
HOUSE     HB 1771 (2nd reading) 

RESEARCH         Thierry, et al. 

ORGANIZATION bill digest 5/9/2019   (CSHB 1771 by Dutton) 

 

 

SUBJECT: Prohibiting the prosecution of children for certain prostitution offenses  

 

COMMITTEE: Juvenile Justice and Family Issues — committee substitute recommended 

 

VOTE: 6 ayes — Dutton, Bowers, Calanni, Dean, Lopez, Talarico 

 

1 nay — Cyrier 

 

2 absent — Murr, Shine 

 

WITNESSES: For — Jamey Caruthers, Children at Risk; Jessica Anderson, Houston 

Police Department; Samantha Smothermon, Texas Criminal Justice 

Coalition; (Registered, but did not testify: Melissa Shannon, Bexar County 

Commissioners Court; Traci Berry, Goodwill Central Texas; Alissa 

Sughrue, National Alliance on Mental Illness Texas; Will Francis, 

National Association of Social Workers-Texas Chapter; Mary Mergler, 

Texas Appleseed; Lori Henning, Texas Association of Goodwills; Bryan 

Mares, Texas CASA; Amy Bresnen and Steve Bresnen, Texas Family 

Law Foundation; Lauren Rose, Texas Network of Youth Services; 

Jennifer Lucy, TexProtects; Allison Franklin; Joseph Longhurst; Calvin 

Tillman) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Shannon Edmonds, Texas District 

and County Attorneys Association) 

 

BACKGROUND: Penal Code sec. 43.02 governs prostitution offenses, which individuals 

commit if they knowingly offer or agree to receive fees from other 

individuals to engage in sexual conduct or pay fees to other individuals to 

engage in sexual conduct with those individuals or others. Offenses are 

generally class B misdemeanors (up to 180 days in jail and/or a maximum 

fine of $2,000), with certain enhancements.  

 

Government Code sec. 772.0062 governs the Child Sex Trafficking 

Prevention Unit, which is within the Criminal Justice Division of the 
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Office of the Governor. The unit facilitates efforts among a number of 

state agencies to prevent child sex trafficking and aids victims in receiving 

housing and other resources. The unit also collects and analyzes data 

related to child sex trafficking, provides support for child sex trafficking 

prosecutions, and performs certain other duties.  

 

Government Code sec. 772.0063 requires the governor to establish and 

implement a program to provide comprehensive, individualized services 

to address the rehabilitation and treatment needs of child victims of sex 

trafficking.  

 

Some have expressed concerns that children who are victims of sex 

trafficking can be prosecuted or referred to juvenile courts for certain 

prostitution offenses. 

 

DIGEST: CSHB 1771 would establish that individuals could not be prosecuted for 

knowingly offering or agreeing to receive fees from other individuals to 

engage in sexual conduct if they did so when they were younger than 17.  

 

Additionally, this conduct would not be considered delinquent conduct or 

conduct indicating a need for supervision, and children could not be 

arrested or referred to juvenile courts for such conduct. A law 

enforcement officer who took possession of a child suspected of engaging 

in this conduct would be required to use the officer's best efforts to deliver 

the child to the child's parent or another individual entitled to take 

possession of the child.  

 

If the parent or other individual was not immediately available, officers 

would be required to contact local service providers or care coordinators 

who would, in consultation with the Child Sex Trafficking Prevention 

Unit and the governor's program for victims of child sex trafficking, 

facilitate the assignment of the child to a caseworker. The caseworker 

would have to create a customized package of services to fit the child's 

immediate and long-term rehabilitation and treatment needs, including 

medical, psychiatric, psychological, safety, and housing needs.  
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If local service providers or care coordinators were not available, officers 

would need to transfer the child to the Department of Family and 

Protective Services.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2019, and would apply only to 

offenses committed or conduct that occurred on or after that date.  

   

 


