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SUBJECT: Allowing modification of state-jail felony record to class A misdemeanor    

 

COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — committee substitute recommended   

 

VOTE: (On April 29) 

6 ayes — Herrero, Burnam, Canales, Leach, Moody, Toth 

 

0 nays 

 

2 absent — Carter, Hughes  

 

1 present not voting  — Schaefer 

  

WITNESSES: (On March 19) 

For — Caitlin Dunklee, Texas Criminal Justice Coalition; Marc Levin,  

Texas Public Policy Foundation; Sandra Martinez, Centex Family 

Solutions and Counseling; Arnold Patrick, Hidalgo County Adult 

Probation; Todd Jermstad; (Registered, but did not testify: Kristin Etter, 

Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association; Ana Yanez Correa and 

Travis Leete, The Texas Criminal Justice Coalition; Andrea Marsh, Texas 

Fair Defense Project; Jeanette Moll, Texas Public Policy Foundation; Matt 

Simpson, ACLU of Texas; Derek Muller; Tiffany Muller; Gabriela Rosas) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Brian Eppes,Tarrant County 

District Attorney's Office; Clifford Herberg, Bexar County Criminal 

District Attorney's Office; Justin Wood, Harris County District Attorney's 

Office) 

 

On — Shannon Edmonds, Texas District and County Attorneys Office 

 

BACKGROUND: State-jail felonies are criminal offenses punished by180 days to two years 

in a state jail and an optional fine of up to $10,000. Class A misdemeanors 

are punished by up to one year in jail and/or a maximum fine of $4,000. 

 

Under Code of Criminal Procedure (CCP), art. 42.12, after a criminal 

defendant has been convicted or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere, a 

judge may suspend the imposition of the sentence and place the defendant 

on community supervision, also called probation. 
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CCP art. 42.12, sec. 15 establishes procedures relating to community 

supervision for state-jail felonies. For state-jail felony offenses, the 

minimum probation term is two years and the maximum is five years, and 

terms can be extended. Under CCP art. 42.12, sec. 20 community 

supervision terms can be reduced or terminated under certain conditions.  

 

DIGEST: CSHB 1790 would authorize judges, under certain circumstances, to 

modify an offender's record of conviction for certain eligible state-jail 

felonies to reflect a conviction for a class A misdemeanor. 

 

After probationers completed two-thirds of their original community 

supervision terms for eligible state-jail felonies, judges would be required 

to review defendants' records and consider whether to modify them to 

reflect a conviction for a class A misdemeanor, rather than a state-jail 

felony. Judges would be required to dispose of cases as required by the 

current provisions in CCP art. 42.12, sec. 20, governing the reduction or 

termination of community supervision.  

 

Upon discharge of a defendant, judges would be required to modify the 

convictions records to reflect a conviction for a class A misdemeanor, 

instead of a state- jail felony, if:   

 

 the offense was not an offense against a person listed in Penal Code 

Title 5, an offense involving family violence, improper sexual 

activity with an adult in custody at a correctional facility, driving 

while intoxicated with a child passenger, or failure to comply with 

a requirement of the sex offender registry;  

 the defendant had satisfactorily fulfilled the conditions of 

community supervision, including paying restitution, and was not 

delinquent on fines, costs, and fees that the defendant had the 

ability to pay; 

 the judge provided written notice of the right to request a hearing to 

the prosecutor and the defendant or defendant’s attorneys; and  

 before the community supervision term ended, neither party 

requested a hearing or, after a hearing, the judge found that a 

modification of the record of conviction was in the best interests of 

justice.  

 

Judges could not modify the name of the state-jail felony offense for 

which the defendant was placed on community supervision. Defendants 

whose records were modified would not be considered to be convicted of a 
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felony for any purpose other than the purposes of CCP sec. 20(a)(1), 

which states that proof of the conviction must be made known to the judge 

should a defendant again be convicted of a criminal offense.  

 

A judge who placed a defendant on community supervision after 

conviction of a state-jail felony would have to inform the defendant of the 

procedure for a modification of the order under this bill. 

 

CSHB 1790 would take effect September 1, 2013, and would apply only 

to a defendant placed on probation on or after that date, regardless of when 

the offense took place. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSHB 1790 would give a narrow group of low-level, non-violent state- 

jail offenders an incentive to agree to and then successfully complete  

probation terms. This would benefit the offenders, the state, and the public 

through reduced offender recidivism. Reduced recidivism would translate 

into increased public safety and savings for the state.  

 

Currently, some state-jail felons elect to be sentenced directly to state jail 

because community supervision can require more responsibility,  

accountability, and work. Sending offenders to a state-jail instead of 

placing them on probation can be counterproductive for the state because 

offenders more often are successfully rehabilitated on probation. One 

measure of this is seen in the 31.1 percent recidivism rate for state-jail 

offenders released in 2009, compared with 15.2 percent of offenders on 

active felony community supervision in 2009 having their probation 

revoked.  

 

Better outcomes can occur on probation because state jails can be lacking 

in treatment, education, and rehabilitation programs, with the vast majority 

of offenders released from state jails with no post-release community 

supervision or support. In contrast, the probation system can provide better 

access to meaningful services and resources, such as employment support 

and substance abuse and mental health treatment while under the 

supervision of  a probation officer. 

 

Increased use of probation for state- jail felons could save the state money 

and lead to the collection of more in restitution and fines. It costs about 

$43 per day to house an offender in a state jail, while the state pays, on 

average, about $1.40 per day for regular probationers. Probationers often 

are more successful in paying restitution than state-jail felons, so victims 
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might see more money under the bill. Total collections could be increased 

because the potential modification of a conviction would provide an 

incentive for offenders to pay restitution and fines.  

  

Having a state-jail felony offense modified to reflect a conviction for a 

class A misdemeanor would help offenders overcome the barriers 

associated with felony offenses. These barriers can include difficulties 

getting a job or apartment, and reducing them would increase the 

likelihood of a successful reentry into society. 

 

CSHB 1790 would apply only to a narrow group of appropriate offenders.  

The offense would have to be a state-jail felony, the lowest level of non-

violent felony offenses. While numerous crimes qualify as state-jail 

offenses, serious incidents are punished at a higher level. The offender 

would have to have been put on probation for the state- jail felony, and 

any person convicted of an eligible state-jail felony could be sentenced to 

time in a state jail if appropriate. The bill specifically would not apply to 

offenders who commit certain crimes. These include all of the Penal Code 

Title 5 crimes against a person such as homicide, kidnapping, human 

trafficking, sex, and assaultive offenses. The bill also excludes offenders 

convicted of family violence, failing to register as a sex offender, and 

other serious offenses.  

 

CSHB 1790 would not distort sentencing. No penalty established on the 

front end of a case would be changed, and any offender still could be 

sentenced to time in a state jail instead of probation. Modifications of 

convictions would never be a certainty, as they would occur after at least 

two-thirds of a successful probation term and only when the conditions in 

CSHB 1790 were met. Prosecutors would have a voice in the decision to 

modify a conviction because they could request a hearing on the issue and 

argue that a modification was not in the best interest of justice. 

 

Rather than distort plea agreements, CSHB 1790 could facilitate them by 

giving prosecutors another tool to use when crafting them. Pleas to 

probation for state-jail felonies could benefit both the state and offender 

because the potential modification to a misdemeanor could be held out as 

a carrot for successfully completing probation.  

 

Judicial discretion would not be infringed upon because modifications 

would occur only if offenders were placed on probation, successful on 

probation, and then, following the current provisions for the reduction and 
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termination of community supervision, a judge decided to discharge the 

offender. In addition, if a hearing were held on a modification under the 

bill, judges would have discretion in making the finding required by the 

bill that the modification was in the best interest of justice.  

 

CSHB 1790 would not cause confusion with criminal records nor distort   

sentencing for subsequent offenses. The bill states that a judge may not 

modify the name of the state- jail felony offense for which a person was 

placed on community supervision. It also states that a state-jail felon with 

a record modified to a misdemeanor would be considered to be convicted 

of a felony for the purposes of CCP sec. 20(a)(1), which states that proof 

of the conviction or guilty plea must be made known to the judge should a 

defendant again be convicted of a criminal offense. Under this, judges 

could be made aware that a class A misdemeanor was modified from a 

state-jail felony.  

 

CSHB 1790 would not be an unconstitutional delegation of the executive 

branch’s clemency authority. A recent attorney general’s opinion (GA-

1000) said that a court likely would conclude that a 2011 law allowing 

diligent participation credits for state-jail inmates did not conflict with the 

state constitution’s clemency provisions, and the same reasoning could 

apply to CSHB 1790. 

 

A Utah law allowing felonies to be reduced to misdemeanors works well, 

and the same concept could work in Texas with CSHB 1790. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

Allowing the modification of a criminal conviction from a felony to a 

misdemeanor would introduce confusion into state-jail convictions and 

distort the current process in which a conviction is determined in the 

beginning, not the end, of a criminal case.   

 

CSHB 1907 would give a judge too much authority to override the initial 

charging decision by the elected district attorney and the verdict of a jury 

and of another judge in cases in which a probation case had been 

transferred between courts. For example, under the bill, a judge could 

modify a conviction so that a jury’s conviction on a state- jail felony 

offense would not be the level of offense in the offender’s record of 

conviction. This could result in confusion when examining criminal 

history records.   

 

CSHB 1907 would apply to a broad group of state-jail felony offenses, 
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some of which it may be inappropriate to reduce to class A misdemeanors. 

For example, types of arson, theft, and burglary of a building are state-jail 

felonies.  

 

Allowing convictions to be modified could distort sentencing and plea 

agreements. Judges and juries may be reluctant to sentence an offender to 

probation for a state-jail felony if the result could be a modification of the 

record. Prosecutors could be reluctant to enter in plea agreements for the 

same reason. 

 

CSHB 1790 would reduce judicial discretion in handling state-jail 

probationers. The bill would require judges to take certain actions, 

including reviewing a case after a certain period of time and requiring the 

judge to modify records of conviction under certain circumstances.  

 

It is unclear what effect CSHB 1790 would have on laws allowing 

previous offenses to be used to enhance a punishment for  subsequent 

offenses. For example, if a state-jail felony drug offense were modified to 

be a class A misdemeanor and was not counted as a previous felony 

offense, second and subsequent offenses could end up being treated like  

first offenses. 

 

CSHB 1790 could raise questions about whether a modification of a 

conviction record would be an unconstitutional delegation of the executive 

branch’s clemency authority to the judicial branch.  

 

A similar law in Utah should not be the model for Texas because of 

significant differences between the two states’ criminal justice systems. 
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