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	 With the continuing high cost of Texas homeowners insurance 
policies and the ongoing Sunset review of the Texas Department 
of Insurance (TDI), the Texas Legislature may consider changes to 
homeowners insurance regulation during the 2011 regular legislative 
session. The amount Texans pay for homeowners insurance is estimated to 
be between 52 and 76 percent more than the national average, depending 
on the type of policy forms being compared.

	 Before 2003, the last year in which the Legislature made 
comprehensive reforms to homeowners insurance regulation, premiums 
had increased nearly 45 percent in three years. The state faced a crisis 
of skyrocketing mold claims, and 99 percent of direct written premiums 
for homeowners insurance were issued by companies exempted from 
rate regulation. The 78th Legislature reviewed these and other issues 
and enacted a new regulatory system intended to limit the increase in 
homeowners rates by eliminating regulation exemptions and establishing a 
regulatory structure to promote rate competition. 

	 Consumer advocates are calling for major changes to Texas’ 
regulatory structure for homeowners insurance, saying that reforms in 
2003 have not provided relief to homeowners paying excessive rates for 
insurance. They contend the current environment puts insurance industry 
interests ahead of consumer needs in the name of competition. Consumer 
advocates say that because standard insurance policy forms no longer are 

required statewide, insurers generally are offering less coverage but 
have not decreased premiums accordingly. They say many 

consumers are paying more for less coverage than 
before the 2003 revisions. 

	Insurers say that because Texas has some of 
the most extreme weather in the nation, the rates 

Texans pay for homeowners insurance are appropriate 
to address the risk. The direct losses and expenses paid by 

insurers in 2008, due mainly to hurricanes Ike and Dolly, exceeded 
direct premiums earned by more than $1.5 billion. The industry says 
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profits in years with relatively low claims help pay 
claims when extreme weather strikes. 

	 This report reviews the recent history of 
homeowners insurance regulation in Texas, as well as 
several proposals for change that the 82nd Legislature 
may confront during its 2011 regular session.

Sunset Commission recommendations

	 The Sunset Advisory Commission staff 
has conducted two recent reviews of TDI — a 
comprehensive review in 2008 and a limited, special-
purpose review in 2010. Sunset staff 
evaluated TDI’s implementation 
of the revisions to homeowners 
insurance regulation enacted in 2003 
by SB 14 by Jackson. SB 14 made 
all homeowners insurers, including 
those whose rates previously had 
been unregulated, subject to a file-
and-use rate regulation system. The 
Texas file-and-use system allows 
insurers to file a rate change, then put the new rate 
in effect immediately or whenever they choose. TDI 
may require prior approval of rates only if issues are 
identified with the insurer’s financial condition or rating 
practices or in a statewide insurance emergency. 

	 Sunset staff completed a comprehensive review 
of TDI before the 2009 regular legislative session. 
During this review, staff said that TDI’s implementation 
of the file-and-use system lacked transparency and 
could cause unpredictability in regulation. The staff 
recommendations, which were adopted by the Sunset 
Advisory Commission, and the revisions proposed in SB 
1007 by Hegar, the TDI Sunset bill in 2009, focused on 
clarifying the file-and-use process and the circumstances 
under which an insurer might be placed under the 
requirement for prior approval. 

	 SB 1007 passed the Senate but died in the House 
after it was set on the Major State Calendar but 
no further action was taken. The 81st Legislature, 
in its first called session in 2009, enacted SB 2 by 
Hegar, which extended the Sunset date for TDI to 
September 1, 2011, but did not include any specific 
regulatory changes. SB 2 required the Sunset Advisory 
Commission staff to perform a limited special-purpose 

review of TDI in preparation for the regular session 
of the 82nd Legislature in 2011, rather than repeat the 
comprehensive review of 2008. Following the limited 
review of TDI, the Sunset Advisory Commission in July 
2010 made substantively the same recommendations for 
homeowners insurance regulation that were made in the 
2008 review. 

Methods of rate regulation

	 Texas currently regulates homeowners insurance 
rates through a file-and-use system, in which insurers 
must file rate changes with TDI but are not required 

to wait for TDI approval to put 
new rates in effect. File-and-use 
is one of several rate regulation 
schemes common among the 
states. Prior approval systems 
require insurers to receive 
approval from regulators before 
they may change rates. Flexible 
rating systems allow insurers to 
implement new rates as long as 

the rates do not exceed or fall below an acceptable range 
set by regulators. The method by which homeowners 
insurance rates should be regulated in Texas has 
remained a source of debate since the regulatory process 
was changed to a file-and-use system in 2003.

Background

	 In 1991, to stabilize the insurance market and 
promote competition, the 72nd Legislature established 
a modified benchmark system that allowed for flexible 
rate-setting for homeowners insurance. Under this 
system, TDI annually established a benchmark rate for 
homeowners insurance. Insurers could charge any rate 
within a range of 30 percent more to 30 percent less than 
the state benchmark without prior approval from TDI, 
but had to receive prior approval from the insurance 
commissioner for rates set outside this “flexibility 
band.” 

	 The Legislature exempted homeowners policies 
provided by certain entities from the benchmark 
flexible rating system. These included Lloyd’s plan 
insurers and reciprocal and interinsurance exchanges, 
which historically had written policies for only a small 
portion of the market and generally covered specialty 

The Sunset Advisory 
Commission staff has 
conducted two recent
reviews of TDI.
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risks at rates lower than the standard rates. Following 
this exemption, insurers began shifting more of their 
business to these non-rate-regulated entities. TDI 
estimated that by 2001, non-rate-regulated entities 
wrote about 95 percent of Texas homeowners insurance 
policies.

	 Homeowners insurance premiums increased 
significantly between 2000 and 2003, fueled by 
widespread, costly claims for mold damage and a market 
that largely was not subject to rate regulation. This 
prompted Gov. Rick Perry to declare the regulation of 
homeowners insurance an emergency issue for the 78th 
Legislature in 2003. Early in the 2003 regular session, 
the 78th Legislature enacted SB 310 by Fraser, requiring 
certain homeowners insurers to file current and projected 
rates and supporting data with the commissioner. TDI 
reported to the Legislature its findings about the rate 
filings required by SB 310 on March 28, 2003. The 
report indicated that in the previous three years, rates 
had increased statewide an average of 45 percent. 

Among the top 12 non-rate-regulated insurers, some 
rates were justified but others could be reduced as much 
as 25 percent, according to TDI.  

	 The 78th Legislature later in the 2003 regular 
session enacted SB 14 by Jackson, which brought 
sweeping changes to homeowners insurance regulation. 
The bill made all homeowners insurers, including those 
whose rates previously were unregulated, subject to file-
and-use rate regulation. 

	 Under the Texas file-and-use system, insurers 
must file rates with TDI and may implement the rates 
immediately or whenever they choose. TDI may 
disapprove administratively a rate deemed excessive, 
inadequate, or unfairly discriminatory before the 
rate has been implemented or may disapprove a 
rate-in-effect through a contested case hearing at the 
State Office of Administrative Hearings. TDI may 
subject certain insurers to a prior approval process if 
the insurer’s financial condition or rating practices 

File-and-use — a regulatory structure under which insurers must file rates with state regulators but do 
not have to wait for approval before the rates may be used. Some states may require insurers to wait a 
specified number of days before a filed rate may be used. Regulators may retain the right to disapprove 
of a rate later if it violates the law.

Prior approval — a regulatory structure under which insurers must file rates with state regulators and 
then await approval of the rate prior to implementing it. Some states may deem a rate approved if the 
rate is not denied within a specified number of days.

Flex-rating — a regulatory structure under which prior approval of rates is not required unless 
rate changes exceed a certain percentage above, or in some cases below, previously filed rates. For 
slightly more than a decade starting in 1991, Texas used a variant of flex-rating in which the insurance 
commissioner set a benchmark rate and allowed insurers to use rates within a certain percentage of the 
benchmark rate without prior approval.  

Policy form — documents that establish the types of losses an insurance policy will cover, the 
conditions under which these losses will be covered, and the dollar amount of that coverage. 

Endorsement — modifications to a policy form that may clarify, broaden, or limit the scope of 
coverage.  

Deductible — portion of a loss that the insured must pay before the insurance company pays the
balance. This may be a flat fee or a percentage of the policy amount. 

Definitions
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require supervision or if there is a statewide insurance 
emergency. Insurers subject to prior approval must file 
rates with TDI, then await approval before using the 
rates. If a rate is not approved or disapproved within 30 
days, the insurer may deem the rate approved.

	 To establish a more appropriate baseline for rates 
in the new system, SB 14 also authorized TDI to require 
initial rate reductions for insurers found to be charging 
excessive rates. By September 2003, the insurance 
commissioner had ordered more than 30 companies to 
reduce rates by as much as 31 percent, for an overall 
reduction of 12 percent, amounting to a total of $510 
million in rate reductions. All the insurers ultimately 
complied with the mandatory rate reductions except 
State Farm Lloyds, which was asked to reduce rates by 
12 percent but refused. The stand-off between TDI and 
State Farm has played out since that time in the State 
Office of Administrative Hearings and in the courts. 
The matter is pending in Travis County district court. 
Because of State Farm’s large market share, the rate 
reductions that were intended to save Texas consumers 
$510 million have saved them only $355 million. 

Recent issues

	 In 2009, despite implementation of the file-and-
use system, only 10 percent of homeowner insurers 
filed and began to use new rates on the same day. Many 
insurers have expressed concerns that the Texas system 
is more a “file-and-haggle” system than a file-and-use 
system. They say that because the rate-filing process is 
unpredictable, insurers face a risk that if they file and 
use a rate immediately, it later could be contested. They 
say this prevents them from using filed rates right away, 
which stifles the possible competitive benefits of the 
system. 

	 SB 1007 by Hegar, the TDI Sunset bill introduced 
in the regular session in 2009, included provisions 
intended to make the rate filing process more 
predictable and to clarify what could subject an insurer 
to prior approval. SB 1007 would have required the 
commissioner to disapprove rates that did not comply 
with statutory requirements before a rate took effect or 
within 30 days of the day the rate was filed, whichever 
occurred first. If the commissioner had not disapproved 
a rate before these deadlines, the commissioner could 
have disapproved the rate only after a hearing. The 
bill would have required the commissioner to establish 

the financial conditions and rating practices that could 
subject an insurer to prior approval and to explain to 
insurers under prior approval the steps necessary to take 
to be excused from the order.

	 Those who support some form of file-and-use 
system say Texas has yet to see the rate reduction 
benefits that enhanced competition under such a system 
could provide because the current regulatory process 
contains too much uncertainty. They say the fear of TDI 
intervention increases costs throughout the industry 
because insurers must anticipate the risk of having a rate 
rejected and the administrative costs of haggling over 
the rate. This uncertainty also means that insurers rarely 
feel comfortable filing and immediately implementing 
rate changes. 

	 Some file-and-use supporters say the Sunset 
recommendations would add the certainty that the 
current regulatory system is lacking, and others say 
TDI’s authority to disapprove rates should be limited 
even more. Some would prefer that TDI be permitted 
only to disapprove rates-in-effect and would limit 
TDI regulation of “excessive” rates to circumstances 
in which the number of participating insurers was 
insufficient to maintain a competitive market. They 
say that in a competitive market, consumers will not 
pay excessive rates and the market will regulate itself 
naturally.

	 Those who oppose the file-and-use system say 
it has been harmful to consumers and that the Sunset 
review is an opportunity to change to a prior approval 
system — one that requires TDI to approve all rate 
changes before new rates may be used. Fifteen states 
were requiring prior approval of all homeowners 
insurance rate changes as of February 2010, according 
to information compiled by the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners.

Debate about prior approval of rates 

	 Supporters of implementing a prior 
approval system of rate regulation say that Texas 
homeowners deserve to have state regulators ensure 
that their insurance rates are not excessive or unfairly 
discriminatory before they have to pay them. The 
burden should rest squarely on insurers to justify why 
a rate increase is needed before consumers are asked to 
pay more for their insurance. 
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	 Consumer advocates say a file-and-use system 
benefits only insurers, making it more difficult to roll 
back inappropriate rate increases once they are in effect 
and therefore less likely that TDI will challenge a rate 
change that has been implemented. TDI currently cannot 
disapprove a rate in effect, even if the department deems 
it unfair or excessive, without an administrative hearing 
and possible appeal to a district court, which can be 
costly. Meanwhile, homeowners must pay the new, 
higher rates until the rate challenge is resolved. A prior 
approval system would prevent consumers from having 
to pay higher rates over many years while a rate dispute 
plays out in the courts. The unresolved dispute between 
State Farm Lloyds and TDI over a TDI request for State 
Farm Lloyds to reduce its rates has been in the courts 

since 2003, demonstrating insurer resolve to dispute the 
authority of TDI to regulate rates. 

	 The file-and-use system was supposed to decrease 
Texas’ insurance rates by enhancing competition, yet 
Texas consumers continue to pay some of the highest 
rates in the nation. As of 2007, the most recent year for 
which data are available, Texas homeowners insurance 
was the second most costly in the nation and was 76 
percent more expensive than the national average for 
the most commonly purchased policy, according to 
the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. 
These high premiums have been assessed even as 
insurers have made huge profits in several recent years. 

Incurred loss ratio - annual losses incurred, including amounts already paid out plus the change in amounts set aside to cover
future payments, as a proportion of the amount of premiums collected.

Expense ratio - annual business expenses incurred as a proportion of the amount of premiums collected.

Combined loss ratio - sum of incurred loss ratio and expense ratio.

Source for loss ratio data:  Texas Department of Insurance

History of loss ratios for Texas homeowners insurance
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	 Insurers’ profits are demonstrated through their 
loss ratios. Loss ratios are a measure of an insurer’s 
annual losses — amounts paid out plus the change in 
amounts set aside to cover future payments — as a 
proportion of the premiums an insurer collected that 
year. More specifically, the “combined loss ratio” is 
the amount of claims losses and business expenses 
incurred during a year as a percentage of the amount of 
premiums collected. Before 2008, when hurricanes Ike 
and Dolly struck, the average, combined loss ratio for 
insurers using rates under the new file-and-use system 
was 72.9 percent, meaning insurers were making profits 
averaging more than 27 percent from 2004 to 2007 (see 
chart). This figure does not even include the additional 
profits insurers were making from investment income. 
While the year hurricanes Ike and Dolly struck was 
an extremely bad year for insurers, this level of loss 
is rare. Hurricane Ike was considered a 35- to 40-year 
storm, meaning that, on average, a storm of this size is 
expected to occur once every 35 to 40 years. Insurers 
will be pocketing huge, unjustified profits on the backs 
of consumers if they continue charging their current 
rates, say prior approval advocates. 

	 Not only do Texas consumers pay more for their 
insurance than most of the country, but they pay more 
today for less coverage than they received before the 
shift to file-and-use. TDI’s SB 310 report published in 
March 2003 estimated that after TDI began approving 
non-standard forms in 2002, the coverage Texas 
homeowners policies provided was reduced by between 
15 and 45 percent, depending on the form. Despite 
the reduced coverage, as of March 2010, homeowners 
were paying on average about 5 percent more for 
their homeowners policies than in June 2003. This 
increase is especially troubling since the mold crisis and 
unregulated market already had caused homeowners 
insurance rates to spike 45 percent in the three years 
before the 2003 reforms, supporters of prior approval 
say. 

	 A prior approval system would allow TDI to 
review and approve, and require insurers to justify, all 
rates before they were passed along to policyholders. 
This is necessary because the insurance market is not 
a standard competitive marketplace. Homeowners are 
required by mortgage lenders to have insurance and 
need it to protect their most valuable asset, their home. 
This necessitates rate review so that insurers do not take 

advantage of consumer vulnerability, prior approval 
advocates say. 
 
	 Supporters of moving to a prior approval system 
say that a survey has demonstrated that prior approval 
is a system that people would want. Texas Watch, a 
consumer advocacy organization, had Hill Research 
Consultants conduct a poll in late August 2010 of 
600 voters. Those surveyed were asked if they would 
approve or disapprove of the following proposal if it 
were presented to the Texas Legislature:  ““PRIOR 
APPROVAL,” which would require insurance 
companies submit and justify rate increases for review 
by the Texas Department of Insurance before they could 
go in to effect, not after.” About 74 percent said they 
would approve, with 51 percent strongly approving. 
Only about 17 percent said they would disapprove, 
with 8 percent of those saying they would disapprove 
strongly. 

	 Opponents of implementing a prior approval 
system of rate regulation say that prior approval 
systems inhibit the benefits of a competitive marketplace 
that can be tapped through file-and-use systems. A 
healthy, competitive insurance market with many 
participating insurers is the best way to ensure 
companies strive for efficiencies to keep costs down 
and to keep rates low enough to attract a large consumer 
base. File-and-use allows insurers to assess risks, file 
an actuarially justified rate, and immediately begin 
using the filed rate. By contrast, prior approval allows 
regulators to interfere with insurers’ determinations of 
what rates are necessary to keep their business solvent in 
the long term. 

	 The insurance industry is based on assessment of 
risk, and insurers must assess a variety of consumer, 
environmental, and regulatory factors, as well as the 
performance of the financial market, when setting 
rates. A prior approval system would introduce yet 
another risk to an insurer because the insurer would 
not know whether insurance regulators would approve 
rate changes. This could lead to worse outcomes for 
consumers because insurers would try to set higher rates 
to account for this higher risk and also could decide to 
leave the market or reduce the number of policies they 
wrote to avoid losses. 

	 While efforts to increase regulation through 
proposals such as prior approval may be well intended, 
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they lead to worse consumer outcomes. The biggest risk 
to consumers would be to regulate insurer rates in a way 
that led insurers to become insolvent and unable to pay 
consumer claims following a catastrophe because state 
regulators had prevented the insurer from establishing 
an adequate reserve. Although insurer profits were 
relatively high in 2006 and 2007, they allowed many 
insurers to stay in business despite the extreme losses 
they faced in 2008 for hurricanes Ike and Dolly. 

	 The fact that only 10 percent of insurers feel 
confident enough to file and immediately use rates in 
the current file-and-use system means that Texas has 
yet to see the full advantages that 
a truly competitive file-and-use 
system could provide. Instead of 
racing to scrap the file-and-use 
system in favor of prior approval, 
Texas should implement the Sunset 
recommendations proposed last 
session to clarify the current file-
and-use system for insurers. The 
state should consider still more reforms to optimize 
competition in the marketplace, such as allowing TDI 
to disapprove of rates only if they are discriminatory 
or inadequate and not if they are excessive, say prior 
approval opponents. 

	 Prior approval advocates complain that rates are too 
high, yet since 2003 the industry has been hit by claims 
resulting from three major hurricanes. Insurers need 
to charge the rates they are charging in order to stay 
solvent and continue serving consumers in light of huge, 
weather-related losses. For example, the combined loss 
ratio in 2008 when Hurricanes Ike and Dolly hit was 176 
percent. This means that the amount insurers needed to 
pay claims and business expenses that year was more 
than one-and-a-half times the amount of premiums 
collected. Surpluses in years with fewer claims are 
needed to pay for extreme losses such as these, critics of 
prior approval say.

Homeowners insurance policy forms

	 Policy forms establish the types of losses a 
policy will cover and the dollar amount of coverage. 
Endorsements are modifications to a policy form that 
may clarify, broaden, or limit the scope of coverage. 

For many years, Texas required all insurers to use the 
same policy forms and endorsements. The state has 
shifted away from requiring standard forms over the last 
decade, but not all parties have seen this as positive for 
consumers. 

Background

	 In previous years, Texas homeowner insurers could 
offer only three standard, state-promulgated forms — 
the HO-A, HO-B, and HO-C. TDI also approved certain 
endorsements to these forms. More than 90 percent of 
homeowners had an HO-B policy, which covered all 

losses to a dwelling except those 
specifically excluded and covered 
the contents of a dwelling from 
losses due to specifically named 
perils. 

	 In 1997, the 75th Legislature 
enacted SB 1499 by Sibley, which 
permitted TDI to approve policy 

forms and endorsements that were used by large, 
national insurers or that had been adopted by national 
insurance organizations. This marked the first occasion 
on which Texas authorized the use of forms other than 
the state’s standard forms. Several insurers then filed 
alternate forms for approval, and in 2002 TDI approved 
the first alternate, national policy forms.

	 In response to rate spikes that followed a sudden 
increase in mold and water damage claims, TDI 
eliminated coverage for mold remediation in the 
standard HO-B form, effective January 1, 2002. At the 
same time, TDI established endorsements that gave 
policyholders the option to buy back mold and water 
remediation at various levels of coverage. Before this 
modification, some insurers had stopped writing or 
renewing Texas homeowners insurance policies because 
they said the lack of flexibility in forms prevented them 
from establishing specialized coverage for high-risk, 
costly situations like mold and water damage. 

	 In 2003, the 78th Legislature enacted SB 14 by 
Jackson, which, among other changes, eliminated 
the requirement that insurers offer standard, state-
promulgated homeowners insurance forms. While Texas 
no longer requires homeowners insurers to offer the 
state’s standard forms, TDI must approve all alternate 

The state has shifted away 
from requiring standard 
forms over the last decade.
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policy forms before they may be used. Many large 
insurers now use plans they use nationally that allow 
consumers to choose among many coverage options. 

Recent issues

	 While supporters of the form deregulation enacted 
in 2003 cited the mold crisis as an example of why 
form deregulation was necessary, others believe form 
deregulation has been harmful to consumers and has 
made understanding the impact of the broader 2003 
reforms more challenging. Several bills were filed 
during the 2009 legislative session that would have 
required homeowners insurers to offer standard forms 
while allowing them to continue offering their current 
forms. 

	 SB 1, the general appropriations act for fiscal 2010-
11, includes Art. 8, Department of Insurance, Rider 20, 
which directs TDI to conduct a review to determine 
what, if any, changes have occurred in the level of 
protection offered by homeowners insurance policies 
since the department’s adoption of approved national 
forms in 2002. 

Debate about using standard forms 

	 Supporters of requiring insurers to file standard 
forms say that when all insurers are required to offer 
the same policy forms, consumers can make “apples to 
apples” comparisons of which companies offer the most 
affordable homeowners insurance coverage. Without 
such a tool, it is difficult if not impossible for consumers 
to interpret and compare complex policies to determine 
appropriate, cost-effective coverage. 

	 Standard forms would not have to be required 
exclusively. Insurers could be allowed to continue 
offering their existing policy forms as well. Insurers 
also could make standard forms customizable with TDI-
approved endorsements to meet a homeowner’s specific 
needs. 

	 The August 2010 Texas Watch poll shows that most 
voters like the idea of standard forms. The poll asked 
voters what they would think of the following proposal 
if presented to the Legislature: “Uniform standards, 
which would require insurance companies offer a few 
standard policies written in plain language that would 

be consistent across the industry.” About 85 percent said 
they would approve, with 58 percent strongly approving. 
Only about 7 percent said they would disapprove or 
strongly disapprove.

	 Supporters of requiring insurers to offer standard 
policy forms say the need for standard forms is greater 
now than ever because insurers have been reducing 
coverage through crucial changes to policy wording. 
For example, the HO-B provides coverage for water 
damage for both “sudden and accidental” causes and for 
“continuous or repeated leakage.” Many policies do not 
provide coverage for “continuous or repeated leakage,” 
which a homeowner may discover only when a leak 
occurs and a claim is denied. Many insurance agents 
are not familiar with the small variances in wording 
between policies, so consumers should not be assumed 
to recognize these differences either. 

	 While www.helpinsure.com is an excellent tool 
to perform basic policy comparisons, it is inadequate 
to help consumers understand the detailed differences 
in the content of various policy options that may make 
a large difference to their pocketbooks when filing a 
claim. Standard forms have been tested successfully 
in the marketplace and in the courts, providing the 
consistency that helps to preserve consumer protections. 
Even with plain language requirements, policy forms 
often are complicated and can be 50 or more pages long.

	 The industry exaggerates the costs of being 
required to offer standard forms because they fear that 
if consumers could compare directly the prices for the 
more comprehensive, standard forms they would realize 
how much insurers have been charging for much less 
comprehensive coverage. Another way the industry has 
used policy forms in recent years to boost profits is to 
significantly increase deductibles. Consumers formerly 
had more options to purchase policies with a flat 
deductible, such as $500. Increasingly, deductibles are 
a percentage of the policy amount. If a consumer with 
a 2 percent deductible made a claim on a home with 
$100,000 of coverage, that consumer would have to pay 
$2,000 instead of $500 before collecting on the policy. 
Some homeowners on the Texas coast have 5 percent 
wind deductibles, which are higher than the deductible 
charged by the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association, 
the state’s insurer of last resort for coastal windstorm 
coverage. 
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Most Texas insurers use 
consumer credit information as 
a factor in establishing rates for 
homeowners insurance.

	 Opponents of requiring insurers to file standard 
forms say that standard, Texas-specific forms would 
make homeowners coverage more costly without adding 
significant benefits. In other states, national companies 
may use their national forms exclusively. Having to 
maintain and market Texas-specific forms would lead 
to extra administrative expenses that are passed directly 
to Texas consumers in the form of higher homeowners 
insurance rates. 

	 Texas consumers are no less savvy than consumers 
in other states who similarly must shop around for 
the most appropriate coverage, opponents of standard 
forms say. Texas consumers already have a tool that 
assists them in estimating the 
cost of homeowners coverage 
from various insurers. This tool 
is maintained by TDI at www.
helpinsure.com. As in other 
states, if consumers have further 
questions about the amount of 
coverage a plan offers, they can 
use an insurance agent whose 
job it is to understand the differences between various 
policies. 

	 Opponents of standard forms say that even if 
insurers were allowed to continue offering their own 
forms in addition to the standard forms, they still would 
be subjected to major risks such as occurred during the 
mold crisis. For years prior to the surge in mold claims, 
insurers had anticipated potential problems with the 
state’s standard forms and had been attempting to have 
TDI adopt changes to avoid these issues. TDI did not 
adopt any of these changes until 2002, after the industry 
already had lost billions. The fact that this environment 
put insurers at the mercy of state regulators caused 
several insurers to stop writing new policies in Texas 
until the forms were revised. The high mold claims costs 
directly led to dramatic rate increases for homeowners 
statewide, which could have been avoided had standard 
forms not been required. 

Using credit scoring to set rates

	 Most Texas insurers use consumer credit 
information as a factor in establishing rates for 
homeowners insurance. They may consider individual 
components of credit reports, such as bankruptcies, 

or may compute credit scores based on numerous 
components of credit reports. Insurers calculate credit 
scores by placing various factors from a consumer’s 
credit report into mathematical models that may vary 
from insurer to insurer. Homeowners insurers may 
use credit scores as a basis for providing discounts or 
imposing surcharges on certain consumers or for placing 
consumers in rating tiers. 

Background 

	 In the 1990s, insurers increasingly began using 
credit scoring as a component in setting consumers’ 
homeowners insurance rates. This practice is permitted 

federally by the Federal Fair 
Credit Reporting Act (Public 
Law 91-508), which allows 
insurance companies to use 
consumer credit reports for 
underwriting purposes without 
notification or consent of the 
consumer. 

	 Because most homeowners insurance policies were 
provided through non-rate-regulated companies in the 
early 2000s, it was not clear how most insurers were 
using credit scoring to determine consumer rates. TDI 
reported that complaints about credit-scoring practices 
increased from 40 in 2000 to more than 600 in 2002. SB 
14 by Jackson, enacted in 2003, required companies to 
file with TDI their credit-scoring model along with other 
information to actuarially justify their rate filings. The 
bill also required TDI to conduct a study of how insurers 
were using credit information and how their credit 
scoring practices affected consumers. 

	 In addition, under SB 14, an insurer may not deny, 
cancel, or non-renew a policy solely on the basis of 
credit information. Insurers must disclose to consumers 
if credit scoring will be used in underwriting. The 
insurance commissioner is required to establish rules 
limiting the allowable difference in rates charged by 
insurers due solely to differences in credit scores. 

	 During TDI rulemaking, options were considered 
that would have limited to a fixed percentage of variance 
how much rates could vary on the basis of credit score. 
Ultimately, TDI ruled that any rate variance due solely 
to credit scoring would be acceptable if actuarially 
justified by data filed with the department.
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Recent issues

	 Credit-scoring for insurance purposes has been an 
ongoing source of controversy due to concerns that it 
leads to discriminatory rating practices. Some states 
have banned the use of credit-scoring altogether. During 
the 81st Legislature, several bills were filed to ban the 
use of credit scoring in rate setting. An unsuccessful 
amendment also was offered during Senate consideration 
of SB 1007, the TDI Sunset bill, to ban credit scoring 
practices. 

Debate about credit scoring in rate setting

	 Supporters of banning the use of credit scoring 
in policy rating say credit scoring is a discriminatory 
practice used as a proxy for setting rates based on race 
and is not an appropriate way to measure risk. Credit 
scoring often leads to rate increases for the consumers 
who can least afford them — even those who have never 
filed a claim. Many studies, including the December 
2004 TDI study titled Use of Credit Information by 

Insurers in Texas and a 2007 Federal Trade Commission 
report, have found that credit-scoring scenarios 
disproportionately have a negative impact on African 
Americans, Latinos, and people with lower incomes. 
Supporters of banning the use of credit scoring say its 
use in rate setting is not justified. For example, a low 
credit score does not increase the risk that a hailstorm 
will strike a person’s home, resulting in a claim. 

	 Opponents of banning the use of credit-scoring 
in policy rating say credit-scoring has proved an 
accurate way to measure risk and is not intentionally 
discriminatory. A supplemental analysis to TDI’s 
December 2004 report found that the 10 percent of 
policyholders with the worst credit scores were 1.5 to 
2 times more likely to file a claim than the 10 percent 
of policyholders with the best credit scores. The 2007 
Federal Trade Commission study corroborated that 
lower credit scores predict a higher number of insurance 
claims. Whatever the factor that drives the risk 
association between credit scores and claims frequency, 
insurers should be able to measure this actuarially 

	 In Texas, the commissioner of insurance directs the policy and operations of the Department of 
Insurance. The governor, with the Senate’s confirmation, appoints the commissioner of insurance for a 
two-year term. Eleven states elect their insurance commissioners. Several of these states restrict or ban 
contributions from insurance companies to commissioner candidates, citing conflict-of-interest concerns 
about regulators accepting donations from the industry they regulate. During the 2009 regular session of 
the 81st Texas Legislature, several bills and an amendment offered to the TDI Sunset bill in the Senate 
would have made the commissioner of insurance an elected position in Texas. None of these proposals was 
enacted. 

	 Supporters of making the commissioner of insurance an elected office say that an elected 
commissioner would be more responsive to consumers than an appointed commissioner. For homeowners 
insurance regulation, they say, an elected commissioner would enhance consumer protection in oversight 
of rate-setting and form regulation. Texans elect their agriculture and railroad commissioners, who have 
less impact on the lives of Texans than the insurance commissioner, supporters of electing the insurance 
commissioner say. They say the commissioner directs policy that influences all Texas homeowners and 
other consumers yet is accountable only to the governor. 

	 Opponents of making the commissioner of insurance an elected office say the insurance 
commissioner should be an impartial regulator, not an elected official. They say the best way for an 
insurance commissioner candidate to appeal to citizens would be to run on the premise of lowering 
insurance rates, yet the market does not always safely allow this goal. Opponents express concern that 
an insurance commissioner elected with the mandate to lower rates could implement policies that could 
jeopardize insurer solvency. 

Should the commissioner of insurance be elected or appointed?
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supported indicator of risk and charge rates accordingly. 
If credit scoring were suddenly banned, the insurance 
market would be disrupted and many consumers with 
good credit scores would experience a sudden increase 
in their premiums. 

Expediting appeals in contested rate cases 

	 Insurers may appeal homeowners insurance rate 
filings that have been disapproved by TDI. The rate 
dispute between TDI and State Farm Lloyds that has 
persisted since 2003 has highlighted for many observers 
the need to refine the process for appealing rate cases for 
homeowners insurance so rate appeals may be resolved 
more quickly. The House Committee on Insurance is 
required by an interim charge to the 81st Legislature 
to “study whether a new system or process should be 
employed to expedite appeals by insurers against TDI in 
homeowner’s rate cases.” 

Background 

	 Currently, the insurance commissioner may 
disapprove administratively a filed rate before it 
is implemented or may refer, with proper notice, a 
rate-in-effect for a hearing before the State Office 
of Administrative Hearings (SOAH). SOAH issues 
a proposed decision in contested rate cases, and the 
commissioner reviews this decision to make a final 
determination about whether to disapprove a rate. The 
law does not establish clear timeframes for how quickly 
a SOAH hearing must be conducted nor how long the 
commissioner has to issue a final order. An insurer may 
appeal a disapproved rate to the Travis County district 
court. Further appeals advance to the Third Court of 
Appeals in Austin and the Texas Supreme Court. 

Recent issues

	 In September 2003, following enactment that 
year of major insurance reforms during the regular 
legislative session, TDI reviewed homeowners rates and 
ordered more than 30 insurers to reduce rates found to 
be excessive. State Farm Lloyds was ordered to reduce 
rates by 12 percent but refused. The company appealed 
the commissioner’s order to the Travis County district 
court. Since that appeal, TDI and State Farm Lloyds 
have faced off in SOAH, district court, and the Third 
Court of Appeals, without resolution. 

	 In May 2008, the Third Court of Appeals ordered 
TDI to rehear the case. Based on that rehearing, the 
commissioner found State Farm Lloyds’ rates from 2003 
to 2008 to be excessive and in November 2009 ordered 
the company to pay more than $310 million in refunds 
and interest to consumers. State Farm Lloyds appealed 
the order to the Travis County district court, where the 
case remains pending.  

	 Consumer advocates are frustrated that the $310 
million they feel consumers are owed still cannot be 
refunded after seven years of legal battles. They feel 
the best solution would be to avoid having consumer 
funds tied up during legal battles by requiring the 
commissioner’s prior approval of all rate changes. Short 
of this proposal, many feel there are ways to improve the 
current system that could speed the rate appeals process. 

Proposals for expediting appeals

	 Various proposals to speed up the appeals process 
have emerged for potential consideration by the 82nd 
Legislature. Lawmakers could consider amending 
the administrative and judicial processes in contested 
rate cases to expedite appeals. The Legislature could 
establish timeframes in which SOAH hearings would 
have to occur and limit how long the commissioner had 
to issue an order based upon the SOAH decision. The 
scope and timeline for the SOAH discovery process also 
could be limited. In the courts, the Travis County district 
court could be bypassed and rate appeals instead could 
be sent directly to appeals courts. A special court could 
be established within the Austin Court of Appeals to 
perform expedited reviews of rate appeals. Finally, the 
state could implement an arbitration system for appeals. 
Florida had an arbitration process from 1996 until 2007 
that gave a three-member arbitration panel 90 days to 
issue a decision about a rate appeal. 

	 While parties on all sides of rate disputes claim they 
could benefit from expediting the appeals process, they 
say that proposals for change should be scrutinized to 
ensure they do not infringe on any party’s due process 
rights. They say that any proposal to expedite contested 
rate cases should maintain the basic rights outlined for 
contested cases in the Texas Administrative Procedure 
Act (Government Code, ch. 2001) — including the right 
to a hearing and to conduct discovery, present witness 
testimony, cross-examine witnesses, and appeal.

— by Carisa Magee
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