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SUBJECT: Establishing a credit based on time in jail toward certain fines and costs  

 

COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 8 ayes — Collier, K. Bell, Cason, Cook, Crockett, Hinojosa, A. Johnson, 

Vasut 

 

1 nay — Murr 

 

WITNESSES: For — Daron Babcock, Bonton Farms; Charles Reed, Dallas County 

Commissioners Court; Emily Gerrick, Texas Fair Defense Project; Derek 

Cohen, Texas Public Policy Foundation; (Registered, but did not testify: 

Lauren Johnson, ACLU of Texas; M Paige Williams, for Dallas County 

Criminal District Attorney John Creuzot; Justin Keener, for Doug Deason, 

Americans for Prosperity, and Libre Initiative; Traci Berry, Goodwill 

Central Texas; Kathy Mitchell, Just Liberty; Amanda List, Texas 

Appleseed; Lori Henning, Texas Association of Goodwills; Alycia 

Castillo, Texas Criminal Justice Coalition; Jennifer Allmon, The Texas 

Catholic Conference of Bishops) 

 

Against — None 

 

BACKGROUND: Under Code of Criminal Procedure art. 45.014(e), before a justice of the 

peace or municipal judge may issue an arrest warrant for a defendant's 

failure to appear at the initial court setting, the justice or judge must 

provide a defendant with notice that includes the date and time that the 

defendant must appear before the judge, the name and address of the 

court, and information regarding alternatives to payment of any fine or 

costs owed. 

  

Code of Criminal Procedure art. 45.041 requires a judge or justice to 

credit a defendant upon discharge for time spent in jail between arrest and 

sentencing for a fine-only misdemeanor. The credit is applied to the fine 

and costs associated with the misdemeanor at a rate of $100 or more for 

each period served, and a period can not be less than 8 hours or more than 

24 hours, as specified by the convicting court in the judgment of the case. 
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DIGEST: HB 569 would require a justice or judge, when imposing a fine and costs 

in a case involving a fine-only misdemeanor, to credit a defendant for any 

time the defendant was confined in jail or prison while serving a sentence 

for another offense if that confinement occurred after the commission of 

the misdemeanor. The credit would have to be applied to the amount of 

the fine and costs at the rate of $200 for each day of confinement. 

 

Under the bill, the notice required by Code of Criminal Procedure art. 

45.041 to be given to a defendant before an arrest warrant can be issued 

would have to include a statement that the defendant could be entitled to a 

credit toward any fine or costs owed if the defendant was confined in jail 

or prison after the commission of the offense for which the notice was 

given.    

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2021, and would apply to a 

defendant who was sentenced on or after that date, regardless of whether 

the offense was committed before, on, or after that date. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 569 would remove financial burdens that formerly incarcerated 

individuals often face upon discharge by applying a credit for each day 

spent in jail to certain outstanding traffic tickets and misdemeanors 

punishable by fine.  

 

Currently, a municipal judge or justice of the peace is required to credit an 

individual for time served between the time of the individual's arrest and 

sentencing for a related fine-only misdemeanor at a rate of $100 or more 

per period, which is then applied toward fines and costs associated with 

the offense. HB 569 would add a new category for which justices and 

judges must apply credit for time served toward fines and costs, requiring 

credit at a rate of $200 per day for any time an individual was confined in 

jail or prison while serving a sentence for a separate offense, as long as the 

confinement occurred after the offense associated with the outstanding 

fines and costs was committed. This would ensure consistency across 

jurisdictions and would reduce outstanding debts for more formerly 

incarcerated individuals, yielding higher rates of successful reentry. 
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Upon release from incarceration, many people go home to find out that 

they have outstanding tickets, fines, and warrants for fine-only 

misdemeanors, which can preclude the person from securing a driver's 

license or identification necessary to find employment and pay off their 

debts. This can lead to formerly incarcerated individuals sometimes 

driving to work without a license or ID in order to pay off their 

outstanding debts at the risk of receiving another ticket, which can result 

in further debt and the possibility of more jail time related to warrants for 

arrest. This cycle of compiling debt and warrants for arrest related to that 

debt costs localities time and money and makes successful reintegration 

into the community for formerly incarcerated individuals extremely 

difficult.    

 

Currently, jurisdictions across the state implement different practices 

regarding jail credits for fine-only misdemeanors or tickets due to the 

absence of specific laws covering this area. Some formerly incarcerated 

individuals are able to obtain help to navigate the system and address 

outstanding fines, but others are unable to access helpful resources or are 

subject to a jurisdiction that may not credit individuals for time served on 

a sentence. HB 569 would standardize the practice of crediting these 

formerly incarcerated people for time spent in jail across the state, 

clearing up confusion on applicable standards for courts and allowing 

formerly incarcerated individuals to move forward with reentry. Further, 

consistent application of this credit for time served would reduce 

outstanding fines and costs, reducing the need for arrest warrants and the 

resulting jail time associated with unpaid fines, ultimately saving counties 

money that would otherwise be spent on incarcerating individuals.  

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

HB 569 could reduce the revenue associated with various court costs, 

fines, and fees that are imposed on defendants who would be eligible for 

jail credit toward those costs under the bill.  

 

Judges and justices currently have discretion when deciding whether to 

provide credit for jail time served after commission of a fine-only 

misdemeanor toward the fines and costs associated with that misdemeanor 
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or ticket. HB 569 would remove this discretion by requiring that a judge 

provide the jail credit at a rate of $200 per day for fine-only misdemeanors 

or tickets.  

 


