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L Texas is one of seven states in which 17-year-olds accused of committing
Certification as an crimes automatically enter the adult criminal justice system, rather than the
adult juvenile system. The age at which young offenders enter the adult system is

. . referred to as the age of adult criminal responsibility. Six states have raised this

Proposed legislation age to 18 in the past seven years, with two making the change this year, according
in Texas to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL).
Debate on raising Legislation to raise the age of adult criminal responsibility to 18 years old in

Texas failed in the 2015 legislative session but could emerge again in 2017 during
the 85th Legislature. Making such a change would raise related issues, such
as when it should be implemented and how funding for the adult and juvenile
criminal justice systems would be adjusted. Other changes that might accompany
raise-the-age legislation could include revising court procedures and offenses for
which the age of the person committing the offense is a factor.
Most frequent arrests of
17-year-olds by offense Debate on raising the age in Texas centers on the effect it would have on
public safety, the outcomes for youths in each system, and the cost of moving
Supreme Court rulings 17-year-olds to the juvenile justice system. The ability of each system to provide
on offenders under 18 appropriate sanctions and to rehabilitate 17-years-olds is part of the discussion
on public safety outcomes. The safety of offenders 17 and younger in each
system and the long-term consequences for these youths also are part of the
ongoing debate. Concerns about cost center on the price tag for both
the state and counties to impose sanctions on 17-year-olds and to
provide them with treatment, education, and other programs.
The long-term economic benefits of raising the age also are part
of the discussion on cost. Another facet of the debate is how
Texas should respond to U.S. Supreme Court decisions, federal
correctional standards for those under 18 years old, state and
national trends, and research on teenage brain development.
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Age of adult jurisdiction
across states
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This report outlines how older
youths enter the Texas criminal justice
system and summarizes the debate on
proposals to raise the age of adult criminal
responsibility to 18.
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Adult criminal justice system

Those accused of committing crimes in Texas when
they were 17 years old are subject to the procedures and
sanctions of the adult criminal justice system. Because
17-year-olds generally are treated the same as other adult
offenders, parents do not have to be notified after an arrest
and are not necessarily involved in the case.

Sanctions in the adult criminal justice system include
deferred adjudication, probation, fines, and either jail
or prison terms. Probation is common for 17-year-olds
in the adult system. About 8,000 offenders from 17 to
20 years old were placed on adult probation in 2015 for
crimes they committed when they were 17 (see Seventeen-
year-olds, below). Some of these 17-year-old offenders
completed probation or turned 18 during the year, leaving
local community supervision departments across Texas
supervising 1,239 probationers who were 17 at the end of
fiscal 2015.

The Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ),
which operates the state’s adult criminal justice system,
at the end of August held 46 inmates who were 17 years
old and supervised no 17-year-olds on adult parole. About
1,949 offenders who were 17 years old at the time of their
offense were received in TDCJ facilities in fiscal 2015.
This includes those directly sentenced to prisons, state
jails, and substance abuse treatment facilities and those
incarcerated after revocation of their parole or probation.

Seventeen-year-olds in
Texas adult criminal system

Number of 17-year-

22;065 olds arrested in 2015

Number of 17- to 20-year-
olds placed on adult
probation in fiscal 2015 for
crimes committed when 17

8,066

Number of 17-year-old
46 inmates held by TDCJ as
of Aug. 31, 2016

Sources of data: Texas Department of Public Safety, Texas
Department of Criminal Justice

The federal Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) standards
require individuals under 18 who are incarcerated in

adult facilities to be housed apart from adult inmates with
sight and sound separation between them. TDCJ is in
compliance with this requirement, according to the agency.

While 17-year-olds are sentenced to state prisons or
state jails like older inmates, once at state facilities they
are housed separately and placed in a specially designed
youthful offender program. These offenders may receive
academic, cognitive, and substance abuse education. When
they turn 18, they transfer out of the program and may
remain at their unit with other offenders who are 18 and
older or be moved to other TDCJ facilities. These 18-year-
olds primarily are housed with other offenders near their
age and have access to TDCJ’s education and treatment
programs. Seventeen-year-olds with medical or mental
health issues or physical handicaps may be assigned to a
different facility.

Seventeen-year-olds in TDCJ’s youthful offender
program may receive some substance abuse education
but are not eligible for the two main treatment programs
the agency offers, Substance Abuse Felony Punishment
Facilities and In-Prison Therapeutic Communities. They
may receive treatment from these programs after turning 18
years old, if other conditions are met.

Statewide statistics are not collected for the number
of 17-year-olds in local jails but are maintained locally.
Local jails also fall under the federal PREA rules requiring
facilities to house those under 18 years separately from
older individuals, and compliance varies. At a March 2014
hearing of the House Criminal Jurisprudence Committee,
the Office of Court Administration reported the estimated
number of 17-year-olds in local jails on a typical day was
2,868 to 3,119. Most were in jail for misdemeanors.

Like all adult criminal records, those of 17-year-olds
are generally public. Under certain circumstances, adult
records can be sealed or expunged with court approval.

Juvenile criminal justice system

While those accused of committing crimes when they
were 17 are automatically subject to the adult criminal
justice system, a different, civil court system addresses
accusations against those who allegedly committed
offenses when they were 10 through 16 years old.
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Individuals accused of committing crimes when
they were under the age of 17 may be referred to local
juvenile probation departments. They may have their cases
addressed informally and be released with a caution or may
be referred to a juvenile court. Juvenile courts may defer
adjudication, put the youth on probation, or sentence the
individual to state custody in a secure juvenile facility.

In most cases, juveniles receive probation and are
supervised by the county’s juvenile probation department.
In fiscal 2015, 44,060 juveniles were referred to these local
juvenile probation departments. They were referred a total
of 62,535 times, a 2 percent decrease from fiscal 2014.
About 98.7 percent of dispositions in fiscal 2015 resulted in
youths being placed on probation.

Juvenile probation departments generally use a
progressive sanctions model that starts with the minimum
sanctions and least serious interventions and progresses to
more serious interventions, which may include placement
in a secure or non-secure facility. Supervision by local
probation departments may extend until a youth turns 18
and until 19 for those given determinate (fixed) sentences.

Youths accused of felony offenses may be committed
to custody of the Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD)
and sent to a secure or non-secure facility. Commitments
to TJJD usually are indeterminate, meaning that after a
minimum length of stay, release is based on several factors,
including success in programs. For offenses occurring after
September 1, 2017, courts must find that a child has needs
that cannot be met in the community before sending a
child to TJJD with an indeterminate sentence. Youths may
remain in TJJD’s custody until age 19. About 1.3 percent of
dispositions in fiscal 2015 resulted in commitment to TJID,
representing 825 youths.

Juveniles found guilty of certain serious or violent
crimes may receive a determinate sentence of up to 40
years. They start their term of confinement in a TJJD
facility, with possible release on juvenile parole or transfer
to the adult prison system or the adult parole system. TJJD
may retain custody of these youths until they turn 19. A
process called certification allows youths 14 through 16
years old who are accused of certain serious crimes and
who meet specific criteria to be tried and sanctioned in the
adult system (see Certification as an adult, at right).

Records in the juvenile justice system generally are
sealed and not available to the public. Exceptions include

information about youths who must register with the state’s
sex offender registry and youths who start their sentence in
the juvenile system but complete it in the adult system.

Forty-three states set the age of adult criminal
responsibility at 18, which means those accused of
committing crimes when they were 17 or younger enter the
juvenile justice system, according to a report by NCSL.

Texas is one of seven states in which the age of adult
criminal responsibility is under 18 years old (see Age
of adult criminal jurisdiction, page 4). In five states —
Georgia, Michigan, Missouri, Texas, and Wisconsin — those
17 years old and older enter the adult criminal justice
system. New York and North Carolina set the age for adult
court jurisdiction at 16 years old.

Six states have increased to 18 their age for adult court
jurisdiction during the past seven years, with Louisiana and
South Carolina making the change in 2016, according to
NCSL. Other states are considering similar proposals, some
of which would set the age of adult court jurisdiction at 21
years old.

Certification as an adult

Under Family Code, sec. 54.02, juvenile courts
may waive jurisdiction and transfer a child to adult
criminal court under certain circumstances. This can
occur if the child was at least 14 years old at the time
the offense was alleged to have been committed and
the alleged offense was a capital felony, an aggravated
controlled substance felony, or a first-degree felony:.
Children who were 15 or older at the time of the alleged
offense also may be certified as adults and transferred
to adult court for a second-degree felony, a third-degree
felony, or a state jail felony. In all cases, courts must
find that because of the seriousness of the alleged
offense or the background of the child, the welfare of
the community requires criminal proceedings.

Under other guidelines, juvenile courts also may
transfer to adult court the cases of those 18 or older
accused of specified felonies committed when they
were 14 to 16 if the cases were not tried for certain
reasons when the youths were under 18. In fiscal 2015,
115 youths were certified as adults, according to TJJD.



http://www.ncsl.org/research/civil-and-criminal-justice/raising-the-age-of-juvenile-court-jurisdiction.aspx
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/FA/htm/FA.54.htm#54.02
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Proposed legislation in Texas

Under proposals discussed for Texas to raise to 18 the
age of adult criminal responsibility, 17-year-olds accused
of crimes would be under the jurisdiction of the juvenile
rather than the adult justice system. Legislation likely
would include other changes, including amending court
procedures, revising offenses in which the age of a person
committing them was a factor, and altering certain criminal
procedures. Issues that could be considered include a
timeline for implementing the change, whether the change
would apply to both misdemeanors and felonies, how
much it would cost, how it would be funded, how long a
youth could stay in the juvenile system, and at what age the
juvenile system’s jurisdiction over the youth would end.

Raising the age of adult criminal responsibility to 18 in
Texas was recommended by the 83rd Legislature’s House
Committee on Criminal Jurisprudence in 2015. In its
interim report, the committee recommended raising the age
if adequate funding were provided.

In 2015, the 84th Legislature considered but did not
enact raise-the-age legislation, HB 1205 by Dutton. The
bill was placed on the House’s May 12 General State

Calendar but not considered. The fiscal note for HB 1205
estimated a cost of $6.7 million to the state for the first year
of implementation, which would have been 2017. The cost
would have been $47 million the second year and $61.7
million the third year, and it would have decreased to $53.9
million in 2020. The fiscal note also reports the costs to
some counties.

A provision that would have raised the age of criminal
responsibility to 18 was added by the House to SB 1630
by Whitmire, which revised how TJJD uses state facilities,
but the provision raising the age was not included in the
enacted version of the bill.

Debate on raising the age

The debate on raising the age of adult criminal
responsibility to 18 in Texas centers on public safety,
outcomes for youths, cost, and state and federal trends.
Supporters say raising the age would improve public
safety, create better outcomes for youths, have long-term
economic benefits, and better conform Texas law with
national trends in juvenile justice and other state laws.
Critics of raising the age say the current system is the best

Age of adult criminal jurisdiction across states
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Source of data: National Conference of State Legislatures

18 years old

17 years old


http://www.house.state.tx.us/_media/pdf/committees/reports/83interim/House-Committee-on-Criminal-Jurisprudence-interim-report.pdf
http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/BillLookup/Text.aspx?LegSess=84R&Bill=HB1205
http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/fiscalnotes/pdf/HB01205H.pdf#navpanes=0
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approach for both the public and 17-year-olds. They say the
cost might be prohibitive and that the needs of 17-year-olds
can be met with the current Texas model.

Public safety

Whether the public safety is better served by 17-year-
old offenders entering the juvenile justice system or the
adult system is part of the raise-the-age discussion. The
debate includes how the sanctions a juvenile receives affect
public safety and reduce recidivism.

Supporters of raising the age say: Moving
17-year-olds to the juvenile system from the adult justice
system would enhance public safety in the long run
because youths are more likely to be rehabilitated in the
juvenile system. Most offenses by 17-year-olds are non-
violent, low-level crimes that do not warrant the adult
system’s severe sanctions. In 2015, about 44 percent of
arrests of 17-year-olds were for theft, marijuana possession,
drunkenness, and liquor law violations. The offenses and
needs of 17-year-olds are similar to those of other teenagers
in the juvenile system, supporters say.

Education, treatment, and services in the juvenile
system focus on rehabilitation, take into account adolescent
development, and involve the family, supporters say, while
the adult system lacks this emphasis and often focuses
on punishment. Focusing on rehabilitation in the juvenile
system reduces recidivism, meaning fewer future crimes
by those who go through that system. The U.S. Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) in 2007 reported
that youths under age 18 who were transferred to the adult
system from the juvenile system reoffended at a higher
rate than youths retained in the juvenile justice system. The
CDC analyzed several studies and reported that transferred
juveniles were about 34 percent more likely than retained
juveniles to be involved in subsequent crimes.

The juvenile system is equipped to handle all types of
young offenders. It has a range of sanctions available, from
pre-trial diversion to probation, which can include a stay
in a secure or non-secure facility, to confinement in a state
facility. State-run juvenile facilities even offer intensive
specialized treatment, including programs for youths who
commit murder or other violent offenses.

Supporters of raising the age say public safety
would be maintained if Texas raised the age of criminal
responsibility because, under certain conditions, 17-year-

Most frequent arrests
of 17-year-olds in 2015 by offense

Theft, excluding
motor vehicle

theft (4,714)
Marijuana
Other, including possession
more than 20 (3,260)

types of offenses

(8,788)
Non-aggravated
assault
(2,456)
. \ xDrunkenness
Disorlderly (848)
conduct Burglary Liquor law
(539) (682) violations
(778)

Source of data: Texas Crime Report for 2015, Texas Department
of Public Safety

olds accused of serious crimes still could move to the

adult system. Certification allows older youths accused of
certain crimes to be tried and sentenced as adults. Courts
could continue transferring to the adult system youths with
determinate (fixed) sentences that had begun in the juvenile
system. An increase in certifications or determinate
sentences after raising the age would not indicate a problem
but instead would show the system had the flexibility to
handle 17-year-olds who commit the most violent crimes.

Critics of raising the age say: Placing all 17-year-
olds in the juvenile system could make it difficult to hold
them appropriately accountable for their crimes. Seventeen-
year-olds are old enough to understand the consequences
of their actions, critics say, and the adult criminal justice
system provides a range of sanctions to handle them
properly. Options include pre-trial diversion, deferred
adjudication, probation, fines, and state jail or prison terms,
which allow the punishment to fit the individual and crime.

These diverse sanctions allow 17-year-olds who are
first-time offenders or involved in less serious crimes to
receive probation or be diverted from the courts before
a trial. Other avenues are available for those involved in
more serious or violent offenses. In some cases, courts may
deem incarceration or adult probation to be appropriate for
a 17-year-old who committed a serious offense. In these



http://dps.texas.gov/administration/crime_records/pages/crimestatistics.htm
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situations, critics say, the adult system may provide more
appropriate supervision than the juvenile system, which is
focused on younger individuals involved in lesser crimes.

Simply shifting the age of court jurisdiction by one
year would not necessarily result in less crime or fewer
victims. Many things contribute to crime rates, including
social, economic, and other factors, as well as decisions
made by law enforcement officers, prosecutors, and courts.

Outcomes for youth

How the age of criminal responsibility affects
outcomes for young offenders in both the juvenile and adult
justice systems is part of the debate on raising the age. The
discussion includes questions about the safety of offenders
who are 17 and younger, how well each system’s programs
meet offender needs, and the long-term effects of being in
each system.

Supporters of raising the age say: Moving
17-year-olds from the adult to the juvenile justice system
would improve the lives of offenders and recognize
scientific studies that show teenage brains are still
developing. These offenders would continue to be held
accountable for their actions but within a system designed
to protect and rehabilitate them and to ensure they had
help understanding legal proceedings and consequences.
They could have access to education and substance abuse
programs unavailable in the adult system, which would
reduce recidivism and improve their futures. Outcomes
for 17-year-olds also would improve if they were kept out
of local jails, which lack appropriate programs and often
struggle to meet federal standards under the Prison Rape
Elimination Act (PREA) to separate 17-year-olds from
older offenders without isolating them.

Seventeen-year-olds would be better protected in the
juvenile system and could be housed and treated without
endangering younger offenders, supporters of raising the
age say. State and local juvenile probation departments
are experienced in dealing with offenders as old as 19
in a way that protects everyone. For example, the state
currently houses youths up to age 13 at one state facility
and older teens at other locations. The juvenile justice
system has appropriate education, vocation, training, and
career programs that could be adapted for 17-year-olds. By
contrast, supporters say, youths in adult facilities are at high
risk of physical assault, sexual abuse, and mental health
problems.

Raising the age also would help older youths by
allowing their records to remain private. The adult criminal
justice system leaves 17-year-olds with an adult criminal
record that generally is public information and can have
long-lasting consequences for education, jobs, housing, and
more. Records in the juvenile justice system are withheld
from the public, giving rehabilitated youths a better chance
of moving past their brush with the law.

Critics of raising the age say: Moving 17-year-
olds to the juvenile system could have a negative impact
on younger youths. This change could result in thousands
of 17-year-olds entering a juvenile justice system that in
recent years has dealt with scandals, reorganization, and
implementing a regionalization plan. Younger youths kept
in juvenile settings, which are more informal, could be
endangered by the influx of 17-year-olds, some of whom
would have been involved in serious crimes.

Critics of raising the age say the rehabilitation needs of
17-year-olds may be more aligned with those in the adult
system than with younger offenders in the juvenile system.
Any other needs could be met by treating them as a unique
group within the adult system, rather than moving them
to the juvenile system, which may not provide the type of
programs these offenders need.

Costs of implementation

Discussions of placing 17-year-old offenders in the
juvenile justice system in Texas often include estimates of
the short- and long-term monetary costs of such a change
and the experiences of other states.

Supporters of raising the age say: While raising
the age could shift some costs from the adult to the juvenile
justice system and could initially increase costs for the state
and counties, it would reduce other costs and result in long-
term economic benefits.

A 2012 report from the University of Texas LBJ
School of Public Affairs estimated that raising the age of
jurisdiction of the juvenile justice system in Texas would
result in $88.9 million in net benefits for each cohort of
17-year-olds. This takes into account costs and savings
to taxpayers and the fiscal benefits resulting from better
outcomes for youths and reduced victimization.

Long-term savings and other benefits could result
because the juvenile system has a better record of reducing
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recidivism than the adult system, supporters of raising the
age say. This would mean fewer crimes, which would save
the state and local governments money through reduced
arrests, prosecutions, and supervision. While cost per day
of supervision may be more in the juvenile system, lengths
of stay would often be shorter, reducing costs. Those who
might have been crime victims would benefit along with
rehabilitated youths.

Costs of raising the age could be less than some
estimates. Arrests of 17-year-olds have been dropping for
years, with 46,173 arrested in 2008 and 22,065 arrested
in 2015. The state and counties could absorb those who
enter the juvenile system after raise-the-age legislation.
Given the high portion of youths who receive probation
in the juvenile system, some of the 17-year-olds currently
sentenced to adult correctional facilities could instead be
placed on probation, which costs less. Seventeen-year-
olds often have problems raising bail in the adult system,
resulting in them remaining in local jails and increasing
costs to counties. The cases of some 17-year-olds could be
addressed informally in the juvenile system without court
time or through deferred adjudication, and some commonly
used diversion options would cost less than having 17-year-
olds in the adult system.

Developing and implementing age-appropriate
programs and housing for 17-year-olds in the Texas
juvenile justice system would not be prohibitively
expensive, supporters say. In some cases, the juvenile
system already supervises offenders as old as 19, and
education, vocation, and career programs used for them
could be modified or expanded. Expenses would not occur
the first day a law raising the age became effective but
would occur gradually as 17-year-olds entered the system.

Raising the age would help reduce costs to local
jails and the state to comply with federal standards under
PREA. Texas counties are incurring significant costs to
try to meet the sight and sound separation standards. They
report dedicating entire floors to 17-year-olds, which means
leaving beds empty on those floors and having to move
older offenders around a jail to meet recreation or medical
needs of 17-year-olds. Counties also could incur costs if
noncompliance with PREA were raised in a lawsuit against
them. One large county is considering moving 17-year-olds
from its jail to a facility hours away to comply with PREA.

Some states that have raised their age of criminal
responsibility have found it to be less costly than predicted.
After a Connecticut law raised the age in 2010, spending

U.S. Supreme Court rulings
on offenders under 18

Over the past decade, the U.S. Supreme Court
has drawn distinctions between punishments that
are allowed for those under 18 and adult offenders.
In 2005, the court ruled in Roper v. Simmons that
the Eighth and Fourteenth amendments forbid the
imposition of the death penalty for offenders who were
younger than 18 when their crimes were committed. In
2010, the Supreme Court ruled in Graham v. Florida
that juveniles could not be sentenced to life in prison
without parole for non-homicide crimes. In 2012, the
court said in Miller v. Alabama that mandatory life
without parole for those 18 years old and younger who
commit homicide was unconstitutional. A 2016 ruling,
in Montgomery v. Louisiana, applied the ruling in the
Miller case retroactively.

on juvenile justice was lower in 2011-12 than it had been
10 years earlier and less than estimated for the change.

Critics of raising the age say: Raising the age
could be costly because thousands of 17-year-olds entering
the juvenile system could strain juvenile courts, local
juvenile probation systems, and juvenile facilities.

Placing 17-year-olds in the juvenile system could
require significantly more resources for supervision,
programs, and treatment, critics say. These offenders may
need new programs focused on job training and life skills to
transition to adulthood. Costs of supervision and programs
in the juvenile system, due to their intensiveness, are higher
than those in the adult system, and providing services for
these older youths while keeping probation caseloads low
could be expensive for the state and counties.

While the fiscal note for the raise-the-age legislation
considered in 2015, HB 1205 by Dutton, estimated a cost
of $6.7 million for the first biennium of implementation,
costs would increase significantly after that. The first full
biennium of implementation would cost $108.8 million,
and this estimate does not include potentially significant
costs for probation, including mental health, substance
abuse, or other services, according to the fiscal note. The
fiscal note also reported the state’s cost per day for an
inmate in a TDC]J facility is $54.89, much lower than the
$437.11 cost per day for a youth in a TJID facility. The
state’s cost per day for community supervision (probation)
for someone in the adult system is $1.63, lower than the
$5.40 per day for juvenile probation supervision.



https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/04pdf/03-633.pdf
https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/09pdf/08-7412modified.pdf
https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/11pdf/10-9646.pdf
https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/15pdf/14-280_diff_ifkn.pdf
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Raising the age could be costly for counties. The
fiscal note for HB 1205 reported that while county costs
would have varied, some estimates indicate the average
first-year cost for eight counties would have been $2.2
million. Bexar County estimated an annual cost of between
$8.2 million and $8.5 million to implement the change.
Harris County estimated $50.1 million in the first full year
of implementation and $18.2 million to $19.9 million
annually thereafter. The Harris County costs included a
new juvenile detention center.

Raising the age of adult criminal responsibility also
could have unintended consequences, such as increasing
the number of juveniles being certified as adults in the
criminal justice system or the number of determinate
(fixed) sentences. If these options were used for a large
number of 17-year-olds accused of crimes, costs could rise
due to more hearings, evaluations, and other procedures.

State and federal trends

How much influence federal policies, laws in other
states, and court decisions (see U.S. Supreme Court
Rulings, page 7) should have on the age of criminal
responsibility in Texas is part of the debate on amending
the law. These discussions also include the treatment of
17-year-olds under other, non-criminal laws.

Supporters of raising the age say: Such a
change would put Texas in line with other states’ laws,

HOUSE RESEARCH ORGANIZATION

federal law on sentencing and correctional practices for
those under 18, and U.S. Supreme Court rulings that have
recognized differences between children and mature adults.
Laws in these jurisdictions recognize that scientific studies
show the brains of teenagers are still maturing and that they
can exhibit increased risk taking and poor decision making
and impulse control. However, teenagers are malleable and
have the potential for rehabilitation, making it appropriate
for them to be in the juvenile system, which includes
services and support specifically designed for them.

Almost all other states — 43 — have set their age of
adult criminal responsibility at 18 years old. The trend has
continued in 2016 with discussions in some states about
raising the age even higher than 18. Raising the age also
would resolve inconsistencies in how state and federal
law treats 17-year-olds. Under current law, the state holds
17-year-olds accountable for criminal actions as if they
were adults, but they cannot vote, serve on a jury, or buy
tobacco, alcohol, or lottery tickets.

Critics of raising the age say: Many options are
available under the current model for 17-year-olds in the
criminal justice system to be treated appropriately. Most
receive probation in the adult system, and the adult prison
system operates a youthful offender program designed for
them. While 17-year-olds may need services for their age
group, this can be done in the adult system, rather than
altering Texas’ juvenile justice system to follow a trend.

— by Kellie A. Dworaczyk
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