from bringing their concealed
weapons onto certain properties.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 9 Daily Floor Report.
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Requiring use of biometric identifiers for driver’s license system

SB 945 by Ogden
Died in the House

SB 945 would have required the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to create an identification
system for driver’s license applicants using the biometric identifiers of facial images, thumbprints,
and fingerprints. DPS would have had to authenticate the biometric identifiers of applicants for
personal identification certificates, driver’s licenses, and commercial driver’s licenses so that an
applicantreceived only one original license, permit, or certificate; did not obtain a duplicate
fraudulently; and did not commit other fraud in connection with the application. DPS would have
had to accept as proof of identity when issuing driver’s licenses an identity document issued by
another country’s government, such as a passport, consular identity document, or national identity
document, ifthe document contained certain information and the other country had procedures by
which DPS could verify the document.

SB 945 would have raised the fee for obtaining and renewing a driver’s license from $24 to $30.
Before September 1, 2005, $6 of each fee collected for a general license issuance or renewal
would have gone to support reengineering of the driver’s license system. After August 31, 2005,

$2 of each fee would have gone to replace, maintain, or support the driver’s license system, and $4
of each fee to the state highway fund.

Supporters said SB 945 would help combat fraudulent driver’s licenses, help prevent identity
theft, bolster homeland security, and give DPS the funds to update its aging driver’s license
computer system and failing hardware, while continuing to protect the privacy of licensees and to
safeguard Texans’ private information. SB 945 would not expand current law broadly — DPS
already collects applicants’ thumbprints, which are biometric identifiers— but simply would allow
the department to collect another type of identifier and to base its identification system on the identifier.
The benefits of the state having a reliable, accurate database that law enforcement could use to
authenticate identity in combating terrorism far outweigh concerns about privacy. Other states use
biometric identifiers in connection with driver’s licenses without violating drivers’ privacy.

Safeguards in the bill would prevent abuse or sharing of biometric information. Biometric data could
be disclosed only for legitimate law enforcement purposes or under other restricted circumstances,
such as a grand jury subpoena. Concerns about the use of biometrics for some type of mass
identification program using cameras in public places are unfounded, because such situations would
not meet the requirements for disclosure.

Allowing the use ofidentity documents from other countries to verify identity when applying fora
license would not lead to an increase in fraudulent documents or jeopardize the integrity of driver’s
licenses for identification purposes, because the bill would require that DPS be able to verify the
identity document. Other countries, including Mexico, have databases that can be accessed to make
such verifications. Also, allowing the use of other countries’ documents would not reward illegal
immigrants. A driver’s license is not proof of citizenship, and granting one should not be contingent
onaperson’s immigration status. Immigration is a federal matter, and DPS should not be involved in
enforcing immigration laws atdriver’s license bureaus. It is far better for all drivers—including
undocumented workers —to be licensed and insured than for them to drive illegally.
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The license renewal fee increases in SB 945 would be modest and affordable — amounting to only
$1 per year— since licenses need to be renewed only every six years.

Opponents said using biometric identifiers for the driver’s license program would erode Texans’
individual privacy and unwisely would expand the government’s reach and power. This would be
another step in government’s efforts to gather more and more information on private citizens. SB 945
would allow biometric information on law-abiding people to be compiled into a massive database of
all licensed drivers. If this database were connected with the expanding network of cameras
positioned in many public places, the government could invade Texans’ privacy by tracking their
everyday movements.

Biometric identifiers can contain a greater amount of personal information than the photographs used
on current licenses. Analysis of biometric information can go beyond identifying a person and can
reveal highly sensitive information, such as a person’s genetic makeup or medical history. SB 945
would allow DPS to collect facial images, vastly expanding the agency’s current authority to collect
thumbprints. Also, the thumbprints now collected are not in a searchable database like the one that
SB 945 would establish.

Using biometrics on driver’s licenses would not make the licenses fraud-proofand would not help
significantly to combat terrorism. A different person’s biometric identifier could be placed on a
license, just as a photograph of one person can be placed on a license with another person’s name
and address. Most of the September 11 terrorists were in the United States legally, and most
obtained their driver’s licenses legally.

Requiring DPS to accept certain types of identity documents issued by other countries could

make itdifficultto verify an applicant’s identity, thereby increasing the possibilities for fraudulent
identification and jeopardizing the integrity of driver’s licenses as a source of identification. Also,
Texas should not make it easier for people who are in this country illegally to obtain driver’s licenses
by requiring DPS to accept other countries’ identity documents. This would facilitate their living and
working illegally in the United States.

The proposed fee increases are unwarranted, given that biometric technology is unproven for use
with alarge population like that of Texas drivers. The fee increases would hit low-income drivers

hardest.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 27 Daily Floor Report.
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Determining competency to stand trial in criminal cases

SB 1057 by Duncan
Effective January 1, 2004

SB 1057 changes procedures for determining the competency of criminal defendants to stand
trial. Standards for considering a person incompetent to stand trial remain the same as under current
law. The defense, prosecution, or court can raise the issue of whether a defendant is competent to
stand trial. SB 1057 sets minimum requirements for the background and experience of experts who
examine the defendant and requires the experts to consider several specific issues when reporting on
adefendant’s competency. A court need not hold a hearing to decide whether a defendant is
incompetent to stand trial if all parties agree that a defendant is incompetent. A court can decide
whether a defendant is competent unless the defense or prosecution or the court itself asks the jury
to decide. The jury must be different from the jury selected to decide whether the defendant was

guilty.

SB 1057 also establishes a procedure for forcing certain defendants to take psychoactive
medications. A court, after a hearing, can issue an order to compel medication only if it is supported
by two physicians and if it finds that:

. the medication is medically appropriate, is in the defendant’s best medical interest, and does
not present side effects that cause harm greater than its medical benefits;

4 the state has a clear and compelling interest in the defendant’s maintaining competency to
stand trial,;

4 no other less invasive means exists to maintain the defendant’s competency; and

. the medication would not prejudice unduly the defendant’s rights or use of defensive
theories during a trial.

The bill also establishes procedures for initial 120-day commitments to mental health or mental
retardation facilities, extended commitments to facilities, and redeterminations of competency.

Supporters said SB 1057 would streamline and clarify the process used to determine if criminal
defendants are competent to stand trial. It would make changes recommended by a legislative task
force to address complaints that current law on determining competency is confusing, complex,
repetitive, and difficult for attorneys and judges to use. SB 1057 would make the process more
efficient by no longer requiring that competency hearings be held when all parties agree thata
defendant is incompetent. However, a defendant could choose whether to have a judge or jury
make the decision.

SB 1057 would set standards for the qualifications of experts who examine defendants and would
set minimums for what they must report. Current law, which has no such requirements, results in
discrepancies in the qualification of experts and in incomplete or inadequate reports. Texas has
substantial medical expertise, so it should not be difficult to find people who meet the bill’s criteria.

The bill’s provisions for forcibly medicating a defendant would not violate a defendant’s
constitutional rights. Current law allows forcibly medicating a person who is committed civilly to a
mental health facility. SB 1057 passed the scrutiny of constitutional law experts while being
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developed, and it contains many safeguards to protect defendants and to ensure that they would be
forced to take medications only when appropriate. These provisions could help stop a vicious cycle
in which defendants go to mental health facilities and, with the use of medications, become
competent to stand trial, but then stop taking the medications, become incompetent, and are
recommitted to the facilities to regain competency.

Opponents said SB 1057’s requirements for the qualification of experts to investigate claims of
incompetency could make it more difficult for courts to find experts and would increase costs,
especially in smaller counties without a big pool of medical specialists. The provisions allowing
defendants to be medicated forcibly would violate their rights under the U.S. Constitution, including
the right to be free from unwanted physical and mental intrusions. The bill also could violate a
person’s liberty interest in bodily integrity. It would allow medication to be forced on a person who
had not even been tried or convicted of a crime and without a determination that the person was
dangerous. Forcing medication on defendants also could violate their rights to a fair trial by changing
the defendants’ demeanor and interfering with their ability to assist in their own defense.

The HRO analysis ofthe House companion bill, HB 2014 by Keel, appeared in the April 25
Daily Floor Report.
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Reorganizing the parole board and authorizing parole commissioners

SB 1678 by Whitmire
Died in conference committee

SB 1678 would have reduced the number of members of the Board of Pardons and Paroles from
18 to seven, authorized the board to hire parole commissioners to make decisions about parole, and
eliminated the current board policy committee. The governor would have continued to appoint the
board’s presiding officer, who would have hired and supervised the parole commissioners with
advice and consent of the board. Parole commissioners, along with the seven board members,
would have determined which inmates were released on parole or mandatory supervision, the
conditions of release, and the continuation, modification, and revocation of parole and mandatory
supervision. Board members and parole commissioners would have acted in panels of three to
make their decisions, and the presiding officer would have designated the composition of each
panel, which would have had to be composed of at least one board member and any combination
ofboard members and parole commissioners.

Supporters said SB 1678 would improve the organizational structure and chain of command of
the Board of Pardons and Paroles so that it could operate more effectively and efficiently. The
current 18-member board is too large to handle efficiently both its policy-making role and its day-
to-day role in deciding whether to release inmates on parole. It also can be difficult to ensure that 18
gubernatorial appointees follow the board’s procedures and rules without a clear chain of command
among board members. SB 1678 would authorize the hiring of parole commissioners to work with
the board in dealing with day-to-day parole decisions. Parole commissioners, common in other
states, would be criminal justice professionals and would be trained in parole decision-making and
inthe use of parole guidelines. Parole board members and commissioners would retain
independence and discretion in making decisions about parole. The board has policies and rules in
place, and the newly appointed board members and newly hired commissioners could include
people now on the board.

Because of constitutional requirements, board members —not parole commissioners — would
continue to make decisions about commutations and pardons. Because of other statutory
provisions, board members would continue to make decisions about parole for offenders convicted
of capital murder, certain sex offenses, and certain repeat offenders.

The bill should not amend current law to require board members to meet as a body to consider
clemency in capital murder cases. Courts have found the board’s current procedure constitutional,
and instituting such arequirement in regard to capital cases could open the door for litigation against
the board. SB 1678 is not the proper vehicle for such a change in state law.

Opponents said the board’s current structure was established in 1989 to address problems
caused by a smaller appointed board working in conjunction with hired parole commissioners. SB
1678 unwisely would move the parole system back to that problematic structure. Under the current
system, gubernatorial appointees — instead of bureaucrats hired as parole commissioners —are
held accountable for the decisions they make concerning public safety. The parole board is a
constitutionally mandated board, and its authority should not be diluted by having state employees
perform the same job as appointed board members. Also, SB 1678 could cause disruptions in the
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parole process while newly hired parole commissioners got up to speed on board policies and
procedures.

Other opponents said SB 1678 should include a requirement that the board meet as a body to
consider clemency in capital cases and that the decisions of individual board members be
announced publicly. Those measures would help prevent the execution of innocent inmates, enable
board members to be held more accountable for their decisions, and make certain decisions more
transparent to the public.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 26 Daily Floor Report.
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Allowing certain applicants for habeas corpus to be released on bond

SB 1948 by Whitmire, et. al.
Effective June 2, 2003

SB 1948 allows a convicting court to order the release on bond of an applicant for a writ of
habeas corpus, other than from a judgment imposing the death penalty, subject to conditions
imposed by the convicting court, until the applicant is denied relief, remanded to custody, or
ordered released. The convicting court can release the applicant on bond only if it makes proposed
findings of fact and conclusions of law jointly stipulated to by the applicant and the state, or if the
court approves proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law made by an attorney or magistrate
appointed by the court to perform that duty, and jointly stipulated to by the applicant and the state.

Supporters said SB 1948 would end the injustices suffered by the 13 Texans who remain in
prison after the notorious drug raid in the Panhandle town of Tulia. The uncorroborated testimony of
one undercover law enforcement officer there led to the conviction of 38 defendants for drug
trafficking, more than two dozen of whom went to prison for terms ranging from 20 to 90 years.
Thirteen wrongly convicted Texans remain in prison, although the undercover officer has been
indicted and arrested on felony perjury charges. An evidentiary hearing has been held, and joint,
stipulated findings of fact and conclusions of law have been submitted to the Court of Criminal
Appeals. All parties agree that the case presented against those defendants was rife with
inconsistencies and blatant perjury and that allowing the convictions to stand would be a travesty of
Justice.

The parties have asked the Court of Criminal Appeals to remand the cases to the convicting court,
and the special prosecutors have said they will dismiss the cases at that time. However, it could take
the court up to two years to act on this matter. In the meantime, the 13 Texans whose lives already
have been destroyed will be forced to remain in prison. The imprisoned defendants include a mother
oftwo young children and an elderly defendant with acute diabetes, who desperately need their
freedom now.

The bill had no apparent opposition.
Notes: A related bill, HB 2625 by Lewis, which died in the House, would have prohibited a
defendant from being convicted of a controlled-substance offense based solely on the

uncorroborated testimony of an undercover officer.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 25 Daily Floor Report.
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Creating the Texas Residential Construction Commission

HB 730 by Ritter, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 730 creates the Texas Residential Construction Commission; requires builders to register with
the commission and allows residential construction arbitrators to be certified by the commission;
establishes a state-sponsored inspection and dispute-resolution process; and requires the
commission to adopt limited statutory warranties and building and performance standards for new
homes. The nine-member commission includes four registered builders, three public members, and a
licensed professional engineer. A builder who is not registered with the commission may not build a
home. The commission must establish a voluntary Texas Star Builder Program for registered
builders that meet certain requirements, as well as requirements for certifying residential construction
arbitrators. The bill establishes the commission’s disciplinary powers and allows the commission to
impose a $5,000 administrative penalty for each violation of the law.

A builder orhomeowner may ask the commission to resolve a dispute arising from an alleged
construction defect. The request must be made within two years of discovering the defect, butno
later than 30 days after expiration of the applicable warranty. The bill sets timetables for the
homeowner to notify the builder of an alleged construction defect, for the commission to appointa
third-party inspector, for the inspector to issue arecommendation, and for the homeowner or
builder to appeal the inspector’s recommendation to a review panel appointed by the commission’s
executive director.

A homeowner must comply with the state-sponsored inspection and dispute-resolution process
before initiating an action to recover damages or other relief arising from an alleged construction
defect. In any action brought after arecommendation by a third-party inspector or aruling by a
panel of state inspectors, the recommendation or ruling is a rebuttable presumption of the existence
of'a construction defect or reasonable manner of repair. A party seeking to dispute, vacate, or
overcome that presumption must establish by a preponderance of the evidence that the
recommendation is inconsistent with applicable warranty and building standards.

The commission must adopt limited statutory warranties and building and performance standards for
residential construction. The bill adopts construction codes for residential construction in
unincorporated areas. The construction of each new home or home improvement must include a
warranty of habitability. A contract between a builder and homeowner may not waive the limited
statutory warranties or building and performance standards. A builder may choose to provide a
warranty through a third-party warranty company approved by the commission.

Supporters said HB 730 would establish a method for builders and homeowners to resolve
disputes without resorting to costly and lengthy litigation. The new commission would oversee
dispute resolution based on the recommendations of independent inspectors. All builders in Texas
would have to register with the commission, which would adopt building performance standards and
statutory warranties that would apply to all new homes built in Texas.

Through the state-sponsored inspection and dispute-resolution process, homeowners and builders
could resolve disputes fairly without resorting to the adversarial process set up under current law.
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Uponnoticing a construction defect in a new home, a homeowner first would contact the builder to
remedy the defect. Ifthey could notresolve a dispute over the defect, either party could ask the
commission to resolve it. The commission would have to appoint the next available inspector within
15 days, and the inspector would have to issue arecommendation within 15 or 60 days of being
appointed, depending on the nature of the defect. Current law provides no guarantee that an
inspector would be on-site this quickly to perform an inspection. In fact, both sides probably would
be hiring lawyers and experts already.

The bill would not prevent a homeowner from seeking redress at the courthouse. Following the
inspection process — including an opportunity to appeal the inspector’s recommendation to a
review panel — either party could file an action to recover damages or other relief.

HB 730 also would establish clear performance standards and warranties for new homes. Though
building codes specify how ahome is to be built, they are silent as to how a home should perform
when built. The bill would specify performance standards so that both homeowners and builders
would know exactly what standards a new home should meet. The warranties would ensure clear
and consistent application, instead of the vague implied warranties that courts have imposed.

Opponents said HB 730 would diminish the rights of homeowners who are victims of negligent
or fraudulent construction practices. It would create a commission dominated by builders, rather
than representing builders and consumers equally. In the event of a dispute between a homeowner
and builder, the homeowner would have to pay for a complex and costly bureaucratic process with
significantlegal consequences.

HB 730 would increase costs for homeowners. If a dispute arose with a builder, a homeowner
would have to participate in a so-called administrative process before going to court. The stakes for
navigating this process unwittingly would be high enough thathomeowners would have to hire
lawyers to see them through it. Participating in the mandatory process also would require a
homeowner to pay an application fee and bear the expense of a third-party inspector.

The limited warranties that the commission would adopt are in use today. In most cases, a third-
party company provides a warranty covering the entire home for one year, mechanical systems for
two years, and major structural defects for 10 years. These warranties are nearly worthless for
expensive foundation defects, because the standard for what constitutes a major structural defect is
so high. A cracked foundation is very expensive to repair and usually is covered by a limited
warranty only if it affects a load-bearing wall, rendering the house unsafe or uninhabitable. HB 730
would codify these flawed warranties in state law.

The HRO analysis appeared in the April 25 Daily Floor Report.
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Restricting unsolicited commercial e-mail or “spam”

HB 1282 by McCall
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 1282 restricts electronic mail (e-mail) sent without the recipient’s consent by a person with
whom the recipient does not have an established business relationship. The subject line of an
unsolicited commercial e-mail containing obscene or sexual content must begin with “ADV: ADULT
ADVERTISEMENT.” The subject line of an unsolicited commercial e-mail that does not include
sexual content mustbegin with “ADV:”.

The sender of an unsolicited commercial e-mail must provide a return address to which the recipient
canrequest removal from the sender’s e-mail list. The sender must remove the recipient from the list
within three days of such a request. A sender may not provide arecipient’s e-mail information to
another entity after that person has requested removal from the list. The bill also prohibits intentional
transmission of a commercial e-mail that falsifies or obscures the message’s routing information,
contains deceptive information in the subject line, or uses the domain name of another person
without that person’s consent. An e-mail service provider is not liable for an action to block a
prohibited e-mail if the provider has a dispute resolution process for senders of blocked e-mail. A
telecommunications utility or e-mail service provider cannot be held liable, and a person does not
have cause of action against such an entity, if it only provides intermediary or transmission services
ofaprohibited e-mail.

A person or e-mail service provider injured under HB 1282 may sue for damages, including lost
profits or the lesser of either $10 for each prohibited message or $25,000 for each day a prohibited
message isreceived. Failure to identify properly a sexually explicit email is a Class B misdemeanor,
punishable by up to 180 days injail and/or amaximum fine of $2,000. The attorney general can
intervene in a suit, but a court cannot certify an action as a class action. A court can protect business
trade secrets in any case brought under the legislation.

Supporters said HB 1282 would combat the growing problem of unwanted commercial e-mail
messages, often called “spam.” Industry sources estimate that spam accounts for up to 40 percent
of all e-mail traffic, costing businesses millions of dollars through lost productivity and computer
server upgrades required to handle the immense volume of messages. The bill would protect
consumers by requiring senders of spam to identify these e-mails clearly, allowing computer users to
recognize and delete unwanted messages. More importantly, by requiring clear labeling of sexually
explicit messages, HB 1282 would help protect children, families, and others with no interest in
pornographic messages fromunwittingly opening offensive emails.

Opponents said HB 1282 would not curtail out-of-state spam. Texas has no authority to regulate
commercial e-mail sent from other states, and courts have struck down similar laws in other states.

This issue would be addressed most effectively at the federal level.

The HRO analysis appeared in the April 2 Daily Floor Report.
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Allowing exhibition of amusement redemption machines by charities

HB 1407 by Hupp
Died in the House

HB 1407 would have allowed the exhibition of amusement redemption machines by organizations
authorized to conduct charity bingo in Texas; required the Lottery Commission to regulate the
exhibition, display, and promotion of the machines; and required the machines to be approved by
voters in a city or county through a local-option election. The bill would have established an annual
registration fee for each machine and an annual license fee each holder ofa license to exhibit the
machines. It would have defined an amusement redemption machine as a coin-operated machine
that by chance or a combination of skill and chance affords the player an opportunity to receive a
prize. The term would not have included a machine that awards the user a prize directly from the
machine or amachine from which the opportunity to receive a prize varies depending on the user’s
ability to place a ball or other object into the machine.

Supporters said HB 1407 would narrow the scope of gambling in Texas by requiring that
amusement redemption machines be operated only by charities and by requiring local-option
elections to approve use of the machines in any area. This would close loopholes in current law that
have allowed electronic gambling to proliferate under the cover of a law that was intended only to
legalize amusement games that offer no significant payoff. HB 1407 would provide the clarification
that law enforcement officers have been requesting so that they can combatillegal gambling, while
allowing Texans to enjoy legitimate amusement machines.

The definition of an amusement redemption machine would ensure that the bill authorized only
machines used purely for amusement, not for gambling. The bill clearly would outlaw true gambling
machines that gave cash payouts. The Lottery Commission would restrict amusement machines to
certain charities to ensure that only appropriate entities —not large casino-style houses —could
operate the machines. HB 1407 would respect the will of voters by allowing local control of
whether an area could have amusement redemption machines. This would help with enforcing the
law, because law enforcement officers would know where the machines could be placed legally.

Opponents said HB 1407, rather than clarifying the law on amusement machines, would
complicate the law further. It would continue to allow the proliferation of “eight-liner’” machines,
which should be considered illegal slot machines, by charities that could operate an unlimited
number of them. If an outright ban on the machines cannot be instituted, the law should be made
more clear so that only purely amusement machines are allowed. A nongambling amusement
machine should have to operate solely on skill with no element of chance involved. The confusing
definition in HB 1407 would make it difficult to determine whether a machine was legal, which, in
turn, would make it difficult to prosecute cases of illegal gambling.

Allowing local-option elections to determine where the machines would be located would make it
difficult for law enforcement to combat illegal gambling. Allowing people in one jurisdiction to have a
defense to prosecution for gambling while that defense would not be available in another jurisdiction
couldraise issues of equal protection under the law.
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Other opponents said HB 1407 is unnecessary. Current law outlawing gambling devices and
defining legal amusement machines is adequate to control gambling. Ifillegal games are proliferating,
the state should step up enforcement and prosecution instead of changing the law. Also, it would be
unfair and inappropriate to limit the machines to charities. If the machines are for amusement, there
isno reason why other entities should be prohibited from offering the machines to Texans who enjoy
this type of harmless entertainment.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.
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Continuing the Lottery Commission and amending bingo regulations

SB 270 by Jackson
Died in conference committee

SB 270, as passed by the House, would have continued the Texas Lottery Commission (TLC),
the State Lottery Act, and the Bingo Enabling Actuntil 2015.

Lottery. As laid out in the House, SB 270 would have allowed the TLC to enter into a written
agreement with other states or jurisdictions, including foreign countries, to participate in
multijurisdiction lottery games. A floor amendment removed a provision that would have allocated
$500,000 from the state lottery account in each fiscal biennium to the comptroller to provide grants
to Texas residents to pay the costs of attending a public junior college, technical institute, or state
college.

The bill would have repealed current law requiring denial, suspension, or revocation of a license to
sell lottery tickets for a person whose location for the lottery sales agency was a location for which a
person held a wine and beer retailers’ permit, mixed beverage permit, mixed beverage late-hours
permit, private club registration permit, or private club late-hours permit. However, a floor
amendment removed this authority.

Bingo.SB 270 would have made many changes to the statutes governing bingo. It would have
created a new category of people who would have to be licensed by the TLC, called authorized
organization employees. A person could not have participated or assisted in the conduct,
promotion, or administration of bingo in any capacity unless the person held an authorized
organization employee license. The TLC would have had to develop a standard license renewal
process and establish qualifications and standards of conduct for licensees. The commission could
have established procedures for suspending licenses summarily, would have had to adopt an
administrative penalty schedule, and could have issued subpoenas to compel the attendance and
testimony of witnesses or the production of evidence.

The TLC would have had to establish a maximum amount of net proceeds as operating capital that
abingo conductor could retain in its bingo account, not to exceed $50,000. Instead of requiring
organizations to disburse for charitable purposes at least 35 percent of their adjusted gross receipts,
organizations would have had to disburse all of their adjusted gross receipts, under a new
calculation, except for the amount that could be retained in their bingo accounts.

The bill would have amended the definition of a prohibited video lottery machine and created
criminal and civil penalties for violating rules relating to prohibitions on video lottery machines. Italso
would have increased certain criminal penalties associated with bingo.

Gaming machines. SB 270 would have authorized the comptroller to seal a prohibited gaming
machine so that it could not be operated and to assess penalties against a person who exhibited,
displayed, or provided to another a prohibited gaming machine. In each fiscal biennium, the bill
would have allocated from the state lottery account $5 million to the comptroller to enforce statutes
against prohibited gaming machines and $5 million to the criminal justice division of the Governor’s
Officeto provide grants to help local governments prosecute offenses involving bingo, keno,
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blackjack, lottery, roulette, video poker, or other gambling devices. The bill would have restricted
issuance of certain licenses relating to bingo and the lottery if gambling devices were on or near
certain premises relating to the games.

Supporters said:

Lottery. SB 270 would make necessary changes in the law governing the state lottery. The current
budget shortfall requires the state to embrace other means of raising revenue without punishing
residents with untimely tax increases. For example, participation in a multijurisdiction lottery like the
successful “Powerball” lottery game likely would yield about $100 million in the coming biennium,
with a similar revenue stream in later years. Allowing restaurants and bars to sell lottery tickets, as in
other states, similarly would yield an additional $4.5 million to $30 million each year. Since its
inception in 1992, the lottery has returned more than $10 billion to Texas, without which the state
could not have funded adequately public education and other critical services. Provisions of SB 270
were crafted carefully to ensure that the lottery grows as a viable revenue source funded exclusively
by volunteers.

The bill would authorize but not require the TLC to enroll the state in a multijurisdiction lottery. The
commission could decide against entering into any agreement with another state or country that
would not benefit Texas.

Current standards that apply to applicants for lottery sales licenses would apply to applicants who
operated restaurants or bars, ensuring that only responsible sales agencies could sell lottery tickets.
Patrons drinking alcoholic beverages are at least 21 years old and presumably could exercise
reasonable judgment about their spending.

Bingo.SB 270 would improve the state’s regulatory oversight of charity bingo to help ensure that
the games are honest and that charities benefit from the profits. Because of the large amounts of
cash involved in these games, the state must have oversight powers to ensure that qualified, honest
charities—and not unscrupulous entities — benefit from the games.

A new, broad class of bingo licensees is necessary to give the TLC adequate regulatory authority.
Currently, the commission’s regulatory reach stops at the organization that is licensed to conduct
bingo. The commission can take action against an employee of the organization only by going after
the organization itself. SB 270 would give the commission authority over all bingo employees, but
the provisions are not so broad as to include people who are not part of the bingo games. SB 270
would amend the commission’s licensing procedures to ensure that they are fair to licensees,
adequately protect the public, and safeguard charitable revenue.

SB 270 would simplify the distribution of bingo proceeds to charities to ensure that a fair amount of
money went for charitable purposes. The current formula is confusing and burdensome and can
resultin some charities not being required to make any charitable contributions. The bill would
change the distribution formula so that charities would have to distribute all of their adjusted gross
receipts except for amounts that the commission determined could be retained. It would be
appropriate to give the commission the flexibility to determine the amount that could be retained,
rather than establishing a statutory amount that could not be changed when necessary.
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The penalties established by SB 270 would be appropriate for bingo offenses and necessary to
punish properly those who abuse the public trust by violating bingo laws. It is not unusual for a state
regulatory body to be given subpoena power.

Gaming machines.SB 270 would help stop the proliferation of illegal gambling machines,
including so-called “eight-liners.” By allowing the comptroller to seal illegal gaming machines,
establishing penalties relating to breaking a comptroller’s seal, and restricting bingo and lottery
licenses ifillegal machines were on the premises or nearby, the bill would establish some state
oversight and regulation of the machines, instead of relying solely on local law enforcement
authorities. SB 270 would help in the fight against these machines by directing money to the
comptroller and the Governor’s Office to combat the machines. These provisions would apply only
toillegal gambling machines, not to any legal amusement machines. The TLC would not overstep its
authority by going after grocery stores or other entities with pure amusement machines that were
located near bingo premises or lottery sales agents, because the commission’s authority would be
limited to illegal machines.

Opponents said:

Lottery. SB 270 would place Texas and its residents on a slippery slope of permissive lottery
dealings that would cost the public more in the long term by increasing the “footprint” of state-
sponsored gaming. Participation in a multijurisdiction lottery would lead state government further
from its core purposes. By offering the prospect of winning larger sums, albeit with the smallest of
odds, the state would entice more residents to spend frivolously and diminish their security instead
of investing their earnings for the future. While the private market may offer people opportunities to
spend unwisely, state government should not act as a sponsor of such activity on an increasing scale.

Additional lottery sales likely would not remedy the state’s financial problems, because lottery
profits typically are a substitute for tax dollars, not a supplement. Rather than resort to a lottery and
other gaming contrivances to pay for public education and other necessities, the state should reform
its tax policies to accommodate needed spending.

The multijurisdiction lottery provision would allow the state to entangle itself in gambling enterprises
extending to Mexico and beyond. Enforcement of any international compact to ensure that Texas
received its share from a common lottery account would prove difficult, if not impossible, if the
member in breach were a foreign state. Also, the prospect of larger winnings through a
multijurisdiction lottery likely would entice spending by gaming enthusiasts who otherwise would
play bingo. This change would cost charities and others who benefit from and rely on bingo
expenditures.

SB 270 would repeal a sensible prohibition on the operation of lottery sales agencies in private
clubs, the premises of wine and beer retailers, and other places where people buy and consume
alcohol. This restriction provides some separation between a temptation created by the state and the
impulses of people who may be suffering from impaired judgment or even alcoholism, depression,

or another disease caused by alcohol consumption. The buffer between lottery sales and alcohol
consumption should remain in effect.

Bingo.SB 270 would impose unnecessary burdens on organizations that conduct bingo and would
give the TLC too much oversight authority. By requiring state licensure of all people who
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participated or assisted in bingo in any capacity, SB 270 would create an overly broad category of
licensees that could result in anyone with even the remotest affiliation with bingo— perhaps as many
as 20,000 people — having to obtain a license. Current law, which requires licensing of people who
conduct bingo, lessors of bingo premises, and manufacturers and distributors of bingo equipment
and supplies, is adequate to regulate bingo. The fee charged to these licensees would come from
money that otherwise could be spent on charitable endeavors. Also, allowing the TLC to establish
the maximum amount that charities could retain as operating capital could result in the commission
setting the amount so low that charities could not weather the normal cyclical downturns in bingo.

SB 270 would increase some penalties associated with bingo so that they would be overly harsh.
For example, failing to maintain proper records for whatever reason would carry a potential one-
year jail term. Authorizing the TLC to issue subpoenas and to compel attendance and testimony of
witnesses would give the commission too much power with too much potential for abuse. Subpoena
power is inappropriate for a state commission, given that a prosecutor must go to a court or a grand
jury to have a subpoena issued. People issued subpoenas by the commission would have to go to
court to challenge subpoenas that were not issued by the court originally.

Gaming machines. It would be inappropriate to give the comptroller regulatory authority over
illegal gaming machines, which would be handled better by law enforcement agencies. Also,
provisions in the bill that would restrict the TLC’s licensing authority if illegal gaming machines were
nearby are too broad. They could lead to innocent bingo operators or lottery sales agents being
penalized for other people’s actions, or to penalties being imposed for the possession of legal
machines.

Notes: HB 2455 by Chisum, et al., continues the Lottery Commission and its current functions
until September 1,2005. HB 3459 by Pitts authorizes the commission to enter into a
multijurisdiction lottery game and gives itaccompanying rulemaking authority. HB 2519 by Flores
and Raymond, effective September 1,2003, makes numerous changes to the bingo statutes.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 27 Daily Floor Report.
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Continuing TDED as the Texas Economic Development and Tourism Office

SB 275 by Nelson
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 275 renames the Texas Department of Economic Development (TDED) as the Texas
Economic Development and Tourism Office (TEDTO), which will be transferred into the
Governor’s Office and continued until September 1,2015. TDED’s governing board will be
abolished, and the governor will appoint the TEDTO executive director and assume the duties
previously held by the governing board, such as directing the office’s activities, establishing its
policies, and reviewing its budget.

Tourism promotion, including out-of-state tourism marketing, is TEDTO’s primary duty. TEDTO
will enter into amemorandum of understanding with other state agencies involved in tourism
promotion and will develop a strategic plan to coordinate and evaluate all tourism efforts.

SB 275 abolishes the Texas Aerospace Commission and transfers its functions into TEDTO. The
renamed Texas Aerospace and Aviation Office will analyze space and aviation research, promote
and develop these industries, and support state and local spaceport authorities. The office also will
administer a spaceport trust fund that will be used to pay for the development of spaceport
infrastructure.

TEDTO will work with industry organizations to identify and develop concentrations of
interconnected businesses and industries known as “industry clusters” throughout the state. The bill
also creates the Economic Development Bank, which combines several existing economic
development finance programs. The Economic Development Bank will offer financial incentives and
assistance to communities and businesses to fund local development efforts. The bill also creates the
Product Development and Small Business Incubator Program, which will issue bonds to finance the
development, production, and commercialization of new products, particularly in the areas of
biotechnology and biomedicine.

SB 275 transfers the department’s enterprise project program to the Economic Development Bank
and expands the definition of a project eligible for funding under the program. Businesses will be
able to petition local governments to apply for funding under the program, and the bill creates a
formula by which the department will award tax refunds to businesses based on the amount of
capital investment and the number of jobs created.

The bill also extends a funding mechanism established by the 76th Legislature to pay for bids to
recruit major sporting events, such as the Olympics, Pan American Games, Super Bowl, NCAA
Final Four, NBA All-Star Game, or World Games, among others.

Supporters said SB 275 would refocus TDED’s mission, redefine its relationship with other
agencies involved in economic development, and build upon the successful program it administers.
Texas has a continuing need for a state-level economic development program, and the department
has addressed many of the problematic issues that have plagued it in the past.
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SB 275 would strengthen economic development in Texas by creating a centralized office under the
governor’s supervision. This would enable successful coordination of economic development
activities across multiple state agencies. According to the Legislative Budget Board, consolidation of
TDED into the Governor’s Office also would save the state approximately $1.5 million in general
revenue annually.

Over half of TDED’s budget currently goes to tourism promotion, and the agency should focus on
this function as its main priority. Requiring the new TEDTO to coordinate tourism efforts across
state agencies would ensure efficient use of resources by requiring the office to develop a
comprehensive plan for marketing the state to visitors and setting specific performance measures to
evaluate all tourism marketing efforts.

TEDTO should be engaged in identifying and promoting industry clusters across the state, which
often form the basis of strong local economies. In addition, by combining the current maze of debt
financing programs into a centralized economic development bank, the bill would create a
comprehensive program to manage state incentive programs that contribute to industrial expansion.

Opponents said SB 275 would relegate TDED to promoting tourism and marketing Texas to
business, a limited role compared to the functions performed by similar economic development
agencies in other states. The bill would give too much authority over economic development to the
governor, and would eliminate the diverse policy perspectives represented on TDED’s governing
board.

SB 275 would not incorporate enough safeguards to ensure that the business incentive programs
issued by the Economic Development Bank would yield a return or generate new investment. The
tax refunds administered under the bank could undermine local tax bases, since new residents would
take jobs generated through business investment while taxing entities would have to forgo tax
revenue in the name of business growth.

Other opponents said TDED should be abolished. Economic development primarily is a local
activity, and the state should not award grants from funds collected statewide to specific local
projects. State tourism functions can and should be handled by the private sector. TDED’s budget
should be redirected to health care, schools, transportation, and environmental protection in order
to more effectively contribute to state economic development.

The HRO analysis appeared in the May 16 Daily Floor Report.
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Deregulating broadband Internet service

SB 377 by Armbrister/HB 1658 by Goodman
Died in Senate committee/Died in House committee

SB 377 would have prohibited the Public Utility Commission (PUC) from imposing any regulation
or obligation on a provider of broadband or high-speed Internet service, except to the extent
required by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC). It would not have deprived the PUC
of its authority over basic local telephone service for retail customers.

HB 1658 would have prohibited the PUC from requiring “unbundling” of a network element used
to provide broadband or high-speed Internet service, the discounted resale of broadband or high-
speed Internet service, or other measures prescribed by federal law, unless the FCC specifically
authorized state agencies to impose such a requirement. The bill would not have affected
requirements imposed by the PUC before January 1,2003, or the agency’s authority to regulate
voice telecommunications service.

Supporters said SB 377/HB 1658 would prohibit the PUC from regulating broadband Internet
service, unless required by the FCC. Telecommunications carriers such as SBC that operate in
multiple states must comply with amyriad of state regulations in addition to federal requirements.
Meeting different requirements in every state has driven up costs, discouraging investment in
broadband infrastructure. In Texas, the possibility that the PUC could impose regulations more
onerous than federal requirements has had a chilling effect on broadband deployment. For example,
ifthe PUC required broadband providers to grant competitors access to their networks, it would
discourage investment because companies could be required to provide access at rates below cost.
The uncertainty of the regulatory environment for broadband has made some major lenders wary of
financing new investment. SB 377/HB 1658 would foster new investment in Texas by reassuring
telecom companies and lenders that the PUC would not impose regulations, beyond those required
by the FCC, that could hinder broadband deployment. The bills would not deregulate the entire
public telephone network. Their language was crafted carefully to apply only to broadband or high-
speed Internet service.

Opponents said SB 377/HB 1658 could remove the PUC’s regulatory authority over the entire
public telephone network. Broadband Internet service does not exist on its own network but runs
through the same sets of wires that carry telephone service. The bills’ definitions of broadband or
high-speed Internet service are so broad that they could encompass virtually the entire telephone
network. In effect, the bills could prevent the PUC from requiring incumbent telecom companies to
provide access to their networks to competitors at wholesale rates. That requirement is essential to
preserving competition in telephone service.

SB 377/HB 1658 would not benefit consumers. Removing the PUC’s authority to ensure fair
competition among broadband service providers could allow incumbent service providers to create
barriers to new competitors entering the market to provide broadband Internet service. The state
should not give up its authority over broadband in the name of regulatory certainty. Although
supporters tout the bills as promoting new investment, neither bill would require additional
investment by telecom companies.
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Revising regulation of sale and ownership of manufactured homes

SB 521 by Staples
Generally effective June 18, 2003

SB 521 amends and repeals various statutes governing the sale and ownership of manufactured
homes. The bill establishes the statement of ownership and location for amanufactured home in lieu
ofatitle document. It stipulates that a manufactured home is personal property but allows the owner
to convert itto real property by filing a certified copy of the statement of ownership and location
with the county in which the home is located.

A consumer mustreceive disclosures before completing a credit application for purchase of a
manufactured home, including notice that:

4 the consumer can acquire the manufactured home by a real estate or a chattel mortgage and
that areal estate mortgage might have a lower interest rate than a chattel mortgage;

. the manufactured home will be appraised and subject to ad valorem taxes as would other
single-family residential structures;

4 the consumer can rescind, without penalty or charge, a purchase, exchange, or lease-
purchase contract for the manufactured home within three days after signing the contract;

4 the lender can require the consumer to obtain insurance meeting the lender’s requirements to
protect the consumer’s investment; and

. the consumer must install a septic tank system on a lot not served by a sewer system or
utility.

The Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) must adopt rules governing
disclosure statements in regard to chattel mortgage transactions. The statements must include certain
loan specifications. Failure to provide the disclosures subjects aretailer to a fine ranging from
$1,000 to $4,000. The retailer must deliver the disclosure statement, signed by the lender, at least
24 hours before full execution of the contract. The consumer may not accept the offer within 24
hours after delivery of the documents and may rescind the installment contract under certain
conditions. The TDHCA director may deny, revoke, or suspend licenses in certain cases in which
manufactured homes are sold as personal property.

A retailer’s sale price estimate must be in good faith and in writing if it makes certain material
representations. A retailer cannot require a consumer to make a down payment on the acquisition of
amanufactured home until the parties execute an installment contract.

Supporters said by restoring manufactured houses to their former classification as personal
property, SB 521 would relieve consumers, retailers, and manufacturers of a burden and would
reignite the industry’s growth. An act of the 77th Legislature in 2001, HB 1869 by Wohlgemuth, et
al., classifying the houses as real property has depressed the industry artificially by causing slower
sales and production. As aresult, creditors have curtailed chattel (movable personal property)
lending for financing purchases, and sales fell 35 percent during the year following the law’s
enactment. SB 521 would restore the personal property classification to revive lending for
manufactured housing and to encourage demand for the product.
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Even with higher interest rates for personal property loans, many buyers have an incentive to use
them. Personal property loans for manufactured homes allow buyers to sever the homes from their
land — either to move or to sell the manufactured home and replace it with different construction —
free from prohibitions often present in real property loans.

The bill also would provide strong consumer protections, including notices and penalties.
Historically, simplified lending practices and creditor recourse rights have helped the industry to
serve consumers who wanted to build home equity but who could not afford traditional houses.
Imposing more disclosure and other requirements on retailers and clarifying regulatory standards

and penalties would balance consumers’ risks by providing them information and strengthening basic
industry standards.

Opponents said weakened demand for manufactured houses is unrelated to their proper
classification as real property. HB 1869 took effect in January 2002, but the trend of declining sales
dates back to 2000. Retailers nevertheless continue to sell thousands of manufactured houses each
year, showing that options abound for financing these homes. Current law does not prohibit any
particular method for financing the homes. The real causes of sluggish sales in the industry are a
slowing economy and publicity surrounding the repossession of manufactured houses, including
revelations of high interest rates for personal property loans.

SB 521 could hamper recovery and long-term growth in the manufactured housing industry. The
current classification of the houses as real property reflects the industry’s efforts to make this
housing option more attractive to consumers. This classification gives manufactured houses legal
treatment equal to that of traditional houses, thus helping industry to legitimize and market its
product. SB 521 would remove basic legal protections for buyers of manufactured houses that are
afforded to residents of traditional houses and apartments. Classifying manufactured houses as
personal property would allow creditors to repossess residences and evict residents without
granting them the express right to cure a loan default or any right to ajudicial proceeding.

The HRO analysis of the House companion bill, HB 1009, appeared in Part Two of the April 28
Daily Floor Report.

House Research Organization

Page 53



Allowing direct shipment of wine to consumers

SB 770 by Madla
Died in the House

SB 770 would have allowed direct shipment of wine to an individual buyer by a retailer holding a
shipper’s permit. The retailer would have had to label clearly a shipment of wine and obtain the
signature of a person at least 21 years old upon delivery. A permit holder would have had to pay all
taxes due on shipped wine. The retailer would have had to pay an initial fee of $100 and a $25
renewal fee annually thereafter. The retailer also would have had to hold a wine-selling license in the
state or country from which the wine was shipped and would have had to report to the Texas
Alcoholic Beverage Commission each year.

Supporters said SB 770 would capitalize on an economic development opportunity by allowing
Texas wineries to sell products directly to consumers. Small Texas wineries could expand their
markets by taking orders from around the world through the Internet, phone, and mail. Many states
allow their residents to receive direct wine shipments only from states that allow their own residents
toreceive such shipments. SB 770 would spur rural economic development, benefitting not only
wineries but also suppliers, shippers, and the tourism industry. It would establish a sensible
regulatory system to protect minors and to collect taxes. Every shipment would have to be marked
clearly as containing alcohol, and an adult’s signature would be required on every delivery. Violators
of these provisions would have their shipping permits revoked, and a shipper’s permit could be
suspended if the shipper did not remit sales taxes.

Opponents said SB 770 would create a public safety problem by undermining the established,
easily regulated alcohol retail system, making it easy for minors to buy alcohol through the mail or
online. Texas’ alcoholic beverage laws would be unenforceable against out-of-state retailers. Texas
also would find it hard to collect taxes, particularly in light of court decisions and federal laws
preventing taxation of out-of-state companies.

Other opponents said the bill could be improved by requiring a wine purchaser to obtain a
permit to receive wine from a shipper. Such a provision would make it easier to address concerns

about tax collection, sale to minors, and shipment into “dry” areas.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 27 Daily Floor Report.
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Creating a Texas Enterprise Fund for economic development

SB 1771 by Brimer, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 1771 creates a Texas Enterprise Fund to be used for economic development, infrastructure
development, community development, job training programs, and business incentives. The fund isa
dedicated general revenue account and a trusteed program in the Governor’s Office. The governor
may negotiate on behalf of the state to award grants from the fund, but only with written approval
from the lieutenant governor and House speaker. The governor can enter into an agreement stating
that a grant recipient must repay the amount to the state if the recipient does not use the money for
specified purposes. An agreement also may specify that a grant recipient must repay the money to
the state if a capital improvement is sold and that the state retains a lien on a capital improvement
financed through the fund.

The Texas Department of Economic Development (TDED) or its successor may recommend that a
taxing unit enter into a tax abatement agreement or that a school district grant a limitation on
appraised value inrelation to the fund. TDED’s executive director must work with the Legislature
and state agencies to identify programs and grants and to maximize federal economic development
funds. The executive director also must work with agencies involved in job training and creation to
address challenges regarding these issues and develop connections with private entities to better
market the state to businesses.

SB 1771 creates aboard of economic development stakeholders to disseminate information on
public and private economic development programs. The board comprises seven members: four
appointed by the governor, two by the lieutenant governor, and two by the House speaker.

Supporters said SB 1771 would give the governor the flexibility to respond quickly to economic
development opportunities. Interstate competition for economic expansion and retention is fierce.
Without the ability to respond to business prospects quickly and meaningfully, Texas could lose
projects to other states. The Texas Enterprise Fund would provide the governor with enough money
for the state to offer incentives to the next large project like the Toyota plant in San Antonio. The
best way to improve the economy is to facilitate the expansion of the state’s economy, and SB

1771 would contribute to this goal.

Opponents said the state has a multibillion dollar budget shortfall, and until Texas’ basic health
care, education, environmental, and other needs are met, an economic development fund is a luxury
the state cannot afford. The governor should not have a “slush fund” to spend with too little
oversight, subject only to approval by the lieutenant governor and the House speaker rather than the
Legislature as a whole. The bill would open the door to corporate welfare projects by allowing the
governor to award taxpayer’s money to private businesses with no assurance that the state would
receive economic benefits equal to the cost of investment.

Notes: HB 7 by Heflin, the supplemental appropriations bill for fiscal 2003, appropriates $295 million
from the economic stabilization fund to the Texas Enterprise Fund for fiscal 2004-05.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 25 Daily Floor Report.
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Authorizing home equity lines of credit

SJR 42 by Carona
On September 13, 2003 ballot

SJR 42 proposes amending the Texas Constitution to allow home equity lines of credit, not to
exceed 50 percent of ahomestead’s fair market value, or 80 percent when added to total
indebtedness secured by the home. A borrower could debit the account from time to time, request
advances, repay debt, and reborrow money. No single advance could be less than $4,000, and the
borrower could not use a credit card, debit card, check, or similar device to obtain an advance. The
amendment would establish provisions under which a lender would forfeit all principal and interest if
the lender failed to comply with legal obligations regarding issuance of a home equity loan, unless the
lender cured noncompliance by specified means. It also would allow refinancing of a home equity
loan with areverse mortgage loan. The Legislature could delegate a state agency the power to
interpret the home equity lending provisions in the Constitution.

Supporters said home equity borrowing should be more flexible and easily tailored to individual
needs. Currently, Texans may apply only for lump-sum home equity loans, forcing them to borrow
the entire amount of a home equity loan even if they do not need all of the money immediately. SJR
42 would allow home equity lines of credit that give homeowners the freedom to use their homes as
they see fit and to obtain smaller loans over time as money is needed. Home equity lines of credit
could supplant almost $13 billion in higher-cost, non-tax-deductible loans such as credit cards and
auto loans. That could save Texans an estimated $741 million annually in interest and taxes. Also,
the borrower could take out a smaller loan with lower interest rates and a lower monthly payment,
all of which actually would lower the likelihood of delinquency or foreclosure on home equity lines
of credit, as opposed to traditional home equity loans.

SJR 42 also would enable consumers to refinance home equity loans with reverse mortgages,
benefitting senior homeowners in particular. Volatile financial markets have caused the investment
income of many retirees to shrink, making it difficult for some to continue monthly payments on
home equity loans. Paying offa home equity loan with a reverse mortgage would decrease monthly
obligations and enable them to receive amonthly income from the lender.

Opponents said home equity loans should not be expanded to include lines of credit until the
state regulates traditional home equity loans more effectively. Hearings around the state have
confirmed that borrowers do not understand consistently that their homes can be foreclosed if they
default on ahome equity loan. Many Texans still face personal economic pressure. With the
foreclosure rate increasing, government should be working to protect homeowners’ investments
rather than making it easier for them to lose their homes, particularly since other avenues exist for
consumers to finance the costs of items such as college and health care.

Notes: HJR 23 by Hochberg, on the September 13,2003, ballot, also would allow refinancing of
home equity loans with reverse mortgages.

The HRO analysis of SJR 42 appeared in Part One of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.
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Enhancing penalties for fraud in early voting by mail

HB 54 by Wolens, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 54 defines conduct that constitutes assisting a voter with casting an absentee mail ballot;
expands the offense of illegal voting and the penalties for unlawful assistance; sets forth requirements
for handling and possessing carrier envelopes and ballots; and prohibits the buying and selling of
balloting materials.

Assisting a voter is defined as reading the ballot to the voter, directing the voter to read the ballot,
marking the voter’s ballot, or directing the voter to mark the ballot. The bill expands unlawful
assistance of a voter to include knowingly assisting a voter who did not request assistance. The
penalty for this offense is a Class A misdemeanor.

A person who witnesses or who directly assists a voter with an application for early voting by mail
or in preparing an early voting ballot must sign and provide a name and address. A person who
knowingly fails to comply commits a Class A misdemeanor, unless the personis a close family
member or is registered to vote at the same address. Knowingly providing false information on an
application is enhanced from a Class A misdemeanor to a state jail felony, unless the person is the
applicant, a close relative, or a registered voter at the same address as the applicant, in which case
the original penalty still applies.

A person who witnesses a voter signing a carrier envelope or deposits a carrier envelope in the mail
or with a carrier also must provide a name and address. Knowingly failing to do sois a Class B
misdemeanor unless the person is a close family member or is registered to vote at the same address. No
unauthorized person can possess another person’s ballot or carrier envelope. Violations range from
a Class B misdemeanor to a second-degree felony, depending on the circumstances.

Early voting information on individual voters cannot be released until the day after the early voting
clerk receives the mail-in ballots. Unlawful buying and selling of balloting materials is a state jail
felony unless the voter is the seller, in which case it is a Class B misdemeanor.

The bill also prohibits prosecution, for purposes of intimidation, of a person under this statute on
account of race, ethnicity or age.

Supporters said HB 54 would offer the same protection to homebound voters as enjoyed by
voters at the polling place. The Election Code is clear on what constitutes proper and improper
procedure in the polling place, but the law governing absentee voting by mail (homebound voting)
needs to be tightened, and oversight needs to be stricter. By its nature, mail-in voting from home is
out of the public view and therefore vulnerable to fraud.

The bill would make it easier to punish bad actors by increasing penalties for fraud and by clarifying
what constitutes assisting a voter. It would create new tracking abilities by requiring people who
witnessed and assisted voters with their early voting applications, ballots, and carrier envelopes to
provide their names and addresses. It would not prohibit anyone from assisting a voter but would
ensure thata homebound voter’s vote was delivered safely and securely to the elections
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administrator. Volunteers still could work in their neighborhoods and communities and could assist
voters in person. Likewise, anyone still could mail or send a preprinted application for amail-in
ballot to any voter, and the bill would not alter the ability to send direct-mail material to voters.

Opponents said the bill could disenfranchise certain voters and suppress voting by making time-
honored behaviorillegal. Some residents, especially minority and elderly residents, depend on
community volunteers and neighbors to help them vote. The bill could curtail election volunteerism,
because people would be less willing to provide assistance in their communities if they perceived
that a single misstep could result in a criminal act. Not all neighborhood leaders would be aware of
the stricter requirements, and some could find themselves involved in criminal allegations even
though their intentions were good.

The HRO analysis appeared in the April 8 Daily Floor Report.
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Implementing the Help America Vote Act

HB 1549 by Denny, et al.
Effective January 1, 2004

HB 1549 changes Texas election law to conform with requirements of the federal Help America
Vote Act(HAVA) 02002, which provides states with $3.9 billion in federal funds from 2003
through 2006. States can use these funds to replace outdated voting equipment, improve election
administration, and train poll workers. HB 1549 requires the secretary of state to implement and
maintain a statewide computerized voter-registration database and an administrative complaint
procedure to remedy grievances; requires the use of provisional ballots to ensure that no eligible
voter is turned away from the polls; requires each precinct to provide at least one voting machine
thatis accessible to voters with disabilities; and creates an election improvement fund in general
revenue to hold funds for these purposes. The Legislative Budget Board estimates that Texas will
receive about $80 million in federal funds during fiscal 2004-05, for which the state must provide
$2.9 million in matching funds from the existing Chapter 19 account, used to pay for voter registration.
HB 1549 also requires additional voter identification at the time of initial registration; moves the
uniform election date in May from the first Saturday to the third Saturday; and prohibits use of
mechanical voting machines and punch-card ballots by January 2006.

Supporters said implementing HAV A would improve Texans’ access to the polls and help avert
problems brought to light during the 2000 presidential election. The Florida recount during the 2000
election revealed widespread problems with voting machines and ballots. HAV A will strengthen the
integrity of the election process, ensure that no eligible voter is denied the right to vote, and assure
citizens that their vote is counted. It would be appropriate to use Chapter 19 funds to draw down
the federal funds. If the Legislature failed to enact HB 1549, the state still would have to comply
with the federal requirements, including setting up the statewide voter registration listand providing
an accessible voting machine in each polling place, but without federal funds. In any case, counties
should receive more in federal funds than the amounts taken from Chapter 19 funds. The secretary
of state has the necessary rulemaking authority and has requested guidance from the U.S. Department of
Justice that should make it possible to issue clear guidelines to implement HAVA.

Opponents said HAV A requires that voting technology and election administration, including a
state-based administrative complaint procedure, be uniform and nondiscriminatory. However, HB
1549 would not address how election officials could track whether these provisions had been
applied in auniform and nondiscriminatory manner, and it would not address procedures for
maintaining the statewide voter-registration list. For example, it would not specify how the list would
be purged of ineligible voters or how to prevent eligible voters from being purged from the list
accidently.

Other opponents said Chapter 19 funds should not be used as matching funds for federal HAVA
dollars. Even ifthese funds were replaced later with federal money, itis not clear who would be
reimbursed — the counties or the voter registrars. Currently, Chapter 19 funds are earmarked only
for defraying expenses of the registrar’s office. The bill should guarantee that federal reimbursement
money be returned to Chapter 19 funds to be used solely for voter registration.

The HRO analysis appeared in the April 23 Daily Floor Report.
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Changing the dates of primary elections

HB 2496 by Branch, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 2496 changes the date of the state’s general primary election from the second Tuesday to the
first Tuesday in March in each even-numbered year. It moves the runoff primary election date from
the second Tuesday to the first Tuesday in April following the general primary election, and it moves
the presidential primary election date from the second Tuesday to the first Tuesday in March in each
presidential election year. The secretary of state by rule must modify applicable procedures, dates,
and deadlines to implement these changes.

Supporters said the purpose of HB 2496 is to enfranchise as many voters as possible. The
current primary election dates often coincide with spring break for many Texas schools and
universities, preventing many voters from taking part in the elections because voters are out of town
with their families. This bill would allow millions of Texas parents, grandparents, and teachers to
vote on election day before leaving on family vacations. It also would save money for the state
because the state pays for primary elections. Many polling places are in schools, and ifa school is
closed for spring break, the state must pay a rental fee to use the building.

Texas moved its presidential primary date from May to March in hopes of having more influence on
presidential nominations. However, during the 2000 presidential campaign, the nomination of then-
Gov. George W. Bush became virtually certain after the primaries that occurred the week before
the Texas primary. Other states may move their primary and caucus dates even earlier for the 2004
election. An earlier primary election would enable Texas to play a larger role in the nominating
process. Moving the primary from March back to May, as some have suggested, would eliminate
any influence that Texas might have on that process.

Moving the primary date up by one week while leaving the filing deadline in early January would
shorten the period between filing and the election, which could reduce the cost of primary

campaigns.

Opponents said the state should not set primary election dates earlier than they are now. Texas
already has one of'the earliest primary election dates in the nation. The campaign season has
become too long and expensive, especially for challengers. Moving the primary date even earlier
would exacerbate these trends. Because the filing deadline is in early January, a challenger for an
election to be held in November must raise enough money to finance a viable campaign for almost
an entire year. This is one reason why many incumbents remain unopposed. The long campaign
season also disenchants voters and makes it difficult for them to remain focused on the issues.
Voters would benefit from a shorter, uninterrupted campaign.

Other opponents said moving the primary date back to May and the filing deadline to March, at
least in nonpresidential years, would allow campaigns to focus more effectively on their messages

and to use their campaign funds more wisely during a more compact political season.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.
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Funding the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan

HB 1365 by Bonnen et al.
Effective June 22, 2003

HB 1365 amends the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan (TERP) and creates new funding sources.
Itincreases the fee for a vehicle title certificate; increases and expands a surcharge on construction
equipment; changes the allocation formula for distributing money from the TERP fund; eliminates the
light-duty vehicle purchase or lease incentive program; and prohibits the Texas Commission on
Environmental Quality (TCEQ) from declaring a speed limit for environmental purposes.

HB 1365 increases the fee for a vehicle title certificate from $13 to $33 ifan applicant lives in an
ozone nonattainment area designated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), orto
$28 ifan applicant lives in any other part of the state. After September 1, 2008, the fee will be $28
statewide. The county tax assessor-collector must remit to the comptroller $20 or $15 of the fee,
depending on where the applicant lives. Before September 1, 2008, the fees will be deposited to
the TERP fund, and thereafter, to the Texas Mobility Fund. The bill also increases the surcharge on
construction equipment from 1 percent to 2 percent of the retail sale, lease, or rental cost and
extends the surcharge to storage, use, or consumption in Texas of equipment purchased outside the
state. HB 1365 also imposes a 1 percent surcharge on the retail sale, lease, or use of heavy-duty
on-road diesel vehicles made in 1997 or later.

The diesel emissions reduction incentive grant program will receive 87.5 percent of the money in the
TERP fund, instead of 72 percent. No money is allocated to the light-duty vehicle purchase or lease
incentive program or the energy efficiency grant program. The technology research and
development program will receive 9.5 percent of the fund, instead of 7.5 percent.

The bill makes changes to TERP administration, grant programs, and building energy-performance
standards and creates a program to provide access to TERP grants for small businesses. The
General Land Office may develop an energy-efficient building accreditation program for buildings
that exceed certain performance standards by at least 15 percent. For contracts performed in
certain counties, state agencies and political subdivisions may give preference to vendors that meet
or exceed air-quality standards or may require a vendor to demonstrate that it meets or exceeds air-
quality standards.

Supporters said HB 1365 would restore TERP funding so that Texas could avoid losing vital
federal highway funding or suffering restrictions on industrial development in the state’s two largest
metropolitan areas. The bill also would help improve Texas’ air quality by bringing the state into
compliance with EPA standards under the federal Clean Air Act. It would increase the state’s
investment in developing new emissions-reducing technology that could result in far-reaching
benefits in the future. It would achieve these goals in a cost-effective manner by concentrating on
TERP programs that earn credits for emissions reductions in the State Implementation Plan (SIP)
required by the EPA and by incorporating TCEQ suggestions to improve TERP operations.

HB 1365 would restore TERP funding by increasing the fee on vehicle title transfers, increasing and
expanding the construction equipment surcharge, and imposing a 1 percent surcharge on newer-
model heavy-duty diesel vehicles. Vehicle owners contribute to Texas’ air-quality problems and
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should play a part in helping to clean the air. The structure of the title transfer fee would ensure that
people who live in ozone nonattainment areas, and who thus will benefit the most from restoring
TERP, pay a greater share than people in other areas. The bill would amend the construction
equipment surcharge to reflect the intentions of the 77th Legislature by imposing the surcharge on
equipment purchased out of state for use in Texas.

HB 1365 would eliminate the light-duty vehicle purchase or lease incentive program. Although
encouraging consumers to buy low-emission vehicles is a worthy goal, the program has putno clean
cars on the road. Because of the TERP revenue shortfall, the program has been put on hold, and no
incentives have been paid. The program receives 15 percent of the TERP fund but earns the state
no emissions-reduction credit in the SIP. Considering the state’s budget crisis and the importance of
achieving enough credited emissions reductions to forestall federal sanctions, the state should spend
no more money on this program.

Speed limits adopted for environmental purposes are highly unpopular among residents of areas
where they have been applied. Prohibiting environmental speed limits might not cause the state to
lose as large a volume of emissions reductions in the SIP as some claim. EPA has found that
vehicles on the road today are cleaner than had been thought.

Opponents said while HB 1365 would restore funding to TERP so the state could comply with
EPA requirements, it also would eliminate some programs that contribute greatly to improving
Texas’ air quality. The state should not focus simply on complying with bureaucratic regulations but
also on developing along-term solution to Texas’ air-quality problems.

The bill would eliminate the light-duty vehicle purchase or lease incentive program. While this
program earns the state no emissions-reduction credit in the SIP, the 9.5 percent of the TERP fund
that HB 1365 would allocate to new technology research and development would not earn such
crediteither. If operated properly, the light-duty vehicle program could encourage the development
ofapublic fueling infrastructure for natural gas vehicles. This would be of enormous benefit to the
state’s efforts to improve air quality, because it would make it more feasible for consumers and
industry to buy cleaner natural gas vehicles.

Although unpopular, environmental speed limits earn credit in the SIP. If TCEQ could not adopt
environmental speed limits, the state would have to make up the credited reductions some other
way. Also, TCEQ might need to use speed limits in the future to achieve last-minute reduction
credits to forestall punitive federal sanctions. The state should not eliminate this option permanently.

The HRO analysis appeared in the April 7 Daily Floor Report.
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Suspending enforcement of the public beach access law

HB 1457 by Eiland
Effective June 18, 2003

HB 1457 authorizes the General Land Office (GLO) commissioner to suspend for two years a suit
by the attorney general or by a county or district attorney to obtain a court order to remove a house
from a public beach ifthe commissioner determines that:

. the line of vegetation establishing the boundary of the public beach has moved as a result of
ameteorological event;

. the house was located landward of the line of vegetation before the meteorological event;
and

. the house does not present an imminent threat to public health and safety.

The land commissioner must consult with the UT-Austin Bureau of Economic Geology to determine
vegetation lines and the effect of a meteorological event on the public easement. The act does not
apply to a house located below mean high tide or more than 50 percent destroyed. A home repair
permit may be issued only to make the house habitable and only under certain circumstances. HB
1457 also repeals the attorney general’s authority to remove or prevent improvements on public
beaches, unless asked to do so by the commissioner.

Supporters said HB 1457 would give state and local governments flexibility to assess the difficult
case of a property owner whose home or other investment became located in a public beach area
where private property was prohibited under state open beaches law. Vegetation lines sometimes
restore themselves during the first months or years following a meteorological eventsuch as a
hurricane. Coastal homeowners, who often have large investments in property, should not be forced
unjustly from land they have bought, since beach restoration later might make them rightful owners
ofthe land once again. HB 1457 properly would grant discretion to the land commissioner to
prohibit legal action by the state against the owners of affected beach property. The GLO already
has legal obligations and technical expertise in regard to public beaches, and the commissioner is
more of a policymaker than the attorney general, whose role is mainly to enforce state laws.

Opponents said HB 1457 would compromise the rights and remedies of the public with respect
to Texas beaches. For centuries, unrestricted public access to beaches has provided inhabitants
with access to food and recreation, and the open beaches law has long protected such access.
Current law charges the attorney general to enforce strictly and vigorously the state’s prohibition
againstencroachments on the public beach easement. HB 1457 would erode that mandate. Buyers
of coastal property receive ample written notice that certain coastal lands are subject to public
ownership or easement, and these buyers should not gain special relief when coastlines erode and
their properties become located in prohibited areas. Exercise of discretion by the attorney general
allows better handling of difficult cases involving shifting coastal property rights.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.
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Licensing a private entity to dispose of low-level radioactive waste

HB 1567 by West, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 1567 allows the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) to license a private
entity to operate a facility to dispose of waste from Texas’ low-level radioactive waste disposal
compact with Maine and Vermont. TCEQ also may authorize the license holder to dispose of low-
level waste from federal facilities. The bill establishes a licensing procedure and timetable, criteria for
evaluating license applications, and a license review process. The license holder must indemnify the
state against any liabilities, provide at least $20 million in financial security, and pay 5 percent of the
facility’s gross receipts to the host county and 5 percent to state general revenue. TCEQ must set
disposal fees for compact waste that are sufficient to allow the licensee to recover the costs of
operating and maintaining the facility, plus areasonable profit.

If TCEQ allows the license holder to dispose of waste from federal facilities, the disposal site for
federal waste must be separate and distinct from, but adjacent to, the compact waste disposal
facility. For the first five years after licensing, the federal disposal site may not have a disposal
capacity greater than 3 million cubic yards and may not accept more than 300,000 cubic yards of
Class B or C waste. TCEQ may double the limits after five years.

By January 1,2004, TCEQ must publish notice that it is accepting applications for the license.
TCEQ mustaccept applications for a 30-day period beginning 180 days after publishing notice,
evaluate applications according to specific criteria, and select the application with the highest
comparative merit within 270 days of receiving the last timely filed application. TCEQ must
complete a technical review and prepare a draft license within 15 months of'selecting the application
with the highest merit. The bill also establishes a procedure for judicial review of TCEQ’s decision.

Supporters said HB 1567 would allow TCEQ to license a private company to operate a facility
to dispose of low-level radioactive waste in Texas. The state has spent $50 million over 20 years in
unsuccessful attempts to develop a facility. Meanwhile, radioactive waste has been stored at
medical research facilities, hospitals, public universities, and nuclear power plants across the state.
Because one of only two disposal sites available to Texas generators is scheduled to close in five
years, the state needs to move ahead with developing a waste-disposal facility in Texas.

Establishing a facility to dispose of Texas’ low-level radioactive waste would improve homeland
security. Although security at the current temporary storage sites is adequate, it would be far safer
to dispose of the waste permanently in a single facility. Moreover, containing all of Texas’ low-level
radioactive waste in a single facility would allow isolation and disposal away from the state’s
population centers. Toxic chemicals and other dangerous wastes already are transported by truck
on Texas highways. HB 1567 would ensure security and safety by requiring that any waste be
properly processed and packaged before shipment to the facility.

Authorizing the license holder to dispose of federal waste, such as from the U.S. Department of
Energy (DOE), would benefit Texas waste generators, who likely would pay less for disposal
because the revenue from federal waste disposal could lower the overall cost of operating the
facilities. The additional revenue also would help to ensure the long-term financial stability of the
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operation, creating more jobs and tax revenue. DOE waste is no different in radioactivity from
waste produced by a hospital, research university, or nuclear power plant. In fact, much of the DOE
waste would have lower levels of radioactivity. Before sending waste for disposal, DOE would
conduct an audit of the proposed facility, bringing additional expertise to oversight of the facility.

HB 1567 would not favor a specific applicant for the license. It would, however, create a licensing
process that would allow a facility to begin operation by the time it will be needed. Meeting this
deadline necessarily would require that an applicant already have begun collecting site-specific data.

Opponents said HB 1567 would allow a private company to make millions of dollars in profit
while leaving Texas stuck with a mountain of radioactive waste. Authorizing the license holder to
dispose of federal waste would invite a private company to make a fortune by burying hundreds of
millions of cubic feet of radioactive waste in West Texas. Every commercial low-level radioactive
waste disposal facility in the nation has leaked. Because of the length of time that radioactive waste
remains dangerous, long after a private company had made its money and gone, the state would be
stuck with the long-term bill to clean up the site.

Private companies are eager to dispose of federal waste because the amount of waste expected to
be generated by DOE dwarfs the expected volume of waste from the state compact. With the
facilities for compact waste and federal waste located on the same site, the vast majority of the site
would be devoted to the disposal of federal waste in large underground trenches.

Creating aradioactive waste disposal facility would not improve homeland security. Trucks and
trains crisscrossing the state with radioactive cargo en route to a disposal facility would provide easy
targets for terrorists. It would be preferable to store radioactive waste at Texas’ nuclear power
plants. These secure facilities are heavily guarded and already contain the vast majority of Texas’
low-level radioactive waste, greatly reducing the need to put large shipments of waste on the state’s
roads and highways.

Other opponents said the bill would not establish a competitive licensing process. The narrow
time frame for licensing would favor an applicant with an already established site, such as Waste
Control Specialists, which operates a hazardous waste facility in Andrews County. Because of the
data required in the application, acompany would have to be collecting site-specific datanow to be
eligible foralicense.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the April 22 Daily Floor Report.
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Amending requirements for removing contaminants from groundwater

HB 3152 by Bonnen
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 3152 allows the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) to grant a municipal
setting designation (MSD) certificate that waives requirements for removing groundwater
contaminants in areas where the groundwater will not be used as a future source for irrigation of
crops intended for human consumption, drinking, showering, bathing, or cooking. A person,
including a local government, may request an MSD for a property within a municipality of at least
20,000 residents that has a public drinking-water system that can deliver potable water to all
affected properties within one-halfmile of the MSD.

Anapplicant must give notice to each municipality within one-halfmile of the proposed MSD, and
to each municipality, private citizen, and retail public utility that owns or operates a groundwater
supply well within five miles of the proposed MSD. The application must include a legal description
of the boundaries of the proposed MSD and a statement of support from municipalities and retail
publicutilities entitled to legal notice. Italso must include an affidavit affirming that the property meets
MSD criteria, the legal description of the property, a statement of the type of known groundwater
contamination, proof of notice by signed delivery receipts, and a $1,000 fee.

Within 90 days of receiving an application, the TCEQ executive director must issue or deny an
MSD certificate or request additional information. Within 45 days of receiving the requested
information, the MSD must be approved or denied. Before an MSD is issued, the applicant must
ensure that the application is supported by a resolution of affected city councils and the governing
body of affected retail public utilities and that the property is subject to an ordinance or restrictive
covenant prohibiting the use of contaminated groundwater beneath the property for potable uses.

The executive director must deny an application if the property is ineligible, if the application is
incomplete or inaccurate, or if, after the 60-day comment period, TCEQ determines that the MSD
will harm the current and future water resource needs of a municipality, aretail public utility, ora
private well owner.

Ifpotable water wells are located within one-half mile of the MSD, TCEQ must require an
investigation to determine whether groundwater contamination has caused or could cause human
health or ecological standards to be exceeded.

The bill does not alter the private rights of legal action for personal injury or property damage
caused by the release of contaminants. Municipalities may regulate the pumping, extraction, and use
of groundwater by people other than retail public utilities to prevent the use of groundwater that
presents an actual or potential threat to human health.

Supporters said HB 3152 would provide a common-sense, balanced approach for dealing with
contaminated groundwater left behind by businesses such as dry cleaners, high-tech industries, and
service stations. Current law is so restrictive and expensive to comply with that businesses find it
nearly impossible to do so. Cleaning up contaminated groundwater can run small businesses into
bankruptcy, yet remediating shallow groundwater to the level of drinking water adds little practical

House Research Organization

Page 69



value to the affected property, because rarely would the water be used for drinking. This bill would
save businesses and communities hundreds of thousands of dollars in unnecessary remediation costs
while ensuring minimum negative impact on area groundwater.

HB 3152 would not allow MSDs to be granted for contaminated aquifers or other sources of
drinking water. A building situated over an aquifer would not qualify for an MSD, and any business
or individual who contaminated city drinking water in an aquifer still would be held responsible for
cleaning itup. TCEQ would have final review and discretion over the granting of MSDs, so an
exemption from cleanup most likely would not be granted in egregious cases.

The bill would stimulate economic development, increase property values, and create jobs in urban
areas that now have unusable property. By reducing the expense of remediating groundwater back
to drinking-water levels, the bill would allow urban areas to market properties for redevelopment
that otherwise would remain neglected. Three other states, Illinois, Pennsylvania, and Ohio have
enacted such legislation, which has allowed cities to use MSDs successfully to restore and revitalize
the local property-tax base and to stimulate job creation in economically depressed areas.

HB 3152 would protect property rights and would not take away a landowner’s water well. Water
inawell located in an MSD still could be used for watering grass or for certain industrial uses. Since
an MSD could not be established unless a public water supply was available, no property owner
would be deprived of safe water. Notice would be given to the affected municipality, public utilities,
and to private landowners who had registered their wells with TCEQ. The bill would preserve any
private right of action that a property owner might have ifhis or her property were contaminated.

Opponents said HB 3152 would give a free pass to polluters. Current law requires a business
that moves after contaminating groundwater to clean up its mess. If the state relieved responsible
parties of the burden of cleanup, it essentially would say that Texas aquifers were not worth cleaning
up. The bill would create a subsidy for polluters and shift the burden to future generations who might
need that water when alternative city water sources were tapped out.

The bill would remove the right of landowners to consent before permanent deed restrictions were
placed on their properties, thus infringing on property rights. Although the bill would require that
neighboring landowners with wells receive notice, it would not require their consent before granting
the MSD, after which polluters either could file a restrictive covenant with landowners’ permission
or simply apply to expand the MSD. Given the choice of whether or not to obtain landowners’ buy-
in, it seems clear which option most polluters would select.

HB 3152 would protect only citizens within one-halfmile of the MSD. However, groundwater
contamination does not confine itself to a limited area, but spreads throughout the water table and
can pollute the affected aquifer for miles around. The bill would devalue private property for the sole
benefit of polluters and future developers who no longer would have to meet certain standards for
further commercial development.

The HRO analysis appeared in the May 1 Daily Floor Report.
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Prohibiting operation of motorized vehicles in streambeds

SB 155 by Zaffirini
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 155 prohibits operation of a motorized vehicle in a protected freshwater area beginning
January 1,2004, except on the Canadian River or Red River. A protected freshwater area means
the portion of the bed, bottom, or bank lying below the gradient boundary of any navigable river or
stream. It does not include the portion of a bed, bank, or stream below tidewater limits. The
prohibition does not apply to a state, county, or municipal road right-of-way, to a private road
crossing established before the prohibition takes effect, or to operation of a vehicle for authorized
activities. The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) must establish a program to facilitate
development of vehicle recreation sites not located in protected freshwater areas.

A county, municipality, or river authority can adopt a local plan for providing access to a freshwater
protected area. The plan may allow limited vehicle use, provide for collection of a fee, or establish
other measures. Before a plan can take effect, the county, municipality, or river authority must file
the plan with TPWD, which can approve, disapprove, or modify a plan and must consider whether
the plan meets certain criteria.

A prescriptive easement over private property may not be created by recreational use of a
protected freshwater area, including portaging around barriers, scouting obstructions, or crossing
private property on the way to or from a protected freshwater area. The bill does not limita
person’s right to navigate in, on, or around a protected freshwater area. Except as otherwise
allowed by law, a person may not restrict, obstruct, interfere with, or limit public recreational use of
aprotected freshwater area.

All state peace officers must enforce the bill’s requirements. Violating the prohibition against driving
avehicle ina protected freshwater area, limiting public recreational use of a protected freshwater
area, or using private property without permission to reach a protected freshwater areais a Class C
misdemeanor, punishable by amaximum fine of $500, unless a defendant previously has been
convicted of such an offense at least twice, in which case the offense is a Class B misdemeanor,
punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,000.

Supporters said SB 155 would prohibit operation of motorized vehicles in Texas rivers or
streambeds but would provide exemptions for legitimate activities in which vehicle access toa
riverbed was necessary, such as for agriculture or utility maintenance. It also would exclude the
Canadian River and Red River, both of which have experienced fewer problems with vehicle
activity than have other rivers. Counties or river authorities could adopt local river-access plans to
provide limited vehicular access, such as for a family to reach a favorite swimming hole or to
transport disabled or elderly people down the river. TPWD would have to pursue development of
alternative sites for vehicle recreation. Development of authorized off-road vehicle parks or similar
sites would provide vehicle enthusiasts with places where they could recreate without causing
environmental harm to Texas rivers or streams.

Under current law, some rivers in Texas suffer under a nearly year-round crush of off-road vehicle
groups and individual drivers. The vehicles leak engine fluids into the rivers, loosen chunks of granite
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while “crawling” over rock obstacles, contribute to erosion along river banks, and destroy fish and
wildlife habitat. Motorized vehicles also harm water quality in rivers, many of which provide drinking
water for downstream communities. Along the Nueces River, for example, this has resulted ina
steady decline of vegetation, tire tracks and ruts running through fish-spawning beds, and signs of oil
spills and other discharges.

Preliminary investigations and other studies clearly show the destructiveness of motorized vehicles in
streambeds. A comparison of two sites along the Nueces River, conducted for the Nueces River
Authority, found far fewer environmentally sensitive species present ata popular spot for motorized
vehicles than at a similar site with no vehicular activity. A preliminary investigation by TPWD found
that motorized-vehicle traffic had destroyed vegetation along the banks of the Nueces, contributing
to soil erosion and destabilization.

Opponents said the public has aright to enjoy Texas’ rivers, whether traveling by foot, canoe,
kayak, or in a motorized vehicle. Because about 97 percent of Texas land is owned privately, state-
owned riverbeds are among the few areas where those who cannot afford to buy their own
property may drive their vehicles freely away fromroads, traffic, and stop lights. Many local
residents along Texas rivers have traveled by motorized vehicles to their families’ favorite swimming
holes or fishing spots for decades. In some cases, motorized vehicles may be the only feasible way
for disabled or elderly people to reach the wild and scenic parts of ariver.

SB 155 would overreact to violations by a few “bad apples” by banning this form of recreation for
the many conscientious operators. Most users of motorized vehicles are responsible operators.
Organized groups minimize their impact on the environment by adhering to guidelines that
recommend slow crossing of streams only at low-water points and that prohibit unnecessary
spinning of a vehicle’s wheels. Most users prefer to drive along gravel floodplains next to the water.

Little conclusive evidence exists to support the claim that motorized-vehicle activity in streambeds
necessarily harms river ecology. No in-depth, Texas-specific scientific investigations of this issue
have been conducted. Some studies have shown that severe weather events have a greater impact
on water quality than does even concentrated motorized-vehicle activity. The periodic floods
common to many Texas rivers wipe out traces of vehicle activity in riverbeds.

Other opponents said the bill should specify that local river-access plans created by counties or
river authorities could allow limited and responsible vehicle use for recreational purposes. Vehicles
can have an impact on streambeds if driven imprudently, but responsible operation largely mitigates
any potential harm. Local access plans need to allow some limited vehicular recreational use in areas
that would like to benefit from the economic activity associated with vehicle enthusiasts.

The HRO analysis appeared in the May 19 Daily Floor Report.

Page 72 House Research Organization



Sending peace officer reports of environmental crimes to TCEQ

SB 1265 by Armbrister
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 1265 requires peace officers to notify the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
(TCEQ) inwriting of certain alleged criminal environmental violations before they notify prosecutors
of the violations. SB 1265 does not apply to an alleged violation that clearly involves imminent
danger of death or bodily injury under one of the 10 endangerment offenses listed under Water
Code, ch. 7, and does not limit a peace officer’s power to arrest a person for an alleged offense.

Within 45 days after receiving a notice from a peace officer, TCEQ must evaluate the report and
decide whether an alleged environmental violation exists and whether administrative or civil remedies
would address the violation adequately and appropriately. [f TCEQ does not make its decision
within the 45-day period, a prosecutor may begin criminal prosecution. [f TCEQ decides thatan
alleged violation exists and that administrative or civil remedies would be inadequate or
inappropriate, it must notify the peace officer and recommend criminal prosecution. In all other
cases, the commission must notify the peace officer in writing that the alleged violation is to be
resolved through administrative or civil means. Prosecutors may not prosecute alleged violations if
TCEQ determines that administrative or civil remedies are adequate and appropriate.

Seventy percent of any fines, penalties, or settlements recovered through a prosecution under the bill
goes to the state to cover the bill’s costs. The remaining 30 percent goes to any local government
significantly involved in prosecuting the case.

Supporters said SB 1265 would help ensure that Texas’ environmental laws were interpreted
and enforced fairly and consistently and would reinstate a process used until 1997, under which a
state agency reviewed some alleged environmental criminal violations before prosecution. The bill
would not constrain prosecutors unconstitutionally, because the Legislature has authority to establish
what is a crime and how it will be handled. Also, Water Code, sec. 7.068 contains a similar
preclusion to prosecuting crimes by stating that payment of an administrative penalty under the
subchapter fully satisfies the violation and precludes any other civil or criminal penalty for the same
violation.

The bill would help protect individuals and companies against overzealous and unfair prosecutions.
Some local prosecutors use criminal charges to pursue alleged environmental violations without
adequately considering the facts and circumstances of an event. In other cases, an alleged violation
might be pursued criminally in one jurisdiction and not in another. Some prosecutors file criminal
charges for minor or nonexistent infractions. In many instances, civil or administrative penalties
would be more appropriate and more effective than criminal charges.

SB 1265 would address these problems by requiring cooperation among local law enforcement
officers and state environmental regulators. It would allow TCEQ to review an alleged
environmental violation and decide how best to handle it after considering certain statutory factors.
TCEQ is the best entity to determine whether a crime has occurred, because the commission writes
and interprets the complex environmental regulations.
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Itis not unusual for the state to keep a portion of environmental fines. The Water Code allows
counties to keep only 50 to 75 percent of some fines.

Opponents said SB 1265 unfairly would constrain criminal prosecutions of environmental crimes
by preventing local law enforcement officers from taking their cases directly to the prosecutor’s
office. It would violate the constitutional separation-of-powers doctrine by prohibiting prosecutions
outright if TCEQ determined that administrative or civil remedies were adequate and appropriate.

Local prosecutors are in the best position to analyze alleged crimes and to decide whether to pursue
cases, and courts are the best entity to decide culpability and punishments for actions that the
Legislature has made criminal offenses. Texas traditionally has given local prosecutors the discretion
of when to file criminal charges without review by a state agency.

Reducing the power oflocal prosecutors and substituting civil and administrative penalties for
criminal penalties could lead to a decline in the enforcement of environmental laws. In the past, the
state has sought criminal prosecution for very few environmental crimes, whereas some local
jurisdictions have active environmental enforcement teams. Local prosecutors can pursue
environmental crimes that the federal government or state agencies are too busy to handle or choose
toignore.

It would be unfair to limit local governments to 30 percent of fines recovered under SB 1265 if they
incur significant expenses in prosecuting environmental cases.

The HRO analysis of the House companion bill, HB 3164 by Capelo, appeared in Part Two of
the May 2 Daily Floor Report.

Page 74

House Research Organization



Environmental in-stream flows in surface water permitting

SB 1639 by Staples
Effective June 20, 2003

SB 1639 specifies that the Legislature requires the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
(TCEQ) to provide for the amount of freshwater inflow necessary to maintain the state’s bay and
estuary system in granting permits to use state waters. It also specifies that the Legislature has not
authorized granting water rights for leaving water in a river or stream for environmental needs.

The bill creates a Study Commission on Environmental Flows to conduct public hearings and study
the policy implications of balancing the demands on water resources of a growing population with
the requirements of river, bay, and estuary systems, including granting surface water permits for in-
stream flows dedicated to environmental needs, use of the Texas Water Trust, or other relevant and
importantissues. The commission mustissue a report on its findings and any recommendations by
December 1,2004. The bill abolishes the commission on September 1,2005.

Until September 1,2005, TCEQ may not issue a new surface water permit for in-stream flows
dedicated to environmental needs or the bay and estuary system. TCEQ may amend an existing
permit to change use or add a use for in-stream flows dedicated to environmental needs or bay and
estuary inflows. In considering a water permit application, TCEQ must include in the permit, to the
extent practical, conditions necessary to maintain existing in-stream uses, the water quality of the
stream or river, or fish and wildlife habitat.

SB 1639 allows a groundwater conservation district to adopt different rules for specific geographic
areas of the district if it determines that groundwater conditions in those areas differ substantially. It
also requires a district to select amethod for regulating groundwater production that is appropriate
to groundwater conditions and allows a district to limit groundwater production based on contiguous
surface acreage.

Supporters said SB 1639 would affirm that state law does not allow surface water permits to be

granted solely for environmental uses. However, it would recognize the debate over how best to meet the
environmental needs of rivers, bays, and estuaries by establishing a study commission to examine the
issue and make policy recommendations for the next Legislature. In the meantime, TCEQ could not

grant permits solely for environmental in-stream flows, continuing the state’s current policy.

The health of Texas’ rivers and bays needs careful consideration in the water permitting process.
However, using environmental reasons to justify requesting permits for all of the unappropriated
water flowing in ariver jeopardizes the ability of cities and communities to meet future water needs.
The state water plan projects that the state’s population will nearly double by 2050 and that water
demand will increase 18 percent. Reserving water for environmental flows without careful study and
scientific investigation could hinder the state’s ability to cope with population growth. The study
commission would help to develop a balanced water policy, meeting both the needs of the
environment and those of population growth.

The bill would not encourage a “gold rush” for water permits. In fact, it would strengthen current
provisions governing TCEQ’s consideration of environmental factors in water permits by allowing
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the commission to impose conditions on a permit necessary to maintain water quality and fish or
wildlife habitat.

Opponents said SB 1639 would deny citizens and public-interest groups the right to apply for
permits for environmental in-stream flows. The bill would prevent TCEQ from granting permits for
environmental flows while a commission studied the issue, but it would impose no restrictions on
permits for consumptive uses. Enacting the bill could create a “gold rush” of permit applications at
TCEQ for the unappropriated water remaining in the state’s river basins. By the time the study
commission had concluded its work, it could find that its options had been precluded by the rush for
water permits during the interim.

Current law is far from clear that TCEQ lacks the authority to grant water rights for environmental
in-stream flows. In fact, the agency’s decision on the San Marcos River Foundation permit application
already has been appealed in court. State law allows the agency to issue a permit for any beneficial
use, but does not specify what constitutes a beneficial use. It is reasonable to assume that most
people would consider preserving the health of rivers, bays, and estuaries a beneficial use of water.
Moreover, although current law provides a mechanism for the agency to consider environmental
needs in issuing water permits, the law does not suggest that this authority is exclusive of other
means of providing for the environment through permitting.

Notes: Aspassed by the Senate and reported by the House Natural Resources Committee, SB
1639 only would have allowed a groundwater district to adopt different rules for each aquifer or
subdivision thereof or for each geographic area overlying an aquifer. The House considered the bill
on the Local, Consent, and Resolutions Calendar and added several amendments with which the
Senate refused to concur. The conference committee attached the provisions of SB 1374 by
Armbrister, which had died in the House several days earlier.

The HRO analysis of SB 1374 by Armbrister appeared in Part Three of the May 27 Daily
Floor Report.
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Requiring informed consent from a woman before abortion

HB 15 by Corte, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 15 requires an abortion provider to obtain the voluntary and informed consent of a woman
seeking an abortion to be performed after January 1,2004, except in amedical emergency. At least
24 hours before the abortion, the physician must inform the woman of:

. the name of the physician performing the abortion;

. medical risks associated with abortion, including infection and hemorrhage;

. danger to subsequent pregnancy and risk of infertility;

. increased risk of breast cancer and the natural protective effect of a completed pregnancy in
avoiding breast cancer;

. probable gestational age of the unborn child at the time of abortion;

. medical risks associated with carrying a child to term;

. medical assistance that might be available for mother and baby care;

. the father’s liability for paying child support;

. the statistical likelihood of collecting child support;

. contraception counseling and referrals available from public and private agencies;

. herrightto review Texas Department of Health (TDH) materials that describe the unborn
child and that list agencies offering alternatives to abortion; and

. the website address for viewing TDH materials online.

Before the abortion, a woman must certify in writing that she received the information, and the
physician who performs the abortion must receive a copy of written certification. The materials
prepared by TDH must:

. describe the unborn child’s probable anatomical and physiological characteristics at two-
week increments, with the possibility of the unborn child’s survival;

. include nonjudgmental, realistic color pictures and dimensions of the child at two-week
gestational increments;

. listagencies that offer alternatives to abortion;

. include either geographically indexed information on agencies to help a woman through

pregnancy, childbirth, and the child’s dependency, or a toll-free, 24-hour phone number
from which a person can obtain this information; and
. comprehensively listadoption agencies and provide contact information.

The materials cannot include agencies that provide abortions or related services or that make
referrals to abortion providers. Ifa woman chooses to view TDH materials, they must be provided
to her at least 24 hours before the abortion, or 72 hours before the abortion if the materials are
mailed. A doctor does not have to provide the materials ifa woman certifies that she viewed the
materials online.

Anabortion of a fetus age 16 weeks or older must be performed at an ambulatory surgical center or
atahospital licensed to perform an abortion.
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Supporters said HB 15 would ensure that women seeking abortion receive the same kind of
medically accurate information they receive for any surgery, including risks, benefits, and the chance
for asecond opinion. The bill would help protect women’s health by making sure that if they choose
abortion, they do so in a fully informed manner. It would allow women to take charge of their health
care. Information could be given over the phone, and a woman could wait wherever she lived for
the 24-hour period to elapse. A woman who did not want TDH materials would not have to
receive them, but they at least would enable her to rethink her decision. HB 15 is similar to
legislation in 30 other states and upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court.

Many women seek abortions within only a few days of discovering their pregnancy and may not
have considered their decision thoroughly. Typically in this situation, a woman is confused and
scared. Although women already must consent before nonemergency abortions, they do not
necessarily receive complete information about the procedure or its possible health risks. Some
women say they would not have had an abortion if they had known more about the procedure, their
unborn child, or the post-procedure medical complications.

Opponents said HB 15 is based on the erroneous and patronizing assumption that women make
uninformed choices about abortion. The Texas Medical Practice Actalready requires informed
consent for all surgical procedures, including abortion, and most women have a sonogram and see
fetal development pictures before an abortion. In practice, women must wait more than 24 hours
anyway, because most clinics have several days’ wait before an appointment is available.

The information that HB 15 would require doctors to provide to women is biased and, in some
instances, medically inaccurate. Studies show that abortion is ten times safer than carrying a baby to
term, and no scientific evidence supports a link between breast cancer and abortion. Also, no
justification exists for requiring color pictures of fetal development, since black-and-white pictures
can convey the same information. Requiring TDH to distribute misinformation based on bad science
would undermine the department’s credibility and would bias women against abortion rather than
helping them make informed decisions. The real intent of this legislation is to exaggerate the difficulty
involved in an abortion and to influence women not to undergo the procedure, even when it is
medically recommended. The cumulative effect of the barriers in HB 15 would be to restrict access
to abortion, a de facto reversal of Roe v. Wade.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the April 28 Daily Floor Report.
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Regulating gestational agreements under the Uniform Parentage Act

HB 729 by Goodman, Dutton
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 729 allows a prospective gestational mother, her husband if married, each donor, and each
intended parent to enter into a written agreement regarding a gestational mother’s pregnancy by
means of assisted reproduction, her relinquishment of all parental rights, and the establishment of the
intended parents’ parental rights. The intended parents must be married to each other. The parties
can begin a court proceeding to validate their written agreement, and a court can validate a
gestational agreement after making certain required findings. The intended parents must file a notice
of the child’s birth within 300 days of the date the assisted reproduction occurred, and the court
must render an order confirming that the intended parents are the child’s parents, requiring the
gestational mother to surrender the child, and requiring the Bureau of Vital Statistics to issue a birth
certificate naming the intended parents as the child’s parents.

Supporters said HB 729 is necessary to ensure the well-being of children who are born with the
use of assisted reproduction and who deserve to know who their parents are. Under current law, if
intended parents want to become the legal parents of a child born through the use of assisted
reproduction technology, they must undergo a suit terminating the parental rights of the gestational
mother and then a lengthy adoption process, and they do not even have standing to file suit for
adoption until the child actually is born. Also, without clear legislation in place, courts’ ad hoc
decisions about the validity of gestational agreements could lead to confusion and inconsistencies
among jurisdictions. Gestational agreements are not tantamount to “‘baby selling” because they are
entered into before the child is born, and the child’s genetic makeup generally is derived from one of
the intended parents. Concerns that HB 729 would undermine traditional family values are
misplaced, because only a married man and woman could obtain court validation of a gestational
agreement. Unmarried couples or single people only could enter into private contracts regarding the
use of assisted reproduction, as they can under current law. Even if Texas outlawed gestational
agreements, intended parents could go to other states or abroad and then return to Texas with their
offspring, whom the state would have to recognize.

Opponents said gestational agreements should be outlawed because they treat babies like
commodities. HB 729 would do nothing to prevent intended parents from paying the gestational
mother for her services, which could result in lucrative financial deals. Also, the bill would undermine
traditional family values by encouraging the use of assisted reproduction. The bill is unnecessary,
because parents who cannot have children of their own can adopt children in need of loving homes.

Other opponents said the bill should not limit court-validated gestational agreements to a
married couple. Single people, as well as gay and lesbian and other unmarried couples, also should

have the right to enter into such agreements.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the April 30 Daily Floor Report.
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Prohibiting human cloning

HB 1175 by King, et al.
Died in the House

HB 1175 would have prohibited human cloning through somatic cell nuclear transfer (SCNT)
technology or therapeutic cloning, which involves removing the nucleus of an unfertilized egg cell and
replacing it with material from the nucleus of abody cell. The cell then is stimulated to divide into
stem cells, which can form specialized tissues and organs that make up an organism in a laboratory
environment. The bill would not have restricted other research, such as nuclear transfer or other
cloning techniques for producing molecules, DNA, cells other than human embryos, tissues, organs,
plants, or animals other than humans. A person who intentionally engaged in human cloning would
have committed a first-degree felony, and the attorney general could have sued to collecta civil
penalty of between $5 million and $10 million.

Supporters said human cloning degrades human life. Though cloning may have the potential to
yield advances in the treatment of debilitating diseases, this end does not justify the means. HB 1175
would prevent the further creation and destruction of cloned human embryos that, even at the one-cell
stage, are human life in its earliest form. A one-cell embryo has to mature before being recognizable
as afetus but, if given an environment in which to grow, could be viable.

HB 1175 would not restrict any vital medical research. It would not affect cloning and SCNT for
nonhuman organisms, nor research on existing human embryonic stem-cell lines. However, there is
noscientific evidence thatembryonic stem-cell research has resulted in any of the therapeutic benefits for
disease that have been claimed. Also, stem cells can be obtained from umbilical cords and from
adult humans without destroying human embryos. Using adult stem cells may be more effective than
using embryonic stem cells. Embryonic stem-cell research has been conducted for more than 20 years
butis still not as developed or as effective, in most cases, as adult stem-cell therapy.

Opponents said HB 1175 would go too far by banning SCNT research for therapeutic purposes,
even though, in this technology, an egg is not fertilized or implanted in a woman’s uterus. The bill
would define ahuman embryo to include the one-cell stage. A single-cell organism is not viable
human life. It could develop into human life if it multiplied and was implanted within a woman’s
uterus but, as a zygote in a petri dish, it is not human life. Embryonic research is an area in which
knowledge is incomplete and should be kept open to investigation. Research shows promise for
treating Parkinson’s disease, juvenile diabetes, and spinal cord injuries. The prospect of this work
leading to significant improvements in quality of life for people for whom existing treatments are
ineffective is worth continued investigation.

Notes: During consideration of SB 1652 by Shapiro, higher education revisions, Rep. Phil King,
the author of HB 1175, offered arelated amendment that would have prohibited a higher education
institution fromreceiving or spending appropriated funds ifit engaged in human cloning. The
amendment was withdrawn after the House adopted a substitute by Rep. Mark Homer that would
have permitted scientific research using human SCNT to develop regenerative or reparative medical
therapies or treatment.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 13 Daily Floor Report.
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Prohibiting placement of foster child with homosexual or bisexual parents

HB 1911 by Talton
Died in House committee

HB 1911, as filed, would have required the Department of Protective and Regulatory Services
(DPRS) to promulgate standards to prevent the placement of a child in a foster home with any
unmarried people. During public testimony, the House State Affairs Committee laid out a substitute
bill that would have prohibited the placement of a child in a foster home with any homosexual or
bisexual people after the bill’s effective date.

Supporters say children placed in foster care have been abused or neglected and deserve to be
placed in a traditional home with a mother and a father. A foster child should not have to face the
confusion of having two mothers, two fathers, or a single parent whose sexual orientation is socially
unaccepted. Children have the best opportunity to heal and develop into well-adjusted adults under
the care of a heterosexual mother and father.

One ofthe most important aspects of raising children is to teach them the difference between right
and wrong. Sexual orientation is a learned behavior, and a child placed in a home with gay parents
might come to perceive that homosexuality is an acceptable lifestyle. Providing care and moral
instruction for children in an institutionalized setting would be preferable to placing them in a foster
home that would teach them immoral behavior. Also, because Texas does notrecognize gay
marriages or civil unions, allowing homosexual couples to act as foster parents would deprive foster
children of the security of knowing that their caregivers’ relationship was stable and legal.

Opponents said the state’s first priority is and should continue to be placing children with loving,
nurturing parents in a safe home, which DPRS assures through extensive screening and training of
foster parents. HB 1911 would force children into institutions by decreasing the number of available
fosterhomes. The longer children stay in institutions rather than in loving foster families, the longer
and more difficult will be their healing from abuse.

Studies by respected organizations have identified no difference in parenting ability based on the
parent’s sexual orientation. No evidence suggests that children with gay parents are themselves gay
more often than children in the general population, because sexual orientation is innate, not learned.
By the same token, heterosexual couples are not necessarily good parents simply because of their
sexual orientation. In some cases where a child has been abused primarily by a parent of one sex,
the child may feel more secure in a foster home without a parent of that sex. Also, implementing the
bill would be very difficult, because DPRS has no workable way of ascertaining a foster parent’s
sexual orientation.
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Prohibiting recognition of same-sex marriages or civil unions

SB 7 by Wentworth, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 7 declares that same-sex marriages or civil unions are contrary to Texas’ public policy and are
void. It prohibits the state and any agency or political subdivision from recognizing a same-sex
marriage or civil union granted in Texas or in any other jurisdiction or any legal rights asserted as a
result of such amarriage or union. It defines a civil union as any relationship status other than
marriage intended as an alternative to marriage or applying primarily to cohabitants and that grants
the parties legal protections, benefits, or responsibilities granted to spouses in a marriage.

Supporters said SB 7 would preserve Texas’ right under the federal Defense of Marriage Act
not to recognize same-sex marriages from other states. Though state law already prohibits same-sex
marriages from being granted in Texas, the state could be required under the “full faith and credit”
clause ofthe U.S. Constitution to recognize civil unions granted in Vermont or elsewhere. SB 7
would not deny same-sex couples the right to seek a power of attorney, directive to a physician,
and other legal contracts that ensure that a same-sex partner has similar rights and decision-making
authority as a spouse.

The procreative marriage relationship between a man and a woman is a fundamental institution
whose purpose is the propagation of the species in humanity’s collective interest. The state has an
interest in protecting this relationship, because it gives women and children the surest protection
against poverty and abuse, provides for the healthy psychological development of children, and
avoids health risks of same-sex relations and promiscuity. The state’s recognition of same-sex
marriages would undermine the institution of marriage and society’s ability to transmit its values to
younger generations.

Opponents said SB 7 was unnecessary because state law already prevents same-sex couples
from marrying, and legal unions can be ignored under the federal Defense of Marriage Act.
However, the bill would deny same-sex couples some important rights. While a homosexual person
today can appoint his or her partner as an agent, solicit a physician’s directive, and use private
contracts to establish and protect his or her rights, seeking those protections is expensive, and they
should be recognized automatically through civil unions.

The U.S. Constitution requires that each state give full faith and credit to the public acts, records,
and judicial proceedings of every other state to prevent states from making value judgments about
what other state governments do. If Texas expects other states to recognize its laws, it should honor
the laws of other states. It is not the government’s role to establish correct ideology or theology or
to intervene in the private lives of adult citizens whose consensual actions harm no one. Texas is a
freedom-cherishing state and should continue to keep government out of adults’ private lives.

The HRO analysis of the companion bill, HB 38 by Chisum, etal., appeared in Part One of the
April 29 Daily Floor Report.
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Omnibus government reform initiatives

HB 2 by Swinford, et al./SB 1952 by Ellis
Died in the House/Died in conference committee

HB 2 would have changed the structure and operations of various state agencies. The original bill
considered by the House would have:

. required school districts to reduce administrative and noninstructional operating costs;

. granted the governor additional power to manage executive agencies and to direct state
economic development policy;

. created a centralized system to determine value of motor vehicles for the purpose of
increasing sales-tax collections on sales of used vehicles;

4 established a Private Correctional Facilities Commission to oversee contracts with private
vendors for correctional facilities and services;

. changed various environmental permit and hearing procedures;

. capped the number of management and human relations personnel in large state agencies;

4 delayed membership and contributions for new state employees into the Employees
Retirement System (ERS);

. replaced the three-member Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) board with a single
commissioner;

o moved the Office of State-Federal Relations to the Governor’s Office;

. abolished the Commission on Private Security and moved its functions to the Department of
Public Safety;

. consolidated or abolished several smaller state agencies and raised licensing fees for some
professions; and

. transferred administration of the state property tax system from the comptroller to anew

State Board of Property Valuation.

HB 2 was removed from the House’s May 10 calendar on a point of order, and arevised HB 2
was placed on the May 13 calendar, where it died. Among other changes, the revised HB 2 deleted
the provisions for reducing administrative and noninstructional operating costs in school districts and
forreplacing the TWC board with a single commissioner.

SB 1952 as passed by the Senate retained portions of HB 2 relating to a centralized system for
determining value of motor vehicles; capping management and human relations staffin large
agencies; expanding the governor’s economic development powers; increasing fees for various
professions; and delaying membership and contributions for new state employees into ERS. Other
provisions not contained in HB 2 would have:

. required the governor to declare an emergency and consult with the Legislative Budget
Board (LBB) before reorganizing a state agency;
. abolished the Sunset Advisory Commission and replaced it with a Performance Review

Commission headed by the lieutenant governor and House speaker, along with three
senators and three House members;

. abolished the State Auditor’s Office and the Legislative Audit Committee and moved their
functions to a new Performance Review Commission and to LBB;
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. redistributed functions of the Texas Legislative Council by placing its computer operations in
anew Legislative Information Services Board and by splitting its legal and research
functions between the House and the Senate;

. provided zero-interest student loans to students who maintained a certain grade-point
average and who graduated from college within four years;

. established a school-based individual health-care plan for students with diabetes;

. established aregistry of insurance policies sold to Holocaust victims and set criminal
penalties for collecting premiums on insurance policies sold on race-based grounds;

. replaced the 18-member Board of Pardons and Paroles with a new seven-member board;

. created a corporate integrity unit within the Attorney General’s Office; and

4 changed the definition of “express advocacy” in political advertising.

The House Government Reform Committee substituted language from HB 2 when the House
considered SB 1952. The House on second reading added floor amendments that would have:

. changed the procedure for water-quality permits for concentrated animal feed operations;

. required repayment of any money appropriated from the economic stabilization (rainy day)
fund during the succeeding biennium;

. required the governor to inform House members of any proposed appointment of residents
oftheir districts to a state board or commission;

. prohibited construction in a pipeline right-of-way without notifying the pipeline’s owner;

4 abolished the Aircraft Pooling Board;

. allowed the use of aggregated student standardized test scores in evaluating an individual
teacher’s performance;

. created a pilot program allowing public junior colleges to award baccalaureate degrees in
applied science and technology;

. required that Texas participate in an interstate compact for the return or supervision of

juveniles under legal supervision who had fled the state; and
established a state retirement oversight board.

The House on third reading deleted the provision that would have required the comptroller and the
Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) to create rules for determining the presumptive value
ofused motor vehicles for sales-tax purposes.

Supporters said HB 2 and SB 1952 represent a thoughtful effort to reorganize and bring
efficiency to state government. This legislation would settle some longstanding questions about
government organization and would save the state hundreds of millions of dollars during a period of
tough budget choices.

School district nonclassroom expenses. This provision in the original substitute for HB 2 would
ensure that state funds were spent to benefit students and classroom teachers, not administrators
and bureaucrats. The school finance system is based primarily on student attendance and ignores the
relationship between expenditures for instructional and noninstructional purposes. Money available
to school districts — particularly the portion of costs paid by the state— should be directed to the
classroom and not to auxiliary functions.

Private correctional facilities. HB 2 and SB 1952 would move the establishment and oversight
of private prisons in Texas to a commission that could facilitate the use of private prison beds and

House Research Organization

Page 87



save the state money by operating more efficiently than the Texas Department of Criminal Justice
(TDCJ). Because TDCJ has a vested interest in state-run correctional beds, it has a conflict of
interest when establishing and overseeing private prison beds. TDCJ is a large agency, often
unresponsive to innovation and plagued with inefficient bureaucratic procedures. These bills would
move responsibility for private prisons to an entity that could focus on establishing those prisons and
would be small enough to operate efficiently.

Environmental permitting. HB 2 would define more properly who should have standing in a
contested case hearing. These adjudicative hearings are not required by federal regulations and are
avestige of earlier state programs in place before federal regulations took effect. Since then,
technical review and other procedures have become more sophisticated, reducing the need to hold
adjudicative hearings on permits.

Governor’s powers. HB 2 would remedy the relative lack of power delegated to the governor by
the 1876 Texas Constitution. Texas needs strong leadership, particularly in the months when the
Legislature is not in session. Governors have expanded their authority over executive agencies
informally over the years, and this bill would recognize the governor’s ability to make changes
through executive orders. Those orders still would have to conform to the Texas Constitution and
statutes, and the Legislature could review those changes when it returned in session.

Used car sales-tax collection. HB 2 and SB 1952 would give state and local authorities the tools
to collect sales taxes on vehicles that already should be paid. No mechanism exists to ensure that
people who transfer titles on used vehicles state the sales price accurately. The state maintains a
sophisticated computer network that tracks millions of vehicle titles. It would be technologically
feasible to add objective information about vehicle values to the system without a significant impact
on TxDOT’s budget or on operation of the system. The comptroller’s revenue estimators project
$172 million in additional revenue for fiscal 2004-05 from improved collection of the sales tax on
automobiles.

Opponents said HB 2 and SB 1952 fall well short of a comprehensive effort to reform state
government in Texas. The bills are hodgepodges of minor changes and rely heavily on budget
gimmicks to shift costs to nongeneral revenue funds and local governments. They would provide no
overall organizing principle to guide state government into the 2 I st century.

School district nonclassroom expenses. HB 2 would impose a financial penalty on school
districts equating to 4 to 5 cents of the local property-tax rate, because each penny in property
taxes raises about $100 million statewide. It would create a retroactive standard based on
information from the 2001-02 school year to penalize school districts for spending decisions that
were proper at that time and cannot be reversed now.

Private correctional facilities. It would be unwise to expand the state’s private prisons, since the
ones that existhave not been entirely successful. Existing private prisons have had many ongoing
problems with public, inmate, and employee safety. Studies show that private prisons offer little in
the way of cost savings for states and that savings often are due to low salaries, lax oversight, and
poor performance. TDCJ has done a good job of overseeing private facilities, especially since the
77th Legislature in 2001 established enhanced monitoring procedures.
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Environment permitting. These provisions of HB 2 would weaken state laws providing for public
hearings on environmental permits and would deprive many property owners of the right to pursue a
contested case hearing on a permit for a facility that could affect their property rights.

Governor’s powers. Texans may like their governor’s personalities, but they retain a suspicion of
gubernatorial power. In 1999, more than 52 percent of Texas voters rejected constitutional
amendments that would have allowed the adjutant general and human services commissioner serve
atthe governor’s pleasure. Voters should be allowed to voice their opinions about whether to grant
additional power to the governor. HB 2 could weaken some of the checks and balances and
separation-of-powers protections in the Texas Constitution by granting the governor authority to
reorganize state government unilaterally.

Used car sales-tax collection. HB 2 and SB 1952 unfairly would shift the tax burden to low-
income Texans who buy used vehicles. This policy not only would be inequitable but would not
generate as much revenue as closing the so-called “Delaware sub” loophole by which Texas
companies incorporate out of state to avoid paying the franchise tax. Sales taxes are collected on
the market price of items, and it would set a bad precedent to allow the government, rather than the
free market, to set the values used to calculate taxes.

Notes: Portions of SB 1952 that carried potential savings were included in other bills enacted late
in the session. A delay on making state contributions for new state employees and teachers into their
respective retirement systems, estimated to save $91 million, was included in HB 2359 by Ritter
and HB 3459 by Pitts and McCall. Changes in management of state facilities estimated to save $42
million were included in HB 3042 by R. Cook, and various changes in management and personnel
policies in state agencies estimated to save about $29 million were added as amendments to HB
3442 by Pickett.

The HRO analysis of HB 2 appeared in Part One of the May 10 Daily Floor Report and in
Part One of the May 13 floor report. SB 1952 was analyzed in Part One of the May 27 floor
report.
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Establishing a statewide homeland security strategy

HB 9 by Flores, et al.
Effective June 22, 2003

HB 9 requires the governor to develop a homeland security strategy to detect and deter threats,
respond to and recover from emergencies, and coordinate activities of other jurisdictions and the
private sector. It creates the Critical Infrastructure Protection Council (CIPC), including the
governor or governor’s designee and representatives of 13 governmental entities, to advise the
governor on homeland security, and the Texas Infrastructure Protection Communications Center
(TIPCC) at the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to plan, coordinate, and integrate
communications for homeland security. The bill designates DPS as the repository, disseminator, and
primary analyst for intelligence related to homeland security. HB 9 makes certain information
confidential, including information related to emergency response providers, risk or vulnerability
assessments, encryption keys, and critical infrastructure. It also requires reporting of disease
outbreaks to authorities.

Supporters said HB 9 would create a state homeland security structure using the same
nomenclature as the federal system to facilitate coordination and communication among federal,
state, and local emergency responders, without creating anew agency or requiring new financial
resources. Texas’ current emergency management is reactive, even though security threats have
changed fundamentally since September 11,2001. HB 9 would institutionalize a culture of proactive
coordination and communication through the CIPC and TIPCC to prevent terrorism, reduce the
state’s vulnerability to disaster, and minimize damages from disasters. It would change state-level
policy primarily by coordinating emergency response under the governor, who, as commander-in-
chief, should be in charge of ensuring that the state’s security strategy protects Texans well. HB 9
would equip state leaders to manage risk better by constantly assessing new threats and how to deal
with them successfully. Its purview would cover all disasters, from hurricanes to bioterrorismto a
nuclear attack.

Opponents said HB 9 would result in two state-level disaster response coordinating bodies, as
the proposed CIPC would have duties similar to those of the existing Emergency Management
Council. This duplication would waste scarce resources and confuse the chain of command, which
could make emergency response less effective in the short run. The existing emergency response
framework works well and should not be changed. Also, HB 9 would give Texans a false sense of
security by shifting existing responsibilities into new hands without adding new resources to the
state’s homeland security effort. There is no apparent difference between what now is called
“emergency management” and what HB 9 calls “homeland security.” Local responders acutely need
assistance from DPS in the form of training, technical assistance, and completion of emergency
management plans, but HB 9 would not meet these needs. Also, the bill would allow a council
headed by the governor or the governor’s designee to make tactical decisions in an emergency, thus
potentially politicizing decisions more properly made by emergency management professionals.

The HRO analysis appeared in the March 31 Daily Floor Report.
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Prohibiting involuntary annexation

HB 568 by Mowery, et al.
Died in House Calendars Committee

HB 568, as reported by the House Land and Resource Management Committee, would have
prohibited a municipality from annexing an area unless a majority of municipal voters approved
annexation and one of the following conditions was met:

. residents in the area subject to annexation voted to approve the annexation;
. residents in that area petitioned the municipality for annexation; or
. no voters lived in the area subject to annexation.

A municipality would have had to disannex an area if a majority of registered voters in the area
petitioned for disannexation and a majority of voters in amunicipal election approved it. Residents
of disannexed areas still could have been taxed by the municipality to pay for the area’s share of
municipal indebtedness.

Supporters said residents of territories targeted for municipal annexation deserve the right to
reject annexation. By giving an equal voice to county residents in the annexation process, SB 568
would stop cities from abusing their authority by annexing surrounding land to increase municipal tax
revenues without providing corresponding city services. Residents could stop cities from imposing
unwelcome and unneeded changes in land-use regulations, as often happens after annexation.
County residents contribute to municipal institutions by patronizing local businesses, paying
surcharges for using municipal libraries and swimming pools, and sometimes by attracting boaters
and campers who spend money in cities.

Opponents said preserving municipal discretion to annex is critical to preserving cities’ ability to
satisfy the needs of municipal and nonmunicipal residents alike. HB 568 would set an unrealistically
high hurdle for municipalities to obtain approval for annexation. Overly restricting annexation would
resultin diminished public services and would limit cities’ ability to pay for sewer line extensions,
wastewater treatment plants, and other infrastructure needed to accommodate safe and responsible
development of surrounding land.

Other opponents said the 76th Legislature in 1999 enacted SB 89 by Madla, requiring a public
notice and hearing procedure before a city may annex. The Legislature should give that law more
time to work before adopting a much more restrictive new standard.
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Revising ethics laws and Texas Ethics Commission procedures

HB 1606 by Wolens
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 1606 revises ethics and campaign-finance laws pertaining to most state and local candidates
and officeholders and to lobbyists; adds regulations for the campaign for House speaker; and
revises procedures of the Texas Ethics Commission (TEC), which underwent sunset review in 2002
but as a constitutionally created agency law cannot be abolished.

Standards of conduct and personal financial disclosure. Attorney-legislators who apply for or
obtain legislative continuances — postponements until 30 days after legislative session adjournment
of civil or criminal proceedings in which they legally represent parties —must report detailed
information about the continuance motions and file copies of continuance applications with TEC.
State officers who are attorneys must report referrals made or received for compensation and fee
amounts accepted. Required personal financial statements filed late by state officers and employees
incur a civil penalty of $500, as opposed to an amount set by TEC not to exceed $10 per each day
late. The bill also imposes new requirements for the operation and reporting of blind trusts.

Effective January 1, 2005, municipal officers (mayors, governing body members, municipal
attorneys, and city managers) and candidates for elective office in municipalities of 100,000 or
more; trustees of independent school districts with enrollment of 5,000 or more; and certain other
local officials must file annual personal financial statements with their respective entities and, except
for municipal reports, with TEC. Financial statements are public records but are subject to
destruction two years after the officer leaves office. Knowingly failing to file a statement is a Class B
misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,000. Municipal
officers and candidates who fail to file statements within 30 days of notice of failure to file timely are
subjectto a civil penalty of up to $1,000.

Legislative conflicts of interest. Legislators may not represent other people for compensation
before state executive agencies after September 1, 2003, except clients in criminal matters. If
legislators’ spouses, children, or parents are registered to lobby on the subject matter of measures
or bills, legislators must notify their respective houses and TEC before introducing, sponsoring, or
voting on the legislation.

Campaign finance and political advertising. All filers must report “cash on hand,” rather than
only amounts collected, at the end of each reporting period. Candidates must report within one
business day any contributions exceeding $1,000 received during the last eight days before an
election. Legislative and statewide executive office candidates and committees supporting,
opposing, or assisting them must report the principal occupations or job titles and employers’ names
of contributors of $500 or more (aggregated). Candidates for major political party chairs in counties
0f350,000 or more must file the same finance reports as do candidates for public office. Out-of-
state political committees raising and spending money in Texas must file reports. Residents may seek
court orders compelling candidates, officeholders, or committees to file reports if they are delinquent
after 60 days. The bill increases civil penalties for late filing of campaign contribution reports to

$500 for most reports.
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Treasurers of general-purpose committees must identify money spent by corporations or labor
organizations to establish or administer the committees or to raise political contributions. Legislative
caucuses, statewide officeholders, legislators, and specific-purpose committees may notreceive
political contributions until 20 days after final adjournment of a regular legislative session, instead of
immediately after adjournment.

Campaign advertisements that promote the electoral success or failure of a candidate or proposal
are considered “express advocacy.” Such ads may not be published, distributed, or broadcast
without identifying who paid for them or which candidates or political committees authorized them.
Violations are punishable by a civil penalty of up to $4,000, as determined by TEC. The definition
of political advertising includes information posted on an Internet website.

Lobbying. HB 1606 defines circumstances that pose conflicts of interest for lobbyists and prohibits
lobbyists from representing clients in communications to influence legislative or administrative action
unless the lobbyist notifies affected clients within two days, and TEC within 10 days, after learning
ofany conflict. TEC must assess a civil penalty of up to $2,000 for violations of conflict-of-interest
provisions in addition to any other action TEC or another person might pursue. By December 1,
2004, TEC must develop an electronic filing system for lobbyists. TEC may increase lobbyist
registration fees in 2004 and 2005 to cover development and implementation costs.

House speaker’s race. Candidates for House speaker must file written declarations with TEC
before knowingly accepting loans, contributions, or promises of contributions or making or
authorizing campaign expenditures. By September 1,2004, TEC must implement and candidates
must use an electronic filing system for speaker candidate reports. Political contributions, interest
earned on contributions, and assets purchased with contributions may not be donated or spent on
speaker’s races. Any unexpended campaign funds must be reported annually to TEC. A violation of
the bill’s provisions is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a
maximum fine of $4,000.

TEC functions and duties. HB 1606 establishes a two-tiered enforcement process for TEC and
shorter deadlines for notice, response, and other procedures. Category One violations include
failure to file required reports and statements timely, make required disclosures in political
advertisements, include right-of-way notices on political advertisements visible from roadways, and
respond to anotice letter from TEC. All other violations are considered Category Two. The bill
establishes deadlines for responding to each type of complaint and timetables for preliminary review
hearings, which are conducted if preliminary reviews do not produce agreement on resolving
complaints or if respondents request hearings in writing. [f TEC finds credible evidence of a violation
that is not technical or minuscule and cannot resolve or settle the complaint, the commission must
order a formal, rather than an informal, hearing. The burden of proofat a formal hearing is a
preponderance of, rather than clear and convincing, evidence.

By avote of atleast six members, TEC may subpoena documents and witnesses during preliminary
reviews for good cause. TEC must believe reasonably that the documents or witnesses will produce
the specific information sought and that the information cannot be obtained less intrusively.

TEC may affirm, reduce, or waive civil penalties in the public interest or the interests of justice. The
executive director may refer matters arising from complaints to prosecutors based on areasonable
beliefthat violations of statutes governing bribery, corrupt influence, or abuse of office have occurred.
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Supporters said HB 1606 would balance the dangers of ethics violations, the potential harm of
ethics allegations, and the public’s right to know how election campaigns are conducted and public
decisions are influenced. The bill would require disclosure of legislative continuances and legislators’
conflicts of interest regarding legislation on which family members lobby. It would increase
campaign-finance disclosure by political committees and candidates and would streamline TEC
investigations and enhance TEC’s oversight and enforcement functions.

Standards of conduct and personal financial disclosure. HB 1606 would balance the public’s
right to know about potential conflicts of interest with the need for legislators and their relatives to
earna living. Prohibiting legislators from representing paying clients before state agencies they
oversee would remove ameans of undue influence that can intimidate agency officials and be unfair
to opposing parties. Candidates for municipal, school, and other local offices should have to face
the same level of scrutiny as those who seek state and party chair offices. People who believe that
they deserve public office should give voters the opportunity to review their financial holdings and
assess what conflicts of interest they might have if elected.

Campaign finance and political advertising. HB 1606 would give the public much-needed
information about the activities of candidates, political action committees, and their supporters.
Because the governor considers and, in some cases, vetoes bills up to 20 days after adjournment of
the regular legislative session and because special sessions often are announced during that period,
political contributions during that period can appear unseemly. Waiting three weeks after the regular
session ends would create no hardships on those who make or receive contributions. Defining
“express advocacy” in relation to campaign advertisements would be an appropriate means of
prohibiting such ads masquerading as “issue ads” or “voter education,” especially those paid for
with unregulated contributions. Voters and candidates deserve to know who is behind the political
messages they hear.

Lobbying. The bill would broaden unlawful conflicts of interest to include both those arising
between lobbyists’ clients and those between clients and lobbyists” employers, associates, or the
lobbyists themselves. Criminal acts still could be prosecuted under other statutes, and clients would
retain the ability to seek civil redress.

House speaker’s race. Even though not elected by the general public, the House speaker is one of
the three most powerful officers in state government. Speaker candidates conduct campaigns and
exert tremendous sway over legislation and policy. This contest should be subject to more
disclosure and public scrutiny.

TEC functions and duties. By incorporating almost all recommendations of the Sunset Advisory
Commission, HB 1606 would enhance TEC’s ability to fulfill its mission. Expectations that TEC
should police all state electoral campaign activity and prosecute every allegation of governmental
misconduct aggressively are unrealistic. The bill would ensure a fair and orderly process for
subpoena issuance through specific guidelines and the requisite six-vote approval. Allowing the
executive director to determine complaint jurisdiction and eliminating the informal hearing stage
should speed up the process. Criminal referral authority would ensure that the most egregious
violations were subject to the full force of the law.
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Opponents said HB 1606 would make some marginal improvements in TEC functions but
would do little to move the agency toward the level of scrutiny and enforcement needed to bring
campaigns and officeholders into full compliance with disclosure and election laws.

Standards of conduct and personal financial disclosure. Mere reporting of legislators’
conflicts of interest over legislation on which their close relatives lobby is insufficient protection
against self-dealing. The bill should prohibit legislators from filing, sponsoring, or voting on such bills
under any circumstances. Also, legislative continuances no longer should be tolerated. Court delays
should be granted for legitimate reasons, not because a legislator has been hired or added as
counsel to a pending case before a legislative session. Such manipulation of the judicial system is
unfair to parties who cannot or will not engage in it, cheapens legislative office, and discriminates
against other professions that lack similar privileges. City and school board elections are local
matters, and their regulation should be left to local discretion. Requiring local candidates to disclose
their personal finances could discourage well-qualified citizens from seeking public office.

Campaign finance and political advertising. Requiring disclosure of contributors’ employers or
occupations would invade contributors’ privacy without necessarily enhancing public knowledge of
the political process. The express advocacy definition is too broad and could run afoul of federal
case law. It would restrict free speech unduly and could hamper political discourse.

Lobbying. Additional legislation is not needed to address lobbyist-client conflicts of interest. No
compelling reason exists for the state to regulate a business relationship simply because it may affect
publicpolicy.

House speaker’s race. The speaker is chosen by House members, not by voters. Because there is
no public campaign to be disclosed, subjecting speaker candidates to TEC regulation and disclosure
isunnecessary, and criminalizing noncompliance would be too severe.

TEC functions and duties. TEC is the only state regulatory agency whose board, rather than
staff, mustissue subpoenas. This requirement renders meaningful investigations virtually impossible in
view of the five-vote minimum and six votes required for subpoenas. TEC never has issued a
subpoena or initiated an investigation; only one complaint ever has reached the final hearing stage.
HB 1606 would not rectify this situation, leaving the staffand public thwarted from pursuing full
compliance with campaign and ethics laws. The bill should create a new enforcement division or
should authorize the attorney general or a local law enforcement agency to help TEC conduct
investigations.

Other opponents said the bill’s requirements for legislators to report financial conflicts of
interest should be strengthened, and the annual filing fee and lobbyist registration fee increase should
be reinstated. The House speaker should be elected by secret ballot to curtail intimidation. Reducing
TEC’s requisite majority votes from six to five, in most instances, would speed up decision-making
and enforcement. A three-fourths majority is needlessly burdensome.

The HRO analysis of HB 1606 appeared in Part One of the May 5 Daily Floor Report.
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Transferring Commission on Human Rights to Texas Workforce Commission

HB 2933 by Flores
Effective upon federal certification

HB 2933 transfers the Commission on Human Rights to anew civil rights division of the Texas
Workforce Commission (TWC). Governed by a seven-member commission appointed by the
governor, this independent division will administer laws prohibiting discrimination in employment and
housing and will collect and report statewide information on employment and housing discrimination
complaints. Information on complaints filed with the division, federal agencies, or local commissions
must include analyses of employment or housing complaints by basis of the complaint, issue, cases
closed, and average processing time.

Aninvestigator may not conduct an investigation without having completed a training and education
program. The training must provide information on the Americans with Disabilities Act, types of
disabilities and accommodations appropriate in an employment setting, and fair employment and
housing practices.

The bill takes effect upon certification of the TWC civil rights division by the federal government and
the transfer of related federal funds.

Supporters said HB 2933 would make the Commission on Human Rights a separate division
within the TWC. The commission has a history of management problems and complaints of
employment discrimination. The state auditor found gross fiscal mismanagement at the agency from
1998 through 2001, putting state and federal funds at the risk of loss or abuse. The auditor’s report
also found that the commission had failed to perform nearly 70 percent of the required reviews of
state agency or higher education institution employment policies.

Despite a change ofleadership in 2001, the agency remains troubled by poor management. In
reviewing the commission’s management, the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC)
found that directors and managers of the housing program lack adequate experience to run the
program and estimated that the agency will lose out on $660,000 in revenue from federal housing
programs during fiscal 2004-05. LULAC also estimated that the commission will miss out on
additional revenue from the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) by failing to
meet the number of case closures called for by the EEOC contract. Moreover, 12 employment
discrimination complaints have been filed against the commission with EEOC and are pending in
court. LULAC analyses indicate that a number of the complainants had superior qualifications, yet
were passed over for employment opportunities.

Making the commission a separate division within the TWC would improve the state’s efforts to
combat employment and housing discrimination and to enforce antidiscrimination policies. The
human rights commission is top-heavy with management. Moving it could eliminate redundant
positions and save the state money, while enhancing the agency’s mission.

Opponents said abolishing the commission and transferring its duties to the TWC would not
benefit the state, victims of discrimination, or the general public. The transfer of responsibilities could
create confusion among clients and could lead to some agency duties being abandoned.
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Since new management took over in 2001, the commission has made substantial progress in
correcting past problems. In less than one year, the commission has completed 98 percent of the
measures in its remedial plan approved by the state auditor. Also, the agency has met or exceeded
nearly all of its performance measures.

Many of'the problems attributed to the commission are inaccurate or misleading. LULAC’s
estimates are based on erroneous information and faulty assumptions. Both the U.S. Department of
Housing and Urban Development and the EEOC have stated that the commission fulfilled its
contract obligations for fiscal 2002 and that the federal agencies have an excellent working
relationship with the commission’s new management. Despite critics’ claims of discrimination,
EEOC found no reasonable cause to believe that discrimination had occurred in any of the
complaints of former commission employees.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Three of the May 10 Daily Floor Report.
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Continuing the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs

SB 264 by Lucio
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 264 continues the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) until 2011
and makes changes to the agency’s programs, including:

. requiring notification of prospective TDHCA-governed housing projects to local interests,
including the U.S. representative, members of the Legislature, the political subdivision’s
governing body, and neighborhood organizations;

. specifying the issues that must be considered in public hearings for state-aided housing
projects;

. eliminating tax credits in certain cases for low-income housing developments in areas with
existing high concentrations of such housing;

. mandating a deposit and reserve account system for property repairs and improvements in
housing projects overseen by TDHCA;

. establishing a process for identifying and executing repairs and improvements in low-income
housing projects;

. authorizing both nonprofit and for-profithousing providers to apply for federal housing funds
and preventing TDHCA from giving preference to nonprofit providers;

4 specifying that the state must allocate federal housing funds to all “urban/exurban and rural
areas” of each uniform state service region;

. delineating a point system by which to rank applications for funds under the state’s
allocation of private activity bonds that are set aside for affordable housing; and

. altering the prioritization of private activity bond reservations for rental projects.

Supporters said SB 264 would continue TDHCA for eight years. The department serves an
important mission and largely has overcome the major problems that prompted lawmakers to
continue the agency conditionally last session.

The bill would strengthen community inputinto TDHCA’s decision-making process, increasing
public awareness of and participation in the agency’s evaluation of housing applications. Members
of the public have the right to be informed of low-income housing developments planned for their
communities, and the bill’s public notification requirements would help build the public support that
is crucial for successful projects.

SB 264 would address concerns that affordable housing is becoming overly concentrated in limited,
less desirable areas, away from quality schools and employment opportunities. The bill would help
disperse housing developments throughout a city, minimize undue burdens on local taxing entities,
and ensure that unwanted and unneeded projects would not commence.

The evaluation plan for awarding tax credits would emphasize important considerations such as
financial feasibility, community support, and the income levels of families served. The bill also would
reform allocations of private activity bonds, granting housing developers more flexibility in serving
needy populations and basing allocation decisions on such criteria as income levels, unitrent levels,
and rental unit quality.
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Opponents said SB 264 would introduce new barriers that could impede seriously the
construction of affordable housing in Texas. Because of the widespread “not in my backyard”
mindset, public housing developments already are scarce in desirable suburban communities with
solid bases of employment and strong schools, and SB 264 could aggravate this situation.

A development should not be ineligible for tax credits simply because its surrounding metropolitan
area has arelatively high level of affordable housing. The need remains great for affordable housing
inmany urban and suburban areas. Also, the bill’s provision that TDHCA could not give preference
to nonprofit housing providers in distributing federal funds could lead the agency unfairly to allocate
these organizations the minimum funds required by federal law, even though nonprofit providers
often depend on public financial support.

Other opponents said while TDHCA has addressed many of the financial and administrative
problems that have plagued the agency in the past, the agency needs to be monitored very closely.

The agency should be continued for only four years before undergoing sunset review again.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.
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Continuing the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation

SB 279 by Jackson
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 279 continues the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and most ofits
functions until September 1,2015. Itreplaces references toa TDLR “commissioner” with
references to the executive director or the commission, depending on the function. The executive
director will perform administrative duties, including setting salaries, while the Commission of
Licensing and Regulation will establish policy and can adopt rules to implement TDLR’s various
regulatory programs. The bill increases the size of the commission to seven members and repeals the
governor’s authority to appoint advisory board members, requiring the commission’s presiding
officer to appoint them with commission approval.

The commission must revoke, suspend, refuse to renew a license, or reprimand a license holder for
violating agency statutes. The bill waives conditions for obtaining a license after determining that the
applicant holds a license issued by another jurisdiction that has substantially the same licensing
requirements as Texas. The commission may enter into reciprocity agreements with other states. In
addition, the bill:

. transfers to TDLR, from the Department of Agriculture, the responsibility for administering
weather modification grants and creates a process for voters to approve issuance of a
weather modification permit;

. transfers to the Department of Public Safety regulatory responsibilities for transportation
service providers and repeals the registration requirement for this occupation;
. requires a certificate of compliance for elevators, escalators, and related equipment stating

the date of the last inspection, the due date for the next inspection, and TDLR contact
information to report a violation of the applicable regulations;

. requires the commission to adoptrules specifying the information contained in a certificate of
elevator and escalator compliance, describing the procedure for issuing a certificate, defining
a“publicly visible” area of a building, and requiring that a certificate related to an elevator be

posted there;

. requires that a person who operates a valet parking service have financial responsibility for
each employee, established through insurance, surety bond, or a deposit; and

. requires TDLR to regulate the use of loss damage waiver contracts that consumers may

enter into with merchants.

The bill also requires a person who plugged an abandoned or deteriorated well in a groundwater
conservation district to submit a report to the district’s board of directors and TDLR’s executive
director within 30 days after the date the well was plugged. It authorizes a groundwater conservation
district to enjoin behavior and seek civil damages for violations. TDLR and the Texas Commission
on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) must adopt or revise a joint memorandum of understanding to
coordinate the efforts of the departments, groundwater districts, and TCEQ field offices relating to
investigations of complaints about abandoned and deteriorated wells.

Supporters said that by reorganizing TDLR to give the commission more authority, SB 279
would ensure its responsiveness and independence. The commission would gain key authority to
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make rules and appoint advisory committee members. SB 279 would divide the commission’s
policy-making functions from the executive director’s administrative responsibilities, thus helping
TDLR improve its responsiveness and better insulating the department from excessive influence by
industries itregulates.

The bill would preserve TCEQ’s authority over irrigators and other water-related occupations
without the confusion of involving TDLR in the licensing process. Water specialists should continue
their direct relationship with TCEQ to ease the implementation of conservation measures the agency
likely would adopt in the future.

SB 279 would help ensure timely inspections of elevators by requiring the posting of certificates of
compliance in publicly visible places. Elevators are moderately complex systems that result in
accidents and injuries each year. In light of these risks, the public should have ready access to
current inspection certificates. The commission would have discretion in determining where to post
the certificates, which would not have to be displayed in the elevators. It also would regulate valet
parking and loss damage waiver contracts.

Certain occupations and professions require specialized regulation and oversight best accomplished
by separate licensing and regulatory agencies. Merging these duties into TDLR would resultinan
unwieldy conglomeration that could reduce needed oversight.

Opponents said SB 279 should transfer certain licensing programs from TCEQ to TDLR. TCEQ
does not prioritize its licensing programs but instead focuses on reviewing permit applications,
enforcing substantive law, and planning programs. As aresult, TCEQ’s licensing programs do not
receive proper attention. SB 279 should enable TDLR, the state’s principal licensing agency, to
assume more responsibility for these administrative duties, allowing TCEQ to attend more to its own
specialities.

SB 279 could result in an inefficient and unsightly inspection certificate for elevators, which serve as
the “front door” of many businesses and residences. Paper certificates subject to replacement when
they expire often appear tattered and yellowed. On occasion, the date of the certificate does not
correspond with inspections that have been performed. These imperfections in prominently placed
elevator certificates might prevent businesses from presenting their best initial impressions and could
alarmthe public unnecessarily.

Other opponents said eliminating separate licensing and regulatory agencies for funeral
directors, plumbers, cosmetologists, barbers, land surveyors, geoscientists, and other occupations
and merging them into TDLR with separate advisory committees would reduce administrative
overhead and duplication.

The HRO analysis appeared in the May 16 Daily Floor Report.
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Continuing the Texas Workforce Commission

SB 280 by Nelson
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 280 continues the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) until 2009 and makes many changes
to the agency and its programs, including:

. requiring the TWC to partner with the business community to meet the needs of Texas
businesses and workers;

. requiring local workforce development boards (LWDBs) to address the skills development
needs of recipients of Temporary Assistance for Needy Families;

. requiring development of rules to govern relationships between LWDBs and independent
contractors;

. integrating federal block-grant programs and caseworker services at local career
development centers;

. requiring a LWDB to notify a working-poor recipient of child-care subsidies when the
recipient’s subsidy is terminated;

. establishing an advisory committee of LWDB members and staft directors to advise TWC
on policies that affect LWDBs and the state’s workforce delivery system;

. creating an evaluation process for the distribution of federal child-care development funds
and the effectiveness of child-care programs in helping parents maintain employment;

. requiring TWC to collaborate with the Texas Education Agency on adult education
programs and directing TWC to create a demand-driven workplace literacy curriculum;

. clarifying the types of career schools exempt from TWC oversight;

. granting TWC cease-and-desist authority to close unlicensed career schools; and

. expanding the tuition refund program for students of a closed career school.

Changes to TWC’s administration of the unemployment compensation trust fund include:

. allowing TWC to issue bonds to avoid borrowing from the federal unemployment trust fund
when bond financing is the most cost-effective way to fund unemployment benefits;

. imposing an assessment rate on employers when interest on a federal unemployment
advance is due and the money to make this payment is not available;

. adding criteria that must be met before TWC can approve the transfer of an unemployment
insurance rating from a previous to a subsequent employer;

. allowing the commission to deny transfer of an unemployment insurance rating ifan
acquisition is engineered to circumvent the experience rating system; and

. prohibiting chargebacks against an employer if the employee’s separation results from the

employee leaving the workplace to protect the employee from family violence or stalking.

Supporters said TWC should be continued, but because of the commission’s challenging
relationship with LWDBs, it should undergo sunset review in six years rather than 12. TWC’s
current governing structure of three appointed commissioners and an executive director should be
leftintact, since this arrangement provides transparency and long-term stability and effectively
balances the interests of the commission’s constituencies.
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SB 280 would reinforce TWC’s primary role of addressing the needs of businesses by requiring the
commission to partner with the business community. The bill would improve services to customers
by requiring LWDBs to offer a single point of contact for people to navigate the maze of workforce
programs and requirements. It also would improve the efficiency of child-care development fund
expenditures by requiring TWC to take into account the child-care needs of each local workforce
development area.

The bill would help end manipulation by businesses that organize acquisitions to avoid the
unemployment compensation experience rating system. It would enable Texas to pay for
unemployment insurance benefits more cost-effectively by allowing the state to issue bonds to
refinance outstanding federal unemployment advances, potentially saving the state millions of dollars.

Opponents said SB 280 would not address findings of the Sunset Advisory Commission staff
that TWC’s three-member governing structure contributes to confusion among agency staffand
often results in duplication, delays, and unnecessary expenses. A single commissioner could oversee
amore efficient and open system.

Although TWC should strive for integrated workforce services at the local level, SB 280 would not
provide additional resources to implement this directive. It also would not address many problems
with the commission’s administration of Texas’ payday law. The bill should require that public
information workers who receive telephone requests seeking compensation for unpaid wages be
able to speak Spanish.

SB 280 also would miss an opportunity to address problems with the unemployment compensation
program that burden Texas employers excessively. The bill should require TWC to strengthen
work-search requirements and crack down on fraudulent unemployment insurance claimants, and it
should strengthen TWC’s authority to reclaim benefit overpayments.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 20 Daily Floor Report.
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Revising state policies on childimmunization

HB 1920 and HB 1921 by Capelo/SB 43 and SB 486 by Zaffirini
Effective September 1, 2003

The 78th Legislature enacted legislation amending state policy on child immunization, particularly
with regard to ImmTrac, the state immunization registry, which tracks immunization of children from
birthto age 18 and allows disclosure of information with written consent of the child’s parent.

HB 1921 amends regulation of the immunization registry by requiring consent only once, adding
additional protection for the information, and allowing providers to use the registry to send
reminders. The bill makes consent valid until a child turns 18 years old, unless withdrawn in writing,
and allows the parent or guardian to consent to the registry by an electronic signature on the child’s
birth certificate. On receiving initial consent, TDH must notify the parent or guardian that the
immunization record can be included in the registry and must provide information about the registry,
including who could obtain the information and how to have records removed. TDH may not retain
individually identifiable information about a person for whom consent was withdrawn or for whom
consent cannot be verified.

HB 1920 requires the Texas Department of Health (TDH) to develop continuing education
programs for vaccine providers relating to immunizations and the federal Vaccines For Children
program, which provides free vaccines to health-care providers for children of families that lack
sufficient insurance coverage for early childhood immunizations and cannot pay for them. A provider
may enroll in the program on the same application form used for Medicaid health-care providers;
report vaccines administered under the program to the immunization registry; and use the registry to
determine whether a child has received a vaccination.

SB 43 requires TDH to report to the Legislature on results of the Raising Immunization Through
Education (RITE) pilot program, a collaborative state effort funded by the federal Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention to implement peer training in best practices for increasing
immunization levels in medical offices. The report, due by October 1, 2005, must include the
program’s effect on immunization rates, its cost-effectiveness, recommendations for expansion, and
possible funding sources.

SB 486 requires TDH to develop and maintain partnerships with public and private entities to
increase public awareness and support of early childhood immunizations. TDH must work with the
Texas Education Agency to increase awareness and participation among preschool and school-age
children. The bill protects a health-care provider who acts in compliance with the immunization
registry laws and rules from criminal and civil liability for furnishing the required information.
Providers are not liable for administering a vaccine under the state program unless they would have
been liable if they had administered the vaccine outside of the program.

Supporters said Texas has acompelling interest in increasing immunization rates, and data from
the state immunization registry should be part of this effort. Once commonplace diseases such as
polio virtually have been eradicated by immunization programs. Any risks associated with
immunization are insignificant compared to the proven risk of not immunizing children against
preventable killer diseases. It would be appropriate for providers to use registry data to send
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immunization reminders, particularly since parents who had opted out of the registry would not
receive them.

HB 1921 would improve TDH’s registry by allowing one-time consent. Some providers do not
send vaccination information because they must verify consent before doing so. This bill would place
the responsibility in TDH’s hands, where consent easily could be verified according to whether or
not there was arecord in the registry. If there were no record, consent could not be verified and the
information would be sent back to the provider. The bill would state clearly that TDH could not
maintain data on people for whom consent had been withdrawn. This would ensure that the registry
contained only information that parents wanted to be stored there.

HB 1920 would help TDH improve Texas’ lackluster vaccination rates by encouraging providers to
participate. Allowing providers to enroll in the program by using the Medicaid provider form would
remove one of the main barriers to recruitment faced by Vaccines for Children. The bill also would
generate accurate and useful immunization data for organizations that need it. By using the database,
aprovider could determine what vaccines a new patient needed and could ensure that a child would
not receive a duplicate immunization, thus preventing waste. A complete and accurate registry also
would enable providers to print reminder cards to be sent to parents when it was time for a child’s
nextimmunization.

Opponents said because vaccines can harm children, the choice of whether to vaccinate should
rest with parents and doctors. The state should not pressure parents to vaccinate their children. It
would be inappropriate for the state to use registry information to send reminders to encourage
parents to have their children vaccinated. Also, the registry could pose confidentiality concerns.
People who had declined immunizations might worry that their decision could be held against them
some day by an insurer or some other group. For this reason, efforts to expand access to the
immunization registry should be discouraged.

HB 1921 would undermine a parent’s right to refuse consent to the registry. By allowing one-time
consent on the child’s birth certificate, the state unfairly would ask parents to make a very important
decision at a time of great stress and distraction, when parents must deal with many forms to sign
and activities to perform.

Although it might be easier for some providers to enroll in the vaccine program by using Medicaid
forms, HB 1920 would be of little help to the many providers in Texas who do not accept Medicaid
patients. The registry database is difficult to use and requires much data entry, another reason why
already overworked providers likely would not flock to this program. Providers still would be
discouraged from participating because the Vaccines for Children program pays only for the vaccine
and not for the cost of the visit.

Notes: HB 2292 by Wohlgemuth, effective September 1, 2003 (see next page), prohibits punitive
action against parents and caretakers who do not immunize their children and creates an affidavit for
parents or caretakers to sign exempting children from immunization for reasons of conscience.

The HRO analysis of HB 1921 appeared in Part Two of the May 7 Daily Floor Report. The
analysis of HB 1920 appeared in Part One ofthe April 29 Daily Floor Report. The analysis of SB
43 appeared in Part One of the April 30 Daily Floor Report. The analysis of HB 1926 by Capelo,
the companion to SB 486, appeared in Part One of the April 29 Daily Floor Report.
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Reorganizing the delivery of health and human services

HB 2292 by Wohlgemuth
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 2292 makes many changes to the delivery of health and human services (HHS) in Texas,
including reorganizing the state agency delivery system and programmatic changes related to
Medicaid, the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), Temporary Assistance to Needy
Families (TANF), and other HHS programs.

Reorganization. The bill reorganizes HHS delivery by combining 10 state agencies into four: a
Department of Aging and Disability Services, Department of State Health Services, Department of
Assistive and Rehabilitative Services, and Department of Family and Protective Services. It
consolidates eligibility determination, family violence services, and administrative supportin the
Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC). The HHSC commissioner must submit a
transition plan to the governor and the Legislative Budget Board by December 1,2003.

The bill establishes a Health and Human Services Council to advise HHSC on policy; an advisory
council for each of the four HHS agencies; and a public assistance health-benefit review and design
committee to advise regarding Medicaid and CHIP policies. It abolishes existing advisory
committees except those required by federal law or concerned with licensing. The HHSC
commissioner can exempt other advisory committees from abolition. The bill also:

4 abolishes the Texas Rehabilitation Commission’s (TRC) Extended Rehabilitation Services
program and directs TRC to assess the need for transitional services;

. expands the Commission for the Blind’s education, screening, and treatment program to
offer transitional services;

. transfers the Communities in Schools Program from the Department of Protective and
Regulatory Services to the Texas Education Agency;

4 authorizes the Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation (MHMR) to contract
with a private provider to operate a state mental hospital under certain circumstances;

. establishes a “family protection fee” of $ 15 to be paid at the time a suit for dissolution ofa
marriage is filed, which will support family violence prevention services; and

. transfers medical transportation programs from HHS agencies to the Texas Department of
Transportation.

Medicaid. HHSC must offer the health maintenance organization model of Medicaid managed care
across the state as the default Medicaid program. Other options can be used if found more cost-
effective, including primary-care case management, a prepaid health plan, traditional fee-for-service,
or another managed care arrangement. The commissioner may adjust rates, fees, and charges paid
to Medicaid providers to ensure efficient operation of the program. Insurers must waive any waiting
period for people leaving the Medicaid or CHIP programs and joining a private plan.

HB 2292 limits prescriptions for a Medicaid recipient to four per month and limits the size ofa
prescription to a 34-day supply, except as authorized by HHSC in consultation with the attending
physician or advanced practice nurse. HHSC may evaluate and implement a prior authorization
system for high-cost medical services and procedures. To the extent possible under federal law,
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HHSC must require sliding-scale cost sharing in the form of copayments, enrollment fees, a
deductible, or, for managed care recipients, coinsurance or a part of the plan premium. Cost-sharing
levels must be set at the maximum allowable level under federal law.

HHSC must implement a federal requirement to impose a lien on the property of'a person who
receives Medicaid payments for nursing home care (42 U.S.C., sec. 1396p(b)(1)). Upon the
recipient’s death, the house under lien will be sold, and the state will seek recovery for Medicaid
payments made on that person’s behalf. The lien may not be applied to a person’s home ifa
spouse, minor or disabled child, or sibling with an equity stake in the house lives there.

Other provisions in HB 2292 relating to Medicaid include:

. reducing the personal needs allowance for elderly recipients in nursing homes from $60 to
$45 per month;

. creating a pilot program to allow Medicaid-eligible children join the CHIP program,;

. third-party billing requirements; and

. performance-based contracting for nursing homes.

CHIP. HB 2292 extends a 90-day waiting period to all children who apply for CHIP, regardless of
their previous insurance history. Children who became eligible for CHIP will maintain eligibility for
only six months and will be limited to four prescriptions per month and to a 34-day supply of each
medication. Copayments and premiums in CHIP must be raised to the maximum levels allowed
under federal law.

Vendor drug program. In addition to the mandatory rebates that manufacturers pay for inclusion in
the Medicaid program, HHSC must negotiate voluntary supplemental rebates from manufacturers of
drugs reimbursed by Medicaid, CHIP, or a state hospital. HB 2292 establishes a preferred drug list
(PDL) for Medicaid and CHIP, with prior authorization required for certain prescriptions. The list
may include only drugs from a manufacturer who has negotiated supplemental rebates. The bill
establishes a prior authorization requirement for drugs on the less-preferred tiers of the PDL, except
for any drug exempted by federal law.

TANF. The asset test for determining eligibility for case assistance is lowered from $2,000 to
$1,000 for all households. The agency that verifies eligibility can use information from third parties,
such as a consumer reporting agency, county appraisal district, or the state’s vehicle registration
database, to check the accuracy of an applicant’s information. Income earned by a person who
marries a TANF recipient will be disregarded for six months following the wedding for purposes of
determining eligibility or the level of cash assistance.

Aneligible TANF recipient must show one month’s compliance with the personal responsibility
agreement before receiving assistance. A recipient who fails to cooperate for two consecutive
months becomes ineligible for cash assistance for the individual and the entire family, but the person
may reapply. The bill establishes exemptions from this requirement for good cause. A recipient of
cash assistance must have developed an employment plan that must include strategies that support a
family’s transition from assistance to self-sufficiency. The bill also creates a program, subject to
federal funding, to offer instructional courses on premarital counseling; physical fitness and active
lifestyles, including sexual abstinence for unmarried and previously married people; and parenting
skills. TANF recipients who take the courses may receive additional financial assistance.
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Other provisions. HB 2292 also:

. authorizes certain counties to establish a hospital district, primarily Travis County;

. changes the disbursement of certain funds, including the Telecommunications Infrastructure
Fund, unclaimed lottery funds, and tobacco settlement funds;

. establishes a nonprofit Border Health Foundation;

. establishes a nursing home incentive program to promote quality of care;

. prohibits punitive action against parents or caretakers who do not immunize their children

and establishes an affidavit for parents or caretakers to sign, exempting children from
immunization for reasons of conscience;

. authorizes an investigation of abuse or neglect in a nursing home without the completion of
an on-site survey by DHS;

. establishes a quality assurance fee for all facilities operated by MHMR;

. authorizes MHMR to adopt a schedule of initial and annual renewal compliance fees for
people that provide services through a federal waiver program; and

. increases fees related to licensing and certification of certain health professionals.

Supporters said HB 2292 is integral to the state’s budget planning for fiscal 2004-05. Facing a
revenue estimate that could not support current services, legislative appropriations committees
opted to preserve services over administration and to fund, as fully as possible, current direct
services over those that are more preventative. This bill would save the state a substantial amount of
money that could be used for pay for services.

The state should consolidate HHS agencies to achieve efficiencies in delivery and to make it easier
for clients to navigate the system. The current system divides clients by age or condition, forcing
them to work their way through many programs at different locations throughout their lives. It makes
more sense to build the state’s HHS infrastructure around functional areas: health, protective and
regulatory, and long-term care services. Program fragmentation among state agencies confuses
clients and drains available resources. Al HHS agencies can share functions such as purchasing,
human resources, and information technology. This would enable the state to use its resources more
efficiently and would make it easier for employees and vendors to deal with a single entity.

Opponents said HB 2292 would destroy the system it purports to save. Disrupting HHS
administration and delivery would cause the state’s safety net to disintegrate. Much of the bill’s
savings would result in reducing funds to local economies, especially in rural Texas, and would
cause an additional loss of associated federal funds.

The bill would disrupt HHS delivery without necessarily resulting in greater coordination. HHS
agencies and programs face greatly reduced funding and will need to perform the same level of
services with less money and with fewer administrative employees. The proposed major
reorganization would put a fatal strain on an already weakened system. Also, the interests of specific
client populations would be lost in the mega-agencies proposed by HB 2292. Agencies such as the
Department of Health and the Department of Human Services are large and broad, while other
agencies represent and provide services to smaller populations, such as the elderly and the blind.
Current agency directors and boards serve as advocates for specific populations. Leadership by
generalists would marginalize the concerns of these populations.
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Other opponents said the state should reorganize HHS agencies but must preserve public input
onpolicy. HB 2292 would abolish all advisory committees except those required by federal law or
specifically exempted by the commissioner. This would reduce stakeholder input in policy making to
an advisory role without the authority to set policy. The state should preserve public input to ensure
that HHSC sets policies that are fair and reasonable.

Notes: HB 2292 contains many provisions enacted in other legislation, including:

. adisease management and jail diversion program for people with certain mental illnesses, in
SB 1145 by Madla (see HRO analysis in the May 16 Daily Floor Report);,
. return of unused prescription pharmaceuticals by the Medicaid program to a pharmacy for

credit, in HB 3486 by Delisi, et al. (see HRO analysis in Part Three of the May 10 Daily
Floor Report); and

. third-party billing and fraud prevention, in HB 1743 by Delisi, et al. (see HRO analysis in
the April 10 Daily Floor Report).

HB 2292 also contains provisions proposed in other bills that were not enacted but that were
analyzed inan HRO Daily Floor Report, including:

. aconsumer-directed services program for people with disabilities who receive services
through a waiver program, in HB 3182 by Delisi, et al. (May 13, Part One);

4 definition of personal care services, in SB 1498 by Madla (May 25, Part Two);

. public health preparedness, in HB 2988 by Capelo (May 13, Part One);

. authority of the attorney general to enforce certain regulations relating to nursing homes, in
SB 1204 by Lindsay (May 25, Part Two);

. a Medicaid fraud prevention pilot program, in HB 3204 by Delisi (May 12, Part Two);

. authority for local entities to permit all residents to participate in a local medical assistance
plan, in SB 309 by Gallegos, etal. (May 27, Part Two); and

. asystem of care for children with certain mental illnesses and emotional disturbances, in SB

60 by Zaffirini (May 27, Part Two).

The HRO analysis of HB 2292 appeared in Part One of the April 24 Daily Floor Report.
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Creating a patient protection office within the Health Professions Council

HB 2985 by Capelo
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 2985 establishes an Office of Patient Protection (OPP) within the Health Professions Council
to serve as an ombudsman for consumer complaints at health profession licensing agencies. The
governor will name an executive committee, consisting of at least three public members of licensing
boards, to appoint a director for the office. The office will represent consumers before licensing
agencies and may appeal agencies’ decisions on behalf of consumers as a class. [t may not appeal
anindividual complainant’s case. The office will evaluate rules proposed by licensing agencies and
will recommend statutory changes to the Sunset Advisory Commission during review of arelevant
licensing agency. Funding for the OPP will be generated through a $5 fee on initial licensing or
registration of health professionals and a $1 fee on renewals.

Supporters said health-care consumers need an advocate. The boards that regulate health
professions tend to overrepresent the interests of the professions they regulate. The majority of
board members are licensees, and even public members tend to rely on the professionals they
regulate for information and perspective. Often, legislators and the public never hear of trouble with
alicensing board until news reports of egregious problems surface. The public lacks regular contact
with these boards, and the Legislature may not know what questions to ask to ferret out problems.
The OPP would track trends in consumer issues with the boards, and the Legislature or the boards
themselves could take corrective action before problems grew dire.

In dealing with regulatory boards, consumers often report that they cannot determine where their
complaints are in the process or what action has been taken. The OPP would help in this capacity
by representing the interests of all patients in the aggregate, rather than in individual cases. The office
would be self-funded by a fee on professionals’ licenses. It would require no additional general
revenue, nor would itreduce funding for a licensing board’s activities.

Similar offices have represented consumer interests well. The Public Utility Commission,
Department of Insurance, and Texas Commission on Environmental Quality have independent
advocate offices that represent consumers. Patients should enjoy the same representation.

Opponents said the proposed new office is unnecessary. The state has enough oversight in place
to ensure that boards represent the public. Each board has public members and is subject to
oversight by the Health Professions Council, the Texas Department of Health, the Health and
Human Services Commission, and the Legislature. Also, each board is reviewed periodically by the
Sunset Advisory Commission, the state auditor, and the comptroller.

Other opponents said the OPP should be given some real authority. The bill should require the
office toreport to the Legislature regularly, such as during appropriations hearings or before each

legislative session, so that consumers’ problems would not be lost in the sunset process.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the April 28 Daily Floor Report.
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Regulation of physicians by the Board of Medical Examiners

SB 104 by Nelson
Effective June 10, 2003

SB 104 changes the requirements for physician licensure; directs the Texas State Board of
Medical Examiners (BME) to prioritize complaints and adopt a schedule of sanctions; establishes an
expert panel to assist in investigation of complaints; changes the complaint resolution and
enforcement process; and changes the fee structure for physician licensure.

The physician profile that the board makes public must include any charges, disciplinary action, or
complaints against the physician, rather than only those within the previous 10 years; the full text of
the formal complaint or board order, except for any patient identifying information; and a description
of any medical malpractice claim for which the physician was found liable and against whom a final
judgment and monetary award have been determined. Physicians must comply with continuing
medical education requirements and must submit a physician profile for a license to remain in effect.

BME may deny licensure when the applicant is on deferred adjudication for a felony or certain
misdemeanors. The board must suspend the license of a physician convicted of certain
misdemeanors, including assaultive offenses that are not punishable by fine alone, failure to register
as asex offender, and violation of a protective order. BME must revoke a license if the physician’s
license has been revoked in another state.

BME must give priority to complaints that allege sexual misconduct, substandard quality of care,
and physician impairment and must investigate immediately complaints against a physician who is
being monitored as part of a previous disciplinary action. The board must convene an expert
physician panel to assist in complaints and investigations when medical competency is at issue. The
panel will be funded through an $80 surcharge on registration and renewal.

Supporters said SB 104 would give BME the tools it needs to ensure that bad doctors do not
practice medicine in Texas. The board could deny or revoke a license for a broader range of
reasons, including deferred adjudication, assaultive crimes, and license revocation in another state.
The expert panel would give BME a broader range of expertise in evaluating standard-of-care
cases. A stronger BME could help reduce medical malpractice insurance premiums in Texas. A
very small proportion of physicians account for the majority of malpractice cases, driving up the
rates for all. Targeting those few physicians would reduce the risk for insurers, who would pass the
savings on to Texas doctors.

SB 104 would throw the weight of legislative intent behind current board activities. The bill’s major
requirements would support recent efforts the board has made to perform its duties better. BME
has made great strides in investigating more complaints more quickly, but the board needs additional
authority to doits job. In addition to enforcement actions resulting inremoval of a license, the board
has launched a public information campaign to make patients aware of their right to file complaints
againsta physician, and BME has reduced the amount of time it takes to investigate a complaint.
BME is underfunded for the important work it must perform, and SB 104 would generate additional
money for enforcement. It would secure funding through fees for ongoing enforcement so that the
board could investigate and resolve complaints in a timely manner.
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The bill would target repeat offenders by requiring BME to investigate complaints against doctors
who are under disciplinary orders and by expediting informal hearings involving physicians who have
been disciplined before. This is a better way to focus on repeat offenders than simply reviewing
insurance claims, because it prompts immediate action against doctors who have been through the
process before, yet filters out claims that did not result in a complaint to BME.

Opponents said SB 104 would offer consumers too few protections, while expanding
protections for physicians by adding new rights for physicians during the complaint resolution
process, requiring more extensive research of standard-of-care cases, and dismissing complaints if
BME did not act by certain deadlines. These protections by far would outweigh consumer benefits
from SB 104.

Alax BME is a primary cause of Texas’ medical malpractice crisis, and SB 104 would not do
enough to address that problem. According to areport by Public Citizen, in the past 12 years, 272
physicians have lost or settled at least four malpractice complaints in Texas but have not been
disciplined. The bill would not accelerate enforcement because it would not alter the current system.
Under current law, BME meets with an accused physician in an informal settlement conference, and
the case goes to the State Office of Administrative Hearings if no agreement is reached. The bill only
would require that BME schedule the informal settlement conference within 180 days, unless the
board could show good cause for delay. BME can do this now, yet actions come so late that they
are ineffective.

SB 104 would not crack down on repeat offenders. According to Public Citizen, the bulk of
medical malpractice is at the hands of physicians who have settled at least two malpractice claims in
the past. The law should require BME to investigate any physician against whom an expert report
was filed in multiple malpractice cases, rather than requiring the board to investigate all claims, as in
current law.

The bill would not resolve BME’s inherent conflict of interest. The majority of board members are
physicians, and all standard-of-care issues are determined by physicians. This biases the board’s
actions toward protecting physicians’ interests rather than public safety. The bill should require a
public member on the expert panel.

The HRO analysis ofthe House companion bill, HB 6 by Allen, appeared in the March 18 Daily
Floor Report.

Page 114 House Research Organization



Allowing hospital districts to provide nonacute care for certainimmigrants

SB 309 by Gallegos
Died in the House

SB 309 would have authorized county hospital districts to provide nonacute medical care—such
as doctor’s visits, physical therapy, and disease management services — for people who otherwise
would be ineligible under the 1996 federal welfare-reform law, the Personal Responsibility and
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA). Funding for this medical care could have come
only from local funds, and the district would have had to establish a cost-sharing system. Under
PRWORA, undocumented immigrants are eligible for certain health services, including immunization,
emergency medical care, and treatment for communicable diseases. A state may make these
immigrants eligible for additional services by enacting a statute that affirmatively authorizes their
eligibility, and SB 309 would have made that authorization.

Supporters said SB 309 would give hospital districts undisputed legal authority to include
undocumented immigrants in their indigent health-care programs while allowing districts to comply
with PRWORA through a state exemption, thus enabling districts to save money and manage their
costs better. Counties would save money by paying for preventive and ongoing care so that patients
would not come to emergency rooms with untreated, advanced diseases. Instead, immigrants could
schedule routine visits at doctors’ offices or clinics, making it easier for the entire health-care system
to absorb the flow of patients. This would benefit all Texans by ensuring that local emergency rooms
were available when needed.

Texas has a public health interest in treating immigrants to prevent the spread of infectious disease.
In many border counties, rates of hepatitis A, chicken pox, dengue fever, and tuberculosis are more
than double the national average. Federal exemptions to PRWORA allow undocumented
immigrants to obtain vaccinations and treatment for communicable disease, but these services alone
are not sufficient to protect the public health.

The state ultimately could save on Medicaid payments for infants if county hospital districts provided
access to health care for pregnant undocumented immigrants. Children born on American soil are
U.S. citizens even if their parents are not, and children of undocumented immigrants are likely to be
eligible for public benefits, including Medicaid. Pregnant undocumented immigrants who are denied
access to prenatal care may experience poor birth outcomes for their infants, including low birth
weights. These infants’ conditions then must be treated and paid for by Medicaid.

Because the majority of a hospital district’s funds are supported by taxes in which undocumented
immigrants participate, these residents should be entitled to health-care benefits. Undocumented
immigrants living and working in Texas pay sales taxes and may contribute to property taxes, which
pay for indigent health care at the local level. Also, they often pay federal taxes that support
Medicaid and Medicare. The Washington Postreported in 2001 that many undocumented
immigrants pay uncredited Social Security taxes using false numbers and have federal income taxes
withheld from their salaries.

Immigrants come to the United States to work, not to obtain benefits. Providing health care for
undocumented immigrants would not encourage more people to cross the border. Immigration
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trends suggest that the enactment of PRWORA, prohibiting undocumented immigrants from
receiving public benefits, has not reduced immigrants’ desire to come to the United States.

Opponents said SB 309 would drive up the cost of caring for undocumented immigrants and
would increase local tax burdens. With health-care costs soaring, local taxpayers should not be
asked to pay for health care for new populations.

In the case of undocumented immigrants, the perceived higher cost of emergency care versus that
of ongoing care is amyth. While a single visit to an emergency room costs more than a visitto a
doctor’s office or clinic, the low frequency with which people use emergency rooms resultsin a
lower overall cost. The problem of patients clogging emergency rooms with nonacute conditions is
due more to people’s impatience than to their ability to pay. Undocumented immigrants and other
indigent patients have access to anumber of private free or sliding-scale clinics in most metropolitan
areas, yet they continue to misuse emergency rooms.

While prenatal care is important to birth outcomes, SB 309 likely would have no effect on prenatal
care. Pregnant undocumented immigrants in particular would be unlikely to take advantage of
publicly supported prenatal care for fear of possible deportation. If they were deported before
giving birth, their infants would not be U.S. citizens.

Undocumented immigrants do not participate in all of the taxes that support indigent health care and
therefore should notreceive the benefits. Medicaid and Medicare are primary revenue streams for
community hospitals. To avoid detection, many immigrants are paid in cash and do not pay federal
income or Social Security taxes.

Even though the law denies most public benefits to undocumented immigrants, other factors have
encouraged immigration, including educational opportunities and private businesses’ demand for
labor. Creating a safer and more attractive environment for these immigrants would undermine the
nation’s immigration laws and encourage illegal activity. Texas should not reward undocumented
immigrants for breaking U.S. laws by guaranteeing them health care.

Other opponents said SB 309 is not necessary, since the Texas Constitution authorizes a
hospital district to pay for indigent health care without regard to immigration status. Art. 9, sec. 4
requires hospital districts to assume “full responsibility for providing medical and hospital care to
needy inhabitants of the county.” Texas voters added this language to the Constitution in 1954. In
1999, voters approved Proposition 3 (HJR 62 by Mowery), designed to eliminate duplicative or
obsolete language in the Constitution. The amendment did not change the language about hospital
districts’ responsibilities but deleted two other minor provisions in Art. 9, sec. 4. By reaffirming
hospital districts’ responsibilities, Texas voters affirmatively have included undocumented

Notes: HB 2292 by Wohlgemuth, the health and human services reorganization act, includes a
provision allowing local authorities to include all residents in a local medical assistance plan.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 27 Daily Floor Report.

Page 116

House Research Organization



Revising procedures for determining Medicaid eligibility

SB 1522 by Zaffirini
Effective June 18, 2003

SB 1522 directs the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) to implement rules to
establish 12-month continuous Medicaid eligibility for children by June 1,2005, rather than by June
1,2003. The Department of Human Services may obtain information from consumer reporting
agencies, from a county appraisal district, or from the Texas Department of Transportation’s
vehicle-registration database for use in verifying the assets and resources of people who apply for
medical assistance. HHSC may require a personal interview for Medicaid applications or
recertification for children if HHSC determines that this procedure is needed to verify eligibility.
Procedures for determining the need for a personal interview for recertification must based on
objective, risk-based factors to focus on people for whom there is a high risk that eligibility would
notbe recertified.

Supporters said SB 1522 represents a compromise between what the state must do to save
money and what the state ought to do to protect children’s health. Postponing implementation of
continuous 12-month eligibility for Medicaid would save the state $1 14 million in general revenue
for fiscal 2004-05. The state already has implemented six-month continuous Medicaid eligibility,
and SB 1522 just would postpone the next phase of broadening continuous eligibility without taking
anything away from those currently served. The state is in a difficult fiscal position and must use
scarce dollars wisely to avoid cutting children’s services whenever possible. Twelve-month
continuous eligibility is important for children’s health, but it can wait two more years if more
children can be served today.

Postponing 12-month continuous eligibility would not remove any children from the program. The
only way for a child to be turned away from Medicaid is if the family income or assets rise above
eligibility levels. In this time of scarce state funding, Medicaid resources should go to children who
are the most in need, not to those whose family income exceeds the eligibility requirements.

Opponents said the bill represents no compromise but simply would avert a tax increase at the
costof children’s health. Texas does not have a spending problem, but rather a revenue problem.
Because the state was unwilling to close tax loopholes for business or to establish a progressive
system of taxation, children could go without medical care.

Eligible children would fall offthe Medicaid program if the state postponed 12-month continuous
eligibility. Some children’s parents would be unable to return the paperwork in time, causing their
children to lose coverage even though they still were eligible. Many children who fell off the program
would go without routine care only to wind up very sick in hospital emergency rooms, forcing
taxpayers to pay for care at their local hospitals in a more expensive, less appropriate setting. SB
1522 might allow the state to save money up front, but local taxpayers would foot the bill eventually.

Notes: Continuous eligibility also was included in HB 2292 by Wohlgemuth, the health and human
services reorganization bill, but that legislation gave preference to SB 1522, ifenacted.

The HRO analysis of SB 1522 appeared in Part One of the May 27 Daily Floor Report.
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Allowing public universities to retain overhead expenses

HB 1887 by Morrison
Effective June 18, 2003

HB 1887 prohibits funds generated by teaching institutions, medical schools, or dental schools and
used to conduct research and to pay overhead expenses (indirect cost recovery) from being applied
to higher education funding formulas in such a way as to reduce the general revenue appropriations
to those institutions. The institution or school must spend the retained funds for projects encouraging
further research and to support approved research.

Supporters said research universities in Texas work hard to generate external funding for
research and development (R&D) and sponsored projects, yet the state deducts from their general
revenue appropriations 50 percent of the indirect cost recovery (ICR) —used to pay for overhead
expenses — the institutions earn on externally funded research projects. Overhead expenses are
incurred in building use and depreciation, equipment use, operations and maintenance, interest expense,
library expense, and administration. This policy amounts to a tax on institutions that are successful at
securing funding from federal agencies, corporations, foundations, and individual donors.

The ICR is very important not only to large research institutions but also to regional universities
competing for outside funding. In addition to being used to reinvest in research capacity, renovate
space, buy equipment, and hire technicians, these funds are also used to leverage federal funds.
Forfeiting half of the ICR seriously undermines the efforts of public universities to continue building
research capacity and puts Texas at a disadvantage nationally in securing essential federal R&D
dollars. Other large states, including California, Florida, and Michigan, allow universities to retain all
ornearly all of the ICR they recover from sponsors.

Texas leaders and policy experts at the state and federal level agree that Texas’ ICR policy should
be changed to increase federal funds for research. The comptroller’s e-Texas report, Limited
Government, Unlimited Opportunity, recommended that the state move toward allowing colleges
and universities that conduct sponsored research to keep 100 percent of ICR funds they receive.
The report states that every dollar invested in research produces $3.32 in additional economic
activity. Therefore, if the state redirected to research purposes the $35 million in annual ICR now
used to offset state support for higher education, the overall state economy would gain more than
$115 million per year. The general appropriations act for the past two biennia have contained
special provisions to allow health-related institutions to retain 100 percent of their indirect research
costs covered by grants.

HB 1887 would not increase inequity among public institutions but would give schools an equal
incentive to pursue federal funding aggressively and enhance their research enterprises. It would
enable institutions to grow and reach their potential in serving the needs of the students, their
communities, and local and regional economies.

Opponents said the bill would cost the state more than $43 million per year in general revenue
through fiscal 2008. These institutions are funded with taxpayers’ money and are partners with the
state, which provides the seed money for generating federal research funds. The ICR policy isnota
tax, and it is appropriate that some of these funds be returned to general revenue.
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Other opponents said HB 1887 would increase inequities among higher learning institutions.
Large, research-intensive schools that generate more external funding and that receive allocations
from the Permanent University Fund and the Available University Fund would be able to keep more
money, while institutions on the cusp of becoming research-intensive would continue to lag behind,
because they do not generate as much external funding.

Notes: Gov. Rick Perry used a line-item veto to eliminate $45 million that HB 1 by Heflin, the
general appropriations act for fiscal 2004-05, would have appropriated for the Texas Excellence
Fund and the University Research Fund. In addition, the governor vetoed a proposed $9.5 million
for the advanced research program at the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The
governor said that the goal of increasing the amount of research carried out by general academic
institutions was met by allowing all institutions to keep 100 percent of their ICR for research
purposes.

The HRO analysis appeared in the April 22 Daily Floor Report.
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Deregulating tuition at public higher education institutions

HB 3015 by Morrison
Effective June 22, 2003

HB 3015 allows governing boards of Texas public higher education institutions, beginning with the
Fall 2003 semester, to charge any student an amount designated as tuition that the board considers
necessary for the effective operation of the institution. The governing board can set a different tuition
rate for each program and course level as ameans of increasing graduation rates, encouraging
efficient use of facilities, or enhancing employee performance. For designated tuition charges of
more than $46 per credit hour, each institution must set aside at least 20 percent of resident
undergraduate tuition and 15 percent of tuition for graduate and professional programs to provide
financial assistance, including grants, scholarships, work-study programs, student loans, and student
repayment assistance. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) must disseminate
information to Texas public and private high schools regarding the availability of this financial
assistance.

The bill establishes a legislative oversight committee on higher education made up of six senators
appointed by the lieutenant governor and six House members appointed by the speaker. Each
institution must make satisfactory progress toward the goals in its master plan and in the statewide
master plan, Closing the Gaps, and meet acceptable performance criteria, including measures such
as graduation rates, retention rates, enrollment growth, educational quality, efforts to enhance
minority participation, opportunities for financial aid, and affordability. The legislative oversight
committee will monitor and regularly report to the Legislature on each institution’s progress and
make recommendations for legislative action.

Each institution must report annually on such affordability and access issues as the percentage of
gross family income required for a resident student to pay tuition and fees, criteria used in making
admissions and financial aid decisions, demographic information, and comparisons of these factors
with peer institutions in the state.

Forbeneficiaries of a senior college prepaid tuition contract, institutions must accept as payment the
amount of tuition and fees charged by the institution or the weighted average amount of tuition and
required fees of all public senior colleges and universities as determined by the Prepaid Higher
Education Tuition Board.

Supporters said HB 3015 would give higher education institutions the flexibility they need to
respond to cuts in state funding while continuing to work toward the state’s goals for increasing
access to higher education. Any increase in tuition would be accompanied by more aid for middle-
income families to ensure that students were not priced out of higher education.

Increasing tuition would enable institutions to respond immediately to state budget cuts. Cost-cutting
efforts, such as reducing salaries, take longer to implement and would not meet the immediate need
to balance next year’s budgets. Without the ability to increase tuition, institutions would have to offer
larger and fewer classes, extending the time it would take for students to complete their degrees.
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The bill would continue a trend that began several years ago to give institutions more flexibility and
control in setting tuition and fees. Colleges and universities have been judicious in using this
authority, as only 10 ofthe state’s 35 public universities have reached their caps. Annual reports
about the affordability and access of each institution would provide additional information needed to
establish appropriate tuition levels. The bill would enable institutions to use tuition decisions to
improve the efficiency of operations and to motivate students to finish their educations sooner.

Higher education is both a private and a public good, and taxpayers and families should share
responsibility for financing this education. In the face of declining state revenues, families with higher
incomes should be asked to pay a greater share of college costs. The bill would allow the state to
keep its promise to families who already had bought contracts with the Texas Guaranteed Tuition
Plan (formerly the Texas Tomorrow Fund).

Opponents said HB 3015 would allow higher education institutions to balance their budgets on
the backs of Texas families instead of following the state’s lead by reducing expenses in the face of
abudget shortfall. Before being allowed to reach into the pockets of Texas families, institutions first
should find other ways to balance their budgets, such as reducing salaries or increasing teaching
loads. In the current economy, higher education institutions might not be able to meet the ambitious
goals for “closing the gaps” that were envisioned during more prosperous times. These goals might
need to be modified or delayed to reflect current economic conditions.

The state should not take additional steps toward authorizing governing boards to set tuition and
other fees. These boards, appointed by the governor, are not directly accountable to students or
voters. Without this accountability, the boards likely will continue to finance high salaries, new
buildings, and other expenses by raising tuition rather than cutting expenses. Widespread tuition
increases could close the door to higher education for many low-income students by reducing the
availability of TEXAS Grants. At current project appropriation levels, THECB expects the demand
for TEXAS Grants to exceed the availability of funds. Increases in tuition further would limit this
availability.

Allowing institutions to charge different rates for the same courses depending on when the course
was taught could limit students’ options unfairly. The best professors tend to teach courses at
popular times. The bill could relegate students with limited incomes to less desirable teachers and
class times.

Other opponents said the entire system of financing higher education in Texas is too complex.
Before granting new authority to increase tuition, lawmakers should review the funding system and
adopt carefully considered changes designed to meet the state’s goal of closing the gaps in
education as well as the institutions’ need for greater flexibility.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the April 28 Daily Floor Report.
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Consolidating two higher education excellence funds

HB 3526 by Hamric, et. al.
Effective September 1, 2005

HB 3526 abolishes the Texas Excellence Fund (TEF) and the University Research Fund (URF)
and creates anew Research Development Fund (RDF) to promote increased research capacity at
Texas’ general academic institutions. Beginning September 1, 2005, each fiscal year, the
comptroller must distribute the total amount of assets in the RDF to eligible institutions based on the
average amount of restricted research funds spent by each institution in each of the three preceding
fiscal years. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) must prescribe standards
and accounting methods for determining eligible research expenditures, and a committee
representing eligible institutions must approve those standards.

RDF funds may be used only to support and maintain activities that promote increased research
capacity at each institution. By December 1 following each fiscal year, RDF-funded institutions must
report to the Legislative Budget Board on how each institution used the money. Any funds remaining
inthe TEF or the URF will be transferred to the credit of the RDF.

Supporters said HB 3526 would create a more equitable way of distributing “excellence” funding
among eligible higher education institutions by establishing a single fund and requiring every
institution to conform to the same eligibility standards. The bill would help achieve the goals for
which the two funds were created by helping more Texas institutions achieve national reputations as
research institutions. The objective in creating these funds was to increase the number of flagship
research institutions in Texas so that they could attract more federal research money and premier
faculty, as well as easing enrollment pressures at the largest state universities. However, the
distribution of the two funds is inequitable, and some institutions unfairly receive more support for
their efforts than others. HB 3526 would ensure that research funds were distributed to institutions
that could use them effectively. It also would help strengthen accountability in the distribution and
use of excellence funds by setting up auditing and reporting systems overseen by THECB.

Opponents said the two existing funds should be retained until 2005, when they are scheduled
for sunset review, so that a decision about establishing a single fund could be based on four years of
experience. Also, the bill would not address a larger inequity. The two funds primarily benefita
handful of institutions, and those that do not qualify for significant funding— particularly those in the
Rio Grande Valley —are losing out on the opportunity to become top-tier institutions.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 9 Daily Floor Report.

Page 124 House Research Organization



Admission to undergraduate institutions under top 10 percent law

SB 86 by Wentworth
Died in the Senate

SB 86 would have allowed public general academic institutions, under the existing law that requires
the top 10 percent of a high school’s graduating class to be admitted, to limit admissions to 60
percent of the total number of spaces available for first-time resident undergraduates. It also would
have required that graduates of public high schools complete the recommended or advanced high
school curriculum to qualify for automatic admission. The recommended curriculum requirement
would have applied beginning with admissions for the 2008-09 academic year but would not have
applied to a graduate of a public high school that did not offer the recommended or advanced high
school program or if the student could not complete the appropriate curriculum solely because
necessary courses were unavailable at the appropriate times in the student’s high school career. The
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, after consulting with the Texas Education Agency,
could have established standards for determining whether a student from an accredited private
school had completed a program equivalent to the recommended or advanced program.

Supporters said SB 86 would help ensure that students admitted to college under the top 10
percent law were prepared academically to succeed in college. It would discourage students from
taking less rigorous courses to obtain higher grades that might qualify them for admission under that
law. The bill would ensure that students who could not take advanced courses for reasons beyond
their control would not be penalized. Students who attended schools that did not offer these courses
or who otherwise could not complete the recommended curriculum would be treated the same way
as students who had. By allowing institutions to cap the number of students gaining automatic
admission at 60 percent of incoming freshman, SB 86 would give institutions some flexibility in
determining class makeup. Without such caps, some institutions quickly will reach the point at which
all or almost all students were admitted under the top 10 percent law, leaving no room for students
who might bring other aspects of diversity to the institution, such as artistic skills or athletic ability.

Opponents said SB 86 unfairly would limit automatic admissions that were designed to increase
diversity at higher education institutions and enhance opportunities for minority and low-income
students, particularly UT-Austin and Texas A&M. Italso would penalize students who finished high
school before the recommended curriculum was required. The reasons why students do not
complete the recommended curriculum vary and may include lack of timely information about
curriculum requirements or insufficient interest in advanced courses. Until the recommended
curriculum is required for all students, those who qualify forundergraduate admission under the top
10 percent law should not be penalized for not completing it.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.
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Continuing the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

SB 286 by Shapleigh
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 286 continues the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB)until 2015 and:

o reduces the size of the board by August 31,2009, from 18 members to nine;

. abolishes the Joint Advisory Committee (JAC) and replaces it with the P-16 Council;

. requires THECB to publish performance data on academic teaching institutions and to
collectand publish information on higher education authorities;

4 abolishes the Texas Academic Skills Program (TASP) and establishes the Success Initiative

to assess the readiness of entering college students and to provide advising and educational
support for students who are not ready to enroll in college coursework;

. establishes the Doctoral Incentive Loan Repayment Program and changes the Teach for
Texas Conditional Grant Program to a conditional loan repayment program,;

. establishes a pilot program to examine allowing junior colleges to offer baccalaureate degree
programs in applied science and applied technology; and

. allows junior colleges to offer a Mexican American Studies program.

Supporters said SB 286 would put into place most of the Sunset Advisory Commission
recommendations for THECB and would help position the board as a more effective force in
determining the direction of higher education in Texas. A nine-member board would be more
manageable while still reflecting the state’s diverse interests. Abolishing the JAC and establishing the
P-16 Council in statute would eliminate current redundancies between the policy bodies and would
establish the clear priority of creating a more seamless educational system. SB 286 would help
students and teachers compare institutions by requiring THECB to publish a comparison of
institutions on the agency’s website.

SB 286 would eliminate an obstacle to higher education for thousands of Texas students by
replacing the TASP with amore appropriate and individualized assessment method and would give
higher education institutions more responsibility and flexibility in determining the appropriate levels of
student assessment. The bill would encourage minority students and other members of
underrepresented groups to pursue doctoral degrees by creating a loan repayment program for
these students. It also would help expand opportunities for minorities and others by creating a pilot
program to allow certain community colleges to offer baccalaureate degrees.

Opponents said a nine-member board would be too small to represent effectively the state’s
diverse interests in higher education. The board should have 15 members, as recommended by the
Sunset Advisory Commission, rather than nine. By abolishing the TASP, the bill would dismantle
more than a decade of progress in preparing students to succeed in higher education by replacing an
effective standardized method of identifying students who need developmental education with a
patchwork system that could cause many students to fall through the cracks.

The HRO analysis of SB 286 appeared in Part One of the May 25 Daily Floor Report. The
analysis of HB 796 by Delisi, which also would have abolished the TASP, appeared in Part Two of
the May 10 Daily Floor Report.
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Requiring licensing and regulation of mold assessors and remediators

HB 329 by Naishtat, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 329 requires a person who inspects a structure for mold, develops a mold management plan or
remediation protocol, or collects or analyzes a mold sample to hold a mold assessor license from
the Texas Department of Health (TDH). A person must obtain a separate mold remediation license
from TDH to remove, clean, act to prevent, or otherwise treat mold. A holder of both licenses
cannot provide mold assessment and remediation on the same project.

TDH must conduct a statewide program to teach people about the health consequences of indoor
mold and how to recognize, clean, and prevent it. TDH must investigate any complaint regarding
mold-related activities and must adopt rules by April 1,2004, to regulate various aspects of mold
inspection and remediation, including licensing. The bill provides for administrative and civil penalties
and appeals for violations of the act, immunizes government from liability for mold, and prohibits
insurers from making underwriting decisions based on previous mold damage, under certain
circumstances.

Licensing and other requirements of HB 329 do not apply to many activities, including routine
cleaning; work on plumbing, electrical, and HVAC systems and appliances; real estate inspections;
pest-control inspection; an inspection and remediation in an area where mold contamination affects
asurface area of less than 25 contiguous square feet; custodial activities and routine assessment of
property owned or operated by government; cleaning or repairing materials while building a
structure; and actions by owners of certain rental properties, their agents, and some residential
properties.

Supporters said HB 329 would establish needed standards and oversight for the public’s first
line of defense against the proven, harmful effects of some types of mold. TDH already licenses
people qualified to remove from buildings another substance — asbestos — that occurs naturally
but threatens people. Public demands to address toxic mold deserve similar attention.

By requiring licensing of mold assessors and remediators, HB 329 would help eliminate one cause
ofthe mold crisis. Mold caused more than $1 billion in insurance losses during the two-year period
ending January 2002. In some cases, fraudulent assessors provided mold estimates tailored to
match homeowners’ policy limits, rather than the cost of remediation. Just as consumers need
government to license plumbers and electricians to ensure good service and to make these
contractors more attractive candidates for insurance coverage, consumers also need licensing of
mold contractors. By restricting insurers from discriminating againsthomeowners or their properties
“tainted” by mold, the bill would protect consumers to the degree that insurers write policies
covering mold. Licensing also would benefit legitimate mold assessors and remediators by enforcing
standards and weeding out bad actors who hurt the profession.

Opponents said HB 329 would impose unnecessary regulation based on the false premise that
mold poses a public health hazard. Mold occurs naturally where moisture and moderate
temperatures combine with nutrients like dirt and with almost all common construction materials and
furnishings. Itis almost always present in buildings. A special licensing program for people to identify
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and clean mold is no more necessary than a program to license common cleaning businesses and
maids.

HB 329 would enact belated regulation driven by prospective profiteers and by insurers attempting
to assign blame for rising rates. An order of the insurance commissioner already allows insurers to
exclude mold damage from policies, thus shielding insurers from future mold costs. Also, in contrast
to widespread media reporting of fraud, communities report no unusual number of complaints
concerning mold remediation work.

The bill would not overturn the commissioner’s order allowing insurers to exclude mold coverage
but simply would prohibit insurers from discriminating based on a property’s relevant history of
mold. Because insurers cannot project the likelihood of mold claims by using historical data, the bill
could discourage insurers from writing policies to cover mold damage.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the April 24 Daily Floor Report.
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Changing regulation of insurance rates, forms, and practices

SB 14 by Jackson, et al.
Effective June 11, 2003

SB 14 makes comprehensive changes in the regulation of homeowners and automobile insurance in
Texas. By July 1,2003, residential property insurers (including Lloyd’s plans, whose rates previously
were unregulated) must file and begin using rates that are just, fair, reasonable, adequate, not
confiscatory, not excessive, and not unfairly discriminatory. The insurance commissioner will have

60 days to approve, reject, or modify the new rates (90 days for small insurers) and may order
refunds or credits if rates are found to be excessive. SB 14 also makes the following changes:

. Afteraninitial filing, residential property insurers must obtain prior approval of new rates. Ifthe
commissioner does not act within 30 days of a rate filing, the rate will be deemed approved.
AsofDecember 1,2004, a file-and-use system will take effect under which insurers can file
new rates that will take effect immediately unless subsequently revised by the commissioner
for failing to meet rating standards.

. All personal automobile insurers (including county mutuals) are subject to rating standards
immediately. Currently rate-regulated auto insurers must continue to operate under the
benchmark rating system until December 1,2004, after which all auto insurers will be
subjectto a file-and-use system.

. Insurers may use credit scoring to set premiums on the basis of a consumer’s credit history,
but may not use it solely to deny, cancel, or decline to renew a policy, nor may they
discriminate on the basis of lack of credit. Credit scoring models must be filed with the
commissioner and are not subject to “trade secret” exceptions to public disclosure.

. An auto insurer may not transfer more than 10 percent of its business to a county mutual
insurance company without the commissioner’s prior approval.
. Commercial automobile insurance is subject to a file-and-use system.

4 Until December 2004, an insured, the Office of Public Insurance Council (OPIC), and any
other interested person may petition the commissioner in writing for a public hearing on a
rate filing. After that, only OPICwill have standing to do so.

. Insurers must file quarterly reports with the commissioner on changes in losses, premiums, and
market share, and the commissioner must file similar reports with the Legislature. A report
on the effects of credit scoring must be filed with the Legislature before January 1, 2005.

4 Insurers may file and use policy forms without the commissioner’s prior approval, so long as
the forms meet “plain language” requirements.

. Insurers must file underwriting guidelines with the commissioner, who may reject unfair or
discriminatory guidelines.

4 Insurers (other than farm mutuals or surplus lines) must file withdrawal plans before leaving
the Texas market or substantially reducing market share in Texas.

. A $75 million tax-exempt revenue bond program is created to finance the FAIR Plan

(residential property insurer of last resort for those who otherwise cannot obtain coverage).
Bond payments will be made from service fees assessed on participating insurers and the
Texas FAIR Plan Association.

. Itis a statejail felony (punishable by 180 days to two years in a state jail and an optional
fine of up to $10,000) for certain insurance companies to discriminate on the basis of race,
color, religion, ethnicity, or national origin.
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. Allinsurers who did business in Texas during the Holocaust period (1920-1945) must file
information with the commissioner on the payment status of claims from that time period,
and the commissioner must establish a Holocaust Era Insurance Registry.

. Specialty physician groups or physicians in certain geographic regions may form “medical
trusts” to provide medical malpractice insurance to their members.

. Many premium discounts for homeowners and auto insurance are repealed, such as
discounts for antitheft devices or security systems.

. A Property and Casualty Legislative Oversight Committee is established to monitor the

progress of regulatory reforms and to recommend legislative action.

After January, 1,2004, no insurer may use arating territory that subdivides a county, except under
specific circumstances. As a condition for qualifying for windstorm insurance in certain geographic
areas, building specifications may be supplemented by structural provisions of the International
Residential Code.

A file-and-use system will take effect December 1, 2004, for all residential property insurance and
for personal and commercial auto insurance. Prior approval still may be imposed on insurers under
supervision because of their financial condition or rating practices, or in the case of a statewide
insurance emergency.

Supporters said SB 14 could provide much-needed rate reliefto Texas homeowners by
requiring an initial rate filing within 20 days of the bill’s effective date. Texans pay the nation’s
highesthomeowners insurance rates. A consumer who paid $1,000 per year for acomprehensive
policy in 2000 now pays $1,446 per year for anew policy that limits coverage for mold or water
damage. Data gathered in response to SB 310 by Fraser, effective in February 2003, showed that
homeowners rates have risen by an average of 45 percent statewide since 2000 and that part of the
increase would have occurred in the absence of mold claims. The Texas Department of Insurance
(TDI) estimated that individual company rates could be reduced by as much as 25 percent from
their current levels.

SB 14 would be an acceptable compromise between the extremes of tighter regulation and total
deregulation. Requiring an initial rate filing and moving companies to a file-and-use system on
December 1, 2004, would bring rates down initially, then create a competitive environment in which
companies could file rates based on their actual costs, not on an artificial benchmark. Rate
regulation may keep premiums down, but it does not reduce the insurer’s underlying costs. No
product can be sold for long when prices do notrecover costs. In the long run, freeing companies
from benchmark rating would increase the availability of insurance while promoting price
competition.

Bringing all Lloyd’s plans and county mutuals under regulatory oversight would provide an ongoing
source of insurance data to aid state decision makers in determining whether rates are unfair or
discriminatory. Until the enactment of SB 310, limited data were available on how many Lloyd’s
plans were setting rates outside the flexibility band, and while TDI knew the rates for county
mutuals, it did not know what factors made up the rates. SB 14 would allow the commissioner to
monitor insurance rates and underwriting guidelines through annual rate filings, making it possible to
avertanother insurance crisis before it developed.
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SB 14 would regulate the use of credit scoring, creating a transparent process that would protect
consumers and prevent discrimination. Safeguards in the bill would ensure that consumers with little
or no credit would not be discriminated against. A study by Fair Isaac, a company that develops
credit scoring models, found that policyholders with credit accounts in delinquency filed more
insurance claims, resulting in higher losses for insurers. Using reliable predictors such as credit
scoring to assign risk helps insurers to price their policies more accurately, ultimately creating more
equitable insurance rates for all consumers.

The bill would grant freedom of forms to Texas insurers. For years, national companies have used
national forms in every state except Texas, resulting in distorted economies of scale and higher costs
to Texas consumers. Ifinsurers could have adopted national forms four years ago, amold coverage
crisis would not have arisen, because insurers already would have excluded major cost drivers such
as mold and water damage from the standard form. Forms freedom would allow insurers to
respond quickly to vulnerabilities in the marketplace, averting potential crises. This ultimately would
benefitall consumers by giving them greater choice and lower costs.

SB 14 would protect consumers in the rate-setting process by allowing them to request a public
hearing on an insurer’s rate structure within 20 days of rate filings between now and December 1,
2004. This would expand a consumer’s right to complain to the commissioner beyond issues over
individual premiums or policies. Under current law, consumers lack access to information about 96
percent of the homeowners insurance market. Even after arate is in effect, history with the file-and-
use system for commercial insurance has shown that consumer complaints are the most common
trigger for a special rate review.

Opponents said SB 14 would move insurance regulation in the wrong direction. The state should
return to the more restrictive “prior approval” system in use before 1991, so that TDI would review
every rate filing from now on. Data gathered by TDI in response to SB 310 showed steep rate
hikes among homeowners insurance companies, including the unregulated Lloyd’s companies,
proving that insurance companies cannot regulate themselves. Oversight of personal lines of
insurance should be stricter than that of commercial lines, because the average person does not have
alawyer or other analyst to evaluate the myriad of confusing choices in an unregulated marketplace.

The bill would provide no guarantee of a rate rollback, as consumers were promised during the last
election, thus failing to meet the primary promise of insurance reform. Since January 2001,
homeowners insurance rates have exploded in response to the mold and water damage crisis. The
SB 310 data call confirmed that rates have risen faster than could be justified by insurers, especially
since all but $5,000 in mold and water coverage has been stripped from the most popular policy.
SB 14 would allow insurers to eliminate mold and water coverage altogether, yet consumers would
not receive amandatory rate rollback in return.

The state should ban the practice of credit scoring. Tornadoes do not strike homeowners on the basis of
their credit scores, and no independent studies have proven any statistical relationship between a
consumer’s credit history and his or her ability to drive or maintain an automobile. The SB 310 data
call showed that credit scoring has a significant impact on the rates charged individual policyholders,
causing some rates to be reduced by as much as 27 percent or increased by as much as 75 percent.
Creditscoring is discriminatory, especially against women, minorities, low-income consumers, and
consumers who conductall of their personal business on a cash basis. Also, credit reports often contain
errors that can take months to fix, while consumers are left to pay higher insurance rates.
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Other opponents said SB 14 would grant too much discretionary authority to the commissioner
under the prior-approval plan in effect until December 1, 2004, thus creating potential barriers to
entry in the insurance marketplace. Vesting that much power over rates in the commissioner could
lead to differences of opinion on actuarial models, which could damage the marketplace.
Commissioner authority is best directed toward regulation of solvency, market conduct, and
consumer complaints, not toward rate review, in which consumers can protect themselves.

SB 14 should move the state directly to a file-and-use system without an initial rate filing. The one
area in which the Legislature can provide certainty is in the regulatory environment. If lawmakers
would create a predictable, consistent environment more in line with successful models in other
states, more companies would be willing to write policies in Texas. Improving availability of
coverage is a function of regulatory certainty and lifting barriers to entry, neither of which would be
accomplished by changing horses in mid-stream. Instituting a prior-approval system up front, then
switching to a file-and-use system in 2004, only would delay true insurance reform another year.

The HRO analysis appeared in the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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Handling water-damage claims and licensing public insurance adjusters

SB 127 by Fraser, et al.
Effective June 11, 2003

SB 127 establishes requirements for underwriting, handling, and settling water-damage claims and
requires licensing of public insurance adjusters (PIAs). Generally, an insurer may not use a prior
appliance-related claim as a basis for determining a rate or for determining whether to issue, renew,
or cancel an insurance policy if the insured properly remedied such a claim and had the remediation
inspected and certified. The insurance commissioner may adopt rules identifying types of water-
damage claims that require more prompt, efficient, and effective handling.

PIAs who do business in Texas must be licensed by the commissioner. Practicing without a license
is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,000.
The commissioner can assess administrative penalties against those who engage in unfair competition
orunfair trade practices.

A PIA must provide a written contract to a policyholder clearly explaining that the adjuster
represents only the insured and allowing the consumer up to 72 hours to cancel the contract after
signing. A licensed PIA may not:

. represent a policyholder in a bodily injury claim, render legal advice, or use his or her
license to practice law in Texas;

. collectacommission of more than 10 percent of the insurance settlement on a claim,
excluding reasonable compensation for expenses and services rendered;

. represent both the insured and the insurance company against which a claim is made;

. actas a contractor or remediator on a claim that the PIA is adjusting;

. own interest in a contracting or remediation firm that benefits from the adjusted claim;

. solicit business during a natural disaster; or

. offer to advance money to a client to solicit business.

The bill sets forth requirements for PIA licensees, including criteria designed to exclude applicants
with recent felony convictions, inadequate training and experience, and inadequate proof of financial
responsibility. It allows a nonresident to obtain a Texas PIA license and allows issuance of a PIA
license to a business entity in certain circumstances.

The commissioner can deny, suspend, or revoke a license for any violation of the law or for other
causes, subject to the licensee’s right to appeal. The commissioner can impose an administrative
penalty of up to $2,000 per violation in lieu of suspension or revocation and can order the PIA to
cease and desist from any conduct prohibited under the bill.

Supporters said SB 127 would protect policyholders and their property from being stigmatized
for previous water-damage claims, particularly appliance-related claims, by requiring the
commissioner to establish underwriting rules related to these claims and by requiring residential
property insurers to file their underwriting guidelines related to water damage. It would create more
stringent claims-handling procedures and guidelines than those in current law, which are considered
minimum standards for prompt payment of claims. Delayed and improperly handled water-damage
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claims have contributed to the current crisis in homeowners insurance, particularly with regard to
mold claims. SB 127 would change current procedures so that insurers would have to respond
promptly and efficiently to claimants with water damage.

By requiring licensing of PIAs, the bill would help consumers protect their largest and most
important assets — their homes — when filing insurance claims. PIAs provide a valuable service to
consumers who need a qualified person to manage the complicated process of insurance claims on
their behalf. By creating consistent standards, setting forth ethics policies, and giving consumers a
forum to complain about unscrupulous practitioners, SB 127 would make PIAs more accountable
to their clients and to the state. Disreputable players have given PIAs abad name in recent years,
and honest public adjusters would benefit from state licensing. Texas is one of only five states in
which PIAs remain unlicensed or unregulated.

The bill would prevent conflicts of interest by prohibiting remediators or building contractors from
acting as PIAs. Italso would prevent scam artists from exploiting public fears or benefitting from the
hysteria that surrounds catastrophic events such as floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, or events such as
the current “mold crisis.” The bill would define clearly a PIA s role in handling insurance claims,
making it plain that public adjusters are not authorized to practice law, nor to mediate disputes with
insurance companies.

Opponents said SB 127 would not go far enough in requiring speedier handling of water-damage
claims. It would not require the commissioner to adopt rules to ensure more prompt, efficient, and
effective handling of claims, but would make such rules optional. The Legislature should compel the
creation of such standards.

The bill’s definition of a PIA would appear to authorize license holders to negotiate disputes with
insurance companies. PIAs should be limited clearly to assessing and valuing property damage.
While the bill would prohibit licensed PIAs from representing clients in bodily injury claims, it should
state explicitly that adjusters cannot represent clients in any third-party claim.

The bill could damage consumers by legitimizing a profession that preys on unsuspecting citizens
during stressful events. Private insurance company adjusters already are trained and licensed to
handle claims for property damage or loss. Public adjusters merely seek commission fees for claims
that an insurer would have paid anyway.

Legitimate, honest contractors and roofers spend hours of time providing free estimates of the costs
to repair damaged property. It is much more convenient for a consumer to designate the claims
process to a knowledgeable contractor or roofer in a one-stop process than to assign a claim to an
adjuster who wants to take a percentage of the claim.

The HRO analysis appeared in the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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Requiring prompt payment of physicians by managed care organizations

SB 418 by Nelson
Effective June 17, 2003

SB 418 establishes new prompt-payment regulations for transactions between health-care
providers and insurers, including preferred provider organizations and health maintenance
organizations. The new regulations cover ‘““clean claims,” payment timelines, audits, coordination of
payment, verification, and penalties. SB 418 sets a timeline for submitting a clean claim to an insurer
and for paying the claim. The health-care provider must submit a claim by the 95th day after the
service was rendered. An insurer must determine if a claim is payable, partially payable, or not
payable and act accordingly within 30 days for electronic submissions, or within 45 days for
nonelectronic claims. A pharmacy claim submitted electronically must be paid or the pharmacy
provider notified within 21 days of adjudicating the claim.

The bill defines “verification” as areliable representation by an insurer to a health-care provider that
aservice will be reimbursed. An insurer that needs additional information to determine payment
must request the information within 30 days of receiving a clean claim. Payment cannot be delayed
pending the receipt of requested information from a third party. If an insurer intends to audit a claim,
itmust pay the full amount of the claim within the normal amount of time. An insurer who overpays a
claim canrecover the overpayment by reducing future payment to the provider only if the insurer
had notified the provider of overpayment within 180 days of the initial payment and the provider did
not arrange to repay the amount within 45 days of the notice.

SB 418 establishes a tiered system of penalties based on the lateness of a payment. If the insurer
does not pay a clean claim on time, the insurer owes the provider the full contracted amount of the
claimand a penalty. The penalty is the lesser of halfthe difference between the billed charges and
the contracted rate or $100,000. Ifa clean claim remains unpaid, the penalty increases in tiers to the
highest level after 91 days. Atthat point the penalty is the lesser of the full difference between the
billed charges and the contracted rate or $200,000, with 18 percent annual interest added to the
amount.

The bill also establishes a technical advisory committee and requirements for electronic transactions.

Supporters said SB 418 represents years of work and negotiation among stakeholders to
develop fair prompt-payment standards. HB 610 by Janek, enacted in 1999, sought to accelerate
payment to providers for their services. However, insurers have been able to work around some of
those requirements in ways that run counter to prompt payment, leaving providers in similarly dire
situations as before HB 610 was enacted. HB 1862 by Eiland, enacted in 2001, would have closed
loopholes, cleaned up areas of confusion in current law, and improved the payment process for
providers. However, Gov. Rick Perry vetoed that bill, leaving providers without remedy for another
two years.

SB 418 contains many of the provisions of HB 1862 that are agreed upon by insurers and
providers, while excluding provisions that the governor cited as reasons for vetoing the bill.
Specifically, SB 418 would not limit insurers’ ability to include alternative dispute resolution clauses
in their contracts with providers. The governor stated that, at the time of his veto, final rules
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implementing HB 610 had been adopted only recently and deserved a chance to achieve their
intended results. Time and additional focus on prompt-payment issues by the Texas Department of
Insurance have helped insurers and providers come together to work out the provisions of SB 418.

The bill would not conflict with federal laws governing the Employee Retirement Income Security
Act(ERISA) program. Federal regulations for ERISA address the relationship between insurers
and enrollees. SB 418 would regulate only the relationship between insurers and providers. ERISA
covers insurance policies; this bill would cover claims.

Opponents said while many provisions in SB 418 may be acceptable both to insurers and
providers, a few exceptions prevent it from taking a balanced approach to changing the payment
transaction between insurers and providers. Business practices such as verification and pre-
authorization by insurers cannot be changed without driving up insurers’ cost of doing business, and
ultimately, the cost ofhealth insurance. Also, the level of penalties and fines would make it
prohibitively expensive for insurers to do business in Texas.

Some changes proposed by SB 418 — for example, the requirement for insurers to promise
payment for services before a claim is submitted —might not stand up to an ERISA challenge in

court. Federal regulations could bar some of the bill’s provisions.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.
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Allowing some health insurance policies to exclude mandated benefits

SB 541 by Williams
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 541 allows health maintenance organizations (HMOs) and small-business insurance carriers to
offer “standard” accident or sickness insurance policies that do not include some or all state-
mandated health benefits. The bill defines state-mandated benefits to include required coverage for
specific health services, limitations on cost sharing, or inclusion of a specific category of licensed
health-care practitioner.

An insurer may not exclude from the standard plan benefits mandated by federal law or certain
required provisions such as continuity of coverage, coverage of beneficiaries with preexisting
conditions, coverage of certain dependents, services of certain providers, some cancer screening,
childhood immunizations, reconstructive surgery for craniofacial abnormalities for children, dietary
treatment of phenylketonuria, and diabetic treatment supplies and services. HMOs may not exclude
benefits mandated by federal law or required provisions such as continuity of coverage, coverage of
beneficiaries with preexisting conditions, coverage of certain dependents, and some cancer
screening. Treatment for serious mental illness may not be excluded from either an insurance or
HMO standard plan issued to a large employer.

Anapplication for or document of a standard health-benefit plan must include a standard disclosure
to consumers, stating that the plan “does not provide state-mandated health benefits normally
required in accident and sickness insurance policies in Texas” and presenting a list of the state-
mandated benefits the plan excludes. An insurer that offers a standard health-benefit plan also must
offer at least one plan with the state-mandated benefits.

The bill also prohibits small-employer insurance carriers from excluding any additional health-status
or experience premium from the calculation of an agent’s commission or from paying a smaller
commission on the additional premium. It also prohibits insurers from paying per-capita
compensation rather than a percentage commission.

Supporters said the current package of state-mandated benefits prevents some employers —
especially small businesses— from offering health coverage to employees. SB 541 would allow
insurers to offer stripped-down policies at a lower price, making health insurance more accessible
and affordable. Already, insurers report that their most popular plan for small businesses has the
least extensive coverage and costs the least.

The bill would ensure fair competition among insurers and would protect consumers’ interests. An
insurer that offered a plan without the mandated benefits also would have offer a plan with those
benefits. Employers could choose which plan better suited the needs of their employees —a plan
with more benefits at a higher cost or a plan with fewer benefits at a lower cost.

Because insurers would have to offer plans with the mandated benefits if they wanted to offer plans
without them, consumers would be guaranteed lower rates. If the prices of the two plans were the
same, a consumer would have no incentive to choose a plan with fewer benefits.
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The bill also would close certain loopholes that insurers have found in previous legislation relating to
the fair marketing of small employers’ health-benefit plans. Refusing to pay commission on the extra
premiums paid by higher-risk groups makes insurance agents less likely to write the policies, as
does payment on a per-capita basis.

Opponents said in the absence of data establishing a strong link between mandated benefits and
premium rates, the state should not change the current mandates, which are necessary to maintain
minimum standards in health insurance coverage. SB 541 would offer no guarantee that removing
mandates would make insurance coverage more affordable. Instead, it could make health care
unaffordable for people who have insurance. Because many services would not be covered under
the mandate-free plan, people who needed those services would have to pay out of pocket for
treatment.

This bill would not be limited to small businesses that otherwise could not afford to offer insurance.
Larger employers facing slow economic growth could buy stripped-down coverage, and the
mandates would not be in place to protect patients’ benefits, which would result in eroding
employer-sponsored health care forall Texans.

The provisions relating to fair marketing of small employers’ health-benefit plans are unnecessary.
While some insurers may have manipulated agents’ commissions in the past, such practices no
longer occur. Ifinsurers do not follow the law, they can be disciplined by the Texas Department of
Insurance. No specific evidence exists of attempts by small-employer carriers to manipulate agents’
commissions in order to avoid writing insurance.

Other opponents said the state should evaluate the cost-effectiveness of individual mandates
separately. Each mandate was enacted separately, with discrete cost-benefit consideration, and the
mandates should not be eliminated as a group. For example, benefits such as prenatal care should
not be lumped together with treatment of the temporomandibular joint (TMJ). The Legislature
should establish a review process to examine each mandate and consider its effect on affordability
and accessibility ofhealth insurance.

The HRO analysis appeared in the May 22 Daily Floor Report.
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Continuing the State Bar of Texas

HB 599 by Chisum, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 599 continues the State Bar of Texas until 2015. The bar must develop a comprehensive,
long-range strategic plan for use in fiscal planning. Among other requirements, the bar must collect
an additional $65 annual fee from each active member, subject to certain exemptions based on age,
status, and place of employment. Half of this fee will be credited to the judicial fund for programs
approved by the Texas Supreme Court that provide basic civil legal services for the poor, and the
other halfwill be credited to a fair defense account in general revenue to be used for demonstration
or pilot projects that promote the best practices for representing indigent defendants in criminal
cases.

HB 599 changes the disciplinary process for attorneys by removing a level of hearings. The bar no
longer must hold an initial investigative hearing but must allow attorneys to choose to have
grievances against them heard either in district court or in a closed hearing by a panel of the
grievance committee. The bill also establishes an executive committee to review the continuing need
for and functions of standing and special committees of the bar.

Supporters said mandating a $65 fee for legal services to the poor would further the bar’s
mission to provide equal access to justice, ensuring that low-income Texans receive the legal
services they need. This fee would provide a steady source of funding for legal services for the poor
without discouraging attorneys from performing pro bono work.

Removingalevel of hearings from the disciplinary process would streamline the grievance process
while preserving the same rights that attorneys have enjoyed since the State Bar Actbecame law in
1939.

Opponents said the mandatory $65 additional fee would not be fair to the many attorneys who
already go above and beyond their duty to ensure equal access to justice by working pro bono or
for substantially reduced fees. Voluntary donations have been successful in the past, and making the
indigent defense fee mandatory would be counterproductive by discouraging attorneys from
performing pro bono or discounted services.

Removing the district court option from the grievance process, as recommended by the Sunset
Advisory Committee, would streamline the appeals process further, thereby saving money and

promoting efficiency.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 5 Daily Floor Report.
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Revisingjudicial selection of state judges

SJR 33/SB 794 by Duncan, Ellis
Died in House committee

SJR 33 would have proposed a constitutional amendment to require a justice or judge appointed
by the governor to fill a vacancy on the Texas Supreme Court, Court of Criminal Appeals, ora
district court to stand for a retention election on a nonpartisan ballot at the end of the appointed
term. SB 794, the enabling bill, would have established election procedures for these judges. After
serving an initial term of up to six years, depending on when a judge was appointed, the judge
would have had to stand for election on a November ballot. Judges retained by voters would have
served additional terms. If voters failed to retain a judge, that seat would have become vacant and
subject to being filled by gubernatorial appointment. The retention system would have applied to all
affected justices or judges in office as of January 1, 2004, for the last general election preceding the
expiration of the regular or unexpired term for which they were elected or appointed.

Supporters said judicial races too often are decided more by party affiliation than by individual
merit or qualifications. Shifting tides of party fortunes, not judicial performance, have caused the
defeat of significant numbers of qualified, capable judges. Because judges are barred from stating
their positions on specific issues, factors such as party affiliation or campaign advertising have gained
undeserved importance in judicial elections. Requiring nonpartisan retention elections for appointed
appellate judges would establish an ideal balance of competing interests. It would minimize the
influence of campaign contributions, ensure a roster of qualified candidates, guarantee citizens a
voice in judicial selection, and ensure the assessment of candidates on the basis of their records
rather than their public relations capabilities or the mere familiarity of their names.

Opponents said the proposed retention election system would put the onus on voters to mount a
campaign to oust bad judges. The effort to collect funds to combat a retention election would be
doubly difficult without a specific candidate to oppose the incumbent. Also, voters could be swayed
toreject judges for reasons unrelated to the judge’s competence or qualifications. The current
partisan election system has served the state well by allowing judicial candidates from outside the
legal establishment to serve on the bench rather than only those with a political connection to the
governor who appoints them. Voters in an area with a different political slant than the incumbent
governor might keep abad judge in office rather than allow the governor to appoint the judge’s
successor, while under the current system that judge could be defeated by a better candidate ina
primary or general election.
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Changing public school finance and restructuring the state tax system
Allowing parochial and private schools to join University Interscholastic League
Deregulating home-rule charters and changing election procedures
Authorizing state funding for virtual charter schools

Creating a publicly funded school voucher pilot program
Appropriations-related changes to education statutes

Requiring pledges of allegiance and a minute of silence in public schools
Sunsetting State Board for Educator Certification, shifting duties to TEA
Expanded use and electronic monitoring of compensatory education funds
Auditing and sunsetting regional education service centers
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Changing public school finance and restructuring the state tax system

HB 5 by Grusendorf/SJR 1 by Shapiro
Died in the Senate/Died in House committee

HB 5, as passed by the House, would have repealed the current public school finance system
effective September 1,2004; provided each school district an additional $100 per student in
average daily attendance (ADA) for the 2003-04 school year and an additional $200 per ADA for
the 2004-05 school year; and delayed August 2005 payments to school districts by one month to
finance the additional interim aid, among other measures.

The Senate substituted SB 2 by Shapiro in its entirety for HB 5, retaining none of the House-passed
provisions. The House refused to concur with the change, and the bill was returned to the Senate,
where it died without appointment of a conference committee. As passed by the Senate, HB 5
would have replaced the local maintenance and operations (M&O) property tax with:

4 a statewide property tax capped at 75 cents per $100 of valuation;

. an increase in the state sales tax from 6.25 percent to 7.25 percent;

. an expansion of the state sales-tax base to include certain services; and

4 an increase in the motor-vehicle sales tax from 6.25 percent to 8.75 percent.

The bill would have provided a student allotment initially set at $4,300 per weighted student in
average daily attendance (WADA). Current weights and adjustments would not have changed,
except that the cost-of-education adjustment would have been converted to a “rolling average.”

The Senate version of HB 5 contained a hold-harmless clause guaranteeing that the “minimum per-
student aid” would meet the total M&O funds of a district for the 2002-03 or 2003-04 school year,
whichever was greater. Any gain that a district received from raising its 2003 tax rate over its 2002
tax rate would have been subtracted from hold-harmless funding, as would a district’s optional
homestead exemption. Local taxes for debt service for facilities would have remained the same,
along with state assistance programs that help local schools service that debt, except that the bill
would haverolled forward the eligibility date for the Existing Debt Allotment automatically each
biennium.

School districts could have supplemented state funding with a voter-approved local enrichment tax
of 10 cents per $100 of valuation, with a state-guaranteed yield at the 90th percentile of wealth
(around $32 per WADA). The enrichment tax would have been capped at 10 cents and could have
been used for any purpose, including capital outlays and debt service.

In addition to raising the state sales-tax rate by one cent, the bill would have expanded the tax base
to include services performed for a fee. Exempted services would have included any health-care or
dental services performed by a health-care provider licensed under Occupations Code, Title 3,
except for athletic trainers and morticians.

The comptroller would have been authorized to administer a statewide property tax. The state
would not have participated in appraisal district governance but could have challenged and appealed
the exclusion of property from appraisal rolls for state ad valorem taxes. Property appraisals and
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collections still would have been performed locally. The bill would have deleted the 10 percent cap
onannual increases in residential homestead tax appraisals and would have authorized the
Legislature to set the cap at any amount.

A 40 percent sales-tax exemption would have applied to certain recipients of financial assistance
and food stamps who showed a Lone Star Card when buying goods and services. Landlords would
have had to pass on 75 percent of the value of property-tax relief to renters in 2005, 2006, and
2007. The comptroller would have had to report to the governor and the Legislature by December
1,2007, on the effects of the tax rebate on rental rates and affordable housing.

The bill would have created an Education Excellence Task Force to study academic and funding
elements of the school finance system, “best practices” of exemplary schools, improving student
performance on the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills, formula weights, adequacy, the
effectiveness of laws regarding dropouts, and patterns of student advancement that create obstacles
to graduation, among other issues.

The Senate-passed version of HB 5 was the enabling legislation for SJR 1, which the Senate
adopted but which died in the House Ways and Means Committee. SJR 1 would have proposed
amending the Texas Constitution by:

. authorizing a 75-cent-per-$100 statewide property tax for education and a 10-cent-per-
$100 local enrichment tax;

. increasing the rates of the state sales tax and motor-vehicle sales tax;

. removing the requirement that Available School Fund revenues be distributed on a per-
student basis;

. including in the Constitution the statutory requirement that lottery proceeds be dedicated to
education; and

. allowing the dedication of other funds to education by creating a new Texas education fund.

Supporters said the current school finance system is broken, and nothing less than total reform of
the system is required. School districts and taxpayers need action now. So many districts have
reached the statutory cap on M&O tax rates that it is only a matter of time before the courts declare
that school districts no longer have meaningful discretion in setting local tax rates and, therefore, that
the state has established an unconstitutional state property tax. The Legislature must craft a fair and
practical solution before the courts declare the school finance system unconstitutional.

HB 5 would reduce local property taxes dramatically, granting immediate and much-needed reliefto
taxpayers. Overreliance on the local property tax is unfair, and school districts and taxpayers are
tapped out. Over the past decade, 70 percent of the new money in the school finance system has
come from local property taxes, placing an enormous burden on capital investment in Texas. The
state must be held accountable for its share of the solution and must reduce its dependence on local
property taxpayers to pay for the state’s responsibilities. The state cannot decouple taxes and
school finance, nor can it save its way out of the problem. Other proposals this session merely
would delay the inevitable. Only HB 5 would address the key underlying issue of revenue capacity,
orrestructuring the state’s tax system.

Opponents said while property tax reliefis necessary, increasing and broadening the sales tax
would be the wrong approach. The sales tax is regressive, forcing lower-income consumers to bear

House Research Organization

Page 147



ahigher proportion of the tax burden relative to their income than higher-income consumers bear.
Taxes on advertising could be passed on to consumers through higher prices, and taxes on auto
repair or child care could hit low- to medium-income workers particularly hard. Also, taxing
services could put Texas companies that provide business and professional services to multistate
clients doing business in Texas at an economic disadvantage.

Legislators are on notice that they must find a solution for school finance and tax equity during the
interim between the 78th and 79th Legislatures. The state’s tax structure and the school finance
system are connected, so it would make sense that lawmakers examine both issues concurrently in a
special session. Rather than rushing to find a solution without adequate time for deliberation and
public comment, lawmakers should determine how much a public education should cost and what
the appropriate state and local shares should be, then examine the available resources for reaching
those targets.

Notes: Provisions of the House-passed version of HB 5 were added to HB 3459 by Pitts, which
takes effect on June 10 and September 1, 2003, except that the one-time delayed payment
scheduled for August 2005 will happen on a recurring basis, beginning in August 2003 (see pages
156-157 of this report).

The HRO analysis of HB 5 as considered by the House appeared in Part One of the April 28
Daily Floor Report.
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Allowing parochial and private schools to join University Interscholastic League

HB 580 by Nixon
Died in House committee

HB 580 would have created a 1 5-member Texas Interscholastic League (TIL) board of directors
appointed by the governor to replace the University Interscholastic League (UIL), a part of the
University of Texas that has administered athletic, academic, and artistic competition among public
school students since 1909. The new league would have been open to students enrolled in public
schools, private schools, or open-enrollment charter schools.

HB 580 would have allowed the new TIL to adopt rules for competition, but it would have kept the
“no-pass, no-play” provision requiring students to maintain at least a 70 grade on a 100-point scale
to be eligible to compete in athletic, academic, or artistic events. Funding would have come from
participation fees, similar to the current funding mechanism for UIL. The bill also would have
prohibited scholarships for extracurricular activities.

Supporters said UIL lacks statutory authorization. No legislative committee oversees its
operations or approves its appropriations, and the entity is not subject to sunset review. HB 580
would establish a legal basis for the UIL and would provide greater public accountability. Forty-
seven other states allow private schools to compete in athletic and academic competition with public
schools. Texas could join these states in creating common rules and standards.

UIL has a history of discrimination and continues to discriminate against parochial, private, and
home-school students. In response to a legal challenge, UIL has changed its rules to admit two
nonpublic schools— Dallas Jesuit and Houston Strake Jesuit— beginning in August 2003, but
more than 500,000 Texas students remain ineligible for UIL competition. The U.S. Supreme Court
held in Brentwood Academy v. Tennessee Secondary Athletic Association, 531 U.S. 288
(2001) thathigh school associations essentially are governmental entities subject to Fourteenth
Amendment requirements that schools and students be treated equally. HB 580 would allow these
excluded students to participate in athletic and academic competition and would preclude further
legal challenges based on equal-protection principles.

Opponents said HB 580 is unnecessary. The 74th Legislature in 1995 recognized and codified
the UIL in SB 1, the public education reform act. The league is accountable to students, parents,
and the public through its governing body, appointed by school superintendents. Meshing different
schools with varying philosophies, educational missions, and organizational structures would be
difficult. The Brentwood case illustrates the difficulty in enforcing rules against recruitment and
scholarship offers by nonprivate schools. UIL serves an educational mission by requiring all coaches
and advisors to be full-time teachers, and the new governing body might allow both public and
nonpublic schools to hire part-time coaches and advisors.
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Deregulating home-rule charters and changing election procedures

HB 859 by Madden
Died in the House

HB 859 would have expanded the list of exemptions from state law for home-rule school districts;
revised election procedures, including eliminating the minimum voter-turnout threshold for home-rule
charter elections; and repealed the education commissioner’s authority over ahome-rule school
board’s decision making.

Thebill would have eliminated state oversight of home-rule districts in regard to educator certification and
contractrights, interdistrict and intercounty transfers, elementary class-size limits for low-performing
schools, prekindergarten programs, excused-absence policies for students, and specific health and
safety provisions. It would have eliminated the requirement for a home-rule school board to appoint
acharter commission representing the district’s racial, ethnic, socioeconomic, and geographic
diversity and would have allowed a home-rule school board to override a State Board of Education
(SBOE) rule adopted specifically for home-rule districts.

HB 859 would have made continuation of a home-rule charter contingent on the district’s
maintaining its performance rating under the accreditation standards of state law. It would have
imposed new conditions for probation or revocation related to accountability and accreditation and
would have deleted the requirement for home-rule districts to include a description of the use of
program-weight funds under the school finance formulas.

A proposed charter and any amendments would not have had to pass legal muster with the
education commissioner. Instead, a school board’s legal counsel could have reviewed the charter
for compliance with applicable state and federal law. The commissioner’s review no longer would
have been needed before a charter election.

Supporters said HB 859 would remove unnecessary barriers to educational innovation by
making it easier for local school districts to adopt home-rule charters. Home-rule districts have had
no chance to work because current law places such onerous requirements on communities that wish
to try them. Since charter schools were authorized in 1995, not one home-rule charter district has
been created, primarily because of election expenses connected with ensuring an unreasonably high
voter-participation level and because of excessive state regulation.

HB 859 would give local school boards the flexibility to respond to local needs. Since 1995, more
than 60 unfunded or partially-funded mandates have been added to state law, not counting agency
rules resulting from legislation. Such mandates strain overextended school district budgets, partly
explaining why local property taxes have risen so dramatically. State-mandated “one-size-fits-all”
policies no longer work for school districts, each of which could do a much better job tailoring
policies and programs to suit its own unique characteristics.

The original logic applied to many home-rule district exemptions was to align the authority of those
districts with that of home-rule cities. In general, state oversight is much less burdensome for home-
rule cities than for general-law cities. Under HB 859, the state would regulate funding for home-rule
districts in general without dictating local policies on employees and programs.
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HB 859 would eliminate state restrictions on categorical funds such as set-asides and program
weights, thus giving school districts flexibility in using resources to meet their students’ needs.
Categorical funding involves paperwork, audit requirements, and other administrative burdens that
detract from the primary focus of public schools in Texas: helping all students develop and learn to
their maximum potential.

The approval process for charters would require voter approval, a major test of community buy-in.
The current requirements for charter commissions and minimum voter turnout create roadblocks to
community reform. The only time a district realistically may hold ahome-rule charter election or an

amendment election is during a presidential or gubernatorial election.

HB 859 would add a requirement that the SBOE revoke a home-rule charter if the district did not
meet high standards. A successful accountability system requires consistent application to all schools
without regard to size, location, or demographics, and home-rule districts would receive no
exemptions from the accountability system.

Opponents said HB 859 would wipe out state education standards in districts where home-rule
charters were adopted, allowing local districts to abandon statewide policies that have proven
beneficial for Texas students, teachers, and school employees. Many state requirements, such as the
22:1 student-teacher ratio for kindergarten through fourth grade, have helped students greatly and
should not be abandoned. The open-enrollment charter school experiment has proven that
innovation does not necessarily result in high performance. At the least, the bill should prevent the
state from granting home-rule charters to at-risk school districts with low academic ratings.

Eliminating the requirement for a 25 percent minimum voter turnout would lower standards
dangerously for community involvement in local schools. Petitions could be brought by as few as 5
percent of the number of voters in the latest gubernatorial election. Thus, in a school district with
10,000 registered voters, as few as 180 voters could petition for ahome-rule charter oramendment.
Furthermore, a small group of citizens in a home-rule school district could elect a majority of the
school board who might make the public schools a vehicle for advancing extreme religious or
political agendas.

A home-rule school district is not the same as a home-rule city. In terms of writing a district’s
charter, HB 859 would give the school board much greater power than a city council hasina
home-rule city. Full community involvement is crucial in determining the goals of ahome-rule
charter, especially when the state no longer provides safeguards.

HB 859 would go too far in expanding the list of rules from which charter schools are exempt. The
Legislature went through the Education Code with a fine-tooth comb in 1995. Everything left in the
code is there for a good reason, and many of the provisions protect the health and safety of school
children. Other than to allow school districts to reduce their budgets, the state could find no
Justification for lifting such regulations.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the April 28 Daily Floor Report.
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Authorizing state funding for virtual charter schools

HB 1554 by Grusendorf
Died in the House

HB 1554 would have authorized a public senior college or university to operate a “virtual”’ charter
school, defined as a charter school that uses technology, including the Internet, to deliver a
significant portion of the school’s instruction outside of a central campus. The virtual charter school
would have been entitled to funding for each student in average daily attendance at a level equal to
that of an open-enrollment charter school.

The virtual charter school would have had to provide each student enrolled in the school with access
to asecular curriculum that met or exceeded state standards; allow each student to work at a grade
level other than the level at which the student was enrolled; assess each student’s performance an
average of at least once a week during the school year in each basic subject; ensure that a parent or
guardian of each student verified the number of hours of educational activities the student completed
each year; make available to the parent or guardian a computer, printer, physical copies of
instructional materials, and reimbursement for any fees related to Internet access used for
educational activities; and maintain a student/teacher ratio of not less than one teacher for each 60
students in average daily attendance. The college or university that held the charter would have had
to conduct an annual evaluation of the school to assess gains in student achievement, student
performance on state assessment tests, and the school’s academic, fiscal and operational
performance.

Amendments adopted on the House floor would have required the State Board of Education, in
granting a charter for a virtual charter school, to give preference to a school for which at least 75
percent of prospective students were at risk of dropping out; allowed computers, printers, and
Internet access to be provided only to families at or below 150 percent of the federal poverty level;
specified that a virtual charter school would be entitled to a funding level that was the lesser of the
school’s actual cost of efficiently providing educational services or the level of funding for a student
in an open-enrollment charter school; specified that enrollment in virtual charter schools would have
to be limited so thata school district would not lose more than $35 per student in Foundation
School Program funding for each student enrolled in a virtual charter school; and required that
purchasing contracts for educational services for virtual charter schools could not exceed the lowest
price paid by any other state or school campus or district in Texas.

Supporters said HB 1554 would take advantage of advances in technology to provide Texas
students with an alternative method of gaining access to a high-quality education and would open the
door to new educational opportunities for students who may not fit the traditional mold, such as
those inisolated areas, military families, or students with disabilities. The bill would include
safeguards to ensure that students attending virtual charter schools received an education that was
equal to or better than the education they could receive in a traditional school. The programs would
be operated under the direction of colleges and universities, and students would be subject to testing
and attendance requirements. Each year, the sponsoring college or university would have to
scrutinize the performance of the virtual charter school and its students, including student
performance on standardized state tests. The minimum attendance requirements would include time
spent in hands-on activities and other pursuits, as well as time spent at the computer on Internet
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activities. These activities would be conducted under the direction of certified teachers using high-
quality materials that otherwise might not be available to these students and that would all be
available atno costto all families, regardless of income.

The bill would include funding mechanisms needed to cover the cost of operating a high-quality
virtual charter school. These costs are comparable to regular school expenses, minus building costs,
and include teacher salaries, equipment, and travel; school management, including salaries for
principals and assistant principals; operation of call centers; expenses related to testing and
accountability standards; and reporting expenses.

Opponents said HB 1554 would divert money from public schools to for-profit companies that
would operate virtual charter schools at a time when the state is having trouble meeting basic
educational needs for public school students. The program outlined in the bill, though described as a
virtual charter school, actually is designed to support home schools, which are private schools and
ought to be funded privately. The bill would state broad academic requirements without ensuring
that students received a high-quality education. It would not require that a student ever meet face-
to-face with a certified teacher, only that parents meet at least four times a year with a teacher.
According to the bill’s fiscal note, the eventual cost to the state could be more than $2 million per
year for a program that would be subject to none of the reporting and assessment requirements that
apply even to other charter schools.

Other opponents said it would be premature to adopt HB 1554 before the state has had time

to evaluate the results of studies of virtual school pilot programs established by the 77th Legislature
in2001. Initial findings about the benefits of these programs are inconclusive. While online education
may offer promising opportunities, the state should not authorize resources to fund these programs
until more information is available about their costs and benefits.

Notes: SB 933 by Shapiro, which would have limited virtual charter schools to 2,000 students,
died in the House Calendars Committee. A Senate amendment to HB 411 by Grusendorf, creating
the master science teacher certification and grant program, would have authorized a pilot program
for virtual charter schools but was removed in conference committee.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Three of the April 22 Daily Floor Report.
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Creating a publicly funded school voucher pilot program

HB 2465 by Grusendorf, et al.
Died in House Calendars Committee

HB 2465 would have created a pilot program to provide publicly funded “freedom scholarships”
(vouchers) for eligible children to attend the private schools of their choice, beginning with the 2003-
04 school year. The program would have applied to 11 school districts with enrollment of more than
40,000 where a majority of the students were educationally disadvantaged. Beginning with the
2005-06 school year, any school district could have opted into the program with a local school
board resolution. A child would have to have lived in and attended school in an eligible district for a
majority of the preceding semester and have been from a household with an annual income not
exceeding 200 percent of the qualifying income for the federal free or reduced-price lunch program
(366,970 for a family of four). Beginning with the 2005-06 school year, any child in an eligible
district, regardless of family income, would have been eligible to participate.

Tobe eligible to receive freedom scholarship students, a private school either would have to have
been accredited or have applied for accreditation and could not have discriminated on the basis of
race, national origin, or ethnicity. A school with more qualified scholarship applicants than openings
would have had to fill available slots by lottery, but preference could have been given to students
who were enrolled previously in the school and to other children living in the same household as
previously enrolled students. Home schools would not have been eligible for the scholarships, nor
would schools that limited enrollment to relatives of the school’s staff. Private schools that accepted
eligible scholarship students would have had to administer annually either a Texas Assessment of
Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) test or another norm-referenced test and make the aggregated
results publicly available.

Anceligible child who elected to use a freedom scholarship would have been counted toward the
resident district’s average daily attendance for school finance purposes. A private school would
havereceived 90 percent of the scholarship amount or the private school’s average cost, whichever
was less, and the resident school district would have retained the other 10 percent. A parent of an
eligible child could not have been charged tuition in addition to the scholarship amount.

The education commissioner would have had to establish performance standards in conjunction with
the Charles A. Dana Center at the University of Texas at Austin, including arating system to
measure students’ yearly academic progress, and could have revoked vouchers ifa student or
group of students received academically unacceptable ratings for two consecutive years. The
comptroller would have had to evaluate the program in conjunction with the Dana Center and would
have had to select nonprofit groups to administer “schools of choice resource centers” in each
eligible district.

Supporters said HB 2465 would restore educational choice to families through competition. At
present, educational choice is concentrated among wealthy families, who can either opt for private
schooling or relocate to areas with better public schools. The educationally disadvantaged children
targeted by the bill tend to be left behind in dilapidated inner-city public schools. These poorer
schools have provided a baseline against which all other schools are compared, thus doing a
disservice to students, parents, and taxpayers alike.
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Freedom scholarships would provide students and their parents with greater choices and a higher-
quality educational product for the same amount of money or even less than now is being spent.
Because the public education system has limited resources, no profit motive, and no competition,
public schools lack the innovation observed in private schools, resulting in low quality and high costs
for a stagnant product. The state’s huge educational bureaucracy prevents the natural force of
competition from improving the school system. If public schools had to compete with private
schools, they would have a greater impetus to improve their quality.

Several studies have found improved student achievement based on private school attendance.
Students who attend private schools are more likely to graduate than are students who stay in failing
public schools. School choice also improves family participation in education, a driving force for
educational achievement. Some studies also have shown that having a choice of which school a child
attends improves both parents’ and students’ satisfaction with the school, which may lead to
improved achievement over the long run.

Opponents said HB 2465 would siphon money away from public schools and spend it on private
school vouchers at atime when the state and local schools can ill afford this experiment. Schools
have worked hard to meet the increasing demands of the accountability system and to comply with
hundreds of other state and federal mandates. Taking money and students away from a school
district does not change a school’s fixed costs. When voucher students leave the public schools, the
costs of staff, maintenance, and debt service for school facilities remain. Losing 90 percent of the
cost per student could have an adverse trickle-down effect on students, school districts, and
taxpayers. The money proposed to be spent on vouchers would be spent better on improving the
public school system to benefit all students.

Private schools should not receive public funds because they are not accountable to the state to the
same degree that public schools are. Private schools are not subject to open records and meetings
requirements, nor are they bound by other state and federal laws, regulations, and court decisions.
Thus, a voucher system would be rife with potential abuse of public dollars. HB 2465 would not
evenrequire private schools to be accredited but only to have applied for accreditation, and it
would place no time limit on achieving accreditation. Nothing in the bill would prevent a private
school from discriminating on the basis of a student’s academic or athletic ability.

The bill would create incentives for wealthy families who already had children in private school to
“game the system” in order to qualify for public subsidies. After 2005, any child would be eligible
for the voucher program, regardless of family income. Because students who previously were
enrolled in private school (and their siblings) could be given priority over other students, the few
available spots likely would go to wealthier families who already could afford private school on their
own. Because there would be no means testing once a student was qualified, the bill essentially
would create a permanent public subsidy for private school students.

Other opponents said that public funding inevitably comes with strings attached and eventually
would bring private schools under government regulation on matters such as testing and curriculum,
class size, and other mandates.
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Appropriations-related changes to education statutes

HB 3459 by Pitts
Generally effective September 1, 2003

HB 3459 amends the Education Code and other statutes as required to implement provisions for
public and higher education in the general appropriations act for fiscal 2004-05.

School finance. HB 3459 repeals the existing school finance system on September 1, 2004,
contingent on enactment of a replacement system by that date. It delays the state’s annual August
payment to school districts until September and requires the education commissioner to reduce
payments to a school district in the second year of a biennium if the district’s final taxable property
values exceed the amount used to estimate payments. The commissioner may use excess funds to
update the cost-of-education index.

Monitoring and compliance. The bill makes monitoring by the Texas Education Agency (TEA)
permissive rather than mandatory, except in the areas of special education and accreditation.
Dropoutrecords will be audited electronically, and TEA may perform cyclical monitoring only as
necessary to ensure a school district’s compliance with federal law, financial accountability, and data
integrity requirements. The bill assigns local school boards primary responsibility for ensuring
compliance with all applicable requirements of state educational programs.

Technology allotment. HB 3459 maintains the state technology allotment at $30 per student and
authorizes payment from the Telecommunications Infrastructure Fund (TIF), the Available School
Fund (ASF), or any other fund identified for that purpose. The TIF board may use money remaining
in the TIF account to award grants to public schools and to the Health and Human Services
Commission for certain technology initiatives.

Existing Debt Allotment (EDA). The bill rolls forward the eligibility cutoff date for the EDA by
two years, so that bonds for which school districts made payments during the 2002-03 school year
are eligible for state debt assistance. Ifthe state does not have enough funds to cover all debt
service on newly eligible bonds at the existing state yield, the commissioner may reduce the $35
guaranteed yield (for newly eligible debt only) to the level necessary to fund all allotments within
appropriations limits. This provision will expire September 1, 2005. The bill also makes $20 million
available for the Instructional Facilities Allotment for fiscal 2005.

TRS-Care. The bill incorporates provisions of SB 1369 by Duncan, restructuring group health
benefits for retired public school employees. It also adds anew cost-sharing provision requiring
school districts to contribute on a monthly basis between 0.25 percent and 0.75 percent of an active
employee’s salary toward TRS-Care.

TRS-ActiveCare passthrough. Effective September 1,2003, the $1,000 annual passthrough that
active public school employees receive from the state for health insurance will be reduced to $500
per year for full-time employees, other than professional staff, and to $250 per year for part-time

employees. The passthrough is restored to $1,000 for all employees, except professional staft, on
September 1, 2005.
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Waiting periods. The bill imposes a 90-day waiting period on membership in the Teacher
Retirement System, both for new employees and for those returning to employment after
withdrawing contributions for previous service credit. New employees of public and higher
education institutions must wait 90 days to become eligible for health-care benefits, and new public
school employees must wait 90 days to receive the state passthrough.

HB 3459 makes many other changes, including:

. authorizing school districts to request legal assistance from the attorney general;

. limiting the number and length of written reports a classroom teacher must prepare;

4 allowing local school districts to develop local consolidation agreements;

. setting forth hearing procedures for suspension or termination of teacher contracts;

. expanding the potential uses of compensatory education allotment funds;

. reimbursing public school teachers for classroom supplies;

. authorizing school districts to enter into political subdivision corporations to purchase
electrical service;

. changing the Permanent School Fund accounting method to an accrual basis to allow the
deposit of accrued interest and dividends to the ASF at the end of each fiscal year;

. modifying purchasing options for school district contracts in excess of $25,000;

. sunsetting the Texas Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory on September 1,2007;

. subjecting regional education service centers to a comprehensive audit; and

. authorizing the state to participate in a multijurisdictional lottery game.

HRO analyses are available for the following bills, all of which were amended into HB 3459 in
some form:

. HB 5 by Grusendorf, repealing the school finance system, which died when the House
refused to concur with Senate amendments (see pages 146-148 of this report and the HRO
analysis in Part One of the April 28 Daily Floor Report);

. SB 13 by Zaffrini, restricting written reports of classroom teachers, which died in the House
(see Part Three of the May 27 Daily Floor Report);

. SB 1240 by Shapiro, allowing school districts to develop local consolidation agreements,
which died in the House (see Part Three of the May 27 Daily Floor Report);

4 SB 893 by Bivins, setting forth hearing procedures for suspension or termination of teacher
contracts, effective June 20, 2003 (see Part Two of the May 26 Daily Floor Report);,

. SB 894 by Bivins, requiring electronic monitoring of dropout rates and expanding uses for
compensatory education allotment funds, effective September 1,2003 (see the May 19
Daily Floor Report);

. HB 1844 by Grusendorf, reimbursing public school teachers for classroom supplies,
effective June 18, 2003 (see Part One of the May 2 Daily Floor Report);

. SB 1369 by Duncan, restructuring group health benefits for retired public school

employees, generally effective September 1,2004 (see pages 169-170 of'this report and
the HRO analysis in Part One of the May 26 Daily Floor Report); and

. SB 929 by Shapiro, auditing and sunsetting regional education service centers, effective
September 1,2003 (see pages 163-164 of this report and the HRO analysis in Part One of
the May 26 Daily Floor Report).
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Requiring pledges of allegiance and a minute of silence in public schools

SB 83 by Wentworth, et al.
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 83 requires school trustees to require students to recite the pledges of allegiance to the U.S.
and Texas flags every school day at each public school in the state. Students must be excused from
participating on written request from their parents or guardians. The bill amends existing law by
requiring, rather than allowing, a school district to provide for the observance of one minute of
silence following the pledges, during which students may pray, meditate, or engage in any other
silent activity that does not interfere with or distract other students. Teachers or other school
employees supervising students must ensure that they remain silent and do not interfere with or
distract other students.

Supporters said public education involves developing character, citizenship, and patriotism by
extolling the common values of Americans and Texans. SB 83 would establish in law two common
practices furthering these goals in schools. The national and state pledges of allegiance embody core
values deeply rooted in U.S. civics and Texas history. Imparting such values to school children is an
essential function of the state educational system in preparing young people to be responsible
citizens and effective leaders. Reciting the pledges helps to instill these values, notwithstanding the
opinion of some that two words — “under God” —in the U.S. pledge may be religious in nature.
Such public expressions reflect a deeply held national sentiment that students should be taught to
understand and encouraged to express, if they so choose.

Because reciting the pledges would not be mandatory, no one’s rights would be infringed or beliefs
denigrated. The required minute of silence would emphasize reflection on the importance of the
school day, suggesting nonsectarian contemplation or reverence. It would present prayer as an
option without directing anyone to pray. The minute of silence would be neutral toward religion in
general and unbiased in favor of any religion in particular. Observing silence would lend solemnity to
the educational endeavor, promoting unity and an ethos that teachers and administrators should
welcome. Courts have upheld similar laws in other states.

Opponents said SB 83 is unnecessary, because state law does not preclude reciting pledges to
flags. Texas law already allows moments of silence in public schools and ensures students’ right to
pray there. Atissue is whether the government — either the state or a school board —may direct
them to do so. In that context, SB 83 might violate the principle of separation of church and state
without producing any tangible educational benefits. It also would violate the principle of local
control, forcing an arbitrary and inflexible state mandate on local schools with no consideration for
varying local circumstances or preferences.

In February 2003, the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in San Francisco upheld a three-judge
panel’s 2002 ruling that a school policy requiring recitation of the U.S. pledge of allegiance during
class violated the First Amendment prohibition against government establishment of religion
(Newdow v. U.S. Congress (No. 00-16423), 9th Cir. 2003)). The decision has yet to take effect
in the court’s nine-state jurisdiction pending defendants’ appeal to the U.S. Supreme Court. The
appellate court struck down a California law similar to what SB 83 proposes in part—a
mandatory daily classroom pledge in which individual students need not participate. The majority
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held that the school district’s policy “impermissibly coerces a religious act.” The court found the
pledge’s reference to the United States as anation “under God” to be a profession of beliefin
monotheism. According to the majority opinion, the coercive effect is pronounced among school
children and extends to mere observers. It follows that this also would be true of a minute of silence,
a stated purpose of which is to provide an opportunity for prayer.

Mandating that students maintain silence for a full minute could create discipline problems, especially
among young children. Explaining and enforcing this policy among diverse student bodies could
prove problematic and alienating.

Other opponents said students, especially those in high school, should be allowed to decide
whether to participate and to opt out of the minute of silence, not only the pledges. Logistical details
ofthe period of silence, including length, should be left up to teachers and administrators, but the bill
should guide them as to what language would be appropriate to use.

The HRO analysis of the companion bill, HB 793 by Branch, et al., appeared in Part One of the
May 5 Daily Floor Report.
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Sunsetting State Board for Educator Certification, shifting duties to TEA

SB 265 by Lucio
Died in the House

SB 265 would have given the education commissioner, rather than the State Board for Educator
Certification (SBEC), exclusive rulemaking authority for teacher certification. Texas Education
Agency (TEA) staff would have assumed responsibility for all duties formerly assigned to SBEC
staff. The bill would have continued until 2015 a smaller SBEC board with reduced authority,
limited to disciplinary, ethical, and continuing education standards for educators. It would have
repealed the authority of the State Board of Education (SBOE) to reject rules related to educator
certification and repealed certification requirements for superintendents.

Supporters said SB 265 would save the state money by moving teacher certification authority
back to TEA and eliminating duplicative costs in purchasing and human resources. The Legislative
Budget Board (LBB) projects annual general revenue savings of $137,000, based on a Sunset
Advisory Commission analysis. Adjusting that estimate to include savings from eliminating three
employees, the true annual savings would be closer to $179,000.

SB 265 rightly would vest rulemaking authority for certification in the education commissioner,
putting supports in place to ensure that all Texas schools had a highly qualified teacher in every
classroom by 2005-06. This and other bills enacted during the session would align state policy with
federal standards to ensure that the state could secure funds through the federal No Child Left
Behind Act (NCLB). The commissioner already has authority to approve school district teaching
permits and to grant waivers that allow a certified teacher to teach outside his or her area of
certification. Granting the commissioner authority over certification would be a logical extension of
those powers and could lead to greater consistency in rulemaking.

SB 265 would streamline the rulemaking process by removing oversight authority from the SBOE.
In the past, SBOE veto power over SBEC rules has delayed rule implementation by asmuch as a
year. Italso has allowed interest groups to delay actions on issues by playing one board against the
other.

The bill would separate entry into the teaching profession from the disciplinary process, creating a
parallel structure to the one established for other professions. For example, lawyers have two
separate organizations to manage licensing versus disciplinary proceedings and continuing education
for legal professionals. Rulemaking for policing and oversight of certified education professionals
should be concentrated in a single appointed board of teachers and administrators. This would
enhance and focus SBEC’s enforcement powers and ensure that educators who violated ethical
standards would be sanctioned and barred from the profession.

Opponents said SB 265 would diminish the autonomy and professionalism of educators in Texas
by punishing an agency that has done a good job in raising standards for the profession. One reason
why educator certification was taken away from TEA in 1995 was that the agency could not handle
the job, resulting in a massive backlog of certificates and disciplinary complaints. The Sunset
Advisory Commission recommended that SBEC be continued in its current form, noting that no
substantial benefits would result from transferring its functions to another agency.
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SBEC is meeting or exceeding all of its performance measures. In little more than a year, it reduced
the credentialing backlog from more than 13,000 certificates to only 2,000. It reduced the amount
of time it takes to issue a certificate from 87 days to less than 10 days for in-state credentials and to
less than 20 days for out-of-state credentials. It reduced its disciplinary case backlog from more
than 1,800 cases to a current a docket of 550 to 650 cases. Before SBEC was created, only 2 to 4
percent of educators were disciplined as a result of an ethics or disciplinary complaint. Today, 25
percent of teachers brought before SBEC for disciplinary infractions receive punishments ranging
fromreprimands to revocation of their certificates.

The bill would disrupt an autonomous, well-functioning organization to save a small amount of
money. The resulting backlogs in credentialing and discipline could lead to qualified teachers being
unable to teach while waiting for their credentials and to bad teachers remaining in the classroom or
being passed from district to district. The savings projected in LBB’s fiscal note could be achieved
by executing amemorandum of understanding to share SBEC’s purchasing and human resources
costs with TEA.

In giving authority over educator certification to a political appointee of the governor, SB 265 would
weaken educator representation in setting standards for entry into the profession. The new
rulemaking process would depend on the values of a single official who would not have to invite
constituents to comment or participate, thus compromising the integrity of a process that has valued
stakeholder input in the past. An appointed commissioner could be motivated to produce more
teachers atany cost in order to qualify for more federal money through the NCLB.

Under SB 265, only four of SBEC’s nine board members would be certified teachers and four
would be administrators. Texas has about 280,000 certified teachers and 20,000 administrators.
Membership on the SBEC board, whose authority would be limited to discipline, ethics, and
continuing education, should be directly proportional to the profession it represents.

Notes: HB 2455 by Chisum, etal., continues SBEC until 2005 and directs the board to enter into
amemorandum of understanding with TEA to consolidate administrative functions and services.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 25 Daily Floor Report.
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Expanded use and electronic monitoring of compensatory education funds

SB 894 by Bivins
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 894 requires that compensatory education (comp ed) allotment funds be used to meet the
costs of providing a compensatory, intensive, or accelerated instruction program for at-risk or
economically disadvantaged students. However, these funds may be used for such supplementary
education expenses as program and student evaluations, instructional materials, staff expenses,
teacher salaries, smaller class sizes, and individual instruction for the targeted students. School
districts may use the comp ed allotment to fund programs specifically designed to serve students at
risk of dropping out of school. The bill also eliminates the requirement that school districts conduct
an annual audit of dropout data expenditures and instead requires the Texas Education Agency
(TEA) to develop aprocess for auditing these records electronically. The State Board of Education,
with the assistance of the state auditor and comptroller, must set up electronic reporting and auditing
systems for comp ed fund expenditures.

Supporters said SB 894 would give school districts more flexibility in deciding how to use comp
ed funds and would eliminate burdensome auditing and reporting requirements. School districts still
would have to use these funds to help bridge academic gaps for at-risk and economically
disadvantaged students, but they could do so without the cumbersome and impractical requirement
that comp ed funds be used “only” for these purposes. Separating activities that benefit students
who qualify for comp ed funds from other activities can result in duplication and confusion about
which expenses can be paid from these funds. The bill also would establish a more targeted and
cost-effective electronic system for monitoring the use of comp ed funds. The current requirement
that every school district pay for an annual audit of this information, even if funds are being used
properly, is expensive and unnecessary. TEA can and should conduct basic oversight electronically
using data submitted by school districts. Eliminating the audit requirement for reporting of dropout
data would save an estimated $40 million for Texas school districts.

Opponents said SB 8§94 would dilute the purpose of the comp ed allotment by giving school
districts broad discretion to fund programs that might benefit other students at the expense of those
who need extra help. Existing statutes were drafted to prevent districts from using comp ed funds to
supplant funding for regular programs. Without these protections, districts would be more likely to
use at least part of these funds to cover the cost of programs that benefit students who are not at
risk. The bill would allow school districts to use comp ed funds to pay the full cost of alternative
education programs (AEPs) for students at risk of dropping out. This quickly could drain the
resources of regular campus programs for at-risk students, because the cost of operating an AEP is
about six times higher than the cost of operating aregular program.

Other opponents said SB 894 should require an accountability system to ensure that comp ed
audits, whether conducted by TEA or individual districts, include some mechanism to measure the

disparities between at-risk students and other students not funded with comp ed funds.

The HRO analysis appeared in the May 19 Daily Floor Report.
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Auditing and sunsetting regional education service centers

SB 929 by Shapiro
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 929 subjects regional education service centers (ESCs) to sunset review and a comptroller’s
audit and abolishes them on September 1,2005, unless the Legislature continues them. Audit costs
will be paid out of ESC appropriations for fiscal 2004-05, in an amount not to exceed $750,000.
The comptroller must complete its audit and report the results to the Sunset Advisory Commission
and the Legislature by June 1,2004. The audit must include a detailed analysis of all services
provided by each ESC and whether those services could be provided at a lower cost elsewhere; an
analysis of ESC governance structures; areview of ESCs’ financial condition and current funding
sources; areview of the number and geographic distribution of ESCs; areview of ESC institutional
structures and whether the Texas Education Agency (TEA) could take over any of their functions;
and an evaluation of whether ESC support functions could be reduced through business processes
orapplicationredesigns.

The bill also limits the amount of compensation that a regional ESC may receive when acting as a
fiscal agent or broker for agreements between school districts that allow ESCs to retain a portion of
adistrict’s equalized wealth level. An ESC may charge only the actual administrative cost of
providing the service, or another amount agreed to in writing by the district receiving transferred
funds under the agreement.

Supporters said SB 929 would restore accountability to the ESC system by subjecting ESCs to
an audit and sunset review. Since 1967, regional ESCs have received public funds for a growing
array of services, yet the state never has conducted a comprehensive review of how ESCs fit into
the overall educational delivery system. The education commissioner holds rulemaking authority for
regional ESCs and has the power to hire and fire ESC executive directors, but high-level oversight
has been sporadic and limited. Since TEA also will undergo sunsetreview in 2005, the time is right
to study how services provided by regional ESCs fit into state and local systems and whether those
services are duplicative or can be provided elsewhere for less money.

SB 929 would take the profit margin out of ESC contracts and would enable school districts to
approve contracts in advance that designate Chapter 41 funds directly to ESCs. Education Code,
ch. 41 allows property-wealthy districts to reduce their wealth levels by buying attendance credits
from property-poor districts (“Option 4 arrangements”). Because students are weighted differently
by the school finance formulas in poor and rich districts, when attendance credits are purchased, a
“net gain” results that stays at the district level. As service brokers between districts, ESCs may
retain a portion of the net gain to develop programs that benefit all districts in the region. In2002, a
study by the Legislative Budget Board found that 13 percent of the contracts brokered by ESCs
provided services to districts outside the service center’s regional boundaries, thus taking regional
money away from districts that should benefit from the funds. Also, some ESCs have used this net
gain to build and maintain regional facilities that require significant capital expenditures. Under SB
929, regional ESCs no longer could profit from net gains under Option 4 arrangements without prior
approval by the affected school districts.

House Research Organization

Page 163



The bill would restore competition to the provision of core ESC services, ensuring that local school
districts get the best deal possible for their limited dollars. An audit by the comptroller would give
legislators and school districts more information about competitive contracting opportunities than
normally is produced by a sunset review. By subjecting regional ESCs to a “’Yellow Pages test” —
whereby services are identified, costed, and compared to what similar services would cost in the
private sector— legislators would gain valuable information to aid in the next biennial budget
process. Instead of a coordinated regional system, ESCs operate like 20 different ““silos” charging
whatever the market will bear. Shedding light on inefficiencies in the system ultimately would give
school districts more choices and thus more control over the expenditure of limited funds.

Opponents said regional ESCs provide valuable, individualized services to school districts that
they otherwise could not afford. ESC services include detailed data collection and reporting; training
on testing, accountability, and special education compliance; purchasing co-ops for food,
computers, and instructional supplies; bulk buying of Internet services; and licensed alternative
certification programs for teachers, especially in shortage areas such as special and bilingual
education. Many small and rural schools no longer could make ends meet if their regional ESC was
abolished, because providing services in-house or outsourcing them to private contractors has
proved too expensive. Also, shifting regional ESCs to a one-size-fits-all approach would create a
centralized bureaucracy contrary to the goals of local control.

SB 929 represents an attempt to justify cutting more money from the state’s education budgetata
time when school districts need all the help they can get. In the fiscal 2004-05 budget, lawmakers
eliminated 125 TEA employees and cut funding for ESC core services by 23 percent. TEA now
provides only limited technical assistance, and with the agency’s program dollars being squeezed, it
isunlikely that shifting training and technical assistance from regional ESCs back to TEA would
benefit local districts. While private companies might compete to provide training and technology
services to the top 25 school districts, cutting ESC services would hurt rural districts that are
struggling to meet new state and federal accountability standards.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 26 Daily Floor Report.
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Authorizing lump-sum bonus payments to certain retiring state employees

HB 3208 by Heflin
Effective June 20, 2003

HB 3208 establishes a temporary provision for lump-sum payments to certain retiring members of
the Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS). A member who is eligible to retire and receive a
service annuity on or after August 31,2003, and before September 1,2005, is eligible toreceive a
one-time, lump-sum payment equal to 25 percent of the member’s total annual salary during the 12-
month period preceding the month in which the employee retired. To receive a lump-sum payment,
amember who qualifies to retire on August 31, 2003, must retire on that date. A member who
becomes eligible to retire after August 31,2003, but before September 1,2005, must retire in the
month in which that member first becomes eligible. The bill does not apply to a member who retires
due to adisability.

Supporters said HB 3208 would offer a bonus of 25 percent of annual salary to encourage
eligible state employees to retire on the last day of the current fiscal year or in their first month of
eligibility during fiscal 2004-05. This would enable the state to reduce its work force and save
money without resorting to additional layoffs or salary reductions. As many as 12,000 employees
could qualify before the conclusion of the program at the end of fiscal 2005. For each state
employee who received a lump-sum retirement bonus, the comptroller would reduce agency
appropriations by 35 percent of the employee’s final salary for the remainder of the biennium.
Bonuses would be paid from the appropriations so reduced. According to the bill’s fiscal note, HB
3208 would save the state about $2 1 million through fiscal 2004-05.

Opponents said while HB 3208 would create incentives for some state employees to retire early,
other legislation contradicts its purpose by making retirement less attractive. Currently, minimum
eligibility for retirement with health insurance benefits is either age 60 with atleast 10 years’ service
or the “rule of 80" —an employee’s service credit plus age equaling or exceeding 80 — with at
least five years’ service credit. SB 1370 by Duncan, effective September 1,2003, raises the
minimum eligibility for retiree health insurance to age 65 with 10 years of service, or satisfying the
rule of 80. While HB 3208 might encourage eligible employees to retire on August 31,2003, SB
1370 will encourage some employees to wait to retire in order to qualify for health insurance,
creating a disincentive for as many as 1,200 ERS members to retire within the next fiscal biennium.
Also, HB 3208 would require considerable money for its initial startup and would not prevent
retired employees from being rehired after they receive the bonus.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Two of the May 7 Daily Floor Report.
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Creating ahealth reimbursement arrangement program for school employees

HB 3257 by Delisi
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 3257 requires that the full amount of the passthrough that active public school employees
receive from the state for health insurance — whether $1,000 or another amount by appropriation
— be directed toward an employer-paid health reimbursement arrangement (HRA), effective with
the 2004-05 school year. An HRA is an employer-paid health benefit plan that reimburses a
participant for qualified health-care expenses up to a maximum dollar amount at the end of a
coverage period and provides that any unused portion is carried forward for use in a subsequent
coverage period. The bill repeals the current options to use the passthrough money for salary
compensation, a medical savings account, or a cafeteria health plan.

The Teacher Retirement System (TRS) may pay administrative expenses for the HR A program out
of the passthrough and may begin collecting an administrative fee on the passthrough during the
2003-04 school year to pay for administrative program expenses in 2004.

Any unspent funds in a cafeteria plan that an employee has designated for health care as of September 1,
2003, must be spent for qualified health care-expenses before the employee may spend any funds
from the HRA account. Any unspent funds in a medical savings account will be transferred to an
HRA account as of September 1,2004. On an employee’s separation from service, the employee
may continue to use any unspent money carried over in the HRA for qualified health-care expenses.

By September 1,2004, TRS and the comptroller must develop a funding structure that allows
employees to carry over money allocated to them and ensures favorable federal tax treatment for
employees. The comptroller either must establish separate individual accounts within the TRS-
ActiveCare trust fund or must transfer funds from TRS-ActiveCare to trust accounts in the custody
ofthe comptroller for the benefit of employees.

Supporters said HB 3257 would create a consumer-directed health benefit arrangement to give
active school employees more control over how their out-of-pocket health-care dollars are spent.
Greater control would lead to greater responsibility for using health-care dollars wisely. Employees
could be reimbursed for a wide range of qualified medical expenses, including health and dental
costs, eye examinations, glasses, contact lenses, chiropractic care, premiums for spousal or
dependent coverage, premiums for long-term care coverage, psychiatric treatment, prescription
drugs, and more. The choices provided by an HRA account would allow employees to tailor health-
care services to their individual and family needs.

HB 3257 would ensure that all passthrough dollars went to health care rather than to other
purposes. The 77th Legislature created TRS-ActiveCare to provide health insurance for school
employees, not to provide a salary increase. Employees who elect to receive the passthrough as
salary may be using the money for health care, but salary compensation is after-tax money, which
cuts down on the benefit of the passthrough by up to 20 percent. In the past 20 years, health-care
costs have risen at twice the rate of income, and health spending continues to soar. Allowing
employees to receive the passthrough money as a salary limits the health-care dollars available to
employees and could leave health-care needs unaddressed.
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The HRA option could be carried forward from year to year, unlike the “use it or lose it” aspect of
current cafeteria plans offered to school employees. This would create an incentive for school
employees to be more efficient health-care consumers and to save for major medical expenses.
Consumer-driven plans motivate consumers to seek out information, assess value versus cost, and
understand the economic consequences of their decisions.

HB 3257 would create a more attractive benefits package, helping districts recruit and retain
teachers and other school employees. Providing customizable health benefits would help school
districts remain competitive with the private sector. The ability to roll over the HRA account would
motivate employees to remain employed in public schools so that they could keep adding to their
savings for future health-care expenses.

Opponents said HB 3257 would restrict school employees’ choices in the name of consumer
choice by severely limiting options for spending the passthrough. Rather than strait-jacketing school
employees into a one-size-fits-all plan, lawmakers simply should add the HRA to the list of options
and leta natural consumer process unfold. By offering the HRA plan as another choice rather than
as the only alternative, lawmakers could assess how many employees chose the plan over the
course of a biennium to see whether HR As truly had consumer appeal or not.

While the rollover feature is an attractive option, it would not be very useful without money to roll
over. The passthrough took a major hit during the appropriations process, leaving part-time
employees with a total of only $20.83 per month to spend on health care. This barely would pay for
asingle visit to a doctor, let alone accumulate enough over time to pay for a major medical expense.
Allowing TRS to deduct amonthly fee to administer the HRA program could reduce the benefit
further for all employees.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Three of the May 10 Daily Floor Report.
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Restructuring group health benefits for retired public school employees

SB 1369 by Duncan
Effective September 1, 2004

SB 1369 redefines public school retirees eligible for TRS-Care group health benefits to allow
retirees to substitute five years of military service for five years of creditable service in Texas public
schools. All retirees may calculate their eligibility based on the “Rule of 80,” which is met if the sum
of the retiree’s age and total years of service credit equals or exceeds 80.

During an open enrollment period, any retiree over age 65 who is covered by Medicare and is
enrolled in TRS-Care as of August 31,2004, may enroll and add dependent coverage in any of the
three coverage tiers. Retirees not covered by Medicare may enroll and add dependent coverage
only in the next-higher coverage tier. Any retiree may select a lower level of coverage at any time.
The Teacher Retirement System (TRS) may not deny basic (Tier 1) coverage to aretiree during an
open enrollment period unless the retiree has defrauded the program. The bill establishes a sum-
certain state contribution to assist retirees with dependent coverage under the Tier 1 plan, subjectto
appropriation. TRS must collect the balance of the dependent coverage premium from the retiree.

Effective September 1,2003, the state’s contribution to TRS-Care will increase from 0.5 percent to
1 percent of the salary of each active employee who is a contributing member of TRS, and an active
employee’s contribution will rise from 0.25 percent to 0.50 percent of his or her salary. The state no
longer must maintain a two-to-one ratio in its contribution relative to active employees’ contributions.

Also effective September 1,2003, the bill requires cost sharing for TRS-Care program costs. The
state must pay up to 55 percent of the program’s total costs, retirees must pay at least 30 percent,
and the balance must be paid by active employees and school districts. TRS must establish arange
of premium levels for retirees, taking into account years of service and whether or not the retiree is
covered by Medicare, Part A.

On September 1, 2003, the comptroller must transfer $42 million from TRS-ActiveCare, the state-
run health insurance program for active public school employees, to TRS-Care to compensate for
money transferred from the TRS-Care fund in 2001 to pay startup costs for TRS-ActiveCare.

Supporters said TRS-Care is insolvent and must be restructured to be financially viable over the
long term. A report by the state auditor in January 2003 found that “significant changes” are
necessary to keep the TRS-Care plan solvent. Since 1993, the program’s expenditures consistently
have exceeded revenues. Early projections for fiscal 2006-07 put the funding gap for TRS-Care at
more than $2 billion. TRS trustees have worked with retirees over the years to institute a series of
network design changes that TRS-Care participants could accept. Retirees voluntarily have paid
more to keep their system intact, and they support the structural changes proposed by SB 1369.

The bill would increase substantially the amount of state assistance to retired teachers while asking
active teachers to share the costs ofa serious funding crisis at TRS-Care. The state would double
its minimum contribution, to a level equal to twice the employee’s contribution. The fiscal impact of
doubling the state’s contribution would be neutral, since it merely would provide more money in
payroll contributions in exchange for less money in solvency supplementation.
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It would be unreasonable to ask school districts to come up with a payroll contribution, which
would shift an ever greater burden onto local property taxpayers. More than 400 school districts
have reached the statutory cap on maintenance and operations taxes, and another 200 are close to
the cap. Payroll typically accounts for 85 percent of a school district’s costs, and when the
proposed district contribution is coupled with proposed state funding cuts for education programs,
districts would be left between arock and a hard place. Such a proposal would necessitate a tax
increase for 60 percent of Texas school districts and budget cuts for the 40 percent of districts that
already have reached their fiscal capacity. Either way, school children and local taxpayers would
suffer.

Opponents said SB 1369 would allow the state to back away from its commitment to TRS-Care
by shifting all responsibility for rising costs onto employees. The state’s increased contribution from
0.5 percentto 1 percent of payroll would be a shell game, since the state would have to make up
the difference through a solvency supplement. Imposing higher payroll contributions on active school
employees would be unfair, especially since the TRS-ActiveCare passthrough of state money to
school employees has been reduced drastically and its future is in doubt. The bill also would revoke
the state’s promise to keep the ratio of state to employee contributions at two-to-one, so even
though the state’s contribution is twice that of active employees this biennium, more costs could be
shifted to employees in future years.

SB 1369 should have retained the requirement for a school district payroll contribution, which the
conference committee stripped from the bill. Cost sharing by school districts has become necessary
now that the Legislature must come up with a solvency supplement for TRS for the third sessionina
row. The school district contribution would have been set on a sliding range by appropriation at
between 0.25 percentand 0.75 percent of the district’s active employee payroll. This would not
have been an unreasonable request, since most private-sector employers pay a contribution toward
their employees’ retirement health-care coverage. The state has committed to paying a majority
share of program costs, even though teachers are not state employees. School districts should pay
their fair share too.

Notes: HB 3459 by Pitts, generally effective September 1, 2003, authorizes a school district
contribution to TRS-Care of between 0.25 percent and 0.75 percent of payroll, as determined by
appropriations. (See pages 156-157 of this report.)

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 26 Daily Floor Report.
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Changing health benefit plans for certain state employees and retirees

SB 1370 by Duncan
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 1370 changes group health insurance benefits for state employees covered through the
Employees Retirement System (ERS), the Teacher Retirement System (TRS), and the University of
Texas (UT) and Texas A&M University (TAMU) systems. Among other measures, the bill:

4 requires uniformly that an eligible employee be either 65 years old with 10 years of state
service or satisfy the rule of 80 —a combination of age and service credits equal to or
greater than 80— eliminating the current eligibility category of age 60 with at least 10 years

of' service credit;

4 requires a 90-day waiting period for health-care benefits for newly hired employees and for
retirees who do not retire directly from state employment;

. reduces state contributions for part-time employees to 50 percent and designates a part-
time worker as anyone with fewer than 40 hours per week;

. discontinues state contributions for nonemployee board members but allows current board
members to retain benefits by paying for their contributions; and

. reduces contributions for graduate teaching assistants by 50 percent.

On or after September 1,2005, TRS must deliver to each school district, charter school, and
regional education service center state funds in an amount equal to $1,000 per active employee, or
a greater amount as provided by the general appropriations act. Effective September 1,2003, the
comptroller must transfer $42 million from TRS-ActiveCare, the state-run health insurance program
for active public school employees, to TRS-Care, the health program for school retirees, to
compensate for money transferred for the startup of TRS-ActiveCare in fiscal 2003. The bill
increases the contribution to the TRS-Care fund by an active employee to one-halfof 1 percent of
the employee’s salary, from one-quarter of 1 percent in current law.

For employees within the two university systems who are designated as working at least 40 hours a
week, the system can contribute the full cost of basic coverage and not more than 50 percent of the
costof dependent coverage. An eligible adjunct faculty member may receive not more than 50
percent of the cost of basic coverage for the employee and not more than 25 percent for dependent
coverage. A university system may contribute amounts in excess of those specified if the monies
come from other than general revenue.

Supporters said SB 1370 would make necessary changes in health-care plans for state
employees, teachers, and higher education employees to meet current fiscal constraints. ERS, TRS,
and the UT and TAMU systems provide group health insurance for more than 1 million Texans.
State costs for these programs total nearly $3.7 billion for the current biennium. Initially, these
agencies soughtan additional $1.7 billion to maintain current benefit levels for fiscal 2004-05. Both
the Senate Finance and House Appropriations committees determined that this funding level would
be impossible. Budget writers asked these agencies to produce a list of money-saving options
regarding the state’s employee benefits package to create plans that can be accomplished by the
various boards under existing authority. The measures proposed by SB 1370 would save the state

an estimated $325 million in fiscal 2004-05, critical to balancing the budget for the coming biennium.
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To the extent possible, the bill aims to treat equally the existing group benefit programs through
ERS, TRS, and the two university systems. It would establish uniform retirement ages for all three
employee groups. The state would realize enormous savings if a higher percentage ofits retirees
were eligible for Medicare rather than totally dependent on state health benefits.

Opponents said SB 1370 would translate into a pay cut for part-time active employees and
would delay the benefits that many prospective retirees have earned and expected. By changing
retirement eligibility for health coverage in the largest state benefit programs, the Legislature would
switch rules for dedicated employees late in the game. A state employee no longer would be eligible
for health benefits atage 60 with 10 years of service credit. This change would be demoralizing to
employees who have counted on such provisions for early retirement soon after September 1,
2003, and could influence those employees to delay retirement by as much as five years to retain
medical insurance through the state. The bill’s intent seems at cross purposes with other retirement
policies and legislation that would create incentives for some state employees to retire early.

Proposed hiring freezes and reductions in force by state agencies in response to the budget shortfall
could reduce savings expected from the 90-day freeze on benefits for new employees. A 90-day
waiting period for qualified retirees who do notretire directly would seem almost punitive after these
employees’ many years of service to the state. Reducing the state’s benefit contribution by 50
percent for employees who work fewer than 40 hours a week would represent a salary cut. The
state already underpays most of its employees in comparison with comparable private-sector
functions.

The bill would allow the state to back away from its commitment to TRS-Care by shifting
responsibility for rising costs onto employees and school districts. Increasing active teachers’
contributions to TRS-Care would be particularly burdensome in view of increases in copayments
already inplace.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 26 Daily Floor Report.
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Redrawing Texas congressional districts
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Redrawing Texas congressional districts

HB 3398 by Crabb, King
Died in the House

HB 3398 would have reconfigured Texas’ existing congressional districts, which were approved
by athree-judge federal court’s ruling in Balderas v. Texas, which the U.S. Supreme Court refused
to review in June 2002, after the 77th Texas Legislature in 2001 had failed to enact any redistricting
plan based on the 2000 census. According to Opinion No. GA-0063, issued by Attorney General
Greg Abbottin April 2003, “the Legislature has the authority to adopt a redistricting plan for the
electoral period 2003 through 2010, but it cannot be compelled to do so,” and the plan drawn by the
Balderas court will remain Texas’ congressional redistricting plan until changed by the Legislature.

Supporters said Texas’ current congressional districts do not represent Texans’ true political
leanings. Republican candidates received 53 percent of the votes for congressional candidates in
2002, yet Democrats hold a 17-15 majority of the state’s delegation in Congress. The Balderas
courtunfairly gerrymandered congressional districts to protect incumbents, particularly Anglo
Democratic representatives. HB 3398 likely would result in the election of more Republican
candidates, reflecting the partisan preferences of the state, while providing more opportunities for
minority Democratic candidates. The Legislature, rather than the courts, should decide the
composition and boundaries of congressional districts.

Opponents said by redrawing congressional lines without being required to do so by a court, the
Legislature unnecessarily would reopen a highly divisive and partisan issue. The plan adopted by the
Balderas court meets federal Voting Rights Actrequirements to avoid diluting minority voting
strength. Itis unlikely that HB 3398 would meet that standard, particularly on the issue of
retrogression or reducing minority voting strength. Texans often split their tickets, voting for
statewide Republican candidates and for their incumbent Democratic congressmen. They should be
able to vote for the candidates of their choice. The bill also would reduce representation of rural
Texas in favor of suburban areas and would create sprawling, bizarrely shaped districts without
communities of interest for the purpose of partisan gerrymandering.

Other opponents said Texas should adopt some “fail-safe” mechanism to draw congressional
districts if the Legislature cannot reach a decision. The Texas Constitution requires the Legislative
Redistricting Board (LRB) to decide on legislative districts in such circumstances, and the LRB was
called on to redistrict legislative boundaries in 1971, 1981, and 2001. One alternative would be to
allow anonpartisan commission to redistrict legislative, congressional, and other districts.

The HRO digest of HB 3398 appeared in Part One of the May 12 Daily Floor Report.
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Increasing cigarette taxes to pay for various programs

HB 53 by Wolens/HB 267 by Naishtat/HB 1603 by Griggs/HB 3192 by Uresti/SB 1153 by Shapleigh
Died in House and Senate committees

HBs 267, 3192, and 1603 and SB 1153 each would have increased the state’s 41-cent tax
on cigarettes by $1 per 20-count pack. HB 1603 also would have raised taxes on cigars and other
tobacco products. Including the 39-cent federal tax and maximum combined state/local sales taxes
of 8.25 percent, total cigarette taxes would have risen to $2.05 per pack. HB 53 would have
increased the state tax by 50 cents per pack, raising total taxes to $1.55 per pack. The bills would
have allocated the additional revenue to dedicated accounts as follows: HBs 267 and 3192 —eight
health-care agencies and programs; HB 1603 — Foundation School Fund; SB 1153 — Texas
Workforce Commission child-care programs for low-income parents; HB 53 — county sheriffs’
departments and municipal police and fire departments.

Supporters said Texas is well below the national average state tax rate of 61 cents per pack (68
cents in non-tobacco-producing states). In the past two years, 21 states have increased cigarette
taxes by an average of 42 cents per pack, according to the National Conference of State
Legislatures. Cigarette tax increases would discourage behavior that is well documented to be a
major health risk and social liability. Smoking would decline even as revenue increased to help offset
health-care costs (HB 1603 would raise $1.6 billion during fiscal 2004-05, according to its fiscal
note). Public- and private-sector spending on tobacco-related health care would decline as fewer
young people became addicted. The extra revenue would be spent best on antismoking campaigns
or health care, but education, child care, and local law enforcement would be worthy recipients. The
state uses various revenue sources for unrelated expenditures — for example, motor-fuel taxes help
pay for public education — that benefit the public as a whole over time, if not every Texan all the
time.

Opponents said Texas should not try to rectify its budget shortfall by penalizing smokers, who
already pay high taxes and face restricted use of a legal product. Three of the bills would cost the
state general revenue during fiscal 2004-05, according to their fiscal notes (HBs 267 and 3192 —
$221 million; HB 53 — $89 million), because taxable cigarette consumption would decline while
the general revenue allocation from the cigarette tax would remain at41 cents per pack. The broad-
based tobacco tax proposed by HB 1603 would be especially regressive. Spending cigarette-tax
revenue on general or non-health-care-related purposes would be tantamount to “tax profiling.” It
would benefit the general public at the expense of a narrow class of taxpayers who would not
benefit directly from the extra revenue. Higher taxes disproportionately affect the young, who can
least afford to pay them and no longer may be targeted for advertising, instead of adults who
represent the greatest share of potential health-care costs. Such tax hikes produce only slight
reductions in tobacco consumption, which already is declining due to enhanced government
regulation and ongoing negative publicity about adverse side effects.
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Implementing the multistate streamlined sales taxinitiative

HB 2425 by McCall
Relevant provisions effective either October 1, 2003, or July 1, 2004

HB 2425, the comptroller’s omnibus financial management bill, makes statutory changes and
delegates rulemaking authority to the comptroller to conform Texas’ sales-tax policy to the final
agreement adopted in November 2002 by the Streamlined Sales Tax Implementing States. The
governor, lieutenant governor, House speaker, and comptroller must agree unanimously that it
would be in Texas’ best interests to sign the agreement before the comptroller may do so. After the
agreement takes effect or Texas signs it, whichever is later, the comptroller may settle a claim for
taxes, penalties, or interest if necessary for compliance.

Certified retailers and others wishing to be a seller in Texas must agree to collect any applicable
local use taxes, even if they are not doing business in the local jurisdictions into which taxable items
are shipped or delivered. Like state and transit-authority sales taxes in Texas, local sales taxes on
services will be levied where services are performed or otherwise delivered, other than out of state.
Sales of tangible personal property (TPP), however, still will be taxed locally at the point of origin,
typically the place of purchase. By January 1, 2005, the comptroller must study and report to the
legislative leadership on the economic and other costs to political subdivisions of changing the sales
and use tax sourcing laws.

As set forth in the multistate agreement, the bill delineates three new categories of sellers, based on
their chosen sales-tax collection methods; excludes some items from the uniform definitions of food
products and soft drinks and clarifies exemptions for prepared food; allows electronic signatures on
resale certificates; and requires sales-tax rate changes to occur on the first day of calendar quarters.

Supporters said Texas is one of 35 states seeking to modernize sales-tax administration and to
lessen the burden of tax compliance. By providing greater uniformity among their sales and use tax
laws and practices and by simplifying vendors’ collection methods, the implementing states hope to
overcome federal prohibitions against collecting taxes on transactions involving in-state taxpayers
and out-of-state vendors. The 77th Legislature in 2001 codified its endorsement of the concept by
adding Tax Code, ch. 142 (HB 1845 by Oliveira). Texas has been a leader in this project and must
change its sales-tax laws only nominally to comply with the agreement. If enough states do so,
Congress or the U.S. Supreme Court may allow interstate taxation of remote sales, which could
bring the state more than $350 million a year in revenue from Internet, catalog, and mail-order sales
thatnow goes uncollected.

Allowing local governments to maintain origin-based tax sourcing is only fair during the current fiscal
crisis and economic downturn, until the comptroller can determine how detrimental the change to
destination sourcing would be. Either 10 states or 20 percent of the nation’s population must be
represented for the agreement to be valid. Thirteen states have signed so far, and they may need Texas’
participation to reach the population threshold. The agreement will evolve over time, and states will
have to make statutory changes accordingly; 100 percent conformity is notrequired for participation.

Opponents said because of the current economic downturn and fiscal turmoil, Texas should
postpone any tax-code changes until 2005. Now is not the time to increase the sales-tax burden on
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retail customers— whether they buy from the Internet, from conventional “brick and mortar”
retailers, or both— or on businesses that transact sales remotely with each other. Major sales-tax
policy decisions should be made in conjunction with a comprehensive revision of the tax code once
the economy rebounds and the fiscal situation stabilizes.

Other opponents said Tax Code, sec. 142.007(c)(1) stipulates that the streamlined sales tax
agreement establish uniform sourcing requirements. By allowing local taxing entities to retain origin-
based sourcing for TPP sales, this bill flies in the face of the agreement’s destination-based sourcing
andrisks Texas’ exclusion from the implementing states’ eventual compact. Texas must change its
statutes to conform to the agreement sooner or later; not all changes can occur by rule. Waiting two
more years for the completion of a study would jeopardize all the hard work and cooperative effort
up to now and would give Congress another opportunity to declare the Internet tax-free or to set
superseding tax policies.

Notes: HB 2425 includes provisions originally contained in HB 3143 by Wilson and SB 823 by
Fraser. However, HB 3143 would have made all tax sourcing destination-based and would have
repealed the annual sales-tax holiday opt-out provision for local governments. Both bills died in the
House Ways and Means Committee.
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Rewriting the motor-fuel tax code and moving the tax collection point

HB 2458 by Krusee
Generally effective January 1, 2004

HB 2458 replaces Tax Code, ch. 153 with anew ch. 162, which, among other measures:

4 moves the motor-fuel tax (MFT) collection point from the distributor level to the storage
terminal level;

. replaces the existing MFT system’s delivery-based framework with one based on the
amount of fuel removed from terminals;

. preserves all existing exceptions to application of the tax, including off-road and agricultural
use, and the aviation fuel exemption;

. limits the purchase of tax-free diesel fuel to “dyed” diesel, except for independent school
districts and the federal government;

. tightens controls on imported and exported fuel and requires importers and exporters to
register with the state; and

. allows exporters to use interim payment and proof methods to verify the tax liability ofa
destination state until other states fully authorize payments by Texas suppliers (sunsets in
2005).

The bill shifts MFT collection from distributors, who buy fuel tax-free from intermediate storage
facilities for retail sale, to suppliers, who own the fuel, the terminals, or both. Both distributors and
suppliers still must file reports and maintain records, but suppliers will remit taxes based on the
amount of fuel that distributors obtain for delivery and sale.

Suppliers must remit MFTs to the comptroller by the 25th day of the month following the date of
fuel sales, as in current law. Distributors may defer tax payments to suppliers until the 23rd day of
the following month. Suppliers have 60 days to request credits from the comptroller for taxes
remitted by suppliers but not paid by distributors. The current 2 percent collection allowance rate
will be split between distributors, who will keep 1.75 percent of collections for continuing to file
reports, and suppliers, who will receive 0.25 percent to cover their new collection costs.

AsofJanuary 1,2005, users of undyed (“clear”) diesel fuel for tax-exempt purposes no longer may
claim tax refunds. The comptroller may issue refunds only for exempt uses of gasoline and dyed
diesel fuel. The comptroller must compute monthly how much tax has been paid on exempt usage of
undyed diesel fuel and must deposit those amounts into general revenue.

The comptroller mustreport to the Legislature in October of each even-numbered year on
enforcement methods and the use of the special MFT administrative fund. The comptroller allocates
the first 1 percent of gross tax collections for MFT administration and enforcement. Unexpended
amounts revert proportionally to other funds that receive MFT revenue.

Supporters said HB 2458 would track federal MFT collection policy adopted by 20 other
states. This change would generate much-needed revenue without a tax-rate increase. According to
the May 23 fiscal note accompanying the bill as reported by the Senate Finance Committee, HB
2458 would net more than $27 million in all-funds revenue during fiscal 2004-05, including $8.3
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million in general revenue-related funds and $18.8 million for the State Highway Fund. The Texas
Department of Transportation (TxDOT) estimates that, after a few years, the bill would generate
more than $300 million a year from reduced fraud and more taxed gallons reported, leading to
increased federal highway fund allocations and administrative cost savings.

The bill would eliminate the dual method of collecting from gasoline distributors and interstate
truckers and from diesel fuel suppliers and truckers. Basing MFTs on fuel removal, rather than on
delivery, would reflect more accurately the volumes being sold at the point of assessment. Taxes
would be assessed on the amount of fuel that suppliers disbursed from storage facilities at the
“loading rack,” the highest point in the petroleum distribution chain.

The state coulduse 111 terminals’ automated systems for calculating and remitting taxes, thus
reducing human error. Collection efficiency would increase as the number of tax filers fell from more
than 14,000 to fewer than 1,000. Enforcement costs should decrease with the filing of reports by
both suppliers and distributors that could be used to verify data without field auditing. When audits
were needed, the paper trail would be clearer because pretaxed fuel would have changed hands
fewer times. This should reduce opportunities for tax evasion and fraud.

Opponents said HB 2458 needlessly seeks to fix an efficient system that is not broken. The
projections of additional revenue due to collection of MFTs at the rack are exaggerated. The
comptroller, for example, calculated the fiscal note with no revenue gain due to fraud reduction, one
of the major reasons touted for changing the collection point. Other states’ revenue gains have been
short-lived, tending to level off once new systems are in place.

The bill would retain too large a collection allowance and would not allocate it fairly. Instead of
reducing the 2 percent reimbursement rate, it merely would divide it among two different segments
of the petroleum marketing industry.

Other opponents said MFTs should be based on price, not volume, so that the state could take
advantage of inflation and insulate the revenue stream from the effects of improved fuel efficiency

and motorists’ driving habits.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 8 Daily Floor Report.
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Extending the franchise tax to additional business concerns

HB 3146 by Wilson
Died in House committee

HB 3146 as filed would have expanded the franchise tax — generally levied on corporations’ and
limited liability companies’ (LLCs) net worth or earned surplus (modified net income), whichever
yields more tax—to limited partnerships, real estate investment trusts (REITs), and other entities for
which owners have limited liability. Tax liability would have been prorated to the extent that direct
owners were natural persons. Management fees, interest, or royalties paid to related, nontaxable
entities would not have been deductible. A proposed committee substitute would have exempted
REITs, professional entities, self-insurance trusts, investment and publicly traded partnerships, entities
with fewer than 75 ultimate related owners, and noncorporate, non-LLC entities with receipts of
less than $500,000. However, HB 3146 died in the House Ways and Means Committee.

The Senate Finance Committee substitute for HB 2425 by McCall, an omnibus fiscal management
bill, would have extended the franchise tax to corporations doing business in Texas that directly or
indirectly own interests in partnerships, trusts, or joint ventures. Investment trusts, REITs and their
subsidiaries, real estate mortgage conduits, certain wholesale electricity generators, and pre-2003

publicly traded partnerships and their subsidiaries would have been exempt. However, the Senate
removed these provisions during floor debate.

Supporters said the franchise tax base is weighted too heavily toward capital-intensive industries
and is outdated because its revenue stream does not reflect growth in the “information economy,”
especially services. Extending the franchise tax base to partnerships and/or sole proprietorships would
make the tax more equitable. All business entities should bear an equitable share of the tax burden,
regardless of their corporate structure or previous lack of liability. By forming wholly-owned out-of-
state subsidiaries known as “Delaware subs,” some large Texas firms organized as partnerships have
avoided paying the state hundreds of millions of dollars in franchise taxes. Texas cannot afford to
remain one of the few states that do not tax out-of-state corporations operating as limited partnerships.
Closing this loophole would be a simple matter of fairness. The impact on individuals’ income could
be reduced by allowing compensation deductions for personal services partnerships.

Opponents said partners and sole proprietors are entitled to different tax treatment because they
lack the legal advantages of corporations. Partnerships and sole proprietorships should not be
subject to the franchise tax because, in effect, this would impose a tax on individual partners’ and
owners’ personal incomes. The unintended consequences of taxing parent corporations would harm
many businesses that never before had paid the franchise tax.

Other opponents said any proposed franchise tax legislation should address broader issues of
the state’s overall tax policy for business and industry, rather than focusing only on closing so-called
loopholes.

Notes: HB 694 by Y. Davis, which would have subjected to the franchise tax business trusts and
other entities taxed federally as corporations with a Texas nexus, died in the House Ways and
Means Committee. SB 1030 by Shapleigh, which would have taxed for-profit Texas partnerships
while excluding individual partners’ net income, died in the Senate Finance Committee.
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Limiting increases in real property appraisals for nonschool taxes

HB 3223 Bohac, et al.
Died in the Senate

HB 3223 would have limited increases in the appraised value of real property for taxation by a
taxing unit, other than a school district or public junior college district, to 5 percent per year,
excluding the value of improvements. Current law limits to 10 percent the annual increase in
appraised values of residential homesteads for property tax purposes. HB 3223, the enabling
legislation for HIR 4 by Bohac, et al., would have expanded the limitation to all real property for
nonschool tax purposes. As passed by the House, the limitation would have expired on December
31,2005. The Senate Intergovernmental Relations Committee removed the sunset provision.

Supporters said HB 3223 would provide reliefto county, city, and special district residents who
are paying excessively high property taxes because of higher appraisals. These increases have
occurred despite the 10 percent limit on increases in residential homestead appraisals, in place since
1998, and despite the truth-in-taxation provisions established more than 20 years ago. Local taxing
entities should be prevented from collecting more revenue by hiding behind higher tax appraisals
instead of raising their tax rates and being held accountable by citizens. HB 3223 would expand the
limitation on appraisal increases to benefit all property owners, rather than only owners of residence
homesteads. Business owners and apartment renters would benefit from tax relief as well. Treating
all county, city and special district property owners the same would meet the constitutional
requirements for equal and uniform taxation.

Opponents said HB 3223 would create separate categories of taxable property and would treat
even the same properties unequally in assessing taxes for school districts and junior college districts
as opposed to those for counties, cities, and special districts. The Constitution requires that taxation
be equal and uniform and that all taxable property be taxed in proportion to its value. This bill would
establish a 5 percent difference between appraisals for school and nonschool taxes. Also, the bill
would cost cities and counties millions of dollars in lost revenue that the state would not be obligated
to replace, as compared with requirements that the state reimburse school districts for lost property
taxes.

Notes: HJR 4 by Bohac, et al., which would have proposed amending the Constitution to allow
the Legislature to limit increases in nonschool appraisals for all real property, also died in the Senate.
Similar legislation limiting annual increases in appraised value to less than 10 percent died in the
House Local Government Ways and Means Committee.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 9 Daily Floor Report.
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Requiring repayment to the rainy day fund

HJR 2/HB 3207 by Heflin
Died in Senate Committee

HJR 2 would have amended Texas Constitution, Art. 3, sec. 49-g to require that any money
borrowed from the economic stabilization or “rainy day” fund be returned the following biennium.
The amendment would have required the comptroller to deduct any amounts owed to the fund from
the biennial revenue estimate, then return one-half of the amounts owed in the first year of the
biennium and the other halfin the second year, unless the comptroller determined that fiscal
conditions made unequal transfers necessary. Any appropriation made by the 78th Legislature from
the rainy day fund would have had to be repaid during fiscal 2006.

HB 3207 would have appropriated from general revenue any amounts borrowed from the rainy
day fund for fiscal 2003 to be transferred back to the fund in fiscal 2006.

Supporters said Texas voters should have the opportunity to decide whether the rainy day fund
should have to be repaid in a timely manner. With a shortfall for fiscal 2003 that had to be
eliminated by the end of fiscal 2004-05, the 78th Legislature approved borrowing nearly $1.3 billion
from the fund in HB 7 by Heflin. Without a constitutional amendment or a similar statute, there is no
mandate for the Legislature to repay those funds. The state should be required to restore the
balance of the rainy day fund, which had risen to its recent high level because of the growth in

excess natural-gas production tax revenues. The amendment would provide constitutional protection
for the fund, ensuring that it never would be depleted.

Repaying the rainy day fund would create fiscal benefits for the state. Bond credit rating agencies
consider the presence of areserve fund and the relative size of that fund when determining a state’s
creditworthiness. Repaying the fund could save on debt-service payments for new bond issues.

Opponents said the 78th Legislature should not tie the hands of future legislatures in dealing with
budget imbalances. The state never has experienced a “double-dip” contraction in revenues, but it
mightin the future. Ifthe rainy day fund were tapped when the first wave of contraction hit, the
budget problems during the second wave could be exacerbated by the constitutionally required
repayment deadline. The state should try to replenish the fund but should be wary about setting a
firm repayment schedule.

Notes: HB 7 by Heflin, the supplemental appropriations bill for fiscal 2003 enacted by the 78th
Legislature, appropriates $1.26 billion from the economic stabilization fund to various programs,
representing nearly all of the expected fund balance.

The HRO analyses of HIR 2 and HB 3207 appeared in Part One of the May 10 Daily Floor
Report.
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Penalties for failure to report business personal property to tax appraiser

SB 340 by Staples
Effective January 1, 2004

SB 340 penalizes a property owner 10 percent of the property tax due for a tax year in which the
owner fails to render (report) business personal property (BPP) on a timely basis to the county
appraisal district (CAD). BPP is tangible personal property, other than real estate, used to produce
income. Owners convicted of fraud or making false statements must pay a 50 percent penalty.
Falsifying statements can be a state-jail felony (punishable by 180 days to two years in a state jail
and a maximum optional $10,000 fine) or a Class A misdemeanor (up to one year in jail and/or a
maximum $4,000 fine). CADs may keep up to 20 percent of penalty collections for cost recovery
but must distribute the remainder among local taxing entities. New filers will receive amnesty for past
omissions from September 1,2003, until January 1,2005, including the 2003 tax year. Renditions
filed before December 1,2003, for the 2003 tax year that comply with the bill’s provisions and that
include previously unreported BPP cannot be used to add to the value of property on the 2001 or
2002 appraisal rolls.

Some regulated industries and owners whose property is appraised by contractors hired by CADs
donothave to render, and renditions need not include tax-exempt property. The bill specifies BPP
rendition content, including owners’ good-faith estimates of market value or acquisition costs, unless
the property is worth less than $20,000. Chief appraisers may ask property owners to document
their BPP value estimates.

Beginning January 1, 2005 (or 2006 for counties with populations of 500,000 or less), agreements
for electronic communication between CADs and taxpayers must specify the means of confirming
delivery and the property owner’s email address. CADs must notify electronically owners who have
atleast 25 accounts, but CADs may choose the media, formats, content, and methods from those
prescribed by the comptroller.

Supporters said chiefappraisers cannot enforce the state’s BPP reporting law adequately. As a
result, thousands of businesses are underreporting, inaccurately reporting, or failing to report billions
of dollars worth of taxable property, by some estimates. This forces taxing entities to recover
hundreds of millions of dollars in unpaid taxes through higher tax rates than would be necessary
otherwise. SB 340 would balance governmental needs against taxpayers’ rights by imposing
reasonable penalties; specifying the data to be submitted to CADs; creating an efficient mechanism
for CADs to obtain property information and for property owners to justify their submissions; and
encouraging compliance by granting amnesty to delinquent filers.

The bill would establish enforceable penalties to help local taxing entities recover substantial revenue
over the next five years without treating taxpayers like criminals. It would create common-sense
incentives and would assess penalties commensurate with violations. Reporting property should not
become adversarial, and appraisers should have to show cause to prosecutors before they begin
investigating businesses. Property owners should not have to divulge business information unless
they are protesting property valuations. The bill would protect owners against self-incrimination
while allowing appraisers to obtain confirmation of taxable BPP. Giving appraisers audit and
subpoena power would be tantamount to creating tax police.
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Opponents said the current reporting system works well and does not need to be changed. Most
Texas businesses comply with the law, but appraisers can seek court orders against those who do
not, according to a 2001 ruling by the First Court of Appeals in Houston upholding enforcement of
the rendition statute (Robinson v. Budget Rent-a-Car Systems, Inc., et al., 51 S.W.3d 425 (Tex.
App.-Hous. (1 Dist.)).

BPP represents arelatively small portion of overall property value, and because its exact extent is
unknown, revenue-loss estimates are dubious. Some of this property, such as highly sophisticated
technological or scientific equipment, is well identified but so difficult to appraise that CADs contract
out much ofthe work. Even property owners cannot always assess the value of furnishings and
equipment, some of which may be several or many years old, obsolete, or unique to their industries
or businesses. Many other states do not tax BPP, and Texas should not either.

Other opponents said the bill’s weak penalties would not increase compliance significantly, nor
would they deter concealment of assets, the root of the problem. Appraisers need audit and
subpoena power and/or the ability to seek court orders from the outset; otherwise, the system will
remain essentially voluntary. Disclosure of the actual bases for owners’ BPP value estimates should
be mandatory to ensure appraisal accuracy.

CADs should have to reimburse property owners for attorney’s fees if they are prosecuted for fraud
but found by courts not to be liable for penalties, or if the cases are settled. Exonerated taxpayers
should not have to pay for their legal defense. Requiring reimbursement by CADs would discourage
overzealous prosecution.

Notes: According to the bill’s fiscal note, SB 340 will produce net gains of $23 million for the
Foundation School Fund, $135.7 million for school districts, $64 million for cities, $27.6 million for
counties, and $13.8 million for general revenue-related funds during fiscal 2004-05. SB 175 by
Barrientos, which would have given appraisers limited auditing and investigative powers to enforce
reporting, died in the Senate Finance Committee.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 9 Daily Floor Report.
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School district property value study and appraisal district accountability

SB 671 by Staples
Effective June 20, 2003

SB 671 modifies elements of the comptroller’s annual property value study (PVS), which develops
estimates of taxable property values for use in public school funding formulas by the Texas Education
Agency (TEA). The bill provides for temporary “grace periods” beginning in 2004-05 for eligible
school districts whose state funding is affected adversely by the PVS. SB 671 defines “local value”
as the market value of property in school districts as determined by their county appraisal districts
(CADs), less exemptions and allowable reductions. “State value” means the value determined by
the PVS. School districts eligible for the two-year grace period must have:

. been assigned state values higher than their local values in the most recent PV'S;
. had valid local values in the two preceding annual studies; and
4 reported aggregate values in the most recent PVS that were at least 90 percent of the lower

limit in their assigned range of acceptable values.

Beginning with the 2003 PV, eligible school districts’ local values will be used as their taxable
values for that tax year and the next tax year. Within 12 months of an eligibility determination, the
comptroller mustreview the appraisal standards of eligible school districts” CADs. Beginning with
the 2002 PVS, school districts whose local values exceed state values will have their local values
certified as taxable values for formula funding purposes. For the 2003-04 school year, TEA must
calculate the impact on state funding of certifying local values higher than state values in the 2002
PVS. TEA must make a one-time distribution of the savings proportionately among school districts
that meet three criteria: certified state values, additional funding under Education Code, ch. 42
(recapture), and maintenance and operations (M&QO) taxes at rates exceeding $1.42 per $100 of
property valuation.

SB 671 requires the comptroller to review the methods, standards, and procedures only of CADs
of eligible school districts. CADs that do not comply with review recommendations and that fail to
take remedial action within one year of review issuance become subject to conservatorship. In that
case, state district judges must appoint five-member conservator boards to implement the
comptroller’s recommendations, at CADs’ cost, until all school districts within the CADs have valid
local values in the same annual PVS.

Supporters said SB 671 would take a balanced, graduated approach to the complex problem of
school district property valuation, which can have an unexpectedly adverse fiscal impact on some
school districts. Each year, for school finance purposes, the PVS assigns to up to one-quarter of all
school districts property values that differ from those determined by their CADs. Many of these
districts appeal, and some go to court, to rectify invalidation of their local values.

School districts whose appraised values are deemed too low by the PVS are assigned higher state
values for formula funding. A finding of underappraisal creates a “‘double whammy” for districts.
First, because state education aid is based largely on districts’ property wealth per student,
reporting higher values to TEA effectively reduces the districts’ state funding below expected levels.
Districts must make up any shortfalls in anticipated state funds. Second, by taxing against a relatively
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smaller base, districts receive less local property-tax revenue than they would if they taxed property
atthe same rate but applied to PVS values. Consequently, some districts must address budget
deficits either by reducing spending and cutting programs and services or by raising tax rates, if they
are below the statutory M&O tax cap of $1.50 per $100 of value.

The opposite phenomenon occurs in school districts whose CADs are found to be overappraising
property. Where appraisals are deemed higher than market value, the PVS assigns a district state
values that are lower than its local values. This creates a boon called “double-dipping” —relatively
more formula-generated state aid plus additional local revenue from taxing against higher local
values— at other districts’ expense.

To address underappraisal, the proposed grace period would hold harmless for two years a school
district whose CAD was deemed to be appraising too low but had not displayed a pattern of
appraisal problems. The comptroller would have one year to determine why values were too low,
giving the CAD an opportunity to correct any problems. Stronger measures could be taken ifthe
problems were not corrected. School districts consistently receiving state values would be excluded
from grace periods. As to overappraisal, requiring certification of school districts’ local values even
when they were higher than state values would remove districts’ financial incentive to report
property values that exceed market value. Reducing state aid to districts with inflated values would
be fair from an equity standpoint.

SB 671 would create more efficient enforcement mechanisms to address appraisal problems
prospectively, rather than retroactively. Allowing district judges to appoint conservators would bring
objective third parties into the process.

Opponents said SB 671 is unnecessary. The proposed changes to the PVS address issues that
ultimately affect fewer than 10 percent of the state’s more than 1,000 school districts in any given
year. Appeals resolve most of the relatively minor inequities created by assignment of state values,
bringing them closer to local values. Many of the CADs involved are well-known “repeat offenders.”
Ample remedies are available to address their problems, including auditing and the appointment of
special masters. Also, grace periods could encourage laxity among CADs by removing disincentives
to appraise property at less than full market value. Eliminating the threat of reduced state aid could
be counterproductive and might result in appraisals dropping below the PVS’ accuracy threshold.
The state can ill afford the cost of grace periods and should not penalize districts whose CADs
appraise values higher than the state.

Other opponents said SB 671 would not address technical problems in the PVS that undermine
its credibility, including flawed sampling methodology and overreliance on CAD information. Instead
ofusing its limited resources to render second opinions on school property values, the PVS should
concentrate strictly on reviewing CAD performance. Rather than generating another set of values,
unless egregious errors surface, the PVS should determine whether local appraisals are being
conducted properly.

The PVS should undergo annual independent review. The state should grant school districts a
blanket amnesty, regardless of the cost, and assign local values systemwide for formula funding

purposes until the problems with the PVS can be corrected.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Three of May 26 Daily Floor Report.
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Creating a motor-vehicle financial responsibility verification program

HB 814 by Gutierrez/SB 422 by Bivins/HB 3588 by Krusee
Died in the Senate/Died in the House/Effective June 22, 2003

HB 814, as reported by the House Insurance Committee, would have required the Department of
Public Safety (DPS) to create a motor-vehicle financial responsibility program in compliance with
the federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act of 1994. DPS or its contractor would have had to
develop, maintain, and administer acomputer database containing automobile liability insurance
coverage information provided by insurers to verify motor-vehicle owners’ proof of financial
responsibility under DPS guidelines. Insurers not providing required data would have been liable for
acivil penalty of $250 for each day in violation. Unauthorized disclosure of the information would
have been a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and/or amaximum fine of
$4,000. The contractor could have disclosed the information only to state or local governmental
entities enforcing the statute. At least monthly, the contractor would have had to update insurance
data and compare it to all current motor-vehicle registrations provided by the Texas Department of
Transportation (TxDOT) and to DPS driver’s license data. Selected owners of uninsured vehicles
would havereceived notices and would have had to prove financial responsibility through insurance
orothermeans. A $1 surcharge on vehicle-registration fees would have been deposited into the
State Highway Fund (Fund 6), and TxDOT would have reimbursed DPS from Fund 6 for the
contractor’s implementation costs.

House floor amendments removed three enforcement mechanisms: a $100 civil penalty for not
responding within 30 days to an initial verification notice; termination of registration for not
responding timely to a final warning; and registration reinstatement requirements, including penalty
and fee payments. The Senate Infrastructure Development and Security Committee reported HB
814 favorably without amendment, but the bill died in the Senate.

SB 422 would have created a motor-vehicle financial responsibility verification program based on
statistical sampling administered by TxDOT, which would have had to request from selected vehicle
owners proof of compliance with financial responsibility requirements. TxDOT would have had to
verify the information, with insurers and sureties required to respond. Failure by owners to respond
or noncompliance with financial responsibility requirements would have resulted ina $250 fine and
termination of vehicle registration, which could have been reinstated upon paying any outstanding
penalties or fees and showing proof of financial responsibility. The bill also would have increased
penalties for failure to comply with financial responsibility requirements, allowed coverage waivers
for noneconomic and exemplary damages, and established a standardized proof-of-insurance card.
SB 422 failed to pass in the House on second reading.

HB 3588, effective June 22,2003, requires a study of a financial responsibility verification system
using database interface software. By July 1,2004, DPS and the Texas Department of Insurance
(TDI) must conducta feasibility study on using interface software linking users to insurance company and
vehicle registration data. IfDPS and TDI determine that the system should be implemented, DPS
will adopt administrative rules; contract jointly with TDI and the system manager, to be selected
through competitive bidding; and adopt rules and develop forms with TDI for surcharge collection.
Ifnot, the statute will expire. The bill retains outside contracting, insurance company data access
requirements, and confidentiality protection similar to HB 814, although unauthorized use of
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information is a Class B misdemeanor (up to 180 days in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,000). A
new $1 vehicle registration surcharge will be deposited into Fund 6. Before August 31,2005, surcharge
revenue may be appropriated to upgrade the DPS driver’s license system and for startup costs of
the point-based driver responsibility program created by HB 3588. Surcharge revenue will not be
available for appropriation for the financial responsibility verification program until fiscal 2006.

Supporters said at least 20 percent of Texas motorists are uninsured, causing higher premiums
for law-abiding drivers. An effective financial responsibility verification system would lower
insurers’ costs substantially for uninsured motorist claims. Similar programs in 19 other states have
reduced the number of uninsured motorists by double-digit percentages. HB 814 would use state-
of-the-arttechnology, rather than ineffective sampling techniques, to measure the uninsured motorist
problem in Texas. Identifying these drivers would result in more accessible and affordable insurance.
While some people might be identified mistakenly as uninsured in the program’s startup stages,
motorists could correct these mistakes easily by sending in proof of insurance or correcting
registration information. The sampling system in SB 422 would be much less intrusive on motorists’
privacy than databases, which would be vulnerable to hacking and inappropriate uses of personal
and proprietary information.

The HB 3588 approach would allow the two agencies most essential to the program’s success to
evaluate whether a software interface approach will work. If feasible, it would give peace officers
real-time access to dataneeded to verify financial responsibility, just as they now verify driver’s
licenses or outstanding arrest warrants. Not having to update a stand-alone database periodically
should thwart circumvention and reduce “false positives.” This system would focus on identifying
those who lack proof of financial responsibility rather than forcing selected vehicle owners to submit
proof. The Legislature could reconsider the issue in 2005 if the agencies find interfacing unfeasible.
The DPS driver’s license system has notbeen upgraded in 30 years and is nearly obsolete. Allocating
surcharge revenue initially to the driver responsibility program is a worthwhile expense that ultimately
would benefit good drivers.

Opponents said HB 814 would require DPS to award a huge state contract to a private entity
for an unproven system, funded by law-abiding motorists through an exorbitant vehicle-registration
surcharge. It would raise almost $42 million in fiscal 2004-05 to pay for a program that DPS
estimates would cost only $3 million to implement. A lack of database security would prevent the
state from protecting private information or proprietary data sufficiently. Less intrusive methods are
available to increase the number of insured motorists. SB 422 would require TxDOT to implement
anunproven sampling system that would require low-income motorists to pay civil penalties and
higher vehicle-registration fees and would deem as guilty those identified as uninsured until they
proved themselves innocent by clearing their records. The state should not increase enforcement of
the proof-of-responsibility law until access to affordable insurance improves.

The HB 3588 approach would give DPS and TDI too much discretion in deciding whether and how
to implement the system. This approach would provide no new impetus to curtail driving without
insurance or other forms of financial responsibility. The bill would divert surcharge revenue to other
programs during fiscal 2004-05, effectively delaying implementation even with DPS/TDI approval.
The surcharge should be contingent on implementation or else sunsetted.

The HRO analysis of HB 814 appeared in Part Three of the May 2 Daily Floor Report, and
the analysis of SB 422 appeared in Part One of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.
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Authorizing photographic traffic-signal enforcement by cities

HB 901 by King, et al.
Died in the House

HB 901 would have authorized municipalities to enact ordinances implementing photographic
traffic-signal enforcement systems capable of producing at least two recorded images of the rear of
vehicles, including license plates. Ordinances could have made owners liable for civil penalties of up
to $75 iftheir vehicles violated traffic-control signals while facing only steady red lights. Records
related to violations would not have been public information.

Supporters said HB 901 would discourage irresponsible drivers from running red lights. Drivers
would learn that they could be cited for this dangerous behavior even when no police were visible
nearby. Disregarding red lights is the leading cause of urban automobile crashes and fatalities.
Because police often cannot pursue drivers who run red lights without also running the lights
themselves, cameras would aid enforcement and free up officers for other duties.

About40 U.S. cities use traffic cameras, and red-light violations have decreased in some cities by
as much as 60 percent. At least three Texas cities have had similar success. HB 901 would allow
cities with such systems to recover costs only and to keep no more than half of late-payment fee
revenue. Violations would be noncriminal misdemeanors punishable by civil penalties like parking
tickets. Citations would be mailed; there would be no arrest option. Violations would not affect
insurance premiums or driving records.

Privacy concerns are overblown. Driving is a public privilege, not a private activity. Surveillance
cameras are common in office buildings and public areas, including state highways and toll-road
booths. The bill’s safeguards against misuse or disclosure of photos would protect privacy.
Cameras are much less intrusive than traffic stops.

Opponents said HB 901 would be a self-defeating attempt at crime deterrence by creating a new
enforcement mechanism with a lower penalty. It would be illogical and unfair to punish red-light
runners caught on camera less severely than those caught in person. It also would create
enforcement inequities. Since most red-light violations occur unintentionally or because of signal
timing problems, cities should not reap financial benefits from inadvertent violators. The proposed
camera systems would not solve the problem because drivers would learn to avoid monitored
intersections. Also, traffic signal cameras would be a gross invasion of privacy. Police should not
monitor law-abiding citizens arbitrarily. It would be more cost-effective to use proven signal
modification methods, such as flashing green lights or longer yellow lights.

The HRO analysis appeared in the April 25 Daily Floor Report.
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Standardizing, marketing, and creating new specialty license plates

HB 2971 by Harper-Brown
Effective September 1, 2003

HB 2971 standardizes the issuance of specialty and personalized license plates. It creates more
than 30 new specialty plates and an administrative process for creating additional new specialty
license plates at the initiative of either the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) or an
outside sponsor. Ifa sponsor requests anew plate, the sponsor must provide TxDOT with a
$15,000 deposit or 3,500 applications for the plate. The Texas Transportation Commission (TTC)
may authorize TxDOT to contract with a private vendor for the marketing and sale of personalized
prestige and other specialized license plates. If the commission authorizes TxDOT to enter into such
a contract, it must establish reasonable fees for the plates offered for sale by the private vendor.
Revenue from this fee is the only source from which a contract between TxDOT and a private
vendor can be paid.

Supporters said inconsistency in the statutes governing specialty license plates increases
TxDOT’s administrative burden and confuses the public. HB 2971, by streamlining laws in regard
to fees, replacement, and personalization of specialty license plates, would increase TXDOT’s
efficiency and make it easier for the public to understand the purchase of these plates. It would
allow TXDOT to create new license plates without specific legislative approval. Legislators should
not have to authorize the creation of each new plate when TXDOT has the expertise and ability to
do soindependently.

Currently, TxDOT offers specialty license plates but does little to market them. HB 2971 would
allow TxDOT to contract with a third-party firm with the requisite experience to market the plates
successfully. The TTC would not have to authorize a private contract unless it was in the public
interest, but by contracting with a private vendor, the state would save an estimated $2.4 million per
biennium. Specialty plates are a discretionary purchase, and standard plates would remain available
to drivers at the basic price.

Opponents said HB 2971 might resultin the TTC’s setting higher license plate fees to cover
TxDOT’s payments to the private vendor. Also, a private vendor could sell existing plates that
benefit charitable causes for more than the cost of the same plate through a county tax assessor.
This could mislead the public into thinking that buying the higher-priced plate would increase the
amount the charitable cause receives, while the private vendor actually would receive the higher
profit. HB 2971 also would create a new monopoly market, since only one or two firms are able
and willing to contract with TxDOT for this service.

Notes: HB 2971 originally passed the House on the Local, Consent, and Resolutions Calendar.
That version only would have allowed TxDOT’s Motor Vehicle Board to adopt rules regulating the
issuance and use of dealer’s license plates. The Senate amended the bill by adding the provisions of
SB 1704 by Wentworth, which had died on the House floor.

The HRO analysis of SB 1704 appeared in Part Two of the May 23 Daily Floor Report.
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Trans-Texas Corridor and transportation policy and funding revisions

HB 3588 by Krusee, et al.
Most provisions effective June 22 or September 1, 2003

HB 3588 creates new initiatives and financing mechanisms designed to accelerate delivery of
transportation projects and generate additional cash flow. It contains elements of several other bills
affecting the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), its appointed governing body, the Texas
Transportation Commission (TTC), and the State Highway Fund (Fund 6). It covers intercity
connectivity, local toll roads, state-owned turnpikes and rail, state fee and revenue structures and
allocation, bonding, responsibility of drivers and vehicle owners, and public transportation.

Trans-Texas Corridor. HB 3588 authorizes TTC and TxDOT to begin implementing Gov.
Perry’s Trans-Texas Corridor Plan (TTCP), which calls for 4,000 miles of multimodal corridors
linking major metropolitan areas and containing highways, toll roads, passenger and freight rail and
utility lines in the same right-of-way. In addition to appropriations, fees, and bonds, financing may
include contributions from or contractual obligations of other governmental entities; federal loans,
grants, and reimbursements; State Infrastructure Bank loans; private investments; and donations.
The bill limits Fund 6 spending on right-of-way acquisition (ROWA), initial highway construction,
and nonhighway grading and bed preparation to 20 percent of the amount of federal highway
reimbursement funding allocated to Texas each fiscal year. TxDOT may not spend more than $25
million per year to buy or build nonhighway corridor facilities, other than for preliminary engineering,
feasibility and environmental studies, and facility operations and maintenance. TTC and TxDOT may
issue bonds for and charge tolls and fees on the TTCP as they do for turnpikes, but they may not
charge public utilities for crossing the corridor.

TxDOT may authorize any other governmental or private entity to build or operate any part ofa
corridor. It may grant franchise rights and access licenses and may contract with rail operators,
public and private utilities, communications systems, common carriers, transportation systems, or
other entities to use corridor facilities. All state highway ROWA laws apply to the TTCP, unless in
conflict. However, instead of selling their property outright, landowners may enter into corridor
participation agreements paying them percentages of one or more identified fees related to a
corridor segment. TxDOT may buy land and lease it back to sellers and may purchase options to
buy land and other nonutility property from willing sellers in advance of final project location.
TxDOT also may use expedited condemnation (“quick take” declaration) to acquire land for the
TTCP.

Regional mobility authorities (RMAs). HB 3588 gives RMAs the power of eminent domain
and the authority to issue revenue bonds for transportation projects. TTC may authorize creation of
RMAs at the request and with the approval of one or more counties. RMAs may set tolls and lease
facilities to private entities, including railroads. TTC may convert highway segments to turnpikes and
transfer them to RMAs, which must reimburse TTC for the costs unless the state, TxDOT, and the
public would benefit substantially. RMAs may use “quick take” for toll road ROWA.

Rail. TxDOT may acquire, finance, build, maintain, and operate (by contract) passenger or freight
rail facilities, individually or as part of one or more systems. TxDOT employees may not be used to
operate railroads, nor may TxDOT own or otherwise acquire rolling stock. TxDOT may contract
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for the use of all or part of arail facility or system and may lease or sell all or parts of facilities or
systems, including track right-of-way, for any purpose, including storage or transfer facilities,
warehouses, garages, parking facilities, telecommunications lines or facilities, restaurants, or service
stations. The bill encourages TxDOT to build or negotiate the construction of a freight line adjacent
to State Highway 130, now under construction in Central Texas.

Highway revenue bonds. HB 3588 authorizes TTC to issue up to $3 billion in revenue bonds
secured by Fund 6, but not more than $1 billion per year, contingent on voter approval of the
constitutional amendment proposed by HJR 28 (see pages 199-201 of this report).

Passthrough (“shadow”) tolls. TxDOT may make toll payments based on traffic volumes to
public entities or private companies for road construction, operation, or both. Included would be
tolls paid to counties, RMAs, and regional tollway authorities to cover costs of state highways
converted to local toll roads.

Highway-to-toll-road conversion. Effective September 1,2003, TTC may transfer nontoll
highway segments to counties that plan to operate them as toll roads. All toll revenue must be spent
ontheroadway’s operations. TTC may waive some or all compensation for the transfer if the state
would benefit substantially. Commissioners of all counties in which the highway segment is located
must approve the transfer, and public hearings must be held in each affected county.

Advance acquisition. TTC may buy options to acquire real property from willing sellers for
possible use before determining final highway routes. The General Land Office may manage
property at TxXDOT’s request.

Turnpike authority. TxXDOT may lease turnpike property for ancillary facilities such as hotels,
restaurants, and service stations to generate turnpike project revenue. In lieu of single fixed
payments, TxDOT may compensate property owners through revenue sharing or rights to use or
operate turnpike segments. Tolls may be imposed after bond retirement to fund construction and
maintenance of other turnpike projects inaregion.

County fee collection reimbursement. HB 3588 phases out the 5 percent reimbursement of
counties from motor-vehicle registration fees (Fund 6) for their costs of collecting motor-vehicle
sales taxes (general revenue) for the state. Beginning in fiscal 2006, counties will be reimbursed from
motor-vehicle sales taxes at an annual rate of 10 percent of the reimbursement amount until the
entire reimbursement comes from that source.

Driver responsibility program. Beginning September 1,2003, the Department of Public Safety
(DPS) mustidentify and penalize drivers habitually convicted of most traffic violations. The new
system will assign two points to motorists convicted of most traffic violations and three points in
cases involving accidents. Drivers who accumulate six points or more over a 36-month period must
pay surcharges of $100 for the first six points and $25 for each additional point. A driver must
receive notice from DPS upon earning a fifth point. Driving while intoxicated will incura $1,000
surcharge per year for three years, $1,500 per year for second or subsequent violations, and
$2,000 ifthe driver’s blood alcohol concentration exceeds 0.16. A $250 annual surcharge will be
assessed over three years for driving with an invalid license or without proof of financial
responsibility, and $100 for driving without a valid license. Failure to pay surcharges will result in
automatic suspension of adriver’s license.
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DPS may contract out collection of surcharges and keep 1 percent for administrative costs. The
remainder will be divided equally between general revenue and a new dedicated general revenue
account for trauma facilities and emergency medical services (EMS). In any fiscal year in which
combined deposits from surcharges and the new $30 court cost for traffic violations (see below)
exceed $250 million, 49.5 percent of the surcharge collections overage will go to the trauma/EMS
account and 49.5 percent to the Texas Mobility Fund (TMF). Surcharge collections allocated to
general revenue in fiscal 2004 and not subject to DPS appropriation will be deposited instead into a
dedicated account for TMF debt service. These monies will not be appropriated but may be
transferred to the TMF if payments become due on bonds or other financial obligations.

Traffic violations fee. During fiscal 2004 through 2007, most traffic law violators will have to pay
an additional court cost of $30. Two-thirds will go to general revenue and one-third to the new
trauma facilities/EMS account. Cities and counties that remit collections on time may keep 5 percent
plus any accrued interest. I[f combined court-cost and point-surcharge general revenue deposits
exceed $250 million in any fiscal year, the court-cost collection overage will go to the TMF. Court-
cost collections allocated to general revenue in fiscal 2004 will be deposited instead into the
dedicated account for TMF debt service.

Verifying vehicle owners’ proof of financial responsibility. HB 3588 requires DPS and the
Texas Department of Insurance to conduct a feasibility study on using a computerized system to
verify vehicle owners’ proof of financial responsibility. (See discussion of HB 814 on pages 190-191 of
this report.)

Capitalizing the Texas Mobility Fund. Fees and penalties collected or received by DPS for
driver’s licenses and records and motor-vehicle inspections (with some exceptions) will be
redirected from general revenue to the TMF as of September 1, 2004. During fiscal 2004-05,
however, the first $90.5 million in fee collections will go to general revenue.

State public transportation management. HB 3588 requires TxDOT to coordinate all public
transportation provided by the state. Health and human services agencies must contract with
TxDOT to assume responsibility for any transportation services they now provide. TxXDOT may
contract with any public or private provider for these services. TTC may increase or reduce funding
to providers based on their compliance with applicable laws.

Commercial driver’s licenses. As of June 1,2005, determination of commercial vehicle operator
qualifications will include consideration of serious traffic violations occurring in any vehicle, not only
commercial vehicles.

Commercial motor vehicle safety. DPS and certified police officers may stop and enter
commercial vehicles in addition to detaining them. DPS may penalize commercial vehicle operators
administratively for certain safety violations. Commercial vehicles are considered abandoned on the
11th day after impoundment if penalties are not paid.

Salvage and nonrepairable motor vehicles. The bill redefines “salvage” and “nonrepairable”
vehicles by eliminating the model year and percentage-of-damage criteria. Title fees for salvage or
nonrepairable vehicles increase from $3 to $8. An $8 fee applies to each title issued in lieu of a no-
charge salvage certificate. Titles for rebuilt salvage vehicles incur a $65 fee, with $50 allocated to
DPS for enforcement and the remainder to general revenue.

Page 196

House Research Organization



Neighborhood electric vehicles and scooters. HB 3588 authorizes the use of “neighborhood
electric vehicles” and motor-assisted scooters on bicycle paths, sidewalks, and roadways with
posted speed limits of 35 mph or less. TxDOT, counties, and cities may prohibit their operation in
the interests of safety.

Supporters said HB 3588 would advance transportation project management and give TxDOT
new implementation tools. It would make a long-overdue reallocation of roadway-related fees and
would use increases in traffic violation fines and fees and penalties on bad drivers to pay for the
TMEF and trauma care. This would improve traffic safety by holding irresponsible drivers
accountable for their actions and would reduce the costs they impose on other Texans.

Cities, counties, and other states have used debt financing for transportation for years to build large,
fixed assets. Additional bonding authority of up to $3 billion, plus leveraging of the TMF balances,
would generate immediate cash flow needed to start more projects sooner. Greater reliance on
turnpikes would generate toll revenue, either from motorists or other arrangements, that could be
used to expand existing projects or build new ones.

Passthrough (“shadow”) tolls are an innovative finance tool allowing a party with available cash to
move forward with a project knowing that it will be repaid over time. A mutually agreed “shadow
toll” is decided by agreement in advance, either on a per-vehicle or per-vehicle-mile basis, and the
financing or constructing entity is repaid incrementally on that basis for its investment to build the
project. Use of this mechanism would enable TxDOT to stretch out repayments to developers for
startup costs and help reduce its huge project backlog.

Rerouting about $230 million a year in DPS fees would enable the TMF to issue its first bonds,
worth up to $2.5 billion, to pay for much-needed transportation projects. It makes sense for fees
paid by motorists to be spent on highways and mobility improvements. General revenue would be
restored with the new point-system surcharges and $30 court cost for traffic violations. Bad drivers
who increase costs for good drivers should bear a greater burden of financing the state’s
transportation system.

Greatly expanding RMA powers should encourage more communities to create them. Giving RMAs
more flexibility in generating revenue, such as bonding, and in the ability to partner with TxDOT and
other public and private entities will be key factors in addressing Texas’ mobility crisis.

“Quick-take” ROWA would allow immediate possession by TxDOT once a court determined that
the public-purpose test of the condemnation law had been met. This would eliminate the time-
consuming part of condemnation cases — value (price) determination— allowing the state to lock
in prices and reduce overall costs.

Expanding TxDOT s rail capabilities would be a modest but important step toward diversifying
Texas’ transportation network. The bill would limit rail disbursements to $12.5 million unless they
were spent on the Trans-Texas Corridor network, abandoned rail acquisition, or grading and bed
preparation, or unless they came from certain sources other than Fund 6.

Switching counties’ source of reimbursement for motor-vehicle sales tax collections back to that
revenue stream is long overdue. Counties’ net funding levels would not change, butby 2015, Fund 6
would benefit fully from revenue directly related to roadway usage.
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Adding nontruck traffic violations to the determination of commercial vehicle operator qualifications
would bring Texas into compliance with the federal Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of
1999. This change would prevent the loss of 5 percent of federal highway funds in 2005 and 10
percent each subsequent year.

Consolidating the state’s public transportation contracting under TxDOT would create economies of
scale and would improve cost-effectiveness.

Opponents said the Trans-Texas Corridor is an unaffordable idea whose time has not yet come.
The corridor concept may be sound, but questions of financial feasibility and demands of other
transportation priorities dictate that it be postponed.

Withits various fee hikes and fine increases, HB 3588 is a tax bill in disguise. Texas taxpayers,
especially low- and middle-income families and inner-city residents, cannot afford the fee and fine
hikes this bill would mandate. The Legislature should be willing to raise taxes if it needs more money
for worthwhile projects, including highways.

HB 3588 would launch TxDOT and the yet-to-be-created RMAs into uncharted territory, such as
rail, with a virtual blank check and little or no experience in the kinds of creative financing and
cooperative agreements that the bill seeks to enable. It would provide too few safeguards for
property owners tempted to do business with the state’s new megahighway consortium and too few
guidelines for an agency that heretofore has done little but contract for highway construction. The
state should try some of these ideas in pilot projects before making wholesale policy changes
backed by huge debt structures and reliance on unreliable toll revenue.

The bill would give TTC and TxDOT too much discretion and authority over state public
transportation, an area in which they lack sufficient experience and expertise. TTC’s control would
extend over small urban and rural providers but not over metropolitan and other transit authorities.
The result would be instability and unpredictability for rural and small urban transportation providers
in providing transit services to local communities. Small urban and rural transit districts, butnot
metropolitan and other transit authorities, would be subject to vehicle emission standards not
applicable to larger authorities.

Other opponents said some of the bill’s funding priorities are backwards. For example, the
proportional distribution of the additional $30 court cost should be reversed so that more money
would go to trauma centers than to the TMF. If inner-city taxpayers are going to subsidize rural and
intercity megahighways, their health-care needs, often related to traffic, should receive a greater
share ofthe revenue this bill would generate.

The HRO analysis appeared in Part One of the May 9 Daily Floor Report.
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Short-term transportation borrowing and highway revenue bonding

HJR 28 by Pickett, et al./HB 471 by Pickett, et al.; HB 3588 by Krusee, et al.
On September 13, 2003, ballot

HJR 28 proposes amending the Texas Constitution to allow the Legislature to authorize the Texas
Transportation Commission (TTC) to authorize the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT)
to issue notes or borrow money from any source for up to two years to carry out its functions. The
Legislature could repay the debts incurred by appropriating dedicated money from the State
Highway Fund (Fund 6). HJR 28 also would allow the Legislature to authorize TTC to issue
revenue bonds and other public securities and to make bond enhancement agreements (forms of
insurance) to pay for highway improvement projects. The amendment would appropriate Fund 6
money annually to TTC to cover bond debt and related costs. No Fund 6 dedications or
appropriations could be changed so as to interfere with bond repayment unless arrangements had
been made to retire the debt.

HB 471, the primary enabling legislation, would authorize TTC to borrow money through short-term
loans or notes (repaid within two years) to cover TxDOT operations, if voters approve HIR 28. Loan
provisions would be up to TTC, but loan amounts, including any balances outstanding on other loans,
could not exceed the average monthly revenue deposited into Fund 6 for the 12 months preceding
the month in which the loan was made. Loans would not create a general state obligation but would
be payable only as authorized by legislative appropriation and could be repaid from Fund 6.

The bill authorizes TxDOT to issue highway tax and revenue anticipation notes (HTRANS) to cover
anticipated temporary cash-flow shortfalls in Fund 6 during any fiscal year, subject to approval of
the Cash Management Committee (governor, lieutenant governor, House speaker, and
comptroller). Notes are not state debts and may be used only for Fund 6 cash-flow shortfalls,
subject to approval by the attorney general. All notes must be repaid in full during the biennium in
which they are issued. Proceeds from notes and credit agreements must be deposited in a special
interest-bearing treasury fund which the comptroller may invest. TXDOT must transfer net proceeds
from that fund to Fund 6 as needed to pay authorized expenditures. HTRAN fund money may be
pledged to secure note payments, performance of obligations under credit agreements relating to
notes, issuance costs, and rebates to the federal government. TxDOT periodically must transfer
cash from Fund 6 to its HTRAN fund to ensure timely payment of notes. Any money remaining in
that fund after payment of all outstanding notes, federal rebates, and issuance costs must be
transferred to Fund 6. [f monies are insufficient to pay these costs, the Legislature may appropriate
money from Fund 6 to cover them.

HB 3588 would allow TTC to issue up to $3 billion in revenue bonds secured by Fund 6, but not
more than $1 billion per year, if voters approve HIR 28. Atleast $600 million (20 percent) of the
aggregate proceeds would have to be spent on highway safety improvement projects. No Fund 6
revenue bond money could be spent on the Trans-Texas Corridor established by HB 3588. Annual
bond-related expenditures could not exceed 10 percent of Fund 6 deposits during the preceding
year. Bond maturities could not exceed 20 years.

The short-term loan (HB 471) and highway revenue bond (HB 3588) provisions would take effect
upon voter approval of HIR 28. The HTRAN provisions take effect September 1,2003.
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Supporters said lagging transportation funding has caused ongoing cash-flow problems at
TxDOT. Fluctuations in federal highway spending reimbursements, the seasonal nature of road
building, and revenue forecasting difficulties are key contributing factors. In October 2001, for
example, an extraordinary payout reduced the Fund 6 balance one day to $4 million, delaying
payments to some contractors and vendors and leading to temporary suspension of many new
projects. Texas motorists and business interests cannot afford unnecessary road work stoppages.

HTRANSs would function like notes issued by the comptroller to meet other state agencies’ periodic
cash-flow shortfalls. Authorizing such limited borrowing, especially at a time of low interest rates,
would improve TxDOT’s cash flow. A TRAN functions much like a line of credit; itis a cash
management tool, not a funding mechanism, and generates no new revenue. The borrowing limit on
HTRANSs would fluctuate monthly, beginning at $476 million, according to the Legislative Budget
Board, and would be reasonable for an agency of TxXDOT s size. This financial cushion would
enable TxDOT to manage its cash position more aggressively and focus less on managing to the
lowest daily balance. This should improve project readiness and turnaround time, helping minimize
the impact of inflation and lost economic opportunities.

Advancing the use of long-term debt financing for transportation projects is long overdue. Cities,
counties, and other states have used this method successfully for years to build large, fixed assets,
including roads and streets. Revenue bonding authority of up to $3 billion would generate immediate
cash flow to begin more projects sooner and relieve Texas’ congested roadways faster.
Accelerating construction would aid economic development and enhance productivity. Unlike
general obligation bonds, bonds backed by revenue — both state and federal, in the case of
highways— do not count against the state’s constitutional debt limit (Art. 3, sec. 49-j). Highway
revenue bonds are needed to augment the Texas Mobility Fund (TMF), an as-yet unused revolving
state bond fund that should begin receiving revenue in fiscal 2004-05. The state must begin issuing
highway bonds if it hopes to improve mobility. Temporary bonded indebtedness (about $100 million
per year) would be preferable to permanent tax or fee increases, most of which would be
regressive.

Opponents said a fiscal crisis is the wrong time to increase debt of any kind. Borrowing would
increase TxDOT’s costs, both in terms of interest paid on loans or notes and forgone interest not
earned on cash balances. Whether TxDOT actually could speed up projects and realize any savings
isuncertain at best.

No other Texas state agency borrows short-term to pay for daily operations. The Comptroller’s
Office issues TRANSs not to cover its own expenses but to pay other agencies’ bills and fulfill state
obligations on time. TxDOT is a $6 billion-per-biennium agency with a constitutionally dedicated
revenue source, yet it cannot manage its budget effectively. Its cash forecasting was oft by more
than 250 percent between 1999 and 2002, and since 2000, it has paid more interest on late
payments to vendors (almost $ 1 million) than any other agency. Such poor financial performance
should not be rewarded by giving the agency unprecedented new ways of borrowing money to be
repaid with tax dollars.

Bonding for highways would be a poor public investment. Borrowing for fixed assets would
increase costs, obligate future legislatures, and burden the next generation of taxpayers. Texas
should continue to pay for the amount of highway construction it can afford, rather than encumber
scantresources to add to state debt. Fund 6 already is spread too thin, and bonding would generate
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no new revenue. Fund 6 diversions to nontransportation purposes should be curtailed or eliminated,
and motor-fuels taxes and vehicle registration fees should be increased before incurring debt.

Other opponents said the bonding limit could lead to overcommitment, hindering TxDOT’s
ability to respond to unforeseen circumstances. The limit should be lowered to a more reasonable
level until TxDOT and TTC gain more experience with debt financing.

The bonding limitis too low, reducing the potential impact of the state’s borrowing power on the
underfunded highway system. The limit should be at least $5 billion, preferably more, to averta full-
fledged transportation crisis.

Not allowing Fund 6 revenue bonds to be spent on the Trans-Texas Corridor would be
shortsighted. The proposed statewide transportation network is precisely the kind of long-term
approach best suited to debt financing.

Texas already has a state highway bond fund, the TMF, which should be capitalized before Fund 6
isdiminished.

Notes: The highway revenue bond provision in HJR 28 is virtually identical to that of SJR 44 by
Odgen, which died in the House. The highway revenue bond section added to HB 3588 originally
was in SB 1083 by Ogden, which died in the House Transportation Committee.

The HRO analyses of HIR 28 and HB 471 appeared in Parts One and Two, respectively, of the
April 24 Daily Floor Report. Analysis of HB 3588 appeared in Part One of the May 9 Daily
Floor Report. The analysis of SIR 44 appeared in the May 21 Daily Floor Report.
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Restructuring the Texas Transportation Commission

SB 409 by Lucio
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 409 expands the Texas Transportation Commission (TTC) from three to five members. The
governor’s appointments must reflect Texas’ diverse geographic regions and population groups, and
one member must live in arural area. The commissioner, henceforth called the chair, must report to
the governor and legislative leadership on legislative recommendations adopted by TTC and related
to Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) operations.

Supporters said regional representation would enable TTC to recognize and respond to unique
problems and situations not present in every part of the state. Over the years, some regions have
received more attention and state resources than have others. The North American Free Trade
Agreement has increased truck and other vehicular traffic dramatically throughout the state. A
regional approach to transportation planning and spending makes sense to ensure that all regions of
Texas are represented fully and all needs are met.

TTC’s composition has been and remains weighted in favor of urban Texas. Since TTC’s inception
in 1917, nearly half of all members have been from the Dallas-Fort Worth, Houston, or San
Antonio metropolitan areas. Only two have lived along the Texas-Mexico border. Regional
representation is required on the governing bodies of river authorities and of some state colleges and
universities and is encouraged in statute for most state agency boards and commissions. The existing
TTC statute does not define rural, but that has not prevented rural representation.

Opponents said SB 409 is unnecessary. In recent years, TTC, TxDOT, and the governor have
focused significant attention on the Texas-Mexico border and have channeled hundreds of millions
of dollars to that area, as well as to other regions. Regional TTC members would not direct more
money or projects to any region because TTC operates by consensus. Several areas of the state
have had few, ifany, TTC members, but that does not mean those areas have been discriminated
against or ignored. TTC must make transportation policy based on the best interests of the entire
state, not on demographics. Requiring geographic membership would move TTC toward a single-
member-district governing structure that could foster regional factionalism.

SB 409 would not define a region, nor would it specify any regions, providing no benchmarks other
than TxDOT’s 25 engineering districts. The bill’s lack of compliance guidelines would render it
ambiguous and unenforceable, other than perhaps through the Senate confirmation process. The
requirement that one member be from arural area is unnecessary and undefined and could restrain
the governor’s appointment options needlessly.

The HRO analysis of the House companion bill, HB 3294 by Chavez, appeared in Part One of
the May 2 Daily Floor Report.
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Increasing driving-while-intoxicated fines to finance trauma care facilities

SB 1131 Harris
Effective September 1, 2003

SB 1131 requires a person convicted of an intoxication offense under Penal Code, ch. 49, other
than public intoxication or possession of an open alcoholic beverage in amotor vehicle, to pay an
additional $100 in court costs. The additional cost is imposed regardless of whether the defendant is
placed on community supervision or receives deferred disposition or adjudication for the offense.
Thebill creates anew account in general revenue, composed of the additional court fees and interest
earnings, to help pay for emergency medical services (EMS), trauma facilities, and trauma care
systems. This is in addition to an existing account that funds regional planning commissions, 9-1-1
jurisdictions, and regional poison control centers through a 9-1-1 emergency telephone service
surcharge. The health and human services commissioner must maintain a reserve of $500,000 in the
accounts and must distribute at least 50 percent of the appropriated funds to regional trauma service
areas.

Supporters said SB 1131 would force drunk-driving offenders to bear more of the cost of
trauma care and other expenses directly caused by their recklessness. According to the National
Highway Safety Administration, about 40 percent of all traffic fatalities are alcohol-related. Texas
leads the nation in the number of deaths due to traffic accidents — 7.2 for every 100,000 residents
—and in the number of drunk-driving-related fatalities. SB 1131 would provide a financial
disincentive that would help reduce the death toll on Texas’ streets and highways. The bill also
would provide another funding source to help critically underfunded trauma centers. Most centers
rely on local taxpayers to pay for the care of indigent out-of-county patients. Many state revenue
sources, such as the Tertiary Medical Fund that comes from unclaimed lottery winnings, tend not to
bereliable sources of money. In 2001, eligible hospitals requested $260 million in reimbursement
for documented out-of-county indigent patients, but they received only $16 million from the state, or
about 6 percent of the total request.

Opponents said SB 1131 would not provide an adequate or stable source of revenue for trauma
facilities and EMS providers. Itis unlikely that the state would meet the bill’s optimistic revenue
projections, because many drunk-driving offenders are indigents who cannot pay current fines. If the
program were successful in increasing compliance, revenues would decrease as fewer Texans were
convicted of intoxication offenses. The Legislature should provide adequate funding for important
services such as EMS and trauma care, rather than relying on budgetary gimmicks such as
unclaimed lottery funds or increasing fees for intoxication offenses.

Notes: HB 3588 by Krusee, the omnibus Trans-Texas Corridor/mobility bill, creates a driver’s
responsibility program and imposes additional surcharges on drunken and hazardous drivers, to be

deposited in another fund to pay for trauma care and EMS. (See pages 194-198.)

The HRO analysis appeared in Part Three of the May 26 Daily Floor Report.
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